# Brief for the United States — United States v. Ragen

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386401_0477%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the United States
- **Published:** January 1, 1942
- **Citation:** 314 U.S. 513

## Text

Nos, 04-06

cvthe Supiemed ourt of the Gmited States

th fourR Piano, Pal

taMis \} BR vel ~
tNerkep So ates oF AMERICA, PRITIIONER

Viohp \\ KRES

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

ae ae es ee ee ee

‘aaa t =~)
rave Leas

i I Ve

~s
a?

Opinion below .
Jurisdiction. — -
Questions presented . -

Statutes and regulations invelved - -
Statement

Specification of errors to be urged
Summary of argument

Argument

INDEX

————

I. The prosecution Was maintainable even though some
services may have been rendered

Il. There was no variance between the indietment or the
Government's theory of the case, and the proof; the

charge to the jury Was proper

Conclusion
Appendix

CITATIONS

Cases:

Bennett v. United Siates, 227 U. S. 333
Berger v. United States, 295 U. 8. 78
Burton v. United States, 202 U.S. 344
Cavone v. United States, 50 F. (2d) 927
Commonwealih v. Reilly, 248 Mass. !
Cooper V United Ntales, 9 F. (2d) 216

Emmich v. United States, 298 Fed. 5, certiorari denied, 266

U.S. 608

Gleckman v. United Stetcs, 80 F (2d) 894, certiorari denied,

297 VS. 709

Gorin v. United States, 312 U. $8. 19

Gurik v. United States, 54 F. (2d) G18, certiorari denied,

285 U. &. S40

Flygrade Provision Co. V Sherman 266 L
Maddelin v. United States, 467 (2d) 266

Morrissey Vv. United Stales, 67 F. (2d) 2€7

Nash v. United States, 229 U.S. 373
Omaecherarria v. Idaho, 248 U.S. 345
Paschen \. United Staies, 70 F. (2d) 49!

Tinkoff v. United States, 86 F. (2d) 868, certir ran denied,

9 §

301 U.S. 689
{i aited States v. Brown, 116 F. (2d) 455

United States v. Cohen Grocery Co., 255 U.S. 81

422568—41——1 (I)

Cuses—Continued.

~

United States v. Glasser, 116 F. (2d) 690 __-. os 2
United States v. Kelley, 105 F. (2d) 982. —. : : 28
United States v. Mann, 108 F. (2d) 354_2.--..--- Ee a1)
United States v. Miro, 60 F. (2d) 58- We deo eee ‘£3
United Siates v. Murdock, 290 U.S. 389_......-.-.----- Pa
United States v. United States Fidelity Co., 236 U.S. 512 34
United States vy. Wurzbach, 280 U.S. 396_- 25
United States, v. Zimmerman, 1O8 F (2d) 370 28
Usary v. State, 112 8S. W. (2d) 7_--- = ae ; 26
Wagner v. United States, 118 F. (2d) 801, certiorari denied,
No. 180, present Tern. E Wie oars 28
Walker v. United States, 93 F. (2d) 383. .-.- “ 2)
Statutes:

Internal Revenue Code:

See. 23 (U.S.C. Supp. V, Title 26, See. 23; 29

See. 25 6U. 8. C. Supp. V, Title 26, See. 25) 29

Sec. 27 (U.S. C. Supp. V, Title 26, See. 27) 20

Sec. 101 (U.S. C. Supp. V, Title 26, See. 101) 29

See. 102 (U.S. C. Supp. V, Title 26, See. 192) 29

See. 105 (UL 8. C. Supp. V, Title 26, See. 105) 29

Sec. 112 «U.S. ©. Supp. V, Title 26, See. 112) 29

Sec. 113 (U. 38. C. Supp. V, Title 26, See. 113) : 29

See. 119 (U.S. C. Supp. V, Tétle 20, See. 119} 29
Revenue Act of 1932, 47 Stat. 169:

See. 73... me 36

Sec. 145 22, 24, 27, 36
Revenue Act of 1934, 48 Stat. 680:

Sec. 23 (U.S. C., Title 26, See. 23) 36

Sec. 145 (U.S. C., Title 26, Sec. 145) -- 3h
Revenue Act of 1936, 49 Stat. 1648:

pee; 23... : 37

Sec. 145___-. : : : 37

Miscellaneous:

Treasury Regulations 77, Art. 126 .__. ne Sa 37
Treasury Regulations 86, Art. 23 (a)-6____- eee ae 37

Treasury Regulations 94, Art. 23 (a)-6__ 2 -

Inthe Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBrR TERM, 1941

No. 54
THe UNITED STaTEs OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
v.
James M. RaGen

No. 55

THe Unitep States of AMERICA, PETITIONER
v.
ARNOLD W. KRUSE

No, 56
THE UNITED StraTES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
v.
LESTER A. KRUSE

ON WRITS OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES CIRCUIT
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUI1I

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED SiATES

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Circuit Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit (R. 487-505) is reported
in 118 F. (2d) 128.

(1)

JURISDICTION

The judgments of the Cireuit Court of Appeals
were entered February 26, 1941 (CR. 505-507).
T! petition for writs of certiorari was filed April
2. 1941, and granted June 2, 1941 (R. 511). The
jucvisdiction of this Court is invoked under See-
tion 240 (a) of the Judicial Code, as amended by
tie Act of February 13, 1925, and the Rules of
Practice and Procedure in Crimimal Cases, pro-
mulgated by this Court.

QUESTION PRESENTED

The respondents were convicted of a wilful eva-
sion of income taxes of a corporation by making
distributions of corporate profits to the stock-
holders under the guise of payments of ‘‘comiuis-
sious’” which were deducted from the corporation's
gross income. The principal question presented ts
whether there is a sufficiently definite standard of
guilt for the jury to convict if any of the distrib-
utees rendered any services at all to the corpora-
tion.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of the statutes and reg-
ulations involved are set forth in the Appendix,
thi hye, })}). 36-37.

STATEMENT

On August 22, 1939. an indictment in tive eounts
Was returned agaist the respondents and others
in the Distriet Court for the Northern District
of THinois ¢R. 2-27). The first four counts

3

charged the defendants jointly with wilful at-
tempts to defeat and evade imcome taxes of the
Consensus Publishing Company, a corporation,
for the vears 1933 through 1936 by causing the
company to file returns which were false and
fraudulent. In substance, the charge was that
there were deducted from the gross income of the
company as business expenses certain amounts
designated as ‘fcommiissions, ” which were in fact
dividends or distributions of profits (R. 2-18).
~The dednetious thus claimed were as follows: 1933,
£54.537.65 (R. 6); 1934. F50.172.28 CR. 10); 1935,
$76,713.75 CR. 14): 1956, $119,755.78 CR. 18).

The fifth count of the indictment charged a
cousplracy to commit such offenses for the vears
1929 through 1936, consisting of a scheme to dis-
tribute the net profits of Consensus in the guise
of “Scotmmiissions’” or salaries for services. It was
charged that the scheme iivelved, among other
things, the execution of spurious employment con-
tracts and the falsification of books and records
(CR. 18-27). This count also alleged that the de-
rendants did not im facet perform any services for
the company by virtue of the employment con-
tracts,

The #fv returned a verdict finding each of the
iespondents cuilty on all five counts, except Lester
Kruse, who was found guilty on the fourth and
nfth counts (R. 237-238). The court imposed

'The corporation also was convicted and fined (R. 237,
245). but took no appeal.

4

the following sentences: Arnold W. Kruse, eight-
een months’ imprisonment and a $10,000 fine;
William Molasky, a year’s imprisenment and a
$10,000 fine; James M. Ragen, Sr., imprisonment
of a vear and a day and a $10,000 fine; James
Ragen, Jr.. and Lester A. Kruse, fines of $1,000
each (CR. 239-245). On appeal to the Circuit
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Cireuit the eon-
Victions were reversed (R. 505-507). The Gev-
erument’s petition for rehearing was demied on
Mareh 18, 1941 (R. 507).

The evidence supporting the verdict of the Jury
may be summarized as follows:

Organization and Business of the Company.--
The Consensus Publishing Company, the taxpayer
corporation, was organized under the laws of the
State of THlimois in 1929 (R. 334, 373) pursuant to
an agreement between Moses L. Annenberg, Ar-
hold W. Kruse, James M. Ragen, Sr.. and William
Molasky, fer the purpose of carrying on the busi-
ness of printing and selling “run-down” sheets to
bookmakers (R.323,392). The ‘trun-down”’’ sheet
husiness was originally started in St. Louis in 1927

> Various preliminary motions and pleas were filed by the
respondents, which were overruled or denied by the District
Court. The Circuit Court of Appeals, however. held that
the District Court erred in dismissing special immunity pleas
in bar filed by William Molasky and James Ragen, Jr. OR,
491-496). The Government bas not requested that this rul-
Ing, Which affects only William Molasky and James Ragen,
Jr. be reviewed by this Court.

o

or 1928 by Julius Zweig. However, shortly after’
Molasky brought out a competing sheet, Zweig
sold a sixty percent interest in his business to

Molasky and associates for $1,000, and later dis-

posed of his remaining forty percent interest in

the same manner for $9,500 (R. 319, 320). There-

after the business spread to Cincinnati and other —
places (Tt. 498).

The “run-dewn” sheets, printed and distributed
daily, showed the herses running at the various °
race tracks throughout the country with their post
positions and code numbers for deciphering racing
information sent out over the wire service fur-
nished by Nationwide News Service, an Amnen-
berg corporation, of which James Ragen was gen-
eral manager (R. 322, 392). Since the racing
information contained in the wire service re-

b

fecred to each horse by “eryptie’’ code number
rather than by name, it was necessary to purchase
the *‘run-down" sheets in order te be able to use
the wire service (R. 393).

This business, while lucrative, was mechanically
simple. It merely involved not.ng and printing on
a sheet the racing information which came over
the News Service wires and the distribution
thereof to bookmakers at twenty-five or thirty-five
cents a sheet (R. 320-321). Printing and selling
costs were low, type setting could be done by one
man in four or five hours, and the printing itself
by another in one or two hours (R. 321). The
collection of receipts, preparation of records and

6

reports and such supervision of the printing of
the sheets as was required, which ‘*wasn’t much’’,
was done by Gordon Brooks, an employee «— an-
other company owned by Molasky (R. 350-351).
In Cincinnati the *trun-down"™ sheets were printed
by the American Racing Record, another Annen-
berg company (R. 356), and distributed by one
Surlin, a news distributor for Annenberg (R.
396). All receipts were sent to the St. Louis
office where they were received and deposited in a
bank account by Brooks (R. 353). The foregoing
activities required, at most, about an hour or an
hour and a half of his time every day, except that
once a Week “the night spend three hours” making
out the operating reports forthe Chicago office (R.
251). In answer to repeated questions by tlic
court at the trial, Brooks testified that there
wasn't much supervising that had to be done but
that he did all of it and no one else did any (R.
352). | |

Stock ownership and records.—The 100 shares
of stock of the company were divided as follows:
Cecelia Investment) Cempany (an Annenberg
holding company, thirty shares, Molasky, thirty
shares, Arnold Kruse, twenty shares, James Ragen,
Sr., twenty shares (R. 333-334, 385)... The evi-

* Thirty shares originally were issued to Molasky, of which
fifteen shares were subsequently transferred to his niece, B.
Hoffman OR, 334, 3895, 429, 497, 499). The distributions on

the shares in the name of B. Hoffman were deposited in Mo-
lasky’s own account upon which his niece had no right to

~
é

dence shows, as the court below conceded, that the
one hundred shares of stock of the company were
first issued to *‘dummies’? with the exception of
thirty shares which were issued to Molasky (R.
497). The respondents strongly contended that
they were not stockholders, and that all the stock
was owned by the Cecelia Investment Company.
The court below, however, recognized that the
record (R. 333, 348, 350, 364) justified the conclu-
sim that the defendants were in fact stockholders
(R. 499).

The company maintained its principal business
office at St. Louis, Missouri. The books, however,
were kept in the Chicage office of the Daily Racing
Form, an Annenberg company, and tax returns
were filed in the Chicago District. Each week
reports of all the receipts and expenses of the

draw (R. 427-429). ‘Twenty shares originally were issued to
A.W. Krause in the name of “Clark,” and held by Kruse, the
distributions thereon being assigned to his wife and son,
Lester Kruse (R. 334, 377, 497, 499) 5 in 1935 a new certifi-
eate for these shares was issued in the name of Herbert S.
Kamin as “dammy” for Kruse (R. 379, 880). The distribu-
tions made in the name of his wife were, however, deposited
in his own account (R. 427). as were those made in the name
of his son in 1923 and part of 1984 (R. 427, 428); other dis-
tributions were placed in an account which was in the name
of his son, but all of the checks on which, with few excep-
tons, were drawn by him (R. 363, 427-429). Twenty shares
were issued to J. M. Ragen, the distributions thereon Leing
assigned to J. M. Ragen, Jr.. in 19.31 (R. 334, 376, 426-428,
499). Changes in the distribution o1 profits were not aecom-
panied by changes in steck records. In 1937 distributions
Were again made directly to Molasky and Kruse (R. 429),
422568—41 2 y

a a mm me

s§

business, showing the balance of profits remainmg
after the deduction of expenses, were sent from
the St. Louis office to the Chicago offices of the
Annenberg companies, which operated under the
supervision of Arnold Kruse (R. 322, 351). The
bookkeeper who received these reports ¢onstructed
his own work sheets on whieh he computed thie
receipts, expenses, net profits, and distribution of
the profits (R. 414). Reports showing this in-
formation were sent to the stockholders each week
(R. 334). The bookkeeping svstern was set up as
directed by Arnold Kruse (R. 410, 411, 416).
Distribution of profits.—The net profits of th
business were distributed weekly in direct propoy-
tion to the stockholdings (R. 324, 340-341, 35s-
399, 426-428). The responaents contended, Low-
ever, that Cecelia alone receeised dividends, the
balance of the net profits, or seventy percent, being
distributed not as dividends but as commissions
for services.’ The books of the company showed

* The respondents contended, and, although attaching |i
tle significance to it, the court below found some testimony
to sustain the contention (R. 500), that an arrangement wa-
made at the Inception of the business to pay commissions for
services. “Ti.s contention is ‘sed on the testimony of
Howard Clark, the first bookkeeper, who was called a- a
witness of the court. as to a conversation alleged to have
taken place at that time between Annenberg, Kruse, Ragen.
Sr. and Molasky. The alleged conversation was repeate:
verbatim three times (R. 416, 419. 421) by the witness at
widely spaced intervals in his cross-examination, althoug!:
he denied having memorized it. In any event, the jury
by its verdict rejected this testimony. as it was fully justs-
fied in doing.

q

these distributions as Commissions, as was neces-
sary if they were to be claimed as a deduction
for business expense (R. 327-3380). This was in
accordance With instructions from Kruse who told
the bookkeeper to charge seventy percent of the
net profits of the company as commissions (I.
411). There is, however. substantial and cogent
evidence that the payments were in fact dividends
or distributions of profits and not commissions,
The confidential weekly reports to the stockhold-
ers from October 12, 1929, through August 19,
133. and from June 5, 1937, through November 5,
1937. labeled these distributions as dividends (Rh.
30-335, 337, 414). Similarly, from September
124, through August 19, 1933, and in some im-
stances thereafter, the private work sheets of the
hoakkeepers showed distributions of ‘‘dividends”’

“The court below apparently attached some significance
to the fact that the tax returns disclosed the deductions tm
question (R. 501). Obviously, however, the listing of these
deductions in the returns was essential if a reduction of the
taxable het recone of the corporation were to be secured,
Again, the opinion states asa fact that the returns had been
audited, ipiplying that the Government had knowledge of
the facets. This receives no support in the record, as the trial
court repeatedly advised that questions concerning such ex-
aininations were immatertal (R. 437. 458, 440). Further,
sich an examination, even if made. would not be binding on
the Government. Cooper v. United States. 9 BP. (2d) 216, 223
(LCL AL Sthy: Guazik ve United States, 54 F. (2d) 618
(©. CL A. 7th), certiorari denied, 28s U.S. 545.

‘Most of the other weekly reports used the descriptive
plrase “dividends and commissions” (R. 334). One con-
tained the statement “No dividends this week.” (R. 337.)

eel

10

rather than ‘‘eommissions’* CR, 529-3380, 337, 335,
SOR, BOL, 411, 412, 418). Molasky and his miece
reported these distributions as dividends i their
tax returns for the vears 1933 through 1935 CR.
308 and Ex. 47-53). A letter from a bookkeeper
to Molasky, dated December 21, 1935, stated that
“no dividend cheeks’ would be issued until he
could tatk with Krause with respect to the five per-
cent tax on dividends CR. 381). Kruse advised
the bookkeeper that the division among the stock-
holders was an arbitrary arrangement CR. 342-
344).

Destruction of stock records and crccution of
pre-dated contracts of employment ——-In 1954,
Kruse, becoming concerned about a Board of Tax
Appeals decision holding that distributions of
profits as commissions but in accordance with
stockholdings would not be allowed as a deductible
expense GR. 398-397), instructed an employee te
destroy the original stock book of the eompany.
He alse instructed the employee to issue new stock
certificates to the original incerporators from a
new steck book as of the date of the meorpora-
tion of the company, September 18, 1929; and, also
as of the same date, to cancel such new certificates
and isstie one certifieate for one hundred shares
of stock to Cecelia. The instructions as te the new
certificates were followed. The original stock
hook, however, was not destroyed until sometime
later and the original steck certificates were re-
tained by the stockholders until 1938 when they

were carefally torn up or otherwise dest raved.
The destruction of the original stoek book. an
admittedly “irregular procedure’ (CR. 379), wos
desired by Kruse in order to aveid “ annecessary
questions’? (RL 375) belag raised with respect to
the stock ownership CR. 376). Ino April 1935,
Kruse himself caused his original stock certificave
to be cancelled and a new one from the origimal
stock book, which had not then been destroyed,
to be issued in the name of a “tdummy™” CR. 3580).

In 1955, or 1936, Kruse iastructed an emplovee
to draw up written contracts of employment be-
tween the company and the individuals in whose
name the profits of the company had been dis-
tributed CR. 381-384). Purported employment
contracts were drawn and dated back over all the
years to and including 1980, and were signed in
Intk by the individuals (R. 399, 400, 403, 404,
4067). In addition, corporate minutes reflecting
the “stock issue’? in 1934 and these contracts were
also drawn up and dated back for the entire pe-
rid from 1930 for which tio minutes had previ-
ously existed (R. 378, 383, 384).

The court below, while failing to see their rele-
Vance te Imcome tax evasion, recognized that these -
transactions ‘strongly indicate that some sort of
chieanery Was in progress’ (R. 501).

"Molasky's certifieate was torn up and thrown down a
toilet, Kruse's was torn up and thrown in a wasvebasket, and
Rayen’s was burned (R. 354,385).

12

Whether defendants performed any services,—
The court below stated (R. 500) that there was
‘considerable testimony in the recerd of services
rendered by Molasky, who was president of Con-
sensus, as well as by Kruse, Sr., and sonie eviderce
of services performed by the other defendants.”
Molasky and Arnold pe hpsigiontys did per-
form some services (R. 322-323, 326, 341, 354-
355). But there is also evidence that little or no
services were perfornied by the other respondents
CR. 341, 353, 355). The witness Burris, an em-
plovee of another Annenburg company, who did
bookkeeping work for Consensus for two years (R,
339), testified that he had no knowledge of any
work that Lester Kruse, or Ragen, Sr.. or Ragen,
Jr., ever did for Consensus (R. 341, 344). The
bookkeeper Brooks similarly stated that, although
he had talked to them over the telephone, he did
not know any of these men and had never seen
them in the office of Consensus (R. 353, 555),
When apes on his statement that he had often
talked to Lester Kruse, lie was unable to remet-
her when he ever talked to him and finally ae
mitted he had done so only twice CR. 355).

None of the respondents testified or offered ans
testimony im his own behalf.

The court charged the jury in part as follows
CR. 470-471)

‘The only exception taken to this charge was as follos
(R. 473):

“T take exception to the doctrine announced — at if thes
find that this tax, or any substantial part thereof, was evade.

13

So it is a vital question in this case of
whether the Consensus Company was en-
titled to deduct from its income the sums
distributed to the defendants as ordinary
and necessary expenses of its business. The
question is whether it should not rather have
reported that those distributions were dis-
tributions of the profits of the company to
its shareholders rather than the payment of
compensation to employees and about that
this whole case centers,

* ” * aa *

If, on the other hand, if they were in-
tended to and represented actual bona fide
compensation to employes of this corpora-
tion in the ordinary operation of its busi-
ness; in other words, if they were ordinary
and necessary expenses of the operation of
the business, then the were properly de-
ductible as they were G ducted aud no tax
was due upon them.

* * * * *

Men that work for corporations are eu-
titled to proper Gompensation, whether they
be stockholders, directors, or officers. They
are entitled to reasonable compensation for
such services as they may render, irre-
spective of their official connection with the
corporation, On the other hand, share-
holders are entitled to a division of the
profits of the corporation in the way of divi-
dends and it is for vou to decide whether
these were, or whether 2 substantial portion

or attempted to be evaded, that they may find the defendants
guilty.”

14

thereof was, a distribution of profits rather
than the compensation of employes.

I use the words, ‘‘Tiese sums or a sub-
stantial portion thereof.’” Jt is not neces-
sary for the government under this indict-
ment to prove that all of the sums so dis-
tributed to these defendants were profits.
It is not necessary that the government
prove all of the figures precisely as they are
charged in the indictment. Jt is sufficient
if you find beyond a reasonable doubt that
the defendants intentionaliy diverted profits
of this concern, tn the amounts charged in
the indictment or substantial parts thereof,
diverted them from the form of profits and
received them in the form of commissions.
That, as I said, eomes back always to the
ultimate question that you have got to decide.
[ Itahes supplied. ]

SPECIFICATION OF ERRORS TO BE UEGED

1. The Cireait Court of Appeals erred in hold-
ing that the standard of guilt was unconstitution-
aliy indefinite.

2. The Cireuit Court of Appeals erred in hold-
ing that where a statute permits a reasonable de-
duction for services a ertininal prosecution can-
not be maintained by proof other than that such
services Were not rendered,

3. The Cireuit Court of Appeals erred in hold-
ing that when the proof shewed that services had
heen rendered, the trial should have proceeded no
further.

15

4. The Circuit Court of Appeals erred in hold-
ing that the Government had the burden of es-
tablishing that none of the defendants rendered
any services to the Consensus Publishing Com-
pany. |

5. The Cirenit Court of Appeals erred in hold-
ing that the charge of the District Court was im-
proper.

6. The Circuit Court of Appeals erred in revers-
ing the judgments of the District Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I

The single issue raised by the indictment was
whether the defendants wilfully attempted and
conspired to evade and defeat in any manner the
income taxes of the Consensus Publishing Com-
pany in Violation of Section 145 (b). The indict-.
ment did not charge, ner did the Government
undertake to prove, that none of the respondents
rendered any services to the corporation. The
basic question Was whether the defendants wil-
fully and = fraudulently emploved the ‘eommis-
sions’’ device as a means for distributing cor-
porate profits to the stockholders, and the evidence
presented to the jury was amply sufficient to sus-
tain a finding that they did.

The prosecution was maintainable even though
some services may have been rendered. The gist
of the offense charged by the indictment is not the

16

amount of tax evaded, but rather whether there
was a wilful attempt ‘fin any manner to evade
or defeat any tax.’’ Seetion 145 (b). The deci-
sion below that the prosecution is not maintain-
able where some services have been rendered erro-
neously rests upon the doctrine of United States
v. Cohen Grocery Co., 255 U.S. 81, where it was
heid that a ertnunal statute which is so vague as
to compel a man to speculate at his peril as to
whether his actions fall within the statute is in-
valid under the due process clause.

The doctrine of that case has no application here
where there is involved the question of the standard
of proof before a jury rather than the validity of
the statute itself. Moreover, even if the doetrine
were otherwise applicable, the court has mis-
applied it here. The essence of Section 145 (b) is
that the evasion must be wilful. Aceordingly, the
defendant is never left to speculate whether his
acts fall within the statutory prohibition.

II

The brief also undertakes not only to show that
there was no variance between the indictment, or
the Government’s theory of the case, and the
proof, but also to discuss the propriety of the
charge to the jury, although it is not clear to what
extent these questions are involved in this case.

17
ARGUMENT

Introductory—In_ substance, the Government
contended in the court below that the evidence
showed that the defendants were stockholders of
the Consensus Publishing Company and attempted
to conceatthat ownership; that, in an effort to
cheat the Government of taxes, they knowingly
received dividends on the stock owned and held
by them and attempted to conceal and misrepre-
sent the character of these distributions so that
they might be fraudulently deducted from the cor-
poration’s gross income as business expenses.
These contentions are fully consonant with the
charges contained in the indictment and are amply
sustained by the record.

The first four substantive counts of the indict-
ment, charging wilful attempts to evade and de-
feat the income taxes of Consensus Publishing
Company for the vears 1933 through 1936, alleged
in substance that the returns of the Company were
false and fraudulent in that they included among
the deductions taken from gross income certain
amounts designated ‘commissions,’ which were
in fact distributions of profits or dividends. The
fifth count, charging a conspiracy to commit simi-
lar offenses for the years 1929 to 1936, inclusive,
alleged, among other things, that the respondents
were not employed in any capacity by the corpora-
tion by virtue of the so-valled ‘temploviment con-

18

tracts ‘and rendered noe serviees by virtue of such
contracts,

On these charges the single issue before the trial
eourt and the jury was whether the defendants
wilfully attempted and conspired to evade and
defeat in any manner the income taxes of the Con-
sensus Publishing Company in violation of See-
tion 145 (b). This was a simple issue of fact,
resolved by the jury's verdict. The majority
opinion of Cireuit Judge Major, however, con-
tains an elaborate narration of the evidence (R.
497-502). It undertakes to cast a balance between
the conflicting inferences, approving some of the
Governivent’s contentions (R. 49@), and more of
the respondents CR. 500-502). The plain infer-
ence of this othemvise irrelevant and rather one-
sided discussion is that the court reversed because
it did not think the evidence sufficient to support
the verdict.” The opinion itself nowhere makes
any such express ruling; it does, however, con-
tain the assertion that the Government had the
burden of establishing that mene of the defend-
ants had rendered any services to the corporation
CR. 502), and that the trial should have termi-
nated upon a showing that services had been
rendered by at least) some of the defendants
CR. 503).

* The respondents in their answers to the Government's pe-
tition for certiorart assert that the principal question in
volved is the sufficiency of the evidence (Bro in Op. No, 974

PEO Permi.p. us Broun Op. Nas. 995 976 [IO Terms.

. ob)

i

19

It is our position that the verdict was fully war-
ranted even though some of the defendants may
have rendered some services, and that the District
Court correctly charged the jury (R. 471) that “Tt
ix not necessary for the government * * *— to
prove that all the sums so distributed to these
defendants were profits. * * * It is sufficient
if vou find bevond a reasonable doubt that the
defendants intentionally diverted profits of this

* * *

concern, in the amounts charged or sub-

* * # 99

stantial parts thereof In short, we
contend that, whether or not any services may have
been rendered, there has been a eriminal violation
of the imcome tax laws if the defendants, with im-
tent to evade taxes, fraudulentiv utilized the ‘com-
missious’” device as the means for distributing
substantial amounts of corporate earnings to the
stockholders. Sueh. in essence, was the charge to
the jury, and #¥s verdict im response thereto is
amply supported hy the record. The fact that the
essential operations of the company were simple
and were carmed on largely by part-time em-
plovees; the facet that at least some of the defend-
ants rendered no services at all, or at best, only
fragmentary services; the fact that the profits of
the enterprise were distributed weekly in’ exact
proportion to stock ownership: > the fact that the
hbookkeepers” work sheets and weekly reports. re-

“Since the defendants were im fact stockholders, as the

opinion of the court below concedes CR. 499). the contention
that seventy percent of the net profits was distributed to the

20

ferred to these distributions as ‘‘dividends’’; the
fact that Molasky and his miece actually reported
the distributions as dividends; the fact that the
defendants participated in the destruction of erit-
ical documents and in the execution of spurious
predated contracts of emplovment—all these fur-
nish overwhelming support for the jury’s conelu-
sion that the ‘tcommissiens”’ device was wilfully
employed as a means for distributing corporate
earnings.

If, in the face of such substantial evidence and
the persuasive inferences that may properly be
drawn therefrom (United States v. Mann, 108 F.
(2d) 354 (C. C. A. Tth)), the eourt im fact reversed
because it did not think the evidence sufficient to
support the verdict, it would have been guilty of
a flagrant invasion of the province of the jury.
Burton v. United States, 202 U.S. 344: United
States v. Brown, 116 F. (2d) 455 (C. C. A. 7th);
United States v. Mann, supra. Further, it would
have proceeded in complete disregard of the fun-
damental principles of appellate review that the
reviewing court will only look to the recerd to
see if any substantial evidence appears which
supports the verdict, and, in determining whether
there is such evidence, will view the evidence in
dufrudants as commissions leads to the anomalous conclusion

that only one of the stockholders, the Cecelia Company.
received dividends,

21

the light mast favorable to the Government "
(United States v. Glasser, 116 F. (2d) 690 (C. C.
A. 7th); Maddelin y. United States, 46 F. (2d) 206
(CC, A. 7th); Walker v. United States, 93°F.
(2d) BRB CCL CL A. &th)), and will assume that
all conflicts were resolved against the respondents.
Morrissey v. United States, 67 F. (2d) 267
(C.C.A.8b). .

However, the court attempted to aveid running
afoul of these rules of appellate review, and did
not expressly rule upon the question whether the
evidence supported the verdict. Instead, it re-
versed the judgments upon the ground ‘‘that
where a statute permits a reasonable deduction
for services, a criminal prosecution cannot be
maintained by proof other than that such services
were not rendered”’ (R. 502). And the opinion
indicated further that proof of the rendition of any
compensable service required a directed verdict
(R. 503). The contrary result, said the court (R.
502), would leave to the triers of fact the deter-

" Moreover, belated arguments on the evidence following
the refusal of the respondents to take the witness stand are
entitled to little consideration.

“The argument is one not infrequently presented to an
apreflate court, where the accused is convicted on evidence
which to him seems unimpressive and which he declined to
explain or dispute by his own word spoken from the wit.
hess stand. * * * But, on appeal, when he challenges
the evidence to support a verdict against him, he cannot
fairly ask a court to assume that the prejudicial facts which
are unexplained could have been overcome on various
hypetheses had the aceused testified.” Guzik v. United
States, 54 F. (2d) 618, 620 (C. C. A. 7th).

99

-——

mination of whether the amount charged is unrea-
sonable, with the consequence that the standard
of guilt would be unconstitutionally indefinite.
Cf. United States v. Cohen Grocery Co., 255
U.S. 81.

We respectfully submit that the court erred,
and will contend first that the prosecution ean be
maintained even though some services may have
been rendered, and second that there was no
variance between the indictment, or the Govern-
ment’s theory of the case, and the proof.

I

THE PROSECUTION WAS MAINTAINABLE EVEN THOUGH
SOME SERVICES MAY HAVE BEEN RENDERED

1. The gist of the offense charged by the indict-
ment is net the amount of the tax alleged to have
been evaded, but rather, in the language of
Section 145 (b). mfra, p. 36, the wilful attempt
“in any manner to evade or defeat any tax.”
Gileckman V. United States, 80 BF. (2d) 394, 401
(C. Co A. Sth). certiorarl: demed, 297 U.S. 709.
The Government is not required to prove evasion
of the entire amount charged. Tinhoff v. United
Stiwes, 86 F, (2d) 868, 878-879 (CG, C. A. 7th),
certiorarl denied, 801 U.S. 689. Accordingly, any
Variation from the iidictment figures is whelly im-
material if, as correctly charged by the triai court,
a substantial portion of the payments involved
constituted distributions of corporate profits rather
than time commissions,

23

The court below did not deny that ordinarily a
conviction could be supported if evasion were
proved in a lesser amount than that charged in
the indictment. The narrow ruling of the court
relates solely to the situation where the gvasion
is accomplished by means of improper deductions,
such as deductions for payments of reasonable
compensation. In that situation, said the court
(R. 502), the Government must prove that no
services at all had been rendered, for, if services
had been rendered it would be necessary to deter-
mine their reasonable value, resulting in an in-
definite standard of guilt.” Ilowever, it does net

The path marked out by the court below in reaching this
conclusion, as we follow it, starts with the finding that some
services were rendered, continues with the statement that
services are naturally compensable, and ends with the find-
ing that since business expenses are deductible by statute,
the issue presented to the jury was whether the respondents
had taken deductions of unreasonable amounts for services.
Such a charge, according to the court below, furnishes no
valid basis for a criminal prosecution as there is lacking a
sufficiently definite standard of guilt to guide the jury in its
deliberations. "The pos: bility that the jury might justifiably
have found that all the distributions in question were divi-
dends is answered by the finding that the trial court’s in-
structions permitted he jupy to determine what portions
were a distribution o po what portions would be
deemed reasonable con pens#ton for services. ‘The logic of
this progression, we sul mit, is at best doubtful. Compensa-
hon may perhaps ordina ‘ily follow the performance of serv-
lees, but. particularly in the circumstances here presented,
the inevitability of the sequence is by no means clear. Stock-
holders do not always receive their rewards for such services
as they may render in the form of salaries and comiissions.

OE a

24

at all follow that even where some services may
have been rendered, the distributions may not be
dividends in their entirety. But even if it may be
necessary to diminish the distributions by the
reasonable value of the services rendered, we
nevertheless submit that the respondents have per-
petrated a fraud upon the revenues and that they
were not subjected to an indefinite standard of
guilt.

2. The decision below rests upon United States
v. Cohen Grocery Co. 255 U.S. 81, and related
cases where it was held that a criminal statute so
vague in terms as to compel a man at his peril to
speculate as to whether his actions fall within the
statutory prohibition, violates the constitutional
requirement of due process. But that doctrine
can have no application to the crimes specified in
Section 145 (bh), for Congress has there provided
for the punishment of ‘fane person who willfully
attempts In any manner to evade or deteat any
tax.” [Ttalies supplied.j This is not language se
vague and indefinite that innocent men must at
their peril grope for an intelligible meaning.

At the very outset, it should be observed that
the court has erroneously extended the doctrine of
the Cohen Grocery case far beyond its proper
limits. That doctrine condemius statutes whieh,
unlike that here involved, contain language so
vague as to be incapable of intelligent interpre-
tation. It does net strike at whatever uncertain-
ty may be engendered in the mind of an individual

25

as to whether or not a jury may find a particular
act to fall within the proseriptions of an unam-
biguous statute. The standard of guilt by which
the respondents were judged is no less definite or
less susceptible of uniform application than stand-
ards applied in eases of manslaughter, for exam-
ple. Where conviction nay turn on whether or not
there was criminal negligence or adequate prevo-
cation ov sufficient time fer a reasonable man to
cool off. Such uncertainty is often present. As
this Court pointed out in Nash v. United States,
229 U. S. 373, 377:
* * * the law is full of imstanecos wi. re
ao man’s fate depends on his estimating
rightly, that is, as the jury subsequently
estimates it, some matter of degree. If his
judgment is wrong, not only may he incur a
fine or a short imprisonment, as here; he
may ineur the penalty of death. ‘*An act
causing death may be murder, manslaugh-
ter or misadventure according to the degree
of danger attending it’? by common experi-
ence we the circumstances known to the
acter.” © * ©
Ct. lonited States v. Wurzbach, 280 U.S. 296, 399.
But even assuming that the doetyvine of the
Cohen Grocery case is otherwise aprlieable to this
type of situation, the court belew inisapplied it
here, It proceeded in comm ** disregard of the
fact that the statute reqvies that there be a
wilful attempt at evasion. ¢ vated States v. Mur-
dock, 290 U.S. 389 This requirement affords

26

tuli protection for the innocent and removes all
grounds for constitutional attack because of in-
definitencss. On several occasions this Court bas
noted that a suceessful attack based on undue
vagueness cannot be made where the sanctions of
the statute apply only if intent or serenter is first
established. Omuechevarria vy. Iduho, 246 U.S.
343, BAR; Hyyrade Provision Co. vy. Sherman, 206
U.S. 497. 501°) The most recent recognition of
the confining force of the requirement of intent is
found in Gortn v. Cnited Stafes, 212 U.S. 19, in-
volving couvictions under the Espionage Act of
June 15, 3917. In discussing the contention that
certuli sections of that Act were too indefinite,
this Court said (p. 27):
Birt we find no uncertainty in this statute
Which deprives a person of the ability to
predetermine whether a contemplated action
Ix criminal under the provisious of this law.

This Court has never held a statute invalid for indefi-
niteness Where sect nfer was clearly required for the violation.
Section 4 of the Lever Act was held invalid in (nitfed States
Vv. Cohen Grocery Co. supra, The statute as quoted in 255
U.S. at S86 reads as though intent were required. But the
full text of the section. a= set Gut 255 U.S. at S182. shows
that inteng was no part of tlie clauses under attack. As stated

In Grorin NV. Conited States, G12 UL S 19. v6. chat eae “Dolmts
tides

ont that the statute there > > consideration forbade neo
specific act. that it really pan'tshed acts ‘detrrmental to the
public miterest when unjust ead unreasonable’ moa jury's
\ ew.” To thie sithe eff. cl, S02 Commonite ath Vv. R. Wy, 4s
Mass. 1.4-7. 142 N. Eo 915.918 (Mass. 1924: : Usary vo State,
Liz os. W. (2d) 7. 10-11 (Tenn. 1988).

27

The obvious delimiting words in the statute
are those requiring “intent or reason to be-
lieve that the information to be obtained is
to be used to the injury of the UWhited
States, or to the advantage of any foreign
nation.’ This requires those prosecuted to
have aeted in bad faith. The sanctions
apply only when serenter is established,

It seems clear, then, that even assuming that
the court below properly construed the charge
against the respondents, the rule against indefi-
niteness has no relevance here. However, we con-
test the narrew construction placed upon the
charge by the court below. The respondents were
indicted on the charge that they had wilfully at-
tempted to evade and defeat taxes in violation of
Section 145 (b). That section does not particular-
ize the means ef violation, but covers all wilful

+e ,

attempts to evade any tax “in any manner.’
And ‘** * * by the words fin any manner’ in
Section 146 (6) fof the Revenue Act of 1928, sub-
stantially identical with the provisions of Section
145 (b) involved bercin], Congress indicates an
intention te cever ail possible methods of eva-
sion; * * *."" United States v. Miro, 60 F.
(Pd) 58, 60 (0. CL. AL Pd). **The real character
of the offense lies, not inthe faihire te tile a return,
or in the filing of a false return, but rather in the
attempt to defraud the government by evading the
tax. ‘The technique may differ, but te opus is the

same” Binanteh vo United States, 298 Fed. 5. 9

Ww

ms

(CO. C. A. 6th), certiorari denied, 266 U. S. 608.
See also Capone v. United States, 56 F. (2d) 927
(C. C. A. 7th); Paschen v. United States, 70 F.
(2d) 491 (C. C. A. 7th).

Whether attempts to evade taxes take the form

i

of false deductions" or failure to file a return or
omission of items of gross income, the erime and
the standard by which it is measured remaii the
same. ‘The standard involved in the trial of this
case, we submit, is that presembed by Section 145
(b) which defines the crime charged against the
respondents. ‘Phe court below, however, has «dis:
regarded that standard and passed over the re-
quirement that there be a wilful evasion. Inste rd,
it has seized upon the eivil provisions mn Seeteu
23 (a), permitting deduction of reasonable business
expenses and, mn effect, has viewed the prosecution
as bused on that section. In so doimg, it has read
an impertant and whelly unwarranied limitation
Inte Section 345 Cb).

This deciston means that a taXpayer taking any
deduction, so long as itis claimed under a provi

* The court below. in stating that “we find pe case where

the esasion charged was based upen an improper deduc
tion” GR. 302), overtooked such eases as Tako vo United
States, score. invelviog falve deductions for bad debi-:
United States v. fredte x, Ww F. (2d) 912 (CC. C. AL 2), Ine
Voiviog fraudulent depreciation deductions: amd Ty/fe.
States. Lemeiecnvre, WS Fo etady a0 oO C. AL thy. | See
also Wormer vy. Dcted Stacex, UES Fo (2d) SOL (CLC. AL Oth

certierart cemed Oereber do, THE Noo IS present Terr.
wit a Cog ietion: for tak evasion bused A fetid persis

bad delit tied atl ited leper sf bal

OQ

sion Which permits a reasonabie deduction, 1s im-
mune from prosecution, no matter how great the
fraud, if only some propertion of the deduetion can
be shown to be legitimate. Many provisions of the
incone-tax laws require or permit adjustments in
eross Income or in deductions which are not capable
of precise mathematical calculation.” Under the
decision of the court below, for example, it would

~The following sections of the Internal Revenue Code
(53 Stat.) are illustrative: See. 23 (a) (1), “All the ordi-
nary and necessary [ business} expenses * * * including
a reasonable allowance for salaries”; Sec. 23 (k) (1), "Debts
ascertained to be worthless”: See. v3 (1). °A reasonable al-
lowance™” for depreciation and obsolescence; Sec. 23 (m), “a
reasonable allowance for depietion” ; Sec. 23 (p) (1), “a rea-
sonable amount transferred” to a pension trust: See. 25 (a)
(4) (A). "8 reasonable allowance” for the taxpayer's personal
services; See. 27 oa) (4), “reasonable” amounts set aside to
retire indebtedness: See. 27 (dy. fe). (Cf). “fair market
value’; See. 101 (4), building and Joan associations “sub-
stantially all the Lu-iness of whieh is confined” to menmber-
ship loans; See. ddl 6). organizations “ne substantial part
of the seciveties of which is carrying on propaganda’; See.
M1 (2) agrieulieal cooperatives “it substantially ali” their
stuck is owned by producers: See. 102 (a). corporntions
“formed or availed of for the DHT pose of preventing the rm-
position Of the surtax upon its shareholders”; See. TOL (eo),
varnings “permitted to accumulate beyond the reasoneble
nets of the business": See. 104,01) and gas properties “the
prineipal value of? whieh has been demonstrated by the tax
payer's exploration: See. liz (bh) 6b). *preperty held fer
productive use in irade or business or for investment. (not
* * © hel pritagriiv for sale * * *)"%: See, 113 cb)
(1), “Proper adjustmen:” for expenditures, depreeiation,
ete.; Sec. Ti Cb). “expenses, losses, and other deductions
properly apportioned or allocated” te income from within
the United States: Sees. 166 and 167, Ssubstantial adverse
interest” in the (lispostiion of the trast or its income,

3G

seem that none could be convieced of a wilful
evasion of income taxes so long as he showed that
his property had suffered ay depreciation, or so
long as he eould show that he had imneurred any
business expense of the char nged type. Tax re-
tums of necessity invelve judgment as well as
mathematical computations. That omen may
differ on matters of judgment should afford no
protection to these whe wilfully make false re-
turns. Any other rule would grant a leense to
evade taxes to those astute or facile enough, in
their efforts te cheat the Government, to perpe-
trace their fraud through exaggeration and dis-
tortion rather than through reports of wholly
Wnaeinary transactions,

We urge that the intentionally broad scepe of
the enforcement Provisions of the revenue laws
should not be, and, in faet are not, subject to se
serious a restriction. The crime with which the
respondents were charged is clearly embraced
Within Seetion 145 (b), and the jury by its verdict
has found them guilty of that erime. ‘That ver-
diet. we believe, was fully warranted by the evi-

deree and should stand.
1]

THERE WAS No VARIANCE BETWEEN THE INDICTMENT,
OR THE GOVERNMENT'S THEORY OF THE CASE, AND
THE PROOF: THE CHARGE To THE JURY WAS PROPER
lL. The court below sugeests (Re. 502, 503-504)

that the indietment. as well as the theory uper

31

which the case was tried, argued, and briefed,
placed upon the Government the burden of estab-
lishing that the defendants had net rendered any
services. Thus, the court asserts that the indict-
ment charged, impliedly in the first four counts and
explicitly in the fifth count that “none of the de-
fendants ‘rendered siv services to the said cor-
poration.’ ’? This isa clear misreading. The first
four counts of the indictment are wholly silent as
ithe rendition of services. The fifth count does
ot allege that mo services had been performed.
Raitier, it atleges that none of the defendants per-
formed any services for the corporation by virtue
of the so-called employment contracts CR. 23).
This follows naturally upon the cotmpanion charge,
Sup pel red by substantial evidence, that these con-
tracts, Which had been executed mm gross and dated
back, were spurious. Contrary to the court's as:
sertion, then, the Government did not assume thie
burden of establishing the affirmative of the prep-
osition that none of the defendants had performed
any services.” Its burden was limited to the
single issue of whether the respondents attempted
snd conspired to evade and defeat im any mamtier
the lnewome taxes of the Consensus Publishing
The sane ertor im presen: in the answer of the court

below te the CGeverpraent’s srouinent that every mewn al-

lev} tna COLUSPUPaACY lreedt mot byes proved, namely, that here
there Wits Yyiit cove? Teretatis nilegeci “ariel that was that the
defendant Ciripsed Coy, Chim is ta take a ei wbuietion ne COLEUS

sions When to serviecs sere rendered * * *" (RL de,

32

145 (hb).

Whether or not some services were performed by

Company in violation of Section

sorae of the respondents is not alone decisive of
this issue. If profits were distributed as divi-
dends to stockholders, the fraud was no less be-
cause some of the stockholders may have rendered
services to Concensus. That is merely one fact
among many, all of which, together with the in-
ferences that may properly be drawn from tliem,
must be considered. In the aggregate they con-
stitute substantial evidence of guilt and fully justi-
fied the verdict of the jury.

Again, according to the court below, “*the Gov-
ernment in its brief and in oral argument * * *
asserts that the deduetions m= question must be
treated either as dividends in their entirety, and
if so as unlawful deductions, or as commissions im
their entirety, and therefore properly deducted”
CR. 502). From this it appears that the court
understood the Government to contend that these
deductions must be either wholly dividends or
Wholly commissions, and that convietion was im-
possible inlesss they were proved io be dividends i:
their entirety. We respectfully assert that the
Government made no such contention; it did net
rety upen any such “tall or nothing” theorv. “The
Government did contend that all the distributions
were ne fact dividends and that the evidence wa-
ampiy sufficient to warrant a finding by the jury

that such was the faet. But the whole inelades

33

all its parts, and it was entirely proper for the
jury to determine that at least part of the dis-
tributions were dividends. The Government’s
position that the distributions were dividends in
their entirety did not carry with it the implication
that if they were not dividends in their entirety no
part thereof could be dividends.

Thus, the indictment did not allege, nor was it
incumbent upon the Government to prove, that
none of the respondents had performed any serv-
ies for the company. In any event, the respond-
ents were under no misapprehension as to the
charge against them, which was the distribution
of profits in the guise of salaries and commis-
sions. Aeceordingly, even assuming that a vari-
ance existed, it was immaterial. Berger vy. Voted
States, 295 US. 78; Bennett v. United States, 227
CLS. 333

2. The preceding discussion discloses also the

absenee of any tenable basis for the suggestion of
the court below that the eriticeized portion of the
charge to the Jury was neither consistent with the
indietment nor the theory upon which the case was
tried (R. 508). Further, we believe that viewed
as a Whole.” as of course it must be, the charge
was ‘fexceedingly thorough and fair’? (Kerner,
C. J.. dissenting, R. 505). The jury was fully

~The court belaw conceded thet “this particular portion
of the charge appears less harmful «ren read in conpeetion
with the charge as a whole than when standing alone”
(Rh. 4 3

34

and correctly instructed as to the tre issues in-
volved, and when returned to its proper context
the unexceptionable character of the portion
singled out for criticism becomes manifest. Its
purpose was clearly to advise the jury of the
settled principle that the Government is met re-
quired to prove the entire amount of the tax
charged to have been evaded. Tinkoff ve Cirted
Slates, supra; Glechman V. United States, supra.
It is difficult to conceive how the jury could be
misled by this charge. Indeed the only exception
taken te it by the respondents was that it em-
bodied the ‘doetrine” that the jury might find the
respondents guilty if it) found they evaded ans
substantial part of the tax CR. 473). That exeep-
tion is, of course, groundless.”

Not only was the instruction in question proper:
it “Was a requisite toa fair and complete charge.
It is conceivable that the jury might have returned
aless sweeping verdict. A dividing dine might have
been drawn by the jary between the periods before
and after the issuance of the new stock certificate:
in August IS04. or the execution of the so-called

There is a serious question whether the exeeptian |
to the trial court's charge was sufficient te present any ques
tion for appellate revew. The ground on which the exces
tien Was express}. based has no merit. and an exceptier
furnishes ne bani for reversal upon any ground other toan
the one <pecutioaliy called to the attention of the trial court
Vnited StatesV Ub nited States Fidclity Co. 236 US, S12. i:

Paschi ns. Enid Stites, TOK. (2d) 49d, 508 6CL CL AL Te

35

employment contracts, and at one or the other of
these times the respondents, or some of them, might
save been found to have exehanged the garb of
stoekholders for that of employees. Again, the
jury might have found that Molasky, who reported
his distvibutions as dividends in his own tax re-
turns for the vears 1933, 1934, and 1935, did not
participate in the seheme of tax evasion until, as
president of the company, he executed the new
stock certificates, or, if the employment contracts
were believed spurtous by the jury, until le exe-
cuted sach an agreement. In each of these hypo-
thetieal ‘nstanees the charge in question would have
been essential for convietion.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set out above, it is respectfully
submitted that the respondents were properly con-
vieted and that the decision below shouid be re-
versed.

Respy etfully submitted,

CHARLES Fatty.
Acting Solicitor General,
SAMUEL O. CLark, Jr.,
© Assisient Mtorney General,
VArwoup Ran,
Gorpon B. TWErpy,
Mryer Roriwac ks,
Special Assistants to the Attorney General,
OcToRER 1941,

APPENDIX

Revenue Act of 1932, 47 Stat. 169:

Sec. 23. DepUCTIONS FROM GROSS INCOME.

In computing net ineome there shall be
allowed as deductions:

(a) Expenses.—All the ordinary and
necessary expenses paid or incurred during
the taxable year in carrying on any trade
or business, including a reasonable allow-
ance for salaries or other compensation
for personal services actually — rend:
mat ' *

* * om * * * 7

Sec, 145. PENALTIPS.

+ * * * *

(b) Any person required under this title
to collect, account for, and pay over any tax
imposed by this title, who willfully fails to
collect or truthfully account for and pay
over such tax, and any person who willfully
attempts in any manner to evade or defeat
any tax imposed by this title er the pay-
ment thereof, shall, in addition to other
penalties provided by law, be guilty of a
felony and, upon conviction thereof, be fined
not more than $10,000, or imprisoned fer
not more than five years, or both, together

with the costs of prosecution,
* 7 * o *

Revenue Act of 1954, 48 Stat. 680:

Section 23 (a) is identical with Section
2? (a) of the Revenue Act of 1982 above
quoted, (U.S. C., Title 26, See. 23.)

Section 145 (b) is identical with Section
145 (b) of the Revenue Act of 1932 above
quoted. (U.S. C., Title 26, See. 145.)

36)

37
Revenue Act of 1936, 49 Stat. 1648:

Section 23 (a) is identical with Section
23 (a) of the Revenue Act of 1932 above
quoted.

Section 145 (b) is identical with Section
145 (b) of the Revenue Act of 1932 above
quoted.

Treasury Regulations 77, promulgated under
the Revenne Act of 1982:

Art, 126. Compensation for personal
serviecs.—Among the ordinary and neces-
sary expenses paid or incurred in carrying
on any trade or business may be included a
reasonable allowance for salaries or other
compensation for personal services actually
rendered. The test of deductibility im the
case of compensation payments is whether
they are reasonable and are in fact pay-
ments purely for services. * * *

Treasury Regulations 86, promulgated under
the Revenue Act of 1954:

Article 23 (a)-6 is identical with Article
126 of Treasury Regulations 77 above
quoted,

Treasury Régulations 94, promulgated under
the Revenne Act of 1956:

Article 23 (a)-6 is identical with Article
126 of Treasury Regulations 77 above
quoted.

DB

US COVER RwERT FR RT me CFF CE (ear

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386401_0477%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
