# Appellees Brief — Muza v. California

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386411_0216%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appellees Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1966
- **Citation:** 385 U.S. 850

## Text

PY "FILED
OCT 2 9196

JOHN F. DAVIS, C

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1965

No. 29

Unitep States oF AMERICA,

Appellant,

—U.-—

CLARENCE EWwELt and Ronatp K. Dennis.

ON APPEALS FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

BRIEF FOR APPELLEE CLARENCE EWELL

Davin B. Locxton
10th Floor, 111 Monument Circle
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Attorney for
Clarence Ewell, Appellee

Opinions Below
Constitutional Provisions Involved
Questions Presented
| ee

Summary of Argument

INDEX

ARGUMENT:

I.

Il.

Il.

IV.

Conclusion

The Appeal Does Not Present a Case or
Controversy and Should Be Dismissed ........

The District Court’s Decision That the Pro-
ceedings Against the Defendant Violated the
Sixth Amendment Right to Be Informed of
the Nature and Cause of the Accusation Is
Correct

The Appellee Was Deprived of His Right to
a Speedy Trial Under the Sixth Amend-
ment on the Charge of Selling Narcotics in
Violation of Title 26 U.S.C. 4704(a) WW... ....

A. The delay involved was substantial ........

B. The appellee has been prejudiced by the
delay

C. The delay and the resulting prejudice was
a resul of the Government’s conduct ....

The Second Indictment Charging a Violation
of 26 U.S.C. 4704(a) Violates the Double
Jeopardy Protection of the Fifth Amendment

Page

nw nd = =

12

14

22
23

27

30

37
41

INDEX

Page

CITATIONS

CASES:

Abbate v. United States, 359 U.S. 187 ...... 12, 30, 38, 39
Bayless v. United States, 147 F. 2d 169, reversed

on other grounds, 150 F. 2d 236 26
Beland v. United States, 100 F. 2d 289, certiorari

denied 306 U.S. 636 17, 18
Blockburger v. United States, 284 U.S. 299 ........ 15,17
Clay v. United States, 326 F. 2d 196 .................... 5, 34
Collins v. Markley, 346 F. 2d 230 8, 34, 38
Downum v. United States, 372 U.S. 734 ............ 29
Fahy v. Connecticut, 375 U.S. 85 20
Fiswick v. United States, 329 U.S. 211 ................ Bs
Frankel v. Woodrough, 7 F. 2d 796 26, 28
Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S. 60 .................. 20
Gore v. United States, 357 U.S. 387 .................-- 4,17
Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609 36
Hallman v. United States, 208 F. 2d 828 ........ 15, 20, 21
Hanrahan v. United States, 348 F. 2d 363 -........... 26
Harris v. United States, 359 U.S. 19 ...................- 17
Hurtado v. California, 110 U.S. 516 .-................... 29
Hutchinson v. United States, 345 F. 2d 964 -....... 17
In Re Neilson, 131 U.S. 176 38
Jackson v. United States, 325 F. 2d 477 ............ 5, 34

Jackson v. United States, 9/13/65 (C.A.D.C.) 25
Lauer v. United States, 320 F. 2d 187 ........ 5, 6, 8, 29,
31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 38
Nickens v. United States, 323 F. 2d 808 ............ 15, 19
Petite v. United States, 361 U.S. 529 .................... 30, 38
Petition of Provoo, 17 F.R.D. 183 (D. Md.),
affirmed 350 U.S. 857 ................-.- 15, 22, 27, 28, 29, 31
Pointer v. Texas, U.S. , 13 L.Ed. 2d 923 15
Pollard v. United States, 352 U.S. 354 -..0......... 38
Ponzi v. Fessenden, 258 U.S. 254 26
Powell v. United States, 8/30/65 (C.A.D.C.) -.... 24, 25
Rivera v. United States, 318 F. 2d 606 ................ 5, 32

INDEX ili

Page

Ross v. United States, 349 F. 2d 210 ........ 15, 16, 19, 21,

24, 25, 28

Smith v. United States, 360 U.S. 1 .................... 25

Taylor v. United States, 238 F. 2d 259 ........ 15, 19, 26,

27-28

United States v. Ball, 163 U.S. 622 26
United States v. Brest, 266 F. 2d 879, certiorari

denied 362 U.S. 912 26
United States v. Cruikshank, 92 U.S. (2 Otto)

542 15
United States v. Debrow, 346 U.S. 374 ................ 5, 15, 32
United States v. Dennis, 242 F. Supp. 166 ........ 1
United States v. Ewell, 242 F. Supp. 451 -........... 1
United States v. Lustman, 258 F. 2d 475, certio-

rari denied 358 U.S. 880 28
United States v. Morgan, 346 U.S. 502 ................ 33
United States v. Sabella, 272 F. 2d 206 ................ 39
United States v. Seeger, 303 F. 2d 478 ................ 15
United States v. Tateo, 377 U.S. 463 -................... 26, 35
United States v. United States Smelting, R € M

Co., 339 U.S. 186 23
United States v. Wilkins, 348 F. 2d 844 0... 20
Ward v. United States, 346 F. 2d 423 000... 28
Williams v. United States, 250 F. 2d 19 ..000... 28

CONSTITUTION, STATUTES AND RULES:
United States Constitution:

Article 3, Section 2 1, 2, 9,14
Fifth Amendment . 2, 3, 6, 12, 24, 26, 30,
37, 38, 39, 40, 41

Sixth Amendment 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 13,
14, 15, 16, 19, 21, 22, 23, 24,

25, 26, 27, 30, 31, 33, 37, 38, 41

Be ee es 7
18 U.S.C. 4208(b) 4
21 U.S.C. 174 ...... 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 12,
16, 17, 20, 31, 39

ee

26 U.S.C. 4704(a) 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10,11,
12, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 22, 23,

24, 25, 30, 31, 33, 36, 37, 38

26 U.S.C. 4705(a) 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8,9,
12, 18, 20, 31, 37, 38, 39

26 U.S.C. 7237(a) 33
26 U.S.C. 7237(b) 4,7
26 U.S.C. 7237(e) (1) 4,7
26 U.S.C. 7237(d) ...... 4,7
“Ss 2 eh 5, 32, 33, 35

Revised Rules of the Supreme Court of the
United States:
Rule 15(1) (ce) (1) 9,13

OTHER:

“In Gideon’s Wake: Harsher Penalties and the
‘Successful’ Criminal Appellant.” Van Al-
styne, 74 Yale Law Journal 606 (1965) ............

—

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1965
No. 29

Unitep States or AMERICA,
Appellant,

| ro

CLARENCE Ewe.u and Ronayp K. Dennis.

ON APPEALS FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

BRIEF FOR APPELLEE CLARENCE EWELL

Opinions Below

The opinions of the district court are reported at 242
F. Supp. 451 (S.D. Indiana), United States v. Ewell; and
at 242 F. Supp. 166 (S.D. Indiana), United States v. Dennis.

Constitutional Provisions Involved

Article 3, Section 2 provides in pertinent part:

“The judicial Power shall extend to all Cases, ... ;—

to Controversies to which the United States shall be
Spars...”

—

2

The Fifth Amendment provides in pertinent part:

« .. nor shall any person be subject for the same offense
to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb;.. .”

The Sixth Amendment provides in pertinent part:

“In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy
the right to a speedy and public trial . . ., and to be
informed of the nature and cause of the accusa-
Geta-v-+-<"

Questions Presented

1. The Government has limited this appeal to that part
of the district court’s judgment dismissing Count IT of a
three-count indictment on the grounds that the defendant’s
right under the Sixth Amendment to a speedy trial was
denied him. The district court also found that the pro-
ceedings violated the right under the Sixth Amendment
to be informed of the nature and cause of the accusation.
In view of the fact that this independent ground for dis-
missing the indictment is unchallenged by this appeal, is
there a case or controversy required by Article 3, Section 2
of the Constitution to give this Court jurisdiction?

2. In its first proceeding against the defendant, the
Government limited its prosecution to a one-count indict-
ment charging a violation of 26 U.S.C. 4705(a). After the
judgment on that indictment was set aside, the Government
caused Ewell to be reindicted on the original and two addi-
tional counts stemming from the same alleged sale of nar-
cotics. These new counts charged violations of 26 U.S.C.
4704(a) and 21 U.S.C. 174. The Government delayed in-
forming the defendant of the charges over fifteen months.

3

This entire time the defendant was in the custody of the
Government. Under these circumstances, was Eweu denied
his right under the Sixth Amendment to reasonable notice
of every element of the charges he must be prepared to
defend?

3. The defendant was arrested and jailed on December
12, 1962, and charged with an illegal sale of narcotics which
allegedly occurred on October 31, 1962. The defendant was
not indicted for violating 26 U.S.C. 4704(a), which is the
subject of this appeal, however, until March 26, 1964, even
though he had been in the custody of the Government since
the day of his arrest and could have been indicted on this
charge at any time. The question is whether the Govern-
ment’s delay in charging the defendant with a violation of
96 U.S.C. 4704(a) resulted in a denial of his Sixth Amend-
ment guarantee of a speedy trial on this charge.

4. In the original proceeding the Government caused the
Grand Jury to indict the defendant for a sale of narcotics
in violation of 26 U.S.C. 4705(a). Fifteen months later
the Government caused the defendant to be indicted on
two additional counts charging violations of 26 U.S.C. 4704
(a) and 21 U.S.C. 174. These new counts admittedly grew
out of the same sale alleged in the first indictment. The
question is whether this successive prosecution of the de-
fendant for the same act is barred by the double jeopardy
clause of the Fifth Amendment.

Statement

On December 10, 1962, a complaint was filed charging the
appellee, Clarence Ewell, with a violation of Title 26 US.C.
4705(a), which makes it a felony to sell narcotics to one

os

4

who does not possess a written order form issued by the
Secretary of the Treasury.’ The appellee was arrested on
December 12, 1962, and was remanded to jail after a com-
missioner’s hearing when he was unable to post bond (R.
14-15).

A single sale of narcotics (heroin) may constitute a vio-
lation of three statutes. Proof of a single sale will support
a prima facie case for violations of 21 U.S.C. 174 (concern-
ing illegally imported narcotics), and 26 U.S.C. 4704(a)
(selling not in nor from the original stamped package), as
well as 26 U.S.C. 4705(a). See Gore v. United States, 357
U.S. 387. The Government chose not to proceed under the
first two sections and on December 14, 1962, an indictment
was returned charging the appellee with violating 26 U.S.C.
4705(a) alone. The indictment did not set forth the name
of the alleged purchaser. Ewell pleaded guilty on Decem-
ber 18, 1962, and was sentenced as a second offender’ to
the minimum sentence of 10 years, pursuant to 26 U.S.C.
7237(b), (c)(1) and (d) (R. 15-18).

On January 17, 1963, the Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit, in an unrelated case emanating from the
same district court as this case, held that an indictment

1The factual situations of Clarence Ewell and Ronald K. Dennis
are practically identical. The only material differences are the
dates of occurrences. Ewell preceded Dennis at every stage of the
proceedings. For the sake of simplicity, this Brief is written on
the basis of the facts concerning Clarence Ewell only; and, where
there is a difference other than one of time, it will be indicated by
footnote. No counsel has been appointed for Ronald K. Dennis
in this appeal. It is the understanding of this counsel that Ronald
K. Dennis could not be located in order to sign a petition for
appointment of counsel. As used in this Brief, “appellee” and
“defendant” refers to Clarence Ewell unless otherwise indicated.

2Dennis was not a second offender and was sentenced to the
minimum term of five years after a commitment for study under

18 U.S.C. 4208(b) (R. 46-50).

under 26 U.S.C. 4705(a), which does not allege the name
of the purchaser is defective because it violates the Sixth
Amendment requirement that the accused be informed of
the nature and cause of the accusation, and that such an
indictment would not permit the defendant to plead bis
conviction as a bar to further prosecution for the same
offense. Lauer v. United States, 320 F. 2d 187 (C.A. 7).
In spite of the fact that the Government’s Brief (p. 9, n. 5)
states the Lawer decision was contrary to a prior decision
of this Court, United States v. Debrow, 346 U.S. 374, and
one of the Ninth Circuit, Rivera v. United States, 318 F.
2d 606, 607 (C.A. 9), and was deemed to be incorrect (Brief,
p. 15), the Soliciter General permitted the decision to stand
unchallenged.

On November 6, 1963, Ewell moved to vacate his convic-
tion pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 2255 on the basis of the Lauer
decision. The motion was granted on January 13, 1964.
By the time the appellee’s section 2255 motion was granted,
according to the Government’s Jurisdictional Statement
(p. 3, n. 3) and Brief (p. 9, n. 5), two additional circuits
that had had occasion to consider the ruling in Laver had
rejected it. Clay v. United States, 326 F. 2d 196 (C.A. 10)
(December 24, 1963); Jackson v. United States, 325 F. 2d
477 (C.A. 8) (December 20, 1963). In spite of this, the
Government did not appeal the decision setting aside the
appellee’s conviction. On the contrary, appellee was ar-
rested upon his release on a new complaint based on the
same sale which had formed the basis of the original con-
viction. This time the complaint charged 1 violation of
26 U.S.C. 4704(a) as well as 4705(a). After a probable
cause hearing before the United States Commissioner, the
appellee was remanded to jail for failure to post bond (R.
18-21).

—,

6

On March 26, 1964, the Grand Jury returned an indict.
ment against Ewell based on the transaction involved in
the original indictment. However, this time three separate
crimes were charged. Count I charged a sale without an
order form in violation of 26 U.S.C. 4705(a); Count II
charged a sale not in nor from the original stamped package,
in violation of 26 U.S.C. 4704(a); and Count I1I charged
dealing in illegally imported narcotics in violation of 21
U.S.C. 174 (R. 20-22). The defendant now faced a maxi-
mum penalty of 100 years and $60,000 fine, or both; where-
as, under tthe original indictment the maximum sentence
faced by Ewell was 40 years and a fine of $20,000 or both.
These charges faced for the first time came more than
seventeen months after the offense.

Ewell pleaded not guilty on arraignment. A motion to
dismiss the indictment was filed on the grounds it violated
the provisions of the Tifth and Sixth Amendments (R.
22-23). On July 13, 1964, the district court denied the
motion on the Fifth Amendment ground of double jeopardy,
but dismissed the indictment on two Sixth Amendment
grounds. The court stated that Ewell’s Sixth Amendment
right to a speedy trial and the right to be informed of the
nature and cause of the accusation had been violated by
the combined events stated above (R. 25-26).*

The opinion of the court noted that while Ewell had
served almost nineteen months of his sentence, because of
the Lauer decision Ewell had no choice but to attack his
judgment and sentence immediately. The court also found
that the Government:

* The Government, both in its Jurisdictional Statement and its
Brief, completely ignores that part of the opinion holding that
the inclusion of the two additional counts in the second indictment
violated this Sixth Amendment right of an accused to be informed
of the nature and cause of the accusation.

_

7

“. .. for some reason unknown of record other than
the expressed concern of the prospective liberation of
a number of similarly convicted narcotic felons, caused
the Grand Jury in March, 1964, to reindict Mr. Ewell
for three narcotic offenses allegedly occurring on the
same date growing out of the same transaction whereas
the first indictment was for one narcotic offense al-
legedly occurring on the same date and apparently the
same transaction referred to in the three offenses in
the three-count indictment” (R. 25).

The court observed that Ewell was not a belligerent
offender and also expressed the view that none of the time
he had already served and would serve until his trial could
be eredited to any sentence he might receive if found guilty
because of Title 26 U.S.C. 7237(b), (c)(1), and (d), and
Title 18 U.S.C. 3568 (R. 25).

The Government petitioned for rehearing on July 22,
1964 (R. 26-28), and for the first time stated that “in recog-
nition of the inequity to this defendant arising from the
fact that under the mandatory sentencing provisions of
26 U.S.C. 4705(a) and 21 U.S.C. 174, the Court may not
give credit for the time already served” (R. 35) the At-
torney General had authorized the Government to offer
to dismiss Counts I and III of the indictment if the court
would reverse its decision and Ewell would plead guilty
to Count II or would be found guilty on Count Il, which
might result in a minimum sentence of five years without
probation or parole. After oral argument, the district court
denied the Petition for Rehearing on J uly 30, 1964* (R. 39).

‘The Government did not offer to dismiss Counts I and III
under any circumstances in the Dennis case.

2 Ge nn

8

Although the district court dismissed the indictment con-
sisting of three counts, the Government, in its Jurisdic-
tional Statement, has limited the appeal to “that portion
of the order of the district court in each case which dis-
missed the second count of each indictment, charging a
violation of 26 U.S.C. 4704(a)” (Jur. St., p. 5). The appeal
was also limited to that part of the district court’s judg-
ment which was based on the Sixth Amendment right to
a speedy trial. That part of the decision which was based
on the right to be informed of the nature and cause of the
accusation is not brought before the Court (Brief, pp. 1-2;
Jur. St., p. 2). The reason given for limiting the appeal
to Count II was so that there would be no question as to
the right of the district court, in fixing sentence, to take
into consideration the time already served by the appellee
(Jurisdictional Statement, pp. 5-6, Brief, p. 5).

On May 11, 1965, six days before this Court noted prob-
able jurisdiction in this case, the Seventh Circuit sitting
En Bane overruled Lauer holding that the emission of the
name of a purchaser from an indictment charging a viola-
tion of Title 26 U.S.C. 4705(a) was not a defect of such
a fundamental nature as to render a judgment of convic-
tion vulnerable to collateral attack. Collins v. Markley, 346
F. 2d 230 (C.A. 7).

Summary of Argument

I. The district court dismissed Count II of a second in-
dictment against Clarence Ewell charging a violation of
26 U.S.C. 4704(a) on the grounds that under all of the
circumstances the rights guaranteed him by the Sixth
Amendment (a) to a speedy trial, and (b) to be informed
of the nature and cause of the accusation, had been vio-
lated. The Government has limited its appeal to the ques-

tion of the denial of the right to a speedy trial, and the
second ground for the trial court’s decision is not men-
tioned in the Government’s Jurisdictional Statement or
Brief.

This Court is precluded from considering any questions
except those raised by the Jurisdictional Statement or
fairly comprised therein. Rule 15(1)(c)(1), Revised Rules
of the Supreme Court of the United States. By not ap-
pealing the district court’s decision concerning the right
to be informed, the Government has left unchallenged an
independent basis on which the trial court’s dismissal of
the indictment must be sustained. The question raised by
the Government is moot because any decision of this Court
concerning the defendant’s right to a speedy trial would
not affect his freedom and would be nothing more than an
advisory opinion. This appeal does not, therefore, present
a case or controversy as required by Article 3, Section 2
of the Constitution and should be dismissed.

II. The trial court’s decision that the combined events
of the proceedings against the defendant violated his right
to be informed of the nature and cause of the accusation
is clearly correct.

The Sixth Amendment entitles the accused to reasonable
notice of every element of the charges which he will be
required to defend. While delay in bringing charges obvi-
ously prejudices the defendant in the defense of such
charges, the cases recognize that any delay is most severe
in a narcotics case. In Ewell’s case the Government origi-
nally charged him only with selling narcotics to one who
did not possess the proper order form in violation of 26
U.S.C. 4705(a). When Ewell successfully set aside that
conviction, the Government reindicted him and added two
additional counts to the second indictment, one of which

10

was Count II, the subject matter of this appeal, charging
Ewell with selling narcotics not from nor in the original
stamped package in violation of 25 U.S.C. 4704(a). The
delay in informing Ewell that he must defend this new
charge was fifteen months, even though the new charge
grew out of the same allegdd transaction that was the
basis of the first indictment. This delay severely prejudiced
him in his ability to defend the new charge. The reason is
obvious. Under the charge in the first indictment, the pres-
ence or absence of a stamped package was irrelevant.
Under the new charge, however, the defendant would have
to prove the existence of a Stamped package in order to
rebut the presumption that the sale of unstamped narcotics
was made from an unstamped package. The defendant was
in prison, unaware of this proposed charge and, therefore,
unable to adequately prepare a defense when and if the
Government informed him of the new charge.

This prejudice resulting from the delay is undenied. Be-
cause there has been prejudice, whatever reason there may
have been for the delay is irrelevant. This case presents
a perfect example of the reason for the Sixth Amendment
right to be informed of the nature and cause of the accusa-
tion.

III. The dismissal of Count II on the grounds that the
combined events violated the defendant’s right to a speedy
trial is clearly correct.

The delay involved was substantial under the cireum-
stances. The defendant was arrested on December 12,
1962, and was not indicted under the charge in question
until March 26, 1964, in spite of the fact that he was in the
custody of the Government this entire period. The defen-
dant’s right to a speedy trial is not affected by the fact that

i

11

he is in jail on another conviction. Furthermore, the period
to be measured by the speedy trial protection is begun
when the prosecution is first instituted and is not affected
by the filing of a second indictment charging different vio-
lations arising from the same act. The Government’s at-
tempt to break the total period of delay into several lesser
periods and hold these periods up to the speedy trial guar-
antee is completely unsupported by the law and the facts.
The uncontroverted fact is that the defendant was incar-
cerated over fifteen months before he was first charged with
a violation of 26 U.S.C. 4704(a).

The Government has not met its burden of showing that
the defendant was not prejudiced by the delay, and the
facts clearly show that he was prejudiced. The defendant
was prejudiced by the restraint upon his liberty, by the
harassment of successive prosecution based on the same
act and by the accompanying notoriety and anxiety re-
sulting therefrom. The defendant was most severely preju-
diced, however, in his ability to defend the new charge
because of the fifteen-month delay. The Government does
not deny the existence of this prejudice.

While the defendant is not required to show that the
delay and prejudice was the result of purposeful conduct,
nevertheless this appeal would never have reached this
Court and the delay and prejudice resulting to the de-
fendant would not have occurred except for the conduct
of the Government, whether or not it was purposeful.

As the district court found, it was the combined events
of the proceedings by the Government which denied the
defendant his right to a speedy trial.

IV. In the original proceeding, the Government caused
the Grand Jury to indict the defendant on only one count

- —_—_—

12

charging a sale of narcotics in violation of 26 U.S.C. 4705
(a). Fifteen months later, after the defendant success-
fully set aside that conviction, the Government indicted the
defendant on the original count plus two additional counts
charging violations of 26 U.S.C. 4704(a) and 21 U.S.C.
174. These new counts admittedly grew out of the same
sale alleged in the first indictment. There is no question
that had these two counts been included in the first indict-
ment no constitutional right would have been violated.
However, to permit prosecutions for these alleged viola-
tions to be brought at a later date for any reason gives the
Government the power to subject the defendant to longer
sentences for the same act. In this case the trial court
held this tactic was used to discourage other similarly con-
victed defendants from attacking their convictions. Under
the reasoning in Abbate v. United States, 359 U.S. 187,
196-199 (Separate Opinion), the addition of Count IT to
the second indictment is clearly barred by the double jeop-
ardy clause of the Fifth Amendment.

ARGUMENT

I.

The Appeal Does Not Present a Case or Controversy and
Should Be Dismissed.

The ultimate finding of the district court was (R. 25):

“The rights of Mr. Ewell under the Sixth Amendment
of the United States Constitution quoted in part as
follows has been violated by the combined events re-
cited herein:

‘In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy
the right to a speedy and public trial . . . and io be

13

informed of the nature and cause of the accusa-
tion ...’” (Emphasis added.)

The holding obviously was not only that the defendant
had been denied his right to a speedy trial, as stated by
the Government (Jur. St., p. 2, and Brief, pp. 1-2), but also
that Ewell had not been informed of the nature and cause
of the accusation as well. In other words, the court found
that the proceedings violated two independent rights guar-
anteed by the Sixth Amendment. The question raised by
the Government’s appeal is the following:

“The question presented is whether the District Court
erred in dismissing the subsequent indictments on the
ground that, because of the time each appellee had
already served on the sentence set aside under 28
U.S.C, 2255, retrial on new indictments was barred by
the Sixth Amendment guarantee of a right to a speedy
trial” (Jur. St., p. 2).

and in the Brief:

“.. the question is whether, under these circumstances,
the Sixth Amendment’s guaranty of a speedy trial re-
quires dismissal of the new indictments” (Brief, p. 2).

No mention is made in the Government’s Jurisdictional
Statement or Brief of the right of the accused to be in-
formed of the nature and cause of the accusation.

Rule 15(1)(¢)(1) of this Court precludes consideration of
any question except those set forth in the Jurisdictional
Statement or fairly comprised therein. The district court’s
opinion found the denial of two independent constitutional
guarantees, and the question concerning the right to be in-
formed of the nature and cause of the accusation cannot be
fairly comprised in the speedy trial question as it is phrased

14

in the Jurisdictional Statement. The fact that the Govern-
ment’s Brief makes absolutely no mention of this second
ground confirms that there was no intent to appeal this
aspect of the judgment. Thus, the finding of the trial court
that the appellee was denied his right to be informed re-
mains unchallenged.

Therefore, whether this defendant was also denied his
right to a speedy trial is a moot question. Any decision by
this Court concerning the right to a speedy trial would
not affect the defendant’s freedom and would be purely
an advisory opinion. This appeal does not present a case
or controversy as required by Article 3, Section 2, of the
Constitution and should be dismissed.

Il.

The District Court’s Decision That the Proceedings
Against the Defendant Violated the Sixth Amendment
Right to Be Informed of the Nature and Cause of the
Accusation Is Correct.

Even if the Government had properly presented the ques-
tion to this Court as to its correctness, the holding of the
district court that the addition of Count II to the second
indictment violated the Sixth Amendment right to be in-
formed of the nature and cause of the accusation is correct,
both on the basis of the facts disclosed by the record and
as a matter of law.

The district court held this right was “violated by the
combined events” (R. 25), of the entire proceeding against
Ewell. To overturn this findimg, it is necessary for the
appellant to show that the combined events set forth by
the district court did not resultt in prejudice to the defen-
dant and did not violate his right to be informed. It is
submitted that the Government cannot meet this burden.

15

The Sixth Amendment clause in question entitles the ac-
cused to be advised of every element of the charges against
him to which it will be necessary for him to prepare a de-
fense. United States v. Debrow, 346 U.S. 374, 377, 378;
United States v. Cruikshank, 92 U.S. (2 Otto) 542, 558;
United States v. Seeger, 303 F. 2d 478, 482 (C.A. 2); Hall-
man v. United States, 208 F. 2d 825, 827 (C.A.D.C.). This
Court has recently reiterated that this Sixth Amendment
right to reasonable notice of a charge against a defendant
is basic in our system of jurisprudence. Pointer v. Texas,
— U.S. ——, 13 L.Ed. 2d 923, 927, and it has been well
recognized by the courts that any delay in charging and
trying a defendant prejudices him in his ability to defend
himself. Petition of Provoo, 17 F.R.D. 183, 198 (D. Md.),
affirmed 350 U.S. 857; Taylor v. United States, 238 F. 2d
259 (C.A.D.C.); Ross v. United States, 349 F. 2d 210
(C.A.D.C.). In narcotics cases, any delay is extremely
prejudicial to the defense of the charges for three reasons.
These are (1) the nature of the statutes involved, which
do not create an offense for selling narcotics forbidden
per se, but merely penalize a sale which violates their tech-
nical requirements, Blockburger v. United States, 284 U.S.
299, 302; (2) the technique used by the Government in
enforcing these statutes;° and (3) the presumption of guilt
contained in the statutes.®

5In Nickens v. United States, 323 F. 2d 808, 813-14 (C.A.D.C.),
Judge Wright stated the following in a concurring opinion:

“Narcotics addiction poses a serious problem for society, but
the solutions at times attempted to raise other dangers. As
Mr. Justice Roberts observed, ‘The efforts . . . to obtain
arrests and convictions have too often been marked by repre-
hensible methods,’ methods which he termed a ‘prostitution
of the criminal law.’ Since addicts ordinarily become known

16

An examination of the proceedings found by the district
court to violate the Sixth Amendment requirement to in-
form the accused of the nature and cause of the accusation,
reveals how all these factors have worked to prejudice the
defendant severely.

to the police in the course of repeated offenses, the addict on
the street lives always in fear of arrest at the discretion of
the police. Since the addict is continually in possession of
narcotics, proof of a new offense is easily come by. As here,
it is the practice for the police themselves to arrange for a
sale to be made. The arrangements are often made through
some informant, an addict himself, who is working his peace
with the police by entrapping fellow addicts. In this way
narcotic arrests, as distinguished from arrests for other offenses
are shaped by the police, at a time of their choice, against a
suspect of their choice, before witnesses of their choice. Thus,
the Government has almost total control of the evidentiary
situation.

“Total control of the evidentiary situation by the Government,
of course, makes for an airtight case. But when delay in
prosecution intervenes, this airtight trap may blindly close
on the wrong man. Error becomes more possible with each
passing day, and a person caught by mistake in this airtight
trap may indeed be helpless. The danger of grave injustice
is magnified in a case such as this where the identification
is predicated on a single sale, and where, as is customary,
the Government uses an addict as its informant. Since the
possibility of abuse of the Government’s control over the evi-
dence exists, the court must remain vigilant to scrutinize
delay, for ‘(t)he preservation of the purity of its own temple
belongs only to the court.’”

See also Ross v. United States, 349 F. 2d 210 (C.A.D.C.).

®26 U.S.C. 4704(a) states: “The absence of appropriate tax-
paid stamps from narcotic drugs shall be prima facie evidence
of a violation of this sub-section by the person in whose possession
the same may be found.” 21 U.S.C. 174 states: “. .. Whenever
on trial for a violation of this section the defendant is shown
to have or to have had possession of the narcotic drug, such
possession shall be deemed sufficient evidence to authorize con-
viction unless the defendant explains the possession to the satis-
faction of the jury.”

17

As previously noted, the Government initially could have
caused the Grand Jury to indict Ewell for violations of 26
U.S.C. 4704(a) (selling narcotics neither from nor in the
original tax-stamped package), and 21 U.S.C. 174 (dealing
in unlawfully imported narcotics), along with the crime
actually charged. Blockburger v. United States, 284 U.S.
299; Gore v. United States, 357 U.S. 387; Harris v. United
States, 359 U.S. 19. For some unknown reason the Gevern-
ment did not.’ When Ewell successfully set aside the orig-
inal conviction, the Government caused him to be arrested
on a new complaint filed even before he was released from
prison (R. 20). This new complaint which came some fif-
teen months after the date of the alleged crime was the
first notice the defendant had that he might have to defend
himself of a charge under 26 U.S.C. 4704(a), and after the
Government had indicated affirmatively by its course of
conduct that he would net be required to do so. The in-
dictment was returned on March 26, 1964, over fifteen
months after the date of the original arrest (R. 21).

The mere proof of a sale of narcotics not in a stamped
package will support a conviction if unrebutted. Harris v.
United States, 359 U.S. 19, 23; Beland v. United States,
100 F. 2d 289, 291 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied 306 U.S. 636.

*Two possible explanations for the Government’s failure to do
so are (1) the insufficiency of evidence on the other counts, and
(2) that the penalty prescribed for a violation of only one statute
was adequate punishment for the particular defendant. This
latter theory finds support in Judge Bazelon’s discussion on the
relation of the Government’s choice as to the number and nature
of counts it prosecutes a defendant on, and the role played by
the particular defendant in the narcotic traffic. Hutchinson v.
United States, 345 F. 2d 964, 972-977 (C.A.D.C.). The prejudice
resulting from the subsequent inclusion of these counts in the
second indictment if either of these reasons motivated the Gov-
ernment’s decision is obvious.

18

On the other hand, since 26 U.S.C. 4705(a) is only violated
by selling narcotics to someone who does not possess the
proper order form, the fact that a defendant may have sold
the narcotics in or from a stamped package is irrelevant
to the defense of this particular charge.

It is easy to imagine how any delay could result in serious
prejudice to a defendant in a situation similar to Clarence
Ewell’s. Thus, one in legal possession of a stamped packa,e
might sell narcotics from this package to a person who may
or may not possess the proper order form. This seller is
subsequently charged, arrested and indicted for selling nar-
cotics to a person who did not have the proper form in viola-
tion of 26 U.S.C. 4705(a). It is only reasonable for this
defendant to assume that since this is the charge the Gov-
ernment has caused the Grand Jury to indict him on, in
view of the Constitutional requirement to be informed of
every element of the case against him, this is the only
charge he must be prepared to defend. Thinking the
stamped package irrelevant to his defense, it is not pre-
served.

For some reason he is later charged with selling narcotics
not from nor in the stamped package in violation of 26
U.S.C. 4704(a). It may then be extremely difficult to rebut
the presumption that the narcotics were not sold from a
stamped package. The Government could make its case
merely by proving a sale of unstamped drugs with the testi-
mony of the purchaser, Beland v. United States, 100 F. 2d
289, 291 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied 306 U.S. 636, but if
the purchaser did not know where the narcotics th ‘efen-
dant sold him came from, or could not remember ether
or not the defendant had a stamped package, it would be
virtually impossible for the defendant to rebut the statu-
tory presumption. The prejudice to the defense of the

19

charges under 26 U.S.C. 4704(a) in this circumstance would
be grave indeed.

The degree of prejudice varies with the particular cir-
cumstances and depends, among other things, on the length
of the delay and the strength of the Government’s evidence
against the defendant. Ross v. United States, 349 F. 2d 210
(C.A.D.C.) ; Nickens v. United States, 323 F. 2d 808 (C.A.
D.C.) ; Taylor v. United States, 238 F. 2d 259 (C.A.D.C.).
In the present example, for instance, if the defendant was
arrested in the act of selling the drugs and was searched
on the spot, the prejudice resulting from the failure to in-
form him of prosecution under the “stamped package”
statute would be lessened. On the other hand, if the arrest
was made at a date subsequent to the sale in question, the
prejudice would be greater.

In the case of Clarence Ewell, the arrest was made some
six weeks after the alleged violation and he was not charged
with violating 26 U.S.C. 4704(a) until some fifteen months
later. During this interval, there was no mention of any
violation of 26 U.S.C. 4704(a) and Ewell was in jail un-
able to prepare a defense to any new charges the Govern-
ment might bring.

Because the record before this Court does not contain evi-
dence against Ewell, it is important to reiterate that the
district court, on the basis of the entire record of all of the
proceedings involved, including the Government’s evidence
presented at the disposition proceeding (R. 16), found
that the combination of all of the circumstances violated
the defendant’s Sixth Amendment right to be informed
of the nature and cause of the accusation (R. 24-25). The
relevant question before the district court was not whether
there was actual prejudice to the defendant, but whether

20

there was a reasonable possibility of prejudice. Fahy y.
Connecticut, 375 U.S. 85, 86-87; Glasser v. United States,
315 U.S. 60, 75-76; United States v. Wilkins, 348 F. 2d
844, 864 (C.A. 2). Implicit in the judgment of the district
court is the finding of at least the possibility of prejudice
in defending the new charge under 26 U.S.C. 4704(a).

In Hallman v. United States, 208 F. 2d 825 (C.A.D.C.), the
facts were similar to the instant case. The defendant was
indicted on a five-count indictment, three of which charged
violations of the same three statutes contained in this de-
fendant’s second indictment.’ The first count charged a
sale “to James Fair” not in pursuance of a written order,
and the second and third counts charged a “stamped pack-
age” violation and “a dealing in illegally imported nar-
cotics” violation and no purchaser was named in either of
these counts. At the beginning of the trial, it was apparent
that the Government was not going to prove that the sale
was to James Fair but to another employee of the Bureau
of Narcotics. The trial court then dismissed Count 1, but
refused to dismiss the second and third counts on the
ground that under these counts it was immaterial who the
purchaser was. The Court of Appeals reversed the district
court and stated the following at page 827:

“The Constitution requires that the accused be informed
‘of the nature and cause of the accusation’ (Amend-
ment VI), and the cases interpret that to mean that
he must be so definitely informed as to be enabled to
present his defense. The test, say the courts, is whether
the accused was misled. Counsel in the case at bar
said and says she was misled. That position is well
founded, we think, in view of the specific designation

826 U.S.C. 4705(a) ; 26 U.S.C. 4704(a); 21 U.S.C. 174.

“=

21

of James Fair in the first count and the statement in
the other counts that the capsules were the same in all
counts. That latter statement was misleading under the
circumstances of the case.” ®

While the harm in Hallman was the result of a mistake,
it cannot be argued here that the prejudice to the defendant
Ewell was the result of a mistake, for the decision not to
include a count charging a violation of the “stamped pack-
age” provision in the first indictment must be presumed
to have been an informed decision on the part of the Gov-
ernment, and the finding of the district court that the two
new counts were added to the second indictment because of
the “expressed concern of the prospective liberation of a
number of similarly convicted narcotic felons” (R. 25) is
unrebutted.

Furthermore, it is no argument that the Government only
included this count in the second indictment after the de-
fendant was successful in setting aside the first (Govern-
ment Brief, pp. 9-13). The relevant fact is the Govern-
ment could have included this count in the first indictment.
It chose not to. The Sixth Amendment right to be informed
of the nature and cause of the accusation was abridged at
that time and the prejudice to the defense grew with each
passing day. Any reason the Government could offer for

* While the court in Ross v. United States, 349 F. 2d 210
(C.A.D.C.), found a denial of due process, it did so because it
did not wish to limit the holding to the more specific language
of the Sixth Amendment on the particular facts of the case.
Nevertheless the court found that a 7-month period from the
date of the alleged offense until the filing of a complaint was an
unreasonable delay “in apprising appellant of the charge against
him ...,” (p. 211), and the effect of that delay was to adversely
affect the ability of the defendant to defend himself against the
charge.

T

its delay in charging this defendant is irrelevant since the
harm done by this failure is totally unrelated to any par-
ticular reasons for this delay. Petition of Provoo, 17 F.R.D.
183, 202 (D. Md.), affirmed 350 U.S. 857. To hold otherwise
would make this requirement of the Sixth Amendment
meaningless.

The defendant, therefore, maintains that the finding of
the district court that the combined events violated the
Sixth Amendment right to be informed of the nature and
cause of the axcusation is clearly supported by the facts
and the law and could not have been overturned by the
Government on the basis of the record before this Court
even had the Government attempted to do so.

ITI.

The Appellee Was Deprived of His Right to a Speedy
Trial Under the Sixth Amendment on the Charge of Selling
Narcotics in Violation of Title 26 U.S.C. 4704(a).

The Government has appealed to this Court only that
portion of the district court’s judgment dismissing Count
IL of a three-count indictment. The reason given is that
under the sentencing provisions which apply to Count I
and Count III the defendant may not receive credit for
the time previously spent in jail on the first indictment
(Jur. St., pp. 4-6, Brief, p. 5). The Government has left
unchallenged the holding that the defendant was denied
his right to a speedy trial on Count I and Count III of the
indictment. It, therefore, appears that serious questions
concerning the “law of the case” exist in considering the
appeal of Count Il. However, in recognition of the fact
that this is merely a discretionary rule of practice as far

—"

23

as this Court is concerned, United States v. United States
Smelting, R € M Co., 339 U.S. 186, 199, the defendant will
not take the Court’s time with an extended brief and argu-
ment of this principle. However, this Court can dispose
of this appeal on the ground that there is no material dif-
ference between Count II and the other two counts, and
the district court’s decision is, therefore, controlling on
the question of whether the defendant was denied his right
to a speedy trial on Count II.

There can be no question, however, that the district court
was correct in finding that the combined events of the pro-
ceedings concerning the charge in Count JI of the second
indictment violated the Sixth Amendment guarantee of the
right to a speedy trial.

A. The Delay Involved Was Substantial.

The issue raised by the Government’s limited appeal is
whether under the circumstances there has been a delay in
charging, indicting and bringing the defendant to trial on a
charge of violating 26 U.S.C. 4704(a). The defendant
maintains that there has been a substantial delay. The
Government’s arguments (Brief for the United States, pp.
7-13) concerning delay fail to give recognition to the fact
that the period in question is measured from the date of
the alleged violation in October of 1962, and the defendant’s
arrest and incarceration in December of that year, until
the date the indictment was returned on March 26, 1964.
The Government also attempts to break down the period
of delay into lesser periods and hold these shorter periods
up to the touchstone of the speedy trial guarantee. The
defendant contends that this is obviously an improper
approach.

ASR AE SITS AON AINE NES NNT AE SNR, REI AIRC ES Be a
24

1. The period of time from the commission of the alleged
crime, October 31, 1962, until the defendant was formally
charged with a violation of 26 U.S.C. 4704(a) on January
13, 1964 was almost fifteen months. The Government argues
that for Constitutional purposes under the Sixth Amend-
ment this period has been traditionally governed by the
statute of limitations (Brief for the United States, p. 7).
That is simply not the law. The cases cited by the Govern-
ment (Brief, pp. 7-9) do not hold that the right to a speedy
trial is never violated so long as the defendant is charged
within the period of the statute of limitations. The Gov-
ernment would vest the sole authority to interpret what
constitutes a speedy trial in Congress. A 75-year limita-
tion period would presumably require a court to consider
only the date of the crime and the date of the complaint
and disregard the facts of a particular situation. This
argument overlooks the fact that the judiciary alone has
the power to interpret the Constitution.

Congress may reduce the period in which a defendant
may be tried to less than the Constitution requires—it can-
not extend that period, and in determining the Constitu-
tional issue, each case must be decided on its own facts.
It has recently been held that a delay of even seven months
between the alleged commission of a crime and the formal
complaint where a narcotics violation is involved violated
the due process clause of the Fifth Amendment. Ross v.
United States, 349 F. 2d 210 (C.A.D.C.).2° Other cases, on

1° This Court of Appeals found that, on the basis of the record
of the hearing on prejudice in the district court, the defendant
made a plausible claim of prejudice in view of the weak case of
the Government. In support of the decision, the court cited all
speedy trial cases and specifically rejected the argument that the
period in question was controlled by the statute of limitations.
Powell v. United States, 8/30/65 (C.A.D.C.), decided after Ross

—

25

other facts, have upheld or reversed convictions dealing
with other periods for other crimes; in each case, however,
the issue was resolved on the basis of the facts there pre-
sented, and not by reference to an inflexible standard.

The important fact is that Clarence Ewell was in Gov-
ernment custody, in jail or prison for over fifteen months
until he was first charged with a violation of 26 U.S.C.
4704(a). There can be no showing that this delay was
“necessitated by the requirements of effective law-enforce-
ment” as the Government argued unsuccessfully in Ross,
supra, at p. 213. The delay in charging the defendant was
substantial under the circumstances and the defendant was
prejudiced by it.

2. The Court has recently stated that the period from
arrest until the return of the indictment is covered by the
protection of the Sixth Amendment. Smith v. United
States, 360 U.'s. 1, 10. The period in this case was over
fifteen months (BR. 15-21). All of this time the defendant
was in custody. The Government argues that the time from
the original arrest until the first indictment is a short one
(two days), and the time from the arrest on the charges
contained in the second indictment, January 13, 1964, until
the indictment was brought on March 26, 1964 is not sub-
stantial, and concludes that there was, therefore, no substan-

found no denial of due process in examining a delay of five
months. The majority recognized in this case, however, that the
statute of limitations governed this period only “to some extent.”
Jackson v. United States, 9/13/65 (C.A.D.C.), followed Powell
for the reason that the defendant failed to make any attempt to
show how he was prejudiced by a five-month delay. The test did
not require a preponderance of the evidence, but merely “some
showing.” None of these cases treated the statute of limitations
as affecting the right to a speedy trial.

26

tial delay (Brief for the United States, pp. 7-13). There is
no support in logic or law for this argument. The period
of time relevant for speedy trial purposes where the defense
of a charge is prejudiced by the passage of time begins
when the prosecution is first instituted and is not affected
by the filing of a new indictment charging different viola-
tions arising from the same act. Hanrahan v. United States,
348 F. 2d 363, 367 (C.A.D.C.). The relevant period in this
ease, therefore, begins with the defendant’s arrest on
December 12, 1962 (R. 15).

The Government cites United States v. Ball, 163 U.S. 622,
672 and United States v. Tateo, 377 U.S. 463, 465 in sup-
port of the proposition that the period of time from the
date of the original conviction until the defendant success-
fully sets aside the judgment and conviction on collateral
attack cannot be considered. These cases are Fifth Amend-
ment cases and are not concerned with the prejudice in
defending new charges resulting from delay. The reliance
on Ball and Tateo illustrates the Government’s misconcep-
tion of the facts. These cases are distinguishable because
the defendants in both situations were faced with defending
only those charges which were lodged against them by the
original indictment. Bayless v. United States, 147 F. 2d
169 (C.A. 8), reversed on other grounds 150 F. 2d 236 and
United States v. Brest, 266 F. 2d 879, 880 (C.A. 3), cert.
denied 362 U.S. 912 are distinguishable for the same reason.

The defendant has the right to a speedy trial even if he
is in jail on another charge. Ponzi v. Fessenden, 258 U.S.
254, 264; Taylor v. United States, 238 F. 2d 259, 261 (C.A.
D.C.); Frankel v. Woodrough, 7 F. 2d 796, 798 (C.A. 8).
To exclude from the protection of the Sixth Amendment a
delay which resulted from even bona fide error in the

27

original proceeding by holding it to be a justifiable burden
for the accused to bear would be inconsistent with the policy

of a speedy trial to protect the accused from harm. As the
court in Provoo recognized, the degree of prejudice or detri-
ment suffered by the accused is unrelated to any particular
reason for delay. 17 F.R.D. 183, 202 (D. Md.), affirmed
350 U.S. 857. The delay in charging and indicting Clarence
Ewell was substantial under the circumstances.

B. The Appellee Has Been Prejudiced by the Delay.

If any difference is found between Count II and Count
III, it must go to the question of the prejudice to the defen-
dant. This is so because the history of these two counts
is identical (R. 20-26) and the only possible difference be-
tween the counts relative to the speedy trial issue is in their
respective sentencing provisions. The Government’s state-
ment that this appeal is limited only to the dismissal of
Count Il so that there is no question as to crediting the
time the defendant has already served to any new sentence
(Jurisdictional Statement, pp. 5-6) indicates that the Gov-
ernment considers this prejudice which would exist under
Count I and Count III to be the only material difference
between those counts and Count II. Therefore, if the pos-
sibility of some prejudice can also be found to exist under
Count II, it would seem that the Government must concede
that there has been a denial of a speedy trial under Count IT
as well, in view of its failure to appeal the dismissal of
Counts I and III.

The case law under the Sixth Amendment is unclear as to
whether the Government had the burden of showing in the
district court that the defendant was not prejudiced by
a delay. Our reading of Petition of Provoo, 17 F.R.D. 183,
203 (D. Md.), affirmed 350 U.S. 857 ; Taylor v. United States,

28

238 F. 2d 259 (C.A.D.C.) ; United States v. Lustman, 258 F.
2d 475, 478 (C.A. 2), cert. den. 358 U.S. 880 and Williams
v. United States, 250 F. 2d 19, 21 (C.A.D.C.) indicates that
the Government bears this burden. In any event the Gov-
ernment made no such showing, and it is clear that the
trial court found as a matter of fact that the prejudice
to the defendant denied him his right to a speedy trial. In
view of this factual finding, the burden in this Court is
certainly on the Government to demonstrate clearly that
the defendant in fact was not prejudiced." The record fully
supports the decision of the district court that there was
such prejudice.

1. First, the appellee was prejudiced simply by the im-
prisonment of some nineteen months while awaiting trial
on Count II. The restraint on liberty alone has been held
to constitute prejudice. Petition of Provoo, 17 F.R.D. 183,
203 (D. Md.), affirmed 350 U.S. 857; Frankel v. Woodrough,
7 F. 2d 796 (C.A. 8). The district court found that the fact
that the some nineteen months already spent in jail could
not be credited to the minimum sentence he originally gave
the defendant was particularly prejudicial and obviously
so did the Government.”

11Qn the basis of the record brought before this Court, the
defendant maintains there can be no such showing. For this
reason alone, the decision of the district court should be affirmed,
or in the alternative, the Court should remand the appeal to the
district court for further hearings on the matter of prejudice as
was done in Ward v. United States, 346 F. 2d 423 (C.A.D.C.);
Ross v. United States, 349 F. 2d 210 (C.A.D.C.).

12The Government in its Petition for Rehearing stated the
following (R. 35):

“In recognition of the inequity to this defendant arising from
the fact that under the mandatory sentencing provisions of

29

Under Count II, this latter prejudice admittedly would
not carry as severe a penalty since the minimum manda-
tory sentence for a second offender is five years. However,
Ewell cannot actually receive any credit on this five-year
sentence and has lost the “good time” he received under
the invalid sentence.”

All consideration of these sentencing provisions aside,
it is submitted that this lengthy restraint on Ewell’s free-
dom is prejudice enough to sustain the district court’s
opinion.

2. The defendant is prejudiced by the harassment of a
second criminal prcceeding against him and the accompany-
ing notoriety and anxiety resulting therefrom. Downum
v. United States, 372 U.S. 734, 736; Hurtado v. California,
110 U.S. 516, 522; Petition of Provoo, 17 F.R.D. 183, 198
(D. Md.), affirmed 350 U.S. 857. Ewell ran the gauntlet
once and thought that he was paying his debt to society
pursuant to a valid judgment and sentence. As a result of
the Lauer decision, he felt compelled to move to set aside
the judgment only to find himself forced to defend a prose-
cution on two additional charges. The harassment result-

26 U.S.C. 4705(a) and 21 U.S.C. 174, the Court may not
give credit for time already served .

This was repeated in the Jurisdictional Saucon, pp. 5-6, as
the reason only the dismissal of Count II is questioned by ‘this
appeal.

*8 Tt can also be argued that since the maximum sentence under
Count II is twenty years, Ewell is prejudiced because he might
not receive any credit on any new sentence for the district court
is not presently required to give eredit under existing law and
there is nothing to prohibit him from giving Ewell the maximum.

30

ing from these trials seriatim for offenses arising from
the same act standing alone is prejudice enough.

3. The most severe prejudice resulting from the pro-
ceedings against the defendant has been the prejudice in
the defense of the charges against him under Title 26
U.S.C. 4704(a) contained in Count Il. The prejudice re-
sulting from this delay has been treated in detail at pages
14 through 20 supra, and will not be re-examined here.
It not only violates the independent constitutional right
contained in the Sixth Amendment to be informed of the
nature and cause of the accusation as found by the district
court (R. 25-26) but is also severe enough to sustain a find-
ing of a denial of a speedy trial. The Government has not
denied its existence.”

On the basis of the Record and the Brief of the United
States, the finding of prejudice implicit in the decision
below remains not only unimpeached but is clearly sup-
ported.

C. The Delay and the Resulting Prejudice Was a
Result of the Government’s Conduct.

The defendant maintains that there has been a substan-
tial delay and that the delay has severely prejudiced the
defendant. Under the Sixth Amendment it is only neces-

14Tt has been stated by this Court that successive prosecutions
such as this are prohibited by the double jeopardy clause of the
Fifth Amendment. Abbate v. United States, 359 U. S. 187, 196-201
(Separate Opinion) ; Petite v. United States, 361 U.S. 529, 533
(Separate Opinion).

15 Instead, the Government has confined its argument to the
prejudice resulting under Counts I and III (Brief, pp. 19-22) ;
the dismissal of said counts it has not chosen to appeal.

31

sary to show that a delay is purposefu) or oppressive or
results in prejudice to the defendant. Petition of Provoo,
17 F.R.D. 183, 203 (D. Md.), affirmed 350 U.S. 357; Gov-
ernment’s Jurisdictional Statement, p. 7.*%* While the dis-
trict court judgment is clearly supported without subsidiary
evidentiary findings as to the cause of the delay, the situ-
ation which the district court found to violate the defen-
dant’s Sixth Amendment rights was a direct result of the
conduct of the Government in making four separate deci-
sions at various stages in the proceedings.

1. The Government did not indict the defendant for vio-
lations of 26 U.S.C. 4704(a) and 21 U.S.C. 174 at the origi-
nal Grand Jury proceeding in December, 1962. While it
had the option to do so for some reason unknown of record
it chose not to in this case.” Because the other two counts
were omitted, the defendant was justifiably led to believe
that the count under 26 U.S.C. 4705(a) would be the ex-
tent of the Government’s prosecution against him. The
defendant was at no point advised that other charges might
be later filed. The Government does not contend that the
other charges were brought as the result of any new evi-
dence. This was the first of four decisions by the Govern-
ment which led to the prejudice of the defendant.

2. The Government did not appeal the decision of the
Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals in Lauer v. United States,
320 F. 2d 187 (C.A. 7). According to the Government,

*° The Government’s subsequent statement in its Brief, pp. 13-14,
that a delay between arrest and indictment will amount to a
denial of a speedy trial only if it is purposeful or oppressive and
results in prejudice to the defendant is not supported by the cases.

** See note 7, p. 17 supra.

32

Lauer was contrary to a prior decision of this Court, United
States v. Debrow, 346 U.S. 374, and one of the Ninth Cir-
cuit, Rivera v. United States, 318 F. 2d 606 (Brief, p. 9,
n. 5) and was believed to be incorrect (Brief, p. 15). It was
also a decision of far-reaching effect, particularly in the
Seventh Circuit. Yet the Government chose not to appeal.**

The decision to allow what the Government felt to be a
bad precedent, contrary to law, to remain unchallenged as
the law in the Seventh Circuit with the belief that it had far-
reaching consequences was the second decision of the Gov-
ernment which led to the defendant’s ultimate prejudice,
for as the district court found (R. 24-25), in light of Lauer
the defendant had no choice but to attempt to set aside
his conviction immediately.

3. Congress saw fit to implement the “great writ” of
habeas corpus by passing Title 28 U.S.C. 2255, which gives
a defendant a right to petition the sentencing court to
set aside his judgment and conviction. After Lawer held
in effect that a conviction on an indictment identical to
Clarence Ewell’s could be set aside pursuant to this sec-
tion on the ground that it failed to charge an offense and
could not be pleaded in bar to a subsequent prosecution

18 The Government states that it did not petition for certiorari
because few cases were expected to be affected by Lauer. (Brief,
p. 15, n. 12.) However, in the same petition for re-hearing cited
by the Government in this note, the following argument was made
to the Seventh Circuit:

“We would like to point out to the court that if the instant

opinion remains the law, such opinion might well lead to
numerous collateral attacks by narcotic violators since it is
not uncommon to omit the name of the narcotics purchaser
from the indictment.”

(Page 9 of printed petition for re-hearing filed July 17, 1963.
See 320 F. 2d at 191.)

33

for the same offense, Ewell thereafter proceeded to file
a similar motion.”* It is suggested that Ewell and his coun-
sel could have ignored the Lauer case and could have elected
to serve the remaining 8% years of the sentence and
let the conviction remain unchallenged (Brief, pp. 16-17).
Such a contention is patently unreasonable. It would re-
quire the defendant and his counsel to disregard the fact
that he had no way of showing who the purchaser of the
drug was if the Government chose to reindict him a second
time on a narcotics charge alleging the same city and date.
This suggestion also overlooks the fact that this Court has
recognized that a conviction has other effects which may
extend beyond the term of the sentence imposed thereon.
United States v. Morgan, 346 U.S. 502, 512-513; Fiswick
v. United States, 329 U.S. 211, 220-223. As the district
court found (R. 25) the defendant really had no choice but
to attack this invalid judgment immediately.

When the district court granted the defendant’s section
2255 motion on January 13, 1964, the Government had the
opportunity to appeal this decision to the Seventh Circuit.
It did not.

As noted in the Government’s Brief (p. 9, n. 5) and
Jurisdictional Statement (p. 3, n. 3), by this time two cir-

* The Government suggests that there would be no problem in
pleading the conviction on the first indictment as a bar to further
prosecution for the same offense because the burden would be on
the Government to rebut a plea of double jeopardy. (Brief, pp.
16-17.) This argument is unsupported and conflicts with the
Government’s present position that the defendant has the burden
of proving prejudice under the Sixth Amendment in this instant
case.

*° For instance, 26 U.S.C. 7237(a) provides for harsher penalties
for third as well as second offenders for a violation of 26 U.S.C.
4704(a). This effect was specifically noted in Morgan, supra.

34
cuits had had the opportunity to consider the ruling in
Lauer and had rejected it. Clay v. United States, 326 F. 2d
196 (C.A. 10); Jackson v. United States, 325 F. 2d 477
(C.A. 8). Furthermore, the Government argues that the
defendant’s situation was not clearly controlled by Lauer
(Brief, pp. 16-17). Though the district court’s decision in
Ewell v. Markley, January 13, 1964 (R. 19-20) was the first
decision dealing with a collateral attack which relied on
Lauer, and was from the Government’s point of view just
as wrongly decided, the Government chose not to appeal
it to the Seventh Circuit. This decision closed the pos-
sibility that the original indictment might have been rein-
stated by the Court of Appeals or by this Court on further
appeal, and caused the defendant to lose his “good time”
credit and the fifteen months already served on his sentence
on the first indictment. This was the third decision by the

Government which resulted in the ultimate prejudice to the
defendant.

4. The Government caused the defendant to be indicted
on two new grounds in addition to the count contained in
the original indictment (R. 21-22), including the one which
is the subject of this appeal. By delaying until this time
to first charge the defendant with these two new violations
the Government’s action has severely prejudiced the de-
fendant in the defense of these new charges. (See this
Brief, pp. 14-20 supra.) Furthermore, while Ewell had
received a sentence of ten years and no fine on the original
conviction, Ewell now faced the possibility of a 100-year

1 Had the Government appealed this decision, it appears it
would have been successful in obtaining a reversal, for the Seventh
Cireuit reversed Lauer in a case subsequent to Ewell’s, Collins
v. Markley, 346 F. 2d 230 (C.A. 7).

35

term and a $60,000 fine under the new indictment. As the
trial court found, this action was apparently motivated by
the “express concern of the prospective liberation of a num-
ber of similarly convicted narcotics felons . . .” (R. 25).

It would thus appear that the Government in its concern
over the effect of the Lauer decision decided, in lieu of
appealing that decision, to discourage other defendants’
reliance upon it by the re-prosecution with additional
counts of defendants who successfully attacked their con-
victions. Whether this was actually the intent of the Gov-
ernment makes little difference, for the effect of this course
of action was obviously to discourage similarly situated
defendants from exercising their right under 28 U.S.C.
2255 on the basis of Lauer.

The Government perhaps may have the right not to ap-
peal a decision which it considers incorrect and a dangerous
precedent, such as Lauer. Where it voluntarily chooses not
to do so, however, the Government must recognize and
assume responsibility for the prejudice which may result
from the “inconsistencies in the developing law” which the
trial court found to exist here (R. 25). The burden and
the risk of such prejudice must be borne by the Govern-
ment, not the accused. To permit the Government, in effect,
to collaterally attack a decision which it has chosen not to
appeal and thereby discourage defendants from exercising
their statutory right to attack their convictions collaterally
on the basis of that decision, is against the best interests
of society at the very least. One cannot help but note that
the language in United States v. Tateo, 377 U.S. at 466
quoted by the Government (Brief, p. 11) with but a slight
modification could be paraphrased as follows:

=

—y

From the standpoint of the defendant, it is at least
doubtful that Appellate Courts and district courts
would be as zealous as they are now in protecting
against the effects of improprieties at the trial or pre-
trial stage if they knew that reversal of a conviction
would place the defendant in a worse situation than he
was prior to availing himself of the rights afforded him.

The conduct of the Government in this instance would ap-
pear to simultaneously work against society’s interest in
erasing bad precedents and society’s interest in giving the
defendant a means to set aside an unlawful conviction.
There is also a distinct possibility that the Government’s
action is unconstitutional on the ground that it makes the
exercise of constitutional and statutory rights costly to
the defendant who exercises them. Griffin v. California,
380 U.S. 609, 614."

This question aside, there is no doubt that the defendant’s
situation as it was examined by the district court could
only have resulted from the four decisions of the Govern-
ment listed above. As if walking through a maze having
only one path, the Government took the only turn at each
of four intersections which could have led to the defen-
dant’s prejudice. Had it originally indicted the defendant
under 26 U.S.C. 4704(a), or had it appealed Lauer and
overturned it, had it appealed the district court’s decision
to set aside Ewell’s judgment and conviction to the Seventh

22 For a persuasive argument that action by government or court
which puts a defendant in a worse situation than he was before
a successful appeal or a collateral attack is unconstiiutional on
several grounds. See “In Gideon’s Wake: Harsher Penalties and
the ‘Successful’ Criminal Appellant.” Van Alstyne, 74 Yale Law
Journal 606 (1965).

_—

Cireuit and then to this Court if necessary, or had it re-
indicted Ewell only on 26 U.S.C. 4705(a), this case would
not now be here.

37

Whether each of these decisions was part of a purpose-
ful attempt to deny the defendant his constitutional rights,
or might possibly be justified on some independent ground
completely removed from any consideration of this par-
ticular defendant is immaterial.** There is no denying that
the situation which the district court found to violate the
defendant’s rights to a speedy trial and to be informed
of the nature and cause of the accusation against him was
a direct result of the voluntary conduct of the Government.
It is this conduct, and the resulting prejudice, which re-
quires the affirmance of the decision of the district court.

IV.

The Second Indictment Charging a Violation of 26 U.S.C.
4704(a) Violates the Double Jeopardy Protection of the
Fifth Amendment.

It was argued in the district court that the prosecution
under the second indictment violated the double jeopardy
clause of the Fifth Amendment as well as the Sixth Amend-
ment (R. 3). The district court ruled against the defendant
on that question. The defendant maintains that the pro-
ceedings, in addition to violating the Sixth Amendment
rights to a speedy trial and to be informed, also constitute
double jeopardy.

*8 The finding of the district court that the only known reason
for the three-count second indictment was “the expressed concern
of the prospective liberation of a number of similarly convicted
narcotic felons” (R. 25) remains uncontroverted by the Govern-
ment.

38

It is recognized that the defendant does not have the
right to appeal the adverse decision of the district court
concerning double jeopardy directly to this Court, but,
since every fact needed to decide this issue is in the record
presently before this Court, the defendant new requests that
if the Court does not find any violation of Sixth Amend-
ment rights, to now consider this question. This Court has
discretion to do so if it desires. Pollard v. United States,
352 U.S. 354, 359.

The proceeding in the district court shows that the origi-
nal indictment against the defendant was in one count
charging a violation of 26 U.S.C. 4705(a). The Govern-
ment has appealed the dismissai of Count IT in the second
indictment charging a violation of 26 U.S.C. 4704(a).™*

It has been stated by this Court that successive prosecu-
tions arising out of the same act are prohibited by the Fifth
Amendment even though the prosecutions are under differ-
ent Federal statutes and require different elements of
proof. Abbate v. United States, 359 U.S. 187, 196-199
(Separate Opinion) ; Petite v. United States, 361 U.S. 529,
533 (Separate Opinion); see also Jn Re Neilson, 131 US.
176. The reasoning of these opinions is that the Fifth
Amendment protects the individual from the harassment
of successive trials for the same criminal acts. Mr. Justice

24In view of the Seventh Circuit opinion in Collins v. Markley,
346 F. 2d 230 (C.A. 7), overruling Lauer and holding that the
omission of the name of a purchaser from an indictment charging
a violation of Title 26 U.S.C. 4705(a) was not a defect of such a
fundamental nature as to render a judgment of conviction vulner-
able to collateral attack, it appears that the district court did not
have jurisdiction to set aside Ewell’s original conviction. It thus
might also be argued that Ewell’s first indictment has been valid
all along and the second indictment under 4705(a) clearly places
the defendant twice in jeopardy.

39

Brennan reasoned in Abbate that to allow successive prose-
cutions for the same act would, in effect, remove the dis-
cretion in sentencing a defendant to consecutive or con-
current terms from the hands of the trial court and put it
in the hands of the prosecution. Without the protection of
the Fifth Amendment, the Government could use such a
weapon to harass and wear down the defendant with trials
seriatim.

In United States v. Sabella, 272 F. 2d 206 (C.A. 2), this
reasoning was applied to a case factually similar to the
present one. In that case the defendant had pleaded guilty
to a charge of selling narcotics in violation of 26 U.S.C.
4705(a) and was sentenced to four years in prison. It was
subsequently discovered that Congress had inadvertently
omitted to prescribe punishment for a violation of this sec-
tion and, at the time the defendant was sentenced a cor-
rective law was not yet in effect. The defendant filed a
habeas corpus petition to set aside the sentence after serv-
ing approximately seven months in prison. The order of
the court through inadvertence set aside not only the sen-
tence but the judgment as well. The defendant was re-
indicted eight days later and charged with a violation of
21 U.S.C. 173, and 174 although this prosecution was ad-
mittedly for the same acts involved in the first indictment.
Referring to the language in Abbate, the district court held
that the second indictment violated the double jeopardy
clause of the Fifth Amendment and stated the following
(p. 212):

“The Fifth Amendment guarantees that when the gov-
ernment has proceeded to judgment on a certain set
fact situation, there can be no further prosecution of
the fact situation alone: The defendant may not later

40

be tried again on that same fact situation, where no
significant additional fact need be proved, even though
he be charged under a different statute. He may not
again be compelled to endure the ordeal of criminal
prosecution and the stigma of conviction. These are
the plain and well understood commands of the Fifth
Amendment in forbidding double jeopardy. Here there
was one sale of narcotics. The Government should have
but one opportunity to prosecute on that transaction.
Although in such a prosecution it may join other
charges based on the same fact situation, it may not
have the succession of trials seriatim.”

The present prosecution against the defendant Ewell
points out an additional reason why the Government should
not be allowed to indict a defendant on subsequent counts
not included in the original indictment. Here, whether by
design or not, the Government has used the two additional
counts held back from the first prosecution to increase the
possible punishment under the second indictment. This
conduct also makes it extremely difficult to defend against
the new charges because of the delay involved. As the dis-
trict court found (R. 25), this action can only have the
effect of discouraging collateral attack. See this Brief,
pages 34-37 supra.

The prosecution under Count II is therefore barred by
the Fifth Amendment.

41

Conclusion

For the reasons stated, the defendant respectfully sub-
mits that this appeal should be dismissed because it does
not present a case or controversy.

For the reasons stated, the defendant further respect-
fully submits that this Court affirm the judgment below on
the grounds that:-

A. The defendant has been denied his ~ 7h* ‘o be in-
formed of the nature and cause of the == © ©.‘on guar-
anteed by the Sixth Amendment.

B. The defendant has been denied his right to a speedy
trial guaranteed by the Sixth Amendment.

C. The proceedings against the defendant under the sec-
ond indictment violate the double jeopardy clause of
the Fifth Amendment.

Respectfully submitted,

Davi B. Locxton
10th Floor, 111 Monument Circle
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Attorney for
Clarence Ewell, Appellee

October 1965

)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386411_0216%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
