# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bischoff v. Louisville and Jefferson County (No. 07-1462)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1500%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

3 rt, US.
a 1) SPPRCR
071462 NAR 20 2008
IDFRIGHOF THE CLERK

In The

SUPREM COURT of the UNITED STATES

Raymond Bischoff Petitioner
V.
Commonwealth of Kentucky, Respondents

Louisville and Jefferson County Sewer District,
Zielke, Pedley, Gordinier, Dwyer, Clayton

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court of Appeals
For The Sixth District

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Raymond Bischoff

5215 Bardstown Road
Louisville, Kentucky 40291
(502) 499-1323

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

. Without Written Release from the property
owner, then, how can the filed for, state granted
and held Bench Trial, for a compensation matter
of property over twenty dollars, be considered
anything but irrefutable proof of violating a citi-
zen’s guaranteed right to Just Compensation
and Jury Trial under U.S. Constitution Amend-
ments V and VII ?

. How can Just Compensation be satisfied, when
agricultural products are taken or destroyed
without recognition or compensation from the
defendants, and fair market value is outra-
geously unjust and arbitrary under a bench
trial ?

. How can the Commonwealth of Kentucky Emi-
nent Domain law be considered constitutional
when it has no gatekeepers to guard against
abusive use and no allowance for total loss of fair
market value for property, as in Luca v. South
Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.SS. 1003

(1992) ?

. Is Judicial Immunity the Scapegoat by which the
Respondents, in their official capacities, justify
failure to uphold the true essence of the laws and
rights of citizens, putting the burden of time and
expense upon the citizen to seek justice ?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS
OPINIONS BELOW
JURISDICTION
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-
SIONSS INVOLVED
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
CONCLUSION
INDEX TO APPENDICES
APPENDIX A
UNITED STATE COURT OF APPEZLS
FOR THE SIXTH DISTRICT
APPENDIX B
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY
APPENDIX C

ORIGINAL COMPLAINT

(il)

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction in this claim relies upon the U.S. Con-
stitution Amendment V and VII to uphold the guar-
anteed rights of a citizen for Just Compensation
and Jury Trial for a matter of property over twenty
dollars. The citizen can not rely upon the defen-
dants, all, when, in a matter of compensation, a
bench trial was filed for and then held, without
Written Release from this citizen Just Compensa-
tion can not be satisfied by a forced bench trial of an
outrageously unjust and arbitrary decree, and de-
stroyed or taken agricultural crops have not been
recognized for compensation.

Commonwealth of Kentucky Eminent Domain law
does not have a gatekeeper for abuse and no allow-
ance for total loss of fair market value, therefore, 28
U.S.C. 2403(b) may apply and shall be served on its
Attorney General.

The Order entered October 22, 2007, by the United
States Court of Appeals, For the Sixth Circuit does
not uphold the rights of this citizen’s claim.

The Opinion and Order entered January 26, 2007,
by the United States District Court, Western Dis-
trict of Kentucky at Louisville, does not uphold the
rights of this citizen’s claim.

Extension of time January 30, 2008, extended to
February 19. 2008.

Extension of time February 19, 2008, extended to
March 20, 2008, by Justice Stevens, application No.
07A628.

(1)

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

U.S. Constitution Amendment V Just Compensation
U.S. Constitution Amendment VII all matters of

property, twenty dollars or more, shall be decided
by jury trial

(2)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This claim is based upon the actions of the Defen-
dants, filing and then holding a forced bench trial
for a compensation matter, without Written Release
from this citizen, having cited both state and fed-
eral law mandates. This claim is not based upon
the final decision of the Commonwealth of Ken-
tucky Supreme Court, resting against, which over-
turned the Kentucky Court of Appeals.

Compensation was based upon a probate settle-
ment price through an appraiser, not qualified for
Fair Market Value, in the face of evidence clearly
showing an outrageously unjust and arbitrary con-
tradiction over a hundred times the difference. De-
stroyed or taken agricultural crops were not recog-
nized nor compensated for. Total loss of fair market
value was not recognized, due to a main sewer line
installation prohibiting future new construction as
defined by zoning laws.

Kentucky KRS 416.550-416.670 Eminent Domain
law, mandates a jury trial for compensation mat-
ters. There is no allowance for total loss of fair
market value due to a main sewer line, whereby no
new construction can be developed, as in Lucas v.
South Carolina Council, 505 U.S. 1003 (1992).
Therefore, it is noted that 28 U.S.C. 1403(b) may
apply.

This citizen can not rely upon the Defendants, all,
te uphold the true essence of rights and law, nor
their authority in official capacities to be responsi-
ble when cited both state and federal mandates.

(3)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Petitioner relies upon this Highest Court to recog-
nize the injustice of violations of Amendment V and
VII in this compensation matter, and find outra-
geously unjust and outrageously arbitrary the pos-
ture of the Respondents, having cited both state
and federal mandates .

The Commonwealth of Kentucky Eminent Domain
law is not specific enough regarding compensation
matters. Allowing a sewer company as a normal
utility abuses true essence of that privilege, fora
tota! loss of resale value for new construction is
taken from the property by a main sewer line in-
stallation, just as zoning laws and common sense
prohibit. This is sustained by Lucas v. South Caro-
lina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003 (1992), and
therefore 28 U.S.C. 2403(b) may apply.

Without granting this Writ, citizens in all states
may be open to the same violations from a prece-
dence that would be created. The Respondents, in
their official capacities, being irresponsible to the
true essence of the law and rights of citizens, fail to
uphold the law and abuse their authority, putting
the burden upon the citizen to buy justice. This
same obligation and responsibility should apply in
all public matters.

The history of Carpet bagging by the Respondents’
corroborations continues in this state with judges
turning the cheek to complaints, twisting the law to
justify the means of their actions.

(4)

EE

CONCLUSION

This citizen honorably served in Viet Nam for the
rights and privilege of guaranteed U.S. Constitution
rights and property to be upheld and recognized in
the true essence of the law. The whole concept of
this matter lies upon the Respondents not serving
the citizen honorably and responsibly, and not up-
holding rights and mandates of law.

Just Compensation can not be satisfied by a forced
bench trial, without Written Release from the prop-
erty owner. Main sewer lines take total fair market
value for future construction. Commonly used ap-
praisers are not experts for evaluation of fair mar-
ket property values, when they are restricted by
their methods and prone to be user friendly, in the
face of real estate agents being the professionals
that set fair market value standards. Agricultural
crops can not be destroyed or taken without com-
pensation.

The Respondents have no excuse for ignorance of
the law in their official capacities and responsibili-
ties, and their violation of a citizen’s rights and
property can only be construed as pre-meditated
continuance of their Carpet bagging history in this
state, without your intervention to protect citizens.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to be granted
Respectfully submitted,
Raymond Bischoff
5215 Bardstown Road
Louisville, Kentucky 40291
(502) 499-1323
May 20, 2008
(5)

APPENDIX A

No. 07-5320

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH DISTRICT

RAYMOND BISCHOFF _Plaintiff-Appellant

V.

LOUISVILLE AND JEFFERSON COUNTY

METROPOLITAN SEWER DISTRICT, JOHN

DWYER, DENISE CLAYTON, Judge
Defendants-Appellees

ORDER

Before MERRITT, ROGERS, and MCKEAGUE,
Circuit Judges

Raymond Bischoff, proceeding pro se, appeals a
district court order dismissing his civil rights action
construed as filed under 42 U.S.C. 1983. This case
has been referred to a panel of the court pursuant
to Rule 34(j)(1), Rules of the Sixth Circuit. Upon
examination, this panel unanimously agrees that
oral argument is not needed. Fed. R. App. P. 34(a).

This case arises out of an eminent domain pro-
ceeding filed by the Louisville and Jefferson County
Metropolitan Sewer District (MSD) to obtain per-
manent and temporary sewer easements across
property owned by Bischoff. After a bench trial in
the Jefferson County Circuit Court, a monetary
judgment in the amount of $5,522.00 was entered in
favor of Bischoff for the taking of his property.
Prior to the bench trial, Bischoff belatedly moved
for a jury trial, which the trial court denied as

untimely under Ky. R. Civ. P. 38. The issue of
whether the trial court’s denial of Bischoff’s motion
for a jury trial violated the Kentucky Constitution
was decided in Bischoff’s favor on appeal to the
Kentucky Court of Appeals. See Bischoff v. Louis-
ville & Jefferson County Metro Sewer Dist., No.
2004-C-002545-MR, 2005 WL3443059 (Ky. Ct. App.
Dec. 16, 2005). The case is currently pending in the
Kentucky Supreme Court on discretionary review.

Bischoff filed the instant lawsuit against MSD,
MSD’s counsel in connection with the eminent do-
main proceeding (John Dwyer), and the Jefferson
County Circuit Court Judge who presided over the
eminent domain proceedings ( Judge Denise Clay-
ton), alleging that the defendants denied “a jury
trial for Raymond Bischoff, pro se, property owner,
in the face of objection and reference to U.S. Consti-
tution Amendment VII by motion.” For relief,
Bischoff requests “a jury trial” and “damages and
punitive damages for violations of constitutional
rights.”

Upon motions be the defendants, the district court
dismissed the complaint for lack of subject matter
jurisdiction and also under the abstention doctrine
because an appeal in the condemnation case was
still pending. This timely appeal followed.

We review de novo a district court’s dismissal for
lack of subject matter jurisdiction under Fed. R.
Civ. P. 12(b)(1). Beamon v. Brown, 125 F.3d 965,
967 (6th Cir. 1997). We also review de novo a dis-
trict court’s decision to abstain. See Berger v.
Cuyahoga County Bar Ass’n, 983 F.2d 718, 721 (6th
Cir. 1993).

Upon review, we conclude that the district court
was correct in abstaining on the basis of the

sd

Oe en ge Ok CRSP BED oe eae” OP ee i ey ee ee AR a ee

doctrine announced in Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S.
37 (1971). The Younger doctrine is invoked when
state proceedings are pending and principles of fed-
eralism dictate that the constitutional claims
should be raised and decided in state court without
interference of the federal courts. In Middlesex
County Ethics Comm. V. Garden State Bar Ass'n,
457 U.S. 423, 432 (1982), the Supreme Court articu-
lated a three —-part test for determining whether
Younger abstention is appropriate. It held that ab-
stention is appropriate if: 1) state proceedings are
ongoing; 2) the state proceedings implicate impor-
tant state interests; and 3) the state proceedings
afford adequate opportunity to raise federal ques-
tions. Id.

The three-part test is met in this case. First,
Bischoff has an eminent domain case that is appar-
ently still pending in a Kentucky state court. Sec-
ond, condemnation actions for a Kentucky public
body are uniquely a state interest.. Finally, Bischoff
has failed to show that the Kentucky courts cannot
or will not provide an adequate opportunity to raise
his constitutional claim. Indeed, the record reveals
that Bischoff has been allowed to raise his constitu-
tional issue in the state proceeding and has raised
it in the Jefferson Circuit Court, the Kentucky
Court of Appeals, and now the Kentucky Supreme
Court, which is empowered to rule on his constitu-
tional issue if it grants discretionary review to do
so. Thus, abstention was proper.

Upon further review, we conclude that the district
court was correct to dismiss Bischoffs complaint
against Judge Clayton. As a state court judge,
Judge Clayton is entitled to absolute judicial immu-
nity from liability for damages related to her

judicial acts. Butz v. Economou, 438 U.S. 478, 511-
14 (1978); Shelly v. Johnson, 849 F.2d 228, 229-30
(6th Cir. 1988). in addition, insofar as Bischoff
seeks monetary da:nages from Judge Clayton he is
barred by the doctrine of Will v. Mich. Dep’t of State
Police, 491 U.S. 58 (1989). In Will, the Supreme
Court held that state officials who are sued in their
official capacity for monetary damages are not con-
sidered “persons’ subject to suit under 1983. It is
the plaintiff's affirmative duty to plead the capacity
in which he is suing the defendants. See Wells v.
Brown, 891 F.2d 591, 593 (6th Cir. 1989). Because
Bischoff did not specify the capacity in which he
sued Judge Clayton, the complaint is construed as
suing this defendant in her official capacity as an
employee of the state and Bischoff's claim for mone-
tary damages must fail. See id. At 593-94.

The district court was also correct to dismiss the
complaint against the remaining defendants. To
state a viable 1983 claim, a plaintiff must allege
that: 1) he was deprived of a right, privilege, or im-
munity secured by the Federal Constitution or laws
of the United States, and 2) the deprivation was
caused by a person while acting under color of state
law. See Flagg Bros. v. Brooks, 436 U.S. 149, 155-
57 (1978). Bischoff did not sufficiently allege a dep-
rivation of a federal right because the Seventh
Amendment has not been extended to the states
and thus does not guarantee a jury trial in state
court. See Minneapolis & St. Louis R.R. Co. v.
Bombolis, 241 U.S. 211, 217 (1916).

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY
AT LOUISVILLE

CIVIL ACTION NO. 3:06CV-540-H

RAYMOND BISCHOFF PLAINTIFF

V.

LOUISVILLE AND JEFFERSON COUNTY

METROPOLITAN SEWER DISTRICT, et al.
DEFENDANTS

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

This case arises out of an eminent domain pro-
ceeding filed by the Metropolitan Sewer District
(“MSD”) to obtain a permanent and temporary
sewer easements across property owned by Plain-
tiff. After a trial in Judge Clayton’s court and the
entering of a monetary judgment in Plaintiff's favor
for the taking of his property, Plaintiff appealed
first to the Kentucky Court of Appeals and has now
moved for discretionary review with the Kentucky
Supreme Court. All the Defendants have asked
that the case be dismissed.

In essence, Plaintiff is asking this federal court to
take jurisdiction away from an ongoing proceeding
in the Kentucky Supreme Court. This Court knows
of no principle of law by which it could undertake to
do such a thing in these circumstances. Eminent
domain procedures are particularly a feature of
state law and are well established. There is no rea-
son the appellate courts of Kentucky cannot ade-
quately consider Plaintiff's due process concerns
Concerns of policy, comity and jurisdiction will

prevent this Court from interfering in such an ongo-
ing state law proceeding. It goes without saying
that Judge Clayton retains complete immunity for
her actions as a judge. In short, this Court agrees
with all of the reasons and arguments set forth in
the various motions for summary judgment submit-
ted by Defendants. Plaintiff has not se forth any
arguments and reply that suggest a reason for this
Court interfering with the ongoing state court pro-
ceedings.

Plaintiff has also requested leave to amend his
complaint adding various constitutional claims.
These are not a lot different than the concerns he
has raised already. Once again, Kentucky courts
can consider constitutional claims as part of his
state appeal. This Court cannot interfere with an
ongoing state appeal in these circumstances.

Being otherwise sufficiently advised,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Plaintiff's motion
to amend his complaint is DENIED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the motions to
dismiss of all Defendants are SUSTAINED and this
case is DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE in its en-
tirety.

This is a final and appealable order.

January 26, 2007 John B. Heyburn II
Chief Judge, U.S. District Court

cc: Raymond Bischoff, Pro Se
Counsel of Record

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY
LOUISVILLE DIVISION

RAYMOND BISCHOFF, Pro Se
Plaintiff

MSD METROPOLITAN SEWER DISTRICT
JOHNE DWYER, PEDLEY, ZIELKE, GORDINIER
JUDGE DENISE CLAYTON, JEFFERSON CIR-
CUIT COURT, COMMONWEALTH OF KEN-
TUCKY

Defendants

COMPLAINT

U.S. Constitution Amendment VII guarantees jury

trial in all matters of property twenty dollars or
more

U.S. Constitution Amendment V guarantees just
compensation/fair market value in said matters
Neither was complied with

Plaintiff

Raymond Bischoff
5215 Bardstown Road
Louisville, Ky. 40291
502 499-1323

Defendant

MSD Metropolitan Sever District

700 W. Liberty St

Louisville, Jefferson County, Kentucky 40202

John Dwyer, Pedley, Zielke, Gordinier
2000 Meidinger Tower

462 So. 4th St

Lou, Ky 40202

Commonwealth of Kentucky, Jefferson Circuit
Court, Judge Denise Clayton

700 W. Jefferson St.

Lou. Ky 40202

On October 25, 2005, Jefferson County Circuit
Court held trial for compensation to a condemna-
tion case, MSD vs. Raymond Bischoff, Judge Denise
Clayton presiding. John Dwyer, Zielke, Pedley, and
Gordinier, MSD, Jefferson County Circuit Court
and Judge Denise Clayton did not provide but deny
provision of a jury trial for Raymond Bischoff, Pro
Se, property owner, in the face of objection and ref-
erence to U.S. Constitution Amendment VII, by mo-
tion.

U.S. Constitution Amendment V calling for Just
Compensation is mo3t point at this time, but, ap-
praisers can not give fair market value, probate set-
tlements are improper motive for unjust enrich-
ment by MSD.

There was no written statement to relinquish the
right to jury trial.

Prayers for relief:

A. provide a jury trial in order that a fair and unbi-
ased hearing of the facts for just deliberation in
this matter

B. Restitution for damages and punitive damages
for violations of constitutional nghts

C. Admonishment of attornies, Commonwealth of

Kentucky, and courts and judges
D. Clarification of right to condemnation, and pro-
visions thereof, especially just compensation

Request for a jury trial ‘yes’

I hereby certify under penalty that the above peti-
tion is true to the best of my information, knowl-
edge, and behief.

24 , October, 2096

Raymond Bischoff

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1500%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
