# Amicus Curiae Brief — Ginzburg v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386411_0229%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1966
- **Citation:** 383 U.S. 463

## Text

F
SEP 29 1965

IN THE JOHN F. DAVIS, CLER

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1965
No. 42

an

Rate Ginzspurc, Documentary Books, Inc.,
Eros Macazing, Inc., Liaison News Letter, Inc.,

Petitioners,
Vi

Unitep States or AMERICA,

Respondent.

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
AND THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
OF PENNSYLVANIA, AMICI CURIAE

Bernarp A. BERKMAN
1320 The Superior Building
Cleveland, Ohio 44114

Metvin L. Wuur
Seymour H. Bucnoiz
156 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10010

Murray Pow.en
1405 Locust Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

;
&
'

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

WE?

Interest of Amici
Statement of Facts
Summary of Argument

ARGUMENT

1.

II.

CoNCLUSION .....

INDEX

All utterances are within the protection of the
First Amendment and may not be restricted un-
less there is a clear and present danger that they
will bring about a substantive evil to society
unless. restrained

The test of obscenity as announced in Roth v.
United States and interpreted in subsequent de-
cisions is vague and unworkable and inhibits
the dissemination of expression which is not
obscene and clearly within the protective scope
of the First Amendment

A. Obscenity Standards of Sex Portrayal

B. The “Average Person”

C. Determining What Is “Utterly Without Re-
deeming Social Importance”

SRE PHP TOR EE,

i
TABLE oF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Abrams v. United States, 250 U. S. 616 (1919)
American Mercury, Ine. v. Chase, 13 F. 2d 224 (D. C.

Cir. 1926) 37
A Quantity of Copies of Books v. Kansas, 378 U. S.
205 (1964) } . 10, 36

Bantam Books, Inc. v. Melko, 25 N. J. Super. 292, 96

A. 2d 47 (1950) 37
Bantam Books, Ine. v. Sullivan, 372 U. 8. 58 (1963) ... 10
Beauharnais v. Illinois, 343 U. 8. 250 (1952) ....7, 8, 15, 17, 19

Bridges v. California, 314 U. S. 252 (1941) 00. 5
Butler v. Michigan, 352 U. S. 380 (1957) 200. 30
Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U. S. 296 (1940) 00... 15

Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U. 8. 568 (1942) ..5, 6,17
Commonwealth v. Gordon, 66 Pa. D. & C. 101 (1949) ..7,9,
26, 29

Commonwealth v. Isenstadt, 318 Mass. 543, 62 N. E. 2d
a IN TITTE -diichinsechinsnnaticiteiidedeebeiiniiesmeniadielibcaniibiabininapicenaaees 31

Dennis v. United States, 341 U. S. 494 (1951) ....15, 37, 38
Edwards v. South Carolina, 372 U. S. 229 (1963)

Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U. S. 64 (1964)
Gitlow v. New York, 268 U. S. 652 (1925)
Grove Press, Inc. v. Gerstein, 378 U. S. 577 (1964) ....

Haldeman v. United States, 340 F. 2d 59 (10th Cir.
1965)
Herndon v. Lowry, 301 U. S. 254 (1937)

PAGE
Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U. S. 184 (1964) 9,10,11,21 _
Jacobellis v. United States, 378 U. S. 184 (1964) —...... 12

Kingsley Books, Inc. v. Brown, 354 U. 8. 436 (1957) ... 10
Kingsley Int’! Pictures Corp. v. Regents, 360 U. 8. 684
(1959) . 39

Manual Enterprises, Inc. v. Day, 370 U. S. 478 (1962)
9, 10, 21, 25, 31
Marcus v. Search Warrant, 367 U. S. 717 (1961) -...... 10
Mounce v. United States, 355 U. 8. 180, reversing 247
F. 2d 148 (9th Cir. 1957) 9, 11

N. A. A. C. P. v. Button, 371 U. S. 415 (1963) -...... 12, 26, 33
New American Library v. Allen, 114 F. Supp. &%

i 2s 2 ee “7
New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U. S. 254 (1964) ...15, 16,
17,19
Olmstead v. United States, 277 U. S. 438 (1928) ........ 2
One, Inc. v. Olesen, 355 U. S. 371 (1958), reversing
241 F. 2d 772 (9th Cir. 1957) 9
Pennekamp v. Florida, 328 U. S. 331 (1946) ..0000..... 15
Public Utilities Commission v. Pollack, 343 U. S. 451
(1952) 16
Regina v. Hicklin, [1868} L. R. 3 Q. B. 360 _...... 21, 24, 30
Roth v. United States, 354 U. S. 484 (1957) 0... 3,
passim

Schenck v. United States, 249 U. S. 47 (1919) 0... 5, 6, 15

Smith v. California, 361 U. S. 147 (1959) _....... 10, 22, 37

ee

iv
PAGE
State v. Jacobellis, 173 Ohio St. 22, 179 N. E. 2d 777
(1962) 10
State v. Jacobellis, 115 Ohio App. 226, 175 N. E. 2d
123 (1961) ..... 10
Stromberg v. California, 283 U. 8. 359 (1931) -........... 16
Sunshine Book Co. v. Summerfield, 355 U. S. 372 (1958),
reversing 249 F. 2d 114 (D. C. Cir. 1957) .......00002... 9,11
Terminiello v. Chicago, 337 U. S. 1 (1949) -.20000...... 15, 16
Thomas v. Collins, 323 U. S. 516 (1945) 2. 15
Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U. 8S. 88 (1940) 20202000... 15
Times Film Corp. v. City of Chicago, 355 U. 8. 35,
reversing 244 F, 2d 432 (7th Cir. 1957) 2.0.0.2... 9,11
Times Film Corp. v. City of Chicago, 365 U. 8. 43
CRIED acansctirerceiiidatlateilheesidaaeininrcviioennbanbovnmaaibcaniihdanadncenicaas 10
Tralins v. Gerstein, 378 U. S. 576 (1964) 000. 9
Trans-Lux Distrib. Corp. v. Board of Regents, 85 Sup.
RE IE PET tnisiasniastsbeennasenpnsepttaniittnipg upline g
United States v. Associated Press, 52 F. Supp. 362
oe ek | ee eee 39
United States v. Kennerley, 209 Fed. 119 (D. S. D.
I rere erence nemeenrer ct IRS it OnE SCO 24

United States v. One Book Called “Ulysses,” 5 F. Supp.
182 (S. D. N. Y. 1933), aff'd 72 F. 2d 705 (2d Cir.

I ccssinrcesncacschcnasiasiucassitpielacacttinrsoseiainsivaeeilaiealinaiglateadesbaneniaiia 30
United States v. Roth, 237 F. 2d 796 (2d Cir. 1956) ..7, 9, 26,
30

Whitney v. California, 274 U. S. 357 (1927) ................ 5, 14
Winters v. New York, 333 U.S. 507 (1948) _.0.. 30
Wood v. Georgia, 370 U. S. 375 (1962) ........................ 15

Yates v. United States, 354 U. S. 298 (1957) -.............. 15

PAGE
Statutes and Rules:

First Amendment to Constitution of the United States 2,
passim

Fourteenth Amendment to Constitution of the United
OTIS nciccnnstgeowsves scbtilebshedapneatotiens Bs 1

18 U. S. C. $1461 .... 4

Miscellaneous:

A. L. I., Model Penal Code, Tent. Draft No. 6 (1957) ..24, 26
Alpert, Judicial Censorship of Obscene Literature, 52
ee ne nttitepecciesiiiinas 9, 26

Cairns, Paul and Wishner, Sex Censorship: The As-
sumptions of Anti-Obscenity Laws and the Empirical
Evidence, 46 Minn. L. Rev. 1009 (1962) ......200.0...... 9, 27

Henkin, Morals and the Constitution: The Sin of
Obscenity, 63 Columbia L. Rev. 391 (1963) -............... 16

The Institute for Sex Research, Inc., Sex Offenders
STITT salidatasinicichdbdiesstbdctedgalelddasaecatithcaddds doen habia eed iiesien 9, 26

Jahoda and staff of Research Center for Human Re-
lations, New York University, The Impact of Litera-
ture, A Psychological Discussion of Some Assump-
tions in the Censorship Debate (1954) -2000000000202.... 9, 26

Kalven, Metaphysics of the Law of Obscenity, Su-
preme Court Review (Univ. of Chicago Press, 1960) .. 23
Kalven, The New York Times Case: A Note on “The
Central Meaning of the First Amendment,” The Su-
preme Court Review 191 (1964) 200 eee 7
Kinsey, Sexual Behavior in the Human Maiec (1948) .... 31
Kronhausen, Pornography and the Law (195%)

Reis. 31, 35

RAO ar cam Ne

PAGE

Lawrence, Pornography and Obscenity in Sex Litera-
ture and Censorship (1953)

Libel and Slander, 53 C. J. S. §4 8

Lockhart and McClure, Censorship of Obscenity, The
Developing Constitutional Standards, 45 Minn. L.

Rev. 5 (1960) 9, 23
Lockhart and McClure, Obscenity and the Courts, 20
Law and Contemp. Probs. 587 (1955) 26

Lockhart and McClure, Literature, the Law of Ob-
scenity, and the Constitution, 38 Minn. L. Rev. 295
(1954) a: Se

Mead, Sex and Censorship in Contemporary Society,
New World Writings (Third Mentor Selection 1953) 32

Mill, Essay on Liberty =
Murphy, The Value of Pornography, 10 Wayne L. Rev.
655 (1964) 9, 26, 35

Report of the Committee on Forensic Psychiatry,
Group for the Advancement of Psychiatry (No. 9,
Rev. 1950) ... 31

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1965
No. 42

ee
Ratpx Ginzeurc, Documentary Books, Inc.,
Eros Macazing, Inc., Liaison News Lerten, Inc.,
Petitioners,
——V.—

Unitep Srates oF AMERICA,
; Respondent.

—$—>——

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
AND THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
OF PENNSYLVANIA, AMICI CURIAE

Interest of Amici

The American Civil Liberties Union and its Pennsylvania
affiliate, the Pennsylvania Civil Liberties Union, are or-
ganizations dedicated to the preservation of a free and open
society, principally through the protections embodied in our
Bill of Rights and the Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution.

Freedom of expression is a particular facet of this con-
eern. Accordingly, this brief of amici curiae is filed be-
cause it appears to us that the federal felony conviction
of a publisher for using the mails to distribute to the pub-
lic books and magazines about whose aesthetic merit re-
sponsible opinion varies widely, abridges the freedom of

2

expression guaranteed by the First Amendment—hboth as
to the right of the distributor to disseminate and the cor-
responding right of members of the adult public to exer.
cise their freedom of choice in determining for themselves
what forms of artistic and literary expression they will
experience.

Our interest is not in the protection of smutty books
and magazines, nor do we presume to judge the artistic
merit of the publications whose distribution caused peti-
tioners’ conviction here. Neither is our interest limited to
our objection to the suppression of the particular books
and magazines here involved. Our concern is that, sup-
pressed in addition to these publications, is the courage of
this distributor and others to continue to disseminate the
entire spectrum of artistic and literary creativity, for fear
of future prosecutions.

In the firm belief that “the widest scope of freedom is
to be given to the adventurous and imaginative exercise
of the human spirit,”* and in the hope that it will be of
some assistance to the Court in dealing with its great task
of preserving freedom of expression from “insidious en-
croachment by men of zeal, well-meaning but without under-
standing,” * this brief is filed.

The written consent of the parties to this appearance
of amici has been filed with the Clerk of the Court.

1 Kingsley Int’l Pictures Corp. v. Regents, 360 U. S. 684, 695
(1959) (Frankfurter, J., concurring).

2 Olmstead v. United States, 277 U. S. 438, 479 (1928) (Brandeis,
J., dissenting).

Statement of Facts :

Petitioners were indicted and convicted on twenty-eight
counts of mailing obscene publications and advertisements
for such publications in violation of 18 U. 8. C. $1461. The
publications in issue were a magazine, Eros, Vol. 1, No. 4,
a book, The Housewife’s Handbook of Selective Promiscu-
ity, and a newsletter, Inaison, Vol. 1, No, 1.

At the trial before the District Court, sitting without a
jury, it was stipulated that petitioners had mailed the
challenged publications with knowledge of the contents and,
after presenting some evidence to show criminal intent, the
prosecution introduced the publications and rested. A de-
fense motion for acquittal was denied.

For its case, the defense offered the expert testimony
of a clinical psychologist, a practicing psychiatrist, literary
critic Dwight MacDonald, the chairman of the fine arts de-
partment of New York University and a Baptist minister,
who testified in sum that the publications, while admittedly
erotic in character, did not go bevond customary limits of
candor, were not patently offensive and had no tendency to
arouse the prurient interest of the average adult, that some
of the material in Eros had considerable literary and ar-
tistic merit, that the Housewife’s Handbook involved the
advocacy of ideas and had educational and clinical value.
The prosecution introduced rebuttal testimony of two psy-
chiatrists and a Baptist minister. Their testimony was
admitted for the limited purpose of rebutting the expert
testimony offered by the defense and not as affirmative
evidence in the prosecution’s case in chief.

All of the publications were held to be obscene within
the meaning of Roth v. United States, 354 U. S. 484 (1957),
and petitioners were found guilty on all counts.

4

Petitioner Ginzburg, a first offender, was sentenced to
five years imprisonment and a fine of $28,000.00. The cor-
porate petitioners were fined a total of $14,000.00. The
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit affirmed the con-
victions. Sentences have been stayed pending determina-
tion of the validity of the convictions by this Court.

Summary of Argument

Inasmuch as the petitioner was convicted on counts of
mailing obscene publications and advertisements for such
publications in violation of 18 U. S. C. §1461 under the
verbal formula for determining what is obscene for con-
stitutional purposes, announced in Roth v. United States,
354 U. S. 476 (1957), and interpreted in subsequent cases,
it is appropriate for amici curiae, in urging reversal of
the conviction below, to re-examine that holding.

In light of the imperatives of freedom of expression and
the decisions and sociological studies since the enunciation
of the Roth rule, we urge the Court to reconsider certain
aspects of that decision. r

We contend that:

I. All utterances are within the protection of the
First Amendment and may not be restricted unless
there is a clear and present danger that they will bring
about a substantive evil to society unless restrained.

II. The test of obscenity as announced in Roth v.
United States and interpreted in subsequent decisions
is vague and unworkable and tends to inhibit the dis-
semination of expression which is not obscene and

5

clearly within the protective scope of the First Amend-
ment.

Each of these contentions will be discussed in sequence
and detail below.

ARGUMENT

I.

All utterances are within the protection of the First
Amendment and may not be restricted unless there is
a clear and present danger that they will bring about a
substantive evil to society unless restrained.

When this Court held in Roth v. United States, 354 U.S.
476, 485 (1957) “that obscenity is not within the area of
constitutionally protected speech or press” it embarked
upon a philosophic voyage in the law of obscenity whose
consequences to freedom of expression can only be unfortu-
nate, to say the least.

Until Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568 (1942),
this Court had never held that any form of utterance was
per se outside the scope of the protection of the First
Amendment. All forms of expression were subjected,
rather, to the “clear and present danger” standard* within

*See Holmes, J., for the Court in Schenck v. United States, 249
U. 8. 47, 52 (1919): “The question in every case is whether
the words used are used in such circumstances and are of such
a nature as to create a clear and present danger that they will

bring about the substantive evils that Congress has a right to

prevent. It is a question of proximity and degree.” See also Abrams
v. United States, 250 U. S. 616 (1919) (dissenting opinion), Gitlow
v. New York, 268 U. S. 652 (1925) (dissenting opinion), Whitney
v. California, 274 U. 8. 357 (1927) (concurring opinion of Brandeis,
J.). And see Bridges v. California, 314 U. S. 252, 263, 265 (1941)

IE ON ON IT Ey

6

the framework of the First Amendment to determine
whether governmental restraint was constitutionally per-
missible.

In Chaplinsky, however, the Court for the first time
articulated a concept of “unprotected speech”, based not
upon its dangerous consequences to society, but upon its
lack of social value. Upon facts which might well have
been similarly resolved with less violence to settled First
Amendment principle,‘ Mr. Justice Murphy stated the prop-
osition broadly:

“There are certain well-defined and narrowly limited
classes of speech, the prevention and punishment of
which has never been thought to raise any Constitu-
tional problem. These include the lewd and obscene, the
profane, the libelous, and the insulting or ‘fighting’
words—those which by their very utterance inflict in-
jury or tend to incite an immediate breach of the peace,
It has been well observed that such utterances are no
essential part of any exposition of ideas, and are of
such slight social’ value as a step to truth that any
benefit that may be derived from them is clearly out-
weighed by the social interest in order and morality.” °

which held that freedom of expression was entitled to “the broadest
scope that could be countenanced in an orderly society,” subject
only to the requirement of the clear and present danger standard,
defined as “a working principle that the substantive evil must
be extremely serious and the degree of imminence extremely high
before utterances can be punished.”

*The epithets and vituperative remarks here involved and de-
scribed as “fighting” words might have been disposed of as “words
that . . . have all the effect of force,” Schenck v. United States,
249 U. S. 47, 52 (1919) or as expression “so closely brigaded with
illegal action as to be an inseparable part of it,” Roth v. United
Stutes, 354 U. S. 476, 514 (1957) (Douglas, J. dissenting) but
within the protection of the First Amendment.

5 Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U. S. 568, 571-572 (1942).

_—

7

Ten years later, in Beauharnais v. Illinois, 343 U. S. 250
(1952), a different class of expression—libel—was ex-
empted from the protection of the First Amendment and
measurement against “clear and present danger” standards.
In upholding the constitutionality of a state statute pro-
hibiting group libel, Justice Frankfurter, site for a
closely divided Court,’ said:

“Libelous utterances not being within the area of con-
stitutionally protected speech, it is unnecessary .. .
to consider the issues behind the phrase ‘clear and
present danger’. Certainly no one would contend that
obscene speech for example, may be punished only
upon a showing of such circumstances.’ Libel, as we
have seen, is in the same class.” °

In Roth v. United States, 354 U. S. 476 (1957), this Court
considered yet another forr: of utterance—obscenity—for
the first time. Following Beauharnais despite vigorous ar-
guments to the contrary,’ the Court transformed the dicta

* Beauharnais v. Illinois, 343 U. S. 250 (1952). See dissenting
opinions of Black, J. at 267, Reed, J. at 277, Douglas, J. at 284
and Jackson, J. at 287.

‘That Justice Frankfurter’s assessment of the number of those
who would precisely so contend is, to say the least, conservative.
See, e.g., United States v. Roth, 237 F. 2d 796, 801 (2d Cir. 1956)
(Frank, J. concurring) ; Roth v. United States, 354 U. S. 476, 508
(1957) (Douglas, J. and Black, J. dissenting) ; Commonwealth v.
Gordon, 66 Pa. D. & C. 101 (1949) ; and see Kalven, The New York
Times Case: A Note on “The Central Meaning of the First Amend-
ment,” The Supreme Court Review 191, 214 (1964).

8 Beauharnais v. Illinois, 343 U. S. 250, 266 (1952).

°“Tt is strenuously urged that these obscenity statutes offend
the constitutional guarantees because they punish incitation to im-
pure sexual thoughts, not shown to be related to any overt anti-
social conduct which is or may be incited in the persons stimulated

in a acc RR DIIRALAE.

8

in that decision into a square holding: that obscene ut-
terances are not within the ambit of First Amendment
protections and may be constitutionally suppressed in com-
plete disregard of clear and present danger standards.”

In thus emancipatiag itself, so far as obscene publica-
tions are concerned, from the First Amendment require-
ment that a clear and present danger of overt anti-social
conduct must be demonstrated before utterances may be
suppressed, this Court has necessarily taken upon itself
the task of determining whether utterances may be con-
stitutionally suppressed solely by the technique of cata-
loguing and labeling them, rather than by analyzing the
nature of the particular words sought to be suppressed and
the circumstances under which they are uttered to determine
the precise point at which such expression must give way
to the overriding requirements of society.

As a consequence, the factual separation of obscene
utterances, which may be suppressed, from _ protected

to such thoughts . . . It is insisted that the constitutional guar-
antees are violated because convictions may be had without proof
either that obscene material will perceptibly create a clear and
present danger of anti-social conduct, or will probably induce its
recipients to such conduct. But, in light of our holding that
obscenity is not protected speech, the complete answer to this
argument is in the holding of this Court in Beauharnais v. Ili-
nots....” Roth v. United States, 354 U. S. 476, 485-86 (1957).

10 Even if it is conceded arguendo that Beaxharnais was rightly
decided, a substantial argument can be made that the transfer of
the “unprotected speech” doctrine from libel to obscenity is un-
warranted because by definition libel requires proof of harm to
another as an essential element, see 53 C. J. S. §4, Libel and
Slander, while no such proof can be mustered with respect to ob-
scene material. See also Beauharnais v. Illinois, 343 U. 8. 250,
256 (1952) in which the Court found that group libel posed a
threat of violence.

_ —

9

speech, which may not,” has necessarily occupied a sub-
stantial portion of this Court’s attention since Roth.” —

11Jn the area of obscenity, the determination that a publication
is protected speech is, in most instances and for all practical pur-
poses, dispositive of the question of whether it may be: constitu-
tionally suppressed. For it has not yet been demonstrated, to satisfy
the clear and present danger standard, that pornography bears any
euusative relation whatever to overt anti-social conduct which so-
ciety may legitimately prevent. See Judge Frank’s collection of
studies of the behavioral sciences in United States v. Roth, 237
F. 2d 796, 812 (2d Cir. 1956) ; Lockhart & McClure, Censorship
of Obscenity, The Developing Constitutional Standards, 45 Minn.
L. Rev. 5 (1960); Alpert, Judicial Censorship of Obscene Litera-
ture, 52 Harv. L. Rev. 40 (1938); Jahoda and staff of Research
Center for Human Relations, New York University, The Impact
of Literature, A Psychological Discussion of Some Assumptions in
the Censorship Debate (1954); Cairns, Paul and Wishner, Sez
Censorship: The Assumptions of Anti-Obscenity Laws and the
Empirical Evidence, 46 Minn. L. Rev. 1009 (1962) ; Commonwealth
v. Gordon, 66 Pa. D. & C. 101 (1949); The Institute for Sex Re-
search, Inc., Sex Offenders (1965) pp. 126-127, 669-692; and see
Murphy, The Value of Pornography, 10 Wayne L. Rev. 655 (1964).

2 Times Film Corp. v. City of Chicago, 355 U. S. 35, reversing
244 F. 2d 432 (7th Cir. 1957) (the movie, “The Game of Love,”
held: not obscene) ; Mounce v. United States, 355 U. S. 180, re-
versing 247 F. 2d 148 (9th Cir. 1957) (an imported collection of
nudist and art student publications containing many nude photo-
graphs, held: not obscene); One, Inc. v. Olesen, 355 U. S. 371
(1958), reversing 241 F. 2d 772 (9th Cir. 1957) (“One—The Homo-
sexual Magazine,” held: not obscene) ; Sunshine Book Co. v. Sum-
merfield, 355 U. S. 372 (1958), reversing 249 F. 2d 114 (D. C. Cir.
1957) (“Sunshine & Health” and “Sun Magazine,” held: not ob-
scene) ; ef. Kingsley-Int’l Pictures Corp. v. Regents, 360 U. S. 684
(1959) (the French motion picture, “Lady Chatterley’s Lover,”
held: the statute under which conviction for exhibition of the film
had been obtained violated the First Amendment’s guarantee of
freedom to advocate ideas) ; Manual Enterprises, Inc. v. Day, 370
U. S. 478 (1962) (homosexual magazines with photographs of nude
or near nude male models, held: not obscene) ; Jacobellis v. Ohio,
378 U. S. 184 (1964) (French motion picture, “The Lovers” held:
not obscene) ; see also Grove Press, Inc. v. Gerstein, 378 U. S. 577
(1964); Tralins v. Gerstein, 378 U. S. 576 (1964); Trans-Luz
Distrib. Corp. v. Board of Regents, 85 Sup. Ct. 952 (1964).

SS REC ARE RASA IN eT ee cemmeneiat |

eae a BOI et 6

a

Recognizing that “a dim and uncertain line” ** separates
obscenity from protected speech, this Court has been faced.
with the problem of how such fine distinctions, fraught with
First Amendment implications, can be made.

10

A primary problem has been determining who may
properly decide such matters. A number of negative an-
swers have emerged from the decided cases.

Neither a police officer,* an administrative board,” the
postal authorities,** the booksellers,’ a police board of
censors,* a judge without a full hearing,” a judge sitting
without a jury after a full hearing,” nor even a jury” may
be the final arbiter of this ultimate issue.

Nor have the various courts of appellate review distin-
guished themselves for their ability to divine this Court’s
intentions on the matter.”

13 4 Quantity of Copies of Books v. Kansas, 378 U. 8. 205, 210
(1964). And see Bantam Books, Inc. v. Sullivan, 372 U. 8. 58, 66
(1963).

14 Marcus v. Search Warrant, 367 U.S. 717 (1961).

1° Bantam Books, Inc. v. Sullivan, 372 U.S. 58 (1963).

16 Manual Enterprises, Inc. v. Day, 370 U. 8. 478 (1962).

17 Smith v. California, 361 U.S. 147 (1959).

18 Times Film Corp. v. City of Chicago, 365 U.S. 43 (1961).

19 4 Quantity of Copies of Books v. Kansas, 378 U.S. 205 (1964).
20 Kingsley Books, Inc. v. Brown, 354 U. 8. 436, 448 (1957).

21 Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U. S. 184, fn. 6 (1964).

22 Cf. State v. Jacobellis, 115 Ohio App. 226, 230, 175 N. E. 2d

123, 125 (1961): “... the motion picture film in issue is obscene,
lewd and lascivious within the definition . . . set forth in Roth v.
United States ...”; State v. Jacobellis, 173 Ohio St. 22, 28, 179

N. E. 2d 777, 781 (1962) (Ohie. Supreme Court found the film
depicted episodes “of complete revulsion during the showing of
an act of perverted obscenity” and was worse than hard-core

e

11

This Court has consequently been required to sift the
facts in each case in order to determine the constitutional
implications of suppressing the publications and motion
pictures brought to its attention. Given the law of obscenity
in its present posture, there can be no quarrel with this as-
sumption of judicial responsibility; but, unfortunately,
since it assumed this role in Roth v. United States, this
Court has been unable to obtain a consensus among its
members nor articulate sufficiently detailed working princi-
ples for the classification of utterances which Roth com-
pels** to guide the state and federal courts and legislatures
upon whose performance the preservation of freedom of
speech must ultimately depend.

Amici contend that a constitutional principle which re-
quires a fine factual discrimination to be made by qualified
persons who cannot be found, according to standards which
cannot be articulated, is, in fact, not a rule of law at all,

pornography). But see’ Jacobeliis v. Ohio, 378 U. S. 184 (1964)
(film held not obscene). See also Times Film Corp. v. City of
Chicago, 355 U. S. 35, reversing 244 F. 2d 432 (7th Cir. 1957) ;
Mounce v. United States, 355 U. S. 180, reversing 247 F. 2d 148
(9th Cir. 1957) ; Sunshine Book Co. v. Summerfield, 355 U. S. 372
(1958), reversing 249 F. 2d 114 (D. C. Cir. 1957).

28 Cf. Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U. S. 184, 200 (1964) (Warren,
CJ., dissenting) : “... most of our decisions since Roth have been
given without opinion and have thus failed to furnish . . . guidance
[to the lower courts and legislatures}. Nor does the Court in the
instant case . . . shed any greater light on the problem.” And
see Stewart, J., concurring in Jacobellis: “I shall not today at-
tempt . . . to define the kinds of materia! [which may be sup-
pressed] ; and perhaps I could never succeed in intelligibly doing
so. But I know it when I see it and the motion picture involved
in this case is not that.” (Emphasis supplied.) 378 U. S. 184, 197
(1964). Cf. Haldemon v. United States, 340 F. 2d 59, 62 fn. 6
(10th Cir. 1965) : “The writer of this opinion has also felt that he
would ‘know it when he saw it’ but a reading of some of the
published material held to be constitutionally protected tends to
raise doubts regarding one’s perceptive abilities in such matters.”

12

but rather, a license to adjudicate by whim and caprice,*
Such a constitutional scheme is particularly dangerous in
the sensitive area of First Amendment freedoms which
“need breathing space to survive” and in which “govern-
ment may regulate . . . only with narrow specificity.” *
(Emphasis supplied.)

But there is another, more substantive reason for recon-
sidering the Roth holding that obscenity is not protected
speech and returning to the First Amendment philosophy
by whose standards other forms of speech are measured.
It lies in the historical and cultural and philosophic origins
of our concern for preserving a free society and the in-
tegrity of thought and utterance of each of its members.

One of the principal architects of First Amendment
philosophy, John Stuart Mill, in his Essay on Liberty,
stated his conception of the proper relationship between
man and society as follows:

“. .. the sole end for which mankind are warranted,
individually or collectively, in interfering with the
liberty of action of any of their number, is self-protec-
tion.... [T]he only purpose for which power can be
rightfully exercised over any member of a civilized
community, against his will, is to prevent harm to
others. His own good, either physical or moral, is not
a sufficient warrant. He cannot rightfully be compelled
to do or forbear because it will be better for him to do
so, because it will make him happier, because, in the
opinions of others, to do so would be wise, or even

24“Tn truth the matter in the last analysis depends upon how
particular challenged material happens to strike the minds of
jurors and judges and ultimately those of a majority of the mem-
bers of this Court.” Jacobellis vy. United States, 378 U. S. 184, 204
(1964) (Harlan, J., dissenting).

2°N. A. A. C. P. v. Button, 371 U. S. 415, 433 (1963).

—

Bt eat

13

right. These are good reasons for remonstrating with
him, or reasoning with him, or persuading him, or
entreating him, but not for compelling him, or visiting
him with any evil in case he do otherwise. To justify
that, the conduct from which it is desired to deter him
must be calculated to produce evil to some one else.
* * * Over himself, over his own body and mind, the
individual is sovereign.

set AMOI LIS TORE OES:

“* * * No one pretends that actions should be as free
as opinions. On the contrary, even opinions lose their
immunity when the circumstances in which they are
expressed are such as to constitute their expression a
positive instigation to some mischievous act.

“* * * TWiith regard to the merely contingent, or,
as it may be called, constructive injury which a per-
son causes to society, by conduct which neither violates
any specific duty to the public, nor occasions per-
ceptible hurt to any assignable individual except him-
self ; the inconvenience is one which society can afford
to bear, for the sake of the greater good of human free-
dom.” (Emphasis added.)

This philosophy—that a man’s mind and thoughts are

his own, and that he may express his opinions without
societal restraint on any subject, whether or not these
thoughts appear to have any social value to the rest of the
| citizenry, until it can be demonstrated that his utterances
will necessarily harm another—has been compressed into
what is called the “clear and present danger” standard.
Not a mere slogan, its central meaning was laid bare by i

Ae BAN Nes ot a

Mr. Justice Brandeis in his concurring opinion in Whitney
v. California, 274 U. S. 357, 376-77 (1927):

The distinction between speech which stirs the minds of
men and speech which induces anti-social conduct or, to put
it another way, between utterances which affect thoughts
and those which incite to action, capsulized in the clear
and present danger formula, has traditionally been of
overriding importance in determining when the state may
properly suppress speech. “Freedom of expression can be
suppressed if, and to the extent that, it is so closely brigaded

14

“To justify supression of free speech there must be
reasonable ground to fear that serious evil will result
if free speech is practiced. There must be reasonable
ground to believe that the danger apprehended is im-
minent. There must e reasonable ground to believe
that the evil to be prevented is a serious one.

“Those who won our independence by revolution
were not cowards. They did not fear political change.
They did not exalt order at the cost of liberty. To
courageous, self-reliant men, with confidence in the
power of free and fearless reasoning applied through
the processes of popular government, no danger flow-
ing from speech can be deemed clear and present, un-
less the incidence of the evil apprehended is so immi-
nent that it may befall before there is opportunity for
full discussion. If there be time to expose through
discussion the falsehood and fallacies, to avert the evil
by the processes of education, the remedy to be applied
is more speech, not enforced silence.’”’ (Emphasis sup-
plied.)

15

with illegal action as to be an inseparable part of it.” *
(Emphasis supplied.)

This insistence upon a showing of the most urgent neces-
sity before curbing expression is an attitude which per-
yades the decided cases of this Court, both before and
since Roth.” This standard has been consistently applied
to all kinds of utterances, even though they may be foolish,
stupid, tasteless, or pure rubbish—except in one sphere:
publications on the subject of sex which are labeled “ob-
scene.” Expression which urges the overthrow of the gov-
ernment,”* utterances which urge economic pressure against
employers,” publications which libel public officials,*° sym-

2 Roth v. United States, 354 U. S. 476, 514 (1957) (dissenting
opinion). See also Douglas, J., dissenting in Beauharnais v. Illinois,
343 U. S. 250, 284 (1952) :

“My view is that if in any case other public interests are
to override the plain command of the First Amendment, the
peril of speech must be clear and present, leaving no room
for argument, raising no doubts as to the necessity of curbing
speech in order to prevent disaster.”

See also dissenting opinions of Reed, J., Black, J. and Jackson, J.
in Beauharnais.

27 Early cases which applied stringent clear and present dan-
ger standards to the suppression of speech or press, such as
Schenck v. United States, 249 U. S. 47, 52 (1919), Thornhill v.
Alabama, 310 U. S. 88, 104-105 (1940), Cantwell v. Connecticut,
310 U. S. 296, 311 (1940), Thomas v. Collins, 323 U. S. 516, 536
(1945), Pennekamp v. Florida, 328 U. S. 331 (1946) and Ter-
miniello v. Chicago, 337 U. 8. 1, 4-5 (1949) may appear to have
been modified by the “gravity of the ‘evil’ discounted by its im-
probability” test applied in Dennis v. United States, 341 U.S. 494,
510 (1951); but compare Yates v. United States, 354 U. S. 298
(1957). Later decisions of this Court indicate that the Dennis
test is limited to its peculiar facts. See Edwards v. South Carolina,
372 U. S. 229, 237-238 (1963), Wood v. Georgia, 370 U. 8S. 375,
385 (1962), New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U. S. 254 (1964)
and Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U. S. 64 (1964).

28 Herndon v. Lowry, 301 U.S. 254 (1937).
2° Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88 (1940).
8° New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964).

—

ESA MND OLE GATING LOGE SN LA

Me oP OIRRL AM

foc Sm OR POOIEN ERS

ne erenn

16

bols said to foster class antagonism,” vituperative speech
which charges racial and political groups with shocking
offenses in a highly charged atmosphere**—in all of these
cases the First Amendment has been quite properly inter-
posed between government and the speaker to protect the
utterance.

But publications on “sexy” subjects receive unique treat-
ment,** not because such matter constitutes a threat to so-
ciety, but because it is “utterly without redeeming social
importance,” * or, to state the proposition differently, “ob-
scenity ...is forbidden, in large part, not because it incites
but because it offends.” *

Amici submit that offense to the sensibilities of the audi-
ence is no proper ground for suppressing any speech. As
long as the audience chooses voluntarily to submit to the
offensive material, government may not intervene. See
Public Utilities Commission v. Pollack, 343 U. S. 451, 468-
469 (1952).

We are at one with Mr. Justice Douglas, dissenting in
Roth, when he said:

“T would give the broad sweep of the First Amend-
ment full support. I have the same confidence in the

31 Stromb~: g v. California, 283 U.S. 359 (1931).
3? yerminiello v. Chicago, 337 U.S. 1 (1949).
33 Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476 (1957).

34 Id. at 484. See discussion of the futility of dealing with this
concept, infra, pp. 20-38.

35 Henkin, Morals and the Constitution: The Sin of Obscenity,
63 Columbia L, Rev. 391, 393 (1963).

Seen

17

ability of our people to reject noxious literature as I
have in their capacity to sort cut the true froin the

false in theology, economics, politics, or any other
field.” **

It may well be that a means of deliverance from this con-
stitutional impasse is at hand.

When this Court decided New York Times v. Sullivan,"
“against the background of a profound national commit-
ment to the principle that debate on public issues should
be uninhibited, robust, and wide-open,” * it gave the First
Amendment new perspective, and for the first time since
the unfortunate language in Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire®
was followed in Beauharnais v. Illinois*®° and Roth v. United
States," replaced within the protections of the First
Amendment a segment of speech which had previously been
removed.*? Whether this holding marks the beginning of
a new direction for the Court in this sphere is too early to

36 Td. at 514.

37 376 U: S. 254 (1964).

88 Td. at 270.

39 315 U. S. 568, 571 (1942), quoted supra, p. 6.
49 343 U.S. 250 (1952).

*1 354 U. 8. 476 (1957).

“In Beauharnais, the Court found “libelous utterances not...
within the area of constitutionally protected speech ...” 343
U.S. 250, 266 (1952). New York Times v. Sullivan returned libel,

at least against public officials, to the scope of First Amendment
protections.

Ps DUN Sa ROMRGRERISED: OMIT BRAIN

18

determine,** but some of Mr. Justice Brennan’s language in
his opinion for the Court is pregnant with promise:

“In Beauharnais v. Illinois, .. . the Court sustained
an Illinois criminal libel statute as applied to a publica-
tion held to be both defamatory of a racial group and
‘liable to cause violence and disorder.’ But the Court
was careful to note that it ‘retains and exercises au-
thority to nullify action which encroaches on freedom
of utterance under the guise of punishing libel’... .

In deciding the questions [of constitutional limitations
upon the power to award damages for libel of a public
official] we are compelled by neither precedent nor
policy to give any more weight to the epithet ‘libel’
than we have to other ‘mere labels’... .

Like ‘insurrection’, contempt, advocacy of unlawful
acts, breach of the peace, obscenity, solicitation of
legal business and the various other formulae for the
repression of expression that have been challenged in
this court, libel can claim no talismanic immunity from
constitutional limitations. It must be measured by
standards that satisfy the First Amendment.” (Em-
phasis and bracketed material supplied.)

48 See Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U. S. 64 (1964) (concurring
opinion): “Beauharnais v. Illinois, . . . a case decided by the
narrowest of margins, should be overruled as a misfit in our con-
stitutional system and as out of line with the dictates of the First
Amendment. I think it is time to face the fact that the only
line drawn by the constitution is between ‘speech’ on the one side
and conduct or overt acts on the other.”

44 The entire Court concurred in the result. Black, Douglas and
Goldberg, JJ. concurred on still broader grounds.

#5 376 U.S. 254, 268-269 (1964).

19

If Beauharnais has not been reversed so far as its pe-
culiar facts are concerned, the above language suggests
rather clearly that its rationale has been severely undercut
and that this Court now regards all classifications of ex-
pression, even “obscene speech”, to be within the ambit of
First Amendment protections.

Fur‘hermore it must be observed that the basic approach
of Beauharnais, bottomed as it was upon the holding that
“libelous utterances [are] not ... within the area of con-
stitutionally protected speech,” has been explicitly rejected
by the Court in New York Times v. Sullivan.

The questionable value of Beauharnais as precedent in its
present posture is of particular relevance to the re-examina-
tion of the holding in Roth that obscene speech is not pro-
tected by the First Amendment, for the Roth opinion relies
exclusively on Beauharnais for supportive precedent on that
point.“ That the decline and fall of Beawharnais as a prec-
edent has left Roth like a structure without a foundation,
cannot be denied.

Amici have attempted to demonstrate that Roth v. United
States was decided in violation of fundamental First

*6“Tt is insisted that the constitutional guarantees are violated
because convictions may be had without proof either that obscene
material will perceptibly create a clear and present danger of
anti-social conduct, or will probably induce its recipients to such
conduct. But, in light of our holding that obscenity is not pro-
tected speech, the complete answer to this argument is in the hold-
ing of this Court in Beauharnais v. Illinois . . .

‘Libelous utterances not being within the area of constitu-
tionally protected speech, it is unnecessary .. . to consider
the issues behind the phrase ‘clear and present danger.’ Cer-
tainly no one would contend that obscene speech, for example,
may be punished only upon a showing of such circumstances.
Libel, as we have seen, is in the same class.” (Emphasis

supplied.) Roth v. United States, 354 U. S. 476, 485-486
(1957).

Ra POE

eee ee

20

Amendment principle in the first place, that experience
under the Roth rule has been futile, and that subsequent
decisions in other First Amendment areas have exposed the
Roth holding for the anachronism that it is.

As the Court observed in Roth:

“The door barring federal and state intrusion into [the
area of fundamental freedoms of speech and press]
cannot be left ajar; it must be kept tightly closed and
opened only the slightest crack necessary to prevent
encroachment upon more importart interests.” *

Il. ee

The test of obscenity as announced in Roth v. United
States and interpreted in subsequent decisions is vague
and unworkable and inhibits the dissemination of ex-
pression which is not obscene and clearly within the
protective scope of the First Amendment.

It has already been argued that the holding in Roth v.
United States, 354 U. 8S. 476, 485 (1957) “that obscenity
is not within the area of constitutionally protected speech
or press” is a drastic curtailment of First Amendment pro-
tections.

We also urge that the standards expressed by the Court in
Roth and interpreted in subsequent cases, for determining
what forms of expression are “obscene” and therefore not
entitled to constitutional protection should be re-examined
because they are vague, unworkable and inhibit the dis-
semination of constitutionally protected expression.

47 354 U.S. 476, 488 (1957).

21

Obscenity, as defined in Roth, is “material which deals
with sex in a manner appealing to prurient interest,” or
“material having a tendency to excite lustful thoughts.”
Obscenity is “utterly without redeeming social importance.”
354 U. S. at 484. Furthermore, “the Roth standard [for
holding material obscene] requires ... a finding that the ma-
terial ‘goes substantially beyond customary limits of can-
dor in description or representation of [sexual] matters,’ ”
Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U. S. 184, 191 (1964), an element
labeled “patent offensiveness.” Manual Enterprises, Inc.
y. Day, 370 U. S. 478, 482 (1962). Rejecting the standard
of Regina v. Hicklin, [1868] L. R. 3 Q. B. 360, in Roth,
this Court substituted this test:

“* * * whether to the average person, applying con-
temporary community standards, the dominant theme
of the material taken as a whole appeals to prurient
interest.” 354 U. S. at 489.

Thus the Court, having excepted “obscenity” from the pro-
tections of the First Amendment, was faced with the task of
describing the limits of the exception with sufficient par-
ticularity to insure constitutional protection for other “non-
obscene” forms of expression.

That it failed, in the view of amici, in Roth and in sub-
sequent cases to delimit sufficiently precise boundaries for
unprotected utterances demonstrates the difficulty of the
assignment rather than the Court’s failure to recognize
the importance of its assigned task.** Although Roth
liberalized the Hicklin test of obscenity by requiring con-

s“Tt is * * * vital that the standards for judging obscenity
safeguard the protection of freedom of speech and press for ma-
terial which does not treat sex in a manner appealing to prurient
interest.” Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. at 488.

Na

seh: EAD EEE POE LLM

22

sideration of “the dominant theme of the material taken
as a whole” and its effect upon “the average person” in-
stead of judging the material “by the effect of an isolated
excerpt upon particularly susceptible persons,” * and aj-
though many of the subsequent decisions of this Court fol-
lowing Roth have sirictly limited obscenity convictions
by the lower courts,” the test that Roth substituted has
created as many problems as it has solved.

Mr. Chief Justice Warren” and Justices Black,” Doug-
las,** and Harlan,” have themselves raised serious questions
as to the wisdom of the Roth test of obscenity.

Mr. Justice Douglas’s critique of the Roth verbal formula
in his dissenting opinion in Roth, in which Mr. Justice Black
concurred, laid bare its inherent defectiveness as a con-
stitutional standard:

“Any test that turns on what is offensive to the com-
munity’s standards is too loose, too capricious, too de-
structive of freedom of expression to be squared with
the First Amendment. Under the test, juries can cen-
sor, suppress, and punish what they don’t like, pro-
vided the matter relates to ‘sexual impurity or has a
tendency ‘to excite lustful thoughts.’ This is com-
munity censorship in one of its worst forms. It creates

” Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. at 488-489.
5° See cases collected in footnote 12, supra.
*! Concurring in the result in Roth, 354 U.S. at 494-495.

52 Smith v. California, 361 U. S. 147, 157 (1959) (concurring
opinion).

58 Dissenting in Roth, 354 U.S. at 512-514.

°* Concurring in part and dissenting in part in Roth, 354 U. 8.
at 497-498.

23

a regime where in the battle between the literati and the
Philistines, the Philistines are certain to win. If ex-
perience in this field teaches anything, it is that ‘cen-
sorship of obscenity has almost always been both ir-
rational and indiscriminate.’ * * * The test adopted
here accentuates that trend.

“The legality of a publication in this country should
never be allowed to turn either on the purity of thought
which it instills in the mind of the reader or on the
degree to which it offends the community conscience.
By either test the role of the censor is exalted, and
society’s values in literary freedom are sacrificed.

“T reject too the implication that problems of free-
dom of speech and of the press are to be resolved by
weighing against the values of free expression, the
judgment of the Court that a particular form of that
expression has ‘no redeeming social importance.’

“For the test that suppresses a cheap tract today
can suppress a literary gem tomorrow. All it need
do is to incite a lascivious thought or arouse a lustful
desire. The list of books that judges or juries can
place in that category is endless.” 354 U.S. at 512, 513,
514.

Nor have the text-writers been silent in their criticism
of the obscenity test formulated in Roth.*’

°° E.g., Lockhart & McClure, Censorship of Obscenity: The De-
veloping Constitutional Standards, 45 Minn. L. Rev. 5 (1960);
Kalven, Metaphysics of The Law of Obscenity, Supreme Court Re-
view (Univ. of Chicago Press, 1960).

Se eee

24

While amici have no quarrel with Roth insofar as it re-
jects the Hicklin rule of judging material by isolated pas.
sages and by its effect on particularly susceptible persons,”
the test formulated in Roth presents a perplexing problem
of application to those who would use the pronouncements
of the Court for guidance in dealing with obscenity prosecu.
tions.

First: How are the standards of sex portrayal “in a
manner appealing to prurient interest” and “having a
tendency to excite lustful thoughts” to be applied in con-
crete cases?

Srconp: Who is the “average person” whose “prurient
interest” or “lustful thoughts” need be aroused before ma-
terial may be adjudged obscene? What of material designed
for a special audience?

Tuirp: How is the determination that material is “ut.
terly without redeeming social importance” to be made?

A. Obscenity Standards of Sex Portrayal.

Since obscenity as defined in Roth is “material which
deals with sex in a manner appealing to prurient inter-
est,” " it is necessary to inquire what, if any, constitutional
meaning “prurient interest” has. Apparently the term was
expropriated from a proposed draft of the Model Penal
Code of the American Law Institute. The Institute’s
definition of “prurient interest” is “shameful or morbid

°° See Judge Learned Hand’s critical analysis of the defective

and now defunct Hicklin rule in United States v. Kennerley, 209
Fed. 119, 120-121 (D. 8. D. N. ¥., 1913).

°? 354 U.S. at 487.

** A. L. I., Model Penal Code, Tent. Draft No. 6 (1957) §207.10
(2): “A thing is obscene if, considered as a whole, its predominant
appeal is to prurient interest * * * .”

25

interest in nudity, sex or excretion” ® or “an exacerbated,
morbid, or perverted interest growing out of the conflict
between the universal sex drive of the individual and
equally universal social controls of sexual activity.” ° (EKm-
phasis supplied.) Are not these definitions descriptive of
something other than normal sexual interest or arousal?
Or did the Court intend some other meaning to be attached
to the words “prurient interest”? If so, does the court
equate “prurient interest” with normal sexual arousal?
If not, what becomes of the “average person” whose sexual
arousal determines whether or not utterances shall have
constitutional protection? May an “average person” have
an “exacerbated, morbid or perverted” sexual interest?

Nor is the recent pronouncement of members of this
Court particularly illuminating in dealing with this prob-
lem. Although equating “prurient interest” with “impure
desires relating to sex,” Mr. Justice Harlan, speaking for
himself and Mr. Justice Stewart, remarked:

“* * * one would not have to travel far even among
the acknowledged masterpieces in any of these fields
[literature, science or art] to find works whose ‘dom- :
inant theme’ might, not beyond reason, be claimed to
appeal to the ‘prurient interest’ of the reader or ob-
server.” Manual Enterprises, Inc. v. Day, 370 U. S.
478 (1962).

Moreover, since the Court in Roth defined obscenity not
only as “material which deals with sex in a manner ap-
pealing to prurient interest” but, in the alternative, as
“material having a tendency to excite lustful thoughts,”
a concept expressly rejected by the American Law Insti-

° Thid.
© Td. at 29.

26

tute," it is not clear whether the Court intended to in-
corporate the Model Penal Code definition into its obscenity
formula or whether, as Mr. Justice Harlan put it, the Court
“merely assimilate[d] the various tests into one indiscrim.
inate potpourri.” * These ambiguities provide ample cause
for concern “[b]lecause First Amendment freedoms need
breathing space to survive,” and therefore, “government
may regulate in the area only with narrow specificity.” *
(Emphasis supplied.)

The studies of the behavioral sciences in this area further
illuminate the difficulties involved in ascertaining a consti-
tutionally valid meaning for “prurient interest.” It is an
acknowledged fact that the studies have failed to reveal
a direct causal relationship between exposure to obscenity
and overt anti-social conduct,* without more. Of itself,

s1«“* * * We reject the prevailing test of tendency to arouse
lustful thoughts or desires because it is unrealistically broad for
a society that plainly tolerates a great deal of erotic inierest in
literature, advertising and art, and because regulation of ‘thought
or desire, unconnected with overt misbehavior, raises the most acute
constitutional as well as practical difficulties.” A. L. I., Model
Penal Code, Tent. Draft No. 6 (1957) §207.10(2). Comment, p. 10.

62 354 U.S. at 500.
3 N. A. A. C. P. v. Button, 371 U. S. 415, 433 (1964).

64 See analysis of sociological studies on this point in Judge
Frank’s concurring opinion in U. 8S. v. Roth, 237 F. 2d 798, 804
(2d Cir. 1956) ; Lockhart & McClure, Obscenity and the Couris,
20 Law and Contemp. Probs. 587, 595 (1955); Alpert, Judicial
Censorship of Obscene Literature, 52 Harv. L. Rev. 40 (1942);
see also Jahoda and Staff of Research Center for Human Relations,
New York University: The Impact of Literature. A Psychological
Discussion of Some Assumptions in the Censorship Debate (1954)
(results of this study reported in the appendix to Judge Frank’s
econeurring opinion in U. 8S. v. Roth, supra) ; Lockhart & McClure,
Literature, The Law of Obscenity, and the Constitution, 38 Minn.
L. Rev. 295, 387 (1954) ; Commonwealth v. Gordon, 66 Pa. D. & C.
101 (1949); The Institute for Sex Research, Inc., Sex Offenders
(1965) pp. 126-127, 669-692; and see Murphy, The Value of Por-
nography, 10 Wayne L. Rev. 655 (1964).

27

“this absence of dependable information on the effect of
obscene literature on human conduct should make us wary.
It should put us on the side of protecting society’s interest
in literature, except and unless it can be said that the par-
ticular publication l.as an impact on action that the govern-
ment can control.” *

A recent study oy Cairns, Paul and Wishner® reveals
useful information of a more positive nature. Using sexual
arousal as a physiolog.cal phenomenon more easily mea-
sured than “prurient interest,” whatever the precise mean-
ing of the latter term may be, the findings of the authors
(two behavioral psychologists and a professor of law), after
an examination of the psychological abstracts and a number
of human experiments, are interesting and illuminating:

“1, A significant proportion of our society is sexu-
ally aroused to some extent by some form of sex stimuli
in pictures and probably in books.

2. Portrayals of female nudity and of sexual ac-
tivity lead to sexual arousal in many males—adoles-
cents as well as adults. These materials arouse females
far less frequently.

3. Females, on the other hand, are more frequently
sexually aroused than men by complex stimuli which
portray ‘romantic’ or ‘love’ relationships and which
constitute, in general, less direct sexual cues.

4. Males differ among each other in terms of pref-
erence for and response to various types of sex stimuli.
Factors which account for different preferences among

*® Douglas, J. dissenting in Roth, 354 U. 8. 476, 511 (1957).

** Cairns, Paul and Wishner, Sex Censorship: The Assumptions
of Anti-Obscenity Laws and the Empirical Evidence, 46 Minn. L.
Rev. 1009 (1962).

ae NEONATE TTI

ote

28

males for viewing sexually relevant materials include:
adequacy of masculine sexual identity, strong guilt with
respect to sexual behavior, physical maturity and intel-
lectual ability.

5. The environmental circumstances under which
the sex stimuli are viewed may influence the extent
to which the viewers will show evidence of sexual
arousal. It is not clear, however, whether the failure
to observe evidence of sexual arousal is due to the fact
that no arousal occurred or that the overt expression
of the arousal was inhibited.

6. Exposure to certain types of sex stimuli is, for
some persons, both males and females, a distinctly
aversive experience. Sexual guilt appears to be an
important determinant of the extent to which viewing
sexually relevant material will be considered an un-
pleasant event.” 46 Minn. L. Rev. at 1032.

These findings with respect to sexual arousal—which
probably is a lesser physiological or emotional reaction than
arousal of prurient interest—demonstrate on the basis of
scientific evidence what those who have considered the
social problem of obscenity for years have known that
there are so many environmental and personality variables
in the arousal of lustful thoughts or prurient interest that
the determination of the precise books or pictures which
are universally sexually stimulating is a metaphysical quest
foredoomed to failure; what is sexually arousing to males
holds no prurient interest to females; what excites lustful
thoughts in females has no particular sexual effect upon
males and is so widespread throughout our culture as to be
impossible to eradicate by criminal prosecutions. Person-
ality, maturity and intelligence differences and varying

29

quantities of guilt feelings about sexual matters cause
vast differences in sexual response to the same stimuli
even among males. What is sexually arousing to some is

disgusting to others. The environmental factors under

which sexual material is seen may cause significant differ-
ences in response in both males and females. As Judge
Bok wisely observed more than a decade before this study:

“Tf [the individual] reads an obscene book when his
sensuality is low, he will yawn over it or find that its
suggestibility leads him off on quite different paths.
If he reads the Mechanics’ Lien Act while his sensuality
is high, things will stand between him and the page
that have no business there. How can anyone say that
he will infallibly be affected one way or another by
one book, or another? When, where, how, and why
are questions that cannot be answered clearly in this
field * * * in a field where even reasonable precision is
utterly impossible, I trust people more than I do the
law.” Commonwealth v. Gordon, 66 Pa. D. & C. 101,
137 (1949).

One more matter of concern with regard to the “prurient
interest” and “lustful thoughts” language in Roth. Since
obscenity is defined as “material that appeals to prurient
interest” and equated with “material that has a tendency
to excite lustful thoughts,” what kind of a showing is neces-
sary to establish that the material to be judged actually has
the effect of arousal or excitement? Must a causal relation-
ship be demonstrated between the publication and the
pruriency, between the literature and the resultant lust,
or will such “appeal” or “tendency to excite” be presumed?
What standards are to be applied to determine the appeal
and the tendency of the disputed material? Or is the inten-

AIEEE AO ENTREE a

.
;
A

ei Pe NEE TN TE I NTT ARR EE PD

Sen MMR, AERIS

30

tion of the creator of the book or picture controlling? What
of the literary panderer whose intent is vile but whose book
or picture fails to achieve his evil goal?

The cases since Roth have not answered these questions,
They are, we suspect, unanswerable. Thus, the determina-
tion of what arouses “prurient interest” or excites “lustful
thoughts” ® is a vast guessing game, with the constitutional
right of freedom of expression and the suppression of litera-
ture and art hanging in the balance.

B. The “Average Person.”

While the substitution in Roth of “the average person”
for “particularly susceptible persons” as the subject whose
sexual arousal is the litmus of obscenity represents a logical
liberalization of the Hicklin rule, this portion of the Roth
obscenity test presents monumental problems as well.

Although it is now clear that neither what can safely be
shown to children® nor to the emotionally unstable among
us” provides an acceptable constitutional standard for
censorship of obscenity, the positive determination of who
is “the average person” to which Roth refers has few guide-
lines. He has been identified as the counterpart, in the law
of obscenity, of the “reasonable man” in the law of torts.”
But the delineation of the conduct of a “reasonable man” in
negligence suits does not determine whether basic constitu-

67 See Winters v. New York, 333 U. S. 507, 515-516, 520 (1948).
68 Butler v. Michigan, 352 U. 8. 380 (1957).
6° Roth v. U. 8., 354 U. S. 476, 488-489.

70 U0. 8. v. One Book Called “Ulysses,” 5 F. Supp. 182, 184 (S. D.
N. Y. 1933), aff'd 72 F. 2d 705 (2d Cir. 1934). Cf. Judge Frank’s
critique of the “reasonable man” test in U. 8S. v. Roth, 237 F. 2d
796, 826-827 (2d Cir. 1956) (concurring opinion).

a EE SE

31

tional protections are to be granted or withheld, as in the
area of obscenity censorship. And the analogy further
breaks down when one considers that, since the vast ma-
jority of people neither know nor care about literary or
artistic qualities, the standard of the composite fiction of
“the average person” will include multitudes who were
never intended to be the audience for the particular tract
or motior picture in question and who, but for the publicity
resulting from the obscenity prosecution, would never have
experienced it. Moreover, one may well ask: Is the “aver-
age person” composite to be drawn from the 95% of the
total male population who would be convicted if the sex
laws now on the books were strictly enforced?”

Is a tract designed for a special audience to be judged
by the standard of “the average person” outside the group?”

What of foreign movies imported to be shown in “art”
motion picture houses? Is it the “average” art theater
patron whose prurient interest is in issue in this context?

Moreover, if the test of obscenity is to turn upon the
nature of the audience which is exposed to it, would it not
be curious to find that the publicity surrounding an obscenity
prosecution could, by calling the attention of the prurient-
minded public to it, change the composition and size of
the audience so as to render material obscene which at
the outset of the prosecution clearly was not?

1 Commonwealth v. Isenstadt, 318 Mass. 543, 553, 62 N. E. 2d
840, 846 (1945).

™ Kinsey, Sexual Behavior in the Human Male (1948), at 217
et seq.; Report of the Committee on Forensic Psychiatry, Group
for the Advancement of Psychiatry (No. 9, Rev. 1950); Kron-
hausen, Pornography and the Law (1959), at 155 et seq.

*Cf. Manual Enterprises, Inc. et al. v. Day, 370 U. 8. 478, 82
S. Ct. 1432, 1434 (1962).

sn ne ie a cornea aR

a.

The concept of “the average person” disintegrates com-
pletely as a valid test when it is applied to what has been
described as “hard core” pornography.” It has been widely
noted that “hard core” pornography, far from having ap.
peal to normal or “average” persons, is disgusting to them;
it seems to appeal only to the sexually inadequate: “the
frightened, the impotent, the bored and sated, the senile
** * the adolescent * * * not yet old enough to seek sexual
partners or * * * [the person who] has lost the precious
power of spontaneous sexual feeling.”

32

Thus, even in a case dealing with “hard core” pornog-
raphy, the “appeal to the average person’s prurient inter-
est” test is entirely useless because pornography is “appeal-
ing” only to the decidedly “non-average” individual and is
repulsive to “the average person” in the standard.

C. Determining What Is “Utterly Without
Redeeming Social Importance.”

In Roth the Court described obscenity which was not con-
stitutionally protected as “utterly without redeeming social
importance.” Thus, the Court has embarked upon the pro}-
ect of determining which books and pictures have any social
importance, at least as to those which might otherwise be
obscene. We suggest, as did Mill, that “the usefulness of
an opinion is itself a matter of opinion; as disputable, as

™ Brief for the United States, pp. 37-39 in Roth v. U. S., op. cit.

"> Margaret Mead, Sex and Censorship in Contemporary Society,
New World Writings (Third Mentor Selection 1953) at pp. 18-19;
and see D. H. Lawrence, Pornography and Obscenity in Sex Lit-
erature and Censorship 74-77 (1953) : “|Pornographie books] are
either so ugly they make you ill, or so fatuous you can’t imagine
anybody but a cretin or a moron reading them, or writing them.”

mel

33

open to discussion, and requiring discussion as much as
the opinion itself.” **

Although the “social importance” standard was undoubt-
edly designed by this Court to protect expression which
might otherwise be obscene, the judicial exploration of the
social value of books or pictures as a factor in determining
whether or not they should be suppressed is an imposing
task which has dangerous implications to freedom of ex-
pression. As Mr. Justice Douglas has pointed out:

“The First Amendment * * * was designed to pre-
clude courts as well as legislatures from weighing the
values of speech against silence.” Roth v. U. S., 354
U. S. at 514 (dissent).

It seems curious, to say the least, that only in the area
of sexual expression must a distributor of printed material
afirmatively prove that the publication has social impor-
tance before he can demonstrate his right to disseminate it.
In all other spheres of expression, First Amendment pro-
tections do not depend upon “the truth, popularity, or social
utility” of the material sought to be suppressed,” for if all
utterance were limited to wisdom, knowledge, truth, and
social value many of us would be required to stand mute
virtually all our lives.

The danger involved in determining which public utter-
ances have “redeeming social importance” was well under-
stood by John Stuart Mill.

“Mankind can hardly be too often reminded, that there
was once a man named Socrates, between whom and

6 John S. Mill, Essay on Liberty.
"N.A. A.C. P.v. Button, 371 U.S. 415, 445 (1963).

————

sec eR GROEN Ie Hct:

34

the legal authorities and public opinion of his time there
took place a’‘memorable collision. * * * This acknowl-
edged master of all the eminent thinkers who have since
lived—whose fame, still growing after more than two
thousand years, all but outweighs the whole remainder
of the names which make his native city illustrious—
was put to death by his countrymen, after a judicial
conviction, for impiety and immorality. Impiety, in
denying the gods recognised by the State; indeed his
accuser asserted (see the ‘Apologia’) that he believed
in no gods at all. Immorality, in being, by his doctrines
and instructions, a ‘corrupter of youth.’ Of these
charges the tribunal, there is every ground for beliey-
ing, honestly found him guilty, and condemned the man
who probably of all then born had deserved best of
mankind to be put to death as a criminal.”

“Tf all mankind minus one were of one opinion, and
only one person were of the contrary opinion, mankind
would be no more justified in silencing that one per-
son, than he, if he had the power, would be justified
in silencing mankind. Were an opinion a personal pos-
session of no value except to the owner; if to be ob-
structed in the enjoyment of it were simply a private
injury, it would make some difference whether the in-
jury was inflicted only on a few persons or on many.
But the peculiar evil of silencing the expression of an
opinion is, that it is robbing the human race; posterity
as well as the existing generation; those who dissent
from the opinion, still more than those who hold it. If
the opinion is right, they are deprived of the oppor-
tunity of exchanging error for truth; if wrong, they

35

lose, what is almost as great a benefit, the clearer
perception and livelier impression of truth, produced
by its collision with error.”

“«* * * We can never be sure that the opinion we
are endeavoring to stifle is a false opinion; and if we
were sure, stifling it would be an evil still.”

John Stuart Mill, Essay on Liberty.

To illustrate, it may well be that, despite the Comstocks
and the bluenoses, there is social value in the smuttiest
literature, the most “hard core” of pornography, the most
offensive of pictures. Our medical and behavioral scientists
are beginning to discover that these materials act as re-
leases of tension to the sexually frustrated, unhappy or
abnormal unfortunates who might otherwise act out their
sexual fears and hostilities in criminal conduct dangerous
to themselves as well as to others.

Consider, for example, the comment of Dr. Benjamin
Karpman, chief psychotherapist of St. Elizabeth Hospital,
Washington, D. C., reported in Kronhausen, E. and P., Por-
nography and the Law, 273-274 (1959):

“Contrary to popular misconception, people who read

salacious literature are less likely to become sexual
offenders than those who do not, for the reason that
such reading often neutralizes what aberrant sexual
interest they may have.”

And see Murphy, The Value of Pornography, 10 Wayne
L. Rev. 655, 660-661 (1964) :

“With regard to the assumption that reading pornog-
raphy leads directly to acts of violence and public
offenses, evidence would seem to show that the indi-

36

vidual who collects pornography, who derives his pri-
mary sexual gratifications from the production, col-
lection or perusal of pornography, and who is denomi-
nated for these reasons a pornographer, is a shy
introvert. Quietly and privately, he takes his pleasure
and obtains release from his tensions through study of
pictures, films, books, cartoons, phonograph records,
carvings or whatever represents or depicts for him a
pornographically eroticizing experience. What excites
him at this remove may be the description of conven-
tional sexual conduct which is barred to him by impo-
tency, physical handicap, fear or repugnance. What is
depicted may be perverse sexual practices which he
is too frightened or ashamed to participate in himself
or to even directly view. One of the most outstanding
attributes of the pornographer is his inhibition. It is
not unreasonable to expect that when he is deprived
or—what is more likely—is driven by conscience to
deprive himself of this vicarious release, tension might
accumulate to a point of violence or public display.
Hence it would seem that the opportunity to indulge in
pornography could serve to prevent or postpone, rather
than to stimulate, such outbreaks of violence by the por-
nographer.” (Emphasis supplied.)

It is not here contended that pornography has great
social value, or any. It is enough that the possibility of
value exists to compel humility and superabundant caution
among those who would suppress any form of expression.
For after the book-burning” it is too late to re-evaluate the
social value of the contents.

78 This is not merely vivid language of amici. See A Quantity of
Books v. Kansas, 378 U. S. 205 (1964) (book-burning statute held
unconstitutional).

37

Or, to say it another way in the language of the Court,
the “redeeming social importance” justifying the dissemi-
nation of all forms of expression, if not found in the work
itself, is found in the fabric of freedom woven by its un-
censored use.

CONCLUSION

Amici have attempted to demonstrate some of the areas
of obscurity and logical impasse which arise in specific
applications of the rule in Roth as a result of the failure to
apply the “clear and present danger” test in the obscenity
area. We believe, as does Mr. Justice Harlan” that “it is
no answer to say * * * that obscenity is not protected
speech.” Where matters of expression are involved, a
failure to define precisely, accurately and with predicta-
bility the items which may be censored, cannot fail “to
impose a severe limitation on the public’s access to constitu-
tionally protected matter,” *° both by misinterpretation of
the stated tests by the lower courts and by the extrajudicial
pressures of threatened prosecutions,” “under dangers
which are hazarded only by heroes.” *

In the view of amici, the attempt in Roth to differentiate
between utterances which are constitutionally protected and

*® Roth v. U. S., 354 U. S. at 507 (concurring in part and dis-
senting in part).

% Smith v. California, 361 U. S. 147, 153 (1959).

*' E.g., New American Library v. Allen, 114 F. Supp. 823 (N. D.
Ohio 1953) ; American Mercury, Inc. v. Chase, 13 F, 2d 224, 225
(D. C. Cir. 1926) ; Bantam Books, Inc. v. Melko, 25 N. J. Super. 292,
96 A. 2d 47 (1950).

= Dennis v. U. S., 341 U. S. 494, 550 (1951) (Frankfurter, J.,
concurring).

eee Ss ee ee a

res

a ee

et

38

those which are not, has been unsuccessful because of
vagueness, unworkability and, most important, the setting
of standards to test expression which carry dangerous im-
plications for the “fullest possible opportunity for the free
play of the human mind.” *

It will be contended by those who would suppress all dis-
agreeable or offensive art and literature that obscenity is
a social problem which must be controlled, even at the ex-
pense of some unfortunate but necessary inroads upon free
expression. But we think it more accurate to say that
traffic in obscenity (which requires consumers as well as
purveyors) is a symptom of a social problem rather than
an evil per se. For that precise reason it is both ineffectual
and dangerous to attempt to treat the problem solely b;
prosecutions, broad in scope, which ignore entirely the
underlying cultural, social and personality factors which
make autoerotic fantasy material attractive to large seg-
ments of the public.

As Mr. Justice Warren, concurring in the result in Roth,
has cautioned:

“To recognize the existence of a [social] problem
** * does not require that we sustain any and all mea-
sures adopted to meet that problem. The history of
the application of laws designed to suppress the ob-
scene demonstrates convincingly that the power of gov-
ernment can be invoked under them against great art
or literature, scientific treatises, or works exciting so-
cial controversy. Mistakes of the past prove that there
is a strong countervailing interest to be considered in
the freedoms guaranteed by the First and Fourteenth
Ainendments.” 354 U.S. at 495.

88 Dennis v. U. S., supra, at 550 (Frankfurter, J., concurring).

39

Whatever legislatures and courts may seek to accomplish
in this area, it must be borne in mind that:

“The First Amendment presupposes that right conclu-
sions are more likely to be gathered out of a multitude
of tongues, than through any kind of authoritative se-
lection. To many this is, and always will be, folly; but
we have staked upon it our all.” *

For all of the foregoing reasons, the convictions
should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Bernarp A. BERKMAN
1320 The Superior Building
Cleveland, Ohio 44114

Metyvin L. WuLF
Seymour H. BucHouz
156 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10010

Murray PowLen
1405 Locust Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

September 1965

“* United States v. Associated Press, 52 F. Supp. 362, 372 (D. C.
8. D. N. Y. 1943) (Hand, L., J.).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386411_0229%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
