# Petitioners Brief — Moline Properties, Inc. v. Commissioner

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386403_0178%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1943
- **Citation:** 319 U.S. 436

## Text

;
FI
:

3 ‘
eA
te eh ee =o

SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1942

No. 660

MOLINE PROPERTIES, INC.,
Petitioner.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,
Respondent.

On Writ of Ceritorari to the United States Circuit
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

PETITIONER’S BRIEF

\ BART A. RILEY,
Seybold Building, :
Miami, Florida

~ THOMAS H. ANDERSON,
First National Bank Buiiding,
Miami, Florida
H. H. EYLES,
Seybold Building,
Miami, Florida.
Attorneys for Petitioner.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I ae lang chm ig esate ules ae
iene cearsiuleliciciacininideetione SS ercakeccicaiionas’
I a cian ae 2
Specification of Errors 7
Argument
Question Presented ....... .............. " re
Summary of Argument ea EE,

I. A Corporation Existing Merely to Hold Title to Real Estate.
Which is in Fact, but a Mere Agent or Fiduciary For its Stock-
holder, who is the Beneficial Owner, Should be so Treated for
Tax Purposes, as in the Case of Any Agency .... vn ae

Summary of Some Board Decisions in Dummy Corpora-
tion Cases Saadeh eile iitadeakaipidghetaadicapiations . i2

It. The Opinion Below in Effect Holds, Contrary to the Many
Decisions in Similar Cases, that an Estoppel exists Against
Asserting in a Taxpayer's Favor that a Corporation is in Fact
but an Agent for its Stockhoiders. This Holding is Unwar-
ranted, especiaily in the Face of the Board's Conclusion that
the Beneficial Interest was in the Stockholder... cae

The Board of Tax Appeals’ Factual Determination in the
Present Case has Ample Evidence to Support it, and the
Board Properly Concluded that the Gain was not Moline’s
NN I icrsicsschicisnceconninietncoeenioeeatinsein ae Tees 19

III. The Decision of this Court in Higgins v. Smith has not
Changed the Law Concerning the Agency Doctrine. and. In-
stead of Requiring Rejection of that Doctrine when Invoked
in a case like the Present. Supports the Opposite Result —.... 21

Conclusion Araben 28

TABLE OF CASES

Page
Abram’s Sons Realty Corporation. 4) B.T.A. 653. \3
Brager Building and Land Corp., U.S. v., 124 Fed. (2d) 349 25
Burnet v. Commonwealth Improvement Assn.. 287 U. 5. 415.
$3 S. C. 198, 77 Lda. 39 foe alae taal . 18-19-23
Carling Holding Corp., 41 B.T.A. 493______ 15
RS. 3 . SRR oenoenninen een eoeereer ene 12
Gregory v. Helvering. 293 U.S. 465, 55 S. Ct. 266, 79 L.Ed.
Be mat, PI iota stetcectiertiancencrnetnoneniey 24

Gulf Oil Corporation v. Lewellyn, 248 U.S. 71, 39S. Ct. 35.
| ea OL Te NRC NIE | SS

Higgins v. Smith, 308 U.S. 473. 60 S.Ct. 355, 84 L.Ed. Wo. 11-17-21

Interstate Transit Line vy. Commission, 130 Fed. (2d) 136 17
McInerney. J. A.. 29 B.T.A. 1, affirmed, 82 Fed. (2d) 665. 12
Mayer, Mark A., 36 B.T.A. 117 | cn 12
Palcar Real Estate Co. v. Commission. 131 Fed. (2d) 210... 21

Southern Pacific Co. v. Lowe. 247 U.S. 336, 38 S.Ct. 340, 62

OT Sea MCRts SUR OE MS ANI eo eter ES
Teeth Eeales Co., RTA. 365 SL ....... 12

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES

No. 660
MOLINE PROPERTIES, INC, | On Writ of
Petitioner, Certiorari to the

Vv.

GUY T. HELVERING, COM-
MISSIONER OF INTERNAL
REVENUE,

United States
Circuit Court of
) Appeals for the

Respondent. Fifth Circuit.

‘
~

PETITIONER’S BRIEF

To the Honorable the Chief Justice and Associate
Justices of the United States Supreme Court:

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the Board of Tax Appeals is re-
ported at 45 B. T. A. 647 (Rec. p. 19). The opinion
of the Circuit Court of Appeals is reported at 131
Fed. (2d) 388, (Rec p. 89).

JURISDICTION

This case is here upon a writ of certiorari, which
was granted March 8, 1943, to review the decision of
the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, en-

2

tered on November 7, 1942, in an income tax case in-
volving the taxable years of 1935 and 1936, in which
the Board of Tax Appeals held that respondent had
erred in determining deficiencies and penalties for 1935
and 1936, against petitioner. The Circuit Court of Ap-
peals reversed the Board’s decision. The jurisdiction
of this Court is sustained by Section 240 of the Ju-
dicial Code, as amended (U. S. Code, Title 28, Section
347), and by Section 1141 of the Internal Revenue Code
(U. S. Code, Title 26, Section 1141). The Circuit Court
of Appeals had jurisdiction under the second of these
sections, namely, Section 1141.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent asserted deficiencies against petitioner
for 1935 and 1936 in the amount of $4,993.92 of income
taxes and $4344.95 of excess profits taxes, plus a de-
linquency penalty for 1936 of $788.35. The Board's
decision setting aside respondent’s determination (Rec.
p. 22), was reversed by the court below (Rec. p. 89;
131 Fed. [2d] 388). The correctness of the decision be-
low turns upon the question whether, as a matter of
law, certain income from the sale of four lots of real
estate in Miami Beach, Florida, was petitioner’s income
or that of its sole stockholder, Uly O. Thompson. That
question in turn depends upon whether the petitioner
(herein sometimes referred to as “Moline” ) was Thomp-
son’s agent, or stood in a fiduciary capacity to Thomp-
son; or, stated differently, whether the Board’s de-
termination that Thompson was the beneficial owner
of the lots and, therefore, that goin from their sale
was not taxable to Moline, was erroneous as a matter
of law.

Thompson, a Circuit Judge of a Florida state cir-
cuit court until comparatively recently, was also a large
holder of other Miami Beach, and Miami real estate, title
to all of which was in his name individually (Rec. p. 19:
52), except the four lots involved in this case. These.

3

which were acquired on August 17, 1920 (Rec. p. 17),
were mortgaged by Thompson, in 1923, to one William‘.
Whitman for a debt of $20,000; and in 1936 they were
subjected to a second mortgage given by Thompson to
the Miami Beach Bank and Trust Co. (herein referred to
as “Beach Bank”) to secure an additional indebtedness
of $20,000 (ibid) already existing, which was owing
te that bank (Rec. p. 35). This land did not, however,
prove profitable. In 1928 back taxes on the lots
amounted to $6,500 (ibid). The second mortgagee in-
sisted that these taxes be paid. At the time Thomp-
son was very hard pressed for money. The president
of the Bank of Bay Biscayne, Miami, (herein referred
to as “Biscayne”), parent bank of the “Beach Bank,”
one Gilman (Rec. p. 36), called Thompson in and told
him “he would have to do something about it (the
taxes) or they would have to foreclose the mortgage,”
and that if he, Thompson, would let the bank organize
a corporation, and transfer the property to the corpora-
tion, Biscayne would loan him sufficient money to pay
the taxes (Rec. pp. 33, 36). Gillman was president of
Biscayne, the parent Bank, and virtually controlled
the Beach Bank, a subsidiary of Biscayne. Thompson
was told, however, that the bank would not lend him
the money unless he authorized the bank to form the
corporation in which to place title to the property,
and that when the corporation was formed he would
have to hypothecate the stock to Biscayne to secure
the tax money loan, and would have to give a voting
trust to some bank officer to vote all of the stock at
any time they saw fit (Rec. p. 36).

Thompson agreed (Rec. pp. 33, 36). and the bank
had its attorneys organize the corporation (Rec. p. 33).
The first minutes and corporate papers were brought
to Thompson’s office, and he signed them (Rec. p. 36).
He testified, without contradiction, that that was the
way the corporation Moline (the petitioner herein)
was formed, and that “it was purely a receptacle to
hold the title to this property in order to get the bank

4

to loan that money, to take care of the taxes.” ( Rec.
P.J J The stock was issued to Thompson, and it was
tfrned over to Biscayne, and the voting trust was
created in favor of that bank (Rec. p. 37). Moline
assumed the two mortgages to Whitman and the Beach
Bank (Rec. p. 37), but Thompson was uever relieved
of personal liability, and remained liable on both (Rec.
p. 37). The reason for the assumption by the corpora-
tion, Moline, of these mortgages was explained as be-
ing the bank’s insistence on the privilege of the right
to apply all proceeds from the sale of the collateral
to the liquidation of the two moragages (Rec. p. 38).

Biscayne closed in 1930 and its powers under the
voting trust were thereafter exercised by the liquidator
of the bank (Rec. p. 18). The general arrangement made
in 1928, 1s already outlined, continued until 1933, when
Thompson managed to raise the funds necessary to
obtain a discharge of the obligations to the banks.
Neither during this period, nor subsequently, did Mo-
line ever keep any books of account or maintain a
bank account at any time during its existence (Rec.
p. 19). It never owned any assets except the four lots
in question. It never had any office, place of business
or employees, and except as herein stated it never
transacted any business. It paid no salaries.

While the above arrangement was in effect, Thomp-
son continued subject to Biscayne’s dictation. Three
matters referred to in the findings, belonging to this
period, bear somewhat upon the question of the agency-
fiduciary status of Moline which the Board found to
exist, and incidentally illustrate Thompson’s complete
subserviency to the bank.

The first of these was a suit, brought in Moline’s
name, but at the bank’s insistence and direction, to
remove certain restrictions imposed by a prior deed on
the land. Thompson was not even consulted about the
matter (Rec. p. 41); but he did, before Moline was

5

formed, authorize bringing the suit (ibid). Expenses
which included a fee of $5,000 which the bank agreed
to pay the lawyers (ibid), Thompson knew would be
charged against him (ibid). He made payments to
that firm from time to time, beginning in 1933, and the
bank also made some payments for his account (ibid).
The Board included in its findings a recital that in
1933 he had personally paid $4,005.39 in this connection
(Rec. p. 18). No part of these fees were paid by Mo-
line, for it never had any funds.

The second of the transactions to which the find-
ings refer is one of October 1, 1929, whereby Moline
appeared to have purchased from Biscayne a note of
Thompson’s in the sum of $43000.00 on which inter-
est of $2703.14 was due, in consideration of Moline’s
note for the purchase money, securing it with Thomp-
son’s mortgage (Rec. p. 18). This transaction, which
wa» fraudulently procured at the instance, apparently,
of questionable juggling of Biscayne’s affairs by some
of its bank officials (Rec. pp. 42 ff), was covered by
minutes (Exhibit 1, Rec. p. 71; p. 42) prepared by the
bank’s personnel, which falsely recited Thompson's
presence at the meeting, although he was not there in
fact (Rec. p. 43). This or similar transactions appear
‘o have caused the bank officials to be indicted (Rec.
p. 44). It is not of great importance to the present
case; but it iliustrates the bank’s control of the pe-
titioner and Thompson’s lack of independent volition.

The remaining matter referred to in the findings
relates to certain condemnation proceedings during the
Same period, in which Moline, as record owner of the
land, was a nominal party defendant. In connection

over to one of Thompson’s creditors (Rec. p. 48). A
reference to this matter appears in the falsge minutes
y mentioned, but Thompson said he would not

_ 4

6

want to be bound by that minute and did not know
where the money went (Rec. p. 48).

All the encumbrances on these lots were liqui-
dated on July 29, 1933, with funds obtained by a loan
negotiated by Thompson with the National Investment
Holdings, Inc., secured by a mortgage on part of the
property in question (Rec. p. 18). Checks representing
proceeds of this mortgage to National Holdings were
made payable to Thompson (Rec. p. 40). This new debt
was repaid in 1936 through the sale of property. After
the debts due the bank were liquidated, the stock con-
trol of Moline was returned to Thompson.

After 1933 and until the sale of the lots, the only
other matter bearing upon the present case was a lease,
in 1934, of a part of the real estate for a parking lot,
from which $1,000 was received (Rec. p. 19). Although
it does not affirmatively appear from the record in
whose account this rent money was deposited, it is,
especially in view of the Board’s general conclusion
that Thompson was the beneficial owner, a fair infer-
ence from the fact that Moline had no account and
from the entire testimony, that this relatively small
sum was collected by Thompson personally.

In 1934, 1935 and 1936 the lots were sold in three
separate parcels. The income sought to be taxed to
Moiine consists of the profit from the 1935 and 1936
sales. The proceeds were received by Thompson and
deposited in his own bank arcount (Rec. pp. 19, 45).

Thompson, who knew nothing about income taxes
and never made out a return in his life ,and whose
salary as a state judicial officer during this period was
not subjected to federal income taxation, employed an
auditor to make out his returns (Rec. p. 45). The
1934 and 1935 sales were reported by the corporation,
the presefit petitioner, in a corporation tax return,
erroneously under the decision herein by the Board of

7

Tax Appeals. In 1936 ThompSon’s auditor iearned of
the Board’s decision in the Forshay case, 20 B. T. A.
537 ‘Rec. p. 56. and suggested to Thompson that Mo-
line was but a “dummy” corporation (ibid): and on his
advice a refund claim was filed for 1935, and, on De-
cember 2, 1938, a delinquent personal return was filed
in which Thompson reported the 1935 gain as his in-
dividual gain (Rec. p. 19). The 1936 sales were re-
ported by Thompson personally, no return being filed
by Moline for that year The Commissioner assessed
an additional tax for 1935 ‘on grounds not here ma-
terial}, assessed a deficiency for 1936 against Moline,
and assessed against it the statutory delinquency pen-
alty. Both these deficiencies, and the penalty, are bot-
tomed on the formal separate entity of Moline, and the
premise that the cain was not Thompson's but Moline’s
gain.

There is not the slightest suggestion that the cor-
poration was formed for tax avoidance purposes, nor
to protect Thompson against his personal liabilities.
On the contrary, Thompson's personal obligation con
tinued at all time, and, when Moline was organized,
possible tax problems appear not to have been con-
sidered at all.

The Board of Tax Appeals, basing its decision
squarely on the facts (Rec. p. 20), concluded that
Thompson was the beneficial owner of the lots, and
ente¥ed a decision of no deficiency | Rec. p. 21'. The
Circuit Court of Appeals reversed. It is the latter de-
cision which is here for review.

SPECIFICATION OF ERRORS
The Court below erred in the following respects:

1. In holding that the employment of the cor-
porate form was at Thompson's election.

8

2. In treating Thompson as estopped to assert that
petitioner was a mere “dummy” corporation.

3. In failing to hold that on the facts petitioner
was a mere agent, or fiduciary for Thompson, the bene-
ficial owner.

4. In failing to uphold the Board’s factual de-
termination that Thompson was the beneficial owner
of the lots.

5, In failing to uphold the Board’s factual de-
termination that the gain from the sale of the iots
was not that of the petitoner, Moiine.

6. In holding that as a matter of law the gains
were taxable to Moline.

7. In reversing the decision of the Board of Tax
Appeals in favor of petitioner.

ARGUMENT

QUESTION PRESENTED

The specific question for determination on the pres-
ent record is whether as a matter of law the gain from
the sale of real estate, title to which was in Molinc’s
name, is taxable to Moline or to Moline’s sole taxpayer
and stockholder, Thompson, whom the Board found to be
the beneficial owner of the real estate sold. Stated differ-
ently, and in the language of the petition herein | Peti-
tion, p. 6', the question is whether Moline, and Thomp-
son, are estopped, as a matter of law, from asserting
disregard of the corporate entity, and that Moline should
be treated as a mere agency or instrumentalit’, and
ignored for taxation purposes.

9
STATUTES INVOLVED

The statutes involved, set out, infra, in the appen-
dix, are:

Section 13‘a:, and 52 of the Revenue Act of
1934, ch. 277, 48 Stat. L. 680, and Sections —
13‘b), 22(a:, and 52 of the Revenue Act of
1936, ch. 690, 49 Stat. L. 1648.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

A corporation, although not ipso facto, an agent
for its stockholders. may nevertheless be in fact such
an agent; and where the facts evidence such agency,
it should for tax purposes be treated as an agent, just
as in any agency situation, even though its principal
is a stockholder, or sole stockholder.

The Board of Tax Appeals has on numerous oc-
casions, where the facts are like those of the present
case, treated the corporation as “a mere figmentary
agent” which should be “disregarded” for tax purposes.
Whether in such cases ‘some of which are summarized
in the argument) the corporate entity is to be con-
sidered as “disregarded,” or the corporation's existence
is to be “regarded” but the corporation recognized as
being the agent which it is in fact, the result in such
cases is sound, compels the taxation of income to him
whose income it is, and precludes taxation of income to
a party not beneficially the owner of it.

The opinion below summarily rejects the princi-
ple applied by the Board, that where a corporate agency
for a stockholder is, on facts such as are here present,
found to exist, income should be taxed to the bene-
ficial owner. In so doing the court below misconceived
the effect of this Court’s decision in Higgins v. Smith,
and followed the Eiehth Circuit’s erroneous applica-
tion of that decision in the Interstate Transit Lines
case.

10

In the present case the individual principally ir-
terested in the result is not, in order to avoid the tax
congeqeunces of his own chosen methods of business
organization, disavowing that organization. What is
claimed is that, in the absence of some other element of
estoppel, an agency relationship shown by the present
record to be actually existing be given effect for tax
purposes, just as would be done in the case of corporate
agency where the principal is not a sole or controlling
stockholder.

The Board of Tax Appeals treated the facts proved
in the present record as establishing an agency with
respect to real estate beneficially owned by t le
stockholder. This factual conclusion not only was,Wrong
as a matter of law, but was the only factual conclusion
possible under the evidence, unless, as a matter of law,
there is an estoppel against claiming that such evi-
dence establishes the existence of the agency relation-
ship. There is no such estoppel. Giving effect to the
relationship accords with realities, and results in tax-
ing the income to the party beneficially entitled to it.

The decision in Higgins v. Smith was one in which
a tax payer was not permitted for tax purposes, to avail
himself of his own corporate creature, which he him-
self created and used in other situations for tax avoid-
ance, There was a jury verdict adverse to the tax-
payer, not, as here, a favorable factual determination
by the trier of the facts. The dicta relied on as over-
throwing the line of authorities supporting the present
petitioner's position merely declare that the tax disad-
vantages of the corporate form of conducting business
cannot be disavowed by one who has deliberatly chosen
that form. The dicta did not, however, make a change in
the law of trusts or of agency, or preclude claiming
that the corporate creature is in fact an agerffif such
is the fact.

11

The court below has in effect reversed the Board
of Tax Appeals on a fact determination amply sup-
ported by the record, and has done so because it ig-
nored or overrode, without challenging, finding of fact
by the Board, and because of a misconception of the ef-
fect of the decision in Higgins v. Smith. Its decision
should therefore be reversed, and the Board's decision
reinstated.

A CORPORATION EXISTING MERELY TO HOLD
TITLE TO REAL ESTATE, WHICH IS IN FACT
BUT 4 MERE AGENT OR FIDUCIARY FOR ITS
STOCKHOLDER, WHO IS” THE BENEFICIAL
OWNER, SHOULD BE SO TREATED FOR TAX
PURPOSES, AS IN THE CASE OF ANY AGENCY.
Until the recent decision of this Court in Higgins
v. Smith, 308 U. S. 473, 60 S. Ct., 355, 84 L. Ed. 406,
it had been frequently held that a corporation which,
to borrow the Board’s language in its opinion in the
present case, exists merely to facilitate the passage
of title to rea! estate, whose stockholders act without
regard for its entity, is a “mere figmentary agent
which should be disregarded in the assessment of
taxes taxes.” Perhaps it is not strictiy accurate to
refer to the result in such cases as one which “disre-
gards” the entity. The separate entity is in a sense
respected but recognized for what it is, a mere agent
cr fiduciary, and therefore the same tax consequences
follow as in the case of any corporate agent or fiduciary,
Whether or not acting for the owners of its stock.
Whether this a characterized as “disregarding” the en-
tity or amounts merely to viewing the entity in its.
proper perspective, and giving it its true significance
a8 a mere agent, is not important so far as the result
is concerned. The latter concept, that the entity con-
stitutes a mere agen‘, does no violence to the elemen-
tary rule of the separate fictional existence of the
Corporation. Language used in the decisions sometimes
is to the effect that the separate ertity may in some

12

circumstances be “disregarded.” sometimes terms the
subsidiary entity as an ‘agent,’ and sometimes sug-
gests a confusion of both concepts.

A corporation is, of course, not ipso facto, the agent
of its stockholders. It is a separate entity. But a cor-
poration which is acting as agent for a stockholder,
even a sole stockholder, is note the less an agent, even
if its principel happens also to be its sockholder. While
the fact of stock ownership, standing alone, does not
create the relation of agency, yet the reverse is also
true. The fact of stock ownership does not, ipso facto,
negative the agency relationship.

Summary of some Board decisions in dummy
corporation cases.

Some Board decisions, cited in its opinion in the
present case, afford practical examples of “dummy”
corporations that in fact were agents. and were so
treated for tax purposes. These cases are recognized
as not binding here, but are referred to as supporting
the present petitioner's contention, and as illustrating
a correct application of the law to similar factual
situations.

In the present case the Board, saying (Rec. p. 21)
that it had “frequently” regarded a corporation that
is a mere holder of title as ‘“‘a mere figmentary agent,”
“disregarding” the entity “to effect a more realistic
assessment of taxes” | Rec. p. 21:, cited five of its own
prior decisions, one of which was the subject of an
appeal which was upheld. These are:

Stewart Forshay, 20 B. T. A., 537.

J. A. McInerney, 29 B. T. A. 1. affirmed 82 Fed.
(2d) 665.

Thrift Realty Co., 29 B. T. A. 545.
Mark A. Mayer, 36 B. T. A. 117.

13

Abram’s Sons Realty Corporation, 40 B. T. A.
653.

The Forshay case, referred to in the record as the
decision which occasioned Thompson's auditor to sug-
gest that Moline was but a “dummy,” was one in which
persons interested in a corporation which owned aa
apartment building in New York City changed the
form of the enterprise and created a new corporation
to hold the property, which, instead of operating the
enterprise as had the former corporation, would merely
hold title for the benefit of “the persons in interest.”
Provision was made, in the instruments embodying the
entire arrangement, that earnings would be distributed
in fixed amounts annually, and for the distribution of
the proceeds upon a sale of the property. These and
other features of the arrangement ‘which was “vol-
u.tary’ in the real sense, not as here an arrangement
imposed by a creditor upon a debtor) were regarded
by the Board of Tax Appeals as making it evident
that the corporation did not take title on its own be-
half or for its own benefit, but for that of the parties
in interest. After referring to and quoting from cer-
tain New York statutes on the subject of Trusts, and
Saying that it made no difference whether a passive
trust. a power in trust, or a mere agency was created,
the soard concluded that in either case no estate or
interest vested in the corporation, but the parties in
interest took both legal and equitable title. Any in-
come therefrom was that of the latter, not of the
corporation.

In the McInerney case, the Board and Circuit Court
of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit treated a similar cor-
porate entity, which was, on the facts, a mere conduit
for passing title, as of no effect to enable the taxpayer
to avoid the consequences that payment by the pur-
chaser for property thus transmitted was constructive-
ly received by the stockholder.

14

In the Thrift Realty Co. case, the Board on con-
siderably stronger facts in favor of the taxing officers
than those of the present case treated a similar cor-
poration as a mere trustee for stockholders at the time
certain real estate standing in its name was sold, and
said in this connection that the fact that the taxpayer
was a corporation in which the individuals affected
owned all the stock “does not affect the status of
agency.”

In the Mayer case the Board delt with the ques-
tion whether the net loss of a partnership should in-
clude income and deductions of a corporation whose
stock was all owned by the partnership. The latter
owned considerable real estate which it used in its
regular business. Long before the income tax laws
were passed it had organized a corporation for the
sole purpose of holding title to the real estate which
was transferred to the corporation. Title to real estate
thereafter acquired was taken in the corporation’s
name. Otherwise the corporation transacted no busi-
ness. It kept no books, and never had an office, em-
ployees, agents or a bank account. Receipts were col-
lected by the partnership and expenses were paid by
it, and it dealt with the lands as if it, not the cor-
poration, held legal title. The purpose of organizing
the corporation and continuing its existence was for
convenience in handling property, including conveying
title, and avoidance of title complications in case of a
partner’s death. The Board, after recting that ordi-
narily corporations have a separate existence apart
from their stockholders, yet recognized that it, and
the courts, had looked through the form and regarded
substance “where the facts were peculiar,” for which
proposition there were cited, among other cases, this
Court's decision in Southern Pacific v. Lowe, 247 U. S.
330, 38 S. Ct. 340, 62 L. Ed. 1142, and Gulf Oil Cor-
poration v. Lewellyn, 248 U. S. 71, 39 S. Ct. 35, 63
L. Ed. 133. Upon a consideration of the facts the Board
concludeg dthat the partnership, not the corporation,

r-

ae ae

15

was the beneficial owner of the land, and that there-
fore receipts and disbursements were the partnership’s,
not the corporation’s.

The Abram’s Sons case resembled the present one
in that the corporation was organized at the demand of
creditors, to hold record title to certain real estate,
and to receive, for creditor interests, the proceeds of
a condemnation proceeding. Unlike the present case,
the equity owners realized nothing after application
of the proceeds. The Board treated the corporation as
a mere trustee or agent to dispose of the property
and act as a conduit and distribute the proceeds for
creditors. Under these circumstances and on the au-
thority of the Forshay case and other Board cases,
the gain was held not taxable to the corporation.

The above cases were, it is submitted, correctly
decided, and their reasoning a: i logic were correctly
applied by the Board in the pr«sent proceeding (Rec.
p. 11). To borrow the Board’s reasoning in another
Board decision, Carling Holding Corp., 41 B. T. A. 493,
if the contest were between the corporation (in this
case, Moline, the petitioner herein) and those for whom
it was acting, instead of a tax case, neither the cor-
poration, nor the voting trustee, nor the Biscayne,
could have contended that any profit belonged, as
against Thompson, to Moline; for, in the Baord’s lan-
guage, so to hold “would be a travesty upon the law
of agency or trusteeship.” 41 B. T. A. 493, at p. 503.

There are other decisions to the same effect, some
of which are cited in the Board’s opiniens in the cases
just mentioned. These cases properly insisted that in-
come should be taxed to the party who or which is
beneficially interested in such income, not to a mere
formal holder of the title to property from which the
income is derived, or to a mere agent or fiduciary not
in fact beneficially interested. Such appears to have

16

been the generally accepted rule in cases of this kind.

The opinion below appears to be the first case in-
volving such a fact situation in which a corporation
holder of formal title to real estate which is a mere
shell, or “figmentary agent,” has been held taxable on
income or gain from property where the beneficial in-
terest is in the stockholder.

THE OPINION BELOW IN EFFECT HOLDS, CON-
TRARY TO THE MANY DECISIONS IN SIMILAR
CASES, THAN AN ESTOPPEL EXISTS AGAINST
ASSERTING, IN A TAXPAYER’S FAVOR, THAT A
CORPORATION IS IN FACT BUT AN AGENT FOR
ITS STOCKHOLDERS. THIS HOLDING IS U%N-
WARRANTED, ESPECIALLY IN THE FACE OF
THE BOARD'S CONCLUSION THAT THE BENFE-
FICIAL INTEREST WAS IN THE STOCKHOLDER.

The opinion below, ignoring or misconceiving the
testimony, treats this subject summarily, on the sup-
posed authority of Higgins v. Smith, and of the /nter-
state Transit Lines decision by the Eighth Circuit, now
on review in this court.

The opinion of the court below is an example of
the extreme in oversimplification. After reciting the
facts, the bare assertion is made that the Board “erred
in its decision.” The general rule is cited that a cor-
poration and its stockholders are for purposes of taxa-
tion different entities; and then the Board’s findings
and conclusions of fact, ‘abundantly supported by the
record, which could permit of no other findings or con-
clusions of fact), and its opinion, were disposed of in
five short sentences ‘Rec. p. 91; 131 Fed (2d) 388 at
p. 389:. It is declared that Thompson “for reasons
satisfactory to himself and his creditors elected to em-
ploy a corporation” (thus ignoring the complete lack
of any real volition or freedom on Thompson's part.
and, in spite of the abundant evidence to the contrary.
treating Thompson as having a free choice in the mat-

17

ter, when his only choice was surrender to the credi-
tor’s demand or loss of his property); and then, upon
the postulate that Thompson had “chosen the cor-
porate form to conduct these affairs,” the Opinion says
that both he and the corporation “must accept the tax
disadvantages,” and “may not now. in order to escape
corporate taxes, be heard to disavow the corporate ex-
istence and allege that the respondent ‘in the court
below, petitioner here: was merely a “dummy corpo-
ration.”

Not a word is said concerning the legal conse-
quences cf the Board’s conclusion that it was Thomp-
son who had beneficial cwnership. Thus is it in effect
declared that an estoppel existed against proving that
the corporation was in fact but an agent, although in
any other situation where the relationship of agency
exists there would be no doubt that gain would be taxed
to the beneficially interested party, not to the agent.

For this remirkable and, we submit, clearly errone-
ous pronouncement, at least as applied to the facts
proved of record and found by the Board, the court be-
low cited two authorities, this Court’s decision in Hig-
gins v. Smith, 308 U. S. 473, 60 S. Ct. 355, 84 L. Ed.
406, and the Eighth Circuit’s decision in Interstate
Transit Lines v. Commissioner, 130 Fed. (2d) 136.
The Interstate Transit Lines opinion and the opinion
below both overlook the significance of the fact of
agency.

The Interstate Transit Lines opinion, after refer-
ring to Southern Pacific v. Lowe, 247 U. S. 330, 38 S. Ct.
540, 62 L. Ed. 1142, and Gulf Oil Corporation v. Lewel-
lyn, 248 U. S. 71, 39 S. Ct. 35, 63 L. Ed. 133, and some
Circuit Court of Appeals decisions cited by the tax-
payer in that case in support of the “agency” conten-
tion, says (130 Fed. [2d] 136 at p. 140) that these cases
“cannot be regarded as laying down any general rule
authorizing disregard of corporate entity in respect of

18

taxation,” for which assertion Burnet v. Commonwealth
Improvement Corp., 287 U. S. 415, 53 S. Ct. 198, 77
L. Ed. 399, is cited. The Eighth Circuit opinion then
cites Higgins v. Smith, from which is quoted the dictum
that ‘a taxpayer is free to adopt such organization for
his affairs as he may choose and having elected to do
some business as a corporation, he must accept the dis-
advantages,” but that the Government “may sustain or
disregard the effect of the fiction as best serves the
purpose of the tax statute.”

The quoted language, for which presumably the
Court below in the present case cited the Interstate
Transit Lines case, loses sight of the fact that the tax-
payer in a proper case of this kind is not contending
that he should be relieved of the consequences of his
own chosen method of doing business. He is asking
that the fact of the agency relationship be recognized
and that the usual consequences of that relationship
be given effect. This oversight may be a result of some
of the loose language that has appeared in the books
to the general effect that in certain situations “the cor-
porate entity will be disregarded.” Whether or not the
“dummy corporation’s” fictional entity be “disre-
garded,” the same result should follow that would fol-
low in the case of an actual agency where the principal
is not the agent’s stockholder. Unless there be some
other element of estoppel present, ownership of cor-
porate stock does not estop the owner from establishing
an agency relationship, if such in fact exists. Authori-
ties where the “agency” doctrine has been applied have
treated facts like those here presented as evidencing
agency.

Because the brief in the Interstate Transit Lines
case now pending in this Court (Docket No. 552) dis-
cuss the hole ings of this Court in Southern Pacific Co.
v. Lowe, 242 U. S. 330, 38 S. Ct. 540, 62 L. Ed. 1142,
and Gulf Oil Corporation v. Lewellyn, 248 U. S. 71, 39
S. Ct. 35, 63 L. Ed. 133, and also Burnet v. Common-

19

wealth Improvement Corp., 287 U. S. 415, 53 S. Ct.
198, 77 L. Ed. 399 (which is plainly distinguishable),
the present petitioner will omit discussion of these au-
tthorities. The discussion of them in the petitioner’s
brief in the Interstate Transit Lines case (No. 552 on
this Court’s docket! is adopted in this petitioner's be-
half.

The Board of Tax Appeals’ factual determina-
tion in the present case has ample evidence
to support tt, and the Board properly con-
cluded that the gain was not Moline’s but was
Thompson's.

The Board of Tax Appea’s treated the facts proved
in this case as establishing the “agency” of Moline in
respect of property beneficially owned by Thompson. It
is submitted that the Board's factual conclusions were
the only ones possible under the uncontradicted testi-
mony in the present record, and that a contrary conclu-
sion would have constituted an error of law, and would
have been without any evidence to support it; but how-
ever that may be, the Board did find that Thompson,
not the corporation taxpayer, the present petitioner,
was the beneficial owner. The Court below, rejecting
this conclusion, or at any rate ignoring it, has either:
decided that as a matter of law it can never be con-
cluded that such facts as here exist establish a cor-
poration’s agency for its sole stockholder, so that in
effect there is an estoppel against claiming the benefit
of the true relationship; or, has, in spite of this Court’s
many pronouncements on the subject, disturbed, with-
out direct challenge of the correctness thereof, a factual
determination of the Board, abundantly supperted by
the evidence, and has done so under the guise of a
holding that the Board has erred in applying the law.

Thompson owned other extensive real property in
Miami (19). from which circumstance it may be in-
ferred that he was engaged generally in the business

20

of dealing in real estate. He did not, however, employ
the corporate form in the handling of this business.
Had he in effect operated the business of dealing in real
estate through the medium of a corporation actually
and actively conducting the business, then the owner-
ship of all the stock would not, without more, have made
has corporation’s gain his gain. As applied to situa-
tion like that, it may be correct to say that a taxpayer
thus conducting his affairs must accept the tax dis-
advantages. That is not the present case. Thompson.
at a creditor's insistence and demand, acquiesced in the
use of a corporation to hold title to some of his real
estate. The instigator of the organization of the corpor-
ation was the bank, not Thompson. It was the bank's.
not his, purpose that was served, aside from the fact
that he thereby avoided the harsh alternative of loss of
the property. After he regained control, in 1933, he did
not, it is true. immediately dissolve the corporation or
transfer record title back to himself but he dealt with
the property as his own. He had no purpose of tax avoid-
ance. (Indeed, the contrary is the case, as the present
proceeding demonstrates.! His and the corporation's
non-action with respect to the record title did not
change the fiduciary relationship which the Board Ge-
termined to have existed. under which Moline, the rec-
ord owner, merely held title for Thompson, the bene-
ficial owner. If he was the beneficial owner then it
follows that Moline was a fiduciary. Whether Moline
be termed “fiduciary” or “agent” is not important.
What is important is that the property, and therefore
the gain from its sale, was not Moline’s, any more than
in the case of a sale by any agent or fiduciary of his
principal's or his beneficiary’s property.

21

as

THE DECISION OF THIS COURT IN HIGGINS V.
SMITH HAS NOT CHANGED THE LAW CONCERN-
ING THE AGENCY DOCTRINE, AND, INSTEAD OF
REQUIRING REJECTION OF THAT DOCTRINE
WHEN INVOKED IN A CASE LIKE THE PRESENT,
SUPPORTS THE OPPOSITE RESULT.

The Court below, and the Eighth Circuit Court of
Appeals' in the Interstate Transit Line case, have
treated this Court’s well known decision in Higgins v.
Smith, 308 U. S. 473, 60 S. Ct. 355, 84 L. Ed. 406, as in
effect holding that the Government, in a tax case, may
at will “disregard” the corporate entity, while the tax-
payer may under no circumstances assert the existence
of an agency relationship. If these courts are :ight in
thus construing Higgins v. Smith, the one sided situa-
tion thus resulting respresents a somewhat startling
change in what has heretofore been generally assumed
to be the law applicabie to these cases.

In that case Smith sued Higgins, the Collector of
Internal Revenue, for a refund of taxes. The question
was whether the taxpayer was entitled to deduct a loss
arising from the purported saie of securities by him
to his wholly owned corporation, Officers and Directors
of the corporation were Smith’s subordinates. Its trans-
actions were carried on under his direction and were
largely restricted to operations in buying securities
from or selling them to the taxpayer. This Court, in
the opinion, termed the corporation Smith’s “corporate
self.” It was created to gain income and estate tax sav-
ings for Smith, and thus was an attempted tax avoid-
ance device. Under these circumstances this Court held
that the Second Circuit Court of Appeals had erred in

1. That court's recent decision in Palcar Real Estate Co. v. Commissioner,
13) Fed. (2d) 210, is clearly distinguishable on the facts from the present case.
and contains language apperentiv recognizing the difference between an active
corperation and “a mere passive holder of the ttle” The case does, however

regard the language of Higgins ». Smith as c:4 the court below

99
Ae

reversing and remanding a District Court judgment,
rendered pursuant to a jury verdict, in favor of tae
Collector. The trial court gave an instruction, which
this Court approved, that the jury were to find whether
the sales by Smith to the corporation, out of which grew
the asserted ‘oss, were actual transfers of property
out of Smith into something that existed separate and
apart from him, or to be regarded as simply a transfer
by Smith’s left hand “being his individual hand, into
his right hand, being his corpvrate hand, so that in
truth and fact there was 10 transfer at all.” The jury
took the latter view and brought in a verdict for the
Collector. This Court not only said there was sufficient
evidence to sustain the verdict. The opinion goes fur-
ther and adds that “this domination and control is so
ohvious in a wholly owned corporation as to require
a peremptory instruction that no loss in the statutory
sense could occur upon a sale by a taxpayer to such an
entity.”

It was said that “there is not enough of substance
in such a sale finally to determine a loss.” Stated in
another way, it may be said that after the transaction
in question Smith was neither richer nor pooer than
he had been before.

The opinion refers to what is termed “the natural
conclusion that transactions, which do not vary, con-
trol or change the flow of economic benefits, are to be
dismissed from consideration.” That in effect states
one contention of the present petitioner; for, in the
succeeding language of the opinion, “the purpose here
is to tax earnings and profits less expenses and losses,”
but “if one or the other factor in any ‘calculation is
unreal, it distorts the liability of the particular tax-
payer to the detriment or advantage of the entire tax-
paying group. (Italic ours.) If an “unreal’’ factor can
work to the “advantage of the entire tax-paying group"
it is because the particular taxpayer is overtaxed as 4
result of the “unrea!” factor. That is the situation here.

23

It is ‘unreal’ to treat Moline as the owner of the lots.
If a taxpayer is not permitted to show the fact of such
“unreality,” then the word “advantage” in the Higgins
v. Smith opinion is meaningless. The reference tc “‘det-
riment or advantage” negatives the view that a one-
sided rule was being announced.

The opinion then refers to Burnet v. Commonwealth
Improvemen: Co., 287 U. S., 415, 53 S. Ct. 198, 77 L. Ed.
399, which had been cited by Smith in support of his
contention. That case involved the converse situation:
but in that case there was also an element of tax avoid-
ance. The principal stockholder there had used the cor-
poration to reduce taxes, and later, when it was to his
advantage in order to avoid subjection of the corpora-
tion to a tax on a sale of corporate stock by the cor-
poration to the stockholder, the claim was made that
the corporation and stockholder were one. This Court
in that case required observance of the corporate en-
tity created originally to reduce taxes, but expressly
recognized that the entity might be disregarded in a
taxpayer’s favor under “peculiar circumstances.” That
case did not present any question of agency, and the
interested parties had in the past obtained substantial
tax benefita from the corporation’s existence.

It was in the course of commenting on the Com-
monwealth Improvement Co. case, and with direct ref-
erence to that case, and by way of distinguishing that
case, that this Court then gave utterance to the dicta
now relied on in order to base taxes on what are in fact
unrealities. When the dicta are quoted for this pur-
pose certain phrases are usually taken apart from their
context, and given improper emphasis that disappear
when the entire text is read. The full quotation is:

“In the Commonwealth Improvement Co,, case,
the tax payer, for reasons satisfactory to itself,
voluntarily had chosen to employ the corpora-
tion in its operation. A taxpayer is free to

24

adopt such organization for his affairs as he
may choose and having elected to do so some
business as a corporation, he must accept the
tax disadvantages. (Italics ours.)

“OrfJhe other hand, the government may
not be required to acquiesce in the taxpayer's
election of that form for doing business which
is most advantageous to him. The govern-
ment may look at actualities and upon determ-
ination that the form employed for doing busi-
ness or carrying out the challenged tax event
is unreal or a sham may sustain or disregard
the effect of the fiction as best serves the pur-
pose of the tax statute. To hold otherwise
would permit the schemes of taxpeyers to su-
pe:cede legislation in the determination of the
time and manner of taxation. It is command
of the income and its benefits which marks
the real owner of the property.”

It is, therefore, seen that this language, viewed
in the setting which was the occasion of it, is directed
against “schemes” of tax avoidance of which the Com-
monwealth Improvement Co. case was an example, and
with direct reference to that very case, and is not 2
sweeping generalization for application in all cases, in-
cluding those of agency. No mention is made of agency
situations. The quoted language is used to support the
conclusion, in a case in which there had been a de-
termination by the triers of fact that a transaction
was a sham, that the government is not bound by that
sham. In other words the taxpayer went through cer-
tain motions, but, as in Gregory v. Helvering, 293 U. S..,
465, 55 S. Ct. 266; 79, L. Ed. 596, 97 A. L. R. 1355, which
is also cited, he did not actually do what he attempted
to do.* On the other hand, where, as in the Common-
wealth Improvement Co. case, the taxpayer employs the
coroprate device and there is no agency situation, and
especially where he thereby reduces taxes, he may not
be heard later to disavow his own creature, voluntarily

25

created, (Moline was forced upon Thompson) when
it is to his advantage so to do.

To give the quoted language in Higgins v. Smith
the effeet claimed for it would nuuify the preceding
language in the same opinion, which recognizes that
“unreality’’ (as distinguished from sham) may work
either way. The case of Riggins v. Smith not only
does not support the opinion of the court below; it
lends strong support to the petitioner, and to the
Board’s decision.

The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals in U. S. v.
Brager Building and Land Corporation, 124 Fed. (2d)
349, quotes in full the above language from Higgins v.
Smith, and then points out, in response to the Commis-
sioner’s argument, that “the diversity of business trans-
actions in corporate form does not permit of so easy a
generality” as that asserted by the Commissioner. The
language in the Brager opinion, criticizing the “easy
generality” of government's contention is equally ap-
plicable to the >versimplification indulgec in by the
Court below.

The Brager opinion recognizes that “schemes” to
escape taxation will not be tolerated; but continues
by saying that “it is going too far to say that if a tax-
payer forms a corporation for his convenience, he is
thereafter estopped from disclosing the true nature of
the arrangement, whenever it is of advantage to the
government to recognize only the corporate form.” Ref-
erence in succeeding sentences to cases dealing with the
situation “when a corporation has been formed merely
as an agency to hold title to real estate for the con-
venience of the owner” makes it clear that what is
meant is that if “the true nature of the arrangement”
is an agency, the usual result must follow. It is sub-
mitted that the Brager opinion correctly construed the
language and holding in Higgins v. Smith and that to
quote again from the Brager opinion, the “body of the

26

law” relating to agency situations of the present sort
cannot be regarded as having “now for practical pur-
poses ceased to exist.”

As tne Brager opinion points out, the opinion in
Higgins v. Smith does not preclude assertion, in such
cases, of the fact of the agency reiationship. The latter
opinion is a warning agairst “schemes” of taxpayeis
to avoid, through corporate devices, taxes they real!y
owe if economic realities are given effect. While it is
true that a taxpayer’s intent lawfully to minimize his
taxes does not render unlawful what is otherwise law-
ful, yet a taxpayer who attempts a transparent
“scheme” or device of the kind under scrutiny in Hig-
gins v. Smith risks one of two consequences: if, as was
the case in Higgins v. Smith, the device is a sham, the
Government may, notwithstanding the sham, apply the
philosophy of Gregory v. Helvering, supra, p. 25, and
disregard it altogether. If, however, as in the Common-
wealth Improvement Co. case, the taxpayer’s “scheme”
to reduce taxes produces, if given effect, a tax disad-
vantage, the Government may compel him to accept
these consequences of his ‘“‘scheme.”’

No such situation of attempted tax reduction is
present here. The opinion in Higgins v. Smith does
much more than condemn attempts of taxpayers to
retain the fruits of income but escape the tax on such
income. It also condemns determination of tax lia-
bility on the basis of “urrealities.”” This portion of the
opinion the court below appears to have overlooked.
When Higgins v. Smith is cited in support of the one-
sided rule contended for by respondent and apparently
announced by the court below, and by the Eight Circuit
in the Interstate Transit Lines case, no mention is made
of this condemnation of the use of an “unreal’’ factor
in calculating taxes. In the present case, Moline’s rec-
ord ownership of the iand is a necessary “factor” in
the “calculation” of the deficiencies here under review.
Such ownership is “unreal”; it is just as “unreal” as

27

the legal title held in trust for another, so far as the
question of beneficial interest is concerned; such record
ownership was merely as another’s, Thompson’s agent,
or, if one prefers the term, trustee; and the Board so
found. The court, however, reversing the Board, has
exalted the “unreal” thing, the formal title in Moline,
to become a “factor” in the “calculation” of a ruinous
tax, which, because he .s obviously a “transferee,”
Thompson, in spite of his financial troubles which the
record so clearly portrays, will be forced to meet some-
how. This, if the court below is upheld, is the only
“reality” about the result, a harsh reality which, if
allowed to stand, will represent a miscarriage of justice,
and a discrimination against Thompson. The obvious
effect would in such case be that Thompson pays more
than the tax on his gain, for he would pay at the cor-
porate instead of the individual tax rate, and in addi-
tion be mulcted in interest and penalties. Such an un-
fair discrimination is not warranted by anything in this
record. It is condemned by the language and reasoning
of Higgins v. Smith. It is contrary both tc common
sense and to the clearest dictates of justice. The gain
on the sale of these lots should, petitioner submits, be
taxed to Thompson, the real owner, not to Moline, the
mere title holder, or “agent.”

«*

28

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons it is earnestly submitted
that the Court below has erred in hoiding that this
Court’s decision in Higgins v. Smith required as a mat-
ter of law the taxation to Moline of the gains from the
saie of the lots here involved, and in reversing the
Board ot Tax Appeals, and accordingly it is urged that
the decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals of the
Fifth Circuit be reversed and that of the Board of Tax
Appeals affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,
BART A. RILEY,

RE ee PARP se nacre cette

es Sa Ie ha) Wate In" -sxendoacrrenoahiaialiambasaeancomnse
Attorneys for Petitioner. Attorneys for Petitioner.

29

APPENDIX
Revenue Act of 1934, ch. 277, 48 Stat. 680:

SEC. 13. TAX ON CORPORATIONS.

(a) Rate of Tax. There shall be levied,
collected, and paid for each taxabie year upon
the net income of every corporation, * * *

SEC. 22. GROSS INCOME.

(a) General Definition. ‘‘Gross income” in-
cludes gains, profits and income derived from
* @*# @ sales, s *

SECTION 52. CORPORATION RETURNS.

Every corporation subject to taxation un-
der this title shall make a return, * * *
Revenue Act of 1936, ch. 690, 49 Stat. 1648:

SEC. 13. NORMAL TAX ON CORPORATIONS.

(@) Imposition of Tax. Tsere shall be lev-
ied, collected, and paid for each taxable year
upon the normal-tax net income of every cor-
poration, a normal tax as follows:

The provisions of Sections 22 (a) and 52 of the
Revenue Act of 1936, supra, are identical with those
set forth above.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386403_0178%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
