# Opposition Brief — Interstate Commerce Commission v. Atlantic Coast Line R.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386411_0235%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1966
- **Citation:** 383 U.S. 576

## Text

PY FILED

DEC 12 1%

JOHN F. DAVIS, CL

its, IN THE
a Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1964

wm 14

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION,

Petitioner,
v.

ATLANTIC COAST LINE R. CO., ILLINOIS CENTRAL R.
CO., CHICAGO & EASTERN ILLINOIS R. CO., THE
BALTIMORE & OHIO R. CO., CHICAGO, BURLINGTON
& QUINCY R. CO., CHICAGO, MILWAUKEE, ST. PAUL
& PACIFIC R. CO., GULF, MOBILE & OHIO R. CO., THE
NEW YORK CENTRAL R. CO., WABASH RAILROAD
CO.,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT oF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
Court oF APPEALS FOR THE FiFrTH CirRcuIT

BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

J. Epcar McDonaLp
466 Lexington Avenue
New York, N. Y. 10017
Attorney for Respondents

Of Counsel:

Puit C. BEVERLY
500 Water Street
Jacksonville, Fla., 32202
Urcuie B. EL.is

Broad Street Station
Richmond, Va., 23220

ae eneeeenieeieinemenemeinelatiiaiaiememesnnentnnetiniieeamemtinmeemnmmemiainimmenamamamsiicememm imei demeameaneemetee ime
> 249 Press of Fremont Payne, Inc., 80 Washington St., N. Y.—BOwling Green 9-8153

Se Se ee oy AY REA? SERN NE NENG MLN APLAR ATHY TOS ARE BM AE EY AED eT IE

INDEX

PAGE
Opinions Below ......cccccccccsccvcccsevssveccess 1
Question Presdited ......cccccescccccccvcvscccees 2
EE .o5cks cle ebk secede cerses seagvevs 2
RE OD CD a os oc bved oo cenee es edcins exes 2
APGUMENE cc cccsccccccsceccrccvescessesvosseons
I—The decision below is clearly correct ..........
A. The District Court had jurisdiction under
Section 17(9) of the Interstate Commerce
Act and Sections 1336 and 1398 of the Judi-
ciary and Judicial Procedure ............. 6

B. Section 16(2) is not a ‘‘review”’ provision. . 9

Il—Petitioner has advanced no valid reasons for

I NEE onc e.cVncwcdcveecdedtpecrtuees 12
A. Shippers are not deprived of procedural ad-
WON odie do Se eeencedccseevecedeeesess 12
B. The grounds allegedly relied upon do not
impair any congressional policy ........... 14
I1I—The memorandum of the United States ........ 17
IV—The amicus curiae brief of the National Indus-
ee SN ND ca cor wbeseceVosdad preoete 19
eee ices 40s ibe dueuesddkteebeweness 20
Or EL. cescsvenseeceseusereuverrrre 21
APPENDIX :

Relevant Portions of Statutes Involved ........ 1b

INDEX

Taste oF Cases CiTED

Baldwin v. Milling Co., 307 U. S. 478 ............ 10

Baltimore and Ohio R. Co., et al. v. United States,
et al., Civil Action No. 14897, v. $.D.C. D. Md. 13

Columbia Broadcasting System v. United States,

ee ee es A Ue cn Foe have vadonseus chs caece 20
Eldorado Oil Works v. United States, 328 U. S.
Se bugindn cheb bulls ske ened heueds chendesennns 8, 15, 20

Cnedeev onacesende suaRieeteound bbeuSesS 20

eunas Allison & Co. v. Interstate Commerce Com’n,
i ok & © Se rR Ree see re 9
Lehigh Valley R. Co. v. Clark, 207 Fed. 717 ........ 10

Lewis, Ete., Co. v. Southern Pac. Co., 283 U. S. 654 ..10,11
Mitchell Coal Co. v. Penna. R. R. Co., 230 U. 8. 247 .. 5,11
National Van Lines, Inc. v. United States, 326 F.

SE cau cutee 0bccudcddesnabudaueeeres eye’ 8,9
Pennsylvania R. Co. v. United States, 363 U. S.

NS Fis ct BeWe Re CC ADRS eb Se dese UE SASS THEOT Ose 7, 9, 15
Phillips v. Grand Trunk Ry., 236 U. S. 662 ........ 5
Pittsburgh & W. Va. Ry. Co. v. U. S.,6 F. 24 646.... 14
Porter Co. v. Central Vermont R. Co., 366 U.S. 272.. 17
Rochester Tel. Corp. v. U. S., 307 U.S. 125 .......... 15, 20
Seaboard Air Line R. Co. v. Daniel, 333 U. S. 118 8
St. L. & S. F. R. R. v. Spiller, 275 U. S. 156 ...... 10

Thomson Phosphate Co. v. Atlantic Coast Line R. Co.,
De EE ob dntdekdectensencccctscéveddnersd

United States v. I.C.C., 337 U.S. 426 ........ 7, 9, 15, 17, 18

United States v. Storer Broadcasting Co., 1956, 351
ME; MAE hbaecddudescs be bewaiancddedesenesns.

Washington Terminal Co. v. Boswell, 319 U.S. 732... 17

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1964

7%
=

INTERSTATE CoMMERCE CoMMISSION,
Petitioner,
Vv.

Amantic Coast Line R. Co., Intinors Centrat R. Co.,
Cuicaco & Eastern Ixurnots R. Co., Tae Battimore &
Onto R. Co., Cutcaco, Burtineton & Quincy R. Co.,
Cutcaco, Minwavuxer, St. Paut & Pactric R. Co., Gurr,
Mosite & Onto R. Co., Toe New York Centra R.,Co.,
WasasH Rartroap Co.,

Respondents.

On Petition ror A Writ or CERTIORARI TO THE
Untrep States Court or APPEALS
FOR THE Firtrx Circuit

y%
7

BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

Opinions Below

The opinion of the United States District Court for the
Middle District of Florida is reported at 213 F. Supp. 199,
and is reproduced in the printed record (R. 28-37).

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Cireuit is reported at 334 F. 2d 46, and is repro-
duced in the petition (Appendix 1a-13a).

0

2

Question Presented

Do district courts have jurisdiction under Section 17(9)
of the Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C. $17(9), and
Sections 1336 and 1398 of the Judiciary and Judicial Pro.
cedure, 28 U.S.C. §§ 1336 and 1398, of suits by railroads
to set aside the administrative and quasi-judicial findings
of the Interstate Commerce Commission and reparation
award-orders based thereon? Or must such suits be dis.
missed on the ground that the findings and orders must be
challenged as a defense in shippers’ suits under Section
16(2) of the Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C. § 16(2)
if, as, when, and where brought?

Statutes Involved

The provisions of the statutes pertinent to this proceed.
ing are Sections 16(2) and 17(9) of the Interstate Com.
merce Act 49, U.S.C. 4 16(2) and § 17(9) ; Sections 1336 and
1398 of Judiciary and Judicial Procedure, 28 U.S.C. § 1336
and § 1398, and Sections 1001 (d), (f), and (g), and
1009(a) of the Administrative Procedure Act 5 U.S.C.
§ 1001(d), (f), and (g), and § 1009(a).

The first four of these provisions are printed in the peti-
tion (15a-16a). The provisions of the Administrative Pro-
cedure Act referred to are set forth in the appendix hereof
(1b).

Statement of the Case

In Thomson Phosphate Co. v. Atlantic Coast Line R. Co.,
303 L.C.C. 25, and 311 1.C.C. 315 (R. 6-19), the Interstate
Commerce Commission found the rates assessed on more
than 600 carload shipments of phosphate rock from Prairie,
Fla., to destinations in Illinois during the period from
April 10, 1945, to December 31, 1950, unjust and unreason-

3

able, and awarded reparation aggregating $8,889.76, with
interest. By orders of the Commission the railroads were
“authorized and directed’’ to pay the reparation on or
before August 28, 1961.

By complaint filed September 6, 1961 (R. 20-25) the
respondents brought suit against the United States of
America and the Interstate Commerce Commission in the
United States District Court for the Middle District of
Florida under the provisions of Section 17(9) of the Inter-
state Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C. $17(9) and Sections 1336
and 1398 of Judiciary and Judicial Procedure, 28 U.S.C.
§§ 1336 anu 1398, to enjoin, set aside and annul the
administrative and quasi-judicial findings of the Commis-
sion in the aforesaid proceedings, as well as the award-
order based thereon. Among other things, the complaint
alleged that the Commission erred in failing to find the
proceeding before it barred by the statute of limitations of
the Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C. § 16(3), in failing
to observe and properly apply its own rules of practice, and
in allowing prosecution of a complaint seeking damages
by a corporation which had been dissolved five years
previously.

By answer filed on January 5, 1962, the petitioner ad-
mitted, without qualification, all of the jurisdictional alle-
gations of the complaint. However, on April 20, 1962, the
petitioner moved the court to dismiss the complaint ‘‘for
lack of jurisdiction of the subject matter, or in the exer-
tise of its equity discretion’’.

By answer made on or about January 12, 1962, the
United States of America neither defended nor opposed
the Commission orders, pointing out that ‘‘the Interstate
Commerce Commission and the shipper have adequate
statutory authority to defend the Commission’s orders”’,
that the Commission ‘‘will avail itself of the statutory au-
thorization to interpose all defenses to the plaintiffs’
charges possible of being interposed’’, and that ‘‘the

ae

4

shipper, if it so elects, may present its position through
its own counsel’’.

The District Court denied the petitioner’s motion to
dismiss on May 15, 1962 (R. 26).

On August 22, 1962, a suit was filed on behalf of the
Thomson Phosphate Company in the United States Dis.
trict Court for the Southern District of New York, seeking
damages based on the orders of the Commission heretofore
referred to. By stipulation of the parties, that complaint
is being held in abeyance pending final disposition of the
instant proceeding.

On January 9, 1963, the Florida District Court found
the reports and orders of the Commission unlawful and
set them aside (R. 27-37).

The petitioner appealed from the judgment of the Dis.
trict Court. It did not appeal the findings of the District
Court on the merits, but only the question of the court’s
jurisdiction (R. 4).

On July 8, 1964, the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Circuit affirmed the decision and judgment of the
District Court, holding that the District Court was correct
in overruling the motion to dismiss, in sustaining the right
of judicial review in that court under §§ 1336 and 1398,
and in rejecting the contention that review had to be in the
pending New York action. The Court of Appeals also
concluded that the contention that the trial Court having
jurisdiction should nevertheless have declined to exercise
it for equitable considerations was without merit.

Argument

As the Court of Appeals quite properly indicated (7a),
this case is important because of the necessity to determine
‘‘the statutory mechanism for review in reparation award
order cases generally, not merely the machinery which

5

would satisfy this particular case’’. It is essential, there-
fore, that the nature and effect of administrative findings
and reparation award orders based thereon be clearly
defined.

In Mitchell Coal Co. v. Penna. R. R. Co., 230 U. 8. 247,
one of the leading cases on the primary jurisdiction of the
Commission, this Court made it abundantly clear that there
are two separate and distinct aspects to a reparation
award. The first is the finding that the assailed rates and
charges are unlawful in violation of the Interstate Com-
merce Act, and the second is the finding as to the fact and
the amount of damage. The Court characterized (p. 258)
the first as an administrative finding, and the second as
a quasi-judicial finding. The Court said that in a suit
by a shipper for damages under § 16(2) the administra-
tive finding of unlawfulness is ‘‘conclusive’’, that the
quasi-judicial finding of the fact and amount of damage
is only prima facie correct, and that only as to the latter
finding does the carrier have ‘‘its day in court and the
right to a judicial hearing’’. In short, the Mitchell Coal
case holds that the carrier may not have a judicial hearing
under §16(2) on the administrative finding of unlawful-
ness, that finding being conclusive and binding upon car-
riers, unless and until it is set aside by the Commission
itself, or by a court of competent jurisdiction.

Moreover, as the Court said in that case, award orders
‘can be given general and uniform operation since all ship-
pers who have been or may be affected by the rate can
take advantage of the ruling and avail themselves of the
reparation order’’. Thus, under Section 9 of the Inter-
state Commerce Aci, 49 U.S.C. $9, so long as an adminis-
trative finding of unlawfulness is outstanding and not
enjoined, suspendecd| or set aside, every other shipper
similarly situated is entitled by appropriate proceedings
before the Commission or the courts to obtain the benefit
of that general finding and order. Phillips v. Grand Trunk
Ry., 236 U. S. 662.

6

The Court of Appeals recognized the significance of the
dual nature of award orders and the settled law with re.
spect to the general effect of such award orders (8a),

The decision below is clearly correct.

The jurisdiction of the District Court was the only
issue raised on appeal. Prior decisions by this Court make
it clear that the decision below was correct.

A. The District Court had jurisdiction under Section
17(9) of the Interstate Commerce Act and Sections
1336 and 1398 of the Judiciary and Judicial Pro
cedure.

Section 17(9) of the Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C.
§ 17(9)),* provides that when a petition for reconsideration
of a decision, order, or requirement of the Commission
shall have been made and denied or otherwise disposed
of, a suit to enjoin, suspend or set aside such decision,
order, or requirement, in whole or in part, may be brought
in a court of the United States under the provisions of
law applicable to such suits, but not otherwise. There is
nothing in the language of that section which excludes
from its provisions orders of the kind here assailed. On
the contrary, the language of that section specifically
authorizes the filing of suits to enjoin, suspend, or set
aside any decision, order, or requirement of the Com-
mission.

Section 1336 of Judiciary and Judicial Procedure, 23
U.S.C. § 1336,* expressly gives the district courts juris-
diction of such actions, and § 1398 thereof* expressly fixes
the venue of such actions as the judicial district wherein

* Sometimes hereinafter referred to simply as § 17(9), § 1336
and § 1398 or §§ 17(9), 1336 and 1398.

ORR cr a ne

7

is the residence or principal office of any of the parties
bringing such action.

This Court has already decided that findings and orders
relating to money damages are reviewable by a one-judge
district court in a suit brought under the provisions of
§§17(9), 1836 and 1398. United States v. I.C.C., 337 U. S.
426; Pennsylvania R. Co. v. United States, 363 U. S. 202.

In Umted States v. I.C.C., supra, the United States as a
shipper brought an action to set aside a Commission denial
of reparation and an order dismissing the complaint. This
Court held that the legal consequences of the order there
assailed fell ‘‘squarely within the type made subject to
judicial review by § 41(28)’’,* that a Commission order
dismissing a shipper’s claim for damages is an ‘‘order”’
subject to challenge under § 1336, and that judicial review
of such an order does not require a three-judge court.

In the dissenting opinion of Mr. Justice Frankfurter in
that case, an attempt was made to read into the language
of Section 17(9) by implication the words ‘‘provided the
decision, order, or requirement is not one for money dam-
ages”. That construction of the provisions of Section
17(9) was rejected by the majority of the Court, and it
was completely abandoned in Pennsylvania R. Co. v.
United States, supra.

In Pennsylvania R. Co. v. United States, supra, the
plaintiff railroad brought an action against the United
States of America and the Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion under the provisions of §§17(9), 1336 and 1398 to
enjoin, set aside and annul a Commission finding that
certain rates were unreasonable and a Commission order
denying reconsideration thereof. The Commission deter-
mination was made in a proceeding after referral of the
question to it by the Court of Claims. In a unanimous deci-

* Now 28 U.S.C. § 1336.

F

sion this Court characterized that case as one involvi
‘‘the power of District Courts to review Interstate Com.
merce Commission orders determining the reasonableness
of rates’’, pointed out (p. 205) that it had previously held
that judicial review is equally available whether a Commis.
sion order relates to past or future rates, or whether its
proceeding follows referral by a court or originates with
the Commission, citing Eldorado Oil Works v. United
States, 328 U. 8. 12, and concluded that the plaintiff rai).
road was entitled to have the Commission order judicially
reviewed and that jurisdiction to review such an order jg
vested exclusively in the district courts, citing 28 U.S.C.
§ 1336, and 49 U.S.C. $17(9). The court also cited Sea-
board Air Line R. Co. v. Daniel, 333 U. S. 118, 122, in
which it stated that ‘‘federal district courts have exclusive
jurisdiction of suits to enjoin, set aside, annul, or suspend
an order of the Commission’’, and also that ‘‘in such suits
the United States is an indispensible party’’. The Court
also held that the order was properly reviewable by a
one-judge rather than a three-judge district court because
it was essentially one ‘‘for the payment of money”? within
the terms of 28 U.S.C. 2321 and 2325, which exempt such
orders from the three-judge court procedure of 28 U.S.C.
2224, citing United States v. 1:C.C., supra.

National Van Lines, Inc. v. United States, 326 F. 2d 362
(C. A. 7, 1964), is a decision in substantial accord with the
decision of the Court of Appeals in the instant case. That
action was brought under Sections 17(9), 1336 and 1398,
among others, and sought to set aside administrative find-
ings of the Commission and a declaratory order based
thereon. The Court sustained the carrier’s right to main-
tain the action. Although that case involved a question
substantially similar to that involved here, neither the
Commission nor the United States sought review of that
decision by this court.

8

In summary, the findings and orders assailed in the in-
stant case are substantially the same as those which were

a

—

9

involved in United States v. I.C.C., supra, Pennsylvania R.
Co. v. United States, supra, and National Van Lines, Inc.
vy. United States, supra. Those cases make it clear that
such administrative findings and orders relating to the pay-
ment of money are reviewable by the district courts under
Section 17(9) and Section 1336.

B. Section 16(2) is not a “review” provision.

Section 16(2) of the Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C.
§16(2), is not ‘‘the exclusive method for judicial review of
an order of the Commission which awards reparations’’.
It is not a ‘‘review’’ section at all, nor by its language
does it purport to be.

Section 16(1) of the Interstate Commerce Act provides
that if, after hearing on a complaint, the Commission
should determine that any party complainant is entitled to
an award of damages for a violation of the act, ‘‘the Com-
mission shall make an order directing the carrier to pay to
the complainant the sum to which he is entitled on or before
aday named.’’ That paragraph makes it a mandatory duty
of the Commission to issue such an order. George Allison
é Co. v. Interstate Commerce Com’n, 107 F. 2d 180.

Section 16(2) provides that if a carrier does not comply
with such an order, the complainant, or any person for
whose benefit the order was made, may file a complaint in a
United States District Court or in any State court of gen-
eral jurisdiction, having jurisdiction of the parties, setting
forth briefly the causes for which he claims damages and
the order of the Commission. The section further provides
that on the trial of such a suit, the findings and order of
the Commission shall be prima facie evidence of the facts
therein stated.

A suit brought under the provisions of that section is not
one for the ‘‘enforcement and review’’ of the Commission
order. It is ‘‘a plenary suit for damages actually incurred
by the plaintiff, by reason of violation of the Act by the

he.

10

defendant as conclusively found by the Commission’,
Lehigh Valley R. Co. v. Clark, 207 Fed. 717, 724. This
Court has also held that an action under $16(2) is not
one to enforce a reparation order; it is an action for dam.
ages. Lewis, Etc., Co. v. Southern Pac. Co., 283 U. 8. 654,
661.

Section 16(2) is and was clearly intended to be a special
procedure which authorizes a complainant before the Com.
mission to initiate a suit to recover damages ‘‘if a carrier
does not comply with an order for the payment of money
within the time limit in such order’’. The purpose of Con.
gress was ‘‘to discourage harassing resistance by a car-
rier to a reparation order’’. St. L. & 9. F. R.R. v. Spiller,
275 U. S. 156, 159.

In Baldwin v. Milling Co., 307 U. S. 478, this Court stated
(p. 482), that ‘‘the Act unmistakably evidences purpose
directly to prevent interposition of pleas lacking merit ani
so coercively to bring about prompt payment of the Com.
mission’s awards’’, citing St. L. é S. F. R.R. v. Spiller,
supra. It further stated (p. 483) that ‘‘Sections 16(1) and
16(2) indicate legislative purpose to penalize failure of car-
riers, having no defense, to pay damages in accordance
with the terms of the commission’s findings and reparation
orders’’.*

As a suit for damages rather than a suit to enforce a
reparation order it falls within the prohibition of §17(9)
which states that ‘‘a suit to enforce, enjoin, suspend, or set
aside such decision, order, or requirement, in whole or in
part, may be brought in a court of the United States under
those provisions of law applicable in the case of suits to
enforce, enjoin, suspend, or set aside orders of the Com-
mission, but not otherwise’’.*

In other words, the jurisdiction embodied in $ 1336 may
not be availed of by a district court in a suit instituted

* Italics added.

11

under § 16(2) because such a suit is not one ‘‘to enforce,
enjoin, suspend, or set aside orders of the Commission’’.

Thus, §17(9) by its own terms provides for the ‘‘exclu-
sive method for judicial review of an order of the Com-
mission which awards reparation’’.

Section 17(9) was not enacted until 1940 [54 Stat. 916],
almost thirty years after the decision of this Court in
Mitchell Coal Co. v. Penna. R. R. Co., 230 U. 8. 247. If, as
this Court there said, the administrative findings are con-
dusive in a $16(2) suit, it must follow that district courts
are without jurisdiction to review such findings and set
them aside. Thus, almost thirty years prior to the enact-
ment of §17(9) this Court held, at least inferentially, that
§16(2) is not a review section, but, consistent with Lewis,
Etc., Co. v. Southern Pac. Co., supra, is simply a section
mder which an action for damages may be maintained.

Section 16(2) does not give a district court jurisdiction
to enjoin or set aside an administrative finding of unjust-
ness and unreasonableness. Neither does it provide any
procedure by which the Commission and the United States
may be brought in as necessary parties. In fact, Congress
has expressly withheld authority from the Commission to
join as a party plaintiff in suits involving orders for the
payment of money. 49 U.S.C. §16(12). Moreover, with-
out the power in a court of law to enjoin, suspend, or set
aside administrative findings of the Commission it cannot
be said that review, as that term is used in the Interstate
Commerce Act, the Administrative Procedure Act, and the
Judicial Code, is available to a party. Those statutes ex-
pressly include that element of review; Section 16(2) does
not, because by its very language it is not a review section.

The uniformity, which is the principal aim of the Inter-
state Commerce Act and which is discussed in the Mitchell
and Phillips cases, and many other cases of this Court,
cannot be accomplished or assured unless the reviewing
court also has jurisdiction to enjoin and set aside the

12

administrative findings which are available to all shippers
who have shipped under the condemned rates. Without
such jurisdiction a district court can only dismiss the
complaint if the administrative findings are held to be in.
valid or enter judgment if they are upheld. Neither the
Commission nor any other district court would be bound
by any judgment entered by a district court.

Moreover, the problems created by the contention that
§16(2) is a review section are compounded by the facet
that the section also authorizes suits to be brought in state
courts. That automatically raises serious questions of the
dualism of the federal-state system, questions which re.
quire no discussion in this brief.

In any event, even if it be conceded, arguendo, that a car-
rier is entitled to limited ‘‘review’’ in a $16(2) suit, the
fact still remains, as the lower court pointed out (p. 9a) that
‘even 100% success in the $16(2) suit leaves the carrier
faced with unsatisfactory law for all to use, and unsatis-
factory fact findings for all shippers to use’’.

II

Petitioner has advanced no valid reasons for grant-
ing a writ.

A. Shippers are not deprived of procedural advantages.

The principal argument of the petitioner is that the
decision of the lower court will deprive shippers of pro-
cedural’ advantages given to them by the provisions of
§16(2). That contention is wholly without substance.

Only if the findings and order of the Commission are
valid does a shipper have a valid cause of action for dam-
ages under $16(2) and a right to the procedural ad-
vantages given thereby. If the District Court upholds
the Commission’s findings and order in a §17(9) suit by
a carrier, the shipper is not denied his right to maintain
an action under §16(2) nor deprived of any of its pro-

—

13

cedural advantages. On the other hand, if the reviewing
court holds the Commission findings and order invalid and
sets them aside, it automatically means that the shipper
did not have a valid cause of action under § 16(2) to begin
with and, therefore, was neither entitled to nor deprived
of any procedural advantage. Moreover, as the decision
of the lower court makes clear, under appropriate circum-
stances a shipper may obtain the benefit of all or part of
those statutory advantages by intervening in the §17(9)
suit. That is exactly what a number of successful shippers
have done in Baltimore and Ohio R. Co., et al. v.
United States, et al., Civil Action No. 14897, U.S.D.C. D.
Md., one of the suits referred to by the petitioner (p. 6).
As the United States stated in its answer to the instant
complaint, ‘‘the shipper, if it so elects, may present its
position through its own counsel’’. As the court below
pointed out (12a-13a), a decree sustaining the basic validity
of the findings and order of the Commission would leave
interested shippers in an even more advantageous posi-
tion, since the only remaining issue in a § 16(2) suit would
be the limited issue of money damages, an issue which the
railroads then would hardly be in a position to challenge.
If the findings and order of the Commission fail to pass
muster and are, therefore, ‘‘not in accordance with law”’,
they may be set aside, and, as the lower court said (11a),
“no one, whether Carrier or Shipper, will thereafter be
subjected to the expense of useless litigation in numerous
courts where separate §16(2) shipper suits have been
filed’’.

The petitioner deplores (p. 7) ‘‘the shipper’s loss of his
choice of venue’’. In doing so the petitioner overlooks the
simple fact that if a shipper has a valid cause of action for
damages under § 16(2) he is at liberty to file his suit and
avail himself of all of the procedural advantages provided
for in that section, including ‘‘his choice of venue’’. The
petitioner also overlooks the fact that the venue provisions
of § 1398 are much narrower than those of § 16(2), and are
the identical venue provisions available to a shipper seek-

14

ing judicial review of a Commission order denying an
award of reparation. However, the important and un-
deniable fact of the matter is that it is extremely unusual
for railroads to challenge findings and orders in repara-
tion proceedings, small or large. In the comparatively rare
instances in which they do challenge them they do so be-
cause of the principle involved, not the reparation involved
in a particular proceeding. Undoubtedly none of the 22
reparation orders referred to by the petitioner (pp. 7-8)
was contested, but was paid promptly and without ques-
tion.

B. The grounds allegedly relied upon do not impair any
congressional policy.

The petitioner refers to the 1948 codification of Title 28,
U.S.C. Sections 1336 and 1398, and particularly to the
‘‘except’’ clauses of those sections, and to the fact that
those exceptions were identified in the ‘‘Revisor’s Notes to
Section 1398’’ with Section 16 of the Interstate Commerce
Act, 49 U.S.C. 16. But just because the venue provisions
of § 1398 do not apply to $16(2) suits, it does not follow
that the district courts were deprived of jurisdiction to
review a reparation order under the provisions of § 1336.
All that Congress did by the ‘‘except’’ clauses referred to
was to exempt from the restricted venue provisions of
§ 1398 suits for damages brought pursuant to the provi-
sions of § 16(2).

The petitioner assumes (p. 9) that the court below be-
lieved that a §17(9) suit would avoid multiple suits by
shippers relying upon Commission findings and orders in
reparation cases, and argues that for forty years it has
been the settled law that the possibility of ‘‘ multiplicity of
suits’? does not warrant depriving shippers ‘‘of advan-
tages conferred by Congress”’, citing Pittsburgh & W. Va.
Ry. Co. v. U. S., 6 F. 2d 646. The petitioner overlooks the
fact that the action there involved was before a three-judge
court, which clearly did not have jurisdiction of an action

—

15

to enjoin, set aside, and annul a reparation order. It also
overlooks, the fact that the plaintiff in that case relied
solely upon the equity jurisdiction of the court, as distin-
guished from its statutory jurisdiction with respect to
matters arising before the Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion, as well as on the sole ground that the order there
assailed, unless enjoined, set aside, and annulled, would
result in a multiplicity of suits. Equally important is the
fact that the case was decided more than sixteen years
prior to the enactment of §17(9) in 1940, and long before
the decisions of this Court in Rochester Tel. Corp. v. U. S.,
307 U. S. 125; El Dorado Oil Works v. United States, 328
U.S. 12; United States v. I.C.C., supra; and Pennsylvania
R. Co. v. United States, supra. Moreover, the lower court
was much more concerned with ensuring uniform treatment
of all shippers similarly situated than it was with the
multiplicity of suits aspects.

The petitioner assails (p. 10) the lower court conclusions
that ‘‘symmetry also suggests a congressional purpose to
allow review of an award-order granting reparations under
§17(9)’’. The petitioner either chooses to disregard or
fails to understand the symmetry which the lower court
obviously had in mind. The symmetry which the court had
in mind had to do with the substantive right to the remedy
available under §$17(9) and 1336 to a shipper denied
reparation by the Commission in a proceeding before it, or
to the losing party, whether a shipper or a railroad, in a
referral action. All that the lower court did was to point
out that a Commission denial of reparation is reviewable
under $§17(9), 1336, and 1398, as is an administrative
determination of primary jurisdiction elements of a re-
ferral to the Commission by a court, and to conclude that
symmetry or consistency ‘‘suggests a congressional pur-
pose to allow review of an order awarding reparation as
well’’, That symmetry does not fail because a shipper seek-
ing review of an order denying reparation must bring suit
in the district in which he resides. That is the same venue

16

provision which governs the review of a referral proceed-
ing. It is not ‘‘essentially the same venue advantage
which §16(2) of the Interstate Commerce Act”’’ gives a
shipper in a suit for damages. The venue provisions ap-
plicable to § 17(9) suits are far more restricted than those
of § 16(2). The resort to a venue argument simply reflects
an attempt on the part of the petitioner to avoid the sound
and logical observation of the lower court.

Furthermore, the principal, if not the only, effect of Pub-
lic Law No. 88-513, 78 Stat. 695, referred to by the peti-
tioner (p. 11) is to allow the initial court in referral cases,
usually the United States Court of Claims, to retain juris-
diction for the purpose of reviewing findings and orders of
the Commission.

_ The petitioner next assails (p. 12) the decision of the
court below because one result ‘‘will be to permit the
transfer of the burden of defending Commission orders
awarding reparations from the shipper to the Commis-
sion’s legal staff’’. The indignation of the Commission
at the thought of having to defend its award orders is
surprising, to say the least. Who, if not the Commission,
should be required to defend its administrative findings
and orders, and who is in as good a position or as well
qualified to do so? As the lower court points out (1la-
12a) in a suit by a shipper under § 16(2) ‘‘the sole spokes-
man in behalf of the ICC’s order is the private party
seeking partisan relief’’, whereas in a suit brought under
the provisions of $§17(9), 1336, and 1398, the United
States and the Commission are made defendants ‘‘directly
and immediately responsible for * * * the advocative
assertion of contentions deemed essential in the public
interest’’.

Finally, the petitioner argues that the decision below
conflicts with prior holdings or statements by this Court
that a shipper’s suit under $ 16(2) ‘‘is the exclusive route
by which the Congress has authorized the courts to deter-

17

mine the validity of a Commission order awarding repara-
tions’’. In support of that contention the petitioner cites
United States v. I.C.C., supra, and Porter Co. v. Central
Vermont R. Co., 366 U. S. 272. In neither of those deci-
sions did this Court make any such holding or statement.

And contrary to the contentions of the petitioner (p. 13),
Washington Terminal Co. v. Boswell, 319 U.S. 732, did not
involve provisions of the Railway Labor Act ‘‘which are
closely analogous to Section 16(2)’’. As the lower court
said (10a), ‘‘the resemblance is superficial’’. Under the
provisions of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.A. §§ 151,
153 First [p], the District Courts are empowered to make
such order and enter such judgment, by writ of manda-
mus or otherwise, as may be appropriate to enforce or set
aside the order of the adjustment board. No similar
sweeping authority is contained or implied in the provi-
sions of §16(2). Moreover, the procedure created by the
Railway Labor Act is not subject to the provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C.A. §§ 1001, et seq.
As the lower court pointed out (10a), that is not the case
here.

Ill
The memorandum of the United States.

Despite the fact that in its answer the United States
of America neither defended nor opposed the Commission
orders because ‘‘the Interstate Commerce Commission and
the shipper have adequate statutory authority to defend
the Commission orders’’, it now supports the Coimission
petition for the reason that ‘‘it would be a statutory
defendant in any action instituted by a carrier to set aside
a reparations order of the Commission’’. Yet it expresses
xo intention to participate actively in the defense of any
such action in the future, and there is nothing in its memo-
randum which suggests or implies that its answer and
position in such cases in the future would not be substan-
tially the same as its answer and position in this case.

a

18

The United States argues that the decision below may
seriously impair the ability of some shippers to recover
reparations awarded them by the Commission, but it makes
no attempt to show how or why that might reasonably
be expected. There is no basis in the decision of the
lower court for the conclusion that ‘‘shippers will almost
invariably be denied the benefits available to them under
Section 16(2)’’. If a shipper has a valid cause of action
for damages under § 16(2), a review action under § 17(9)
will not in any way affect his right to maintain that cause
of action under §16(2), or deprive him of any of the
benefits available to him under that section. Despite the
obvious advantage of having the Commission assume the
burden of defending its own findings and orders, shippers
who are not content to rely upon the Commission for the
protection of their interests in a §17(9) suit by a railroad
may intervene in such a suit if they so elect and present
their position through their own counsel. If the findings
and order of the Commission are upheld in such a suit,
the interested shipper would then be in an even more
advantageous position in a $16(2) suit.

The contention of the United States that there is serious
doubt whether the decision of the court below is consistent
with the congressional policy reflected in § 16(2) was like-
wise advanced by the petitioner and has already been
answered. It should be noted, however, that the United
States as a shipper plaintiff sought review of a denial
of reparation by the Commission in United States v. I.C.C.,
supra. In that case the United States successfully took the
position that §§ 17(9) and 1336 permit review of orders
involving the payment of money. It seems very signifi-
cant that the United States makes no attempt to reconcile
the position it took in that case and the diametrically
opposite position it takes here.

PE EES REE DELS EERIE IEEE LIEGE EE

19

IV

The amicus curiae brief of the National Jndustrial
Traffic League.

The League contends (pp. 2-3) that the practical effect
of the decision below will be to enable ‘‘obdurate and
litigious railroads’? to deny shippers, and particularly
small shippers, ‘‘any effective remedy for reparations for
the exaction of unlawful freight rates and charges’’. That
contention is completely preposterous on its face. Unless
and until an ‘‘obdurate and litigious’’ railroad succeeds in
having an award order enjoined, annulled or set aside
under the provisions of $§ 17(9), 1336 and 1398, a shipper
would be left with his statutory right to file a 4 16/2) suit
for damages. If the award order is set aside in a § 17(9)
suit because it is ‘‘not in accordance with law’’, it follows
that no shipper was deprived of any right or remedy.
There is, therefore, no substance to the contention of the
League that the practical effect of the decision below is to
render § 16(2) in large part a nullity.

Much of the League’s argument is in substance a repeti-
tion of the argument of the petitioner that the decision of
the court below deprives shippers of ‘‘ procedural benefits’’
accorded them by Congress, an argument which has already
been answered.

The League’s reference to ‘‘a small shipper’’ would seem
to disclose a wilful lack of knowledge on its part of the
facts in this case. In this intance there was no ‘‘small
shipper in New York’’, and the ‘‘shipper’s’’ § 16(2) suit
brought in New York almost a year after the institution of
the respondents’ suit under $17(9) was allegedly filed on
behalf of an Illinois corporation, dissolved more than five
years previously, whose office and principal place of busi-
ness had been in Chicago, Ill. The extent of the effort of
that shipper ‘‘to avail itself of its remedy under Section
16(2) has thus far come to naught’’ because by stipulation
its complaint is being held in abeyance pending the final

20

disposition of the instant proceeding. The shipper has not
been deprived of its right under § 16(2), nor of the ‘‘ad-
vantages’’ there provided for. The decision of the lower
court makes it clear that because of the invalidity of the
award order the interested shipper never had a valid cause
of action under §16(2) to begin with, and that any suit
brought under that section should properly come to naught.

The League, ‘as amicus curiae, raises an issue which the
petitioner has not. It contends that a reparation order is
not final and, therefore, is not reviewable. There is no sub-
stance whatever to that contention. As the lower court
stated (6a), a reparation order ‘‘has all the characteristics
of finality so far regarded as essential to court review
under statutes comparable to those here involved”’, citing
Rochester Tel. Corp. v. United States, supra; Columbia
Broadcasting System v. United States, 316 U. S. 407;
Frozen Food Express v. United States, 351 U. 8. 40; United
States v. Storer Broadcasting Co., 351 U.S. 192; El Dorado
Oil Works v. United States, swpra.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons hereinbefore given, the respondents
submit that the petition should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Encar McDonatp,
466 Lexington Avenue,
New York, N. Y. 10017,
Attorney for Respondents.
Of Counsel:
Puit C. BEvERLY,
500 Water Street,
Jacksonville, Fla. 32202.
Urcuis B. Exits,
Broad Street Station,
Richmond, Va. 23220.

21

Certificate of Service.

I, J. Edgar McDonald, attorney of record for the re-
spondents in this proceeding, and a member of the Bar of
the Supreme Court of the United States, hereby certify
that I have served copies of the foregoing brief on the sev-
eral parties to this action, as follows:

1. On the petitioner, the Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion, by mailing copies in duly addressed envelopes with
first class postage prepaid, to its attorneys of record, Rob-
ert W. Ginnane, General Counsel, and Leonard S. Good-
man, Assistant General Counsel, Interstate Commerce
Commission, Washington 25, D. C.

2. On the United States of America, by mailing copies
in duly addressed envelopes with first class postage pre-
paid, to its attorney of record, Archibald Cox, Solicitor
General, Department of Justice, Washington, D. C., 20530.

3. On The National Industrial Traffic League, by mail-
ing copies in duly addressed envelopes to its attorneys of
record, John F. Donelan and John M. Cleary, 700 Brawner
Building, 888 17th Street, N.W., Washington, D. C., 20006.

This 11th day of December, 1964.
J. Encar McDonatp,

466 Lexington Avenue,
New York 17, N. Y.

APPENDIX
Relevant Portions of Statutes Involved

5 U.S.C.A. § 1001(d), (f), and (g):

‘‘(d) ‘Order’ means the whole or any part of the
final disposition (whether affirmative, negative, injunc-
tive, or declaratory in form) of any agency in any mat-
ter other than rule making but including licensing.
‘Adjudication’ means agency process for the formula-
tion of an order.”’

**(f) ‘Sanction’ includes the whole or part of any
agency (1) prohibition, requirement, limitation, or
other condition affecting the freedom of any person;
(2) withholding of relief; (3) imposition of any form
of penalty or fine; (4) destructi.n, taking, seizure, or
withholding of property; (5) assessment of dam-
ages, reimbursement, restitution, compensation, costs,
charges, or fees; (6) requirement, revocation, or sus-
pension of a license; or (7) taking of other compulsory
or restrictive action. ‘Relief’ includes the whole or
part of any agency (1) grant of money, assistance,
liccnse, authority, exemption, exception, privilege, or
remedy; (2) recognition of any claim, right, immunity,
privilege, exemption, or exception; or (3) taking of
any other action upon the application or petition of,
and beneficial to, any person.”’

**(g) ‘Agency proceeding’ means any agency proc-
ess as defined in subsections (c), (d), and (e) of this
section. ‘Agency action’ includes the whole or part of
every agency rule, order, license, sanction, relief, or
the equivalent or denial thereof, or failure to act.’’

5 U.S.C.A. § 1009:

‘*Except so far as (1) statutes preclude judicial re-
view or (2) agency action is by law committed to
agency discretion.”’

‘*(a) Any person suffering legal wrong because of
any agency action, or adversely affected or aggrieved
by such action within the meaning of any relevant
statute, shall be entitled to judicial review thereof.’’

1b

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386411_0235%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
