# Opposition Brief — Richard v. Hoechst Celanese Chemical Group, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1667%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2004
- **Citation:** 543 U.S. 917

## Text

|

(2)

No. 03-1543

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

RICHARD R. RICHARD, JR., on behalf of himself
and all others similarly situated.
Petitioner,
V.

HOECHST CELANESE CHEMICAL GROUP, INC..
SHELL OIL COMPANY d/b/a SHELL CHEMICAL
COMPANY, HOECHST CELANESE CORPORATION,
and E. 1. DU PONT DE NEMOURS AND COMPANY.

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION OF RESPONDENT
FE. 1. DU PONT DE NEMOURS AND COMPANY

KATHLEEN TAYLOR SOOY RAYMOND MICHAEL RIPPLE
CLIFTON S. ELGARTEN Counsel of Record

LUTHER ZEIGLER DONNA L. GOODMAN

TRACY A. ROMAN E. 1. DU PONT DE NEMOURS AND
CROWELL & MORING LLP COMPANY

1001 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Legal D-7012

Washington, DC 20004 1007 Market Street

(202) 624-2500 Wilmington, DE 19898

(302) 773-3072

Attorneys for Respondent
E. 1. du Pont de Nemours and Company

(Additional counsel are listed on the inside front cover)

SS PL A A ey “ree MPP
WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

So REAAERRRTE eT

ANDREW C. SCHIRRMEISTER III
JIM C. EZER
SCHIRRMEISTER DIAZ-ARRASTIA, LLP :
Pennzoil Place — South Tower .
711 Louisiana, Suite 2150
Houston, TX 77002

(713) 228-3545

| REET PANE

AERO AER RE OIL sot

i Ta eee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit erred
in finding that petitioner’s claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 is
jurisdictionally barred by the Rooker-Feldman doctrine as an
impermissible collateral attack on two state court final
judgments and is substantively meritless because of the
failure to allege state action.

2. Whether the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit erred
in holding that, even assuming arguendo that disgorgement is
a remedy available in private civil RICO actions, petitioner
was not entitled to a disgorgement remedy under the
circumstances of this case because there was no allegation of
future misconduct.

(i)

i a i i i a

ii
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6, Respondent E. I. du
Pont de Nemours and Company states that it has no parent
corporations and that there are no publicly held companies
that own more than 10% of its stock.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..............ccccssosssesrreseerenseees i
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6 occcsceccceconescssersssoresesenens ii
TABDE OF AUTHORITIES. ......ccccscesscscscsescocscsssssosserees iv
TIE TROIIUIC TION cccccnsvsacessessocnssssssvesssnnpnevensectesertsssenes l
COUNTERSTATEMEN T ..nsceccssrssscosssosssooessesccssenseenseses 3
A. The Cox and Spencer Settlements ............:.:00+ 3
B. The Proceedings Below. ..............sssccereseereesees 6
C. The Decisions Below ............ccrcccsoccsssrresssseserees 8
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ............. 9

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT PROPERLY FOUND
THAT PETITIONER’S § 1983 CLAIM CAN-
NOT BE SUSTAINED............cccccccsesresssrseseees 10

A. The Rooker-Feldman Doctrine Bars Peti-
tioner’s § 1983 Claim Because The Under-
lying Class Action Settlements Afforded
Class Members Due Process............:00cceee 10

B. Petitioner’s § 1983 Claim Fails Because
There Is No State Action ...cccsvescesersescressoseess 18

Il. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S DISMISSAL OF
PETITIONER’S RICO CLAIM RAISES NO
QUESTIONS THAT WARRANT REVIEW
BY THIS COURT .......rccsccsscsccscsosessceserescsennsesess 21

CONCLUSION ...ccrscsoscsssccesssrsscsosssonccsecsesnosseensenosszecesens 26

ge

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Amchem Prods., Inc. v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591
CPI Ths -scdsinsssdcncnsnmnilanindessestenanemmansiensadmaataaas 15
Car Carriers, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co., 789 F.2d
SF ee Ge: PIE sconseneiinenieieamens 23
Cooper v. Fed. Reserve Bank of Richmond,
467 U.S. 867 (1984) 0. piiseusceiiaeanennasals 23
Cox v. Shell Oil Co., No. 18,844 (Tenn. Ch. Ct.,
Obion County Nov. 17, 1995) ...cccceeeeeseeseeeeee 4
Cromwell v. County of Sac, 94 U.S. 351 (1876) ... 23
Dennis v. Sparks, 449 U.S. 24 (1980) c.cccccsccsseeseen 18, 19
D.C. Ct. App. v. Feldman, 460 U.S. 462 (1983)... 1] |
Epstein v, MCA, Inc., 179 F.3d 641 (9th Cir.
FFU) csverecenccediisioionassunnistseannemnticioameaammananaall 16
Fine v. Am. Online, Inc., 743 N.E.2d 416 |
CC CA. AR Bi iicrecseentanenicnsaaenni 15
GASH Assocs. v. Vill. of Rosemont, 995 F.2d 726 )
(FD CR, 199 S) uwiiimuiinndionasumnns 1]
In re General Motors Corp. Pick-Up Truck Fuel )
Tank Prods. Liab. Litig., 134 F.3d 133 (3d Cir.
SPUR lis ccesiocsnsiangnevsnsnssvecaessides tae aaeele 11
Grimes vy. Vitalink Communications Corp., 17 ; /
P.O 1983 (OCR. FI soiinicsisescocrenimionn 15, 16
Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32 (1940)........cceeseees 15,17
Holmes v. Secs. Investor Prot. Corp., 503 U.S. |
Ee CUP tisistetiesnorseicianvienian sebeubsestapsaaumaiialiaiinn 7, a0
ITT Corp. v. Intelnet Int'l Corp., 366 F.3d 205
(36 CR, BOD) jcsssesrssserstesinicimpieasiasemaanans 1]
Kamilewicz v. Bank of Boston Corp., 92 F.3d 506
CFI CU, ESOP vserisicssesticsercenrsepamennnaaen 1]
Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922
(BPR ciscsessesrsecrtisitennintebusaanaiaaaaae 18
Marrese v. Am. Acad. of Orthopaedic Surgeons,
STO US, F7S CIP sinister 13

Si —~—

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-—Continued

Page
Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Epstein, 516 U.S.

FE ee icisaiscanteeblnssinidininbinaaaisadiiiiansémiasdaaldedinn 14, 15
Meers v. Shell Oil Co., No. M-30590 (Cal. Sup.

Ct., Monterey County Nov. 8, 1995). 0... 4
Mullane v. Cent. Hanover Bank & Trust Co.,

Fe She BASE sctndintisstatenntinviaensenicncninne 16
Nevada v. United States, 463 U.S. 110 (1983)...... 23
Norman v. Niagara Mohawk Power Corp., 873

Fe ee ls FID csscnincesnctasnoruisaceneniscibanes 23
Nottingham Partners v. Trans-Lux Corp., 925

of FF gt. Le | eR enereremennn 15, 16

Ortiz v. Fibreboard Corp., 527 U.S. 815 (1999)... 16
Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797

EP per eiccossdensuieinenecdneiotenspninanbessesenonisulsauaeanannens 9, 16,17
Ritter v. Ross, 992 F.2d 750 (7th Cir. 1993).......... 11
Rooker vy. Fid. Trust Co., 263 U.S. 413 (1923)... 11
Scheidler v. Nat'l Org. for Women, Inc., 537 U.S.

FO GE nisrestocnteianesnnensicnniinnnansdbintensetounionnie 22
Snider v. City of Excelsior Springs, Mo., 154

Fc I ee Getta FUE cncicnssesstesernscentiesareinneonnn 1]
Spencer v. Shell Oil Co., No. CV-94-047 (Ala.

Cir. Ct., Greene County Nov. 17, 1995)............ 3
Summit Props., Inc. v. Hoechst Celanese Corp.,

yee ee Tk Ae nen 6,7
Tafflin v. Levitt, 493 U.S. 455 (1990)... ccecscceneeees 23
United States v. Carson, 52 F.3d 1173 (2d Cir.

PUTT Dcsenecednisenesiiichisitesiiaiecebantaueadieeevsnebmmeinsieniens 24
United States v. Lester, 363 F.2d 68 (6th Cir

PUM Cccansicnoschincsensiuiensbanensapidnceummnantianeseiientias 19

United States v. Philip Morris USA, Inc., 321
A OY Re ik oy | enn 24

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

United States v. Rashwan, 328 F.3d 160 (4th Cir.

CONSTITUTIONS AND STATUTES
es HI I, BF ciessttscictincvsisesesniecibicnianionns
ete: Ob We PR itetieessnnicantaicessnancnicaiiasdenmpeiicinaiinii
OTHER AUTHORITIES

RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF JUDGMENTS § 41
Ci Pae re csinunishensncsscanbnisilsantpteaineiioneisiciaiabiaiannsisiets

23

ee

ee ne et ee

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 03-1543

RICHARD R. RICHARD, JR., on behalf of himself
and all others similarly situated,
Petitioner,
V.

HOECHST CELANESE CHEMICAL GROUP, INC..,
SHELL OIL COMPANY d/b/a SHELL CHEMICAL
COMPANY, HOECHST CELANESE CORPORATION,
and E. I. DU PONT DE NEMOURS AND COMPANY,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION OF RESPONDENT
E. 1. DU PONT DE NEMOURS AND COMPANY

INTRODUCTION

This petition arises out of petitioner’s effort to mount a
federal court collateral attack on two state court judgments
that approved national class action settlements of consumer
products lawsuits involving polybutylene plumbing. Apply-
ing the due process standards applicable to class actions set
forth by this Court, the respective state courts presiding over
the two class action settlements determined that due process
had been afforded absent class members (i.e., that notice was
proper, representation was adequate and thus that nationwide
settlement classes could be certified).

2

Petitioner ultimately sought to cast his collateral attack
on these judgments as a claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.
However, in order to prevail on his § 1983 claim, he would
have to overturn the state court judgments that disposed of his
due process argument. Such an attack upon a state court
judgment in a federal district court is jurisdictionally barred
by the Rooker-Feldman doctrine. The federal courts have
consistently held that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine bars
federal court review of state class action settlements.
Petitioner is unable to identify even a hint of conflict among
the circuit courts on that point.

Petitioner’s effort to state a § 1983 claim for denial of cue
process was likewise defective, for equally uncontroversial
reasons. Petitioner was unable to show state action by
respondents, private actors. Under this Court’s clear prece-
dents, a private party does not become a state actor liable for
a constitutional violation under § 1983 by persuading a state
court judge to issue an allegedly erroneous ruling on a
constitutional issue. The Fifth Circuit properly recognized
that petitioner’s “blatant nonconformity with the requirements
of § 1983 [] suggests that he has merely cast his complaint in
the form of a civil rights action in an attempt to circumvent
Rooker-Feldman.” Pet. App. 11.

Petitioner's attempt to obtain federal court jurisdiction by
transforming his consumer products lawsuit into a fraud claim
under the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organization Act
(“RICO”), 18 U.S.C. §§ 1961, et seg., was equally unsuc-
cessful. The Fifth Circuit was willing, arguendo, to indulge
petitioner the triple assumptions that a private party can avail
itself of equitable remedies under RICO, that “disgorgement”
of profits is an equitable remedy potentially available in this
context, and that a party pursuing equitable remedies does not
have to show reliance on a misrepresentation. But fully
consistent with the only other circuit court to consider this
issue, the Fifth Circuit held that an equitable remedy is not

a.

3

available under RICO where there is no ongoing or future
misconduct to prevent because the consumer products at issue
have not been manufactured or marketed for years.

COUNTERSTATEMENT
A. The Cox and Spencer Settlements.

1. Respondents Shell Oil Company (“Shell”), Hoechst
Celanese Corporation (“Celanese”), and E. I. du Pont de
Nemours and Company (“DuPont”) produced raw materials
sold to otlicr manufacturers who used those materials to make
plumbing components. Shell sold polybutylene resin to
manufacturers who extruded it into pipes for use in plumbing
systems. Celanese and DuPont sold acetal plastic resin to
manufacturers who molded it into fittings used to connect
pipes in plumbing systems. DuPont ceased marketing and
selling its raw material for use in polybutylene plumbing in
the late 1980s. _

2. In November 1994, Spencer v. Shell Oil Co., No. CV-
94-047 (Ala. Cir. Ct.. Greene County), a nationwide class
action, was filed against respondents in Alabama state court
alleging defects asseciated with polybutylene plumbing. In
May 1995, DuPont agreed to a national class action set-
tlement in Spencer. Under the terms of the Spencer settle-
ment, DuPont agreed to pay class members 10% of replumbs
and physical damage to tangible property caused by leaks.
DuPont agreed to provide $120 million to fund these costs.
The $120 million figure is a “soft cap,” meaning that if costs
exceed this figure, DuPont may provide additional funding.
If DuPont declines to provide additional funding, any unpaid
class members will retain their rights to pursue claims against
DuPont. R. 838.

—_—

' Citations to “R.” refer to the record on appeal in the Fifth Circuit.

4

3. In June 1995, Cox v. Shell Oil Co., No. 18,844 (Tenn.
Ch. Ct., Obion County) (“Cox”), a nationwide class action,
was filed in Tennessee state court against Shell and Celanese.
(DuPont was not a party.) The Cox court preliminarily
approved a nationwide class settlkement with Shell and
Celanese in August 1995. Under the settlement agreement,
Shell and Celanese agreed to fund replumbs and physical
damage to tangible property of the class members caused
by a qualifying leak and to provide $850 million in a “soft
cap” fund.

Class counsel in each of the Cox and Spencer actions filed
objections to the other settleineiit. Other parties also filed
objections. In October and November 1995, Cox and Spencer
class counsel and respondents participated in a mediation
conducted by California Superior Court Judge Robert Silver.’
The mediation resulted in some changes to the Cox
settlement, inc uding an increase in the initial funding to $950
million. Judg:, Silver noted that “[b]efore I would agree to
recommend .he settlement, it would have to meet a class
fairness standard ....” Meers v. Shell Oil Co., No. M-30590
(Cal. Super. Ct., Monterey County Nov. 8, 1995) (recom-
mendation re: Spencer/Cox settlement).

4. The Spencer court conducted a fairness hearing and
approved the settlkement on November 17, 1995. The court
specifically addressed the appropriate due process consid-
erations, finding the settlement “fair, adequate. and reason-
able to the Plaintiffs.” App. 16a-17a. The court ruled that
the $7.4 million notice program had “accurately described the
pending Action” and that “the means of disseminating the
notice was the best practicable, reasonably calculated, under
all the circumstances, to apprise interested parties of the

* Judge Silver was then presiding over yet another putative statewide
class action in California, Meers v. Shell Oil Co., No. M-30590 (Cal.
Super. Ct., Monterey County). The Cox and Spencer courts were aware of
Judge Silver’s mediation efforts.

neaiant

tT aa ye

5

pendency of the Action and their rights therein.” /d. at 17a.
The court considered and overruled objections to the
adequacy of representation, finding that the class represen-
tatives would “fairly and adequately represent and protect the
interests of all class members, and not put any perceived
individual interests above those of the class.” /d. at 10a.

The Spencer court’s order approving the class sett:ement
released DuPont from any claims by a member of the
settlement class, “whether known, unknown, foreseen, un-
foreseen, patent or latent, . . . arising from, resulting from, or
in any manner relating to polybutylene plumbing systems.”
Id. at 19a-20a. The release further enjoined members of the
settlement class from “commencing or participating in any
action, either directly, individually, representatively, or in any
capacity, against [DuPont] arising from, resulting from or in
any manner relating to polybutylene plumbing systems or the
subject of the above-captioned Action.”

* The record before the Alabama court included an estimate from an
independent notice expert that the paid advertising program reached 96.6
percent of adults nationwide and that they were exposed to the message an
average of 4.9 times. Notice included (1) direct mailing of over 2.5
million notices to individuals; (2) a massive national campaign consisting
of national network and cable television advertisements, radio advertise-
ments, an extensive print campaign that targeted national, regional, and
local publications, and the mailing of information kits to numerous
membership organizations with interests related to polybutylene piumb-
ing; and (3) a non-paid or “earned media” campaign, such as press re-
leases and video news releases. Two supplemental notice programs were
conducted in 1999 and 2004.

4 The Alabama court “reserve[d] jurisdiction, without affecting the
finality of this Order, over: (a) implementation of this Settiement Agree-
ment: (b) enforcing and administering this Order as against any of the
Settling Parties or Settlement Class Members; (c) enforcing and admin-
istering the Settlement Agreement, including any releases in connection
therewith; and (d) otter matters related or ancillary to the foregoing.”
App. 20a.

6

5. The Tennessee court similarly conducted a fairness
hearing on the Cox settlement, giving that class settlement
final approval on November 17, 1995. The Cox court
carefully addressed the due process issues. The court char-
acterized the notice program as “singularly comprehensive
and creative,’ found that it provided the best notice
practicable under the circumstances, and specifically ruled
that it “met and exceeded” minimum due process require-
ments. App. 36a, 40a. With respect to adequacy of repre-
sentation, the court held that “Cox Class Counsel maintained
the highest standards of professionalism and advocacy in
protecting and promoting the interests of the Class throughout
the prosecution and settlement of this case.” /d. at 45a.

B. The Proceedings Below.

In 1997, petitioner purchased a used mobile home
containing polybutylene plumbing. On January 19, 2000, he
filed the instant federal court action in the United States
District Court for the Eastern District of Texas. The origina!
complaint alleged conspiracy, strict liability, negligence,
and breach of implied warranties arising from polybuty-
lene plumbing—claims resolved and released in Cox and
Spencer.”

After respondents moved to dismiss for lack of subject
matter jurisdiction because petitioner’s claims were based
solely on state law, petitioner alleged violations of RICO and
the Due Process Clause of the United States Constitution.°

On June 27, 2000, the Fifth Circuit decided Summit
Properties, Inc. v. Hoechst Celanese Corp., 214 F.3d 556 (Sth

> Petitioner could have, but did not, file a claim under the Cox and
Spencer settlements seeking recovery for his alleged plumbing damages.

° Petitioner also added a Lanham Act claim, which he voluntarily dis-
missed when respondents pointed out that consumers have no standing to
sue under the Lanham Act.

J

Cir. 2000), a case brought against respondents by some of the
same counsel representing petitioner, and which alleged
RICO violations involving polybutylene plumbing. Applying
Holmes v. Securities Investor Protection Corp., 503 U.S. 258
(1992), which held that a RICO plaintiff must show that
defendant proximately caused its injury, the Summit court
dismissed the case because plaintiffs had not alleged reliance

on any misrepresentations by respondents. Summit, 214 F.3d
at 560.

Respondents moved to dismiss petitioner’s RICO claims in
this case because they were identical to those dismissed in
Summit. Respondents also moved to dismiss petitioner’s due
process claim as barred by the Rooker-Feldman doctrine. On
October 2, 2000, attempting to avoid the holding of Summit,
petitioner amended his RICO claims to include an allegation
of reliance on alleged misrepresentations by respondents.

Petitioner filed a RICO statement of facts on March 15,
2001. That statement demonstrated that—contrary to his
earlier allegations—petitioner had not relied on any misrep-
resentations by respondents; indeed, he was unaware of any
representations by respondents. Respondents immediately
renewed their motions to dismiss based on Summit.

Petitioner’s effort to contrive a RICO claim evolved further
during an October 17, 2001 hearing, during which he argued
that he could avoid the obligation to allege reliance and
proximate cause, as required by Holmes and Summit, by
instead pursuing equitable remedies. The particular “equit-
able remedy” he sought was monetary: “disgorgement” of
respondents’ “‘past profits.”

With respect to the due process allegations, although no
version of his complaint specified a § 1983 claim, petitioner’s
June 14, 2001 brief asserted a violation of 42 U.S.C. § 1983
based on his allegations that “Defendants conspired to

8

corruptly use state courts to enforce a legal process that
violated Plaintiffs due process rights.” R. 930.

C. The Decisions Below.

On March 24, 2002, the district court dismissed petitioner’s
§ 1983 claim for lack of subject matter jurisdiction. The
court noted that, under the Rooker-Feldman doctrine, “Plain-
tiff cannot seek to have this Court review the final judgments
of the Cox and Spencer Courts.” Pet. App. 35. Although
“framed as a § 1983 claim,” the petitioner’s claim was, in
effect, a collateral attack on the state court judgments fore-
closed by Rooker-Feldman. Id.

With respect to petitioner’s RICO claims, the district court
held that it had subject matter jurisdiction, but found that
petitioner’s claims failed under Holmes and Summit because
petitioner had not alleged reliance on any misrepresentation.
Id. at 45. The district court also held that petitioner was not
exempted from showing reliance vy claiming that disgorge-
ment was an appropriate remedy.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
affirmed. The court held that petitioner’s due process claims
under § 1983 “indisputably denounce the express findings” of
the Cox court on the due process issues and “would result in
setting aside a state court judgment,” id. at 10, and therefore
were barred by the Rooker-Feldman doctrine.

The Fifth Circuit also rejected petitioner’s effort to plead a
claim under § 1983, finding that petitioner had “attempted to
circumvent the Rooker-Feldman doctrine by intertwining a
groundless § 1983 claim with the state court findings.” /d.
at 15. Because petitioner’s claims against the private defend-
ants did not involve state action, they could not form the
predicate for a constitutional claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

9

With respect to petitioner’s claim seeking disgorgement
under RICO, the Court of Appeals assumed, arguendo, thet a
private party could obtain equitable relief under RICO
without showing reliance on a misrepresentation. The court
nevertheless found that disgorgement was not available as a
remedy to petitioner under the facts of this case because
18 U.S.C. § 1964(a) “establishes that equitable remedies
[under RICO] are available only to prevent ongoing and
future conduct.” /d. at 17. Because respondents had ceased
marketing the products at issue years earlier, petitioner
“fail[ed] to argue that disgorgement would ‘prevent and
restrain’ similar RICO violations in the future.” /d.

REASONS FOR DENYING 7HE PETITION

The petition presents no question warranting this Court’s
review. Applying this Court’s prescribed standards for judg-
ing due process in the context of a class action (as set forth in
Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797 (1985)), the
Cox and Spencer courts that approved the class settlements
specifically considered and rejected the due process argu-
ments that petitioner now raises. The judgments of those
courts are entitled to full faith and credit. Because peti-
tioner’s § 1983 claim directly attacks those judgments, it is
barred by the Rooker-Feldman doctrine. Moreover, peti-
tioner’s § 1983 claim against respondents cannot succeed
because petitioner cannot show “state action.” Private parties
do not become “state actors” because they persuaded a state
court to make what petitioner asserts is an erroneous due
process determination. There are no circuit decisions in
conflict with the decision of the Fifth Circuit on either of
these points.

Petitioner’s effort to present an issue to this Court
regarding the precise scope of one form of equitable relief
potentially available under RICO is equally unavailing.
Assuming arguendo that disgorgement is available under

10

RICO to private plaintiffs, the plain language of the RICO
statute demonstrates that disgorgement is unavailable as an
equitable remedy under RICO where it would not prevent
future misconduct. The only other circuit court to address a
similar issue reached an identical conclusion. Even on the
narrow, fact-bound issue that petitioner proffers, there is no
conflict in the circuits.

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT PROPERLY FOUND
THAT PETITIONER’S § 1983 CLAIM CANNOT
BE SUSTAINED.

Petitioner bases his § 1983 claim on the theory that the
private defendants in the class actions—respondents here—
deprived him of due process by leading the state courts into
erroneous decisions on the due process issue. Pet. 7, 18. The
Fifth Circuit rejected this claim. First, it found that peti-
tioner’s request to have a federal court review the Tennessee
and Alabama state courts’ determinations that due process
had been afforded absent class members was barred by the
Rooker-Feldman doctrine. Second, the Fifth Circuit found
that petitioner could not present a colorable claim under
§ 1983 because private defendants are not rendered state
actors merely by seeking and obtaining judgments from
state courts.

Both conclusions are clearly correct and are not in conflict
with the law of any other circuit.

A. The Rooker-Feldman Doctrine Bars Petitioner’s
§ 1983 Claim Because The Underlying Class
Action Settlements Afforded Class Members
Due Process.

1. The Rooker-Feldman doctrine recognizes a fundamental
principle: The grant of federal question jurisdiction to the
federal district courts does not give those courts the authority
and jurisdiction to sit in review of the final judgments of state

re

1]

courts, even on federal questions.’ Rooker v. Fid. Trust Co..
263 U.S. 413, 415 (1923). To the contrary, state courts are
bound by federal law; state appellate courts are fully capable
of evaluating violations of federal and constitutional law.
Therefore, only the United State Supreme Court may under-
take federal review of final state court judgments, even those
involving federal and constitutional law. See D.C. Ct. App. v.
Feldman, 460 U.S. 462, 482 (1983) (holding that ‘a United
States District Court has no authority to review final
judgments of a state court in judicial proceedings”). Even ifa
state court is alleged to have decided a matter of federal
constitutional law incorrectly, the Rooker-Feldman doctrine
forecloses review in the lower federal courts.®

The Fifth Circuit here, following the lead of the Seventh
Circuit in Kamilewicz v. Bank of Boston Corp., 92 F.3d 506,
510-11 (7th Cir. 1996), and the Eighth Circuit in Snider vy.
City of Excelsior Springs, Mo., 154 F.3d 809, 812 (8th Cir.
1998), held that Rooker-Feldman bars precisely this type of
collateral attack on a class action judgment. Pet. App. 8. See
also In re General Motors Corp. Pick-Up Truck Fuel Tank
Products Liab. Litig., 134 F.3d 133, 143 (3d Cir. 1998)
(refusing to examine the due process afforded to class mem-
bers in a Louisiana class action because “Rooker-Feldman
bars exactly this sort of intermediate appellate review of state

” The Rooker-Feldman doctrine is a jurisdictional bar—unlike res
judicata or full faith and credit, which are traditionally raised as affirm-
ative defenses. Where a claim is subject to dismissal both as a matter of
res judicata and Rooker-Feldman, Rooker-Feldman typically provides
the grounds for dismissal because as a jurisdictional doctrine, it is ad-
dressed first.

* See ITT Corp. v. Intelnet Int'l Corp., 366 F.3d 205, 212 (3d Cir.
2004) (whether the state court’s decision was correct as a matter of federal
law is irrelevant under Rooker-Feldman); GASH Assocs. y. Vill of Rose-
mont, 995 F.2d 726, 728 (7th Cir. 1993) (Rooker-Feldman applies even
when state court’s judgment is erroneous and based on unconstitutional
procedures) (citing Ritter v. Ross, 992 F.2d 750, 755 (7th Cir. 1993)).

| 12

court judgments”). There is no circuit that has held or
suggested to the contrary.

Here, the Cox and Spencer courts, applying Shutts, each
examined whether absent class members had been afforded
due process in the form of adequate notice and adequate
representation by both the class representatives and class
counsel. For example, the Spencer court ruled that “the
means of disseminating the [class] notice was the best prac-
ticable, reasonably calculated, under all the circumstances, to
apprise interested parties of the pendency of the Action and
their rights therein.” App. 17a. It also considered objections
to the adequacy of representation, finding that the class
representatives would “fairly and adequately represent and
protect the interests of all class members, and not put any
perceived individual interests above those of the class.” /d.
at 10a.

The Cox court likewise addressed the due process issues.
The Cox court described notice to class members as
“singularly comprehensive,” found that it provided the best
notice practicable under the circumstances, and held that it
“met and exceeded” minimum due process requirements. /d.
at 36a, 40a. With respect to adequacy of representation, the
court held that “Cox Class Counsel maintained the highest
standards of professionalism and advocacy in protecting and
promoting the interests of the Class throughout the prose-
cution and settlement of this case.” /d. at 45a.

In light of these determinations, the Fifth Circuit had little
difficulty concluding that petitioner’s claim that the Cox court
violated absent class members’ due process rights was barred
by Rooker-Feldman. Petitioner’s allegations that absent class
members were deprived of due process “indisputably de-
nounce the express findings of the Cox state court. Because
his challenge would result in setting aside a state court
judgment, Rooker-Feldman seems to bar federal review of
these findings.” Pet. App. 10.

13

2. Petitioner asserts that the Fifth Circuit erred by using
the Rooker-Feldman doctrine to give the judgments of the
Cox and Spencer courts greater preclusive effect than they
would be given in the states where they were rendered.” Pet.
4-5. Petitioner asserts that he would be free to raise a due
process challenge to those judgments in any state court; i.e.,
that full faith and credit would not bar a due process
challenge to those judgments. On that basis, he contends that
the Fifth Circuit improperly applied the Rooker-Feldman
doctrine to preempt his right to have a federal court examine
whether the state court had, in fact, afforded absent class
members due process. /d.

Petitioner is wrong both in his description of the Fifth
Circuit’s holding and on the law.

The Fifth Circuit did not give the judgment of the Cox
court a broader effect under the Rooker-Feldman doctrine
than it would have as a matter of full faith and credit, as
petitioner claims. To the contrary, the Court of Appeals
recognized at the outset that “the Rooker-Feldman doctrine
only applies insofar as a state court judgment merits full faith
and credit.”'" Pet. App. 8-9. This, in turn, required the court
issuing the judgment to have considered the relevant due
process issues. See id. at 9 (noting that the court must ensure
that “class members have received adequate notice, repre-
sentation, and an opportunity to opt-out” and that the
settlement judgment has no preclusive effect if the court does
not comply with these procedures). Thus, the Fifth Circuit

” A court entertaining a collateral attack on a state court judgment must
determine, before granting preclusive effect to that judgment, whether the
law of the state in which the judgment was rendered would grant pre-
clusive effect to the judgment. See Marrese v. Am. Acad. of Orthopaedic
Surgeons, 470 U.S. 373,381 (1985).

'° The full faith and credit principle is set forth in Article IV, Section |
of the United States Constitution and codified in the Full Faith and Credit

Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1738.

14

did not give the state court judgment broader binding effect
under Rooker-Feldman than it would have as a matter of full
faith and credit.

Moreover, petitioner makes a fundamental mistake in
assuming that the Cox court’s due process determinations
would be subject to collateral attack in state court on due
process grounds. Pet. 10. To the contrary, the law is clear
that if the court presiding over a class settlement conducted
the due process inquiry mandated by this Court’s cases,
including Shutts—as both the Cox and Spencer courts did
here—the state court’s determination that the class could
properly bind absent class members is entitled to full faith
and credit. Its determination is not subject to second-
guessing by any subsequent court.'' Significantly, each of
the several state courts that has considered whether the Cox
class action settlement and ensuing judgment is entitled to
full faith and credit, notwithstanding efforts to mount
coliateral due process attacks on that judgment, has rejected
such challenges.

It is the responsibility of the seft/ement court to determine
whether absent class members were afforded due process.
See generally Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Epstein, 516
U.S. 367 (1996). As this Court made clear in Matsushita, a
“judgment entered in a class action, like any other judgment
entered in a state judicial proceeding, is presumptively
entitled to full faith and credit under the express terms of the
Act.” /d. at 374. In that case, this Court found that the state
court judgment approving the settlement should be afforded
full faith and credit. The Court did so by seferencing the
findings of the Delaware courts on the due » -cess issues,

'' If petitioner were correct, then no class settlement would ever be
effective: parties seeking to bring claims already resolved by a prior class
settlement could simply claim that the presiding court had erred in judging
the adequacy of notice or class representation.

OO EE ee eee

15

rather than by independently determining whether due
process requirements had been met. /d. at 378-79,'?

As long as the state court in which the class action was
pending had procedures in place to protect absent class
members’ due process rights, Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32.
42-43 (1940), its judgment and express determination that the
class was properly certified and notified is entitled to full
faith and credit. See Grimes v. Vitalink Communications
Corp., 17 F.3d 1553, 1558 (3d Cir. 1994) (rejecting absent
class members’ collateral attack on the adequacy of repre-
sentation because opportunity to appeal within state court
system and United States Supreme Court “granted all the
process that was due”); Nottingham Partners v. Trans-Lux
Corp., 925 F.2d 29, 33 (Ist Cir. 1991) (objections to
determinations of certifying court had to be remedied on
appeal to state supreme court or United States Supreme
Court, rather than by recourse to the “federal courts in the
vain pursuit of back-door relief’); Fine v. Am. Online, Inc..
743 N.E.2d 416, 420 (Ohio Ct. App. 2000) (“{mJodern
constitutional jurisprudence requires that the absent class
members’ rights to due process be protected not by
substantive collateral review, bw, rather, by the application of

? It is only in those circumstances, typified by Amchem Products, Inc.
v. Windsor, 521 U.S; 591 (1997), where some specific subclass, such as a
class of future claimants, cannot receive notice, participate in the case, or
be fairly represented by those who do appear in the litigation, that sig-
nificant due process questions may arise.

This is not such a case, despite petitioner’s assertion that the Cox and
Spencer class representatives could not adequately represent him because
he was a “future class member.” Pet. 6. While petitioner apparently
believes that “future class member” is the magic phrase that triggers the
due process concerns discussed in Amchem, this case does not present the
Situation presented in Amchem. Petitioner is not a member of a discrete
subclass of persons whose claims had not yet arisen, who could not
receive notice, and whose interests could not be adequately represented by
those narties that did participate in the case.

nd

16

appropriate procedures in the certifying court”). Here, the
Cox and Spencer courts had such procedures in place to
protect the due process rights of absent class members.”

Therefore, contrary to petitioner's assertions and assump-
tions (Pet. 12), a settlemem: court’s explicit determination that
due process has been afforded to all class members cannot
be collaterally challenged. See Epstein v. MCA, Inc., 179
F.3d 641, 648 (9th Cir. 1999); Grimes, 17 F.3d at 1558;
Nottingham, 925 F.2d at 33. Where that court conducts the
proper due process inquiry, absent class members’ due
process rights to notice and adequate representation are
protected not by collateral review of the state court’s
judgment in a federal district court or the courts of another
state, but rather by appeal within the state court system, with
ultimate federal review in the United States Supreme Court.'*

'' In asserting that the settlement courts’ treatment of absent class
members raises serious due process issues in this case, petitioner cites
Shutts, Amchem, and Ortiz v. Fibreboard Corp., 527 U.S. 815 (1999).
Pet. 13, 19. But those cases did not involve a collateral attack on, but
rather a direct appeal of, a class action judgment. Indeed, Shutts empha-
sizes that it is the certifying court that is charged with protecting the rights
of absent class members. See Shutts, 472 U.S. at 809.

'* Petitioner’s claim that he did not personally receive notice of the Cox
and Spencer settlements does not change the analysis. This Court long
ago explained in Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S.
306 (1950), that actual notice is not required in every instance. To the
contrary, what due process requires is “notice reasonably calculated,
under all the circumstances, to apprise interested parties of the pendency
of the action and afford them an opportunity to present their objections.”
Id. at 314. Mullane and its progeny established that due process requires
no more than notice that is reasonable and appropriate given “the
practicalities and peculiarities of the case.” /d.

Moreover, the nature of notice in a class action setting assumes that
actual notice might not be received by some potential parties in interest.
The premise of the class action is that those parties who are not reached
by notice, and who do not appear in the action, share common interests
with those who do appear, either as class representatives or otherwise.

17

Petitioner also asserts that he is free to collaterally attack
the Cox and Spencer settlements because he was not a party
to those cases. Pet. 6, 15. This argument ignores the funda-
mental purpose of the class action mechanism. As this Court
recognized in Shutts, the essence of the modern class action is
the ability to bind absent class members, provided that due
process requirements are satisfied. See Shutts, 472 U.S. at
811-12 (state court may exercise jurisdiction over non-
resident members of plaintiff class as long as the court
provides minimal procedural due process protection in the
form of notice, an opportunity to be heard and participate, and
a right to opt out from the class); see also Hansberry, 311
U.S. at 40-41 (class action is exception to the rule that one
cannot be bound by judgment in personam in a litigation
unless one was made a party in the traditional sense).

Therefore, as petitioner himself concedes, the issue
whether he should be deemed a “party” to the Cox settlement
depends on “whether the state court obtained jurisdiction over
absent class members by applying procedural rules mandated
by Tennessee law and the Constitution.” Pet. 17. However.
petitioner fails to acknowledge that the Cox and Spencer
courts already made this determination. Therefore, this is not
a matter for the federal courts to decide in the first instance,
let alone to decide by way of review of the state court
determination. Indeed, allowing a federal district court to
review a state court’s determination that due process had been
afforded absent class members is precisely the type of federal
court review of state court judgments barred by the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine.

See Shutts, 472 U.S. at 809. Therefore, even if notice does not reach
particular individuals, many others, with virtually identical interests and
incentives (as determined by the court), will have received actual notice
and can represent the interests of those parties who did not receive notice.

18

Although petitioner cites a number of decisions in which
Rooker-Feldman was held not to apply on the particular facts
of the case (Pet. 13-17), none of those cases involve the
guestion presented here: Whether in the guise of a § 1983
claim alleging due process violations, a lower federal court
may review a state court’s judgment that determined that
class certification was proper because all due process
considerations were met.

B. Petitioner’s § 1983 Claim Fails Because There
Is No State Action.

The Fifth Circuit also; examined petitioner's § 1983
“claim” on the merits, paying close attention to whether
petitioner could show the requisite “state action.” After
conducting that examination, the Fifth Circuit recognized
petitioner's § 1983 claim as a contrivance. Specifically, the
Fifth Circuit concluded Richard’s “blatant noncontormity
with the requirements of § 1983 ... suggests that he has
merely cast his complaint in the form of a civil rights action
in an attempt to circumvent Rooker-Feldman.” Pet. App. 11.
See also id. at 15. (°R.chard has attempted to circumvent the
Rooker-Feldman doctrine by intertwining a groundless
§$ 1983 claim with the state court findings.”) Indeed, in his
multiple complaints in the district court, petitioner did not cite
§ 1983, much less attempt to plead facts sufficient io describe
a cause of action under § 1983.

To allege a cause of action under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, a
plaintiff must show that the defendant is a “state actor,” e.,
that the defendant acted “under color of state law.” Pet. App.
11 (citing this Court’s cases). In this case, the Fifth Circuit
applied the uncontroversial principle that a private party does
not become a “state actor” merely by causing a court to take
an unlawful or unconstitutional action. /d. at 14. Rather,
applying the precedents of this Court—including Lugar v.
Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922 (1982), and Dennis. vy.

19

Sparks, 449 U.S. 24, 28 (1980) —the Fifth Circuit held that
only if a court official (i.e., state employee) consciously and
jointly participates with a private party in a single scheme can
it be said that the private party’s actions are “state action.”
Merely “resorting to the courts and being on the winning side
of a lawsuit does not make a party a co-conspirator or a joint
actor with the judge.” Pet. App. 14, quoting Sparks, 449 U.S.
at 28.

In the face of these precedents and elementary principles,
petitioner offers an “innocent agent” theory, pursuant to
which he argues that liability should be imposed if a private
party causes a state employee to deprive someone of his or
her civil rights. Pet. 18. In support of his “innocent agent”
theory, petitioner points to 18 U.S.C. § 2(b), which statutorily
imposes criminal liability for causing a crime to be
committed. Petitioner then cites three criminal law decisions
that he says recognize the “innocent agent” principle in
implementing that statutory directive. See United States vy.
Rashwan, 328 F.3d 160 (4th Cir. 2003) (criminal case arising
out of fraudulent immigration documents); United States v.
Lester, 363 F.2d 68 (Sth Cir. 1966) (criminal civil rights
prosecution}; United States v. Smith, 584 F.2d 731 (Sth Cir.
1978) (violation of firearms record-keeping regulations).
Suffice it to say that the criminal law statute on which
petitioner relies has no application to civil liability under
§ 1983.

Petitioner has not identified any conflict among the Cir-

o, $$ : - ; .
cults.” Instead, he is complaining about a consistent refusal
by the federal courts and this Court to export a specific,
statutory criminal law principle to civil cases.

'S Smith (which petitioner relies upon as applying the innocent agent
theory, aibeit in the context of a criminal case) is itself a Fifth Circuit
decision, thus demonstrating that Fifth Circuit law is fully consistent with
the law of other Circuits on this point.

20

Petitioner asserts that this case involves duplicity. Peti-
tioner says that “corrupt class counsel” deceived and manip-
ulated the state court judges in the Cox and Spencer cases,
thus transforming class counsel—private parties—into state
actors. Pet. 18. To accept the theory that a private party’s
improper actions become state action if the private party uses
wrongful means in persuading a state court judge to agree
with its position would render meaningless the standards of
joint participation (by state officials and private parties) that
this Court established in cases such as Lugar and Sparks.
Under those precedents, there is simply no constitutional
remedy under § 1983 for the actions of private pariies.

Petitioner’s second theory of state action (raised for the
first time in his petition) is that “[a]pproval of a settlement by
a state court constitutes ‘state action.” Pet. 18-19. This as-
sertion, while true enough, does not advance petitioner’s
argument. Clearly, state court judges are state actors; yet
petitioner did not bring his claims against any state judicial
officials. The question here is whether the respondents, who
are not state employees, are properly deemed state actors.
Absent some joint action with the state court officials, they
remain private parties.

Finally, petitioner asserts (for the first time in his petition)
that the record in the Cox settlement “raises the substantial
possibility of judicial malfeasance (bribery).” Petitioner
makes his bald assertion of judicial corruption without any
factual reference or support.'° See ‘id. at 7. It is conceivable

'© Petitioner’s new claims of bribery were not raised in his pleadings
below and expressly conflict with his previous descriptions of the role
played by the Cox court. For example, in his second amended comple‘nt,
petitioner alleged that Shell’s counsel “concealed frora the Cox court” the
fact that it took conflicting positions before another court. R. 508. In his
reply brief before the Fifth Circuit, petitioner alleged “improprieties,
irregularities, and misconduct through the actions of an innocent agent; in
this case, the state judge.” Likewise, petitioner states that “[t]he innocent

ee ee ee

Oe ee UE ren Yee Ne ae EE Se aE ee

21

that a class member could state a valid § 1983 claim by
alleging that class counsel bribed a state couri judge to
approve a collusive class settlement—making class counsel
and the judge prties to a single corrupt scheme—and that
such a claim of collusion and corruption would not be barred
by the Rooker-Feldman doctrine. But petitioner has not
alleged any facts in this case, in either the district court or the
Fifth Circuit, to support the assertion of bribery and cor-
ruption that he casually tenders in his petition.

Il. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S DISMISSAL OF
PETITIONER’S RICO CLAIM RAISES NO
QUESTIONS THAT WARRANT REViEW BY
THIS COURT.

The RICO issue that petitioner seeks to posture for this
Court’s review concerns the precise circumstances under
which disgorgement of profits might be available to a private
party as an equitable remedy under RICO. The availability of
particular forms of equitable relief turns in most instances on
the factual setting in which relief is sought, as it does here.
Indeed, the novelty and narrowness of the question that
petitioner seeks to present to this Court is highlighted by the
number of suppositions and assumptions that the Fifth Circuit
had to indulge even to reach the disgorgement question that
petitioner tenders.'’ For example, the Fifth Circuit assumed

agent here, on one theory of the litigation, was the state court judge.
‘Corrupt class counsel willfully deceived and manipulated the judge into
approving a coliusive settlement ....” Pet. 18. Petitioner’s new bribery
allegation appears to be nothing more than his latest attempt to recast his
§ 1983 claim in order to maneuver around the binding effect of the Cox
and Spencer settlements.

” In addition to assuming that equitable remedies are available to civil
RICO plaintiffs, it is necessary to make the following highly questionable

22

(without evaluating whether it were true) that equitable
remedies are available to a private litigant under RICO. See
Scheidler v. Nat'l Org. for Women, Inc., 537 U.S. 393 (2003)
(reserving on that question).'* It further had to assume that
the remedy would be available to a party that could not allege
that it had been proximately injured by any conduct of
defendants. But even giving petitioner the benefit of the
doubt Gn these questions (as the court below did), the Fifth
Circuit decided the disgorgement issue in accordance with the
plain language of the statute, and in a manner consistent with
the decision of the only other Court of Appeals that has
addressed a similar issue (as well as a recent district court
decision)."”

legal assumptions in order to even consider petitioner’s disgorgement
argument:

(1) a private party alleging fraud in connection with a RICO
claim need not meet the proximate cause requirements imposed by
Holmes vy. Securities Investor Protection Corp., 503 U.S. 258
(1992), if he seeks an equitable remedy;

(2) the rule in (1) above would apply even if the plaintiff were
seeking a monetary equitable remedy, such as disgorgement;

(3) a private party (as opposed to public party) is entitled to seek
a windfall monetary remedy of disgorgement of profits; and

(4) as a matter of election of remedies, a plaintiff can obtain
disgorgement after already receiving damages for the same transac-
tions via a class settlement (and a defendant can be forced to
disgorge profits after already hiazying paid damages).

'’ Although petitioner asserts that this case provides the Court with ar
opportun'ty to address whether equitable remedies are available to private
litigants under RICO (Pet. 20, 25), toth the district and appellate courts
below declined to rule on the issue. ‘stead, they assumed (in petitioner’s
favor) that such remedies might be available, but found they were not
available to petitioner under the circzmstances of this case.

Petitioner’s RICO claims are also foreclosed for two additional rea-
sons. First, petitioner’s RICO causes o* action are based on the allegation
that respondents formed a “Polybutylene Group” that censpired “to

E 23

Petitioner maintains that he may use the equitable remedy
of disgorgement to recover the respondents’ past profits
obtained from the alleged RICO violations, notwithstanding
that the class action settlements already provided for damages

fraudulently advertise and sell polybutylene systems that they knew to be
unsuitable for potable water.” R. 502. These allegations are identical
to the factual allegations upon which the Cox and Spencer class actions
were premised. Thus, these claims were released as part of the Cox and
Spencer settlements. App. 19a, 24a.

Second, petitioner’s RICO claims are precluded by the docirine of res
judicata, “{U)nder elementary principles of prior adjudication a judgment
in a properly entertained class action is binding on class members in any
subsequent litigation.” Cooper v. Fed. Reserve Bank of Richmond, 467
U.S. 867, 874 (1984); see also Nevada v. United States, 463 U.S. 110,
129-30 (1983) (“[T]he doctrine of res judicata provides that when a final
judgment has been entered on the merits of a case, ‘[i]t is a finality as to
the claim or demand in controversy, concluding parties and those in
privity with them, not only as to every matter which was offered and
received to sustain or defeat the claim or demand, but as to any other
admissible matter which might have been offered for that purpose’”’)
(quoting Cromwell v. County of Sac, 94 U.S. 351, 352 (1876)).

The elements of res judicata are clearly met in this instance. Final
judgments were entered in the state court proceedings. See App. B, C.
Petitioner is a member of the classes defined in Cox and Spencer and,
therefore, bound by those judgments. See Restatement (Second) of
Judgments § 41, cmt. e (1980) (“[When] . . . a class action is authorized
under rules such as Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,
persons within the class are bound by a judgment for or against the
representative”). Petitioner’s RICO claims arise from the same transac-
tions and occurrences alleged in Cox and Spencer. See Norman y.
Niagara Mohawk Powe- Corp., 873 F.2d 634 (2d Cir. 1989) (RICO
claims barred by res judicata where based on same transactions and
occurrences alleged in prior civil rights suits); Car Carriers, Inc. v. Ford
Motor Co., 789 F.2d 589 (7th Cir. 1986) (RICO claims barred by res
judicata where based on same transactions and occurrences alleged in
prior antitrust action). The Cox and Spencer plaintiffs could have brought
RICO claims in the state court, see Tafflin v. Levitt, 493 U.S. 455 (1990)
(state courts possess jurisdiction to consider civil RICO ciaims), but chose
not to do so. Other class members have no right to bring them now.

24

arising out of the same alleged transactions. Even assuming
that petitioner is correct, “ie court below nonetheless
correctly rejected petitioner , argument based on the scope of
equitable remedies availat ie under RICO. The Fifth Circuit
noted that 18 U.S.C. § 1964(a) extends RICO jurisdiction
only “to prevent and restrain” violations of RICO and held
that “Section 1964(a) establishes that equitable remedies are
available only to prevent ongoing and future conduct.” Pet.
App. 17. Thus, even if equitable relief is sometimes available
as a private remedy, and disgorgement is among the forms of
equitable relief that might be available in some circumstances
to a private party, it is not available here. The court below
observed that “Richard concedes that the Appellees no longer
market the plumbing systems.” /d. Indeed, DuPont ceased
selling Delrin” to other manufacturers for use in polybutylene
plumbing in 1989. Thus, in this case, disgorgement cannot
serve the purpose of preventing future misconduct.

Contrary to petitioner’s assertion that there is a conflict in
the circuits on this issue (Pet. 20), the Fifth Circuit’s
reasoning is fully consistent with that of the Second Circuit in
United States v. Carson, 52 F.3d 1173, 1181 (2d Cir. 1995),
the only other federal appellate decision to have addressed the
scope of a possible disgorgement remedy under § 1964(a).7°
The court below noted that “when disgorgement is sought for
the purpose of compensating a party for past injuries, the
{Second Circuit] held that the plain language of § 1964 bars
relief.” Pet. App. 17. The Fifth Circuit specifically stated

© The United States District Court for the District of Columbia
recently criticized Carson in United States v. Philip Morris USA, Inc., 321
F. Supp. 2d 72, 77 (D.D.C. 2004) (citing Carson, 52 F.3d at 1182).
Nevertheless, the Philip Morris court ultimately ruled that the proper
inquiry in determining whether disgorgement is available is whether the
plaintiff presented “a showing of a reasonable likelihood of future RICO
violations.” /d. at 76. Even under this formulation, there is no reasonable
likelihood of continuing RICO violations with respect to a product that
has not been manufactured for nearly a decade.

ee

Le ee ee

25

that “[w]e agree with the Second Circuit's reasoning in
Carson.” Id.

Referring to Carson, petitioner asserts that the court below
“twisted the decision it purported to follow” because the
defendant in Carson was a retired union official and
respondents here “are big corporations, perpetual in duration
and constantly obtaining new revenue.” Pet. 20-22.
However, the size and income of respondents is irrelevant to
the question of whether disgorgement will halt a continuing
series of RICO violations. As in Carson. the significant fact
here is that the acts petitioner complains of occurred many
years ago and petitioner has not alleged any facts showing
continuation of the alleged conduct. Indeed, all of the alleged
RICO predicate acts described in petitioner's most recent
amended complaint occurred between 1978 and 1987. R.
499-501. Equitable relief would not put a halt to continuing
misconduct in this case, because there is none. The Fifth
Circuit’s decision is fully consistent with the language of
§ 1964(c) and with the only other circuit court to have
considered a similar issue.

26

CONCLUSION

The petition should be denied.

KATHLEEN TAYLOR SOOY
CLIFTON S. ELGARTEN
LUTHER ZEIGLER

TRACY A, ROMAN
CROWELL & MORING LLP
1001 Pennsylvania Avenue,
N.W.

Washington, DC 20004
(202) 624-2500

ANDREW C. SCHIRRMEISTER III

JIMC. EZER

SCHIRRMEISTER DIAZ-
ARRASTIA, LLP

Pennzoil Place — South Tower

711 Louisiana, Suite 2150

Houston, TX 77002

(713) 228-3545

Respectfully submitted,

RAYMOND MICHAEL RIPPLE
Counsel of Record

DONNA L. GOODMAN

E. 1. DU PONT DE NEMOURS AND
COMPANY

Legal D-7012

1007 Market Street

Wilmington, DE 19898

(302) 773-3072

Attorneys for Respondent
E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company

August 13, 2004

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1667%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
