# Brief for the Petitioners — Steele v. Bulova Watch Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386407_0186%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the Petitioners
- **Published:** January 1, 1952
- **Citation:** 344 U.S. 280

## Text

LIBRARY _
“SUPREME COURT, U.S.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNI

OCTOBER TERM 1952

. e

“NO. 38

- os SIDNEY STEELE, et al, PeTiTIONERS:

versus.
. BULOVA. WATCH COMPANY, INC.

.
2
7

* ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO - |
‘THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS :
7 FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

‘BRIEF FOR THE ith a

ri

g ~~
an Se
.

' GRADY Bassert,
ri 1501 Alamo, National Building, -
Ce Set San Antonio 5, ‘Téxas.-
/ HERBERT ~ DAvIs, eS
ies 904 Alamo National; ‘Building,
San Antonio 5, Texas. eae ”
W. L MATTHEWS,
. 1501 Alamo National Building,
Ee - San Antonio 5,. Texas. > oa
Attorneys for Petitioners.

rs

aicieaashaetseniicceilitiiatisi tote Dee

re)

INDE X
see . ‘Page
‘Opinions 0). hein PBN Ne etaie Nae 2 eater ane Woe
Jurisdiction ......0........ pe tseteveniaeeee Ss oahitis Lape blots Rakes occ os
Statutes Involved 0.02.0): Pea ee eee
Speciwucaion of Error... ee
na ig Ahlack Die rl Abin sae ae Bed a eghel EADN D nd 2 3-8
Summary of Argument : SAN TEND AERIAL? MH TEAS he De AA 9
Argument... pie Eire Fi tets Snare Meant Saeed. Se 10-23
Fa RMR RPRER CEG SORES aM ed Fl Caw Se Adelie STS Fas 24
3 CITATIONS
CASES: » ape ee ® ; |
American Banana Co. v. United Fruit Co., |
213 U. S. 347, 53 L. Ed. 826... Ae Oe ens | 1
Blackmer v. United States , 284 U, s. 421, 7
be SE ER 7 | Recta eb At, Aare edad SNR ciation ee

_ Brown vy. Duchesne, 19 ie. 183, fs L.Ed, 696" 46
Cuba Railread Company vy, Cc rosby,, 222.U. S. 473,

OW ta BG. SIG Be ees Ea el eta bso he INS |

r ~ Dowagiac Manufacturing Company v. Minnesota
Moline Plow Co., 235 U. S. 641, 59 L. Ed. 398 in
‘Hanover Star Milling Co. vy. Metcalf, 240 U.S. 403,
60:L. Ed. 713. a et Ker Ae
Ingenohl v. Olsen & Co., 273 U. 'S. 541, 1 a Ed. 762... 3
Marshall v..Turnbull, 34 Fed. 827... ae

- Sandberg v. McDonald, 248 U. S. 185, 63 L. ‘Ed. 200. 18
Slater v. Mexican National Railway Company, 194

U. 8. 120, 48 L. Ed..900......... 24
The People v. McLeod, 1 Hill 377, N. ¥. C ‘am.

L. Rep. 164 3 dd
The Schooner Exe hange v. M’Faddon, 7 C r. 114, :

3 L. Ed. 287 ae 15

United States v. Bowman, 269 b. S. 94, 67 L. Fd. 1492.19

STATUTES:
11 Corn Juris. Vol 63. Section 11 , ae
Lanhgm Trade-Mark- Act. 15 a, S;G.,
| Sees, 1951-1127 | : Nf

o

Ld

3

Ce

SUPREME COURT. OF THE UNITED STATES

. OCTOBER TERM 1952

NO. 38

‘SIDNEY STEELE, et al, PETITIONERS
versus

-BULOVA WATCH COMPANY, INC.

<< _2
Ogee >

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO.
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS |
: FOR THE FIFTH aaupicaet

BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONERS

OPINIONS

The majority opinion of the Court of Appeals (R. 389)
and the. dissenting opinion of Judge Russell (R. 399) are-
reported in 194 F. 2d.567-573. The findings of fact and
conclusions of law of the District Court are peinted in the
. record at pages 238-240.

aman ipinen
JURISDICTION

The judartent of the Court of Appeals was entered on
- February 21, 1952. Petition for rehearing was filed |
March 7, 1952 and order denying the same was entered |
March 18, 1952. Petition for -Certiorari was filed April
Zi. 1952 and was granted June 2, 1952, Jurisdiction of this
ésurt rests on 28 U.S.C. 1254 (1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The Lariham Trade-Mark. Act, the Act of July 5, 1946,
60 Stat. 427, incorporated in 15 U.S.C. Sees. 1051- 1127. The
interpretation of no specific provisions of this Act is in-
volved but its applicability to marks registered and used
only within the Republic of Mexico is the question at issue.

"SPECIFICATION OF ERRORS

The question presented and ‘urged arise upon the
following errors of the Court of Appeals:

1. The Court erred in holding that the Lanham Trade-

4 ) Mark Act (15 U.S.C. Sec. 1051 et seq.) prescribes standards

“at fair competition to be observed by all ‘nationals of the
United States in the Republic of Mexico and throughout
the world and hence forms He basis for a court of the
“United States to enjoin the use of a trade-name held ‘unde~
a grant from the Republic of Mexico and used solely within
the’ Republic of Mexico in the internal commerce of that
Nation.

2. The Court erred in holding -that a United States.
District Court°has pgwet to apply the laws of the United-

States and enjoin the use of and thus nullify and cancel
Mexican National Trade- Mark No, 33602, adjudicated by
the Courts of Mexico to validly grant to Petitioner, Sidney

i

a

oni hnnee

Steele, the right to use the name “Bulova” in the Republic
of Mexico as a trade-name for watches, the evidence show-
ing that watches bearing the name are assembled and
stamped with the name in Mexico and sold only in the
internal commerce of Mexico.

3. The Court erred in holding that the mere fact that
Sidney Steele is an American citizen and the Trial Court
‘acquired jurisdiction by service of process on him, gave
the Trial €ourt power to apply the laws of the United
States to his alleged acts of competition in Mexico in the
face of the fact that his use of the name “Bulova” solely
in the interffal commerce of the Republic of Mexico was. in
accordance with a trade-mark granted under Mexican law
and adjudicated to be valid by the Mexican Courts.

4, The Court: erred in holding that the panchass by
Sidney Steele of unbranded watch cases and watch dials
from manufacturers and jobbers in the United States
furnished a basis for the granting of an injunction against
Petitioners, because the purchase of such unbranded cases
and dials does not violate any right of Bulova Watch Com-
pany protected by law and does not justify nor tend to
justify an injunction by a United States Court against the
use in the Republic of Mexico of the trade-mark granted
: under the laws of ‘Mexico.

STATEMENT

Bulova Watch Company, Inc,, filed this suit on June
13, 1949 in the United States District Court at San Antonio,
‘Texas, seeking a permanent injunction against the use by
Sidney Steele of the name “Bulova” and a decree requir- -
ing cancellation of his duly granted Mexican National
Trade-Mark No. 33602 covering the name “Bulova” for
~ use in Mexico on Swiss watches. (R. 1-8)

Do

“Steele answered, stating that on December 5, 1933; he
was granted Mexican National Trade-Mark No. 3360: cov-
ering the name “Bulova” for use in connection with the sale
of Swiss watches of all classes (R. 260) and that he had’
been engaged in selling Swiss watches imported from
Switzerland in Mexico. under said trade name sincé 1933;
‘that his right te use the same in connection with the. sale
of Swiss watches in Mexico had been twice adjudicated by
the Mexican courts in actions brought by- Bulova Watch
Company and its agent; and that all of the transactions in
watches bearing the name “Bulova” occurred within the
Republic of Mexico and were in accordance with and sanc-—
tioned by the law of the Republic of Mexico and that the
laws of the United States were, wholly. inapplicable there- —
to. (R. 8-15). | .

The District Court, based. on undisputed evidence, made
the following findings of fact,’ none of which were set
aside or altered by the Circuit Court:

“1. The Defendant Sidney Steele is now and has been
since 1933 engaged in the business of selling watches sole-
ly in the Republic of Mexico from his sole and only place
of business located in Mexico City. The Defendant Sid-
ney Steele has no place of business in the United States
and does not engage in the sale of watches or other goods
within the United States or any of its territories. The
Defendant Sidney Steele does not compete in the sale of
watches in the United States or in any territory subject
to its jurisdiction. (R.: 238):

ane Note of the acts of the Defendant Sidney Steele

in placing the name ‘Bulova’ on the face or works of watches

or in the sale of watches bearing said name were done or

- performed within the United States or any of its territories,

but were/ /done and performed solely within the Republic

of Me wie o Where the Defer dant, Steele assembles, marks
on fe

x
oY |

‘

——

and sells all of the w vatches bearing the name ‘Bulova’ w hich
are assembled, marked and sold by him. .(R. 238).

“3. The Defendant Sidney Steele. procures all of the
works of the watches sold by him solely from manufac-
turers of watches in Switzerland. None of the works of
watches imported by him into. Mexico from Switzerland.
have the ‘Bulova,’ name stamped or engraved on them,
said name being placed thereon by said Defendant at his
place of business in Mexico City and not elsewhere. The
Defendant Steele procures all’watch cases and watch dials
used by him in his business in Mexico City from Switzer-
‘land except for some watch cases and watch dials which
‘are procured from manufacturers or jobbers in the United
States. None of the watch cases or watch dials purchased
in the United States or in Switzerband have the ‘Bulova’
name stamped or engraved thereon, such name being placed
on watch dials by the Defendant Sidney Steele-at his place
of business in Mexico City and not elsewhere. . (R. 238).

“4. .On December 5; 1933, there was granted to S.
Steele, Y. Cia., Ss. A., the predecessor in title of Sidney
Steele, Mexican National Trade-Mark No. 33602, purporting
to grant the right to use the name ‘Bulova’ in the Republic
of Mexico as a trade name for w atches, and the Defendant
Sidney Steele’s asserted right to use said name. is based
on said Mexican trade-mark, which has been the subject
of litigation between the Plaintiff Bulova Watch Com-
pany, Ine., and the Department of: National Economy
and the Director of National Property of the Republic of
Mexico in eases before the Mexican courts in which De-
fendant Sidney Steele was a party, and the Plaintifz. has
. hot up te this time been successful in such litigation. At
the present time there 48 a Suit or proceeding bending in|
Mexico with reference to ihe right as between Plaintiff
and the Defendant Sidney Steele to use the ‘Bulova’ name

male

on watches: assembled and sold’ by said Defendant in a Ne

ico.” (R. 239).
' Based upon the above: findings, the Trial Court made
the following conclusions of Taw:

“1. The Court concludes that as a matter of

law the alleged acts of unfair competition complain-
ed of by Plaintiff were and are done and performed
wholly outside of the jurisdiction and control of the

Government and laws, both State -and Federal, of.

the United States and outside of the territorial juris-
‘diction and powers of this Court.

“2. The Court concludes ‘that as a matter of

law the acts and conduct complained of relate to the
internal commerce of the Reptblic of Mexito, solely

within the jurisdiction and control of the Courts

andthe laws of the Republic of Mexico. .

“3. “The Court concludes as a matter of law

- that it is without .autherity or jurisdiction to set

aside or otherwise annul the Mexican trade-mark

under which Defendant asserts the right to use the
‘Bulova’ name.’ Ch. 239-40).

!

The following i is a brief history of the litigation: j in Mex-

ico Which preceded the filing of this suit:

On February iF 1946, thirteen years after the granting :

of the Mexican trade- -mark to Sidney. Steele, Bulova Watch
Company commenced an administrative proceeding before
the Director of ‘Industrial Property “for a declaration of
falsification, imitation and illegal use of the trade-mark
‘Bulova’.” The: petition in this 1946 case raised . sub-

stantially the same issues as the petition filed in the Dis-

trict Court at San Antonio, Texas in the instant case.
(R. 262-266). : ;

The Director General ‘of Industrial Property of the Re-
public of Mexico denied the petition on the ground that
it was barred by a 3-year limitation provision of Mexican

&

a ‘ ae

law (R 286 and 383) ‘and that “the proofs rendered do
not carry the conclusion that the trade-mark ‘Bulova’ was),
fotoriously. known in this country on a date of the regis-

e try of such trade-mark. ” (R. 286).° The “declaration of

nullity” sought by Bulova Watch Company was in all things
denied. (R. 293). eS Pa ee

This action was-reviewed bY the District Court for the

- Federal District, Mexico City, and a decree was entered

#

reversing the above-mentioned decree of the Director Gen-
eral of Industrial Property (R. 321-327). The judgment

of the District Court was appealed by Sidney Steele and the

Director of Industrial Property to the Supreme Court of
Mexico, (R. 327-333) and on June 24, 1948 the Supreme
Court of Mexico reversed the. judgment of the District
Court and affirmed the decree of the Director cf Industrial
Property, the Supreme Court. declaring that the “judg-
ment entered in the injunction suit to which this catise
refers is revoked. ””. .(R. 346-358) .

Thus, the administrative decree of, the Director | of
industriat Property sustaining the validity of the ES

ed trade-nafie “Bulova” and Sidney Steele’s right to the

use-of the name was. finally adjudicated against Bulova
Watch ‘Company by: the Supreme Court of Mexico. The
issues in the instant case: were involved fn ‘that case and

were. adjudicated against _ Bulova Watch Company and in

favor of Stedle. : | ae
On September 8, 1948, Bulova Watch Cabaae com-

‘menced a proceeding in the Federal’ District Court in Mex-

ico City against the Director General of Industrial Prop-

erty, alleging that the Director General had. granted and: /

subsequently revoked an authorization in favor of Bulova’s
agent to deal in imported watches under the name “Bul-
ova.” Sidney Stoble was named’ “the third prejiidiced
party in the suit.’ (R_! 360) ’ *The Plaintiff prayed for an

—
sna .-

“ae

@

injunction against the action of the Director General o€ -

Industyial Property in revoking an official communication

- of December 30, 1946, recognizing the agent’s right to the

use of the name “Bulova” in Mexico an Watches which he

_ desired to import and sell. (R. 363). -This injunction was

~

denied on. the authority: of “the final judgment of the Su-
preme Court of Justice of the Nation,” again affirming

the right of Sidney Steele to use the trade-name under the °

grant from the: Director General of Industrial Property.
(R, 367-9). — me, eaceas

On September ii, 1948, Sidney Steele commenced an

action before the Director of Industrial Property seeking

a declaration of illegal use of his Trademark No. 33602
named “Bulova” by Bulova Watch Company, Ine. (R. 379),

and answer. was filed in such administrative’ action on Oc- .

tober 20; 1948. AR, 381- =)...

Bulova Wateh. Company, having been unsuccessful in
attacking the trade-mark grant to Steelé in the courts of

Mexico, decided to attempt to re- commence the litigation -
in the American courts and claim that the validity of the

Mexican trade- mark and the right to use the same in Mex- |

ico is gov erned by the laws of the United States and par-

ticularly the Lanham Trademark Act.

penny of the fact situation involved and furnished a

The instant suit based on the above theory, was filed

in the District Court at San Antonio on June 13, 1949.

(R. 1)..-The decision of the trial court dismissing * the -
_ case antl the basis: thereof has been set out above.

The Court of Appeals reversed the ataasin ‘of the

basis for the granting of the relief sought by Bulova Watch
C ompany. :

suMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Yl. Steele’s right . use the “Bulova” name is baad
upon Mexican National \Trade-Mark No. 33602 granted to -
him in 1933 under Mexican law. He ‘sed the. name ‘in
Mexico continuously until 1946, a period of 13 years, be-
fore any challenge of his right. to use the name was made -
by Buleva Watch Company. This challenge culminated
in a decision of the Supreme ( Court of Mexico’ affirming
~ Steele’s right to the reg istered trade- mark “Bulova” in:
Mexico: which right was again affirmed by the ‘District |
Court for the Federal District in g@948. Under these facts
the courts of the United States should not enter a decree
canceling or issue an injunction nullifying the Mexican
trade-mark used only in the internal. commerce of Mexi-

¢o. | | | :

The legal basis for’ the relief” sought by Bulova ’
Watch Company is the laws of the United States, and par-/
ticularly the Lanham Trade-mark Act, This “Act forbids
unfair competition only in interstate and foreign commerce

» and is’ inapplicable to the trade-mark granted. to Steele”
under Mexican law which is used solely in the internal
commeree of Mexico. ;

3. The fact that Steele: is a naturalized citizen of the
United States does not require him while engaged in the
- business of selling ‘watches in the internal ecommerce of
‘Mexico to conform to the Lanham Trade- mark Act or any:
of the other laws of ‘the United, States regulating inter-
state and foreign commerce. _ There is nothing in the Lan-

"ham Trade-mark Act to indicate an intent on the part of
Congress that it should apply to American citizens engaged
in local commerce in foreign countries. In the absence of
an express legislative provision making the Act applicable
to citizens engaged in local trade in foreign countries the

. Act shicaia not be construed to apply to sueh foreign local
“activities. :

4. -The a by Steele of unmarked and-unbranded

- watch cases and watch, ‘dials from manufacturers. and job-
bers in the United States infringes no right of Bulova
Watch Company and violates no duty owed by ‘Steele to.
stid Company or anyone else. The: ‘purchase of unbranded
and unmatked watch dials ‘in the U nited States is irrelevant
to the right’ of Bulova Watch- ‘Company to annul and cancel
the Mexican trade-mark granted. to Steele under which he

uses the “Bulova” name on watches branded and sold sole-_ .

- ly within the Republic of Mexico in- the internal commerce
of said country, :

Since Bulova Watch Company desires to enter into
ponte eh in the internal commerce of- the Republic “A
Mexico with Steele and others in the sale of watches,

should 1 so’ in accordance with the laws of Mexico, a

the adn inistrative’ and judicial acts. thereunder. Its reme-
.dy -in. the instant case is under Mexican law before the. ad-
ministrative agencies ‘and courts. of Mexico and not under
the laws of the United States or in its courts. ‘

ARGUMENT

a

The majority opinion in the Court ef Appeals does not
discuss, and apparently the majority of the Court did not
_ consider, the true basis on which the Trial Court acted in
this case.

The Trial Court found that Steele’s claim of right to
ise the “Bulova” name was fourided on a grant of such
right by competent Mexican authority under the laws of
Mexico and that Bulova: ‘Watch Company was seeking the
decree of a court of the United States setting aside this of
ficial’ Mexican grant. The title of es Mexican

Ds

'
a)

wae onal ay

~

ton

ae, ae

Trade-Mark No-33602 shows that it is a “grant” of the
“exclusivé ownership” of the “use of the word ‘Bulova’ ”
to cover watches. (R. 260),

Bulova Watch Company contends thrat it should be pro-
. tected in.the use of the “Bulova” name in the Republic of
Mexico ‘by the courts of the United States in accordance
with the common law principles and the trade-mark stat-
utes of the United States.) The Company does not allege
_ or contend that Mexico ee “common law” country. It
is; of course, a “civil law” jurisdiction where exclusive
rights to the use of trade- marks are obtained only by regis-
tration and grant in accordance with statutors“or * ‘code”

law. Mexican National Trade Mark No. 53602" ‘ranted

to Steele under Mexican code lay fs not subject to can-
- Cellation or to nullification exceptSander and in accardance
with the provisions of the Law of Industrial Prop
the Republic of Mexico. *

The courts of the United States shquid no mote cancel
and nullify the right to use a trade- -name or trade-mark
granted in Mexico under Mexican law than should the

Mexican courts cancel rights grantetd or acquired under -

the laws of the United States to use a trade-mark or trade-
name in the United States. This was the view of the Trial
Court in the instant case.’ It -held that, as a court ef the
United States, it “is without authority or jurisdiction to
set aside or otherwise annul the Mexican ‘trade- mark.”
(R. 240).

Marshall v. Turnbull, 34 Fed. 827, is a decision illustrat.

ing this principle. In that case the Circuit Court. for the
Eastern District of New' York dismissed a suit seeking. an
injunction against the assertion of rights in ah asphalt

_ Jake on an island in the mouth of the. Orinoco River _in——
* Venezuela. The Court first held (32 Fed* 124) that in- °

junctive relief might properly be granted since the Court

arty of

p=
o
we

a ee

had jurisdiction over the Defendant as a person and was

in a position to enforce its decree against him. However,

on reconsideration the Court held that the relief sought was

in. derogation of aggant and official acts ‘of the government

of Venezuela, and that the Coyrt was without authority

to grant such relief. ‘In deciding the case the Court said:

- “A naked injunction is asked for against him -°
on the ground that his title is void because Venez-
uglan officials acted improperly in creating it.
In other words, he, it is claimed, holds nothing, not
because what he took passéd (equita ably) through -
him to the Manoa Company, but because the Venez-
-uelan Government could give nothing. Turnbull's
position under this bill is no different from that-of

some stranger to whom the Venezuelan government .

might have conveyed the rights originally conceded
to Fitzgerald; and the court is asked to enjoin waste
upon, or interference with, property in a foresgn
country, because, as it is alleged, certain official
acts of the government of that. country (annulling
one concession and making a new one) are void.
Such relief cannot be administered on such ground.”

The trade-mark “Bulova” granted.to Steele under Mex-
ican law is a Mexican property right drawng its existence
and force from the laws of Mexico.. The use by Steele of

‘the name on watches assembled and sold by him in Mexico

constitutes the very essence of the right granted to him by
Mexican’ National Trademark No. 33602. To enjoin him:

‘from.the use of it is the same, thing as entering a decree

of cancellation of the registration and grant itself.
This point is stated with clarity and force by Judge

Russell in his dissent in the Court of Appeals as follows: _

“That which the sovereign has authorized and
judicially confirmed can not, when the acts arc per-
formed wholly within the territorial limits of such

“sovereign, be properly aici illegal and subject
to injunction by our Courts merely because the
perpetrator of such acts is an American citizen and
in persor subject to the jurisdiction, of American
Courts. *Cnsequently, when, on December 5, 1933,
the Mexican Director General of Industrial Property
granted to Steele the right to use the name “Bulova”
_in the Republic of Mexico as a tradename -for
watches (as found by the trial Judge upon undis-
puted evidence) the acts of Steele in Mexico in ac-
cordance with the grant were deren Especially
is this so when-it appears, as if does here, that his
right to the trade-mark was upheld in the Mexican
Court in the proceedings in behalf of appellant
seeking to set aside syich registered trade- mark in
which Steele was named asa party. . mest 100)

'The general rules with reference to the recognition of
trade-marks or trade-narnes are stated in Section 11 of the
Article on “Trade-marks, Trade Names and Unfair Com-.
petition,” in Volume 63, Corpus Juris, as folbws:

“One ‘person may own a particular trade-mark
in one country or jurisdiction and the‘same trade-
mark may belong to anot her person in another coun- .

_ try or jurisdiction, or the same trade-mark may
» belong to one person in one part-of a state and to
another person in another part of ‘the same state, or
‘ the trade-mark may be valid in one country and in-
valid in another.”
* * = @ > / e

“Our courts, do’ not decide what trade-marks
‘exist or do not exist in foreign countries, and the .

decision of a court of a foreign country as to the
existence or nonexistence of a irade-mark therein

will be given full force and credit in this country;

but such foreign decision will not, settle who is en-
titled to the trade- mark here. fe ,

The above rule was stated and applied ia Ingenoh! v.
Olsen & Co., 273 U.S. 541, 71 L. Ed. 762, in an opinion

*

i -

; cen y ra

written by Justice Holmes involving the recognition of a-
trade-rmark in the British colony of Hong Kong. Justice
Holmes put the matter tersely as follows:

i “A trade-mark started elsewhere would depend
for its protection in Honk Kong upon the law pre-
vailing in Hong Kong, and would confer no rights

“Ss except by’ the consent of that law.”

_ In the case of Hanover Star Milling Co. . Metcalf, 240
U. S. 403, 61 L. Ed. 713, Justice Holmes in a concurring
Opinion stated the power ef different states over the use
of trade- marks in their territory as follows:

Pa “But it never should he forgotten, ary in this.
* - ¢ase it is important to remember, that when a trade-
mark started in one state is recognized in another it

is Dy the authority of a new sovereignty that gives

its sanction to the right. The new sovereignty is

not a passive figurehead. ° It creates the right with-

in its jurisdiction, and what it creates it may condi-

tion, as by requiring the mark to be recorded, or it

may deny.”

_The Lanham Trade- mark Act does not contain any pro-
visions which attempt to extend the application of the Act
beyond the boundariés of the United ‘States. It forbids,
unfair competition and the'use of a trade-mark: in “com-
merce,” and defines the term ‘‘commerce” as all commerce

“which. may lawfully be regulated by Congress.” This,
Court has specifically held that Congress has no jurisdic-

tion beyond the boundaries. of the United States and its
possessions. Its power does not extend into the territorial
limits of a foreign nation and control acts pertaining to its
internak commerce or affairs. ‘

It is a fundamental concept of “international law, as” :

well as a matter of logic, that the government powers of ~
one sovereign nation de not extend inte and govern rights
within the territorial domain of another sovereign nation.

ee

a
\
cies —1l5—

In The Schooner Exchange v. M’ Faddon, 7 Cr. 44 at.
page 136, Chief Justice Marshall stated this fundamental .
principle as to the jurisdiction of courts and national au-
thority as follows: .

Berea jurisdiction of courts is a branch of that
which is possessed by the ,nation as an independent
“sovereign power, ; - :

“The jurisdiction of the nation within its own
territory is necessarily exclusive and absolute. It
is susceptible of no limitation not imposed by itself.
Any restriction upon it, deriving validity from an
external source, would imply. a diminution of its
sovereignty to the extent of the restriction, and

¢ an-investment of that sovereignty to the same ex-
tent in that power which could impose such re-
striction.

“All exceptions, therefore, to the full and com- - '

plete power ¥f a nation within its own territories,
niust. be traced up to the consent of the nation itself.
They cam flow from ho other legitimate source.” }

In The Beople v. McLeod, 1-Hill 377,.15 N. Y. Com. L.
. Rep. 164, the Supreme Court of: New York quoted the above
language of Chief Justice Marshall and said: “these are “not.

= rules of yesterday ; but have formed a part of the acknowl-

edged law of nations for nearly two thousand years.”

In American Banana Co..v: United Fruit Co., 213 U. 8.
347, 53 L. Ed. 826, the Court held that it was the universal |
rule “that the character of an_act as lawful or unlawful
must be determined wholly by the law, of the country where
the act is done,’’ and refused to apply the antitrust laws of
the United States in a suit etween two American. corpora-
tions based upon: activities in Panama and Costa Rica. In
its opinion the Court said: a

“For another-jurisdiction,. if it should happen
to lay hold of the actor, to treat “him according to

?

— {,

its own 1 notions rather than those of the place where
he did the axts, not only would be unjust but would
be an interference with the authority of another
sovereign, contrary to the comity of nations, which
_ the other state concerned. justly might resent. :
ee ee Fi
“The foregoing considerations would lead, in .
case of doubt, to a construction of any statute as
intended-tg be confined in its operation and effect
to the territorial limits over which the lawmaker
has general and legitimate power. ‘All legislation
is prima facie tergitorial, ; - Words having uni-
versal scope, such as ‘every ‘contract in restraint of :
' trade,’ “every sta we who shall monopolize,’ ete.,
will be taken, as ajmatter of course, to mean only
everyone subject ‘a such legislation, not all that the
_ legislator subsequently may be able to catch.”

In Brown v. Duchesne, 19 How. 183, 15 L. Ed. 595, it
was held that a United States patent could be infringed
only by acts done within the territorial boundaries of the _
United States. The opinieén was written by Chief Justice
Taney, and stated the basic principle with reference to the
territorial reach of acts of Congress as follows:

“But these Acts of Congress do not, and were .
- net intended. to, operate beyond the limits of the’
_ United States; and as the patentee’s right of prop-
erty and exclusive use is derived from them, they
cannot extend beyond the limits to which the law
itself is ‘confined. And the use of it ‘butside of the.
jurisdiction of the United States is not an infringe-
ment of his rights, and he has no claim to any
compensation for the profit or advantage the party
may derive from it.”

Cuba, Ratroat- Company v..Crosby, 222 U.S. 473, 56 L.
Ed. 274, involved the liability for personal injuries sdffered
by an employ ee while working for the defendant Railroad

/ —17--

in Cub&.. The court held that since the Lability, if amy.
arose under the law of Cuba and since the plaintiff pro-
_ duced no evidence as to what that law was, no presumption’
could be indulged in that it was the same as the law of the |
United States. On this point this Court said:

“But when an action is brought upon, a cause
arising outside of the jurisdiction, it always should.
be borne in mind that the duty of the court is not
to administer its notion of justice, but to enforce
an obligation ‘that has been. created by a different
WO ass The law of the forum is material only-
as setting a-limit of policy beyond which such |
obligations will not be enforced there. With very.
rare exceptions the liabilities of the parties to each
other are fixed by the law of the territorial juris-
diction within which the wrong is done and the
parties are at the time of doing it ..... That,
and that alone, is the foundation of their rights.”

The majority opinion of the Circuit Court, in holding
_that the Lanham Trade-mark Act covered the use by Steele
of the Mexican trade-mark within the Republic of Mexico
stated: “It would seem that in the Lanham’ Trade-mark
Act of 1946 the Congress intended to regulate interstate
and foreign commerce to the full extent of its constitutional
powers.” The majority opinion, based on this premise,
then proceeds to apply the Act as _though it related not
to the regulation of “interstate and foreign commerce”

but to be internal or domestic commerce of the Republic is

Mexico. igre AT

€

Chis illogical-application of the Act dealing with “‘inter-
state and foreign” commerce to local commerce in a foreign
country by the ‘majority of the Circuit Court is sought to be
justified by the fact that Sidney Steele is a naturalized
citizen of the United States,

>»

a

Laying aside for the moment the question as to whether
or not the Congress of the United States has power to
legislate with reference to the internal commerce of Mexico .-
(which power is denied in the decisions quoted above) let
us examine the question as to whether or not the Congress
in enacting the Lanham Trade-Mark Act evidenced any
intent to legislate with respect to such commerce or with
respect to citizens doing business in the internal commerce
of another country.

In Sandberg v. McDonald, 248 U. S. 185, 63 L. Ea. 200,
this Court held that employment contracts of foreign
seamen on foreign vessels in a foreign port were not in-
validated on account of conflicting with the acts of Congréss
relating to payment of seamen’s wages, and discussed the
territorial nature of legislative acts.as follows:

“Legislation is presumptively territorial and
confined to limits over which the lawmaking power —
has jurisdiction. American Banana Co. v. United
Fruit Co,, 213 U. S. 347, 357, 53 L. Ed. 826, 832 29
Sup. Ct. ten. 511, 16 Ann. Cas. 1047. In Patterson
v. The Eudora, supra, this court declared such.
legislation es to foreign vessels in United States
ports to be constitutional. We think that there is
nothing in this section to show that Congress in-
tended to take over the control of such contracts
and payments as to foreign vessels except while
they were in our ports. Congress could not prevent
the making of meh contracts in other jurisdictions.”

We submit that the Lanham Aet is Srcncisioersais
~ territorial as to the persons and transactions covered by it.
There is nothing in the Lanham Trade-Mark Act to. indi-
cate any intention of Congress to make it: effective as to .
‘citizens of the United States engaged in the internal
commerce of Mexico or any other foreign country. The
provision of the Act stating tHat it supplies to “all commerce

Aan |
&

which may lawfully be vebilaied by Congress” | does not
deal with what “persons” the Act applies to, but to what
“commerce” the same applies. The commerce intended ta
be covered is clearly “interstate and foreign” commerce
and this provision of the law is. not susceptible to any
other construction.

There is nothing in the testes Act to indicate that
Congress intended to depart from the common sense
- principle generally applied to civil statues regulating com-
merce and trade and to adopt a new and unprecedented
principle that the same is to be applied to citizens of the
_ United States in their local businesses established in and
operated under the-!aws and customs of foreign countries.

There have been a few acts of Congress dealing with
matters relating to citizenship itself which Congress has
made specifically: applicable to. American citizens residing
abroad.

In Bhickes uv: United States, 284 U.S. 421, 76 L. Ed.
375, this Court sustained an act of Congress providing for
_the service of subpoenas upon Americah citizens residing
in foreign. countries; holding that this related to a duty
appertaining to citizenship. But in that case the Court .
stated that “the legislation of Congress, unless the contrary .
intent appears, is construed to apply only within the terri-

torial jurisdiction of the United States.”

‘ The Lanham Trade-Mark Act may be searched-in vain

for any expression of intent that it shall be applied on the
basis of American citizenship or that the Congress had

any intention that it would apply to rights arising under
| registered Mexican trade-names placed on articles sold
only in the Republic of Mexico. |

—- te’ mitell States v. Bowman, 260 U.S. 94, 67 L. Ed. 149,
th s Court discussed the extraterritorial! application of the
' ldws of the United Sates as follows:

a

—20—

“Crimes against private individuals or their
preperty, like’ assaults, murder, burglary, larceny,
robbery, arson, embezzlement, and frauds of al

_ kinds which affect the peace and good order of the
_ community, must, of course, be committed within .
- the territorial jurisdiction of the government where’ -
it may properly exercise it. If punishment: of them —
_is to be extended to_include those committed outside
of the strict territorial jurisdiction, it is natural for
Congress to say so in the statute, and faihrre to do
so will negative the purpose of Congress in, this
regard.” S : ees
As stated in the above ease, if, Congress intends an act i cals
to be applicable outside of the territorial jurisdiction~-of
the United States “it is natural for Congress to say so jn
the. statute, and failure ‘to “do so will negative the purpose -
of Congress in this. régard.” ‘Therefore; the faiture—of-
Congress to specifically provide in.the Lanham Trade-Mark
’ Act that it’ would apply to American nationals engaged in
_. the internal commerée of. foreign countries. negatives any eee,
inference that Congress intended it to so apply.

_ The last article of the Lanham Trade-Mark Act (Article
1127 U.S. Code) contains ‘a statement of the intent and .
purpose of the Act but, significantly, does not state that
it-is intended to apply to American nationals abroad or to
the internal commerce of other nations. Certainly if Con-
gress had any such novel ideg, in mind it would have been
noted in this or some other section of the Act and would .

have been the subject of debate or comment in Congress, °

| _ As stated by Judge Russell of the Court of Appeals in-
his dissenting opinion: Oe :

‘ “Under: even the broadest ‘interpretation of the
Lanham Aet, supra, it evidences no attempt to pre-
scribe a standard of fair competition for the Na-
‘tions of the world. | Its provisicns. are, and must be,

ZI
applicable to ‘territory within the reach of Con->
gressional power. Neither do its provisions so
compellingly; permeate the being, or saturate the
conscience, of an American Resident, doing business
in a foreign country, as to impose .a guilty stain

upon his acts there done in accordance with author-
ity erented by such puma? Be laws.” cR. 399).

The Sicisectiy opinion of the Court of Appéals comments
upon. the: facts that watches bearing the “Bulova” name

;. _Which were purchased in Mexico were brought into the

United States by the owners thereof and came to the atten-
tion of various watch dealers in the United States who sold
watches supplied by Bulova Watch Company. No conten-
tion is made that those watches were imported into the _
United “States to be sold in competition with watches
offered for sale by Bulova Watch Company. ;

The. undisputed ‘evidence in this case shows, and the
uncontested findings of -the “Trial Court are, that the .
. Defendant Steele has engaged in the business of: selling
- watches bearing the “Bulova” name “solely in the Republic °
of Mexico from his sole and only place of business located
in Mexico City”, and that Steele “does not compete in the

sale of watches in- the: United States or in any..territory
- subject . to its jurisdiction.” (R, 238). The fac? that
certain .owners of watches who. have purchased them in.
_ Mexico bring them into the United States does not create
a cause of action against Sidney Steele, nor does it con-
' stitute a wrong of which Bulova Watch Company can com-
plain. . Such collateral facts do not bear upon the question
-in this Case as to the right of an American court to cancel.

the registered Mexican trade-mark belonging to Steele and ._

his right to use the name on watches sold solely in the

__ internal commerce of Mexico,

—22—.

’ The majority opinion of the Court of Appeals also
_. comments upon the purchase by Steele of unbranded and >
unmarked watch cases and dials in the United States and:
the importation of the same ‘into Mexico. The opinion -
infers that’ these purchases constitute a wrong which may
‘be complained of by Bulova Watch Company and for some -
unexplained reason violate the Lanham Trade-Mark Act
and confer power on the courts of the United States to
enjoin Steeie’s use of the registered trade-mark in Mexico. .
Bulova Watch Company did not complain in its com-
plaint:in the Trial Court and cannot complain of the pur-
chase by Steele or anyone else of unbranded watch dials .
and watch ‘cases from’ American manufacturers and jcb-
“bers. Such ‘action infringes no right of Bulova Watch
Company and violates no duty owed by Steele to the Watch
_ Company, or anyone else. The relief which Bulova Watch .
Company seeks in this case is the cancellation and nullifica-
tion’by injunction of the Mexican Trade-mark under which
Steele places the “Bulova” name on watches at his place of
business in Mexico City. \ | eat: | oh
- . In Dowagiac . Manufacturing Company ~v. ‘Minnesota
Moline Plow Co., 235 U. S. 641, 59 L. Ed. 398, this Court
held that’a sale ixi Canada of grain “drills” or plahters
covered by a United States patent did not constitute an
infringement of the: patent, holding that the place of sale
and not the place of origin of the product was determinative —
of the question as to the application of the foreign law. In
its opinion this Court said: aes, + Lan
“Some of the drills, about 261, sold by the defen-
dants, were sold in Canada, no part of the trans-
_ action occurring within the United States, and as_
to them there could be no recovery of either profits
or damages. The right conferred by a patent under _

our law is confined tothe United States and its. -
territories (Rev. Stat. See. 4888, Comp. Stat. 1913, -

7 BB
Sec. 9428), and infrigement of this right cannot be’ _.
predicated of acts wholly done in a foreign country.

_ See United Dictionary Co. y. G. & C. Merriam Co.
208 U. S. 260, 265, 52 L. Ed. A78, 480, 28 Sup. Ct. —
Rep. 290. The case of Gould’s Mfg. Co. v. Cowing,
105 U. S. 253, L. Ed. 987, is cited as holding other-
wise, but is not in point. . There the defendant made
the infringing articles in the United States. Here,
while they were made by. the defendants. The
latter’s infringement consisted only in*selling the
driils after they passed out of the makers’ hands.
The place of sale is therefore of controlling im- -
pertance here.” ° 3

What alien Watch Company seeks to enjoin Steele
from.doing is the. placing of the word “Bulova” on the ~
watches. in the - Republic of Mexico. No injunction is’
‘sought in this case against his purchasing unbranded watch
cases and watch dials in the United States. The purchase
of unmarked watch dials and watch cases in the- United .
' States does not violate any of Bulova Watch Company’s —
legal rights and it therefore forms no basis for granting it
any relief against Steele,

The’ record in this case shows that Salove Watch ne

_* pany took no action with reference to Mexican National

Trade-Mark No. 33602 for approximately 13 yeurs after it
was granted ‘to Sidney Steele. and during such period
acquiesced in the usé of the name-by him in Mexico. The
record shows that ‘Bulova Watch Company commenced its
first action to set aside the trade-mark in February 1946
and was subsequently defeated in an attempt to nullify
_ the trade-mark in an action affirmed by the Supreme Court.

of Mexico. Under these facts, the Watch Company’s ~~

remedy, if any, is in the-courts of Mexico and under Mexi-
ean law -— not under the. Lanham Trade-Mark. Aet and in,
the courts, of the ‘United States.

Cease |

As stated by this sianes in, Slater v. Mexican National
Railway Company, 194 U. S. 120,48 L.ed. 900: Sacre

“The case is not one demanding extreme meas-
ures, like those where a tort is committed in an un,
civilized country. The defendant always can .be
found in Mexico, on the other side of the river, and

< it is to be presumed that the ceurts there are open to
the plaintiffs.”

2

The Bulova Watch Company apparently desires to aie
into competition with Steele and others in Mexico. We
submit that it should do so under Mexican law as applied
by the Mexican. courts and administrative agencies.

“CONCLUSION ,
For the reasons stated, it is respectfully submitted that

the judgment of the Court of Appeals should be reversed

and the judgment ‘of the Trial Court affirmed.
‘Respectfully submitted,

‘GRADY BARRETT, .

1501 Alamo National Building,

- San Antonio 5, Texas.
HERBERT DAVIS, ©

904 Alamo National Building,

San Antonio 5, Texas.

W. L:; MATTHEWs, |

1501 Alamo National Building, e
Vo, ae Antonio .5, Texas. .

. Attorneys for Petitioners.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386407_0186%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
