# Memorandum for the US — Mitchell v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386401_0404%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Memorandum for the US
- **Published:** January 1, 1941
- **Citation:** 313 U.S. 80

## Text

BLANK PAGE

“v

= 3
\
\
, , an cael ge erate ta X
5 . _ eer tana eT aR Dine Octet Dt
Oe ase carer ER wy sara ae AT i ested tics vist halk GOR IPED anna -
J

3, Interstate passages: constitutionality.__
B. The carrier’s practice.............---....-..-

CITATIONS

Miiaw. Hicks, 44 La. Ann: 770...--- EES Te ee:

Alabama & V. R. Co. v. Morris, 103 Miss. 511, 60 So. 11, 2

_ writ of error dismissed on motion of plaintiff in error, 234

3 a aes epee ae ee ee eee 9

. Arkansas Gas Co. v. Department, 304 U. 8. 61_....---.--- 11
- Armour & Co. v. The Alton Railroad Co., No. 293, this

PR iisccdva cscs iccnathndusteducucdbutcde Vests 5-
_ Berea College v. Kentucky, 211 U. 8. 45....------------- 7
Butis v. Merchants Transportation Co., 230 U.8.126..--.. 138
Carrey v. Spencer, 36 N. Y. Supp. 886_-----=)---.------ 9
Case v. Los Angeles Lumber Co., 308 U. 8. 106. ..-------- 8

Chesapeake and Ohio Ry. Co. v: Kentucky, 179 U. 8. 388.... 9,10 -
Chicago Junction Case, The, 264 U. 8. 258....-.....-.---- 4
Chiles v. Chesapeake and Ohio Railway, 125 Ky. 299, ;
affirmed, 218 U, 8. 71_.....---------.------ 9, 10, 12, 14, 15
Civil Rights Cases, 109 U. 8. Sa geen ede ate 13
Coger v. Northwest. Union Packet Co., 37 Iowa 145-~.-- Bow 15.
Councill v. The Western & Atlantic R. R. Co., 11. C. C. 339. 14
Cosart v. Southern Ry. Co., 16 I. C. C. 226_-_....-.-2--- 14
Crosby v. St. L28. F. Ry. Co., 2118 1 C..O. GOO. seessis. 14
Cumming v. Board of Education, 175 U. 8. 528__...--.---- 7
Edwards v. Nash., Chat. & St. Louis Ry. Co., 121. C. 0.247. 14

(1)
297492411

tiptoe Brecon

eran stnrteteaceemn ster tater nck 6
PNR eee Hits i a ta peosmegsce
Fe SAE RA PR ee Ee oe SOARS ee eye

Hes URS apie Sethe Ye SOE ay
hsp Mon Sas Te tig

agente oat or ies

Cases—Continued ~ ‘ Page
El Paso & Northeastert: Railway Co. v. Gutierres, 215 U. 8.
Wuitisghttbhdesadsasitideddenabneksnbentiesweencunasé 13
~~ Gaines v. Seaboard Air Line Ry., 16 I. C6 tek. Ye 14
General Inv. Co. v. N. Y< Central R: R., 271 U. 8. 228... __. 3
Gong Lom v: Bios, 376 U. 8.782 ics sn ccc ek 7
Gwin, etc., Ine. v. Henneford, 305 U. 8. 434..-..--.-..-_-. 10
Hall v. De Cuir, ahs doug ene EN eS ETE 10

“Heard v. The Georgia R. R. Co., 1 1. C. C. 428... 14
Heard v. The Georgia Railroad Co., 31. C. C. 111-...-.- Wp 14
Heiner v. Donnan, 285 U. DORs cents eimcb sabia Lawns 18
Hart v. State, 100. d. 595, 60 Atl. 457... .....-.-...-..- 9, 15
Houck Ry. Co., 88 Fed. 226_.......-____. 15
Huff v. Norfolk, d Southern R. Co. 88 8. E. 344 Reanpeanon 9
Interstate Commerce Commission v. Cregeen: Washington R. of

Ee ALS OR ae ar ec en ee enna af
Inland Waterways Corp. v. Young, 309 U. 8. 517__._..._-- 14
Keck v. United States, 172 U. 8. 434.......-......---_- 8!
Keifer & Keifer v. R. F. C., 306 U. 8. 381__-_._____-___-. 12
Louisville & N. R. Co, v. United States, 282 U. 8. 740. ____- 19
Louisville &c. Railway Co. v. *fississippi, 133 U. 8. 587.. 8,10
Maurer v. Hamilton, 309 U. 8. 598........._-_- fasupiiice a2;
McCabe v. Atchison, T. &S.F.Ry.Co., 186 Fed. 966;-affirmed,

936 'U. 8. WOR sive nencshidntscvcceccue 6, 7, 9, 10, 15, 18, 20
Milk Board v. Eisenberg Co., 306 U. 8. 346......._.___-. il
Mississippi Valley Barge Line Co. v. United States, 202

aS Bisa ch alte pnb eb dada wkuswene pied 20
Missouri ex rek: Gaines v. Canada, 305 U. BBB nn inc 7, 18, 20
Mobile & O. R. R. Co. v. Spenny, 12 Ala. App. 375 Addie. 15.
Moffat Tunnel League v. United States, 280 U. 8. 113._.__- 4
Morrisdale Coal Co. v. Penna. R. R. Co., 230 U. 8. 304._._ 5

» ~~ Murphy v. Western & A. R. R., 23 Fed. 687_.._.______.. 15
Nashwille, C. & St. L. Ry. v. Browning, 810 U. 8. 362...... 19

Norwegian Nitrogen Co. v. United States, 288 U.8.294.... 14
Ohio Valley Ry.’s Receiver v. Lander, 20 Ky. L. Rep. 913... - 15

pccamnarce e taacmen Sine celal Salin ab nme i

Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U. 8. 587__-....----.0._. 2. 7, 9,10, 12
Robinson v. Baltimore & O. R. R., 222 U. 8. 506... baila Sins e 5
Rochester Telephone Corp. v. United States, 307 U. 8. 125-- 4,19
Shreveport Casés, The, 234 U. 8. 842_........._._...__ ae

Smith v. State, 100 Tenn. 494, 46 8. W. 566; writ of error
dismissed on motion, 21 8. Ct. Rep. 917, 45 L. Ed. 1256. 9

South Carolina Highway Department v. Barnwell Bros., 303
GEN ei didnt bok Rebs ods Mink ds sheesh nubian cs lL

South Covington &c. Ry. Co. v. Kentucky, 181 Ky. 449,
affirmed, 252 U. QP idiinscaiseunccwrnswecuiiescnck 9, 10.

Fie wren Ip a arn ramen ay aac psa RP RREN CN Ee Rm A FH,

Pos
3
¢
a=
¥
S
ce
7

ay
Cases—Continued
So. Kansas Ry. v. State, 99 S. W. 166.....-.------.-----
Southern Ry. Co. v--Norlon, 112 Miss. 302, 73 So. f._.----
State Tax Commission v. Van Cott, 306 U. 8. 511,-.------
—Tank Car Corp. v. Terninal Co., 308 U. 8. 422_...--.----
Terae & Pac. Ry. v. Abilene Cotton Oil Co., 204 U. 8. 426__-
United States v. Americin Trucking Ass'n, 310 U. 8. 534_.
United States v.. Hutcheson, No. 43, this Term_--.-- RTS Me
Warehouse Co. v. Unite! States, 283 U. 8. 501.-....------
Washington, B. & A. Mlectric R. Co. v. Waller, 289 Fed.

~ Welch Co. v. New Hamy shire, 306 U. O Mii oc
Youngstown Sheet & Tub: Co. v. United States, 295 U. 8. 176.
Statutes: : |
Civil Rights Act of 1878, ¢, 114, 18 Stat. 385, Secs. 1,2... 18 \
Interstate Commerce /.ct, c. 104, 24 Stat. 379, 380, Sec. .
pee" 8 oe | eee ee ete 12, 15, 18

Commerce Court Act, c. 309, 36 Stat. 539.......-----.. 2
Act of October 22, 1913, c. 32, 38 Stat. 208 (28 U. 8. C.
Dros i ings cvedesblecneddcnsoeppiwescesee 2
Arkansas separate coah law (Acts of 1891, pt. 15, as” ~
amended by Acts of 1893, p. 200; Pope’s Digest, 1987, °
Vol. I) Secs. 1190-11{19..----.- Peay eee Serena Capek AP 6, 7,12
Miscellaneous:
H. R. 8821, 75th Cong., 3d Sess...>='...-.-- i fesse tailpiece 14
H. R. 183, 76th. Cong., )at Sess......-.....6...-2--2 es 14
ME. Bs SER, FO Cam, 100 BitRakn ccc ccencdsuccsencccs 14
\ os 3
{
:
: : }
= a
3

~~?

4 BLANK PAGE

e

patra RTP NaCI Ri ENR ns apa tioned 9 Sh

eo BLEEP on a SST peer mate nerensnocmeay ceiiiaiiaieieiameaaaaaat
° “ ry ) /
7 ‘
| Saheim et he Wied Ste |
Ocrosan TERM, 1940 |
No. 577
ArrHur W. MITCHELL, APPELLANT ag
Vv. wy
. Te Untrep States or America, [nrerstate Com-
MERCE COMMISSION, F'rank O. LOWDEN, ET AL.
| ON APPEAL FROM THN DISTRICT COURT OF THE UNITED sh :
STATES FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS
MEMORANDUM FOR THE UNITED STATES
The United States, one of the five appellees in this ‘ :
case,’ does not support the judgment of the court — t
below. The legal questions, however, are not en- ~ |
tirely clear and the Solicitor Generalisof the opin- 3 é
ion that both this-Court and the other appellees —___ : |
are entitled to have presented the arguments which ' | Be
may be advanced in support of the judgment below. _ 3 ae
__.1The other»appellees are the Interstate Commerce Com- - | : ; aes Roe eS
mission, the trustees of the Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific ma his

Railway Company, the Illinois Central Railway Company,
' ahd the Pullman ee

that the judgment | of the court

He has, therefore, authorized the Interstate Com-
merce Commission to file s brief and appear in

argument i in support of the order of the Commis-

sion judgment below.”
The following randum outlines the reasons
“which have led the United ) the conclusion

slow should be

reversed.
STATEMENT

Appellant filed a complaint (R. 3-7) with the ~

Interstate Commerce Commission, charging that

the appellee carriers had subjected him to undue
and unreasonable prejudice, and praying that they
be required: in the future to cease and desist from

violations of the Interstate Commerce Act and to

provide for colored persons holding tickets for
first-class accommodations from Chicago, Lllinois,
to Hot Springs, Arkansas, such first-clase facilities
as the Commission may deem reasonable and jus
(R.6,7). |

The Ciaitshaatte found that the case was “‘built
mainly on an unpleasant experience complain-

ant had about 18 months ago” (R. 21). On the

morning of April 21, 1937, thé-appeliant, en route
from Chicago to Hot Springs, was compelled under
threat of arrest to move from a Pullman car after

® Under Section 5 of the Commerce Court Act. (36 Stat.

589; see 88 Stat. 208 ; 26 U. S. C. § 45a) the Commission may
appear independently of the United States. Ses 7. @. C. v.-

~—-Oregon- Washington R. C “~ 288 U. 8. 14, 22-27.

. eet eracian® ete ak 3 ORS ei ts ee a i — " * \ f
pars iateeT OP I Si Ee SO ete SE I PIN Re Se Sai ones ctx eter wicta 3 mn Gens ° ’
im. cere SERRE ac RNC Sah et ND RIN 2 Ee cir gL eR irnkut amir al NCR Rn Fs.
. re " »
4

the train crossed the Arkansas border. This was
in purported compliance with an Arkansas segre-
- gation statute. He held a first-class railroad ticket
and offered. to pay for his Pullman seat. The ap-
pellee “carriers, junder ordinary circumstances, —
~ would have mad: a Pullman drawing room avail- —
able, but all were then occupied by white passen- _ i
gers. Appellant accordingly was transferred into
_ asecond-class coach reserved for the use of colored,
passengers.’ The conductor advised appellant that
. "he could obtain a refund of the extra cost of the
~ first-class ticket, but Renner enearee by
the appelldht (R, 21-22), |
* ‘The Commission on November q, 1938, dininisoca
appellant’s complaint (R. 34). Four members |
= ted ¢R. 30-33), and a fifth dissented in part. a =
Appellant bpought suit to set aside this order (R. i See
4-40). The three-judge distriet court upon gen- |
—-—eral findings of fact and conclusions of law (R.
52-53) dismissed the eause for lack of jurisdiction *

(R. 53). Appellant was allowed an appeal (R. ~ ee
61-62) and this Court noted probable duriegietion ; : |
on December 16, 1940. _ ees Pat \Y
~ |There + was testimony that this coach was filthy and far :
imferior to the second-class coach reserved for the use of | . Rue
white persons, but at the time of the hearing a new coach of j Sery
quality equal to those used by second-class white passengers fo /
was in use (R. 22-24). ~

In the light of the findings, we are of opinion that the
dismissal is more accurately described as placed on the

merits rather than want of jurisdiction. See General In.
Co. v.New York Central R. R., 271 U. 8. 228, 280 :

__APPELLANT’s STANDING To Suz

~ At the threshold of the case lies a question as to”
appellant’s standing to attack the Commission’s
refusal to issue a cease-and-desist order. It is im-
material that the order dismissing’ his complaint
was negative inform. Rochester Telephone Corp.
v. United States, 307 U. 8. 125. But neither the
complaint nor the findings show that appellant in-

. tends in the future to use the appellee carriers be-

tween Chicago and Hot Springs, and his complaint
is limited to the discrimination to which We was
subjected on this run by these carriers.

Standing to attack an order of the Interstate
Commerce Commission is probably not an auto-
matic consequence of appearance before the Com-.

. Inission. See Pittsburgh & W. Va. Ry. v. United

States, 281 U. 8. 479, 486; compare The Chicago ©
Junction Case, 264 U. 8. 258, 268: Some independ-

ent interest in the order is doubtless necessary.»
Moffat: Tunnel League v. United States, 289 U. 8.

118; ef. Y oungstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. United

States, 295 U. S. 476; 479.

: However, -appellant is probably able to show a
‘pecuniary interest in his attack on the Commis-
sion’s order. He has brought an action at law for
damages against the appellee carriers (R. 21-22).
The Interstate Commerce Commission has primary
jurisdiction to determine the lawfulness of an

alleged discrimination, and a suit for damages ean-
not-be maintained until the Commission has deter-
mined that the discrimination is unlawful. Rob-
inson V. Baltimore & O, R.R., 222 U. 8. 506; Morris-

dale Coal Co. v. Penna. B. R. Co., 230 U. S. 304;

Armour & Co. v. The Alton Railroad Co., No. 293,
this Term; cf. Texas & Pac. Ry. v. Abilene Cotton
Oil Co., 204 U. S. 426; Tank Car Corp. v. Terminal
Co., 308 U. S. 422, 433. Accordingly, if the success
of appellant’ s action at law turns on the action of

the Commission,’ he has a pecuniary interest —

cient to attack the order. -

More fundamentally, we think that vindication
of the rights of; Ahe person ranks higher than pro-
tection of one’s right not to be charged discrimina-
tory ‘rates. While appellant has not shown any

specific intention of again using the appellee car-

riers between Chicago and Hot Springs, few men

can so order their personal affairs that their future _
travels are predictable. Petitioner has already

: s,

* We suggest below (pp. 19-20) that no question of admin-
istrative judgment can properly be found in this case. The
“primary jurisdiction” doctrine is based upon the fact that
the ordinary case of discrimination involves questions of ad-
ministrative judgment. If the ‘rule were limited
__to its’reasons, we should a y conclude that the court
had jurisdiction in this case without regard to the Commis-
sion’s action. But in matters of procedure, it is sufficient
that the reason for the rule applies in’ most cases. ‘If a de-
_ termination on the merits were to shape the antecedent pro-
laa
simplicity and expedition.

297492412 | baer /

POE BES ALY LEO LRT LE ESI BREIL SBT

Neale Sedat ONSTAR SA at BISCO SO ESS See eee
\

been subjected to one indignity because of lis race
and, if the diserimination be unlawful, is entitled
to guard against its recurrence. See McCabe v.
AT. & 9. F. Ry. C6., 235 0. 8. 151, 163-164. The
_ guaranties of equal treatment cover the oecasional
traveler as well as the commuter.

i

THE LAWFULNESS OF THE D1sORIMINATION
_. The majority of the Commission ruled: (1) the

appellee carriers were justified in assuming that
the Arkansas Separate Coach pa applied to an
interstate transportation (R. 28); (2) the carrier
_ practice of ségregation would be valid in the ab-
sence of the state statute (R. 28) ; and (3) the small
amount of colored traffic, rarely in excess of the
available Pullman drawing rooms, made the oc-
easional discrithination when separate Pullman
accommodations were not available neither unjust
rior undue (R. 29-30).° | |

*Commissioner Eastman dissented, with reluctance be ~
cause of the practical burdens placed upon the carriers if
they were required to provide equal accommodations (R.
. 80-31). Commissioners Lee, Aitchison, and Porter dis--
sented on the ground that the Interstate Commerce Act
required equality of accommodations (R. 31-33). Commis-

e
a

—_
A. THE ARKANSAS STATUTE

1. The Segregation—This Court on seyeral oc-
easions has ruled that segregation statutes do not
violate the Fourteenth Amendment,’ Plessy v.

_ Ferguson, 163 U. 8. 537;.McCabe v. A., 7. & S. F.

Ry. Co.» 235 U. 8. 151, 160; ef. Cumming v. Board

"of Rducation, 175 U. S. 528, 544-545 ; Berea College

y. Kentucky, 211 U. 8, 45; Gong Lum v. Rice, 275

‘U.S. 78, 85-86; Missouri ex rel. Gaines v. Canada,

305 U, S. 337, 344. We shall, therefore, assume

that the Arkansas statute does not deny equal pro-.

tection because of its command that colored and
white passengers be segregated.

2, Interstate Passage:. Construction.—The Ar-
kansas Separate Coach Law * (Acts of 1891, p. 15,

as amended by Acts of 1893, p. 200; Pope’s Digest,

- 1937, Vol. I, See. 1190) provides;

* See, also, the numerous decisions of the lower federal
courts and the state courts cited in the Gong Lum (275 U.S,
at 86) and the Plessy (163 U.S, at 548) cases, and the deci-
sions upholding state segregation statutes against attack

. under the nea 2 clause (infra, pp. 8-10). Compare

Pace y. Alabama, 106 U. 8, 588. :

* The entire Act is printed in the Appendix to appellant's
brief, pp. 15-17. |

Other sections forbid persons, on penalty of a $10-$200

- fine, to occupy seats assigned to those of another race (Secs.

_’ 1192, 1196) ; forbid carriers to permit the joint, use of sleep-

ing or chair cars (Sec. 1193).; require train officers to sepa-
rate the races, on penalty of a $25 fine (Secs, 1195, 1196) ;
authorize train officers to refuse to carry any passenger who
refuses to occupy the d&signed coach (Sec. 1197) ; impose a
fine of $100-$500 upon a railway company for every day and
‘every train run in violation of the Act (Sec. 1198) ; and re-
quire that the statute be posted in every coach (Sec. 1199).

J

YER FRO SONORA A i,

;
4
.

SE hs RR CN GR DAE TS IAT REELS

All railway companies carrying passen- ©

gers in this state shall provide equal but sep-

- arate and sufficient accommodations for the

white and African races by providing two

or more pomenger = for each passen-
ger train; *

The Arkansas courts have not considered wheth.
er dr not the statute applies to interstate transpor-
tation. The statutory language, ‘All railway
“companies carrying passengers in this state’’, is
equivocal, We believe, however, that the statute
should be construed to apply only to the intrastate
~ transportation of passengers.

In Louisville dc. Railway Co. v. Mitslesipigi, 133
U.S. 587, 592, this Court sustained a segregation
statute aE in almost identical terms ° on the
ground that the state court had construed it to ©
apply only to intrastate transportation. That case
was décided March 3, 1890, one year-before en-
actment of the Arkansas statute. On familiar
principles, the Arkansas legislature must be pre-
sumed to have adopted this construction. Keck v.
United States, 172 U. 8. 434, 436; Case v. Los
Angeles Lumber Co., 308 U. S. 106, 115.

This Court has similarly approved the state court
construction of other state segregation statutes,
correspondingly equivocal, as applicable only to

* The statute there involved required “all railroads carry- .
ing passengers in this State (other than street railroads)” -
to provide separate but equal accommodations (183 U. S.
at 588).

9
intrastate passage. Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.
§. 587, 548; Chesapeake and Ohio Ry. Co. v. Ken- |
tucky, 179 U. 8. 388, 394. And in McCabe v. A., ae
T. & 8S. F. Ry. Co., 235 U.S. 151, 160, this Court in - |
dictum said that there was “‘no reason to doubt’
that an Oklahoma segregation statute, ‘in the ab-
sence of a different construction by the state court,
must be construed as applying to transportation
exclusively intrastate’. The weight of authority
in the state courts is to the same effect. While |
-two state courts have held that segregation stat- —
utes cast in general terms apply to interstate as
well as intrastate transportation,” the courts of Re: SUT
six states have limited these statutes. to transpor- a pars
tation of passengers wholly -within the: state.”
These decisions, it is true, do not represent an
independent ruling on statutory construction;
ordinarily the opinion proceeds under the com-
pulsion of an assumed constitutional prohibition.

10 Smith vy. State, 100 Tenn. 494, 46 S. W. 566, writ of error
dismissed on motion, 21 S. Ct. Rep. 917, 45 L. Ed. 1256;
Southern Ry. Co. v. Norton, 112 Miss. 302, 73 So. 1; + AleBans
&V.R. Co. v. Morris, 103 Miss. 511, 60 So. 11, writ of error
dismissed on motion of plaintiff in error, 234 U. S. 766.

1 Hart v. State, 100-Md. 595, 60 Atl. 457; CAiles v. Chesa- |
peake and Ohio Ry. Co., 125 Ky. 299, affirmed, 218 U. S. 71;

So. Covington &c. Ry. Co. v. Kentucky, 181 Ky. 449, af- ye
firmed, 252 U. S. 399; Abbott v. Hicks, 44 La. Ann. 770;

So. Koneas Ry. v. State, 99 S. W. 166 (Tex. Civ. App.) ;

Carrey. v. Spencer, 36 N. Y. Supp. 886; see, also, Washing-

ton, B. & A. Electric R. Co. v. Waller, 289 Fed. 598 (App.

D, ©.) ; McCabe v. Atchison, T. & S. F. Ry. Co., 186 Fed. ia
966 (C. C. A. 8th), affirmed, 235 U. S. 151; cf. Huff v. Nor-

cua mene Co., 88 S. E. 344. :

:
:
:
€
‘@
Be:

a

ORE RRO EEOET HES CE HE UNE

CEE NARS EM AE Spe APICES SES SRN SR Rat ie aT

Nie RTO fe thom: oer | aeaammmmmamas

Compare State Tax Commission v. Van Cott, 306
_U. 8. 511. But; evén if the assumption were un-
' warranted, the consistent rulings may be supposed

to have represented also the expectations of the

Arkansas legislature. See Gwin, ete., Ine. v. Hen-

neford, 305 U. 8. 434, 441, NI

_ 8. Interstate Passage: Constitutionality.—It,

however, the Arkansas statute were construed as

applicable to interstate transportation, it might

well then be unconstitutional as a forbidden regu-
lation of interstate commerce.
. This Court h#e never halt = _ the

merce, a Louisiana statute (of 1869) which forbade

common carriers to discriminate on aeecount of

race or color. The confusion which would arise

from separate and varying state laws was con-

sidered conclusive that the subject was for na-

tional regulation alone. On the authority of the
De Cuir case, this Court in dicta has frequently

stated or assumed that a state segregation statute
could not constitutionally be applied to an inter-

state passage. Lowisville de, Railway Co. y. Mi is-
sissipph, 133 U. 8. 587, 590, 591; Plessy v. Fergu-
son, 163 U. 8. 587, 548; Chesapeake and Ohio Ry.

Co, v. Kentucky, 179 U. S. 388,°394; Chiles v, Ches-
apeake and Ohio Railway, 218 U. 8, 71, 75; MeCabe

v.A., 7. & 8. F. Ry. Co., 235 U. 8. 161, 160; South
Covington de. Ry. Co, v. Kentucky, 252 U. 8, 399, ,

tl
403-404, see 407. The lower federal courts and
most of the state courts have similarly held that the
commerce clause. protects the interstate passenger ~ - |
from a state segregation statute. Two state courts, . =
have, however, ruled to the contrary.”
_ ‘The statute, it is true, may be argued to be an
exercise of the power of Arkansas to provide for
the comfort of those within its borders. If there
were an important occasion for the exercise of the -
so-called police power of Arkatisas, the recent de-
cisions of this Court demonstrate that the inter-
state carrie? would not be exempt. South Caro-
U. S. 177; Arkansas Gas Co. v. Department, 304
U. S. 61; Welch Co. v. New Hampshire, 306 U. 8,
79; Milk Board v. Eisenberg Co., 306 U. 8. 346;
Clason v. Indiana, 306 U. S. 439; Maurer v.
Hamilton, 309 U. S. 98. a ,
But the distribution of commerce powers be-
tweén state and nation eannot proceed upon mathe-
matical formulae. The task of this Court under eee
the Constitution is one of adjustment and recon- 7.
¢iliation. In performanee of this task it cannot, 7
of course, ignore othtr provisions of the Consti-
tution. The Thirteenth, Foutteenth, and Fif- — |
teenth Amendments set up a constitutiotial policy : e%
against racial discrimination. Those ameridments |
~~~ #8"The cages aré listed supra, p. 9, notes 10 and 11; the
decisions represent a blend of onstitutionsl decision and
statutory construction. .. =

HT

|

este pie eine repenemonctae papeepentrs a Che ye ai 2
é

a

— 12
have been held not to contain any specific prohibi-

ope _ tion against racial segregation (supra, p. 7 ).
Seo os _ But, while they fall short of the specific prohibition,

eee sof os -they-remain as a factor which must be weighed in

a | the commerce clause adjustments. There is, in
cS other words, no occasion to permit state power to
Teach into the field of interstate commerce in order 7
ie i; to-accomplish an end at variance with the basic
3 policy of the Amendments. Compare Keifer &—
Keifer v. R. F. C., 306 U. S. 381, 391; United States
_V. Hutcheson, No. 48, this Term.

We conclude, therefore, that the Arkansas sepa-.
rate coach law is inapplicable to interstate pas-
sage, whether as a matter of statutory construction
or of constitutional limitation.

B. THE CARRIER’ 8 PRACTICE

In Chiles v. Chesapeake and Ohio Railway, 218

nt U. 8. 71, this Court ruled that a carrier, without

i regard to the inter- or intra-state' character of the

iW journey, had power by regulation to segregate

_ white and colored passengers. The opinion, analo-

A ae gizing the carrier’s power to that of a state, rested
| _ upon Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U: 8. 537.

| ~ The Court, in the Chiles case did not consider

Section 3 (1) of the Interstate Commerce Act,

which forbids any carrier from subjecting ‘‘any

¢ | particular person * * * or any particular

| TeOSeDSHID 6: EMER." Yat Ao. a eine. se

o

coe ae

13 : [ }
unreasonable prejudice or disadvantage in any re-
spect whatsoever.””* It is by no means clear that .
the segregated colored passenger is not in some re-
spect subjected to an undue or unreasonable preju- | : Bae oes
dice or disadvantagesimply becauseheisnotdenied ~~
“the equal protection of the laws.”” The prejudice
is clear, and the only question is whether it is “un-

‘due” or “‘unreasonable.”” The answer to this ques-
tion would be different according as one looked to ee .
the established customs of the region or to the ! |
basic concepts of our government, as reflected in see
the Thirteenth, Fourteenth, and Fifteenth Amend-
ments. ‘ ; :
However, the question is one of statutory con- -
struction. Whatever might be the correct view if
the matter were open to original examination, the
long-continued practice of the Interstate Commerce
Commission has been to allow segregation by the | |
carriers so long as equal accommodations. were | :

8 The opinion also ignores the Civil Rights Act of 1875
(18 Stat. 835), Sections 1 and 2 of which forbid public con-
- veyances from refusing equal accommodations because of
color. The Act, however, was held unconstitutional in the
Cwwil Rights Cases, 109 U. S. 3, as applied within a state.
In Butts v. Merchants Transportation Co., 230 U. S. 126, the
~ Court heid that the Act was inseparable, and could not after
its invalidation in the Civil Rights Cases be applied to inter-
state carriers by water. Compare, however, Zl Paso &
_ Northeastern Railway Co. v. Gutierrez, 215 U. S. 87. We
assume, therefore, that appellant is not aided by the Civil.
Rights Act. :

tiee, adopted wosnsnnerssre with the Act, must
on familiar principles be supposed to have received -
the approval of Congress.” Norwegian Nitrogen
~ Go. v. United States,-288 U. S. 294, 815; Inland

_ Waterways Corp. v. Young, 309 U. 8. 517, 524-525;

United States v. ‘American Trucking ‘Assns., 310
U..&. 584, 549. We assume, therefore, that segre-
gation by carrier regulation does not violate the
Interstate Commeree Act.
However, it is not wholly clear in thie < case that. 3
there was a carrier regulation of dignity sufficient
to come within the rule of Chiles v. Chesapeake and
Ohio Railway, 218 U. §. 71. That case was read
in Washington, B. & A. Electric R. Co. v. Waller,

. 289 Bed. 598, 601-603 (App. D. C.), to require a

formal, published regulation, rather than. merely
& customary practice, to justify segregation of

colored passengers. Under this limitation of the -

* See Councill v. The Western & Atlantic R. R. Co., 1

1. ©. C, 880; Heard v. The Georgia R. R. Co, 11. ©. ©,

428; Heard v. The Georgia Railroad Co., 3 I. C. ©. 111;
Edwards v. Nash., Chat. & St. Lowis Ry. Co.,12 1. ©. C. 247;
Cozart v. outhern Ry. Co,, 16 I. C. ©, 226; Gaines ¥. Sea-
board A Line Ry. 161. ©. C. 471; Croeby tv. St. L.-S.F.
Ry. Co., 112 L. C. C. 239. In the four cases first cited dis-
erimination in Scotemny edison was found, in the three last
cited it was not.

%* This inference receives some added support in view ~of
the bills to forbid segregation which have been introduced -
‘in Congress only to languish in Committee.— See, e. g.,
H. R. 8821, 75th Cong., 3d Sess.; H. R. 182, 76th Cong.,
iat H.R. 132, 77th Cong., Ist Sess. |

Bb .

rule, which is not entirely justified by the opinion
in the Chiles case, it is doubtful that the carrier’s
practice rose to the formality of a rule or regula-_
tion (see R. 24-25; 131, 140, 141, 147, 172, 178).
' We have, therefore, some doubt whether any
segregation would be warranted on the appellees’
Chicago-Hot Springs run. But in view of the con-
clusions reached in the next section, we think it
unnecessary to resolve this question.

C. EQUALITY OF ACCOMMODATIONS

-—1. Phe Rule.—In every decision of this Court
dealing with segregation by carriers it has been
assumed that, under the equal protection clause,
the separate accommodations must be of equal .
quality. And in McCabe v. A., T. & 8. F. Ry,
Co., 235 U. &. 151, 161, this Court in considered
dictum ruled that-“substantial equality of treat- a ‘| |

—_ment_of persons traveling under like conditions Pir
eamnot. be refused.” The state courts and the lower oC
federal courts, without exception, have held like- | :
wise.” The Interstate Commerce Commission has
invariably applied the same rule under Section 3
(1) of the Interstate Commerce Act (supra, p. 14),
19 See, e. g., Mobile & O. R. R. Co. v. Beonnh, 12 Ala. App.
875, 387; Coger v. Northwest. Union Packet Co., 87 Towa
145, 153, 156187; Ohio Valley Ry.’s Receiver v. Lander,
20 Ky. L. Rep. 913, 917; Ew parte Plessy, 45 La. Ann. 80,
$5, afirmed, 169 U. 8 997; HM v. State, 100 Ma. 898,
001; Murphy v sw stern & A. R. R., ® Fed. 687, 689 (C. C.

E.D. Tenn.) ; Houck y. Southern Pac. Ry. Co., 38 Fed, 226,
998 (0. C. W. D. T ex.) . Sh aes,

\

j
/

The. Arkansas statute itself requires that the ac-
commodations be equal (supra, p. 8).

2. The Equality of Accommodation.—The actual
incident which precipitated the appellant’s com-
plaint involved a discrimination because of his color
even as compared to second-class white travelers
(R. 22-23). But since July 1937 the carrier has
put in service a coach for colored passengers which
is of equal quality with that used by second-class
white passengers (R. 23). Since the complaint
asks only relief for the future, it may be assumed
that colored passengers who travel second-class
have accommodations equal to those open to white
passengers at the same fare.

However, the question does not end with travel —
_on second-class tickets. Colored passengers who
, travel first-class on the appellee carriers are not,
we believe, given accommodations which are sub-
stantially equal: to those open to white passengers.
When a drawing room is available, the carrier prac-
tice of allowing colored passengers to use one at,
Pullman seat rates avoids inequality as between’
_ the accommodations specifically assigned to the
passenger.” . But when none is available, as on the

trip which occasioned this litigation, the discrimi-
nation and inequality of accommodation become

"90 Dilsorimination vemaina; for an enforced privacy may
well be galling and unwelcome. But, in view of the deci-
sions sustaining segregation statutes as applied to interstate
pssst and segregation regulations of the

carriers (supragpp. 12-14), we assume this discrimination
ae ee

.

oe

iW A
self-evident. It is no answer'to say that the colored
passengers, if sufficiently diligent-and forehanded,
can make their reservations so far in advance as
to be assured of first-class accommodations.” So
long as white passengers can secure first-class-res-

ervations on the day of travel and the colored pas-
sengers cannot, the latter are subjected to inequality
__ and discrimination because of their race.” BE

8, Phe Small Number, of Colored Passengers.—
The Commission accepted the testimony of the rail-
road conductor that only 10 or 12 times in the past
32 years on the Memphis-Hot Springs run had
colored passengersbeen forced to leave the Pull-
man for want of separate accommodations; it ob-
served, however, that “‘what demand there may
have been at ticket offices does not appear’’ (R. 24).
The Commission recognized that a discrimination
occurred on the specific trip which underlay this
proceeding, but ruled that. it was not unjust. or
undue because of the “comparatively little colored
traffic’? (R. 26-27, 29-30). .
- This ruling'we believe to be erroneous. The Con-
stitution * and the Interstate Commerce Act alike
%* Commissioner “Miller suggested this expedient in his
partial dissent (R. 33).
Indeed, even with respect to the colored passenger who

secures a drawing room, the Commission found that “there
are no dining-car nor observation-parlor car accommoda-

tions for the latter and they can not lawfully range through

the train” (R. 24).

* The equal protection clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment would reach to the Arkansas statute; the due-process

°
SPW 2

Reon TTA Cease -« SNORE OND RN NST NE eMC peer selva re lett tecnciBintee tion pReen Nett tena

.&B

18
make the guaranty of equal treatment one which is

personal to each passenger. The majority of the

Commission considered that it was dealing with a
question of ‘‘colored traffie’’ (R. 29). It was, how-
ever, faced instead with an issue of the basic liberties
and privileges of citizens. These are secured to each

' person, not only to those members of groups suff-

ciently numerous to make the liberty or privilege ex-
pedient, or attainable without undue expense or

- inconvenience,

This Court, in ouitiadin dictum, so held in McCabe
v.A.,T.¢8.F. Ry. Co., 235 U.S. 151, 161-162. In
Missouri ex rel. Gaines v. Canada, 305 U. 8. 337, 351,
the Court made a corresponding decision with re-

_ spect to staté educational facilities, It is true that

both casés dealt with the effect of the equal Protec-
tion clause upon state statutes, while here the case
deals with a state statute combined with a carrier
regulation challenged under the Interstate Com-

‘merce Act. But, even assuming the state statute

can be ignored and the issue treated as-one of a car-
rier regulation alone, we do not believe that a prac-
tice whieh, if coramanded by.a state, would be a de-
nial of equal protection of the laws, can escape con-
demnation under Section 3 (1) as an “‘undue or un-
reasonable prejudice or disadvantage in any respect
whatsoever.” This language, the Court has fre-

-/quently observe “is certainly sweeping enough fo

clause of the Fifth Amendment to the action of the ‘a
sion (cf. Heiner v. ti 285 Ps S. 312, 326, edna

embrace all the discriminations of the poet dee

~‘geribed which it. was within the power of Congress
to condemn.’’ The Shreveport Case, 234 U. 8. 342,
356; Louisville & N. R. Co, v. United States, 282
U.S. 740, 749-750; Warehouse Co. v. United States,
283 U. 8. 501, 512-513.

D. THE EFFECT OF THE COMMISSION’S DETERMINATION

The majority of the Commission, in the last anal-

ysis, seems to have directed dismissal of the appel- —

lant s complaint because of its finding (R. 29)—

that the present:colored-passenger coach and ~

the Pullman drawing rooms meet the. re-

quirements of the act; and that as there is

comparatively little eolored traffic and no

‘indication that there is likely to be such de-

mand for dining-car and observation-parlor

car accommodations by. colored passengers

as to warrant the running of any extra cars

or the-construction of partitions, * * *.

Commissioner Eastman, dissenting, recognized the

‘practical difficulties which would follow upon re-

quiring that the discrimination be-eliminated, and
suggested possible solutions (R. 30-31).

If the issue before this Court called into question

the Commission’s judgment on these practical or —

economic obstacles to ‘a removal of the inequality,
its decision would not be open to review except
upon a charge that it was arbitrary or without sup-

port in the evidence. Nashville, C. & St. L. Ry. v. .

Browning, 310 U. 8. 362, 366; Rochester Telephone

Gorp. v. United States, 307 U. 8. 125, 146; Missis-
sippi Valley Barge Line Co. v. Umited States, 292 —
U. 8. 282, 286-287. This is the case in the ordinary
discrimination complaint. Pennsylvania Co, v.
United States, 236 U.S. 351, 361.

But we do not so conceive the issue here. “We

; think there is no room for administrative or expert

judgment as to the practical difficulties in remov- —

ing the discrimination. However great these may
3 | be, the common carrier which undertakes to segre-

| | gate its colored passengers must pay the cost.
e : McCabe v. A., T. & 8. F. Ry. Co., 235 U. 8. 151;

Missouri ex rel. Gaines v. Canada, 305 U. 8. 337.

- CONCLUSION

POE Rea

We therefore conclude that the Commission er-
roneously supposed that the Arkansas Separate
Coach Law applied to an interstate passenger, and
erroneously determined that the small number of
colored passengers asking for first-class accommo-
- dations justified an occasional discrimination
against them because of their race. If either of
a. these conclusions is correct, the Commission should
be directed to reinstate the appellant’s complaint
and to proceed in the light of the opinion of this
SS, , | y
Francis Bmwpie,
Solicitor General.
Wagner W. GARDNER, ~
_ Frank CoLeMAn, |
> Special Assistants to the, Attorney General,

U. S. GOVERNMENT PRIBTING OFFICE: 1948

Ss

cents MO

eitig the

Sm

ia

e
Q
«J
a

a ty ny ape do

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386401_0404%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
