# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — United States v. Ingram

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1636%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 544 U.S. 1026

## Text

() SUR ae Ue

031510 may 6 2004

No.
‘eee.

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
Vv.

ROHAN INGRAM

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THEODORE B. OLSON
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
CHRISTOPHER A. WRAY
Assistant Attorney General
JOHN F. DE PUE
—————Atttorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the phrase “convicted in any court” in the
statute that prohibits felons from possessing firearms
or ammunition, 18 U.S.C. 922(g)(1), includes convictions
entered by the courts of foreign countries.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinions below ......ssseerree

Jurisdiction Sp ielenionndchalembeninadeinguepenienmpyenveieutinotogppeabenin
Statutory and regulatory provisions involved .........++0+

Statement

Reasons for granting the petition ........ssssesseeessseneensees

ESS ERLE DAE CTA M AON OO

Appendix A ....s.ccc.coccccscerososssossorecscnesecesecssessersseossssssnsssssssavsosece

Appendix B

Appendix C ....c.secocsorccescosorsscervsencersosessesessceconsesaneseserenseroncsceooes

Appendix D .

Appendix E

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Small v. United States, cert. granted, No. 03-750
(2004)

United States v. Concha, 233 F.3d 1249 (10th Cir.

2000)
United States v. Winson, 793 F.2d 754 (6th Cir.
1986)

Statutes and regulation
18 U.S.C. 371

18 U.S.C. 921

18 U.S.C. 921(a)(20) .

18 U.S.C. 922(a)(1)(A)

18 U.S.C. 922(g)

18 U.S.C. 922(g)(1)

18 U.S.C. 924(n) .... s

22 U.S.C. 2278

27 C.F.R. 478.11

(iI)

IV

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 1956, 90th Cong., 2d Sess.
CRD : wicsicicssasissscansccisnnsenbanadestenibscubavessnintitetinehiineadbintaciedawane 5

S. Rep. No. 1501, 90th Cong., 2d Sess. (1968) .......ssessseees 5

Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited States

No.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER

Vv.

ROHAN INGRAM

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Solicitor General, on behalf of the United States
of America, respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari
to review the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The amended opinion of the court of appeals on
rehearing (App., infra, la-14a) is reported at 342 F.3d
89. The original opinion of the court of appeals (App.,
infra, 15a-27a) is unreported. The opinion of the dis-
trict court (App., infra, 30a-40a) is reported at 164 F.
Supp. 2d 310.

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered its original judgment on
August 27, 2003. The court issued an amended opinion
on rehearing on January 7;-2004. The petition for re-
hearing was denied on February 11, 2004 (App., infra,

(1)

2

4la-42a). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
inder 28 U.S.C, 1254(1).

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 922(g) of Title 18, United States Code,
provides, in relevant part, that:

It shall be unlawful for any person—

(1) who has been convicted in any court of, a crime
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding
one year;

* * * * *

to ship or transport in interstate or foreign com-
merce, or possess in or affecting commerce, any
firearm or ammunition; or to receive any firearm or
ammunition which has been shipped or transported
in interstate or foreign commerce.

18 U.S.C. 922(g)(1). The statute further provides that
the phrase “crime punishable by imprisonment for a
term exceeding one year” does not include

(A) any Federal or State offenses pertaining to
antitrust violations, unfair trade practices, re-
straints of trade, or other similar offenses relating
to the regulation of business practices, or

(B) any State offense classified by the laws of the
State as a misdemeanor and punishable by a term of
imprisonment of two years or less.

18 U.S.C. 921(a\(20).

A regulation issued by the Bureau of Alcohol, To-
bacco, Firearms, and Explosives provides, in relevant
part, that the phrase “crime punishable by imprison-

3

ment for a term exceeding 1 year” embraces “[a]ny
Federal, State or foreign offense for which the maxi-
mum penalty, whether or not imposed, is capital
punishment or imprisonment in excess of 1 year.”
27 C.F.R. 478.11.

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Northern District of New York, respon-
dent was convicted of conspiracy to export defense
articles designated on the United States munitions list,
in violation of 18 U.S.C. 371 and 22 U.S.C. 2778; con-
spiracy to engage in interstate travel with the intent to
engage in the illegal acquisition of firearms, in violation
of 18 U.S.C. 371, 922(a)(1)(A) and 924(n); and being a
felon in possession of a firearm, in violation of 18 U.S.C.
922(g)(1). He was sentenced to 78 months’ imprison-
ment, to be followed by a three-year term of supervised
release and a $300 special assessment. App., infra, 2a-
3a. The court of appeals reversed the felon in posses-
sion conviction, but affirmed in all other respects. Jd. at
14a.

1, In February 2001, respondent was arrested in
-Plattsburg, New York, on suspicion of entering the
United States illegally. App., infra, 2a. A search of
respondent’s hotel room uncovered 13 handguns. Jd. at
32a.

Respondent was charged with conspiracy to export
defense articles designated on the United States muni-
tions list, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 371 and 22 U.S.C.
2778; conspiracy to engage in interstate travel with the
intent to engage in the illegal acquisition of firearms, in
violation of 18 U.S.C. 371, 922(a)(1)(A) and 924(n); and
being a felon in possession of a firearm, in violation of 18
U.S.C. 922(g)(1). The latter statute makes it unlawful

4

“for any person * * * who has been convicted in any
court of, a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term
exceeding one year” to ship, transport, possess, or
receive, in interstate or foreign commerce, any firearms
or ammunition. 18 U.S.C. 922(g)(1). The predicate
felony relied upon by the government was respondent’s
1996 conviction in Canada for use of a firearm in the
commission of an indictable offense. App., infra, 2a.

2. Respondent moved to dismiss the felon-in-posses-
sion count on the ground that a conviction in a foreign
court cannot serve as the predicate for a violation of
Section 922(g)(1). The district court denied respon-
dent’s motion to dismiss. The court reasoned that the
phrase “‘in any court’ within the statute was not in-
tended by the Congress to be limited only to convic-
tions by the courts of the United States or of a state or
political subdivision thereof.” App., infra, 38a (quoting
United States v. Winson, 793 F. 2d 754, 757 (6th Cir.
1986)). The court could “perceive no reason why the
commission of serious crimes elsewhere in the world is
likely to make the person so convicted less dangerous
than he whose crimes were committed within the
United States.” Jbid. (quoting Winson, 793 F:2d-at
758).

Following a jury trial, petitioner was convicted on all
counts, including the violation of 18 U.S.C. 922(g)(1).

3. The court of appeals reversed the Section
922(g)(1) conviction, but affirmed in all other respects.
App., infra, la-14a, 15a-27a. The court noted that 18
U.S.C. 921 identifies the types of crimes that constitute
predicate offenses for a Section 922(g)(1) conviction.
That definitional provision expressly excludes from the
phrase “crime punishable by imprisonment for a term
exceeding one year” “any Federal or State offenses
pertaining to antitrust violations, unfair trade practices,

5

restraints of trade, or other similar offenses relating to
the regulation of business practices.” 18 U.S.C.
921(a)(20). Agreeing with the Tenth Circuit’s decision
in United States v. Concha, 233 F.3d 1249, 1254 (2000),
the court of appeals observed that, if “in any court”
were read to include foreign courts, then “we would be
left with the anomalous situation * * * whereby a
person convicted of an antitrust violation in a foreign
country would not be allowed to possess a firearm, yet a
person convicted of the same antitrust violation in the
United States would be allowed to possess a firearm.”
App., infra, 8a.

Turning to the legislative history, the court placed
heavy reliance on a Senate Report that stated: “The
definition of the term ‘felony,’ as added by the com-
mittee * * * means a Federal crime punishable by a
term of imprisonment exceeding 1 year and in the case
cf State law, an offense determined by the laws of the
State to be a felony.” App., infra, 10a (quoting S. Rep.
No. 1501, 90th Cong., 2d Sess. 31 (1968)). The court
read that report as evidencing that Congress “unmis-
takably contemplated felonies, for purposes of the Gun
Control Act, to include only convictions in federal and
state courts.” Jd. at 10a-lla. Because the Senate
version of the legislation was not passed, the court
placed weight on the Conference Report’s silence on
the matter. Jd. at 1la-12a (citing H.R. Conf. Rep. No.
1956, 90th Cong, 2d Sess. 4, 8, 28-29 (1968)).

Finally, the court of appeals reasoned that, had Con-
gress contemplated the coverage of foreign convictions,
it likely would have been troubled by the potential
inclusion of convictions obtained by procedures and
methods that did not conform to minimum standards of
justice. In the court’s view, “(t]he complete silence of
the statute on such questions further contributes to the

6

sense that its meaning is not clear and that it may be
appropriate to look beyond its words alone for guidance
as to its meaning.” App., infra, 13a.

4. After the government filed a petition for rehear-
ing and suggestion for rehearing en banc, the court
amended its decision to add a footnote briefly dis-
agreeing with the government’s reading of the relevant
legislative history. App., infra, 12a-18a n.7.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

On March 29, 2004, this Court granted review in
Small v. United States, No. 03-750, to decide whether
the phrase “convicted in any court” in 18 U.S.C.
922(¢)(1), includes convictions entered by the courts of
foreign countries. The government’s petition in this
case seeks review of the same question presented in
Small. Therefore, this case should be held pending the
Court’s decision in Small v. United States, No. 03-759,
and disposed of in accordance with the Court’s decision
in that case.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be held
pending this Court’s decision in Small v. United States,
No. 03-750, and disposed of in accordance with the
Court’s decision in that case.

_ Respectfully submitted.

THEODORE B. OLSON
Solicitor General

CHRISTOPHER A. WRAY
Assistant Attorney General

JOHN F.. DE PUE
Attorney

MAY 2004

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Docket No. 02-1095
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, APPELLEE

VU.

KIRK GAYLE, ANN-MARIE RICHARDSON, DEFENDANTS
ROHAN INGRAM, DEFENDANT-APPELLANT

Decided: Aug. 27, 2003
Amended: Jan. 7, 2004

Before: MCLAUGHLIN, LEVAL, KATZMANN, Circuit
Judges.

KATZMANN, Circuit Judge:

Before us is a discrete issue of first impression for
this Circuit: whether the “convicted in any court” ele-
ment of the federal statute which prohibits the pos-
session of a firearm by a person convicted in any court
of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term
exceeding one year, 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(1), includes
convictions entered in foreign courts. Specifically, we
consider whether defendant-appellant Rohan Ingram’s
1996 conviction in Canada constitutes a predicate
offense under § 922(g)(1). As a matter of statutory in-
terpretation, we conclude that foreign convictions

(la)

2a

cannot constitute predicate offenses under § 922(g)(1).
We find the statutory language to be ambiguous and,
upon consulting the statute’s legislative history, con-
clude that Congress did not intend “in any court” to
include foreign courts. We therefore reverse the judg-
ment of conviction with respect to the felon-in-posses-
sion count and remand for resentencing on the sur-
viving counts. |

BACKGROUND

We recite only those facts relevant to whether
Ingram’s prior conviction in Canada qualifies as a
predicate offense for his felon-in-possession conviction.

. On February 16, 2001, Ingram was arrested in a
Plattsburgh, New York, hotel upon suspicion that he
had entered illegally the United States from Canada.
Soon after his arrest, authorities discovered a large
quantity of firearms stored in boxes in his hotel room.’
Ingram subsequently was charged in a superseding
indictment with conspiracy to export defense articles
designated on the United States Munitions List in
violation of 18 U.S.C. § 371, 22 U.S.C. § 2778; conspiracy
to travel with intent to engage in the illegal acquisition
of firearms, in violation of 18 U.S.C. §§ 371,
922(a)(1)(A), 924(n); and being a felon in possession of a
firearm, in violation of 18 U.S.C. §§ 922(g)(1), 924(a)(2).

The predicate offense underlying the felon-in-pos-
session count was Ingram’s 1996 conviction in Canada
for violating § 85(1)(a) of the Canadian Criminal Code
for use of a firearm in the commission of an indictable
offense. The defense moved to dismiss the felon-in-
possession count, maintaining that, because his prior

1 Per order also filed on this date, we affirm the District
Court’s ruling not to suppress the firearms evidence.

3a

felony conviction did not occur in the United States,
Ingram was not a felon within the meaning of the
statute. Acknowledging a circuit split on the issue, the
Government argued that Ingram’s conviction in Canada
constitutes a conviction “in any court” under the terms
of § 922(g)(1). After receiving briefing from the parties,
the District Court denied Ingram’s motion to dismiss.
United States v. Ingram, 164 F. Supp.2d 310 (N.D. N.Y.
2001). Following the reasoning of the Sixth and Fourth
Circuits, the District Court concluded that § 922(g¢)(1)’s
“in any court” language unambiguously includes foreign
courts. Jd. at 316-17; see United States v. Atkins, 872
F.2d 94, 96 (4th Cir.1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 836
(1989); United States v. Winson, 793 F.2d 754, 757-59
(6th Cir. 1986). Accordingly, the court held that In-
gram’s prior Canadian conviction was a proper predi-
cate offense for § 922(g)(1). Id.

On October 5, 2001, a jury found Ingram guilty on all
three counts. Ingram moved for a judgment of acquit-
tal, which was denied on February 5, 2002. On January
30, 2002, Ingram was sentenced to 78 months’ im-
prisonment, to be followed by a three year term of su-
pervised release, and a speciai assessment of $300.

2 Ingram also argued below that his Canadian conviction was
not a felony within the meaning of § 922(g)(1) because he received
a sentence of less than one year. The District Court rejected this
argument because what matters, for purposes of § 922(g), is the
maximum possible sentence for the offense. Ingram, 164 F. Supp.
2d at 317. Because the maximum possible sentence for Ingram’s
Canadian offense “is a term of imprisonment ~f fourteen years,”
the court concluded that this conviction “is, therefore, ‘a crime
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year.’” Id.
(quoting 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(1)). Ingram does not challenge this
ruling.

4a

DISCUSSION

The lone issue for us to resolve is whether Ingram’s
1996 conviction in a Canadian court can satisfy the
element of the statute that requires a conviction “in any
court.” The federal felon-in-possession statute was
enacted as part of the Gun Control Act of 1968, Pub. L.
No. 90-618, 82 Stat. 1213 (1968). That statute currently
provides, in relevant part,

(g) It shall be unlawful for any person-

(1) who has been convicted in any court of, a crime
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding
one year;

to ship or transport in interstate or foreign com-
merce, or possess in or affecting commerce, any
firearm or ammunition; or to receive any firearm or
ammunition which has been shipped or transported
in interstate or foreign commerce.

18 U.S.C. § 922 (emphasis added). Ir 1996, Ingram was
convicted for violating § 85(1)(a) of the Canadian
Criminal Code, which criminalizes the use of a firearm
in commission of an indictable offense and carries a
maximum imprisonment term of fourteen years. If this
conviction were entered by an American court, it would
qualify as a predicate offense under § 922(g)(1) because
the crime was “punishable by imprisonment for a term
exceeding one year.” The determinative issue there-
fore becomes whether the phrase, “convicted in any
court,” refers solely to convictions by courts in the
United States or includes foreign convictions as well.
Because a question of statutory interpretation is at
issue, we review the District Court’s conclusion de

5a

novo. See United States v. Rood, 281 F.3d 353, 355 (2d
Cir. 2002).

Although we have yet to decide this issue, our sister
Circuits that have addressed the scope oi § 922(g)(1)’s
“in any court” language have differed in their inter-
pretation. The Third, Fourth, and Sixth Circuits, along
with two district courts, have concluded that “in any
court” encompasses foreign courts. See United States
v. Small, 333 F.3d 425, 427-28 (3d Cir. 2003); Atkins,
872 F.2d at 96; Winson, 793 F.2d at 757-59; United
States v. Jalbert, 242 F. Supp. 2d 44, 47 (D. Me. 2003);
United States v. Chant, Nos. CR 94-1149, CR 94-0185,
1997 WL 231105, at *1-*3 (N.D. Cal. Apr. 4, 1997). Con-
versely, the Tenth Circuit has invoked the rule of lenity
to conclude that § 922(g¢)(1)’s “in any court” language is
sufficiently ambiguous that foreign convictions cannot
serve as predicate offenses for sentencing enhance-
ments under 18 U.S.C. § 924(e). See United States v.
Concha, 233 F.3d 1249, 1253-56 (10th Cir. 2000).°

Statutory construction begins with the plain text
and, if that text is unambiguous, it usually ends there as
well. United States v. Velastegui, 199 F.3d 590, 594 (2d
Cir. 1999) (citations omitted), cert. denied, 531 U.S. 823
(2000); see Connecticut Nat'l Bank v. Germain, 503

3 At issue in Concha was a sentencing enhancement pursuant
to 18 U.S.C. § 924(e) (increasing the sentence for a felon-in-posses-
sion conviction if the defendant has three previous convictions for
violent felonies or serious drug offenses). Section 924(e) directs
the sentencing judge to § 922(g)(1) to determine whether the con-
victions trigger the enhancement. The defendant in Concha had
four prior felony convictions, three of which occurred outside the
United States. Therefore, even though Concha did not involve a
challenge to a felon-in-possession conviction, the scope of
§ 922(g)(1)’s “in any court” language was the central issue.

6a

U.S. 249, 254 (1992) (“When the words of a statute are
unambiguous, then, this first canon is also the last: ‘ju-
dicial inquiry is complete.’” (quoting Rubin v. United
States, 449 U.S. 424, 430 (1981))). Most of the courts
that have found “in any court” to include foreign courts
have stressed the unambiguously expansive nature of
the phrase. See, e.g., Atkins, 872 F.2d at 96 (“‘Any’ is
hardly an ambiguous term, being all-inclusive in na-
ture.”); United States v. Small, 183 F. Supp. 2d 755, 760
(W.D. Pa. 2002) (“‘Any’ court means any court and
there is nothing in the plain and unambiguous language
of Section 922 indicating that Congress intended to
exclude foreign convictions from such a broad term.”),
aff’d, 333 F.3d 425 (3d Cir. 2003); Jalbert, 242 F. Supp.
2d at 47 (“The phrase ‘any court,’ on its face,
encompasses foreign as well as domestic courts.”). In
addition, several courts have interpreted “in any court”
as including military courts. See United States v. Mar-
tinez, 122 F.3d 421, 424 (7th Cir. 1997); United States v.
MacDonald, 992 F.2d 967, 969-70 (9th Cir. 1993);
United States v. Lee, 428 F.2d 917, 920 (6th Cir. 1970),
cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1017 (1972). In reaching this
holding, the Seventh Circuit likewise emphasized the
broad, all-encompassing nature of the phrase, “in any
court”:

Looking to section 922(g)(1), we find nothing that
defines or limits the term “court,” only a require-
ment that a conviction have been “in any court” in
the course of prohibiting possession of firearms by a
felon. Certainly “any court” includes a military
_ eourt, the adjective “any” expanding the term
“court” to include “one or some indiscriminately of
whatever kind”; “one that is selected without re-

7a

striction or limitation of choice”; or “all.” Webster’s
Third New International Dictionary, 1991.

Martinez, 122 F.3d at 424.

Our textual analysis of what constitutes a predicate
offense under § 922(g)(1), however, does not end with
the words “in any court.” “The text’s plain meaning can
best be understood by looking to the statutory scheme
as a whole and placing the particular provision within
the context of that statute.” Saks v. Franklin Covey
Co., 316 F.3d 337, 345 (2d Cir. 2003); see Auburn Hous.
Auth. v. Martinez, 277 F.3d 138, 144 (2d Cir. 2002)
(“The meaning of a particular section in a statute can be
understood in context with and by reference to the
whole statutory scheme, by appreciating how sections
relate to one another.”). Congress defined at § 921, the
Gun Control Act’s general statutory definition section,
the sort of crimes that constitute predicate offenses for
a § 922(¢)(1) conviction:

The term “crime punishable by imprisonment for a
term exceeding one year” does not include-

(A) any Federal or State offenses pertaining to
antitrust violations, unfair trade practices, re-
straints of trade, or other similar offenses relating
to the regulation of business practices, or

(B) any State offense classified by the laws of the
State as a misdemeanor and punishable by a term of
imprisonment of two years or less.

18 U.S.C. § 921(20) (emphasis added). In finding
§ 922(g¢)(1) ambiguous, the Tenth Circuit relied heavily
on this statutory definition, which it believed would
cause a “peculiar result” if “in any court” included for-

Sa

eign courts. Concha, 233 F.3d at 1254. As the Tenth
Circuit noted, if “in any court” were to include foreign
courts, “we would be left with the anomalous situation
that fewer domestic crimes would be covered than
would be foreign crimes.” /d. Like the Tenth Circuit,
we do not understand the logic whereby a person
convicted of an antitrust violation in a foreign country
would not be allowed to possess a firearm, yet a person
convicted of the same antitrust violation in the United
States would be allowed to possess a firearm. Jd. At
the very least, § 921(a)(20) injects doubt as to whether
Congress intended foreign convictions to serve as
predicate offenses. See Marvel Characters Inc. v.
Simon, 310 F.3d 280, 290 (2d Cir. 2002) (explaining our
reluctance to read a statute in a way that could “lead to
anomalous or unreasonable results” (quotation marks
omitted)).

Even without reference to the problem resulting
from the inclusion of foreign business offenses as pre-
dicate offenses, the phrase “in any court” is ambiguous.
For instance, it is not unreasonable to understand
statutory references to officers, officials, and acts of
government as meaning those of the particular gov-
ernment. Just as a state statute authorizing “a police
officer” to make an arrest probably means a police
officer of that state and does not include police officers—
from foreign nations, so it is reasonable to read
§ 922(g)(1)’s reference to convictions as referring to
convictions by courts in the United States. On the
other hand, there are legitimate reasons why, de-
pending upon the crime, Congress might have wished
to include foreign convictions. For example, Congress
might well have intended that a violent crime com-

9a

mitted abroad such as murder qualify as a predicate
offense under § 922(¢)(1).

To resolve this textual ambiguity, we may consult
legislative history and other tools of statutory con-
struction to discern Congress’s meaning. See United
States v. Nelson, 277 F.3d 164, 186 (2d Cir.), cert.
denied, 5387 U.S. 835 (2002).4 Resort to authoritative
legislative history may be justified where there is an
open question as to the meaning of a word or phrase in
a statute, or where a statute is silent on an issue of
fundamental importance to its correct application. As a
general matter, we may consider reliable legislative his-
tory where, as here, the statute is susceptible to diver-
gent understandings and, equally important, where
there exists authoritative legislative history that as-
sists in discerning what Congress actually meant. Cf.,
e.g., Oklahoma v. New Mexico, 501 U.S. 221, 235 n.5,
(1991); Cheung v. United States, 213 F.3d 82, 92 (2d Cir.
2000). |

4 We recognize that a regulation published by Bureau of
Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (“ATF”) defines the
statutory provisions as including “[a]Jny Federal, State or foreign
offense for which the maximum penalty, whether or not imposed, is
capital punishment or imprisonment in excess of 1 year.” 27
C.F.R. § 478.11 (2003). We requested briefing from the parties on
the import of this regulation, and both parties agreed that ATF’s
interpretation of a criminal statute is not entitled to deference
under Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council,
Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984), even if the statute were ambiguous.
Moreover, ATF made clear in its explanation that its inclusion of
foreign convictions was based solely on the fact that courts have so
construed the statute. See Commerce in Firearms and Ammuni-
tion, 53 Fed. Reg. 10,480, 10,481 (Mar. 31, 1988). But ATF’s regu-
lation and the court decisions on which it relied reflected no
awareness of the legislative materials discussed below showing
that Congress did not intend to include foreign convictions.

10a

The most enlightening source of legislative history is
generally a committee report, particularly a conference
committee report, which we have identified as among
“the most authoritative and reliable materials of
legislative history.” Disabled in Action of Metropolitan
New York v. Hammons, 202 F.3d 110, 124 (2d Cir.
2000). In the words of one former legislator and judge,
a committee report is “the most useful document in the
legislative history.” Abner Mikva, quoted in Robert A.
Katzmann, “Summary of Proceedings,” in Judges and
Legislators 171 (R. Katzmann, ed.) (1988). Another
former legislator and United States Circuit Judge has
explained: “[M]y understanding of most of the legis-
lation I voted on was based entirely on my reading of
its language and, where necessary, on explanations
contained in the accompanying [committee] report.”
James L. Buckley, Statutory Interpretation and the
Uses of Legislative History, Hearing before the Sub-
committee on Courts, Intellectual Property, and the
Administration of Justice of the House Committee on
the Judiciary, 101 Cong. 2d Sess., Serial No. 107, at 21
(Apr. 19, 1990).

The Senate Judiciary Committee Report on the Gun
Control Act strongly suggests that Congress did not
intend foreign convictions to serve as predicate offenses
under the felon-in-possession statute. The Senate
Report explained the meaning of the term “felony” as
follows: “The definition of the term ‘felony’, as added
by the committee is a new provision. It means a
Federal crime punishable by a term of imprisonment
exceeding 1 year and in the case of State law, an offense
determined by the laws of the State to be a felony.” S.
Rep. No. 90-1501, at 31 (1968). The Senate Report thus
unmistakably contemplated felonies, for purposes of the

lla

Gun Control Act, to include only convictions in federal
and state courts.

Further evidence of Congress’s intent to exclude
foreign convictions comes from the Conference Report.
Next to the statute itself, the most persuasive evidence
of congressional intent comes from a conference report
“[blecause a conference report represents the final
statement of terms agreed to by both houses.” Dis-
abled in Action of Metropolitan New York, 202 F.3d at
124 (quoting Ry. Labor Executives Ass’n v. ICC, 735
F.2d 691, 701 (2d Cir. 1984)); see Auburn Hous. Auth.,
277 F.3d at 147. The Conference Report adopted the
House version of the bill, which contained the statute’s
current language, “crime punishable by imprisonment
for a term exceeding one year.” H.R. Conf. Rep.
90-1956, at 4, 8, 28-29 (1968), reprinted in 1968
U.S.C.C.A.N. 4426, 4428. Notably, however, the Con-
ference Report voiced no disagreement with the Senate
Report’s explicit limitation of felonies to include only
convictions attained in domestic courts. Rather, the
Conference Report merely chose the phrase, “crime
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1
year,” over the word, “felony.”” Moreover, nowhere did

5 The Conference Report provides,

Definition of crimes.—Both the House bill and the Senate
amendment prohibited the shipment, transportation, and re-
ceipt of firearms and ammunition by persons under indictment
for, or convicted of, certain crimes. . . . A difference between
the House bill and the Senate amendment which recurs in the
provisions described above is that the crime referred to in the
House bill is one punishable by imprisonment for more than 1
year and the crime referred to in the Senate Amendment is a
crime of violence punishable as a felony.

12a

the Conference Report make any mention of foreign
convictions serving as predicate offenses.°

In sum, two reliable portions of the Gun Control
Act’s legislative history—the Senate Report and the
Conference Report—lead us to conclude that Congress
did not intend foreign convictions to serve as a pre-
dicate offense for § 922(g¢)(1). Accordingly, we interpret
§ 922(¢)(1)’s ambiguous “convicted in any court” lan-
guage as only including convictions attained in domestic
courts and not extending to Ingram’s Canadian
conviction.’

. . . « The conference substitute adopts the crime referred to
in the House bill (one punishable by imprisonment for more
than l year)... .

H.R. Conf. Rep. 90-1956, at 28-29 (1968), reprinted in 1968
U.S.C.C.A.N, 4426, 4428.

6 We note that some federal courts considering this question
have concluded that the legislative history offered no useful insight
into the intended reach of the “in any court” language. See Atkins,
872 F.2d at 96 (“[T)he scant legislative history of 18 U.S.C. § 922

. offer{s] no illumination as to Congress’ intended meaning nor
serve(s] to inject any uncertainty into the subject language.”);
Winson, 793 F.2d at 757 (concluding that $ 922’s legislative history
does not suggest Congress intended to limit the statute to domes-
tic convictions). It appears, however, that these courts were un-
aware of the illuminating reports cited above, which to our knowl-
edge have never been cited in a judicial opinion on the question and
were not cited in the briefs furnished to us.

7 In its petition for rehearing, while acknowledging that
§ 922(g) is part of the Gun Control Act of 1968, Pub. L. 90-618,
section 922(g), 82 Stat. 1213, the Government would have us ignore
the relevant legislative activity and history surrounding the Act
itself and instead focus solely on previous versions of the felon-in-
possession statute. In seeking to understand what Congress
meant by an ambiguous term of § 922(g) of the Gun Control Act,
we think it would be unreasonable to disregard the authoritative

l3a

We recognize that there are good reasons why Con-
gress might have wanted to include at least certain
types of foreign convictions. As this legislation repre-
sents a Congressional response to the danger posed by
firearms in the hands of convicted felons, see Barrett v.
United States, 423 U.S. 212, 218 (1976); S. Rep. No. 90-
1501, at 22 (1968); S. Rep. 90-1097, at 19, Congress
might reasonably have wished to prohibit firearms pos-
session at least by those convicted in foreign countries
of crimes of violence. At the same time, however, had
Congress contemplated extending the prohibition to
persons having foreign convictions, it would in all
likelihood have been troubled by the question whether
the prohibition should apply to those convicted by pro-
cedures and methods that did not conform to minimum
standards of justice and those convicted of crimes that
are anathema to our First Amendment freedoms, such
as convictions for failure to observe the commands of a
mandatory religion or for criticism of government. The
complete silence of the statute on such questions
further contributes to the sense that its meaning is not
clear and that it may be appropriate to look beyond its
words alone for guidance as to its meaning.

In reaching our decision, we note that Congress may
seek to enact gun control legislation that criminalizes
firearm possession by individuals with foreign felony
convictions. If Congress were to do so, however, it
would need to speak more clearly than it has in
§ 922(¢)(1). Today, we only choose not to write into a

legislative history surrounding its enactment. We think (as also
noted in 1968 U.S.C.C.A.N. 4426) that S. Rep. 90-1501 and H.R.
Conf. Rep. 90-1856 are directly part of the legislative history of the
Gun Control Act of 1968.

l4a

statute a meaning that seems contrary to what Con-
gress intended.

CONC'LUSION

We have considered all of the defendant-appellant’s
arguments and, for the reasons stated above, we
REVERSE the judgment of conviction with respect to
the felon-in-possession count and REMAND for re-
sentencing on the remaining counts.

15a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Docket No. 02-1095
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, APPELLEE

Vv.

KIRK GAYLE, ANN-MARIE RICHARDSON, DEFENDANTS
ROHAN INGRAM, DEFENDANT-APPELLANT

Decided: Aug. 27, 2003

Before: MCLAUGHLIN, LEVAL, KATZMANN, Circuit
Judges.

KATZMANN, Circuit Judge:

Before us is a discrete issue of first impression for
this Circuit: whether the “convicted in any court” ele-
ment of the federal statute which prohibits the posses-
sion of a firearm by a person convicted in any court of a
crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding
one year, 18 U.S.C. § 922(g¢)(1), includes convictions
entered in foreign courts. Specifically, we consider
whether defendant-appellant Rohan Ingram’s 1996
conviction in Canada constitutes a predicate offense
under § 922(g)(1). As a matter of statutory interpreta-
tion, we conclude that foreign convictions cannot con-
stitute predicate offenses under § 922(g)(1). We find

16a

tne statutory language to be ambiguous and, upon
consulting the statute’s legislative history, conclude
that Congress did not intend “in any court” to include
foreign courts. We therefore reverse the judgment of
conviction with respect to the felon-in-possession count
and remand for resentencing on the surviving counts.

BACKGROUND

We recite only those facts relevant to whether
Ingram’s prior conviction in Canada qualifies as a pre-
dicate offense for his felon-in-possession conviction. On
February 16, 2001, Ingram was arrested in a Platts-
burgh, New York, hotel upon suspicion that he had
entered illegally the United States from Canada. Soon
after his arrest, authorities discovered a large quantity
of firearms stored in boxes in his hotel room.’ Ingram
subsequently wis charged in a superseding indictment
with conspiracy to export defense articles designated
on the United States Munitions List in violation of 18
U.S.C. § 371, 22 U.S.C. § 2778; conspiracy to travel with
intent to engage in the illegal acquisition of firearms, in
violation of 18 U.S.C. §§ 371, 922(a)(1)(A), 924(n); and
being a felon in possession of a firearm, in violation of 18
U.S.C. 88 922(g)(1), 924(a)(2).

The predicate offense underlying the feloi:-in-posses-
sion count was Ingram’s 1996 conviction in Canada for
violating § 85(1)(a) of the Canadian Crimina! Code for
use of a firearm in the commission of an indictable
offense. The defense moved to dismiss the felon-in-
possession count, maintaining that, because his prior
felony conviction did not occur in the United States,
Ingram was not a felon within the meaning of the

1 Per order also filed on this date, we affirm the District
Court’s ruling not to suppress the firearms evidence.

17a

statute. Acknowledging a circuit split on the issue, the
Government argued that Ingram’s conviction in Canada
constitutes a conviction “in any court” under the terms
of § 922(¢)(1). After receiving briefing from the parties,
the District Court denied Ingram’s motion to dismiss.
United States v. Ingram, 164 F. Supp. 2d 310 (N.D.
N.Y. 2001). Following the reasoning of the Sixth and
Fourth Circuits, the District Court concluded that
§ 922(2)(1)’s “in any court” language unambiguously in-
cludes foreign courts. Jd. at 316-17; see United States v.
Atkins, 872 F.2d 94, 96 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S.
836 (1989); United States v. Winson, 793 F.2d 754, 757-
59 (6th Cir. 1986). Accordingly, the court held that
Ingram’s prior Canadian conviction was a proper pre-
dicate offense for § 922(g)(1). Id.”

On October 5, 2001, a jury found Ingram guilty on all
three counts. Ingram moved for a judgment of acquit-
tal, which was denied on February 5, 2002. On January
30, 2002, Ingram was sentenced to 78 months’ imprison-
ment, to be followed by a three year term of supervised
release, and a special assessment of $300.

2 Ingram also argued below that his Canadian conviction was
not a felony within the meaning of § 922(g)(1) because he received
a sentence of less than one year. The District Court rejected this
argument because what matters, for purposes of § 922(g), is the
maximum possible sentence for the offense. Ingram, 164 F. Supp.
2d at 317. Because the maximum possible sentence for Ingram’s
Canadian offense “is a term of imprisonment of fourteen years,”
the court concluded that this conviction “is, therefore, ‘a crime
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year.’” Id.
(quoting 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(1)). Ingram does not challenge this
ruling.

18a

DISCUSSION

The lone issue for us to resolve is whether Ingram’s
1996 conviction in a Canadian court can satisfy the
element of the statute that requires a conviction “in any
court.” The federal felon-in-possession statute was
enacted as part of the Gun Control Act of 1968, Pub. L.
No. 90-618, 82 Stat. 1213 (1968). That statute currently
provides, in relevant part,

(g) It shall be unlawful for any person—

(1) who has been convicted in any court of, a crime
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding
one year;

to ship or transport in interstate or foreign com-
merce, or possess in or affecting commerce, any
firearm or ammunition; or to receive any firearm or
ammunition which has been shipped or transported
in interstate or foreign commerce.

18 U.S.C. § 922 (emphasis added). In 1996, Ingram was
convicted for violating § 85(1)(a) ‘of the Canadian Crimi-
nal Code, which criminalizes the use of a firearm in
commission of an indictable offense and carries a maxi-
mum imprisonment term of fourteen years. If this
conviction were entered by an American court, it would
qualify as a predicate offense under § 922(g¢)(1) because
the crime was “punishable by imprisonment for a term
exceeding one year.” The determinative issue there-
fore becomes whether the phrase, “convicted in any
court,” refers solely to convictions by courts in the
United States or includes foreign convictions as well.
Because a question of statutory interpretation is at
issue, we review the District Court’s conclusion de

19a

novo. See United States v. Rood, 281 F.3d 353, 355 (2d
Cir. 2002).

Although we have yet to decide this issue, our sister
Circuits that have addressed the scope of § 922(g)(1)’s
“in any court” language have differed in their inter-
pretation. The Third, Fourth, and Sixth Circuits, along
with two district courts, have concluded that “in any
court” encon:passes foreign courts. See United States
v. Small, 333 F.3d 425, 427-28 (8d Cir. 2003); Atkins,
872 F.2d at 96; Winson, 793 F.2d at 757-59; United
States v. Jalbert, 242 F. Supp. 2d 44, 47 (D. Me. 2003);
United States v. Chant, Nos. CR 94-1149, CR 94-0185,
1997 WL 231105, at *1-*3 (N.D. Cal. Apr. 4, 1997). Con-
versely, the Tenth Circuit has invoked the rule of lenity
to conclude that § 922(g)(1)’s “in any court” language is
sufficiently ambiguous that foreign convictions cannot
serve as predicate offenses for sentencing enhance-
ments under 18 U.S.C. § 924(e). See United States v.
Concha, 233 F.3d 1249, 1253-56 (10th Cir. 2000).°

Statutory construction begins with the plain text
and, if that text is unambiguous, it usually ends there as
well. United States v. Velastegui, 199 F.3d 590, 594 (2d
Cir. 1999) (citations omitted), cert. denied, 531 U.S. 823
(2000); see Connecticut Nat’l Bank v. Germain, 503

3 At issue in Concha was a sentencing enhancement pursuant
to 18 U.S.C. £ 924(e) (increasing the sentence for a felon-in-posses-
sion conviction if the defendant has three previous convictions for
violent felonies or serious drug offenses). Section 924(e) directs
the sentencing judge to § 922(g)(1) to determine whether the con-
victions trigger the enhancement. The defendant in Concha had
four prior feluny convictions, three of which occurred outside the
United States. Therefore, even though Concha did not involve a
challenge to a felon-in-possession conviction, the scope of
§ 922(g)(1)’s “in any court” language was the central issue.

20a

U.S. 249, 254 (1992) (“When the words of a statute are
unambiguous, then, this first canon is also the last:
‘judicial inquiry is complete.’” (quoting Rubin v. United
States, 449 U.S. 424, 430 (1981))). Most of the courts
that have found “in any court” to include foreign courts
have stressed the unambiguously expansive nature of
the phrase. See, e.g., Atkins, 872 F.2d at 96 (“‘Any’ is
hardly an ambiguous term, being all-inclusive in
nature.”); United States v. Small, 185 F’. Supp. 2d 755,
760 (W.D. Pa. 2002) (“‘Any’ court means any court and
there is nothing in the plain and unambiguous language
of Section 922 indicating that Congress intended to
exclude foreign convictions from such a broad term.”),
aff'd, 333 F.3d 425 (8d Cir. 2003); Jalbert, 242 F. Supp.
2d at 47 (“The phrase ‘any court,’ on its face,
encompasses foreign as well as domestic courts.”). In
addition, several courts have interpreted “in any court”
as including military courts. See United States v. Mar-
tinez, 122 F.3d 421, 424 (7th Cir. 1997); United States v.
MacDonald, 992 F.2d 967, 969-70 (9th Cir. 1993);
United States v. Lee, 428 F.2d 917, 920 (6th Cir. 1970),
cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1017 (1972). In reaching this
holding, the Seventh Circuit likewise emphasized the
broad, all-encompassing nature of the phrase, “in any
court”:

Looking to section 922(g¢)(1), we find nothing that
defines or limits the term “court,” only a require-
ment that a conviction have been “in any court” in
the course of prohibiting possession of firearms by a
felon. Certainly “any court” includes a military
court, the adjective “any” expanding the term
“couit” to include “one or some indiscriminately of
whatever kind”; “one that is selected without re-

2la

striction or limitation of choice”; or “all.” Webster’s
Third New International Dictionary, 1991.

Martinez, 122 F.3d at 424.

Our textual analysis of what constitutes a predicate
offense under § 922(g)(1), however, does not end with
the words “in any court.” “The text’s plain meaning can
best be understood by looking to the statutory scheme
as a whole and placing the particular provision within
the context of that statute.” Saks v. Franklin Covey
Co., 316 F.3d 387, 345 (2d Cir. 2003); see Auburn Hous.
Auth. v. Martinez, 277 F.3d 188, 144 (2d Cir. 2002)
(“The meaning of a particular section in a statute can be
understood in context with and by reference to the
whole statutory scheme, by appreciating how sections
relate to one another.”). Congress defined at § 921, the
Gun Control Act’s general statutory definition section,
the sort of crimes that constitute predicate offenses for
a § 922(g)(1) conviction:

The term “crime punishable by imprisonment for a
term exceeding one year” does not include-

(A) any Federal or State offenses pertaining to
antitrust violations, unfair trade practices, re-
straints of trade, or other similar offenses relating
to the regulation of business practices, or

(B) any State offense classified by the laws of the
State as a misdemeanor and punishable by a term of
imprisonment of two years or less.

18 U.S.C. § 921(20) (emphasis added). In finding
§ 922(g¢)(1) ambiguous, the Tenth Circuit relied heavily
on this statutory definition, which it believed would
cause a “peculiar result” if “in any court” included for-

22a

eign courts. Concha, 233 F.3d at 1254. As the Tenth
Circuit noted, if “in any court” were to include foreign
courts, “we would be left with the anomalous situation
that fewer domestic crimes would be covered than
would be foreign crimes.” /d. Like the Tenth Circuit,
we do not understand the logic whereby a person
convicted of an antitrust violation in a foreign country
would not be allowed to possess a firearm, yet a person
convicted of the same antitrust violation in the United
States would be allowed to possess a firearm. Jd. At
the very least, § 921(a)(20) injects doubt as to whether
Congress intended foreign convictions to serve as
predicate offenses. See Marvel Characters Inc. v.
Simon, 310 F.3d 280, 290 (2d Cir. 2002) (explaining our
reluctance to read a statute in a way that could “lead to
anomalous or unreasonable results” (quotation marks
omitted)).

Even without reference to the problem resulting
from the inclusion of foreign business offenses as pre-
dicate offenses, the phrase “in any court” is ambiguous.
For instance, it is not unreasonable to understand ~
statutory references to officers, officials, and acts of
government as meaning those of the particular govern-
ment. Just as a state statute authorizing “a police
officer” to make an arrest probably means a police
officer of that state and does not include police officers
from foreign nations, so it is reasonable to read
§ 922(¢)(1)’s reference to convictions as referring to
convictions by courts in the United States. On the
other hand, there are legitimate reasons why, depend-
ing upon the crime, Congress might have wished to
include foreign convictions. For example, Congress
might well have intended that a violent crime com-

23a

mitted abroad such as murder qualify as a predicate
offense under § 922(g)(1).

To resolve this textual ambiguity, we may consult
legislative history and other tools of statutory con-
struction to discern Congress’s meaning. See United
States v. Nelson, 277 F.3d 164, 186 (2d Cir. 2002), cert.
denied, 123 S. Ct. 145 (2002).* Resort to authoritative
legislative history may be justified where there is an
open question as to the meaning of a word or phrase in
a statute, or where a statute is silent on an issue of
fundamental importance to its correct application. As a
general matter, we may consider reliable legislative
history where, as here, the statute is susceptible to
divergent understandings and, equally important,
where there exists authoritative legislative history that
assists in discerning what Congress actually meant.
Cf., e.g., Oklahoma v. New Mexico, 501 U.S. 221, 235
n.5 (1991); Cheung v. United States, 213 F.3d 82, 92 (2d
Cir. 2000).

4 We recognize that a regulation published by Bureau of
Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (“ATF”) defines the
statutory provisions as including “[{aJny Federal, State or foreign
offense for which the maximum penalty, whether or not imposed, is
capital punishment or imprisonment in excess of 1 year.” 27
C.F.R. § 478.11 (2003). We requested briefing from the parties on
the import of this regulation, and both parties agreed that ATF’s
interpretation of a criminal statute is not entitled to deference
under Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council,
Inc., 467 U.S. 887 (1984), even if the statute were ambiguous.
Moreover, ATF made clear in its explanation that its inclusion of
foreign convictions was based solely on the fact that courts have so
construed the statute. See Commerce in Firearms and Ammuni-
tion, 53 Fed. Reg. 10,480, 10,481 (Mar. 31, 1988). But ATF’s regu-
lation and the court decisions on which it relied reflected no
awareness of the legislative materials discussed below showing
that Congress did not intend to include foreign convictions.

24a

The most enlightening source of legislative history is
generally a committee report, particularly a conference
committee report, which we have identified as among
“the most authoritative and reliable materials of
legislative history.” Disabled in Action of Metropolitan
New York v. Hammons, 202 F.3d 110, 124 (2d Cir.
2000). In the words of one former legislator and judge,
a committee report is “the most useful document in the
legislative history.” Abner Mikva, quoted in Robert A.
Katzmann, “Summary of Proceedings,” in Judges and
Legislators 171 (R. Katzmann, ed.) (1988). Another
former legislator and United States Circuit Judge has
explained: “[Ml]y understanding of most of the legis-
lation I voted on was based entirely on my reading of
its language and, where necessary, on explanations con-
tained in the accompanying [committee] report.” James
L. Buckley, Statutory Interpretation and the Uses of
Legislative History, Hearing before the Subcommittee
on Courts, Intellectual Property, and the Admini-
stration of Justice of the House Committee on the
Judiciary, 101 Cong. 2d Sess., Serial No. 107, at 21 (Apr.
19, 1990).

The Senate Judiciary Committee Report on the Gun
Control Act strongly suggests that Congress did not
intend foreign convictions to serve as predicate offenses
under the felon-in-possession statute. The Senate
Report explained the meaning of the term “felony” as
follows: “The definition of the term ‘felony’, as added
by the committee is a new provision. It means a Fed-
eral crime punishable by a term of imprisonment ex-
ceeding 1 year and in the case of State law, an offense
determined by the laws of the State to be a felony.”
S. Rep. No. 90-1501, at 31 (1968). The Senate Report
thus unmistakably contemplated felonies, for purposes

25a

of the Gun Control Act, to include only convictions in
federal and state courts.

Further evidence of Congress’s intent to exclude
foreign convictions comes from the Conference Report.
Next to the statute itself, the most persuasive evidence
of congressional intent comes from a conference report
“(plecause a conference report represents the final
statement of terms agreed to by both houses.” Divs-
abled in Action of Metropolitan New York, 202 F.3d at
124 (quoting Ry. Labor Executives Ass’n v. ICC, 735
F.2d 691, 701 (2d Cir. 1984)); see Auburn Hous. Auth.,
977 F.3d at 147. The Conference Report adopted the
House version of the bill, which contained the statute’s
current language, “crime punishable by imprisonment
for a term exceeding one year.” H.R. Conf. Rep.
90-1956, at 4, 8, 28-29 (1968), reprinted in 1968
U.S.C.C.A.N. 4426, 4428. Notably, however, the Con-
ference Report voiced no disagreement with the Senate
Report’s explicit limitation of felonies to include only
convictions attained in domestic courts. Rather, the
Conference Report merely chose the phrase, “crime
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1
year,” over the word, “felony.”° Moreover, nowhere did

5 The Conference Report provides,

Definition of crimes.—Both the House bill and the Senate
amendment prohibited the shipment, transportation, and re-
ceipt of firearms and ammunition by persons under indictment
for, or convicted of, certain crimes. . . . A difference between
the House bill and the Senate amendment which recurs in the
provisions described above is that the crime referred to in the
House bill is one punishable by imprisonment for more than 1
year and the crime referred to in the Senate Amendment is a
crime of violence punishable as a felony.

26a

the Conference Report make any mention of foreign
convictions serving as predicate offenses.”

In sum, two reliable portions of the Gun Control
Act’s legislative history—the Senate Report and the
Conference Report—lead us to conclude that Congress
did not intend foreign convictions to serve as a pre-
dicate offense for § 922(¢)(1). Accordingly, we interpret
§ 922(¢)(1)’s ambiguous “convicted in any court” lan-
guage as only including convictions attained in domestic
courts and not extending to Ingram’s Canadian con-
viction.

We recognize that there are good reasons why
Congress might have wanted to include at least certain
types of foreign convictions. As this legislation repre-
sents a Congressional response to the danger posed by
firearms in the hands of convicted felons, see Barrett v.
United States, 423 U.S. 212, 218 (1976); S. Rep. No. 90-
1501, at 22 (1968); S. Rep. 90-1097, at 19, Congress

. The conference substitute adopts the crime referred to
in ‘the House bill (one punishable by imprisonment for more
than 1 year). .

H.R. Conf. Rep 90-1986, at 28-29 (1968), reprinted in 1968
U.S.C.C.A.N., 4425, 4428.

6 We note that some federal courts considering this question
have concluded that the legislative history offered no useful insight
into the intended reach of the “in any court” language. See Atkins,
872 F.2d at 96 (“(T]he scant legislative history of 18 U.S.C. § 922

. offer{s] no illumination as to Congress’ intended meaning nor
serve[s] to inject any uncertainty into the subjec’; language.”);
Winson, 793 F.2d at 757 (concluding that § 922’s .. ative history
does not suggest Congress intended to limit the statute to domes-
tic convictions). It appears, however, that these courts were un-
aware of the illuminating reports cited above, which to our
knowledge have never been cited in a judicial opinion on the
question and were not cited in the briefs furnished to us.

27a

might reasonably have wished to prohibit firearms pos-
session at least by those convicted in foreign countries
of crimes of violence. At the same time, however, had
Congress contemplated extending the prohibition to
persons having foreign convictions, it would in all
likelihood have been troubled by the question whether
the prohibition should apply to those convicted by pro-
cedures and methods that did not conform to minimum
standards of international justice and those convicted of
crimes that are anathema to our First Amendment
freedoms, such as convictions for failure to observe the
commands of a mandatory religion or for criticism of
government. The complete silence of the statute on
such questions further contributes to the sense that its
meaning is not clear and that it may be appropriate to
look beyond its words alone for guidance as to its
meaning.

In reaching our decision, we note that Congress may
seek to enact gun control legislation that criminalizes
firearm possession by individuals with foreign felony
convictions. If Congress were to do so, however, it
would need to speak more clearly than it has in
§ 922(¢)(1). Today, we only choose not to write into a
statute a meaning that seems contrary to what Con-
gress intended.

CONCLUSION

We have considered all of the defendant-appellant’s
arguments and, for the reasons stated above, we
REVERSE the judgment of conviction with respect to
the felon-in-possession count and REMAND for resen-
tencing on the remaining counts.

28a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Docket No. 02-1095
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, APPELLEE

Vv.

KIRK GAYLE, ANN-MARIE RICHARDSON, DEFENDANTS
ROHAN INGRAM, DEFENDANT-APPELLANT

[Filed: Aug. 27, 2003]

Appeal from the United States District court for the
Northern District of New York.

At a stated Term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the Thurgood
Marshall United States Courthouse, Foley Square, in
the City of New York, on the 27th day of August, two
thousand and three.

Before: Hon. JOSEPH M. MCLAUGHLIN, Hon. PIERRE
N. LEVAL, Hon. ROBERT A. KATZMANN Circuit Judges

This cause came to be heard on the transcript of
record from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of New York and was argued by
counsel.

29a

On consideration whereof, it is hereby ORDERED,
ADJUDGED and DECREED that the judgment of said
district court be and it hereby is REVERSED AND RE-
MANDED for resentencing in accordance with the
opinion of this Court.

FOR THE COURT:
ROSEANN B. MACKECHNIE, Clerk

/s/ ARTHUR M. HELLER
ARTHUR M. HELLER
Motions Staff Attorney

30a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

No. 01-CR-090 (LEK)
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PLAINTIFF

Vv.

ROHAN INGRAM, DEFENDANT

Aug. 24, 2001

MEMORANDUM—DECISION
AND ORDER

KAHN, District Judge.

Presently before the Court are Defendant’s Motions
to Suppress Evidence and Dismiss Count Three of the
Superseding Indictment. For the reasons stated
herein, these motions are DENIED.

I. BACKGROUND

On February 16, 2001, co-defendant Kirk Gayle
attempted to enter the United States at Champlain,
New York. Gayle was stopped and questioned by
agents of the United States Border Patrol. The agents
found a piece of paper that Gayle was carrying con-
taining a telephone number and another three-digit

3le

number. Border Patrol Agent Peter Dunbar called the
telephone number and discovered that it belonged to
the Smithfield Inn located in Plattsburgh, New York.
The other number on the piece of paper contained three
digits “132”, presumably that of a room at the hotel.
The clerk at the hotel refused to divulge the name of
that room’s occupant. Agent Dunbar then drove to the
hotel.

When Agent Dunbar arrived at the hotel, the desk
clerk told him that the room was registered to Rohan
Ingram. Agent Dunbar ran a criminal record check on
ingram through the Treasury Enforcement Computer
System (TECS) located in Swanton, Vermont. The
check revealed that Ingram was noi a citizen of the
United States and had a criminal record in Canada,
including multiple convictions for firearms offenses.
Ingram was therefore, illegally present in the United
States. The information from the background check
cautioned “that [Ingram] was possibly armed and dan-
gerous, had a history of violence.”

Border Patrol Agent Labounty soon joined agent
Dunbar at the hotel. As the two agents approached
Ingram’s room they saw a male walking down the hall.
The agents approached the rman, identified themselves,
and asked him for identification. The man stated that
he was Rohan Ingram and told the agents that he was
from Canada. After producing a Canadian driver's
license for identification, Ingram was placed under
arrest.

The Agents then asked Ingram who else was in the
hotel room since they heard voices coming from his
room. Ingram did not answer so the Agents knocked on
the room’s door. Ann-Marie Richardson answered.
Agent Dunbar asked her for identification. Richardson

32a

turned and walked across the hotel room toward a bag
to recrieve her identification. Agent Dunbar followed
her inside the room. As he walked past the bathroom
he saw a box labeled “Firearms” inside an open duffle
bag. The bag contained approximately 13 handguns.
Agent Dunbar placed Richardson in custody. Subse-
quently, Ingram provided a signed, written statement
to federal law enforcement officials.

Defendant Ingram now seeks to suppress all evi-
dence seized from the hotel room on February 16, 2001
and his written statement to federal law enforcement
officials. Defendant argues that the Agents’ actions
constituted an unlawful search and seizure in violation
of his Fourth Amendment rights. An evidentiary hear-
ing was held before the Court on July 3, 2001 and July
9, 2001, and the parties submitted memorandums of law
in support of their positions. Defendant Ingram also
moves to dismiss Count Three of the Indictment be-
cause his predicate conviction is from a foreign juris-
diction.

There are three questions the Court must answer if
the Government is to be allowed to use the evidence
discovered in Defendant’s hotel room. The preliminary
question is whether Agents Dunbar and Labounty had
probable cause to arrest Defendant. Second, did the
agents have the right to enter Defendant’s hotel room?
Third, did the agents have the right to seize the evi-
dence once inside the hotel room? Whether DVefen-
dant’s written statement is admissible turns on
whether Defendant was properly Mirandized. Lastly,
the issue of Count Three depends on whether a con-
viction from a foreign jurisdiction may serve as a pre-
dicate offense for a violation of 18 U.S.C. § 922(g).

33a

Il. ANALYSIS
A. Fourth Amendment
1. Probable Cause to Arrest

Law enforcement officers may lawfully arrest per-
sons without an arrest warrant under certain circum-
stances. A warrantless arrest is permitted when an
officer has probable cause to believe the arrestee has
committed a felony. See United States v. Watson, 423
U.S. 411, 418 (1976). Probable cause to make a warrant-
less arrest exists when at the time of the arrest “the
facts and circumstances within the [officer’s] know edge
and of which they had reasonably trustworthy
information were sufficient to warrant a prudent man in
believing that the [Defendant] had committed or was
committing an offense.” Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89, 91
(1964); Wong Sun v. United States, 371 US. 471, 479
(1963).

Defendant argues that the evidence found in his hotel
room is the inadmissible fruit of an unconstitutional
arrest. In the case at hand the Agents had probable
cause to arrest Ingram based on the criminal back-
ground check run through TECS. The background
check revealed that Ingram was not a citizen of the
United States and had a criminal record in Canada,
including multiple convictions for firearms offenses.
Ingram was therefore, illegally present in the United
States. This information gave the Agents probable
cause to arrest him. When the Agents approached Mr.
Ingram outside his hotel room and he identified himself
as Rohan Ingram, they properly placed him in custody.

2. Search Incident to Lawful Arrest

Police may conduct a warrantless search of a suspect
incident to an arrest where a full custodial arrest is

34a

allowed. See New York v. Belton, 453 U.S. 454, 461
(1981); United States v. Robinson, 414 U.S. 218, 234
(1973). The scope of the search is not limited to the
suspect’s person, but extends to the suspect’s “wing-
span,” or “the area from within which [the arrestee]
might gain possession of a weapon or destructible evi-
dence.” Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752, 763 (1969).
The police may also make a “protective sweep” of the
area beyond the suspect’s wingspan in order to protect
the safety of the officers if they believe accomplices
may be present. See Maryland v. Buie, 494 U.S. 825,
331. In order for officers to perform this protective
sweep they must be able to articulate facts that would
warrant a reasonably prudent officer to believe that the
area to be swept harbors an individual that poses a
danger to those on the scene. Buie, 494 U.S. at 334; see
also United States v. Biggs, 70 F.3d 913, 916 (6th Cir.
1995) (finding a protective sweep of a motel room valid
when the suspect was arrested outside the motel room
and officers had a reasonable belief, based on knowl-
edge that defendant had previously been arrested with
armed companions, that individuals posing harm to the
officers might be in the motel room). Evidence in plain
view may be seized during a protective sweep. Buie,
494 US. at 330, 110 S. Ct. 1093.

In order to find the protective sweep at issue here
constitutional under the Buie standard, the Agents
must articulate why the search of the hotel room was
reasonably necessary once ‘ngram was placed in
custody in the hallway of the 'otel. In this case, the
Agents have articulated factors that would lead a
reasonably prudent officer to believe that they might
be in danger from someone else in the hotel room.
First, Agent Dunbar testified that he heard more than

35a

one voice coming from Ingram’s hotel room. Second,
from the background check, the Agents knew that the
registered occupant, Rohan Ingram, was possibly
armed and dangerous, had a history of violence and had
a criminal history in Canada for weapons violation. In
fact, before approaching Ingram’s room, the Agents put
on bulletproof vests to protect themselves. Agent
Dunbar also testified that he followed Richardson in the
hotel room because he was concerned that there might
be weapons in the room. He also stated that he wanted
to make sure there was no one else in the room. The
Court concludes that the Agent’s testimony supports a
reasonable suspicion that they might be in danger from
someone else in the hotel room. Therefore, the Agents
were justified in performing a protective sweep of
Ingram’s hotel room.

3. Seizure of Items in Plain View

Under certain circumstances, the police may seize
evidence found in plain view even though they do not
have a warrant. As a preliminary matter, the govern-
ment must show that the Fourth Amendment was not
violated when the officers arrived at the place where
they viewed the evidence. Horton v. California, 496
U.S. 128, 136 (1990). Second, the officer must have a
right of access to the object. Jd. Lastly, the incriminat-
ing character of the evidence must be immediately
apparent. Id.

As previously discussed, the Agents did not violate
Defendant’s Fourth Amendment rights and were justi-
fied in making the protective sweep of the hotel room.
This puts them lawfully in a location from which to view
and access the evidence. Once lawfully in the room,
Agent Dunbar testified that he observed an open duffle
bag with a box inside labeled “firearms.” The incri-

36a

minating character of the evidence was readily appar-
ent given its labeling. The eviience seized at the hotel,
consisting of approximatel: 13 handguns, is therefore
admitted into evidence.

B. Defendant’s Written Statement

Defendant also claims that his post-arrest statement
was illegally obtained in violation of his Fifth Amend-
ment rights.’ The Fifth Amendment grants a suspect a
right to counsel in order to protect the individual’s right
against self-incrimination prior to the initiation of
formal jucicial proceedings against him. The right to
counsel applies to all statements an individual makes
when subject to custodial interrogation. Miranda v.
Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 86 S. Ct. 1602, 16 L. Ed. 2d 694
(1966) requires that before questioning an individual in
custody, the suspect be informed of his/her rights.

The record is clear that multiple Miranda warnings
were given to Ingram and that he knowingly waived his
rights. Agents Dunbar and Labounty testified that

1 Defendant also claims that the written statement was given in
violation of his Sixth Amendment, though he does not address his
Sixth Amendment claims in his Motion papers. The Sixth Amend-
ment right to counsel attaches at the initiation of adversarial judi
cial proceedings “whether by way of formal charge, preliminary
hearing, indictment, information or arraignment.” Kirby v.
Illinois, 406 U.S. 682, 689 (1972). Since Defendant’s Sixth Amend-
ment right had not attached at the time the written statement was
given, Defendant’s argument is misplaced. Defendant’s argument
for dismissal rests upon his Fifth Amendment Rights. See United
States v. Guido, 704 F.2d 675, 676 (2d Cir. 1983) (“Since the Sixth
Amendment right to counsel attaches only after the filing of formal
charges, appellant’s incriminating statement, if protected at all, is
protected by the Fifth Amendment rather than the Sixth.”) See
also United States v. Duvall, 587 F.2d 15, 20-22 (2d Cir.), cert.
denied, 426 U.S. 950 (1976).

37a

Dunbar read Ingram his Miranda warnings in the hotel
room after arresting him. Supervisory Agent Amenus
testified the [sic] he also apprised Ingram of his
Miranda rights in the hotel room and that Ingram
understood them, but indicated that he wished to waive
them” Amentis “Mirandized” Ingram once again at his
office, and obtained another waiver before taking the
statement from Ingram. Additionally, Ingram’s writ-
ten statement declares that “I, Rohan Ingram

have been advised of my rights and waive my right to
have counsel present while being interviewed by De-
tective Thomas Penfield.” In light of this testimony,
the Court finds that Defendant’s statement was prop-
erly obtained and is admissible into evidence. Conse-
quently, Defendant’s motion to suppress the statement
is denied.

C. Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss Count Three of the
Superseding Indictment

Count three of the indictment alleges that Defendant,
having previously been convicted of a crime punishable
by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year, did
knowingly and intentionally possess a firearm in vio-
lation of 18 U.S.C. § 922(g). Section 922(g)(1) prohibits
possession of a firearm by “any person . . . who has
been convicted in any court of, a crime punishable by
imprisonment for a term exceeding one year.” 18
U.S.C. § 922(g). The issue presented is whether the “in
any court” provision of § 922(g) applies only to convic-
tions by courts within the United States. Defendant
argues that because Count Three of the indictment is
predicated upon a conviction allegedly obtained in

2 Penfield testified that he observed Amentis Mirandizing
Ingram.

38a

Canada, a 1996 Canadian conviction for the use of a
firearm while committing an indictable offense, this
conviction does not bring him within the class of
persons prohibited from possessing firearms under
§ 922(¢).

1. A Foreign Conviction May Serve as the
Predicate Offense for a Violation of § 922(g)

In United States v. Winson, 793 F.2d 754, 758 (6th
Cir. 1986) the Sixth Circuit upheld an indictment
charging the defendant with a violation of 18 U.S.C.
§ 922(h). In Winson, the violation of § 922(h) was based
upon Argentinian and Swiss convictions. See id. 793
F.2d at 756. The court in that case found that the use of
the term “in any court” within the statute “was not
intended by the Congress to be limited only to
convictions in the courts of the United States or of a
state or political subdivision thereof.” Jd. at 757. The
court reasoned that

since the object of the statute is to prevent the
possession of firearms by individuals with serious
criminal records, we can perceive no reason why the
commission of serious crimes elsewhere in the world
is likely to make the person so convicted less dan-
gerous than he whose crimes were committed with-
in the United States. Moreover, we do not perceive
any congressional intent to exclude from the Act’s
coverage a class of felon whose unlawful conduct
occurred outside of this country.

Id. at 785 (internal citations omitted).

The Fourth Circuit similarly held that an English
conviction was a proper predicate for an 18 U.S.C.
§ 922(g) conviction, reasoning that the plain meaning of

39a

the term “any court” is unambiguous and includes
courts of foreign jurisdiction.

Defendant also argues that the Canadian convictions
do not rise to the level of a felony because Defendant
received a sentence of less than one year. Defendant’s
prior conviction was for a violation of § 85(1)(a) of the
Canadian Criminal Code (Using firearm in commission
of offence). A violation of § 85(1)(a) carries an impri-
sonment term not exceeding fourteen years and a
minimum punishment of imprisonment for a term of one
year. See R.S.C. § 85(3)(a). What matters when deter-
mining whether an offense comes under 18 U.S.C.
922(g) is not the actual sentence Defendant received.
Rather the Court must examine the maximum possible
sentence for the charged offense. See United States v.
Arnold, 113 F.3d 1146, 1148 (10th Cir. 1997) (rejecting
an attempt by defendant who had been sentenced to
eleven months on underlying conviction “to rewrite 18
U.S.C. § 922(g)(1) by converting the word ‘punishable’
into ‘punished.’”). In this case, the maximum possible
sentence for Defendant’s Canadian offense is a term of
imprisonment of fourteen years. Defendant's Canadian
conviction for a violation of § 85(1)(a) is, therefore, “a
crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceed-
ing one year.” 18 U.S.C. § 922(g) (emphasis added).

Since this Court agrees with the reasoning of the
Sixth and Fourth Circuits it finds that Ingram’s prior
Canadian conviction serves as a proper predicate under
§ 922. The Court holds that Defendant’s motion to dis-
miss Count Three is denied.

Ill. CONCLUSION
Accordingly, it is hereby

40a

ORDERED that Defendant’s Motion to Suppress the
physical evidence seized from his hotel room on the
night of February 16, 2001 is DENIED; and it is further

ORDERED that Defendant’s Motion to Suppress the
_ written statement is hereby DENIED; and it is further

ORDERED that Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss
Count Three of the Indictment is hereby DENIED; and
it is further

ORDERED that the Clerk serve copy of this order on
all parties by regular mail.

IT IS SO ORDERED

4la

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
THURGOOD MARSHALL UNITED STATES COURT HOUSE
40 FOLEY SQUARE
NEW YORK 10007

Docket No. 02-1095
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Vv.

GAYLE

(Filed: Feb. 11, 2004]

At a stated term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the United
States Courthouse, Foley Square, in the City of New
York, on the 11th day of February two thousand four.

A petition for panel rehearing and a petition for
rehearing en banc having been filed herein by the
appellee USA.

Upon consideration by the panel that decided the
appeal, it is Ordered that said petition for rehearing is
DENIED.

It is further noted that the petition for rehearing en
banc has been transmitted to the judges for the court in
regular active service and to any other judge that heard

42a

the appeal and that no such judge has requested that a
vote be <aken thereon.

FOR THE COURT:
ROSEANN B. MACKECHNIE, Clerk

By: ARTHUR M. HELLER
ARTHUR M. HELLER
Administrative Attorney

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1636%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
