# Appendix — Owens v. Kentucky (No. 07-1411)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1455%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendix
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

la

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY.

Keith A. OWENS, Appellant,
v.
COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY, Appellee.
No. 2006-SC-000037-MR.

Rendered Jan. 24, 2008.
Final Feb. 14, 2008.

On Appeal from Taylor Circuit Court Honorable
Doughlas M. George, Judge
No. 04-CR-00225

Opinion of the Court by Justice MINTON.

This appeal requires us to decide whether a
police officer working a traffic stop may exercise
discretion to conduct a pat-down search for weapons
of a vehicle’s passenger who exited the vehicle to
accommodate a search of the vehicle incident to the
driver’s arrest, even if the officer has no independent
suspicion that the passenger is guilty of criminal
conduct. Analyzing the automatic companion rule as
a matter of first impression in Kentucky, we conclude
that officer safety and public safety demand that the
police officer have discretion to frisk the passenger
under these circumstances ‘his conclusion leads us
to hold that the trial court properly denied the
passenger's motion to suppress. evidence of
contraband seized from him and to affirm his
conviction.

2a

I. FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Awaiting trial on charges of possession of
marijuana, first-degree possession of a controlled
substance, and of being a first-degree persistent
felony offender (PFO 1), Keith Owens filed a pretrial
motion to suppress evidence of illegal drugs seized
during an allegedly improper search of his person.
This prompted the trial court to hold a_ brief
suppression hearing at which the Commonwealth
presented the testimony of the arresting officer.
Owens testified at the hearing in his own behalf.

According to the officer’s testimony, he stopped
a vehicle driven by Chris Thornton because he
believed-correctiy it turned out-that Thornton’s
driver’s license had been suspended. Thornton was
arrested on that charge. Once outside the vehicle,
Thornton was searched incident to arrest. The
search yielded a suspected crack pipe, and Thornton
was placed in the police cruiser. Owens was a front-
seat passenger in the vehicle.!

The officer decided to search the vehicle at the
scene incident to Thornton’s arrest and directed
Owens to step out of the vehicle. The officer asked
Owens if he had any weapons. The officer testified
that Owens stated that he had nothing to hide and
began removing money from his pockets. The officer
saw a baggie fall out when Owens pulled money from

! Apparently, the vehicle was actually Owens’s; but Owens did
not want to drive because he had taken prescription codeine for
bronchitis.

3a

one of his pockets. That baggie, which the officer
testified he immediately suspected contained
contraband as it landed at Owens’s feet, contained a
marijuana cigarette, some loose marijuana, and
several pills. Two of the pills were later determined
to contain methamphetamine, and three of them
were later determined to contain ecstasy. The officer
testified at the suppression hearing that Owens
voluntarily emptied his own pockets and that he had
fully completed a Terry? pat-down when Owens
emptied his pockets. But the officer also testified,
seemingly contradictorily, that Owens _ began
removing money from his pockets while the officer
was conducting the pat-down. A later search of the
vehicle and Owens’s person revealed no other
contraband. |

At the suppression hearing, Owens’s version of
the events differed slightly from the officer’s. Owens
did not dispute the officer’s testimony about the stop
of the vehicle and Thornton’s arrest. But Owens
testified that the officer reached into his pockets to
remove the money. Owens also denied that he
possessed the baggie containing the illegal drugs.

The trial court denied the motion to suppress.
At trial, the jury found Owens guilty of all charges
and recommended a sentence of twelve months with
a $500 fine for the possession of marijuana
conviction, and a twenty-year sentence for the PFO 1

2 Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 88 S.Ct. 1868, 20 L.Ed.2d 889
(1968).

4a

conviction.? Owens was sentenced in accordance with
the jury’s recommendation,‘ after which he filed this
matter-of-right appeal.®

Il. ANALYSIS

Owens does not contest the stop of the vehicle.
Nor does he contest the arrest and eventual search of
Thornton. Owens contends that the officer
overstepped constitutional bounds when he frisked
him for weapons. We disagree.

Motions to suppress are governed by Kentucky
Rules of Criminal Procedure (RCr) 9.78. That rule
provides that a court facing a motion to suppress
“shall conduct an evidentiary hearing outside the
presence of the jury and at the conclusion thereof
shall enter into the record findings resolving the
essential issues of fact raised by the motion or
objection and necessary to support the ruling.” When
reviewing an order on a motion to suppress, the trial
court’s findings of fact are “conclusive” if they are
“supported by substantial evidence.” Using those
facts, this Court then reviews de novo the trial court’s

3 Neither the jury nor the trial court assessed a separate
penalty for the possession of a controlled substance conviction.
Owens does not claim error in the failure to assess a separate
penalty for the underlying controlled substance conviction.

4 The final judgment makes no mention of the possession of
marijuana conviction.

5 SeeKy. Const. § 110(2)(b).
6 RCr 9.78.

5a

application of the law to those facts to determine
whether its decision is correct as a matter of law.7?

Under our settled jurisprudence, “i]t is
fundamental that all searches without a warrant are
unreasonable unless it can be shown that they come
within one of the exceptions to the rule that a search
must be made pursuant to a valid warrant.”®

The officer had a right to stop the vehicle
based on his reasonable suspicion that Thornton’s
driver’s license had been suspended.? And the officer
had the authority to arrest Thornton!® and to conduct

7 See Adcock v. Commonwealth, 967 S.W.2d 6, 8 (Ky.1998)
(“When the findings of fact are supperted by substantial
evidence, as we conclude they are herein, the question
necessarily becomes, ‘whether the rule of law as applied to the
established facts is or is not violated[,]’ “citing Ornelas v. United
States, 517 U.S. 690, 697, 116 S.Ct. 1657, 1662, 134 L.Ed.2d 911
(1996), in which the United States Supreme Court stated that
trial court’s determination of reasonable suspicion or probable
cause was subject to de novo review even though findings of fact
were supported by substantial evidence.).

8 Cook v. Commonwealth, 826 S.W.2d 329, 331 (Ky.1992).

9 See, e.g., Collins v. Commonwealth, 142 S.W.3d 113, 115
(Ky.2004) (citing Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648, 663, 99
S.Ct. 1391, 1401, 59 L.Ed.2d 660, 673 (1979)).

10 Kentucky Revised Statutes (KRS) 186.620(2) provides that a
person shall not operate a motor vehicle on a suspended license.
KRS 186.990(3) provides that a person who violates KRS
186.620 commits a Class B misdemeanor. KRS 431.005(1)
authorizes a peace officer to arrest a person without a warrant if
that person has committed a misdemeanor in the officer’s
presence.

6a

a search of Thornton incident to that arrest.1! Once
Thornton was lawfully arrested, the officer had the
authority to search the passenger compartment of the
vehicle Thornton had recently driven.!2 And an
officer has the authority to order a passenger to exit a
vehicle pending completion of a minor traffic stop.!°
So it logically follows that an officer may order a
passenger to exit a vehicle while that vehicle is
searched incident to the lawful arrest of the driver.
It appears that every important action taken up to
the point where Owens’ was _ frisked was
constitutionally permissible.

lt See, e.g., Ratney v. Commonwealth, 197 S8.W.3d 89, 92
(Ky.2006) (plurality opinion), cert. denied--- U.S. ----, 127 S.Ct.
1005, 166 L.Ed.2d 713 (2007) (search incident to arrest is
exception to warrant requirement).

12 Thornton v. United States, 541 U.S. 615, 623, 124 S.Ct. 2127,
158 L.Ed.2d 905 (2004).

13° Maryland v. Wilson, 519 U.S. 408, 414-15, 117 S.Ct. 882, 137
L.Ed.2d 41 (1997) (“In summary, danger to an officer from a
traffic stop is likely to be greater when there are passengers in
addition to the driver in the stopped car. While there is not the
same basis for ordering the passengers out of the car as there is
for ordering the driver out, the additiona! intrusion on the
passenger is minimal. We therefore hold that an officer making
a traffic stop may order passengers to get out of the car pending
completion of the stop.”). At the suppression hearing, the officer
testified that Owens voluntarily exited the vehicle; but Owens
testified that the officer asked him to exit the vehicle. Since the
officer had the authority to order Owens to exit the vehicle, it is,
for purposes of this case, immaterial whether Owens voluntarily
exited the vehicle or whether the officer ordered him to do so.

7a

Here we arrive 2t the crux of this case: may an
officer conduct a pat-down search for weapons of a
passenger of a vehicle when the driver has been
arrested and the driver possessed illegal narcotics
even if there is no independent suspicion that the
passenger is guilty of criminal conduct?!4 This
precise factual scenario appears to be a matter of first
impression in Kentucky. So we turn to other courts
for guidance.

Two schools of thought have emerged around
this subject. One, known as the automatic
companion rule, holds that “[a]ll companions of the
arrestee within the immediate vicinity, capable of
accomplishing a harmful assault on the officer, are
constitutionally subjected to the cursory ‘pat-down’
reasonably necessary to give assurance that they are
unarmed.”!5 Numerous state and federal courts have

14 The officer did not testify that Owens was acting nervous or
was fidgeting with anything in his pockets; the officer did not
testify that he conducted the frisk because he feared for his
safety, either because he was aware of Owens’s lengthy criminal
history or because Owens was wearing baggy clothes that could
have easily concealed a weapon; and the officer did not testify
that the stop of the vehicle occurred in a high crime area. In
short, nothing of substance appears in the record to justify the
frisk of Owens, except for the inargusable fact that he was a
passenger in a vehicle driven by someone who possessed a crack
pipe. Although further questioning may have revealed that the
officer did, in fact, have articulable and independent suspicions
that Owens was armed or dangerous, those reasons were not
explicitly brought forth during the brief suppression hearing.

15 United States v. Berryhill, 445 F.2d 1189, 1193 (9th
Cir.1971).

8a

either expressly adopted the automatic companion
rule or have issued decisions that seem to follow its
contours.'!6 The other school of thought, also used by
several courts, is the totality of the circumstances
rule in which the propriety of the frisk is determined
considering the totality of the circumstances.!7 Some

16 See, e.g., United States v. Simmons, 567 F.2d 314, 319 (7th
Cir.1977) (holding that the automatic companion rule, as
expressed in Berryhill, was insufficient to justify a full-blown
search of an arrestee’s companion; but the rationale “may be
sufficient where a search is limited to a ‘pat down....’ “); United
States v. Poms, 484 F.2d 919, 922 (4th Cir.1973) (voicing
agreement with Berryhill );State v. Clevidence, 153 Ariz. 295,
736 P.2d 379, 382 (1987) (citing BerryAil/ with approval for
proposition that “(t]he right to a limited search for weapons
extends to a suspected criminal’s companions at the time of
arrest.”); People v. Myers, 246 Ill.App.3d 542, 186 Ill.Dec. 443,
616 N.E.2d 633, 636 (1993) (citing Berryhil/] with approval and
holding that “[w]hile a police officer may not search a person
merely because he is with someone who has been arrested, the
officer may conduct a pat-down of the arrested person’s
companions to protect himself or others.”); State v. Moncrief, 69
Ohio App.2d 51, 431 N.E.2d 336, 342 (1980) (citing BerryAri/
with approval); Lewis v. United States, 399 A.2d 559, 562
(D.C.1979) (citing BerryAil] with approval). Perry v. State, 927
P.2d 1158, 1163-64 (Wyo.1996) (citing BerryAz// with approval
and adopting automatic companion rule).

17 See, e.g., United States v. Bell, 762 F.2d 495, 499 (6th
Cir.1985) (rejecting adoption of automatic companion rule);
Eldridge v. State, 848 P.2d 834, 837-38 (Alaska Ct.App.1993)
(same); Commonwealth v. Ng, 420 Mass. 236, 649 N.E.2d 157,
158 (1995) (same); State v. Eggersgluess, 483 N.W.2d 94, 98
(Minn.Ct.App.1992); United States v. Flett, 806 F.2d 823, 827
(8th Cir.1986) (same). We axpear to have utilized the totality of
the circumstances test in vegards to judging the propriety of
Terry stops. See, e.g. Commonwealth v. Priddy, 184 S.W.3d

9a

courts that have rejected the automatic companion
rule appear to believe that it improperly creates a
guilt-by-association scenario and obliterates the
requirement that an officer have a particularized,
reasonable, articulable suspicion that a person is
engaging in criminal activity or is dangerous before
subjecting that person to a frisk.18 Legal scholars
have also entered the debate.!9

We have given careful analysis to the well-
reasoned thoughts expressed by both proponents and
opponents of the automatic companion rule. We have
decided to adopt the automatic companion rule in the
narrow realm of cases involving facts similar to the
case at hand.

We find it illogical that rejecting the automatic
companion rule would lead to scenarios whereby an

officer could search a vehicle incident to an arrest of

501, 511 (Ky.2005), cert. denied--- U.S. ----, 127 S.Ct. 444, 166
L.Ed.2d 316 (2006). However, we have not directly opined on
the merits, or lack thereof, of the automatic companion rule.

18 See, e.y., Eldridge, 848 P.2d at 838;Ng, 649 N.E.2d at 157.

‘9 See Kristi Michelle Bellamy, Zhe “Automatic Companion”
Rule and Its Unconstitutional Application to the Frisk of Car
Passengers, 27 AM.J.CRIM.L. 217 (2000); David E. Edwards,
Suzette M. Nanovic, Francis M. O’Connell & Laura A. Yustak,
Case Comment, Criminal Law-United States v. Bell: Rejecting
Guilt By Association in Search and Seizure Cases, 61 NOTRE
DAME L.REv. 258 (1986). John. J. O'Shea, The Automatic
Companion Rule: A Bright Line Standard for the Terry Frisk of
an Arrestee’s Companion, 62 NOTRE DAME L.REV. 751 (1987).

10a

the driver, which necessitates removing any
passengers from the vehicle, but could not take the
additional protective step of conducting a Jerry pat-
down for weapons of those passengers (unless the
officer had independent reasons to suspect the
passengers of being dangerous or of being involved in
criminal activity). Limiting the right to a make a
protective search would increase the chances that an
officer could be harmed by a passenger who had been
carrying a concealed weapon.2° This “compelling”?!
concern for officer safety is magnified by the fact that
this case, like so many others, involves illegal
narcotics, thereby bringing into play “[tlhe
indisputable nexus between drugs and guns], which]
presumptively creates a reasonable suspicion of
danger to the officer.” Indeed, even the United
States Supreme Court has recognized the safety of
officers as a matter of paramount importance.2* And

20 Berryhill, 445 F.2d at 1193 (“We think that 7erry recognizes
and common sense dictates that the legality of such a limited
intrusion into a citizen’s personal privacy extends to a criminal’s
companions at the time of arrest. Jt is inconceivable that a
peace officer effecting a lawful arrest of an occupant of a vehicle
must expose himself to a shot in the back from defendant's
associate because he cannot, on the spot, make the nice
distinction between whether the other is a companion In crime
or a social acquaintance.”) (emphasis added).

21 Perry, 927 P.2d at 1164 (“The concern of these courts [who
have adopted the automatic companion rule] for officer safety is
a compelling justification.”).

22 United States v. Sakyi, 160 F.3d 164, 169 (4th Cir.1998).

23. See Terry, 392 U.S. at 23-24, 88 S.Ct. at 1881 (“Certainly it
would be unreasonable to require that police officers take

lla

given the small space inside a vehicle and the general
presumption that one voluntarily chooses one’s
traveling companions for the furtherance of a
common goal or mission,”4 it would be unreasonable
and dangerous for an officer not to be concerned
about his or her safety with regard to the passengers
of a vehicle after the driver has been arrested.?®

Although a Jerry pat-down may be considered
an additional intrusion into the privacy of a
passenger, any additional intrusion is minimal—
since the passengers presumably have already been
ordered to exit the vehicle-and is more than
counterbalanced by the need to protect both the
officers and any innocent bystanders from harm.?6

unnecessary risks in the performance of their duties. American
criminals have a long tradition of armed violence, and every
year in this country many law enforcement officers are killed in
the line of duty, and thousands more are wounded. Virtually all
of these deaths and a substantial portion of the injuries are
inflicted with guns and knives.”). See also Sakyi, 160 F.3d at
168 (“All of these cases recognize generally that every traffic
stop poses a meaningful level of risk to the safety of police
officers”).

24 That general presumption of voluntary traveling together for
the furtherance of a common purpose is heightened in this case
by the fact that Owens asked Thornton to drive Owens’s vehicle.
25 Sakyi, 160 F.3d at 169 (“They [passengers of a vehicle] are in
the restricted space of the vehicle presumably by choice and
presumably on a comiaon mission.”).

26 See O'Shea, 62 NOTRE DAME L.REV. at 759 (citing statistics
regarding accidental shootings by Chicago police and arguing

After all, a protective frisk of a passenger by an
officer is just that: a mechanism designed sclely to
protect the officers and any bystanders, not an
offensive move designed to result in prosecution of a
passenger.2? Thus, since the officer’s motive in
conducting the frisk (safety) is not improper or
designed to circumvent the protections afforded by
the Fourth Amendment, the basic purpose of the
exclusionary rule-deterring police misconduct?®—
would not be furthered by denying the officer the
right to conduct a brief 7erry frisk of a passenger in a
vehicle whose driver has just been arrested. In other
words, penalizing the officer for conducting what a
court later determines to have been an improper frisk
will have absolutely no practical deterrent effect,
meaning that suppression of the evidence will not
further the aims of the exclusionary rule.29

that adoption of automatic companion rule would reduce those
shootings while simultaneously protecting the police)

27 See id. at 764.

28 §6See, e.g. Parks v. Commonwealth, 192 S.W.3d 318, 335
(Ky.2006) (“The exclusionary rule is designed to deter police
misconduct.”)

29 O’Shea, 62 NOTRE DAME L.REV. at 753 (“The officer who fears
for his safety is not concerned with the admissibility of evidence
found pursuant to a pat-down search. Instead, the officer is
protecting himself and those around him by conducting a pat-
down search for weapons.”); Terry, 392 U.S. at 14-15, 88 S.Ct. at
1876 (“Regardless of how effective the rule may be where
obtaining convictions is an important objective of the police, it is

13a

Additionally, adoption of the automatic
companion rule provides needed bright line guidance
to the bench, bar, law enforcement community, and
citizens across the Commonwealth as to what is
constitutionally permissible in cases such as the one
at hand. The United States Supreme Court, along
with commentators, has endorsed bright line rules in
dealing with other Fourth Amendment concerns.°

Jowerless to deter invasions of constitutionally guaranteed
rights where the police either have no interest in prosecuting or
are willing to forgo successful prosecution in the interest of
serving some other goal... Yet a rigid and unthinking
application of the exclusionary rule, in futile protest against
practices which it can never be used effectively to control, may
exact a high toll in human injury and frustration of efforts to
prevent crime.”) (internal footnote omitted).

0 See, e.g., New York v. Belton, 453 U.S. 454, 459-60, 101 S.Ct.
2860, 2864, 69 L.Ed.2d 768 (1981) (“When a person cannot know
how a court will apply a settled principle to a recurring factual
situation, that person cannot know the scope of his
constitutional protection, nor can a policeman know the scope of
his authority.”); LaFave, “Case-By-Case Adjudication” Versus
“Standardized Procedures”: The Robinson Dilemma, 1974
S.CT. REV. 127, 142 (“Fourth Amendment doctrine, given force
and effect by the exclusionary rule, is primarily intended to
regulate the police in their day-to-day activities and thus ought
to be expressed in terms that are readily applicable by the police
in the context of the law enforcement activities in which they
are necessarily engaged. A highly sophisticated set of rules,
qualified by all sorts of ifs, ands, and buts and requiring the
drawing of subtle nuances and hairline distinctions, may be the
sort of heady stuff upon which the facile minds of lawyers and
judges eagerly feed, but they may be ‘literally impossible of

14a

We are not unmindful of the powerful
protections afforded by the Fourth Amendment. In no
sense should our holding in this case be taken as a
license for law enforcement officers to believe that all
frisks of all persons are always proper. We also reject
any implication that our holding creates a “guilt by
association” mentality. To the contrary, our holding
is simply an avenue to protect the officer working at
the point of contact and the public. Toward that end,
our holding is a limited and narrow exception to the
exclusionary rule, designed to apply only in
situations in which the driver of a vehicle has been
lawfully arrested and the passengers of the vehicle
have been lawfully expelled in preparation for a
lawful search of the vehicle.*! Only in those limited
circumstances, witich are fraught with danger for
officers and bystanders alike, may an officer conduct
a brief pat-down for weapons (not a full-blown

application by the officer in the field.’ “) (as quoted in Belton,
453 U.S. at 458, 101 S.Ct. at 2863); O’Shea, 62 NOTRE DAME
L.REV. at 760 (“The [automatic companion] doctrine would
provide police officers with a bright line rule as to when they
could search companions. The automatic companion rule, even
though a bright line rule (which historically decreases a police
officer’s discretion), would allow police officers some discretion.
An officer would not have to frisk every companion-but he would
have that option. He could protect his life by using his own
diseretion.”).

31 We express no opinion about whether a protective pat-down
of a passenger may occur if the driver is only detained, not
arrested.

15a

search) of the vehicle’s passengers, regardless of
whether those passengers’ actions or appearance
evidenced any independent indicia of dangerousness
or suspicion.

Applying our holding regarding the automatic
companion rule to the case at hand leads to the
conclusion that the trial court did not err when it
denied Owens’s motion to suppress. Therefore, we
affirm Owens’s conviction and sentence.

il. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgmer.t of the
Taylor Circuit Court is affirmed.

All sitting. LAMBERT, C.J.; ABRAMSON,
CUNNINGHAM, and SCOTT, JJ., concur. NOBLE
and SCHRODER, JJ., concur but would emphasize

that there must be a lawiul stop, lawful arrest, and
lawful expulsion of occupants from the vehicle in
order to avoid suppression of the evidence as fruit of
the poisonous tree.:

RENDERED: JANUARY 24, 2008,
TO BE PUBLISHED

Supreme Court of

2006-SC-000037-MRA
C3 B- 06 E a econ DE

KEITH A. OWENS APPELLANT

ON APPEAL FROM TAYLOR CIRCUIT COURT
HONORABLE DOUGHLAS M. GEORGE, JUDGE
NO. 04-CR-00225

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY APPELLEE

OPINION OF THE COURT BY JUSTICE MINTON
AFFIRMING
This appeal requires us to decide whether a police officer working a traffic stop
may exercise discretion to conduct a pal-down search for weapons of a vehicle's
passenger who exited the vehicle to accommodate a search of the vehicle incident to

the driver's arrest, even if the officer has no independent suspicion that the passenger is

guilty of criminal conduct. Analyzing the automatic companion rule as a matter of first

impression in Kentucky, we conclude that officer safety and public safety demand that
the police officer have discretion to frisk the passenger under these circumstances.
This conclusion leads us to hold that the trial court propery denied the passenger's

motion to suppress evidence of contraband seized from him and to affirm his conviction.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1455%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
