# Supplemental Brief for Respondent — Toucey v. New York Life Ins. Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386401_0448%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Supplemental Brief for Respondent
- **Published:** January 1, 1941
- **Citation:** 314 U.S. 118

## Text

CeaAgi-s ans 4,

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1941.

nelly? 15

SAMUEL R. TOUCEY. PETITIONER,
VS.
NEW YORK LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,
A CORPORATION, RESPONDENT.

RESPONDENT'S SUPPLEMENTAL. BRIEF.

~ SAMUEL W. SAWYER,

RicH’.23» S. RIGHTER,

Hor ic" F. BLACKWELL, JR.,
li’ ‘delity Building,
Kei >is City, Missouri,

3

Counsel for Respondent

INDEX

Summary of the Argument

Argument—

State courts enjoin parties from prosecuting actions
in the federal courts on substantially the same
grounds on which the federal courts enjoin pro-
ceedings in state courts

State courts enjoin parties from proceeding in
other stat: courts under circumstances similar or
comparable to the facts of the present case

The English cases are in accord with the American
ee.

Dial vs. Reynolds, 96 U. S. 340, distinguished

Conclusion

TABLE OF CASES

Akerly vs. Bilas, 15 Wis. 401

Baldwin vs. Iowa State Travelling Men's Association,
283 U. S. 522 (1931), 1. ¢. 525

Beckford vs Kemble, 1 Sim. & St. 7
Brown vs. Trent, 35 Okla. 164, 128 Pac. 895 (1912)

Carron Iron Co. vs. MacLaren, 5 H. L. Cas. 416, 24
L. J. Ch. 620, 3 W. R. 597

Chicago, R. I. & P. Ry. Co. vs. Callicotte, (8 Cir.)
267 Fed. 799 (1920) |

Cole vs. Cunningham, 133 U. S. 107 (1889)
Denver, etc., R. Co. vs. Ben Terte, 284 U. S. 284, $2
Sup. Ct. 152, 76 L. Ed. 295

Dial vs. Reynolds, 96 U. S. 340

Fowler vs. Westerhoff Bros. Co., 104 Atl. 198 (1918)
(N. J. Chancery)

Howard vs. Cannon, 11 Richardson's Eq. 23. 75 Am.
Dec. 736 (S. Car., 1859)

Hull vs. Burr, 234 U. S. 712. 1. ¢. 723

30, ¢

Il INDEX

Hunt vs. New York Cotton Exchange, 205 U. S. 322
(1906), 1. c. 338

Ingraham vs. National Salt Co.. 139 Fed. 684 (E. D.
N. Y., 1905), Aff. 143 Fed. 805 (1906)

In re Dawley, 99 Vt. 306, 131 Atl. 847 (1926)

Kansas City Rys. Co. vs. MeCardle, 288 Mo. 354, 232
S. W. 464 (©1921)

Keith vs. Alger, 114 Tenn. 1, 85 S. W. 71 (1905)

Life Insurance Co. vs. Fisher, 5 Tenn. Civ. App. 232
(1915) .

Marchant vs. Wannamaker, 176 S. Car. 369, 180 S. E.
356 (1935)

Marshall vs. Holmes, i141 U. S. 589 (1891), 1. ¢. 599
Michigan, etc., R. R. Co. vs. Mix, 278 U. S. 492, 49
Sup. Ct. 207, 73 L. Ed. 470

Mock vs. Kennedy, 11 La. Annuai 525, 66 Am. Dec. -

203 (1856) aes 14
Moebius vs. McCracken, 261 Mich. 409, 246 N. W. 163
(1932) 1]
New York, C. & St. L. R. Co. vs. Perduie, 97 Ind.
App. 517, 187 N. E. 349 (1933) sesh sh ataas ot oe aed Oe
Oakley vs. Ramsey, 27 L. T. 745 35
O'Haire vs. Burns, 45 Colo. 432, 101 Pac. 755, 131 Am.
St. Rep. 191, 25 L. R. A. (N.S.) 267 (1909)... 20, 22
Princess Lida vs. Thompson et al., Trustee, 305 U. S.
OE gc esc aliens ede ee 17, 30
Providence & N. Y. S. S. Co. vs. Hill Mfg. Co., 109 .
U. S. 607 (1883) 37
Prudential vs. Merritt-Chapman & Scott ee 163
Atl. 894 (N. J. Chancery, 1932) s 12
Reagan vs. Dick, 233 Pac. 159 (Colo., 1925) _ a
Sandage vs. Studebaker Bros. Mfg. Co., 41 N. E. 380
(Indiana, 1895) 26
State ex rel. N. Y.,C. & St. L. R. Co. vs. Nortoni, 321
Mo. 764 (en banc), 55 S. W. 2d 272 (1932)... 22, 24
Steelman vs. All Continent Corp., 301 U. S. 278 (1936)
acelin hy Oy Dey OO
The Home Insurance Co. vs. Howell, 24.N. J. Eq. 238 17

Toledo Scale Cc. vs. Computing Scale Co., 261 U. S.
399 (1923)

INDEX I!

Tredigar vs. Windus, 44 L. J. Ch. 268; L. R. 19 Equity

607; 32 L. T. 596; 23 W. R. 511 35
Treinies vs. Sunshine Mining Co. et ai., 308 U. S. 66

(1939), i. c. 78 32
Twaits vs. Penn. R. Co., 77 N. J. Eq. 103, 75 Atl. 1010
Wedderburn vs. Wedderburn, 2 Beavan 208 (1840) 33
Wells Fargo & Co. vs. Tavier, 254 U. S. 175 (1920),

l. c. 182 36, 37

Wonderly vs. Lafayette County, 150 Mo. 635, 51 S. W.
745, 73 Am. St. Rep. 474, 45 L. R. A. 386
(1899) "5, 12, 26, 27

STATUTES

Judicial Code, Section 262 (28 U.S. C., Sec. 377) 28, 31, 38
Judicial Code. Section 265 (Sec. 379, 28 U. S. C.: R.
S., Sec. 720) 2,3, 4, 19, 36. 38

TEXTBOOKS

32 C. J. 117 cee 22
32 C. J., Sec. 137, pp. 115 et seq. | 20

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1941.

No. 587.

SAMUEL R. TOUCEY, PETITIONER,
VS.

NEW YORK LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,
A CORPORATION, RESPONDENT.

RESPONDENT’S SUPPLEMENTAL BRIEF.

In Respondent's Brief it is shown that one
of the long established and wel! recognized grounds
of injunctive relief by supplemental bill is to prevent
the re-litigation in another court of issues finally settled
by a decree in equity (Respondent’s Brief, p. 17 et seq.’.
We also showed that the uniform decisions of
this Court for at least the last fifty years have held

that Section 265 of the Judicial Code (Sec. 379, 28
U.S. C.; R. S., Sec. 720) does not prohibit the issuance
of an injunction to prevent a party from re-litigating in
a state court issues already adjudicated by a federal equity
court (Respondent's Brief, page 21 et seq.). We pointed
out tnac the present is such a case and, therefore, that if
the uniform prior decisions of this Court are still the
law the ruling of the Eighth Circuit in this case (102
Fed. 2d 16 and 112 Fed. 2d 927) must be affirmed.

This Court has, however, granted certiorari in several
cases bearing no similarity cn the facts to this case and
having the single common characteristic that lower fed-
eral courts had enjoined the parties for various reasons
from proceeding in state courts. At least three of these
cases were decided by this Ccurt by four to four votes
and have been set down for argument on the opening day
of the Cctuber term. The remaining case (of which we
know) is still pending here on petition for certiorari. It
is therefore evident that this Court is primarily interested
in a questicn of judicial policy rather than in the
justice or injustice of the ruling in any particular case.
We can only guess the sources of this new interes! in a
subject on which the law, both federal and state, as well as
the law of England and its dominions, has long been settied.
We believe that some members of this Court doubt the
wisdom of permitting the federal courts to enjoin parties
from proceeding in state courts under any circumstances
and therefore wish to review the purpose and scope of
Section 265 wiin the object of changing its present inter-
pretation.

We shall, therefore, assume for the purpose of this
supplemental brief that the question for review is this:
Is a federal injunction against proceedings in a state court
such an unwarranted interference with the processes
of that court, leading to such conflict and dissonance that
Section 265 of the Judicial Code should be invoked to abol-
ish it under all circumstances. Such injunctions at the

fo4
Aw

present time issue only under exceptional circumstances
(Respondent’s Brief, >. 35). The question is whethe:
th exceptions snould be abolished.

It is demonstrated in Respondent's Brief that upon
principle and authority, including many decisions of this
Court, the injunction issued by the district court in this
case was a jawful and proper exercise of its equity powers,
not an unseemly interference with the state court’s juzis-
diction. To have withheld the injunction here might
have resulted in a state court judgment directly contrary
to the equity decree aud, hence, an undesirable conflict
between the rulings of the two courts, the thing Section
265 of the Judicial Code was designed to prevent. So this
court and the inferior courts have held.

It occurred to us that in this brief it might be helpful
to the Court to broaden the field of inquiry to ascertain
what the state courts, including the Missouri courts,
would have done were tne positions of the two tribunais
reversed, or were the respective actions pending in two
state courts. Whether a state court would have enjoined
proceedings in the Federal Court if the positions of the
two courts were reversed, and whether one State court
would have enjoined another state court were both ac-
tions pending in state courts, has an important bearing
on the construction to be given Section 265. If injunc-
tions are issued by the state courts against proceedings
in Federal courts, and against proceedings in other state
courts under the same circumstances under which Fed-
eral injunctions against state court proceedings have here-
tofure been sanctioned, it would seem reasc :able to con-
strue Section 265 to preserve the same powers to the Fed-
eral courts in order to protect the co-ordinate jurisdiction
of the Federal courts and to prevent their being deprived
of a power which all other sirnilar courts possess in those
instances heretofore recognized by this Court as excep-
tions to the literal language of Section 265.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT.

The principie of law that a court of equity will en-
join the parties or those in privity with them from reliti-
gating in the courts of other jurisdictions a question al-
ready settied by final decree is not confined to the federal
courts but is of universal application. The state courts
have invoked it to enjoin. actions pending in federa!
courts, to enjoin actions pending in other state courts, and
to enjein actions pending in other courts within the state.
Likewise, the federal courts have invoked it to enjoin par-
ties from proceeding in other federal courts. It is the law
of England.

This court's present construction of Section 265 of the
Judicial Code (Sec. 379, 28 U. S. C.; R. S., Sec. 720)
which recognizes the case at bar as an exception to the
prohibition of the statute has merely enabled the fed-
eral courts to rule in harmony with all other courts pos-
sessing coordinate jurisdiction in our system of juris-
prudence. To repudiate this principle or withhold its
application in this case would seriously impair the power
of the federal court, and would be contrary, not merely to
a long line of decisions by this court and the lesser federal
courts, but to a rule of universal application in all courts
throughout the United States and the English speaking
world.

n

ARGUMENT.

STATE COURTS ENJOIN PARTIES FROM PROSECUTING AC.
TIONS IN THE FEDERAL COURTS ON SUBSTANTIALLY THE
SAME GROUNDS ON WHICH THE FEDERAL COURTS EN-
JOIN PROCEEDINGS IN STATE COURTS.

If the position of the federal and the state courts in
the case at bar were reversed the Missouri Supreme Court
would have directed that the prosecution of the federal
action be enjoined.

In Wonderly v. Lafayette County, 150 Mo. 635, 51 S.
W. 745. 73 Am. St. Rep. 474, 45 L. R. A. 386 (1899), the
plaintiff’s assignor, a resident of Illinois, had judgment
in the Federal Court for the Western District of Missouri
against the defendant on certain bonds issued by the
county. Afterward this judgment was assigned to the
plaintiff, a resident of Missouri, who sued the defendant
in the Circuit Court of Lafayette County. The county
set up as a defense that the judgment in the Federal
Court was procured by fraud for the following reasons:
The state courts, in other litigation, had previously held
the issue of which these bonds were a part invalid.
The Federal Court. in other litigation, had previously
held them valid. The real owner of the _ bonds,
a citizen of Missouri, caused the original action
to be brought in the Federal Court by the resident
of Illinois alleging that he was the owner of the bonds in
order to secure the benefits of federal jurisdiction. Hav-
ing procured the Federal judgment, and the term having
gone by so that it could not be set aside, the Illinois resi-
dent assigned the judgment to the resident of Missouri in
order that he might enforce it in tne state court and in
order that the suit on the judgment might not be re-
1,.0ved to the federal court. The answer asked that

6

the judgment in the Federal Court be set aside and
that the plaintiff be enjoined against the prosecution of
a writtof scire facias sued out in the Federal Court. On
plaintiff's motion the trial court struck out all of
this portion of the answer and, judgment going for the
plaintiff, the Mussour: Supreme Court on appeal held
that the answer stated a good defense to the action
on the judgment and a good ground for equitable relief.
After reviewing the authorities in other jurisdictions.
the court said, 1. c. 749:

The law which required the owner of the bonds
to be a citizen of another state, in order to give the
federal court jurisdiction, was a law of that court.
and the plaintiff's act of masking as Owings, and
thus gaining entrance, which, with his own face, he
could not have gained. was a fraud on that law: and
since, by that means, he evaded the law of this state
applicable to his cause of action, as pronounced by
this court, his judgment is to be deemed as in fraud
of the law of this state, and not entitled to the protec-
tion of its courts. Freem., Judgm., Sec. 566; Dunlap
v. Cody. 31 Towa 260; Duringer v. Moschino, 93 Ind
495,

and after discussing the authorities further said, i. c. 750

We quote the words of these high courts and dis-
tinguished jurists to slow in what estimation they
hold the conduct of those who, by cunning, would
pervert the administration of justice. There is no
difference. in principle, between the fraudulent con-
coction of a scheme that brings the defendant within
the jurisdiction of a court of a foreign state and the
fraudulert concoction of a scheme that brings him
within the jurisdiction of the federal court, which
otherwise would not have had jurisdiction over him.
In whatever aspect we view it, we cannot fai! to see
that the judgment in question was obtained by a
fraudulent abuse of the court which rendered it, and
» fraudulent scheme by which the defendant was
tricked out of the defense it had a right to make, and
could have made in the only forum in which the real
plaintiff could have sued.

~]

and further said. 1]. ec. 750:

A suit in equity to set aside a judgment in no
sense assails the court in which the judgment was
rendered. It is simply a proceeding in personam, and
the decree adjudges the rights of the parties inter
sese in relation to that judgment. Story. Eq. Jur..
Sec. 875; Black, Judgm.. Sec. 919: Pearce v. Olney,
20 Conn. 544; Marshall v. Holmes, 141 U. S. 589, 12
Sup. Ct. 62. A judgment of a United States circuit
court sitting in this state is to be accorded such effect,
and such effect only, as a judgment of a circuit court
of this state. Black, Judgm., Sec. 938: Crescent City
Live-Stock Co. v. Butchers’ Union Slaughter-House
Co., 120 U.S. 141, 7 Sup. Ct. 472. The federal circuit
courts have never claimed for themselves higher au-
thority than the highest courts of original jurisdic-
tion of the state in which they sit, and the lofty spirit
in which those courts administer justice repels the
idea that they would claim that a judgment of theirs,
procured by fraud and abuse of their jurisdiction
should be held exempt from a direct attack in the
only forum in which the injured party could obtain
relief (italics ours).

The Court expressly pointed out that the judgment
of the Federal Court had become fina! with the passing
of the term and, therefore, could not be set aside by the
Federal Court ‘‘and, the defendant being a citizen of Mis-
souri could bring no independent suit in equity in that
tribunal.”” The court said that the writ of scire facias
had doubtless ‘taken its course’ pending the appeal and
that. therefore. a writ of injunction would, doubtless. be
without effect.

The similarity tn substance between that case and
this is striking. Here Toucey was defeated in his orig-
inal action and a decree dismissing his bill on the merits
duly entered (R. 43). No appeal was taken. Thereupon
on December 28, 1937 (R. 22), more than a year after the
dismissal of the original equity action, one James Shay, a
citizen of the District of Columbia, brought suit against
respondent in the Circuit Court of Jackson County, Mis-

8

sourl (R.53), alleging that he was the assignee of Toucev’'s
cause of action. The assignment is shown at R. 62. It is
attached to a stipulation (R. 60) respecting the testimony
of James Shay which states, in effect, that Shay had
known one of Toucey’s attorneys for six or seven years:
that he had never met Toucey; that he was requested by
Toucey's attorney to accept an assignment of the cause of
action; that he never knew anything about the nature of
the claim except what the attorney told him; that he ex-
pected to account to Toucey for the proceeds collected:
that he gave Toucey nothing of value for the assignment
Shay further states in the stipulation (R. 61):

I accepted the assignment of the cause of action
as an accommodation to Mr. M. W. Borders, Jr., it be-
ing my understanding that the legal title to the cause
of action being in my name and the suit being in my
name, and my being a resident of the District of Co-
lumbia, there would be no diversity of citizenship as
between me and the New York Life Insurance Com-
pany within the meaning of the statutes relating to
the removal of causes of action.

The purported assignment from Toucey to Shay was
therefore a mere fraudulent device for the purpose of
enabling Toucey, through Shay. to relitigate in the stat:
court the same issues adjudged by the decree in equits
in the Federal Court and to forestall any action by the
Federal court by preventing the defendant from removing
the case. It could not remove a suit brought by a citizen
of the District of Columbia.

The Court will observe that Shay’s action was merely
a suit at law on the policy for disability benefits claimed
to be due Toucey, alleging (R. 54) that Toucey had paid
all the premiums due and that the policy was in ful!
force and effect and that Toucey had performed ;]] of its
terms and conditions. entirely contrary to the al.egations
cf Toucey’s original petition (R. 26 et seq.) and to the
findings of the learned trial judge (R. 44 ef seg.). As
the Circuit Court of Appeals said (102 Fed. 2d 1. c. 20):

g

After that final adjudication has been made and
decree entered, a law case for recovery of disability
benefits has been ingeniously made out on the face
of a petition in the state court by simply omitting
the facts as they were established between the parties
in the federal equity suit. The pleader has omitted
to show that Mr. Toucey made application to the in-
surance company for reduction of his policy and that
pursuant to that application the alteration and reduc-
tion of the policy as to premiums and benefits was
made and that he had recognized the change in the
contract by making a payment of premium at the re.
duced premium rate.

And further said, |. c. 20:

Mr. Toucey can not by mere concealment or
change of form of procedure obtain an effective ad-
judication contrary to the adjudication in the federal
court. Both his claims to life insurance and to dis-
ability benefits under the policy have been settlea
against him.

If it was wrong for Wonderly to shift his cause of
action back and forth between a citizen of Missouri and a
citizen of Illinois to secure adjudications by courts he
thought were favorable to him, thus arousing the manifest
indignation of the Missouri Supreme Court, why is it not
wrong for Toucey to do so? If it is wrong for Toucev to
do so why should not the Court to which he first resorted
stop him from doing so? It is a court of equity. It cannot
be that this Court is less inclined to discourage the in-
justice to a litigant which would result from such an in-
cenious but wrongful device than are the courts of the
various states.

Reagan v. Dicl:, 233 Pac. 159 (Colo., 1925), presents
the identical situation here except that the original action
was brought-in the Colorado state court and the subse-
quent action in the federal court. An equity suit was
begun and proceeded to final decree. Afterward the los-
Ing party began an action in the Federal Ceurt for the

10

District of Coloradce to re-litigate the same question, which
subsequently was appealed to the Circuit Court of Appeals
where it was pending. A decree was then obtained from

the
thon

The

The

Colorade state court enjoining the further prosecu-
of the federal action. It was affirmed on appeal!
Supreme Court said, |. c. 160:

That the court, federal or state, which first be-
gins the exercise of its jurisdiction, holds it, is clear
(15 C. J. 1176), and it follows, of course, that such
a proceeding cannot be enjoined or prevented by en-
joining the parties. It has been held, however, that,
when the jurisdiction of a United States court has
first attached, it may enjoin the parties from proceed-
ing in a state court concerning “the identical con-
troversies therein pending,” and we see no answer
to the proposition that the state court in a converse
case may do the same. It has actually been done.
Home Ins. Co. v. Howell, 24 N. J. Eq. 238, cited with
approval in Moran v. Sturges, 154 U. S. 256, 14 5. Ct.
1019, 38 L. Ed. 981.

Court further said, |. c. 160:

The complaint in the present action alleges that
there was a former action between the parties, see
74 Colo. 293, 294, 220 Pac. 990. wherein the present
plaintiffs were defendants, in which they were granted
an injunction against interference with their posses-
sion and use of certain mining property, and that the
proceedings in the United States court were begun
for the purpose of retrying the issues tried in that
former suit, which would be unlawful. Riverdale
Mills v. Mfg. Co., 198 U. S. 188, 25 S. Ct. 629, 49 L. Ed.
1008. The lower court found this to be true, and we
cannot review that finding. It follows that, upon the
record before us, the procedure in the federal court
is not the first but the second exercise of jurisdiction
over litigation, not only begun, but already in judg-
ment in the state court, and the injunction in the
present case is not void.

While the original state court action in Reagan V.

Dick was in rem involving the rights of the parties to
a mining property, the issuance of the injunction enjoin-

11

ing the parties from proceeding in the federal court is
not placed on any such ground but on the ground of the
previous adjudication by the Colorado court.

In Moebius v. McCracken, 261 Mich. 409, 246 N. W.
163 (1932), a minor by next friend sued at law for per-
sonal injuries in an Ohio court from which the action was
removed to the federal court for that district. On a com-
promise the federal court entered judgment for the plain-
tiff for an agreed sum. Six years later, being then of
age, she brought two suits in the Michigan state court,
one at law for damages for the injuries and tne other in
equity asking that the judgment of the federal court in
Ohio be declared a nullity and that the defendant be en-
joined from setting up the Ohio judgment as a bar to her
sult at law. The groynds of the bill were that the com-
pensation adjudged the federal court was inadequate
for the injuries, that the federal court in arriving at the
amount of the judgment considered only the compromise
agreement and did not review the merits of the claim
and that she had suffered great pain, expense and dis-
ability since. She alleged that the defendant could not
be served in the State of Ohio and that the judgment in
the Ohio federal court could not be vacated because the
term had long passed. On appeal from an order below
dismissing the bill the court held that it stated a good
cause of action, saying, |. c. 167:

While we will not refuse recognition to a foreign
judgment regularly entered. nor, as a rule will we
set aside such a Judgment in an independent equity
proceeding, by exercising chancery power over the
parties, nevertheless, when it appears from the face
of the judgment itself that it was entered in accord-
ance with a compromise settlement, as a mere for-
mality designed to lend strength to the agreement
affecting minors’ rights and without the benefit of
testimony o° a judicial examination of the merits of
the case or the fairness of the compromise, a court of
equity, in performance of its duty to protect the in-
terests of minors, should give relief. To deny plain-

tiff the right to bring the suit may result in depr:
ing her ae anv remedy at law for what mav be a flx:-
vrant fraud practiced on her.

The Court cites and relies on Wonderly v. Lafayette
County, supra,

In Prudential v. Merritt-Chapman & Scott Corp., 163
Atl. 694 0N. J. Chancery, 1932), the controversy arose upon
the death of one Baker on whose life insurance aggregat-
ing $1,000,000 had been written by various companies.
The benefici: rv sued on the policies, on one in the Federa!
Court for the District of New Jersey. on one in the New
Jersey Supreme Court and on the others in the New York
Supreme Court. The compuaies filed suits for the can-
cellation of the policies in the New Jersey Chancery Court
on the ground that the issuance of the policies had been
procured by the fraud of Baker and asked that the bene-
ficilary be enjoined from prosecuting the law actions pend-
ing the determination of the issues in the equity suits.
The Court held that the companies were entitled to the
injunctions because in point of time the equity suits hac
been “first commenced” and that the right of the com-
panies to set up their equitable defenses in the law ac-
tions was not “an adequate remedy” such as to entitle
the law actions to have pniority. The Vice Chancello:
considered the authorities carefuily The principle upon
which the Court proceeded is stated as follows, |. c. 895.
896:

That this court has power to enjoin one subject
to its jurisdiction from the prosecution of an action
at law pending the determination of the validity of

the instrument upon which such law action is based
and alleged to be void for fraud is elementary; ana
this, also, whether such action is pending in the law
courts of this or of a foreign jurisdiction, and irre-
spective of precedence of time between this and t:+
law courts, providing the remedy here is more com-
plete and adequate than at law Home Insurance
Company v. Howell, 24 N. J. Eq. 238: New Jerse

13

Zine Company v. Franklin Iron Company, 29 WN. J.
Eq. 422; Margarum v. Moon, 63 N. J. Eq. 586, 53
Atl. 179; Bigelow v. Old Dominien Copper Mining &
Smelting Company, 74 N. J. Eq. 457, 71 Atl. 155; Le-
high Valley Railroad Company v. Andrus, 91 N. J.
Eq. 225, 109 Atl. 746; Caruso v. Caruse. 103 N. J. Eq.
487, 143 Atl. 771. * * * The principle lving at
the foundation of this rule was early recog-
nized and applied in England by Lord Ellenbor-
ough, just after the close of the eighteenth century,
in Payne v. Drew 4 East 523, cited in the United
States ex rel. Rigg. v. Board of Superrisors of John-
son County, 72 U. S. (6 Wall.) 196, 18 L. Ed. 768.
776, and also in Taylor v. Carryl, 61 U. S. (20 How.)
583, 617, 15 L. Ed. 1028, 1032.

Keith v. Alger, 114 Tenn. 1, 85 S. W. 71 (1905), holds
that a state court can and will enjoin the enforcement
of the decree cr judgment of a federal court where it 1s
shown that it was procured by fraud extrinsic to the
questions examined and determined in the action, say-
ing. |. c. 76:

There is no doubt, as we think, that a state court
may entertain a bil! to restrain the enforcement of
a decree or judgment of a federal court on the ground
that the latter was procured by fraud. This is an
independent right of action that does not involve a
retrial of the issues disposed of in such former cause.
It has been held that the federal courts may entertain
such a cause of action against a judgment of a state
court. The reasons and the authorities on which they
are based are fully considered in the case of Marshall
v. Holmes, 141 U. S. 589, 12 Sup. Ct. 62, 35 L. Ed.
870; likewise in the case of National Surety Com-
pany v. State Bank, 56 C. C. A. 657, 120 Fed. 593, 61
L. R. A. 394. The same reasons contro] an application
in a state court to restrain the enforcement of a de-
cree or judgment rendered by a federal court.

There, however, the fraud submitted to the Tennessee
Court had already been submitted to and ruled on by
the federal court in a proceeding by supplemental bill

14

and the state court therefore held that since the express
issue raised had been ruled by the federal ccurt, its ruling
was res judicata and the state court bill should be dis-
missed. The original suit in the federal court had been
to set aside a conveyance of real estate for the vendor's
fraud and to require the return of the vendee’s monev.
The equity suit in the state court was on the ground
that the vendee had acquiesced in the transaction by, sub-
sequently, with knowledge of the facis, making convey-
ance of the property to another for a valuable con-
sideration.

Mock v. Kennedy. 11 La. Annual 525, 66 Am. Dec.
203 (1856). The plaintiff brought a suit the object of
which was to secure a separation of her property from
that of her husband after his insolvency and suit by
creditors. Judgment had been secured against the hus-
band in the federal court to which the wife was not a
party, from which a writ of execution had issued to the
marshal to seize the husband's property. The Court held
that an injunction was properly issued below against the
marshal to abstain from the commission of a trespass
by executing the writ against property adjudged in the
state court action to be the separate property of the wife.

In Howard v. Cannon, 11 Richardson's Eq. 23, 75 Am.
Dec. 726 (S. Car., 1859), Cannon assigned to Howard as
trustee for the benefit of Cannon's creditors. Then others
recovered a large money judgment against Cannon in the
Federai Court for South Carolina and the marshal was
proceeding to seize and sell certain slaves which Cannon
had assigned to Howard. The court held that the Com-
missioner below was right in enjoining the creditors from
seizing and selling the assigned property pursuant to the
Federal Court judgment, saying, |. c. 738:

The second ground of appeal assails the reasoning
expressed in the pleas, that the subject of contro-
versy was within the exclusive jurisdiction of the
circuit court of the United States, which rendered

15

the judgment of Cummings & Styron v. Cannon. We
have every disposition to avoid even the appearance
of a conflict with the tribunals of the United States
created under the constitution, and we have no dis-
position to quibble between restraining processes and
restraining persons from proceeding under them.
But sureiy there is a substantial difference between
undertaking to revise the judgment and procedure
of a co-oidinate or even superior tribunal, and inter-
fering to restrain parties from acts not authorized
hy our equals or superiors. It does not impugn in
any respect the judgment of the federal tribunal.
that we interpose to prevent parties under our control
from abusing the process of that court. It has granted
a judgment against Cannon, and we make no offer
to restrain the execution of their judgment from the
estate of Cannon. But we do not perceive that, under
a judgment egainst Cannon, the estate of Howard or
any other person can be legitimately seized and sold.
The judgment of Cummings & Styron is left in-
tact, and we simply determine that they or their
agent had no authority to seize the property of a
stranger under pretense of :ts operation. To deter-
mine otherwise would be to adjudge that a plaintiff
in execution against a pauper might obtain satisfac-
tion from any rich inhabitant of the state.

Ingraham v. National Salt Co., 139 Fed. 684 (E. D. N.
Y.. 1905), Aff. 143 Fed. 805 (1906). There a suit bv
attachment against real estate was begun in the federa!
court in New York. Later a receivership action was be-
gun in the state court and the receivers sold the attached
property. Afterward judgment was recovered in the fed-
eral court but the state court enjoined the marshal from
making <.le of the attached property. The federal court
held that it would not enjein the receivers from pros-
ecuting their injunction suit because, the mere issuance
of a writ of attachment not amounting to possession, the
receivers had the prior actual custody of the real estate
involved and, therefore, the prior right of disposition.

In Twaits v. Penn. R. Co., 77 N. J. Eq. 103, 75 Atl
1010 (1910), plaintiff sued for personal injuries in New

16

Jersey and the case was removed to the federal court
where the defendant set up a release as a defense. Plain-
tiff then filed a second su:t, this time in equity in the
state court to enjoin the defendant from asserting the
release as a defense on the ground that under the cir-
cumstances set forth in the bill it would be «unfair and
inequitable for the defendant to set up the release. The
defendant contended that the New Jersey Chancery Court
was Without jurisdiction because that of the federal court
was exclusive. In deny g this contention and in up-
holding the jurisdicticn of the state court in equity the
court said, |. c. 1012-13:

Since the gravamen of this bill is that the rail-
road company, the defendant in the lawsuit pending
in the other jurisdiction, is setting up as a defense
a receipt claimed to operate as a release, which.
under the circumstances alleged in the bill, it is
charged it is inequitable for it to do, I find that there
is no principle of comity or public policy which for-
bids this court from passing upon the equitable claim:
of the complainant, and exercising whatever of its
jurisdiction it finds proper under the circumstances.
My opinion is that this would be so even if the ac-
tion at law were pending in one of the courts of a
sister state; therefore, a fortiori, would it be true
where the suit at law was pending in New Jerse,
and was removed by the defendant to the federal
court, where, I assume, it could also have removed
this equitable action had it seen fit to do so? The
jurisdiction at law is not interfered with by this
equitabie action. Whatever jurisdiction the Circuit
Court of the United States has power to exercise
with respect to the action at law is left unimpaired.
and is not taken over into this court in this action
in any way. The sole thing sought by the complain-
ant here is equitable jurisdiction over the defend-
ant to prevent it from inequitable conduct. J en-
tirely agree with the expression of the learned Chan-
cellor as above expressed that there is no doubt or dif-
ficulty about the :ight of the exercise of the power
of equity of its jurisdiction undcr such circumstances.

A

17

It therefore becomes necessary to investigate the
equitable claims of the complainant for the purpose
of seeing whether thev are well grounded.

See also: /

In re Dawley, 99 Vt. 306, 131 Atl. 847 (1926).
Marchant v. Wannamaker,. 176 S. Car. 369. 180
S. E. 350 (1935).

The Home Insurance Co. v. Howell. 24 N. J. Ea
238.

Akerly v. Bilas, 15 Wis. 401.

Brown v. Trent, 35 Okla. 164, 128 Pac. 895 (1912).

Fowler v. Westerhoff Bros. Co., 104 Atl. 198 (1918)
(N. J. Chancery).

Chicago, R. I. & P. Ry. Co. v. Callicotte. (8 Cir.)
267 Fed. 799 (1920%.

WE Many additional cases could be cited. The foregoing,
however, clearly show that the state courts do not hesitate
to enjoin the parties from proceeding in the federal courts
or to enjoin the officers of those courts where the liti-
gant does not have an equitable remedy in the federal
court or where the federal remedy is not adequate. The
circumstances under which such injunctions issue from
the state courts are comparable to those under which
they issue from the federal courts.

It may be that in earlier times some doubt was enter-
tained respecting the right of state courts to enjoin parties
from proceeding in Federal courts. If so that doubt has long
since been resolved in favor of the right, on which this
court recently placed it’ stamp of approval in Princess
Lida v. Thompson et al., Trustee, 305 U. S. 465 (1938).
There the trustees under a trust filed an account in the
Common Pleas Court of Fayette County, Pennsylvania.
which, in the absence of exceptions. was confirmed. Five
years later a second partial account was filed in the same
court by the two surviving trustees. On the following
day two of the beneficiaries brought suit in equity

1g

against the two surviving trustees and the administrators
of the deceased trustee in the District Court for the West-
ern District of Pennsvivania alleging mismanagement of
the trust. praving that the trustees be removed and that
the defendants account for and repay the losses of the
trust. The trustees moved to dismiss the bi:l in the
federal court for lack of indisyensable parties and be-
cause the state court had exclusive jurisdiction. The fed-
eral court over-ruled the motion and ordered the defend-
ants to answer, reserving the question of jurisdiction.
Upon the petition of the trustees the state court en-
joined the beneficiaries from prosecuting the action in the
federal court and this was affirmed by the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court. Meanwhile the federal court had en-
joined the trustees from further prosecuting the injunc-
tion proceedings in the state court and proceeded to try
the case. On certiorari to the Supreme Court of Pennsyl-
vania this court held that the Pennsylvania Court ac-
quired a prier jurisdiction in equity by virtue of the fil-
ing of the accounts and was in a position enabling it to
give complete relief and, therefore, the District Court for
the Western District of Pennsylvania was without juris-
diction of the subsequent equity suit brought to secure
the same relief which the state court was already in a po-
sition to afford, and could and should be enjoined. This
court said, |. c. 465-466:

Certain it is, therefore, that if both courts were
to proceed they would be required to cover the same
ground. This of itself is not conclusive of the
question of the District Court's jurisdiction, for it 1s
settled that where the judgment sought is strictly
in personam, both the state court and the federal
court, having concurrent jurisdiction, may proceed
with the litigation at least until judgment is obtained
in one of them which may be set up as res judicata
in the other. On the other hand, if the two suits are
im rem, or quasi in rem, so that the court, or its officer.
has possession or must have contro! of the property
which is the subject of the litigation in order to pro-
ceed with the cause and grant the relief sought the

19

jurisdiction of the one court must yield to tha‘? of the
other. We have said that the principle applicable to
both federal and state courts that the court first as-
suming jurisdiction over property may maintain and
exercise that jurisdiction to the exclusion of the other,
is not restricted to cases where property has been
actually seized under judicial process before a second
sult is instituted, but applies as well where suits are
brought to marshal assets, administer trusts, or hiq-
uidate estates, and in suits of a similar nature where,
to give effect to its jurisdiction, the court must con-
trol the property. The doctrine is necessary to the
harmonious cooperation of federal and state tribunals.

And further said, .. c. 467:

The Common Pleas Court could not effectively
exercise the jurisdiction vested in it, without a sub-
stantial measure of control of the trust funds. Its
proceedings are, as the court below held, quasi in rem,
and the jurisdiction acquired upon the filing of the
trustees’ account is exclusive. The District Court for
the Western District of Pennsylvania is without juris-
diction of the suit subsequently brought for the same
relief, and the petitioners were properly enjoined
from further proceedings in that court.

It would of course be wreng to say that the courts of
the state and nation have the unrestricted right.each to
enjoin parties from proceeding in the other. It would be
equally wrong and equally unreasonable to say that they
cannot do so under any circumstances. There is a well
recognized intermediate ground in which either may, as
the law now stands. properly do so. It wili not promote
the ends of justice to so far impair the power of the na-
tional courts to administer equity as to say that while
under proper circumstances the state courts may enjoin
parties from proceeding in them, they, on the contrary,
cannot in any event restrain parties from proceeding in
state tribunals. Especially is this true where as we have
shown in respondent's original brief this Court has re-
peatedly said that Congress entertained no such intention
in enacting Section 265 of the Judicial Code.

20

STATE COURTS ENJOIN PARTIES FROM PROCEEDING IN
OTHER STATE COURTS UNDER CIRCUMSTANCES SIMILAR
OR COMPARABLE TO THE FACTS OF THE PRESENT CASE.

State courts readily enjoin their citizens from pros-
ecuting actions in the courts of sister states where suf-
ficient grounds are shown for the interposition of a court
of equity as where the party seeking the injunction will
be subjected to fraud or oppression, where the purposs
of the foreign suit is to secure some unfair advan-
tage under the law er the facts or where, as here, one of
the parties is attempting to re-litigate in another juris-
dictlon issues areeey settled in equity by the enjoinin.
court. See. 32.C. J., Sec. 137, pp. 115 et seq. Great num-
bers of cases hav e gains this principle.

In O'Haire v. Burns, 45 Colo. 432,-101 Pac. 755, 131
Am. St. Rep. 191, 25 L. R. A. «N. S.) 267 (1909), O’Haire
had originally sued Burns and others in equity asking that
he be decreed the owner of a one sixth interest in certain
mining properties pursuant to the terms of what appears
to have been a “grub stake” contract. Burns prevailed
and O’Haire was adjudged to have no interest, the decree
being affirmed by the Coloradc Supreme Court. After-
ward while Burns was in Iowa on business O’Haire sued
him there at law for $300,000 damages. Burns then
brought a second equity suit in Colorado setting up the
facts and alleging that O’Haire sovtht in the Iowa suit
to relitigate issues vreviously disposed of by the Colo-
rado court and asked that O’Haire be enjoined from pros-
ecuting the Iowa suit. A demurrer to the complaint was
over-ruled and the defendant eiected to stand on‘it. A
final decree was entered below and the preliminary in-
junction made permanent. On appeal the Colorado Su-
preme Court affirmed the decree below and said, 11
Pac. 1. c. 757-8:

We have no doubt but that Mr. Burns could have

pleaded in the Iowa action the former litigation in
this state and the result thereof as a complete de-

21

fense. and, if established by proper evidence, it would
have received the full faith and credit bv the Towa
court to which it is entitled under the Constitution
of the United States. but why compel him to go over
560 miles to a foreign jurisdiction from that in
which both parties reside. or from where the original
cause of action, if anv. accrued. from where the prop-
erty over which the original contention arose was
situate, and from where all the witnesses reside, in
order to present these facts to a foreign tribunal?
We have been furnished with no principle of law or
equity nor process of sound reasoning why this should
be done and are of the opinion none can be presented.
Besides, if O’Haire is allowed to continue his Iowa
suit, and is defeated, under this same rule he could,
if aided by persons with means, bring another action
in some other state wherever perchance he might se-
cure personal service upon Mr. Burns and thus com-
pel him to again defend the same action with at least
the piea and proof of res judicata an@so continue
without any redress. The fallacy yf statement
is itself an answer to it. This metho of equitable
relief appears to have been approved by the great
weight of authorities, and, for answer to the able
argument of counsel] against. it,.we refer to the rea-
sons assigned in support thereof in the following
cases: Cole v. Cunningham, 133 U. S. 107, 10 Sup.
Ct. 269, 33 L. Ed. 538; Cunningham v. Butler. 142
Mass. 47, 6 N. E. 782, 56 Am. Rep. 657; Butler v.
Goreley, 146 U. S. 313, 13 Sup. Ct. 84, 36 L. Ed. 981;
Pickett v. Ferguson et al., 45 Ark. 177. 55 Am. Rep.
545; Engel v. Scheuerman, 40 Ga. 206, 2 Am. Rep.
573: Dehon et al. v. Foster et al.. 4 Allen (Mass.} 545,
Hawkins v_ Ireland, 64 Minn. 339, 67 N. W. 73, 58 Am.
St. Rep. 534: Field v. Holbrook, 33 Abb. Prac. (N. Y.)
377; Kittle v. Kittle, 8 C. P. Rep. (N. Y.) 72; Vermont
& Canada R. R. Co. v. Vermont Cen. R. R. Co. et al.,
46 Vt. 792: Guge v. Riverside Trust Co.. (C. C.) 86
Fed. 984; Kempson v. Kempson, 63 N. J. Eq. 783.
92 Atl. 360, 625, 58 L. R. A. 484. 92 Am. St. Rep. 682.
Haze & Quimby v. Lyndonville Nat. Bank et al.
70 Vt. 543, 41 Atl. 1046, 67 Am. St. Rep. 680; Ken-
dall v. Coke Co.. 182 Pa. 1, 37 Atl. 823. 61 Am. St.
Rep. 688: Hager v. Adams. 70-Iowa 746, 39 N. W.
36; Dinsmore v. Neresheimer, 32 Hun. 204.

22

Except for the matter of geographical distance be-
tween Colorado and Iowa we do not believe that the case
at bar can be distinguished from O’Haire v. Burns. We
do not believe that distance was the determinative ele-
ment in that case. As the Court says, res judicata could
be pleaded but that weuld not prevent the bringing of
still another suit and another and another. Here, it
Toucey through Shay can maintain his suit at law in
Missour!, why can he not maintain it in any other state.
and again and again? If distance is the test, what is a
reasonable distance? No case we know of holds that
distance is the test.

For a very similar case and the same ruling see Life
Insurance Co. v. Fisher, 5 Tenn. Civ. App. 232 (1915)
(Affirmed without opinion by Tenn. Sup. Ct., i915). The
only difference between that case and O’Haire v. Burns.
supra, is that in Life Insurance Co. v. Fisher the original
action in Tennessee appears to have been at law to collect
the proceeds of a policy as was the subsequent action
filed by the same plaintiff in Mississippi. The Tennessee
court enjoined Fisher from prosecuting the suit in Mis-
sissippi after he had been defeated in Tennessee and
upon his proceeding to do so punished him for a contempt.
The appellate Court affirmed this action below.

The rule is stated in 32 C. J. 117, as follows:

Where a controversy between residents has been
determined by the courts of the state, and, while one
of the parties is temporarily in a sister state, an ac-
tion is commenced against him there by the adverse
party, involving matters previously determined, an
injunction will be granted restraining the adverse
party from prosecuting the suit in the sister state.

The same essential principle is applied to different
facts in State ex rel. N. Y.,C. & St. L. R. Co. v. Norton.
321 Mo. 764 (en banc), 55 S. W. 2d 272 (1932). A citizen of
Indiana, the administratrix of her deceased husband's estate.

a

sued the railroad in Missouri under the Federal Emptovers’
Liability Act for damages for his death which occurred
in Indiana. The railroad secured an injunction in Indiana
against the prosecution of the Missouri suit notwithstand-
ing which she pressed it to judgment. The railroad then
moved the Indiana court to issue a citation for contempt
against her which was done. Thereupon the Missouri
circult, court enjoined the railroad from prosecuting the
citation and the latter petitioned the Missouri Supreme
Court for a writ of prohibition prohibiting the circuit
court from entertaining jurisdiction of the injunction prc.
ceeding against it. The court made absolute the pro.
visional rule in prohibition theretofore issued saving. 1].
c. Zia:

It is settled law that, in a proper case, a court
of equity having jurisdiction of the person may en-
join such person from prosecuting a suit in a fereign
jurisdiction. By a “proper case’ we mean that the
party seeking such an injunction must make a clear
showing that it would be nequitable, unfair and un-
just to permit the prosecution of the suit in a foreign
jurisdiction (italics ours).

And further said, ]. c. 274:

The Indiana court had jurisdiction to enjoin Lena
C. Meek, administratrix. from prosecuting her suit
in the St. Louis circuit court, and to adjudge her in
contempt for proceeding with the prosecution of that
sult in violation of tne injunction. If, as we have
held, the decree of the Indiana court enjcining the
prosecution of the suit in the St. Louis circuit court
was a valid decree, the railroad company, being an
interested party. was entitled to institute any lawful
proceeding looking to the enforcement of that decree
* * * The contempt proceedings were instituted by the
railroad company. When these proceedings were in-
stituted, the jurisdiction of the court, as well as the
right of the railroad company to prosecute the pro-
ceedings to a termination, at once attached. It 1s
familiar law that, where the jurisdiction of a court
and the right of # party to prosecute the proceedings

24

therein have cnce attached, that right cannot be ar-
rested or taken away by proceedings in another court.
Stevens v. Central National Bank of Boston, 144 N.
Y. 50, 39 N. E. 68. For this reason the St. Louis cir-
cuit court did not have jurisdiction to enjoin the rail-
road company from prosecuting the contempt. pro-
ceedings in the Indiana court.

It is significant, and a review of the cases will show.
that it is typical of the attitude of the state appellate
courts that the Missouri Supreme Court did not coun-
tenance the attempt of the St. Louis Circuit Court to create
a stalemate in the litigation by enjoining the railroad
from prosecuting the contempt action. The exercise of
the power of injunction in this field has not produced the
discord or the conflict between courts or the stalemate in
litigation which some members of this court may have
been led to fear. The reason is that such injunctions is-
sue only in exceptional cases and then only in accordance
with well defined and well recognized pyinciples of law,
so that as far as can be judged from reading the reports,
the courts in which the parties have upon established
principles been enjoined from proceeding, do not take the
attitude that their powers have been interfered with
by the enjoining courts. Federal courts nave been as
careful in this respect as have the state courts. The cases
iend no support to the theory that the established excep-
tions to the application of Section 265 of the Judicial
Code lead to conflict between the courts of the states and
nation.

The subsequent history of State ex rel. N. Y..C.&S!
L. R. Co. v. Nortoni, supra, is interesting and sheds fur-
ther light upon this subject. After the Missouri Supreme
Court had prevented the lower court from interfering
with the prosecution by the railroad of the contempt pro-
eeedings against the plaintiff below whose name was
Meek. her Missouri atturneys had one Maude J. Hamilton.
an employee in their office, appointed ancillary adminis-

25

tratrix in Missouri of the estate of the deceased. Mrs.
Meek, the Indiana administratrix, dismissed her Missouri
action and Maude J. Hamilton as Missouri administratrix
brought a new action against the railroad in Missouri.
The railroad then brought an injunction suit against var-
ious attorneys, a notary public and certain witnesses to
prevent the taking of testimony in Indiana in the Hamil-
ton suit. In New York, C. & St. L. R. Co. v. Perduie, $7
Ind. App. 517, 187 N. E. 349 (1933), the appellate Court of
Indiana, en banc, reversed the order of the lower court
which refused to issue the injunction and directed that it
issue, Saving, }. c. 351:

We are not unmindful of the rule that, on
grounds of comity, the power of one state to interfere
with a litigant who is in due course pursuing his
rights and remedies given under the law, in the
courts of another state, should be exercised sparingly.
But we cannot lose sight of the fact in the instant
case that the prosecution of the identical cause of ac-
tion, when sought to be prosecuted by Lena C. Meek,
the widow and sole beneficiary, in the state of Mis-
souri, was enjoined in this state upon grounds of
equity. If it was inequitable for Lena C. Meek, either
individually or as such administratrix, to prosecute
the said cause of action in Missouri, then upon what
process of reasoning couJd it be maintained that it
would not be inequitable for the said Hamilton to
prosecute it in Missouri? It is true that the court
entering the injunction against Meek had jurisdic-
tion over her and that the trial court in the instant
case has no jurisdiction over Hamilton. But it is not
sought to make any order against Hamilton in the
instant case. It is sought only to make an order
against persons who are under the jurisdiction of the
courts of our state, from assisting her in prosecuting
her cause of action in Missouri. Her action is mani-
festly an attempt to circumvent and annul the de-
cision of a court of competent jurisdiction in our
state. As heretofore pointed out, that judgment is
amply and fully supported by the decisions of our
courts of final jurisdiction. The persons sought to be

26

enjoined in the instant case are within the jurisdic-
tion of our courts, and the attempt is clearly being
made to use them to circumvent and annul and ren-
der impotent the judgments and law of this state.
They should be enjoined from so doing. Every court
of general jurisdiction has the inherent power to
protect its valid orders and judgments from being so
annulled (Italics ours).

The Court relied on its own prior cited decisions and
on Michigan, etc., R. R. Co. v. Mix, 278 U.S. 492, 49 Sup.
Ct. 207, 73 L. Ed. 470, and Denver, etc., R. Co. v. Bei
Terte, 284 U. S. 284, 52 Sup. Ct. 152, 76 L. Ed. 295.

it seems to us that the Perduie case is in harmony
with Wonderly v. Lafayette County, supra, and its princi-
ple is applicable here since the attempt is clearly being
made to use the state court in the instant case ‘“‘to circuin-
vent and annul and render impotent the judgments and
law” of the Federal District Court. On the same point
see also Sandage v. Studebaker Bros. Mfg. Co, 41 N. E.
380 (Indiana, 1895).

In Kansas City Rys. Co. v. McCardle, 288 Mo. 354.
232 S. W. 464 (1921), the railroad had been harassed by
the defendant McCardle, a lawyer who had made a prac-
tice of bringing suits in the State of Kansas on behalf of
certain installment credit companies against the railroad’s
employees whe lived in Missouri and running garnish-
ments against the railroad requiring the impounding of
the employees’ wages, although both the creditor and the
railroad were citizens of Missouri. The object of the suits
was alleged to be to evade the Missouri Statute which
provided, in effect, that only 10% of the wages of a mar-
ried man or the head of a family could be garnisheed in
Missouri. The railroad brought an injunction suit against
McCardle in the case of one Campbell, an ernployee whose
wages had been garnisheed in Kansas, but also attempted
to enjoin the defendant generally from bringing any
such suits involving any of its employees. A demurrer

27

to this petition was sustained below and on appeal was af-
firmed by the Missouri Supreme Court on the ground that
the railroad was not entitled to have an injunction gen-
erally against the bringing of subsequent suits on behalf
of other employees; but the court also held that it would
have been entitled to an injunction had it confined its
action to the particular pending case involving the em-
plovee Campbell.

Quite a number of the state court cases rely on Cole
v. Cunningham, 133 U. S. 107 (1889). There proceedings in
insolvency were begun in a Massachwioerts court
against a man named Bird, under the local stat-
ute. Prior therete a Massachusetts creditor of Bird,
knowing that he had stopped payment and was
insolvent and that he had monev due him from a
New York firm, assigned its claim to a citizen of New York
(without consideration) and the latter brought suit in
New York against Bird by attaching the New York debt.
The Massachusetts Court enjoined the Massachusetts
creditor from proceeding with the New York suit through
the New York assignee. The injunction was attacked on
the ground that it violated the full faith and credit clause
of the Constitution. This court affirmed the Massachu-
setts decree and after reviewing the authorities at great
length held that the injunction did not violate the full
faith and credit clause of the Constitution. The court
further found that the right of the equity courts of one
state to prevent persons within their jurisdiction from
the prosecution of suits in other states had been long es-
tablished both here and under the principles of the Eng-
lish Jaw.

Steelman v. All Continent Corp., 301 U. S. 278 (1936),
appears to us to be an application of essentially the same
principle applied in Wonderly v. Lajayette County, supra,
New York, C. & St. L. R. Co. v. Perduie, supra, and Cole
v. Cunningham, supra, on which the Court in the Steel-

28

man case relies. While the action involved two Federal
courts, the principle applied makes it pertinent here.
There Steelman was trustee in bankruptcy in the District
Court for the District of New Jersey of the property of
Wilham Fox who had been adjudged a bankrupt. Fox
had set up a family corporation called ‘All Continent
Corporation” which the trustee claimed he had used to
divert property which was properly part of the bankrupt
estate. All Continent Corporation had an account and
securities in excess of one half million dollars with Sparks
& Co. a brokerage house in Philadelphia. All Continent
brought suit against Sparks in the District Cour: of the
Eastern District of Pennsylvania to establish its title to
the account as against the claim that the account was
really the property of Fox. The trustee in bankruptcy
was made a party. Thereupon the trustee secured from
the District Court in New Jersey an order staying the
prosecution of the Pennsylvania suit. On appeal the 3rd
Circuit held (86 F. 2d 913) that ‘the Pennsylvania court,
having first acquired jurisdiction of the property and con-
troversy, is entitied to exclusive jurisdiction, and the in-
stitution of the suit in chancery was an attempt to oust
the Pennsylvania court of the jurisdiction which it had
previously and validly acquired,” adding that the Penn-
sylvania court could restrain the trustee from litigating
the issue elsewhere. This court reversed the 3rd Circuit
and affirmed the decree of the district court. ruling, in
effect, that the Bankruptcy Court under all the circum-
stances was better able to administer full justice. It re-
lied on Sec. 262 of the Judicial Code (28 U. S. C..
Sec. 377), giving the United States courts power to issue
all writs not provided for by statute necessary for the
exercise of their jurisdictions and agreeable to principles
of law. Respondent’s argument was that in the Penn-
sylvania suit the court had custody of the res, namety.
the securities held by Sparks & Co. in Philadelphia and
that its possession of that res should not be interfered

29

with. Answering this argument Mr. Justice Cardozo said,
l, c. 290:

The argument misconceives the grounds upon
which the trustee looks to us for aid. The trustee
does not challenge the jurisdiction of the federal court
in Pennsylvania, if the word jurisdiction be taken in
its strict and proper sense. Cf. Straton v. New, 283
U. S. 318, 321; Isaacs v. Hobbs Tie & Timber Co.,
282 U.S. 734, 737, 738. He is not seeking a writ of
prohibition directed to the court itself. He is not
seeking an injunction to vindicate his exclusive con-
tro] over a res in his possession, or in the possession,
actual or constructive, of the court that appi-inted
him. Isaacs v. Hobbs Tie & Timber Co., supra;
Murphy v. John Hofman Co., 2)1 U. S. 562, 568,
969; Moran v. Sturges, 154 U. S. 256, 274. What he
seeks is an injunction directed to a suitor, and not
to any court,..upon the ground that the suitor is mis-
using a jurisdiction which by hypothesis exists, and
converting it by such misuse into an instrument of
wrong. Gage v. Riverside Trust Co., 86 Fed. 983,
998, 999; Higgins v. California Prune & Apricot Grow-
ers, 282 Fed. 550, 557; Cole v. Cunningham, 133 U. S.
107, 112, 117, 118. Suits as well as transfers may be
the protective coverings of fraud. Shapiro v. Wilgus,
287 U.-S. 348, 355. We are unable to yieid assent to
the statement of the co.rt below that ‘‘the restraint
of a proper party is legally tantamount to the re-
straint of the court itself.” Th: reality of the dis-
tinction has illustration in a host of cases. 2 Story,
Eq. Jur., 14th Ed., Sec. 1195; 5 Pomeroy, Eq. Jur.,
Sec. 2091; Cole v. Cunningham, supra; Madisonvillz
Traction Co. v. Mining Co., 196 LU. S. 239, 245; Kess-
ler v. Eldred, 206 U. S. 285: Rickey Land & Cattle
Co. v. Miller & Lux, 218 U. S. 258: Toledo Scale Co.
v. Computing Scale Co.. 261 U. S. 399, 426; Smith v.
Apple, 264 U. S. 274, 279. Cf. Judicial Code, Sec, 265;
28 U. S. C.. Sec. 379; Brown .v. Pacific Mutual Life
Ins. Co., 62 F. 2d 711, 713; Chicago Title & Trust Co.
v. Fox Theatres Corp., 69 F. 2d 60, 61, 62.

Applying Steelman v. All Continent Corp. here, the
ground of the injunction in the present case is not

30

only that petitioner through his assignee is seeking to
relitigate issues already decided by a court of equity but
that respondent is misusing the jurisdiction of the Mis-
souri court “and converting it by such misuse into an in-
strument of wrong.”’ It cannot be said that this is an at-
tempt to control the Missouri court and thus will lead to a
conflict of courts since Justice Cardozo particularly points
out that the restraint of the party is not legally tanta-
mount to a restraint upon the court.

This Court said the same thing in Marshall v. Holmes,
141 U. S. 589 (1891), 1. c. 599:

While it (the federal court) cannot require the
state court itself to set aside or vacate the judg-
ments in question, it may, as between the parties be-
fore it, if the facts justify such relief, adjudge that
Mayer shall not enjoy the inequitable advantage ob-
tained by his judgments. <A decree to that effect
would operute directly upon him, and would not
contravene that provision of the statute prohibiting
a court of the United States froin granting a writ of
injuncticn to stay proceedings in a state court. It
would simply take from him the benefit of judg-
ments obtained by fraud.

The Steelman case affords an interesting contrast to
Princess Lida v. Thompson, supra, 305 U. S. 465. In the
latter this court, in resolving the jurisdictional! issue :n
favor of the state court, laid some stress upon the fact that
the action was quasi in rem. In the former the res was
within the jurisdiction, and by reason of the action was
within the custody of the District Court of the Eastern
District of Pennsylvania but all of the equities of the
situation preponderated in this Court’s opinion in favo:
of the prior jurisdiction of the Federal Bankruptcy Court
in New Jersey, even though Sparks & Co. was not a paity
to that proceeding. The case shows that there is no
special magic in a res or in the custody of a res. It is
only where that custody gives the court a peculiar right
of priority that the existence of a res has weight. It is

31

merely one of the elements the court takes into ac-
count in adjudging equitable rights, and may be out-
weighed by other considerations.

Toledo Scale Co. v. Computing Scale Co., 26)
UU. S. 399 (1923), affords an interesting comparison
with the Steelman case, supra, and Princess Lida v. Thomp-
son, supra. In the Toledo Scale Co. case one Federal
court enjoined the prosecution of a subsequent suit ©
another Federal Court which represented an attempt to
re-litigate issues decided in equity by the first Court.
No res was involved in either court and upon the au-
thority of Section 262 of the Judicial Code this court
held that the Federal court in whicn the decree was ob-
tained properly enjoined the Toledo Company from in-
terfering with the execution of its decree by prosecuting
the subsequent suit.

American courts have universally recognized the de-
sirability of terminating litigation when the issues have
been finally adjudged and have many times expressed
this principle of public policy. Chief Justice Taft, speak-
ing for this court, said in the Toledo Scale Co. case,
supra, ]. c. 428:

As Mr. Justice Story remarked in Ocean Insur-
ance Co. v. Fields, 2 Story 59, 18 Fed. Cas. 532, “It
is for the public interest and policy to make an end
to litigation, or, as was pointedly said by a great jurist,
that suits may not be immortal, while men are
mortai.”

Two other expressions by this court are pertinent
upon the same principle. Mr. Justice Roberts said in
Baldwin v. Iowa State Travelling Men's Association, 283
U.S. 522 (1931), 1. c. 525:

Public policy dictates that there be an end of
litigation; that those who have contested an issue
shall be bound by the result of the contest, and that
matters once tried shall be considered forever settled

32

as between the parties. We see no reason why this
doctrine should not apply in every case where one
voluntarily appears, presents his case and is fully
heard, and why he should not, in the absence of
fraud, be thereafter concluded by the judgment of the
tribunal to which he has submitted his cause.

Mr. Justice Reed tersely stated the same thing in
Treinies v. Sunshine Mining Co. et al., 308 U.S. 66 (1939),
saying, l. c. 78:

One trial of an issue is enough.

A member of this court inquired at the original ar-
gument why respondent’s remedy was not adequate by
pleading the decree of the district court in bar of the state
court suit, and suggested that if the Supreme Court of
Missouri refused to honor the plea this court would
exercise its power of review by certiorari. Since the
identity of issues between the vending state court suit
and that concluded by the decree below has never been
denied, the public interest in terminatiny this litigation
requires that the matter be now concluded by affirming
the relief granted respondent below. is it just or proper
that in order ultimately to prevent this attempt to reliti-
vate the same issues decided by the Federal court, re-
spondent should be put to its defense in the State court.
subjected to a probable appeal, and then have to rely in
the final outcome upon the discretionary power of this
Court either to grant or refuse a petition for certiorari to
obtain a ruling on what is not disputed, namely, that the
issues in the two courts are, in fact, identical? We sub-
mit that it is not.

THE ENGLISH CASES ARE IN ACCORD WITH THE
AMERICAN RULE.

The English chancery couris have often recog-
nized and applied the principle that they have and should
exeicise the power to enjoin English citizens fzom prose-
cuting suits in other jurisdictions, the effect of which

33

was to relitigate issues previously determined by the
English courts. Thus, in Wedderburn v. Wedderburn,
° Beavan 208 (1840), a suit was instituted in England by
persons beneficially entitied to the estate of David Webster
against his surviving partner and persons who had suc-
ceeded them in the business. It sought participation in
the profits which had been made in the partnership busi-
ness from the death of Webster in 1801 to 1846. The case
was heard by the Master of the Rolls and a decree entered
for the plaintiffs which vas afterward affirmed by the
Lord Chancellor. While the parties were taking the nec-
essary accounts under the Master’s decree, plaintiffs
commenced proceedings in the Court of Session in Scot-
land against several of the defendants who had heritable
property there, the object of which was to obtain the
Scotch process of inhibition and arrestment by which, itn
the very early stage of the suit, the pursuer acquires a
lien on al! the heritable property of the defendant for
whatever he may eventually recover. ‘The process, being
recorded, operated as notice to all future purchasers and
mortgagees so that in effect the defendant from the be-
ginning of the suit was restrained from dealing with his
property. The proceedings were in respect of the same
demands as were the subject of the suit in England. The
defendants moved that plaintiffs be restrained by injunc-
tion from prosecuting the Scotland suit or any other suit.
The Master of the Rolls granted the injunction, saying
that the court had jurisdiction to interfere in a case of
this nature and that it was a proper case. He said, |}. c.
214: “the rule of the Court is, that there is not to be
a double investigation of the same matter upon which
the Court is to adjudicate.” He, however, pointed out
that there might be special circumstances under which a
party might be at liberty to proceed in a foreign country.
such as where the defendants have no available property
in England, or are insolvent, or some other special
reason why a plaintiff ought to be permitted an auxiliary
remedy; but he pointea out, even in’such a case, the

34

party ought first to apply to an English court for per-
mission to adopt such proceedings. On appeal of the case.
the Lord Chancellor affirmed the principle laid down by
the Master, but on application by the plaintiffs, gave
them leave to proceed in Scotland so far only as might
be necessary to obtain .wecurity for what might be found
due in the English suit. He said (4 Myl. & C. 584, 1. ¢.
595):

* * * | am of opinion that the order of the Master
of the Rolls is quite right. There can be no doubt
that the general rule precludes parties from proceed-
ing in any other court for the same purpose for which
they are proceeding in this court, whether the other
proceedings are taken in this or in any other country;
and if the party conceives there are any circumstances
in his case which constitute an exception to the rule,
I think that his proper course is, not to take pro-
ceedings in another court, of his own authority but
to apply to this court for permission to take such
proceedings.

In Beckford v. Kemble, 1 Sim. & St. 7, the English
court was moved on behalf of Beckford for an injunction to
restrain the defendants from all proceedings in a suit
instituted by them in the Chancery court in Jamaica
against plaintiff and from all other proceedings in said
country against plaintiff for the foreclosure and sale of the
plantations in question. The foreclosure suit had been he-
gun in Jamaica after a decree in an English court had been
rendered upon the plaintiff's bill fer an accounting, an
ascertainment of the amount of the mortgage debts. and
redemption. The Vice-Chancellor granted the injunction.
saying, l. c. 17:

All the parties are in England; and it is plain
therefore that the accounts can much more conven-
iently, as well as more satisfactorily, be taken here
than in Jamaica. It appears to me that the plaintiff
in this court has a clear equity to be protected against
a double account of the amount due on the mortgages.

35

In Oakley v. Ramsey, 27 L. T. 745, A sued in England
for speciiic performance of a contract for the lease to him
of a Scotch moor which the owner, in violation of the
contract, had leased to a third party. The owner of the
moor then began an action in Scotland for the rescission
of the lease. The English court enjoined the owner from
proceeding with the Scetch action.

Tredigar v. Windus, 44 L. J. Ch. 268; L. R. 19 Equity
607; 32 L. T. 596; 23 W. R. 511, holds that the right to
plead a prior equity decree in defense of an action at law
does not prevent the court of equity from granting an
injunction against the prosecution of the law action.
There both actions were in the English courts.

Carron Iron Co. v. MacLaren, 5 H. L. Cas. 41€ 24
L. J. Ch. 620, 3 W. R. 597, holds that if the circumstances
of a case are such as would make it the duty of a court
of equity in Engiand to restrain a party from instituting
proceedings in another English court the same circum-
stances will also warrant it in imposing a similar re-
straint upon him with regard to proceedings in a foreign
court.

It therefore appears that the English courts apply
substantially the same principles in substantially the same
manner and reach the same result as our own state and
federal courts in determining vhen a court of equity
will enjoin the prosecution of proceedings in another court
or jurisdiction.

DIAL V. REYNOLDS, 96 U. S. 340, DISTINGUISHED.

In the first argument of this case one of the Justices
inquired why Dial v. Reynolds is not exactly in point.
It was not possible to answer the question because we
did not remember the case.

There Dial, as successor trustee, filed a bill to fore-
close a deed of trust executed by one Ceoper to secure
certain liabilities to Staatsman. Reynolds claimed title

36

to the real estate adversely ta Cooper. Dial’s bill, be-
sides foreclosure, asked to quiet the title of the trustee
as against Reynolds and to remove the cloud of Reynold's
claim and to enjoin him from further prosecuting an ac-
tion in ejectment he had previously brought. This court
held that the trial court correctly dismissed the bill for
misjoinder since the plaintiff was attempting to dispose
of two separate causes of action against two different
parties in the same suit. The court indicated that the
statute in question here forbade the injunction asked.
saying, 1. c. 341:

Such an injunction, except under the Bankrupt

Act, no court of the United States can grant. With
this exception, it is expressly forbidden by law.

By the court’s ‘‘such an injunction” it is fairly to
be inferred thet the court meant an injunction against
one who was not a party to the deed of trust and claimed
adversely to the mortgagor, the mortgagee and the trustee.
The statement should be read in the light of the facts be-
fore the court, and the circumstance that no attempt was
being made to relitigate issues previously adjudged.
Ii that is not what the court meant, then the statement is
in cenflict with the subsequent rulings on the subject

This court has cited Dial v. Reynolds only four times,
as follows: Wells Fargo & Co. v. Taylor, 254 U. S. 175
(1920), 1. c. 182 (see Respondent’s Brief, page 37). There
the court said, after quoting Section 265 of the Judicial
Code:

Is the suit one to stay proceedings in a state court
in the sense of that provision? If it is, the District
Court erred in not dismissing the bill on that ground
Haines v. Carpenter, 91 U. S 254; Dial v. Reynolds.
96 U. S. 340: United States v. Parkhurst-Davis Co.,
176 U. S. 317. If it is not, the court rightly enter
tained the suit and proceeded to an adjudication of
the merits, for the citizenship of the parties and the
amounts in controversy were within the jurisdiction«.
requirements.

37

The court, in the Wells Fargo case, then held that
the suit was not within the prohibition of the statute
and that the injunction against prosecuting the state court
proceeding was properly granted.

Providence & N. Y. S. S. Co. v. Hill Mfg. Co., 109
U. S. 607 (1883), was a limitation of liability proceeding
in admiralty and this court held that that proceeding
superseded any state court action. Dial v. Reynolds was
cited in the dissenting opinion. ~~ 7

In Hunt v. New York Cotton Exchange, 205 U. S. 322
(1906), 1. c. 338, where an injunction was granted against
the prosecution of a state court action, the court merely
said that Dial v. Reynolds and other cases cited did not
sustain the appellant’s contention without stating why.

In Hull v. Burr, 234 U. S. 712, 1. ¢. 723. this court,
after citing Dial v. Reynolds and other cases for the state-
ment that the prohibition of the statute against injunc-
tions to state court proceedings has been customarily ob-
served, proceeds as follows:

It is recognized, however, that Section 720 was not
intended te limit the power of the Federal courts to
enforce their authority in cases that on other grounds
are within their proper jurisdiction; and hence, it has
been held that, in aid of its jurisdiction properly ac-
quired, and in order to render its judgment and de-
crees effectual, a Federal court may restrain pro-
ceedings in a state court which would have the ef-
fect of defeating or impairing such jurisdiction.
French, Trustee, v. Hay, 22 Wall. 250; Dietzsch v.
Huidekoper, 103 U. S. 494, 497; Julian v. Central Trust
Co., 193 U. S. 93, 112; Traction Co. v. Mining Co., 196
U. S. 239, 245.

It seems clear, therefore, that in the subsequent cases
this court has in no sense repudiated Dial v. Reynolds
but has merely held that its ruling does not apply to
cases like the present one. This is apparent. No attempt
was being made there to relitigate issues already decided
by a Federal equity court.

38

CONCLUSION.

By the time the Court reaches this ‘‘Conclusion” it
will have read both Respondent’s Brief and Respondent's
Supplemental Brief and will, therefore, have reviewed
many of the principal cases in the United States declaring
and applying the principle of law before the Court for
review. It will, therefore, be apparent that the Court is
not here dealing with a peculiar abuse of federal power
contrary to the statute, or with an attempt by the na-
tional courts to supervise or control the state courts, or
witn a principle in any sense peculiar to or even origi-
nated by the national courts. On the contrary it has be.
fore it for review the invocation by tne District Court of
a principle of universal applicatium both here and in Eng-
land. Given the situation presented by the facts in this
case a Federal court will enjoin the part’cs from p:.-
ceeding in a state court; it will enjoin the parties from
proceeding in another Federal court; and a state court
will enjoin the parties from proceeding in the Federal!
courts or from: proceeding in another state court or from
proceeding in another court of the same state. Likewise
an English court will enjoin the parties from proceeding
in another English court or a court of a foreign country.

When, therefore, the question examined is not merely
“what have the federal equity courts done?” but “what
have all Anglo-Saxon courts done when faced with an at
tempt to litigate elsewhere issues already adjudged in
equity?”’, it becomes apparent that this court has really
construed Section 265 of the Judicial Code so as not to
exclude a remedy which every co-ordinate court possesst
and exerts, a remedy which the national courts alsc pos-
sess by the express provisions of Section 262. To con-
strue Section 265 otherwise would be to construe it to
deprive the national courts of a fundamental equitable
power of which it is unreasonable to suppose that Con-
gress intended to deprive them. It is equally clear that
the exercise of this power does not foster conflicts be-

39

tween the courts but that, on the contrary, it is essential
to prevent conflicts. It is invoked only in the interests
of justice; and justice is what the courts, state or national,
are intended to dispense.

It is also clear that the exercise of the power has
not been limited in any courts to actions in rem but that
on the contrary, the existence of a res is merely one equi-
table circumstance influencing judicia! action. If the jus-
tice of the situation requires, one court not having the
custody of a res will enjoin the parties from proceeding
in another which does have its custody (Steelman vy. All-
Continent Corp., supra).

In closing we respectfully request the court to bear
this further observation in mind. At the time when
this statute (Section 265) was first enacted (1793). as is
well known, the states were acutely apprehensive that
the Federal power, including the power of the federal
courts, might be exerted in a manner detrimental to and
derogatory of tne co-existing powers of the states and
of the state courts. It is fairly inferable that many states
feared that the federal courts might attempt improperly
to intetfere with the lawful and orderly processes of the
state courts and prevent them from exercising their proper
jurisdiction. At the same time we do not see how it can
be properly assumed that Congress intended to prevent
the federal courts from exercising those characteristic
powers which all courts of a similar character then pos-
sessed by reason of their inherent nature. One of those
powers which had long existed in English courts of
equity, as we showed in Respondent's Brief, was the
power to protect and effectuate the courts’ own decrees.
We do not believe that there is any just ground for saving
that it was the intent of Congress to strip the federai
courts of this essential, inherent power merely in the
one aspect of its exercise in which ~the federa courts
might come in contact with litigants in the state.courts
The exercise of power in this instance in no way inter-

40

feres with the state courts’ concurrent and coordinate
jurisdiction. It is not the exercise of a power which the
state court itself will not readily exercise in limiting
litigants who seek to relitigate in the federal courts
issues already determined in other courts, federal, state
or foreign. We trust that the court will differentiate be-
tween the case at bar and other cases now before it in
which the power of injunction to stay proceedings in state
courts has been exercised in other circurnstances where
it may be, the right to do so is neither so wel! define
as in the present case, nor so manifestly in the interest.
of justice and equity.

We are convinced that this Court will not proceed
upon a tangent which would throw it out of harmony with
all the other courts of the Anglo-Saxon world. The decree
below should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

SAMUEL W. Sawyer.
RICHARD S. RIGHTER.

Horace F. BLrackweELt. Jr.
Counsel for Respondent.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386401_0448%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
