# Opposition Brief — Cate v. Anderson (No. 07-1436)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1477%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

W FILED

No. 07-1436
AUG 15 2008

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
SUPREME COURT, U.S.

Sn The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

JAMES A. TILTON, Secretary, California
Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation,

Petitioner,

JEROME ALVIN ANDERSON,

Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

CHARLES M. BONNEAU

331 J Street, Suite 200
Sacramento, California 95814
(916) 444-8828

Attorney for Respondent

COCKLE LAW GRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTRODUCTION
ARGUMENT

I.

NO SIGNIFICANT CONSTITUTIONAL
ISSUE IS RAISED CONCERNING
WHETHER RESPONDENT INVOKED
HIS RIGHT TO SILENCE

THE STATE’S PROPOSAL TO EXCUSE
UNLAWFUL POLICE INTERROGATION,
ON THE BASIS THAT IT LATER RE-
SULTED IN A WAIVER AND A CONFES-
SION, WOULD TURN THE MIRANDA
RULE ON ITS HEAD AND UNDERMINE
RESPECT FOR THE LAW

CONCLUSION

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Abdul-Kabir v. Quaterman, 127 S.Ct. 1654
(2007)

Davis v. United States, 512 U.S. 452 (1992)

Early v. Packer, 537 U.S. 3 (2002)

Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981)

Holland v. Jackson, 542 U.S. 649 (2004)..................... s
Lockyer v. Andrade, 538 U.S. 63 (2003)

Magnum Import Co. v. Coty, 262 U.S. 159

Michigan v. Mosley, 423 U.S. 16 (1975)............... 6, 3,9

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 486 (1966) passim
Missouri v. Seibert, 542 U.S. 600 (2004)

Panetti v. Quaterman, 127 S.Ct. 2842 (2007)

Smith v. Illinois, 469 U.S. 91 (1984)

Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362 (2003).................:s08 4
Woodford v. Viscotti, 587 U.S. 19 (2002)

Yarborough v. Alvarado, 541 U.S. 652 (2004)

FEDERAL STATUTES
I ss sionanainvandansucusessousaner 2.4

The Court has requested a Brief in Opposition to
the Petition for Writ of Certiorari filed by the State of
California on May 15, 2008. Respondent asks that
certiorari review be denied.

*

INTRODUCTION

There are no compelling reasons to grant certio-
rari review in this case. The jurisdiction of the Su-
preme Court to review cases by way of certiorari was
not conferred merely to give the defeated party in the
Circuit Court of Appeals another hearing. Magnum
Import Co. v. Coty, 262 U.S. 159, 163 (1923). The
Petition offered by the State of California fails to

identify a conflict between circuit decisions or state
courts, and fails to identify an important question of
federal law that has not been decided by this Court.
See Rule 10, Supreme Court Rules.

Petitioner’s first argument claims that the circuit
decision failed to provide sufficient deference to the
state court decision. Here, the Petition preserts no
compelling or controversial issues. The standard for
federal court review under the Anti-Terrorism and
Effective Death Penalty Act (AEDPA) has been before
this Court numerous times, several times in the last
term. Petitioner proposes no new insight or reformu-

lation of this Court’s established procedures for
AEDPA review.

The twelve-member majority of the en banc panel
here gave the state court judgment more than sufficient

2

deference. The conclusion that the state court contra-
vened this Court’s clearly established precedent, and
that its opinion resulted in an unreasonable determina-
tion of the facts, see 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1), is not
remarkable. Petitioner merely wants to re-argue the
case. There is no issue here which merits review by
this Court. See discussion below.

As to Petitioner’s second argument, the Petition
suffers from the opposite weakness. Based on an
argument advanced for the first time in a single
dissenting opinion to the en banc decision, Petitioner
proposes that the effect of a Miranda’ violation be
excused if the violation ultimately forces a waiver and

confession. According to this novel proposal, police

would be permitted to continue interrogation indefi-
nitely after the assertion of the defendant’s right to
remain silent (here, roughly an hour) in hopes that
the defendant will cave in to pressure and waive his
right to remain silent. So long as there is some break
in the questioning (here, less than one second’), the

' Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966).

* See the opinion of the state court of appeal, App. D at 21,
n. 4: “The officer running the tape recorder testified the recorder
was only off for a second, and the only person speaking during
the pause was defendant.” See testimony of Detective O’Connor,
in a pretrial hearing in state superior court, 1 R.T. 227-228: “I
was under the impression the interview was stopped right then.
So I shut of the tape .. . (HJe kept talking. So, you're talking less
than a second.”

According to the dissent of Judge Bea, “It is unclear how
Jong the interrogation was stopped after Anderson requested an
attorney, and before Anderson asked to speak with Lt. Bishop.

(Continued on following page)

3

resulting rights waiver would cure all the illegal
conduct that had gone before.

This novelty would create a terrible rule. It
would eliminate the hard-won certainty which has
accrued to the Miranda rule over decades, and it
would create uncertainty over whether Miranda is
meant to be an enforceable rule at all. It would en-
courage bullying tactics by the police. Its only certain
effect would be to encourage lawless experimentation
by the very forces that are sworn to uphold the law.
The Court should not dignify this proposal by a grant
of certiorari review. See discussion below.

®

ARGUMENT

NO SIGNIFICANT CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUE
IS RAISED CONCERNING WHETHER RE-
SPONDENT INVOKED HIS RIGHT TO SI-
LENCE.

The en banc Circuit Court of Appeals, by an
overwhelming majority, found that the state court

decisions permitting the use of Respondent’s confes-

sion were unreasonable, and violated this Court’s
clearly established precedents.

The Circuit Court analysis closely tracks this
Court’s precedents. This Court has taken advantage

The record implies it did not appear to be a long period of time.”
App. A 38. At best, this is an understatement.

4

of multiple opportunities to apply the language of 28
U.S.C. § 2254(d), including the proviso that federal
relief may only be granted where a prior state court
adjudication resulted in a decision that was “contrary
to,” or involved an “unreasonable application of,”
clearly established federal law as determined by this
Court, or which resulted in a decision that was based
on an “unreasonable determination” of the facts in
light of the evidence. See Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S.
362, 411 (2003), Lockyer v. Andrade, 538 U.S. 63, 76
(2003), Yarborough v. Alvarado, 541 U.S. 652 (2004),
Abdul-Kabir v. Quaterman, 127 S.Ct. 1654, 1671
(2007), and Panetti v. Quaterman, 127 S.Ct. 2842,
2858-2859 (2007).

As stated by the Court of Appeals, “Nothing was

> ae > J

ambiguous about the statement ‘I plead the Fifth.
App. A at 16.° The state court decision was unreason-
able, because “the officer’s comment showed that the
interrogating officers did not believe that Anderson’s
statement was ambiguous.” App. A at 20.

Petitioner reminds the Court that the context —
the circumstances leading up to the invocation — must
be considered in determining what the defendant
meant by his apparent invocation. Pet. at 15. But it is
precisely the context of the interrogation which
makes the invocation so unequivocal, and the con-
tinuing interrogation such a blatant disregard of this

" “App.” refers to page citations to the Appendix to the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

a)

Court's Miranda rule. Respondent’s affirmation “I
plead the Fifth” was only the culmination of a series
of efforts to terminate the interrogation.’

“ The Circuit Court considered the complete transcript of
the entire taped interrogation as part of the record in this
appeal. App. A at 9, n. 2. The transcript is 167 pages in length.
The total interview was about three hours. Although there are
some interruptions, the page numbers provide a rough idea of
where the words appear in relation to the total interrogation.
“TO” refers to sheriff’s detective Tom O’Connor. “JA” refers to
Respondent Jerome Anderson.

At page 61: 11-14, the defendant asks to be “taken upstairs,”
i.e. out of the interrogation room and into the general jail
population on his parole violation. “TO: You know, exactly what
I'm talking about.” [4 “JA: No, I don’t, if you’re insinuating — No
way, no way. Can I — Can | go ahead go upstairs, or whatever?”
(qj “lO: We want to get this thing straightened out... ” [4|] “JA:
So, do I.”

Again, at page 75: 4: “JA: Can I go ahead an’ go up there, an’
go lay down or whatever.” [4] “TO: No, just, ... I wonder... You
smoke Camels, right?”

At page 78: 12-18, as the interrogators accused Respondent
directly of the murder: “TO: You act like you’re cryin’ like a baby,
an’ you can’t cry for someone that was a no good ... an’ you
killed him for a good reason.” [{j| “JA: No, way! No, way. I — you
know what, | don’t even wanna talk about this no more. We can
talk about it later or whatever. I don’t want to talk about this no
more. That’s wrong. That’s wrong.”

{Up to this point the interrogators had not mentioned drug
usage. Since Respondent was trying to stop an interrogation
which had only one subject and one focus, the Court of Appeals
was entirely correct to conclude that there was no ambiguity in
the invocation, App. A at 17, 20. See also Judge Bea’s opinion,
App. A at 30-31, which also concluded that the invocation was
not ambiguous. The state is entirely wrong to suggest that there
is a perceived ambiguity. See Pet. at 15-16. |

(Continued on following page)

6

The state court’s reliance on the defendant’s
continued interplay with the interrogators as a
reason to whitewash the officers’ disregard of the
Miranda invocation was “contrary to” United States
Supreme Court precedent, clearly expressed in
Miranda v. Arizona, supra, and in Michigan uv.
Mosley, 423 U.S. 16 (1975). App. A at 16, n. 3. Here
too, the Circuit Court’s analysis was in congruity with
this Court’s established precedent. See Early uv.
Packer, 537 U.S. 3, 11 (2002) and Woodford v. Viscotti,
537 U.S. 19, 27 (2002).

Petitioner offers no reason to reconsider the

established procedures. of this Court in dealing with

federal court review of AEDPA claims. The conclusion
of the Circuit Court was unremarkable and does not
merit further review.

At page 79: 7-12 the interrogation focused on the metham-
phetamine pipe that was found at the crime scene. “TO: Well,
what kind of pipes?” ({] “Uh! I’m through with this. I’m through.
I wanna be taken in custody, with my parole ” (9) “TO: Well,
you already are. | wanna know what kinda pipes you have?” [4j)
“JA: I plead the fifth.” {9] “TO: Plead the fifth. What’s that?”

The invocation which was briefly honored by the detectives
appears at page 119, followed by another waiver and the confes-
sion

Il. THE STATE’S PROPOSAL TO EXCUSE
UNLAWFUL POLICE INTERROGATION,
ON THE BASIS THAT IT LATER RE-
SULTED IN A WAIVER AND A CONFES-
SION, WOULD TURN THE MIRANDA
RULE ON ITS HEAD AND UNDERMINE
RESPECT FOR THE LAW.

Purportedly, the state merely proposes a rule
that a break in interrogation (even one of microscopic
proportions) wipes the slate clean of prior misconduct
and permits the use of a confession obtained after the
break in interrogation. In reality, the present case
involves a blatant violation of the defendant’s ex-
pressed wish to remain silent (“I plead the Fifth.”),
uttered almost an hour before any break in interroga-
tion. Therefore the proposed rule, though focusing on
the break in interrogation, in actuality is nothing but
a stratagem for obscuring the earlier police miscon-

duct. The proposed rule would not only undermine
legal protections against the use of involuntary
confessions, it would foster disrespect for the law by

endorsing a stratagem to avoid the legitimate asser-
tion of a constitutional right.

Preliminarily, Respondent notes that Petitioner’s
argument is taken wholly from the opinion of Judge
Bea, dissenting from the en banc majority. App. A at
30-39. The argument was first proposed by Judge
Bea; one may search the prior state and federal
opinions and the prior briefing in vain for any refer-
ence to it. Had this been an issue in the state superior
court, the defendant could have confronted it; he

8

would certainly have asked pointed questions to the
interrogating officers, including whether the police
tactic was a deliberate effort to subvert Miranda. But
the state never proposed this argument at any level
prior to this very late stage of the proceedings.

In applying the AEDPA this Court has cautioned
that prior state court opinions must be reviewed
carefully, to determine the reasoning that actually
governed them. See Holland v. Jackson, 542 U.S. 649,
654-655 (2004) (per curiam); Woodford v. Visciottt, 537
U.S. 19, 23-24 (2002) (per curiam). Since the later-
interruption argument was not relied upon by the
state court, and was not advanced by the state in
support of the state court judgment until it joined
Judge Bea’s proposal, it should not be addressed by
this Court at this late stage.

This Court has not forbidden all police interroga-
tions, forever and on any subject, following a valid
Miranda assertion. But the interrogation must cease.
Thereafter, “the admissibility of statements obtained
after the person in custody has decided to remain

silent depends under Miranda on whether his ‘right

to cut off questioning’ was ‘scrupulously honored.’”
Michigan v. Mosley, supra, 423 U.S. at 104. Here, the
right to remain silent was not honored.

Respondent was subjected to uninterrupted
interrogation for almost an jour after his invocation
of the right to remain silent. The proscription on
resumed interrogation is not indefinite. Michigan v
Mosley, supra, at 102-103. But the invocation must be

9

honored by an immediate interruption in the interro-
gation. Here the interrogation was not interrupted at
all, and that cannot be permitted.

When an accused has invoked his right to have
counsel present during custodial interrogation, “a
valid waiver of that right cannot be established by
showing only that he responded to further police-
initiated custodial interrogation even if he has been
advised of his rights.” Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S.
477, 484-485 (1981) (emphasis added). An accused
who has expressed his wish to remain silent is not
subject to further interrogation, “unless the accused
himself initiates further communication, exchanges,
or conversations with the police.” Jbid. Mr. Anderson’s
invocation here was followed directly by an hour of
police-initiated custodial interrogation, in total disre-
gard for the invocation and for this Court’s clearly-
stated law on such interrogations. Michigan ov.
Mosley, supra.

What occurred an hour later — an interruption
(brief or long), another advisement, a waiver, a con-
fession, or none of these — is beside the point. The

continued interrogation was illegal, and the conse-

quence is exclusion of the result of the interrogation,

whatever it may have been. The necessary exclusion
of evidence here is not a new or unanticipated appli-
cation of Miranda, but an unremarkable application

of well-settled rules.

The Edwards rule provides a “bright line” rule

that can be applied by officers in the real world of

10

investigation and interrogation without unduly
hampering the gathering of information. Davis v.
United States, 512 U.S. 452, 460 (1992). The officers
here, or in any similar situation, are not “left to
wonder” what to do under current law. Pet. at 14.
That necessary goal — predictability and ready appli-
cation in the real world — would be defeated under
the changes proposed by Petitioner.

Under Petitioner’s proposed rule, an interrogator
would be tempted — nay, invited — to continue ques-
tioning even after a valid invocation.’ Under Peti-
tioner’s blueprint the officer would only interrupt the
interrogation, briefly and long after the invocation, at
the precise point where the suspect seems most
vulnerable and ready to cave in to the uninterrupted
illegal questioning. Predictably, the suspect, now
desperate, may himself initiate a further conversa-
tion. From the interrogator’s standpoint, it would be
worth taking the chance, in the expectation that the
officer’s earlier misconduct would be cleansed in
retrospect by the very extension of the illegal interro-

gation. Just as for Hera bathing in the spring of

Kanathos, the earlier violation would be forgotten.

This new rule would be a variation on the theme of
“questioning outside Miranda,” noted and condemned by this
Court in Missouri v. Seibert, 542 U.S. 600, 610, n. 2 (2004)

" Cf. Article “Kanathos,” in Wikipedia, http://www
wikipedia.org, and sources there cited

11

This Court has already rejected such a blueprint
for chaos. “‘No authority, and no logic, permits the
interrogator to proceed . .. on his own terms and as if
the defendant had requested nothing, in the hope
that the defendant might be induced to say some-
thing casting retrospective doubt on his initial state-
ment that he wished to speak through an attorney or
not at all.’ [citation].” Smith v. Illinois, 469 U.S. 91,
99 (1984). Petitioner offers no good reason, or any
reason at all, to overturn so much of this Court’s
authority. Petitioner certainly offers no reason to
create, in place of this Court’s authority, such law-
lessness and uncertainty.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the Petition fails to state
sufficient grounds for review by this Court, and
should be denied.

Dated: August 15, 2008

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES M. BONNEAU

331 J Street, Suite 200
Sacramento, California 95814
(916) 444-8828

Attorney for Respondent

| Supreme Count US

FILED

No. 07-1436 SEP -4 - 2008

LERK j

In the Supreme Court of the United States

JAMES A. TILTON, SECRETARY, CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS AND
REHABILITATION, Petitioner,

JEROME ALVIN ANDERSON, Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF

EDMUND G. BROWN JR.
Attorney General of California
DANE R. GILLETTE
Chief Assistant Attorney General
MANUEL M. MEDEIROS
State Solicitor General
MICHAEL P. FARRELL
Senior Assistant Attorney Generai
DONALD E. DE NICOLA
Deputy State Solicitor General
RACHELLE A. NEWCOMB
Deputy Attorney General
STEPHEN G. HERNDON
Supervising Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record
1300 I Street, Suite 125
P.O. Box 944255
Sacramento, CA 94244-2550
Telephone: (916) 327-0350
Fax: (916) 324-2960
Counsel for Petitioner

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CERTIORARI IS WARRANTED TO
VINDICATE THE HABEAS
CORPUS REFORMS CONGRESS
ENACTED IN AEDPA AND TO
PROVIDE PRACTICAL GUIDANCE
TO LAW ENFORCEMENT

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Carey v. Musladin,
549 U.S. 70 (2005)

Davis v. United States,
512 U.S. 452 (1994)

Lebron v. National R.R. Passenger Corp..,
513 U.S. 374 (1995)

Miranda v. Arizona,
384 U.S. 486 (1966)

Missouri v. Seibert,

542 U.S. 600 (2004)

Oregon v. Elstad,
470 U.S. 298 (1985)

People v. Rundle,
43 Cai.4th 76 (2008)

People v. Stitely,
35 Cal.4th 514 (2005)

Virginia Bankshares, Inc. v. Sandberg,
501 U.S. 1083 (1991)

CERTIORARI IS WARRANTED TO
VINDICATE THE HABEAS CORPUS
REFORMS CONGRESS ENACTED IN
AEDPA AND TO PROVIDE PRACTICAL
GUIDANCE TO LAW ENFORCEMENT

Anderson first argues that review is unwarranted
because, he says, this case presents nothing new of
constitutional significance (Opp. pp. 1, 3-7). But this
Court has recognized in past grants of certiorari that
questions of the proper application of AEDPA are
important. And this case involves not only that but also
a question of this Court’s Miranda jurisprudence.

1. Here, two state courts expressly found Anderson’s
“I plead the fifth” statement ambiguous in context and
the officers’ attempt to clarify proper. The federal
district court, applying the AEDPA deference standard,
found these state court determinations reasonable. Two
judges on the initial Ninth Circuit panel determined
that the state courts’ findings on ambiguity and
clarification were reasonable determinations of fact and
thai the state courts had not unreasonably anplied
clearly established federal law. On the en banc panel,
two judges (Judges Tallman and Callahan) agreed, and
two other judges (Judges Silverman and Rawlinson)
agreed on the ambiguity question. This case is not
unremarkable: it represents a significant violation of
AEDPA.

The Miranda point, moreover, is of immense concern
to law enforcement. Although this Court in Miranda v.
Arizona, 384 US. 436, 473-74 (1966), recognized that
police must stop questioning if a suspect indicates “in

any manner” that he wants to cut off questioning, this
Court has not delineated what is further required.
Moreover, there is noclearly established precedent from
this Court addressing what officers may do when faced
with an arguably ambiguous invocation of the right to
silence. In Davis v. United States, 512 U.S. 452, 461-62
(1994), concerning an equivocal invocation of the right
to counsel, this Court stated that clarifying questions
can be good police work. In holding ‘hat Anderson’s
statement was ambiguous and that the officers’ follow-
up question could reasonably be interpreted as a
legitimate clarifying question, the state courts
reasonably applied Davis. This Court has not held its
Davis principles inapplicable to right-to-silence cases,
and it was not “unreasonable” or “contrary to” clearly
established law for the state courts to do so. See Carey
v. Musladin, 549 U.S. 70, 75 (2006).

Anderson acknowledges that context is critical.
However, he claims that the context here shows not
only that his “I plead the fifth” statement was
unequivocal, but that it was “only the culmination of a
series of efforts to terminate the interrogation.” (Opp.
p. 5.) Here, he follows the lead of the Ninth Circuit en
banc majority (“Anderson had already twice attempted
to stop the police questioning....”). App. A, p. 17. But
he has never previously argued that his statements
about “going upstairs” to the general jail population
constituted invocations or attempts to end the
interrogation (though an amicus curiae for Anderson
did so).

While the larger context of the interrogation
concerned the murder, the immediate context of
Anderson’s disputed statement was his use of drug pipes
to smoke methamphetamine. Anderson misreads the
record at this point, claiming that “the interrogation

focused on the methamphetamine pipe that was found
at the crime scene.” (Opp. p. 6, n. 4.) Actually, the
topic had shifted from Anderson’s drug use the day of
the murder to his drug use in general; when Anderson
said “I plead the fifth,” the questioning was not focused
on the pipe found at the crime scene. Consequently,
Anderson was not invoking his right to silence if he was
just refusing to discuss the particulars of his drug use.
See People v. Rundle, 43 Cal.4th 76, 115 (2008); People
v. Stitely, 35 Cal.4th 514, 535 (2005). Only by ignoring
this topic-shifting context of the questioning could the
Ninth Circuit override the state courts and hold that
Anderson’s statement was an unequivocal invocation of
his right to remain silent.

2. Regardless whether the police violated Anderson's
Miranda rights by continuing their interrogation after
he said “I piead the fifth,” the Ninth Circuit wrongly
granted relief on the assumption that the earlier error
rendered the later confession inadmissible. Anderson
points out that this argument was first raised by Judge
Bea in the Ninth Circuit. (Opp. p. 7.) That is true only
because no court until the Ninth Circuit en banc
majority opinion had found Anderson’s invocation to be
unambiguous or the officers’ attempt to clarify
disingenuous. Hence, there had never been any need to
address this scenario before. Having been raised by the
Ninth Circuit, this issue is properly before this Court.
See Virginia Bankshares, Inc. v. Sandberg, 501 US.
1083, 1099, n. 8 (1991); Lebron v. National R.R.
Passenger Corp., 513 U.S. 374, 379 (1995). Anderson
complains that, had this issue been raised in the state
superior court, he “would certainly have asked pointed
questions to the interrogating officers,” including
whether they were trying to “subvert Miranda.” (Opp.
pp. 7-8.) But Anderson did so: Detective MacDonnald

testified that he had been trained to cease questioning
when a suspect invokes and that he does not question
outside Miranda or allow others to do so. ‘The concerns
expressed by this Court in Missouri v. Seibert, 542 U.S.
600 (2004), are not present here. (Opp. p. 10, n. 5.) The
State’s argument could not possibly encourage any
police practice of subverting Miranda.

Anderson asserts that “(w]hat occurred an hour later

. is beside the point.” (Opp. p. 9.) His opposition
brief conspicuously sidesteps any discussion of Oregon
v. Elstad, 470 U.S. 298, 309 (1985), which held that a
failure-to-warn Miranda violation does not taint a
subsequent uncoerced admission made after proper
Miranda waivers. A failure to give the Miranda
advisements when clearly required is more egregious
than a failure to correctly discern whether a suspect
wishes to completely stop an interrogation. As in
Elstad, the admissibility of Anderson’s confession, made
after his honored invocation and immediate waiver,
should turn solely on whether it was knowingly and
voluntarily made. Oregon v. Elstad, 470 U.S. at 309.

Anderson posits that the State’s “proposed rule”
would invite continued questioning even after a valid
invocation. (Opp. p. 10.) Not so. The State is
concerned with interrogations where an_ officer
misinterprets an ambiguous invocation and is later
faced with a suspect who begs to talk after any clearly-
invoked rights of his were indeed honored. This is not
a case where police extended an illegal interrogation in
hopes that a suspect will later change his mind and
want to talk. Nor is it whitewashing an earlier
violation. Certiorari is warranted so that this Court can
give some needed, real-world guidance to officers
interrogating suspects who, like Anderson, ambiguously
invoke their right to silence, but—after a later clear

invocation of the right is honored—then insist on
talking.

For the foregoing reasons and for the reasons set
forth in the petition for writ of certiorari, the petition
for writ of certiorari should be granted.

Dated: September 4, 2008

Respectfully submitted,

EDMUND G. BROWN JR.

Attorney General of California
DANE R. GILLETTE

Chief Assistant Attorney General

MANUEL M. MEDEIROS
State Solicitor General

MICHAEL P. FARRELL
Senior Assistant Attorney General

DONALD E. DE NICOLA
Deputy State Solicitor General

RACHELLE A. NEWCOMB
‘Deputy Attorney General

( step hut |

STEPHEN G. HERNDON
Supervising Deputy Attorney General
Counsel for Petitioner

SA2004FA0057
30538987 .wpd

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1477%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
