# Opposition Brief — Rosenruist-Gestao E Servicos, LDA v. Virgin Enterprises, Ltd. (No. 07-1214)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1288%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

FILED
APR 23 2008

NO-07-1214
GPCL OF theo
' SUPREME COURT US .
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

ROSENRUIST-GESTAO E SERVICOS LDA,
Petitioner,
—against—
VIRGIN ENTERPRISES LIMITED,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JAMES W. DABNEY
Counsel of Record
1 New York Plaza
New York, New York 10004

(212) 859-8000
JOHN F: DUFFY MITCHELL E.. EPNER
FRIED, FRANK, HARRIS, VICTORIA J.B. DOYLE

SHRIVER & JACOBSON LLP FRIED, FRANK, HARRIS,
1001 Pennsylvania Ave., NW SHRIVER & JACOBSON LLP
Washington, DC 20004 New York, New York 10004
Of Counsel

Attorneys for Respondent
April 2, 2008

215334 g

COUNSEL PRESS
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

QUESTION PRESENTED

Petitioner is the applicant party in a trademark
opposition case entitled Virgin Enterprises Ltd. v.
Rosenruist-Gestao E Servicos Sociedade Unipessoal
LDA, No. 91161535, which is currently pending be-
fore the United States Trademark Trial and Appeal
Board of the United States Patent and Trademark
Office (the “Opposition Case”). In the proceedings
below, the Petitioner was served with a subpoena in
Arlington, Virginia and commanded to appear for a
trial testimony deposition in the Opposition Case,
but Petitioner refused to appear for deposition even
though (i) Petitioner is making the claim whose va-
lidity is the subject of the Opposition Case, and (ii)
Petitioner has appeared in, taken discovery in, filed
motions in, opposed summary judgment in, and ex-
tensively cross-examined Respondent’s witnesses at
the trial of the Opposition Case.

The question presented is: whether the Fourth
Circuit correctly held, in the particular and unusual
circumstances of this case, that the district court
“should have granted VEL’s motion to compel” (Pet.
App. 14a) and ordered this Petitioner to appear for a
trial testimony deposition in the Opposition Case.

ii

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Respondent (“VEL”) is an indirect wholly-owned
subsidiary of Virgin Group Holdings Limited, a cor-
poration existing under the laws of The British Vir-
gin Islands.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED sivceicssicssssvectecssccssssvesesessuceseonsvs
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT................. li

FR PRREEOME (IE: GATE EMITEE LID grvitvencncnevscocaseetassosiienteoyosansee

STATEMENT OF THE CASE. .......cccccccsosssscoscssecesesonacens
The Petitioners Application ..............cescssscccssscsoseseees

Petitioner Appoints Representatives and
Submits to Jurisdiction in the United

Petitioner Prosecutes the Application
Through United States Representatives..................

Petitioner Refuses to Appear Voluntarily
for Deposition in Its Home Country of
Poncho tisk vacac cies eels Rew AAR wid tics ined abscedneunne

Petitioner Is Subpoenaed to Appear for
Deposition in the United States ............... cece

Petitioner’s Motion to Quash ...................ccccecceeeee eee

Petitioner Is Sanctioned for Failing to
Attend Its Own Deposition ............... cc eceeeeeereseneeeeees

Respondent’s Motion to Compel ...................0ccceeeees

Respondent’s Appeal to the Fourth Circuit

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS
(Cont'd)
The Fourth Circuit’s Decision. ...............cccccsccceesseees 14
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ............. 16

I. PETITIONER’S FAILURE TO CROSS-
APPEAL BARS CONSIDERATION OF
THE QUESTIONS “PRESENTED.”.............0:0:0008 17

II. THE QUESTIONS “PRESENTED” ARE
NOT, IN FACT, PRESENTED BY THIS

III. THE QUESTIONS “PRESENTED” ARE
PECULIAR TO THIS HIGHLY UNUSUAL

IV.THE DECISION BELOW DOES NOT
CONFLICT WITH THAT OF ANY

REI SEED ES Svnsvr casi nscn sna shtnsevosssvneescsencsosse ces svi 23
V. THE DECISION BELOW IS CLEARLY

Re adr cacetins sau usetis edie ovamasvaoush Vad exo en iabireckewsaudas 24
EN kia scrncccannccicnesuntsdesevovgsieaicsiedeinnienanicneeiin 28

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Doster v. Carl Schenk A.G.,

141 F.R.D. 50 (M.D.N.C. 1991)...............

El Paso Natural Gas Co. v. Neztsosie,

EE SES CRI) visicensvesceceetescesionsoesesice

Medinol Ltd. v. Neuro Vasx Inc.,

67 U.S.P.Q. 2d 1205 (T.T.A.B. 2003)......

Mississippi Publishing Corp. v. Murphree,

326 U.S. 438 (194G)........ceresesesesnees gpeseceoeces

Morley Construction Co. v. Maryland
Casualty Co.,

DPS SFG, BO AGG) cscctvcicniveccesecdsorssavevenes

Neirbo v. Bethlehem Shipbuilding Corp.,

IS Shad BIRO EWE) cccnccnessenanecessssrsconcnensisn

Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. County of Kent,
Michigan,

Te RN CAIUS vbr nicinsainiantsnsnaisapreenents

Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospa-
tiale v. United States District Court for
the S. District of Iowa,

BED FI BA GRE D ovesecyniscsaratessenivensntnnenis

Page(s)

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(Cont'd)

Page(s)

Triple Crown America Inc. v. Biosynth AG,
1998 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 6117 (E.D. Pa.
FE A, Iii cep ovvabancnssdipnsbedbicnrdavbvineceqensteviawen 9

United States v. American Ry. Express
Cs re Fe i celesadeecaberdodeiu dastcbewsasccvevesecennes 18

Virgin Enterprises Ltd. v. Rosenruist-
Gestao E Servicos Sociedade Unipes-
soal LDA, No. 91161535 (T.T.A.B.,
FEN ES SE EE once ise ciincdsccwnnstaisicnasneceuds 1, 5, 21

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(Cont’d)
age(s
FEDERAL STATUTES

15 U.S.C. § 1051(b)(3)(B).........cereesreeererceeserees passim
Fe hase PO shivisincs theoccclecascenansseseiesnvevones passim
BE FE RED esas iesesshcevccinssssgoaivictiadedeanstouns 2, 27
RE Te IE ida bvsdnen es dtenssicsedscoayaecesjenavuevactenttens 2,5
TS TRA NTI stivccedeavecipes cetdcuivisasteniajcctotaccmpvasuneh 25
See RE ay TIE Winans dats hapa nielsenncuiecibreocees tevees passim

RULES
SF Ct BB, ivi cs itncasspecssessecsssvevesinneonsiays 6, 24
BF a BND iste sos chvekscssnrevicdssennvenssonioycase’ 6, 24
Be ie iC As Be ihn ade tesa ses neinienapsainadonssobods 6, 24, 25
BE ee Ne so NE pe ckaavancidsrersesnccessanceiietieh passim
FO. Fe SAM BGG) vocccescsivecresncssenssensets 9, 16, 26
POG, Fs Be FI sis Sap ovcctansesnenncigartacoraensn 10, 13

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case relates to a trademark opposition case
entitled Virgin Enterprises Ltd. v. Rosenruist-Gestao
E Servicos Sociedade Unipessoal LDA, No. 91161535
(the “Opposition Case”), which is currently pending
before the United States Trademark Trial and Ap-
peal Board (“TTAB”) of the United States Patent: and
Trademark Office (the “PTO”). The events that gave
rise to the Opposition Case are accurately described
in the Fourth Circuit opinion below (Pet. App. 2a-5a)
and are summarized briefly here.

The Petitioner’s Application

On or about December 30, 2002, the Petitioner,
acting through representatives located in Arlington,
Virginia, transmitted to the PTO in Alexandria, Vir-
ginia, a written application for issuance of a United
States registration of VIRGIN GORDA as a trade-
mark purportedly owned by Petitioner (the “Applica-
tion”; see C.A. App. 46-48). The Application was
subsequently assigned Serial No. 76/479620 by the
PTO. 7d.

In its Application, the Petitioner claimed that it
was entitled to exclude Respondent and all others
from using VIRGIN GORDA, or any mark that was
confusingly similar to VIRGIN GORDA, on or in
connection with numerous and diverse categories of
goods ranging from “umbrellas” to “trunks” to
“bomber jackets” to “shoes” (C.A. App. 46-48). The
basis of the Petitioner’s claim was a sworn (and
highly implausible) statement that Petitioner pur-
portedly had a “bona fide intention to use the mark
in commerce” (15 U.S.C. § 1051(b)(3)(B)) on or in

connection with each and every one of the numerous
and diverse categories of goods that were listed in
the Application. Id.’

By filing the Application and furnishing the PTO
with a sworn declaration of “bona fide intention to
use the mark in commerce,” 15 U.S.C.
§ 1051(b)(3)(B), the Petitioner purposefully availed
itself of various benefits of United States federal
trademark law, including the provisional “right of
priority, nationwide in effect,” that flows from the
filing of a properly supported application for trade-
mark registration, 15 U.S.C. § 1057(c), and the vari-
ous procedural and substantive rights that United
States federal trademark law confers on applicants
for registration in adversarial proceedings that test
the merits of claimed rights to registration, including
opposition proceedings commenced under 15 U.S.C.
§ 1063.

Petitioner Appoints Representatives and
Submits to Jurisdiction in the United States

As part of its Application, the Petitioner granted
broad powers of attorney to various individuals with
addresses in Arlington, Virginia, who were author-

* The implausibility that Petitioner could have had the claimed
“bona fide intention to use the mark in commerce” (15 U.S.C.
§ 1051(b)(3)(B)) on each and every one of the numerous and
diverse categories of goods that were listed in the Application,
cf. Medinol Ltd. v. Neuro Vasx Inc., 67 U.S.P.Q.2d 1205
(T.T.A.B. 2003) (canceling registration where applicant falsely
claimed use of mark to identify all goods listed in application),
would appear to explain the Petitioner’s relentless and costly
efforts to seek to evade giving any deposition upon oral exami-
nation in the Opposition Case.

ized by Petitioner “to prosecute this application for
registration, with full power of substitution and
revocation, to transact all business in the United
States Patent and Trademark Office in connection
therewith, and to receive the Certificate of Registra-
tion” (C.A. App. 47). Those same individuals were
expressly “designated Applicant’s representative(s]
upon whom notices or process in proceedings affect-
ing this mark may be served.” Id.

The Petitioner’s designation of persons resident
in the United States “upon whom notices and process
in proceedings affecting this mark may be served”
(C.A. App. 47, 52) was made in fulfillment of a legal
requirement that 15 U.S.C. § 105l(e) has long im-
posed on alien applicants for registration of United
States trademarks and service marks. The statute
ensures that in the event that an alien’s claim of
right to registration is contested, there is at least one
court of the United States where the alien applicant
is subject to jurisdiction and can be compelled to
make discovery and otherwise justify its claim.’

Had Petitioner failed to designate a person resi-
dent in the United States upon whom process could.
be served in proceedings affecting the applied-for
mark, the Petitioner would have been automatically

* Cf. Mississippi Pub. Corp. v. Murphree, 326 U.S. 438, 442
(1946) (“By consenting to service of process upon its agent re-
siding in the southern district, petitioner rendered itself ‘pre-
sent’ there for purposes of service”); Neirbo v. Bethlehem Ship-
building Corp., 308 U.S. 165, 175 (1939) (by designating an
agent for service of process in a state, the respondent gave “ac-
tual consent” to being sued in the courts of the state, federal as
well as state).

deemed, by statute, to have appointed the Director of
the PTO as Petitioner’s agent for service of process
in proceedings affecting the applied-for mark. See 15
U.S.C. § 1051(e).

Petitioner Prosecutes the Application
Through United States Representatives

In a communication dated July 23, 2003, and ad-
dressed to one of Petitioner’s Virginia-based repre-
sentatives, the PTO initially rejected the Petitioner’s
claim of right to registration of VIRGIN GORDA on
the basis that the proposed mark appeared to be
primarily geographically misdescriptive of the origin
of the goods that Petitioner had listed in the Applica-
tion, and further, that the Petitioner’s claim of intent
to use VIRGIN GORDA on “bags” was impermissibly
indefinite (C.A. App. 56-59). Petitioner responded to
the PTO’s rejection through its Virginia-based repre-
sentatives (C.A. App. 61-69).

On the issue of what particular types of “bags”
Petitioner allegedly intended to distribute in United
States commerce under the mark VIRGIN GORDA,
Petitioner’s Virginia-based representatives amended
the Application so that it recited, as the “goods” on
which Petitioner purportedly had a “bona fide inten-
tion to use the mark in commerce,” the following:
“all-purpose athletic bags, beach bags, book bags,
carry-on bags, gym bags, leather shopping bags,
overnight bags, shoulder bags, tote bags and cos-
metic bags sold empty; purses, coin-purses, pocket
wallets, traveling bags, trunks, make-up bags, empty
vanity cases, briefcases, umbrellas, handbags” (C.A.
App. 62). “This amendment,” Petitioner told the
PTO through its Virginia-based representatives,

purportedly “clarifie[d] the identification of goods to
reflect the true nature and character of the goods
provided in connection with the VIRGIN GORDA
mark.” Id.

On the issue of whether VIRGIN GORDA was
primarily geographically misdescriptive of the origi-
nally named and newly added goods recited in the
Application, Petitioner’s Virginia-based representa-
tives asserted to the PTO that “most Americans”
would not be “aware” of a “remote island” named
“Virgin Gorda” (C.A. App. 64). Petitioner’s Virginia-
based representatives further asserted to the PTO:
“The island of Virgin Gorda is not known for produc-
ing the goods identified in this application” (C.A.
App. 63). Finally, Petitioner’s Virginia-based repre-
sentatives asserted that some unspecified number of
United States consumers of the listed goods were
Spanish-speaking and so would understand that the
word “gorda” meant “fat” in Spanish (C.A. App. 64).

Based on Petitioner’s various factual assertions
as described above, the PTO was persuaded to with-
draw its rejection of the Application (C.A. App. 67-
68) and to publish the Application for opposition in
the Official Gazette of the PTO, which publication
occurred June 1, 2004 (C.A. App. 70). On July 29,
2004, Respondent timely filed a Notice of Opposition
under 15 U.S.C. § 1063 (C.A. App. 72-78). The PTO
then instituted the Opposition Case entitled Virgin
Enterprises Ltd. v. Rosenruist-Gestao E Servicos So-
ciedade Unipessoal LDA, No. 91161535 (T.T.A.B.,
filed Jul. 29, 2004). See C.A. App. 86-87.

In the thirteen (13) months between July 2004
and August 2005, the Petitioner (i) served an An-

swer in the Opposition Case, (ii) took discovery in
. the Opposition Case, (iii) moved to compel further
discovery in the Opposition Case, and (iv) success-
fully opposed a motion for summary judgment in the
Opposition Case (C.A. App. 833-34). By Order dated
January 9, 2006, the TTAB set the Opposition Case
for trial® to begin February 14, 2006. Id.

Petitioner Refuses to Appear Voluntarily
for Deposition in Its Home Country of Portugal

In anticipation of the commencement of trial in
the Opposition Case, Respondent requested that Pe-
titioner voluntarily appear for a trial testimony
deposition on oral examination in its home country
of Portugal (C.A. App. 43). Petitioner refused (id.).
Petitioner took the position that if Respondent
wanted to cross-examine Petitioner by oral deposi-
tion, Respondent would have to (i) seek issuance of
letters rogatory addressed to some Portuguese legal
authority, and then (ii) hope that the Portuguese le-
gal authority, applying Portuguese law, might be

* Under TTAB rules, “(t]he assignment of testimony periods
corresponds to the setting a case for trial in court proceedings,”
and “(t]he taking of depositions during the assigned testimony
periods corresponds to the trial in court proceedings.” 37
C.F.R. § 2.116(d)-(e). The “trial testimony” of witnesses in oppo-
sition proceedings is taken by depositions under 37 C.F.R.
§ 2.123. Respondent’s original “trial testimony period” in the
Opposition Case ran from February 14 through March 15,
2006. The TTAB has since suspended proceedings in the Oppo-
sition Case so as to afford Respondent an opportunity to seek
compelled deposition testimony from the Petitioner. See TTAB
Order dated August 7, 2006, and reproduced in the Appendix to
this Brief in Opposition.

persuaded to order Petiticner to appear for deposi-
tion upon oral examination in Portugal.

On December 12, 2005, Respondent moved the
TTAB for an Order compelling Petitioner to appear
for a testimonial deposition by oral examination in
its home country (C.A. App. 99-134). On January 9,
2006, the TTAB issued an Order (C.A. App. 136-138)
explaining that it lacked authority to compel recalci-
trant parties to appear for deposition in any jurisdic-
tion, foreign or domestic; however, the TTAB noted
that a recalcitrant party to an opposition proceeding
could be compelled to attend a deposition in the
United States “by subpoena issued by a United
States district court” (C.A. App. 137). That was the
course that Respondent then took.

Petitioner Is Subpoenaed to
Appear for Deposition in the United States

On January 31, 2006, Respondent served one of
Petitioner’s designated domestic representatives in
Arlington, Virginia with a deposition subpoena is-
sued under 35 U.S.C. § 24 (C.A. App. 140-142). The
subpoena was addressed to Petitioner, the corpora-
tion, as authorized by Federal Rule of Civil Proce-
dure 30(b)(6), which provides in pertinent part:

A party may in the party’s notice and in a sub-
poena name as the deponent a public or pri-
vate corporation or a partnership or associa-
tion or governmental agency and describe
with a reasonable particularity the matters on
which examination is requested. In that
event, the organization so named shall desig-
nate one or more officers, directors, or manag-

ing agents, or other persons who consent to
testify on its behalf and may set forth for each
person designated the matters on which the
person will testify. A subpoena shall advise a
non-party organization of its duty to make
such a designation. The person so designated
shall testify as to matters known or reasona-
bly available to the organization.

The subpoena commanded Petitioner to appear at
a location in McClean, Virginia, “to testify at the tak-
ing of a deposition in the above case by a person hav-
ing most knowledge of the matters set forth in
Schedule A” to the subpoena (C.A. App. 140).
Schedule A of the subpoena identified the following
matters on which examination of Petitioner was re-
quested (C.A. App. 142):

1. The factual representations made in
United States Application No.
76/479620 filed December 30, 2002 (the

“Application”).

2. The extent to which United States pur-
chasers of the goods identified in the

Application are aware of an island
named “Virgin Gorda.”

3. The extent to which United States pur-
chasers of the goods identified in the
Application are aware of the Spanish
language meaning of the word “gorda.”

Petitioner’s Motion to Quash

On February 8, 2006, Petitioner filed a paper in
the district court styled “MOTION OF ROSENRD-
IST-GESTAO E SERVICOS LDA TO QUASH SUB-

POENA” (C.A. App. 8-27). Petitioner argued that
the district court should issue an Order quashing the
subpoena on the basis that (i) service of the sub-
poena on Petitioner’s domestic representative under
15 U.S.C. § 1051(e) purportedly was not valid service
on Petitioner; (ii) the subpoena was accompanied by
only the statutory witness attendance fee of $75.00;
and (iii) enforcement of the subpoena purportedly
would “violate the sovereignty of another nation”
(C.A. App. 9-10). Petitioner additionally sought
monetary sanctions against Respondent (C.A. App.
11). ‘

Importantly, the Petitioner did not advance or
support any ground for quashing the subpoena that
was available to Petitioner under Federal Rule of
Civil Procedure 45(c)(3)(A). See C.A. App. 183 (“nor
does it appear to be contesting the validity of the
Subpoena upon any of the grounds listed in Rule
45(c)(3)(A) for which a Court shall modify or quash a
subpoena”). The Petitioner also did not offer to ap-
pear voluntarily for deposition in any location, at
any time, or under any proposed terms or condi-
tions.*

* It is difficult to overstate just how unusual Petitioner’s pos-
ture in this case is. Ordinarily, when a party or deponent ob-
jects to the location of a deposition and proposes that it be
taken in a foreign country, the objecting party bears the burden
of demonstrating that the foreign location is both available and
more convenient than the noticed location. E.g., Triple Crown
Am. Inc. v. Biosvnth AG, 1998 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 6117, at *10
(E.D. Pa. Apr. 36, 1923); Doster v. Carl Schenk A.G., 141 F.R.D.
50, 51-52 (M.D.N.C. 1991). Here, the Petitioner did not even
attempt to demonstrate that Portugal was a more convenient or
appropriate locate for its devosition, for as noted above, the Pe-

10

On March 2, 2006, a Magistrate Judge issued an
Order denying Petitioner’s motion to quash in its en-
tirety (C.A. App. 178-186.) The Magistrate Judge’s
Order stated in part: “VEL followed the appropriate
procedures outlined in the relevant statutes, thus
the subpoena was properly issued by this Court. The
Court also finds that the service of the subpoena on
Rosenruist’s 15 U.S.C. 1051(e) designee was valid. . .
. For the reasons set forth in this memorandum, it is
ORDERED that Rosenruist’s Motion to Quash Sub-
poena (Dkt. No.1) is hereby DENIED.” C.A. App.
181-83. 3

On March 9, 2006, Petitioner filed objections to
the above-quoted Order of the Magistrate Judge pur-
suant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 72(a) (C.A.
App. 187-189). On April 10, 2006, the district court
denied Petitioner’s Rule 72(a) objections in all re-
spects (C.A. App. 412). Petitioner took no appeal
from the district court’s denial of its motion to quash
the subpoena at issue in this case.

Petitioner Is Sanctioned for
Failing to Attend Its Own Deposition

Following the Magistrate Judge’s denial of Peti-
tioner’s motion to quash the subpoena, Respondent
re-noticed Petitioner’s deposition for March 10, 2006
(see C.A. App. 250-252). Approximately five minutes

titioner had previously refused Respondent’s suggestion that
Petitioner appear voluntarily for deposition in its home country
(C.A. App. 43). The Petitioner’s manifest objective below was to
attempt to evade giving an oral deposition anywhere, under
any circumstances, even while pressing ‘ts claimed right to reg-
istration of VIRGIN GORDA in the Unitea States.

11

before the deposition was to begin, one of Petitioner’s
United States representatives appeared at the depo-
sition location and announced for the first time that
Rosenruist was once again refusing to appear or to
produce any person to testify on its behalf (C.A. App.
236).

Respondent then moved for monetary sanctions
against Petitioner under Federal Rules of Civil Pro-
cedure 37(b) and (d) and 45(e), which motion was
granted by Order issued April 6, 2006 (C.A. App.
379). The Magistrate Judge ruled at that time (id.):

Virgin Enterprises Limited’s Motion for
Sanctions (Dkt. no. 18) is _ hereby
GRANT#D. The Court finds that the award
of attorney's fees and costs are appropriate
for Rosenruist-Gestao E Servicos LDA’s fail-
ure to appear for a properly noticed deposi-
tion and failure to inform Virgin Enterprises
Limited that it would not appear at the
deposition prior to the deposition date.

The district court subsequently denied Peti-
tioner’s objections to the order awarding sanctions
(C.A. App. 844). Petitioner took no appeal from the
district court’s order awarding sanctions.

Respondent’s Motion to Compel

On March 31, 2006, Respondent moved the dis-
trict court for an Order compelling Petitioner to ap-
pear for deposition under pain of contempt sanctions
(C.A. App. 344-352). It is this motion whose disposi-
tion gave rise to the Fourth Circuit decision below,
and whose merits the Petitioner now asks this Court
to review.

a

ae
“WEES
aes

12

Following an oral hearing held April 7, 2006, a
Magistrate Judge issued an Order that Respondent’s
motion to compel was “GRANTED IN PART AND
DENIED IN PART” based on “the specific rulings
stated from the bench” (C.A. App. 381). The Magis-
trate Judge adhered to his prior ruling (C.A. App.
178-186) that Petitioner had been properly been
served in Arlington, Virginia with a subpoena issued
under 35 U.S.C. § 24 and was properly commanded
to appear for a trial testimony deposition in the Op-
position Case.

Respondent’s motion was granted only “in part,”
however, because the Magistrate Judge ruled that
the word “witness,” as used in the first sentence of
35 U.S.C. § 24, did not refer to the person named in
a subpoena invoking Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
30(b)(6), but rather supposedly referred to an indi-
vidual that a subpoenaed corporation might desig-
nate to testify on its behalf under Rule 30(b)(6). The
Magistrate Judge stated, “I think the witness has to
live or reside in this district. I don’t think the corpo-
ration is the witness. . . The witness, the witness, not
the corporation, must reside or live in this district”
(C.A. App. 393; emphasis added).

Based on this extremely narrow and erroneous
interpretation of the statutory term “witness” (which
all three members of the Fourth Circuit panel below
rejected, see Pet. App. 17a-18a, 27a), the Magistrate
Judge ruled that Petitioner was required to appear
for deposition only if, and to the extent that, its pre-
ferred or chosen designees personally “reside[d]” or
“live[d]” in the district where Petitioner was served
with the subpoena in question. The Magistrate

13

Judge accordingly directed Petitioner either to ap-
pear for deposition or else file a declaration to the
effect that Petitioner could not locate any individual
who both personally “resided or lived” in the Eastern
District of Virginia and who “consented” to testify on
Petitioner’s behalf in the Opposition Case (C.A. App.
393).

Petitioner quickly took advantage of the Magis-
trate Judge’s error. On April 14, 2006, Petitioner
filed a paper with the district court in which Peti-
tioner stated that none of its knowledgeable agents
“consent[ed]” to testify on Petitioner’s behalf in the
Eastern District of Virginia (C.A. App. 414). The Pe-
titioner filed this paper even though just one month
previously, the Petitioner through counsel had “at-
tended and participated fully in the testimonial
depositions of various VEL officers” (Pet. App. 9a
n.3), and had filed multiple motions with the TTAB
seeking orders (i) reopening discovery, (ii) imposing
sanctions on Respondent, and (iii) striking certain
trial testimony proffered by Respondent (C.A. App.
833-34). See the Appendix to this Brief.

Respondent timely objected (C.A. App. 428-834)
to the Magistrate Judge’s April 7 ruling under Fed.
R. Civ. P. 72(a). On May 2, 2006, the district court
entered a one-page Order stating that the Magis-
trate Judge’s order was not “clearly erroneous or
contrary to law” (C.A. App. 840).

Respondent’s Appeal to the Fourth Circuit

On May 10, 2006, Respondent timely appealed to
the Fourth Circuit (C.A. App. 841) from the district
court’s order entered May 2, 2006, which had

14

granted-in-part and denied-in-part Respondent’s mo-
tion to compel filed March 31, 2006. In its appeal to
the Fourth Circuit, Respondent raised the questions
(i) whether the term “witness,” as used in 35 U.S.C.
§ 24, includes a private corporation that is named in
a subpoena as authorized by Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure 30(b)(6); (ii) whether a deposition sub-
poena issued to a corporation under 35 U.S.C.§ 24
and Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 30(b)(6) may
properly command the corporation to appear and
give testimony by individuals who do not personally
“reside or live” in the district where the corporation
has been served and commanded to appear; and
(iii) whether the district court committed legal error
in holding that it lacked statutory authority to en-
force the terms of the deposition subpoena at issue in
this case. Resp. C.A. Br. at 6.

Lacking any basis for defending the district
court’s order entered May 2, 2006, the Petitioner’s
brief to the Fourth Circuit attempted to renew its
original, and manifestly frivolous, arguments (e.g.,
“It is a recognized principal of international law that
non-resident aliens may not be compelled to appear
in a foreign district to give deposition testimony’;
Resp. C.A. Br. at 21) for why service of a subpoena
on Petitioner’s statutory agent for service of process
in the United States was purportedly ineffective to
require Petitioner to do anything at all. Petitioner
did not, however, file any notice of cross-appeal that
would have permitted it to raise these arguments.

The Fourth Circuit’s Decision

On December 27, 2007, the Fourth Circuit re-
versed the District Court’s judgment and remanded

15

for further proceedings. All three members of the
panel rejected the district court’s ruling that corpo-:
rations were excluded from the meaning of the term
“witness” as used in 35 U.S.C. § 24. The Fourth Cir-
cuit panel unanimously concluded that 35 U.S.C.
§ 24 authorized issuance of subpoenas to corporate
deponents under Rule 30(b)(6) of the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure, and that the personal residence of
a subpoenaed corporation’s chosen or preferred des-
ignees was extraneous and irrelevant to the scope of
a district court’s subpoena power over the subpoe-
naed corporation itself. See Pet. App. 17a-18a, 27a.

Having resolved the issues raised by Respon-
dent’s appeal, the Fourth Circuit declined to consider
the Petitioner’s various arguments for why service of
the subpoena on Petitioner’s domestic representative
under 15 U.S.C. § 1051(e) purportedly was ineffec-
tive tc require the Petitioner to do anything at all.
The Fourth Circuit held that by failing to file a cross-
appeal, the Petitioner waived any right it might
have had to argue that it was wholly outside the dis-
trict court’s subpoena power on jurisdictional or
other grounds (Pet. App. 19a-21a).

The Fourth Circuit further noted that, had Peti-
tioner preserved the issue, the court would have con-
cluded that the Petitioner was a person “being
within” the Eastern District of Virginia for purposes
of 35 U.S.C. § 24 (Pet. App. 20a n.5) and thus was
subject to being subpoenaed “in proceedings affecting
the mark” as expressly authorized and contemplated
by 15 U.S.C. § 1051(e). In view of the various protec-
tions afforded to subpoenaed persons by Federal
Rule of Civil Procedure 45(c)(3)(A), the Fourth Cir-

16

cuit majority found it unnecessary and inappropriate
to manipulate the statutory term “being” (35 U.S.C.
§ 24) as a basis for regulating the exercise of district
courts’ undoubted authority over corporate litigants
like this Petitioner.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

‘In the more than 100 years of trademark opposi-
tion practice in the United States, during which time
literally millions of applications for registration have
been published for opposition, this appears to be the
first case, ever, in which an applicant for registration
has attempted to take the position that it can refuse
to submit to cross-examination with respect to the
purported factual basis of its own claim. If the
Fourth Circuit here did something “[flor the first
time” (Pet. at 7) or considered an “issue of apparent
first impression” (Pet. at 17), that is merely a sign of
just how unusual this Petitioner’s litigation conduct
has been.

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be de-
nied, because (i) the questions purportedly presented
by the Petition are procedurally defaulted; (ii) the
questions purportedly presented by the Petition are,
in fact, hypothetical questions whose resolution
would be irrelevant to the outcome of this case;
(iii) the questions purportedly presented by the Peti-
tion involve, at. most, the correctness of the Fourth
Circuit’s application of well-settled law to Peti-
tioner’s wishiul mischaracterization of the facts of
this case; (iv) the decision below does not conflict
with that of any other circuit; and (v) the decision
below is clearly correct.

17

I. PETITIONER’S FAILURE TO CROSS-
APPEAL BARS CONSIDERATION
OF THE QUESTIONS “PRESENTED.”

In orders dated March 2, 2006 (C.A. App. 178-86),
April 6, 2006 (C.A. App. 379), and April 12, 2006
(C.A. App. 412), the district court denied Petitioner’s
motion to quash the subpoena and awarded mone-
tary sanctions in favor of Respondent and against
Petitioner. The district court’s subsequent order en-
tered May 2, 2006 (C.A. App. 840), from which Re-
spondent alone appealed, presupposed the validity of
the subpoena and addressed only the narrow ques-
tion of whether a subpoenaed corporation’s obliga-
tions under 35 U.S.C. § 24 and Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure 30(b)(6) were limited to producing one or
more “natural” persons who personally “live[d)]” or
“reside[d]” in the district where the corporation was
served with process and commanded to appear.

In these circumstances, the Fourth Circuit was
clearly correct in holding (Pet. App. 19a-21la) that
Petitioner’s failure to file a cross-appeal bars consid-
eration of Petitioner’s attack on the district court’s
underlying authority and jurisdiction to command
Petitioner to do anything at all. Although an appel-
lee may “urge in support of a decree any matter ap-
pearing in the record,” El Paso Natural Gas Co. v.
Neztsosie, 526 U.S. 473, 479 (1999), an appellee may
not, absent a cross-appeal, challenge a lower court’s
authority to render a judgment that is partially ad-
verse to the appellee. See Northwest Airlines, Inc. v.
County of Kent, Michigan, 510 U.S. 355, 365-66
(1994). Stated otherwise, absent a cross-appeal, an
appellee may not seek an appellate judgment

18

“enlarging” the appellee’s rights beyond what a Dis-
trict Court awarded, El Paso, 526 U.S. at 479 (quot-
ing United States v. American Ry. Express Co., 265
U.S. 425, 435 (1924)), or granting “a new measure of
relief.” Morley Constr. Co. v. Maryland Cas. Co.,
300 U.S. 185, 193 (1937).

The Fourth Circuit properly applied these princi-
ples here. This Court’s decision in Northwest is par-
ticularly instructive. In that case, a group of airlines
had sued an airport for relief from alleged violations
of the federal Anti-Head Tax Act (AHTA). The dis-
trict court held that there was a private right of ac-
tion for alleged violations of AHTA, but that the de-
fendant airport had not, in fact, violated the AHTA.
The Sixth Circuit similarly held that there was a
private right of action for alleged violations of the
AHTA, but vacated the district court’s judgment in-
sofar as it had upheld the defendant airport’s alloca-
tion of the costs of providing “crash, fire, and rescue
(CFR) services.” 510 U.S. at 362. The plaintiffs
then petitioned this Court for review of the Sixth
Circuit’s judgment. The respondent airport did not
file any cross-petition, but nevertheless attempted to
argue that the petitioning airlines’ claims should be
rejected altogether on the basis that there was no
private right of action for alleged violations of the
AHTA and the district court, thus, assertedly lacked
authority to grant any relief to the Northwest peti-
tioners at all. This Court declined to consider the
respondent airport’s argument, saying:

A prevailing party need not cross-petition to
defend a judgment on any ground properly
raised below, so long as that party seeks to

hag
ee
ba

19

preserve, and not to change, the judgment. ...
A cross-petition is required, however, when
the respondent seeks to alter the judgment be-
low. . . . Alteration would be in order if the
private right of action question were resolved
in favor of the Airport. For then, the entire
judgment would be undone, including the por-
tion remanding for reallocation of CFR costs
between the Airlines and general aviation.
The Airport’s failure to file a cross-petition on
the CFR issue—the issue on which it was a
judgment loser—thus leads us to resist the
plea to declare the AHTA claim unfit for Dis-
trict Court adjudication.

Northwest, 510 U.S. at 364-65.

Both the reasoning and the holding of this
Court’s Northwest decision are directly applicable
here. Similarly to how the district court in North-
west held that there was a private right of action for
alleged violations of the AHTA, the district court
here held that this Petitioner was subject to its ju-
risdiction and was properly served with a subpoena.
issued under 35 U.S.C. § 24. Similarly to how the
airport in Northwest attempted to question the dis-
trict court’s authority to grant any relief whatsoever
to the complainant airlines, the Petitioner here seeks
to challenge the authority of the district court to
have commanded the Petitioner to do anything at all
in this case.

Having failed to file a cross-appeal to the Fourth
Circuit, the Petitioner was barred from arguing to
that court (Pet. App. 19a-21la), and is similarly
barred from attempting to argue in this Court, that

»

20

the district court supposedly lacked jurisdiction over
the person of Petitioner or was otherwise without
authority to award sanctions or any other relief
against Petitioner. This Court in Northwest declined
to consider, absent a cross-appeal, a challenge to the
authority of a court to award relief to a partial
judgment loser. It should do the same here and deny
the Petition.

Il. THE QUESTIONS “PRESENTED” ARE
NOT, IN FACT, PRESENTED BY THIS
CASE.

Even assuming, for purposes of argument, that
the Petitioner could properly ask this Court to re-
view the questions that the Petition purports to pre-
sent, those questions would not warrant this Court’s
review because they are hypothetical questions
whose resolution would be irrelevant to the outcome
of this case. 3

Contrary to Petitioner’s suggestion, this case is
not one in which a corporation served with a sub-
poena had “no contact with the United States other
than the filing of a trademark application” (Pet. at i)
or was ordered to appear for deposition in the United
States “solely because it filed a trademark applica-
tion with the United States Patent and Trademark
Office” (Pet. at ii).

The record shows, to the contrary, that this Peti-
tioner’s “contact” with the United States went far,
far beyond a mere act of “filing” a “trademark appli-
cation.” In addition to the “filing of a trademark ap-
plication” by Petitioner (Pet. at i), the record shows
that (i) Petitioner granted broad powers of attorney

21

to representatives located in Arlington, Virginia;
(ii) Petitioner affirmatively prosecuted the subject
Application in the United States through Virginia-
based representatives; (ili) Petitioner appeared in
and served an Answer and other pleadings in the
Opposition Case in the United States; (iv) Petitioner
sought and received pre-trial discovery from Re-
spondent in the Opposition Case; (v) Petitioner filed
multiple motions seeking substantive relief in the
Opposition Case; and (vi) Petitioner extensively
cross-examined Respondent’s witnesses during the
trial of the Opposition Case which opened February
14, 2006, and was suspended when Petitioner re-
fused to appear for deposition.

Petitioner’s aggressive litigation tactics are re-
flected in a ten-page Order of the TTAB issued Au-
gust 7, 2006, disposing of various groundless motions
that Petitioner filed in March 2006. See Virgin En-
ters. Ltd. v. Rosenruist-Gestao E Servicos Sociedade
Unipessoal LDA, No. 91161535 (T.T.A.B. Aug. 7,
2006) (the “August 2006 Order”). A copy of the Au-
gust 2006 Order is attached as an Appendix to this
Brief in Opposition. It is very teiling that the Peti-
tion makes no reference to the August 2006 Order.

In its August 2006 Order, the TTAB (i) denied
Petitioner’s renewed motion to re-open discovery in
the Opposition Case and to compel further discovery
from Respondent (Resp. App. at 2a); (ii) denied Peti-
tioner’s motion to strike the testimonial deposition of
Respondent’s witness Neil Hobbs (id. at 3a-5a);
(iii) denied Petitioner’s motion for sanctions with re-
spect to the tstimonial deposition of VEL witness
Kathryn Mollica (id. at 5a-7a); and (iv) over Peti-

22

tioner’s opposition, granted Respondent’s motion for
suspension of proceedings in the Opposition Case so
as to afford Respondent an opportunity to seek com-
pelled trial testimony from Petitioner under 35
U.S.C. § 24 (id. at 7a-10a).

In sum, the “questions” identified in the Petition
are not, in fact, “presented” by this case, because
they are addressed to a factual scenario that is not
presented by this case and is exceedingly unlikely to
be presented by any future case. As a litigant and
party to the Opposition Case, this Petitioner has es-
tablished numerous, purposeful, and extensive con-
tacts with the United States, spanning a period of
years, over and above the mere “filing of a trade-
mark application” (Pet. at i) back in December 2002.

Ill. THE QUESTIONS “PRESENTED”
ARE PECULIAR TO THIS
HIGHLY UNUSUAL CASE.

Passing over the false premises of the questions
identified in the Petition and the Petitioner’s lack of
standing to raise them, those questions at most con-
cern the correctness of the Fourth Circuit’s applica-
tion of well-settled legal principles to the particular,
and highly unusual, circumstances of this particular
Petitioner in this particular case. The Court does
not sit to review such alleged errors. See Sup. Ct.
R. 10 (“A petition for a writ of certiorari is rarely
granted when the asserted error consists of errone-
ous factual findings or the misapplication of a prop-
erly stated rule of law.”).

The language of current 35 U.S.C. § 24 dates
back to at least Section 44 of the Act of July 8, 1870,

23

ch. 230, 16 Stat. 98, 204 (repealed 1952). Yet the
Petitioner concedus that questions purportedly “pre-
sented” by the Petition are ones “of apparent first
impression.” Pet. at 17. The Court can reasonably
wonder why, between 1870 and 2006, no court was
ever asked to hold that a party to a contested opposi-
tion case could properly refuse to appear and be
cross-examined with respect to the purported factual
basis of its own claim in the case.

If the questions purportedly “presented” in the
Petition are ones “of apparent first impression” (Pet.
at 17) despite the applicable statute’s 130 years of
existence, there is a ready erzlanation: the Peti-
tioner’s statutory and constitutional arguments are
so unusual and meritless that no prior litigant has
ever thought to raise them.

IV. THE DECISION BELOW DOES
NOT CONFLICT WITH
THAT OF ANY OTHER CIRCUIT.

Petitioner’s assertion that the decision below pur-
portedly conflicts with decisions of other circuits
(Pet. at 9-10) is unsupported and erroneous. The
cases cited by Petitioner all involved whether 35
U.S.C. § 24 authorized discovery in a patent “inter-
ference” proceeding that then-applicable PTO rules
disallowed to the “junior party” seeking the discov-
ery. Those decisions have no bearing on the Fourth
Circuit’s decision here.

In contrast with the cited cases, the Respondent
here sought trial testimony from the Petitioner that
applicable PTO rules expressly permitted. See
37 C.F.R. §§ 2.116 and 2.123(a). Respondent argued

24

in the district court, not that PTO rules disallowed
the trial testimony that Respondent sought from Pe-
titioner, but rather that Respondent should be forced
to seek permitted tria! testimony from Petitioner by
means of the costly, cumbersome, and uncertain
mechanism of international letters rogatory ad-
dressed to some unnamed Portuguese legal author-
ity. The Fourth Circuit was right to reject this ar-
gument. See Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospa-
tiale v. United States Dist. Court for the S. Dist. of
Iowa, 482 U.S. 522, 539-40 (1987) (holding that the
Hague Convention on the Taking of Evidence Abroad
in Civil or Commercial Matters “did not deprive the
District Court of the jurisdiction it otherwise pos-
sessed to order a foreign national party before it to
produce evidence physically located within a signa-
ture nation”).

35 U.S.C. § 24 exists precisely to facilitate the
taking of testimony that PTO ruies permit, as here.
In this very case, the TTAB was made aware of Re-
spondent’s subpoena of Petitioner; yet far from stat-
ing or suggesting that Respondent’s invocation of 35
U.S.C. § 24 was improper or inconsistent with PTO
rules, the TTAB stayed proceedings in the Opposi-
tion Case so as to permit Respondent to seck com-
pelled trial testimony from Petitioner. See August
2006 Order attached as an Appendix to this Brief in
Opposition, at 7a-10a.

V. THE DECISION BELOW
IS CLEARLY CORRECT.

As it did below, the Petitioner urges a series of
wholly frivolous arguments for why, as an alien cor-
poration, this Petitioner supposedly was privileged

et

25

to ignore the subpoena at issue in this case. Even
assuming that the Court were inclined to involve it-
self in a trial subpoena enforc2ment dispute having
no significance beyond the particular parties and cir-
cumstances of this case, the decision below is clearly
correct and would not justify this Court’s review
even on that basis.

Petitioner’s assertion that 28 U.S.C. § 1783 has
something to do with this case (Pet. at 3-4, 15-16)
remains a total mystery. 28 U.S.C. § 1783 author-
izes United States courts to issue subpoenas requir-
ing the appearance of “a national or resident of the
United States who is in a foreign country.” Here, the
Petitioner is an alien, not a United States national,
and the subpoena in question was served on Peti-
tioner in the United States, not “in a foreign coun-
try.” The subpoena at issue in this case was not is-
sued on the basis of 28 U.S.C. § 1783. The Peti-
tioner’s reliance on 28 U.S.C. § 1783 is so frivolous
that the Fourth Circuit did not even mention it in
the decision below.

Equally frivolous is Petitioner’s assertion that the
Fourth Circuit decision in this case somehow “in-
trudes upon the interest of other nations” (Pet. at
12-14). Contrary to Petitioner’s suggestion, any per-
son or party served with a subpoena under 35 U.S.C.
§ 24 is entitled to seek relief from the subpoena on
the grounds that it imposes an “undue burden” on
the subpoenaed person or party. Fed. R. Civ.
P. 45(c)(3)(A)(iv). Petitioner was free at all times to
seek relief from the literal command of the subpoena
under Rule 45(c)(3)(A), and yet it did not do so. The
reason for this is apparent: a person objecting to the

26

location of a deposition must generally identify an
alternative or less burdensome location (see p 9 &
note 4 supra). Here, the Petitioner’s manifest objec-
tive was to suppress evidence, not to provide it in a
more convenient location.

Petitioner’s assertion (Pet. at 16-17) that Respon-
dent was required to proceed under the Hague Con-
vention on the Taking of Evidence Abroad in Civil or
Commercial Matters (the “Hague Convention”) has
absolutely no basis in the applicable rules of the
PTO (see 37 C.F.R. § 1.123) and is directly contrary
to this Court’s precedents. See Societe Nationale In-
dustrielle, 482U.S. at 539-40 (holding that the
Hague Convention “did not deprive the District
Court of the jurisdiction it otherwise possessed to
order a foreign national party before it to produce
evidence physically located within a signature na-
tion”). As the Fourth Circuit correctly observed in
this case, “[floreign corporations that are subject to
the personal jurisdiction of a district court can be

* As it did below, Petitioner falsely characterizes as “rules” of
the PTO (Pet. at 9) the contents of a practice manual (the
“TBMP”) that are expressly not “rules” and do not even purport
to provide any authoritative interpretative guidance with re-
gard to 35 U.S.C. § 24 or any other statute, as the Fourth Cir-
cuit correctly held (see Pet. App. at 22a-23a). The cited manual
furthermore says nothing about the scope of a district court’s
authority to compel an alien trademark applicant to appear for
deposition pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 30(bX6).
The actual “rules” of the PTO relating to the taking of trial tes-
timony, found in 37 C.F.R. § 2.123, nowhere state or even sug-
gest that a recalcitrant party cannot be subpoenaed to appear
and give trial testimony under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
30(bX6). The Fourth Circuit correctly so held in this case. See
Pet. App. at 23a-24a.

27

and often are required to produce officers, directors,
or managing agents — regardless of where such wit-
nesses personally reside — in the United States for a
Rule 30(b)(6) deposition.” Pet. App. 17a-18a.

When this Petitioner chose to file and prosecute
an application for issuance of a United States
trademark registration, Petitioner clearly knew and
understood that it was claiming important substan-
tive rights under United States law, to which certain
corresponding legal obligations were attached. As a
condition of being granted provisional rights under
15 U.S.C. § 1057(c), Petitioner was required to sub-
mit to the jurisdiction of United States courts and, if
called upon, to comply with process served in “pro-
ceedings affecting the mark.” 15 U.S.C. § 1051(e).

If Petitioner does not wish to appear for deposi-
tion upon oral examination in the Opposition Case,
Petitioner need merely withdraw the Application.
But it cannot have it both ways. Petitioner cannot
affirmatively press a claimed right to issuance of a
United States trademark registration and at the
same time refuse to comply with “process in proceed-
ings affecting the mark.” 15 U.S.C. § 1051(e).

28 4
CONCLUSION q
The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be de- 3
nied. 4
Respectfully submitted, q
James W. Dabney 4
Counsel of Record 3
1 New York Plaza :
New York, New York 10004
(212) 859-8000
Mitchell E. Epner
John F. Duffy Victoria J.B. Doyle
FRIED, FRANK, FRIED, FRANK,
HARRIS, SHRIVER & HARRIS, SHRIVER &
JACOBSON LLP JACOBSON LLP
1001 Pennyslvania Ave, NW One New York Plaza
Washington, D.C. 20004 New York, New York 10004
April 23, 2008 Attorneys for Petitioner

Pe ae eT sade Os Ee, Te, Caer) Oe TE Sy Oe Ne geet ee SS PIRES Men eal Fos 2 gt Te en” BG ne EOLA MDS ME trata | Coty Pw

a
=
Z,
is
a
a

la

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES PATENT AND
TRADE MARK OFFICE
Trademark Trial and Appeal Board
PO. Box 1451
Alexandria, VA 22313-1451

Mailed: August 7, 2006
Opposition No. 91161535
Virgin Enterprises Limited
Vv.

Rosenruist - Gestao E Servicios Sociedade
Unipessoal Lda

Cheryl Butler, Attorney, Trademark Trial and Appeal
Board:

In accordance with the Board’s order dated January
9, 2006, testimony dates were reset with rebuttal testimony
to close on June 28, 2006. According to the prosecution
record, both parties have taken and submitted evidence
during their main testimony periods as assigned.

Several motions are now pending. The Board
presumes the parties’ familiarity with the matters to be
considered and does not repeat all arguments made by
each party.

2a
Appendix

Applicant’s motion for reconsideration

Applicant’s fully-briefed motion, filed March 15,
2006, for reconsideration of the Board’s order dated
March 2, 2006, denying as untimely applicant’s motion
to compel (filed February 10, 2006), is denied. Applicant
has not pointed out any error the Board may have made
in considering the matter, based on the evidence of
record and the prevailing legal authorities before the
Board at the time the motion was originally considered.
See TBMP §§518 and 523.08 (2d ed. rev. 2004). See also
Trademark Rules 2.120(e) and 2.127(b). Cf TBMP
§528.02 (2d ed. rev. 2004); and Trademark Rule 2.127(e)
(1). See also Trademark Rule 2.196; and 63 Fed. Reg.
48088 (1998). The Board fully explained the difference
between Trademark Rule 2.120 and Trademark Rule
2.127(e) (1), including that the Board exercised its
discretion, as permitted under Rule 2.127(e) (1), in
considering opposer’s April 18, 2005 motion for summary
judgment, which was untimely. Any perceived agreement
between the parties of the timeliness of either opposer’s
April 18, 2005 summary judgment motion or applicant’s
February 10, 2006 motion to compel is immaterial to the
Board’s determinations that both motions were, in fact,
untimely. The Board notes again that it informed the
parties in its August 18, 2005 summary judgment
decision that first testimony period had opened and any
prospective motions to compel would be considered
untimely. Thus, the Board’s March 2, 2006 determination
that applicant’s motion for summary judgment is
untimely was hardly a surprise to applicant.

peas >

3a

Appendix

Applicant’s objections to opposer’s amended notice
of deposition and motion to strike the testimonial
deposition of Neil Hobbs (taken March 15, 2006)

Opposer served a notice of deposition on March 3,
2006, such deposition to take place March 15, 2006 at
2:00 p.m. On March 14, 2006, opposer served an
amended notice of opposition to correct its oversight in
not indicating the matters on which the witness was to
be deposed. Applicant notes that the amended notice of
opposition was sent to its counsel’s Virginia address
despite the fact that its counsel was in New York
attending a different testimonial deposition noticed by
opposer. Applicant objects to the amended notice of
deposition as untimely, arguing that the notice was not
reasonable. Applicant also moves to strike the
deposition arguing that the original notice was not
facially adequate because it did not identify the name
and address of the witness or provide a general
description sufficient to identify the witness or provide
a description with reasonable particularity of the matters
upon which examination is requested. Applicant
contends that it was under no obligation to notify
opposer of the deficiency of the original notice of
deposition but did so with its first set of objections.

In response, opposer contends that applicant had
the original notice of deposition for twelve days; that
applicant did not raise any concern about the notice until
late in the afternoon (4:00 p.m.) of March 14th when
applicant’s counsel served written objections; that
applicant made no timely objection to the sufficiency of

Aa
Appendix

the notice; that opposer immediately served an amended
notice to cure the defect in the notice pointed out by
applicant in it written objections; that applicant’s
counsel attended the deposition, where he declined to
cross examine the witness and repeated applicant’s
objections to the deposition; and that applicant has
rejected opposer’s offers to permit further cross-
examination during an extended testimony period.
Opposer notes that direct examination of the witness
lasted approximately ten minutes and was limited to two
points.

All errors and irregularities in the notice for taking
a deposition are waived unless written objection is
promptly served upon the party giving the notice.
Fed. R. Civ. P 32(d) (1). In this case, the parties do not
disagree that the face of the original notice of deposition,
served March 3, 2006, was deficient. The Board finds,
however, that applicant’s objections, served eleven days
later, on the late afternoon of the day before the
deposition, were not made promptly. Applicant has
provided no reasonable explanation why the objections
were not made earlier, except that it was “under no
obligation” to do so. However, by not doing so earlier,
applicant waived its right to object. After all, insofar as
the notice was defective on its face, had applicant served
prompt objections, opposer could have cured the defect

1. Inthis regard, opposer points out that applicant’s counsel
was in New York for several days to attend five testimonial
depositions noticed by opposer to take place between March 8-
15, 2006.

Sa
Appendix

sooner. As it is, opposer took action to cure the defect
immediately upon being notified. Moreover, applicant’s
counsel was already in New York for testimonial
deposition in this case; and the matters upon which the
witness testified do not appear to have been
complicated.

Accordingly, applicant’s motion to strike the
deposition based on the adequacy of the original notice
is denied; and, considering the circumstances presented,
applicant’s objections to the amended notice on the
ground of timeliness are overruled.

Applicant’s motion for sanctions

On March 22, 2006, applicant moved for sanctions
with respect to the March 13th deposition of Kathryn
Mollica. According to applicant, the deposition ended
after cross examination and opposer’s attorney left the
room to escort Ms. Mollica out of the office; and about
ten minutes later, while applicant’s attorney was packing
up, one of opposer’s attorneys returned to advise
applicanit’s attorney that the witness was being called
back for additional questioning. Applicant argues that,
prior to resumption of testimony, it objected to any off-
the-record, private consultation between the witness and
opposer’s counsel; that in response to an inquiry from
applicant’s counsel about what she had discussed with
opposer’s counsel, the witness responded, “I said
something to him that I wanted to get on the record”;
and that the re-direct examination was improper insofar
as it resulted from consultation between the witness and

6a
Appendix

her attorney after conclusion of the deposition. Applicant
brings to the Board’s attention several cases that
applicant believes stand for the proposition that a
witness and his or her attorney may not confer during
the course of a deposition. As a sanction, applicant seeks
to strike the entire deposition of Ms. Mollica.

According to opposer, after cross examination, a
break was taken in the deposition during which
opposer’s counsel escorted the witness to the bathroom
and briefly conferred to determine w..»ther re-direct
examination was appropriate because the witness forgot
to mention “media impressions” (media advertising) in
her direct testimony. Opposer indicates that applicant’s
counsel was permitted to inquire into the purported
“conference” between Ms. Mollica and opposer’s
counsel; that no conduct occurred that is improper; and
that, certainly, no conduct occurred so as to warrant
striking the entire testimonial deposition. Opposer
argues that the cases referenced by applicant stand for
the proposition that a witness may not confer with his
or her attorney during (emphasis added) cross
examination, but do not disapprove of such conferring
after an adversary has completed its cross examination
and prior to re-direct examination.

While the witness states that she spoke briefly to
her attorney about a matter she “. .. wanted to get on
the record, which was about our media impression,” she
also indicates that she then went to the bathroom before
re-direct examination began. It does not appear that
there was any coaching or change of testimony, or that

gs

&

7a
Appendix

the deponent’s credibility is impaired as a result of the
re-direct examination. Nor does there appear to be
measurable prejudice to applicant inasmuch as
applicant’s attorney was able to question the witness as
to the content of any conversation she had with her
attorney during the “break,” which both parties indicate
was short. Applicant further was able to conduct re-
cross-examination. The mere fact that the witness was
recalled does not demonstrate improper or sanctionable
conduct.

Accordingly, applicant’s motion for sanctions is
denied.

Opposer’s motions to extend testimony and to
suspend proceedings

Opposer’s first testimony period closed on March
15, 2006. On March 14th, opposer moved to extend
testimony on the basis that an unresolved district court
matter was pending with respect to a subpoena for a
testimonial deposition of applicant’s corporate witness.
According to opposer, the subpoena was issued on
January 31, 2006; applicant moved to quash, which
the district court, on March 2, 2006, denied; as a
consequence, a second trial deposition subpoena was
issued on February 27, 2006; and applicant, filing
objections to the subpoena, otherwise failed to comply
therewith.

In respons, applicant contends that the denial of
the motion to quash was nominal insofar as the court
ordered, and clarified in a hearing conducted March 24,

8a

Appendix

2006, a witness for “somebody who is a resident or living
in this district” and did not make a ruling that “...
compels somebody . . . who lives in a foreign country to
come.” Applicant, a foreign entity, argues that it has no
witness residing or living in the relevant judicial district,
and that it so informed both opposer and the court prior
to the date on which opposer sought the deposition in
question.

The Board notes in passing that its January 9, 2006
order addressed the Board’s written policy concerning
an adverse party whose trial deposition is sought and
who resides in a foreign country.

On May 12, 2006, opposer again sought an extension
of testimony, informing the Board that the matter
concerning the sought trial deposition remains pending.
This is so because opposer has appealed the April 6,
2006 determination of the magistrate judge that the
district court lacked the authority (under 35 U.S.C. §24)
to compel applicant to appear for a deposition except
by individuals who live or reside in the judicial district
(Eastern District of Virginia) and who consent to testify
on applicant’s behalf. Opposer indicates that the appeal
now is pending before the Fourth Circuit.

In response, applicant contends that there is no
reason to extend dates because it is unlikely that the
Fourth Circuit will overrule long-standing precedent and
force applicant’s corporate witness to involuntarily
appear in the Eastern District of Virginia when the
witness lives and resides in Portugal.

9a
Appendix

On August 3, 2006, opposer moved to suspend
proceedings pending the decision of the Fourth Circuit
on this matter.

Whenever it comes to the attention of the Board
that a party or parties to a case pending before it are
involved in a civil action which may have a bearing on
the Board case, proceeding before the Board may be
suspended until final determination of the civil matter
(which includes exhaustion of appeals taken). To the
extent that a case in Federal court involves issues in
common with those in the proceeding before the Board,
the decision of the court is often binding on the Board,
while the decision of the Board is not binding upon the
court. TBMP Section 510.02 (2d ed. June 2003). It is
only necessary that the determination of issues
presented to the court may have a bearing on the issues
presented to the Board, and judicial economy lies in the
suspension of the Board proceeding.

In this case, the determination by the Fourth Circuit
of whether opposer can take the trial deposition of
applicant’s witness may have an affect on the
administration of this opposition. Accordingly, opposer’s
motion to suspend proceedings is granted, and
proceedings are suspended pending final disposition of
the civil matter between the parties concerning the
enforcement of opposer’s subpoena.

Within twenty days after the final determination of
this matter, the parties should notify the Board so that
this case may be resumed. If opposer does not prevail,

10a

Appendix

there does appear to be any reason to extend opposer’s
main testimony period because it has submitted other
evidence and because the sole reason it seeks to extend
the dates is to accommodate the trial deposition of
applicant’s corporate witness. In regard to the schedule,
applicant also submitted evidence during its scheduled
testimony period and has not asked for an extension
thereof. Thus, upon resumption, depending on the final
determination of the civil matter, it may be that only
rebuttal testimony is reset in this opposition.
Consequently, full consideration of opposer’s motions
to extend testimony is deferred.

During the suspension period the Board should be
notified of any address changes for the parties or their
attorneys.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1288%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
