# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Everson v. Doughton (No. 07-1414)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1458%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

sore

No. ©) =—--g. 71.4 14 MAY 12-2008

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
Su The
Supreme Court of the United States

DAVID K. EVERSON and PATRICIA M. EVERSON,

Petitioners,

RICHARD L. DOUGHTON, Individually and In His
Official Capacity as Justice of the Superior Court of
Allegany/Rockingham County, North Carolina,

Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DAVID K. EVERSON
PATRICIA M. EVERSON
5100 Eldorado Pkwy.
Suite 102, No. 709
McKinney, Texas 75070
Telephone (214) 491-4102

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Does judicial immunity apply when a judge forces
defendants to an action to convey their land
through an order for specific performance of a
void contract by law, and the land in question
was not legally owned by the defendants forced to
convey at all material times to the action, the le-
gal owners of the land in dispute were not joined
in the action and were the indispensable party
necessary to confer jurisdiction of the matter be-
fore the court thereby violating the Petitioners’
due process rights.

Whether a judge depriving individuals of their
real property ownership in the clear absence of
jurisdiction constitutes substantive and proce-
dural due process deprivation under the Four-
teenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

Whether a judge violates the Due Process Clause
of the U.S. Constitution by entering an order that
is biased and partial to statutory laws and facts
in the matter before him, thereby depriving an
individual of the fundamental right to property
ownership.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Pursuant to Rule 41.1(b), the caption contains
the names of all the parties to the proceeding below.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
OPINIONS BELOW
JURISDICTION

TEXT OF CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,
FEDERAL STATUTES, RULES OF PROCE-
DURE, AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Course of Proceedings

B. Statement of Facts

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THE DECISION BELOW IS WRONG IN
RESPECT TO JUDICIAL IMMUNITY,
DEPRIVATION OF DUE PROCESS IN
REGARDS TO REAL PROPERTY OWN-
ERSHIP, AND FEDERAL RULE OF CIVIL
PROCEDURE 8 REQUIREMENTS

A. The Fourth Circuit’s Decision Conflicts
With the Decisions of Other United
States Courts of Appeals and This
Court as to Judicial Immunity

17

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued
Page

B. The Court of Appeals Findings Conflict
in that This Court and the Third Cir-
cuit Have Held When a Judge Lacks
Jurisdiction to Decide a Matter Sub-
stantive Due Process Has Been De-
prived When the Issue Concerns Real
Property Ownership

Il. THIS COURT HAS HELD THAT WHEN A
JUDGE’S DECISION IN A MATTER OF-
FENDS SOME PRINCIPLE OF JUSTICE
SO ROOTED IN THE TRADITIONS AND
CONSCIENCE OF OUR PEOPLE AS TO
BE RANKED AS FUNDAMENTAL SUCH
DECISIONS VIOLATE THE DUE PROC-
ESS CLAUSE OF THE U.S. CONSTITU-

INDEX TO APPENDIX

A. Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals Unpub-
lished Opinion (Filed January 23, 2008) ....App. 1

B. United States District Court for the Mid-
dle District of North Carolina Order (Filed
June 08, 2007)

United States District Court for the Mid-
dle District of North Carolina Judgment
(Filed June 08, 2007)

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued
Page

United States District Court for the Mid-
dle District of North Carolina Magistrate's
Recommendation (Filed April 18, 2007)......App. 8

Fourth Circuit Court Order on Petition for
Rehearing En Banc

Stanley Deed of the Subject Property

Petitioners Everson General Warranty
Deed of the Subject Property

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:

Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737 (1984)

Bello v. Walker, 840 F.2d 1124 (3d Cir. 1988)
Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972)
Boddie v. Connecticut, 104 U.S. 371 (1971)

Boyanowski v. Capital Area Intermediate Unit,
215 F.3d 396, 2000 WL 768775 (3d Cir. 2000)

Bradley v. Fisher, 13 Wall. 335 (1872)
Brennan v. Stewart, 834 F.2d 1248 (5th Cir.

Chicago v. Atchison T: & S.F-R. Co., 357 US.
77, 78S. Ct. 1063 (1958)

Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41 (1957)

Collins v. City of Harker Heights, 503 U.S. 115
(1992)

Consolidated Water Co. v. City of San Diego, 93
F. 849, 35 C.C.A. 631 (C.C.A.9 (Cal.) Feb. 06,
1899) (No. 460)

Davis v. Monroe County Board of Education,
526 U.S. 629, 119 S. Ct. 1661 (1999)

DeBlascio v. Zoning Bd. of Adjustment, 53 F.3d

RE IID cc ésira asks ecnavekadesndeonessebsbsneionsanes

33
22,37

31, 33

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page

District of Columbia Court of Appeals uv.
Feldman, 460 U.S. 462 (1983) 3, 5, 12, 16

Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976)

Ferris v. Wilbur, 27 F.2d 262 (4th Cir. 1928)
Gaw v. Higham, 267 F.2d 355 (6th Cir. 1959)
Hafer v. Melo, 502 U.S. 21 (1999)

Haines v. Kerner, 404 U.S. 519 (1972)

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 102 S. Ct.
ET 5 Fee Bik ns Se OT ivviivcviceciscisicicssevsacecass. 15

Hill v. Braxton, 277 F.3d 701 (4th Cir. 2002)
Homar v. Gilbert, 63 F. Supp. 2d 559 (M.D. Pa.

Independent Enters., Inc. v. Pittsburgh Water
and Sewer Auth., 103 F.3d 1165 (3d Cir.

In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133, 75 S. Ct. 623
(1955)

Int'l Longshoremen’s Assn. v. Davis, 476 U.S.
380 (1986)

John Corp. v. City of Houston, 214 F.3d 573
I ica aac ah ea 29

Loubser v. Thacker, 440 F.3d 439 (7th Cir. 2006)

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422
(1982)

Lugar v. Edmonsen Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Mallette v. Arlington County Employees’ Supp.
Net. Sys. II, 91 F.3d 630 (4th Cir. 1996)

Midnight Sessions, Ltd. v. City of Philadelphia,
945 F.2d 667 (3d Cir. 1991)

Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167 (1961) «0... eee 13

Mulane v. Central Hanover Tr. Co., 399 U.S.
306 (1950)

Nicholas v. Pennsylvania State University, 227
F.3d 133 (3d Cir. 2000)

Patterson v. New York, 482 U.S. 197 (1977)

Piper v. Pearson, 2 Gray 120 (Mass. 1854)
Rankin v. Howard, 633 F.2d 844 (1980)
Reich v. Beharry, 883 F.2d 239 (3d Cir. 1989)

Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263 U.S. 413
(1923) 3,5, 12, 16

Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232 (1974)................cee 13

S.C. State Ports Auth. v. Fed. Mar. Comm’n,
243 F.3d 165 (4th Cir. 2001)

Stroud v. Benson, 254 F.2d 488 (4th Cir. 1958).........2!
Stump v. Sparkman, 435 U.S. 349 (1978)

Sutton v. United Airlines, Inc., 527 U.S. 471,
119 S. Ct. 2139 (1999)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Swierkiewicz v. Sorema N.A., 5384 U.S. 506
(2002)

Trimble v. Asarco, Inc., 232 F.3d 946 (8th Cir.

United States v. Gaubert, 499 U.S. 315 (1991)

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans
United for Separation of Church and State,
as Pe GER, PS CRIs ckcsersccscescovcesccsescestoecseonecces 27

Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357, 47 S. Ct.
a ME, BE A RUPE 9D... sccnscroccovcsoscencsesnssdecaescs 33

Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S. 603 (1999)

Windsor v. McVeigh, 93 U.S. 274 (1876)

Woodwind Estates, Lid. v. Gretkowski, 205 F.3d
118 (3d Cir. 2000)

NORTH CAROLINA CASES:

Card v. Finch, 142 N.C. 153, 88 S.E. 1009
(1906)

Carlton v. Anderson, 276 N.C. 564, 173 S.E.2d
RS a ss ss cucu nebaanbaubesnvanss 13

Carter v. Roundtree, 109 N.C. 29, 13 S.E. 716
(1891)

Clark v. Carolina Homes, 189 N.C. 703, 128
ED ns vuussonesdsascacesavevacecenecs sacconeind ..26

Dunn v. Wilson, 210 N.C. 493, 187 S.E. 802
(1936)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Estate of Apple v. Commercial Courier Express,
Inc., 359 N.C. 632, 613 S.E.2d 688 (2005)

Flowers v. King, 145 N.C. 234, 58 S.E. 1074
(1907)

Johnson v. Whilden, 171 N.C. 153, 88 S.E. 223
5 Rear ee ee em ee PM MRO yey OME NO OuamaD

Moore v. Humphrey, 247 N.C. 423, 101 S.E.2d
460 (1958)

Mills v. Richardson, 240 N.C. 187, 81 S.E.2d
409 (1954)

Powell v. Turpin, 224 N.C. 67, 29 S.E.2d 26

Rackley v. Roberts, 147 N.C. 201, 60 S.E. 975
(1908)

Ce NSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:

U.S. Constitution, Amendment XI...

U.S. Constitution, Amendment XIV passim
OF te CHAM, FCI Te Ue vin vncvchecessvccscncccccassavsccesss 3, 5,6

STATUTES, RULES, AND REGULATIONS:
42 U.S.C. § 1983 2, 3, 5, 6, 29

5 Charles Allen Wright and Arthur R. Miller,
Federal Practice and Procedure: Civil 3d
§ 1215, at 173-74 (3d ed. 2004)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 8(a)................ 4,19, 20
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6)....... 6. 6 7. 12
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(1) 4,6, 7,12

N.C. STATUTES:
N.C. Gen. Stat. $ 22-2 passim

1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

David K. Everson and Patricia M. Everson re-
spectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari to review
the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit in this case.

e

OPINIONS BELOW

The unpublished opinion of the Court of Appeals
is reported at No. 07-1846 (4th Cir. 2008) and is found

in the Appendix to the Petition (“App.”) at App. A.

The Order of the Court of Appeals (4th Cir.)
denying the Petition for Rehearing En Banc is found
at App. E.

The District Court’s order and judgment is not
reported and is found at App. B and C.

The District Court Magistrate’s Recommendation
is not reported and is found at App. D.

’

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals entered its judgment on
January 23, 2008. Petition for rehearing was denied
on February 26, 2008 (App. E).

This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).

2

TEXT OF CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,
FEDERAL STATUTES, RULES OF
PROCEDURE AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

This case concerns violations of Section 1 of
the Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S. Consti-
tution which provides in relevant part, “All
persons born or naturalized in the United States, and
subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the
United States and of the State wherein they reside.
No state shall make or enforce any law which shall
abridge the privileges or immunities of the citizens of
the United States; nor shall any state deprive any
person of life, liberty, or property without due process
of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction

equal protection of the laws.”

a. Judicial relief U.S. Code 42 § 1983. Any
person who under color of any statute, ordinance,
regulation, custom, or usage, or any State of Ter-
ritory or the District of Columbia, subjects, or
causes to be subjected, any citizen of the United
States or other person within the jurisdiction
thereof to the deprivation of any rights, privi-
leges, or immunities secured by the Constitution
and laws, shall be liable to the party injured in
an action at law, suit in equity, or other proper
proceeding for redress, except that for any action
brought against a judicial officer for an act or
omission taken in such officer’s judicial capacity,
injunctive relief shall not be granted unless a de-
claratory decree was violated or declaratory relief
was unavailable. ...

3

b. Eleventh Amendment. The Eleventh
Amendment does not bar suits seeking damages

from government officials in their individual ca-
pacities. Hafer v. Melo, 502 U.S. 21 (1991). We
hold that state officials, sued in their individual
capacities are “persons” within the meaning of
1983. The Eleventh Amendment does not bar
such suits, nor are state officers absolutely im-
mune from personal liability under 1983 solely by

virtue of the “official” nature of their acts. [Hafer,
502 U.S. at 30].

c. Article III § 2 Jurisdiction. Extends juris-
diction to cases arising under the U.S. Constitu-
tion.

Rooker-Feldman Doctrine:

Under Feldman, the relevant question is whether
the relief sought by the federal plaintiff is actually
challenging a prior adjudication. See Feldman, 460
U.S. at 483-84 (considering “(t]he difference between
seeking review in a federal district court of a state
court’s final judgment in a bar admission matter and
challenging the validity of a state bar admission
rule”); Noel, 341 F.3d at 1163 (“it is forbidden de facto
appeal under Rooker-Feldman when the plaintiff in a
federal district court complains of a legal wrong
allegedly committed by the state court and seeks
relief from the judgment of that court.”). See also
Loubser v. Thacker, 440 F.3d 439 (7th Cir. 2006) for
similar fact pattern in a 42 U.S.C. § 1983 action
ruling Rooker-Feldman inapplicable.

4

Rule 8 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
provides in pertinent part:

(a) Claims for Relief. A pleading which sets
forth a claim for relief... shall contain. . .

(2) ashort plain statement of the claim showing
the pleader is entitied to relief... .

(b) Defenses; Forms of Denials. A party shall
state in short and plain terms the party’s de-
fenses to each claim asserted, and shall admit or
deny the averments upon which the adverse
party relies.

(c) Affirmative Defenses. In pleading to a
preceding pleading, a party shall set forth af-
firmatively ... any ... matter constituting an
avoidance or an affirmative defense. * * *

Rule 12 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
provides in pertinent part:

(a) How Presented. Every defense, in law or
fact, to a claim for relief in any pleading... shall
be asserted in the responsive pleading thereto if
one is required, except that the following de-
fenses may at the option of the pleader be made
by motion: ... (1) lack of subject matter jurisdic-
tion... ** * (6) failure to state a claim upon
which relief can be granted... . * * *

(b) Rule 12(b)(1) Dismissal. If a plaintiff has
pleaded a federal cause of action, it cannot be dis-
missed under Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(1) unless the
facts as pleaded are “so implausible, patently
without merit, or insubstantial that they fail[]

D

for jurisdictional purposes.” Trimble v. Asarco,
Inc., 232 F.3d 946, 953 (8th Cir. 2002).

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case concerns substantive and procedural
due process deprivation by a state court judge decid-
ing a matter concerning claims of breach of contract
for real property in the absence of jurisdiction, the
indispensable party not joined in the action nor
noticed thereof, the state court plaintiffs lacking
standing to bring the claim of breach of contract, and
the state court judge ultimately entering an order for
specific performance of a contract void ab initio
resulting in the petitioners being forced to convey
their land to the state court plaintiffs thereby being
deprived of their due process rights under the Four-
teenth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.

Petitioners, David K. Everson and Patricia M.
Everson filed a 42 U.S.C. § 1983, Article III § 2 suit
against Respondent, Richard L. Doughton, Superior
Court Justice, for claims he forced the Eversons to
convey their Jand in the clear absence of all jurisdic-
tion and by demonstrating gross partiality and preju-
dice. The U.S. District Court dismissed the complaint
under Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6) and
12(b)(1) finding Doughton was protected by absolute
judicial immunity, and the claim was barred by the
Eleventh Amendment and the Rooker-Feldman
Doctrine. App. B and C. The Fourth Circuit affirmed

6

by unpublished opinion. App. A. Petitioners filed a
Petition for Rehearing En Banc. The Fourth Circuit
denied the petition. App. E.

A. The Course of Proceedings

On November 26, 2006, Petitioners, David K.
Everson and Patricia M. Everson filed a complaint in
the United States District Court of the Middle Dis-
trict of North Carolina against the Respondent,
Richard L. Doughton, Superior Court Justice pursu-
ant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and Article III § 2 for viola-
tions of certain protections guaranteed to the
Eversons by the Fourteenth Amendment of the F'ed-
eral Constitution, by Doughton under color of law in

his official capacity and individually.

On January 03, 2007, Petitioners filed their
amended complaint adding additional claims for
relief. Doughton filed a motion to dismiss pursuant to
Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(6)(6) and 12(6)(1) for failure to state
a claim upon which relief can be granted and for lack
of jurisdiction.

The district court magistrate recommended
granting Doughton’s motion to dismiss. App. D. The
district court adopted the magistrate’s recommenda-
tion and dismissed the case. App. B and C. On appeal
the Fourth Circuit affirmed the order and judgment
by unpublished opinion. App. A. The Fourth Circuit’s
order is contrary to well-settled law as this Court has
held as well as other Circuit Courts. The Fourth
Circuit’s unpublished opinion does not constitute

7

binding precedent. The Court of Appeals denied
petitioners’ Petition for Rehearing En Banc on Febru-
ary 26, 2008. App. E.

B. Statement of Facts

Because this case was decided on a motion under
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6) and 12(b)(1),
this Statement recites the facts as alleged within the
complaint, which must be taken as true for purposes
of these proceedings, as they should have been in the
courts below. Sutton v. United Airlines, Inc., 527 U.S.
471, 119 S. Ct. 2139, 2143 (1999) (citing United States
v. Gaubert, 499 U.S. 315, 327 (1991)); Davis v. Monroe
County Board of Education, 526 U.S. 629, 119 S. Ct.
1661, 16656 (1999).

Judge Doughton presided over a state court civil
proceeding wherein the state court plaintiffs, Charles
S. Honacher and wife, Catherine M. Honacher, (here-
inafter referred to as the “Honachers”) filed a com-
plaint against the Petitioners herein David K.
Everson and wife, Patricia M. Everson (hereinafter
referred to as the “Eversons”) alleging breach of
contract of a document titled “addendum” in conjunc-
tion with other alleged claims. (See Pleading No. 6,
Am. Compl., Ex. 4). The Honachers were represented
by counsel at the trial that ensued in the matter, the
Eversons were pro se. The “addendum” was pur-
ported to be the “addendum” to a contract for land
between the Eversons and the legal owners of the
land, John David Stanley, Jr., Elizabeth Stanley

8

Searce, and Alan B. Stanley (hereinafter referred to
as the “Stanleys”). (See Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl.,
Ex. 1).

The crux of the entire case was the allegation by
the Honachers they and the Eversons executed an
“addendum” to the Everson/Stanley contract, and this
“addendum” consiituted an enforceable contract by
law.’ The fatal flaw of the Honachers’ claims was the
Stanleys never executed any “addendum” to the
Everson/Stanley contract, and as they were the party
to be charged therewith pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat.
§ 22-2, of which the Eversons pled as a bar to the
Honachers’ claim for breach of contract,” the Honach-
ers lacked standing to bring the action, and the state

court lacked jurisdiction to decide the matter’ because

' The Honachers admitted with their testimony at trial the
“addendum” was not a legally binding enforceable contract by
lew.

* It was also proven at trial, the “addendum” violated N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 22-2 of which the Eversons pled as a bar to the
Honachers’ claims for breach of contract “addendum.”

* It was proven at trial through testimony and submitted
evidence in order for the “addendum” to be enforceable by law
the Stanleys would have had to execute the document thereby
agreeing to its terms and conditions because they were the legal,
lawful owners of the subject property, thereby the party to be
charged therewith, establishing by law they were an indispen-
sable party to the action, and the Everson/Stanley contract
contained termed conditions concerning any changes, deletions,
or additions to the contract which required the Stanleys’ written
consent of which never existed.

9

the Stanleys were the indispensable party and they
were never joined as a party to the action.

The Honachers’ complaint contained allegations
the document “addendum” “contemplated” the Ever-
sons would exercise their right of first refusal on the
Stanley property for the benefit of the Honachers.
(See Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex. 4, 4 23-28).
However, it was proven by the Honachers testimonies
and evidence this allegation was purely erroneous.
On its face the “addendum” fails to state a right of
first refusal (See Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex. 1),
and the Everson/Stanley contract contained a term
condition in { 18 setting forth the following:

“This contract may not be assigned without
the written consent of all parties, but if as-
signed by agreement, then the contract shall
be binding on the assignee and his heirs and
successors.”

(See Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex. 2, { 18).

The Stanleys never agreed to any assignment of
the Everson/Stanley contract as was proven at the
trial. The Everson/Stanley contract contained another
term condition in { 21 which set forth the following:

“This contract contains the entire agreement
of the’ parties and there are no representa-
tions, inducements, or other provisions other
than those expressed hevein. All changes,
additions or deletions hereto must be in writ-
ing and signed by all parties. Nothing con-
tained herein shall alter any agreement

10

between a REALTOR or broker and Seller or
Buyer as contained in any listing agreement
buyer agency agreement, or any other agency
agreement between them.”

(See Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex. 2, { 21).

Within the Honachers’ complaint, the description
of the land in dispute, is only identified as being “the
Stanley property.” (See Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl.,
Ex. 4). The Stanley Deed description of the land as
registered with Rockingham County Register of
Deeds, North Carolina, is recorded in Book 830, Page
1292. App. F. The Eversons’ General Warranty Deed
is recorded in Book 1158, Page 2049, of the Rocking-
ham County Register of Deeds. App. G. The Eversons
did not own the land at all material times to the
Honachers’ complaint as pursuant to the Eversons’
General Warranty Deed which was executed by the
Stanleys and their prospective husband and wife on
the dates of May 21, 2003, June 02, 2003 and June
03, 2003 (App. F) proves, thereby establishing by law,
in order for the action to be heard and decided by a
court of general jurisdiction, the Stanleys must be
joined in the action, and noticed of the action, as they
were the indispensable party who held an interest in
the outcome.* Chicago v. Atchison, T. & S.F-R. Co.,
357 U.S. 77, 78S. Ct. 1063 (1958).

* The Honachers admitted with their testimony at trial the
Stanleys were the lawful owners of the land and admitted
further they did not name them as defendants in the action

(Continued on following page)

11

The Honachers admitted with their testimonies
the Stanleys never signed any document agreeing to
convey their land to the Honachers, nor did their
lawful authorized agent. They admitted the “adden-
dum” was not a binding, enforceable contract by law,
and admitted the Stanleys never signed any docu-
ment agreeing to a conveyance of their land to the
Honachers by any means. (See Pleading No. 6, Am.
Compl., Ex. 3, 5, 6, 7).

Judge Doughton’s Issue One to the jury was:

“Did the plaintiffs and defendants enter into
a contract dated, April 21, 2003 for the pur-
chase and sale of 58.71 acres of land de-
scribed in Deed Book 830, Page 1292, of the
Rockingham County Registry.”

(See Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex. 8).

The Deed reference within Issue One above is
that of the Stanleys’ land and Deed, and the question
concerns the Eversons and Honachers entering into a
contract to sell and purchase the Stanleys’ land
without the consent of the Stanleys. The document
purported to be a contract titled “addendum” did not
contain a description of the land, a price, a seller, or
any consideration and grossly violates N.C. Gen. Stat.
§ 22-2.

because their argument was not with the Stanleys but the
Eversons.

12

With all the prima facie evidence before Dough-
ton, it was glaringly apparent he demonstrated gross
partiality and prejudice to the facts and law in the
matter. It was also apparent he lacked jurisdiction to
decide the claim for breach of contract and specific
performance as it was factually proven the Eversons
did not own the land, the subject of the dispute.

The Eversons’ complaint against Doughton
contained facts well proven by submitted competent
evidence which included court reporter transcripts of
testimony and hearings. Also included were copies of
the Stanleys’ Deed and Eversons’ Deed as well as the
document “addendum” which all served as proof the
claims alleged by the Eversons were of merit and
justiciable that Doughton lacked jurisdiction to
determine the matter, demonstrated gross partiality
and prejudice, and did not follow the law as written
and defined regarding contracts for the conveyance of
land in North Carolina thereby violating the Ever-
sons’ Constitutional rights

The Eversons named Doughton in his individual
capacity and in his official capacity.

Doughton filed a motion to dismiss on February
01, 2007, as his answer to the complaint pursuant to
Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(1) and 12(6)(6) citing as a bar to
the Eversons claims absolute judicial immunity, the
Eleventh Amendment and the Rooker-Feldman
Doctrine.

The Eversons timely filed their opposition and
memorandum to Doughton’s motion to dismiss on

13

February 12, 2007 citing case law Hafer v. Melo, 502
U.S. 21, 28 (1999) (in 1871 Congress enacted § 1983
“to Enforce Provisions of the Fourteenth Amendment
against those who carry a badge of authority of a
State and represent it in some capacity, whether they
act in accordance with their authority or misuse it”),
quoting Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232, 243 (1974);
quoting Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 171-72 (1961),
and citing Lugar v. Edmonson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922
(1982). Eversons presented argument Doughton acted
completely partial, lacked jurisdiction in that a
person cannot legally convey the land owned by
another without the land owners lawful consent or
lawful authorization, and a contract for real property
will not be enforced unless it meets the prerequisite
requirements of N.C. Gen. Stat. $ 22-2 one of which is
a description of the land, the subject matter thereof,
either certain in itself, or capable of being rendered to
certainty by reference to something extrinsic to which
the deed, contract, or memorandum refers.” Carlton v.
Anderson, 276 N.C. 564, 173 S.E.2d 783 (1970). It was
absolute fact the document alleged to be a contract for
the land by law titled “addendum” did not contain
any description of the land nor anything extrinsic of
which it could be rendered to certainty. (See Pleading
No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex. 1).

Further, the Eversons argued the Honachers
lacked standing to bring their claim for breach of
contract because the Stanleys never executed any
document with the Honachers agreeing to convey
their land to them establishing Doughton lacked

14

jurisdiction to decide the matter. Estate of Apple v.
Commercial Courier Express, Inc., 359 N.C. 632, 613
S.E.2d 688 (2005).

On April 18, 2007, the district court Magistrate
recommended Doughton’s motion to dismiss finding
the Eversons claims to be “utterly remote from ‘clear
absence of all jurisdiction’ required for a forfeiture of
judicial immunity.” The Magistrate continued to
state, “to the extent Plaintiffs ask for declaratory
judgment, they essentially ask this Court to sit as a
court of error with respect to a state court civil trial.
This notion reveals a fundamental misunderstanding
of the relationship between the federal and state
court.” “Plaintiffs’ action against Judge Doughton in
his official capacity fares no better. Such an action is
in essence an action against the State of North Caro-
lina. However, the Eleventh Amendment generally
bars suits directly against states or its agencies,
regardless of the nature of the relief sought.”

The Eversons were not asking the district court
to sit as a court of error with respect to a state court
trial because the Eversons had exhausted all state
court remedies. The N.C. Court of Appeals dismissed
the Eversons’ appeal citing lack of jurisdiction within
the Eversons’ notice of appeal. The N.C. Supreme
Court denied the Eversons’ petition for writ of certio-
rari without any opinion. The only avenue left for the
Eversons to pursue was suing Doughton in the fed-
eral court because he violated substantial and fun-
damental rights of the Eversons under the US.
Constitution.

15

The Eversons timely filed their objections to the
Magistrate’s recommendation on April 30, 2007,
arguing “qualified immunity serves as a defense to
§ 1983 claims for government officials ‘insofar’ as
their conduct does not violate clearly established
statutory or constitutional rights which a reasonable
person would have known.” Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457
U.S. 800, 818, 102 S. Ct. 2727, 73 L. Ed. 2d 396
(1982). “The relevant dispositive inquiry in determin-
ing whether a right is clearly established is whether
it would be clear to a reasonable officer that his
conduct was unlawful in the situation he confronted.”
Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S. 603, 615 (1999).

In the case at bar, the Eversons showed unto the
court Doughton’s actions were unlawful and clearly
violated the Eversons’ Constitutional rights in that he
ruled completely contrary to N.C. Gen. Stat. $ 22-2,
well-settled law, and in the clear absence of jurisdic-
tion.

Chief Judge Beaty adopted and affirmed the
Magistrate’s recommendation granting Doughton’s
motion to dismiss.

The Eversons timely filed a motion for new trial
which was denied on August 10, 2007. Eversons
timely filed their Notice of Appeal with the U.S. Court
of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit on August 28, 2007.

The Eversons argued within their appeal brief
Doughton lacked jurisdiction to determine the state
court matter because they were not the lawful owners
of the land at all material times to the Honachers’

16

complaint; the Stanleys were required to be joined in
the action and noticed of the action as the issues
concerned their land; the “addendum” violated N.C.
Gen. Stat. $ 22-2, did not contain any description of
the land, no price, no seller, no consideration; specific
performance was impossible to perform by law and
fact; the Honachers lacked standing to bring the
action; Doughton demonstrated gross partiality and
prejudice and failed to follow the law. Based on all of
the above facts, statutory authority and law, Ever-
sons argued Doughton violated their Constitutional
rights and law thereby establishing the Eleventh
Amendment does not bar their damage claims, the
Rooker-Feldman Doctrine does not bar their claims,
and they presented a meritorious, justiciable claim by
law against Doughton and the district court’s order
and judgment should be vacated or reversed by law.

The Fourth Circuit affirmed Judge Beaty’s judg-
ment granting dismissal to Doughton in an unpub-
lished opinion. The Fourth Circuit did acknowledge
that the Eversons’ correctly noted that the Eleventh
Amendment dves not bar suits seeking damages from
government officials in their individual capacities
citing S.C. State Ports Auth. v. Fed. Mar. Comm’n,
243 F.3d 165, 170 (4th Cir. 2001). They went on to
state this principle does not aid the Eversons because
the only conduct the Eversons challenge is Dough-
ton’s disposition of state court proceedings finding the
district court dismissing the case citing the Eversons’
claims are barred by the Eleventh Amendment is
appropriate. Such a ruling is purely erroneous in that

17

the Eversons’ claims against Doughton set forth and
proved with competent evidence Doughton deter-
mined an action in the clear absence of all jurisdic-
tion, violated law and statutory authority, and
demonstrated gross partiality thereby violating the
Eversons’ Constitutional rights. The evidence was
overwhelming in support of the Eversons’ claims and
this case is one in which a superior court indge
usurped the law, and demonstrated partiality to the
Eversons when he knew it is his duty to follow the
law, and chose to force the Eversons to convey their
land to the Honachers when at all times he was fully
cognizant the facts and law proved he lacked jurisdic-
tion to determine the matter and specific performance
was impossible to perform. The courts cannot offer
protection to a judge who clearly violates the law and
substantive due process under the Fourteenth
Amendment to the U.S. Constitution and lacks juris-
diction to decide the matter before him as Judge
Doughton did in the case at har.

¢

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THE DECISION BELOW IS WRONG IN
RESPECT TO JUDICIAL IMMUNITY,
DEPRIVATION OF DUE PROCESS IN
REGARDS TO REAL PROPERTY OWN-
ERSHIP, AND FEDERAL RULE OF CIVIL
PROCEDURE 8 REQUIREMENTS.

Review is warranted because the ruling below is
wrong on the merits. The Court of Appeals found the

18

Eversons’ complaint against Doughton fails because
the Eversons’ only assertion is that Doughton
wrongly decided a state court action and as a judge on
the state superior court, Doughton had authority to
consider that action and he is immune from suits
arising from those acts. The Court of Appeals erred in
(A) finding the only assertions by the Eversons is
Doughton wrongly decided the state court action; (B)
Doughton had authority to consider the state court
action; and (C) Doughton is immune from suits aris-
ing from those acts. Each error independently re-
quires reversal.

Petitioners allege Judge Doughton did not satisfy
the two-prong test this Court has established is

necessary for a judge to be granted judicial immunity
which are:

1) Does the court have subject matter jurisdic-
tion; and

2) Is the act a judicial act.

Judge Doughton violated the Eversons’ Four-
teenth Amendment rights by forcing the Eversons to
convey their land through an order for specific per-
formance thereof, in the absence of jurisdiction for the
following reasons as clearly stated and alleged within
their complaint:

1) the legal, lawful, owners of the land in dis-
pute were not joined in the action and it was a
requirement by law, for they were the indispen-
sable party;

19

2) the legal, lawful, owners of the land in dis-
pute never executed any document agreeing or
otherwise, to convey their land to the state court
plaintiffs;

3) the document purported to be a contract by
law for the conveyance of land titled, “adden-
dum”, was void ab initio in that it failed to con-

tain any of the necessary prerequisites pursuant
to N.C. Gen. Stat. $ 22-2; and

4) the state court plaintiffs lacked standing to
bring: the claim for breach of contract, “adden-
dum.”

The above establishes Judge Doughton acted in
the absence of jurisdiction, thereby establishing the

Eversons did not appear before a judge performing
his usual functions, but appeared before an individ-
ual who deprived the Eversons of their due process
rights under the Fourteenth Amendment to the US.
Constitution. The Court of Appeals could not have
found the Eversons’ only assertions against Doughton
was he wrongly decided a state court action based on
the factual allegations alleged and the claims for
relief within the complaint. Further, Rule 8(a) of the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure requires a complaint
to include “(1) a short plain statement of the grounds
upon which the court’s jurisdiction depends... (2) a
short plain statement of the claim showing that the
pleader is: entitled to relief, and (3) a demand for
judgment for the relief the pleader seeks.” Fed. R.
Civ. P. 8(a).

20

This Court has reaffirmed that Rule 8(a)’s “sim-
plified notice pleading standard” merely requires a
statement that “give[s] the defendant fair notice of
what the plaintiff’s claim is and the grounds upon
which it rests.” Swierkiewicz v. Sorema N.A., 534 U.S.
506, 512 (2002) (quoting Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S.
41, 47 (1957)). “[T]his notice function ... represents
the very core of the pleading process under the fed-
eral rules.” 5 Charles Allen Wright and Arthur R.
Miller, Federal -Practice and Procedure: Civil 3d
§ 1215, at 173-74 (3d ed. 2004).

Under the notice pleading standards of Rule 8,
the “long-standing practice is to construe pro se
pleadings liberally,” Hill v. Braxton, 277 F.3d 701, 707

(4th Cir. 2002). This Court has held that pro se liti-
gants “are held to a lesser pleading standard than
other parties.” Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97, 106
(1976). (Pro se pleadings are to be liberally con-
strued).

This Court has held:

Rule 8(f) provides that “[all] pleadings shall be so
construed as to do substantial justice.” “We fre-
quently have stated that pro se pleadings are to
be given a liberal construction. E.g. Haines uv.
Kerner, 404 U.S. 519 (1972). If these pronounce-
ments have any meaning, they must protect the
pro se litigant who simply does not properly de-
nominate her motion or pleading in the terms
used in the Federal Rules.”

21

A. The Fourth Circuit’s Decision conflicts
with the decisions of other United
States Courts of Appeals and This
Court as to Judicial Immunity.

The Fourth Circuit’s decision directly conflicts
with relevant decisions of this Court concerning a
judge deciding a case in the clear absence of all
jurisdiction. In the case at bar, Judge Doughton acted
in the clear absence of all jurisdiction, therefore
judicial immunity cannot apply as to Doughton. See
Bradley v. Fisher, 13 Wall. 335, 351 (1872); Stump v.
Sparkman, 435 U.S. at 357.

This Court has stated:

“In determining whether an action is “judicial”,
we consider the nature of the act and whether it
is a “function normally performed by a judge.”
Stump v. Sparkman, 435 U.S. at 362.

In the case Rankin v. Howard, 633 F.2d 844
(1980) this Court has stated:

“When a judge knows he lacks jurisdiction, or
acts in the face of clearly valid statutes expressly
depriving him of jurisdiction, judicially immunity
is lost. Id.

Doughton knew he lacked jurisdiction to decide
the case at. bar based on all evidence, testimony, and
facts before him. This case is one in which a trial
court judge usurped the law, entered a partial ruling
in violation of statutory law thereby depriving the
Eversons of due process by forcing them to convey
their land when the action before Doughton did not

22

concern the Eversons’ land but individuals who were
not joined in the action nor noticed of the action and
were the indispensable party as the complaint itself
of the state court plaintiffs serves as proof as well as
the description of the land the subject of the state
court dispute. (See Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex. 4,
q 8, 9 12, 1 23-28).

Doughton acted with no discretion in the matter
because he acted absent all jurisdiction and discretion
is incident to jurisdiction. See Piper v. Pearson, 2
Gray 120 (Mass. 1854), cited in Bradley v. Fisher,
supra.

A very important factor in the present case is the
Stanleys were never noticed of the action concerning
their property nor joined in the action. One element
of the fact Doughton did not acquire jurisdiction to
hear the matter is it was necessary and required the
Stanleys receive notice and be joined as parties to the
action because they held a “direct and substantial
personal interest in the outcome” for it was legally
their land in dispute establishing they were the
indispensable party to the action, and given the fact
it was their land of which the state court controversy
concerned, they were not a‘forded the opportunity to
be heard, for they were never noticed of the action nor
joined in the action. See Boddie v. Connecticut, 104
U.S. 371, 380 (1971) where this Court held:

“Early in our jurisprudence, this Court
voiced the doctrine that “[w]henever one is
assailed in his person or his property, there

23

he may defend,” Windsor v. McVeigh, 93 U.S.
274, 277 (1876). Although, “[mJany contro-
versies have raged about the cryptic and ab-
stract words of the Due Process Clause,” as
Mr. Justice Jackson wrote for the Court in
Mulane v. Central Hanover Tr. Co., 399 U.S.
306 (1950), “there can be no doubt that, at a
minimum, they require that deprivation of
life, liberty or property by adjudication be
preceded by notice and opportunity or hear-
ing appropriate to the nature of the case.” id.
399 U.S. at 313.

This Court has stated:

“An indispensable party is one who not only
has an interest in the controversy but an in-
terest of such a nature that a final decree
cannot be made without either effecting that
interest or leaving the controversy in such a
condition that its final determination may be
wholly inconsistent with equity and good
conscience.” Gaw v. Higham, 267 F.2d 355,
357 (6th Cir. 1959), cert. denied, 360 U.S.
933, 79 S. Ct. 1453, 3 L. Ed. 2d 1546.

In the case Consolidated Water Co. v. City of San
Diego, 93 F. 849, 35 C.C.A. 631 (C.C.A.9 (Cal.) Feb.
06, 1899) (No. 460), suit was instituted by the mort-
gagee of a water company to enjoin the enforcement,
fixing the rate for water furnished by it, on the
ground that the rates were so unreasonably low as
to amount to a taking of the company’s property
embraced in the mortgage without due process of
law. It was held that, as the trial of the suit would

24

necessarily involve the management and conduct of
the company’s affairs and an adjudication of its
rights, it was an indispensable party.

The present case involves the disposition of land
and a contract for the sale and purchase chereof
without the actual legal owners being a party to the
action. It goes without saying that in order for
Doughton to make any determination of the matter it
was necessary for the Stanleys to be joined in the
action for all jurisdictional purposes for they were the
indispensable parties for as to them, failure to join
defeated jurisdiction absolutely, and Doughton had no
discretion in the matter. Id.

Further, Doughton’s acts were not authorized by
North Carolina Statute § 22-2 in that the “adden-
dum” purported to be a contract for the Stanley land
grossly violated § 22-2 for several reasons but one in
particular, it failed to confer jurisdiction, that being,
the Stanleys’ signatures and names upon and within
the document itself for they were the party to be
charged therewith. See N.C. Gen. Stat. $ 22-2. (See
also, Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex. 1).

In the case Ferris v. Wilbur, 27 F.2d 262, 264 (4th
Cir. 1928), in an opinion by Judge Parker the court
held:

“Where the act complained of is not author-
ized by statute, or where the statute author-
izing is void because in conflict with some
provision of the Constitution, the person at-
tempting it may be restrained in a proper

25

case, notwithstanding his claim that he is
acting in his official capacity. In such case he
is acting, not within the law, but outside it,
his act is not the act of government, and the
law affords him no protection for what he is
doing or is about to do.” Id.

Likewise, in the case Stroud v. Benson, 254 F.2d
488 (4th Cir. 1958), the Court there found because an
indispensable party to the action was not joined, the
district court lacked jurisdiction to determine the
matter and vacated the orders and judgment in the
case.

The North Carolina Supreme Court has held:

“It is axiomatic, at least in America jurispru-
dence, that a judgment rendered by a court
against a citizen affecting his vested rights
in an action or proceeding to which he is not
party is absolutely void and may be treated
as a nulity whenever it is brought to the at-
tention of the court.” Card v. Finch, 142 N.C.
153, 88 S.E. 1009, 1010 (1906); Johnson v.
Whilden, 171 N.C. 153, 88 S.E. 223 (1916);
Flowers v. King, 145 N.C. 234, 58 S.E. 1074
(1907); Rackley v. Roberts, 147 N.C. 201, 60
S.E. 975 (1908).

“A void judgment, however, binds no one. Its
validity may be asserted at anytime and in
any action, where some benefit or right is as-
serted thereunder. A judgment is void if the
court rendering it does not have jurisdiction
either of the asserted cause of action or of the
parties.” Moore v. Humphrey, 247 N.C. 243

26

(1958); Mills v. Richardson, 240 N.C. 187
(1954); Powell v. Turpin, 224 N.C. 67, 29
S.E.2d (1944); Dunn v. Wilson, 210 N.C. 493,
187 S.E. 802 (1936); Clark vu. Carolina
Homes, 189 N.C. 703, 128 S.E. 20 (1925);
Carter v. Roundtree, 109 N.C. 29 (1891).

It is also fact, the state court plaintiffs, [Honach-
ers], lacked standing to bring the action in that the
Honachers were never a party to the Everson/Stanley
contract, and never provided any consideration
thereof. They could not prove by fact or law any
personal injury or they held a personal stake in the
dispute to render judicial resolution appropriately.
The Eversons sufficiently with competent evidence
proved this fact to the Fourth Circuit, of which, they
overlooked. The evidence before the Fourth Circuit as
proof the Honachers lacked standing to bring the
action was their very own testimonies at trial admit-
ting they were never a party to the Everson/Stanley
contract; the Stanleys never executed any document
with the Honachers; they did not provide considera-
tion; and the Stanleys were the legal owners of the
land as the Stanley Deed served prima facie. (See
Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex. 3, 5, 6, 7, 8).

This Court has stated concerning a plaintiff’s
standing as follows:

“The threshold requirement of standing is
‘perhaps the most important’ condition of
justiciability. Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737,
750 (1984). The standing inquiry ensures
that a plaintiff has a sufficient personal

27

stake in a dispute to render judicial resolu-
tion appropriate. Jd. at 750-751. The stand-
ing requirement also “tends to assure that
the legal questions presented to the court
will be resolved, not in the rarefied atmos-
phere of a debating society, but in a concrete
factual context conducive to a realistic ap-
preciation of the consequences of judicial ac-
tion.” Valley Forge Christian College v.
Americans United for Separation of Church
and State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464, 472 (1982).

To meet the conditional minimum for stand-
ing, “[a] plaintiff must allege personal injury
fairly traceable to the defendant’s allegedly
unlawful conduct and likely to be redressed
by the requested relief.” Allen, 468 U.S. at
751. This formula includes three elements:
(1) injury in fact; (2) traceability; and (3) re-
dressability. Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife,
504 U.S. 555, 560-561 (1992).

The injury-in-fact prong requires that a plaintiff
suffer an invasion of a legally protected interest
which is concrete and particularized, as well as actual
or imminent. See id. at 560. The traceability prong
means it must be likely that the injury was caused by
the conduct complained of and not by the independ-
ent action of some third party not before the court.
See id. Finally, the redressability prong entails that it
must be likely, and not merely speculative, that a
favorable decision will remedy the injury. See id. at
561.

28

It goes without saying, the kind of claim asserted
by the Honachers in the state court action should
have been self evident to Doughton being that of
breach of contract which is readily recognizable as
the kind of claim that they could not press in a court
of law for it did not satisfy the provisions of N.C. Gen.
Stat. §$ 22-2 thereby entitling them to specific per-
formance. Doughton was fully aware the claims
alleged by the Honachers for breach of contract were
claims they lacked standing to bring for they were not
entitled to adjudication for the claim of breach of
contract as it did not satisfy the ipso facto statutory
requirement as set forth by § 22-2. Further, the fact
they themselves admitted the Stanleys never exe-
cuted any document with the Honachers, informed
Doughton the indispensable parties, being the
Stanleys, must be joined in the action in order for
jurisdiction to be invoked.

The courts below failed to follow the law as to
judicial immunity of a judge who acts in the clear
absence of all jurisdiction. The courts below could not
determine the Eversons’ only assertion was Doughton
wrongly decided the state court matter based on their
filed complaint and amended complaint against
Doughton. Such a finding is purely erroneous and for
the sole benefit of Doughton, which is a manifest
injustice in this case. Certiorari should be granted
because the Eversons’ Constitutional rights under the
Fourteenth Amendment have been violated by the
wrongful deprivation of their property by a state
court judge acting in the absence of jurisdiction to

29

determine the matter and in violation of well-settled
law as stated above.

B. The Court of Appeals Findings Conflict

in that this Court and the Third Circuit

Have Held When a Judge Lacks Juris-

diction to Decide A Matter Substantive

Due Process Has Been Deprived When

the Issue Concerns Real Property Own-
ership.

In the case at bar, Judge Doughton forced the

Eversons to convey their land in the absence of sub-

ject matter jurisdiction, rendering Doughton’s judg-
ment as to the claims for breach of contract and

specific performance void ab initio, thus, violating the
Eversons due process rights. See Int'l Longshoremen’s
Assn. v. Davis, 476 U.S. 380, 392 (1986) (holding that
where a “state court ... hal[s}] no subject matter

jurisdiction to adjudicate the issue ... any judgment
issued by the state court wi!! be void in ab initio”).

Jurisdiction was invoked upon the district court
in the case at bar by the Eversons 42 U.S.C. § 1983
substantive due process claim under the Fourteenth
Amendment which guarantees individuals shall not
be deprived of their property without due process of
law. See U.S. Const. Amend. XIV, § 1; see also John
Corp., 214 F.3d at 577 (“Substantive due process, by
barring certain government actions regardless of the
fairness of the procedures used to implement them, [ ]
serves to prevent government power from being used
for purposes of oppressions.”

30

“A violation of substantive due process, for exam-
ple, occurs only when the government deprives some-
one of liberty or property; or, to use the current
jargon, only when the government works a depriva-
tion of a constitutionally protected interest.” Brennan
v. Stewart, 834 F.2d 1248, 1257 (5th Cir. 1988).

“Substantive due process analysis is appropriate
only in cases in which government arbitrarily abuses
its power to deprive individuals of constitutionally
protected rights. Therefore, recognizing that reliance
on substantive due process must be taken with the
‘utmost care.’” Collins v. City of Harker Heights, 503
U.S. 115, 125 (1992).

Judge Doughton forced the Eversons to convey

their land to the Honachers in clear violation of North
Carolina Statutes (§ 22-2), in the absence of subject
matter jurisdiction, and in violation of sufficiently
fair and just legal procedures grossly lacking in
appropriate governmental justification. Doughton
was fully cognizant he lacked subject matter jurisdic-
tion as he was informed the Stanleys were the legal
owners of the land, not the Eversons. Doughton was
also cognizant, the Stanleys did not execute the
“addendum” nor any document with the Honachers,
and the “addendum” violated N.C. Gen. Stat. § 22-2,
yet he turned a blind eye and deaf ear regardless of
law, and forced the Eversons to convey their land
thereby violating their substantive due process rights
at the very core of the Fourteenth Amendment guar-
antee.

31

As a limitation on Congress, the Due Process
clause has been interpreted by this Court not only as
a remedial requirement when other constitutional
rights have been violated, but furthermore as having
additional “procedural” and “substantive” compo-
nents, meaning that the Clause purportedly imposes
unenumerated restrictions on legal procedures — the
ways in which laws may operate — and also on legal
substance — what laws may attempt to do or prohibit.

The Third Circuit Court of Appeals has deter-
mined that real property “ownership is a property
interest worthy of substantive due process protec-
tion.” See DeBlascio v. Zoning Bd. of Adjustment, 53
F.3d 592, 600 (3d Cir. 1995). As one court has aptly

observed, this is unquestionably “a fundamental
property interest dating back to the foundation of the
American colonies.” Homar, 63 F. Supp. 2d at 577.
“And as we concluded in DeBlascio, ‘one would be
hard-pressed to find a property interest more worthy
of substantive due process protection than |land]
ownership.’” 53 F.2d at 601.

Repeatedly, case law has revealed one guiding
principle in federal courts determining whether
certain property interest embodies the “particular
quality” necessary for a substantive due process
deprivation claim, and that principle is not deter-
mined by reference to state law, but rather depends
on whether that interest is “fundamental” under the
U.S. Constitution.

32

The Third Circuit has held, “That a non-
legislative government deprivation ‘that comports
with procedural due process may still give rise to
substantive due process claim “upon allegations that
the government deliberately and arbitrarily abused
its power.”’” Independent Enters., Inc. v. Pittsburgh
Water and Sewer Auth., 103 F.3d 1165, 1179 (3d Cir.
1997) (quoting Midnight Sessions, Ltd. v. City of
Philadelphia, 945 F.2d 667, 683 (3d Cir. 1991)). “Ac-
cordingly, we have held that a property interest that
falls within the ambit of substantive due process may
not be taken away by the state for reasons that are
‘arbitrary, irrational, or tainted by improper motive.’”
Woodwind Estates, Ltd. v. Gretkowski, 205 F.3d 118,
123 (3d Cir. 2000) (quoting Bello v. Walker, 840 F.2d
i124, 1129 (3d Cir. 1988)), or by means of government
conduct so egregious that it “shocks the conscience,”
Boyanowski, 2000 WL 768775, at *4 (quoting County
of Sacramento v. Lewis, 523 U.S. 833, 846 (1998)).

The Third Circuit defined cases in which a claim
of non-legislative substantive due process deprivation
falls in the case Nicholas v. Pennsylvania State
University, 227 F.3d 133 (38d Cir. 2000) holding as

follows:

“To prevail on a non-legislative substantive
due process claim, a plaintiff must establish
as a threshold matter that he has a protected
property interest to which the Fourteenth
Amendment’s due process protection ap-
plies.” Woodwind Estates, 205 F.3d at 123.
The text of the Fourteenth Amendment

33

speaks of “property” without qualification,
and it is well-settled that state-created prop-
erty interests, including some _ contract
rights, are entitled to protection under the
procedural component of the Due Process
Clause. See Reich v. Beharry, 883 F.2d 239,
243 (3d Cir. 1989).

“Following Justice Powell, this Circuit has
adopted an approach to substantive due
process that focuses on the nature of the
property interest at stake. By way of illus-
tration, we have so far limited non-
legislative substantive due process review to
cases involving real property ownership. See
e.g. DeBlascio, 53 F.3d at 600 (“[land] owner-
ship is a property interest worthy of substan-
tive due process protection”).

As this Court has held, “To have a property
interest in a benefit, a person clearly must have more
than an abstract need or desire for it. He must have
more than a unilateral] expectation of it. He must,

”

instead, have a legitimate claim of entitlement to it.
Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 577 (1972).

This Court has held that the Due Process Clause
of the U.S. Constitution also has a substantive com-
ponent by holding:

(“it is settled that the due process clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment **10 applies to
matters of substantive law as well as to mat-
ters of procedure”) (quoting Whitney v. Cali-
fornia, 274 U.S. 357, 373, 71 L. Ed. 1095, 47
S. Ct. 641 (1927) (Brandies, J., concurring)).

34

In the case at bar, Judge Doughton deprived the
Eversons of their ownership of their property which
said ownership was “fundamental” and the Eversons
were entitled to, as the claim by the Honachers for
breach of contract “addendum” was proven to concern
not the Eversons property, but the Stanleys, and they
were not joined as a party to the action, and Dough-
ton lacked subject matter jurisdiction to determine
the matter as the indispensable party, the Stanleys
were required to be joined as a party defendant.

Certiorari should be granted because the Ever-
sons proved they held a “fundamental” entitlement to
the property and were deprived of that right under
the Fourteenth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution

thereby establishing Judge Doughton violated the
Eversons substantive due process rights as stated
above.

Ii. THIS COURT HAS HELD THAT WHEN A
JUDGE’S DECISION IN A MATTER OF-
FENDS SOME PRINCIPLE OF JUSTICE
SO ROOTED IN THE TRADITIONS AND
CONSCIENCE OF OUR PEOPLE AS TO
BE RANKED FUNDAMENTAL SUCH DE-
CISIONS VIOLATE THE DUE PROCESS
CLAUSE OF THE U.S. CONSTITUTION.

This Court held in the case Patterson v. New
York, 4382 U.S. 197, 201, 202 (1977), “that it is nor-
mally within the power of the State to regulate pro-
cedures under which its laws are carried out ... and

35

its decision in this regard is not subject to proscrip-
tion under the Due Process Clause unless it offends
some principle of justice so rooted in the traditions
and conscience of our people as to be ranked as fun-
damental.”

The above holding applies to the case at bar in
that Doughton’s bias and prejudice demonstrated in
the matter was the underlying cause of the Eversons
loss of their fundamental right in the ownership of
real property. Doughton turned a deaf ear and blind
eye to the prima facie evidence before him as well-
settled statutory authority, N.C. Gen. Stat. $ 22-2.

Doughton heard the testimonies of the Honach-
ers admitting the Stanleys never executed any docu-
ment agreeing to convey their property to them (See
Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex. 6-8); admitting the
Everson/Stanley contract contained two (2) conditions
that required all parties to the contract agree in
writing to any changes or assignments, of which they
did not (See Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex. 2);
admitted the “addendum” was not a binding enforce-
able contract by law (See Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl.,
Ex. 7); admitted the earnest money deposit was
returned to them by the Eversons’ Realtor Dawn
Stone (See Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex. 10);
admitted there existed no other documents dated
April 21, 2003 (See Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex.
10); and, admitted the legal owners of the land were
the Stanleys (See Pleading No. 6, Am. Compl., Ex.
10).

36

It has been held, “[a] fair trial in a fair tribunal is
a basic requirement of due process.” Callahan ov.
Campbell, 427 F.3d 897, 928 (11th Cir. 2005) (quoting
In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133, 136-137, 75 S. Ct. 623,
625 (1955)).

In the present matter, it was clearly and convinc-
ingly established with competent evidence and testi-
mony the Honachers had no standing to the bring the
claim for breach of contract “addendum” nor ask the
court for specific performance thereof. As_ stated
above, Doughton was cognizant the claims could not
be decided by the court for lack of subject matter
jurisdiction as it would require the Stanleys being
joined in the action.

Yet, Doughton forced the Eversons to convey
their land to the Honachers in contravention of law,
facts, and guarantees under the U.S. Constitution.
The partiality and prejudice demonstrated by Dough-
ton is glaringly apparent in this matter, and should
certainly fall into the cases where this Court has
determined such demonstrations of bias and preju-
dice by a judge constitute violations of the Due Proc-
ess Clause.

The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment provides that no State shall “deprive any
person of life, liberty, or property without due process
of law.” U.S. Const. Amend. XIV. Although the lan-
guage of the clause may be “cryptic and abstract[,] . . .
there can be no doubt that at a minimum [it] re-
quire[s] that deprivation of life, liberty, or property by

37

adjudication be preceded by notice and opportunity
for hearing appropriate to the nature of the case.”
Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422, 428
(1982). If the plaintiff los[t] something that fits into
one of the three protected categories [of] life, liberty,
or property,” Mallette v. Arlington County Employees’
Supp. Net. Sys. II, 91 F.3d 630, 634 (4th Cir. 1996),
then the question that must be answered is whether
the plaintiff “receive[d] the minimum measure of
procedural protection warranted under the circum-
stances.” Id.

In the present case, it was the state court defen-
dants [Eversons] who were deprived of their property
by the state court denying them their fundamental
rights under the Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S.
Constitution by conducting a trial in the absence of
jurisdiction thereby denying them any measure
minimum or otherwise of procedural protection
warranted under the circumstances. Mallette v.
Arlington County Employees’ Supp. Net. Sys. II,
supra.

The Fourteenth Amendment’s Due _ Process
Clause has been interpreted as preventing the States
from denying potential litigants use of established
adjudicating procedures, when such an action would
be “the equivalent of denying them an opportunity to
be heard upon their claimed [rights].” Boddie, supra.

The Fiversons were denied well established
adjudicating procedures as all the evidence in the
case at bar proves unequivocally.

38

The Court should grant the petition for certiorari
because the Eversons were denied a fair trial in a
tribunal which lacked jurisdiction to determine the
matter resulting in the loss of a fundamental right
being that of the right of real property ownership,
and as such, constitutes a deprivation of substantive
and procedural due process at its very core.

+

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the Court should grant
this petition.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID K. EVERSON
PATRICIA M. EVERSON
5100 Eldorado Pkwy.
Suite 102, No. 709
McKinney, Texas 75070
Telephone (214) 491-4102

App. 1

APPENDIX A
UNPUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 07-1846

DAVID K. EVERSON;
PATRICIA M. EVERSON,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
versus

RICHARD L. DOUGHTON, Individually and
in His Official Capacity as Justice of the
Superior Court of Alleghany/Rockingham
County, North Carolina,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Middle District of North Carolina, at Durham. James
A. Beaty, Jr., Chief District Judge. (1:06-cv-01033-
JAB).

Submitted: January 9, 2008
Decided: January 23, 2008

Before NIEMEYER, MICHAEL, and GREGORY,
Circuit Judges.

App. 2

Affirmed by unpublished per curiam opinion.

David K. Everson, Patricia M. Everson, Appellants
Pro Se. Grady L. Balentine, OFFICE OF THE AT-
TORNEY GENERAL, Raleigh, North Carolina, for
Appellee.

Unpublished opinions are not binding precedent in
this circuit.

PER CURIAM:

David K. and Patricia M. Everson appeal the
district court’s orders granting Richard L. Doughton’s
motion to dismiss the Eversons’ 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981
and 1983 (2000) complaint. The district court found
the Eversons’ claims were barred by absolute judicial
immunity and the EJ« .enth Amendment. The Ever-
sons challenge both of the district court’s findings. We
have reviewed the record, the parties’ informa! briefs,
and the district court’s orders and find no reversible
error. Accordingly, we affirm.

Judges enjoy absolute judicial immunity from
damages liability for judicial acts unless done “in
clear absence of all jurisdiction.” Stump v. Sparkman,
435 U.S. 349, 356-57 (1978). In making this determi-
nation, “the scope of the judge’s jurisdiction must be
construed broadly.” Jd. at 456. And a judge may “not
be deprived of immunity because the action [taken]
was in error, was done maliciously, or was in excess

of his authority.” Jd.; see also Chu v. Griffith, 771

App. 3

F.2d 79 (4th Cir. 1985). We have identified two im-
portant factors for consideration: whether the func-
tion is one normally performed by a judge and
whether the parties dealt with the judge in his or her
judicial capacity. King v. Myers, 973 F.2d 354, 357
(4th Cir.1992).

The Eversons’ only assertion is that Doughton
wrongly decided the state court action. As a judge on
the state superior court, Doughton had authority to
consider that action and he is immune from suits
arising from those acts.

The Eleventh Amendment provides, in pertinent
part, that “[t]he judicial power of the United States
shall not be construed to extend to any suit in law or
equity, commenced or prosecuted by one of the United
States by Citizens of another State.” The Eversons
correctly note that the Eleventh Amendment does not
bar suits seeking damages from government officials
in their individual capacities. See S.C. State Ports
Auth. v. Fed. Mar. Comm’n, 243 F.3d 165, 170 (4th
Cir. 2001). However, this principle does not aid the
Eversons because the only conduct the Eversons
challenge is Doughton’s disposition of state court
proceedings. Therefore, the district court properly
dismissed the action as being barred by the Eleventh
Amendment. See Will v. Michigan Dep’t of State
Police, 491 U.S. 58, 71 (1989) (“[A] suit against a
state official in his or her official capacity is not a suit
against the official but rather is a suit against the
official’s office” and therefore “is no different from a

App. 4

suit against the State itself.”). Accordingly, the Elev-
enth Amendment also bars the Eversons’ claims.

We dispense with oral argument because the
facts and legal contentions are adequately presented
in the materials before the court and argument would

not aid the decisional process.

AFFIRMED

App. 5

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF NORTH CAROLINA

DAVID K. EVERSON and
PATRICIA M. EVERSON,

Plaintiffs,
Vv.

RICHARD L. DOUGHTON,
Individually and in His Official
Capacity as Justice of the Superior
Court of Alleghany/Rockingham
County, North Carolina,

Defendant.

1:06CV01033

)
)
)

ORDER

This matter is currently before the Court on a
Motion to Dismiss [Document #7] by Defendant
Richard L. Doughton (“Defendant”). On April 18,
2007, the United States Magistrate Judge’s Order
and Recommendation [Document #12] was filed and
notice was served on the parties pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 636(b). Plaintiffs filed timely Objections
[Documents [sic] #14]. The Court has now reviewed
the Gbjections and the portions of the Recommenda-
tion to which objection was made, and has made a de
novo determination that is in accord with the United
States Magistrate judge’s ruling. The Magistrate
Judge’s Recommended Decision is therefore affirmed

and adopted.

App. 6

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that Defendant’s
Motion to Dismiss [Document #7] is GRANTED, and
this case wil! be DISMISSED.

This, the 8th day of June, 2007.

/s/ James A. Beaty
United States District Judge

App. 7

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE MiDDLE DISTRICT OF NORTH CAROLINA

DAVID K. EVERSON and
PATRICIA M. EVERSON,

Plaintiffs,
V.

RICHARD L. DOUGHTON,
Individually and in His Official
Capacity as Justice of the Superior
Court of Alleghany/Rockingham
County, North Carolina,

Defendant.

1:06CV01033

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

JUDGMENT
BEATY, Chief Judge.

For the reasons set forth in the Order filed con-
temporaneously herewith, IT IS ORDERED AND
ADJUDGED that Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss
[Document #7] is GRANTED and this case is hereby
DISMISSED.

This, the 8th day of June, 2007.

/s/ James A. Beaty
United States District Judge

App. 8

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE MIPDOLE DISTRICT
OF NVERTH CAROLINA

DAVID K. EVERSON and
PATRICIA M. EVERSON,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.
RICHARD L. DOUGHTON,
individually and in his
official capacity as Justice
of the Superior Court of
Alleghany/Rockingham
County, N.C.,

Defendant.

1:06CV1033
(Filed Apr. 18, 2007

Nm Nee Nee eee “ee”

RECOMMENDATION OF UNITED
STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

Plaintiffs David K. Everson and Patricia M.
Everson brought this civil action pursuant to 42
U.S.C. §§ 1981 and 1983, alleging that Defendant
Superior Court Judge Richard L. Doughton deprived
them of their constitutional rights under the Fifth
and Fourteenth Amendments during and in relation
to a civil action brought in state court against the
Eversons for breach of contract. Plaintiffs proceed pro
se. In their Amended Complaint (Pleading No. 6),
Plaintiffs assert claims against Judge Doughton
individually and in his official capacity as a Superior

App. 9

Court Judge of the State of North Carolina. In re-
sponse to the Amended Complaint, Defendant Dough-
ton has filed a motion to dismiss pursuant to Rules
12(b)(1) and 12(b)\(6) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure. (Pleading No. 7.) Plaintiffs have filed a
response in opposition to the motion to dismiss.

In the Amended Complaint, Plaintiffs assert that
they were sued in state court in 2003 by Charles S.
Honacher and Catherine M. Honacher. One of the
claims asserted by the Honachers was breach of
contract, arising out a real estate transaction. Plain-
tiffs assert that the state court, and therefore Judge
Doughton, lacked jurisdiction and judicial authority
over the proceeding because the Honachers failed to
join a necessary party to the litigation (the Stanleys)
and because “the last act of making the Everson/
Stanley contract binding by law was the Stanley
Heirs signing of the contract on May 5, 2003, in a
State other than North Carolina.” (Pleading No. 6,
Am. Compl. {q 24, 25.) Plaintiffs further allege that,
at the conclusion of the trial of the action, Judge
Doughton, in violation of due process and equal
protection and the laws of North Carolina, ordered
specific performance, “forcing the Plaintiffs to convey
their rightful land erroneously... .” (id. ¥ 27.) Plain-
tiffs allege that Judge Doughton denied their motion
for a new trial and their amended motion, and en-
tered his final order on December 6, 2004.

Plaintiffs add allegations that Judge Doughton
lacked jurisdiction to adjudicate matters relating to
the rights of Carolina Farm Credit, ACA (“CFC”), a

App. 10

mortgage holder with regard to the property in dis-
pute. Plaintiffs allege that Judge Doughton acted
without jurisdiction and judicial authority because
Plaintiffs and CFC had chosen the State of Texas “as
the footing for all negotiations regarding the pur-
ported Deed of Trust.” (Jd. 7 63.) Plaintiffs allege that
they were denied trial by jury. They allege that the
plaintiffs in the state action, the Honachers, commit-
ted a fraud upon the court by giving perjured testi-
mony, and that Judge Doughton “defiled the court
itself by allowing a sham of a trial to take place when
it was glaringly obvious by admitted testimony,
evidence, and Rule of Law no contract existed for the
land pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 22-2.” Ud. 4109.) For
relief, Plaintiffs ask that Judge Doughton’s orders

and judgments be nullified and that the Court grant
declaratory relief and compensatory damages.

A summary of the allegations of the Amended
Complaint, as set forth above, reveals on its face the
obvious reasons why Defendant’s Rule 12(b)(6)
motion to dismiss this action should be granted.
Defendant Judge Doughton is clearly entitled to
judicial immunity with regard to damages claims
against him in his individual capacity. It is well
settled that judges are immune from damages liabil-
ity for judicia! acts unless done in the clear absence of
all jurisdiction. Stump v. Sparkman, 435 U.S. 349,
356-57 (1978). Immunity is not lost because the
judge’s actions were taken in error, done maliciously,
or exceeded authority. /d. at 355-56. The test for
“judicial acts” focuses upon whether the acts were a

App. 11

function normally performed by a judge. Forrester v.
White, 484 U.S. 219 (1988). The kinds of arguments
made here by Plaintiffs, that Judge Doughton erred
in jurisdictional rulings, failed to join a necessary
party, improperly found that proceedings should take
place in North Carolina rather than Texas, and
misapplied North Carolina law are utterly remote
from the “clear absence of all jurisdiction” required
for a forfeiture of judicial immunity. To the extent
Plaintiffs ask for declaratory judgment, they essen-
tially ask this Court to sit as a court of error with
respect to a state court civil trial. This notion reveals
a fundamental misunderstanding of the relationship
between the federal and state courts.

Plaintiffs’ action against Judge Doughton in his

official capacity fares no better. Such an action is in
essence an action against the State of North Carolina.
However, the Eleventh Amendment generally bars
suits directly against states or it agencies, regardless
of the nature of relief sought. Seminole Tribe of
Florida v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44, 58 (1996). A state may
waive such immunity, but there is no allegation of
waiver here, and it is readily apparent that there has
been no such waiver by the State of North Carolina
with regard to the rulings of its state court judges.

In sum, the Court finds that Defendant’s Rule
12(b)(6) motion is well-taken and that the pro se
Plaintiffs have stated no legally cognizable claim
against the Defendant.

App. 12

Conclusion

For reasons set forth above, IT IS RECOM-
MENDED that Defendant’s motion to dismiss (Plead-
ing No. 7) be granted and that this action be
dismissed with prejudice.

/s/ P. Trevor Sharp
United States
Magistrate Judge

Date: April 18, 2007

App. 13

APPENDIX E
FILED: February 26, 2008

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 07-1846
(1:06-cv-01033-JAB)

DAVID K. EVERSON; PATRICIA M. EVERSON,
Plaintiffs-Appellants

V.

RICHARD L. DOUGHTON, Individually and in
His Official Capacity as Justice of the Superior Court
of Alleghany/Rockingham County, North Carolina,

Defendant-Appellee

ORDER

The petition for rehearing en banc was circulated
to the full Court. No poll was requested. The Court
denies the petition for rehearing en banc.

For the Court
/s/ Patricia S. Connor, Clerk

App. 14

APPENDIX F

MAIL TO: John T. Weigel
PO Box 2993
Greens Boro, NC 27402

This Deed drawn by
John T. Weigel, Jr. Attorney At Law

Permanent Address of Grantee:
PO BOX 56, STANLEYTOWN, VA

This Deed, made this 20th day of December, 1989,
by and between Helen C. Stanley, Trustee under the
Trust Agreement of Thomas B. Stanley and Ann B.
Stanley, hereinafter called Grantor, and John David

Stanley, Jr., Elizabeth Anne Stanley Hannula and
Allen Bonson Stanley, as Tenants in Common, here-
inafter called Grantee.

WITNESSETH: That the Grantor, for and in
consideration of the sum of Ten Dollars, other good
valuable consideration to him in hand paid by the
Grantee, the receipt and sufficiency whereof is hereby
acknowledged, has given granted, bargained, sold and
conveyed, and by these presents does give, grant,
bargain, sell, convey and confirm unto the Grantee
his heirs and/or successors and assigns, premises in
Madison Township, Rockingham County, North
Carolina, described as follows:

SEE EXHIBIT “A” ATTACHED HERETO AND
INCORPORATED HEREIN BY REFERENCE.

App. 15

This conveyance is subject to easements, restric-
tions, and rights-of-way of record and current year Ad
Valorum taxes.

TO HAVE AND TO HOLD the above described
premises, with all the appurtenances thereunto
belonging, or in any way appertaining, unto the
Grantee, his heirs and/or successors and assigns
forever.

And the Grantor covenants that he is seized of
said premises in fee, and has the right to convey the
same in fee simple; that said premises are free from
encumbrances (with the exceptions above stated, if
any); and that he will warrant and defend the said
title to the same against the lawful claims of all

persons whomsoever.

When reference is made to the Grantor or
Grantee, the singular shall include the plural and the
masculine shall include the feminine or the neuter.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Grantor has
hereunto set his hand and seal, the day and year
above written.

/s/ Helen C. Stanley (Seal)
Helen C. Stanley, Trustee

STATE OF Virginia
COUNTY OF Henrv

I, J. Greg Haley , a Notary Public for said
County and State, do hereby certify that Helen C.

App. 16

Stanley, Trustee personally appeared before me this
day and acknowledged the due execution of the
foregoing instrument.

Witness my hand and official seal, this the 20th
day of December, 1989.

[SEAL]

/s/ J. Greg Haley
NOTARY PUBLIC
My Commission Expires:
December 13, 1991

App. 17

APPENDIX G

FILED
ROCKINGHAM COUNTY NC
REBECCA B. CIPRIANI
REGISTER OF DEEDS
7-10-2003 2:49:58
RECORDING 21.00
PROBATE 2.00
EXCISE TAX 470.00

NONSTAND
RECEIPT NO. 14077-001
BOOK 1158 PAGE 2049

NORTH CAROLINA
GENERAL WARRANTY DEED

Excise Tax: $ 470.00

Tax Map No. Parcel Identifier No.

This instrument prepared by:
John M. Thomas, Attorney at Law, George B.
Daniel, P.A., P.O. Box 999, Yanceyville, North
Carolina 27379 (without title examination)

Return after recording to the Grantee at:

5871 AC Washburn Rd
Madison, NC 270625

NORTH CAROLINA
ROCKINGHAM COUNTY

T

HIS DEED, made and entered into this 14th day of
May, 2003, by and between, JOHN DAVID STANLEY,
JR., and wife, JANET N. STANLEY; ELIZABETH
STANLEY SCEARCE (f/k/a ELIZABETH ANNE
STANLEY HANNULA) and = =husband, EARL

App. 18

SCEARCE, and ALLAN B. STANLEY (a/k/a Allen
Bonson Stanley) and wife, CONNIE J. STANLEY,
hereinafter referred to as Grantor, and DAVID K.
EVERSON and wife, PATRICIA M. EVERSON,
hereinafter referred to as Grantee. The designation
Grantor and Grantee as used herein shall include
said parties, their heirs, successors, and assigns, and
shall include singular, plural, masculine, feminine, or
neuter as required by context.

WITNESSETH:

That the Grantor, in consideration of the sum of
Ten Dollars ($10.00) and other valuable consideration
paid by the Grantee, the receipt of which is hereby
acknowledged, has, and by there presents, does grant,
bargain, sell, and convey unto the Grantee, in fee
simple, all of his interest in that certain tract or
parcel of land lying and being in Madison Township,
Rockingham County, North Carolina, more particu-
larly described as follows:

BEGINNING at an existing concrete monu-
ment in the north right of way line of N.C.
State Road 2326 (paved), W. Raymond Sharp
heirs (Deed Book 206, Page 381) and running
thence with said Sharp heirs line, North 01
deg. 18 min. 40 sec. West 2095.89 feet to an
iron. Sharp heirs corner in the South line of
Dr. Robert T. Harned (Deed Book 668, Page
341); thence with Harned’s line South 84
deg. 28 min. East 136.03 feet to a concrete
monument, the southwest corner of Sitting
Rock Farm, Inc. (Deed Book 668, Page 759,
see also Lot No 1., Map of W. Earl Thomas in

App. 19

Map Book 9, at Page 60); thence with Sitting
Rock Farm, Inc. line, South 84 deg. 30 min.
East passing through an iron in line at
1279.93 feet, a total distance of 1297.27 feet
to a point in the centerline of State Road No.
2321 (Gravel); thence with the centerline of
that road, South 03 deg. 33 min. West
1242.88 feet to a point; thence continuing
with the centerline of that road, South 00
deg. 08 min. West 101.57 feet; thence still
with the centerline of the road and on its
paved portion South 03 deg. 56 min. East
123.82 feet; thence still with the centerline of
the paved portion of State Road No. 2321
South 13 deg. 19 min. East 93.04 feet to the
point of intersection of the centerline of that
road with the centerline of State Road No.
2326; thence with the centerline of State
Road No. 2326; thence with the courses and
distances; South 59 deg. 59 min. West 194.19
feet, South 66 deg. 12 min. West 307.81 feet,
and South 76 deg. 33 min. West 905.63 feet
to a point; thence leaving the centerline of
the road, North 01 deg. 18 min. 40 sec. West
30.69 feet to the point of BEGINNING, and
containing 58.712 acres, more or less. The
foregoing description was prepared from a
map of survey by Kenneth A. Vaughn,
R.L.S., dated May 12, 1978, entitled “Prop-
erty of John G. Sharp”. For further reference
and chain of title see Deed Book 206, at page
380, Deed Book 249, at page 41. This being
the same property shown as Tract 1 as con-
veyed by Warranty Deed dated December 20,
1989, recorded in Book 830, on Page 1294,

App. 20

Rockingham County Registry, the descrip-
tion therein being incorporated herein by
reference.

TITLE NOT EXAMINED
BY PREPARER OF DEED

TO HAVE AND TO HOLD the aforesaid tract or
parcel of land and all privileges and appurtenances
thereunto belonging to the Grantee in fee simple.

And the Gantor covenants with the Grantee, that
Grantor is seized of the premises in fee simple, has
the right to convey the same in fee simple, that title
is marketable and free and clear from all encum-
brances, and Grantor will warrant and defend the
title against the lawful claims of all persons whomso-
ever except for the exceptions hereinafter stated.
Title to the property hereinabove described is subject
to the following exceptions:

1. The 2003 Rockingham County property taxes
which because a lien on the land January 1, 2003, but
are not due and payable until September 1, 2003.

2. Any and all valid recorded and unrecorded
easements and rights of way over and across subject
property, including those for public utilities and
highways.

3. Any inaccuracies and discrepancies which an
up to date survey might reveal.

4. Any environmental defects of property which
_might be revealed by on-site investigation.

App. 21

5. Restrictions of record, if any.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Grantor has
hereunto set his hand and seal, the day and year first
above written.

/s/ John David Stanley, Jr. /s/ Janet N. Stanley
(SEAL) (SEAL)
John David Stanley, Jr. Janet N. Stanley

/s/ Elizabeth Stanley Scearce _ /s/ Earl Scearce
(SEAL) (SEAL)
Elizabeth Stanley Scearce Earl Scearce
(/k/a Elizabeth Anne /s/ Connie J. Stanley

Stanley Hannula) (SEAL)

/s/ Allen B. Stanley Connie J. Stanley
(SEAL)
Allan B. Stanley
(a/k/a Allen Bonson Stanley)

STATE OF NEVADA , COUNTY OF Washoe

I, a Notary Public of the State and County aforesaid,
certify that John David Stanley, Jr., and wife, Janet
N. Stanley, personally appeared before me this day
and acknowledged the execution of the foregoing
instrument.. Witness my hand and official stamp or
seal, this 21st day of May , 2003.

My commission expires: 11-19-06

/s/ Jennifer Hublar Notary Public

JENNIFER HUBLAR
[SEAL] Notary Public — State of Nevada
Appointment Recorded in Washoe County
No: 02-79253-3 — Expires November 19, 2006

App. 22

STATE OF NEVADA , COUNTY OF Washoe

I, a Notary Public of the State and County aforesaid,
certify that Elizabeth Stanley Scearce (f/k/a Elizabeth
Anne Stanley Hannula), personally appeared before
me this day and acknowledged the execution of the
foregoing instrument. Witness my hand and official
stamp or seal, this 27th day of May , 2003.

My commission expires: Aug. 7, 2006
/s/ C.B. Paguio Notary Public

C.B. PAGUIO
[SEAL] Notary Public — State of Nevada

Appointment Recorded in Washoe County
No: 02-78070-2 — Expires August 7, 2006

STATE OF Delaware , COUNTY OF Kent

I, a Notary Public of the State and County aforesaid,
certify that Allan B. Stanley (a/k/a Allen Bonson
Stanley) and wife, Connie J. Stanley, personally
appeared before me this day and acknowledged the
execution of the foregoing instrument. Witness my
hand and official stamp or seal, this 3 dayofJune __,
2003.

My commission expires: 8/3/04
/s/ Dorothy M. Litano Notary Public
[STAMP]

App. 23

STATE OF Virginia , COUNTY OF Henry

I, a Notary Public of the State and County aforesaid,
certify that Earl Scearce, personally appeared before
me this day and acknowledged the execution of the
foregoing instrument. Witness my hand and official
stamp or seal, this 2 day of June , 2003.

My commission expires:
My Commission Expires October 31, 2007

/s/ Rolanda R. Stockton Notary Public

[SEAL] NORTH CAROLINA-ROCKINGHAM COUNTY
The certificate(s) of Jennifer Hublar, C.B. Paguio,
Dorothy M. Litano
& Rolanda R. Stockton
a Notary (Notaries) Public is (are) certified to

be correct. This instrument and this certifi-
cate are daily registered at the date and time
shown herein.
REBECCA B. CIPRIANI,
REGISTER OF DEEDS
BY /s/ Amy L. Simpson
Assistant/Deputy Register of Deeds

The foregoing certificate of [Illegible]
is certified to be co[Illegible] re duly registered
at the date and time and in the Book and Page shown
on the first page hereof.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1458%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
