# Reply Brief for the United States — United States v. National Dairy Products Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386410_0149%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief for the United States
- **Published:** January 1, 1963
- **Citation:** 372 U.S. 29

## Text

” a p . e
CITATIONS - s ‘

* Cases:

Bandini I retroli um CON, :. Supe rior ourt, 24 USS
Blackunood v. United States: 13S F. 24 461.

Braatelien v. United States, }47 F.2d 888.

Bryan v. United States, V75 F.2d 223,

Land v.. United States, 177 F.2d 34h

Met oy Vv. United States, 160 F. 24 776. -cortiorari dle.

nied, 334 US. SOS “

Moore v. Meads Fine Bread, 348 US. VS

Rescue Army v. Muniespal Court 331 US. 549

Stirone v. United States, 361 US. 242

« United States v. Alford, 274 U.S. 264
United States v. Evans, 333 VS. 4882000002 — | Re
United States vo Five Gambling Devices, 346 US. 441
United States v. Glasser, VV F.2d 690. modified, 315
- US. 60 :
United States'n. Halseth, 342 Us. re ree —
United States v. Harriss, 347 U.S 612
United States v, Kahriger, 345 U8. 22 |
United States v. Lem Hoy, 330 U.S. 274 =
United States v.. Minneapolis Flee. Contractors’ Ass'n.

', ,99 F. Supp. 75. ae 3
l ’nited States v. Ne ff, 212 F. 2d 297. O
United States v. Shindle r.173 F. Supp. 393 :
' United States v. ‘Spector, 343 ULS: 169 7
United Statés v. Wurzhach, 280 US. 396° a 6
Vi illiams v. United States, 341 US. 97 th.
Statutes and Rides:
‘Federal Rules of Criminal Proc ‘edure, Rule 7c) 4
Robinson-Pat man Act, Section 3, 49 Stais 1526, 15
USC. 138 er Ee ecieeen nee ‘ 1,545.84, 10
M ' (1)

632801--62 - .

“Se -de =)

‘“

Gn the Supreme Court of the Binited States

—Ocrosrn Term, 1961

No. 173

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ATPELLANT
we

National. Dairy Propucts Corv., Et AL.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE. WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

Most of appellees’ contentions have already been
fully answered in our main brief. A few of their
arguments, however, call fora short reply.

1. Appellees challenge our contention that the con-
stitutionality of the prohibition in Section 3 of the
Robinson-Patman Act against selling :t unreasonably
low prices for the purpose of destroying competition
is to be détermingd on the basis of the predatory
sales charged in this indictment, namely, sales below
cost with the loss absorbed by the profits on other
activities of a nationwide businéss. Appellees argue
(Br. 5-16) that the offenses charzed in the indict-
_ ment are not limited to sales below cost: and that,
a)

"

9 .

in any event, the issue is the constitutionality of the
statute “on its face’ (Br, 9). Neither contention is
sound. ; an

a. Each of the seven counts charging violation of
the Robinson-Patman Act sets forth the offense in
two -paragraphs under the single heading: ‘Offense
Charged—Robinson-Patman Act.”” Count Two (R.-8-
9) is typical. Under the foregoing heading, para-
graph 22 alleges that National sold milk to its’ dis-
tributors in, the Paola-Osawatomie, Kansas, market -
“af unreasonably ‘low prices for - the purpose of 7
dvstroying competition’’ in that market, “in violation:
of Section 3 of the Act of-Congress * * * commonly
known as the Robinson-Patman Act.”’ This.clause
is in the language of the statute. Paragraph 23
alleges that, **[pJursuant to and in effectuation of the.
offense charged in paragraph 22 of ‘this indictment,
National utilized’ the advantages it possesses by rea-
sen vf the fact that it operates in a gveat many |
different geographical localities in order to finance
and subsidize a price war against small dairies selling
milk in competition with it and its distributor in the
Paola-Osawatomic, Kansas market by tntentionally
selling milk to its distributor Martin at prices below
National’s cost?” (emphasis added). Paragraph 24,
under the heading “ Effecis.’’ states that the ‘‘effects
of the aforesaid offense, among others, have been
to cause severe financial losses to small dairies doing |
business’’ in that market, and *‘to cause such dairies
to suffer losses in sales volume’ (emphasis added).

3

; i F -

The particularizaiton of the offense set forth in para
eraph 23 plainly limits and qualities the broader lan-
enage of paragraph 22.0 Paragraph 23 makes itexplieit
that the sales at unregsonably low prices” charged m
this indictment are sales “at prices below National's
cost.” Tt is the two paragraphs together, the second
jimiting ‘the first, that set forth the offense charged in.
Count Pwo. PP phe indictment must) be read asa
Whole hot bey sentences, te nited States Vo. Mipne-
a polis Elec. Contractors’ Ass’ in, 99 I. Supp. Ta, TS OD:

Minn). The chareing portion of the count explicitly

“eontam.

sets forth the “Offense Charged) in two. paragraphs
under threat headin, ane hot Hist the statutory liuti-
oul te used in the fist paragraph. The ot effects’
paragraph of the count, whieh immediately Follows the
hwo paragraphs Setting. | forth the Offense © harged.”

plainks refers to those twe preceding pari niin When
i speaks of the effects of the “aforesaid offense” "Phe
two pare gra pins of-the charge portion of the eount
thus constitute the “plain, concise amd definite written
statement of the essential facts constituting the offense
eharged.”? whieh Rule 7(c) of the Federal Rules of
Criminal Procodure requires the tmdictment . te

-

“Contrary to appellees: contention (Br. 8-9), government
counsel did not state te the distriet court that “the indictment
has.a broader scope than below-cost sales.” The collquy upon
which appellees rely, during whieh government counsel stated —
that an unreasonably low pricedoes not have to be below cost”
(R. 115). related to the general scope of -tie statute, and not
to the offense charged in this particular indictment.” Indeed,
appellees’ counsel himself previously had recognized that “one
argument’ that the Government makes is, certainly it is an un-
reasonably low price where a defendant charged ander Section
3 sells below cost’ “(R. 95). :

4

This interpretation of the indictment is im gecord

with the rule that when various acts are alleged in it
single count, “all of its. recitations and averments
must ’ therefore be read and considered together.”
Blackwood v. United States, 38 FL 2d 461, 465
(CLA. 8); see, also, McCoy vo United States, 169 F.
2d 776, TSO (CLA. 9), “certiorari deiied, 335 U.S.
898; United States v. SRindter, 173 FL Supp. 395,

395. (S.D.N.Y.). In the Shindler case, Count Two of

the cindietment charged a violation -of Section

17(a)(2) of the Securities Act of 1933, “fiesta thie™

language of the statute: [the defendant ‘did unlaw-
fully.* * * obtain) money * *.* by means of. an
omission to state a material fact necessary to make
the ‘statements made, in the. light of the ciremm
stances under whicl: they were made, nov TMislead
ing’], and then by particuiarizing the acts complained
ef [having ecailed the attention of the purchasers of
stovk te the price at wiielf it Was selling on thie
‘American Stock Exchange, ‘but having omitted te
‘state the material fact toat’said price of -said stoc k

had been ecatised to rise ana had been prevented’

from falling by the said) defendant: * * i el

erefusing to dismiss this count, the court Atated (p.
_ 895. ciuphasis added): “* By goiagboyond the statutory
danguage with greater specific itythe defendants are
more fully informed of the erime charged, enabling
them thereby °to prepare their defense to meet the
prosecution’s case, and at the same tjine protected

aaginst double. jeopardy. The ‘parts of the count

must he read togethor.’

&

se

”

5

~ Appellees’ argument implicitly assumes that. the
government will tiot be limited at trial to proof of the
acts specified in. the second paragraph of each of the
Robinson-Patman Act counts. | Yet sich oa limita

” eee Ap So
tion would elearly Jbe imposed if the specifications

had been contained ina bill of partieuiars. buy.
United, States v.' Neff, 212] * 2d 297, 309 (CLA. B?:
Land Vv. United Ntates, 17 F.2d 346, 349 (CLA. 4);
Bryan v. United States, V5 FF. 2d 223. 224 (CLA. 5)
traatelien v.. United’ States, 147 FE. Yd RBS, SOR
(CA, Bye lonited States v; (riusxse , nt 92d G90,
702 (CLA. 7), modified on other grounds, 315 U.S.
OU" A fortiort, When the mdietment itself partienu-

larizes the acts alleged) te Violate the statute, ap

pellees sean be convicted only if> tlie, specific acts

charged ave proven. Cf. Stirone vy. United States,

Sol US. 2k. fe
The contention that’ the constitutionality. of

Section Ooonwst be deterniied ‘ton its hage™ (Br.
9-16), rather-than “tas applied” in’ this particular
cast, is but another way of arguing that the statute
ages be invalidated “if: hypothetical situations can
iy

x Hnagined to which its application may pose serious

© constitutional problems. The Coutt, of course, nec

essarily looks to the “face” of the statute in decid
ing the constitutional ISSUC, In the sense that it must
‘first ascertain. what the statute does; to Whom it ap-

_ plies, and what standards it provides. Thus, in‘ the

°

'*For the purposes of the Criminal Appeals “Act. the partic-_

ilavs are to be considered as limiting the indi tment, unless-the

district court has not so treated them. Kee United States v.

Lem Hoy. 350 U.S. 724, 725. 730 Mnited States v. [lalseth.
342 U.S, 277, 278-279. J

\

:

present case the Court will have te determine whether
the statutory language applies to the conduct char ‘ged
in the indictment, t.e., whether the sales below cyst for
the purpose of pane ing competition are covered by’
the statutory prohibition on, selling aft unreasonably
_ low prices for that purpose. |
But legal issues-are not decided in a vacuum. In
the delicate field of constitutional adjudication, this ~
Court eonsistently has refused to reach beyond the
particular case before it and to strike down a federal
statute on the basis of its conjectural application to
other . situations. | See our main brief, pp: 32-35:
Wilhams v. U nitéd States, 341 U. S. 97, 101: United
States v. W urzbach, 280 U.S. 396, 399. The principle
1S equally applicable whether¢he Court ‘iis called uj ou
to decide the constitutional issue on direct appeal
under the Criminal Appeals Act from a dismissal of
an indictment, or upon review of a conviction For
the primary purpose of the rule requiring definiteness
in criminal statutes is to give adequate warning of
» What conduct is prohibited, and this purpose is, satis-
titd, as to a*particular de fendanty when he -is ade-—
quately ‘informed by the statute that his conduct is
prohibited thereby.
The cases upoh which appellees rely (Br. 11-14).
do not require a contrary conclusion. In most of -
‘them where.the Court decided the constitutional ques-
tion ton the face” of the statute, the indictment it-
self was drawn in the statutory terms, and the con-

_&

> °

¥

stitutional issue posed was thus as broad as the statute

itself. In other instances, the issue of ‘vagueness
would be the same no matter to what faets the statute
were applied. In none of them, however, did the.
Court reach out to strike down, on the basis of its
possible: applicability to other facts, a “statute which,

as applied to the particular offense before it, Was not

indéfinitely \ vague.

2Vpitd States \. Nahriqer, JAS US. 22 (No. 167, O.T. 1952,

R. Ae | : Ve niti dl Nthatex Vv. Nye chor, 3455 ’ oa SS. 16% . No. 4433. oy e 151,
/ ‘

R. 2): Vneted States vo AV ford, 274 US. 264 (No. 983, OLT. 126,
R. 2, other than the ambiguous first count): United Nee v.
Berane 2338 US, 483 ONb. is. OY. 47, Ro 1).

E In Toasted Ntates. v. fers Gambling Pevices, 346 e +41,
the stagute required dealers inSgambling devices to register with
the Attorney General the/address of their principal pl ee Of bust-
hess “nd of their place of business “in such district.” The quoted
words were not defined. and were apparently left in the bill
through oversight. In considering whether this provision was
unconstitutional ly vague, the facts of the specific ease were
Immaterial and there was no distinction between judging the
statuteon its face or viewing it as applied. . Similarly, in
Bandini Petroleum Co. %. Superior Conrt, 284 US. 8 whic
sustained x petroleum conservation statute prohibiting ““unrea-
sonable waste’, the statute was examined on its face) because

-the proceeding was fora writ of preaibition against its enforce-

ment. The issue was whether the statute conferred jurisdiction on
the lower court to entertain apy enforcement action whatevef,
without new: ard io whether a particular defe ndant had been denied
his right to a ‘fair warning: (See 284 U.S. at 15-16.) Contrary
to appellees’ contention (Br. 12 103), the well: seftled™ ruling of
Bandiné which this Court cited in Resene Arity vo Municipal
Court, 331-U IS, 549, was that a judgment denying-a writ of pro-
hibition was final for appeal purposes notwithstanding that en-

forcement proceedings might follow: the rule was not related to

the question in the instant case.

|

S.

e. In urging the Court to decide only whether
Section 3 is’ constitutional as applied to the sales
below cost charged in this indictment, we are hot
suggesting that, if the constitutional isste were to
be decided on the broader basis -of the “face” of |
tlie statute, the statute would be invalid. On the
contrary, we believe that the arguments we have —
made in our main brief to show. that. the statute is
constitutional as here applied are equally: ‘applicable*
to uphold its constitutionality on its face. See United
States v. Harriss, 347 U.S. 612, 618.. We. press the

‘argument, however, because we believe ‘that sound

judicial administration strongly counsels against the

decision of hypothetical constitutional questions that

are in fact not presented by the actual ease hefore
the Court. A oe aoe,

2.. Appellees argue (Br. 19-20, 40-42, 55-57) that:
in our main brief we improperly. relied upon the
legislative history of the geographical price diserimi- |
nation clause of Section 3. to- show Congressional
intent to prohibit sales below cost in the unzeason-
ably low prices clause of that section. Both clauses,

however, are designed to prevent the same kind of
illegal action, namely, predatory pricing practices for

the purpose of destroying competition or eliminating.
a competitor. They differ only in that they condemn
different means td achieve this illegal objective. a

‘one prohibits sales in.one part of the country *?:

prices lower than exacted by said persons a a

‘in the United States’’; the other, which is involved

in this case, prohibits sales at ‘unreasonably. low

prices.” But successful selling below cost can be
rs a

"4

9

accomplished over .an extended 2 a only if the
seller has other profitable markets or product lines in
which it can recoup: its losses; in the present case, the

‘indictment charges that) National “utilized the ad-

vantages it possesses by reason of the fact that Ht oper-
ates ina great many different geographiGil localities in
order to finance and subsidize a price war against Small
dairies selling milk in competition with it and its
distributor’ in certain local markets (R. 9. 12. 15,
19, 22, 29, 52). The use of such predatory price
cutting by large. firms as a means of dest roving
competition has Jong been recognized by the courts.
and Congress. See Moore ve Mead’s Fie Bread,
348 US. 115" 119-120, and our main brief, pp. 1-
17. - Since both clauses of Section 3 are designed to
achieve the same. basie purpose, their legislative
histories may be considered togetlfer to show Con
gressional concern with below-cost sales in Section 3.

3. Finally, ‘appellees contend (Br. 58-71) that,
even as apphed to the sales below cost charged in
this indictment, Seetion, 3° would. still be unconste
tutional, since “*below cost” is itself a “Vague and
Indefinite Standard” (Br. 58). While there may. be
problems of defining cost im other contexts, the in:
dictmen. in this case charges National with" cnfen-

= @&

tionally selling inilk to its distributor “at prices
below.. National's cost’? (eg., R. 9, -empliasis added).
In other words, * is indictment charges National
with willfully and knowingly selling below cost. If
National’s own books show, under whatever cost
accounting system the company follows, that it sold

10

@: ir ‘
below cost, or if there is evidence that National’s
officials admitted selling below cost, plainly appellees

eould not complain that they did not havegidequate
warning that they sold intentionally below cost within
N\ the meaning of the indictment and in violation of the

statute. - If appellees are uncertain as to what the in-
aiviinent means in charging them with intentionaily
elling below cost, they can seck additional information
through a bill of particulars. ae

4. The basie fallacy in appellees’ argument is that
they. would havethe Court decide this casé as if it”
a scholastic exercise) in etymology and cost

, accoynting. Section 3 must be read in the context

of gur.-historical and. continuing antitrust policy —
a poly of preventing the destruction of competition
and the growth of monopoly. The words,-especially
words like “unreasonable,’? take meaning .frem the
context. Beginning with the Clayton’ Act of 1914.
later in the Robinson-Patman Act and again in the

Celler-Kefauver amendment to Section 7, Congress

sought to halt restraints: of trade in their gel piency,
especially by outlawing those specific tacties which the
dominant firms in a market may use to suppress their
competitors. , Sales betaw cost (t.¢., at less than the
seller’s.own cost) for the-purpose of destroying com-

; eRe or éliminating a\cqgmpetitor have been recog-

nized ag undesirable predatory practices since before
the Sherman Act was enacted. It is entirely plain
that Section 3 makes this practice unlawful per se.
without requiring the government to prove that there

.

has. been a conspiracy in unreasonabhe restraint of

trade or that a monopoly has developed.
CONCLUSION

. .
‘For the foreloing reasons, ‘and thiose

set forth in
or f.{
strict @oirt

) of Ate ie

our main. brief, the judgment of the «
dismussing counts 2, 4, 6, & 10, 13, and
dictment should be reversed,
Respectfully submitted. r
eeemeaaedanet tT en ' ARCHIBALD Cox,

ig : Solicitar We neral,

SN eS LORVINGER,

LIONEL Feesrennat
Jorn KE. Horraray,

tee,
Afforne YS
Marcu 1962. © es
P ,
o-
%
. oe
» | ‘
‘ *
r
se

‘
O.8 GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE t962

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386410_0149%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
