# Brief and Argument of Respondentm — Hamilton v. Alabama

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386410_0037%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief and Argument of Respondentm
- **Published:** January 1, 1961
- **Citation:** 368 U.S. 52

## Text

hee tae Oftice-Surreme Court, U.S.
‘ dais FILED

OCT¢ 1961
SURES & BRTYITING, Cler

In the

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1961

No. 32

CHARLES CLARENCE HAMILTON,
Petitioner,
versus
STATE OF ALABAMA
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA
BRIEF AND ARGUMENT OF RESPONDENT

MacDonald Gallion

Atterney General
State of Alabama

(ieorge D. Mentz

Assistant Attorney General
State of Alabama

State Capitol
Montgomery 4, Alabama

Counsel for Respondent

INDEX
Subject Index

Opinions Below _. ........
Jurisdiction
Questions Presented

Statute and Constitutional
Provisions Involved

Statement
A Suaniniiaary of Arguinent
Argument

Conclusion

Certificate

ii
CITATIONS
Cases : Page
Avery v. Alabama, 308 U.S. 444 000 6

Baker yv. State, 209 Ala. 142, 95 So. 467 00. 11

Betts v. Brady, 316 U. 8. 455 8, 8
Brown vy. Mississippi, 297 U.S. 278 00 6
Canizio v. New York, 327 U. &. 82 _....... 2... 8, 9
Council vo Clemmer, C.A.D.C. 1949, 177 F.

Be oc atas cca [On aED SURRY are tt TOON S
Crooker v. California, 357 U.S. 433, 4400000. 6.8
DeMaurez v. Swope, 9 Cir. 1939, 104 F. 2d 758 s
Ex Parte Seals, 271 Ala. 622, 126 So, 2d 474.0000... ks 7
Frank v. Mangum, 237 U. 8. 303 6
Gibbs v. Burke, 3387 U.S. 773 20... 8
Hamilton vy. Alabama, ........ oe a ee

ieee eea es | Sie atl ba rare ce RR =
Hamilton y. State, 270 Ala. 184, 116 So. 2d |

O06, cont. den. 308 U8. OS 6
Johnson v. Williams, 244 Ala. 391, 18 So. 2d

Ths ae me Ae Pees 7
Jones vy. Cochran, Ila. , 12a Ba. 2a 08... ? Ht)
McNeal v. Culver, 365 U.S. JST S.Ct. 4138,

5 L.Ed.2d = Satta tea eae nl a ame CO Stats 9
Madden v. Kentucky, 309 U.S. 83 so 6
Miller v. Texas, 153 U.S. 535 . 6
Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45 6. 9

Sheppard v. State, 257 Ala. 626, 60 So. 2d 329 11

iii

CITATIONS—( Continued }

Cases:

Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513

State v. Sullivan, 10 Cir. 1955, 227 F. 2d 511,
certiorari denied Braasch v. State of Utah,
300 U.S. 973 .

United States vy. Stevenson, D.C. D.C. 1959,
170 F. Supp. 315

Uveges v. Pennsylvania, 3385 U.S. 437

Williams v. Kaiser, 3823 U.S. 471

Constitution and Statutes:

Code of Alabama 1940: Title 14, Section 85
Title 15, Section 318
Title 15, Section 423

Constitution of the United States: lFour-
teenth Amendment

United States Code: Title 28, Section 1257

Page

ih

et eg e oe

In the

Supreme Court of the United States
-October Term, 1961

No. 32

CHARLES CLARENCE HAMILTON,
Petitioner,
versus

STATE OF ALABAMA

Respondent. -
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA
BRIEF AND ARGUMENT OF RESPONDENT

“f I
OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Alabama denying
petitioner's petition for leave to file an application for writ
of error corn nebis in the trial court is reported at 271
Ala. 88, 122 So. 2d 602, and is printed in R. pp. 27-35. An
earlier opinion of the same court affirming petitioner's judg-
ment of conviction is reported at 270 Ala. 184, 116 So. 2d
906 (See also Appendix A of petitioner's brief, pp- la - 10a),
and this Court's denial of certiorari is reported at 363. U. s.
852.

Il
JURISDICTION

Pursuant to Title 2, United States Code, Section 1257,

petitioner was granted a writ of certiorari by this Court on

January 9, 1961 to review the judgment of the Supreme

Court of Alabama, rendered on August 15, 1960, denying his

petition for leave to file an application for writ of error

coram nobis in the Circuit Court of Jefferson County, Ala-

bama (See “Opinions Below,” supra). Hamilton vr. Alabama,
UV. &......, 81.8. Ct. 388.

Ill
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether there is a violation of due process of jaw or
an impingement of fundamental rights by the Alabama Su-
preme Court's denial of a petition for leave te file an appli-
cation for writ of error coram nobis in the trial court when
the petition alleges that the petitioner pleaded not guilty toa
capital crime while not represented by counsel at his ar-
raignment on March 1, 1957, but it makes no showing or
effort to. show that petitioner was prejudiced or disadvan-
taged in any way by such absence of counsel at arraignment,
when the record shows that competent counsel, who was ap-
pointed to represent petitioner on Mareh 4, 1957, stated that
he would not have entered any different plea than the one of
not guilty which had heen entered by petitioner on March
1, 1957, and when the record shows that said counsel actively
represented petitioner at his trial on April 23, 1957.

2. Whether, under the total facts of the case and the
allegations and evidence presented by him to the Supreme
Court of Alabdma in his petition for leave to file an applica-
tion for writ of error coram nobis, this petitioner has estab-
lished the existence of such prejudice or disadvantage by
reason of his having been unassisted by counsel at arraign-
ment when he interposed a plea of not guilty to an indictment
charging him with a capital crime as to warrant this Court's

finding that an ingredient of fundamental unfairness actively

3
operated in the processcthat resulted in his conviction and
death sentence and that, ax a consequence, he was denied
due process of law.

IV

STATUTE AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
INVOLVED

Code of Alabama 1940: Title 14, Section 85
Title 15, Seetion 318
Title 15, Section 42:

Constitution of the United States: Fourteenth Amend-
ment

United States Code: Title 28, Section 1257

7
STATEMENT

The pertinent facts of this case are set out in detail in
the opinions of the Supreme Court of Alabama cited in
“Opinions Below,” supra, but, briefly, they are as follows:

The offense of which petitioner stands convicted occurred
on October 12 or 13, 1956 (R. p. 1; Appendix A, petitioner's
brief, p. 2a); on November 9, 1956 the grand jury of Jeffer-
son County, Alabama, returned a one-count indictment
charging petitioner with the offense of burglary of an in-
habited dwelling in the nighttime with intent to steal (R. pp.
1, 28); on January 4, 1957, while represented by competent
(R. p. 35) court-appointed counsel, Honerable Clell [. May-
field, petitioner was arraigned on that indictment and plead-
ed not guilty (R. pp. 1, 4, 13); on February 12, 1957, a second
indictment, consisting of two counts, was returned against
petitioner, the first count charging burglary of an inhabited

4

dwelling in the nighttime with intent to teal, and the second
count charging burglary of an inhabited dwelling in the
nighttime with intent to ravish. (R. pp. 2.28).

Both the first and second indictments arose out of the same
transaction (R. p. 28), and Mr. Mayfield, who considered
himself as representing petitioner for the second case and was
aware of the fact that a second arraignment would be had ona
day certain (R. pp. 13, 14, 28), did not attend the second ar-
raignment because he wax of the opinion that it was a mere
formality and that his presence would not be necessary since a
plea of not guilty would again be entered (R. p. 13) ; on March
1, 1957, while unattended by any counsel, petitioner was ar-
raigne! upon the second ipdictment and pleaded not guilty
(R. pp. 2, 4. 28); on March 4, 1957, in order that he might
receive his fee for the second case, Mr. Mayfield was again
appointed to represent petitioner (R. pp. 4, 15); on April
23, 1957, while actively represented by Mr. Mayfield (See
record filed with the petition for writ of certiorari, No. 1026
Mise., October Term, 1959), petitioner wax tried by a jury,
wax found guilty of the second count of the second indict-
ment, and was sentenced to suffer death (See record filed
with the petition for writ of certiorari, No. 1026 Mise.,
October Term, 1959); on April 24, 1957 the first indictment
was nolle prossed (R. pp. 1, 4); under the automatic appeal
statute the judgment was reviewed and affirmed by the Su-
preme Court of Alabama, and certiorari was denied by this
Court (See “Opinions Below,” supra).

Subsequenjly, petitioner filed in the Supreme Court of
Alabama a petition for leave to file an application for writ of
errer coram nobis in the Circuit Court of Jefferson County,
Alabama, alleging, inter alia, that he was without counsel on
March 1, 1957 when he was arraigned and pleaded not guilty,
lut said petition contained no showing or effort to show that
he was prejudiced or disadvantaged in any way by the ab-
sence of counsel when he was arrainged and entered his plea

of not guilty (Ro pp. 1-3, 359; the petition for writ of error
coram nobis was denied by the Supreme Court of Ababa
and, upon timely petition therefor, this Court granted a writ
of certiorari to review the state court's judgment (See “Opin-

ions Below.” supray.

VI
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

To warrant a state court’s issuance of the extraordinary
writ of error coram nobis, based on an indigent accused's
allegation that he pleaded net guilty te a capital charge
while not represented by counsel at his arraignment, the
petition must make a showing of or at least, proffer evidence
that petitioner, whe shorth: after arraignment and during
his subsequent trial was assisted by competent counsel, suf-
fered substantial prejudice or disadvantage as a result of

the absence of counsel when he entered lis plea.

The total record in this case clearly demonstrates that
petitioner was not se “taken advantage of” as te violate due
process of law.

VII
ARGUMENT

1.

The Supreme Court of Alabama has stated, in effect, that
in petitioner's case there was a violation of Code of Alabama
1940, Title 15, Section 318 (Ro p. 20; petitioner's brief po 3),
providing that the trial court must appoint counsel to rep-
resent an indigent person who is charged with a capital crime.
Had petitioner, on the appeal from the judgment of his con-
viction, been able to attack successfully the trial eourt’s
judgment entry which, as was subsequently developed by
competent evidence, incorrectly stated that he was repre-
sented by counsel at the time of his arraignment on March

6

1, 1957, conceivably his case might have been reversed and
remanded ; however, by the method employed, he was unable
to do this under Alabama law. Hamilton vr. State, 270 Ala.
184, 116 So. 2d 906, certiorari denied 363 U. 8. 852; Appendix
A, petitioner's brief, pp. 4a - 6a.

Therefore, said violation of state law should not
be cousidered in this proceeding because the juris-
diction of a federal court is limited to the determin-
ation of questions relating to the denial of rights under
the feierai constitution aud does not extend to the adjidica-
tion of nonfederal questions of state law. State v. Sullivan,
10 Cir. 1955, 227 F. 2d 511, certiorari denied Braasch v. State
of Utah, 350 U. 8. 973. This Court is not concerned with any
contravention of a state's statutes or constitution. Porell v.
Alabama, 287 U. 8S. 45; Williams v. Kaiser, 323 U. 8. 471;
Madden v. Kentucky, 309 U. 8. 8. A decision of a state
court resting on grounds of state procedure, which does not
offend some. principle of justice so rooted in the traditions
and conscience of our people as to be ranked as fundamental,
does not present a federal question. WSpeiser r. Randall,
357 U. S. 513; Avery r. Alabama, 308 U. 8. 444; Broicn v.
Mississippi, 297 U. 8S. 278; Miller v. Teras, 153 U. 8. 3385;
Frank v. Mangum, 237 U. 8. 309; Crooker vr. California, 357
U.S. 433, 440.

Having been unsuccessful in his appeal, petitioner sought
relief by applying for a writ of error coram nobis which,
under Alabama law, is available to a person who claims that
his conviction and sentence is due to failure to observe that
fundamental fairness essential to every concept of justice,
even after the judgment has been affirmed by the Supreme
Court of Alabama.

However, an application for a writ of error coram nobis
should make an adequate showing of the substantiality of the
petitioner's claim to the satisfaction of the state appellate
court. A mere naked allegation that a constitutional right

has been invaded will not suffice. The application should
make a full disclosure of the specific facts relied upon, and
not merely conclusions as to the nature and effect of such
facts. The proof must enable the.court to ascertain whether
under settled principles pertaining to such writ the facts
alleged would afford at least prima facie just ground for the
issuance of the writ. State appellate courts are authorized
to exercise their discretion in matters of this character and
should look into the reasonableness of the allegations of the
petition and to the existence of the probability of the truth

thereof. Johnson rv. Williams, 244 Ala. 391, 13 So. 2d 683; Eur
Parte Seals, 271 Ala. 622, 126 So. 2d 474.

This, then, brings into foeus the question of whether the
Supreme Court of Alabama erred in denying petitioner's
coram nobis petition which, in pertinent part, alleged that
counsel was not appointed to represent him until three days
after he, without benefit of counsel at his arraignment, had
pleaded not guilty to a capital crime, but which contained
no allegation and was not supported by any evidence that he
was prejudiced or disadvantaged in any way by such absence
of counsel at his arraignment ¢(R. pp. 1-7).

The state court grounded its denial of this petition on the
fact that there was no fundamental unfairness which would
violate due process of law inasmuch as the petition contained
no allegation or attempt to show that petitioner was preju-
diced or disadvantaged in any way by the absence of counsel
when petitioner interposed his plea of not guilty.

Such reasoning by the Supreme Court of Mlabama finds
support in the decisions of several federal courts dealing
with capital as well as non-capital cases. In Betts vr. Brady,
316 U.S. 455. a non-capital case, this Court indicated that
only if the defendant has been disadvantaged under the facts

shown to the court, denial of counsel is a denial of due

8

process, In Canizio r. New York, 327 U. 8. 82, it was held
that the constitutional right of an accused in a state court to
the assistanee of counsel will not be deemed to have been
infringed, so as to require the setting aside of his conviction
of robbery in the first degree, unarmed, upon his plea of
guilty, where, although he was without counsel when ar-
raigned and when he pleaded guilty, was unfamiliar with his
legal rights, and may not have been informed by the court of
his right te counsel, it appears that in long hearings during —
the day of sentence, he was actively repreacited by counsel,
whe could have moved to withdraw the plea of guilty, but
apparently thought that it would be to his client's best. in-
terests not to do so,

Almost invariably it is held that absence of counsel at
arraignment. does not constitute a violation of due process
“here the accused enters a plea of not guilty. Couwneil r.
Clemmer, C.A.DC. 1949, 177 F. 2d 22; De Maures cr. Nirope,
9 Cir. 1989, 104 F. 2d 758. This is particularly true where,
shortly after the unaided accused enters a plea of not guilty,
counsel is furnished for the preparation for his trial and for
his trial itself. (United States r. Stevenson, DCD. 1959,
170 F. supp. 315; State rv. Sulliran, 10 Cir, 1955, 227 PF. 2d
511, certiorari denied Braasch v. State of Utah, 350 U. 8. 973.
It is noteworthy that State r. Sulliran, supra, involved a cap-
ital crime in a state court.

”

The ultimate test is “fundamental unfairness” (Crooker
vr. California, 357 U.S. 433), and each ease must stand on its
own particular facts in a determination as to whether or not
lack of representation by counsel constitutes a denial of due
process, ('regea v. Pennsylrania, 335 U.S. 4387; Gibbs vr.
Burke, 337 U. 8. 773.) This court has stated that the test of

disadvantage ix ignorance, illiteracy, feeble-mindedness, or

other like inadequacy of the defendant which makes him
incapable of conducting his own defense in that particular
stage of the proceeding. Powell r. Alabama, 287 US. AD. The
defendant's lack of familiarity with his legal rights has been
wdded. Canizio r. New York, 327 Ul 8. 45. Later, the test
was expanded to include mental illness and inceapability of
questioning witnesses where highly complex legal issues are
involved. VeNeal vr. Culrer, 365 US 8. . BE 8. C't. $92.

In Jones vr. Cochran, 125 So. 2d 99, the Supreme Court
of Florida aptly stated:

“The necessity for the appointment of counsel in order
to meet Fourteenth Amendment requirements is’ in-
fluenced largely by the following factors: (1) the
gravity of the offense, (2) the nature and complexity of
the issue, (3) the age of the defendant. (4) his mental
capacity, (5) background, including education and
experience, (6) Knowledge of law and procedure and,
(7) the degree of protection given during the trial as
appears from the conduct of the Court or prosecuting
officials. 93 L.Ed. 149. No one of these factors alone
is decisive. As pointed out in Betts v. Brady, supra
(316 U.S. 455). it is necessary to appraise the totality
of the facts and decide whether the need for counsel is
so great that the deprivation of such assistance pro-
duces a fundamental unfairness.”

Applying these tests to the case at bar, it seems clear that
the Supreme Court of Alabama correctly denied petitioner's

coram nobis petition.

Admittedly, the offense was of the utmost gravity, but
the issues invelved were not complex. The record does not

reflect petitioner's age, but there is no claim made that he

10

was unusually young. Investigation by the State Board of
Pardons and Paroles reveals that he was not ignorant, il-
literate, or feeble-minded, having reached the eleventh grade
in school, and that two years thereafter he enlisted in the
United States Army in which he served from 1950 until Janu-
ary 1956 (See record filed with the petition for writ of
certiorari, No. 1026 Mise., October Term, 1959, p. 8). This
last mentioned record, pages 9 to 11, coupled with his long
military service, dispels petitioner's intimation that he was
insane or mentally ill. Pages 55 to 79 of the same record
also reflect petitioner's non-professional ability tu testify in
his own behalf and to question witnesses.

Respondent has no knowledge of petitioner's familiarity
with his legal rights, but he was present at his first arraign-
ment on January 4, 1957 when court-appointed counsel plead-
ed him not guilty to an indictment (R. pp. 1, 4, 13) which, in
part, was identical with the second indictment to which
petitioner, unaided by counsel, pleaded not guilty when ar-
raigned on March 1, 1957 (R. pp. 2, 4, 28). The second in-
dictment, as well as the first indictment, arose out of the
same transaction (R. p. 28). Petitioner received no ill treat-
ment at the hands of the trial judge or the prosecuting attor-
ney. Furthermore, it is reasonable to suppose that prior to
receiving his dishonorable discharge from the Army in Janu-
ary, 1956, petitioner was tried by a General Court-Martial at
which he was present and where he observed the legal pro-
ceedings (See record filed with the petition for writ of
certiorari, No. 1026 Mise., October Term, 1959, p. 8).

Counsel was reappointed to represent petitioner on March
4, 1957, three days after the second arraignment (R. pp. 4,

15). Counsel, whose competence is not questioned (R. p. 35),
explained why he considered it unnecessary for him to be
present at the second arraignment, and stated that had he
been present he, too, would have entered a plea of not guilty

a

11

(R. p. 13). Counsel actively represented petitioner at the
trial on April 23, 1957, which was approximately fifty days
after the second arraignment.

It might be argued that had petitioner been represented
by counsel at the second arraigninent, a motion for a change
of venue might have been filed. To this, respondent wishes to
point out that there was no claim made that the climate of
opinion in Jefferson County was such that petitioner coutd
not get a fair and impartial jury trial There is ne elviin
made that discrimination was practiced in the scleetion of
the grand or petit: juries. There is no claim imade that a
continuance would have benefited petitioner,

It miight be argued that had counsel been present. he
would have entered a plea of not gailty by reason of insanity.
True, Code of Alabama 140, Title 15, Section d23 eee Ap
pendix Ad, provides that such a plea must he interposed at
the time of arraignment, but the Alabama courts have held
that such a special plea, with the trial court's permission,
may be filed after arraignment. Baker ro Nfote, 200 Ala.
142. 95 So. 4675 Sheppard ro State, 257 Ala. G26. GO So. 2d
32. Counsel, who was appointed onty three days after pe-
titioner’s arraignment, considered him sane prior to and at
the time.of trial; only the affidavit of petitioner's first cousin,
once removed, dated May 23, 1957 and introduced in support
of a motion for new trial, intimates that counsel. after ob-
serving petitioner's erratic behavior at the trial, questioned
his sanity. There is no evidence that counsel considered pe-

titioner insane prior to the time of trial.

Finally, the petition for leave to file an application for
writ) of error coram nobis contained no allegation and of-
ferec, no evidence that petitioner bad been prejudiced or dis-
advantaged in any way by the absence of counsel at— his

arraignment.

12
Vill
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, respondent contends that the
judgment of the Supreme Court of Alabama should be af-
firmed.

Respectfully submitted,

MacDonald Giallion
Attorney General
State of Alabama

f George D. Ment:
Assistant Attorney General
State of Alabama

Counsel for Respondent

13 a =.
CERTIFICATE

This is to certify that 1, George D. Mentz, one of the at-
torneys for respondent and a member of the Bar of the Su-
preme Court of the United States, served two copies of the
foregoing Brief and Argument of Respondent on Orzell Bill-
ingsley, Jr. 1650 Fourth Avenue, North, Birmingham, Ala-
bama, one of the attorneys of record for petitioner, bby miail-
ing them in a properly addressed envelope, with first-class
postage prepaid, in the United States mail, and [also served
three copies of the foregoing Brief and Argument of Respond-
ent on Thurgood Marshall, 10 Columbus Circle, Suite 1790,
New York 19, New York. one of the attorneys of record for
petitioner, by mailing them in a properly addressed en-
Velope, with air mail postage prepaid in the United States
mail on the day of October, 1961.

Greorge TD). Ment:
Assistant Attorney General
State of Alabama
State Capitol
Montgomery 4, Alabama

14
APPENDIX
Codeof Alabama 1940, Title 15, Section 423, reads:

§ 423. (4573) (7176) (4939) INSANITY MUST BE SPE-
CIALLY PLEADED AS A DEFENSE FOR CRIME.—
When the defense of insanity is set up in any criminal
prosecution it must be by special plea, interposed at the
time of arraignment and entered of record upon the docket
of the court, which in substance shall be, “not guilty by
reason of insanity.’ Such plea shall not preclude the usual
plea of the general issue, which shall not, however, put in
issue the question of the irresponsibility of the accused by
reason of this alleged insanity, this question being triable
only under the special plea.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386410_0037%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
