# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Navarrete v. Georgia (No. 07-1487)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1523%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

urt, U.S.

Supreme Co

FILED
i oping may 27 208

No. 07-

OFRCE CEIHE CLERK

In The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

MARIO NAVARRETE,

Petitioner,

V.

STATE OF GEORGIA,

Respondent.

+

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Georgia

S

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

EDWARD C:. DAWSON

Counsel of Record

GREGORY S. COLEMAN

YETTER, WARDEN &
COLEMAN LLP

221 West Sixth Street

Suite 750

Austin, Texas 78701

(512) 533-0150

Counsel for Petitioner
Mario Navarrete

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (500) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (492) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Supreme Court of Georgia erred in
concluding, contrary to decisions from the Fourth,
Fifth, Sixth, and Seventh Circuits, that there was no
prejudice from counsel's failure to contact, investi-
gate, or call witnesses whose testimony was crucial to
establishing the defense’s theory of the case, and
would have crucially bolstered the defendant’s own
testimony at trial.

il
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The petitioner is Mario Navarrete, the defendant
and defendant-appellant in the courts below. The
respondent is the State of Georgia.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
GSS PROROTIIE o..0.cessescccscsscressessesss eee tee i
PPO 66 TG FP OCRIIT oss o0sccscsnsccscnsesesasentccsssess il
II ios sis cnicksdsisapsessansoarpassnderesannananstinn il
NOE sviiiide dedstetaicsecscentisNecantcrrenccans v
IE hei ca spudigece ceninaiirnicceyeasksseaietscemenntnah 1
I 6 scssstivcorectecxacaiieovatemetionnsinacians 2
iS ib crcd aie snekd Anica deeetuascicaneandesdoud caaiae 2
Constitutional Provisions Involved.............. ieee 3
SSCRIES OE SIND SOGID cacivsnessnnscasesscsicicsdcsennesrsnnscnces 3
Reasons for Granting the Writ..................:c.ccceee sees 10

I. The Georgia Supreme Court Erred In

Concluding There Was No Prejudice From
Counsel’s Failure To Contact Witnesses
Whose Testimony Would Have Supported
the Central Defense Theory of the Case..... 10

A. Trial Counsel’s Performance Was Defi-

B. Trial Counsel’s Deficient Performance
Prejudiced the Defense.......................6 14

C. The Georgia Supreme Court’s Ruling
Conflicts With Rulings From Federal
CIE Gi ivsiccccsescnccsnavtvensvicoratinnata 18

RA atte Ke ea ee AN AM Mme 22

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

APPENDIX
APPENDIX A: Opinion of the Supreme Court

of Georgia (January 28, 2008) ..............c eee App. 1

APPENDIX B: Order of the Superior Court of
Muscogee County, State of Georgia, denying
Defendant’s Motion for a New Trial (January

i NE rissa ccgadcacevestsivtas sek kcbbencianiiaaeivekeiaians App.

APPENDIX C: Order of the Supreme Court of
Georgia, denying Motion for Reconsideration

CIT Bey WP iesisinasscisscccisastaidonsscrstsciseic App.

APPENDIX D: In the Superior Court of Mus-
cogee County, State of Georgia, Motion for
New Trial Hearing Transcript Excerpt (De-

II A) osc scnsbvcvinesniessccecncsvesksasnecses App.

APPENDIX E: In the Superior Court of Musco-
gee County, State of Georgia, Trial Tran-

script Excerpt (January 24, 2006)................. App.

APPENDIX F: In the Superior Court of Musco-
gee County, State of Georgia, Jury Verdict

SS ie. OE osieciciiccendasasncananiodeden App.

APPENDIX G: In the Superior Court of Musco-
gee County, Georgia, Final Disposition (Janu-

BT oaks swkdics chases sitenonsiavinkubgotiastauanies App.

14

16

17

42

76

77

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Anderson v. Johnson, 338 F.3d 382 (5th Cir.

RINIET oi icrritalenin uiscunths sagenedidin inicascenshemaianies aa AR aNd eAa 12,18
Bryant v. Scott, 28 F.3d 1411 (5th Cir. 1994)............. 13
Code v. Montgomery, 799 F.2d 1481 (11th Cir.

ERS iiicthnsss ike ia ticketed ici ea teal dasiadhabasluaakuaadgdeas wa vaowamaies 13, 18
Griffin v. Warden, Maryland Corr. Adjustment

Cér., 970 F.2d 1355 (4th Cir. 1992)............000sc00 passim
Harris v. Reed, 894 F.2d 871 (7th Cir. 1990)........ 13, 20
Harrison v. Quarterman, 496 F.3d 419 (5th Cir.

BT ir sulsiomeiinicaiaaand 11, 17, 18, 19, 20
Richardson v. State, 189 Ga.App. 113 (1988)...... 14, 18
Stapp v. State, 273 Ga.App. 899 (2005)..,................0. 15
Stewart v. Wolfenbarger, 468 F.3d 338 (6th Cir.

PETA i is tsisisnd binds cackeun iene aasulesaneedabavanig ea vaaomsenaeia passim
Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984).... passim
Tenorto v. State, 261 Ga.App. 609 (2003)................... 13
Towns v. Smith, 395 F.3d 251 (6th Cir. 2005)...... 13, 20
Washington v. Smith, 219 F.3d 620 (7th Cir.

BP isiviccckiciccsudacrsasestandcotenteaiacsteehiads eae 20
White v. State, 216 Ga.App. 583 (1995).......... ee 7

CONSTITUTIONAL. PROVISIONS, STATUTES, AND RULES
I re EG svusinv nda ssccntavecansassjeavansbecuenciseeeueee 2
Oe ee a ee a 3

INTRODUCTION

This Court should grant certiorari to restore
uniformity in the interpretation of its ineffective-
assistance standard in the context of failures by
counsel to contact important defense witnesses that
support the defense’s theory of the case, and bolster
the defendant’s credibility when his credibility is a
crucia! issue. The Georgia Supreme Court erred in
holding that petitioner, Mario Navarrete, was not
prejudiced by his trial counsel’s deficient performance
in failing to contact, investigate, or call witnesses
Navarrete had asked him to contact, whose testimony
could have supported Navarrete’s defense theory and
bolstered his credibility. Navarrete was convicted of
murdering Richard Davis, despite there having been
no evidence that he stabbed Davis, and substantial
evidence that he tried to stop Davis from being
stabbed on the mght of the murder. The evidence
supporting Navarrete’s guilt was entirely circumstan-
tial, and the evidence about Navarrete’s conduct on
the night of the murder was equivocal.

The most damaging testimony in the State’s case
against Navarrete was an Army medic’s hearsay
testimony about a prior incident in Iraq during which
Navarrete allegedly had tried to kill Davis. Navar-
rete’s trial counsel, who was sick with cancer during
the trial, failed to contact two witnesses Navarrete
had asked him to contact. If counsel had contacted
those witnesses, he would have uncovered testimony
that directly rebutted the medic’s hearsay account
about the prior events in Iraq, and supported the

2

defense’s theory that on the night of the murder
Navarrete had not tried to murder Davis, but had
tried to stop him from being murdered.

The Georgia Supreme Court concluded that
counsel’s conduct could not have prejudiced the
defense. In so holding, it contradicted the rulings of
federal courts that have held that counsel’s perform-
ance is deficient when counsel fails to call witnesses
whose testimony is central to the defense’s theory of
the case, and would bolster the defendant’s credibility
when his credibility is a central issue in the case. The
Court should grant certiorari to correct this discrep-
ancy between Georgia’s and federal courts’ interpreta-
tion of the constitutional standard for ineffective
assistance of counsel.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Georgia
below is unpublished, and reproduced in the appendix
to the petition. App. 1.

JURISDICTION

The Supreme Court of Georgia entered its judg-
ment on January 25, 2008. That court denied Navar-
rete’s timely rehearing petition on February 25, 2008.
This Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1257.

+

3

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
The Sixth Amendment provides:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused
shall enjoy the right ... to have the Assis-
tance of Counsel for his defence.

U.S. Const. amend. VI. The Sixth Amendment is
applicable to the states through the Fourteenth
Amendment.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Mario Navarrete, Richard Davis, and five other
men, Alberto Martinez, Jacob Burgoyne, Douglas
Woodcoff, Gregory Pruitt, and Ricardo Rodriguez,
were soldiers in the Third Infantry Division who
served together in Iraq and Kuwait. App. 2. Shortly
after the men returned to Fort Benning from Iraq,
Richard Davis was murdered on a night when the five
men went out drinking together. According to the
uncontested testimony at trial, Martinez stabbed
Davis to death, while Navarrete tried to stop the
murder by begging Martinez not to stab Davis, taking
a knife from Martinez, and urging Martinez to drive
Davis to a hospital. App. 50-61.

Soon after their unit returned to Fort Benning in
July 2003, Navarrete, Davis, Martinez, Burgoyne,
and Woodcoff went out in Columbus for a night of

4

drinking, with Martinez driving them in his car. App.
2. The group went to a restaurant and then a club.
Id. At the club, on the way out to the car, Burgoyne
assaulted Davis, and continued assaulting him in the
car. App. 3. Navarrete, too, shoved or punched Davis
either outside the bar or in the car soon after leaving
the club. Jd. According to Navarrete, Davis had
slumped onto him in the car, and he had shoved
Davis to get him off of him. His shoves or punches
(unlike Burgoyne’s) stopped before Martinez stopped
the car where Davis was murdered, however, and also
stopped short of any attempt to seriously harm Davis.
App. 51.

From the club, Martinez drove the car to a field,
where the group got out, and Martinez then stabbed
Davis to death. App. 3, 53-54. According to all three
witnesses, including the State’s witnesses, Navarrete
repeatedly tried to stop the murder. Before Martinez
stabbed Davis, Navarrete argued and pleaded with
Martinez not to stab Davis and took a knife away
from Martinez; after Martinez got another knife and
stabbed Davis for the first time, Navarrete pleaded
with Burgoyne to stop Martinez and with Martinez to
stop and to take Davis to a hospital. App. 3, 49, 51-
53, 55, 56, 57-59, 60-62. Instead, however, Martinez
stabbed Davis multiple times. Martinez and Bur-
goyne then dragged Davis into the woods, drove to a
gas station,_beught_hehter thud —returned—_to the—
scene, and set the body on fire. App. 3-4, 58-59, 62.

5

Navarrete had no part in those actions, but stayed in
the car. Id.

Martinez, Burgoyne, and Navarrete returned to
the scene four days after the murder, and Martinez
and Burgoyne, using supplies Martinez had procured,
buried Davis’s body. App. 4. Navarrete testified he
went unwillingly, out of fear of Martinez and Bur-
goyne. App. 63-65. Davis’s body was discovered
months later. Burgoyne pleaded guilty to voluntary
manslaughter, robbery, possession of a knife, and
concealment of a body; Woodcoff pleaded guilty to
concealment of a body; both men testified as State’s
witnesses at trial. App. 2 n.2. Navarrete stood trial
with Martinez. He was charged with malice murder,
felony murder with aggravated assault as the predi-
cate felony, aggravated assault, armed robbery,

possession of a knife, felony murder, and concealment
of a body.

At trial, the primary testimony that Navarrete
had «ver shown any intent to seriously harm Davis
came from army medic Edward Wulff, who testified
over defendants’ objections about hearsay statements
Davis supposedly made when Davis, Wulff, and the
defendants were serving together overseas. App. 5.
Wulff stated that Davis had come to him one night
shortly before the unit returned to the U.S. for treat-
ment of a cut on his hand and told him that Davis

had been drinking with Martinez and Navarrete on a
hill near the base where the unit was stationed, that
thev had both assaulted him, and that because of the
assault Davis feared for his life. App. 47-48. Wulff

6

testified that Davis was intoxicated when Wulff
treated him, and that for that reason he did not
believe Davis’s story when he heard it. App. 6, 66-67.

Navarrete, who testified later during the trial,
gave a different version of the events of that night on
the hill. App. 63-66. He testified that Davis had cut
his hand during a “blood brothers” ritual, at which
were present two other soldiers named Pruitt and
Rodriguez. Jd. Navarrete had told trial counsel
during the investigative stage of the defense that
Pruitt and Rodriguez were witnesses who could offer
helpful testimony, yet trial counsel did not try to
locate them, interview them, or investigate their
testimony in any way prior to trial.’ App. 28-30.
Further, despite Navarrete’s testimony at trial that
those witnesses were present on the hill and specifi-
cally could have rebutted Wulff’s testimony, trial
counsel still did not try to locate them or call them to
testify at trial. App. 28-30. In fact, trial counsel called
no defense witnesses at all besides Navarrete himself.
Ironically, Pruitt was present in the courthouse while
the trial was going on, subpoenaed by the prosecution
and sequestered outside the courtroom. App. 40-41.

' Counsel could not remember whether Navarrete specifi-
cally mentioned to him during the investigation that Pruitt and
Rodriguez had been present for the hill incident. App. 28-29.
Counsel stated he had probably been given a copy of Wulff’s
statement to investigators, but could not remember having read
it. App. 26-30; New Trial Hearing Transcript 69-73, 78-80.

Wulff’s hearsay testimony about Navarrete’s
actions on the hill, along with Navarrete’s accompa-
nying Burgoyne and Martinez when they went to hide
the body, were the two major themes of the prosecu-
tion’s case against Navarrete. The prosecution heav-
ily emphasized Wulff’s testimony in its closing as
evidence that Navarrete was guilty of conspiring with
Martinez to kill Davis, mentioning it five separate
times. App. 67-69, 69-72, 73. The prosecution specifi-
cally noted Wulff’s testimony had not been im-
peached. App. 68-70. Finally, in rebuttal closing, the
prosecution focused on the defense’s failure to call
Pruitt and Rodriguez as showing that Navarrete lied
about how Davis injured his hand: “Why didn’t they
call Pruitt? ... Why didn’t they call Rodriguez? ...
Why, because it wasn’t the truth.” App. 74-75. The
jury acquitted Navarrete of malice murder and armed
robbery, hut convicted him of aggravated assault,
possession of a knife, felony murder, and concealment
of a body. App. 1.

New appellate counsel agreed to represent
Navarrete, and moved for a new trial, on the grounds,
inter alia, of ineffective assistance of counsel. The
defense motion for new trial cited Strickland v. Wash-
ington’s standard for ineffective assistance claims,
which is materially identical to the Georgia state-law
standard for such claims. Am. Mot. New Triai at 5;
White v. State, 216 Ga.App. 583, 583 (1995) (“There
exists no substantial difference in the legal standard
to be employed in resolving claims of ineffective

8

assistance of counsel under the United States Consti-
tution and under the Georgia Constitution of 1983.”).

At the new trial hearing, the defense presented
three witnesses. The first defense witness was trial
counsel’s doctor, who testified that during the time
leading up to trial and during trial he had been
tresting Navarrete’s counsel for cancer with chemo-
therapy. App. 18-21. The doctor testified that his
notes showed that during the time of trial, trial
counsel was suffering from “hand-foot syndrome,” a
side effect of chemotherapy that causes blistering and
peeling of the skin on the hands and feet, the possible
effects of which include loss of concentration and
inability to focus. App. 10-11, 19, 21. The second
witness was Navarrete’s trial counsel. He testified
that, during trial, his concentration and focus were
impaired by his ongoing chemotherapy. App. 11, 24-
26. He testified that during his investigation Navar-
rete had told hira about Pruitt and Rodriguez and
asked him to contact them as witnesses, but that he
failed to do so or to investigate their testimony in any
way, because he simply forgot. App. 22-25. He further
testified he had not called or attempted to contact
them during trial, even after !’avarrete testified that
the two men were present at, and would have contra-
dicted Wulff’s hearsay account of, the incident on the

hill. App. 22-25, 27-30. Finally, he testified that his

* Trial counsel is no longer representing Navarrete.

9

decisions not to investigate or call the witnesses were
oversights, not strategic decisions. App. 27-29.

The final defense witness was Sgt. Gregory
Pruitt. Sgt. Pruitt testified that he had been with
Davis, Martinez, Navarrete, and Rodriguez on the
hill near the base on the night Davis hurt his hand.
App. 31-41. He testified, as had Navarrete, that
Davis, Martinez, and Navarrete were performing a
‘blood brothers’ ritual, during which Davis cut his
hand too deep. App. 35-37. He also testified that
Martinez had assaulted Davis that night and that
Navarrete had stepped in to try and stop the assault.
App. 35-37. Finally, he testified that he had not
previously told his story to anyone because no inves-
tigator or prosecutor had asked him about the events
on the hill. App. 39. The State’s evidentiary presenta-
tion at the new trial hearing was devoted largely to
attacking Sgt. Pruitt’s credibility, by arguing that he
had not previously told his story to investigators. The
trial court overruled the motion for new trial.

On appeal, Navarrete argued ineffective assis-
tance of counsel, error in the admission of the hear-
say testimony of Medic Wulff, and insufficiency of the
evidence. Once again, Navarrete cited Strickland v.
Washington in support of his ineffective assistance
argument, and his reply brief cited several federal}
cases demonstrating that counsel’s conduct was
prejudicially deficient under the Strickland standard.
Br. of Appellant at 10; Reply Br. of Appellant at 8-12.

10

The Supreme Court of Georgia concluded that
there was sufficient evidence to support the convic-
tions. App. 5. It held that the admission of Medic
Wulff’s testimony was error, but was harmless under
the circumstances. App. 6-10. Finally, on the issue of
ineffective assistance, the court ruled that counsel’s
conduct had not prejudiced the defense, because “the
testimony would not have exonerated him,” and
because there were some contradictions between
Pruitt’s story and Navarrete’s. App. 12. It did not
address the question whether counsel’s performance
had in fact been deficient. Jd. The court’s opinion,
like the appellant’s submissions, applied the Georgia
interpretation of the Strickland standard for evaluat-
ing ineffectiveness claims. App. 10, 13.

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Georgia Supreme Court Erred In
Concluding There Was No Prejudice From
Counsel’s Failure To Contact Witnesses
Whose Testimony Would Have Supported
the Central Defense Theory of the Case.

During the trial of this case, trial counsel was
undergoing chemotherapy. As he testified at the new
trial hearing, the chemotherapy treatment caused
him to suffer loss of concentration, loss of short-term
memory, drowsiness, and dizziness leading up to and
during Navarrete’s trial. App. 22-24. His doctor
confirmed that these were possible consequences of
the “hand-foot syndrome” counsel was suffering

11

during that time. App. 19-20. Counsel’s ill health
appears to have been noticed by the trial court, who
during counsel’s cross-examination of key witness
Jacob Burgoyne offered counsel the option of sitting
to finish the examination “given the circumstances.”

App. 59-60.

Trial counsel’s ill health led him to err by not
calling a crucial witness, Gregory Pruitt, whose
testimony could have undermined or altogether
excluded the State’s most incriminating evidence
against Navarrete, the testimony of Edward Wulff,
and who could have bolstered Navarrete’s credibility.
That error constituted defective performance that
prejudiced Navarrete’s defense and required revers-
ing the convictions. See Strickland v. Washington, 466
U.S. 668 (1984); Harrison v. Quarterman, 496 F.3d
419, 427 (5th Cir. 2007); Stewart v. Wolfenbarger, 468
F.3d 338, 356 (6th Cir. 2006). The Georgia Supreme
Court, however, erroneously concluded that there was
no prejudice from counsel’s failure to contact Pruitt, a
decision in conflict with the rulings of federal circuit
courts that have found prejudice when counsel fails to
contact witnesses whose testimony was central to the
defense’s theory of the case. See Harrison, 496 F.3d at
427 (“Our sister circuits have held that counsel
prejudices his client’s defense when counsel fails to
call a witness who is central to establishing the
defense’s theory-of-the-case, and the jury is thereby
allowed to draw a negative inference from that wit-
ness’s absence. We agree.” (citations omitted)).

12

A. Trial Counsel’s Performance Was Defi-
cient.

Although the Georgia Supreme Court did not
consider whether trial counsel’s performance was
deficient, it clearly was. Trial counsel failed to call
witnesses who would have corroborated Navarrete’s
testimony and contradicted Wulff’s hearsay testi-
mony about what happened on the night when Davis
hurt his hand, testimony the State pointed to as
proving that Navarrete had prior murderous intent
towards Davis. Counsel acknowledged that Navarrete
told him those witnesses would offer helpful testi-
mony, and that he simply forgot to contact them,
investigate their testimony, or subpoena them to the
trial. He further testified that he did not attempt to
call either man at trial even after Navarrete testified
that the two men were present on the night when
Navarrete had allegedly assaulted Davis and could
testify that he had not assaulted him. In both cases,
counsel testified, those omissions were oversights, not
strategic decisions. That is deficient performance.
See, e.g., Stewart, 468 F.3d at 356 (“Where counsel
fails to investigate and interview promising wit-
nesses, and therefore has no reason to believe they
would not be valuable in securing defendant’s release,
counsel’s inaction constitutes negligence, not trial
strategy.” (quotation, citation, and internal marks
omitted)); Anderson v. Johnson, 338 F.3d 382, 393
(5th Cir. 2003) (complete failure to investigate
witness, for no strategic reason, was unreasonable
and deficient); Griffin v. Warden, Maryland Corr.

13

Adjustment Ctr., 970 F.2d 1355 (4th Cir. 1992); Harris
v. Reed, 894 F.2d 871, 878 (7th Cir. 1990) (failure to
call witnesses that would have “greatly aided {defen-
dant’s] case” was ineffective assistance); Code v.
Montgomery, 799 F.2d 1481, 1484 (11th Cir. 1986)
(ineffective assistance in failure of counsel to investi-
gate testimony of two alibi witnesses suggested by
defendant).

Indeed, there could have been no strategic reason
not to at least investigate Pruitt and Rodriguez’s
testimony, because counsel had no reasonable basis to
think they would be unhelpful. Jowns v. Smith, 395
F.3d 251, 258 (6th Cir. 2005) (“This duty [to investi-
gate} includes the obligation to investigate all wit-
nesses who may have information concerning his or
her client’s guilt or innocence.”); Bryant v. Scott, 28
F.3d 1411, 1415 (5th Cir. 1994) (“[AJn attorney must
engage in a reasonable amount of pretrial investiga-
tion and at a minimum, ... interview potential
witnesses ... and make an independent investigation
of the facts and circumstances in the case.” (quotation
omitted)); Tenorio v. State, 261 Ga.App. 609, 613 n.14
(2003) (“[CJounsel has a duty to make reasonable
investigations or to make a reasonable decision that
makes particular investigations unnecessary.” (quota-
tion omitted)).

In fact, had they been contacted or called at trial,
Pruitt and Rodriguez would have corroborated
Navarrete’s testimony by confirming that he did not
assault Davis on the hill but instead, as on the night
of the murder, tried to prevent Davis from being

14

assaulted.” App. 31-41. They would have at the same
time contradicted, or even caused to be excluded,
Wulff’s hearsay testimony to the contrary. Counsel’s
failure to investigate those witnesses, not based on
strategy but instead on oversight due to illness, was
deficient performance. See, e.g., Stewart, 468 F.3d at
356; Richardson v. State, 189 Ga.App. 113, 114 (1988)
(ineffective assistance when defendant told counsel! of
two alibi witnesses but counsel did not speak to
them).

B. Trial Counsel’s Deficient Performance
Prejudiced the Defense.

Trial counsel’s errors prejudiced the defense
because calling Pruitt and Rodriguez would have
greatly undermined the State’s central evidence that
Navarrete was involved in a “conspiracy” to murder
Davis. See App. 68-69 (“That [Wulff’s testimony], I
submit to you, allows you to araw the inference of the
existence of a conspiracy.”). At the same time, Pruitt’s
testimony would have greatly bolstered the defense’s
central theory of the case, that Navarrete was not
involved in any such conspiracy but instead tried to
stop Davis’s murder on the night he was killed. And,

* Appellate counsel located Pruitt, who testified at the new
trial hearing. Counsel also attempted to locate Redriguez, who
has since left the Army, but were unable to do so. If an attempt
had been made to locate him at the time of the underlying
events and investigation, it is more likely he could have been
found.

15

it would have bolstered Navarrete’s credibility gener-
ally, which was a central issue in the case.

Deficient performance is prejudicial when it
creates a reasonable probability - a _ probability
“sufficient to undermine confidence in the outcome” —
that the outcome would have been different had
counsel performed competently. Strickland, 466 U.S.
at 694; Stapp v. State, 273 Ga.App. 899, 903 (2005)
(performance is prejudicial when “a _ reasonable
probability exists that, but for the deficiency, the
outcome of the trial would have been different”).
Here, there is more than a reasonable probability
that effective assistance would have produced a
different outcome.

First, had trial counsel called Pruitt and Rodri-
guez, it would have at least undermined, or at most
totally excluded, the most harmful testimony in the
State’s case. Wulff’s hearsay testimony was the
State’s only evidence that Navarrete had any wish to
seriously harm Davis or had any prior agreement
with Martinez to do Davis harm, because the evi-
dence at trial showed that on the night of the murder
Navarrete tried to stop Martinez from murdering
Davis. Cf. Stewart, 468 F.3d at 344, 356-61 (finding
prejudice from failure to investigate testimony of
witness that would have contradicted testimony of
state’s main motive witness). The State heavily empha-
sized Wulff’s story in opening and closing arguments,
claiming it showed that Navarrete had conspired
with Martinez to kill Davis on the night of the
murder. App. 67-72. Further, the State specifically

16

noted that Wulff’s testimony had been unimpeached
as grounds for the jury to believe his story and infer
that Navarrete was guilty of conspiring to commit
murder. App. 68-69. If the jury had heard from
Pruitt, it would have heard an account that im-
peached Wulff’s testimony about the hill incident on
the crucial points that Davis had hurt his hand in a
blood-brothers ritual and that Navarrete had not
assaulted Davis. And, that account would have bol-
stered the defense’s central theory, that Navarrete on
the night of the murder had no intent to harm Davis
but had tried to stop him from being stabbed.

Indeed, the calling of Pruitt and Rodriguez
should have caused Wulff’s testimony to be excluded
entirely, because the availability of those contempo-
raneous witnesses would make clear that Wulff’s
testimony was inadmissible under the necessity
exception to the hearsay doctrine. App. 9 (Georgia
Supreme Court concluding that Wulff’s testimony
was erroneously admitted hearsay). Without Wulff’s
testimony in evidence, the State would have had no
evidence that Navarrete had any prior intent to do
Davis serious harm.

At the same time, Pruitt and Rodriguez’s testi-
mony would have bolstered the defense’s central
theory. Pruitt’s account would have reinforced Navar-
rete’s and Burgoyne’s testimony that on the night of
the murder Navarrete tried to stop Martinez from
stabbing Davis, and then begged Martinez to take
Davis to the hospital, by indicating that Navarrete
had done the same thing before overseas. The failure

17

to call witnesses that could have bolstered Navar-
rete’s central narrative about his behavior towards
P’avis was prejudicial. Harrison, 496 F.3d at 427;
Griffin, 970 F.2d at 1359-60. In particular, because
Pruitt’s account was closer to Navarrete’s story about
the hill than Wulff’s, it would have improved Navar-
rete’s credibility with the jury, and thus made the
jury more likely to believe his account of what hap-
pened on the night of the murder. Compare Harrison,
496 F.3d at 427 (“Where is Tony West? ... Where is
Tony West? Where is Tony West to corroborate their
story? Can’t do it. Can’t corroborate it.”) with App.
74-75 (“Why didn’t they call Pruitt? ... Why didn't
they call Rodriguez? ... Why, because it wasn’t the
truth.”); App. 73 (prosecution cites contradiction
between Navarrete’s and Wulff’s stories as evidence
that Navarrete was generally a liar). The jury's
evaluation of Navarrete’s credibility was absolutely
critical, because in order to convict, the jury necessar-
ily had to disbelieve Navarrete’s own account (cor-
roborated by the other State’s witnesses) that he had
tried to stop the stabbing.

Trial counsel’s deficient performance deprived
Navarrete of crucial opportunities to undermine or
even eliminate the prosecution’s central testimony on
motive and intent, and to bolster his own testimony
he had no wish to seriously harm Davis. Especially
when the other evidence against Navarrete was so
thin, and the State’s case depended so heavily on
discrediting him, this creates at least a reasonable
probability that, had counsel been effective, the jury

18

would have voted to acquit. See Anderson, 338 F.3d at
392 (finding prejudice from failure to investigate and
call helpful witness when state’s evidence was
“weak”); Code, 799 F.2d at 1484 (prejudice from
failure to investigate alibi witnesses when “Code’s
trial was a mere swearing match”); Richardson, 189
Ga.App. at 114 (when evidence was “not overwhelm-
ing,” a “reasonable probability exists that the pres-
ence of defendant’s alibi witnesses would have
affected the result”). Counsel’s errors therefore preju-
diced Navarrete’s defense, and the convictions should
have been reversed.

C. The Georgia Supreme Court’s Ruling
Conflicts With Rulings From Federal
Circuit Courts.

The Georgia Supreme Court’s ruling that there
was no prejudice from counsel’s failure to contact
Pruitt and Rodriguez conflicts with the rulings of
federal circuit courts that have concluded that preju-
dice exists when counsel fails to contact witnesses
whose testimony is central to establishing the de-
fense’s theory of the case. See, e.g., Harrison, 496 F.3d
at 427; Stewart, 468 F.3d at 360. Counsel’s failure in
this case is materially indistinguishable from the
failures found to be deficient in those cases and the
other federal circuit cases cited above.

Federal circuits have also held that deficient
performance is prejudicial when it leads to the failure
to elicit testimony that would have bolstered the

19

defendant’s credibility, when the defendant’s credibil-
ity is a critical issue and critically placed in issue by
the prosecution. See, e.g., Harrison, 496 F.3d at 427
(“Where is Tony West? ... Where is Tony West?
Where is Tony West to corroborate their story? Can’t
do it. Can’t corroborate it.”). Similarly, in Griffin, the
Fourth Circuit found deficient performance when the
defense failed to call alibi witnesses, and the prosecu-
tion seized on this in closing:

The entire case hinges on the credibility of
the witnesses. Who do you believe? Do you
believe ... the security officers ... or do you
believe Donald Gary Griffin, who makes the
self-serving statement, I was at home at the
time that the alleged incident took place, ...
I was in my pajamas at 3:30 in the afternoon
when friends of mine, none of which you
heard from, come in and they went to a
friend’s house?

970 F.2d at 1359-60 (emphasis in original).

In this case, the prosecution engaged in a nearly
identical rhetorical maneuver to the ones in Harrison
and Griffin: “Why didn’t they call Pruitt? ... Why
didn’t they call Rodriguez? ... Why, because it wasn’t
the truth.” App. 74-75. That was just as prejudicial to
the defense as the similarly debilitating failure to call
exculpatory witnesses in cases like Harrison and

Griffin.

Yet the Georgia Supreme Court concluded that
there was no prejudice in counsel’s admittedly non-
strategic failure to ever contact Pruitt and Rodriguez.

20

Its justification for doing so, that the Pruitt testimony
would not have “exonerated” Navarrete, is simply
inconsistent with federal circuit law from numerous
circuits holding that when defense counsel fails to
investigate the testimony of a witness that would
have significantly aided the defense’s central theory
and bolstered the defendant’s story on a crucial issue,
that is prejudicially deficient performance. See, e.g.,
Harrison, 496 F.3d at 427; Griffin, 970 F.2d at 1359-
60; Stewart, 468 F.3d at 356; Towns, 395 F.3d at 258;
Harris, 894 F.2d at 878. Those cases, and others like
them, ¢o not require, in order to find prejudice, that
the omitted testimony would have completely exoner-
ated the defendant, or that the omitted testimony
have been about the crime itself. See, e.g., Washing-
ton v. Smith, 219 F.3d 620, 634 (7th Cir. 2000) (failure
to call additional alibi witnesses besides one that was
called was prejudicial); Stewart, 468 F.3d at 356
(prejudicially ineffective assistance in failure to
investigate testimony of witness that would have
contradicted state’s witness's testimony about crucial
motive-related events prior to the actual crime).

The Georgia Supreme Court’s application of a
standard requiring that the uninvestigated testimony
must have completely exonerated the defendant, App.
12, is out of step with the precedents from the federal
circuits, and the teaching of this Court in Strickland
that deficient performance is prejudicial when it
creates a probability “sufficient to undermine confi-
dence in the outcome” that the outcome would have
been different had counsel performed competently.

21

Strickland, 466 U.S. at 694. Pruitt’s testimony was
crucial to establishing Navarrete’s theory of the case:
that he did not conspire to murder Davis, but instead
tried to stop him from being murdered. It rebutted
the most damning piece of testimony in the state’s
case. It shored up Navarrete’s credibility on a critical
point of difference between the State and Navarrete’s
stories. Counsel’s failure to investigate and put on
that testimony is more than enough to create a rea-
sonable probability of a different outcome.

“Eyewitness identification evidence, uncorrobo-
rated by a fingerprint, gun, confession, or coconspira-
tor testimony, is a thin thread to shackle a man for
forty years.” Griffin, 970 F.2d at 1359. Similarly,
weak circumstantial evidence of Navarrete’s guilt,
already rebutted by substantial direct trial eyewit-
ness evidence of Navarrete’s attempt to prevent the
murder, is a weak basis to sentence Mario Navarrete
to spend the rest of his life in prison, when Navarrete
asked his lawyer to contact witnesses who could have
rebutted the State’s best evidence that Navarrete
ever had any motive to do Davis harm, and the law-
yer simply failed to make any effort at all to do so. By
concluding there was no prejudice from counsel’s
failure to contact Pruitt and Rodriguez because the
testimony would not have completely exonerated
Navarrete, the Georgia Supreme Court both erred
and contradicted the decisions of federal circuit courts
that have, rightly, concluded that there is necessarily
prejudice when ‘counsel does not contact witnesses
whose testimony is centrally important to the

22

defense’s theory, and to the defendant’s own credibil-
ity, when his credibility is a central issue. This Court
should grant certiorari to restore uniformity in the
interpretation of its Strickland standard in the
context of failures by counsel to contact important
defense witnesses.

,
v

CONCLUSION

The Petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

EDWARD C. DAWSON
Counsel of Record

GREGORY S. COLEMAN

YETTER, WARDEN &
COLEMAN LLP

221 West Sixth Street,
Suite 750

Austin, Texas 78701

(512) 533-0150

Counsel for Petitioner
Mario Navarrete

May 2008

App. 1

In the Supreme Court of Georgia
Decided: JAN 28 2008
S07A1456. NAVARRETE . THE STATE.
THOMPSON, Justice.

Mario Roberto Navarrete was convicted of felony
murder, aggravated assault, and other crimes arising
from the stabbing death of Richard Davis.’ On appeal,
Navarrete asserts that the evidence was constitu-
tionally insufficient to support his convictions, that
the trial court improperly admitted certain hearsay
testimony under the necessity exception, and that he
was denied effective assistance of trial counsel.
Finding no reversible error, we affirm.

" The crimes were committed on July 12, 2003. On Febru-
ary 17, 2004, Navarrete was indicted along with Alberto Marti-
nez, Jacob Burgoyne, and Douglas Woodcoff. Navarrete was
charged with malice murder, felony murder while in the com-
mission of an aggravated assault, aggravated assault, possession
of a knife during the commission of a crime, armed robbery, and
concealing the death of another. Appellant and Martinez
proceeded to a joint jury trial which commenced on January 23,
2006. On January 27, 2007, the jury acquitted appellant of
malice murder and armed robbery but convicted him of the
remaining charged offenses. Martinez was convicted of all
charges except armed robbery. Navarrete was sentenced on the
same day to hfe imprisonment plus 20 concurrent years for
aggravated assault and consecutive terms for weapon possession
and concealing a death. A motion for new trial was filed on
February 7, 2006, amended on November 21, 2006, and denied
on January 5, 2007. A motion for out-of-time appeal was granted
on May 25, 2007 and a notice of appeal was filed on the same
day. The case was docketed in this Court on June 11, 2007. Oral
argument was heard on October 10, 2007.

App. 2

Viewed in a light most favorable to the verdict,
the evidence established that Navarrete, his co-
indictees Jacob Burgoyne, Douglas Woodcoff, and
Alberto Martinez, as well as the victim, Richard
Davis, served together as infantrymen in the United
States Army.’

The crimes occurred soon after the five men
returned to Fort Benning, Georgia, from a six-month
deployment to Iraq and Kuwait. On the evening in
question, Martinez drove Navarrete, Burgoyne,
Woodcoff, and Davis to a Hooters restaurant to cele-
brate their homecoming. On the way there, Martinez
showed the others a new knife which he kept in the
console of his car. The five men spent the next few
hours at the restaurant having dinner and consuming
several pitchers of beer. Martinez then drove them to
an adult entertainment club. At some point in the
evening, the club’s bouncer approached Woodcoff and
Martinez and asked them to remove Davis because he
was visibly intoxicated. Woodcoff and Martinez
escorted Davis to Martinez’s car, placed him in the
back seat, and returned to the club where they
continued drinking. Approximately two hours later,
the four men left the club and returned to the car.

* Burgoyne pled guilty to voluntary mansiaughter and other
charges, and was sentenced to 20 years in prison; Woodcoff pled
guilty to the only charge for which he was indicted, concealing
the death of another, and was sentenced to probation. Both
testified for the State in the joint trial against Navarrete and
Martinez.

App. 3

Burgoyne pulled Davis out of the back seat and
without provocation, began to beat him. The others
stcod by but made no attempt to stop the fight. Sub-
sequently, the five men again got into Martinez’s car;
Navarrete and Burgoyne sat in the back seat with
Davis between them, and Woodcoff was in the front
passenger seat. Martinez drove to a rural, wooded
area about 20 minutes away. During the drive,
Navarrete and Burgoyne continued to beat Davis,
despite Woodcoff’s entreaties for them to stop.

Martinez stopped the car, and ordered everyone
to get out. Martinez, Burgoyne, and Navarrete
formed a circle around Davis. Burgoyne struck Davis
several times and Davis began to walk toward Marti-
nez and Navarrete. Martinez then produced a knife
and stabbed Davis, causing him to fall to the ground.
Navarrete and Burgoyne urged Martinez to stop the
attack but Martinez disregarded their pleas; Bur-
goyne then walked back te the car and Navarrete
followed. Moments later, Davis got to his feet but
Martinez grabbed him around the neck and resumed
stabbing him. Davis fell to his knees and the attack
continued with Martinez inflicting a minimum of 33
knife wounds. The others observed but did nothing to
aid Davis. After Davis stopped moving, Martinez and
Burgoyne placed his body further into the woods and
removed his identification. The four men returned to
the car and Martinez drove a short distance to a clear-
ing where they made the decision to burn the body.
Martinez drove to a convenience store and Burgoyne
collected money from the others to purchase lighter

App. 4

fluid and matches. Upon returning to the crime scene,
Martinez and Burgoyne poured lighter fluid on the
body and set it on fire; Navarrete and Woodcoff
remained in the car. Martinez then drove the men to
their barracks at Fort Benning.

Several days later Martinez returned to the
crime scene where he detected the odor of the victim’s
decaying body and he decided to bury it. He, along
with Navarrete and Burgoyne, returned to the scene
that night supplied with latex gloves, a shovel, and a
change of clothes. Navarrete stood lookout while
Burgoyne attempted to bury the body.

1. Navarrete asserts that the evidence only
establishes his “mere presence” during the commis-
sion of the offense of aggravated assault and felony
murder predicated on aggravated assault. Thus, he
claims that the evidence was insufficient to support
those convictions.

“Every person concerned in the commission of a
crime is a party thereto and may be charged with and
convicted of commission of the crime.” OCGA § 16-2-
20(a). “‘While mere presence at the scene of a crime is
not sufficient evidence to convict one of being a party
to a crime, criminal intent may be inferred from
presence, companionship, and conduct before, during
and after the offense.’ |Cit.|” Strozier v. State, 277 Ga.
78, 79 (2) (586 SE2d 309) (2003). See also Byrum v.
State, 282 Ga. 608 (1) (652 SE2d 557) (2007). Com-
pare James v. State, 260 Ca. App. 350 (1) (579 SE2d
750) (2003) (evidence insufficient where defendant

App. 5

was not present during the crimes and conduct before
and after did not suepert the inference that he knew
of the plan and shared in the criminal intent).

Navarrete’s intent co commit the crimes may be
inferred from evidence that he assaulted Davis in the
back seat of the car during the 20-minute drive to the
wooded area, that he participated in the plot to burn
the body, that he did not attempt to report the crime
in the days following the murder even when ques-
tioned by the military authorities, and that he stood
lookout while Martinez and Burgoyne burted the body
days later. In addition, Navarrete was aware in
advance of the stabbing that Martinez was armed
with a knife and he stood by and watched Martinez
commit an aggravated assault on Davis before he
made any effort to intervene.

The evidence was sufficient for a rational trier of
fact to conclude beyond a reasonable doubt that
Navarrete was guilty of the crimes for which he was
convicted. Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307 (99 SC
2781, 61 LE2d 560) (1979).

2. Over Navarrete’s hearsay objection, Army
medic Edward Wulff was permitted to testify about
an incident that occurred in Iraq just prior to the
unit’s redeployment to Fort Benning. Wuiff testified
that he was attached to the same platogn as Navar-
rete and Davis and that he and Davis had become
good friends. One night Davis came to his barracks
and awakened him seeking treatment for a wound to

the back of his hand. Wulff testified that he asked

App. 6

Davis how he injured his hand, and that Davis re-
plied he had been drinking with Martinez and Navar-
rete and they decided to become “blood brothers”;
Martinez and Navarrete hit him and choked him; and
Davis thought they were going to kill him. It was also
elicited from Wulff that Davis was extremely intoxi-
cated when he made these remarks, and when Wulff
advised Davis to report the incident, Davis refused
and stated that if anyone were to ask him about it, he
would lie and say he fell and caught his hand in a
thorn bush. The next morning, Wulff sought out
Martinez and Navarrete and inspected their hands
for injuries, but observed none. Wulff did not report
the injury or the alleged threat because he thought it
was just a “drunk thing” and not really serious. The
trial court admitted the evidence under the necessity
exception to the hearsay doctrine.”

In order for hearsay tc be admitted under
the necessity exception, two requirements
must be satisfied: “necessity” and “particu-
larized guarantees of trustworthiness.”
|Cits.| “Necessity” is demonstrated when the
declarant is deceased, when the statement
is shown to be relevant to a material fact,
and when the statement is more probative of
the material fact than other evidence that
may be produced and offered. [Cit.] The re-
quirement of “particularized guarantees of

* Because of the non-testimonial nature of the hearsay
declarations, Crawford v. Washington, 541 U. S. 36 (124 SC
1354, 158 LE2d 177) (2004) is not implicated.

App. 7

trustworthiness” is satisfied when the decla-
ration is coupled with “circumstances which
attribute verity to [the declaration].”

Culmer v. State, 282 Ga. 330, 331 (2) (647 SE2d 30)
(2007). Without deciding whether the hearsay was
“necessary” under the foregoing test, we hold that the
declarations lacked the requisite component of
“trustworthiness” and, therefore, should not have
been admitted under the necessity exception.

In evaluating the trustworthiness element, the
trial court should look to the totality of the circum-
stances surrounding the making of the declaration.
Belmar v. State, 279 Ga. 795 (2) (621 SE2d 441)
(2005). Our review of the record persuades us that
the State, as proponent of the hearsay, failed to
demonstrate sufficient indicia of trustworthiness for
the statements to be admissible under the necessity
exception. While a close relationship between Davis
and Wulff may militate in favor of admission, see
Turner v. State, 281 Ga. 647 (3) (a) (641 SE2d 527)
(2007), that one factor alone is not dispositive, espe-
cially where the totality of the circumstances dictate
otherwise. See Carr v. State, 267 Ga. 701 (3) (482
SE2d 314) (1997), overruled on other grounds, Clark
v. State, 271 Ga. 6 (5) (515 SE2d 155) (1999). See also
Paul S. Milich, Georgia Rules of Evidence, 2d. Ed.,
§ 19.32.

Wulff acknowledged that Davis was intoxicated
when he made the statements, and Wulff dismissed
the alleged threats on Davis’ life as the ramblings of a

App. 8

“drunk” person. See Messick v. State, 276 Ga. 528 (3)
(580 SE2d 213) (2003) (statements to a self-described
acquaintance after an all-day drinking session lacked
sufficient guarantees of trustworthiness and were
inadmissible under the necessity exception). See also
U. S. v. Two Shields, 497 F3d 789 (8th Cir. 2007)
(extreme intoxication is one consideration in the
totality of the circumstances evaluation of the reli-
ability of a hearsay statement). Since Davis had
consumed the alcohol at the time that Navarrete and
Martinez made the alleged threats, it is also reason-
able to infer that Davis was intoxicated when he
witnessed the events, thus undermining his credibil-
ity as a witness. See generally Teat v. State, 237 Ga.
App. 867 (2) (a) (616 SE2d 794) (1999) (“any possible
state of intoxication goes to the credibility of the
witness”), citing Whitus v. State, 222 Ga. 103 (2) (149
SE2d 130) (1966), rev’d on other grounds in Whitus v.
Georgia, 385 U. S. 545 (87 SC 643, 17 LE2d 599)
(1967).

In addition, Davis told Wulff that he had no
compunctions about lying to his chain of command
concerning the nature of his injury, thus demonstrat-
ing his lack of veracity. “The test is whether the
declarant’s truthfulness is so clear from the surround-
ing circumstances that the test of cross-examination
would be of marginal utility.” (Punctuation omitted.)
Yancey v. State, 275 Ga. 550, 553 (2) (570 SE2d 269)

App. 9

(2002)*. Here, the truthfulness of the statement could
have been challenged had the declarant been subject
to cross-examination. Although a trial court’s deter-
mination of trustworthiness will not be disturbed
absent an abuse of discretion, Culmer, supra at (2),
we conclude under the totality of the circumstances,
that Davis’ declarations to Wulff were not “coupled
with circumstances which attribute verity to it,”
Belmar, supra at 797 (2), and thus are inherently
untrustworthy.

We next must assess whether the error in admit-
ting the hearsay portion of Wulff’s testimony was
harmless. “The erroneous admission of hearsay testi-
mony is harmless where it is cumulative of legally
admissible evidence of the same fact, where it does
not touch on the central issue of the case, or it could
not have contributed to the verdict in light of eyewit-
ness testimony regarding the crime.” Myers v. State,
275 Ga. 709, 713 (2) (572 SE2d 606) (2002). See also
White v. State, 273 Ga. 787 (4) (546 SE2d 514) (2001)
(erroneous admission of hearsay is harmless where
there is a positive identification and other corrobora-
tive circumstances). According to the account of two
eyewitnesses, Navarrete was implicated as a party to
the crimes for which he was convicted. While, under
OCGA § 24-4-8, the testimony of a single accomplice
in a felony prosecution is not sufficient to establish a
fact, “the testimony of one accomplice may be used to

* Decided prior to Crawford v. Wasaington, supra.

App. 10

corroborate that of another.” Williams v. State, 280
Ga. 584, 586 (1) (630 SE2d 370) (2006). In addition,
Navarrete’s participation and criminal intent could be
adduced from his conduct before, during and after the
events. Byrum, supra at (1). Under the circum-
stances, we hold that the hearsay evidence could not
have contributed to the verdict. Id.

3. Navarrete submits that he was denied consti-
tutionally effective assistance of trial counsel because
counsel failed to adequately investigate the case, and
failed to offer the testimony of two soldiers who
allegedly were present during the “blood brothers”
incident in Iraq and who could have rebutted Wulff’s
hearsay testimony that Navarrete had threatened
Davis.

“To prevail on a claim of ineffective assistance of
counsel, a criminal defendant must show that coun-
sel’s performance was deficient and that the defi-
ciency so prejudiced defendant that there is a
reasonable likelihood that, but for counsel’s errors,
the outcome of the trial would have been different.”
Patel v. State, 279 Ga. 750, 751 (620 SE2d 343)
(2005), citing Strickland v. Washington, 466 U. S. 668
(104 SC 2052, 80 LE2d 674) (1984).

At the hearing on the motion for new trial, trial
counsel’s physician testified that several months prior
to Navarrete’s trial, counsel had been diagnosed with
cancer and that he began a course of chemotherapy
and received treatments both prior to and after the
date of trial; that contemporaneous with Navarrete’s

App. 11

trial, counsel reported experiencing a side effect of
chemotherapy which causes peeling of the skin on the
hands and feet; but that counsel did not complain
about a lack of mental acuity until eight months after
the conclusion of Navarrete’s trial. Trial counsel
testified that his concentration and ability to write
were compromised during the trial. When asked
about his knowledge of the two potential witnesses to
the “blood brothers” incident, counsel stated that in a
pretrial interview Navarrete named the two men as
potential character witnesses, and that at some time
during trial Navarrete told him the two were present
when he cut his hand “and could testify to that.”
Counsel could offer no explanation for his failure to
follow up on that information.

Sergeant Pruitt, one of the two soldiers who
allegedly witnessed the “blood brothers” incident
testified for the defense at the motion hearing.” He
stated that Martinez and Davis had gotten into an
altercation at the time of the incident and that
Navarrete tried to stop it. Although Pruitt acknowl-
edged on cross-examination that he had been inter-
viewed numerous times after Davis’ murder by both
military and civilian investigators and was expressly
asked if he knew of any problems with anyone in his
platoon, he never disclosed the “blood brothers”
incident. Assistant District Attorney Jackson who

° The second soldier had left the service and could not be
located.

App. 12

participated in the trial of the case was called to
rebut Pruitt’s hearing testimony. ADA Jackson testi-
fied that Pruitt, who had been subpoenaed as a
witness for the State at trial (as were other members
of the platoon), was interviewed by him prior to trial
and asked what if anything he knew about the case
and why someone may have been intent on harming
Davis. Pruitt replied, “I don’t know anything. I don’t
even know why I’m here... . Everything I know is in
the statements you’ve got.” And as a result, Pruitt
was excused from his subpoena.

“In ruling on an ineffectiveness claim, this Court
need not analyze the deficient performance prong if
the Court determines the prejudice prong has not
been satisfied.” Fortson v. State, 280 Ga. 435, 436 (2)
(a) (629 SE2d 798) (2006). As in Fortson, “[elven if the
witness had testified exactly as [Navarrete] claims,
|[Navarrete] has. not demonstrated that there is a
reasonable probability that the outcome of the trial
would have been different, as the testirnony would
not have exonerated him.” Id. Furthermore, Pruitt’s
testimony concerning the incident differed from Navar-
rete’s trial testimony in several material respects,
including his identification of the persons who were
present, and the area of the injury to Davis’ hand.
Thus, had Pruitt been called as a witness at trial, his
testimony actually may have been detrimental to the

App. 13

defense. Accordingly, we hold that the prejudice prong
of Strickland has not been met.”

4. Finally, we reject Navarrete’s claim that the
trial court committed reversible error by allowing
ADA Jackson, who participated as co-counsel for the
State in the new trial hearing, to testify in violation
of the rule of sequestration. After a proffer, the court
allowed Jackson to testify to impeach the testimony
of Sergeant Pruitt. A violation of the rule of seques-
tration generally does not affect the admissibility of
the testimony, but may impact on the credibility of
the offending witness. Rakestrau v. State, 278 Ga. 872
(4) (608 SE2d 216) (2005). We find no abuse of discre-
tion in the trial court’s ruling especially in light of the
fact that this was a non-jury matter. Id.

Judgment affirmed. All the Justices concur.

* In addition, Navarrete’s unsubstantiated claim that trial
counsel was ill-prepared is belied by the evidence and by
counsel’s submitted time records documenting his pretrial
preparation

App. 14

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT
OF MUSCOGEE COUNTY
STATE OF GEORGIA

STATE OF GEORGIA, *
Vv. ” CASE NO.
. SU-04-CR-566
MARIO NAVARRETE, ”
Defendant. *

ORDER DENYING DEFENDANT'S
MOTION FOR A NEW TRIAL

(Filed Jan. 5, 2007)
z

Defendant was tried in the Superior Court of
Muscogee County, Georgia on January 23rd-27th,
2006 before the Honorable William J. Smith. Defen-
dant was convicted by jury verdict of the following
charges: Felony Murder, Aggravated Assault, Posses-
sion of a Knife During the Commission of a Crime
and Concealing the Death of Another. Defendant filed
a Motion for New Trial February 7, 2006 and an
Amended Motion for New Trial on November 21,
2006.

2.

Defendant’s Motion For New Trial was calied for
a hearing on December 19th, 2006 before Honorable
William J. Smith. Defendant was present along with
defense counsel Greg Coleman and Ed Dawson. After

App. 15

a hearing, with evidence having been presented and
considered in the matter, the Court now denies
Defendant’s Motion for New Trial on each and every
ground.

SO ORDERED, this 4th day of January, 2007.

/s/ William J. Smith
Judge William J. Smith
Muscogee County Superior Court
Chattahoochee Judicial Circuit

PREPARED BY:

/s/ Stacey S. Jackson
Stacey S. Jackson
Assistant District Attorney
State Bar #387655

App. 16

SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA
Case No. S07A1456 Atlanta, February 25, 2008

The Henorable Supreme Court met pursuant to
adjournment. The following order was passed:

MARIO NAVARRETE v. THE STATE

Upon consideration of the Motion for Reconsid-
eration filed in this case, it is ordered that it be
hereby denied.

SUPREME COURT OF
THE STATE OF GEORGIA

Ci-rk’s Office, Atlanta

I herevy certify that the above
is a true extract from the minutes of
the Supreme Court of Georgia.

Witness my signature and the
seal of said court hereto affixed the
day and year last above written.

Therese S. Barnes, Clerk

App. 17

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT
OF MUSCOGEE COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

STATE OF GEORGIA
vs.

MARIO NAVARRETTE,
Defendant.

Case No. SU04CR-566

HEARING: Motion for New Trial

Transcript of the proceedings heard in the above-
styled matter before THE HONORABLE WILLIAM
J. SMITH, Senior Judge, commencing at. 9:00 a.m.,
December 19, 2006, at The Government Center,
Columbus, Georgia.

The Honorable Erin Fourcade, Deputy Clerk
* *

[16] but if we’re going into factual circumstances, I
think they need to be sequestered.

THE COURT: All right. The Rule of Se-
questration is invoked. Anyone who's been subpoe-
naed to testify or asked to testify should step outside
and remain within the call of the bailiff.

[WITNESSES WITHDRAW FROM COURTROOM. |

MR. JACKSON: And I apologize, Mr.
Dawson. I should’ve done that at the beginning but I
didn’t want to interrupt.

App. 18

THE COURT: Okay. Very well.

MR. DAWSON: Thank you. Georgia law
does not permit a person to be guilty as a party toa
crime merely by association with the guilty or pres-
ence at the time of the crime. And there was no direct
evidence that Navarrette was a party to the aggra-
vated assault rather than simply being present when
it occurred. Without Medic Wulff’s hearsay testi-
mony, there would not have even been circumstantial
evidence of that. Even if that circumstantial evidence
is not excluded, it fails to eliminate reasonable alter-
natives.

And, finally, there was substantial direct evi-
dence that Navarrette actually tried to

* * *

[21] you. Patients can also develop something called
hand-foot syndrome, which is e toxicity that is unique
to Five FU chemotherapy; and that toxicity involves
the peeling and burning of the hands and can lead to
actually the full peeling of the skin off the hands and
feet, and that can happen periodically.

BY MR. DAWSON:

Q. Thank you. Did you observe that the treat-
ment you gave to Dr. Wright — Mr. Wright had effects
on him?

A. It did.

Q. Can you tell us what they were?

App. 19

A. Yes. May refer to my record?
Q. Yes.

A. Early into his treatment, he developed a very
unusual kind of pustular rash over his entire body
actually. He developed a rash over his genitals, his
torso, his arms; and it was a kind of rash that I had
not really typically encountered with this kind of
chemotherapy. It looked a lot like just bad acne. It
was pustular. It probably had to do with some of the
steroids he was getting, which are given to prevent
nausea. That waxed and waned.

About his sixth cycle in November, mid-
November, he began to develop some numbness in his
fingertips that would last about three to four days.
And then in December, late [22] December and Janu-
ary, he had some significant hand-foot Syndrome,
meaning that his — the skin on his hands and feet
literally began to peel off, and it was — I would clas-
sify it as a grade 3 or a grade 4 toxicity.

What does that mean? It means that when you
have a grade 3 or grade 4 toxicity, it impairs your
ability to perform your — what we call daily activities:
eating, combing, brushing, those sort of things.

@. And in addition to the physical impairments
that you described and the fatigue that you men-
tioned, is it also possible for undergoing chemother-
apy to impair mental function?

A. It is. And I didn’t — its difficult to assess that
and quantitate that, but it is very common. It’s

App. 20

clearly reported in the medical literature that pa-
tients undergoing chemotherapy lack the ability to
concentrate. They lack the ability to focus. It’s typi-
cally more noticeable in patients who have cognitive
professions: teachers, lawyers, engineers, who use
their — who function mentally and largely in a mental
capacity. And it happens while patients are receiving
chemotherapy and also for several months thereafter.

Q. Thank you very much, Doctor.
MR. DAWSON: Pass the witness.
CROSS-EXAMINATION BY MR. JACKSON:
Q. Good morning, Dr. Pippas.

ok * *
[24] A. Yes, sir.

Q. Okay. But nothing of note in January of this
year. Correct?

A. May I review my record?
Q. Sure.

A. Thank you. I don’t have anything in my
record that indicated he was having problems think-
ing. I do have much in my record indicating problems
with hand-foot syndrome and neuropathy.

Q. Okay. Thank you. Thank you. Doctor. And as
you know, you're here in reference — as we've talked
and I’m sure you've talked to Mr. Wright and possibly
defense counsel — we’re here on a motion for new trial

App. 21

about a case that Mr. Wright tried back in January of
this year. Correct? You’re familiar with that some-
what?

A. I’m very minimally familiar with that.

Q. Okay. And if — believing it was — taking my
word for it that some type of motion, amended motion
for new trial, was filed in November —

A. Okay.

Q. — 2006, taking that to be true, this in your
records Mr. Wright mentioning about mental incapac-
ity was September of 2006 would be just a couple of
months before, if taking what I say was true about
the motion being filed in November of 2006?

A. That’s correct.

[39] occurs as a result of the chemotherapy treat-
ment, is this more likely to occur at the time of the
chemotherapy treatment or shortly after or a period
of months or years after that?

THE WITNESS: It can occur in and
around the time you take your chemotherapy. So for
those few days thereafter, universally people become
fatigued. Don’t want to work. Can’t focus on work.
That period of what I would call immediate chemo-
therapy fatigue lasts anywhere from two to four days
after you’ve finished taking your treatments. That’s
one. And then patients recover from that and feel like
they can go back to work; they can focus.

App. 22

In addition to that, however, there is clearly at
the end of a series of chemotherapy treatments, be
that six treatments or 12 treatments or eight, what-
ever that number is, at the end of that series of
treatments and for a period thereafter that may last
for a year or two or may -— there are — there’s some-
thing called chemotherapy brain or chemobrain that
we talk about in the profession that has been sup-
ported in the literature that is a late effect of treat-
ment that again is a — is a— it’s a loss of what I would

* * *k

[42] THE WITNESS: ’04. It would’ve been
04.

BY MR. DAWSON:
Q. Okay. And how did you get Mario Navar-

rette’s case?
A. Iwas appointed.
Q. Okay. And when did you become ill with

cancer?

A. I was diagnosed, I believe, around July of
last year.

Q. Are you still being treated for cancer now?
A. No.
Q@. When did the treatments stop?

A. The last treatment was, as I recall, February
of last year. No, February of this year.

App. 23

Q. February of ’06?
A. Uh-huh.

Q. Did your illness and your treatment affect
your performance during Mario Navarrette’s trial?

A. . Yes, it did.
Q. How did it affect you?

A. Well, I had a problem with short-term mem-
ory. I had a problem concentrating. I recall not being
able to read my own notes. Counsel for one of the
other defendants made a remark once he —

MR. JACKSON: Object, Your Honor,
hearsay.

THE COURT: No response, the objection
[43] is sustained.

Do you want to pull that a little closer to you.

THE WITNESS: And that — but I had
trouble concentrating. Trouble reading my own notes,
and Mario told me about the witnesses after Wulff
had testified that Pruitt and Rodriguez were there on
the hill when Davis cut his own hand and I intended
to call those witnesses. And why I didn’t, I don’t know.

BY MR. DAWSON:

Q. Do you remember when Mario first told you
that Pruitt and Rodriguez had been there the night in
Iraq when Davis was assaulted?

App. 24

A. I looked back and saw some notes where he
had told me that, and they looked like it was at the
jail in an interview, and he said that they would be
character witnesses. And then I do recall during the
course of trial he indicated to me that they were there
when Davis cut his hand and they could testify to
that.

Q. Did you investigate Pruitt and Rodriguez’s
stories?

A. No, I did not.

Q. Did you call Pruitt and Rodriguez at Mario’s
trial?

A. No, I did not.

Q. What was your reason for not speaking to,
not calling [44] Pruitt and Rodriguez?

A. Ihave no explanation.
Q. Was it a strategic decision?

A. No, it wasn’t. I had intended to call those
witnesses and IJ just didn’t do it.

Q. Can you describe the symptoms you were
experiencing during the course of the trial?

THE COURT: The what?
BY MR. DAWSON:

Q. The symptoms, medical symptoms.

App. 25

A. Well, physically, my hands had burst open. I
had bandages on my fingers. Of course, I had trouble
concentrating. I had trouble actually following all the
evidence, and I was in very severe back pain. I was
just not myself.

Q. In comparison to other times during the
course of your chemotherapy treatment, was the way
you were feeling during Navarrette’s trial worse or
better than earlier in the treatment?

A. Well, I was told to expect certain things from
those treatments. What I didn’t realize was that
things could get progressively worse. As an example, I
had a trial in November of the following year [sic],
and I didn’t have that problem at all; but by the time
this trial came along — and, of course, I mentioned to
Dr. Pippas that I needed to bring my A game to [45]
this trial because it was that important, but he didn’t,
you know, really make any comment on that, but I
just wanted to know whether or not I could, perhaps,
maybe perform, but I guess maybe he really couldn’t
tell me that.

THE COURT: Im sorry. I’m having a little
trouble hearing you. Would you speak up. Did you say
you asked Dr. Pippas if you should — you would be
able to perform in this trial?

THE WITNESS: No, I didn’t ask him that.
I just -

THE COURT: Pull that a little closer to
you.

App. 26

THE WITNESS: I just made the statement
that I needed to have my A game for the trial.

BY MR. DAWSON:

Q. Do you feel like you did have your A game
during Mario Navarrette’s trial?

A. No, and the next time I saw Dr. Pippas, I
told him that I had a D game. I just did not perform
like I know I could have at that trial. ve, you know,
tried many, many cases; and I just know when I’m
performing to the level that I know I can perform.
And in this particular instance, I know I wasn’t.

Q. Thank you, Mr. Wright.

[74] court says I did. Now, but it also says that I could
do this and have this removed. And, yeah, that’s my
signature and I was considering doing that.

Q. All right.

MR. CONGER: Your Honor, we move to
admit State’s Exhibits 1, 2 and 3. On 3, could I get a
copy of this one.

THE COURT: And substitute a copy?
MR. CONGER: Yes, sir. Any objections?

THE COURT: Objection to relevancy again
on that?

MR. COLEMAN: Same objection, Your

Honor.

App. 27

THE COURT: Subject to that, it’s admit-
ted, and you may substitute a copy of it.

MR. CONGER: Yes, sir. Thank you very
much, Your Honor.

(STATE’S EXHIBIT 3 IS ADMITTED INTO EVI-
DENCE. |

MR. CONGER: That’s all we have on cross
at this time, Your Honor. Thank you.

THE COURT: Any redirect?
REDIRECT EXAMINATION BY MR. DAWSON:

Q. Mr. Wright, have you ever testified to being
ineffective as counsel other than in the Hodnett
case —

(75) A. Never.

@. -— and this case? Ana the Hodnett case was
when?

A. ’97.

Q. In the Hodnett case, did you fail to investi-
gate and call crucial witnesses?

A. No, not that I recall.

@. Can you read for us what it says at Page 11,
lines 14 to 18?

A. “Did you investigate any of the alibi wit-
nesses that he said that he had?”

App. 28

Answer: “I did.”
Question: “You did talk to them?”
“Uh-huh.”

Q. Thank you. And in the Georgia Supreme
Court opinion in the case it said, “Counsel personally
interviewed the many witnesses called and filed
numerous pretrial motions on behalf of Hodnett.
Additionally, counsel worked closely with the investi-
gator assigned to the case.” Did you personally inter-
view Pruitt and Rodriguez?

A. No.

Q@. Was your decision not to interview Pruitt
and Rodriguez a strategic decision?

A. I intended to.

Q. During the Hodnett trial were you sick with
cancer?

A. No.

- [76] Q. Were you undergoing chemotherapy at
that time?

A. No.

Q. Did Navarrette tell you prior to his trial that
Pruitt and Rodriguez were with him on the hill on the
night in Iraq when Davis was assaulted?

App. 29

A. He may heave. You know, we talked quite a
bit, but I’m certain he told me that during the course
of his trial.

Q. So you're not certain whether he told you
before trial, but he may have?

A. May have.

Q. Did he tell you during the trial?
A. He did.

@. And when was that?

A. It was after Wulff had testified, I believe,
because he was indicating something other than what
he knew about tise facts of him getting his hand cut.

@. And when he told you that, did you call
Pruitt or Rodriguez to testify?

A. No, I didn’t.

Q. Was that a strategic decision?

A. Im sorry.

@. Was tat [sic] a strategic decision?
A. No, it wasn’t.

@. Between the November trial in which you
won an acquittal, November of ’05, and January of
06, when Mario [77] Navarrette’s trial was, how did
you [sic] condition change mentally and physically?

App. 30

A. Well, it got progressively worse, and in
November I'd only had a few treatments at that point,
maybe three. I hadn’t — I didn’t exhibit the kind of
symptoms and the effect that it had on me as these
treatments progressed. You know, as an example,
during the trial in January, | didn’t have — I still had
feelings in my hands and feet. Now I don’t, you know.
So what I’m saying is it appears that as these treat-
ments progress and I guess more and more of the
stuff gets to build up in your system, it starts to affect
you differently. In November I didn’t have those
symptoms. I didn’t have any cuts on the hands. I was
feeling fine. I wasn’t tired. I didn’t have to go home
and lie down in the middle of the day. I was doing
fine.

But in January, [m afraid it was altogether
different, although I thought I was doing okay.

Q. But during the trial, did Mario tell you abou’
Pruitt and Rodriguez?

A. He did.

Q. And you decided not to call them?

A. I intended to.

Q. And that was not a strategic decision?
A. Ithink I just forgot.

Q. Thank you.

* + *

App. 31

[83] AFTERNOON PROCEEDINGS

THE COURT: All right. You have another
witness.

MR. COLEMAN: One more witness, Your
Honor. We’d like to call Sergeant Gregory Pruitt.
Whereupon,

GREGORY DWAINE PRUITT

is called as a witness and, having been first duly
sworn, is examined and testifies as follows:

DIRECT EXAMINATION BY MR. COLEMAN:

Q. Sergeant Pruitt, would you state for the
record your name.

A. Gregory Dwaine Pruitt.

And you are serving in the military?
Yes.

What is your position in the military?
I’m a squad leader.

How long have you been in the army?

PrP OP OD Pp &

Five years.

Q. Can you tell me where you have served in
the military?

A. Fort Benning, Kelly Hill, and we’ve been
deployed to Iraq. This is my third time in Iraq.

Q. Do you know Mario Navarrette?

App. 32

A. Yes.

[84] Q. Do you recognize him here today?

A. Yes.

Q. How do you know Mr. Navarrette?

A. He was in my same platoon in my company.
Q. And can you tell us when that was?

A. That was — he got there in 2002 when we
were deployed to Kuwait.

Q. Did you meet him before you went to Ku-
wait, or did you meet him in Kuwait?

A. In Kuwait.

Q. And after Kuwait, then you went into Iraq?
A. Yes.

Q. And you were in Iraq together?

A. Yes.

Q. Do you feel that you know Mr. Navarrette
pretty well?

A. Yes.

Q. How do you find him — how did you find him
to be as a soldier?

A. He was a good soldier.

Q. And as a person?

App. 33

A. He was a good person, good father. He al-
ways talked about his kids and being in the military.

Q. Ifyou had been called upon to give testimony
relating to Mr Navarrette’s character or propensity
for violence or anything else, would you have been
willing to give [85] testimony?

A. Yes.

Q. Were you called to give testimony at trial?
A. Iwas at first.

Q. Were you ever called to the witness stand?
A. No, not to the witness stand.

Q. If you had been called to give testimony
about Mr. Navarrette’s character or propensity io
violence, can you just very briefly summarize what
the nature of that testimony would’ve been.

A. He was a great soldier and he was good —

THE COURT: All he would’ve been able to
testify to was his character good; he’d believe him
under oath. I don’t think he’d’ve been able to elabo-
rate on it.

MR. JACKSON: Your Honor, I believe the
only question that Mr. Wright would’ve been asking —

THE COURT: I assume his character. I

don’t know about the other issues.

MR. JACKSON: Specific bad acts.

App. 34

MR. COLEMAN: If Mr. Jackson will allow
me to proceed, I believe I'll be answering those ques-
tions.

THE COURT: All right.

[86] BY MR. COLEMAN:
Q. Did you know Mr. Davis?
A. Yes, sir.

Q. How did you know Mr. Davis?
A. He was also in my platoon.

Q. Did you feel like you knew Mr. Davis rea-
sonably well?

A. Well, not really, I mean, he was a loner. He
was in my squad. I mean, I knew him as far as when
we were at war together.

Q. Okay. If there had been any trouble between
Mr. Navarrette and Mr. Davis would you have likely
known about it?

A. I would’ve known about it.
Q. Did you know about any?
A. No, not at all.

Q. Did you know the other defendants in this
case, Mr. Woodcoff, Burgoyne, Martinez?

A. Yes.

Q. You knew all of them?

App. 35

A. Yes.

Q. And how did you know all of them?
A. They were all in my platoon.

Q

And you served with them for some period of

A. Yes.
Q. During the time you were in Iraq?
A. During the RF One.

[87] Q. You met earlier today in the hall with
Mr. Wright.

A. Yes.

Q. Now, before today have you ever met him?
A. No.

Q. Did you ever talk to him?

A. No.

Q. Not in person, not on the phone?

A. Not at ail.

Q. Never contacted by him?

A. Never.

Q. Id like to visit with you very briefly about
an incident that happened in Iraq. I don’t want to
summarize a lot of trial testimony, but there was

App. 36

testimony about a night on a hill. Are you familiar
with what I’m talking about?

A. Yes.

Q. Do you remember when that was?
A. Ican’t recall the exact date.

Q. Were you there?

A. Yes, I was there.

Q. Were people drinking?

A. Yes. |

Q. Were you drinking?

A. Yes.

Q. During that period of time, did one of the
people there suggest doing a blood-brothers ritual?

[88] A. Yes, it was Specialist Davis.
Q. Mr. Davis suggested this?
A. Yeah, Mr. Davis. Yes.

Q. Okay. And that’s where you cut your hand
and mix your blood together and then shake or some-
thing like that?

A. Yes.
Q. Did you do that?
A. Yes, I did.

App. 37

Q@. Did Mr. Davis?

A. Yes.

Q. Did Mr. Navarrette?

A. Yes.

Q. Mr. Navarrette was there?

A. Yes.

Q. Did — who cut Mr. Davis’s hand?
A. He cut his own hand.

Q. You’re sure about that?

A. Positive.

Q. Let me ask you, was there any trouble on the

hill that night?

A. Yes. Martinez had got into a altercation with
Mr. Davis.

Q. It was Mr. Martinez?
A. Yes.

Q. Was Mr. Navarrette involved in that alterca-
tion?

[89] A. The only involvement he had was trying
to break it up.

Q. So Mr. Navarrette was there and he tried to
stop it?

A. Yes.

App. 38
Q. He didn’t hit Davis?
A. No.
Q. You saw that?
A. I saw that.
Q. With your own eyes?
A. Yes.
Q. Was Medic Wulff on the hill that night?
A. No.
Q. Did he see a blood-brothers ritual?
A. No.

Q: Did he see anything else related, anything
that happened on that hill?

A. No.

Q. After Mr. Davis was killed and charges were
brought against Mr. Martinez and Mr. Navarrette
and others, you’ve testified that Mr. Wright did not
contact you at all.

A. Atall.

Did the prosecution contact you?

Yes.

And did they speak to you at some length?
Yes.

Pr Oo Pp &

App. 39

[90] Q. And did they actually call you up here to
possibly testify at trial?

A. Yes.

Q. And if they had been interested in having
somebody who was on the hill testify about what
happened on the hill, would you have been willing to
tell the Court and the jury at that time what hap-
pened on the hill?

A. Yes.

Q. And would you have told them that Mr.
Navarrette attempted to stop an altercation between
or some movement by Mr. Martinez against Mr.
Davis?

A. Yes.

@. You saw and heard everything that hap-
pened on the hill that night?

A. Yes.

Q. And nothing was — you were here in this
courthouse and could've testified about what you saw
and heard. Is that right?

A. Yes.

@. But you were not asked to come into this
courtroom and give that testimony.

A. Correct.

Q. And you don’t know why.

App. 40

A. Idon’t know why.

Q. Did you — you knew about the murder after
the time it [91] came out. Right?

A. Yes.

Q. And you had your own memories of what had
happened on the hill. Did you think there was any
connection at the time between what happened on the
hill and what happened outside Fort Benning?

A. No.

Q. But if somebody had asked you about it, you
would’ve baldly have explained it?

A. Correct.
Q. And you would’ve testified.
A. Yes.

Q. The day that you came and were waiting to
possibly testify, do you recall what day of the trial
that was?

A. I think it was like the first day of the trial.
Q. Okay. You were in the waiting room?

A. Yes.

Q. Do you recall who else was there?

A. It was me, Sergeant Delisie. It was my
platoon sergeant at the time, he’s First Sergeant
Colter; and Davis’s parents.

App. 41

Q@. So Mr. Davis, the father, was in the witness
room that day?

A. Yes.
MR. COLEMAN: Pass the witness.

App. 42

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT
OF MUSCOGEE COUNTY
STATE OF GEORGIA

STATE OF GEORGIA

4
: Case No. SU04CR-566
ALBERTO MARTINEZ and VOLUME 2

MARIO NAVARRETE,

Defendants.

VOLUME 2 of Five Volumes

Transcript of the proceedings heard in the above-
styled matter before THE HONORABLE WILLIAM
J. SMITH, Senior Judge, and a jury, commencing
at 9:00 a.m., January 24, 2006, at The Government
Center, Columbus, Georgia.

The Honorable Stephanie Liston, Deputy Clerk
Superior Court Of Muscogee County

x * *
[142] PROCEEDINGS
[9:00 a.m., Tuesday, January 24, 2006)
THE COURT: Are the jurors here?

DEPUTY SPIVEY: The jurors just got
here, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Very good. Is there anything
before we bring the jury in?

MR. WADKINS: No, sir, not from us.

App. 43

THE COURT: When they come out, just
have them remain seated and come to order.

MR. JACKSON: Your Honor, there may be
one issue. |

THE COURT: All right.

MR. JACKSON: Judge, on _ yesterday,
during my opening, I believe Attorney Wadkins had
the objection concerning the comment made with
respect to testimony from Medic Edward Wulff on the
hearsay objection. He would be the first witness by
the State.

THE COURT: Oh, well, y'all want to
address that then.

MR. JACKSON: I know the Court wanted
to address it.

THE COURT: Go in, if you would, and let
the jury know that we’re working, but we’re taking
[143] up a matter of law. So have them just make
themselves as comfortable as they can back there and
we'll be with them shortly.

DEPUTY SPIVEY: All right, sir.

MR. CONGER: Your Honor, we told the
Court up at the bench yesterday what we expected to
prove. But the gist of it is that on the night of - a
night in June or July of 03 in Kuwait, after they'd
returned — the soldiers had returned from Iraq,
Specialist Edward Wulff, a medic attached to the
company and the platoon that —

App. 44

THE COURT: Medic, did you say?

MR. CONGER: Medic, yes, sir — that all
these people were in will testify that he was a good
friend of Specialist Richard Davis; that he was basi-
cally Davis’s only friend over there; that they talked
regularly; that he was Davis’s best friend and had
known him for six months since they'd been in Ku-
wait and Iraq and knew him throughout the whole
time the soldiers were in Iraq. And during that time
they had established a relationship. They would talk
to each other regularly, tell each other important
matters. We expect the evidence to show that Davis
placed a lot of faith in Wulff - W-U-L-F-F is his name
— [144] and confide in him. And then on — we expect
on a date we believe in June of 03, could’ve been July,
before the troops came home, the — just like Mr.
Jackson said in his opening statement, the victim —
they were over there. It was after midnight and Wulff
was asleep and he was awakened by Davis And
Davis told him that he had been — that he needed
some help for a cut he had on his hand and that Wulff
looked at it and he had a nice — a neat cut several
centimeters long on his hand. So Wulff treated —

THE COURT: So Wulff is a medic, not a
doctor. Is that correct?

MR. CONGER: Yes, sir. Wulff’s a medic,
an enlisted person.

THE COURT: All right. Excuse me.

App. 45

MR. CONGER: And he treated the wound.
He did the treatment he described that, tried to close
it up. He said that Davis had been drinking and that
he asked Davis what happened to him and that Davis
made the statement that he was playing a game
called “Blood Brothers” with Navarrette and Marti-
nez and that he got cut in the process and that
Navarrette and Davis [sic] had choked him and

* ** *k

[153] it’s denying us the right to confront the witness
against us. Of course, Davis is dead; however, I think
there’s another prong that they have omitted from the
this. My reading of the necessity clause is that they
have to, one, show the witness is unavailable, which
they say he’s dead and, therefore, is unavailable in
this case. But they also have to show, I believe, that
there’s no comparable evidence available to the
proponent. And the comparable evidence in this case,
we would say there were other people that were
there. In his statements, as I’ve read them, Mr. Wulff
is going to say, or I would expect him to say, that
there were up on the hill and they were drinking. So
the person that should be coming to court is someone
who had a firsthand, eyewitness account of what
happened there, not Mr. Wulff, who’s being told
something later on after he’s been woken up from his
sleep.

Also, they’re correct. They have to show some
kind of circumstantial guarantees of trustworthiness.

App. 46

THE COURT: Let me go back and have
you elaborate somewhat more on what you've re-
ferred to as “no comparable evidence.” There were,
quote, [154] “people on the hill and they were drink-
ing.” Would be a little more — elaborate a little more
on that. I don’t understand what you're —

MR. FLOURNOY: Well, that’s something
we may need to voir-dire this witness before you rule
on this, because that’s simply what he said in his
- statement. We don’t know who those people are.

THE COURT: “People on the hill,” I don’t -

MR. FLOURNOY: Where it occurs is in
Iraq on a hill supposedly, according to what Davis
told Wulff, is that there were some people up on the
hill and he claims that my client and Mr. Navarrette
did some kind of blood-brother thing. Then they beat
him and choked him and — but then he went and got
treatment. But we don’t know who these other people
are or whatever. Mr. Wulff does; and if they’re people
that were in the unit or whatever, then they’re people
that the district attorney could’ve subpoenaed to be
here, or investigated and had those people who had a
firstiiand account of what happened come into court
and testify about it.

We're having basically a hearsay problem. We
can’t confront Davis about the circumstances. All
we're doing is confronting a statement he gave

* * *

App. 47

[156] MR. FLOURNOY: Well, we would
contend that there were other people on the hill and
that they would’ve been in the best position. And it’s
not our job to bring them to court. That’s the DA’s job
to bring those people to court; and if they’re the ones
who actually witnessed it, that’s the person who
should be testifying, not somebody who was woken up
in their sleep and told a story that they didn’t witness
firsthand.

But, also, regarding the circumstantial guaran-
tees of trustworthiness, there are several factors that
courts have looked at. One of them is the motive to lie
or mislead. And in this case, we would contend that
Davis may have been in some kind of blood-brother
ritual and he cut his own hand and had to explain to
the medic how he got this cut. Instead of taking credit
for it, he blamed some other people for it. So he had a
motive, reason to lie, so he wouldn’t get in trouble.

Also, another indication that the declarant may
not have been telling the truth and may not have
been telling the story correctly is whether or not he
was under the influence. And in this case Wulff is
going to say that Davis — or

* + *
[177] A. Yes.
Q. All right. And — okay. What did you do when

you saw this?

A. I cleaned it out the way it would be cleaned
out normally, and I closed it with Steristrips and just

App. 48

asked him how it happened. And he told me he was
going to be blood brothers and —

Q. Let me ask you something. Had he been
drinking at this time?

A. Yes, he was.

Q. All right. Now, tell us what happened, what
he stated to you, please, sir.

A. Excuse me.
Q. Tell us what he stated to you, please.

A. He said that he was up on the hill drinking
with Martinez and Navarrette, and they were just
hanging out drinking and said they wanted to become
blood brothers. And he stated that they had hit him
and they had choked him. And I think he said, you
know, he was pretty — you know, he was feared, you
know. He had a lot of fear. So I just told him, you
know, “You guys were just drunk, you know. Things
happen when you're drunk.”

And he said that he felt like, you know, that they
were going to kill him. And I was like, “Don’t

* * *

[179] Q. And you said that he said, Davis said
he was afraid they would kill him?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. All right, sir. And you tried to make him feel
better and told him that it was just —

App. 49
MR. WADKINS: Your Honor, I’m going to
object to the leading.
MR. CONGER: All right. I won't.
BY MR. CONGER:
Q. What did you tell him?

A. Ijust reassured him and let him know that it
was just the alcohol and I’m sure it was nothing
serious.

Q. All right. Now, did you report this to anybody
else in the United States Army over there?

A. No, I did not, sir.
@. Why not?

A. Because that’s a violation of the patient-
privacy act of 1974.

Q. All right. Did you ask Davis to report it or if
he was going to report it?

A. I told him to report it, but he just told me
that all he would say was he was sliding down the hill
and he got his hand caught in a thorn bush.

@. He said what?

[214] A. I had proceeded to get out of the front
seat and I believe everybody else got out at the same
time. And I heard an argument and some people were

App. 50

arguing in Spanish. I assume Martinez and Navar-
rette, and then I proceeded to walk off into the wood
line.

Q. All right. You heard some argument in
Spanish and you said —

A. Yes, sir.

Q. -— some people were arguing. Was there any
English being spoken?

A. No, sir, not that I heard.

Q. All right. Do you know what each individual
person was doing besides yourself? Do you know what
anybody — do you know what Davis was doing —

A. No, sir.

Q. -at that point?

A. No, sir.

Q. How about Navarrette and Martinez?
A. No, sir.

Q. How about Burgoyne?

A. No, sir.

Q. Now, what did you do?

A. I went over — | walked off into the woods.
The car ride had made me pretty queasy. I went over
to vomit.

App. 51

[264] and then I hit him again. At this point he wasn’t
fighting me, and I took as, you know, truce or walking
way. At that point I didn’t hit him, and he started
walking towards Martinez and Navarrette’s area, and
that’s when he got stabbed in the side by Martinez.

Q. Now, how did — describe to the jury how that
happened, as you say, Martinez stabbed him in the
side.

A. Well, Martinez stabbed him in the side. Well,
when Davis was walking this way, Martinez came
across right-handed and hit him in his left side, right

here, where the lung’s at, and that’s where he hit
him. And when he hit him, he fell.

Q. Who fell?

A. Davis.

Q. Fell to the ground?
A. Yes, sir.

Q. And after Davis fell to the ground, what
happened next?

A. Martinez — or Navarrette intervened said,
“No, no, no, you can’t do this.”

Q. Try to keep your voice up a little bit, if you
can.

A. Yes, sir. He said — Navarrette said he
couldn’t, tried to intervene. And at this point I saw

App. 52

[265] when Davis fell, and Navarrette was talking to
Martinez saying, “You can’t do it. You can’t do it.”

And I said — I was looking at Davis when I saw
him. I saw frothy blood. I saw his shirt torn a little
with a hole inside and there was some blood on it.
And I looked at Martinez and I knew, you know, he
just had — he had that knife in his hand, and I looked
at him. I was afraid at first because I didn’t know
what was going on. And I knew — | noticed once he hit
the ground and seen that knife, you know, he was
meaning business, more than what I wanted, but I
seen the blood in his eyes and knew —

Q@. Did Martinez say anything at that point?

A. No, sir. He was just — at that point, that was
real quick. He just stuck him but didn’t say nothing
at that point. But when we started — when Navar-
rette intervened, he started saying, you know, “He’s
going to tell. He’s going to tell, you know. I got kids.
He’s going to tell on me. He’s going to tell.” He kind of
like was trying to —

@. Who said “He’s going to tell”? Who’s making
those statements?

A. Martinez.
Q. Martinez, okay.

[266] A. I didn’t quite know what he was trying
to say at that point or what he was meaning by “he
was going to tell,” and there was some kind of confu-
sion going on because he had nothing to do with what

App. 53

I was doing with Davis, nothing at all. And he came
out of nowhere and hit him with the knife, you know.
He didn’t say nothing in the car or nothing. He just
came out and just stuck him like —

Q. Now, at that point, you say Navarrette tried
to intervene and said something to him. Did you try
to — |

A. Yeah, I was —

Q. -— say something to Martinez about what he
was doing at that point?

A. I was telling him, I said — well, at that point
I was kind of, you know, looking over Davis and
looking at, you know, Martinez and Navarrette.
Navarrette was — kind of had things under control,
but I kept my distance from where I was at about
three feet away, three or four feet away. And I was
looking at Davis, but I was saying to him at that
point, you know, we started discussing it, like, “You
don’t have to do this. You got kids,” you know, and
“We can leave him here or we can give him medical
attention but we don’t have to kill him over some-
thing like this,” you know. It was something small,
something simple, you know. He didn’t need to get
[267] stabbed over, you know. I started to come up
with any excuse that we could, even to leave him
there if we had to, you know wha I’m saying, so he
wouldn’t stab him any more, you know. But it started
escalating. He just — he had it in his eyes. He was
going — determined to do it. And, you know and —

App. 54

Q. Did you or Navarrette at some point in time
stand in — if Davis is here, did you or Navarrette at
some point in time stand in between Davis and
Martinez while Martinez had the knife in his hand
after Davis was first stabbed?

A. Yeah, Martinez had the knife and Navarrette
was next to him and I was kind of like in the front of,
you now — kind of back in front of — like, Navarrette
was on the left of me and Martinez was here. I was
kind of like right behind Navarrette to the right
looking at Martinez. But we intervened for just about
— a short amount of time, until about — you know — I
can’t guess, like five minutes, if that. Five or 10
minutes maybe. It’s hard to tell the time. You know, I
wasn’t really worried about the time, but it was about
around that range. And it got to a point where I
started getting real frustrated and he wasn’t letting
go of the knife. He wouldn’t let go one bit.

Q. Did anybody else have a knife in their
hands?

[268] A. No, sir.
Q. Martinez was the only one?
A. Yes, sir, at that time.

Q. Now, you’re — you say you and Navarrette
are pleading with him at that point?

A. Yes, we pleaded with him.

Q. What happened next?

App. 55

A. Me, I got angry and I stepped away and I
made a choice. I left him there. I dishonored him. I
left him and walked away. And I said to Navarrette,
you know, “It’s no use. He’s got to do what he’s got to
do,” and I walked away and went back to the car.

Q. And at that point when you walked away
and went over the car and kind of left the situation,
what did Navarrette do at that time?

A. Well, he-
Q. Did he walk away as well?

A. Yeah. I went first but he kind of followed
suit. He followed suit and we went back to the car
and that’s where we stood.

Q. And when you and Navarrette stood by the
car and walked away, what did Martinez do at that
time?

A. No later than two seconds later, he was on
him. He stabbed him first somewhere in the upper
abdomen, lower chest area; and as soon as he stabbed
him, Davis

OK M ok
([302] And from there, we started throwing blows

again and then out of nowhere, Martinez comes out
and just hits him in the side with his knife.

And, of course, I didn’t know or nobody else knew
he had a knife until I saw Navarrette trying to stop
him for some reason, and I saw Davis laying on the

App. 56

ground. You know, he had — I was trying to examine
him. I looked down at him and he was laying on the
ground like he’d been hit really hard in the stomach,
but I wasn’t sure. And Navarrette was over there
trying to calm him down, and then I realized — I
looked at his right hand and he had a knife in his
hand and he was acting like, you know, if Navarrette
wasn’t there, he was acting like he was going to keep
going, you know. But I saw blood in his eyes. I saw
what he was doing, and it kind of scared me. It scared
everybody there.

So Navarrette and me walked over to him. I
didn’t get too close to him. Navarrette was with him,
said some stuff in Spanish, that’s all I know, there.
And then he said something about his kid, yelled out,
Martinez did, you know, “I got a kid. I got a kid,” you
know. And from there, you know, I kind of saw where
he was coming from. But

* * *

[314] Q. You said he hit one of the dancers in
the face with a quarter?

A. Oh, no, that was before. We — that was like
about a year before. That was before we went to Iraq.

Q. How long had y’all been back in the States
when this thing happened?

A. About four days.

Q. So this happened prior to y’all going on your
two- or three-week leave?

App. 57

A. Roger that, sir. About three or four days,
three.

QUESTIONS BY DETECTIVE CULBERSON:

Q@. You mentioned that Navarrette tried to
make some attempt to keep Martinez from stabbing
or doing any more to Davis?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. And you mentioned that Woodcoff just stood
there?

A. Roger that, sir. He was just off — you know,
standing there.

Q. He never moved? He just stood there the
whole time?

A. Roger. Me and Navarrette actually were the
only ones trying to keep him from doing what he

* * *

(371} — you know, you kind of see. I didn’t see Wood-
coff but I, could kind of see Martinez and Navarrette
there, and Woodcoff was kind of over to the right
here

Q. Right. You got out on one side of the automo-
bile and they got out on the other side of the automo-
bile. Is that right?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. So there could’ve been some things going on
over there that you didn’t see?

App. 58

A. Yes, sir.

Q. Okay. Now, y’all had a discussion about this
thing. Did Navarrette tell you that he did get a knife
from him?

_ A. Navarrette, yeah, we had a discussion. He
did tell me he got a knife from him.

Q. And then y’all talked about how maybe he
got another knife.

A. Yeah, he might’ve got another knife. He said
that — Martinez said that, verbally, he said that to me
in the car when we drove back that next day looking —
smelled the aroma of the body, he said that the knife
was given to him by Woodcoff, that the knife was
given to him.

Q. That Woodcoff gave him the knife?
A. Yeah, that’s what he said.

[372] Q. Okay. Now, while you and Davis were
having altercations, I believe your testimony is that
that’s when out of nowhere Martinez comes and stabs
him in the side?

A. Yes, sir.
Q. And what did you do at that poini?

A. At that point when he stabbed him in the
side, he fell and right then Navarrette went to talk to
him and I kind of stepped in between Davis and
Martinez and was just talking.

App. 59

Q. Okay. And then you both at that point tried
to stop Martinez from doing any further harm?

!
A. Yes, sir.

Q. And, in fact, even tried to talk Martinez into
taking Davis to the hospital. Is that right?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. And Navarrette was involved in trying to get
him to do that?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. Of course, now, yall didn’t have any cell
phones or anything out there, did you?

A. No, sir. I don’t know if the other guys had the
other cell phones. I didn’t have a cell phone on me.

* * +
[384] THE COURT: Mr. Wright, would you
be more comfortable seated? I will allow you to ask

questions seated, given the circumstances, if you
wish.

MR. WRIGHT: Well, I appreciate that,
Judge. I'll hang on for a minute.

BY MR. WRIGHT:
Q. But nobody helped him do that, did they?
A. Can you repeat that?

Q. Nobody helped him kill Davis.

App. 60

A. No, sir.

Q. Okay. So it was your belief that because you
were there and a murder was committed that you
could’ve stopped from happening, although you tried,
that you were just as guilty as the killer?

A. In my eyes —
Q. In your eyes.

A. -— yes, sir. I killed him here, sir; I didn’t kill
him here [Gesturing]. You see. I’m not here to save
myself. I put myself out here, and I’m not trying to
lie. All I know is that if you’re there and you see
something like that happen, you’re just as good as
dead. You’re just as guilty as anyone else there.

Q. That’s in your mind?
A. In my mind, yes, sir.

* * *

[416] A. I was there but, I mean, I don’t recall
being in the ritual, you know, with the blood-brother
thing with — I remember who it was about. It was
about Davis and Navarrette. He says I was there, but
I don’t — I can’t remember. You know what I’m saying?
I can’t remember if I was there or not to say that for a
fact I was there, but I wasn’t, you know. I can’t even
tell you. 1 can’t remember that.

Q. You can’t remember whether or not you were
there or not?

App. 61

A. Yeah, I mean, back in Alpha, back in there,
you know, back in Iraq, I mean. I can’t remember if I
was there. I don’t remember doing a blood ritual with
Davis.

Q. And isn’t it true that Navarrette asked you
to help him stop Martinez from killing Davis?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. And also ask you to help him take him to the
hospital as well?

A.- Yes, sir.
MR. WRIGHT: That’s all I have.
THE COURT: Very well. You may step

down.
THE WITNESS: Yes, sir.
[WITNESS STEPS DOWN.]

[550] here to celebrate, and whatever your intentions,
whatever you're planning to do is not going to hap-
pen. So please give me the knife.”

Q. Okay. Were you at that point - well, what
happened then, after you talked to him about that?

A. Well, I can see in his eyes that he — he was
kind of upset, but he didn’t really want to give me the
knife. So I step — I took a step close to him and I
extended my hand. He pulled his hand backwards,
and I told him again. I repeated that he had a family;

App. 62

that we don’t need this right now; we don’t need to
get in trouble; that I’m going to let him do whatever
he thinks he’s going to do. And I extended my hand
again, and that’s when he — I met — as soon as I was
going to grab his hand, he — I can see his hand mov-
ing forward slowly, and I got the knife from him.

Q. Okay. So, in fact, he did give you the knife.
A. Yes, he did.
Q. Okay. Then what did you do next?

A. After I took his knife away, I turn around.
Burgoyne was sort of facing me, because when I turn
around and followed Martinez to see where he was
going, he was going back to the car, to the back of the
car where Mr. Burgoyne, was standing. I didn’t see at
the time where Mr. Davis is. I see —I follow Martinez,
and when he’s coming past Burgoyne, I see Burgoyne.
So I turn around and I’m

* * *
[555] A. But I did not see no knife.
Q. All right. What about Martinez?

A. Mr. Martinez, I could not see him because I
was directly behind him, and | was leaning towards
the window, but I had a clear shot at whatever Mr.
Burgoyne was doing with his hands and knees.

Q. Okay. Now, when y’all left there — well, prior
to going out there and the car stopped, was there any

App. 63

conversation that you heard about anybody doing any
harm to Mr. Davis?

A. The only thing I did hear was somebody
asking the other person, “Where do you want to do it,
homes?” That’s the only thing I heard. I didn’t say —
didn’t see who said it, and I didn’t know what they
were talking about.

Q. Okay. Now, you’re in the car. On the way
back was there any talk about burning Mr. Davis?

A. No, after everybody got in the car, nobody
had a discussion about burning the body or anything
like that. Everybody got in the car and we drove back.
I'm assuming we were going back home, but then
they stopped — they stopped in a gas station that was
kind of en a hill, because I remember the car being
slanted and the bright lights of the store hitting
inside the car and Burgoyne getting off.

Q. Okay. Then Burgoyne got out and you don’t
know if he bought, what he bought or anything. Is
that right?

* * *
[561] And I went back —- stepped back next to a

tree and I relieved myself, and | was just looking,
seeing what he was doing.

Q. Okay. Was there any talk about you being a
lookout?

App. 64

A. No, there was no such thing about him
telling me that for me to be a lookout or anything.
None of that.

Q. Okay. Now, let me take you back now to
when yall were in Iraq, and I believe there’s been
testimony about taking a blood oath.

A. Yes. In Irag one week when the war finished,
we were held outside the international airport,
probably like 10 miles away from the main entranice,
and were in like in a hangar-type of warehouse where
they put planes, because there was a runway there
for little airplanes. And there was a hill next to that —
we called it a hill. It was actually just a big sort of
mountain type of terrain, but with a road all around.
It was like an observation point. And next to it was a
reserve unit. They were National Guard that were
specialized in purifying the water for us to drink.

And one night we had — they were talking about
getting some alcohol. Now, alcohol is illegal and is
banned from Iraq. So we were actually not supposed
to be drinking. But the National Guard people, they
had some contacts that they can get alcohol. So we
buy alcohol and we get [562] together, some of us.
Myself, I remember we had two occasions that went
to that hill and drank alcohol. One was during the
day and one was during the night. And the first
occasion, Mr. Martinez, myself, PFC Rodriguez,
Sergeant Pruitt and that’s about it — and Woodcoff
were there. Now, we drank and we had a conversa-
tion.

App. 65

Now, on the second time we went around, which
was a night, Mr. Martinez wasn’t there. Mr. Woodcoff
wasn’t there. That’s when we made the blood oath.
Mr. Burgoyne was there, Sergeant Pruitt, PFC Rodri-
guez and myself and Mr. Davis. Mr. Davis was sit-
ting, the second time, was sitting in the middle. We
were passing the bottle around. He would pass it to
Burgoyne, Burgoyne would pass it to Pruitt, Pruitt to
Rodriguez and Rodriguez to me and so forth. We were
having a conversation and we come up — they had
come up with this “Let’s do a pact. Let’s cut our hands
and bleed and shake on it that we will take care of
each other.” So we did. And I cut my hand and Mr.
PFC Rodriguez did his. Pruitt did his. Burgoyne did
his. Davis, he was already had too much drink now.
He was jugging that bottle. He wasn’t sharing that
much, but he cut his hand but did not cut it in the
palm. He cut it on top and he made a big cut that he
asked me, “Do you want me to cut you?”

I’m like, “No, no, I already cut myself.”

* * *

[563] “Well, do you need blood?” and he grabbed
my hand and put his hand on top of mine and did this
motion, and I can feel all the blood. [’m like, “Man,
you're bleeding too much.”

And Rodriguez like, “What did you do?” And he
looks at the cut and remarked, “Let’s go.” So we get
up and we leave. I, on the way back to where every-
body was living at, I passed out behind a track, which
Mr. Burgoyne already specified is a tank. Has a ramp.

App. 66

So that’s where I vassed out. After I threw up, I

passed out. Did not — I was not aware where Mr.
Davis went, but I did see him next morning with a
bandage on. Now, Mister — our medic did not ask me
— he came and I asked him, “Hey, how bad is Davis
‘ eut?”

He said, “He’s got a pretty nasty cut.”
“Really? But did you clean it up?”

He said, “Yes, I did. It’s all taken care of.”
“Okay. Good.”

And he’s like, “How did he do it?”

I told him, “Well, we did a blood oath and he cut
himself too much.” And Rodriguez, I told him the
same thing, he’s like — he’s like, “Man, that’s silly. I
don’t know what you guys doing.” And that’s about it.

Q. Now, you also gave a statement to the police.
Is that correct?

A. Yes, I did.
ok 4 *

[593] A’ Yes, he was.

Q. Okay. Yall had been drinking?
A. Yes.

Q. Y'all were drunk?

A. Yes.

App. 67

You said Davis was real drunk.
Yes.

And y’all did this blood-oath thing?
Right.

Where you cut your hand?

rere *

Right. We cut our hand in the palm, right in
the palm.

@. But he cut the back of his hand?

A. Yes. He went ahead and cut the top of his
hand.

Q. This blood oath, is that to look after each
other?

A. Yes. The blood oath, we actually — I don’t
recall that movie we saw it, but I seen it; and it’s an
oath you take where you shake on blood and you
become brothers, blood brothers; and you promise to
each other you’re going to take care after each other
and no matter what happened, you're going to stick
together.

Q. So when Burgoyne called you “little brother”
the night y’all went back out there to the wooded area
by Milgen Road, that’s because of this?

A. Yes.

* * *

[658] did to determine whether he intended to be in
on this crime or not.

ver

App. 68

And, ladies and gentlemen, the Judge is going to
charge you one other or many other important princi-
ples of law, but one of them will be the law of conspir-
acy. And the Georgia law of conspiracy is that a
conspiracy is an agreement by two or more people to
do an unlawful act. And the existence of a conspiracy
may be proven by acts and conduct as well as by proof
of an express agreement.

When persons associate themselves in an unlaw-
ful enterprise, any act done by any party to the
conspiracy to further the unlawful enterprise is
considered to be the act of all the conspirators.

Now, ladies and gentlemen, the Court will also
tell you, the presence, companionship and conduct
before and after the commission of the alleged offense
may be considered by you in determining whether or
not such circumstances give rise to the inference of
the existence of a conspiracy.

Now, ladies and gentlemen, I submit to you that
in this case that we’ve got right here, that Navarrette
and Martinez both wanted Davis [659] dead; that the
evidence shows a conspiracy between these two early
on.

You know, Davis was mistreated, beaten up by
these two in Iraq. Wulff, unimpeached, no reason to
not tell the truth, came in this courtroom on two
occasions and said that — Medic Wulff, that Davis
came to him cut, described what had happened, the
blood-brother thing; said he was cut with a box cut-
ter; said that Martinez and Navarrette beat and

App. 69

choked him; and said that he was afraid they were
going to kill him.

And then some months later, Martinez and
Navarrette are both present when he is killed. That, I
submit to you, allows you to draw the inference of the
existence of a conspiracy. That didn’t happen out of
the blue. Wulff thought it was child’s play. He thought
it was drinking activity; but I submit to you, ladies
and gentlemen, a month later they’re there when he’s
killed. And we know Martinez did the killing. That’s
almost — that’s unrefuted and uncontradicted in this
courtroom. Nobody has testified anyone other than
Martinez killed Richard Davis.

Now, ladies and gentlemen, on July 12th or 13th
they all go out. In the club and before

* * *

[665] Navarrette in his testimony said he wasn’t
thinking straight. In his statement, he said the
statement — he implied the statement was not re-
corded properly. Detective Blackstock said that it was
taken down word for word.

Navarrette also said that Medic Wulff didn’t look
at his hands over in Iraq. But we put Wulff back up to
say that he did. He said Burgoyne was at the blood-
brother incident in Iraq. Wulff said Davis said he
wasn’t there, and nobody else said Burgoyne was
present at the blood-brother incident either. He said
that he found out he was charged with murder after
he gave his statement. Ladies and gentlemen, you

App. 70

know from the testimony of Detective Blackstock that
defendant Navarrette filled out this form and signed
it or at least signed it. And up here at the top it says
he was charged with murder. Detective Blackstock
said he told him he was charged with murder.

Now, ladies and gentlemen, Navarrette is not
telling us the truth about these smaller things. So I
submit to you, you are authorized to consider that he
ain’t telling the truth about the rest of it either. You
know, who’s going to help do a murder with three
people who can turn you in? [666} Would Martinez
kill Davis around people he couldn't trust, who
wouldn’t help him, that he was afraid of? And he was
right. He wasn’t turned in. He was only caught be-
cause Burgoyne ran his mouth about it. But not to
the police, to a fellow soldier.

This is not a case, as the Defense would have you
believe, where someone is in the presence of a crime
and is charged and caught up with the crime when
they didn’t do anything.

Under these facts and circumstances I submit to
you, because of what happened in Iraq, because of
what happened at the club, because of what hap-
pened in the car, because of what happened on Milgen
Road, across the street, you're authorized to consider,
based on these acts and circumstances of Navarrette
and what he did, that he was a party to this thing.
He’s not telling the truth about the little things. His
plan as he mentioned it, is absolute hogwash.

App. 71

Now, ladies and gentlemen, Martinez didn’t kill
Davis in front of somebody who was going to not help
him cover it up. Every one of them helped him cover
it up, including Woodcoff — everybody, everybody. All
jour of these men act like they’re guilty. The actions
of each one of

{672} But, ladies and gentlemen, we read the
statement by the police officer and he testified —
officer Blackstock said, as you will recall, “Davis was
being rude to a girl. We got in Martinez’s car. I got
into a fight with him. After I got into a fight, every-
body said that they were going to go home. Davis was
in the middle asleep. Martinez started driving. Bur-
goyne started hitting Davis. As we were pulling out, I
started hitting Davis.

“I remember pulling off the road in the tree line.”
And these are his words, not mine. “Burgoyne got
pissed off. And Martinez said at this point, ‘Do you
want to do it here, homes?” Now, obviously, he meant
do you want to kill him here. And we know that
Martinez and Navarrette are friends from Iraq. Davis
said they were beating on him and choking him in
Iraq. He thought they were going to kill him. And
Martinez says, “Do you want to do it here, homes?”

Burgoyne pulled Davis out of the car. Navarrette
said he saw Martinez with my knife, his knife. And he
asked, “What are you doing? And I asked, “‘What are

you doing?’” He, Martinez, said he fucked up, homes,

App. 72

speaking to me. “I asked, ‘What are you going to do.’
He said, I’m going

[674] out? He told the police he cleaned it out the next
day himself when he was arrested.

And also in his statement he said, talking about
going back to move the body, “So we drove to the wood
line. I was standing outside looking at the road. I
don’t know what B was doing, then B told me, ‘Let's
go. Let’s go.’ And then Martinez drove up’ we got on
and drove off. The next day I woke up in the bar-
racks.”

Now, ladies and gentlemen, Martinez, according
to Navarrette, Woodcoff and Burgoyne, is the one who
killed him. Navarrette, I submit to you, is guilty of
concealing a death. We understand he went back. He
was the lookout. He didn’t want to admit it. He
claimed he had a plan but he went with them. He
went. back. .

Ladies and gentlemen, I submit to you that
under this evidence, with the treatment of Navarrette
and Burgoyne of Davis, the way they had treated him
in Iraq, he and Burgoyne beating on him in the car,
that Navarrette was not surprised when Martinez
said, “Let’s do it here, homes.”

His actions before and after the crime, not what
he says, his actions in having animosity with Davis,
his actions after the crime in covering it up, in hiding
the body, I submit to

App. 73

* * *K

{676} worried about Davis. That Davis was squared
away. But he didn’t help Davis. He didn’t report as he
testified to. He didn’t teli his chain of command. He
left him in the woods. And we’ve got his word, his
word on all of that.

Navarrette is lying about the little stuff in his
statement, about Wulff, about what happened in Iraq,
about doing the cover-up. He’s lying because of his —
he knows he’s guilty and he’s got to explain his ac-
tions in some way that are not consistent with the
guilt that we — I submit to you, that he’s got. He’s
even saying he’s not guilty of concealing a death.

Ladies and gentlemen, in Georgia law that
simply means doing an act to conceal from law en-
forcement the cause of a person’s death. And when he
went along to move that body, I submit to you, he’s
guilty of that. Woodcoff’s pleading guilty to it, and he
did not go along to move the body. So that’s how broad
the law of concealing a death is.

Now, ladies and gentlemen, three witnesses say
Martinez did it. Using good common sense, recogniz-
ing the law in this case, the law of intent which says
that the State can show the criminal intent of a
person by acts and conduct of

[735] Martinez’s statement, let’s do it here,

homes. Martinez’s statement, he fucked up, homes.
Circumstantial evidence. Credibility. The Court will

App. 74

charge you that you are to decide the credibility of all
the witnesses, who's telling the truth, who’s not
telling the truth, including this defendant, Mario
Navarrette because he decided to take the stand. You
must judge his credibility as well.

You heard testimony from Mr. Davis, the crime
scene investigators that took the photographs, differ-
ent things like that. You heard from Medic Wulff, Mr.
Davis’ best friend. As heard time and time again, Mr.
Davis may have not had that many friends, he went
to his buddy. “They choked me, they cut my hand,
they punched me.” Why would Medic Wulff lie. Why
would he make up that story. He’s out of the Army,
even though he’s working on the base, he doesn’t have
any dealings with any of the people that were in-
volved. Why. Why would he make that story up.

But one thing that’s interesting about the defense
attorney's argument about Medic Wulff, there’s two
pieces of testimony that they left out in their argu-
ment. When Medic Wulff goes up to Martinez and ask
him, after they get back to Fort

[750] The body being found like that, that’s what
they have to remember. That’s their last image of
their son. They don’t never get to see him again. His
little girl can visit him while he’s been here the last
two years; can they visit their son? No. Will they ever
talk to him again? No. Can Mr. and Mrs. Davis have a
grandchild, because their daughter has Downs Syn-
drome? No. Think about the true victims in this case.

App. 75

Also this blood-brother oath. Where’s Pruitt?
Why didn’t they call Pruitt if Pruitt was there?
They’re in the same squad, same platoon. Why didn’t
they call Pruitt? He could have straightened the
whole matter up. Why didn’t they call him. Why
didn’t they call Rodriguez? He could’ve straightened
the whole matter up about the blood-brother oath.
Why? Third ID just got back; they started coming
back the end of December. Why didn’t they call him?
Why, because it wasn’t the truth. That’s why they
didn’t call him.

There has been no evidence that Navarrette
wanted to go to take that young man to the hospital.
That statement, well I didn’t know I was being
charged with murder. It was right there. It’s right
there. State’s Exhibit Number

Count 1
Count 2
Count 3
Count 4

Count 5
Count 6

App. 76

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT
OF MUSCOGEE COUNTY
STATE OF GEORGIA

State v. Mario Navarrette
Murder ___ Guilty V_Not Guilty
Felony Murder ¥_ Guilty __ Not Guilty
Aggravated Assault ¥ Guilty _ Not Guilty
Poss. of A Knife

During the Commis-

sion of a Crime ¥ Guilty _ Not Guilty
Armed Robbery ___ Guilty V_ Not Guilty
Concealing a Death “~ Guilty _ Not Guilty

Foreperson /s/ [Illegible]
Date 1-27-06

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF MUSCOGEE COUNTY, GEORGIA

FINAL DISPOSITION
STATE OF GEORGIA CRIMINAL ACTION NO SU 04 CR 566
Vs OFFENSE(S) Ct (1) — Murder; Ct (2) - Felony
Murder; Ct (3) - vated Assault; Ct (4) — Poss
Marlo Navarrete Murder, Ct (3) — Aggravated As at
Marlo Navarrete of a Firearm or Knife during the Commission of a
117901114 / 108623935 the Death of Another
SID NUMBER December TERM, 20 05
O PLEA VERDICT OC) OTHER DISPOSITION
0 NEGOTIATED JURY GUILTY ON CO NOLLE PROSEQUI ORDER
O NON-JURY COUNT\S) 2.3.4.6 ON COUNT\S)
O GUILTY ON NOTGUILTYON (0 DEAD DOCKET ON
COUNTS) __ | COUNTS) 1. 5 COUNT(S)
0) NOLO OC) GUILTY OF
CONTENDERE INCLUDED
ON COUNT\S) __ OFFENSE(S) OF _
0 TO LESSER ON COUNT(S) __
INCLUDED
OFFENSE(S)___
ON COUNT(S) __ (SEE SEPARATE ORDER)

O DEFENDANT WAS ADVISED OF HIS/HER RIGHT TO HAVE THIS SENTENCE
REVIEWED BY THE SUPERIOR COURTS SENTENCE REVIEW PANEL

& FELONY SENTENCE O MISDEMEANOR SENTENCE

WHEREAS, the above named defendant has been found guilty of the above stated offense,
WHEREUPON, it is ordered and adjudged by the Court that said defendant is hereby sentenced to
confinement for a period of Ct (2) - Life; Ct (3) - 20 years to run concurrent with Ct (2); Ct (4) — 5 vears
to run consecutive to Ct (2); Ct (6) - 10

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1523%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
