# Brief for the US — Price v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386410_0093%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the US
- **Published:** January 1, 1961
- **Citation:** 368 U.S. 805

## Text

Page
1
1
2
3
3
13
18
Communist activities in the United States 19
II. Petitioner cannot claim for the first time at his
trial that under the Legislative Reorganiza-'
tion Act of 1946 the Subcommittee could not
, held the hearing at which he
appeared. Even if petitioner could make this
contention, Senate Resolution 366 authorized
— 0 22
III. The Subcommittee’s investigation did not
* violate the First Amendment 888 23

were pertinent to the subject under r 24

their pertinen exp 8 24
B. The questions petitioner refused to
answer were in fact pertinent 26

0 : {
619366-—-61———1

7

. 1

Argument Continued
v. Petitioner was not entitled to dismissal of the
indictment, or a hearing, on the basis of
broed allegations that government employees

VI. The indictment was not required to specify the
subject under inquify or the pertinency of the
questions to this subject, or to allege that
petitioner’s refusal to answer was wilful, or to
state the delegation of authority from the
parent Committee to the Subcommittee -- --

VII. The trial court did not deny petitioner the right
of croes-éxamination by denying his motion
to subpoena the Subcommittee’s files and re-
fusing to allow croes-examination which

＋ sought to obtain confidential information - - - -
| VIII. Petitioner cannot claim for the first time in his
brief on the merits in this Court that the Sub-
committee violated his rights under the
Fourth and Fifth Amendments since it did
hot have probable cause to subpoena him.
In any event, petitioner's rights were not

CITATIONS |
3 United States, 360 U.S. 10909

32

13,

18, 19, 20, 24, 25, 28, 37, 39

Deutch v. United States, 367 U.S. 4566.
v. United States, 203 F. 2d 54, reversed on
4 TT. a

. New Hampehire, 354 U.S. 234.
United States v. Atkinson, 297 US. 157... .--------

United States v. Bryan, 339 U.S. 323.
United States v. Lamont, 236 F. 2d 31ꝛ—ꝛ—
United States v. Socony Vacuum Oil Co., 310 U.S. 150
Wilkinson v. United States, 365 U.S. 399

39

rrr

3 — — sa.

U.S. Constitution: Page

First Amendment 2, 20, 25, 28, 39

Fourth Amendment 17, 18, 38, 39

Fifth Amendment 34, 38, 40
Legislative Reorganization Act of 1946, c. 753, Title I,

Sec. 134, 60 Stat. 832 (2 U.S.C. 190b(b)) 8 2

2 U.S.C. 192, as amendell 3, 13, 19, 34

Miscellaneous:

Federal Rules of Criminal 8 Rule 7 (c). . 16, 32, 34
Hearings Before the Subcommittee to Investigate the
Administration of the Internal Security Act and
Other Internal Security Laws of the Committee on
the Judiciary, United States Senate, 84th- Cong. ,

Ist and 2d Sess.:
VVV 4
a en ae 7, 8, 26, 28

Hearings, Subcommittee to Investigate the Adminis-

: tration of the Interna] Security Act and other Inter-
„ nal Security Laws of the Committee on the Judi-
ciary, United States Senate, Communist Activity in

Mass Communications, 85th Cong., 2d Sess., p. 1. 21
Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States, Rule

WONT irs bah sks ed SS 33, 38
S. Rep. 1385, 84th Cong., 2d Sess._.._...._________ 21
S. Res. 366, 8ist Cong., 2d Sess___.___________- 2, 3, 19, 20
S. Res. 58, 84th Cong., Ist Ses 2,19
S. Res. 174, 84th Cong., 2d Ses 21

—

J. the Supreme Court of the Waited States

_Ocroser Term, 1961

No. 12

WLAN A. PRICE, PETITIONER
v.

Untrep States oF AMERICA

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI ro THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

The opinion of the court of appeals (R. 1-5)
is reported at 280 F. 2d 715. The opinion of the
district court (J.A. 136-137; Pet. 17-18) is not re-
ported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on June 18, 1960 (R.5). On July 13, 1960, Mr.
Justice Black extended the time for filing a petition
for a writ of certiorari to and including August 17,
-1960. The petition was filed on August 7, 1960, and
was granted on June 19, 1961 (R. 7; 366 U.S. 959).
The jurisdiction of this Court rests on 28 U.S.C.
1254(1). : 5

(1)

2

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

4 Whether Senate Resolution 366 of the 81st Con-
gress and Senate Resolution 58 of. the 84th Congress
authorized the Internal Security. Subcommittee to
conduct the hearing at which petitioner appeared.

2. Whether petitioner can claim for the first time
at his trial that, under the Legislative Reorganiza-
tion Act of 1946, the Subcommittee could not properly
hold the hearing at which he appeared and, if he can,
whether the hearing was improperly held.

3. Whether the Subeommittee's investigation into
Communist activities in the- news media field violated
petitioner’s rights under the First Amendment.

4. Whether petitioner raised the question of per-
tinency at the time he refused to answer the ques-
tiqns, and, if not, whether he ean claim that he was
not apprised of their pertinency for the first time at

his trial. 7

5. Whether the 5 proved that the ques-
tions petitioner refused to answer were pertinent to
the subjeet under inquiry.

6. Whether the indictment was invalid because it
failed to specify the subject under inquiry and the
pertinency of the questions to that subject, did not
allege that petitioner’s failure to answer was wilful,
and did not state the delegation of authority from the
parent Committee to the Subcommittee.

7. Whether petitioner, who was indicted by a grand
jury composed, in part, of federal employees, was
entitled to dismissal of the indictment or a hearing
on the basis of general allegations that such jurors
were biased and afraid as a result of the e
ene program.

3 0

8. Whether the trial court denied petitioner the
right of eross- examination.

9. Whether petitioner may raise a ae for the
first time in his brief on the merits in this Court
that the Subcommittee violated his rights under the
Fourth and Fifth Amendments because it did not,
have probable cause to subpoena him.

STATUTES AND RESOLUTIONS INVOLVED

Relevant portions of 2 U.S.C. 192, as amended;
the Legislative Reorganization Act of 1946, c. 753,
Title I, Section 134, 60 Stat. 832 (2 U.S.C. 190b(b)) ;
and Senate Resolution 366, 81st Cong., 2d Sess., are
set forth in petitioner’s brief at pp. 46-48. In addi-
tion, Section 2 of Resolution 366 states: — a

The Committee, or any duly authorized sub-
committee thereof, is authorized to sit and act
at such places and times during the sessions,
recesses, and adjourned periods of the Senate
Las it deems advisable...

STATEMENT
Petitioner was charged in an eight-count indict-

ment in the District Court for the District of Co-

lumbia with having refused, in violation of 2 U.S.C.
192, to answer. eight questions, pertinent to matters
under inquiry, put to him by the Subcommittee to
. Investigate the Administration of the Internal Secu-
rity Act and Other Internal Security Laws of the
Senate Committee on the Judiciary (J. A. 1). Hav-
ing waived his right to trial by jury, petitioner was
found guilty by the district court on all eight counts.
He was sentenced to three months’ imprisonment

*

4

and to pay a fine of five 8 dollars (J. A. 11)
On appeal, the conviction was affirmed (Pet. 20).

The pertinent facts may be summarized as follows:

On June 28 and 29, 1955, the Internal Seturity
Subcommittee heard the testimony of Winston Bur-
dett, a newspaperman and broadcaster, in connection
with its continuing investigation since 1950 into Com-
muist subversion and the operation of the internal
‘security laws.“

Erte chs dada. ö.
the Communist Party from 1937 until the early
1940’s, testified concerning attempts by the Commu-
nist Party to influence public opinion by infiltration

_of Party members into the newspaper field. He
stated that he became a member of the Party’s unit
in the Brooklyn Eagle in 1937 while employed by

> that newspaper (Hearings, Part 14, p. 1324); that
the unit included several reporters and editorial
writers (id., at pp. 1326-1327, 1259-1360) ; that Party
leaders induced. him to become a foreign correspond-
ent for the Eagle in order to use his position to act
as an espionage agent for the Soviet Union and that
he continued these activities while subsequently em-
ployed by Transradio and the Columbia Broad-
casting System during World War II (id: at pp.
1328-1341, 1347-1353) ; and that employees of other
New York newspapers had been Party members
around 1940 (id. at pp. 1380-1383 ):

Hearings Before the Subcommittee To Investigate the Ad-
ministration of the, Internal Security Act and Other Internal
Security Laws of ‘the Committee on the Judiciary, United

States Senate [hereinafter Hearings ], Sach Cong., ist Sess.
Part 14, pp. 1393-1363.

3 :

5

The counsel of the Subcommittee testified at peti-
tioner’s trial concerning the reason petitioner was
subpoenaed to testify. At the time petitioner was
subpoenaed, the Subeommittee information that
petitioner, a newspaperman, had been a candidate
for vice president of the New York Newspaper Guild
in 1949 on the so-called “Rank and File” ticket, which
was known to be the Communist-supported slate (J.A.
50-51, 100-101); that ‘Communists had successfully
infiltrated the Guild (J.A. 53, 100-102) ; that a state-
ment in defense of the Communist Party appeared in
the Daily Worker in 1941 signed by a William Price
(J.A. 53); that petitioner had received numerous vis-
its from Marcella Hitschmannova, who was known
to be a Communist courier and to have served the
Communist movement in other capacities for years
(J.A. 52-53, 65, 96-97) ;* that these visits were con-
tinuing up until the time petitioner was called as a
witness (J.A. 65); that petitioner, after returning
from wartime naval service, had flown an airplane
on a trip to Central and South America, during which
, time he was accompanied by a courier for the Com-
munist Party (J.A. 54-55, 65). The Subcommittee,
however, had nb information that directly showed
- petitioner to be a member of the Communist Party
(J. A. 55). 5
On the basis of this information, the Subeommittee
decided to call petitioner as a witness in executive
The Subcommittee also had other information concerning
petitioner and Marcella Hitschmannova which could not be
described at the trial because of its highly confidential nature

(JA. 52, 54-55).
619366—¢1__2

—

6
session. Pursuant to subpoena, petitioner, accom-

_ panied by counsel, appeared and testified at execu-

tive session held in New Vork City on December 7,
1955 (J. A. 55). At the executive session, petitioner
answered several preliminary questions © his iden-
tity and background (J. A. 72-74), but refused to
answer questions by the Subcommittee concerning the
information described above (J.A. 76-79). Peti-
tioner refused to answer these questions on the basis
of a lengthy legal memorandum (Gov. Ex. 3; J.A.
25-34). This memorandum raised chiefly. the objec-
tion that the Subcommittee was invading “my polit-
ical beliefs, my religious beliefs, any other personal
and private affairs, and my associational activities“
protected by the First Amendment (J.A. 26), but also
invoked the doctrine of separation of powers and
the ex post facto and bill of attainder clauses of the
Constitution (J.A. 28, 29-34).

had given, the testimony apparently withheld, the
manner in which petitioner withheld it, his ‘‘constant
conferring with counsel about the questions which a
man who had no information would find no difficulty
in answering promptly, and his demeanor during

the questioning (J.A. 85-86). The Subcommittee

and its counsel were hopeful that petitioner, ‘‘if we

7 4 *

called him back and went at it right, would come
elean and give the committee the information that
we wanted,“ as had other witnesses on other occa-
sions (J.A. 90). The Subcommittee believed that it
“had information which if true made it clear that
Mr. Price had a great deal of införmation over and
above and beyond what we had, which would be of
value to the committee (J.A. 90-91).

The Subcommittee held public hearings in Washing-
ton, D.C., on January 4, 5, and 6, 1956. At the open-
ing of the hearings on January 4, the Chairman of the
Subcommittee announced that the hearings about to
commence stem from sessions of this subcommittee
held on June 28 and 29, 1955, in which we heard the
testimony of Mr, Winston Mansfield Burdett, a news-
paperman and broadeaster”’ (Gov. Ex. 8, p. 1587).
Burdett had, the Chairman continued, disclosed the
names of persons whom he knew as members of the i
Communist Party in the early 1940’s. The Chairman
concluded that the investigation was of great impor-
tance because (ibid.):

[A]mong the persons involved in this investiga-
tion have been many who were or are members
of the press, and that the international Com-
munist conspiracy has as one of its primary

aims the 5 > 2 3 5

Se Gall eae nt oe
side by methods of penetration. * * * The

Government Exhibit 8 is Part 17 of the Hearings.

3

~

nt t cha
| FS er

Following the opening statement, another member
of the Subcommittee, Senator Heunings, apparently
apprehensive that the public might misconstrue the
See ee (Ser. Ex.

+ 8, p. 1588):

TIhis is not in an sense an attack upon the
some of the U nited States.

Of course, the Committee is interested in the

extent and nature of so-called Communist infil

tration if such exists, into any news-dispensing
eee {T]his is not an attack upon any

as such, but an effort on the fa par of th om his come
mite to show such 3
C cae Foe eo the United States. es

— Yo infience or to myer the

_which the Chair certainly agrees, in its entirety
(ibia). The Chairman went on to say (ibid.): :

to testify at the hearings on January 4, 5, and 6, 1956.

/

—

—
—
„

>
All had been or were then employed in mass commu-
nications. Petitioner, together with the same counsel

who had represented him at the executive session, ap-
peared before the Subcommittee on J anuary 3, 1956,

Petitioner testified concerning his employment as a

peg reporter and past service as a naval aviator
(JA. 17-18). He refused to answer whether he had

been a candidate for vice president on the “Rank and

File“ slate of the New York Newspaper Guild in 1949
(J.A. 18-19). This refusal, as well as petitioner’s
subsequent refusal to answer other questions, was
based upon the same legal memorandum which he had
submitted to the Subcommittee at the executive session
(J. A. 19).

Petitioner was then asked whether he was at that
time a member of the Communist Party (count 1)
(J.A. 23). After consultation with his counsel, peti-
tioner refused to answer the question on the basis of
the written memorandum which he relied on at. the
executive session, and further on the grounds that
no legislative purpose can be served. by asking me, at
this time again, questions, the answers to which this
committee knows full well from the executive hear-
ings” (J. A. 23). Petitioner likewise refused fo an-
swer whether he had “ever attended Communist
meetings” (count 2) (JA. 35) : N

e ee, stated in my objection
and on further Srounds’ that no legislative

ye) again, inasmuch as the reply has already been

* elicited by this committee in executive session.

=v

10

For these same reasons, petitioner refused to answer
whether he knew Marcella Hitschmannova (count 3)
(JA. 36). The Subcommittee’s counsel then informed
petitioner of the Subcommittee’s interest in the sub-
_ ject of this question: Do you know, Mr. Price, that
one Marcella Hitschmannova, now connected with the
United Nations, was a courier. for the Communist
Party?” (J.A. 36). Petitioner persisted in his refu-
sal to answer (J. A. 37).

Petitioner declined to answer a question as to
whether he had ever flown an airplane for or at the
direction of the Communist Party. His refusal was
is previously stated grounds and for the

had answered such a question in the

had ever flown outside the continental limits of the
United States, he admitted that he had done so as a
pilot for the United States Navy (J.A. 39). Upon
being confronted with the transcript of the executive
session—where he initially answered this question in
the negative, and then, upon being informed of the
reason for the question, refused to answer—petitioner
_ contested the accuracy of the record (J.A. 40). After .
a colloquy at the public session between petitioner and
qualification that he had flown outside the continental
limits of the United States (J.A. 41).

Thereupon, petitioner was asked whether he had
ever flown “considerable mileage in Central America
and Latin America” (count 4). He refused to answer
“on the grounds previously stated” (J.A. 41). For the
same reason he refused to answer whether he had

11

- flown a privately own airplane in South America and
had another person along with him (count 5) (J.A.
41-42). Asked whether the person who accompanied
him on that trip was a courier for the Communist
International, petitioner at first noted that a similar
question had been asked him in the prior executive
session (J.A. 42). Upon being directed to answer,
petitioner responded by giving his answer in the nega-
tive (J.A. 42). Thereupon, the Subcommittee in-
quired (count 6) (J.A. 43):
For the sake of testing the credibility of your
answer to that question, I ask you this: Who
was the person who accompanied you on that
lengthy flight in Latin and Central America?
Petitioner stated that he would like to know what
right the committee has in testing my eredibility”’
(J.A. 43). Upon being directed to answer the ques-
tion, petitioner refused “on the same grounds as
previously stated (J. A. 43). He disclaimed any
claim of right or privilege, under the Fifth Amend-
ment (J.A. 43). |
As the public session was about to close, petitioner
made a lengthy statement in which he denied that he
had (J.A. 44):
ever been involved in .stieh an activity
as suggested here in any way whatsoever at
anpone's direction, at the direction of any of
the organizations as were mentioned in the
closed hearings, or ny such organizations;
that anyone who ever flew with me was ever

engaged in such an activity; that I ever had
knowledge of such activity; or that I was ever

12

approached to participate in such an acti-
8
The counsel for the Subcommittee then stated (J. A.
0. ae
I think, in view of this question, Mr. Chair-
man, this statement by the witness again, we
should have a question, or perhaps several
questions, going to the credibility of the state-
ment. - —
" Committee counsel then asked petitioner when he
had “made this lengthy trip to Latin and Central
America (count 7) (J.A. 44). Petitioner declined
to answer the question on the grounds stated in the
objection, and on the additional grounds that my
credibility as a witness is not at question here” (J.A.
44).

Petitioner thereafter 3 a series of further
questions related to his unsolieited statement, admit-
ting only that he had taken a trip to South America
in order to sell an aireraft and to do some free-lance
stories along the way (J. A. 45). He testified that
the airplane was his own and that he sold it to some-
one whose name he did not recall in Panama City
who he believed was a resident of Panama or a
United States resident of the Canal Zone. Petitioner
also testified that he contacted the buyer through an
advertisement in a Panama City newspaper, and that
he went to Panama to sell the airplane because he had
heard there was a good market for airplanes in Cen-
tral America (J.A. 45-47). Finally, petitioner was
asked. and refused to answer whether he had ever

13

been a member of the Communist Party (count 8)
(J.A. 47).
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
I

As we have shown in our brief in Liveright v.
United States, No. 11, this Term, pp. 19-28, Senate
_ Resolution 366, which established the Subcommittee,
is sufficiently clear, at least when taken together with
its history, to authorize the Subcommittee to investi-
gate Communist activities. There is no basis for
carving an exception out of this general authoriza-
tion for Communist activities in news media, which
was the subject under inquiry when petitioner testi-
fied. Subsequent to this investigation and other in-
vestigations into Communist activities in closely
related areas, the Senate passed resolutions authoriz-
ing the Subconunittee to continue its investigations
and providing appropriations for the purpose. Thus,

this issue is squarely controlled by Barenblatt v.

United States, 360 U.S. 109, 121, where this Court
held that, “[n]ot only is there no indication that the
House ever viewed the field of education as being
outside the Committee’s authority under Rule XI,
but the legislative history affirmatively evinces House
approval of this phase of the Committee’s work.“

II

Petitioner claims that, under the Legislative Re-

organization Act of 1946, the Subcommittee could not
properly hold the hearing at which he appeared, since
it had not received permission from the Senate to

619366—61— 3

es
14
_ hold a hearing while the Senate was fh session. We
have shown in our briefs in Shelton v. United States,
No. 9, this Term, pp. 25-29, and Liveright, supra,
pp. 28-32, that a witness before a Congressional com-
mittee who refuses to answer its questions is not en-
titled to raise objections to the committee's
procedures which he has not raised before the en-
mittee. We have also shown in our brief in Liveright,
pp. 32-33, that, in any event, this contention is with-
out merit.
III :
For the reasons stated in our brief in Shelton,
supra, this Term, pp. 48-50, the Subcommittee’s in-
vestigation did not violate the First Amendment.
IV

Petitioner cannot excuse his refusal to answer by
the alleged lack of pertinency of the questions.

A. He made no objection before the Subcommittee
to the pertinency of any of the questions on which he
was indicted and convicted. Therefore, as shown in
our brief in Shelton, supra, pp. 25-29, he cannot claim
that the Subcommittee failed to apprise him of the
subject un@er inquiry or the pertinency of the ques-
tions to that subject. __

B. The government proved that the 5 under
inquiry when petitioner testified was Communist
activity in news media. The Chairman of the Sub-
cominittee and one of its members clearly stated, the
at before petitioner testified, that Communist activ-
e ity in news media was the purpose of the hearings;
all the witnesses who testified at the hearings worked

15

in this field; and petitioner’s counsel repeatedly said
at petitioner’s trial that this was the subject of the
hearings. The pertinęney to this investigation of
three ‘of the questions petitioner refused to answer—
whether petitioner, who was admittedly a newspaper
reporter, was or had ever ‘been a Communist or had
attended Communist meetings—was obvious. 3
Petitioner contends that the Subcommittee counsel
testified and the Assistant United States Attorney
stated at the trial that the subject under inquiry was
Communist activities generally. This subject, how-
ever, is perfectly consistent with the subject of Com-
munist activities in news media; the latter is merely
a portion of the broader subject. Moreover, if the
subject was Communist activities generally, this is a
proper subject within the the authority of the Sub-
committee (see our brief in Liveright, supra, pp.
42-44) and all eight questions were pertinent, either
on their face or as shown by the government’s eyi-
dence at the trial, to this subject.

* .

Petitioner claims that he was entitled to dismissal
of the indictment or at least a hearing because of
the bias of government employees who were on the
grand jury. We have shown in our brief in Shelton,
supra, pp. 62-76, that a defendant cannot challenge an
indictment because of the bias of grand jurors unless
he can show specific and convincing evidence of strong
bias in individual grand jurors. Here, as in Shelton,
petitioner made no allegations with resnect to indi-
vidual grand jurers and did not even state any spe-

—

Os:

7 4
. 16
cific facts of bias among goverment employees
generally.
VI

Petitioner contends that indictment was re-
quired to specify the subj under inquiry and the
pertinency of the qvestions to those subjects, to allege
that petitioner’s refusal to answer as wilful, and to

state the dglegation of authority from the present

committee to the Subcommittee. We point out in
our brief in Shelton, supra, pp. 78-83, that under
Rule 7(c) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure

and the decisions of this Court and the courts of

_ appeals; an indictment need not specify the subject
under inquiry. For the same reasons, it need not
provide the reasoning underlying | the allegation that
the questions were pertinent. We have shown in our
brief in Liveright, supra, pp. 50-51, that an indict-
ment need not allege that the witness’ refusal to

answer the questions was wilful if, as here, the indict-
ment alleges that the witness has “unlawfully’’ re-
fused to answer.

Petitioner’s contention that the indictment did not
state the delegation of authority from the present
Judiciary Committee to the Subcommittee was not
presented in the petition for a writ of certiorari and

tlerefore it is not before the Court. In any event,
no court has ever suggested that such an allegation is

Pe)

necessary under Rule 7(c) even though, insofar as 7

we know, no indictment under 2 U.S.C. 192 has made
such an allegation. . 2

17

VII .

Petitioner was 00 deprived of his right of cross-
examination by the trial court’s denial of his motion
to subpoena the Subcommittee’s files and its refusal
to allow him to ask certain questions on cross-exami-
nation of the Subeommittee counsel concerning the
information on the basis of which the Subcommittee
subpoenaed petitioner. The trial court allowed pe-
titioner the opportunity to cross-examine the Subeom-
mittee counsel on this subject extensively. It merely
refused to allow him to subpoena the files of the Sub-
committee and to secure from Subcommittee counsel
confidential information, i. e., the identity of the Sub-

committee's confidential informants, information
which would have provided considerable indication of
their identity, and information as to the manner in
which the Subcommittee secured confidential informa-
tion. As we show in our briefs in Shelton, supra, pp.
59-60, and Liveright, supra, pp. 51-57, a witness who
refuses to answer questions before a Congressional
committee is not entitled to disclosure of the files of
the committee, either directly or by cross-examination
of a government witness, beforé he can be punished
for contempt. .

VIII

( Petitioner claims that his rights under the Fourth
and Fifth Amendments were violated. He cannot
raise this contention, however, since it was not raised
before the Subcommittee, at his trial, in the court of
appeals, or even in his petition for certiorari. In

— ; ; 4

any event, the Fourth Amendment does not apply te
subpoenas to testify as opposed to subpoenas duces

tecum (see our brief in Shelton, supra, pp. 43-46).

Similarly, the due process clause of the Fifth Amend-
ment is not relevant. But even if the Fourth
Fitch Amendments do apply, they requi

First Amendment as construed in Barenblatt, supra,
FFC
able basis for believing that the witness has infor-
mation 6¢ value to the investigation (see our brief in
Shelton, pp. 46-48, 50-55). Here, the Subcommittee
had considerable information that petitioner, admit-

tedly a newspaperman, had been engaged i in Commu-

nist activities.
ARGUMENT

Petitioner was convicted of refusing to answer eight.

questions asked him by a Congressional committee con-
cerning the Communist Party—whether he was at that
time a member of the Communist Party (count 1);
whether he had ever attended Communist meetings
(count 2); ; whether he knew Marcella Hitschmannova
(count 3); whether he had flown considerable mile-
age in Latin America (count 4) ; whether he, along with
another person, had flown a privately-owned plane
in South America (count 5) ; who had accompanied him
on a lengthy flight i in Latin America (count 6); when
he had made the lengthy trip to Latin America (count
1); and whether he had ever been a member of the Com-
munist Party (count 8). Since this Court has upheld
the constitutional validity of the questions involved in
counts 1 and 8 (Barenblatt v. United States, 360 U.S.
109, 114-115, 128 at note 25), and since their perti-

—

19 —

nency is particularly clear (id. at 125), we will stress
these two questions. Petitioner was given a general
sentence and a fine on all eight counts which was less
than the maximum authorized by 2 U.S.C. 192 under
any one count; therefore, the judgment below must be
affirmed if any one of the counts is valid. E. g.,
Barenblatt v. United States, 360 U.S. at 115 In
addition, we submit that petitioner was properly
convicted on all eight counts.
“= 1
THE RESOLUTIONS ESTABLISHING AND CONTINUING THE
SENATE SUBCOMMITTEE ON INTERNAL SECURITY AU-

THORIZED THE SUBCOM MITTEE TO INVESTIGATE COM-
MUNIST ACTIVITIES IN THE UNITED STATES

Petitioner claims (Pet. Br. 34-36) that the reso-
lution authorizing the Internal Security Subeom-
— mittee is “unconstitutionally vague.“ As we show
in our brief in Liveright v. United States, No. 11,
this Term, pp. 19-28, however, this, Subeommittee has
been authorized to investigate Communist activities.
S. Res. 366, 81st Cong., 2d Sess.; S. Res. 58, 84th
Cong., Ist Sess. Therefore, the Subcommittee was —
authorized to question petitioner concerning the sub.

ject under inquiry when petitioner, testified—+.c.,
Communist infiltration of news mesh (se infra,
pp. 26-27). (
Petitioner suggests (Pet. Br. 36) that, whatever
scope Senate Resolution 366 may have, it does not au-
thorize an investigation of Communist activities in news
media. A similar contention was raised in Barenblatt
that Rule XI relating to the House Un-American Ac-
tivities Committee did not include Communist activities
in eld of education. This contention, however, was

: <—

20

rejected ause the Court found that, In ot only is
there no i tion that the House ever viewed the field
of education as being outside the Committee’s authority
under Rule XI, but the legislative history affirma-
tively evinces House approval of phase of the
Committee’s work (360 U.S. at 121). The Court
then noted that the Committee had conducted pre-
vious investigations in education,

There are at least as strong reasons for not carv-
ing an exception for Communist, activities in news
media out of the Subcommittee¥ pervasive authority
to investigate Communist activities. First, the news
media are no more within the protection of the First
Amendment than is college education. Indeed, the
concurring opinion in Sweezy v. New Hampshire, 354
U.S. 234, 261-263, indicated that college education is
perhaps a particularly sensitive area. Thus, there is
no, constitutional reason why the language and history
of Senate Resolution 366, giving authority to the
Subcommittce to investigate Communist activity gen-
erally, should not be applied to include what is logi-
cally a portion of this general subject, Communist
activities in the news media.

Second, as in Barenblatt, the legislative history of
Senate Resolution 366 and its successors shows that
the Senate approved this phase of the Subcommit-
tee’s work. The Subcommittee had earlier conducted
investigations of Communist activities in areas closely
related to the subject of investigation here—Com-
munist activities in the fields of radio and television,
in the field of education, and in propaganda (see our
brief in Liveright, pp. 26-27, note 6). After the

2

2

investigation involved here, the Subcommittee in 1955
conducted hearings entitled “Communist Activity in
Mass Communications,” which inquired into “the
question, among others, of whether Communists are
active under cover of accreditation of the United Na-
tions as correspondents and otherwise.” Hearings,
Subeommittee to Investigate the Administration tof
the Internal Security Act and other Internal Secu-
rity Laws of the Committee on the Judiciary, United
States Senate, Communist Activity in Mass Commu- _
nications, 85th Cong: 2d Sess., p. 1. And, of course,
the Subcommittee heard the testimony of Winston
Burdett (see supra, p. 4) and conducted the hear-
ings involved in this case, both of which involved Com-
munist activities in the communications field.
Subsequent to, and with full knowledge of, all these
investigations, the Senate has passed resolutions au-
thorizing the Subcommittee to continue its investiga-
tions and providing appropriations fer this purpose
(see our brief in Liveright, supra, pp. 27-28). In-
deed, in 1956 (shortly after the hearing involved
here), the Senate extended the life of the Subcommit-
tee with the same jurisdiction and appropriated a

large sum (S. Res. 174, 84th Cong., 2d Sess.) on the

basis of the Subcommitfte’s 1955 Report. See S.
Rept. 1385, 84th Cong., 2d Sess. That report de-
scribed Winston Burdett’s testimony concerning
Communist infiltration of the press and ated that
“subsequent hearings confirmed his testimony and pro-
vided new information on such infiltration into vari-
ous New York newspapers (id. at p. 4). The report

2
then said It Ihe subcommittee’s investigation, which
was set in motion by Mr. Burdett’s revelations, had
not been completed at the end of 1955 (ibid.).
4
Ii

. PETITIONER CANNOT CLAIM FOR THE FIRST TIME AT HIS
TRIAL THAT UNDER THE LEGISLATIVE REORGANIZATION

40 OF 1946 EZ COULD NOT PROPERLY
HOLD THE AT WHICH HE APPEARED. EVEN IF
‘PETITIONER © MAKE THIS CONTENTION, SENATE

Petitioner asserts (Pet. Br. 43-44) that the Sub-
committee when he appeared before it was not a
competent tribunal because the Legislative Reorgan-
ization Act of 1946 (see Pet. Br. 46) provides that
“[nJo standing committee of the Senate * shall
sit, without special leave, while the Senate * * * is
in session.“ This contention is without merit.

A. First, as we have shown in our briefs in Shelton
v. United States, No. 9, this Term, pp. 25-29, and
Liveright v. United States, supra, pp. 29-32, a wit-
ness before 2 Congressional committee is not entitled
to raise objections to the procedures followed by the
committee at his trial for eontempt which he has not
raised before the committee itself. See United States
v. Bryan, 339 U.S. 323, 330-335; Emspak v. United
States, 203 F. 2d 54, 56 (C. A. D. C.), reversed on other
grounds, 349 U.S. 190. Here, petitioner’s refusal to
answer the questions asked by the Subcommittee was
based on precisely the same statement of legal argu-
ment and authorities relied on by the petitioner in
Tiveright. In neither case did the witness even sug-

—

— 23 ”
gest any objection to the authority of the Subeom-
mi tee (see supra, p. 6).*

B. In any event, we have shown in our brief in
Liveright, supra, pp. 32-33, that petitioner’s conten-
tion under the Legislative Reorganization Act of
1946—that the Subcommittee could not hold the
hearing while the Senate was in session—is without
merit.

THE SUBCOMMITTEE’S INVESTIGATION DID NOT VIOLATE
THE FIRST AMENDMENT

Petitioner claims (Pet. Br. 37-43) that the Sub-
committee’s investigation violated his rights under the
First Amendment. As we have demonstrated, how-
ever, in our brief in Shelton, supra, pp. 48-50, which
involved the same investigation and hearings, pe-
titioner’s contention is without merit. Here, as in
Shelton, the Subcommittee was investigating Com-
munist infiltration of news media, not the news media
themselves (see infra, pp. 26-27). All the questions
asked petitioner plainly related to Communist
activities.“ a

If petitioner had objected when he appeared before the
Subcommittee, the Subcommittee could have easily met his
objections by simply holding the hearing when the Senate
was not in session.

* Petitioner contends (Pet. Br. 40) that the 88
could have had no valid legislative purpose when it subpoe-
naed him since it could not constitutionally pass legislation
barring Communists from being newspapermen or regulating
the conient of newspapers. Even if such legislation would be
unconstitutional, however, petitioner’s two suggested statutes
are clearly not the only legislation which can result from an
investigation of Communist activity in news media either
alone or particularly when combined with investigations of
Communist activity in other fields.

53 Iv 39
PETITIONER, HAVING -FAILED TO CHALLENGE THE PERTI-
NENCY OF THE QUESTIONS BEFORE THE SUBCOM MITTEE,
CANNOT. CLAIM AT HIS TRIAL THAT HE WAS Nor gv
FICIENTLY APPRISED OF THE SUBJECT UNDER INQUIRY
AND THE PERTINENCY OF THE QUESTIONS. THE QUES-
TIONS PETITIONER REFUSED TO ANSWER WERE PERTI-
NENT TO THE SUBJECT UNDER INQUIRY
Petitioner contends (Pet. Br. 22-27) that (1) the
Subcommittee failed to apprise him when he appeared
before it of the subject under inquiry and the perti-
nency of the questions he refused to answer to this
subject; and (2) the government failed to prove at his
trial what the subject under inquiry was and the per-
tinency of the questions he refused to answer to this
subject. ?

4. PETITIONER FAILED TO CHALLENGE THE PERTINENCY OF THE
QUESTIONS ON WHICH HE WAS CONVICTED BEFORE THE son-
OCOMMITTER AND THEREFORE CANNOT CLAIM AT HIS TRIAL THAT
HE WAS NOT APPRISED OF THEIR PERTINENCY

In our brief i in Shelton, supra, pp. 25-29, we show
that a witness before a Congressional committee can-
not claim that the committee has failed to apprise.
him of the / subject under inquiry and the pertinency
of the questions asked him to this subject unless he
raises the issue of pertinency before the committee
itself. Barenblatt v. United States, supra, 360 U.S.
at 123-124; Deutch v. United States, 367 U.S. 456,
469. He cannot wait. until trial to raise an objection |
which the committee could easily remedy. 4
Petitioner failed to object before the Subcommittee
on grounds of pertinency to the questions on which he
was indicted and convicted. Earlier, in refusing to
answer a question on which he was not indicted, he

25 *

inquired of the Subcommittee why this question is
put“ (J. A. 18). We doubt, however, that this ob-
jection raises the issue of pertinency with the clarity
required by the Barenblatt and Deutch decisions (see
our brief in Shelton, supra, pp. 28-29). Moreover,
this objection was not repeated or even suggested
when petitioner refused to answer the questions which
are involved here. Instead, he relied entirely on his
lengthy legal memorandum (Gov. Ex. 3; J. A. 25-
34)—which raised only constitutional objections based
on the First Amendment, separation of powers, and
the ex post facto and bill of attainder clauses—and
in addition on his oral claim that the Subcommittee
had no valid legislative purpose (J. A. 23, 35, 36, 38).
The only suggestion of an objection to pertinency mm
du rand is the statement in petitioner’s
memorandum that petitioner “might wish to * * *
challenge the pertinency of the question to the inves-
tigation“ (J.A. 33). Considering the very same
statement in a substantially similar legal memoran-
dum, this Court held in Barenblatt that the issue of
pertinency is not properly raised by statements of a
witness which “constituted but a contemplated objec-
tion to questions still unasked, and buried as they
were in the context of [the witness’] general chal-
lenge to the power of the Subcommittee * * (360
U.S. at 124). Therefore, here, as in Barenblatt, the
witness failed “to trigger what would have been the
Subcommittee’s reciprocal obligation’’ to explain the

pertineney of the questions, and the witness is fore-

Ses the record in Barenblatt v. United States, No. 35, Oct.
Term, 1958, pp. 227-235.

-

closed from raising the issue for the first time in the
contempt proceeding.

B. THE QUESTIONS PETITIONER REFUSED TO ANSWER WERE IN FACT
PERTINENT

We submit that the government sufficiently proved
at the trial that the subject under inquiry when peti-
tioner testified was Communist activity in news media
by introducing the transcript. of the hearings on
January 4, 5, and 6, 1956 (Gov. Ex. 8). At the be-
ginning of the hearings on January 4, the Chairman
of the Subcommittee indicated that the purpose
of the hearings was to investigate this subject (see
supra, pp. 7-8). Senator Hennings, another mem-
ber of the Subcommittee, reiterated that the Com-
mittee is interested in the extent and nature of
so-called Communist infiltration if such exists, into
any news-dispensing agency’’ and the investigation
was an effort on the part of this Committee to
show such participation and such attempt as may be
disclosed on the part of the Communist Party in the
United States or elsewhere, indeed, to influence or 3
to subvert the American press (see supra, p. 3).
Again, on January 6, the day after petitioner testi-
fied, the Chairman stated that the hearings were di-
rected to investigating infiltration of persons
identified as Communists into news agencies (Gov.
Ex. 8, p. 1717). And Senator Hennings said (id. at
p. 1718):

I think that no one will quarrel with nor
take issue with the fact that this committee
has the right to inquire into all efforts, or
indeed, all consummations of efforts of the

—— em,

27

Communist Party to infiltrate newspapers or
other media of communication.
All eighteen witnesses who testified at the hear-

ings on January 4, 5, and 6, 1956, worked in the news

media field.

In addition, the Subcommittee counsel testified at
petitioner’s trial that the information the Subcom-
mittee possessed which caused petitioner to be sub-
poenaed included information that petitioner was a
newspaperman and that he had participated in sev-
eral Communist activities. These activities included
running on the Communist-supported Rank, and
File“ slate for vice-president of the New York News-
paper Guild, which had been infiltrated by Commu-

nists (see supra, p. 5). The first question which -

petitioner refused to answer (although he was not
indicted for this refusal) concerned whether he had
been a candidate for vice-president of the Guild on
the “Rank and File” slate (see supra, p. 9). When
petitioner asked why this question is put,“ the Sub-
committee counsel answered: ‘‘The question is put
to qualify you as a person of whom we can ask
questions with respect to the persons who were on
that slate and the manner in which that slate was
supported (J. A. 18).

At petitioner’s trial, his counssi acknowledged, al-
though he used varying descriptive terms, that the
subject under inquiry which the government had
proved was Communist infiltration of the press.
Thus, he said that the subject was the press (Tr.
245, 246, 259); *Communiste E infiltrate

mass communication media in the United States

of

N *

; 28

(Tr. 259); and “the newspapers and Communism in
the newspaper field” (Tr. 289). Indeed, counsel stated
that it is “crystal-clear that what this subcommittee
was interested in was to determine whether there
were Communists working in the press (Tr. 340).
It was on the basis of these facts that the defense
argued that the questioning of petitioner violated
freedom of the press guaranteed by the First Amend-
ment (Tr. 245-266) and that Congress was not act-
ing pursuant to a legislative purpose because it .can-
not “legislate concerning the content of the =.
(Tr. 245-266, 440-342).

The first two questions and the last question on
which petitioner was convicted were pertinent on
their face to the subject of. Communist activities in
news media. These questions were whether petitioner,
who was admittedly a newspaper reporter (J.A. 17),
was at that time a member of the Communist Party
(count 1); whether he had ever attended Communist
meetings (count 2); and whether he had ever been

*a member of the Communist Party (count 8). As
Court said in Barenblatt, supra, where a Con-
ional committee was investigating Communist

infiltration of education: ‘‘petitioner refused to

answer questions as to his own Communist Pasty
affiliati “whose pertinency was of course r
bey: oubt. 360 U.S. at 125.“ As we have noted

(see pp: 18-19), if these questions alone were perti-

The other questions on which petitioner was convicted
clearly related to Communist activities (see supra, pp. 5, 10-
12). The record, however, does not show that they related to
Communist activities in news media.

Be: 5

nent, petitioner’s conviction must be upheld since he
was given a general sentence on all counts.
Petitioner, however, emphasizes (Pet. Br. 25) that

the Subcommittee counsel ‘expressly disclaimed that

‘Communist infiltration into the field of communica-
tions’ was the subject of hearings. This statement,
which was made to another witness (Gov. Ex. 8,
p. 1616), cannot overcome the clear’ statements—

made both before and after counsel’s brief remark—

by both the Chairman of the Subcommittee and Sena-
tor Hennings that Communist infiltration of news
media was the subject under inquiry. 2
Petitioner also contends (Pet. Br. 25-26) that the
Subeommittee counsel stated at the hearings (also
to another witness) (Gov. Ex. 8, p. 1652) and.
the Assistant United States Attorney argued at
petitioner’s trial (J. A. 130-133) that the purpose of
the investigation was to investigate Communist ac-
tivities generally. As we have shown in our brief
in Shelton, supra, p. 36, the subject of Communist
activities in news media is merely a portion of the
broader subject of Communist activities generally.
Thus, when the Subcommittee counsel and the As-
sistant United States Attorney stated that the Sub-
committee was investigating Communist activities

generally, this did not preclude proof that it was

simultaneously investigating Communist activities in
news media.“ Moreover, if there wus an inconsistency

The other statements made by the Subcommittee counsel
at petitioner's trial, on which petitioner relies (Pet. Br. 24),
similarly do not help his position. They say merely that
(1) the Subcommittee was investigating “several allied fields”
of Communist activity (J.A. 54) (which is consistent with

30

* *

between the ambiguous testimony at the trial by the
Subcommittee counsel and the clear statements at the
hearings by the Chairman and another member of the,
Subcommittee, the latter evidence is clearly con-
trolling. And if there is any inconsistency between
the ambiguous statements of the Assistant Urfited
States Attorney at petitioner’s trial and the clear
statements of the Subcommittee members at the hear-
ings, certainly it is the evidence introduced by the
government, not the government’s characterization of
this evidence, which is controlling. pipes

Furthermore, even if petitioner were correct and
the subject under inquiry was Communist activities in
the United States generally, the government proved
the pertinency of all eight questions on which peti-
tioner was conyicted. All eight, either on their face
or as shown by the explanations to petitioner at
the hearing and the testimony of the Subcommittee
counsel at petitioner’s trial (see supra, pp. 5, 10-12),
were directly related to Communist activities. And as
we indicate in our brief in Liveright, supra, pp. 42-44,
this Court has never required that a Congressional
committee investigate only one narrowly defined sub-
ject at a given time. It is enough that the com-
mittee have a subject under inquiry and that the
the subject stated by the Subcommittee of Communist ac-
tivity in news media); (2) that “strategy and tactics of
World Communism” is the general subject which the Sub-
committee had been investigating and it was affixed as an
editorial title to the transcript of these and other hearings
(JA. 61-62) (a subject of which Communist activity in news
‘media is a part); and (3) that the authority of the Subcom-
mittee includes any organization, including the Communist
Party, attempting to overthrow the government of the United
States by force (d. A. 84-85).

31 +

questions which a witness is asked W pertinent to
this subject.
V

PETITIONER WAS NOT ENTITLED TO DISMISSAL OF THE IN-
DICTMENT OR A HEARING, ON THE BASIS OF BROAD

ALLEGATIONS THAT GOVERN MENT EMPLOYEES GENERALLY ~

ARE BIASED sites. ©

Petitioner contends (Pet. Br. 44-45) that the indict-
ment should have been dismissed because the grand
jury included government employees who were biased
against him because ef the government’s loyalty and
security programs. Alternatively, petitioner argues
that he was entitled to a hearing in the district court
to allow him to prove bias: As we have shown, how-
ayer, in our brjef in Shelton v. United States, supra,
pp. 62-64, a defendant is not entitled to dismissal of
the indictment merely because government employees
were on the grand jury. We have also argued in our
brief in Shelton (pp. 64-76) that a defendant is en-
titled to a hearing to inquire into the activities and
beliefs of grand jurors—even if we assume, contrary
to the holdings of numerous cases, that a defendant is
sometimes entitled to such a hearing—only when he
alleges specific and convincing evidence of strong bias
in individual grand jurors. Here, however, as in Shel-
ton (see our brief in Shelton, pp. 76-78), petitioner’s
Motion to Dismiss the Indictment (J.A. 3-7) and
accompanying affidavit (which is virtually identical
with that in Shelton; see the record in No. 9, this
Term, pp. 4-8) ' did not allege bias or fear with re-

»The affidavit is identical-with that submitted to the trial
court by the petitioner in Liveright v. United States, supra.

5

gard to any individual grand juror and did not even
state any specific evidence of fear or intimidation
among government employees generally resulting
from the security program which petitioner would
show if a hearing were granted. In these circum-
stances, the trial court properly refused to grant
petitioner a hearing to conduct a general exploration
of the motives and beliefs of the grand jurors.

VI

THE INDICTMENT WAS NOT REQUIRED TO SPECIFY THE SUB-
JECT UNDER INQUIRY OR THE PERTINENCY OF THE QUES-
TIONS TO THIS SUBJECT, OR TO ALLEGE THAT PETITION-
ER’s REFUSAL TO ANSWER WAS WILFUL, OR TO STATE THE
DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY FROM THE PARENT’ COMMIT-
TEE TO THE SUBCOMMITTEE

The indictment upon which petitioner was convicted
alleged that the questions petitioner refused to an-
swer ‘‘were pertinent to the question then under in-
‘ quiry” and that “the defendant unlawfully refused_
to answer those pe nt questions (J.A.1)>~ Peti- —
tioner claims (Pet. Br. 15-20) that the indictment was
invalid because it failed (1) to specify the subject
under inquiry when petitioner testified, (2) to specify
the pertinency of the questions he refused to answer to
this subject, (3) to allege that his refusal to answer
was wilful ; and (4) to state the delegation of authority
from the parent Judiciary Committee to the Subcom-

As we have shoWn-in our brief in Shelton v. United
States, supra, pp. 78-83, petitioner’s contention that
the indictment was required to state the specific sub-
» Jeet under inquiry is inconsistent with Rule 7(e) of

33 —

the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure and with

decisions both of this Court and the courts of appeals.

For the same reasons, an indictment which states that

the questions are pertinent to the subject under in-
quiry need not provide the specific reasoning under-

lying this allegation of pertineney. As to petitioner’ ~

contention that the indictment was required to state

that his refusal to answer was wilful, we have shown
in our brief in Liveright v. United States, supra

pp. 50-51, that it is sufficient if, as here, the indiet-
ment alleges that the witness has “unlawfully. N
fused to answer.

Petitioner also contends that the indictment was
invalid because it did not state that the Judiciary
Committee had authorized the Subcommittee to act
and did not give the basis of this authority. Peti-
tioner, however, did not raise this issue in his petition
for a.writ of certiorari (see Pet. 3, 13). Therefore,
under Rule 40(1)(d) (2) of the Rules of this Court,
the issue is not properly before the Court unless per-
haps it constitutes “plain error.“ We submit that
not only is there no plain error, but that ti indict-
ment was plainly valid.

The indietment alleged that the hearings were being
conducted by “a Subcommittee of the Judici. iry Com-
mittee “Pursuant to * * * Senate Resolution 306 of
the 81 Congress and 58 of the Sith Congress“
(J.A. 1), which authorize the Judiciary Committee
or one of its subcommittees to investigate Communist
activities (see our brief in Liveright supra, pp. 19-
28). Thus, the indictment clearly implies that the
Judiciary Committee authorized the Subcommittee
to investigate Communist activities.

*

Certainly, it is not necessary under Rule 7) of
the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure—which

states that the indictment “shall be a plain, concise
and definite written statement of the essemtial facts

constituting the offense charged’’—to allege the spe-
eifie resolution of the parent committee authorising
the subcommittee’: investigation. We know of no
indictment under 2 U.8.C. 192 which makes such an
allegation and yet, as far as we or petitioner have
been able to ascertain, no court has dismissed an
indictment on this ground. The only case cited by
petitioner (Pet. Br. 19-20), United States v. Lamont,
236 F. 2d 312, 315-336 (C.A. 2), holds merely that
the indictment must state the authority of the parent

" Fetitioner sleo claims (Pet. Br. 15-16) thet the indict-
ment was defective in that “it merely stated the offense in the
generic term of the statute *

‘
|
a

—

*
35

poena the Subcommittee’s file and its refusal to allow
him to cross-examine the Subcommittee counsel con-
cerning the information on which the Subcommittee
subpoenaed petitioner.

Petitioner's motion to subpoena the records of the

Subcommittee (J.A. 8-10) asked, inter alia, for the
production of all written information in the files of
the Judiciary Committee or the Subcommittee (in-
cluding confidential material) related to petitioner
and Marcella Hitschmannova. The trial court
granted the government’s motion te quash (J.A. 49).
In addition, during his cross-examination of the Sub-
committee counsel, petitioner’s counsel asked for the
witness to produce’ materials he had concerning an

airplane ffight by petitioner outside the United

States, on which, according to the information of the
Subcommittee, he was accompanied by a Communist
Party courier (J.A. 97; see J.A. 54-55). This request
was denied on the ground it sought the disclosure
of confidential information .(J.A. 97). In addition,
petitioner’s counsel renewed his motion, which was
again denied, for all material in the Subeommittee s
files relating to Marcella Hitschmannova (J.A. 97).
Petitioner sought, through these motions, to obtain
evidence showing the absence of probable cause to
subpoena petitioner and the lack of any legislative
purpose in the hearings (J.A. 48).

The Subcommittee counsel testified on direct exam-
ination concerning the information possessed by
the Subcommittee which was the basis for subpoena-
ing petitioner (J.A. 51-55, 65). Petitioner's counsel

cross-examined him extensively on this subject (J. A.

83-104). He received answers stating that the infor-
mation received by the Subcommittee relating to Mar-
cella Hitschmannova was both oral and written; that
the oral information was received shortly before the
executive session ; that the Subcommittee had received
othéF oral information concerning Miss Hitschman-
nove over a year previously ; that the earlier informa-
tion came to someone else on the Subcommittee and
the later information to himself, the Subcommittee
counsel; that written information concerning Miss
Hitechmannova came to the Subcommittee more than
a year before the executive session; that the written
information had no signature; that the letter giving
Whelton (the petitioner in No. 9, this Term) did not
provide information as to petitioner here; that he
(tae Subsommittee counsel) knew the source of the
written material; ; that the information stated thut Miss
Hitschmannova had been a courier for the Communist
Furty in Europe; that the Subcommittee had oral
information concerning the contacts between her and
petitioner ; that this information was given to the
Subcommittee counsel directly ; that Miss Hitschman-
nova visited repeatedly the place where petitioner
lived; that she had been connected with the United
Nations; that petitioner had flown to Latin America
and had been accompanied by a Communist courier;
that this information was written; that the Subcom-
mittee had files showing that petitioner had run on
the Rank and File ticket for vice-president of the
New York Newspaper Guild; that there were public
allegations at the time of the election that the ticket

d.

37

.?

was supported by the Communist Party; and that he
(the Subcommittee counsel) did not know whether
petitioner was the William Price who had signed a
statement in 1941 in the Daily Worker defending the
Communist Party: The Subcommittee counsed re-
fused to answer only ten questions, all of which con-
cerned, the precise identity of the Subcommittee’s
confidential informants, information which would
have provided considerable indication of their iden-
tity, and information as to the manner in which the
Subcommittee secured confidential information (J A.
93-95, 98, 99, 100, 102). Thus, the only -questions
which the court allowed the Subcommittee counsel
not to answer would have disclosed confidential
The issue here, as in Shelton, supra, and Liveright,
supra, is whether a witness who refuses to answer
questions asked by a Congressional committee is en-
titled to the disclosure of the files of the committee,
either directly or by croés-examination of a govern-
ment witness, before he can be punished for contempt. —
As in those cases (see our briefs in No. 9, pp. 59-60,
and in No. 11, pp. 51-57), we submit that a witness
is not entitled to this disclosure merely in the hope
chat these files will impeach the witness’ testimony on
an issue which-is riot even an element of the offense.
In short, while this Court indicated in Barenblatt, 360
U.S. at 134, and Wilkinson v. United States, 365 U.S.
399, at 412, that a Congressional committee must pre-
sent information showing that it had a reasonable
basis for subpoenaing the witness, those cases did not
require that the information or reasons which caused

38

the Gpmmittee to subpoena the witness be subject to
plenary judicial review.

VIII
PETITIONER CANNOT CLAIM FOR THE FIRST TIME IN HIS
BRIEF THE MERITS IN THIS COURT THAT, SUB-
COMMITTEE VIOLATED HIS RIGHTS UNDER FOURTH

AND FIFTH AMENDMENTS SINCE IT DID NOF HAVE PROB-
ABLE CAUSE TO SUBPOENA HIM. IN ANY EVENT, PETI-
TIONER’S RIGHTS WERE NOT VIOLATED

Petitioner claims (Pet. Br. 20-21) that his rights
under the Fourth and Fifth Amendments were vio-
lated because the Subcommittee did not have probable
cause to believe that he had information pertinent
to its inquiry. Petitioner, however, never raised this
contention prior to filing his brief on the merits in
this Court. As we have shown in our brief in Shelton,
supra, pp. 41-43, his failure to raise this issue before
the “Subcommittee “ prevented him from raising it
when he was tried for contempt. He again waived
any contention he might have made—unless the error
was “obvious’’—by failing to raise the issue in the
district court or thé court of appeals. E.., United
States v. Atkinson, 297 U.S. 157, 159-160; United

. States v. Socony Vacuum Oil Co., 310 U.S. 150, 239;

Johnson v. United States, 318 U.S. 189, 200. And

_ © finally, he did n raise the issue in his petition for a

in this Court. Under Rule 40(1)

AL (d) (2) of the Rules of this Court he cannot raise the

& e in his brief on he merits unless there was “plain
7 error.” E. g., Kessler q. Strecker, 307 U.S. 22, 34.

i e submit that petitioner’s contention, far from

showing that his convietion was plainly erroneous, is

u See supra, pp. 6, 9, for the grounds on which petitioner
relied.

39

without merit. As we show in our brief in Sheiton,
supra, pp. 43-46, the Fourth Amendment does not
apply to subpoenas to testify as contrasted to sub-
poenas duces tecum. We further show (pp. 46-48)
that, even if the Fourth Amendment does apply, this
Court has held in Oklahoma Press Publishing Co. v.
Walling, 327 U.S. 186, that its restrictions on admin-
istrative subpoenas (with regard to subpoenas duces
tecum) are not nearly so strict as with regard to
arrests and searches and sejzures. The only require-
ments are that “the investigation is authorized by
Congress, is for a purpose Congress can order, and the
documents sought are relevant to the inquiry” (id. at
209). If the Fourth Amendment applies at all, we
submit that this standard is applicable to subpoenas
to testify as well as subpoenas duces tecum, and to
Congressional committees as well as executive agencies.

Even if the Fourth Amendment does not apply to
' subpoenas to testify, this Court has indicated in Bar-
enblatt v. United States, 360 U.S. 109, 134, Braden v.
United States, 365 U.S. 431, 433-435, and Wilkinson
v. United States, 365 U.S. 399, 412-413, that a Con-
gressional committee investigating Communist activi-
ties cannot, consistent with the First Amendment, sub-
poena a witness “as the result of an indiscriminate
dragnet procedure, lacking in probable cause for be-
lief that [the wi J. possessed information which
might be helpful to the subcommittee” (365 U.S. at
412). As we contend in our brief,in Shelton, pp. 50-
55, those cases clearly do not appli the standard of
probable cause for. arrests or searches and seizures.
Rather, they apply essentially the same standard as

40

was laid down for subpoenas duces tecum in the Okla-
homa Press case. |
Applying the above standards to the facts here,
the Committee clearly had reasonable grounds to be-
lieve that petitioner “possessed information which
might be helpful to the committee’’ and that was “rel-
evant to the inquiry. The Subcommittee counsel
testified in considerable detail concerning informa-
tion possessed by the Subcommittee as to Communist
activities in which petitioner engaged (see supra, p.
5). Thus, the Subcommittee had information that
petitioner, admittedly a newspaperman, had run as a
candidate for vice-president of the New York News-
paper Guild, which had been infiltrated by Com-
munists, on the Communist-supported ticket; that
petitioner had received numerous visits up until the
time of the hearing from Marcella Hitschmannova,
who was believed to be a Communist courier and
otherwise active in the Communist movement for
years; and that petitioner had flown an airplane to
Latin America accompanied by a courier for the
mittee had no direct information that petitioner was
a member of the Communist Party, it had basis for
Communist activities in the United States and, more
specifically, coneerning the subject under inquiry
when petitioner testified, i. e., Communist activities in
news media.

As to petitioner’s claim under the Fifth Amend-
ment, he expressly did not claim that his answers
would incriminate him (J.A. 21). Apparently, peti-

5

*

41

tioner is relying on the due process elause. But he
cites no authority for the proposition that this clause
limits the power of Congressional committees to issue
subpoenas to testify. In any event, it certainly pro-
vides no stricter a standard than that provided by the
Fourth Amendment (if it applies) and by the First
Amendment—that is, whether the committee has rea-
sonable basis for believing that the witness has infor-
mation of value in its investigation. And, as we have
‘seen, the Subcommittee had such information here.

For the foregoing reasons, we respectfully submit
that the judgment of the court of appeals should be
affirmed.

ARCHIBALD Cox,
Solicitor General.
J. WALTER Yeaiey®
Assistant Attorney General.
Bruce J. TRS,
Assistant to the Solicitor General.
Kevin T. Maroney,
LEE B. ANDERSON,

Attorneys.
NoOvEMBER 1961.

© S GOVFRNEERT PRIGTING OFFICE: 19461

—
~

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386410_0093%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
