# Opposition Brief — Parm v. Shumate (No. 07-1289)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1350%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

Court, US.
( 3 ) FILED

No. 07-1289 JUN 12 2008

In The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

+

NORMAL PARM, JR., ET AL.,

\ Petitioners,

MARK SHUMATE, in his official capacity
as Sheriff of East Carroll Parish, Louisiana,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit

¢

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

*

FREEMAN R. MATTHEWS

CRAIG E. FROSCH

Counsel of Record

Usry, WEEKS & MATTHEWS

1615 Poydras Street, Suite 1250

New Orleans, LA 70112

Tel. (504) 592-4600

Counsel for East Carroll Parish
Sheriff Mark W. Shumate

—-

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225 6964
OR CALL COLLECT (409) 449.9881

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE, CF ATR ne oisicskacerstcctimnainemant il
SOG ESAs RIOT eicncinntscivertetentniannaaande 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE. ....................cececeeseees 1
ATG ATION ociniin ticnsnccsncechsciecacneie emai 4

I. NEITHER THE UNITED STATES CON-
STITUTION NOR FEDERAL LAW OFFER
PROTECTION FOR RECREATIONAL
FISHING ON FLOODED PRIVATE PRO-
PERT S EC LAP sictenctncicneatiions 4

II. THE PRIVILEGES AND IMMUNITIES
CLAUSE DOES NOT PROTECT REC-
REATIONAL FISHING ON FLOODED
PR VA a FE ED crerctercscinincinrannes 17

Ill. LOUISIANA LAW PROVIDES THAT THE
OWNER OF FLOODED PRIVATE PROP-
ERTY MAY EXCLUDE TRESPASSERS.... 20

CONCLAIIIGN, occcesscnvsesnecmnintaivsigduanalamaammia 22

TABLE OF APPENDIX

1998 U.S. Corps of Engineers’ Navigation and
Flood Control Map No. 85 Mississippi River,
Mississippi Valley Division. ...................scceeeeees App. 1

i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Baldwin v. Fish and Game Commission of
Montana, 436 U.S. 371, 98 S.Ct. 1852, 56
aan ME IE OD osinciec casidouineicy de donteuansconadeeanienion 18, 19
Boykin v. Shaffer, 13 La. Ann. 129, 1858 WL
I GR Rs tc nievsisonsinieinsnicliicaesplbhcemeiupeeuannemaanes 13
Buckskin Hunting Club v. Bayard, 03-1428,
868 So.2d 266 (La.App. 3rd Cir. 3/3/2004) ............. 21
Dardar v. Lafourche Realty Co., Inc., 985 F.2d
Re SND, FI oes cisicativiesatocitnwcceniidavnamastanaataanes 7
Edmiston v. Wood, 566 So.2d 673 (La. App. 2nd
| Rapa ERSTE Ooo MaN Sameer Me cE NIN EDA, ote 21
George v. Beavark, 402 F.2d 977 (8th Cir. 1968) ......... 8
Goose Creek Hunting Club, Inc. v. U.S., 518
Be ee Oe UID caireisensivnecoscicnttpatanbiaieiannteu’ 6
Hague v. CIO, 307 U.S. 496, 59 S.Ct. 954, 83
EE. SII <1... sacctnccavnpimenecsibisbiebatanamekedpaad 18
Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164,
100 S.Ct. 383, 62 L.Ed.2d 332 (1979)..............0seceeres 7
Lawton v. S*eele, 152 U.S. 133, 14 S.Ct. 499, 38
Se A AEE ssksnssteassivcesatieicalabalesnieenaiacaiepcinigialetiamasi 12
Martin v. Waddell’s Lessee, 41 U.S. 367, 16 Pet.
eg ee Rt ee Oe vaieicinovnciadcdcntibscsiaeeneiaanis 12
Merrill-Stevens Company v. Durkee, 62 Fla.
es We Me I CIs BI Aicncccehcnivssnindcsicicnensentindanes 12

Oklahoma v. Texas, 260 U.S. 606, 43 S.Ct. 221,
Se a ee EE CED civckincinnsuuiantinetaasdedankesoesenniabaiail 6

ll

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Parm v. Shumate, 513 F.3d 135 (5th Cir. 2007) ...... 2,6
Paul v. Virginia, 8 Wall. 168, 19 L.Ed. 357 (1869)....... 18
Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Mississippi, 484 U.S.
469, 108 S.Ct. 791, 98 L.Ed.2d 877 (1988).....5, 8, 9, 10
Scranton v. Wheeler, 179 U.S. 141, 21 S.Ct. 48,
yak aE aesticeidh Cavepioceiinsn snochonen 7
Shively v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. 1, 14 S.Ct. 548, 38
Ba Se RE Givens iin i ncnvcgncsnennebvavddansdaninedioncbes 8,9, 10
Silver Springs Paradise Co. v. Ray, 50 F.2d 356
I a a 11
Slaughter-House Cases, 83 U.S. 36, 16 Wall. 36,
ee ESD ivssoinsss Sivas nviccsvunsdseccnicvienwontuseoie 11, 18
Smith v. Maryland, 59 U.S. 71, 18 How. 71, 15
i di, vine ca ha cpslchs enced bnnwsooeiasness 14
State v. Barras, 602 So.2d 301 (La. App. 3rd
0 ERR ae IS TITIES SISTED? PFET Se EE Zi
U.S. v. C. E. Harrell, 926 F.2d 1036 (11th Cir.
tS EI are oe ke SoMa hot. Ao NS Ne Or 6
Walker Lands, Inc. v. East Carroll Parish
Police Jury, 38,376, 871 So.2d 1258 (La. App.
2nd Cir. 4/14/2004), writ denied, 2004-1421,
916 So.2d 127 (Lia. G/3/2005B)...........cc.cccesesssoees passim

CONSTITUTIONS/STATUTES/REGULATIONS
ree I WN a iiss icetsvnbknceenedceuesedes 17,18
gs he IIRRNES 2A Taek dee Ra Cenc REREAD NE 12

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

La. C.C. art. 456
29 C.E-R. 329.11

1

INTRODUCTION

This case involves matters of trespass on non-
navigable private land that is occasionally flooded by
waters from the Mississippi River. Petitioners assert
that they have a right to trespass under the guise of a
previously unrecognized constitutional right to fish.
This case does not merit review because it involves
fact-intensive matters of Louisiana state law and
because the decision below does not conflict with any
decision of any other federal court of appeal, is ~ot in
conflict with a decision of a state court of last resort
and does not conflict with any prior decisions of this
Court. This case rests and turned on established
principles of law applied to a particular set of facts
which were painstakingly developed and carefully
analyzed not only in this case, but in ten years of
related litigation in the Louisiana state courts. The
Petition thus lacks a basis for the exercise of this
Court’s jurisdiction. The decisions below should not
be disturbed. The respondent, a Sheriff of a single
Parish in rural Louisiana who has borne the brunt of
defending Petitioners’ claims, respectfully urges this

Court to deny the Petition.

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioners are a group of recreational fish-
ermen who were arrested for trespass in Louisiana
when they refused to leave private property owned
by Walker Cottonwood Farms, L.L.C., successor in

2

interest to Walker Lands, Inc. The Petitioners postu-
late that the respondent East Carroll Parish Sheriff
Mark Shumate is prohibiting them and all others
from fishing or otherwise enjoying the Mississippi
River. That is simply not the case. This property is
undeniably private property that is dry most of the
year and is replete with roadways, buildings, crop
land, small lakes, ponds, and standing timber that
preclude its use as a navigable waterway or highway
of interstate commerce. See Walker Lands, Inc. v.
East Carroll Parish Police Jury, 38,376, 871 So.2d
1258 (La. App. 2nd Cir. 4/14/2004), writ denied, 2004-
1421, 916 So.2d 127 (La. 6/3/2005);' Parm v. Shumate,
513 F.3d 135, 188, 139-140 (5th Cir. 2007).’ Although
a small part of the property at issue borders the
navigable channel of the Mississippi River, the prop-
erty extends in some places three miles from the “top
bank” of the river as shown on the 1998 U.S. Corps of
Engineers’ official Navigation and Flood Control Map,
submitted as evidence by the Sheriff.’ In short, the

' This opinion is also reproduced at Pet. App. pp. 101-122.
* The opinion below, also reproduced at Pet. App. pp. 1-22.

* This map was entered in evidence as defendant’s Exhibit
J, and is attached hereto as an Appendix inside the back cover of
this Brief, with a legend showing the key for the “top bank”
appearing on the reverse side. It is noted that the defense
exhibit is more recent than the map offered by the plaintiff, as
noted at oral argument in the district court. The Petitioners’
map is vintage 1994, but indicates that it is based on 1967
imagery that was last field-checked in 1970.

3

property is not “the Piver,” as the Petitioners would
have the Court believe.

As privately owned property above the federal
high-water mark, the Walker property is not subject
to the federal navigational servitude. Additionally,
the Louisiana courts have specifically held that this
property is non-navigable, non-public trust lands,
even when flooded by the backwaters of the Missis-
sippi River during times of high river stages at cer-
tain times of the year. Under these conditions, the use
of the property, even when flooded, remains governed
by state law. The courts below properly found, under
the facts of this case and the particular circumstances
presented, that the Petitioners have no right under
state or federal law to go upon the property to fish or
hunt.

The Petitioners assert various legal theories in
support of their asserted federal “right” to fish. Their
reliance is uniformly misplaced. These authorities are

concerned with rights of navigation in commerce
preserved under federal law and confirm that regula-
tion of the property at issue rests in the State. it is
not disputed that commercial navigation rights exist
on the Mississippi River, which passes near the
property at issue. It is equally without question,
however, that the actions of the landowner in seeking
the Sheriff’s protection from trespass do not interfere
with traditional uses of the River as a highway of
commerce.

4

The property rights Walker has asserted do not
extend below the high bank of the River as estab-
lished under federal regulations. The use of this
property is governed therefore by Louisiana state law.
What gave rise to the Petitioners’ claims was their
invasion of private property three miles inland from
the Mississippi River that occasionally receives flood
waters of the River. The Sheriff simply enforced the
property rights of a complaining private land owner,
rights which are clearly and explicitly protected by
the constitutions and laws of the United States and of
Louisiana. Any interests the Petitioners may have in
recreational fishing must yield to these private prop-
erty rights.

¢

ARGUMENT

I. NEITHER THE UNITED STATES CONSTI-
TUTION NOR FEDERAL LAW OFFER
PROTECTION FOR RECREATIONAL FISH-
ING ON FLOODED PRIVATE PROPERTY
IN LOUISIANA

The Petitioners claim a federally protected right
to recreational fishing on the Walker property. But
they can point to no specific statute or constitutional
provision that specifically creates such a right. The
applicable statutes and constitutional provisions,
along with the cases decided thereunder, instead
confirm that Petitioners’ interest in unchecked rec-
reational fishing is not of federal concern.

5

The United States Constitution, in the context of
this litigation, is concerned only with the regulation
of interstate commerce and the preservation of navi-
gable bodies of water, such as the shipping channel of
the Mississippi River, as highways of commerce. See
Phillips Petroleum Co. v.’ Mississippi, 484 U.S. 469,
108 S.Ct. 791, 98 L.Ed.2d 877 (1988). To the extent
that state laws governing property rights do not
infringe upon such use, federal law does not usurp
state law, even to protect recreational fishermen
floating on flooded private property. Jd. at 795, 798-
799 (recreational fishing rights “have nothing to do
with navigation ...”). Here, the actions of the Sheriff
in arresting the Petitioner fishermen had no relation
to the use of the Mississippi River as a highway of
commerce. To the contrary, the undisputed facts show
that the Petitioners were arrested well beyond the
legally navigable and protected channel of the Missis-
sippi River.

The definition of high water mark is stated in
federal law as “the line[s] on the shore established by
the fluctuations of water and indicated by physical
characteristics such as a clear, natural line impressed
on the bank; shelving; changes in the character of
soil; destruction of terrestrial vegetation; the pres-
ence of litter and debris; or othcr appropriate means
that consider the characteristics of the surrounding
areas.” 29 C.F.R. 329.11(A)(1). The state court deci-
sions in the parallel proceeding observed that the
Walker property has all of the distinguishing ele-
ments of land that sits above the high water mark for

6

federal purposes.* In addition, as shown on the fed-
eral navigation map submitted at the summary
judgment hearing as Exhibit J by the Sheriff, the “top
bank” of the western bank of the Mississippi River in
the vicinity of the subject property is right alongside
the regular channel of the river, and does not extend
far, if at all, onto the subject property in Louisiana at
its very northeastern corner. The Petitioners were
arrested on the Walker property several miles west of
the delineated “top bank.”

Thus defined, the bed of the navigable River and
the extent of a federal] right to fish (even if one exists)
would not extend over the Walker property, which, as
found by the state courts, is ordinarily dry riparian
land that is “not wrested of its vegetation” despite
being occasionally exposed to flood water from the
River. See Walker Lands, supra; see also U.S. v. C. E.
Harrell, 926 F.2d 1036, 1041-1042 (1lth Cir. 1991);
and Goose Creek Hunting Club, Inc. v. U.S., 518 F.2d
579, 583 (Ct. Cl. 1975). In fact, courts have explicitiy
rejected attempts to expand the beds of navigable
rivers, and concomitantly the federal navigational
servitude, to riparian lands only inundated at a
“river’s peak flow or flood stages.” Harrell, 926 F.2d at
1041, citing Oklahoma v. Texas, 260 U.S. 606, 43
S.Ct. 221, 224, 67 L.Ed.2d 428 (1923).

*‘ The state district court opinion is summarized and
referenced in the Fifth Circuit decision below. Parm, 513 F.3d at
139-140 (see Pet. App. at 7-9). The state appellate decision
appears at Pet. App. pp. 101-122, as well as at 871 So.2d 1258.

7

There is no question that the bed of the Missis-
sippi River is navigable where it passes near the
Walker property. Any navigational servitude that may
apply to the River, however, would be limited to the
bed of the River, and then only for use as a continu-
ous highway of interstate commerce as authorized by
the Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution. See
Dardar v. Lafourche Realty Co., Inc., 985 F.2d 824,
832 (5th Cir. 1993); citing Kaiser Aetna v. United
States, 444 U.S. 164, 178, 100 S.Ct. 383, 392, 62
L.Ed.2d 332 (1979). This servitude is not unlimited. It
does not grant recreational fishing rights over flooded
private property. See Scranton v. Wheeler, 179 U.S.
141, 160, 21 S.Ct. 48, 56, 45 L.Ed. 126 (1900) (“It is
commerce, and not navigation, which is the great
object of constitutional care. The power to regulate
commerce is the basis of the power to regulate navi-
gation and navigable waters and streams, and these
are so completely subject to the control of Congress,
as subsidiary to commerce, that it has become usual
to call the entire navigable waters of the country the
navigable waters of the United States. It matters
little whether the United States has or has not the
theoretical ownership and dominion in the waters, or
the land under them; it has, what is more the regula-
tion and control of them for purposes of commerce.”).

This Court has long recognized that “the title and
rights of riparian or littoral proprietors in the soil
below the high-water mark of navigable waters are
governed by the local laws of the several states,
subject, of course, to the rights granted to the United

8

States by the constitution.” Shively v. Bowlby, 152
U.S. 1, 40, 14 S.Ct. 548, 563, 38 L.Ed. 331 (1894). The
“rights granted to the United States by the Constitu-
tion” in this respect include only rights of commercial
navigation and to keep the navigable highways of
‘commerce open. This Court recognizes that issues of
public rights in access to waterways “not related to
navigability, such as bathing, swimming, recreation,
fishing, and mineral development... ,” are matters of
state law concern. See Phillips Petroleum, 484 U.S. at
482-484, 108 S.Ct. at 798-799.

A distinction exists between the navigation
protected by federal law and the private hunting and
fishing promoted by the Petitioners. Navigation as
contemplated by the Constitution is commerce. The
Petitioners’ recreational fishing and hunting are
pleasurable distractions. The former is essential to
the public interest and is protected by the Constitu-
tion, laws, and regulations of the United States; the
latter are not. See George v. Beavark, 402 F.2d 977,
979-981 (8th Cir. 1968) (“ ... none of the authorita-
tive cases has liberalized the rule so as to indicate
that mere pleasure fishing on a stream of water is
such usage as would constitute navigability.”).

Consequently, even if the federal navigational
servitude extended three miles beyond the bank of
the Mississippi River (it does not) and encompassed
the portion of the Walker property at issue (it does
not), it would not protect the unlawful fishing prac-
tices of the Petitioners on private property. Any
common rights te the simple enjoyment of navigable

9

waterways were retained by the States as sovereigns,
not transferred to the federal government by the
Equal Footing Doctrine. The States, upon entry into
the Union, granted specific and limited authority to
preserve and protect navigation in commerce to the
federal government by way of the Constitution:

At common law, the title and dominion in
lands flowed by the tide water were in the
King for the/benefit of the nation. ... Upon
the American Revolution, these righis,
charged with a like trust, were vested in the
original States within their respective bor-
ders, subject to the rights surrendered by the
Constitution of the United States.... The
new States admitted into the Union since the
adoption of the Constitution have the same
rights as the original States in the tide wa-
ters, and in the lands under them, within
their respective jurisdictions.

Phillips Petroleum, 484 U.S. at 473-474, 108 S.Ct. at
98 L.Ed.2d 877; citing Shively, 152 U.S. at 57, 14
S.Ct. at 569.

This Court has confirmed that “it has been long
established that the individual States have the au-
thority to define the limits of the lands held in public
trust and to regulate private rights in such lands as
they see fit.” Phillips Petroleum, 484 U.S. at 475, 108
S.Ct. at 794; citing Shively, 152 U.S. at 26, 14 S.Ct. at
557. Lands under navigable waterways were “given to
the States upon their entry into the Union, subject to
the federal navigation easement and the power of

10

Congress to control navigation on those streams
under the Commerce Clause.” Phillips Petroleum, 484
U.S. at 479, 108 S.Ct. at 797 (citation omitted). The
title to and rights in such lands and waterways are
then matters left to state law, which this Court
recognized may be different among the several
States. See Phillips Petroleum, 484 U.S. at 483, 108
S.Ct. at 799; quoting Shively, 152 U.S. at 26, 14 S.Ct.
at 557 (“there is no universal law on the subject: but
... each State has dealt with the lands under tidewa-
ters within its borders according to its own views of
justice and policy.”).

Even if the Walker property were considered
tidelands or public trust lands governed by the Equal
Footing Doctrine,’ Louisiana, as sovereign, has the
authority to make such laws respecting private rights
in that property as it sees fit, as long as the federal
interests in commercial navigation are not impaired
thereby. The decision rendered below by the Fifth
Circuit did not hold that recreational fishing is not
permitted on navigable waterways. What the Fifth
Circuit found, based on established precedent, was
that federal law on the subject of navigable water-
ways is concerned with navigation on said navigable
waterways as highways of commerce. Fishing rights

* See Walker Lands, 871 So.2d at 1261, Pet. App. at 103 (“At
trial, it was determined that Gassoway Lake did not exist in
1812, ... the year Louisiana was admitted into the Union. The
land where Gassoway Lake now sits was either woods or
farmland in 1812, west of the Mississippi River.”).

ll

as may be protected by a State as the sovereign, on
the other hand, are matters of state law.

A variation of this premise was recognized in the
Slaughter-House Cases, 83 U.S. 36, 16 Wall. 36, 21
L.Ed. 394 (1873), which involved a challenge to
Louisiana state laws that granted exclusive rights to
slaughter-house operations along sections of the
Mississippi River at New Orleans to a private entity.
This Court held that the grant of exclusive rights in
land above the low water mark of the River to private
interests did not violate the Constitution or Louisi-
ana’s grant of authority over commercial navigation
to the federal government.

In Silver Springs Paradise Co. v. Ray, 50 F.2d
356 (5th Cir. 1931), the court addressed rival claims
of glass-bottomed boat operators on beautiful Silver
Springs, undisputably a navigable highway of inter-
state commerce protected by federal law. The court
held that this navigable waterway could not be
claimed as the exclusive waterway of one of the
excursion operators by virtue of its ownership of
adjacent lands. The Walker property, in contrast, is
not the bed of a federal highway of water-borne
commerce, it is “fast” land, not subject to the federal
servitude or the holding of Silver Springs. See Silver
Springs, 50 F.2d at 358 (“Whatever the nature of the
interest of a riparian owner in the submerged lands
in front of his upland bordering on public navigable
water, his title is not as full and complete as his title
to fast land which has no direct connection with the
navigation of such water.”).

12

Other cases noted by the Petitioners recognize
that the individual States have the authority to
regulate the disposition and use of non-navigable
property adjacent to navigable waterways. See
Lawton v. Steele, 152 U.S. 133, 138, 14 S.Ct. 499, 501,
38 L.Ed. 385 (1894) (the preservation of game and
fish fall within the ambit of the State’s police power
“and laws limiting the season within which birds and
wild animals may be killed or exposed for sale, and
prescribing the time and manner in which fish may
be caught, have been repeatedly upheld by the
courts.”); Merrill-Stevens Company v. Durkee, 62 Fla.
549, 560, 57 So. 428, 432 (Fla. 1912) (a State may
transfer ownership in whole or in part of land beyond
the edge of a navigable channel to private interests,
“leaving full space for the requirements of commerce,”
but reserving to the private owners the right to make
whatever constructions on the property they desired
“and also the right to prevent encroachments of any
other person upon all such submerged lands...,...
and to have and maintain action of trespass in any
court of competent jurisdiction in the state, for inter-
ference with such property.”) (citation omitted);
Martin v. Waddell’s Lessee, 41 U.S. 367, 411, 16 Pet.
367, 10 L.Ed. 997 (1842) (following the American
Revolution, the States have sole authority over prop-
erty rights, including those related to aqueous prop-
erty, subject only to the rights surrendered by the
States through the Constitution to the federal gov-
ernment.); see also 33 U.S.C. 10.

13

Although the Equal Footing Doctrine guarantees
that the lands underlying navigable waterways when
a State entered the Union are to be held as “common
highways ... forever free ... ,” this doctrine pertain-
ing to navigable waterways “was never intended to
apply to streams only capable of an imperfect naviga-
tion in time of floods and very high water. Such
streams or dry bayous must be considered as under
the entire control of the State.” Boykin v. Shaffer, 13
La. Ann. 129, 1858 WL 5070, at 2 (La. 1858).

The Louisiana Supreme Court in Boykin held
that a private company could be authorized by the
State to construct locks and other improvements on a
bayou that was only occasionally navigable and held
that the private company’s restrictions on navigation
through its locks were authorized by Louisiana
law. The Boykin decision also found that the Equal
Footing Doctrine did not prohibit the privatization
of the bayou passage because the waterway was
non-navigable to start with, and thus the State had
the authority to alienate it in full or in part to private
persons. The Louisiana Supreme Court observed that
“Were the mere fact that a steamboat or flatboat had
been a short distance up a stream or bayou in high
water a sufficient ground for declaring it a navigable
stream, every slight depression of the soil on the
banks of the Mississippi would then become a navi-
gable stream and should be opened for the benefit of
rafts and boais, and the convenience of a few persons,
to the total destruction of the planting interests
on the banks of the river.” Jd. at 2. The Louisiana

14

Supreme Court rejected the notion that occasional
flooding of private, non-navigable property authorizes
the exercise of the sort of activities sought to be
pursued by the Petitioners on the Walker property.

The Equal Footing Doctrine calls for state, not
federal, regulation of fishery. This state regulation
does not offend the Commerce Clause or federal
admiralty or maritime jurisdiction. See Smith v.
Maryland, 59 U.S. 71, 74-75, 18 How. 71, 15 L.Ed.
269 (1855) (the seizure of a commercial oyster boat
for using dredging instruments in violation of state
law did not violate the federal constitution, recogniz-
ing that a State may regulate the enjoyment of cer-
tain public rights, among which is the right to fish).

The Petitioners misconstrue the holding of the
Fifth Circuit below. The Fifth Circuit did not address
or limit in anyway the use of the navigable Missis-
sippi River by anyone for any lawful purpose. To
assert that tugboat operators and the weekend angler
will now be subject to interrogation concerning their
use of the navigable waterways is absurd. This case
involved flooded, but non-navigable,° property that
is unquestioably owned by a private person. The
holding of the Fifth Circuit only applies to such
property in Louisiana. The law recognizes that the

* The Louisiana state courts, in a proceeding that lasted the
better part of a decade, determined that the Walker property,
even when flooded, is non-navigable. See Walker Lands, Inc.,

supra.

15

several States may treat similar property differently.
The U.S. Constitution does not mandate uniformity
in such state laws, except to the extent that such
state laws may improperly impede commercial navi-
gation.

Arguments made by the Amici group’ supporting
the Petitioners illuminate the dangerous extent of the
Petitioners’ sought-after usurpation of private prop-
erty rights. These Amici suggest that the private
property at issue should be available to all “for pur-
poses of fishing, hunting, bird-watching, canoeing and
kayaking, wildlife observation, and communing with
nature.” See Coalition Amici Brief, at page 5. This
proposition would allow anyone to traipse across
private property for any activity under the sun.
Private property rights of a landowner would have no
meaning. In addition, not only do the Petitioners and
their Amici want to go wherever the water goes,
apparently they expect to utilize any property “in
proximity to such waters ... ” See Coalition Amici
Brief, at page 6. If, as argued by the Petitioners and
their Amici, “several millions of individuals” may
intrude upon private property “for fishing, paddling,
nature observation, and countless other activities”
with no regard for the private owners’ rights, what’s a
property owner to do?

’ Identified as “A Coalition of Conservation, Wildlife,
Fishing, and Wetlands Organizations Led by Restore Our Water
Access, Inc.” (the “Coalition”).

* See Coalition Amici Brief, at pp. 7-9.

16

Far from “the greatest enclosure initiative ever
seen in relation to the waters of the United States,”
the decision below only confirmed what has long been
settled: a private landowner has the right to maintain
an action for trespass by uninvited and unwanted
persons. The Petitioners have an incalculable ex-
panse of existing public areas where they may pursue
whatever enjoyable pursuits they can envision (as
long as it does not interfere with navigation). They
are not losing anything with the Fifth Circuit’s deci-
sion. The Fifth Circuit merely confirmed that persons
without a claim to ownership may not ‘have free and
unabated access to private property under the cloak
of an illusory federal] “right to fish.”

The property rights asserted by the private land-
owner herein, on the other hand, are far more than
“illusory,” as characterized by the Coalition Amici.
The United States Constitution protects a citizen’s
property rights, as does the Louisiana Constitution.
Recognition of a federal right to fish would critically
impair these property rights. The Petitioners’ plea to
do so should be rejected.

* Id. at page 8.
'° Id. at page 23, n. 4.

17

Il. THE PRIVILEGES AND IMMUNITIES
CLAUSE DOES NOT PROTECT RECREA-
TIONAL FISHING ON FLOODED PRIVATE
PROPERTY

The Privileges and Immunities Clause of the
United States Constitution” ensures that the citizens
of any State in the Union shall enjoy the same rights
in other States as do the residents of those other
States.

It was undoubtedly the object of the clause in
question to place the citizens of each State
upon the same footing with citizens of other
States, so far as the advantages resulting
from citizenship in those States are con-
cerned. It relieves them from the disabilities
of alienage in other States; it inhibits dis-
criminating legislation against them by other
States; it gives them the right of free ingress
into other States, and egress from them; it
insures to them in other States the same
freedom possessed by the citizens of those
States in the acquisition and enjoyment of
property and in the pursuit of happiness;
and it secures to them in other States the
equal protection of their laws. It has been
justly said that no provision in the Constitu-
tion has tended so strongly to constitute the

'' See U.S. Const. art 14, sec. 1 (“No State shall make or
enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities
of citizens of the United States... ”).

18

citizens of the United States one people as
this.

Baldwin v. Fish and Game Commission of Montana,
436 U.S. 371, 380-381, 98 S.Ct. 1852, 1858-1859, 56
L.Ed.2d 354 (1978); quoting Paul v. Virginia, 8 Wall.
168, 180, 19 L.Ed. 357 (1869); see also Slaughter-
House Cases, 83 U.S. at 78-79 (the privileges and
immunities protected by the Constitution “are those
which belong to the citizens of the States as such, and
... they are left to the State Governments for secu-
rity and protection, and not by this article placed
under the special care of the federal government.”).

In Baldwin, this Court also noted that it has
rejected an interpretation that the Privileges and
Immunities Clause guarantees certain “natural
rights” in every State. Baldwin, 436 U.S. at 381-382,
98 S.Ct. at 1859. Instead, the settled interpretation is
that the Privileges and Immunities Clause guaran-
tees that “in any State every citizen of any other
State is to have the same privileges and immunities
which the citizens of that State enjoy. The section, in
effect, prevents a State from discriminating against
citizens against other States in favor of its own.” Id;
quoting Hague v. CIO, 307 U.S. 496, 511, 59 S.Ct.
954, 962, 83 L.Ed. 1423 (1939).

The Baldwin case also confirms that the Privi-
leges and Immunities Clause is not concerned with
recreational activities such as hunting or fishing,
which are not among the “fundamental” rights or

19

activities protected by the Privileges and Immunities
Clause:

Equality in access to Montana elk is not ba-
sic to the maintenance or well-being of the
Union. Appellants do not — and cannot — con-
tend that they are deprived of a means of a
livelihood by the [licensing] system or of ac-
cess to any part of the State to which they
may seek to travel. We do not decide the full
range of activities that are sufficiently basic
to the 'ivelihood of the Nation that the States
may not interfere with a non-resident’s par-
ticipation therein without similarly interfer-
ing with a resident’s participation. Whatever
rights or activities may be “fundamental”
under the Privileges and Immunities Clause,
we are persuaded, and hold, that elk hunting
by nonresidents in Montana is not one of
them.

Baldwin, 436 U.S. at 388, 98 S.Ct. at 1863.

It is submitted that substitution of “fishing” for
“elk hunting” and “Louisiana” for “Montana” provides
sufficient reasoning for rejection of the Petitioners
claim for relief under the Privileges and Immunities
Clause.

b

20

Ili. LOUISIANA LAW PROVIDES THAT THE
OWNER OF FLOODED PRIVATE PROP-
ERTY MAY EXCLUDE TRESPASSERS

The Fifth Circuit determined that under Louisi-
ana law the Walker property is not burdened with a
public servitude that would allow unrestricted access
to the property for fishing, even while flooded by
water from the Mississippi River. This holding is
firmly rooted in established principles of Louisiana
law. Petitioners have now apparently abandoned
their arguments to the contrary in the courts below
by failing to brief the issue to this Court. °

Nevertheless, Respondent submits that the
discussion by the Fifth Circuit and the authorities
cited therein confirm that under Louisiana law
property between the ordinary high and the ordinary
low marks of a navigable river (the “bank”) are “pri-
vate things” subject to certain “public uses.” La. C.C.
art. 456." “According to well-settled Louisiana juris-
prudence, which continues to be relevant, the servi-
tude of public use under this provision is not ‘for the
use of the public at large for all purposes’ but merely
for purposes that are ‘incidental’ to the navigable

'? Walker, the owner of the property at issue, has disputed
whether the property may be classified as the “bank” of the
River, and thus not subject to the limited bank servitude. As
shown, accepting Petitioners’ contention to the contrary as true,
however, does not result in their being allowed access to the
property. Therefore, the courts below did not decide the question
of whether the Waiker property was indeed the “bank” of the
River.

21

character of the stream and its enjoyment as an
avenue of commerce.” Jd., comment (b) (citations
omitted); see also Buckskin Hunting Club v. Bayard,
03-1428, 868 So.2d 266, 275-276 (La.App. Srd Cir.
3/3/2004); Walker Lands, 871 So.2d at 1268, footnote
6. Recreational fishing on the banks of the Missis-
sippi River is not a use incidental to navigation. See
Walker Lands, 871 So.2d at 1268 n. 6 (citations
omitted); see also, State v. Barras, 602 So.2d 301, 305
(La. App. 3rd Cir. 1992); and Edmiston v. Wood, 566
So.2d 673, 675-676 (La. App. 2nd Cir. 1990). The
Petitioners’ recreational activities are not protected
by the Louisiana navigational servitude.

The Petitioners’ “running waters” argument was
also properly rejected by the Fifth Circuit below.
Louisiana law provides that although “running
water” from a navigable river is a public thing and a
private landowner must allow the running waters to
pass through his estate, Louisiana law “does not
mandate that the landowner allow public access to
the waterway.” Buckskin Hunting Club, 868 So.2d at
274.

Louisiana law, therefore, does not support the
Petitioners’ claims for relief.

¢

22

CONCLUSION

The decision below recognized that owners of
private property that is occasionally flooded by back-
waters of the Mississippi River may protect their
property rights against recreational fishermen that
intrude upon the private property during times of
high water. The decision did not carve out any “rec-
reational use exclusion” to the federal navigational
rights. None of the constitutional provisions or laws
cited by the Petitioners protect or even mention
fishing on flooded private property. None directly
addressed any fishing rights at all.

The Fifth Circuit’s decision below does not affect
federal navigation rights. The “navigation” contem-
plated and protected by federai law does not include
recreational fishing. The use of the Mississippi River
as a highway of commerce has nothing to do with
Petitioners’ claims and is untouched by the decision
below.

In addition, the prohibition against unwanted
trespass upon flooded private property recognized in
the decisions below has no effect on the recreational
use of navigable waterways of America. The private
property at issue, even when flooded, has been de-
termined to be non-navigable. That determination is
unchallenged here. This case is not an attack on
public access to navigable waters. This case is about a
landowner’s right to exclude trespassers who simply
want to fish on legally non-navigable flooded private
property. All of Petitioners’ epic effusion directed at a

23

single Sheriff in rural Louisiana cannot change this
simple fact.

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for a Writ
of Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

FREEMAN R. MATTHEWS

CRAIG E. FROSCH

Counsel of Record

Usry, WEEKS & MATTHEWS

1615 Poydras Street, Suite 1250

New Orleans, LA 70112

Tel. (504) 592-4600

Counsel for East Carroll Parish
Sheriff Mark W. Shumate

vu S ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS

MISSISSIPPt

RIiveR

MISSISSIPPt

TYPICAL CROSSING CHANNEL

ABOVE CAIRO,

ILLINOIS

4

2

=

2 BLACK
= LrGrtT
\

—

TYPICAL CROSSING CHANNEL
BELOW CAIRO,

ILLINOIS

919.8 JAMES

marked Dy Duoys
s@iting directions

Crossing cnannets
MARINERS’ for deta:ted

Waters EFcdige equaits Low Water

Waters Edge equais Low Water Reference

Daymarks may Ve identified as DAN

The Cotor Magenta ts The Warning’ Color
SYMBOLS
INTAKE OR DISCHARGE STRUCTURE ta
GPS ANTENNA y-%
ANTENNA Pn.

during

_ 913.0 JAMES

LOWER

tow weter

tor

See note tn ‘Notes Regarding Aids To Novigetion’ more
tights identified by river Mile and name
Reference Pinne +5 (fave) teet

UPPER ut

Consu'it

anformn

LOCAt

atron

LEGe.

NOTICE

ebeve Mite 320

Plane zero below Mite 3270 AHP
For This Series of Maps
Rood Markers ftOrPRAL
STATE

INTERSTATE

~t_wsom il

To

Atir

IN

Navigation

D

AIDS TO NAVIGATION

RIGHT LEerrT
DESCENDING DESCENDING
BANK BANK

GREEN BUOY RED BUOY

GREEN LIGHTED BUOY RED LIGHTED BUN0Y
REO/GREEN BUOY
JUNCTION

LIGHTED
MOORING BUOY

MOORING BUOY
BRIOGE PIERS
EXAGGERATED

DAY BEACON FOR CLARITY

Cotor: GREEN

DAY BEACON
Color. RED

YELLOW CAYMARKER
LOCATION WHERE LATEST
STEERING DIRECTIONS

NAVIGATION LIGHT 5 MAY BE OBTAINED

WARNING HAZARD GAMING BOAT

TO NAVIGATION

NO ANCHORAGE
AREA

BOARD SHOWING
GAGE tNFORMATION

BULLETIN BOARD
SHOVING RIVER STAGE

HYDROGRAPHIC

OREOGE MATERIAL

CIiKES OR WEIRS

REVETMENT

TING

FLEE AREA

(1962?)

MILES ABOVE HEAD OF PASSES
RIVER GAGE

DIRECTION OF FLOW

TOPOGRAPHIC

STATE
COUNTY OR

PARISH

BRIDGE
FERRY
POWER LINE

SUBMARINE (ANY)

PRIMARY ROAD

SECONDARY ROAD
LIGHT OuTY . -
UNIEMPROVED ROAD =

RAILROAD
ABANDONED TRACK - - =

cCEvets MERAT Project
Fuse FPtup

FORLCSHORE

Overlovping
PROTECTION

OUCKS. « Roat Ramp

ornmercrat

1sosos

VALLEY OFVISION

u S ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS MISSISSIPP! RIVER MISSISSIPPI VALLEY DIVISION
a tee te ” ay 4 I eer
i * | ees —$_—$__——___} ol \ J. _co
P ‘ & a =o x \ ‘ ‘/ SOR.@ CAROLINA LAMDINGLT ¢,-
=m ca * \ . } P r
e } er Sa a)
ae b _ i _ eae sine ae
a at £2 pe al — aie - H ‘ ge Se
M f ' ‘ —_ = ~
co ee ZA- <== » . or > A

ess er

\
~~
x.
\
\ Y
in ~
oe
>
‘
Me
>
!
j
{
ott

dia Mj f is / the
ff —_— ~~ if \ “, ; f 7 Sat A EN A
na RFR K a ? -> ! : : ee aig chee cOounnvTyY
sa — . / J e oF £ COIWPRFEGIIAN IT Hl
Oe. ‘ / / \ | ones
sy> gg ‘ os j 2S \\ {
ua a X\ / Pi \
a yy, a. / Ae a MdmessSsFitiFsSs S$ i P YP EX
ra si g bs. \
/ 4 PA J ra &

P \ “ame. ean’ Ry q

4 ~ hd - rd -

) ae
J a d ‘ 2 2 = =,
: 7 . ms a
a as 5
. a a a
¢ ' ». m™~ a5 a < ao
F he id \ A er
7 Fe

v.

(4

‘* \
ee

, . Neos . OG "~
~% \ \\ NS a ¥ eer
’ \ ; or > SARAe iS! & is °. ~

wamee
&
tC
v
“
ui
ro]

{
\
Pe
/ Va
/
f
te
oe
ae
VW
, Mw
bw»
{
aS
ie
7
‘@
'
j
:

wate
\
\
~*~
/
j
/
}
/s)
/
/
/
/
.
\
J
\
}
YY
Z
F
ao

*
\
/
j
/
J
/
/
f
\
\
\
\
\
\
\
\
\
r
/
2
pee
t

aN
/
/
;
f
\
4
\
\
ip

ee, Pe eee eee

Y
\
Yr

=>
=

“~~
~

bat Py arveres \

— i’
4
a
r
o
}
‘
,
°
ieee
\
7,
~
ba

:
i a 7 rot \ y; P a?° $%° GO
} J
' J 4
. ~ A see Pi
a i |
~ a Pd
y _— ee y ee ays Pk =
~ a = ? o ye a
i P rand ‘ * - ae Pd o" bs
“ ee =~ en ;
~ a nk a as —"
| ie ee
kK s 1 * Fa, ies ee a
' SA me og 4. 9 = Ss SS ae
t > : — oo
f PARIS H . es : -
‘ P ° «<= — ‘ ? -

J
4:
;' LA
a

TEAL. 4 3? uuD a2 Exnisir

19958 Sass Bt MAP NO. 85
— Pa ——— eere* 9

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1350%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
