# Opposition Brief — Westbound Records Records, Inc. v. Justin Combs Publishing (No. 07-1438)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1478%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2009

## Text

Q FILED

No. 07-1438 JUL 8 - 2008

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In The SUPREME COURT, U.S.

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

WESTBOUND RECORDS, INC.,

Petitioner,
i

JUSTIN COMBS PUBLISHING, et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JONATHAN D. Davis Timoruy L. WARNOCK

JONATHAN D. Davis, P.C. Counsel of Record

99 Park AVENUE, SuITE 1600 AmyJ. EVERHART

New York, NY 10016-1503 Ritey Warnock & Jacornson, PLC

(212) 687-5464 1906 West END AVENUE
NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE 37203
(615) 320-3700

Attorneys for Respondents.
Janice Combs Publishing, Inc.
d/b/a Justin Combs Publishing,
Bad Boy Entertainment, Inc.,
d/b/a Bad Bey Records, Bad
Boy Records LLC and UMG
Recordings, Inc., and its division
July 8, 2008 Universal Records

Becker Gallagher - Cincinnati, OH - Washington, D.C. - 800.890.5001

II.

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether a presumption of validity for punitive-
damages awards within a single-digit ratio of
compensatory awards, with exceptions only if the
verdict is based on passion and prejudice or no
malice is found, is inappropriate because such
presumption fails to consider the guideposts
established by this Court in BMW of North
America, Inc. v. Gove, 517 U.S. 559 (1996), such as
the level of reprehensibility, the size of the
compensatory-damages award and whether the
compensatory-damages award includes a punitive
component.

Whether Petitioner failed to show a conflict among
appellate courts’ application of the Gore guideposts.

IiIl.Whether the Sixth Circuit correctly applied each
Gore guidepost in reversing the District Court’s
award of punitive damages and remanding for a
remittitur of the punitive-damages award to a
punitive/compensatory ratio of 1:1 or 2:1.

IV.Whether the Sixth Circuit correctly applied a de

novo standard of review in considering the Gore
guideposts, assuming the jury accepted Petitioner’s
factual view of the case and applying the
guideposts to such evidence.

. Whether repeated conduct for purposes of applying

the “reprehensibility” guidepost is limited to
conduct against third parties, because, as this

Court held in Philip Morris USA v. Williams, 549

i

U.S. 346 (2007), such conduct also may pose a
substantial risk to the general public.

il
RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Respondent Bad Boy Entertainment, Inc. has no
parent company, and there are no publicly held
‘companies that own any sick of Bad _ Boy
Entertainment, Inc.

Respondent Bad Boy Records LLC has no parent
company, and there are no publicly held companies
that own any stock of Bad Boy Records LLC.

Respondent Janice Combs Publishing, Inc. d/b/a
Justin Combs Publishing has no parent company, and
there are no publicly held companies that own any
stock of Janice Combs Publishing, Inc. d/b/a Justin
Combs Publishing.

UMG Recordings, Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary
of Vivendi Universal, a publicly traded company.

1V

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
RULE 29.6 STATEMENT
TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
I. The Underlying Allegations
A. “Ready to Die” Is Produced and Released.

B. Bridgeport and Westbound Demand 25% of
“Ready to Die.”

>. Defendants Re-Release Ready to Die While
Engaged with Bridgeport and Westbound in
Settlement Discussions. ................

II. Procedural Background

A. Proceedings in the District Court
B. The Sixth Circuit Opinion
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
I. Westbound’s Proposed Bright-Line Test Fails to

Consider Important [ndicia of Constitutionality

Established by This Court.

Vv

. Westbound Has Manufactured an Appellate-
Court Split That Does Not Exist

. This Court Has Suggested That a 1:1 Ratio
Is Appropriate in Cases, Like This Case,
Where the Level of Reprehensibility Is Low
and Compensatory Damages Are High. .. 18

. Westbound’s Proposal Ignores Important
Indicia of Unconstitutionality. .......... 24

Il. The Sixth Circuit Correctly Applied a De Novo
Standard of Review. ...............020 00: 27

III.This Case Is Not the Appropriate Vehicle to
CUMMMO TOCELIOG LAW. 2. eee cece canes . 30

A. Reprehensibility

B. Disparity between Compensatory and
ge er re 38

C. Comparable Civil Penalties. ............ 34

CONCLUSION

v1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore,
517 U.S. 559 (1996)

Clark v. Chrysler Corp.,
436 F.3d 594 (6th Cir. 2006)

Collins Entertainment Corp. v. Coats & Coats
Renial Amusement,
584 S.E.2d 120 (S.C. Ct. App. 2003) ........ 17

Conseco v. Finance Servicing Corp.,

381 F.3d 811 (8th Cir. 2004)

Cooper industries, Inc. v. Leatherman Tool Group,
532 U.S. 424 (2001) 27, 28, 29

Diesel Machinery, Inc. v. B.R. Lee Industries, Inc.,
418 F.3d 820 (8th Cir. 2005)

Eden Electrical, Ltd. v. Amana Co.,
370 F.3d 824 (8th Cir. 2004)

Exxon Shipping Co. v. Baker,
2008 U.S. Lexis 5263 (2008)

Hamil Am., Inc. v. GFT,
193 F.3d 92 (2d Cir. 1999)

Harris v. Archer,

134 S.W.3d 411 (Tex. Ct. App. 2004)

Vill

Marie Deonier & Assoc. v. Paul Revere Life Ins. Co.,
101 P.3d 742 (Mont. 2004)

Ornelas v. United States,
517 U.S. 690 (1996)

Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip,
499 U.S. 1 (1991)

Philip Morris USA v. Williams,
549 U.S. 346 (2007)

Planned Parenthood v. American Coalition of Life
Activists,

422 F.3d 949 (9th Cir. 2005)

Rhone-Poulenc Agro, S.A. v. DeKalb Genetics Corp.,
345 F.3d 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2003)

Solem v. Helm,

463 U.S. 277 (1983)

State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. v.
Campbell,
ee Ri PD ok bck ce ees see's ee passim

Tony Gullo Motors I, L.P. v. Chapa,
212 S.W.3d 299 (Tex. 2006) ...

Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church v. Tower Ins.

Co..,
661 N.W.2d 789 (Wis. 2003)

TXO Production Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp.,
509 U.S. 4438 (1993) 23

Vill

Union Pacific Railroad Co. v. Barber,
149 8.W.3d 325 (Ark. 2004)

Zhang v. American Gen. Seafoods, Inc.,
339 F.3d 1020 (9th Cir. 2003)

STATUTES

17 U.S.C. § 101, et seq.
17 U.S.C. § 301(c)

17 U.S.C. § 504(c)(2)

OTHER

H.R. Rep. No. 94-1476, at 161 (1976), reprinted in
17 U.S.C.A. 504 at 146 (West 1996)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case is not the appropriate vehicle to revisit
punitive-damages jurisprudence. No circuit split
exists. Instead, Petitioner, Westbound Records, Inc.
(“Westbound”), is simply dissatisfied with the Sixth
Circuit’s decision reducing its unconstitutionally
excessive punitive-damages award and seeks this
Court’s review of the Sixth Circuit’s fact-specific
decision.

Congress has determined that the maximum
statutory damages for willful copyright infringement
are $150,000. Yet, because of a narrow exception

allowing punitive damages for common-law copyright
infringement of sound recordings created before 1972,
the jury awarded Westbound punitive damages of $3.5
million for a single infringed work.

The Sixth Circuit, after careful consideration of this
Court’s guideposts for review of punitive-damages
awards set forth in BMW of North America, Inc. v.
Gore, 517 U.S. 559 (1996), found the award
unconstitutionally excessive and remanded to the
District Court for a remittitur of the punitive-damages
award to a more appropriate ratio of punitive to
compensatory damages of 1:1 or 2:1.

The Sixth Circuit concluded that, at best, only a
portion of one of the three Gore guideposts weighed in
favor of a punitive-damages award in this case: a
showing, albeit not strong, of willful copyright
infringement. The Sixth Circuit determined that the
remaining guideposts including those factors this
Court emphasized in reversing a punitive-damages

2

award in State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. v.
Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2003) — demonstrated that a
$3.5 million punitive-damages award in this copyright
infringement case was unconstitutionally excessive:

1. The compensatory-damages award is
substantial and already includes a punitive
component in allowing for the recovery of lost
profits, which constitutes the majority of the
award;

The harm inflicted was economic and not
physical;

No evidence exists that Westbound is a
financially vulnerable victim; and

4. No evidence of repeated misconduct exists.

Rarely citing to — and greatly exaggerating — the
record, Westbound now complains that a recovery of
punitive damages to compensatory damages in the
range of 1:1 or 2:1, although more than twice the
amount Congress has determined appropriate to
punish willful copyright infringement, is insufficient.
Westbound urges the Court to establish a presumption
of validity for punitive-damages awards within a
single-digit ratio of compensatory awards, with
exceptions only if the verdict is based on passion and
prejudice or where no malice is found.

Westbound has manufactured a split among

appellate courts in how they apply the Gore
guideposts, and, in particular, the second guidepost
calling for consideration of the punitive-to-

compensatory ratio. In one camp, according to
Westbound, courts “apparently” presume the validity
of single-digit-ratio awards; in the other, courts
reverse single-digit-ratio awards based on de novo
review.

These cases did not apply the Gore guideposts
differently. In each case, the court did not simply
consider the punitive-compensatory ratio, but
examined all three Gore guideposts in the context of
the case-specific facts. The trend of the cases comports
with this Court’s suggestion in Exxon Shipping Co. v.
Baker, 2008 U.S. Lexis 5263, **74-80 (2008), and
Campbell that punitive-damages awards should be —
and typically are — at the lower end of the single-digit
spectrum when the level of reprehensibility is low or
the other guideposts weigh against the plaintiff.

Likewise, here the Sixth Circuit did not “get bogged
down” in examining the punitive-to-compensatory
ratio, as Westbound contends, but, instead, thoroughly
examined each guidepost in reaching its conclusion
that the ratio was too high and reduced it to the range
endorsed by this Court.

Indeed, a presumption of validity of a single-digit
ratio has never even been considered by this Court,
and for good reason. As this Court has noted in its
most recent opinions on punitive damages, high single-
digit-ratio awards represent the upper limit of
constitutional propriety only in the most exceptional
cases; a 1:1 ratio is more appropriate 1n cases where,

as here, the case for punitive damages ts not strong.
See Baker, 2008 U.S. Lexis 5263, **7 4-80; Campbell,
938 U.S. at 425

4

The Sixth Circuit relied on precisely such
considerations in determining that a 2:1 or 1:1 ratio is
more appropriate here than the 9.5:1 ratio the jury
awarded. Thus, this case, where Westbound has
already been compensated with a substantial sum that
includes a punitive component, demonstrates precisely
why Westbound’s “presumption of validity” proposal
would not appropriately guard against punitive-
damages awards that violate due _ process.
Westbound’s proposal fails to consider not only the
facts of each individual case but also many of the
indicia identified in Gore and Campbell that an award
is unconstitutionally excessive.

Westbound also erroneously suggests that the Sixth
Circuit applied a de novo standard of review to factual
findings of the jury when such review should have
been for clear error. The Sixth Circuit assumed the
jury accepted Westbound’s factual view of the case and
applied the guideposts to such evidence.

Finally, Westbound suggests the appellate courts
are split on whether repeated conduct for purposes of
applying the “reprehensibility” guidepost includes
conduct against the plaintiff or is limited to conduct
against third parties. This Court clarified in Philip
Morris USA v. Williams, 549 U.S. 346 (2007), that
harm to others is the test because such conduct also
may pose a substantial risk to the general public. In
any event, Westbound has failed to provide any
evidence of repeated misconduct against nonparties or
itself, alleging only a single act of infringement.

5

This case was properly decided under the
established precedent of this Court. Therefore,
Westbound’s Petition should be denied.

I. The Underlying Allegations

A. “Ready to Die” Is Produced and Released.’

Bridgeport Music, Inc. (“Bridgeport”) owns the
musical composition “Singing in the Morning,” and its
sister company Westbound owns the 1972 sound
recording embodying that musical composition
recorded by the Ohio Players. (R. 424, Trial Transcript
Volume (“Tr.”) [X, 1580, 1586.)

In 1994, Defendant Bad Boy Entertainment, Inc.,
as ajoint-venturer with non-party Arista Records, Inc.,
released the album Ready to Die, recorded by the late
rap artist Christopher Wallace, professionally known
as “Notorious B.I.G.” (R. 419, Tr. VII, 1037, 1166,
1169.) The album includes the sound recording “Ready
to Die.” (R. 370, Tr. Ex. 77.)

The recording “Ready to Die” was produced by non-
party Osten Harvey, Jr.,? who admitted at his

' Defendants reject, in large part, Westbound’s recitation of the
facts, which includes few, if any, citations to the record and
generally repeats many of the inflammatory, exaggerated and
unsupported allegations Westbound made at trial. To the extent
relevant to the arguments herein, Defendants explain the basis
for their disagreement within the text of their argument.

* Defendants filed a Third-Party Complaint against Harvey, but
it was dismissed without prejudice for lack of personal!

6

deposition that he included a sample of a small portion
of the sound recording “Singing in the Morning” in
“Ready to Die.” He said he chose the work because it
sounded like another sample he had originally used in
“Ready to Die,” which he could not license. (R. 378, Tr.
II, 281; R. 399, Videe Depo. of Osten Harvey Jr., pp.
18-20, 126-32.)

Defendants had no role in or knowledge of the
placement or selection of this sample and did not have
any control over Harvey’s actions. (R. 419, Tr. VII,
1037-40, 1058-60, 1133, 1170, 1177; R. 370, 7/19/94
Wallace Correspondence, Tr. Ex. 507; R. 378, Tr. II,
281; R. 399, Video Depo. of Osten Harvey Jr., pp. 126-
32.) Indeed, Defendants UMG Recordings, Inc. and
Bad Boy Records LLC had no involvement with the
Ready to Die album until more than a decade later. (R.
419, Tr. VII, 1206, 1210-15, 1228, 1271.)

Bad Boy Entertainment, Inc. and its principal,
Sean Combs, who was the named “executive producer”
of the album Ready to Die but who had no role in the
actual production of the song, are well known for
sampling lawfully other artists’ music in creating their
own music. (R. 419, Tr. VII, 1043, 1050-53, 1175-77.)
For years, Combs has requested and received licenses
to use hundreds of samples and is careful to do so
because of his sampling reputation. (R. 419, Tr. VII,
1043; see also id. at 1050-53.) The album Ready to Die

includes numerous authorized and credited samples.

jurisdiction. (K. 44, Amended Third Party Complaint; R. 77,
Amended Report and Recommendation; R. 104, Order.)

7

(R. 370, Tr. Exs. 557-558 (album liner notes); see also
R. 419, Tr. VII, 1060-61.)

B. Bridgeport and Westbound Demand 25% of
“Ready to Die.”

In 1998, Bridgeport and Westbound sent letters —
never addressed properly to reach Defendants —
demanding 25% ownership of the copyright in “Ready
to Die” in exchange for use of the “Singing in the
Morning” sample. Bridgeport and Westbound never
requested that Defendants cease exploiting the Ready
to Die album, only that they agree to a fee for the
continued use of the sample. (R. 370, Tr. Exs. 19A,
20B; R. 419, Tr. VII, 1046-47.) Defendants never
received such a letter directly and continued to exploit
the work. (R. 419, Tr. VII, 1045-46, 1176-77.)

C. Defendants Re-Release Ready to Die While
Engaged with Bridgeport and Westbound
in Settlement Discussions.

While Defendants were not allowed to introduce the
evidence during the trial’s liability phase, in an offer of
proof, Defendants demonstrated that the parties had
engaged in continuous settlement discussions during

the pendency of the action, Defendants making
numerous settlement offers. (R. 420, Tr. VIII-A, 1369.)

During these settlement discussions, in 2004, Bad
Boy Records released re-mastered versions of Ready to
Die through a distribution agreement with UMG
Recordings, Inc. Neither Bridgeport nor Westbound
ever sought to enjoin this re-release during the
pendency of the trial, instead simply relying on their

8

request for a permanent injunction to be decided at the
trial.

In 2005, after the UMG agreement terminated, Bad
Boy Records entered into a joint venture with Warner
Music Group, creating the entity Bad Boy Records
LLC, which continued to distribute the re-mastered
Ready to Die albums. (R. 419, Tr. VII, 1206, 1210-15.)

If. Procedural Background

A. Proceedings in the District Court

Bridgeport and Westbound filed a Complaint in the
United States District Court for the Middle District of
Tennessee on February 25, 2005,° alleging copyright
infringement under the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C. § 101,

et seq. (R. 1, Complaint.)

The Complaint was later amended to plead on
behalf of Westbound, in the alternative, common-law
copyright infringement, violation of the record-piracy
laws of Tennessee, unfair competition,
misappropriation and conversion. (R. 30, Third
Amended Complaint.)

On February 15, 2006, the District Court dismissed
Westbound’s claims for federal copyright infringement,
violation of Tennessee’s record-piracy laws and

3 Certain of the claims in this lawsuit are consolidated from a
lawsuit filed May 4, 2001. (R. 40, Stipulation and Agreed Order.)

9

conversion.’ (R. 169, Report and Recommendation; R.
199, Order.)

This case was tried to a jury. (R. 377-79, 414-15,
418-20, 424, 477, Tr. I-[X.) In their opening statement
and case-in-chief, Plaintiffs attempted to prove
entitlement to punitive damages by arguing that
Defendants maliciously ignored the litigation and

Plaintiffs’ settlement efforts, forcing Plaintiffs to trial.
(R. 377, Tr. I, 31, 51, 53, 59, 60, 89.)

During Defendants’ case-in-chief, however, over
Defendants’ objections (R. 419, Tr. VII, 1022-23; R.
420, Tr. VIII-A, 1295-97), the District Court, sua
sponte, bifurcated the trial and precluded Defendants
from countering Plaintiffs’ argument and evidence

introduced during the liability phase that Defendants
made numerous attempts to settle with Plaintiffs. (R.
419, Tr. VII, 1175.)

On March 20, 2006, the jury found Defendants
liable on all counts and awarded compensatory
damages in the amount of $733,878 for each Plaintiff
(R. 366, 367, Jury Verdicts), the precise amount
Plaintiffs had requested.

The jury also found that Defendants’ infringement
was “willful” and, thus, Bridgeport was entitled to the

* Westbound’s sole interest here is ownership of the sound
recording “Singing in the Morning.” The District Court found that
the sound recording was fixed in a tangible medium before
February 15, 1972, and, therefore, is not entitled to federal
copyright protection. (/d.)

10

maximum enhanced statutory damages under federal
copyright law, $150,000, as an alternative to actual
damages. (R. 366, Jury Verdict.)

The jury also found that Westbound was entitled to
punitive damages. (/d.) The punitive-damages phase
was then tried to the jury. (R. 424, Tr. IX, 1630-83.)
The jury awarded punitive damages of $1,500,000
against Bad Boy Entertainment, Inc., $1,000,000
against Bad Boy Records LLC and $1,000,000 against
UMG Recordings, Inc. (R. 368, Jury Verdict on
Punitive Damages.)

Defendants moved for a mistrial or modification of
the verdict. (R. 426-27, Motion and Memo for Mistrial
or Modification of Verdict; supplemented at R. 439,

Supplemental Memo in Support of Motion for Mistrial
or Modification of Verdict.) The District Court denied
Defendants’ motion except to reduce Plaintiffs’
compensatory damages by 50% each, because
Bridgeport possesses an interest only in the musical
composition and Westbound possesses an interest only
in the sound recording.’ (R. 461, Order.)

On September 21, 2006, the District Court entered
judgment on the jury verdict and awarded damages as
follows:

° Thus, Westbound'’s contention that the Court reduced the award
“due solely to the presence of another plaintiff in the action”
(Petition at 2) is inaccurate

Bridgeport:

| Statutory damages $150,000.00 |

Westbound:

Compensatory damages $366,939.00
Prejudgment simple $276,763.93
interest from May 4, 1998,
to present at 9% per
annum

Punitive damages against $1,500,000.00
Bad Boy Entertainment,
Inc.

Punitive damages against $1,000,000.00
Bad Boy Records LLC
Punitive damages against $1,000,000.00
UMG Recordings, Inc.
TOTAL | $4,143,702.93

(R. 465, Order.)

Defendants appealed the District Court’s decision
to the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Circuit. (R. 467, Notice of Appeal.) Among the issues
appealed was whether the jury’s $3.5 million punitive-
damages award was unconstitutionally excessive.

B. The Sixth Circuit Opinion

On October 17, 2007, the Sixth Circuit affirmed in
part and reversed in part the District Court’s decision.
Significant to Westbound’s Petition, the District Court
reversed the District Court’s punitive-damages award

of $3.5 million. The Sixth Circuit held that the

12

punitive-damages award violates due process when
measured against Defendants’ conduct, the harm that
Plaintiffs suffered and the comparable enhanced
statutory damages that federal law permits. (Petition,
Apx. 26a-35a.)

The Sixth Circuit conducted a de novo review of the
punitive-damages award and concluded that the award
was excessive in light of this Court’s three guideposts
under Campbell, 538 U.S. at 418, and Gore, 517 U.S.
at 575: 1) the reprehensibility of Defendants’ conduct,
2) the disparity between Westbound’s harm and the
punitive award, and 3) a comparison of the award and
civil penalties in comparable cases. (Petition, Apx.
26a.)

The Sixth Circuit found that Defendants’ conduct
did not warrant the $3.5 million punitive-damages
award. The court found present only one of the four
reprehensibility factors: that the harm was the result
of intentional malice or deceit. The court also found
that, although the showing was not strong, the
evidence that Defendants ignored pre-litigation letters
and re-released the album knowing it contained an
unauthorized sample supported the jury’s finding that
Defendants acted willfully and that their conduct was
“somewhat reprehensible.” (Petition, Apx. 26a-27a.)

The Sixth Circuit found that none of the other
reprehensibility factors were present: First, the harm
was purely economic and did not threaten the health
or safety of others; second, Westbound is not a
financially vulnerable victim but instead a company
“that has proven its ability to protect its rights”; and
third, no evidence was admitted or presented that

13

Defendants’ infringement was one of a repeated
number of actions. (Petition, Apx. 28a-29a.)

Because only one of the reprehensibility factors was
present, the Sixth Circuit concluded, based on a
comparison to civil awards in comparable cases, that
a ratio in the range of 1:1 to 2:1 is all that due process
allows in this case. (Petition, Apx. 30a-3la.) In so
concluding, the court determined that the’ raiuio of
punitive damages to compensatory damages the jury
awarded — 9.5:1 — was large, that the compensatory
award — $366,939 — was substantial, and that the
compensatory award included a punitive element by
allowing recovery for lost profits. (Petition, Apx. 32a-
34a.)

Finally, the court relied on the fact that the
maximum damages available for willful copyright
infringement under the Copyright Act is $150,000, four
times the maximum amount recoverable under the Act
if the infringement is not willful. The court observed
that Defendants’ conduct, although willful, was not
highly reprehensible and that, because the size of the
allowable ratio fluctuates with the amount of the
compensatory-damages award, a smaller ratio was
appropriate here due to the large compensatory-
damages award. (Petition, Apx. 34a-35a.)

The Sixth Circuit held that a ratio of 1:1 or 2:1 is
all that due process can tolerate in this case and
remanded to the District Court for remittitur of the
punitive-damages verdict or a new trial on such
damages. (Petition, Apx. 35a.)

14

On February 19, 2008, the Sixth Circuit denied
Westbound’s petition for rehearing en banc. 2008 U.S.
App. LEXIS 3778 (6" Cir. Feb. 19, 2008).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Westbound’s Proposed Bright-Line Test Fails
to Consider Important Indicia of
Constitutionality Established by This Court.

Westbound seeks this Court’s review to resolve a
split that Westbound alleges exists among appellate
courts in applying the Gore guideposts: those courts
that presume the validity of single-digit-ratio punitive-
damages awards — a presumption Westbound urges
the Court to adopt here —and those courts that review
each award de novo even if it falls within the single-
digit ratio.

Westbound has manufactured a court split. In each
case cited by Westbound, regardless of whether the
court has reversed the punitive-damages award or left
it intact, the court has applied the three Gore
guideposts in the context of the facts of each case. In
cases where the level of reprehensibility is high, the
courts typically affirm larger punitive-damages
awards. In cases where the level of reprehensibility is
low or compensatory damages are already substantial
or include a punitive element, courts typically reverse
or modify such awards. The trend of these cases
comports with this Court’s decisions in similar cases
where the Gore guideposts do not strongly support a
punitive-damages award

15

Further, Westbound’s proposed presumption to
treat all single-digit-ratio punitive-damages awards
the same ignores this Court’s precedent, just
reaffirmed in Baker, that awards in the low-single-
digit range, specifically 1:1, are more appropriate
punishment of conduct with a low level of
reprehensibility.

Westbound’s proposal ignores not only the level of
reprehensibility but also a number of other important
factors this Court has instructed courts to consider in
determining whether such awards are
unconstitutional, such as 1) whether’ the
compensatory-damages award itself contains a
punitive component; 2) whether the compensatory
damages are substantial and 3) whether the harm

inflicted was physical as opposed to economic.”

A. Westbound Has Manufactured an
Appellate-Court Split That Does Not Exist.

Courts have not ignored the “gross excessiveness”
standard in favor of “strict excessiveness,” as
Westbound alleges. Instead, courts, like the Sixth
Circuit here, determine, by applying the Gore
guideposts, whether a particular award is
unconstitutional. The appropriate measure of

° Westbound further argues that the jury based its punitive-
damages award on Defendants’ disregard of Westbound’s right to
deny the use of the sample, but Westbound made no such
argument in support of its punitive-damages request at trial and
cites to nothing in the record to support the argument here

16

constitutionality is determined in reference to the Gore
guideposts.

Westbound argues there is a “split in circuits” in
how courts have applied the Gore guideposts and that
some courts, including the Sixth Circuit in this case,
have become “bogged down in determining...whether
a single-digit ratio of punitive to compensatory
damages should be substituted for a marginally lower
single-digit ratio.” (Petition at 24.) Westbound
suggests that two camps have developed: 1) those
courts that “have aggressively reduced single-digit
punitive award ratios to a marginally smaller single-
digit ratio”; and 2) those courts that “have appeared to
treat single-digit ratios as presumptively valid.”
(Petition at 22-23.)

Westbound recites merely the outcomes of each
case and not the facts that militated the result. A
review of each case shows that no circuit split exists.

In each case Westbound cites, as in this case, the
court applied all three of the Gore guideposts to the
particular facts of the case, determining whether the
ratio of punitive to compensatory damages was too
high only as part of the overall analysis. Not
surprisingly, given that reprehensibility is the most
important indicia of the three guideposts, Gore, 517
U.S. at 575, where courts affirmed a higher punitive-
to-compensatory ratio, the courts found extreme
misconduct or a strong showing of reprehensibility.’

" See, e.g., Zhang v. American Gen. Seafoods, Jnc., 339 F.3d 1020,
1043-44 (9” Cir. 2003) (affirming award where the harm was

17

On the other hand, where reprehensibility was not
strong and the other factors did not support the
imposition of punitive damages, a higher ratio was
reversed.®

intentional race discrimination); Planned Parenthood v. American
Coalition of Life Activists, 422 F.3d 949, 958, 963 (9"" Cir. 2005)
(affirming award where defendant’s conduct was intended to
intimidate by causing fear of murder or serious bodily injury and
was thus “particularly reprehensible”); Rhone-Poulenc Agro, S.A.
v. DeKalb Genetics Corp., 345 F.3d 1366, 1372 (Fed. Cir. 2003)
(award of just over 3 to 1 warranted given egregious nature of
defendant’s fraudulent conduct); Trinity Evangelical Lutheran
Church v. Tower Ins. Co., 661 N.W.2d 789, 801-02 (Wis. 2003)
(affirming award where defendant's conduct was “grievous” and
repeated against third parties); Marie Deonier & Assoc. v. Paul
Revere Life Ins. Co., 101 P.3d 742, 753 (Mont. 2004) (affirming
award given “the heightened duty intrinsic and elemental to a
fiduciary relationship” where insurance company was indifferent
to a high probability of pecuniary loss to its agents); Union Pacific
Railroad Co. v. Barber, 149 S.W.3d 325, 346-48 (Ark. 2004)
(defendant intentionally put the traveling public in harm's way,
causing death of one victim and severe injury to another); Collins
Entertainment Corp. v. Coats & Coats Rental Amusement, 584
S.E.2d 120, 128 (S.C. Ct. App. 2003) (“degree of reprehensibility
was...significant”).

* See, e.g., Clark v. Chrysler Corp., 436 F.3d 594, 605-06 (6" Cir
2006) (reducing ratio where only one of five factors weighed in
favor of reprehensibility); Eden Electrical, Ltd. v. Amana Co., 370
F.3d 824, 829 (8 Cir. 2004) (affirming reduction of award where
the case involved economic rather than physical harm and the
fraud involved only a single incident and a single victim); Conseco
v. Finance Servicing Corp., 381 F.3d 811, 825 (8 Cir. 2004)
(reducing punitive award where compensatory award was
substantial); Harris v. Archer, 134 S.W.3d 411, 438-39 (Tex. Ct
App. 2004) (only one of five reprehensibility factors met;

18

The varying results of these cases were supported
by an analysis of the unique facts of each case and do
not create a split on the application of the law.
Instead, the results of these cases comport with this
Court’s holdings in Baker and Campbell applying
lower ratios to cases in which the blameworthiness is
relatively low.

B. This Court Has Suggested That a 1:1 Ratio
Is Appropriate in Cases, Like This Case,
Where the Level of Reprehensibility Is

Low and Compensatory Damages Are
High.

Westbound urges the Court to establish a bright-
line test that would impose a presumption of validity

on each punitive-damages award within a single-digit-
ratio unless the award was the result of passion or
prejudice or no malice is found. Because the ratio here
pushes the outer limits of singie-digit ratios — 9.5:1
—Westbound urges a presumption of validity for all

defendant’s isolated incident causing only economic harm not
“particularly egregious”); Tony Gullo Motors I, L.P. v. Chapa, 212
S.W.3d 299, 308-09 (Tex. 2006) (award reduced where damages for
mental anguish of three times economic damages included a
punitive element and only one of five reprehensibility factors met).
In Diesel Machinery, Inc. v. B.R. Lee Industries, Inc., 418 F.3d
820, 837-40 (8 Cir. 2005), which Westbound cites as an example
of a court getting “bogged down’ in the ratios, the court actually
affirmed a remitted award where the conduct was intentional
and repeated and comparable civil penalties were substantial.
The plaintiff did not challenge the remittitur, so the Eighth
Circuit did not address the district court’s reduction of the award,

much less “get bogged down” in the ratios in doing so

19

single-digit-ratio awards. Westbound’s basis for
choosing the two exceptions it did and omitting other
Gore guideposts is equally obvious because the Sixth
Circuit found in favor of Westbound on these factors.

The Sixth Circuit concluded that other factors, such
as the level of reprehensibility, the size of the
compensatory-damages award and the fact that it
includes a punitive element, and a comparison to
Congress’s statutory damages for copyright
infringement, precluded affirmance of Westbound’s
award of punitive damages.

Such indicia of unconstitutionality cannot be
ignored. Indeed, treating all single-digit-ratio awards
the same fails to consider the important principle that
“some wrongs are more blameworthy than others.” See

Gore, 517 U.S. at 576. Given the lack of guidance and
the danger of vague jury instructions, the Court
established the three Gore guideposts for courts to
consider in reviewing punitive-damages awards. Id. at
575.

The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment prohibits the imposition of grossly
excessive or arbitrary punishments on a tortfeasor.
Campbell, 538 U.S. at 416; Gore, 517 U.S. at 562.
“This constitutional concern...arises out of the basic
unfairness of depriving citizens of life, liberty, or
property, through the application, not of law and legal
processes, but of arbitrary coercion.” Gore, 517 U.S. at
587 (Breyer, J., concurring). “The reason is that
‘elementary notions of fairness enshrined in our
constitutional jurisprudence dictate that a person
receive fair notice not only of the conduct that will

20

subject him to punishment, but also of the severity of
the penalty that a State may impose.” Campbell, 538
U.S. at 416 (citing Gore, 517 U.S. at 574). Indeed, “[t]o
the extent an award is grossly excessive, it furthers no
legitimate purpose and constitutes an arbitrary
deprivation of property.” /d.

The Court has not gone so far as to impose strict
numerical guidelines on courts reviewing punitive-
damages awards. Until the Baker decision was
entered on June 25, 2008, this Court has “consistently
rejected the notion that the constitutional line is
marked by a simple mathematical formula....”

It is appropriate, therefore, to reiterate our
rejection of a categorical approach. Once again,
we return to what we said...in Haslip: “We
need not, and indeed we cannot, draw a
mathematical bright line between’ the
constitutionally acceptable and_ the
constitutionally unacceptable that would fit
every case. We can say, however, that [a]
general concer([n] of reasonableness ...properly
enterjs| into the constitutional calculus.”

Id. at 582 (internal citations omitted).

To the extent a numerical benchmark is
appropriate, this Court’s recent decision in Baker and
its previous decision in Campbell suggest that, in cases
like this case, where the level of reprehensibility is low
or the case for punitive damages is relatively weak, a
ratio of no more than 1:1 1s appropriate.

21

In Baker, a maritime case, the Court reversed a
$2.5 billion punitive-damages award against Exxon
Shipping Co. for its role in the catastrophic Alaskan oil
spill of 1989. The Court held that a punitive-to-
compensatory ratio of 1:1 is more appropriate given
that Exxon’s conduct has no earmarks of exceptional
blameworthiness. 2008 U.S. LEXIS 5263, at **74-80.
“Under the umbrellas of punishment and its aim of
deterrence, degrees of relative blameworthiness are
apparent.” In addition, other factors, regardless of
culpability, may warrant heavier or lighter punitive-
damages awards. Id. at **39-42.

The median ratio of punitive to compensatory
awards has remained less than 1:1 in the broad
spectrum of cases. “The figures thus show an overall

restraint and suggest that in many instances a high
ratio of punitive to compensatory damages is
substantially greater than necessary to punish or
deter.” Id. at **46-47. Noting, however, that the real
problem is the stark unpredictability of punitive
awards, td. at **50-51, the Court endorsed a quantified
approach to reviewing such awards:

There is better evidence of an accepted limit of
reasonable civil penalty...in several studies
mentioned before, showing the median ratio of
punitive to compensatory verdicts, reflecting
what juries and judges have _ considered
reasonable across many hundreds of punitive
awards....We think it is fair to assume that the
greater share of the verdicts studied in these
comprehensive collections reflect reasonable
judgments about the economic penalties
appropriate in their particular cases.

22

These studies cover cases of the most as well as
the least blameworthy conduct triggering
punitive liability, from malice and avarice,
down to recklessness, and even gross negligence
in some jurisdictions. The data put the median
ratio for the entire gamut of circumstances at
less than 1:1,...meaning that the compensatory
award exceeds the punitive award in most
cases. In a well-functioning system, we would
expect that awards at the median or lower
would roughly express jurors’ sense of
reasonable penalties in cases with no earmarks
of exceptional blameworthiness within the
punishable spectrum...On these assumptions, a
median ratio of punitive to compensatory
damages of about 0.65:1 probably marks the

line near which cases like this one largely
should be grouped.

Id. at **74-80. The Court thus heid that a 1:1 ratio
was a fair upper limit in such maritime cases. Id. at

*80.

The Baker decision was rendered noi in the context
of whether the punitive-damages award violated the
Due Process Clause but, instead, under the Court’s
function in reviewing such awards under federal
maritime common law. Id. at **33-34, 55.
Nevertheless, the Court’s decision to limit punitive
damages to a 1:1 ratio because the level of
reprehensibility was low and because the median
punitive-damages awards in all cases, not only
maritime cases, is less than a 1:1 ratio, is equally
applicable here.

23

Baker is rot the first decision in which the Court
has indicated that a 1:1 ratio is appropriate in cases
where the justification for punitive damages is not
strong. The Court did so in Campbell:

[B}ecause there are no rigid benchmarks that a
punitive damages award may not surpass,
ratios greater than those we have previously
upheld may comport with due process where ‘a
particularly egregious act has resulted in only a
smal! amount of economic damages.’...The
converse is also true, however. When
cempensatory damages are substantial,
then a lesser ratio, perheps only equal to
compensatory damages, can reach the
outermost limit of the due _ process
guarantee. The precise award in any case, of
course, must be based upon the facts and
circumstances of the defendant’s conduct and
the harm to the plaintiff.

538 U.S. at 426 (emphasis supplied).

Thus, Westbound’s proposal to treat all single-digit-
ratio awards the same is not supported by this Court’s
precedent. Indeed, treating all single-digit-ratio
awards the same has never been suggested by this
Court.

Westbound states that its proposed presumption
was suggested by the plurality opinion in TXO
Production Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp., 509 U.S.
443, 457 (1993), and by Justice Breyer’s concurrence in
Gore, 517 U.S. at 586-87. While those opinions
endorsed establishing a presumption of validity of

24

punitive-damages awards in prescribed instances, they
never discussed establishing a presumption for all
awards within a single-digit ratio. Gore, 517 U.S. at
586 (Breyer, J., concurring) (“Members of this Court
have generally thought...that if ‘fair procedures were
followed, a judgment that is a product of that process
is entitled to a strong presumption of validity.”)
(quoting T-XO Production Corp., 509 U.S. at 457). Any
question that all single-digit-ratio awards should not
be treated alike should be put to rest by this Court’s
decisions in Campbell and now Baker.

Westbound’s proposal fails to consider the location
of misconduct on the spectrum of blameworthiness, as
well as other factors that may indicate a violation of
due process, and is thus fatally flawed.

C. Westbound’s Proposal Ignores Important
Indicia of Unconstitutionality.

Westbound’s emphasis on guarding against
“outliers” and punitive damages that have “run wild”
is too simplistic. While the purpose for review of
punitive-damages swards is to prevent “outlier”
awards, the test is whether an award does not comport
with due process. The Gore guideposts are designed to
assist courts in determining whether due process has
been violated. If it has, then such damages, as here,
“run wild.”

Westbound’s proposed presumption addresses only
two of the numerous indicia of unconstitutionality this
Court has articulated: 1) that such an award may be
the result of passion and prejudice; and 2) that such an
award may be imposed in cases where there is no

25

malice. Westbound’s proposal fails to consider other
established indicators of gross excessiveness, such as
the level of reprehensibility, the size of the
compensatory-damages award, whether such award
already contains a punitive component, comparable
civil remedies, and whether the harm inflicted is the
type of conduct warranting punitive damages.

The Court in Gore did not create the three
guideposts in a vacuum. These factors have been
applied in numerous cases assessing the
constitutionality of damages and are rooted firmly in
precedent:

The guidepost measuring reprehensibility of the
offense is based on the fundamental principles that
“some wrongs are more blameworthy than others” and
that “the punishment should fit the crime.” Gore, 517
U.S. at 575-76 & n.24 (and cases cited therein). “The
principle that punishment should fit the crime ‘is
deeply rooted and frequently .epeated in common-law
jurisprudence.” /d. at n.24 (quoting Solem v. Helm,
463 U.S. 277, 284 (1523)).

Likewise, the second guidepost, “(t]he principle that
exemplary damages must bear a_ reasonable
relationship to compensatory damages|,] has a long
pedigree.” Gore, 517 U.S. at 580 & n.32 (and cases
cited therein).

Finally, as to the third guidepost, Justice O’Connor
recognized before Gore that a reviewing court engaged
in determining whether an award of punitive damages
is excessive should “accord ‘substantial deference’ to
legislative judgments concerning appropriate sanctions

26

for the conduct at issue.” Gore, 517 U.S. at 583
(quoting Browning-Ferris Industries of Vt., Inc. v.
Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. 257, 301 (1989)
(O’Connor, J., concurring in part and dissenting in
part)).

This Court in Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip,
499 U.S. 1 (1991), approved a state-court review
procedure similar to the Gore test, which “ensures that
punitive damages awards are not grossly out of
proportion to the severity of the offense and have some
understandable relationship to compensatory
damages,” suggesting, however, that state schemes
that would only set aside or modify awards that were
“manifestly and grossly excessive” or “evince[] passion,
bias and prejudice on the part of the jury so as to shock
the conscience,” would not pass muster. Jd. at 21-22.

Westbound advocates for precisely the extreme test
rejected by this Court, stating:

De novo review allows an appellate court to
review a district court’s determination anew,
but it does not. permit an appellate court to
serve as a junior varsity jury — unless that
jury’s verdict is “run wild” and is so
excessive as to strongly suggest bias,
passion, or prejudice.

(Petition at 34) (emphasis supplied). Like the rejected
review procedures in Haslip, Westhbound’s proposal
fails to consider other indicia of unconstitutional
excess and thus should not be considered.

27

II. The Sixth Circuit Correctly Applied a De Novo
Standard of Review.

Westbound argues that the Sixth Circuit erred by
reviewing, de novo, whether the jury’s findings
supported the Gore guideposts, and, particularly, the
reprehensibility factors. Westbound states that the
Sixth Circuit should have reviewed such findings for
clear error. Westbound then attempts to paint this
issue as a broad concern afflicting appellate courts
generally and warranting clarification by this Court,
but Westbound cites no cases in support of this
proposition.

As a threshold matter, the jury in the instant case
did not make specific findings of the reprehensibility

factors. The Gore guideposts were developed for
purposes of application by courts in reviewing jury
punitive-damages verdicts. Gore, 517 U.S. at 574-75;
Campbell, 538 U.S. at 418. The jury made only one
finding as to punitive damages: that punitive damages
of $3.5 million should be awarded against Defendants.

The Sixth Circuit properly followed the holding of
this Court in Cooper Industries, Inc. v. Leatherman
Tool Group, 532 U.S. 424, 436 (2001), and applied a de
novo standard of review to the question of whether
punitive damages were unconstitutionally excessive.
The Sixth Circuit analyzed each Gore guidepost
assuming Westbound’s — not Defendants’ — version
of the facts.

This Court in Cooper Industries, Inc. held that, “in
passing on district courts’ determinations of the
constitutionality of punitive damages awards,” the

28

reviewing court must apply a de novo standard of
review. Id. at 436. The reason, the Court explained,
is that punitive damages are not, like compensatory
damages, intended to address the concrete loss the
plaintiff has suffered by reason of the defendant’s
wrongful conduct, but, instead, operate as private fines
intended to punish the defendant and to deter future
wrongdoing. Id. at 432. Thus, “[a} jury’s assessment
of the extent of a plaintiffs injury is essentially a
factual determination, whereas its imposition of
punitive damages is an expression of its moral
condemnation.” Id.

Further, the precise meaning of such concepts as
gross excessiveness cannot be articulated with
precision and are “fluid concepts that take their
substantive content from the particular contexts in
which the standards are being assessed.” /d. (quoting
Ornelas v. United States, 517 U.S. 690, 697 (1996)). In
addition, the general criteria set forth in Gore will
acquire more meaningful content through case-by-case
application at the appellate level. Jd. “[Dle novo
review tends to ‘unify precedent’ and ‘stabilize the
law.” Id. (quoting Ornelas, 517 U.S. at 697-98):

Requiring the application of law, rather than a
decisionmaker’s caprice, does more than simply
provide citizens notice of what actions may
subject them to punishment; it also helps to
assure the uniform treatment of similarly
situated persons that is the essence of law itself.

Ornelas, 517 U.S. at 587.

29

Only the factual findings made in conducting the
excessiveness inquiry must be accepted unless clearly
erroneous. Cooper Industries, Inc., 532 U.S. at 435.
“Unlike the measure of actual damages suffered, which
presents a question of historical or predicative fact, the
level of punitive damages is not really a ‘fact’ ‘tried’ by
the jury.” Id. at 437 (citations omitted). Thus, the
reviewing court’s consideration of each of the Gore
guideposts must be made on a de novo basis.” Id. at
440.

The Sixth Circuit considered whether Defendants
acted with intentional malice or deceit. based on
Westbound’s view of the facts: that Defendants
ignored pre-litigation letters and re-released the album
knowing it contained an unauthorized sample. The

Sixth Circuit, assuming this evidence to be accurate,
determined that such conduct was “somewhat
reprehensible.” Likewise, the Sixth Circuit did not
“second guess” the jury on the issues of financial
vulnerability and repeated conduct, as Westbound
contends, but instead considered Westbound’s
arguments in the context of Westbound’s version of the

* The Court noted that differences in the institutional competence
of trial judges and appellate judges are consistent with its
conclusion, as, only with respect to the first Gore guidepost,
reprehensibility, do district courts have a “somewhat superior
vantage” over appellate courts, “and even then the advantage
exists primarily with respect to issues turning on witness
credibility and demeanor.” ‘The Court added that trial and
appellate courts seem equally capable of analyzing the second
factor — the ratio — and that appellate courts seem more suited
to the third guidepost — comparable civil penalties — which calls
for a broad legal comparison. Id

30

facts, finding Westbound’s evidence insufficient to
make its case.

Ill. This Case Is Not the Appropriate Vehicle
to Change Settled Law.

This case is not the appropriate vehicle for this
Court to revisit appellate review of punitive-damages
awards. Here, the punitive-damages award was
grossly excessive under the circumstances, and the
Sixth Circuit’s determination that a 2:1 or 1:1 ratio is
more appropriate comports with this Court’s decisions
in Gore, Campbell and Baker.

Applying the appropriate standard of review, the
Sixth Circuit correctly applied the Gore factors.

A. Reprehensibility.

This Court set forth the standard for
reprehensibility in Campbell:

Reprehensibility is determined based on
consideration of whether the harm caused was
physical as opposed to economic; the tortious
conduct evinced an indifference to or a reckless
disregard of the health or safety of others; the
target of the conduct had _ financial
vulnerability; the conduct involved repeated
actions or was an isolated incident; and the
harm was the result of intentional malice,
trickery, or deceit, or mere accident.

538 U.S. at 419. “The weighing of only one of these
factors in favor of plaintiff may not be sufficient, and

31

the absence of any factor weighing in favor of plaintiff
‘renders any award suspect.” Jd.

The Sixth Circuit found present only one of the four
reprehensibility factors — that the harm was the
result of intentional malice or deceit — and the court
determined that even the showing of that factor was
not strong. The court did not make new findings of
fact, as Westbound alleges, but instead assumed the
jury believed Westbound’s version of the facts. The
court concluded that, based on this evidence
Defendants’ conduct was “somewhat reprehensible.”
(Petition, Apx. 26a-27a.)

The Sixth Circuit also correctly found that the
other reprehensibility factors were not present.
Westbound does not contest that the harm in this case
was purely economic and did not threaten the health
or safety of others. (Petition, Apx. 28a.)

The court determined that Westbound is not a
financially vulnerable victim but rather a company
“that has proven its ability to protect its rights.”
Again, the court considered Westbound’s asserted
factual evidence: 1) that it is a small company that
depends almost entirely on income from sampling, 2)
that Defendants used Westbound’s sample instead of
a sample of Jimi Hendrix’s “Power of Love,” for which
Defendants could not get clearance, and 3) that
Defendants have “financial clout” and “strength in the
music industry worldwide.” The court rejected not the
facts themselves but Westbound’s argument that they
support a finding that Westbound is a financially
vulnerable victim. (Petition, Apx. 28a) (citing Clark v
Chrysler Corp., 436 F.3d 594, 604 (6 Cir. 2006)).

32

As to the fourth reprehensibility factor, the Sixth
Circuit found no evidence that Defendants’
infringement was one of a repeated number of actions.
Again, the Sixth Circuit did not disregard any factual
findings of the jury in reaching this conclusion;
instead, the court found a lack of evidence supporting
Westbound’s argument that Defendants’ conduct was
repeated.

The court assumed Westbound’s factual evidence to
be true but determined it was not sufficient to
establish infringements by Defendants against various
different parties rather than within the single
transaction with Westbound.

Westbound never alleged more than one act of
infringement. Indeed, its sister company, Bridgeport,

on the same set of facts, sought and recovered
$150,000, the maximum amount of statutory damages
for a single act of infringement: the taking of the
sample without a license.

Punitive damages are designed to punisn
actionable conduct. If Westbound believed Defendants’
conduct during the litigation was actionable,
Westbound had a separate vehicle to pursue such
remedies.” (Petition, Apx. 29a.)

'’ Westbound further argues that a split among the appellate
courts exists in applying the “repeated conduct” prong of the
reprehensibility guidepost. This Court, however, made clear in
Williams, 549 U.S. 346; 127S. Ct. at 1065, that harm to others is
the appropriate test: “Evidence of actual harm to nonparties can
help to show that the conduct that harmed the plaintiff also posed
a substantial risk of harm to the general public, and so was

33

B. Disparity between Compensatory and
Punitive Damages.

The Sixth Circuit followed this Court’s precedent in
considering the punitive-to-compensatory ratio here.

The Sixth Circuit determined that the
compensatory-damages award — $366,939 — is large
and supports a ratio of oniy 1:1 or 2:1... The Sixth
Circuit also emphasized that the compensatory-
damages award included a punitive element, as
Westbound was awarded both actual damages and
Defendants’ profits.” (Petition, Apx. 32a-34a.)

The Sixth Circuit’s decision, again, comports with
this Court’s decision in Campbell, where the Court
observed that a 1:1 ratio is appropriate when
compensatory damages are high and reversed a
punitive-damages award where the compensatory

”

particularly reprehensible.... Westbound failed to provide
evidence that Defendants repeated the actionable conduct here:
copyright infringement.

" The Sixth Circuit appropriately compared this case to other
cases in which the harm was more egregious but the ratio was
smaller. (See Petition, Apx. 32a-33a.)

'’ The purpose of allowing copyright plaintif%s to recover the
defendants’ profits is to prevent the infringer from unfairly
benefitting from a wrongful act. (Petition, Apx. 33a) (citing Hamil
Am., Inc. v. GFI, 193 F.3d 92, 103 (2d Cir. 1999) (quoting H.R.
Rep. No. 94-1476, at 161 (1976), reprinted in 17 U.S.C.A. 504 at
146 (West 1996))

34

damages were not only high but included a punitive
component. 538 U.S. at 426.”

Moreover, as the Sixth Circuit observed, when
Westbound’s actual damages, which do not include its
lost profits, are compared to punitive damages, “the
ratio of the punitive damages award and the non.
punitive element of the compensatory damages award
is very high.”

C. Comparable Civil Penalties.

Westbound does not address the third guidepost:
comparable civil remedies for the tortious conduct at
issue. This Court has observed that “a reviewing court
engaged in determining whether an award of punitive
damages is excessive should ‘accord substantial
deference to legislative judgments concerning
appropriate sarctions for the conduct at issue.” Gore,
517 U.S. at 583 (quoting Browning-Ferris Industries of
Vt., Inc., 492 U.S. at 301 (O’Connor, J., concurring in
part and dissenting in part)).

Indeed, the third guidepost is. particularly
significant here, as the Sixth Circuit recognized,
because Congress has set the maximum amount of
statutory damages allowable for willful copyright

'S The Sixth Circuit rejected Westbound’s argument that the ratio
should be measured based on the entire amount of cormnpensatory
damages awarded to both Plaintiffs — $366,939 x 2, plus interest
of $276,763.93. (Petition, Apx. 33a-34a.)

'* Westbound'’s lost licensing fees were $43,478 without interest
and $51,946 with interest, equaling a ratio of just over 100:1

35

infringement at $150,000. 17 U.S.C. § 504(c)(2).
Given Defendants’ conduct was not highly
reprehensible in this case and compensatory damages
are substantial, the Sixth Circuit’s maximum ratio of
2:1 or 1:1 here is appropriate.

CONCLUSION

This case presents nothing more than a garden-
variety claim of willful copyright infringement,
entitling Westbound to seek punitive damages only
because ou: a statutory exception for pre-1972 sound
recordings.” The Sixth Circmt has not outright
rejected punitive damages here bui has limited the
award to a ratio of 1:1 or 2:1. The range of punitive
damages allowed by the Sixth Circuit in this case far
exceeds the Congressional limits for the punishment of

infringing conduct and comports with the precedent of
this Court.

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari should be denied.

'? See 17 U.S.C. § 301(c). This exception will be eliminated on
February 15, 2067, when the preemptive provisions of the
Copyright Act shall apply. /d

36

Respectfully submitted,

Timothy L. Warnock

Counsel of Record
Amy J. Everhart
Riley Warnock & Jacobson, PLC
1906 West End Avenue
Nashville, Tennessee 37202
(615) 320-3700

Jonathan D. Davis
Jonatnan D. Davis, P.C.

99 Park Avenue, Suite 1600
New York, NY 10016-1503
(212) 687-5464

Attorneys for Respondents,

Janice Combs Publishing, Inc. d/b/a
Justin Combs Publishing, Bad Boy
Entertainment, Inc., d/b/a Bad Boy
Records, Bad Boy Records LLC and
UMG Recordings, Inc., and _ its

division Universal Records

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1478%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
