# Appendix — Barrett v. Koren (No. 07-1233)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1305%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendix
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

qO ena 3 3 bene
(\) 07123 3MAR 25 2008
OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No.
October Term, 2008

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

STEPHEN BARRETT, M.D.
Petitioner

Versus

TEDD KOREN D.C. and
KOREN PUBLICATIONS, INC.
Respondent

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari
from the Order of the Pennsylvania Supreme
Court

APPENDIX TO PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES

Richard J. Orloski

Attorney ID# 09857
Attorney for Petitioner

111 N. Cedar Crest Blvd.
Allentown, PA 18104-4602
619 433-2363

TABLE OF CONTENT.

Order of Supreme Court of
Pennsylvania dated January 8, 2008
per curiam

Order and Opinion of Superior Court
of Pennsyivania dated June 11, 2007
before Ford Elliot, Bowes and
McEwen

Bowes Concu'ring & Dissenting
Opinion

Entry of Final Judgment dated
April 7, 2006

Pennsylvania Rule of Appellate
Procedure 1925(a) Statement
dated May 16, 2006

la

2a

26a

3la

32a

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
_MIDDLE DISTRICT

STEPHEN BARRETT, M.D. :NO. 502 MAL 2007

Petitioner :

V. :Petition For Allowance
TEDD KOREN and :of Appeal from the
KOREN PUBLICATIONS ~~ :Order of the Superior
INC. :Court

Respondents

ORDER

PER CURIAM

AND NOW, this 2" day of January, 2008, the
Petition for Allowance of Appeal is hereby DENIED.

TRUE & CORRECT COPY
ATTEST: January 2, 2008

Norina K. Blynn, Chief Clerk

la

NON-PRECEDENTIAL DECISION - SEE SUPERIOR
COURT 1.0.P. 65.37

STEPHEN BARRETT, M.D. ‘NO. 502 MAIL 2007

Appellant :

We -IN THE SUPERIOR COURT
TEDD KOREN and ‘OF PENNSYLVANIA
KOREN PUBLICATIONS _ :
INC. ‘NO. 1035 EDA 2006

Appellees :

Appeal from the Judgment entered April 7,
2006, in the Court of Common Pleas, Lehigh
County, Civil No. 2002-C-1837
BEFORE: FORD ELLIOTT, P.J. BOWES, J., and
McEWEN P.J.E.

MEMORANDUM: FILED JUNE 11, 2007
Appellant, Stephen Barrett, M.D. has taken this appeal
from the judgment entered in favor of Appellees, Tedd
Koren, D.C. ' and Koren Publications, Inc. following the
grant of appellees’ motion for directed verdict and

denial of appellant’s post-trial motions in this

2a

1 Doctor of Chiropractic Medicine

health at Penn State University. He donated
royalties from his first Dook to start a television
snow called 7a/k With Your Doctor to further
educate people in the Lehigh Valley. One of his
mail fraud investigations ultimately resulted in
passage of a federal law strengthening the U.S.
Postal Service’s ability to crack down on mail-
order health frauds. He has assisted the FBI,
State Attorney Generals, the Federal Trade
Commission and local law enforcement agencies
on similar matters, as both a paid and unpaid
consultant. Dr. Barrett has been a peer reviewer
for seven medical journals, including the Journa/
of the American medical Association. His
websites are the target of more than 100,000
hits each month. He has appeared on the Today
Show and CNN to educate on healthcare. He
earned numerous awards for his work.

After thirty-five years, at age sixty (60), Dr.
Barrett opted to inactivate his Pennsylvania
medical license in December, 1993. He was
voluntarily retiring, without any negative marks
upon his license or career. Dr. Barrett never had
his license taken away from him. He simply
chose to retire to an inactive status.

Appeliee Koren is [a chiropractor and] the

president of Appellee Koren Publications, Inc.

He publishes an_ electronic subscription

newsletter. He also publishes a free electronic
se

newsletter [of]which he is the sole author.
Inside this free newsletter, Appellee has
published several things pertaining to Dr.
Barrett...

Brief of Appellant, pp. 4-5

Appellee’s August, 2001 newsletter stated, in relevant

part:

Contents

Palmer

Fear and loathing in Rio de Janiero
Quackbusters Buste[d]

The Therapeutic State

Tedd Koren Patient Newsletter
February Unseminar

Vitamin K shots

Weird hospital stuff

Fascinating Letters from you

I just got back from Palmer Lyceuri...

WE OK ok

Speaking of Sportelli, there’s good news about
[plaintiff] Stephen Barrett, M.D., the de-
licensed quackbuster. Not good news for him,
but it’s pretty good for us.

Quackbusters Busted

Barrett and other ‘Quack Busters’ who have

made a career of attacking chiropractic and

other non-pharmaceutical health care arts have a
5a

very thin skin when they are attacked. Their
modus operandi is to attack, threaten and start
legal actions against those who don’t share their
bigotry...

..One person Christ[e]ned Stephen Barrett a
‘QuackPot’. It seems that this label drives him
especially crazy. (Let’s use it all the time when
referring to him.)...

But there’s more...(is this starting to sound
like a TV infomercial?).

Stephen Barrett, M.D., William Jarvis and the
entire Quackbuster gang including many of
Barrett’s business enterprises, associates and
organizations are being sued for $10 million
for racketeering, malicious prosecution,
abuse of process and other charges by New
Century Press...

But there’s more... 14 months ago I was told
about the above lawsuit. Barrett is now in
trouble. I can’t tell you more but I will keep
you abreast with the late breaking reports as the
case develops.

Tedd Koren’s August 2001 newsletter, Exhibit P-4

(emphasis supplied.

Appellant filed a complaint in defamation on

March 10, 2003. More than two years later, on October

10, 2005, a jury trial commenced and, at the close of

6a

appellees’ case, both parties moved for a directed

verdict. The trial court, on October 13, 2005, granted

appellees’ motion, and denied appellant’s motion, and

appellant thereafter filed post-trial motions seeking a

new trial, which were denied. This appeal followed;

Preliminarily, we note our standard of review:

When assessing the trial court’s denial of a
motion for new trial, we apply a deferential
Standard of review. The decision whether to
grant or deny a new trial is one that lies within
the discretion of the trial court. The appellate
court will not overturn such a decision unless the
trial court grossly abused its discretion or
committed an error of law that controlled the
outcome of the case.

McCandless v. Edwards 908 A.2d 900, 903

(Pa.Super. 2006) (citation omitted). In reviewing a trial

court’s decision to direct a verdict in favor of a

defendant,
we must view the evidence in the light most

favorable to the plaintiff in order to determine
7a

whether plaintiff failed to prove his case as a
matter of law. If a jury reasonably could have
concluded, on the basis of the evidence and all
reasonable inferences therefrom, that the
defendant was liable, then the directed verdict
must be reversed. Our review over questions of

law is, as always, plenary.
Id. (citation omitted).

In this case, appellant, as the plaintiff below, had

the burden to prove the elements of defamation”, and

further, as a public figure’ had to further dernonstrate

that the statements were made with actual malice:

8a

? In Pennsytvania, the uniform Single Publication Act prescribes
basic elements of the plaintiff's burden of proof in an action for
defamation. See 42 Pa. C.S. §§8341-8345. Section 8343 provides:

(a) Burden of plaintiff.--In an action for defamation, the
plaintiff has the burden of proving, when the issue is properly
raised: (1) The defamatory character of the communication.
(2) Its publication by the defendant.

(3) Its application to the plaintiff.

(4) The understanding by the recipient of its defamatory meaning.
(5) The understanding by the recipient of it as intended to be
applied to the plaintiff.

(6) special harm resulting to the plaintiff from its publication.
(7) Abuse of a conditionally privileged occasion.

42 Pa. C.S. §8434(a).

3 There is no dispute that appellant is a public figure.

When the plaintiff is a public figure,..., he must
prove that the statements he characterizes as
defamatory were made with actual malice,
that is, the speaker either knew that they
were false, or recklessly disregarded their

falsity. [ Tucker v. Philadelphia Daily News,
577 Pa. 598, 624, 848 A.2d 113, 130 (2004)]

The burden of proof imposed is substantial, as
‘[t]he actual malice standard goes so far as to
forbid imposition of liability even in those
instances where the defendant negligently
publishes false, defamatory statements about a
public figure or public official.” MWorton v.
Glenn, 580 Pa. 212, 860 A.2d 48, d56 (2004),
cert. denied, 544 U.S. 956, 125 S.Ct. 1700 161
L.Ed.2d 539 (2005). Indeed, ‘[fjailure to check
sources, or negligence alone, is _ simply
insufficient to maintain a cause of action for
defamation. Recklessness generally and in the
context of actual malice is not easily shown.”
Tucker, supra at 135. Moreover, establishment
of a defamation claim requires clear and
convincing evidence, the highest level of proof
for civil claims. Bartlett v. Bradford
Publishing, Inc. 885 A.2d 562, 566 (Pa. Super.
2005) (citation omitted). A showing of actual
malice requires “sufficient evidence to permit the
conclusion that the defendant in fact entertained
serious doubts as to the truth of his publication.”
Curran v. Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc.
$546 A.2d 639, 642 (Pa.Super. 1988), appeal
9a

denied 522 Pa. 576, 559 A.2d 37 (1989)
(quoting St. Amant v. Thompson, 390 U.S.
727, 731, [88 S.Ct. 1323, 20 L.Ed.2d- 262]
(1968).

Blackwell v. Eskin 2007 Pa. Super 20 at 46 (Pa.
Super. 2007) (emphasis supplied).

The trial court granted appellees’ motion for
directed verdict based on the conclusion that appellant,
a public figure, could not establish actual malice.
Specifically, the trial court determined that appellant
could not meet his burden since (1) the statements
“quackpot” and “in trouble were merely opinion, (2) the
statement ‘racketeering lawsuit for 10 million” wasn't
proven to be false, and (3) the statement that appellant
was “de-licensed” was taken by Appellee from another
author’s website, without serious doubts as to its truth
or falsity. The trial court concluded that on this record
there was not sufficient evidence presented to permit

10a

the conclusion by a jury, by clear and convincing
evidence, that defendant, in fact, entertained serious
doubts as to the truth of any of his publications. See:
N.T. October 13, 2005. p. 19.

Appellant, in challenging the decision of the trial
court that granted appellees’ motion for a directed
verdict, claims that he established actual malice as
follows: (1) “appellee’s ill will toward appellant
provide[d} a motive for appellee’s reckless disregard for
the truth of his statements” (2) “Appellee made his
statements with knowledge that they were false or with
reckless disregard of their truth or falsity, (3) Koren’s
use of the word ‘delicensed’ was intended to mean that
Barrett’s license was involuntarily taken away,” and (4)
“the trial court improperly condoned appellee’s attempt

lla

* At trial, appellant testified that he had retired and place his
license on “inactive’ status. N.T. October 11, 2005. p. 71.

to sanitize the publication of the ‘de-licensed’ statement

by claiming he simply took the statement from another

author's writings.°

Specifically, appellant contends that Appellees
“had a high degree of awareness that their publication
contained falsehoods.°® Appellant argues that
“[a]lthough “delicensed” is not really a word, the clear
implication of placing “de” in front of “licensed” when
referring to a doctor is that the doctor’s license was
taken away.’ In support of his position, appellant, at
trial, introduced Tedd Koren’s deposition testimony. In
his deposition Appellee Koren testified that he had been
a licensed chiropractor in West Virginia and
Pennsylvania, and that had let his West Virginia license
lapse by not paying the fees and not attending the

12a

> Brief of Appellant, pp. 12-17
© Id. p. 13
7 Id. p. 14.

required post-graduate education. Appellant’s counsel

then asked Koren “Well, were you de-licensed by West
Virginia? In response, Appellee answered “no-I just
stopped paying the fees.® Appellant claims that this
testimony demonstrates that Appellee intended to
convey that appeliant’s “delicens[ing]” was involuntary
and not related to lapsing.

We have carefully rev.cwed these arguments, but
are not persuaded of their merit. It is well settled that
‘evidence of ill will or a defendant’s desire to harm the
plaintiffs reputation, although probative of the
defendant’s state of mind, without more, does not
establish ‘actual malice”. Blackwell v. Eskin, supra
2007 Pa. Super at 910, quoting Lewis v. Philadelphia
Newspapers, Inc. 833 A.2d 553 (2004). Furthe;,

13a

8 N.T. October 10, 2005, pp. 154-156.

ever accepting appellant’s position that Appellee

uridersteod the word “de-licensed to mean an
involuntary loss of license, the trial court properly
determined that “delicensed” which the parties
stipulated is a made-up word,’ was adopted by
appellant from the website of another author, that he
had his own understanding of the word, and that he
had no reason to believe this information was false.
Although appellant argues that Appellee, a licensed
health care professional, should have checked with the
licensing boards before republishing the statement
“delicensed” this argument fails since, as this Court
pointed out in Blackwell, supra “|e|jven were
Appellee to be deemed negligent for failure to
investigate, either by obtaining independent

14a

° See N.T. October 11, 2005, pp. 103-104.

confirmation of his information or consulting other

possibly more reliable sources, that finding would be
insufficient to demonstrate actual malice.” Blackwell
v. Eskin, supra, 2007 PA Super 20 at 49 (citation
omitted).

Appellant also argues that the trial court erred
“in isolating appellees’ alleged defamatory comments
instead of construing them as a whole.’? Specifically,
appellant argues that the implied meaning of Koren’s
statement that “14 months ago I was told about the
above lawsuit.[;] Barrett is now in trouble[/]” is that
Koren “knew the details of the sit, was privy to its
planning and believed that the suit was justified.” ™
Appellant claims that the cross examination testimony

15a

© Brief of Appellant, p. 17.
“ Id. p. 18.

of Koren, demonstrates that he did not know of the —

lawsuit 14 months before it was filed.’2 Accordifig to

appellant, Appeilee “falsely suggested that he was
familiar with the facts” of the lawsuit.”

In determining whether there is clear and
convincing evidence of actual malice, the statements
must be read in context. Refter v. Manna, 647 A.2d
562, 566 (Pa. Super. 1994), citing Baker v. Lafayette
College, 516 Pa. 291, 532 A.2d 399 (1987). Here, the
record reflects that the trial judge did properly consider
the statements in context in making his ruling. The
learned Judge J. Brian Johnson, in his on-the-record

ruling on appellees’ motion for directed verdict, stated:

16a

12 Td pp. 18-19.
‘3 Tdp. 19.

With regard to “quackpot,” this is something
that is not capable of being true or false. It is
name-calling. And under the caselaw, name-
calling, no matter how offensive’* is not
actionable. So we move to the next one.

“De-licensed.” The defendant heard this--or
read this, I should say, from another author,
Tim Bolen, and copied Bolen’s writing to his
website and e-mail and repeated the term.

There is no evidence that he entertained
serious doubts as to the truth or falsity of this
term. He had his own understanding, he
accepted the term from Bolen, he had heard it
before, he accepted his understanding without
question. So there is no evidence that he
entertained serious doubts as to the truth of
the term.

With regard to the “racketeering suit for 10
million dollars”, there was no proof provided by
the plaintiff that a racketeering suit for 10
million dollars was not filed. There’s no
requirement by the defendant that he
investigate. There is o evidence that he
entertained serious doubts as to the truth of
this statement before he published it.

17a

4 The appellant is certainly an aggrieved party. Moreover, the ill
will of Appellee is apparent as is his desire to harm the reputation

of appellant. Nevertheless, as we have hereinabove noted, this
Court has dearly established that such conduct, however
repugnant, without more, does not equate to “actual malice.”

Finally, the phrase, “in trouble” in reference
fo the 10 million-dollar lawsuit, is an
opinion. Only statements of fact, not
expressions of opinion, can support a
defamation action. There is a distinction here
with opinions, depending upon whether they
are based on facts, if the facts are expressed.

Let me go back to that.

A simple expression of opinion based on
disclosed or assumed non-defamatory facts is
not sufficient for an action of defamation, no
matter how [un]justified and unreasonable the
opinion may be or how derogatory it is.

The opinion “in trouble” flows from the
Statement about the racketeering suit.
That is a disclosed fact, and we have
determined it to be a non-defamatory fact. So
this is important because of the context of the
opinion. And we need to deal with that, which
we have now done.

N.T. October 13, 2005, pp. 17-18 (emphasis
supplied)

We discern no basis upon which to disagree with

this quite precise, clear and cogent analysis, and find,

contrary to the argument of appellant, that the trial

18a

court properly considered the statements in context in

determining whether appellant had established a
defamation action against Appellees. We simply add
that Koren’s non-defamatory embellishment, namely,
that he was told “14 months ago, about the lawsuit,
along with his opinion that appellant was “in trouble”,
cannot subject Appellees to liability.

Nor do we find merit in the argument of
appellant that he established actual malice because
Appellees kept the information on the website after
appellant requested a retraction. Specifically, appellant
argues that after he informed Appellee that he was not
“de-licensed” Appellee was “acting with actual malice
when he kept false information on his website.”!> As
the trial judge correctly noted, the United States

19a

‘5 Brief of Appellant. p. 21

Supreme Court, in Mew York Times Company v.

Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 84 S.Ct. 710, 11 L.Ed.2d 686
(1964), held that a defendant’s failure to retract a
defamatory statement complained of is not adequate
evidence of actual malice for constitutional purposes.
The trial court further explained:
[W]hen you talk about what he [Appellee]
believed, just because Dr. Barrett asked for the
retraction, that didn’t necessarily mean that Dr.
Koren agreed with him.
And again we go back to the measure that it is
not what a reasonable person would do, it is
what Koren actually believed and he still
believed those things were true.
N.T. October 13, 2005, pp. 23-24.
As we agree with the trial judge, we find that appellant
failed to show actual malice based on appellees’ refusal
to issue a retraction.

Lastly, appellant complains that the “the granting

20a

of a directed verdict in favor of Appellees violates the

sanction order of the court.'© Appellant claims that the
trial court erred by not enforcing its own discovery
sanction order, and by refusing to permit appellant to
read into evidence statements that had been ruled
admitted as a result of appellees’ failure to comply with
discovery rules.
During discovery, in July, 2003, appellant filed a
Third Request for Admissions which sought admissions
from Appellee, including the following:
1. I know of no evidence that the racketeering
suit filed in 2001 against appellant was
justified.

2. I know of no evidence that appellant is or
was delicensed.

3. I know of no evidence that appellant was
ever disciplined by the Pennsylvania Board
of Medicine.

21a

16 Id,

Appellee did not respond or object to this discovery
request, and ten months later, on April 24, 2004, the
trial court entered the following order:
IT IS ORDERED that the matters regarding
which the questions were asked shail be taken
to be established for the purposes of the action
in accordance with the claims of plaintiff...
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that defendants are
prohibited from opposing the claims of
appellant at trial...
Subsequently, at trial the trial court sustained appellees’
belated objections to appellant’s Third Request For
Admissions, finding that the admissions improperly

asked for conclusions of law based on the use of the

word “evidence” and therefore they were not

admissions by definition. The trial court precluded
appellant from reading the Third Request For
Admissions into evidence and, at the close of appellees’
case, granted appellees’ motion for a directed verdict.

22a

Appellant argues that the trial court violated its
order of April 27, 2004, order, which had imposed
sanctions on Appellees for failure to respond to
discovery. Specifically, appellant contends that “the
trial court failed to follow its own order prohibiting

Appellees from opposing claims in unanswered

discovery requests.” In support of his position,

appellant relies on the “law of the case” doctrine. This
Court, however, rejected a similar argument in
Gateway Towers Condominium Association v.
Krohn, 845 A.2d 855 (Pa. Super. 2004):

The doctrine of law of the case provides that if
an appellate court has considered and decided
a question on appeal, neither that court nor
any trial court may revisit that question during
another phase of the same case. See PPG
Indus., Inc. v. Commonwealth Bd. of Fin.,
567 Pa. 580, 790 A.2d 261 267 n. 11 (2001);
Peden v. Gambone Bros. Dev. Corp., 798
23a

7 Td at 24.

A.2d 305, 310 (Pa. Cmwith. 2002). “The
doctrine is designed to promote judicial
economy, uniformity of decision making,
protect the settled expectations of the parties,
maintain the consistency of the litigation and
end the case.” Peden, 798 A.2d at 310.
Significantly, however, the doctrine applies
only to the actions of an appellate court, see
Tarantino v. Kutztown Univ., 654 A.2d 115,
117 (Pa. Cmwith. 1995), and cannot be applied
to prevent a trial judge from reconsidering his
or her prior ruling, see Farber v. Engle, 106
Pa. Cmmw. 173, 525 A.2d 864, 866 (Pa.
Cmwith. 1987). Although the _ related
“coordinate jurisdiction” rule may prevent one
trial judge from revising the rulings of another
trial judge on the same question, that rule
applies only where a second judge purports to
review the order cf a different judge. See
Leoni v. Whitpain Twp., 708 A.2d 999, 1001
(Pa. Cmwith 1998). Jt does not prevent a
judge from re-examining and correcting
his or her own rulings. See id.

Id. 845 A.2d at 861 (emphasis supplied). As the “law

of the case” doctrine is not controlling, and appellant

has not stated any other basis for this Court to conclude
that the trial court erred, we find that this argument

24a

presents no basis upon which to grant relief.

Having reviewed the contentions of appellant, and
finding that they present no grounds upon which to
overturn the decision of the trial judge, we affirm the
judgment entered upon the directed verdict in favor of
Appellee.

Judgment affirmed.

BOWES, J. FILES A CONCURRING AND DISSENTING
MEMORANDUM.

Judgment Entered.

Prothonotary

STEPHEN BARRETT, M.D. :NO. 502 MAL 2007
Appellant ;
V. ‘IN THE SUPERIOR COURT
TEDD KOREN and >OF PENNSYLVANIA
KOREN PUBLICATIONS ~ :
INC. -NO. 1035 EDA 2006
Appellees :

25a

Appeal from the Judgment entered April 7,
2006, in the Court of Common Pleas, Lehigh
County, Civil No. 2002-C-1837
BEFORE: FORD ELLIOTT, P.J. BOWES, J., and
McEWEN P.J.E.
MEMORANDUM: FILED JUNE 11, 2007
I concur with the majority’s decision in this case

with one exception. I believe Appellees’ publication of

the information that Appellant was “de-licensed” was

capable of defamatory meaning. I further believe that

it was published with actual malice once Appellees were
informed that Appellant had not been de-licensed and
yet failed to remove that assertion from their website or
otherwise indicate on the website that it was incorrect.
Hence, the question of whether Appellant was defamed
with respect to the continued publication that he had

been de-licensed should have been submitted to the

jury.

Our Supreme Court delineated whether a

publication can have defamatory meaning as follows:

To determine whether a statement is capable
of a defamatory meaning, we consider whether
the statement “tends so to harm the reputation
of another as to lower him in the estimation of
the community or to deter third parties from
associating or dealing with him.” Birf v.
Philadelphia Elec. Co., 402 Pa. 297167 A.2d
472, 475 (1960) (quoting RESTATEMENT
(FIRST) OF TORTS, §559 (1989). “Libel is the
malicious publication of printed or written
matter which tends to blacken a person’s
reputation and expose him to public hatred,
contempt or ridicule.” Schnabel v. Meredith,
378 Pa. 609, 107 A.2d 860, 862 (1954); see
also Corabi v. Curtis Publishing Co. 441
Pa. 432, 273 A.2d 899, 904 (1971) (same).
“The court must view the statements in
context.” Baker v. Lafayette College 516
Pa. 291, 532 A.2d 399, 402 (1987).

Words which standing alone may reasonably
be understood as defamatory may be so
explained or qualified by their context as to
make such an interpretation unreasonable.
Thus, we must consider the full context of the
article to determine the effect the article is
fairly calculated to produce, the impression it
would naturally engender, in the minds of the
27a

average persons among whom it is intended to
circulate.

Thomas Merton, 442 A.2d at 216. “It is not
enough that the victim of the statements be
embarrassed or annoyed, he must have
suffered the kind of harm which has grievously
fract 'red his standing in the community of
respectable society.” Scott-Taylor, Inc. v.
Stokes, 425 Pa. 426, 229 A.2d 733, 734
(1967)

Tucker v. Philadelphia Daily News, 577 Pa. 598,

615, 848 A.2d 113, 124 (2004).

In the present case, the entire article about
Appeliant was derogatory. It referred to him as a

quack pot, and indicated that he was the defendant in
a potentially meritorious multi-million lawsuit and was
“now in trouble”. While the first assertion was an
opinion and the latter was true when published, even
though the lawsuit was subsequently withdrawn, the
article continued by stating that Appellant was de-
licensed. Viewed contextually in this critical article,
“de-licensed” unequivocally conveyed that Appellant’s
license to practice medicine had been revoked by the
pertinent medical authority. This statement was false
since Appellant had voluntarily let his license lapse,
which, as Ted Koren admitted at his deposition, is not
being “de-licensed.” That term devalued Appellant’s
professional status, diminished his community

28a

standing, and would discourage association with him
by people in the field; it was defamatory. Jd.
(newspaper article was defamatory because it
incorrectly implied that community activists were overly
interested in money and sex, which would lessen their
reputation in the community and likelihood that
members of community would want to associate with
them); MacElree v. Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc.
544 Pa. 117, 674 A.2d 1050, 1054 (1996) (publication
that implied plaintiff in defamation suit was abusing his
elected office and was racist was defamatory because
it accused plaintiff of professional misconduct).

Furthermore, Appellees were informed that

Appellant had not been delicensed but then failed to

remove this information from their website or otherwise
indicate therein that the information was incorrect. In
my view, the continued appearance of the information
on the website was not the equivalent of failing to print
a retraction. A newspaper is printed once and then
archived. On the other hand, when information is
placed on a website and not removed, it remains readily
available and reviewed, and hence, continues to be

29a

published. By retaining that information on their
website without indicating that the fact was incorrect,
Appellees published the information with actual
knowledge that it was false. The internet can be a
dangerous tool, and when someone is informed that
information detrimental to a person’s professional
standing is factually wrong, the person who chooses to
maintain that information on their website should not

be permitted to do so with impunity. When this

comment is viewed in a light most favorable to

Appellant as we must, I find that a jury could
reasonably have concluded that the defendant was
liable. Hence, in my view, this defamation action should
not have been removed from consideration by the jury.
I therefore respectfully dissent.

30a

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF LEHIGH
COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA - CIVIL DIVISION

STEPHEN BARRETT M.D.:
Plaintiff :CIVIL ACTION
vs. :NO. 12002-C -1837
TEDD KOREN D.C. and :
KOREN PUBLICATIONS :
INC. Defendants :

‘NOTICE OF FILING JUDGMENT

NOTICE is hereby given that a Final Judgment in the

above captioned matter has been entered on April 7,
2006.

A copy of all documents filed with the Clerk of Court in
support of the within judgment are enclosed.

Andrea E. Naugle, Clerk of Court

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF LEHIGH
COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA - CIVIL DIVISION

STEPHEN BARRETT M.D.:
Plaintiff :CIVIL ACTION
vs. :NO. 12002-C -1837
TEDD KOREN D.C. and :
KOREN PUBLICATIONS :
INC. Defendants :

PENNSYLVANIA RULE OF APPELLATE
PROCEDURE 1925(a) STATEMENT

AND NOW, this 16 day of May, 2006, the undersigned

enters the following statement pursuant’ to
Pennsyivania Rule of Appellate Procedure 1925(a):
A. INTRODUCTION

On October 13, 2005, at the close of the
evidence in a jury trial and upon consideration of the
Defendants’ Motion For Directed Verdict, this Court
entered an Order, for the reasons set forth on the
record, granting said motion. At the same time, upon
consideration -of the Plaintiff's Motion For Directed

32a

Verdict, this Court entered an Order for the reasons set
forth on the record, denying said motion. The Plaintiff
immediately made an oral motion for reconsideration
which this Court denied on October 13, 2005.

On October 21, 2005, the Plaintiff filed a motion
for post-trial relief. After delays due to transcription of
the record, a continuance request by the Defendant
due to vacation and two (2) requests by the Plaintiff

for extension of time to file a brief in support of his

motion for post-trial relief, argument was ultimately

held on March 29, 2006. By Order dated march 31,
2006, this court denied the Plaintiff’s post-trial motions.
On April 7, 2006, the Plaintiff filed a Praecipe For
Judgment for entry of judgment in favor of the
defendants and against the Plaintiff in zero amount.
On April 12, 2006, the Plaintiff filed an appeal from the

33a

judgment entered in this matter on April 7, 2006 with
the Superior Court of Pennsylvania at Docket number
1035 EDA 2006. On April 18, 2006, this Court entered
an Order directing the Plaintiff to file a Concise
Statement of Matters Complained of on Appeal

pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. 1925(b). On April 26, 2006, the

Plaintiff filed a “Statement Of Issues”. Each of these

issues will now be addressed individually.

B. DISCUSSION OF THE PLAINTIFF'S
STATEMENT OF ISSUES.

1. Whether or not the Trial Court erred as a
matter of law in directing a_ verdict for
Defendants against the Plaintiff?

The Court fully addressed this issue on the record as
reflected in the Notes of Testimony of October 13,
2005, pages 8 to 25.

2. Whether or not the evidence viewed most
favorably to the Plaintiff that: 1) the
communication was defamatory; 2) the
defendants published the communication; 3) the
communication applied to Plaintiff; 4) the

34a

communication injured the Plaintiff; 5)
Defendants published the communication with
actual malice; and 6) the actual malice was
established because, after notice of the falsity of
the Internet communication, the Defendants
continually posted it on the web site?

The Court fully addressed this issue on the record as
reflected I the Notes of Testimony of October 13, 2005,
pages 8 to 25.

3... Whether or not the Trial Court erred by

dissecting the multiple defamatory words,
instead of construing the communication as a

whole as required by Rutt v. Bethlehem's Globe

Publishing Company. 335 Pa. Sup. 163,484 A.2d
72 (1984)?

The Court fully addressed this issue on the
record as reflected in the Notes of Testimony of
October 13, 2005, pages 8 to 19 (in particular pages 15
to 19).

the Plaintiff asserts that ail of the alleged

defamatory statements, “quack pt”, “de-licensed”,

“racketeering suit for a million dollars” and “in trouble”

35a

must be read together, based on the holding in Rutt v.

Bethlehem’s Globe Publishing Company 335 Pa. Super.
163, 484 A.2d 72 (1984). However, Rutt states that

alleged defamatory words in an article must be read in
the context of that article.

In Rutt, the challenged article was an extended
obituary of the appellant’s son, who died as a result of a
self-inflicted gunshot wound and the language at issue
was “[c]ity police said [the victim] apparently shot
himself to death with a rifle belonging to his father at
the home of [friends], a couple of days after the
victim’s father asked him to leave his home...” The Rutt
Court decided that for the purposes of determining
whether the newspaper article was defamatory, the
article must be construed as a whole, and each word

36a

must be read in the context of the other words.

The context in which each statement was made
was considered by the Court in its analysis of whether
any of these statements were capable of defamatory
meaning. Unlike the situation in Rutt, where the Court
decided that the above quoted language, when read in
the context of the entire article, was defamatory
because it gave the article in inference that the victim
shot himself because of his father, the statements at
issue in the instant case do not depend on each other
for their individual meanings and inferences. The
Plaintiff offers no authority for the argument that all of

the alleged defamatory statements must be read

together. These were separate statements, each

appearing in separate articles and therefore having their
own context. Only “racketeering suit for a million

37a

dollars” and “in trouble” were used in the same article

and relate to each other, namely, the “in trouble”

statement appears to relate back to the “racketeering
Suit for a million dollars statement and appears to be
saying that Barrett is in trouble because he was sued in
a racketeering suit for a million dollars. The Court
considered this context when it made its ruling.

Even when read together, the statements at
issue in this case are incapable of a defamatory
meaning. Nothing about the statements changes when
they are read together versus being read separately.
Whether read separately or together, the statements
“quackpot”, “delicensed” and racketeering suit for a
million dollars” and “in trouble” are incapable of
defamatory meaning for the reasons stated on the

record as cited above.

4. Whether or not the evidence viewed most
favorably to the. Plaintiff established that
Defendants knew that the defamatory
statements were false, or with reckless disregard
of their truth or falsity, particularly where the
Defendant, Koren was a licensed health care
practitioner, and he was using a made-up word--
delicensed--to describe Dr. Barrett?

The Court fully addressed this issue on the
record as reflected in the Notes of Testimony of October
13, 2005 pages 8 to 25.

5. Whether or not the testimony of defendant,
Dr. Koren, that he had “ill will” towards the
Plaintiff plus keeping the defamatory information

on the web-site is evidence of “actual malice”?

The Court fully addressed this issue on the record as
reflected in the Notes of Testimony of October 13, 2005
pages 8 to 25.

6. Whether or not the defense by a licensed
health care professional that he was using a
made-up perjorative word about the Plaintiff-
delicensed- merely because someone else used it
eliminates “actual malice”?

The Court fully addressed this issue on the record as
reflected in the Notes of Testimony of October 13, 2005
pages 8 to 25.

39a

6. Whether or not the fact that Plaintiff's counsel
received an admission from Defendant that his
communication was _ false-knew about the
lawsuit 14 months before it happened-is
evidence of actual malice? [Plaintiff's
“Statement Of Issues” contains two different
issues identified as number 6)

The Court: fully addressed this issue on the record as
reflected in the Notes of Testimony of October 13, 2005
pages 8 to 25.

7. Whether or not the Court erred as a matter of
law in not allowing the unanswered “third
request for admissions” into evidence which
facts clearly established “actual malice”?

The Court fully addressed this issue on the record as
reflected in the Notes of Testimony of October 13, 2005
pages 33 to 37.

The Court did not allow the Plaintiff's Third
Request For Admissions into evidence because the
Court granted the Defendants’ objections to said
admissions as they were conclusions of law, and

therefore they were not the proper subject of

40a

admissions.

The Court found that use of the word “evidence”
in the Plaintiffs Third Request For Admissions was
improper, as it required the Defendants to make a legal
determination of what is evidence; a decision which
must be made by a judge. The Court found that the
Plaintiff should have used language such as “facts,
documents, records and those such things”.

As to the issue of the timeliness of the
Defendants’ objections, the Court found that while the
objections were not made within thirty (30) days, if the
requests are improper and if they are not provided for
under the Rules and_the caselaw, then they are not
really requests for admissions in the first place.
Therefore, the procedural rules guiding admissions are

4la

inapplicable and the Court could, and in fact was
required to, address the defendants’ objections when
they were voiced at trial.

8. Whether or not the Trial Court eviscerated its
own order of April 27, 2004 ordering that
“...Defendants are prohibited from opposing the
claim of Plaintiff at trial...” by allowing the
Defendants to defend, despite not providing
timely discovery responses?

The Court fully addressed this issue on the
record as reflected in the Notes of Testimony of October
10, 2005, pages 50 to 68.

The Court’s decision to allow the Defendants to
present a defense at trial is moot. The Court did not
base its decision to grant the Defendants’ Motion for
Directed Verdict on the defense presented. The Court
based its decision on the fact that the alleged
defamatory statements were incapable of a defamatory

meaning and that, therefore, the Plaintiff was unable to

42a

present a prima facie case of defamation. Therefore,
the evidence and testimony presented by _ the
Defendants had no bearing on the Court’s decision to
grant the Motion For Directed Verdict, and this issue is
moot.

Even if the issue were not moot, it is the Court's
strong position that it did, in fact, interpret and enforce
its own April 27, 2004 Order properly. Relevant
portions of the Order state that “the matters regarding
which the questions were asked shall be taken to be
established for the purposes of the action in accordance
with the claims of the Plaintiff...” and that the
“Defendants are prohibited from opposing the claims of
Plaintiff at trial and from introducing in evidence
designated documents, things or testimony.” The Court

did not inte: .d this Order to preclude the Defendant

43a

from opposing any claims by the Plaintiff, but only those

directly related to the unanswered discovery requests
propounded on the Defendants by the Plaintiff. When
reading the above language as a whole, it is the Court's
position that the Order reflects that intention.
Therefore, the Court did, in fact, properly interpret and
enforce its own Order.

The Plaintiff raised this issue in his Motion For
Post-Trial Relief, which motion the Court denied. In
that motion, the Plaintiff made four arguments based
on his interpretation of the April 27, 2004 Order: (1)
that the Plaintiff was entitled--at a minimum--to a
binding instruction at the close of the case, as
requested by the Plaintiff, that the Defendants could not
oppose the status of the Plaintiff’s testimony concerning

44a

Plaintiff's claim that the California racketeering lawsuit
was groundless; (2) that by failing to enforce its own
Order, the Plaintiff was denied the opportunity to
present his case before the jury; (3) that if the trial
court enforced the Order, the trial court would have
permitted the Plaintiff to read into evidence the
Plaintiff's Request For Admission No. 3; and (4) that if
the trial court enforced the Order, the Defendant's
Motion For Directed Verdict would have been properly
denied. The Court will address each of these
arguments.

Even if argument (1) were true, that the Plaintiff

was entitled to a binding instruction at the close of the

case regarding the Plaintiff's license and _ the
racketeering lawsuit, it would be harmless error. Such
a binding instruction to the jury regarding the Plaintiff's

45a

testimony about his license and as to the Plaintiff's
claim that the California racketeering lawsuit was
groundiess would not necessarily have been enough for
a jury to conclude that the defendants were liable for
defamation.

In the Plaintift’s second argument that, were the
Court to enforce the Order as the Plaintiff interpreted
it, rather than as the Court intended and applied it, the

Plaintiff would have had the opportunity to present his

case to the jury. The Plaintiff did, in fact, present his

case to the jury. After that opportunity, the Court
granted the Directed Verdict.

The Plaintiff's third argument that, “if the trial
court enforced the Order, the trial court wouid have
permitted the Plaintiff to read into evidence the
Plaintiff's Request For Admission No. 3” is misplaced

46a

entirely. The Court reiterates that it did enforce its
Order, just not as the Plaintiff would have preferred it to
be enforced. The Court’s decision to preclude the
Plaintiff from reading the Plaintiffs Request For
Admission No. 3 into evidence was not based in any
way on its Order. It was based on the fact that the
Court granted the Defendants’ objections to the
admissions because they improperly asked for legal
conclusions.

The Plaintiff's fourth and final argument that if
the Court had enforced the Order, the Motion For
Directed Verdict would have been denied, is erroneous
as well. Admittedly, if the Court had enforced the Order
as the Plaintiff is interpreting it, that the Defendants
could not oppose any or the Plaintiff's claims and that

the Plaintiff's Request For Admissions No. 3 should have

47a

been read into evidence, then the Plaintiff might be
right. However, the Court did enforce its Order, in the
context of how it was written and as the Court intended
it to be enforced. The Order did not preclude the
Defendants from opposing every claim of the Plaintiff,
but only those specifically addressed by the Plaintiff in
his discovery requests and left unanswered by the

Defendants. Regarding the Plaintiff's Request For

Admission No. 3, the Court precluded the admissions

from being read into evidence because the admissions
improperly asked for legal conclusions and therefore
they were not admissions by definition.

BY THE COURT:

J. Brian Johnson, J.

48a

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1305%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
