# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lopez v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386410_0205%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1963
- **Citation:** 373 U.S. 427

## Text

Office Supreme Court, U.S,
RFlikD

a“

“ee JUL 7. 19%

JOHN F. DAVIS, CLERK

=
Supreme Court of the Anited States

Ocroper Trego, 1962

GERMAN S. LOPEZ, =:
PETITIONER,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

er RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
{0 THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

>

Epwaxrp J. Davis
11 Pemberton Square
Boston, Massachusetts.
Attorney for Petitioner.

saaeaianes =
— oe

Blanchard Printing Company. Boston. Mass. — Law Printers

a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Opinion of the Court Below ...............55. Dyce
Jurisdiction ...,.....0ccseesesececees ieaxhihe s ae cmt
Questions Presented 22. .4......-5. Pao ea Ne Sore
Constitutional Provisions, Statute ~ and Rnles of Court
EMVORUOR- 6 6a of se Pr Sire rare ae $ Pace VGN e RRR Pana eR th
Statement of Case ....2.... Se ons ocd a Mie nas a ee
Reasons for Granting the nS ee ener y Pe =e 16
I. It is apperent on the Record that the issue of
Heal entrapment was duly raised at the trial
i and that tliere Was illegal entrapment of the
petitioner as to the offenses alleged in Counts
* ? Sand 4 of the indictment as a matter of law.
and the getitioner was entitled toa verdiet of
acquittal thereon, .:.2..<...—. «+ ee ae Sere,
Il. Where the Trial Judge, without request, gave
instructions 40-the jury, which as ja matter of
law were plainty misteading aud erroneous on
the issue of illegal eutrapment, and prejudicial
to the defendant, on appeal the error is open to
review for appropriate remedy, although no
exception, was taken by the defendant ......-. 24
Ill. It is a Violation of the Petitioner’s rights under
the Fourth Amendment, and prejudicial error,
where a government agent obtained entry by
inisrepresentation into the private office of the
petitioner, for the Trial Court to permit to be
played to the jury a wire recording of conversa-
tion of the government agent with the petitioner,
which the agent surreptitiously obtained while .

in the petitioner's office, and to admit the testi-
mony of the agent of the conversation where
objection was duly made 6n said constitutional

ae Table of Contents
Page
grounds and the evidence constitutes the gov-
ernment’s case as to Counts 2, 3 and 4 of the

RNa INE Pe ren Maar sina oath yr adie 27
IN choos Co eis ees irecae okies 36.
Appendix,—Opinion of Court of Appeals ............ 37

TABLE ov CITATIONS

Cases
Accardi vy. United States, 257 F.2d 168 ..¢........04- 22
Boyd v. United States, 116 U.S. 616, 626-630 . 22... eee
Butts v. United States, 8 Cir., 1921, 273 Fed. 35, 38,
SiMe SOO. aha Kis ne MAES AES TA TRS ee a 8 17
Entick v. Carrington, 19 Howell's State Trials 1029,
a a OSE TEe ea eR cae ses Peas 35
Goldman vo United States, 316 U.S. 129 ....... 30, 31, 34
Hester vy. Untted States, 365 US. 37... oc ccc vce csance OO «
Jones v. United States, 362 U.S. 257, 266 :........... 33
Kinard v. United States, 96 F.2d 522, 523 .4 S......... 24
Kreiner y. United States, 11 F.2d 722, 731 ......... a
NcDonald v. United States, 335 U.S. 451, 454 22.0.0... 30
Miller v. Untted States,.120 F.2d 968 ..:............ 24
Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 488 ..000.0..... 30, 32
On Lee v. United States, 343 U.S. 747 .. 30, 31, 32, 33, 3
Sherman v. United States, 356 U.S. 369... .. er has 18
Sidrerman v. United States, 365 U.S. 505 ..2. 29, 30, 31, 34
~ Sorrells v. United States, 287 U.S. 435 ............ 17, 18
. Todisco v. United States, 298 F.2d 208, cert. den. 268
Sie: OR cad oe eae ecw ae caus fon hemes ta tots 34, 35
United States v. Jeffers, 342 U.S. 48, 51 ............. 33
United States v. Kabot, 295 F.2d 848, cert. den. 369
Pee ce Oe Srey 34, 35
I'nited States v. Klosterman, 248 F.2d 191, 192, 3rd.
"yak GRR eR DRED DP UNC Y ae tng cite yh 18, 19, 21

United States v. Landry, 257 F.2d 423......0........ 26°

Table of Contents
Miscellaneous

Constitution of the United States,” :

Furth Amendment ....... ey a ke es ee

Internal Revenue Code of 1954, Section 423

Rule 52(b), Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure ..
RO Ren SU a cic Cuan se eco ame bed Dace
28 U.S.C. See. 1254(1)

OF BOS 2 Oe oe Gee OE ew a a ee

&

G

ar) i ae

\ Section 4232(b) ...

5

in the
Supreme Comat of the United Sunes

Ocroper Teen, 162
No.

GERMAN S. LOPEZ,

PETITIONER,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

Petitioner, German S. Lopez, by his attorney, prays that
a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the
United States Circuit Court of Appeals for the First Cir-
cuit, entered on Jhine 15, 1962.

Opinion of the Court Below.

The United States Court of Appeals for the First Dis-
triet, on June 15, 1962, without opinidn, ordered, adjudged
and decreed that ‘*the judgment of the Distriet Court, ts
affirmed.”’ |

Jurisdiction

= a
The judgment of the Court below entered on June 3,
1962, is contained in the certified copy of Reeord of Pro-
ceedings in Court of Appeals below, filed with this petition.

\ Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

s. 1254(1).

Questions Presented
1. Tt is apparent on the Record that the issue of illegal
entrapment was duly raised at the trial and that there was
Ulegal entrapment of the petitioner as to the offenses al-
leged in Counts 2,3 and 4 of the indictment as a matter of

law, and the petitioner was entitled to a verdict of acquittal .

thereon.

f
J

1]. Where the Trial Judge, without request, gave in-
structions to the jury, which as a matter of law were plainly
misleading and erroneous on the issue of illegal entrap-
ment, and prejudicial to the defendant, on appeal the error
is open to review forappropriate remedy, although no ex-
ception was taken by the defendant. |

Ill. Jtisa violation of the Petitioner’s rights under the
Fourth Amendment, and prejudicial error, where a govern-
ment *agent obtained entry by misrepresentation into the
private office of the petitioner, for the Trial Court to per-
mit to be played to the jury a wire recording of conversa-
tion of the government agent which the agent surreptt-
tiously obtained while in the office,,and to admit the testi-
mony of the agent of the-conversation, where objection was
duly made on said constitutional grounds and the evidence
constitutes the government’s case as to Counts 2, 3 and 4
of the indict ment. 3

>

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes bart ag
and Rules of Court Involved

¢

1. The Fourth Amendment provides

“The right of the people to be secure in their per-
sons, houses, papers, and effects against unreasonable
searches and ‘seizures shall not be violated; and no
warrants shall "issue but upon probable cause, sup-
ported by oath ar afirmation and particularly deserib-
ing the place to We searched and the persons or things
to be seized.’’ ; | eee

.

2. Rule 52(b) Federal Rules of Crimimal Procedure reads:
8
Plain Error, Plain errors or defects affeeting stib-
stantial rights may be noticed although they were not
brought to the attention of the court.”’

3. Section 423 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1994,

26 U.S.C. 4231, provides ‘that;——___
‘There is hereby imposed :

(6) Cabarets. — A tax equivalent to 10 percent of
all amounts paid for admission, refreshment, service,
or merchandise, at any roof garden, **cabaret, or other
similar place furnishing a public performance for
profit, by or for any patron or guest who is entitled
to be present during any portion of such performance.
The tax impésed under this paragraph shall be re-
turned and paid by the person receiving sueh pay-
ments; except that if the person receiving such pay-
ments Is a concessionaire, the tax imposed under this
paragraph shall he paid by such concessionaire and

collected from him by the proprietor of the roof gar-
den cabaret, or other date dade No tax shall be
applicable under paragraph, (1)sor (2) on account of
an amount paid with respect to which tax is imposed
** <4

under this paragraph...

.

Section 4252(h) of said Act provides:

Ki Roof Garden, Cabaret or Other Similar Place.
~The term *troof garden, eabaret, or other similar
place,’ as used in this chapter, shall include any room
in any hotel, resturant, hall, oPetier public place
Where musie and dancing? privileges >), any other en-

_tertaimmnent, except instrumental or mechanical music
alone, are afforded the patrons in counection with the
serving or selling of food, refreshment, or merehan-,

**

lise.

statement of Case

The petitioner, German S. Lopez, on October 24, 1961,
had been conducting a restaurant and liquor business un-
der a lease arrangement since Mareh 1959 at- Clauson’s
Inn, Falmouth, Massachusetts. (R. 102)).

The petitioner was indieted on four counts on bribery
charges, in violation of Title 18, U.S.C. seetion 201,

Count 1 alleged that the defendant on October 21, 1961
bribed Roger S. Davis, a Revenue Agent in the United
States Internal Revenne Service by giving him $420 with
intent to induee said Davis to omit to do an act in viola-
tion of his lawful duty, to -wit:

‘to refrain from making an examination.of the. hooks
o +68 2 ° Y
and records relating to sales and receipts of the bar

1“R” refers to Record Appendix to Brief of Defendant-Appellant in
Circuit Court below. : ‘

=

and lounge at Ciauson’s Inn, for the years 1959, 1960
and the first two quarters of the year 1961, from com
puting tax on said sales and receipts, and from = re-
porting same to the Internal Revenue Service.”

Counts 2,5 and 4 charged that petition€F On October 24,
162, did give as bribes to said Agent Davis respectively,
in Count 2, $200.00, in Count 3 a promise of $200.00, in
Count 4, a thing of value, to Witzean expense-paid week.
end accomodation for said Roger S. Davis, his wife and
family, at the Honeymoon Cottage, Clauson’s Imm, North
“almouth, Massachusetts—with intent to influence him
to aid in committing fraud on the United States, to wit:
to conceal from the Internal Revenue Service of the Trea-

ssury Department of the United States the sales and re-

ceipts and any cabaret tax due thereon of the bar and
lounge of Clauson’ s Inn, North 4almouth, Massachusetts,
for the vears 1959, 1960, 1961 and thereafter. (R. 2-5).

‘The govermment’s case at the trial with respeet to the
matter of cabaret tax attaching to the defendant’s busi-
Hess Operation proceeded on the basis that,daneing or sing-
ing in connection with the orehestra or juke box playing in
thé bar and lounge area of Clauson’s Inj would create a
cabaret tax on sales in this area Gurtag such entertain-@
ment. (R. 9-12).

On January 31, 1962, the jury returned a verdict of
Not Guilty_on Count 1 and a verdict of Guilty on Counts
2.2 and 4. (R.1).

On February 6, 1962, the petitioner filed a Motion for?
Jadgment for the defendant on Count 2, 3 and 4 of the
indictment, notwithstanding the jury’s Vardict. (R. 1). |

The petitioner relies on Federal Rules of Criminal Pro-
cedure, Rule 52(b), on Questions I and II, supra, for
right of review. thereof. ’

At the triatithe Court admitted a wire recording of a

a.

6

conversation of the petitioner with a government agent
at the private office of the petitioner on October 24, 1961,
and the testimony of the agent of the conversation, which
were objected to as in violation of the Fourth Amendment.
(R. 71-74). Later at the trial the petitioner raised the ques-
tign of ilegal entrapment at’the time of argument, and the
issue of entrapment was made a.part of the Trial Court's
charge. (R. 133, 134). It is submitted that if the evidence
ought to have been exeluded when presented, the défend-
ant’s rights thereto ought not to be precluded by the status
later arising under the defense of illegal’ entrapment.

The followingfacts are uncontrovertible on the record.

P “Agent Davis testified that on August 31, 1961 he
visited and observed the defendant’s operation at Clan-

‘son’s Inn, Falmouth, Massachusetts as a routine visit (R.

10, 35), twice the same day, and that prior thereto he had
no knowledge of the operation. On the seeond visit, in

the evening of the same day he testified he saw dancing

in the lounge in connection with the entertainment, that.
he did not see the defendant and left the premises.? (R. 10)

Agent Davis testified that between August 31, 1961
and October 21, 1961 he did not have the defendant’s busi-
ness at Clanson’s Inn under surveillance, and that during

this time he did not visit the premises, and did not receive

or make any report as ‘to the defendant’s business at the
Inn: that he had no knowledge of what took p ice in the
operation before October 21, 1961, excepting his alleged
observance on the evening of August 31, 1961. He further
testified that he came on his visit to the a on October 21,

2 In this connection, if there was dancing, thes no evidence that
the defendart knew of it. — ;

The defendant testified that on the evening of August 31, 1961 in
the course of his work he was in and out of the bar and lounge at the
Inn while Agent Davis was there. That he observed him there and
saw no dancing in the area. That there was a sign displayed of “No
Dencing™ (which was introduced in evidence ).

-

1961 alone, without prearrangement, as a routine visit to
ascertain its activity with reference to cabaret tax lability
(R32, 33)
The record is barren of any activity in the defendant's
business operation at Clauson’s Inn which would create
sg tax lability at any time prior to October 16, 1961.8
The testimony of Agent Davis w as that at the meet
ma of the defendant with him on October 21, 1961, at Clau-
son's Tnn, the defendant offered him a bribe to avoid the
aggravation of an examination for cabaret tax liability for
the period prior to the then tax quarter ending October
Ol, 1961, on the stated situation that the defendant had
never filed a cabaret tax Feturn applicable to the business.
He further testified in this connection ‘*that he (the de-
fendant) didn’t wish to be bothered filing any past tax
returnsfor any past period going back to the time he was in
business or Started in business."? (R. 14) Agent Davis
evidence with respect to examination of the books of the

3 Agent Davis testified in cross-examination:
‘(The following question is read: ,

156] “Q. What was the basis of your stating to Mr. Lopez on
the night of October 21, 1961 that there would be a cabaret tax .
prior to October 17, 1961 in the figure that you now say you
mentioned?

A. Sir, October 17th didn’t enter into this.”

““XQ.. May I substitute the date of October 21, 1961 in the
previous question? And would you give me an answer.

A. The figures discussed on October 21st related to a year,
a year’s figure.”9

A. The basis of that, sir, was that I believe, the conversation
that night, he stated that he had this Trio and a piano player for
a period of time. Since this was October 21, | assumed it, was for
the period previous to October 21st. The basis of the calculation
was that, the figure he gave me for $160,000 gross sales—the
figure of $60,000 total sales for the bar and lounge, and his
estimate of one-half of that, or $30,000 sales at night, and an
estimate of tax would be $3,000.” (R. 41)

He further testified 1 in that connection “I did not tell him that
‘he owed any money.” (R. 43)

XQ. W hat aa ‘did you have to tell this man that he owed
money for a year without an examination of books, and without

business, at this meeting, was that he would examine the
same later when convenient. (R. 36-38)

His evidence was that he would return the following
Tuesday in connection with the preparing of a 720 Form
applicable to the quarter period ending October 31, 1961.
(R. 47, 51) It was manifest at the meeting that the books
did not carry ¢abaret tax data prior to October 16, 1961
and that the existence of cabaret tax liability related to
the entertainment deseribed which was collateral to the
books. (R. 1683. Davis testified that he was an accountant
(R. 41). ;

Agent Davis testified that the events of the meeting
on October 21, 1961 at the Inn, relating to the alleged bribe,
took place in the defendant’s office. That ‘the defendant
and Davis were alone at all times and there was no cor-
roborating witness. (R. 33)

Davis testified that at this meeting $200. was placed
on the acne in the office by a defendant and offered to-

any basis in fact that there was ; entertainment, including dancing,
for the year 1961?

A. I did not tell-him that he owed any money.

Agent Davis testified on cross-examination:

“Q. Is that your position now, that you did not tell him that
night that you were just using figures at random, without having
uny purpose?

A. I did not tel him he owed any money to the government
for the year 1961.

Q. Did you tell him he owed\any money _ that night for the
year 1960?

A. I told him—? No, sir.

Q. Did you tell him that night he o

any money for 1959?

A. No, sir. /
Q. Was there a basis then for a cabaret, tax prior to August
31, 1961?

A. I don’t know, sir.” (R. 43, 44) &

There is in evidence Defendant’s Exhibit B showing the ledger
entry made on October 16, 1961, which reads. “Oct. 16, 1961
Change in policy of entertainment. From this date Liquor Sales
subject to cabaret tax during entertainment hours. This tax is to
be deducted from beverage sales which are subject to 2 rent
charge.” (R. 120)

9

Davis by the defendant with the request-‘tto drop the
case"*; that this was repeated and that Davis refused each
offer with the statement that he had a job to do, ‘‘to
examine the books’’; that later at the meeting the defend-
ant ‘‘added some bills to it’’, which then made the amount _
$420., which was offered and refused. That the defendant
got angry and insisted. Then, Davis stated, ‘‘] told him

-© | asked him how much money was on the desk, and he

said $420°". About that time I picked the money up. It
was about 10 o’elock. I] put it in my pocket and left the
office. (R. 15) 4

Kmanuel Shuster, Regional Director of the United
Stetes Internal Revenue Inspection Service, testified that
the regulations of the Internal Revenue Service was that
if a bribe was offered, or if there were facts indicating that
a bribe might be offered the agent was to divert the sub-
ject, terminate the meeting and leave, (R. 101)

6. Agent Davis further testified on ecross-examination
as follows:

“Q. | refer to the transeript, page 29, lines 21 to
the end,

‘Q. Now coming back to the night of October
21, 1961 when you visited the premises there, in
vour conversation on the oceasion did you agree
on some basis with Mr. Lopez to fill out Form
720, the cabaret tax, in connection with Mr.
Lopez’ business at Clauson’s Inn in Falmouth?

_ A. I did not agree to fill out forms.

The Court: The way you gave thepanswer, it

would not appear on the record, because you gave

* The defendant’s testimony was that he had given the agent $420
to do what was required on his own time, not the government’s, for
cabaret tax returns on the business (R. 111, 112).

°

10

it with an infonation. Will you please explain
what you mean?

Q. Will you follow his Honor’s suggestion?

The Court: Read the question and the answer
please; Mr. Duffy.

(Question and answer were read.)

The Witness: Your Honor, I didn’t agree to
fill out the form. That is not my job. What 1
vgreed to was to return to the premises so that
he could file a return, if due. (Italies supplied).

). When vou made that answer was the answer
true?

A. Yes, sir.

(). [s it true now?

A. Yes, sir.’’ (R. 51)

7. The Revenue Inspection Service organized a plan to
entrap the defendant by arranging for Davis to go to
Clauson’s Inn on October 24, 1961 and meet with the
defendant at the defendant's private office. (R. 16, 17)

Richard A. Callahan of the said Service testified that on
October 24, 1961 he placed a minifon recording on the
person of Agent Davis, which was concealed, and also a
Schmidt battery operated radio transmitter, with instrue-
tions to Agent Davis as to what he should do, when he
went to Clauson’s Inn in Falmouth (R. 66, 67) The evi-
dence was that the Sehmidt did not work. (R. 67)

Callahan testified x

**Q. State what those instructions were. ;

A. I instrueted Agent Davis to try to steer the
conversation hack to the meeting of October 21 when
he allegedly received $420, and I gave him certain
instructions as to how to lead into that. :

11 \ .

1 told him that he should explain, go into a mathe-

matical explanation as to what he thought was due’

tax-wise, and | also gave him technical instructions

in that he should steer Mr. Lopez i a quiet place,

possibly his office, not to rustle papers and to sit as

close to Mr. Lopez as possible in the course of the

conversation.’’ (R. 67)

The witness Callahan described the Minifon reeording

device and as to how it was attached to the person of Agent
Davis, and its operation. (R. 67)

x

>

Witness Callahan further testified.”’

“Q. As part of your instructions, did you say to
him, ‘Get the conversation back to the 21st. Get a
genera] discussion as to what had oceurred on the
21st.’

A. Yes, sir, 1 did.

(). Did I understand you also to say, ‘Give him
some figures, tell him what you think is owed.’

A. Yes, sir. His opinion.

Q. His opinion? ©

A. Yes, sir.

(). Now at that time did you have any facts, as far
ax you were concerned, as to whether anything was
owed at all, any basis in fact whatsoever?

A. No, sir.’’ (R. 94, 95)

8. Agent Davis testified that in coneert with Agents
from United States Revenue Inspection Service he came

to Clauson’s Inn on October 24, 1961, that one of the

Agents entered the Inn, but not in his company, and other
agents waited outside of the Inn. The agents who-waited

ee

0
,

oe

outside had instruments to be operated so as to record
sound communications from the Sehmidt, if it worked.

Davis entered the private office of the defendant upon
his request to the defendant pursuant to instructions.

The Minifon recording of what oceurred in the office was
introdkeed and played to the jury over the objection of
the defendant, and marked as Government’s Exhibit 6
(R. 75)

The defendant contends that the Minifon recording
(Exhibit 6) establishes the following facts.

(1) Pursuant to plan Agent Davis by his request ob-
tained entrance to the private office of the defendant on
October 24, 1961.

2) Agent Davis introduced **this 720, exeise form we
were talking about*’, and the defendant immediately ex-
hibited-his mind by a verbai act: ‘* 1—never did file cabaret
tax. L never thought there was need of it."’ This exhibited
the mind of an innocent man with respect to the subjeet
of cabaret taxes of the business, and his relation to the
occurrences of the meeting of October 21, 1961.

(3) Nevertheless the agent pursued the plan of entrap-
ment. The followi ing then oceurred,

‘Davis: I had to do a little thinking about it. I
want to give you a couple of figures now. I mean it
took me a while.’’ (R. 81)

A celloquy ensued on the subject of confidences between
the defendant and Agent Davis, and the Agent pursued
the matter of figures as follows:

' Cd
‘Davis: O.K. 1 am going to put'down some figures

here. Your gross was about, gross sales about 160,000.
Lopez: About 160,000.
Davis: Now 40% of that is—

g

a

Lopez: 1 should say about 30, about 35, conser-
vatively, |
, Davis: Well, we'll say about $50,000 is bar sales.
Lopez: Ya.
Davis: Now) maybe.roughly half of that is at
night. ;
Lopez: Well, | should say about half of that should
he at night, |
sut L should say perhaps, you see, my dining room
ina big seller and the bar, and my dining room sells
wud the the bar.
Davis: Ya, 1] understand that.’
Lopez: This is the greatest. You see a very busy
night at the bar, the bar itself may sell $150, $175, a
good steady night in the lounge itself,
Davis: Well, | kind of figure that. based on what
I’ve seen, the amount of cabaret sales would be for
a vear.’’ (R.S4) te
The defendant contends that. the statement of Agent
Davis, ** Well, | kind of figure that based on what I’ve seen,
the amount of cabaret sales would be for a year’’ Was
completely faise without any basis in fact.

The colloquy continues :
oe
°

“Davis: No Ld say $20,000, conservatively 25 would
he cabaret sales beeause—

Lopez: No.

Davis: Well,... the band and everything. ~~, @

Lopez: Most of the business .. . at night when
people actually get uy and dance I have not been
allowed to stop it. Which would be Friday au Satur-
day nights, The other nights we don’t have anything
anyway. The other nights is a mimor thing that T can
always control, but Fridays and Saturday nights in

14

the summer months, when I’m very very busy, 1 often
negect to ‘get up there and do it.”’ (Italies supplied)

At this point on the basis of the defendant's statement
there was no intentionally allowable dancing and thus no
cabaret tax, in the absence of special facts.. This was
clearly the mind -of the defendant as expressed at the
ouset of the meeting. :

There then ensued the following with reference to the
acts of Agent Davis indicating to the defendant that he
Was not using the quoted figures

‘Davis: Well, I’m not...
Lopez: That’s right.
“ Davis: I’m not using this.’ (R. 84, 85)

This statement of the Agent was an obvious fraud. The
only time dancing occurred on the evidence was as stated
by the defendant; and if that were excluded from consid-
eration there would be no basis whatsoever to claim a tax.
This fraud continues ‘*You know just between you and I,
I would say about $20,000 it texable sales, You say your
business isn’t that much. Now, took, yeu went into busi-
ness in 1959. In 1959 the tax was 20%."* (R. 54)

The colloquy continues: (R. 84)

‘‘Lopez: I only operated about six monthe under
the 20%.

Davis: Well, that was 1959 and half of 1960. a

Lopéz: Ya. :

Davis: Between 1959, out of the $20,000 could be
maybe— :

Lopez: Make it 5,000...

Davis: Well, I’m trying to figure. You were open
from March on. The big trade b is in the summer.

Lopez: Ya.

1)

Davis: Maybe 15,000, At 2007 that would be
$5,000.00 for 1959. ‘In 1960, 5 months at 206: the
rest of this is 107, do you remember that?

Lopez: Ya....

Davis: Well,... about 20. And 8 of this was under
the 20°03 8,000 and 12 was under the 107. ° So,
$8,060.00 at 20°C would be 4,000. 12,000 at 10°7 would
be 1,200. In 1961, well for half the year... 16,0Q0;
cabaret $3,000.00. No— .

Lopez: You’re very high Actually, | mean, you're
very high.

Davis: Let’s see what we have here ‘anyway.
(Counting) 2, 2, 4,8, $11,200. Well, let’s say... just
for argument purposes -- Between 9 and 10,000 dol-
lars; that. we know is — You hayn't kept any records,
you see, Now, | mean, I don’t know what .. . ex-
actly what your records show. How are your books? -
Do your books show any balance sheets?

Lopez: Tt shows just the |

Davis: Well let’s go back to the $10,000.00. The
penalty for not filing any returns is 20%. $12,000
ack taxes, conservatively, ... plus 6% interest, which
will go on to here will Id say run over $13,000.00 New
I don’t wont ty qet greedy or anything, but, well, what
would you be gaming .. . (R.85) (Italies supplied)

Lopez: Ihave got a couple of hundred odd dollars

for vou right. now. Listen— 7
Davis: Ya, but I mean, well— Ge
Lopez: J have ...anoney right now.° :
Davis: | know but— °

Lopez: I'll tell you I'd ike to pay as we go along
and I'd like you to take me into your confidence. As
we go along a couple of hundred every time you drop
in. Id like to keep it that way. :

Davis: Well,

16
Lopez: Don’t drop in too often..

Davis: How much is here?
Lopez: Two hundred, keep it.’’ (R. 86)

The foregoing statements of Agent Davis were grotes-
quely fraudulent without any basis in fact. His statements
became so reckless that he was stating So, 8,000 at 20%
would be $4,000." and ended up with a mythical penalty.

The statemént following the penalty, ‘‘now I don’t want
to get “apes or anything but, well, what would you be

gaining **:—is the request for the bribe. :;

The iiloade contends that Agent Davis fabricated a
false and fictitious claim in the’mind of the defendant that
a United States eabaret tax was due on his business, with-
out any basis in faet and grossly inordinate with respect
to the circumstances of the defendant, and that the Agent
induecéd, provoked and in effect requested the defendant
to bribe him to avoid the so-called claim; that the facts
were further aggravated by the perilous position of, the
Agent Davis, who had received $420. from the defendant on
October 21, 1961, allegedly as a bribe in connection with
such a tax, in the situation where the Agent was alone with
the defendant and without a eérroborating witness and
in any event in violation of regulations in his Department.

Reasons for Granting the Writ -

I. /t is apparent on the Record that the issue of illegal
entrapment was duly raised at the trial and that there was
legal entrapment of the petitioner as to the offenses al-
leged in Counts 2,3 and 4 of the indictment as a matter of
lawgand the petitioner was entitled to a verdict of acquittal
thereon,

Appellant contends that the uncontradicted facts in this

case establish that he was entrapped as a matter .of law
and that he was entitled to a verdict of not guilty.

17

1. The much-cited case of Sorrells v. United States, 287
U.S. 435 is the foundation for the applicable law. Under
this case entrapment is raised: by the plea of not guilty.

The governing principles are stated in Sorrells at pages

441, 442: ;
‘Tt is well settled that the fact that officers or em-
ployees of the government merely afford opportuni-

ties or facilities for the commission of the offense
does not defeat the prosecution. Artifice and strata-
gem may be employed to catch those engaged in erimi-

nal enterprises. [Citing cases.] The appropriate object

of this permitted activity, frequently essential to the
enforcement of the law, is to reveal the ‘criminal de-

A different question is presented when the

° sign * * all

criminal design originates with the officials of the gov-

ernment, and they implant in the mind of an innocent

person the disposition to commit the alleged offense

and induce its Commission in order that they may

prosecute.”’ |

‘
The Court went on to cite Butts v. United States, 8 Cir,.
1921, 273 F. 35, 38, 18 A.L.R. 143, to the effect that it is
unconscionable and contrary to public policy to punish a
man for a crime he evidently would never have committed
were he not inspired, incited, and persuaded by officials of
the law. The Court decided that under such cireumstanees
no ¢rime was committed, for Congress could not have in-
tended that an act within the literal meaning of a criminal
statute would be a. crime if incited by those whose pur-
pose it is to prevent crime? Traps and decoys are some-
times permitted. ‘‘The predisposition and criminal de-
signs of the defendant are relevant.’’ 287 U.S. at page 451,
93 S.Ct. at page 216.

= a
Sherman v. United States, 356 U.S. 369, held that the
undisputed testimony established entrapment as a matter
of law. On the record, a narcotics user under treatment for
the addiction, as to whom there was no evidence that he was
then in fhe trade was induced to make three sales of nar-
coties by a gov ernment agent. Except°for a record of two
convictions nine and five years previously; there was no
evidence that petitioner’ himself was in the trade or that
hé showed a ‘tready complaisance”’ to the informer’s re-
quest. -

The court adhered to the majority opinion in Sorrells v
United States, supra. and declined to reassess the doctrine
of entrapment according to the principles announced in
the minority opinion which concurred in the result.

Sherman vy. United States, sapra, .affirms, as did the
Sorrells case, that entrapment occurs only when the crimi-
nal conduct ‘‘was the product of the creative activity -of
law-enforcement officials’’. It held further, ‘‘to determine
whether entrapment has been established, a line must be
drawn between the trap for the unwary imnocent, and the
trap for the unwary criminal.”’

The Court further said, ‘The principles by which the °
courts are to make this determination were outlined in
Sorrells. On the one hand, at trial the aceused may ex-
amine the conduct of the government agent; and on the
other hand, the accused will be subjected to an ‘appropri-
ate and searching inquiry into his own _—— and pre-
disposition’ as bearing on his claim of innocence.’

2. The appeal to the Cirenit. Court below involved the
defence of .entrapment and presented to the Court the
issue of whether the criminal intent proceeded from gov-
ernment agents or whether these agents simply afforded
opportunities to one already disposed to the alleged erimi-
nality. United States of America v. Klosterman, 248 F.2d
191, 192, Third Cireuit, 1957. . :

BO -s

qe"

7 19

+
° «

Klosterman decided that the test to be applied under the
principles governing illegal entrapment is, was the de-
fendant aman otherwise innocent who would not have eom-
mitted the crime but for official solicitation, or was he
predisposed to pursue a criminal design which he had al
ready conceived? (Italies supplied.)

- On the facts of that case, Deeney, an Internal Revenue

Agent approached a fellow agent, King, with respect to
a tax-payer’s return then under investigation for an un-
vusual time, with the statement that a friend of his who
Was angissociate of the’taxpayer, reported that the taxpayer
‘would pay ten to twenty thousand dollars to settle the
ease. On the record, Deeney abandoned the orizir al’ plan,
and later was relentlessly pursued by the fellow. agent
under orders of their superiors to carry out the plan to
bribe until the defendant yielded and agree’ to arrange
for a meeting of the other agent with taxpayer's associate.
The Court applied the above-said test as to Deeney and
held on the record, he was entrapped to commit bribery.

The Court stated: ‘*The inordinate amount of per

suasion of Deeney by King indicates two elements in this.

case. It-elearly discloses that Deeney was sineere in hi-
attempt to abandon his original plan. It shows also that
the criminal design and intént for the commission of the
actual bribery originated not with him but rather with

4 *

the government agents who engineered the persuasion and

**

solicitation.""
In the instant case it is impossible logically to ststain

. on the evidence that the defendant on any basis what.
soever Was pursuing a criminal design ‘‘which he had
already conceived’’, with relation to the events of Oetober
24, 1942 at the meeting of Agent Davis and the defendant
at Clauson’s Inn. The meeting was organized and ear-
ried out by the government agents te entrap the defend-

ant. (Statement, Par. 7, spura) The genesis of th® meet

°

é

20

ing of October 24, 1961 and of the*events that occurred at
the meeting originated with the government agents after
October 21, 1961. y

~QOn the: reeord of this case at the trial there was no
dispute that the defendant gave and agent Davis received

» four hundred twenty dollars on’ October 21, 1961. The is-

sue Was whether it was given and received as a bribe, and
the jury decided that it was not a bribe under the charge.

The evidence introduced by the government as to the
events occurring, at the meeting of the defendant and
the government agent Davis on Ovctober 21, 1961 was per-
“tinent to establish a bribe on October 21, 1961. It neces-
sarily related to a criminal disposition to comnfit bribery
on Octobera2l, 1961, if the evidence were true. It could
not by its very nature sustain that he was disposed to
pursue a criminal design to commit bribery on October 24,
1961 **which he had already conceived"’, since it is mani-
fest that it was impossible for him to have had anything
in his mind on an enterprise as to which he had no know!-
edge whatsoever before the event.*

Further, the record is positive as to the agreement of

* agent Davis made on October 21, 1961 with the defendant,

on the testimony of agent Davis, in response to the trial
eourt’s inquiry. ‘*What I agreed to was to return to the
premises so that he (the defendant) could file a return
if due’’. (Emphasis supplied.) (Testimony ef agent Davis,
statement, supra, par. 6.).

At the meeting of October 24, 1961 (the facts of which
are established on the minafon, recording, (Statement
supra, par. 8.) the eriminal design ‘as to the offenses
charged in counts 2, 3 and 4 manifestly originated with
the government agent/Davis with the express: purpose of
inducing the defendant to commit the crime in order “to
prosecute him, and the government, agent Davis induced,

“

pA!

provoked and solicited the defendant to commit the of-

fenses, °
This position is clearly shown on the recording. (See
Statement supra, par. 8.) :

(1) At the outset of the meeting of October 24, 1961,
ils shown on the recording, ‘the defendant dis-
closed an innocent mind: ‘*l—never~ did file
cabaret tax, T never thought there Was need of

)

it’. (Statement, supra, Par. 8. =2,) (This verbal
act frustrated immediately the ‘avowed plan of
the agents to relate the conversation back to the
meeting of October 21, 1961, (Statement, supra,

Par. i:)
(2) Nevertheless agent Davis pursuedsthe plan. of
entrapment by false statements of the existence
> of éxcise tax obligations which culminated in the
agent’s solicitation of the bribe: “Now I don’t
want to get greedy or anything, but, well, but
what would you be gaining’’——the request for the
“bribe. (Statement, supra, Par. 8.)
United States v. Klosterman, (Supra at pp 195-196),
in its opinion with respeet to the co-defendant Stafford,
demonstrates the principles under the law of entrapment,
whereunder the defendant here would be entitled as a

‘matter of law to the status, en the record, of an innocent

man at the outsgt of the meeting of October 24, 1961) and
to the rule there stated ‘*We de not think that the degree
of persuasion is significant where the first approach is
made by the agent of the law to an apparently innocent
man’.

2

22
4. Accardi v. United States held 257 F.2d 168 that

‘In rebutting the defense of entrapment, primary.
emphasis is on the defendant’s predisposition to com-
mit the crime, but a court must also earefully weigh
the conduct of the government agents, which must
not fall below reasonable standards of the proper use
of government power in law enforeement.”’ :

At page 172, the Court said:

‘*. . . The majority gpinion in Sherman reaffirms
the emphasis on the defendant’s intention of readiness
to*commit the crime, as basic in rebutting entrapment ;
but the Court by no means downgrades the duty of
scrutinizing closely the conduct of the government

agents.®
io “ape . :
ootnote 5. read in part:

‘‘In spite of .the sharp differences between the two:
opinions’ as to the crucial question in entrapment, the
conceptual basis for the defens id the role of the
court, the language of the waanyed the court, shows

‘that they attach almost as much importance as the
minority to the conduct of the government. agents.
There is scarcely a decibel’s difference in their expres.
sions of shock and outrage at the agents’ methods.
‘The function of law enforcement is the prevention

** * not * * * the manufacturing of cfime.’

It is submitted that when Agent Davis left Clauson’s
Inn on Saturday night, October 21, 1961 with $420 in his
pocket which he received from the defendant, he was in a
predicament. Obviously, he was in violation of regulations

ae

of his Department in any event. He had been attached to
the Internal Revenue Service for two years and was an ac-
countant. A policeman investigating a matter as routine
would consider 4 unthinkable, to take a bribe without a“
corroborating witness, and then attempt to explain it to
a superior. On the facts in this case he testified that he
first talked with a fellow agent after leaving the Inn on
the night of October 21, 1961, and then later his group
chief at the instance of the fellow agent talked with Agent
Davis.

There was implicit in the concerted plan of the revenue
inspection service agents for entrapping the defendant in
his private office the relief of the perilous status of Agent
Davis. The avowed plan according to the revenue inspec-
tion service agents was to relate back by statements, caba-
ret tax involvement and alleged bribery, relating to the
meeting of October 21y 1961. This immediately failed on
the statement of the defendant at the outset of the meeting
of October 24, 1961 that he never filed a cabaret tax since
he thought he never needed to. In this status the proce-
dure adopted by Agent Davis in fabricating in the mind
of the defendant?as if true, a false and fictitious claim of
“a government cabaret tax, with outrageously exorbitant
figures, ending with a thrust for a bribe in the words. ‘‘]
don’t want/to be greedy”? is highly reprehensible. There
is inherent in it the aspect of gestapo or inquisition in
attacking the human mind by lies and to involve the person
attacked in crime. It is submitted that this cannot be
countenanced, as a matter of law; certainly in conjunetion
with the other established facts. :

ro

24

WN. Where the Trial Judge, without. request, gave in-
structions to the jury, which as a matter of law were
plainly misleading and erroneous on the issue of illegal
entrapment, and prejudicial to the defendant, on appeal the
error is open to review for appropriate remedy, although
no exception was taken by the defendant. ne

It is submitted that this question presents a matter
open to review under Federal Rules of Criminai Proee-
dure 52(b) as plain error affecting substantial rights,
viewed with respect to principles giving the right of re-
view of a Judge’s Charge undertaken without request,
which manifestly misleads the jury by the instructions
given on an essential issue, as decided in Miller vy. United
States, 120 Fed. 2nd, 968.

In the Miller case the Court stated the following:

‘*In a criminal case, it is the duty of a court to in-

e struct on all essential questions of law, whether re-
quested or not. Kinard v, United States, 68 App. DC
250, 96 Fed. 2nd. 522, 523; Kreiner v. United States,
2 Cir. 11 Fed. 2nd, 722, 731. Some courts have held
that failure to instruct on the consideration to be ac-
corded to character testimony in the absence of a re-
quest for such an instruction is not reversible error.
Kinard v. United States, supra. It may be conceded

that the court was not bound to instruct on character

_ testimony in the absence of a request for such an in-

° struction, but when it did proceed to instruct the jury
thereon, it was required to give a correct instruction.
It could not mislead the jury by an instruction which

was erroneous. Misleading the jury in regard to the
purpose for which they Should consider character evi-

Si
dence adversely affeeted the substantial right® of the
defendants.”

. ° o& °
At the trial in the instant case the Court charged the jury
on the question of entrapment as follows:

‘No there are some other matters to which it is
important that 1 should call to your attention, and
one of them is a defense which was raised in argument
by Mr. Davis, the lawyer, speaking on behalf of Mr.
Lopez. It was his suggestion to you that in this case
the defendant should not be convicted because he was
entrapped. If | understood Mr. Davis’ argument. to
you correctly, he suggested to You that Roger Davis,
the Agent, profiosed that, he, Roger Davis, and his
wife, might have the benefit of a free weekend or free
golfing experience at Clauson’s Inn, and that this was
a method of soliciting a bribe and entrapping the de-
fendant. :

Mr. Davis, the lawyer, also suggested to you that
in making these computations so-called of a tax which
might be due on aceount of a eabaret, if there were
one, or on account of daneing, if there were, Agent
Davis obviously, in Mr. Lawyer Davis’ view prepared
some inflated figures and was using this as a kind of
bait for inducement to a bribe.

Now the law with respect to entrapment‘is this: if
a government agent by improper means or over-bear-
ing persuasion or wrongful conduct induces a person
of ordinary firmness to commit a crime which he would
not otherwise commit, then under those circumstances
the defendant is to be acquitted, not beeause he did not
do something wrongful but because he was induced
to do a wrongful act which he would not otherwise
have done.

26,
nee Now needless to say in all types of law enforcement,
particularly with respect to matters involving certain
types of regulatory statutes, it is often difficult for
the government to get evidence, and government
agents may properly, and without violating the law,
or their duty, take such steps as make it possible to
procure evidence even though such steps Mvolve their
own participation, provided that their participation is
not a deliberate temptation to men of ordinary firm-
ness, provided that they do not cause a crime to be
committed by someone who does not hav e a criminal
disposition to commit that crime.

The burden of proof with respect to entrapment is

on the defendant. And you are to ask yourself whether—

in fact on the evidence you heard you are persuaded
by the preponderance of that evidence that Agent
Davis, as it were, created the crime and the temptation,
and he, Agent Davis, was the instigator and-author
of a crime that would never under any circumstances
have taken place, had he not used unfair means.’’

It is to be noted that there was no issue as‘to how an
ordinary person would have reacted or done in —
of the defendant. The issue was whether the defendant was
entrapped, not whether an ordinary person would have
been. .

United States v. Landry, 257 Fed. 2d 425.

Further the burden of proof must be allocated. The
burden is upon the defendant to produce evidence that
governm:nt agents induced him to commit the crime, and
when evidence has been brought out by the defendant the
government must prove beyond a reasenable doubt that
inducement was not the cause or creator of the crime.

United States v. Landry, supra, at 428, 429.

e

es
=i

&

&

Though the esgiblished faets on the record require a find-
ing, as a matter of law, that illegal entrapment occurred,
it is submitted that in any event the Court’s charge was
erroneous and misleading on the law of entrapment, and
prejudicial to the Defendant.

Hl. Jt as a vrolation of the Petitioner’s rights under
the Fourth Amendment, and prejudicial error, where a
government agent obtained ventry by misrepresentation
into the private office of the petitioner, for the Trial Court
to permit to be played to the jury a wire recording of con-
versation of the government agent with the petitioner,
which the agent surreptitiously obtained while in the peti.
tioner’s office, and to admit the testimony of the agent of
the conversation where objection was duly made on said
coustitutional qrounds and the evidence constitutes the
government's case as to Counts 2, 3 and’ 4 of the indict-

ment,

After hearing, with evidence taken, of the Defendant's
Motion and Petition to Suppress Evidenee (R. 138, 138,
164, 165) the Court denied the Motion to Suppress the
minafon recording, and the defendant’s objection was. re-
newed at the trial (R. 71 and 72) ou the grounds that its
admission and the admission of the testimony of Agent
Davis of the recorded: conversation was in violation of
the Fourth Amendment. The grounds of the defendant's
objection ard the facts established relating thereto were

as follows:

1. That the private office of the defendant at Clau-
son's Inn was a constitutionally protected area. @

2. ‘*That the government agent Davis on October 24,
1961 solicited and obtained permission to enter
into the defendant’s private office, where the de-

31.)

a

fendant condueted his business affairs in private
....’’ (Defendant’s position, R. 137).

Agent Davis testified: That on October 24, 1961
he stated to the defendant that he desired to go
with the defendant into his private office, and went
there pursuant to said request (R. 140).

That Agent Davis ‘obtained this permission by
misrepresentation of the status of his entry’? (posi-
tion of defendant R. 137), and ‘‘that on October
21, 1961—that the said agent had come to the said
premises and had agreed with the defendant to

‘return at a later date, namely, either Monday or

Tuesday, which would be October 23 or October 24,
1961 on his own time to prepare 720 Forms for
cabaret taxes actually due the government. by the
defendant—*’ (position of defendant R. 138). ‘** That
the acts and -cireumstances by which the agent
gained entry into the private office on October 24.
1961 as it related to the arrangement agreed upon
for his coming, were in effect a misrepresentation’’
(position of defendant R. “138).

These positions taken by the lefendant were es-
tablished as fact on the evideace,

(a) Agent Davis unequivocally stated in his testi-
mony upon inquiry by the Court calling for pre-
cise statement: ‘*What I agreed to was to return
to the premises so that he (the defendant).could
file a return, if due.’’ (Statement supra #5, Record

(b) Reference is further made to the Statement,
supra, 27 and #8, with reeord citations establishing
that Agent Davis entered the Uefendant's private
office on October 24, 1961 pursuant to the planned
operation of government agents for entrapment of
the petitioner. It is submitted that the foregoing

sane
a
acts and circumstances set out in the Statement
established entry by the agent into the private of-
fice by misrepresentation.

At the conclusion.of the hearing on the Motion to Sup-
press the Trial Court stated the issue and the basis of his
denial of the Motion as follows: .

“The Court: Well, it is perfectly clear that your
theory is that the individul was admitted under a
deceptive statement and, therefore, everything that
was taken within the inner office was taken as a result
of admission by deception.

Mr. Davis: That is right, sir.

The Court: So it applies to notes on a piece of

o

‘paper as well as notations upon a wire recorder.

Mr. Davis: Well, if the paper—there might be a
different state of facts on a piece of paper. If it was
open and obvious that that was being done, that would
be one thing, and I think prohkably distinguishable

— from an electronie device, which is secret.

The Court: Well, |] understand the argument you,
make. It seems to me a distinetion without a differ-
ence, The petition and motion are denied.’’

as

The Trial Court reiterated its position on this matter
in its Charge to the Jury (R. 136).

It is submitted that the Court’s statement that the ob-
taining of the minafon, Government Exhibit 6, was no dif-
ferent than if the agent took private notes after entrance
into the private office (R. 136, 164, 165), is not sound. The
minafon is no different than if another agent were in the
office by stealth with the powers of a minafon.

However, the real ground of objection is that indight of
the Silrerman ease, all evidence of the conversation of the

‘|
agent and the defendant of the meeting of Oetober 24, 1961
in the private office, whether in the form of testimony of
the agent or as recorded in the minafon, ought to be ex-
cluded as illegally obtained, in violation of the Fourth
Amendment since the entrance to the office was gained
-by misrepresentation. Defendant’s counsel in renewing his
objgction to the admission of this evidence at the trial
stated this as his position. (R. 71)

That the minafon recording and the testimony of Agent
Davis of what occurred at the meeting at Clauson’s Inn on
October 24,. 196F constituted the governmen<’s ‘case on
Counts 2, 3 and 4 cannot be disputed. If the said recorded
conversation and the testimony thereof of Agent Davis
were excluded, the government's case on Counts 2, 3, and
+ would fail for lack of proaf.

Whether’ ‘the seciiving“and taking out the evidence from
the private office of the Defendant should be aecconiplished
by minafon on the person of Agent Davis, or transmission
by Schmidt from his person, or by his personal faculties
as such, each would be illegally obtained if entrance was
gained: by misrepresentation. In this respect a private
office is on the.same basis as a home. In effeet it is a
physical imvasion of a constitutionally protected place _
‘as in Silverman v. United-States, 365 U.S. .505, which dis-
tinguished and declined to reconsider the earlier cases of
Olmstead +. United States, 277 U.S. 438, (oldman vy. United
States, 116 U.S. 129, On Lee vw U nited States, 343 U.S. 747.

In;-the Silverman ease at the trial in the Federal District
Court in which petitioners were convicted of gambling
offensescunder the District of Columbia Code, there was
admitted in evidence over their objection testimony of
police officers describing incriminating conversations en--
gaged in by petitioners at their aiieged gambling estab-
lishment, which the officers had overheard by means of an
electronie listening device pushed through the party wall

¢ Z &

: 2 3

of an adjoining house until it touched heating duets in-the

horse occupied by the petitioners. The Supreme Court
held that such testimony should not have been admitted
in evidence and the convictions
violation of the Fourth

nust be set aside as in

the record of the casé, the eavesdropping Was accomptished
hy means of a unauthorized physical penetration into. the
premises occupied by petitioners, -wttiech violated their
rights under the Fourth Amendment. Goldman v. United
States, 316 US. 129, and On Lee v. United States, 343 U.S.
747, distinguished.

In the On Lee case the agent, not an officer oreemployee
of the United States Government, was a ‘stool pigeon”?

who used an electronic device at quarters in a Chinese

laundry open to the publie, to tap the conversation to a
United States agent outside the premises. 7

~ In Goldman v. United States, 316 U.S. 129, 62 S. Ct.
993, 86 L.Ed. 1522, it was held that the action of federal
agents in placing a detectaphone on the outer wall of the
defendant's hotel room and thereby overhearing conversa-
tions held within the room, did not violate the Fourth
Amendment. There the agents had earlier compitted a
trespass in order to install a listening device within the

room itself. Since the deviee failed to work the Court ex- .

pressly reserved decision as to the effect on the search anid
seizure question of a trespass in that situation.

In the Silverman ease the Court said as follows:

‘*But in both Goldman and On Lee the Court took
pains explicitly to point out that the eavesdropping
had not been accomplished by means of an ?unan
thorized) physicab encroachment within. a= constitu-
tionally protected area. In Goldman there had in faet
heen a prior physical entry into the petitioner’s office

lendment. It was held that on

32

for the purpose of installing a different listening ap-
paratus, which had turned out to be ineffective. The
Court emphasized that this earlier physical trespass
had been of no relevant assistance in the later use of
the detectaphone in the adjoining office. 316 U.S. at
1384:185. And in Ow Lee, as the Court said, *. . . no
trespass was committed.” The agent went into the
petitioner's place of business ‘with the consent, if not
by the implied invitation, of the petitioner.’ 343 U.S.
at 7ol-7o2. .

The absence of a physical invasion of the petition-
ers’ premises was also a vital factor in the Court's
decision in Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438.
In holding that the wiretapping there did not violate
the Fourth Amendment, the Court noted that *(t)he:
insertions were made without trespass upon any prop-
erty of the defendants. They were made in the base-
ment of the large office building. The taps from house
lines were made in the streets near the houses.’ 277
U.S., at 457. ‘There was no entry of the houses or
the houses or offices of the defendants." 277 U.S., at
464. Relying upon these circumstances, the °Court
reasoned that ‘(t)he intervening wires are not part of
(the defendant's) house or office any more than are
the highways along which. they are stretched.’ 277
U.S.. at 465. Here, by contrast, the olticers overheard
the petitioners’ conversations only by usurping part
of the petitioners’ house or office—a heating system
which was an integral part of the premises oceupied
by the petitioners, a usurpation that was effected with.
out their knowledge and without their consent. In
these circumstances we need not pause to consider
whether or not there was a technical trespass under
the local property law relating to-party walls. Inherent
Fourth Amendment rights are not inevitably measur-

o

a

able in terms of ancient niceties of tort or real prop-
erty law. See Jones v, United States, 362 U.S. 257, 266;
On Lee v. United States, supra, at 752; Hester v.
United States, YO U.S. 57: Knited States &. Setters,

42 US. 48, 41; WeDonald v. United States, 335 ULS.

/

4

451, 454.
The Fourth Amendment, and the personal rights
which it seeures, have a long history. At the very

_ core stands the right of a man to retreat into his own

home and there be. free from unreasonable govern
mental intrusion. Entick v. Carrington, 19 Howell's
State Trials 1029, 1066; Boyd v. United States. 116
U.S. 616, 626-630. This Court has never held that a
federal officer may without warrant and without:con-
sent physically entrench into a man’s office or home,
there ¢ecretly observe or listen, and relate at the man's
subsequent eriininal trial what-was seen or heard.

A distinction between the detectaphone employed
in Goldman and the spike mike titilized here seemed .
to the Court of Appeals too fine a one to draw. The
court was ‘unwilling to believe that the respective
rights are to be measured in fractions of inches’, But
decision here does not turn upon the technicality of a
trespass upon a party wall as a matter of local law.
It ix based upon the reality of an actua? int@usion -
into a constitutionally protected area, What the Court
said long ago bears repeating now: ‘It may be that it
ix the obnoxious thing in its mildest and least ye-
pulsive form; but illegitimate and aneonstitutional ~
practices get ‘their first footing in that way, namely,
by silent approaches and slight déviations from lega!
modes of procedure.” Boyd’ vy. United States, 116
U.S. 616, 685. We find no occasion to re-examine Gold-
man here, but we decline to go beyond it, by even a
fraction of an inch.**

a

; Bey

34 :

See strong concurring opinion by Mr. Justice Douglas in

Silverman v. United States, supra, showing the basie phi

osophy and rationale underlying the decision. Also for this
purpose see the strong dissenting opinion in the case of
On Lee vy, United States supra.

The Defendant argues that the premise in the above
cases Was physical penetration, and distinctions pertaining

thereto. e

a
But here? there was physical invasion into the premises
hy misrepresentation, This would not differ from entrance
by stealthwithout permission.

As an added reason for granting the Writ under Ques.”

tion IIL your petitioner replies to the brief of the Govern-
ment filed in the Cireuit Court below which ealls upon the
defendant to distinguish Todisco v. United States, 298
F.2d, 208, cert. den. 368 U.S. 984-and United States v.
Kabot, 295 F.2d, 848, cert. den, 369 U:S. 803. (Govern-
ment’s brief, page 12, last paragraph.)

In the Todisco cage a lawyer was indicted and found
guilty of offering a bribe 'to settle a tax case of a client.
There were a ‘number of conversations {aped ‘and trans-
mitted to recipients outside by a device on the government

agent from the office of the defendant, all relating to con- .

versations of a proposed bribe of $500.00. It was held not
a violation of the defendant’s rights under the Fourth
Amendmen’. — i ee oe

It seems obvious that the agent in the instant ease on the
facts was in the office of the defendant by misrepresenta-
tion, as distifiguished from the Todisco ease embracing in-
vited_vists by the defendant in that case relevant to the ob-
ject of the bribe. Manifestly in Todisco the evidence sup-
ported that-the defendant was pursuing a criminal design
which he had already coticeived, whereas in the instant

‘ s
‘ase this could not be foundcto be so.
by %&

: wd

be

The entrenching of a government agent in the office of the
defendant, a constitutionally protected area, by nfisrepre-
sentation and for the purpose of illegal entrapment seems
clearly an invasion of privacy of the defendant under the
Fourtly Amendment. In the Jodisco ease there was no in
vasion of privacy whatsoever in legal contemplation.

The Cagrt in Todisco refers to an article in a law re-
view which assimilates a device such as ueminifon with
that of taking notes. .As stated above, the learned Court
in this ease adopted such a view as expressed in his deal-
ing with the Motion to Suppress and in his Charge to the
Jury. It seems apparent that where the entrance is gained
by.misrepresentation into a private office, it is more the
Trojan horse than a note-taking matter. It is submitted
it goes to the very essenese of the rights under the con-
stitutionally protected area of the Fourth Amendment.

In United States v. Kabot, supra, an accountant was In;
dicted and found guilty of offering and giving a bribe to
a government agent to settle an income tax case of a tax-
payer he was representing. The agent went to the office
of the defendant with a minifon attached to his person to
cover a situation indicating the offering of a bribe by the
accountant, recorded a conversation coneerning the sub-
ject matter, with explicit instructions not to lead the de-
fendant on. Also a device was planted in the agent’s hotel
room to record and transmit to agents outside, the oceur-
rences covering the same matter. This was clearly not the
obtaining of entrance by the Agent into the office by mis-
representation, and there was ‘absent any evidence as to
illegal entrapment. Again, as in Todisco, this is distin-
guishable from the instant case.

30
Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons this petition for writ of cer.
tiorari should be granted. .

Respectfully submitted,

Kpwarp J. Davis,
- 11 Pemberton Square
“ Boston, Massachusetts.
Attorney for Petitioner.

Appendix

United States Court of Appeals
For the First Circuit

No. 5981.

GERMAN $8. LOPEZ,
DEFENDANT, APPELLANT,
si v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
APPELLEE,

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
Before Woopsurny. Chief Judge, and Harrigan
and Anupricn, Circuit Judges.
Edwerd J. Davis for appellant.
Wiliam C. Madden, Assistant U. S. Attorney, with whom

W. Arthur Garrity, Jr., United States Attorney, and John J. Curtin,
Jr., Assistant U, S. Attorney, wee on brief, for appellee.

OPINION OF THE COURT.
June 15, 1962.

Judgment will be entered affirming the
judament of the District Court.

Per CuRIAM.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386410_0205%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
