# Amicus Curiae Brief — Butler v. Michigan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386408_0257%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1957
- **Citation:** 352 U.S. 380

## Text

\

f Texas

&.

~

Attorney General of 1

PHILIP SANDERS
State o,

<

Assistant Attorney General
of Texas
Attorneys for the

JOHN BEN SHEr>ERD

=
S

OF TEXAS, AMICUS CURIAE

_ BRIEF OF JOHN BEN SHEPPERD, ©
_ ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE STATE

SSNADRRTe SIA

INDEX

INTEREST OF THE STATE OF TEXAS.._.....

STATEMENT OF THE CASE... 2
DTI, ois iciclestihcinsinbitsieuiteicansinoronneitdbisigdaaialnsad 3
SERIE eae cee oe 4
a nie eanas 7
IEE SUI TI asccuticsicipamicgenlibigessonstiniarsieseseabiseehdldinnh 9
Ua TTITTNIIITITTcinsliciinioniienbonisisiintiioipiniliaapsenicgs 10

POI EAP Pc? wry + Wap NPR

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:
Connally v. General Construction Co., 269

Ex parte Jackson, 96 U.S. 727...
Gitlow v. New York, 268 U.S. 652... Sen:
Near v. Minnesota, 282 U.S. 697...
Queen v. Hicklin, L.R. 3 Q.B. 360_-

United States v. First Book Called
“Ulysses” 72 F. 2d 705

Winters v. New York, 333 U.S. 507_...__.

Statutes:

Texas Civil Statutes (Vernon’s 1948)
Article 527
Article 527b

Texts:

Zechariah Chafee, Jr., Free Speech in the
United States (Harvard University
Press, 1942), Page 13

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1955

No. 548

ALFRED E. BUTLER,

Appellant,
vs.
STATE OF MICHIGAN,
Appellee.

BRIEF OF JOHN BEN SHEPPERD,
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE STATE
OF TEXAS, AMICUS CURIAE

TO THE HONORABLE SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES:

The State of Texas, as Amicus Curiae, appearing
herein by its Attorney General, John Ben Shepperd,
respectfully files this brief in this cause in support
of the motion of Appellee, State of Michigan, to dis-

— a

miss the instant appeal because of the importance to
the State of Texas of the issues involved and the ne-
cessity that the power of the states be preserved
where, through the proper exercise of the voice of
the people and their legislatures, they prohibit such
obscene and lewd books as exemplified by the book in
point from circulating across the counters of book-
stores and drugstores in an effort to keep such de-
grading literature out of the hands and minds of all
people, especially those of young maturing ages.

Interest of The State of Texas

The State of Texas has a statute’ similar to that
of the State of Michigan which makes it unlawful to
“engage in the business of editing, publishing or dis-
seminating any pamphlet, magazine, or any printed
paper devoted mainly or purporting to be devoted
mainly to the publications of whoring, lechery, as-
signations, intrigues between men and women and
immoral conduct of persons... .” There is also a
statute * which forbids the sale or display of lewd
or corruptive comic books.

Statement of The Case

The State of Texas herein adopts the State of
Michigan’s counterstatement of the case appearing
on page 3, of that state’s brief on Motion To Dismiss
| Appeal.

1 Art. 527, Tex. Civ. Stat. (Vernon 1948).
2 Art. 527b, Tex. Civ. Stat. (Vernon 1948).

CE ath Se Ly ae ee er ee — —— ee

a yan

I

The States of The United States Are Empowered
To Protect Their Citizens From Obscene and
Corrupt Publications

The states have consistently been held by the
United States Supreme Court to have the power to
control and to punish those who abuse the freedom
of the press and speech by publications and utter-
ances inimical to the public welfare deeming to cor-
rupt public morals, incite to crime, and disturb the
public peace. This was the expression of the Su-
preme Court in the landmark case of Gitlow v. New
York, 268 U.S. 652, wherein a state statute of New
York forbidding criminal anarchy was attacked as
a violation of the 1st and 14th Amendments to the
Constitution. In upholding the state statute, the
Court spoke as follows:

“It is a fundamental principle, long established,
that the freedom of speech and of the press which
is secured by the Constitution does not confer an
absolute right to speak or publish, without respon-
sibility, whatever one may choose, or an unre-
stricted and unbridled license that gives immunity
for every possible use of language, and prevents
the punishment of those who abuse this free-
dom...”

“That a state, in the exercise of its police pow-
ers, may punish those who abuse this freedom by
uttterances inimical to the public welfare, tending
to corrupt public morals, incite to crime, or dis-
turb the public peace, is not open to question . . .”

a un

Further expressions of the State’s power to com-
bat those forces which would undermine the funda-
mental requirements of decency and which would
degrade and pervert the human personalities of both
young and old alike is indicated by the later cases of
Near v. Minnisota, 283 U.S. 697, Chaplinsky v. New
Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568, and Winters v. New York,
333 U.S. 507. The Supreme Court in the Winter’s
case realized the importance of this and stated as
follows:

“We recognize the importance of the exercise
of a state’s police power to minimize all incentives
to crime, particularly in the field of sanquinary
or salacious publications with their stimulation
of juvenile delinquency .. .”

It is, therefore, evident that the states, through
their legislative bodies, are entitled and expected to
protect the welfare of the citizens from those who
would corrupt the citizens of the state by hiding be-
hind an interpretation of the United States Consti-
tution which would subvert its very meaning.

II.

The Michigan Statute Is A Valid Exercise of A
State’s Right To Punish Those Who Sell
Books Composed of Obscenities Inimical
To The Citizens of The State

The Michigan Statute is an expression of the Leg-
islature of that state which forbids by punishment
the sale of those books which are composed of “‘ob-
scene, immoral, lewd, or lascivious language or de-

PEED EAT AAO AR an Ne aU Ro RIT a TS un ore GPT TNL ae ‘cep r

a

—

scription”. The Federal Government and the Legis-
latures of many states have a similar statute which
forbids books which are of such content and caliber
as to pervert and corrupt the personalities of people
from all walks of life and of every age.

The Michigan Legislature used the above words to
describe the offense and then pointed out the effect
of such publications as having the effect of inciting
minors to violent or depraved, or immoral acts, man-
ifestly tending to the corruption of the morals of the
youth. The language identifying the offense in the
statute, obscene, lewd, or lascivious, is the same lan-
guage which the courts of every generation of this
country have acknowledged as permissible as a
proper exercise of the authority of the state to enact
laws to promote the health, safety, morals, and gen-
eral welfare of its people. Near v. Minnesota, 288
U.S. 697, 707; Ex parte Jackson, 96 U.S. 727; Chap-
linsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568; Winters v.
New York, 333 U.S. 507.

In the Chaplinsky case the Court stated:

“There are certain well-defined and narrowly
limited classes of speech, the prevention and pun-
ishment of which have never been thought to raise
any Constitutional problem.”

The Court cited the Near case and went on to say
that “lewd and obscene” were such descriptive
terms. The latest expression of the Supreme Court
in the Winters case gives direct support. There the
Court stated as follows:

ee REN

a

“The impossibility of defining the precise line
between permissible uncertainty in statutes
caused by describing crimes by words well under-
stood through long use in the criminal law—ob-
scene, lewd, lascivious, filthy, indecent or disgust-
ing—and the unconstitutional vagueness that
leaves a person uncertain as to the kind of pro-
hibited conduct—massing stories to incite crime
—has resulted in three arguments of this case in
this Court.”” (Emphasis added.)

The Court further concluded its opinion as fol-
lows:

“To say that a state may not punish by such a
vague statute carries no implication that it may
not punish circulation of objectionable printed
matter, assuming that it is not protected by the
principles of the First Amendment, by the use of
apt words to describe the prohibited publications.
Section 1141, Subsection 1, quoted in note 2, is an
example. Neither the states nor Congress are pre-
vented by the requirement of specifity from car-
rying out their duty of eliminating evils to which,
in their judgment, such publications give rise.”
(Emphasis added. )

Therefore, the latest expression of the Supreme
Court gives express recognition of the validity of
statutes containing the descriptive language em-
bodied in the offense portion of the Michigan Stat-
ute.

— on

Il.

This Case Presents Facts Which Prevent The
Subject Matter From Being Within The
Protection of The First Amendment to
The United States Constitution

This book is not within the protection of the First
Amendment which protects freedom of the press.

There have been various rules and languages used
to indicate when a book is such as will warrant a
conviction under a charge of obscenity. The Com-
mon Law rule was announced in Queen v. Hicklin,
L.R. 3 Q.B. 360 (1868) as follows:

“Whether the tendency of the matter charged
as obscenity is to disprove and corrupt those
whose minds are open to such immoral influ-
ences, and into whose hands a publication of this
sort may fall.”

This was adopted by many American Jurisdictions
but has been discarded by most courts since 1930,
when the case of United States v. First Book Called
“Ulysses”, 72 F. 2d 705 (C.C.A.2d, 1934). Judge
Hand noted that the book must be considered as a
whole in an effort to balance the story being told
with the questionable language used in telling the
story.

Regardless of the rule, it is evident from a read-
ing of this book that it is within either rule and is
undesirable in such a degree as to warrant bringing

—

it within the Michigan statute. Such literature as
this is not worthy of protection since any possible
good is nebulous and of small social value when
weighed against the potential responding human
depravity of conduct and attitude.

We submit that many communities of our nation
are in themselves outspoken enough in their environ-
ment in saying that “variety is the spice of life.”
There are also nations, whom we need not men-
tion, whose complete moral life has become so de-
base as to cause a collapse of government and busi-
ness, partly through an acceptance of such litera-
ture and its claim of freedom of expression.

Thus, this Court is faced with a contention that
freedom of the press is endangered and that our
liberty is being threatened.

Certainly this form of expression now before the
Court is not part of any truth whose expression
would keep us free, but instead would enslave us in
a debachery of men and women in their communities
and family life.

We feel, as did Lord Kenyon, when, during the
French Revolution, he said :°

“The liberty of the press is dear to England.
The licentiousness of the press is odious to Eng-
land. The liberty of it can never be so well pro-
tected as by beating down the licentiousness.”

8 Free Speech in the United States, Chaffee, p. 13.

ee eee ee

IV.
This Statute Is Clear and Definite

The Statute before this Court is of such a char-
acter that men of common intelligence need not
guess at its meaning. Connally v. General Construc-
tion Co., 269 U.S. 385.

As set forth in this Statute, in order for the publi-
cation to meet the language of the Statute, it must
contain obscene, immoral, lewd or lascivious lan-
guage. The Court held in the Winters case that
these words are well understood through long usage
in the Criminal law. It was in this case that the
Supreme Court expressly declared that a part of the
New York Statute was a valid and certain statute.
This part contains the very words that the Michigan
Statute before this Court contains.

The first prerequisite states that the book must
contain these descriptive words. It does not read
“a book with any obscene language”. Although ap-
pellant attempts to argue that the word “contain-
ing” is nebulous and uncertain, we must realize that
all language is a vehicle of communication. If the
statute read “a book with such language”, there still
would be a question as to how much of the book must
contain the prohibitory language before it could be
forbidden.

After setting up these prerequisites, the statute
then describes their affect as “tending to incite
minors to violent or depraved or immoral acts”.
This descriptive language manifests the intent of

——
=

the Michigan Legislature, wherein they set out the
effect of such obscene books. Furthermore, the Leg-
islature went on to say that these types of books
“manifestly tend to corrupt the morals of the
youth”’.

It is evident that a book containing obscene and
lewd language and an obscene and lewd book are
equivalent to each other. Since the Supreme Court
has held Statutes similar to the Michigan Statute to
be clear and certain and since the Michigan Supreme
Court followed this mandate and held the statute
valid, this appeal should be dismissed.

CONCLUSION

The States are authorized to prohibit the corrup-
tion of the personalities of their citizens by forbid-
ding obscene and debase books from being sold in
their respective states. The State of Michigan has
enacted a statute in accordance with this power
which is certain and definite, indicating what is to
be forbidden and also why it is prohibited.

This country was not founded nor was the first
amendment adopted by the people of the United
States with any idea of protecting publishers and
writers in their efforts to enrich themselves through
“box office” appeal by pretending to write a “story”
and then permeating it with obscenity and lewdness
so as to appeal to certain portions of the public who
are trained by these writers to respond to such lit-
erature as is before this Court.

eS LAO SNM PRP PURO TS fa PR aU SRI VES SM A eR IR fC SVR Re gS em

=

The people of this Nation are entitled to the pro-
tection of their families structures from such efforts
as this to attract the attention of young adolescents
whereby these writers and publishers would prosti-
tute man’s God-given instinct to be pro-creative in
an attempt to line their pockets with this ill-gotten
gain.

We respectfully urge this Court to dismiss this

appeal.
Respectfully submitted

eeeeeereeeeeeeeeeeeseeeeeeeeeeeeee

JOHN BEN SHEPPERD
Attorney General of Texas

PHILIP SANDERS
Assistant Attorney General

Proof of Service

I, Philip Sanders, Assistant Attorney General of the
State of Texas, hereby certify that on the 8th day of May,
1956, I served copies of the foregoing brief on the several
parties thereto as follows:

1. On Appellant, Alfred E. Butler, by mailing a copy
in a duly addressed envelope to his attorney of record
as follows: William G. Comb, Dime Building, Detroit,
Michigan.

2. On Appellee, State of Michigan, by mailing a copy
in a duly address envelope to its attorneys of record
as follows: Thomas M. Kavanagh, Attorney Gen-
eral of the State of Michigan; Edmund E. Shepherd,
Solicitor General of the State of Michigan.

PHILIP SANDERS

FREER AI ER TPR Catal ERE IO, LT RNA I HD BAAR SSE

APPELLANTS
--BRIEF

AUG 2019

BRIEF ON MERITS JOHN T. FEY,

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser TERM, 1956

No. 16

ALFRED E. BUTLER,
Appellant,

vs.

STATE OF MICHIGAN

APPEAL FrRoM THE RECORDER’s CouRT OF THE
City or Detroit, STATE oF MICHIGAN

BRIEF FOR THE APPELLANT

Counsel for Appellant

MANUEL LEE RossIns,
30 Broad Street,
New York City, N. Y.

WILLIAM G. Cos,
1512 Dime Building,
Detroit, Michigan.

ea ————<--- ———

INDEX

Do as bak ais weed wire se
DTI ch iccvccceueccccccascsesescecese
IIE ns aus rnd. ahed Ga ah pd Oe lo tiara
ES CO cass ke Nic ou eae w eer ie wee
SD SIO 0 bv. occtancnesdencupenscews
ES RD At epg ett ang Epa pid
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ...........cccccccccces 27
RRS Sea isardeqe es enna a Sel Ramone hater enn 28

I. THE MICHIGAN STATUTE AND THE JUDGMENT
PREDICATED ON IT PLAINLY AND SERIOUSLY IN-
FRINGE THE FREEDOM OF PRESS AND DUE PROCESS
oF Law GUARANTEED BY THE FIRST AND Four-
TEENTH AMENDMENTS TO THE FEDERAL CONSTI-
NN ka 'e-G-sa t's wa ea pias area el ae taaee aaa 28

A. The Freedom of Press and Due Process Aspects
of Statutes Restricting the Distributing of
PO bce oe bi dndek eGageeSenuis anes 30

B. Prohibiting the Circulation of a Book to Any
Member of the Community on the Ground That
It May Tend to Have an Injurious Effect Upon
a Minor, Is an Unconstitutional Deprivation of
the Appellant’s Freedom of Press ........... 32

C. The Michigan Statute Defines Obscenity in
Vague and Indefinite Terms and Hence Its
Restrictions on the Sale of Obscene Literature
Do not Comport with Due Process .......... 35

D. Because It Prohibits the Distribution of a Book
“Containing” Any Obscenity, the Michigan
Statute Violates the Constitutional Guarantees
of Freedom of Press and Due Process of Law 38

I ee Oo ee eee 2 ane 42

CASES CITED

PAGE

Bridges v. State of California (1941), 314 U.S. 252. 31
Burstyn v. Wilson (1952), 343 U.S. 495 ........ 2, 37, 38

Commercial Pictures Corp. v. Regents (1954), 346
Se oc gad we as oka SEEK Oa ee eae 37

Commonwealth v. Gordon (1949), 66 Pa. D. & C.
101, aff'd. sub. nom. Commonwealth v. Feigenbaum

(1950), 166 Pa. Super. 120, 70 A. 2d. 389 ....... 42
Gelling v. Texas (1952), 343 U. S. 960 ............ 37
Grosjean v. American Press Co. Inc. (1936), 297 U. S.

er caccGurwewaies cies u ean ie eae kenee anne 31
Halsey v. N. Y. Society (1922), 234 N. Y.1,4..... 42
Holmby Productions, Inc. et al. v. Vaughan et al.

CRE, DOU, Tome), FO Oe CR. BES ow vecvvessncs 2, 37
Ex parte Jackson (1877), 96 U. S. 727, 733 ......... 32
Liggett Co. v. Baldridge (1928), 278 U. S. 105, 111-

eee eS Pe ae a a 33
Lovell v. Griffin (1937), 303 U.S. 444, 450,452 ..... 31, 32
New American Library of World Literature v. Allen

(N. D. Ohio, E. D. 1953), 114 F. Supp. 823 ...... 42
Parmalee v. United States (D. C. Cir. 1940), 113 F.

Re a ia ee a are as 4]

Pennekamp v. Florida (1946), 328 U. S. 331, 335... 31
Queen v. Hicklin (1868), L. R. 3 Q. B. 360, 371 . .33, 34, 35

Schneider v. State of New Jersey, Town of Irvington
he RR SR A rere ere 31

State v. Lerner (Ohio C. P. 1948), 81 N. E. 2d. 282,
DE sip Whe uhud sos 400 0GRKeN 6s aeabs xeevoeeene 42

Superior Films, Inc. v. Department of Education
bo Le ee eer 37, 38

Treigle v. Acme Homestead Assoc. (1936), 297 U. S.
MERLOT su cicWu une s Cen spieieeeeetaver meee 33

PAGE

iii
United States v. Levine (2d. Cir. 1936), 83 F. 2d.
coche ES CCE en Te 34, 41

United States v. One Book Entitled “Ulysses” (S. D.
N. Y. 1933), 5 F. Supp. 182, 184, aff’d., (2d. Cir.

1934), 72 F. 2d. 705, 707-708 ................. 34, 41
Walker v. Popenoe (D. C. Cir. 1945), 148 F. 2d.
EEE ieee 34, 41-42
Winters v. New York (1947), 333 U.S. 507
2, 30. 31, 36-37

STATUTES CITED

Colorado: Stat. Ann ( 1935) ch. 48, sec. 217 ....... 30
Florida: Statutes (1951) sec. 847.01 .............. 30
lowa: Code (1950) sec. 725.4 ................... 30
Maine: Rev. Stat. (1944) ch. 121, sec.24........... 30

Michigan: Statutes Annotated, sec. 28.575 (Compiled
Laws of 1948, as amended by Act 74 of the Public

Oe WE sg hks Vet usa ins bh cigs dees ccc, 5
Rhode Island: Gen. Laws (1938) ch. 610, sec. 13 .... 30
South Carolina: Code (1952) sec. 16-414 .......... 30
Tennessee : Williams Code ( 1934) sec. 11190 ....... 30
Vermont: Stat. Rev. of 1947, sec. 8490 ............. 30
Virginia: Code (1950) sec. 18-113 ............... 30
West Virginia: Code (1949) sec. 6066 ............ 30

AUTHORITIES CITED

Lockhart and McClure: Literature, the Law of Obscen-
ity, and the Constitution. (1954), 38 Minn. Law
Review, 295, 339-340 .........ceccccccceces.,, 34

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1956

ALFRED E. Butter,
Appellant,

—against— No. 16

STATE OF MICHIGAN,
Appellee.

APPEAL From THE REcoRDER’s CouRT OF THE
City or Detroit, STATE oF MICHIGAN

BRIEF FOR THE APPELLANT

Opinion Below

The only opinion below in the case at bar was that of
the trial judge of the Recorder’s Court of the City of
Detroit, Michigan which was delivered orally at the con-
clusion of the trial proceedings. It is unreported but ap-
pears in the Record at folios 330-333, and in this Brief
at pp. 24-26.

Jurisdiction
Appellant appeals from the judgment of the Recorder’s

Court of the City of Detroit, State of Michigan, entered
on the 13th day of July, 1954 (R. 330-333),* convicting

*References are to folios of the printed Record.

a

2

him of violating Section 28.575, Michigan Statutes An-
notated (Compiled Laws of 1948, as amended by Act 74
of the Public Acts of 1953). He was sentenced to pay a
fine of $100 (R. 333). Thereafter, his application for
leave to appeal to the Supreme Court of the State of
Michigan was denied by that Court on July 14, 1955 (R.
400). Notice of appeal to this Court was filed in the
Recorder's Court of the City of Detroit on September 2,
1955 (R. 342-345), and probable jurisdiction was noted by
this Court on February 27, 1956 (R. 401).

The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court to review this
judgment by appeal is conferred by 28 U. S. C. Section
1257 (2). The following decisions sustain the jurisdiction
of the Supreme Court to review the judgment on appeal:
Winters v. New York (1947), 333 U. S. 507; Burstyn v.
Wilson (1952), 343 U. S. 495; Holby Productions, Inc.
et al. v. Vaugham et al, (Oct. Term, 1955), 76 S. Ct. 117.

Introduction

The Michigan statute which the appellant was convicted
of violating makes it a crime to sell, offer or possess for
sale a book ‘‘containing obscene, immoral, lewd or lascivious
language” or “descriptions, tending to incite minors to
violent or depraved or immoral acts, manifestly tending to
the corruption of the morals of youth.” The book involved
was “The Devil Rides Outside” by John H. Griffin, pub-
lished by Pocket Books, Inc. of New York City. Ina
motion to dismiss made at the outset of the trial and re-
newed during the course of the trial, the appellant contended
that the Michigan statute, upon which the prosecution was
based, was an infringement of the rights guaranteed him
by the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the Consti-

_ +

tution of the United States in that it deprived him of his
freedom of press and denied him due process of law (R.
3-5, 211, 235). The motion was based on the same con-
tentions as are herein advanced and which have been
persistently but unsuccesstully urged at all stages of the
litigation.

After all motions were denied by the trial judge
(R. 235), he found the appellant guilty of violating the
statute (R. 333). Thereafter, the appellant filed a timely
application to the Supreme Court of the State of Michigan
for leave to appeal, contending that the said Michigan
statute, on its face and as applied, and the judgment of the
Recorder’s Court predicated thereon, violated his rights
as guaranteed by the lirst and Fourteenth Amendments
to the Constitution of the United States (R. 349-350).
Although appellant's application for such leave to appeal
was consented to by the People of the State of Michigan
on the ground that “the issues involved in this case
are of great public interest’ and that a “clarification
of the language of” the statute was “necessary” (R. 397),
the Michigan Supreme Court entered an order on June 14,
1955, denying the appellant’s application for leave to appeal
(R. 400). Thus, this appeal involves a state court decision
which sustained the validity of a state statute against the
appellant’s objections based on federal constitutional
grounds.

In brief, “The Devil Rides Outside” ( People’s Exhibit
1) is a story written in diary form and in the first person
singular. The name of the protagonist is never disclosed
although it is apparent that he is a young American musi-
cian. The title emanates from an old French proverb to the
effect that the devil rides outside monastery walls and the
book is divided into two parts, the cloister Within, and the

:

7

_ devil without. The first part is prefaced by a quotation
from the eminent poet Gerard Manley Hopkins emphasizing
man’s bewilderment that sin and depravity should be in-
herent in his nature (R. 86). The second portion of the
book is introduced by a quotation from St. Augustine
which considers the incomplete nature of man’s control
over sin and temptation (R. 87).

The book traces the protagonist’s growth in the re-
ligiously centered life of a Benedictine cloister in southern
France and at the same time gives a rather complete and
bitter picture of the small-town bourgeois life in the village
outside of the monastery walls. It starts with his arrival
at the monastery to study Gregorian chants and on the way
from the village to the monastery, the bawdy taxicab driver,
Salesky, tries to interest him in having one of the girls in
the town. However, Salesky’s services are refused and the
protagonist commences living at the Benedictine monastery
intending to return to Paris to take up again with his mis-
tress there. The protagonist, strangely enough, becomes
deeply attached to monastic life and ultimately embraces
a deep religious faith. He cannot leave, despite bouts
with fever and the unendurable cold. Weakened by the piti-
ful food and the hard life, he goes to live in the village to
recover his health while continuing at the monastery his
devotions during the day and his study of the manuscripts.
He changes from a selfish and arrogant person to one who
is seeking wisdom and peace and in the course of his sojourn
he becomes tremendously impressed with his father-con-
fessor and with a visiting physician, named Castelar, who
apparently symbolizes the happy combination of godliness
and manliness in the lay world.

In the period when he is learning to conquer his lusts,
he has some earthy and realistically described experiences

— §

with women and he struggles to rid himself of these physi-
cal demands and bodily passions. He finally wins out over
his baser self by rejecting Madame Renée, his housekeeper
and the village’s leading matron whose beauty and power-
ful pride almost engulf him. The book closes with a fore-
shadowing of his return to the monastic cell after he has
won through to sanctity.

5

Statutes Involved

The sole statute herein involved and the one under
which the appellant was convicted, is Section 28.575, Michi-
gan Statutes Annotated ( Compiled Laws of 1948, as
amended by Act 74 of the Public Acts of 1953), which

provides :

“Any person who shall import, print, publish,
sell, possess with intent to sell, design, prepare, loan,
give away, distribute or offer for sale, any book,
magazine, newspaper, writing, pamphlet, ballad,
printed paper, print, picture, drawing, photograph,
publication or other thing, including any recordings,
containing obscene, immoral, lewd or lascivious
language, or obscene, immoral, lewd or lascivious
prints, pictures, figures or descriptions, tending to
incite minors to violent or depraved or immoral acts,
manifestly tending to the corruption of the morals of
youth, or shall introduce into any family, school or
place of education or shall buy, procure, receive or
have in his possession, any such book, pamphlet,
magazine, newspaper, writing, ballad, printed paper,
print, picture, drawing, photograph, publication or
other thing, either for the purpose of sale, exhibition,
loan or circulation, or with intent to introduce the
same into any family, school or place of education,
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.”

eg

6

Questions Presented

The following questions are presen.ed by this appeal.
Does the said Michigan statute, on its face and as applied,
violate the appellant’s rights as guaranteed by the First
and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution of the
United States in that:

(a) its provisions prohibit and punish the publica-
tion and distribution of a book to any member of the
public because of the effect such book might tend to have
merely on minors, thereby unduly limiting and restricting
the appellant’s constitutional rights of freedom of press,
there being neither charge nor proof that the book in ques-
tion was sold to or possessed by a minor ;

(b) it is so vague and indefinite as not to comport with
due process because its provisions prohibit and punish the
publication and distribution of a book if such book contains
matter which tends to incite minors to wrongful conduct
and corrupt their morals—a wholly vague criminal pro-
scription, predicated upon unascertainable and indefinite
standards of conduct;

(c) its provisions prohibit and punish the publication
and distribution of a book merely containing certain pro-
scribed language and descriptions, thus precluding any
consideration of the entire book as a whole and thereby
imposing and enforcing unconstitutionally restrictive limita-
tions on the appellant’s freedom of press.

Statement

The case at bar involved the prosecution of the appellant,
Butler, for selling, to a police officer, a paper-bound edition

7

of the book entitled “The Devil Rides Outside,” written
by John H. Griffin and published by Pocket Books, Inc. of
630 Fifth Avenue, New York City (R. 25). The appellant
conceded (R. 28) that he had sold the book in question
(People’s Exhibit 1) but specifically objected (R. 30-34)
to the trial court’s admission into evidence of a prepared
selection of 101 excerpts from the book which the police
officer, Inspector Herbert W. Case, in charge of the Censor-
ship Bureau of the Detroit Police Department (R. 25),
testified were “objectionable” (R. 32). In admitting these
excerpts (People’s Exhibit 2), the court overruled the appel-
lant’s contention that a consideration of these portions obvi-
ated a judging of the work as a whole (R. 33).

The only sale proven at the trial was the one to Inspector
Case, an adult, and after his testimony the People rested
(R. 41). The appellant’s motion to dismiss, based on the
unconstitutionality of the statute and on the weight of the
evidence, was thereupon denied (R. 42, 235).

All the defense testimony introduced by the appellant
was devoted to establishing that the book, viewed as a
whole, was not in any way obscene, lewd, immoral or lasci-
vious, but was a serious work of artistic and literary value.
Thus, Harriet Good, Chief of the Book Selection Depart-
ment of the Detroit Public Library (R. 43), testified that a
hard-cover edition of this work (Defendant’s Exhibit 1,
R. 48, 77), published by Smith’s, Inc. of Fort Worth,
Texas, had been purchased by the Library and was listed
there in the home reading department (R. 44). She
stated, however, that “there were certain scenes and in-
cidents in it that were for adult readers only and on that
basis, we restricted its use for young people” (R. 57).
The witness explained the Library's interpretation of the
term “‘restricted use” (R. 48):

,
Re... wes

a

8

“It is the judgment of the persons involved, that the
book has literary value. It should be represented in
the Public Library. However, it should not be pro-
moted.

“We consider books placed on the open shelf as
books which we are willing to say we promote. The
closed shelf of materials are available to adults who
ask for them, and they are not placed freely for
accessibility for any one at all, there is restricted
use.”

Freeman Lewis, the Executive Vice President of Pocket
Books, Inc., the publisher of the reprint edition of the book
(R. 61), testified that the work had been placed on sale
in the month of March, 1954 (R. 62) and nationally dis-
tributed throughout the country without any stimulating
promotion campaign to promote its sale (R. 66, 71-72).
It was merely distributed through a system of independent
wholesalers in the various states (R. 70-72).

The defense then called Professor Sculley Bradley, a
Professor of English at the University of Pennsylvania
and Chairman of that institution’s Department of Ameri-
can Civilization (R. 78). Professor Bradley had been
associated with the University for 34 years, was one
of its graduates and was awarded its M.A. and Ph.D.
degrees (R. 78-79). He had also served as a visiting
Professor at Northwestern University, Duke University,
University of Southern California, and presently was a
specialist in American Literature and American Civiliza-
tion (R. 79). The witness was the author of several
biographies and a number of historical critical works and
was Assistant Literary Editor of the Philadelphia Press
from 1931 to 1933 (R. 80). He had also extensively re-
viewed books for many newspapers and magazines includ-

ARSE rage on ae fe ag SA ULL 2

_

ing the Chicago Tribune, the New York Times, the
Saturday Review of Literature and Harper’s (R. 81).

Professor Bradley testified that he read “The Devil
Rides Outside” and formed an opinion as to its literary
value and artistic merit (R. 82-83). In giving his opinion
of the literary value of the work Professor Bradley dealt
extensively with its characters, themes and plots (R. 84-
103) and likened it to the story of the Temptations of St.
Augustine (R. 89-90, 102). He pointed out that the writing
of this book belonged to “a modern form of writing in which
a symbol has been employed, a symbol of action or character
has been employed to suggest to the reader more meta-
physical and difficult ideas that are associated with it,
instead of using an expository method to relate the ideas
in philosophical discourse” (R. 91). The book to this
witness was a “story of conflicts in a man” which he felt
were ultimately resolved “in a very interesting way” (R.
92). Eventually, the protagonist of the story found enough
inner strength to resist all of the mundane temptations with
“a final assertion of moral will” (R. 102). This climax, he
claimed, was “a bit like the final temptation of St. Anthony
in its enormous emotional build-up and power” (R. 102).

In summarizing, Professor Bradley stated that he
thought the work was “a highly ethical novel” (R. 102)
and “a novel with religious implications at every point,
and, finally, a novel in which the various scenes and episodes
are highly integrated” (R. 102). Viewed as a whole, the
book was of “substantial literary merit” (R. 104); the
writing was “extraordinarily good” (R. 104) and although
as a first novel it contained “irregularities,” it also had a
“sincerity of purpose” and “power” (R. 104).

Consistently overruling the defense contentions that the
work could not fairly or properly be appraised by its seg-

9

ae

10

ments, this expert was required, on cross-examination, to
answer many questions of Court and counsel concerning
realistically drawn, lusty episodes in the work (R. 110, 116,
122, 125, 133-135). In the main, Professor Bradley insisted
that he was only able to see the book as a whole, that a
particular passage had no existence outside the book and
that he was unable to separate the passage from the entire
context of the work (R. 117-118, 121). When pressed
further, he justified a particular instance as an integral
part of the dominant themes or symbolisms of the work
(R. 113, 121, 122-4, 131-132, 134). Other cited excerpts,
he felt, added “to the literary value of the book” (R. 134)
and the detailed descriptions therein were necessary to
its style (R. 124). His final colloquy with the trial judge
summarized his opinion on these matters (R. 139-140):

“The Court: You feel then that by the use of
well chosen, very descriptive and, let’s say, high-
sounding phrases, words and phrases, that that takes
it out of the obscene, vulgar, immoral class?

“A. I think that has been the experience of
literature through the ages. The loftiness of the
spirit and the use of the language for lofty pur-
poses, has elevated the commonest of human mate-
rials and we can look at the greatest classics of
literature and find it true.

“The Court: Do you think that in this book,
that it was necessary to describe in detail the sexual
experiences of Mr. ‘X’ and his minute feelings all
during those experiences, in order to make it of ©
literary value?

“A. Yes, Your Honor, I do.

“The Court: Why?

“A. Because I feel that the inner intention of
this book is to bring the reader, make the reader

—

familiar with his own soul and his own experience.
I think that this book is intended to have what one
of our critics called the shock recognition for the
reader. I think that the writer understands that we
all go about, even shielding ourselves from the con-
scious recognition of what is present in our minds,
present in our instincts, in our inner nature, so that
we feel that we are surrendering to evils without
ourselves, or we completely shut our eyes to the
fact that there may be evil there, and that he has
attempted to show us the whole working of the
mind and experience of this character, in order that
we should recognize ourselves and understand that
the grace which he finds and G’Seau and Clement
and other clerics are able to show him, is available
to every one.”’

11

The other literary expert called by the defense was
Professor Frank L. Huntley, Associate Professor of Eng-
lish of the University of Michigan (R. 144-145). Professor
Huntley had taught the undergraduate body a general
course on English and American literature and was a
member of the Hopwood Committee of the University of
Michigan “which has the responsibility of encouraging
young writers” (R. 147). After reading “The Devil Rides
Outside” (R. 147), he formed an opinion about the work
which he asserted did not differ from Professor Bradley’s
(R. 148-149). Viewing the book as a whole and consider-
ing its dominant themes (R. 153), Huntley concluded that
the work portrayed the age old problem (R. 155): “The
devil is outside of us, the devil is inside of us. We are
part animal and part angel.” The witness found that the
book had “substantial literary merit” (R. 153), and that
the ultimate conflict was resolved in a “moral” and “reli-
gious” way (R. 157).

12

In a fashion similar to the cross-examination of Pro-
fessor Bradley, Huntley’s attention was also mandatorily
directed to the excerpts from the book. With respect to par-
ticularly vivid and realistically written passages referred
to by the prosecutor, the following colloquy, over objection,
occurred in cross-examination (R. 163):

“Q. * * * Now, do you feel that this book, People’s
Exhibit 1, a copy of which you have in your hand,
would still be of great literary value if all the por-
nographic details were omitted?

“A. No. Given this conflict as we have attempted
to analyze it, it’s like a conflict between A and B
and you are taking A away.

“Q. You feel then that it is necessary in a good liter-
ary treatment of the work, to include every detail
of the sex act as is depicted there, do you?

“A. I believe firmly that it is part of the structure,
the spirit and the tempo, the color of the whole work.
Here again, may I add
“Q. Go ahead.

“A, that the intention of the author is called in
question***”’,

Again, when asked, over objection, if he considered
these passages offensive when taken alone, Professor Hunt-
ley answered (R. 167-168) :

“A. Taken alone. I find it difficult to say yes or no
to that question. I find it impossible to answer it
without an analogy. Let’s say, take a statue: then
let’s concentrate just on the navel. The human um-
bilicus is not a beautiful object, but just take that.
Is this apart from its intention, apart from the
whole in which we find it, is this beautiful? I would
say no.

13

“Q. In other words, Professor, tell me this, if I am
correct. Is it your opinion that the work taken as a
whole is a literary work, but that if you should
select the excerpts which some people feel are ob-
scene, lewd, lascivious and immoral, that in and of
themselves, separate and distinct from the work as
a whole, they could and should be classed in the
lewd, lascivious and immoral classification ?

“The Court: Or any of them?

“A. Well, I would, I think I would have to grant
that, Mr. Kent, though I call it a perversion. * * *,
Yes, it would be a perversion on the part of the
reader to make such selections as I think it would
be a perversion on the part of a person looking at a
statue, simply to concentrate on the navel and noth-
ing else, and then say this is not beautiful.”

John H. Griffin, the author of the work (R. 173), testi-
fied concerning the many years he had spent in France, as a
student and as a musicologist (R. 174-185). After service
in World War II which left him blind and severely crippled,
he became absorbed in studying the Benedictine chant in
the monasteries throughout Europe where he did advanced
research (R. 182-184). As a result of his studies in the
French monasteries, many of which were in the rural
parts of France, he developed a familiarity with monastic
life, the manner in which the monks lived, their prayers
and musical studies and the customs and mores of Gallic
country sections (R. 185, 193). In 1951 he became a
member of the Carmelite Order (R. 191) and a year or
so thereafter he wrote this work, his first published novel,
which took about seven or eight months to complete (R.
188, 192). He is also the author of other works on techni-
cal subjects, primarily, musicology (R. 186-187 ).

14

Turning to the work itself, the witness stated that while
the book was not “autobiographical” (R. 192), he had
“met most of those characters many hundreds of times”
(R. 193). When questioned as to his purpose in writing the
book, the author referred (R. 200) to one particular passage
in the book that distilled his point of view and which appears
on pages 196 and 197 of People’s Exhibit 1, as follows:

“And over and above, we are offered the free-
dom of choice. God, they say, gives us the freedom
to choose. But this is a thing of the mind; these
qualities of the outside are things of the mind. Can
they legitimately be ugly, or even delusions? Can
there be freedom of choice when the emotion, not
the mind, has the thirsts? And aren't all these
things tempered within us to a point where man
lives his outside life with no need for consistency
of ideal? Are not the smells of wet flesh, the com-
fort alternating with discomfort, the street sounds,
the healthfulness of licentiousness to warm blood,
the wonder of our miracle of livingness, enough?
There's no freedom to choose until other knowledges
insinuate themselves into the heart and the emotions,
until other knowledges become other thirsts not to
be denied. Then, and only then, can a choice be
made. 7

“Return to the inside, to our poor cloister and
its world of the interior, its second portion of every
man: the fog-filled interior known as man’s health
of soul. It too is a thing of the mind not yet ready
to become a choice. Instead of riches we seek pov-
erty, instead of the reeling insides we seck chastity,
instead of sources of pride we seek sources of
humility. But these aren't the end, as are wealth
and success on the outside. They are the means to
an end—the end being the destruction of all obstacles
standing between us and the love of our life, which
is God.

15

“Immutable standards of interior criteria. The
paradox of destroying individuality to become
whole, of forming the irreplaceable link of a chain
knowing that that chain makes of us a portion of
living time; knowing it will go on forever with our
pinpoint of breathing as one of its links. It isn’t
done for self but for the many, and for God. And
it creates a rapture within that grows into com-
pleteness.

“Two pictures, and a choice. The one which
most of us know is brightly colored—brilliant,
splashing—and satisfying to every cell of the human
body. And over its hues death throws the shroud
of an undetermined end. The other picture, the one
within, is rather the color of the sun, white; the
source of all colors before it is passed through the
spectroscope and divided. It consumes the satis-
faction of each cell of the body, so that the heat of
many colors may become the Source of heat ; burn-
ing the spirit into such a bliss as man may never
know, but which, if we believe, is filtered through
to us here on earth. It must not be contemplated
lightly, for we shall never recover from it once it
has seared us within. And the Struggle is brief,
for its fire becomes a process inside: first a cleansing
Process, and then the curing of the intangible
maladies of reserve and modesty, and with them the
stinginess of our desire to remain individual unto
Ourselves . . .”

Griffin admitted that passages and some of the lan-
guage in the work were realistically blunt, often gross
(R. 201), but pointed out that his whole thesis was to
“show the degradation” to which “the complete following
of these impulses” leads (R. 204). The incorporation of
this type of material was symbolical—“‘it_ symbolized all
misuse of virtue, of the gift of God” (R. 204). Moreover,

SR ENG ce xk

16

some of the realistic and blunt language that was used was
spoken “in the idiom of the countryside” (R. 205).

On cross-examination, Griflin stated that the sex act
was chosen as a symbol of all sins that are prevalent in the
world because it “is an aspect of life that is universal.”
(R. 208). Thus, he testified (R. 208) :

“Q. Mr. Griffin, did you feel that the intimate details
of the sex act were necessary for a consumma-
tion of the good literary style?

“A. I felt that from the viewpoint of what I was
aiming at, and from the viewpoint of artistic
integrity, that by some absolute, they were
necessary and justified.”

In the course of his testimony, the author disclosed that
the book had four or five editions (R. 208-209). While there
were some differences between the Smith's hard-cover edi-
tion which the Detroit Public Library had on its “restricted
shelf” (Defendant's Exhibit 1), and the Pocket Book edi-
tion ( People’s Exhibit 1) involved in this prosecution, these
concerned changes of spelling, errors in nomenclature,
punctuation, the use of exclamation marks and italics, and
one scene deleted which showed that a priest might be
breaking the seal of the Confession (R. 210-212). The
reason for these changes was that Smith's made changes
in the first manuscript which the author did not know
about and he insisted upon eliminating most of these
changes from the Pocket Book edition (R. 210-212, 223-
225, 232).

At the conclusion of Griffin's testimony, the defense
rested (R. 233) and all motions made at the opening of the
case were again renewed by the defense in addition to a
motion that the proof did not establish beyond a reasonable
doubt the appellant’s guilt of the charge (R. 235). The

17

Court at this time denied all of these motions and held that
the statute was constitutional and not in violation of the
First and Fourteenth Amendments of the United States
Constitution (R. 235).

In rebuttal, the People called Rabbi Morris Adler who
received the degree of Rabbi and Master of Hebrew Litera-
ture at the Jewish Theological Seminary of New York (R.
241-242) and also completed graduate courses in literature
at Columbia University and C ity College of New York
(R. 242). The Rabbi further indicated that a good deal of
his work in his Congregation in Detroit Was with the young
people of that organization (R. 242). The Witness testified
that he read the book “fully and completely” (R. 242)
and that he formed an opinion as to its literary value (R.
244). The next line of questioning was put to the witness
by the Court and over the appellant’s objection (R. 245-
245) :

“** * So, Tam going to ask you again, Rabbi, if you
feel that some of the material in there is justified by
the literary value of the book. can you answer that ?
“A. That's a very difficult question, your Honor.
I'd like to explain my position instead of saying yes
or no.

“The Court: Very well.

. * a

“A. Your Honor, my feeling is that this is a serious
book, that this was written by a man with a talent
for writing, and I think with a serious purpose in
his mind. And 1, for one, would not be too much
concerned about the corruption of the morals of
any one who read this book from a literary point of
view out from his interest in literature. What I am
afraid of is that somehow, word gets around about
certain passages that are not read in connection

18

with the entire book, and that would constitute, of
course, a different kind of effect. I am persuaded
that this is a book of literary merit, and that the
man who wrote it was seriously interested in the
picking [depicting] an area of life which concerned
him.

“The Court: Well, what about the obscene pas-
sages?

“A. I think that if they are read by people who have
no interest in literature as such, or in the description
of character and background that are found in the
book, but simply to seek out these passages, there
are passages that are exceedingly stimulating and
which taken together with other influences in the
lives of young people, may have a corrupting influ-
ence.

“The Court: May have a tendency ?
“A. May have a tendency to corrupt, yes sir.”

The next witness in rebuttal was Father Henry Villerot,
a priest connected with the Blessed Sacrament Cathedral
in Detroit who stated that he had a Bachelor of Arts degree
from a parochial college and that he had never done any
graduate work in literature (R. 247-248). The witness had
never taught literature (R. 248) or reviewed any books for
literary journals, newspapers or magazines (R. 251) but
had done some work with a Catholic Church Committee to
“clean up the literature both in comic and pocketbook form
and even in magazine form on the stands around the city
or the diocese of Detroit” (R. 249). The Court ruled,
nevertheless, that the witness was qualified as a literary
expert (R. 254) and Father Villerot was permitted to give
his opinion concerning the work. His statement was as
follows (R. 255):

19

“As far as the literary work, it definitely falls into
a present classification, modern literature, and cer-
tainly has merit in that particular field insofar as I
might say, the proper telling of the story that the
author intends and his description, and that’s what
I would say in regard to it on a literary basis.”

Again, over defense objection, we have his further tes-
timony, prompted by the Court and subsequently elicited
by the prosecution (R. 255-256) :

t y
ba

“The Court: Let me ask you this, without going
into any expert. Would the parts in there that were
not to your liking, or not moral, or lewd, lascivious
or obscene, would the purpose of the author in your
mind, have justified the inclusion of those parts in
that book, and you may have an objection to that,
and I am going to take the Father’s answer.

“A. As a literary work, maybe. As a work that
should be given to the public for public consumption,
no.

“The Court: You think that the literary value of
the book would have been impaired at all by remov-
ing or changing some of those parts in the book that,
well, particularly the vivid description of the, let’s
call it, sensual rather than sexual act. Do you think
the literary value would have been destroyed if some
of those were changed?

“A. According to my idea of the literary value,
I'd say no.

“Q. (By Mr. Kent) You feel that it was unneces-
sary to go into the intimate details of the sensual
act?

“A. Yes.

20

“Q. And that could have been done without destroy-
ing whatever literary value there might have been
to the book?

“A. I think so, yes.”

The People also called Bishop George W. Baber, Pre-
siding Bishop of the African Methodist Episcopalian
Church (R. 264) who received a Bachelor of Divinity
Degree at Wilburforce University and “shopped about”
(R. 265) for his graduate studies, attending “refresher
courses and seminaries and so forth and so on” (R. 265).
His only study in the field of literature was a “general
survey” but he engaged in reading as “a constant avocation”
(R. 265). He had never been asked to pass an opinion
on the literary value of any book and had never taught
any literary subjects (R. 266). The only remote connec-
tion he had with the literary field was that he “censored
pictures * * * by invitation through the Council of Churches
in Detroit” (R. 266). Despite objection by the defense
as to his qualifications, the Court ruled that he was qualified
as a literary expert and permitted him to testify as to his
opinion of the literary value of the book (R. 268). He
gave as his opinion (R. 268).

“A. I think it is typical of current realistic litera-
ture, and it has value, it indicates that the writer has
a good mind and pursued his subject. When I say
‘good mind’ I mean a good background of training,
and he pursued his subject in an interesting fashion.”

He further stated, however, that the descriptive emphasis
on the sensual was unnecessary to the work (R. 269-270).

The next witness was Mildred Seitz, a Detroit house-
wife who received a Bachelor of Arts degree at the Univer-
sity of Missouri (R. 274) and had recently done some sub-

RTS Ac ecg

21

stitute teaching in the Detroit schools (R. 282-283) on
American and English literature. The witness was President
of the National Council of Catholic Women (R. 276) and
gave her opinion of the work as follows (R. 276-277) :

“I think the book contains merit in this way. It is
very graphically descriptive. It is built like the aver-
age modern novel, it has tremendous rises and fall
of climax, both in description and in actual re-
counting of events.”

Over the objection of the defense, the witness also tes-
tified that the intimate details of the sex act as depicted in
the book detracted from its literary value and that such
value would not have been destroyed if these details were
omitted (R. 278-279). From her experience as a high
school teacher of English she felt that high school students
would not be able to appreciate its literary value (R. 281-
282). Interestingly enough she disclosed that the Prose-
cutor sent her some excerpts from the book which contained
its sex passages and she studied these before testifying
(R. 284-285) and that “thinking about these incidents was
so stimulating, that I could scarcely remember the serious
tone of the book” (R. 286). The episodes, she explained,
“recounted so graphically as they were and so stimulating
as they were, obscured the serious purpose of the book”
(R. 289).

Another witness, Mrs. Genevieve Lola Schoonover, a
graduate of the University of Indiana who had done gradu-
ate work at that institution in Latin and English, appeared
for the prosecution (R. 290). She was now a housewife
and had taught English to groups of business women in
Detroit (R. 291) and reviewed books for these groups and
for clubs and publishers; reviews which were not written

22

but orally delivered (R. 291-292). She had read the book
in question and stated that “the book has a certain amount
of literary value” (R. 292). Over the objection of the ap-
pellant (R. 294-295), the Court adduced the witness’ per-
sonal conclusion that the intimate details of the sex act and
sensual passions and desires, as set forth in the excerpts,
though “stated in high-sounding phrases” were “not neces-
sary” to the value of the book (R. 295).

On cross-examination, Mrs. Schoonover stated that
although the book “has literary merit’’ (R. 296), the author
had confused the conflict of the spirit over the flesh (R. 296-
297). She acknowledged also that some sort of emphasis
might be required in describing the worldly temptations and
that the amount of emphasis that was necessary would be
different on the part of different readers ( R. 297-298). Grif-
fin, she felt, tried to work out his story “honestly” but that
“from the standpoint of a discriminating reader he has not
done so” (R. 299). In conclusion, she admitted that the par-
ticular passages of philosophy and life in the monastery were
“well developed and well done” (R. 302) ; that there were a
number of characters that were “well drawn” (R. 303) ; that
there was an interesting description of scenes in the south
of France and that the book gave a vital and stimulating
account of life in the monasteries, of the Benedictine monks
and their principles (R. 303). On redirect examination,
she also acknowledged that the dominant theme of the book
was “the conflict between sensuality and right living, the
life of the spirit’’ (R. 303).

Charles Carroll Hollis, an Associate Professor of Eng-
lish Literature at the University of Detroit, was the last
witness called by the People in rebuttal (R. 304). The wit-
ness did undergraduate work at Marquette University, at-
tended the University of Wisconsin and also St. Louis

—

23

University and finished his graduate work at the University
of Michigan (R. 304). Professor Hollis had been teaching
in the English Department at the University of Detroit
since 1938 and reviewed books (R. 305). The witness had
read People’s Exhibit 1 (R. 305) and stated his opinion
that it was a “well-intentioned book that is not completely
successful in its literary intentions” (R. 306). Actually,
the lack of success, according to Professor Hollis, was the
result of the author's “first person narrator technique or
device” (R. 307), and that such technique “detracts from
the significant theme of the work” (R. 308). When shown
a list of the so-called stimulating sex passages of the work
(R. 308), the witness could not unequivocally answer the
question as to whether or not these passages detracted from
the literary value of the work (R. 309). Instead, he said that
it was really “difficult to make an answer that really answers
my reaction to these passages” (R. 309) and added: “It is
not the material in the passages, it is the handling, it is the
way in which the passages are treated” (R. 309). In re-
sponse to the Court’s question, he stated that the author
could have said ‘the same thing in another way, without
making the book offensive at all” (R. 310). When the
Court, over defense objection (R. 309), pressed the wit-
ness as to whether “it was necessary for the author to go
into such minute description of details in order to carry
out this theme of the inner conflict between” the spirit and
the flesh (R. 310), the witness stated that he felt that the
temptations of the flesh were presented here more for the
sensual appetite of the reader (R. 310-311). On redirect
examination, the Professor acknowledged that he might
recommend the book to his graduate students (R. 319) but,
as he explained, he would be cautious about recommending
it because some passages in it would arouse the sexual appe-
tites of the students (R. 320).

24

The rebuttal concluded, the People rested (R. 326).
The defense then renewed all the motions previously made
as to the unconstitutionality of the statute and the insuffici-
ency of the evidence to warrant a conviction and these were
denied by the trial judge (R. 326-328). In finding the
appellant guilty of violating the statute, the Court gave the
following oral opinion (R. 330-333) :

“In this case, the Detroit Police Department,
through its officer, Inspector Herbert Case, arrested
the defendant, Alfred E. Butler, for selling a book,
namely ‘The Devil Rides Outside,’ written by John
H. Griffin, claimed to be in violation of Section
740.343 of the Compiled Laws of 1948, as amended
by Act 74 of the Public Acts of 1953, claiming it
to be a book containing obscene, immoral, lewd,
lascivious language, or descriptions, tending to incite
minors to violent or depraved or immoral acts, mani-
festly tending to the corruption of the morals of
youth. The defendant claims the action should be
dismissed because the provisions of the Act under
which this case is brought is repugnant to the First
and Fourteenth Amendments of the Constitution of
the United States, and to the Constitutional provi-
sion of the Constitution of the State of Michigan,
guaranteeing the right of Free Press.

Now, without reading the various Sections, vari-
ous Amendments and Sections of the Constitution,
I will say that in this connection, the defendant
claims that the Statute is vague and indefinite and
void because it merits the finding that the book
contains obscene, immoral, lewd or lascivious lan-
guage, without taking into consideration the literary
value of the entire book, contending that it was
necessary for the author to include in his book the
language and descriptions objected to in order to
make the book a complete work of art, and that said

—

25

language was necessary to show the conflict in the
feelings, thought and action of the central figure
of the book who remains unnamed, and who is
torn between the desires for sexual and sensual
pleasures, and the longing for a spiritual life and
control over his desires. The defense contends that
the language objected to is necessary, because only
by the detailed description of his sexual and sensual
desires and pleasures could the author show the
contrast and the intense conflict raging in the man’s
soul, and that to change the language or descriptions
would ruin or completely impair or greatly impair,
rather, the work as a book, the book as a work of
art.

The sincere purpose of the author being to vividly
portray this intense conflict and the final victory of
good over evil.

Now, after reading the book, and after having
examined the authorities cited in the briefs of coun-
sel, and after listening to the testimony offered in
this case, the Court finds that the Act under which
this case is brought is not unconstitutional, as being
in violation and repugnant to the First and Four-
teenth Amendments of the United States Consti-
tution or against the Section of the Michigan Con-
stitution guaranteeing the right of the Freedom of
the Press.

And the Court further finds that the State of
Michigan under its police power may secure the
health and welfare of its citizens and its youth, and
that it had a right to pass the Act in question.

The Court further finds that the language con-
tained in the book is obscene and immoral and lewd
and lascivious, and is such that it tends to incite
minors to violent or depraved acts, to the corruption
of the morals of youth. There is little question as to
the sincerity of purpose of the author in writing the
book, but such sincerity does not afford him the

26

privilege or license of violating the law and seek to
justify it under the guise of being absolutely neces-
sary in order to maintain the literary value of the
book.

There is little question in the mind of the Court
that the author, with his beautiful command of the
English language, could have portrayed to the reader
the conflict within this individual, without setting
forth in detail the intimate acts and lustful feelings
in obscene, immoral, lewd and lascivious language,
contrary to our Statute.

Now, in that connection, I've listened to the
experts called by both sides and I am not convinced
that that part of the book dealing with the sexual
acts and pleasures of the author was necessary, even
treating the book as a whole. However, the Court
does have to find that it is in violation of this particu-
lar Statute because the Statute does say that it is
sufficient to contain lewd, immoral, obscene and
lascivious language or description.

So that if, therefore, if there ever is a review of
my decision in this matter, T am not trying in any
way to evade the issue; 1 am trying to follow the
Statute as it is. So, I. am holding that the defendant
is guilty because he sold a book in the City of Detroit
containing this language, and also because the Court
feels that even viewing the book as a whole, it was
not necessary to the proper development of the
theme of the book nor of the conflict expressed
therein.

Therefore, the Court finds the defendant guilty
of the charge and orders him to pay a fine in the
amount of $100."

The appellant's motion for a new trial, again based on
the deprivation of his rights and privileges under the First
and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution of the

RRR IE tga

27

United States and on the claim that his guilt of the charge
was not sufficiently established, was filed July 20, 1954, and
denied on February 24, 1955 by Judge W. McKay Skillman
of the Recorder’s Court (R. 337-9, 341).

Summary of Argument

The appellant contends that the Michigan Statute upon
which his judgment of guilt was predicated, violates the
constitutional guarantees of freedom of press and due
process of law, inasmuch as its provisions plainly prohibit
the circulation of any book which contains any obscenity
of the type which tends to “incite minors to violent or de-
praved or immoral acts, manifestly tending to the corrup-
tion of the morals of youth.”

Thus, if any book has in it any scene, passage, phrase or
word, which by some criteria not set forth in the statute
nor otherwise ascertainable, tends to such incitement or
corruption, it cannot be sold to any adult in the community.
These broad provisions in this statute give rise to three
grave constitutional defects which in and of themselves and
more extensively in their combined and cumulative effect,
enormously and invalidly restrict the appellant's right to
sell and distribute literature.

Specifically, the statute is a grossly excessive restriction
on the appellant's freedom of press in that it absolutely
prohibits and punishes the publication and distribution of
a book to any member of the public merely because of the
effect such book might tend to have on minors. Moreover,
the statute does not just protect the young from works that
are obscene, immoral, lewd or lascivious, but specifies that
such obscenity must be of the type that tends to “incite
minors to violent or depraved or immoral acts, manifestly

<a sett NOG : ae ‘ ai dere SE kes RY

28

tending to the corruption of the morals of youth.” Thus,
the general concept of obscenity, which courts can and have
construed and which the public might be deemed to under-
stand, has been modified and redefined in wholly vague,
indefinite and incomprehensible terms. This vagueness and
indefiniteness in a criminal statute renders it outside the pale
of due process.

Finally, this statute very pointedly provides that if a
book merely contains such injurious material for the young,
it cannot be sold or circulated. This precludes any consid-
eration of the entire book as a whole, its serious purpose and
accepted literary value, and permits a trial court, as in the
case at bar, to pass judgment on isolated excerpts in the
book without regard to the work as a whole or its dominant
themes. This unreasonably restrictive limitation on the dis-
tribution of a book is, the appellant contends, a patently
unconstitutional deprivation of his freedom of press.

ARGUMENT
I

THE MICHIGAN STATUTE AND THE JUDGMENT
PREDICATED ON IT PLAINLY AND SERIOUSLY INFRINGE
THE FREEDOM OF PRESS AND DUE PROCESS OF LAW
GUARANTEED BY THE FIRST AND FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENTS TO THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTION.

The Michigan statute here in question is a criminal
statute and as such must be strictly construed. Moreover,
its constitutional validity has never been passed upon or
even remotely considered by any appellate court in Michi-
gan. Thus, when leave to appeal to the Supreme Court ot
Michigan was denied (R. 400), despite the prosecutor’s con-
cession that “the issues involved in this case are of great

29

public interest” and that a “clarification of the language of”
this statute was “necessary” (R. 397), this statute’s ques-
tionable constitutional validity escaped any judicial scrutiny
except that of the Recorder’s Court in the City of Detroit.
The appellant’s attack on the unconstitutional aspects of
this statute was timely and continuously directed. Before
the commencement of the prosecution, these defects of the
statute were clearly pointed out in the appellant’s motion
to dismiss (R. 3-5). Thereafter throughout the course of
the trial in motions to dismiss the People’s case and the
entire case, these same contentions were again advanced
(R. 41-42, 235-236, 327-328). Identical arguments were
unsuccessfully addressed to the Supreme Court of Michi-
gan and there rejected again when that Court refused to
even consider Butler’s appeal (R. 349-350, 400).

The Michigan statute now before this Court was given
a strict construction by the trial judge who flatly rejected
all the constitutional objections raised by the appellant and
squarely ruled that its provisions were not in violation of
the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution
of the United States (R. 331-332). He also specifically
found the language contained in the book to be “obscene
and immoral and lewd and lascivious and is such that it
tends to incite minors to violent or depraved acts, to the cor-
ruption of the morals of youth” (R. 332). In refusing to
grant an appeal, the Supreme Court of Michigan either
approved this construction of the statute and the rulings
thereunder, or avoided any consideration of the problem.
Appellant now contends in this Court that this Michi-
gan statute, on its face and as applied, involves very mani-
fest infringements on his constitutional rights of freedom
of press and due process of law. As such it cannot be
validly operative and the judgment convicting the appellant,
wholly predicated upon its provisions, should be reversed.

30

A. The freedom of press and due process aspects of stat-
utes restricting the distributing of literature.

The issues involved in this appeal, though emanating
from the doctrines enunciated in Winters v. New York
(1947), 333 U. S. 507, 510, have never been squarely
presented to or resolved by this Court. They involve crucial
aspects of freedom of press and due process as these rights
are protected by the First and Fourteenth Amendments to
the Constitution of the United States.

There are now quite a number of state statutes similar
to the one at bar, punishing and prohibiting publication
and distribution of literature “containing” material that is
obscene in that it corrupts the morals of youth or tends to
incite youths to depraved and immoral acts.* Hence, the
constitutional validity of this type of legislation is a most
vital problem in the publishing world of today and a serious
challenge to the aforesaid constitutional liberties.

Naturally, the appellant concedes that the police power
of a state is broad enough to justify legislation prohibit-
ing and punishing the publication and circulation of litera-
ture which is obscene, or one of its equivalents, lewd,
indecent or lascivious. That point is not involved in the
case at bar. However, the Winters case expressly suggested
that there are limits to the extent to which this Court will
permit obscenity statutes to interfere with constitutional
freedom of expression, when it said:

“We recognize the importance of the exercise
of a state’s police power to minimize all incentives to

*For example: Colorado: Stat. Ann. (1935) ch. 48, sec. 217;
Florida: Statutes (1951) sec. 847.01 ; Iowa: Code (1950) sec. 725.4;
Maine: Rev. Stat. (1944) ch. 121, sec. 24; Rhode Island: Gen. Laws
(1938) ch. 610, sec. 13; South Carolina: Code (1952) sec. 16-414;
Tennessee: Williams Code (1934) sec. 11190; Vermont: Stat. Rev.
of 1947, sec. 8490; Virginia: Code (1950) sec. 18-113; West Vir-
ginia: Code (1949) sec. 6066.

TERRI WS

31

crime, particularly in the field of sanguinary or sala-
cious publications with their stimulation of juvenile
delinquency. Although we are dealing with an aspect
of a free press in its relation to public morals, the
principles of unrestricted distribution of publications
admonish us of the particular importance of a
maintenance of standards of certainty in the field of
criminal prosecution for violation of statutory pro-
hibitions against distribution.”

Winters v. New York (1947), 333 U. S. 507,
at p. 510.

It is by now well settled that by virtue of the Fourteenth
Amendment, freedom of speech and of the press is secured
to all persons against abridgement by a state.

Grosjean v. American Press Co. Inc. (1936),
297 U. S. 233, 243;

Lovell v. Griffin (1937), 303 U. S. 444, 450;

Schneider v. State of New Jersey, Town of
Irvington (1939), 308 U. S. 147, 160;

Bridges v. State of California (1941), 314

U. S. 252;
Pennekamp v. Florida (1946), 328 U. S. 331,
335.

It is, of course, clear that freedom of the press is not
limited to newspapers and periodicals but, in its historic
connotation, comprehends every sort of publication which
affords a vehicle of information and opinion. Lovell v.
Griffin (1937), 303 U. S. 444, 450. Such liberty is pro-
tected at every step in the process of creation, publication
and circulation, from the writing and imprinting of the
work until it reaches the hands of the ultimate reader. As

32

Mr. Justice Hughes said in the Lovell case, supra, quoting
from Ex parte Jackson (1877), 96 U. S. 727, 733:

“Liberty of circulating is as essential to that
freedom as liberty of publishing; indeed, without
the circulation, the publication would be of little
value.”

Lovell v. Griffin, 303 U.S. 444, 452.

B. Prohibiting the Circulation of a Book to Any Member
of the Community on the Ground That It May Tend to Have
an Injurious Effect Upon a Minor, Is an Unconstitutional
Deprivation of the Appellant’s Freedom of Press.

The Statvte in clear and unquestioned terms provides,
insofar as is herein pertinent, that:

“Any person who shall * * * sell, * * * distribute or
offer for sale, any book, * * * containing obscene,
immoral, lewd or lascivious language, * * * or de-
scriptions, tending to incite minors to violent or de-
praved or immoral acts, manifestly tending to the
corruption of the morals of youth, * * * shall be
guilty of a misdemeanor.”

Thus, from its terms there can be no doubt that if a book
contains material which the statute classifies as objectionable
for youth, it cannot be sold at all to any adult, or to any
library or to any educational institution. The statute does
not simply outlaw the distribution of the book to a minor.
Instead, it lowers the permissible standard of adult reading
to a child’s level.

The case at bar particularly highlights this patent in-
vasion of the appellant’s constitutional right of freedom of
the press because it did not deal with any actual or specifi-
cally intended distribution of the book to any minor. It
was a Detroit police inspector who bought the book and
brought the charge (R. 25-28), though elsewhere, the work

33

was distributed openly and generally by newsstand sales
to the American public at large (R. 70). There was no
proof at the trial indicating the probable audience of this
book or that it was specially directed to young readers.
On the other hand, there was evidence introduced by the
appellant that the book was nationally advertised and dis-
tributed to the general public and without any special
stimulating promotion (R. 66, 71-72).

The appellant does not contest that the state’s police
power encompasses the protection of the morals of youth.
But such power must be properly utilized. If the measures
adopted are arbitrary and oppressive, they violate constitu-
tional guarantees. Treigle vy. Acme Homestead Assoc.
(1936), 297 U.S. 189, 197; Liggett Co. v. Baldridge
(1928), 278 U.S. 105, 111-112. Here, the proscriptions
contained in the statute are such that a vital constitutional
freedom is drastically reduced even though no minor may be
in any wise involved. Moreover, a book which might cor-
rupt a child in many cases would have no improper influence
upon a mature person, yet the Michigan adult cannot read
or purchase it. It is patent, therefore, that the statute em-
ploys wholly excessive means to combat the evil; legislation
which arbitrarily and oppressively infringes on the appel-
lant’s freedom of press.

This statute and the many similar ones in other states
(supra, p. 30) represents a legislative codification of the
rule in the old English case of Queen v. Hicklin (1868),
L. R. 3 Q. B. 360, 371, in which Lord Chief Justice Cock-
burn defined the “test of obscenity”, as:

“whether the tendency of the matter charged as ob-
scenity is to deprave and corrupt those whose minds
are open to such immoral influences, and into whose
hands a publication of this sort may fall.”

34

Most American courts originally followed this rule in con-
struing statutes generally prohibiting the possession or dis-
tribution of obscene material. However, by 1935 the doc-
trine of the Hicklin case had been effectively routed, par-
ticularly in the federal circuits. Judge Augustus N. Hand,
in the celebrated Ulysses case, speaking for the Court, said
that a book is obscene only if its dominant effect is libidinous,
and this decision affirmed Judge Woolsey’s District Court
opinion which pointed out that the law was concerned only
with the “person with average sex instincts.” United States
v. One Book Entitled “Ulysses” (S. D. N. Y. 1933), 5 F,
Supp. 182, 184, aff’d., 72 F. 2d. 705, 707-708; Walker v.
Popenoe (D. C. Cir. 1945), 148 F. 2d. 511, 512; United
States v. Levine (2d. Cir. 1936), 83 F. 2d. 156, 158.

But while most courts ultimately abandoned the practice
of construing obscene literature statutes solely to safe-
guard the young and the weak, some state legislatures com-
menced to enact statutes explicitly providing for such pro-
tection and which outlawed books tending to corrupt the
morals of the young. |See: Lockhart and McClure: Liter-
ature, the Law of Obscenity, and the Constitution, (1954),
38 Minn. Law Review, pp. 295, 339-340.] In those juris-
dictions, and Michigan manifestly is one of them, the mod-
ern enlightenment and advance of judicial opinion con-
cerning obscenity is unavailing since the statutes themselves
require the courts to apply and enforce this rigid “youth”
test even though the interests of the entire adult member-
ship of the community might thereby be sacrificed.

In view of the specific provisions of this Michigan
statute, the trial judge in the case at bar had the difficult
choice of either declaring it unconstitutional as a violation
of the freedom of press or enforcing its precise terms. In
upholding the statute and rendering a judgment of convic-
tion, the Court below pointedly found that there was mate-

PREETI PES TITS EMINENT LIBAN RATS TNE ET RINT Toi

—

35

rial in the book which “tends to incite minors to violent or
depraved acts, to the corruption of the morals of youth”
(R. 332). Hence, in the protection of the interests of those
who might be abnormally susceptible, he was necessarily
required to eliminate the interests of those who might have
profited from the work.

Of course, the basic question in this aspect of the
case is whether the rule of the /icklin case, whether adopted
by judicial construction, or enforced by legislative fiat as
in Michigan, can ever comport with the constitutional re-
quirement of freedom of press. The appellant squarely
contends that it cannot because it operates as a restricted
license to publish and distribute only those works which
might have no ill effects upon the young. This statutory
restriction of adult reading to books wholly acceptable for
adolescents is a deep and far reaching invasion of the con-
stitutional right. It cannot possibly be counterbalanced by
the claimed safeguarding of the young from the contingent
and unpredictable effect a book might have upon them.

C. The Michigan Statute Defines Obscenity in Vague and
Indefinite Terms and Hence Its Restrictions on the Sale of
Obscene Literature do not Comport with Due Process.

The statute does not simply prohibit the distribution of
a book “containing” obscene, immoral, lewd and lascivious
language and descriptions. In its provisions the concept of
obscenity is unqualifiedly defined as and hinged on the
phrase that such obscenity must be of the type ‘tending to
incite minors to violent or depraved or immoral acts, mani-
festly tending to the corruption of the morals of youth.”
The judgment of the trial court squarely found that sections
of the book in question did just that, the opinion stating
(R. 332):

A aay . — ‘ “ one ° bo acre ae Peay

emg

36

“The Court further finds that the language con-
tained in the book is obscene and immoral and lewd
and lascivious, and is such that it tends to incite
minors to violent or depraved acts, to the corruption
of the morals of youth.”

But the appellant contends that this statutory definition of
obscenity and lewdness is far too uncertain in its meaning
and is not based on any standard of conduct that a person
can perceive or to which he can conform.

On several occasions during the examination of the
literary experts, testimony was elicited, over the objection
of the appellant, that certain realistically written passages
in the work might tend to incite minors to violent or de-
praved or immoral acts, manifestly tending to the corrup-
tion of the morals of youth (R. 170, 245-246, 256). Ob-
viously, the Court was acting under the wording of the
statute and on one occasion so stated (R. 170). However,
this procedure inevitably placed the appellant on trial on
a criminal charge that was vague and indefinite since there
were no standards of conduct, either in the statute, or
placed in evidence by the People, which adequately sct
forth what incited minors to violent or depraved or im-
moral acts, or what manifestly tended to the corruption of
their morals.

The appellant contends, therefore, that such legislation
is not sufficiently definite to enable the average member of
the public to ascertain what publications are interdicted.
A criminal statute, he argues, can not require that every
person distributing a book correctly determine whether
the work tends to incite youths to violence, immorality or
depravity, or whether it would corrupt the morals of minors.
Hence, the legislation herein involved is too vague and
indefinite to be constitutionally valid. Winters v. New

AI CARI ry ste, 2, BERR Wisk Spe

_ <——

37

York (1947), 333 U. S. 507; Burstyn v. Wilson (1952),
343 U. S. 495; Commercial Pictures Corp. v. Regents
(1954), 346 U.S. 587; Gelling v. Texas (1952), 343 U. S.
9600; Holuhy Productions Inc. et al. v. Vaughan et al.
(Oct. Ter: , 1955), 70S. Ct. 117; Superior Films, Inc. v.
Departme.it of Education (1954), 346 U. S. 587.

The Commercial Pictures Corp. case, supra, makes
manifest that this Court, construing the constitutional
guarantees of freedom of press and due process, has
squarely ruled that the word “immoral” and the phrase
“tend to corrupt the morals” in a prohibitory statute or as
the basis of an adjudication, are too vague and indefinite
to comport with due process of law and operate as an
unconstitutional infringement of the freedom of press.
In the Superior Films case, supra, decided as a companion
case to the Commercial Pictures Corp. case, this Court
held void for indefiniteness an Ohio statute allowing the
state censors to license the exhibition of motion pictures
only if they were “moral,” “educational” or “amusing and
harmless in character.” In the Burstyn case, supra, the
New York statute, authorizing a denial of a license to
exhibit a film if the Regents found it to be “sacrilegious,”
was also held by this Court to be too vague to comport with
due process.

Again, most recently, this Court was called on to con-
strue a Kansas statute in the Holmby Production case
(October Term, 1955) 76 S. Ct. 117. There the state law
provided that it was the duty of the license board to refuse
to license the exhibition of films which were “cruel, obscene,
indecent and immoral or such as to tend to debase or cor-
rupt morals.” The board could only approve films which
were “moral” and “proper.” The particular film in question
was denied a license under the terms of the statute, and

— %

eee ———

this Court in its October 1955 Term, reversed the Kansas
Supreme Court in a per curiam order merely citing its
decisions in the Burstyn and Superior Films cases.

Any fair appraisal of these precedents, decided in recent
years by this Court, makes apparent that state statutes, as
in the instant case, which authorize the banning of vehicles
of artistic expression on grounds which are vague, indefinite
or uncertain, squarely violate the constitutional guarantees
of the Fourteenth Amendment, and hence are invalid. On
this score surely, there can be no difference between movies
and books.

In the case at bar the vagueness and uncertainty of
the statute is striking. We are in no wise informed as to
what standards guided the trial court in determining that
“The Devil Rides Outside” tended to incite minors to the
unlawful conduct specified, or to corrupt their morals.
The statute itself sets up no criteria on this subject and
the only evidence elicited to support the charge that the
book did have that tendency, were the blandly expressed
opinions of witnesses who were qualified at the trial merely
as literary experts (R. 170, 245-246, 256).

D. Because It Prohibits the Distribution of a Book “Con-
taining” Any Obscenity, the Michigan Statute Violates the
Constitutional Guarantees of Freedom of Press and Due Process
of Law.

A vital defect, apparent on the face of the statute, is
that it does not permit a consideration of the work as a
whole because it prohibits and punishes the publication and
circulation of a book “containing” obscene language and
descriptions. The trial itself accentuated the importance of
this constitutional defect. Over objection and exception by
the appellant, the People’s literary expert witnesses were,
under the wording of the statute, allowed or directed to pass

NTR YE ae Ee ERE STE Ey Te MT AT SNP SR PE aN ES

———,

judgment on isolated excerpts of the book, taken from their
context and treated without regard to the work as a whole
or its dominant themes (RK. 245-240, 255-256, 294-295).
The trial court’s ultimate justification for this testimony
was the fact that the statute prohibited the sale or distribu-
tion of a book “containing” obscene, immoral, lewd or lasciv-
ious language or descriptions (R. 332-33).

Although the trial court, acting under the mandate of the
statute, found that “The Devil Rides Outside” contained
obscenity, the judge acknowledged “the sincerity of pur-
pose of the author in writing the book” (R. 332) and “his
beautiful command of the English language” (R. 332).
All of the People’s expert witnesses virtually conceded that
the book had literary value or at least was seriously inten-
tioned (R. 245-246, 255, 268, 276-277, 292, 302-303, 306,
323-324). Their principal objection was that the lusty
descriptions and language in the work were unnecessary and
diminished its literary value (R. 256, 269-270, 278-279, 289,
295) and the trial judge came to the same conclusion in his
opinion. However, it should be carefully noted that he
made no finding that the book, viewed in its entirety, was
obscene. Instead, he merely commented that even “viewing
the book as a whole,” the excerpted portions were “not
necessary to the proper development of the theme of the
book nor of the conflict expressed therein” (R. 333). This
was nothing more than his opinion as to the artistic neces-
sities and value of some material incorporated in the work.

The precise language of the opinion makes abundantly
clear that the trial judge predicated his finding of obscenity
solely upon the word “containing” found in the statute.
Thus, (R. 332-333) :

“However, the Court does have to find that it is in
violation of this particular Statute because the Stat-

39

40

ute does say that it is sufficient to contain lewd,
inumoral, obscene and lascivious language or descrip-
tion.

So that if, therefore, if there ever is a review of
my decision in this matter, I am not trying in any
way to evade the issue; | am trying to follow the
Statute as it is. So, I am holding that the de-
fendant is guilty because he sold a book in the City
of Detroit containing this language, and also be-
cause the Court feels that even viewing the book as
a whole, it was not necessary to the proper devel-
opment of the theme of the book nor of the conflict
expressed therein.”

The trial court’s comments about the book as a whole
were not only dicta which expressed his non-expert opinion
of the literary necessities of the style and writing, but were
logically invalid. The inclusion of unnecessary language
and descriptions could not seriously impair the literary
value of the work so long as such material was relevant.
The opinion makes no finding or comment about these
passages being irrelevant or out of context. It hardly
could since all the experts agreed that it was a story devoted
to portraying the conflict in man_ between. spiritual
advance and the temptations of the flesh. Whether or not
the excerpted passages were necessary is essentially a ques-
tion of degree but they were undoubtedly vitally connected
to the dominant theme of the book and hence forcefully
relevant.

Nor did the trial judge make any finding or observation
that the abundance of these objectionable passages rendered
the whole work obscene. This, of course, would be diff-
cult to do since ‘The Devil Rides Outside” is a work of
almost 600 pages, acclaimed by reviewers, and conceded
by virtually all of the People’s experts to be a serious effort
of literary merit (People’s Exhibit 1; R. 245-246, 255,

EVENT BURSA TOMI MN IP GM Ss

—

41

268, 276-277, 292, 302-303). Here again, it is obvious
that the prosecution’s attack on the book and the application
of the statute to it by the trial court were wholly centered
on the fact that it contained some offensive material.

In the case at bar the Michigan legislature has com-
pelled a court to ban a book because of some of its con-
tents. But those who distribute books in the community
would be at a total loss to know how to live by this rule.
It would be impossible for a member of the public to
determine whether any work, especially an apparently
serious and lengthy book, contains some isolated pro-
scribed material to be judged out of its context, ripped from
the total structure of the work and without consideration of
its relationship to the book’s theme, literary style or pur-
poses. There is, therefore, a vast area of indefiniteness
and uncertainty in the operation and application of this
statute and in consequence it necessarily runs afoul of due
process of law.

In the case at bar, however, there is a greater require-
ment for definiteness because this “containing” statute also
impinges on the guaranteed constitutional freedom of press.
In effect, it obviates a fair consideration of the work as
a whole or the dominant purposes of the publication. At
present, most federal and state courts in which the ques-
tion has been considered have explicitly adopted the require-
ment that a book must be judged as a whole, not by its
parts taken out of context. United States v. One Book
Entitled “Ulysses” (2d. Cir. 1934), 72 F. 2d. 705; United
States v. Levine (2d. Cir. 1936), 83 F. 2d. 156; Parmalee
v. United States (D.C. Cir. 1940), 113 F. 2d. 729; Walker
v. Popenoe (D. C. Cir. 1945), 148 F. 2d. 511; Halsey v.
N.Y. Society (1922), 234 N. Y. 1, 4: Commonwealth v.
Gordon (1949), 66 Pa. D. & C. 101, aff'd. sub. nom. Com-
monwealth v. Feigenbaum (1950), 166 Pa. Super. 120, 70

42

A. 2d. 389; State v. Lerner (Ohio C. P. 1948), 81 N. E. 24.
282; New American Library of World Literature v. Allen
(N. D. Ohio, E. D. 1953), 114 F. Supp. 823.

In recent cases in both the state and federal courts in
Ohio, statutes punishing or prohibiting the circulation of
a work “containing” an obscenity, or of “any” obscene
nature, were held unconstitutional because in obviating a
consideration of the work as a whole, such statutes were
too broad an invasion of the freedom of press. State v.
Lerner (1948), 81 N. E. 2d. 282, 285, supra; New Ameri-
can Library v. Allen (1953), 114 F. Supp. 823, 830-831,
supra.

This abundance of authority makes manifest that
prosecutions against works of literature are constitu-
tionally valid only when the dominant effect of the work
has been judged and the book considered as an integrated
whole. Hence, statutes. such as the one in the instant case,
that authorize a finding of obscenity based only on a part
of the work are to that extent unconstitutional, as are judg-
ments of obscenity similarly based.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, it is respectfully submitted that
the judgment of the Recorder’s Court of the City of Detroit
should be reversed and the Michigan statute herein involved
should be declared unconstitutional.

MANUEL LEE ROBBINS
30 Broad Street
New York 4, New York

WILiiamM G. ComB
1512 Dime Building
Detroit 26, Michigan

Attorneys for Appellant
August, 1956.

PRR cat MT EO So ie Ae PET A RRE OS ON a ie

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386408_0257%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
