# Opposition Brief — Hayes v. Thomas & Betts Corp. (No. 08-139)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1184%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

0

Supreme Court, U.S.
No. 08-139 —
—SEP—3-—2008
In The | OFFICE OF THE CLERK |

Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

TERRANCE HAYES, et al.,

V.

Petitioners,

THOMAS & BETTS CORPORATION,

.

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Court Of Appeal Of Louisiana, Fifth Circuit

¢

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

LOUIS C. LACOUR, JR.,
Counsel of Record
ADAMS AND REESE LLP
701 Poydras Street
Suite 4500

New Orleans, LA 70139
Tel: (504) 581-0328

ERNEST P. GIEGER, JR.

ANDREW A. BRAUN

GIEGER, LABORDE &
LAPEROUSE, LLC

701 Poydras Strect

Suite 4800

New Orleans, LA 70139

Tel: (504) 561-0400

RAYMOND PETER WARD
ADAMS AND REESE LLP
701 Poydras Street
Suite 4500

New Orleans, LA 70139
Tel: (504) 585-0339

ROBERT E. WINN

JOY GOLDBERG BRAUN

SHARON CORMACK MIZE

SESSIONS, FISHMAN,
NATHAN & ISRAEL, LLP

201 St. Charles Ave.

Suite 3500

New Orleans, LA 70170

Tel: (504) 582-5200

Attorneys for Thomas & Betts Corp., Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIFF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2841

QUESTION PRESENTED

In 2006, the Louisiana court of appeal rendered a
judgment in favor of respondent, reinstating a jury
verdict in respondent’s favor. This judgment became
final and definitive under Louisiana law when the
Louisiana Supreme Court denied certiorari. Two
years later, the same court of appeal held that its
2006 judgment cannot be “appealed” or otherwise
modified. In so ruling, did the court of appeal cor-
rectly apply Louisiana law?

li
LIST OF PARTIES

Respondent is satisfied with petitioners’ list of par-
ties, except to note that respondent’s correct name is
“Thomas & Betts Corp.”

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Thomas & Betts Corp. has no parent corporation.
Tontine Management, L.L.C. owns 12.47% of T&B’s
stock.

lll

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED......scsssssseccscsssesssecssecvses i
LANE OA oo iris ii
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT........ ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....cccccscssecssesseecsseesseesees v
CITATIONS OF REPORTED DECISIONG............ vii
JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT. ......-..ccscssscesseee: 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE....-sccccsccssesssecssseeseees 1
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT. ........--sccssceeeee- 7
WI i 9

1. Kaiser-AXA and Hayes failed to raise a
substantial federal question timely in the
Louisiana Supreme Court ..............c2c0eceseeees 9

2. Kaiser-AXA and Hayes had fair notice that
the judgment on T&B’s appeal would have
the authority of res judicata ...................0000 1l

3. In the course of T&B’s appeal, Kaiser-AXA
and Hayes had the opportunity to attack
the verdict with any argument supported
by tie POCONE 5... ica pcaco iit xeaicaneators 13

4. The court of appeal necessarily considered
the sufficiency of the evidence supporting
Le SY We entities enciniiaee 16

1V

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued
Page

5. A second appeal, under a manifest-error
standard of review, would serve no legiti-
mate purpose and would be a waste of ju-

I io ric srdecccnueivrndecuauniaiameeeiion 20
SN 655 Goin sae dau < Snkcssdbostiannnepopucaugatocouventbe 22
APPENDIX
Petitioners’ Writ Application in the Louisiana

NN ooo inc cissvasecnswanteonasversncrsstorees App. l

Petitioners’ Motion for Rehearing in the Lou-
isiana Supremic Court..............cccecsccsseseesseneets App. 58

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Am. Sur. Co. v. Baldwin, 287 U.S. 156 (1932)........... 10
Cardinale v. La., 394 U.S. 437 (1969)...................... 1,9
Davis v. Borskey, 660 So. 2d 17 (La. 1995) ................ 15
Davis v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 774 So. 2d 84
Se __, MERCER cle pane ape Racal Ue IO RCS OE 17
Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S. 56 (1972)..................... 7,9
Ohio ex rel. Bryant v. Akron Metro. Park Dist.,

— 2 | 5 ERC e ene ener pe eine 7,9
Radio Station WOW, Inc. v. Johnson, 326 U.S.

IRIS CE SER mie ee reac gees Pe menses 10
Roger v. Estate of Moulton, 513 So. 2d 1126 (La.

RETESET Ere Coat ERS ne DIS ol et EY RO TET 15
Rosell v. ESCO, 549 So. 2d 840 (La. 1989) ................ 21
RPM Pizza, Inc. v. Automotive Cas. Ins. Co.,

es ee I, ign icivcnscesacnpuccenmebicnivewtness 15
Tolis v. Bd. of Supervisors of LSU, 660 So. 2d

ESS” RCE RSI ae bees oreeratr chy or Mee ai. i
Trunk v. Med. Center of La. at New Orleans,

Se re A, orice sen ccencncsvcacetacmnas 12, 17
Wheat v. Caruthers, 439 So. 2d 1065 (La. 1983)........ 13
STATUTES
af” IST RR AR ae RMT SRR TOC Noe 1,9

i cre a Ok DUE .. .......ncnukedbescsveemnesiaeameseununasel 16

v1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
a ee Ge NG TI i vids ve nsccscdecvcinutscsedsdnvegiedieeals 14
ic MN Was Bs ANG ERI sv ose sce esesccecesnyecesccessastecensemmess 15
RR, SE SOU Be OG, TEEN cas nvcevdvccaensncccvcnyecvsagnnsanses 4,13
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Re ak ual cstile dea Sesdonudenscnnonsetsouacanueins 7,10

Frank L. Maraist and Hon. Harry T. Lemmon,
Louisiana Civil Law Treatise: Civil Proce-
ar WEE. TD, S Te CWE BOOT Ji hvnccicvnsccccvaccicceescseose 14

Webster’s Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary
RIED beciisicecyas doshebdsouaissaknsaesassansayieiabdderstanmuecesuaals 13

vil

CITATIONS OF REPORTED DECISIONS

Hayes v. Thomas & Betts Corp., ___ U.S. __.,
127 S.Ct. 1380, 167 L. Ed. 2d 162 (2007)

(denying certiorari)

In re Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 792
So. 2d 738 (La. 2001) (denying supervisory
writ)

In re Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 836
So. 2d 109 (La. 2003) (denying supervisory
writ)

In re Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 842

So. 2d 408 (La. 2003) (denying supervisory
writ)

In re Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 927
So. 2d 492 (La. App. 5 Cir. 2006) Gudgment
on merits, reversing judgment notwithstand-
ing verdict and conditional new trial, rein-
OAT VIF Y VOPGICE) un. cession senceseicce. 3, 12, 14,

In re Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 929
So. 2d 1271 (La. 2006) (denying certiorari to

WTO Tee I EE a vices ans cdudcansscmacaaconscsvess

In re Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 936
So. 2d 190 (La. 2006) (refusing to reconsider
929 So. 2d 1271)

In re Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 938
So. 2d 88 (La. 2006) (denying supervisory
writ)

In re Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 2007
La. App. LEXIS 294 (Feb. 23, 2007) (denying
rehearing)

vill

CITATIONS OF REPORTED
DECISIONS -— Continued

In re Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 954
So. 2d 132 (La. 2007) (denying supervisory
writ to review decision underlying 2007 La.
App. LEXIS 294)

In re Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 982
So. 2d 763 (La. 2008) (denying supervisory
writ)

In re Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 983
So. 2d 1263 (La. 2008) (denying reconsidera-
tion of 982 So. 2d 763)

1

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

This Court lacks jurisdiction to entertain peti-
tioners’ due-process and equal-protection arguments,
because petitioners failed to raise these arguments
timely in the Louisiana Supreme Court. See 28 U.S.C.
§ 1257(a); Cardinale v. La., 394 U.S. 437, 438 (1969).

.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On July 5, 1999, a massive explosion occurred at
the Kaiser plant in Gramercy, Louisiana, when
several large vessels became pressurized far beyond
their capacity with superheated steam. A jury would
eventually find that the primary cause of the explo-
sion (75%) was Kaiser’s decades-long neglect of its
pressure-relief systems, including Kaiser’s unfathom-
able decision to disable all the pressure-relief valves
serving the vessels that exploded. A secondary cause
(25%) was a power failure preceding the explosion,
caused in small part (5%) by an electrical contractor’s

misuse of a product made by respondent, Thomas &
Betts Corp. (T&B).

This massive explosion led to massive litigation:
several personal-injury suits by Kaiser employees,
business-interruption suits by Kaiser’s industrial
neighbors, suits by Kaiser itself and its reinsurers

' The petition erroneously states that the explosion injured
“thousands of people... .” Pet. for Cert. 3. In fact, the number of
injured persons was 29.

2

(AXA Global Risks U.K. et al.), and several class
actions on behalf of people living near the Kaiser
plant. Among the many defendants named in these
suits were T&B and the electrical contractor who
misused T&B’s product. These numerous suits were
consolidated in the 23rd Judicial District Court in St.
James Parish, Louisiana.

The T&B product at issue in the litigation was a
one-inch square peel-and-stick adhesive mounting
base — commonly referred to as a “sticky back” — used
to anchor a nylon electrical-wire tie. Plaintiffs theo-
rized that the root cause of the power failure preced-
ing the explosion was the failure of the sticky backs
to adhere to the inside wall of a cabinet containing
high-voltage (13.8 kV) bus bars. The allegation
against the electrical contractor was that it should
have known not to use sticky-backs inside a high-
voltage cabinet, because of the possibility that they
might come loose over time. The allegation against
T&B was failure to warn the electrical contractor of
things that, according to plaintiffs, the electrical
contractor should have already known.

The trial occurred in the fall-of 2001 and lasted
six weeks. Before and during trial, numerous settle-
ments occurred, so that by the end of the trial, the
only claims left were those of Kaiser, AXA, Kaiser
employee Terrence Hayes, and the class-action plain-
tiffs against T&B and another defendant. The trial
ended with a unanimous jury verdict holding T&B
blameless for the explosion.

3

The trial judge signed judgments on the verdict.
Rather than appeal, the losing plaintiffs sought relief
from the verdict through post-trial motions for judg-
ment notwithstanding the verdict (JNOV), condi-
tional new trial, and change of venue. On December
16, 2002, the trial judge granted JNOV, assigning
25% fault to T&B and fixing plaintiffs’ total damages
at over $355 million. He also conditionally granted
the various motions for new trial and change of
venue.

T&B appealed. Hayes cross-appealed, but for
reasons unknown, he voluntarily dismissed his ap-
peal.” While the case was on appeal, Kaiser went into
bankruptcy, and AXA and the other reinsurers pur-
chased AXA’s litigious rights against T&B. As a
practical matter, this merged Kaiser and the reinsur-
ers for purposes of this litigation.

In due course, T&B prevailed in its appeal, just
as it had prevailed before the jury. On March 28,
2006, a unanimous panel of the Louisiana court of
appeal reversed the JNOV, reversed the conditional
new trial, and reinstated the jury’s verdict. In re
Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 927 So. 2d 492
(La. App. 5 Cir. 2006).

* See Pet. for Cert. ».pp. 32, In re Gramercy Plant Explosion
at Kaiser, 927 So. 2d 492, 497 (La. App. 5 Cir. 2006). While the
case was on appeal, the class-action claims against T&B were
settled.

4

Under La. Code Civ. P. art. 2166(A), a judgment
of a Louisiana court of appeal becomes final and
definitive if the aggrieved party fails to apply to the
court of appeal for rehearing with 14 days of notice of
judgment and fails to apply to the Louisiana Supreme
Court for certiorari within 30 days of notice of judg-
ment. Petitioner Hayes failed to apply to the court of
appeal for rehearing and failed to apply to the Louisi-
ana Supreme Court for certiorari. Thus, the court of
appeal’s judgment became final and definitive as to
Hayes on April 27, 2006.

Kaiser-AXA likewise failed to apply to the court
of appeal for rehearing. Kaiser-AXA did apply timely
to the Louisiana Supreme Court for certiorari, but on
June 14, 2006, the Louisiana Supreme Court denied
the application. In re Gramercy Plant Explosion at
Kaiser, 929 So. 2d 1271 (La. 2006).° Under La. Code
Civ. P. art. 2166(E), this denial of certiorari rendered
the court of appeal’s judgment final and definitive as
to Kaiser-AXA.

At this point, the litigation should have ended.
But rather than accept the court of appeal’s judgment
with quiet dignity and grace, Kaiser-AXA and Hayes
have sought to perpetuate the litigation.

After the court of appeal’s judgment on T&B’s
appeal became final and definitive, Kaiser-AXA
returned to the trial court and moved for an order of

* See Pet. for Cert. App. 74.

5

appeal from the original, four-year-old, pre-JNOV
judgment on the jury verdict. And the trial court
granted the appeal. T&B moved to dismiss this
appeal on several grounds, including untimeliness,
res judicata, and the lack.of an appealable judgment.
The court of appeal granted T&B’s motion and dis-
missed the appeal, finding that there was no appeal-
able judgment. But in language unnecessary to its
decision, it suggested that this omission could be
remedied by a new trial-court judgment.*

Relying on the court of appeal’s obiter dicta,
Kaiser-AXA returned to the trial court, obtained the
trial court’s signature on a purported judgment on the
2001 jury verdict, and immediately filed a motion for
new trial. Hayes likewise filed his own motion for
new trial. In response, T&B pleaded res judicata and
lack of trial-court jurisdiction to overrule a judgment
of a superior court, i.e., the court of appeal, on the
issue of new trial. After some procedural wrangling
(the details of which are not important here), what
emerged from the trial-court proceedings were: (a) yet
another judgment on the 2001 jury verdict; and (b) a
second order granting a new trial.

In response to the new-trial order, T&B applied
to the Louisiana court of appeal for a supervisory
writ. T&B argued that the trial court had no author-
ity to overrule the court of appeal, which had previ-
ously reversed the trial court on the issue of new

* Pet. for Cert. App. 22.

6

trial. T&B further argued that the court of appeal’s
2006 judgment was final and definitive, thus extin-
guishing Kaiser-AXA’s and Hayes’s claims against
T&B.

In a unanimous decision, the court of appeal
granted T&B’s writ application, reversed the trial
court’s order, and decreed that its 2006 judgment was
indeed final and definitive, not subject to further
modification by any court on any issue.

Kaiser-AXA and Hayes applied to the Louisiana
Supreme Court for a writ to review the court of
appeal’s judgment, raising various state-law argu-
ments. Lacking from this writ application was any
argument based on federal law. The writ application
contained no citation to the United States Constitu-
tion, any decision of this Court, or any other source
of federal law.’ Also lacking from the writ application
were the phrases “due process,” “equal protection,”
or any of their synonyms. The only “constitutional
right” asserted by Kaiser-AXA and Hayes was the
“right to appeal,” a right non-existent under federal

* See infra App. 10-13 (table of authorities from writ
application). The writ application contains one reference to
“decisions ... [of ] the United States Supreme Court... ,” infra
App. 14, but no citation to any specific decision of this Court.

° See infra App. 19 (“constitutionally protected right to
appeal”); ...4ra App. 22 (“constitutional right to appeal”); infra
App. 34 (“Violation of Applicants’ Right to Appeal”); infra App.
44-45 (several refirences to “right of appeal” or “right to ap-
peal”).

7

law.’ In a 6:1 decision, the Louisiana Supreme Court
denied the writ application.

Kaiser-AXA and Hayes applied to the Louisiana
Supreme Court for rehearing and — for the first time
— purported to invoke the United States Constitution.
But the rules of the Louisiana Supreme Court forbid
rehearing from a writ denial.° Perhaps for this rea-
son, the Louisiana Supreme Court denied rehearing
without addressing Kaiser-AXA and Hayes’s belated
constitutional arguments.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Kaiser-AXA and Hayes, petitioners, failed to
raise their federa!-law issu»s timely in the state
courts. This failure is fatal to their petition. They
failed to raise any issue of federal law in the Luuisi-
ana court of appeal or in their writ application to the
Louisiana Supreme Court. The first time they pur-
ported to raise their federal-law arguments was in
their motion for rehearing in the Louisiana Supreme
Yourt. This motion was unauthorized by the Louisi-
ana Supreme Court’s rules, which do not allow for

’ See, e.g , Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S. 56, 77 (1972); Ohio
ex rel. Bryant v. Akron Metro. Park Dist., 281 U.S. 74, 80 (1930).

* See La. S. Ct. R. IX § 6 (“An application for rehearing will
not be considered when the court has merely granted or denied
an application for a writ of certiorari or a remedial or other
supervisory writ... . ”).

8

rehearing following denial of a writ application. Even
if the motion were authorized, this Court’s caselaw
holds that an issue is generally untimely if raised for
the first time in a rehearing application in the state’s
highest court.

Even if Kaiser-AXA and Hayes’s due-process and
equal-protection arguments were properly before this
Court, the arguments would have no merit. Kaiser-
AXA and Hayes had ample notice that the court of
appeal’s 2006 judgment on T&B’s appeal would
hecome final, definitive, and unalterable if and when
the Louisiana Supreme Court denied certiorari,
because the caselaw saying so was on the books for 10
years before the court of appeal’s judgment. And
despite their protests that they never had the chance
to “appeal the verdict,” in fact Kaiser-AXA and Hayes
had the right, in the course of T&B’s appeal, to attack
the verdict with any argument supported by the
record. And in fact, they did attack the verdict in
T&B’s appeal, in defense of both the trial court’s
JNOV and its conditional order of a new trial. The
court of appeal considered these arguments and
rejected them, finding the verdict to be reasonable
based on the evidence presented at trial.

¢

9

ARGUMENT

1. Kaiser-AXA and iTiayes failed to raise a
substantial federal question timely in the
Louisiana Supreme Court.

This Court may grant a writ of certiorari to
review a final judgment or decree by the highest court
of a state, out only if the petitioner has properly
raised and preserved a substantial federal constitu-
tional issue in the state courts. See Cardinale v. La.,
394 U.S. 437, 438 (1969); 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a). The
petitioners here have failed to properly and timely
raise their purported federal issues in state court.
Their writ application in the Louisiana Supreme
Court was devoid of any citation to federal law or any
invocation of any right provided by federal law.’ The
only “right” they asserted in their writ application
was the so-called “right to appeal.”’” But the United
States Constitution does not guarantee litigants in
state-court civil cases any right to appeal. See Ohio ex
rel. Bryant v. Akron Metro. Park Dist., 281 U.S. 74, 80
(1930) (“[T]he right of appeal is not essential to due
process, provided that due process has already been
accorded in the tribunal of first instance.”); Lindsey v.
Normet, 405 U.S. 56, 77 (1972) (“This Court has
recognized that if a full and fair trial on the merits is
provided, the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

~

* See infra, App. 10-13 (table of authorities from writ
application).

'° See n. 6 supra and accompanying text.

10

Amendment does not require a State to provide
appellate review. ... ”).

After the Louisiana Supreme Court denied
petitioners’ writ application, petitioners attempted to
apply for rehearing, and for the first time purported
to invoke the United States Constitution.’ This
attempt came too late. The rules of the Louisiana
Supreme Court do not allow rehearing from a writ
denial. See La. S. Ct. R. [IX § 6 (“An application for
rehearing will not be considered when the court
has merely granted or denied an application for a
writ of certiorari or a remedial or other supervisory
wret. ..0.R

Even if the rehearing petition were permissible
under Louisiana law, it would still not be a proper
vehicle for introducing a federal question. This
Court’s caselaw holds that, as a general rule,
“[q]uestions presented to the highest State court on a
petition for rehearing come too late for consideration
here....” Radio Station WOW, Inc. v. Johnson, 326
U.S. 120, 128 (1945); see also Am. Sur. Co. v. Baldwin,
287 U.S. 156, 162-63 (1932) (due-process argument
“cannot serve as the basis for review by this Court”
when not raised in state supreme court until petition
for rehearing).

‘' See infra, App. 58 et seg. (motion for rehearing); infra
App. 62 (citations to decisions of this Court).

11

2. Kaiser-AXA and Hayes had fair notice that
the judgment on T&B’s appeal would have
the authority of res judicata.

On page 6 of their petition, Kaiser-AXA and
Hayes suggest that they were “without notice” that
the court of appeal’s 2006 judgment could be the final
judgment in this case, foreclosing a second appeal.
This suggestion is specious. The law applied by the
court of appeal in rendering the judgment complained
of was more than a decade old when the parties were
litigating T&B’s appeal.

More than 10 years before the court of appeal
rendered its 2006 judgment, the Louisiana Supreme
Court rendered its decision in Tolis v. Board of Su-
vervisors of LSU, 660 So. 2d 1206 (La. 1995). This
decision is the basis of the court of appeal’s judgment
now complained of by petitioners. Tolis teaches that a
final judgment may be rendered by an appellate
court, and that a judgment by an appellate court that
decides the merits of the case is a final judgment. /d.
at 1206. A judgment of a Louisiana court of appeal
acquires the authority of the thing adjudged (res
judicata) when the Louisiana Supreme Court denies
certiorari. Jd. at 1207. Once that happens, no court
has jurisdiction, in the sense of power or authority, to
modify, revise, or reverse the judgment, even if the
judgment is erroneous. Jd. at 1206-07.

Tolis controlled the proceedings below and com-
pelled the court of appeal to render the judgment now
complained of. The court’s 2006 judgment was based

12

not on legal technicalities, but on the merits. The
court reversed the JNOV because the jury’s verdict
was reasonable based on the evidence:

Despite the trial court’s statement, we con-
clude that reasonable persons, could arrive
at a contrary verdict, as this jury did.

Pet. for Cert. App. 41, 927 So. 2d at 500.

[W]Je conclude that “reasonable and fair-
minded persons in the exercise of impartial
judgment might reach different conclusions.”
... Accordingly, we find the trial court erred
in granting the motion for judgment not-
withstanding the verdict.

Pet. for Cert. App. 44-45, 927 So. 2d at 501, quoting
Trunk v. Med. Center of La. at New Orleans, 885
So. 2d 534, 537 (La. 2004).

The court of appeal reversed the conditional new
trial for the same reason: the jury’s verdict was
reasonable based on the evidence:

In several recent cases, our supreme court
has ruled that when a JNOV is reversed on a
determination that the jury’s verdict was
reasonable in light of the evidence presented,
the conditional new trial also should be re-
versed. We find that reasoning applicable
here....

Pet. for Cert. App. 47, 927 So. 2d at 502.

This judgment on the merits became final and
definitive as to petitioner Hayes when he failed to

13

apply timely to the court of appeal for rehearing or to
the Louisiana Supreme Court for certiorari. See La.
Code Civ. P. art. 2166(A). This same judgment became
final and definitive as to petitioner Kaiser-AXA when
the Louisiana Supreme Court denied its application
for certiorari. Jd. art. 2166(E); In re Gramercy Plant
Explosion at Kaiser, 929 So. 2d 1271 (La. 2006). In
this context, “final” means “not to be altered or un-
done.” Webster’s Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary 463
(1984). Once final under article 2166, the court of
appeal’s 2006 judgment became definitive, acquiring
the authority of res judicata: the thing adjudged.
Wheat v. Caruthers, 439 So. 2d 1065, 1066 (La. 1983).
The court of appeal’s latest decision, in accord with
Tolis, recognizes these unalterable facts.

Kaiser-AXA and Hayes knew or should have
known of the 10-year-old Tolis decision while litigat-
ing T&B’s appeal. Their failure to heed its lesson does
not raise a substantial federal issue.

. In the course of T&B’s appeal, Kaiser-AXA
and Hayes had the opportunity to attack
the verdict with any argument supported
by the record.

The crux of Kaiser-AXA and Hayes’s petition
is their complaint that they never had the chance
to appeal “the verdict.” Their argument betrays a
profound misunderstanding of Louisiana appellate
procedure.

14

To begin with, Louisiana law does not permit an
appeal of “the verdict.” What one appeals is a judg-
ment, not a verdict. See La. Code Civ. P. art. 2082
(“Appeal is the exercise of the right of a party to have
a judgment of a trial court revised, modified, set
aside, or reversed by an appellate court.”). Although a
jury verdict may serve as the basis of a judgment, the
verdict itself is not a judgment. Frank L. Maraist and
Hon. Harry T. Lemmon, Louisiana Civil Law Treatise:
Civil Procedure, vol. 1, § 13.4 (West 2007).

Here, when the trial court first signed judgments
on the jury verdict, Kaiser-AXA and Hayes had the
right to appeal. They chose to forgo that right, choos-
ing instead to move for JNOV and conditional new
trial. They knew when they filed these motions that,
if the motions were granted, the trial court’s judg-
ment on the verdict would be vacated, and they would
no longer have the opportunity to appeal the judg-
ment on the verdict.

After the trial court granted JNOV and condi-
tional new trial, Kaiser-AXA and Hayes again had
the right to appeal, to seek to have the trial court’s
judgment modified in their favor. In fact, Hayes
availed himself of this right and appealed. But for
reasons unknown to T&B, he voluntarily dismissed
his appeal.” Kaiser-AXA, for its part, chose again to
forgo its right to appeal.

' See Pet. for Cert. at App. 32; In re Gramercy Plant
Explosion at Kaiser, 927 So. 2d at 496.

15

T&B did appeal. And after the record was filed in
the court of appeal, Kaiser-AXA and Hayes had 14
days to answer T&B’s appeal. Under Louisiana law,
an answer to an appeal is the functional equivalent of
a cross-appeal, giving the appeilee the right to seek to
have the judgment modified in its favor. See La. Code
Civ. P. art. 2133(A). But Kaiser-AXA and Hayes chose
to forgo answering the appeal.

Even if they were totally satisfied with the
judgment in their favor, Kaiser-AXA and Hayes still
remained free — as appellees — to attack the verdict
with any argument supported by the record, in de-
fense of the JNOV, the conditional new trial, or both.
La. Code Civ. P. art. 2133(B) (“A party who does not
seek modification, revision, or reversal of a judgment
in any appellate court ... may assert, in support of
the judgment, any argument supported by the re-
cord....”). Even if an argument was overlooked or
flatly rejected by the trial court, they still could have
raised it in defense of the trial court’s judgment.
Roger v. Estate of Moulton, 513 So. 2d 1126, 1136 (La.
1987); RPM Pizza, Inc. v. Automotive Cas. Ins. Co.,
601 So. 2d 1366, 1370 (La. 1992); Davis v. Borskey,
660 So. 2d 17, 21 n. 6 (La. 1995).

Repeatedly in their petition, Kaiser-AXA and
Hayes refer to unspecified “errors,” rendering the
jury’s verdict “defective.” Whatever these so-called

'* See Pet. for Cert. 6 (“The jury verdict was so defective ... ”);
id. at 12 (new trial granted “due to the errors and irregularities
(Continued on following page)

16

“errors” consisted of — evidentiary rulings, jury in-
structions, comments of counsel, etc. — all of them
could have been raised in the course of T&B’s appeal,
either to attack the jury verdict in support of the
JNOV or to defend the conditional new trial. Even if
the verdict were simply wrong, the argument could
have been made during T&B’s appeal in defense of
the new trial. See La. Code Civ. P. art. 1972(1) (new
trial shall be granted if verdict is clearly contrary to
the law and the evidence); Pet. for Cert. App. 63 (trial
court citing art. 1972 to justify new trial).

In sum, every argument that Kaiser-AXA and
Hayes might make against the verdict today was
available to them in T&B’s appeal from the JNOV
and conditional new trial. Any failure by them to
make their arguments timely does not entitle them to
re-do the appeal.

4. The court of appeal necessarily considered
the sufficiency of the evidence supporting
the jury verdict.

Kaiser-AXA and Hayes make the repeated claim
that “the appellate court ... has never reviewed the
jury trial under the applicable standards.”"* Even a
cursory review of the decision of the court of appeal
refutes this contention. The court exhaustively

that occurred at trial.”); id. at 15 (“This trial was so fraught with
error...”)

‘* See Pet. for Cert. 6 (argument heading).

17

reviewed the trial evidence, and analyzed it under a
standard of review more favorable to Kaiser-AXA and
Hayes than they could ever hope for in a direct appeal
of the verdict.

In its decision, the court of appeal identified the
task before it in its review of the grant of JNOV by
the district court:

[T]he appellate court must determine
whether the ‘facts and inferences point so
strongly and overwhelmingly in favor of the
moving party [Kaiser-AXA and Hayes] that
reasonable persons could not arrive at a con-
trary verdict. If the appellate court deter-
mines that reasonable persons might reach a
different conclusion, then the district judge
erred in granting the motion and the jury
verdict should be reinstated.’”

A motion for new trial, the court noted, requires a
less stringent test than review of a grant of JNOV, as
“such a determination involves only a new trial and
does not deprive the parties of their right to have all
disputed issues resolved by a jury.””*

Indeed, T&Bb’s first issue presented to the court
made clear what was in contention, asserting that the

'* Pet. for Cert. App. 38, 927 So. 2d at 498-99, quoting Trunk
v. Med. Center of La. at New Orleans, 885 So. 2d 534, 537 (La.
2004).

'* Pet. for Cert. App. 47, 927 So. 2d at 502, citing Davis v.
Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 774 So. 2d 84 (La. 2000).

18

trial court usurped the jury’s fact-finding function
and ignored substantial record evidence."

It is against this backdrop that the court began
its work. To assess T&B’s claim that the JNOV ig-
nored substantial record evidence and its claim that a
“reasonable jury” could have exonerated it,” the court
— with a full trial record before it — closely examined
that evidence. It began by considering the trial testi-
mony of several critical liability witnesses (Excel’s
William Philyaw, and Kaiser’s Ken Scannapiego and
John Scanova), and observed that it was the jury’s
prerogative to assess the credibility of these wit-
nesses.”

The court then noted that the jurors physically
handled the allegedly defective product (the sticky
back), and that they “could decide for themselves”
whether its limitations should have been obvious to
Philyaw (i.e., whether their verdict was reasonable).”
The court went on to consider Kaiser-AXA and Hayes’s
claim that the product was defective because of a
deficient warning, and examined the trial testimony of
Kaiser’s expert (Jerry Householder), and T&B’s expert
(Jerry Purswell).” After considering that testimony,
the court concluded that “[a] reasonable jury could

’ Pet. for Cert. App. 33, 927 So. 2d at 496.

* Pet. for Cert. App. 39, 927 Su. 2d at 499.

° Pet. for Cert. App. 40-41, 927 So. 2d at 499-500.
Pet. for Cert. App. 41-42, 927 So. 2d at 500.

* Pet. for Cert. App. 42, 927 So. 2d at 500.

19

have decided that a sticky-back, like a nail, does not
need the kinds of warnings that Kaiser-AXA argues
for.””

Lastly, the court of appeal examined Kaiser-AXA
and Hayes’s claim that the district court was correct
to apportion 25% of the fault to T&B, based on their
arguments on the merits of the evidence. The court
dismissed that contention, but only after closely
analyzing the various roles of the instrumentalities
causing the explosion, and concluding that unlike
Excel (the electrical contractor), T&B could “not have
knowr the risk created by the proximity between the
CT leads and the high-voltage bus bars.” And more:
“(S]ince Philyaw .. . never saw any of the warnings or
instructions ... the jury could reasonably find that
any alleged deficiency in [them] was not a proximate
cause of any of the events.”

The court ultimately concluded that the jury’s
verdict was eminently reasonable: “Considering all of
the above factors, we conclude that ‘reasonable and
fair-minded persons in the exercise of impartial
judgment might reach different conclusions’” from
those advanced by petitioners.“ On that basis, it
reversed the district court’s grant of JNOV, and
similarly reversed the district court’s conditional
grant of a new trial.

” Id.
“ Pet. for Cert. App. 44, 927 So. 2d at 501.
“ Pet. for Cert. App. 44-45, 927 So. 2d at 501.

20

It is difficult to reconcile Kaiser-AXA and Hayes’s
claim that the evidence supporting the jury’s verdict
has never been examined on appeal with the court’s
detailed discussion of that very evidence. Properly
stated, what Kaiser-AXA and Hayes complain of is
not that the jury verdict has never been reviewed, but
that it was not reviewed in the context of a direct
appeal of the verdict — a distinction without a differ-
ence. The jury’s verdict, and the evidence that sup-
ported it, was thoroughly reviewed by the court of
appeal. It had to be — how could the court possibly
assess the “reasonableness” of the verdict (required in
both the JNOV and new-trial analyses) without a
consideration of the entire body of evidence?

In short, Kaiser-AXA and Hayes’s claim that
“(tlhe merits of the verdict have never been addressed
., and that T&B’s appeal did not involve a consid-
eration of the merits of the jury verdict,” reveals a
startling misapprehension of the underlying proceed-
ings. This Court should not be similarly beguiled.

5. A second appeal, under a manifest-error
standard of review, would serve no legiti-
mate purpose and would be a waste of ju-
dicial resources.

As alluded to above, part of Kaiser-AXA and
Hayes’s displeasure with the proceedings in the state
court seems to revolve around the notion that they

* Pet. for Cert. 13.

21

have been prejudiced because the jury’s verdict was
not assessed under the “applicable standards.” Yet
nowhere do they articulate what that standard would
be, and how such a review would be substantively
different from the review conducted by the court of
appeal.

Under Louisiana law, a jury’s findings cannot be
overturned unless manifestly erroneous or clearly
wrong.” Taken to its logical endpoint, what Kaiser-
AXA and Hayes suggest to this Court is that a verdict
that has already been found to be “reasonable,” is
somehow also “manifestly erroneous.” This point is
studiously avoided in the petition because of its
patent absurdity. The jury’s verdict was validated
under both the more stringent JNOV standard and
the less stringent new-trial standard. Under both
standards, it was found to be amply supported by the
evidence. Kaiser-AXA and Hayes offer this Court no
explanation how a second appellate review of the
verdict under the manifest-error standard could
_possibly yield a different result. They do not because
they cannot.

* Rosell v. ESCO, 549 So. 2d 840, 844 (La. 1989): “It is well
settled that a court of appeal may not set aside a trial court’s or
a jury’s finding of fact in the absence of ‘manifest error’ or unless
it is ‘clearly wrong,’ and where there is conflict in the testimony,
reasonable evaiuations of credibility and reasonable inferences
of fact should not be disturbed upon review, even though the
appellate court may feel that its own evaluations and inferences
are as reasonable.”

22

The court of appeal thoroughly vetted the chal-
lenged verdict under standards of review more ad-
vantageous to Kaiser-AXA and Hayes than what they
now seek. Finding constitutional error under these
circumstances is simply inconceivable.

2

CONCLUSION

The petition for certiorari suffers from a fatal
infirmity: petitioners’ failure to raise any substantial
issue of federal law timely in the state courts. Their
belated attempt to do so did not come until their
unauthorized motion for rehearing in the Louisiana
Supreme Court. This alone is enough reason to deny
the petition without any further consideration. T&B
suggests that the Court do just that.

Respectfully submitted,

Louis C. LACour, JR.,
Counsel of Record
ADAMS AND REESE LLP
701 Poydras Street
Suite 4500

New Orleans, LA 70139
Tel: (504) 581-0328

RAYMOND PETER WARD
ADAMS AND REESE LLP
701 Poydras Street
Suite 4500

New Orleans, LA 70139
Tel: (504) 585-0339

23

ERNEST P. GIEGER, JR.

ANDREW A. BRAUN

GIEGER, LABORDE &
LAPEROUSE, LLC

701 Poydras Street

Suite 4800

New Orleans, LA 70139

Tel: (504) 561-0400

ROBERT E. WINN

JOY GOLDBERG BRAUN

SHARON CORMACK MIZE

SESSIONS, FISHMAN,
NATHAN & ISRAEL, LLP

201 St. Charles Ave.

Suite 3500

New Orleans, LA 70170 .

Tel: (504) 582-5200

App. 1

SUPREME COURT OF LOUISIANA
Docket No.

IN RE:
GRAMERCY PLANT EXPLOSION AT KAISER

On application for Supervisory Writ of Certiorari
or Review from the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal
for the State of Louisiana
Docket No. 07-C-893

On Application for Supervisory Writ of Certiorari
or Review from the 23rd Judicial District Court,
Parish of St. James
State of Louisiana
Honorable Pegram J. Mire, Jr., Judge, Presiding
Docket No. 25,975

Original Writ Application Filed on Behalf of
Respondents/Appellants Terrance Hayes,
Kaiser Alumina & Chemical Corporation/

AXA Global Risks, et al.

Counsel for Kaiser/AXA: Counsel for Terrance Hays
Thomas G. Wilkinson Walter Dumas,

La. Bar No. 2184 La Bar No. 5163
Michael P. Ciaccio Dumas &

La. Bar No. 21428 Associates Law Corp.
320 Huey P. Long Ave. The Lawyer’s Complex
Gretna, Louisiana 70053 1261 Government Street
Telephone: (504) 364-1892 Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Facsimile: (504) 366-1519 70821

Caleb H. Didriksen,
La. Bar No. 1334
Diane R. Cosenza,
La. Bar No. 4419
Richard J. Garvey, Jr.,
La. Bar No. 20822
Loyd J. Bourgeois, Jr.,
La. Bar No. 29771
Amanda K. Wingfield,
La. Bar No. 30800
DIDRIKSEN LAW FIRM
3114 Canal Street
New Orleans, Louisiana
70119
Tele: (504) 586-1600
FaxX: (504) 822-3119

Counsel for Appellants, Terrance Hayes, AXA Global
Risks (U.K.) et al, suing on their own behalf and in
the name Kaiser Alumina & Chemical Corporation

Civil Case

Volume 1 of 2

SUPREME COURT OF LOUISIANA
WRIT APPLICATION FILING SHEET

No.

TO BE COMPLETED BY COUNSEL or PRO SE
LITIGANT FILING APPLICATION

TITLE
In re: Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser

VS.

Thomas and Betts Corporation

App. 3

Applicant: Kaiser/AXA and Terrance Hayes

Have there been any other filings in this
Court in this matter? M@ Yes OJ No

Are you seeking a Stay Order? No
Priority Treatment? No

If so you MUST complete & attach a
Priority Form

LEAD COUNSEL/PRO SE
LITIGANT INFORMATION

APPLICANT:

Name: Caleb H. Didriksen, Esquire/
Walter Dumas, Esquire

Address: 3114 Canal Street/
1263 Government Street
New Orleans, LA 70119/
Baton Rouge, LA 70821

PhoneNo. (504) 586-1600 Bar Roll No. 1334

RESPONDENT:
Name: Louis C. Lacour, Jr., Esquire

Address: 4500 One Shell Square
New Orleans, LA 70139

PhoneNo. (504) 592-3234 Bar Roll No. 14102

Pleading being filed: LJ In proper person.
(} In Forma Pauperis

Attach a list of additional counsel/pro se litigants,
their addresses, phone numbers and the parties
they represent.

App. 4

™ Civil, LJ Criminal, ) RS. 46:1844 protection,
C) Bar, O Civil Juvenile, LJ Criminal Juvenile,
Cj) Other

C1) CINC, 0 Termination, (J Surrender,
[J Adoption, LJ Child Custody

ADMINISTRATIVE OR
MUNICIPAL COURT INFORMATION

Tribunal/Court: Docket No.

Judge/Commission/
Hearing Officer:

Date of Ruling:

Parish and Judicial
District Court: 23rd Judicial District
Court, Parish of St. James

Docket No. 25,975
Judge and Section: Hon. Pegram Mire, Division D
Date of Ruling/Judgment: October 10, 2007

APPELLATE COURT INFORMATION
Circuit: Fifth Docket No. 07-C-893

Action: Writ granted, Reversed motion for
new trial, Dismissed appeal

Applicant in Filing
Appellate Court: Thomas & Betts Date: Nov. 8, 2007
Corporation

App. 5

- Ruling Date: Jan. 30, 2008

Panel of Judges: Hon. S. Chehardy,
Hon. M. Edwards,

Hon. G. Guidry
En Banc: U
REHEARING INFORMATION
Date Action on
Applicant: Filed: Rehearing:
Ruling Panel of En
Date: Judges: Banc: (0
PRESENT STATUS

LJ Pre-Trial, Hearing/
Trial Scheduled date: If new trial is reinstated,
pre-trial status.

(] Trialin Progress, @M Post Trial
If there a stay now in effect? No

Has this pleading been filed simultaneously in
any other court? No

If so, explain briefly

VERIFICATION

I certify that the above information and all of the infor-
mation contained in this application is true and correct
to the best of my knowledge and that all relevant plead-
ings and rulings, as required by Supreme Court Rule X,
are attached to the filing. I further certify that a copy of

App. 6

this application has been mailed or delivered to the
appropriate court of appeal (if required), to the respon-
dent judge in the case of a remedial writ, and to all other
counsel and unrepresented parties.

2/28/08 /s/ Caleb Didriksen
DATE SIGNATURE

List of all parties and counsel

For Applicants:

DUMAS & ASSOCIATES LAW CORPORATION
Walter Dumas, La Bar No. 5163

The Lawyer’s Complex

1261 Government Street

P.O. Box Office 1366

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-1366

Telephone: (225) 383-4701

Facsimile: (225) 383-4719

Counsel for Terrance Hayes
and

Thomas G. Wilkinson, La. Bar No. 2184
Michael P. Ciaccio, La. Bar No. 21428
320 Huey P. Long Ave.

Gretna, Louisiana 70053

Telephone: (504) 364-1892

Facsimile: (504) 366-1519

DIDRIKSEN LAW FIRM

Caleb H. Didriksen, La. Bar No. 1334
Diane R. Cosenza, La. Bar No. 4416
Richard J. Garvey, Jr., La. Bar No. 20822
Loyd J. Bourgeios, La. Bar No. 29771
Amanda K. Wingfield, La. Bar No. 30800
3114 Canal Street

App. 7

New Orleans, Louisiana 70119
Telephone: (504) 586-1600
Facsimile: (504) 822-3119

Counsel for:
AXA GLOBAL RISKS (U.K.),
ALLIANZ INSURANCE COMPANY,
CERTAIN UNDERWRITERS AT LLOYD’S, LONDON,
COMPAGNIE TRANSCONTINENTALE
DE REASSURANCE,
HOUSTON CASUALTY COMPANY,
LEXINGTON INSURANCE COMPANY,
MUNICH REINSURANCE COMPANY,
NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY,
QATAR INSURANCE COMPANY,
Q.B.E. INTERNATIONAL INSURANCE, LTD.,
SOREMA INSURANCE COMPANY,
SWISS REINSURANCE COMPANY,
WINTERTHUR INTERNATIONAL
INSURANCE COMPANY,
ZURICH REINSURANCE COMPANY
in their own names and in the name
Kaiser Alumina & Chemical Corporation

For Respondents:

ADAMS & REESE

Louis C. LaCour, Jr., Esquire
Raymond P. Ward, Esquire
4500 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

GIEGER, LABORDE & LAPEROUSE, LLC
Ernest P. Gieger, Jr., Esquire

Andrew A. Braun, Esquire

4800 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

App. 8

SESSIONS, FISHMAN & NATHAN, LLP
Robert E. Winn, Esquire

Sharon Cormack Mize, Esquire

201 St. Charles Ave., 35th Floor

New Orleans, LA 70170-3500

Counsel for Thomas & Betts

Certificate of Service

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a copy of the foregvuing
pleading has been forwarded to all counsel of record
addressed as follows by placing same in the United
States mail, facsimile, or other electronic means this
28th day of February, 2008:
Division D
23rd Judicial District Court for the

Parish of St. James
St. James Parish Courthouse

5800 LA 44
Convent, Louisiana 70723

Clerk for the Louisiana Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals
101 Derbigny Street "
Gretna, Louisiana 70053

Louis C. LaCour, Jr., Esquire
Raymond P. Ward, Esquire
ADAMS & REESE

4500 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

App. 9

Ernest P. Gieger, Jr., Esquire

Andrew A. Braun, Esquire

GIEGER, LABORDE & LAPEROUSE, LLC
4800 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

Robert E. Winn, Esquire

Sharon Cormack Mize, Esquire
SESSIONS, FISHMAN & NATHAN, LLP
201 St. Charles Ave., 35th Floor

New Orleans, LA 70170-3500

/s/ Caleb Didriksen

DIDRIKSEN LAW FIRM
Index

Writ Application Filing Sheet................000..0........ i
List of all Parties and Counse].............. Saiktuada Dubie ii
Bs a aor iv
Bias dada gh usucodneoivereas¥eeredsovessade Vv
Ls cacsadciccpndwbeasnescncunentisecorecns vil
I Nt No os co sancans sweden sanedsisevecesevedesesess Vill
Statement of Writ Grant Considerations ............ ix

(2) COPERICURIS EPOCISIONS ......50.025.5..ccccccccseeccee ess 1X

(2) Significant Unresolved Issues of Law....... xl
I i I orn scv cnrnninvicavescssdesarccncens 1
i os dic aenipsle ds wnsiinanhvednecuwukension 6
Summary of the Argument ...................cceceeeece eee es 7
ee elas ba yang bnnau bnicdosiniuaeenepuneis 8

Assignment of Error No. 1 ................,........2e0ees 8

SN I oii sis dinticrisnnianpvisaeovesmartuae nas 8
Violation of Applicants’ Right to Appeal
a5 Aisi mct tori dscns 9
Preservation of and Applicants’ Right to
BE FE VI once cccccescsasicctasevercesisce 13
Louisiana Law does not Mandate an
Appeal of a Vacated Judgment.................. 15
Assignment of Error INO. @ ...;.....0<0sc.csccsseneecsenss 16
PT RII i seit cdicsxiidieysuidopigrereckatwacaecaccaaxnennntae 16
Rea ia cdiscincs cacrneeaniccs ibuainibiguns amaananivcokawscaimmneh 17
Verification....... 5 Gieeichbu aie neaiupien inate sea GN ka tlcky cana 19

Table of Authorities

Cases

Allen v. Stater [sic] of Louisiana through the
Ernest N. Morial — New Orleans Exhibition
Hall Authority, 2002-1072 (La. 04/096/03)

SE Ms I i ain x cca ooeeeninn apenas ietasbinses 13
Burgeuieres v. Pollingue, 02-1385 (La. 02/25/03),

as iat g cc councessntecnccensicelanemiendainninian cad 8
Burris v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 94-0921 (La.

App. 1 Cir. 03/03/95), 652 So. 2d 558........................ 7
Carlone v. Carlone, 444 So. 2d 1274 (La. App. 4

tii ME aiid acinar nae cote: en gupta het, iat Stas x, 16
Cary v. Richardson, 35 La. Ann. 505 (La. 1883) ......... 9
Delco v. Stafford, 2001-0018 (La. App. 1 Cir.

EOE) BA BO. Be GG ane ca nsivcisccneccncccteccsstseses x, 15

Fitzpatrick v. Letten, 49 So. 494 (La. 1908)............... 13

App. 11

Foster v. Kaplan Rice Mill, 13 So. 2d 850 (La.

Garland v. Dimitry, 114 So. 2d 718 (La. 1927)

General Motors Acceptance Corp. v. Deep South
Pest Control Inc., 173 So. 2d 190 (La. 1965)

Horton v. Mayeaux, 2005-1704 (La. 05/30/06),
931 So. 2d 338

In re Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 04-
1151 (La. App. 5 Cir. 03/28/06), 927 So. 2d

In re: Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 06-
871 (La. App. 5 Cir/ 02/23/07), 2007 La. App.
LEXIS 294

In re: Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser,
2007-0544 (La. 04/05/07), 954 So. 2d 132

Irby v. Harrell, 74 So. 163 (La. 1917)

Junot v. Morgan, 2001-0237 (La. App. 1 Cir.
02/50/02) [sic], 818 So. 2d 152....x, 3, 5, 11, 13, 14, 15

Mancuso v. Siegel, 94-525 (La. App. 5 Cir.
11/29/94), 646 So. 3d [sic] 1200

Oliphint v. Oliphint, 54 So. 2d 18 (La. 1951)

Pate v. Crescent City Motors Exchange, Inc.,
256 So. 2d 471 (La. App. 4 Cir. 1972)

Rey v. Guidry, 618 So. 2d 425 (La. App. 5 Cir.

Savoie v. Rubin, 2001-3275 (La. 06/21/02), 820
So. 2d 486

Segura v. Frank, 93-1271 (La. 01/14/94), 630
So. 2d 714

App. 12

Shadoin v. Shadoin, 2003-0042 (La. 05/09/03),
847 So. 2d 1184

Simmons v. Beauregard Parish School Bd., 284
So. 2d 668 (La App. 3 Cir. 1973)

Ken Smith, et al v. State Dept. of Transp. and
Dev c/w Ken Smith, et al v. Mike Unkel,
2004-1317 c/w 2004-1594 (La. 03/11/05), 899
So. 2d 516

Smith v. Town of Vinton, 25 So. 2d 237 (La.

State v. Shaddinger, 97-439 (La. App. 5 Cir.
10/28/97), '702 So. 2d 965

Strain v. Indiana Lumberman’s Mut. Ins. Co.,
2000-2720 (La. App. 1 Cir. 02/20/02), 818 So.

Terrebone Fuel & Lube v. Placid Refinery Co.,
95-0654 (La. 01/169/96) [sic!, 666 So. 2d 624

Tolis v. Board of Supervisors, 95-1529 (La.
10/13/95), 660 So. 2d 1206 5, 10, 13, 16

Webb v. Parish Council of East Baton Rouge, 47
So. 2d 718 (La. 1950)

Wooley v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co., 04-0882
(La. 01/19/05), 893 So. 2d 746

App. 13

Statutes
I MI, SEO ics sus ses oecivins ceownevesceveoscduvecosecee 10
ee Re, PPO. BIC. 1673 ........000cccccccscssccecsseceee 10, 11
ee, WOME. EOE: BOLL... .scccccccccscscessscsapeonenvesos 14
mame Ree Cav. Fro. art. 1641 ..............0cc.cc0000. 5, 8, 13, 16
RE, PUD, GANG, LOEZ 20.5. csscccsscccescaccsersevevenseenees 10
EM, FOO, GEG, LOT 20... .c.cccccsccccessssccssosnseveocess 17
Bae epoee Gav. Fro. art. ZOSZ ................ccccccscessess 3, 13, 16
ae, PPO. OPC. BOBS ..........0.cccsccssccocccsecenccsotecsecs 6
SRM, PEO, BIC. DOGG ........00ccccccescevesevensceversecsss 11
Pe See, SO, GEC. DLGZ ........0cccersccenceovecveserscesesiens 14

La. R.S. § 13:4231

Secondary Sources
1 La. Civil Law Treatise § 13.4, n.21 (2006)......... ix, 15
Restatement (Second) of Judgments, § 26 (1982)....... ll

Table of Appendices

Appendices

Appendix 1: Judgment of the district court in No.
25,975, signed October 10, 2007 (grant-
ing Kaiser/AXA and Hayes a new trial)

Appendix 2: Ruling of the Louisiana Fifth Circuit
Court of Appeal in No. 07-C-893 (re-
versing trial court’s grant of a new
trial and dismissing Kaiser/AXA and
Hayes’ appeal)

App. 14

WRIT GRANT CONSIDERATIONS
IN THE PRESENT CASE

There are several writ grant considerations in
the present case that weigh strongly in favor of
granting this writ application, which include conflict-
ing decisions between the Louisiana Fifth Circuit
Court of Appeal, the Louisiana First Circuit Court of
Appeal, the Louisiana Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal,
the Louisiana Supreme Court and the United States
Supreme Court on the same legal issues. There is at
least one significant unresolved issue of law that
should be addressed by this Court, that of whether
the statutory right to file a new trial motion is an
empty right after or in conjunction with a JNOV that
is reversed. The Fifth Circuit granted a supervisory
writ in this matter, reversing its two prior judgments,
and held that res judicata barred the trial court’s
grant of a new trial in this matter and also blocked an
appeal of the jury’s verdict. The only decision on the
merits in this case is the judgment adopting the jury
verdict, which has never been appealed.’ Louisiana
Supreme Court Rule X “Erroneous Interpretation or
Application of Constitution or I.aws” is also impli-
cated by the Fifth Circuit’s erroneous application of
the res judicata statute, as it will deprive Hayes and
Kaiser/AXA of their right to appeal the jury verdict.

' Appendix 2.

App. 15

1. Conflicting Decisions

The Fifth Circuit’s newest decision in this matter
creates conflicts between the Fifth, First and
Fourth Circuits, fails to follow controlling
Supreme Court law, and conflicts with prior
case law in this case. The Fifth Circuit’s decision
also conflicts with the Civil Law Treatise which
cites Juno v. Morgan, a First Circuit decision, for the
proposition that “the judgment on the jury verdict
was ‘procedurally in abeyance’ when the appeal [of
the JNOV] was lodged.” 1 La. Civ. Law Treatise
§ 13.4, n.21 (2006).

The Fifth Circuit denied Kaiser/AXA and Hayes’
motion for a new trial, which conflicts with the follow-
ing authorities: In re: Gramercy Plant Explosion at
Kaiser, (prior judgment in this case dismissing appeal
of Kaiser/AXA due to lack of trial court judgment —
requiring trial court to enter judgment on January
16, 2007);’ In re: Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser,
(consent judgment in this case dismissing unlodged
appeal of Hayes pending trial court issuance of re-
placement judgment dated September 4, 2007);°
Horton v. Mayeaux, 2005-1704 (La. 05/30/06), 931
So. 2d 338 (discretionary new trials are truly discre-
tionary with trial court); Carlone v. Carlone, 444
So. 2d 1274 (La. App. 4 Cir. 1984) (a second new trial
can be ordered as there is no statutory prohibition of

* Exhibit C.
* Exhibit E.

App. 16

a new trial on a new judgment); State ex rel Land v.
Martin, 21 So. 2d 481 (La. 1945) (an order granting or
denying a new trial is an interlocutory judgment);
Junot v. Morgan, 2001-0237 (La. App. 1 Cir. 02/50/02
[sic]), 818 So. 2d 152 (a party cannot appeal a jury
verdict while a JNOV is on appeal); Strain v. Indiana
Lumberman’s Mut. Ins. Co., 2000-2720 (La. App. 1
Cir. 02/20/02), 818 So. 2d 144; Delco v. Stafford, 2001-
0018 (La. App. 1 Cir. 02/20/02), 813 So. 2d 458).

The Fifth Circuit held that both the issue of a
new trial and an appeal of the jury verdict were
barred by res judicata, which conflicts with the fol-
lowing authorities: in re: Gramercy Plant Explosion
at Kaiser, (prior judgment (January 16, 2007) in this
case dismissing appeal of Kaiser/AXA due to lack of
trial court judgment — requiring trial court to enter
judgment);* In re: Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kai-
ser, (consent judgment of September 4, 2007 in this
case dismissing unlodged appeal of Hayes pending
trial court issuance of replacement judgment dated
September 4, 2007), Carlone, 444 So. 2d 1274 (a
second new trial can be ordered as there is no statu-
tory prohibition of a new trial on a new judgment);
Martin, 21 So. 2d 481 (an order granting or denying a
new trial is an interlocutory judgment); Junot uv.
Morgan, 2001-0237 (La. App. 1 Cir. 02/50/02 [sic]),
818 So. 2d 152; Strain v. Indiana Lumberman’s Mut.

* Exhibit C.
° Exhibit E.

App. 17

Ins. Co., 2000-2720 (La. App. 1 Cir. 02/20/02), 818
So. 2d 144; Delco v. Stafford, 2001-0018 (La. App. 1
Cir. 02/20/02), 813 So. 2d 458) (the jury’s verdict can
not [sic] be appealed during the appeal of the JNOV
as the jury’s verdict is vacated by the entry of the
JNOV). State v. Shaddinger, 97-439 (La. App. 5 Cir.
10/28/97), 702 So. 2d 965 (res judicata only applies to
final judgments on the merits and not to interlocu-
tory judgments).

The Fifth Circuit’s latest decision reversed the
trial court’s grant of a new trial and denied Hayes
and Kaiser/AXA the right to appeal the jury verdict
on the grounds of res judicata. This decision conflicts
with the principles of res judicata. The Fifth Circuit
ignored its previous decision that it rendered on
January 16, 2007, which dismissed Kaiser/AXA’s
appeal until the trial court entered a judgment incor-
porating the jury verdict.*° The Fifth Circuit also
rendered a consent judgment on September 4, 2007,
which specified that dismissal of Hayes’ appeal, was
“without prejudice to refile after the entry of a re-
placement judgment by the trial court.”’ Thus, the
Fifth Circuit chose to reverse itself from its last two
decisions in the case.

* Exhibit C.
* Exhibit E.

App. 18

2. Significant Unresolved Issues of Law

A court of appeal has decided, or sanctioned a
lower court’s decision of, a significant issues [sic] of
law which have not been, but should be, resolved by
this court. According to the Fifth Circuits [sic] rulings
herein, if a JNOV is reversed: (1) any alternative new
trial order is automatically reversed; and (2) there is
no right to appeal the jury verdict.* This ruling con-
flicts with Horton, Junot, Strain, Delco, and Louisi-
ana statutory law, and creates the following questions
of law that should be addressed by this Honorable
Court:

1. Does Horton apply equally to alternative
new trials ordered in connection with a

JNOV?

2. If second new trials are permissible un-
der Carlone, then res judicata cannot
apply to a second new trial.

3. Should the Fifth Circuit decision, which
stated that there can be no new trial un-
der an circumstances when a JNOV is
reversed be allowed to stand, even
though it conflicts with the legislative
intent as evidenced by the Code of Civil
Procedure, which provides for the oppo-
site result?

* Appendix 2.

App. 19

3. Erroneous Interpretation

Supreme Court Rule X “Erroneous Interpretation
or Application of Constitution or Laws” is also present
herein. The Fifth Circuit’s decision to erroneously
apply the res judicata statute, La. R.S. § 13:4231 will
cause material injustice as it will operate to deprive
Hayes and Kaiser/AXA of their constitutionally
protected right to appeal the adverse jury verdict.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves a massive short circuit and
explosion at the Kaiser Gramercy plant on July 5,
1999 that caused injuries to thousands of people,
including applicant Terrance Hayes, who was blinded,
and caused nearly half a billion dollars in losses to
Kaiser Alumina and Chemical Corporation, severe
injuries to others, including massive life threatening
burns to some and more minor injuries to thousands
of others. Plaintiffs filed suit against Thomas and
Betts (“T&B”) in 2000 because the short circuit was
caused by the failure of adhesive backed mounts
which were designed, manufactured, and sold by
T&B. When the T&B mounts failed in normal service,
they allowed a low voltage instrument line to contact
an 8,000 volt bus bar, which caused a short circuit,
and a power failure at the Kaiser plant at night. The
Kaiser workers, searching in the dark, were unable to
find the source of the power outage fast enough to
avoid the explosion.

App. 20

The matter was tried to a jury, which, through
various errors, concluded that T&B was not at fault.
The trial court presided over the six week trial, heard
and evaluated the evidence, and was well aware of
the errors that occurred at trial. The trial court
granted a JNOV in favor of Kaiser/AXA and Hayes,
found Kaiser/AXA lost $335,000,000 in the event, and
Hayes [sic] loss was $20,000,000, and allotted 25% of
the fault to T&B, which resulted in a judgment of
$88,750,000 million plus interest and costs, for a total
judgment of over $120,000,000. The Fifth Circuit
reversed the JNOV and conditional new trial in 2006.
In re: Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 04-1151
(La. App. 5 Cir. 03/28/06), 927 So. 2d 492. In late 2006
or early 2007, the appeal of the jury verdict was
lodged with the Fifth Circuit.’ Before briefs were
filed, the Fifth Circuit dismissed the appeal on the
basis that the record lacked any judgment of the trial
court adopting the jury verdict, but mentioned that
this could be easily remedied at the trial court level.’
On September 4, 2007, the Fifth Circuit Chief Judge
ordered a dismissal of Hayes’ unlodged appeal with-
out prejudice to refile after the trial court replaced
the judgment adopting the jury verdict.’ In 2008 the
Fifth Circuit reversed its 2007 judgments and held
that there can never be an appeal of the jury verdict,
and that the trial court should not have entered a

' Exhibit A
* Exhibit C.
’ Exhibit E

App. 21

judgment adopting the jury verdict in accordance
with its own two 2007 judgments, including the
consent judgment dated September 4, 2007, and that
the new trial should not be granted on the basis of res
judicata, again failing to address the legal standard
enunciated in Horton v. Mayeaux.* 2005-1704 (La.
05/30/06), 931 So. 2d 338.

This writ application principally seeks reversal of
two issues raised by the most recent Fifth Circuit
decision in this matter:

1. Does res judicata apply to this matter
and to a subsequent new trial order, or is
prior jurisprudence, including Carlone
and Horton valid?

Does res judicata automatically prevent
any appeal of a jury verdict when a
JNOV is reversed?

Applicants request that this court grant their writ
because the January 30, 2008 Fifth Circuit decision
conflicts with its own prior decisions, Louisiana
statutory law, and prior jurisprudence and so should
be addressed by this court. The January 30, 2008
Fifth Circuit opinion reversing the new trial order
closed with:

On this basis [res judicata], we hereby
grant Thomas and Betts’ writ application,
reverse the trial court’s judgment granting

* Appendix 2

App. 22

respondents’ a new trial, and deny respon-
dents’ motions for new trial.°

Buried within the body of the decision, is a clear
violation of plaintiffs’ constitutional right to appeal:

Thus, as of June 14, 2006 [the date the
Supreme Court denied writs on the reversal
of the JNOV], the judgment of the jury ac-
quired the authority of a thing adjudged and
was not subject to modification, revision or
reversal on this issue, or any other issue.°

Importantly, the Fifth Circuit had already ruled
in the opposite fashion in this case, against T&B, on
the res judicata issue on January 16, 2007,’ and
denied rehearing on February 23, 2007. In re: Gra-
mercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 06-871 (La. App. 5
Cir/ 02/23/07), 2007 La. App. LEXIS 294. The Su-
preme Court denied T&B’s writ on April 5, 2007.
In re: Gramercy Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 2007-0544
(La. 04/05/07), 954 So. 2d 132. The Fifth Circuit’s
dismissal of Applicants’ appeal that T&B challenged
read:

Mover, Thomas & Betts Corp. (“T&B”),
seeks to have us dismiss Kaiser-AXA’s appeal
on the basis that all issues are res judicata
pursuant to our prior opinion, Jn re Gra
mercy. Plant Explosion at Kaiser, 04-1151

* Appendix 2.
* Appendix 2 (emphasis added)
Exhibit C

App. 23

(La. App. 5 Cir. 3/28/06), 927 So.2d 492; writ
denied, 2006-1003 (La. 9/1/06), 986 So.2d
190. In our previous opinion, however, we
only addressed the issues of whether the
trial court erred in granting a JNOV and
new trial in favor of Kaiser-AXA; we re-
versed the judgment of the district court and
reinstated the jury verdict, and the Louisi-
ana Supreme Court subsequently denied
writs.

Citing to the First Circuit’s opinion in
Junot v. Morgan, 2001-0237 (La. App. 1 Cir.
2/20/02), 818 So.2d 152, Kaiser asserts that
its first opportunity to appeal the jury’s ver-
dict came after the supreme court denied
writs from our opinion which reinstated the
jury verdict, allowing for all further proceed-
ings or appeals as provided by law.

LSA-C.C.P. art. 2082 prov‘des that an
appeal can only be taken from a judgment of
a trial court. In the present case, without a
judgment of the trial court that adopts
the original jury verdict, which does not
presently appear in the record, Kaiser-
AXA has no basis for appeal at this time.
It would appear, however, this could be
easily remedied by a motion from the
defendant to the trial court.

Accordingly, for the foregoing reasons,
T&B’s Motion for Dismissal is granted."

* Exhibit C.

App. 24

There has never been an appeal of the jury
verdict, even though the most recent judgment from
the Fifth Circuit provides that there can never be
such an appeal. The jury verdict of 2001-2002 was
vacated by the entry of the JNOV. Therefore, it was
not and could not be appealed. T&B appealed the
JNOV. The JNOV and alternative new trial from the
2002 judgment was reversed on March 28, 2006.
In re: Gramercy, 04-1151, p. 3, 927 So. 2d at 494.
After the JNOV was reversed, Kaiser/AXA filed a
devolutive appeal from the jury verdict, as Kaiser/
AXA assumed that the Fifth Circuit decision of March
28, 2006 constituted the rendering of a judgment on
the jury verdict. On motion of T&B, the Fifth Circuit
dismissed the devolutive appeal of the jury verdict on
the grounds that there was no trial court judgment to
appeal. As per Junot, the 2002 judgment incorporat-
ing the jury verdict had been vacated, and no new
judgment incorporating the jury verdict was entered.
T&B, happy with the dismissal, but unhappy with
the reasons for the dismissal, moved for rehearing of
the dismissal and for writs to the Supreme Court on
the basis that res judicata barred any further trial
court action and the appeal. Both the Fifth Circuit
and the Supreme Court left the January 16, 2007
decision as it was, and the Fifth Circuit found res
judicata did not apply. Both the January 16, 2007 and

° See discussion on pgs. 14-16 under Junot v. Morgan, 2001-
0237 (La. App. 1 Cir. 02/50/02 [sic]), 818 So. 2d 152.

* Id.

App. 25

the September 4, 2007 Fifth Circuit orders clearly
anticipate the entry of a trial court order adopting the
jury verdict. The 2008 Fifth Circuit decision states
the opposite of its own January 16, 2007 and the
September 4, 2007 decisions in this same case, and

denies Applicants any right to appeal the jury ver-
dict.”

When the devolutive appeal of the jury verdict
was dismissed for lack of a trial court judgment, with
advice that the lack of a judgment could be remedied
by the trial court, the Fifth Circuit effectively re-
manded this matter back to the trial court for entry of
judgment in conformance with the jury verdict. T&B
admitted in open court that the trial court had juris-
diction on May 14, 2007 to enter a new judgment
incorporating the jury verdict: [sic]

T&B acknowledged in open court on May 14,
2007 that the trial court now had jurisdiction to enter
a judgment on the jury’s verdict:

THE COURT:
Are you saying that now I have jurisdic-
tion over it since your writs are com-
pleted?

MR. WARD:

That would be — well, we still have
the problem with Mr. Hayes. Kaiser is

Appendix 2, Exhibit C.

App. 26

properly before you at this point, I guess,
on that issue...

MR. WARD: Z
... Your Honor, there’s an easy was to
straighten this out. The first thing, Mr.
Hayes needs to file in the Court of Ap-
peal a Motion to Dismiss an Unlodged
Appeal. There is such an animal.

THE COURT:
Correct.

MR. WARD:

It’s procedurally possible. He can do
that. That will take care of that.

THE COURT:
I agree.

MR. WARD: _

The next thing that happens, you sign
another judgment on the verdict after we
try to work that, and, if necessary,
maybe have a contradictory hearing on
that. Then, we can go forward. If they
want to bring whatever motions they
want to bring following that, that would
be the way to do that.

T&B then provided the trial court with its own choice
of form for that judgment on August 22, 2007.” On
September 4, 2007, just six months ago, T&B also

* Exhibit D, letter from T&B counsel to Trial Court re-
questing entry of judgment and attached form.

App. 27
consented to a Fifth Circuit order dismissing Hayes’
unlodged appeal without prejudice to refile after a
replacement judgment would be ordered by the trial

T&B’s own form of new judgment incorporating
the jury verdict was entered on September 4, 2007
after Hayes’ unlodged appeal was dismissed, as
requested by T&B. On September 5, 2007, Hayes and
Kaiser/AXA filed timely motions for new trial from
the new judgment.” The trial court received briefs
and heard arguments from all parties. On October 10,
2007, the trial court granted a new trial on purely
discretionary grounds as per this court’s holding in
Horton v. Mayeaux."” T&B filed a writ application to
the Fifth Circuit based on res judicata, which had
already been rejected by all Louisiana trial and
appellate courts in this case. The Fifth Circuit, which
had rejected T&B’s identical arguments last year,
reversed themselves and accepted T&B’s arguments
this year, and reversed their own decision of one year
ago. This writ application is from the Fifth Circuit's
grant of T&B’s 2007 writ, in which the Fifth Circuit
reversed the grant of a new trial and any appeal

° Exhibit E.
* Id.
Appendix 1.
Appendix 2

App. 28

based upon res judicata, a ground that it previously
rejected in this same case.”

Res judicata only applies following a final judg-
ment on the merits. La. R.S. § 13:4231 cmt. (d) (2007);
Tolis v. Bd. of Supervisors of LSU, 95-1529,
p. 2-3, (La. 10/16/95), 660 So. 2d 1206-07, citing La.
Code of Civ. Pro. art. 1841. Res judicata should not
apply herein, as there has never been a final judg-
ment on the jury verdict, as Applicants’ appeal of the
jury verdict was lodged after the JNOV was reversed,
but has never been briefed or argued.” In 2007, the
Fifth Circuit dismissed Plaintiffs’ appeal just before
briefs were due based upon the lack of a trial court
judgment adopting the jury verdict." The JNOV
reversal related to the appellate process was com-
pleted, but the appeal of the jury verdict had not yet
taken place. The JNOV reversal was not a final
judgment on the merits of the jury verdict, as the
jury verdict had not been in effect or appealed, and
was not yet briefed. Different legal standards of
review apply to appeals of jury verdicts and to JNOVs.

The Fifth Circuit erred in its order, as new trial
orders are interlocutory judgments, so they are not
subject to the res judicata defense. Simmons ov.
Beauregard Parish School Bd., 284 So. 2d 668, 669

' Appendix 2.
* See discussion at pgs. 14-16, under Junot, 2001-0237, 818
So. 2d 152.

* Exhibit C.

App. 29

(La. App. 3 Cir. 1973), citing Official Revision Com-
ments, LSA-C.C.P. Art. 2083; Foster v. Kaplan Rice
Mill, 203 La. 245, 13 So. 2d 850 (La. 1943); Pate uv.
Crescent City Motors Exchange, Inc., 256 So. 2d 471
(La. App. 4 Cir. 1972).” The Fifth Circuit also erred in
holding that res judicata applies to all aspects of this
case, effectively denying applicants any right to
appeal the adverse jury verdict. The merits of the
jury verdict have never been considered by any appel-
late court.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERRORS

1. The Fifth Circuit erred in determining
that its 2006 decision reversing the trial
court’s JNOV was a final judgment, such
that the doctrine of res judicata could be
applied to prohibit any appeal of the jury
verdict.

* Likewise, the Louisiana Supreme Court has specifically
stated, “It is well settled that a judgment refusing a new trial is
not appealable. It is not a final judgment and can produce no
irreparable injury.” General Motors Acceptance Corp. v. Deep
South Pest Control, Inc., 173 So. 2d 190, 191 (La. 1965), citing
State ex rel Land v. Martin, 207 La. 410, 21 So. 2d 481 (La.
1945).

The Louisiana Supreme Court has further held that a
judgment or an order granting a new trial is interlocutory and
operates only as a postponement or continuance, and further, an
order granting a new trial does not cause irreparable injury and
no appeal (or writ) lies from an order granting a new trial in
cases where the application for a new trial was timely filed.
Foster v. Kaplan Rice Mill, 13 So. 2d 850, 852 (La. 1943).

App. 30

2. The Fifth Circuit erred in reversing the
trial court’s decision to grant a new trial
and in denying Hayes and Kaiser/AXA’s
motion for a new trial, and in reversing
the trial court’s entry of a new judgment
incorporating the jury verdict (as it has
been ordered to do by the Fifth Circuit).

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

This writ application is filed on behalf of Hayes,
Kaiser and AXA, and seeks the reversal of the Fifth
Circuit decision reversing the trial court’s grant of a
discretionary new trial and denying a new trial, and
ordering that there can never be an appeal of the jury
verdict, on the basis of res judicata.

This case itself has conflicting and contradictory
decisions from the Fifth Circuit. Not only are there
contradictions between the circuits, there are contra-
dictions-by the Fifth Circuit in this very case. The
January 16, 2007 decision in this case stated that
there was no trial court judgment from which to
appeal, and stated that situation could easily be
remedied. The September 4, 2007 consent dismissal
of Hayes unlodged appeal specifically reserved Hayes’
right to file his appeal after the trial court entered
the replacement judgment.” Contradicting its own
prior orders on the subject, the judgment from which

” Exhibit E.

App. 31

this writ is taken states that a reversal of a JNOV
alone is a final judgment on the merits that auto-
matically prevents any appeal of the jury verdict.

A conflict exists in the jurisprudence concerning
discretionary new trials. This; Court declared in
Horton that a trial judge has almost unlimited discre-
tion to order a new trial, as long as reasonably articu-
lated reasons are given. Horton, 2005-1704, p. 10, 931 |
So. 2d at 344, citing Burris v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.,
94-0921, p. 11 (La. App. 1 Cir. 03/03/95), 652 So. 2d
558, 562, writ denied, 654 So. 2d 562 (La. 1995). In
this matter, the Fifth Circuit ruled that no new trial
can be granted for any reason in the event that a
JNOV is overturned.” There is no statutory support
for this proclamation by the Fifth Circuit, only juris-
prudential support, and this jurisprudence conflicts
with statutory law, so it should be reversed or limited.
The Fifth Circuit’s 2006 decision on conditional new
trial also appears to have been overruled by Horton v.
Mayeaux. In re: Gramercy, 04-1151, 927 So. 2d 492.
Both of these subjects are areas of law that would
benefit by clear standards being set by this Honorable
Court.

Assignment of Error No: 1
Res Judicata

The Supreme Court has repeatedly ruled on res
judicata motions and appeals since the mid-1800s. It

” Appendix 2.

App. 32

is generally a well-established body of law. Neither
the law nor the jurisprudence support what the Fifth
Circuit has just done.

The doctrine of res judicata precludes
subsequent litigation when all of the follow-
ing are satisfied: (1) the judgment is valid;
(2) the judgment is final; (3) the parties in
the two matters are the same; (4) the cause
or causes of action asserted in the second
suit existed at the time of the final judgment
in the first litigation; and (5) the cause or
causes of action asserted in the second suit
arose out of the transaction or occurrence
that was the subject matter of the first litiga-
tion.

One of the initial obvious differences between
this case and those covered by the general rule of res
judicata is that this is not a second suit. We are still
in the middle of the original suit. The appeal of the
jury verdict, which was lodged and pending, but not
yet briefed or argued, was dismissed pending entry of
a judgment by the trial court.“ The Chief Judge of the
Fifth Circuit, with the consent of all parties, dis-
missed Hayes’ unlodged appeal without prejudice to

*” Burguieres v. Pollingue, 02-1385, p. 8 (La. 2/25/03), 843
So. 2d 1049, 1053, citing La. R.S. 13:4231; see also Ken Smith, et
al. v. State, DOTD c/lw Ken Smith, et al. v. Mike Unkel, 2004-
1317 c/w 2004-1594 (La. 03/11/05); 899 So. 2d 516, 529; See also
Wooley v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Ins. Co., 04-0882, (La.
01/19/05); 893 So. 2d 746.

* Exhibit C.

App. 33

refile after the entry of judgment by the trial court.”
The trial court’s case numbers never changed. This is
still the first suit. No new suit has been filed. “A final
judgment is defined in LSA-C.C.P. art. 1841 as one
that determines the merits in whole or in part. An
interlocutory judgment is defined as one that does
not determine the merits but only preliminary
matters.” State v. Shaddinger, 97-439, p. 9 (La. App. 5
Cir. 10/28/97), 702 So. 2d 965, 970 (emphasis
added).

The 2006 judgment reversing the JNOV has
indicia of both final and interlocutory judgments. It
was not an appeal of the jury verdict, it was only an
appeal of the JNOV. A similar situation to that herein
was considered by this court in 1951. Oliphint uv.
Oliphint, 54 So. 2d 18 (La. 5/28/51). A judgment that
concerned merit issues that did not resolve all of the
open issues in the case was rendered, appealed and
decided, but it left open ongoing issues and appeals.
Id. The case was not concluded, but the defendant
urged that res judicata compelled an immediate
dismissal. Jd. The Oliphint court stated:

It is, of course, true that the
judgment is not a final judgment in
the sense that it is the last judg-
ment to be rendered in the case.
Therefore, it cannot be said to fit
exactly within the definition of

* Exhibit E.

App. 34

definitive judgments contained in
Article 539 of the Code of Practice.
On the other hand; it is apparent
that it cannot be regarded as an in-
terlocutory judgment, as defined by
Article 538 of the Code of Practice,
since it trenches upon the merits of
the case and does not merely pro-
nounce on preliminary matters in
the course of the proceedings. Albeit,
the judgment falls within that zone
of decrees which are not defined in
the Code of Practice but which
really partake of final judgments in
that they dispose of issues applica-
ble solely to the merits of the case.
The omission of provisions in the
Code of Practice relative to this type
of judgment has been heretofore
commented upon by this court in a
number of cases and appeals from
such judgments have been sanc-
tioned.

Id. at 789-90; see Cary v. Richardson, 35 La.
Ann. 505 (La. 1883); Garland v. Dimitry, 114
So. 2d 718 (La. 1927).

Violation of Applicants’ Right to Appeal

The plaintiffs’ appeals in this case were pending
and lodged, but were not yet briefed or argued at the
time T&B’s motion to dismiss was granted. In addi- |
tion to the directive provided by the Fifth Circuit to
the trial court and litigants to enter a new judgment

App. 35

on the jury verdict in its 2007 dismissal of the ap-
peal,” the Fifth Circuit, with the consent and concur-
rence of T&B, provided the following order to appellant
Hayes and the trial court on September 4, 2007:

IT IS ORDERED that the unopposed
motion to dismiss unlodged appeal without
prejudice to refile is granted, and the
unlodged devolutive appeal of Terrance
Hayes is dismissed without prejudice to re-
file after the entry of a replacement judg-
ment by the trial court.

Gretna, Louisiana, this 4th day of Sept.,
2007.

s/ Edwin Dufresne, Chief Judge”

It is clear that the Fifth Circuit remanded this
matter to the trial court for entry of judgment. When
that new judgment was entered, a motion for new
trial was filed, was later argued, heard, and granted.
It cannot be reasonably questioned that the trial
court was authorized and expected by the Fifth
Circuit to enter a judgment in accordance with the
ju verdict so that the matter could proceed in
accordance with law. After entry, of a ne'v judgment,
the Code and jurisprudence permits the filing of a
motion for new trial, and if not granted, the filing of
the appeal. This Court has previously ruled that

*® Exhibit C
? Exhibit E

_ App. 36

whenever there remain appeal rights that have not
been exhausted, res judicata is inappropriate.

We also find it significant that
on June 10, 1992, the effective date
of Act 237 of 1992, neither the
judgment rendered by the trial court
in Rey, nor that rendered by the
trial court in Segura, were res judi-
cata. Under the law of res judicata
applicable in Rey,” “(a] final judg-
ment is definitive when it has ac-
quired the authority of the thing
adjudged.” La. C.C.P. art. 1842
(West 1990). “Thing adjudged” is de-
fined in La. C.C. art. 3506(31) as
“that which has been decided by a
final judgment, from which there
can be no appeal, either because
the appeal did not lie, or because the
time fixed by law for appealing is
elapsed, or because it has been con-
firmed on the appeal” (emphasis
added). Obviously, the trial court’s
judgment in Rey had not ac-
quired the authority of a thing
adjudged on June 10, 1992
because that judgment was
then on appeal. Similarly, under
the law of res judicata applicable
in Segura, “a valid and final
judgment is conclusive between
the same parties, except on ap-
peal or other direct review...”
La. R.S. 13:4231 (emphasis added).

App. 37

Because the trial court’s judgment
in Segura was on appeal on June 10,
1992, it was not conclusive-between
the parties at that time.

In light of the foregoing, we
conclude a claim is pending as
long as it is subject to judicial
scrutiny. Even though a lower court
has adjudicated a claim and ren-
dered judgment, the claim continues
to be pending until appeal of that
judgment has been exhausted. Until
then, something further remains to
fix the plaintiff’s right to enforce
the claim as well as the defendant’s
obligation to pay it. In other words,
a claim “pending appeal,” as that
phrase is commonly understood in a
legal context, is a pending claim.

Segura v. Frank, 93-127 (La. 1/14/94), 630
So. 2d 714, 727 (emphasis in original).

Even though it did not do so herein, the Fifth
Circuit has relied in the past on the analysis of the
Supreme Court to Segura v. Frank. See Mancuso v.
Siegel, 94-525, p. 7 (La. App. 5 Cir. 11/29/94), 646
So. 2d 1200, 1203-04. The situation we have herein,
where the appeal of the jury verdict has never been
completed because it was interrupted by a motion to
dismiss based on res judicata, is far different from the
Tolis case, which has been cited both by T&B and by
the most recent Fifth Circuit panel herein:

App. 38

The intermediate court’s judg-
ment of March 29, 1994 dismissed
plaintiffs’ action in its entirety with
prejudice, thereby deciding the mer-
its of the case. That judgment was -
therefore a final judgment, which
became res judicata and conclusive
between the parties when it was
rendered, although subject to modi-
fication by a higher court on direct
review. La. Rev. Stat. 13:4231.

Tolis v. Board of Supervisors, 95-1529, p.3
(La. 10/13/95); 660 So. 2d 1206, 1207.

This Court has refused in the past to be lured-in
by absurd “literal” readings of prior law:

While a literal reading of La.
Code Civ. P. art. 1673 would support
Mr. Savoie’s interpretation, we be-
lieve that construing an interlocu-
tory judgment of dismissal based on
venue as a final disposition on the
merits would produce an absurd or
unintended result under the facts of
this case. The function of the court
is to interpret the laws so as to give
them the meaning which the law-
makers obviously intended them to
have and not to construe them so as
to give them absurd or ridiculous
meanings. Webb v. Parish Council of
East Baton Rouge, 217 La. 926, 47
So. 2d 718 (1950); Smith v. Town of

App. 39

Vinton, 209 La. 587, 25 So. 2d 237
(1946).

The absurdity of a literal appli-
cation of La. Code Civ. P. art. 1673
under the facts of this case is readily
apparent ... it has been held that
this requirement is not satisfied
when the merits of the underlying
proceeding have not been reached.
See Irby v. Harrell, 140 La. 828, 74
So. 163 (1917) (abandonment of
prosecution as a result of a compro-
mise is not the same as a termination
of litigation in plaintiff’s favor). Mr.
Savoie’s interpretation of La. Code
Civ.. P. art. 1673 would render this
requirement meaningless and allow
him to proceed on his malicious
prosecution suit without a bona fide
termination of the underlying pro-
ceedings.

Savoie v. Rubin, 2001-3275, p.4 (La. 06/21/02),
820 So. 2d 486, 488.

This Court previously refused to allow courts of
appeal to bar a plaintiff from appealing the tnial
court’s judgment based upon res judicata.

Granted. The court of appeal
erred in finding principles of res ju-
dicata barred plaintiff from appeal-
ing the trial court’s judgment. See
La. R.S. 13:4231 (“a valid and final
judgment is conclusive between the

App. 40

parties, except on appeal or other
direct review”). The proper inquiry
is whether relator voluntarily acqui-
esced in the trial court’s judgment
pursuant to La. Code Civ. P. art.
2085. Because the court of appeal
did not consider this issue, we va-
cate the judgment of the court of ap-
peal and remand the case to the
court of appeal to determine, after
appropriate briefing from the parties,
whether relater’s post-judgment ac-
tions constituted an acquiescence in
the judgment.

Shadoin v. Shadoin, 2003-0042, p.1 (La.

05/09/03); 847 So. 2d 1184.

This matter falls within one of
established exceptions to the general res judicata

rules as previously outlined by this court:

Although rarely mentioned, excep-
tions exist to the common law the-
ory of res judicata, as noted in the
Restatement (Second) of Judgments,
§ 26 (1982). These exceptions involve
“exceptional circumstances” as where
... (c) there are restrictions on
the subject matter jurisdiction of
the courts ... Restatement (Sec-
ond) of Judgments, § 26 (1982), pg
233-234, fn4.

the well-

App. 41

Terrebonne Fuel & Lube v. Placid Ref. Co.,
95-0654, p. 13 (La. 01/16/96); 666 So. 2d 624,
632 (emphasis added).

There were restrictions on the subject matter
jurisdiction of the Fifth Circuit at the time it con-
cluded that the JNOV should be reversed, as the
JNOV had replaced the only judgment on the merits
in this case — the jury verdict. See Junot, 2002-0237,
p. 3-4; 818 So. 2d at 156-157. The only matter before
the Fifth Circuit at that time, and the only matter it
could have decided in the posture of the case before it,
was whether or not the JNOV should be affirmed or
reversed. The Fifth Circuit concluded the JNOV
should be reversed. Jn re: Gramercy, 04-1151, 927
So. 2d 492. That decision was challenged, and the
challenge lost. The next step in the appeal process of
this matter was to appeal the jury verdict, which had
never been appealed. The Fifth Circuit ruled in 2007
that in order to perfect plaintiffs’ appeals, the trial
judge had to enter a judgment incorporating the jury
verdict.” Both the 2007 panel and the Chief Judge
signed judgments that made it clear that jurisdiction
was returned to the trial court for entry of judgment”
It is clear that the appeal process in this matter has
never been completed and has additional steps,
whether they begin with the new trial or reeommence
with the appeal.

* Exhibit C.
*® Exhibit E.

There are now four Fifth Circuit opinions in this
matter related to the JNOV, appeal, and new trial
issues that are inconsistent, dissonant and that

App. 42

cannot be harmonized.

is

March 28, 2006: The Fifth Circuit re-
versed the trial court’s JNOV, condi-
tional new trial, and reinstated the jury
verdict. In re: Gramercy, 04-1151, 927
So. 2d 492.

January 16, 2007: The Fifth Circuit dis-
missed the plaintiffs’ appeal before it
was briefed due to absence of a trial
court judgment from which to appeal
and stated:

...an appeal can only be taken from a
judgment of a trial court. In the present
case, without a judgment of the trial
court that adopts the original jury ver-
dict, which does not presently appear in
the record, Kaiser-AXA has no basis for
appeal at this time. It would appear,
however, this could be easily remedied
by a motion from the defendant to the
trial court.””

September 4, 2007: The Fifth Circuit
dismissed Terrance Hayes’ unlodged ap-
peal without prejudice to refile it after
the tral court was to enter a replace-
ment judgment incorporating the jury
verdict.

* Exhibit C.

App. 43

4. January 30, 2008: The Fif:h Circuit
granted T&B’s writ, reversed the trial
court’s judgment granting new trial, de-
nied Kaiser/AXA. and Hayes’ motion for
new trial, and stated:

...our judgment, which reinstated the
jury verdict, became final and definitive
and acquired the authority of the thing
adjudged ... the judgment of the jury
acquired the authority of a thing ad-
judged and was not subject to modifica-
tion, revision or reversal on this issue, or
any other issue.”"

There is no previous statutory or jurisprudential
authority that a reversal of a JNOV and a conditional
new trial operates as a final decision on the merits of
a jury verdict sufficient to trigger res judicata and to
deny any appeal of the jury verdict. This decision is
res novae and conflicts with established jurispru-
dence and statutory authority.

The Louisiana Supreme Court has affirmed, that
the doctrine of res judicata is triggered only by a final
judgment on the merits. Tolis v. Bd. of Supervisors of
LSU, 95-1529, p. 2 (La. 10/16/95), 660 So. 2d 1206,
1206-07, citing La. Code Civ. Pro. art. 1841. The
original jury verdict judgment was vacated by the
trial court’s JNOV, and T&B’s appeal of the trial
court’s JNOV was not a consideration of the merits of

31

Appendix 2 (emphasis added).

App. 44

the jury verdict. Junot v. Morgan, 2002-0237, p. 3-4
(La. App. 1 Cir. 02/20/02), 818 So. 2d 152,156-157.

Preservation of and Applicants’ Right to
Appeal the Jury Verdict

The standards on appeal of JNOVs and jury
verdicts are two very different standards, and are
applied differently. When this Court or the Fifth
Circuit reviews the jury trial record for reversible
error, which it has never done, it will apply a different
standard of review than that which it applied to the
question of the propriety of the JNOV. The differences
between the two standards are significant. De novo
review, which is available and may well be applied to
this case, would not depend to any degree on the jury
verdict, but instead depends upon the evidence pre-
sented at trial, and the law.

The right of appeal is favored in Louisiana law.
Allen v. State of Louisiana through the Earnest N.
Morial — New Orleans Exhibition Hall Authority, et
al, 2002-1072 (La. 04/09/03), 842 So.2d 373, 376,
footnote 2. The right of appeal is lost only through the
unconditional, absolute, and voluntary acquiescence
in the judgment by the appellant, and only if the
appellant evidences an intention to abandon the
right. /d., citing Succession of Franz, 116 So.2d 267,
268 (La. 1959). To the contrary, Hayes and Kaiser/
AXA here are actively pursuing their right to appeal
and are actively challengin.s the faulty trial court jury
verdict and judgment, and have not, in any way,

App. 45

acquiesced in the judgment or abandoned their
rights. As the Louisiana Supreme Court long ago
stated, “(t]he right to appeal is a precious one, and it
should be favored and aided by the court.” Fitzpatrick
v. Letten, 49 So. 494, 497 (La. 1908).

Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure article 2082
provides,

Appeal is the exercise of the right of
a party to have a judgment of a
trial court revised, modified, set
aside, or reversed by an appellate
court.

La. Code Civ. Pro. art. 2082 (2008).

The judgment Hayes/Kaiser/AXA has the right to
appeal (in the absence of a new trial), the trial court’s
judgment incorporating the jury verdict, was never
subject to being revised, modified, set aside, or re-
versed by an appellate court, until now. The Fifth
Circuit has now wrongly declared that plaintiffs will
never have the right to appeal the jury verdict. Until
the “appeal as of mght” has been allowed and com-
pleted or the case is re-tried as per the tria) judge’s
order, a final judgment on the merits of the case
has not been rendered.

The January 16, 2007 Fifth Circuit opinion
herein, cited Junot v. Morgan, 2001-0237 (La. App. 1
Cir. 2/20/02), 818 So.2d 152 and followed its ruling.
Junot is directly on point. In Junot, the First Circuit
considered a jury verdict that had been amended by
the grant of plaintiffs’ JNOV. 7d. In the present case,

App. 46

as in Junot, Plaintiffs’ JNOV also included an alter-
native motion for new trial. The trial court granted
plaintiffs’ JNOV and reapportioned fault, with a
higher fault assigned to defendant Burger King, and
increased both plaintiffs’ general damage awards. The
trial court denied Burger King’s JNOV, /d. Burger
King suspensively appealed both the original judg-
ment and the JNOV. Id. The appellate court dis-
missed as premature Burger King’s suspensive appeal
of the jury verdict, which had been superceded by the
JNOV and the new trial ruling:

Because the trial judge granted
plaintiffs’ motion for JNOV, the
jury’s verdict was set aside. See La.
C.C.P. art, 1811. Thus, the August
29, 2000 judgment rendered in con-
formity with the trial judge’s rulings
superseded the February 11, 2000
judgment which incorporated the
jury’s verdict. As such, at the time
this appeal was lodged, the Febru-
ary 11, 2000 judgment was proce-
durally in abeyance. Therefore, when
Burger King lodged its appeal of the
February 11, 2000 judgment, it was
requesting of this court a review of a
judgment which was procedurally in
abeyance and without legal effect
since it is a judgment which pur-
ports to incorporate a verdict that
was “set aside.”

App. 47

Louisiana Civil Code of Procedure article
1811E states:

If the motion for a [JNOV] is denied,
the party who prevailed on that mo-
tion may, as appellee, assert grounds
entitling him to a new trial in the
event the appellate court concludes
that the trial court erred in denying
the motion for a [JNOV]. If the ap-
pellate court reverses the judgment,
nothing in this Article precludes the
court from determining that the ap-
pellee is entitled to a new trial or
from directing the trial court to de-
termine whether a new trial shall be
granted. (Emphasis added.)

Thus, the party who prevailed
on the JNOV at the trial court level
— but whose favorable JNOV deter-
mination is subsequently reversed
on appeal — may be the subject of a
ruling in the trial court on new trial
grounds at the direction of the court
of appeal. It follows that it is prema-
ture for an appellate court to con-
sider an appeal of the judgment
which incorporates the set-aside ver-
dict at the same time it reviews the
propriety of the trial court’s ruling on
the motion for JNOV. To do so has
the potential effect of terminating
the post-judgment rights of the par-
ties, for example, the right to a new
trial ruling in the trial court under

App. 48

La. C.C.P. art. 1811 E. When Burger
King lodged this appeal of the Febru-
ary 11, 2000 judgmeni, that appeal
was premature.

An appellate court may dismiss
an appeal for lack of jurisdiction on
its own motion at any time. See La.
C.C.P. art, 2162. Therefore, we dis-
miss as premature Burger King’s
appeal of the February 11, 2000
judgment incorporating the jury’s
verdict as this judgment has been
set aside by the judgment dated
August 29, 2000. We now address
Burger King’s contentions challeng-
ing the rulings of the trial judge on
the parties’ motions for JNOV.”

The procedure outlined by Junot has become
part of hornbook law taught to law students.

In 1 La. Civil Law Treatise § 13.4, n.21 (2006),
the holding of Junot is cited for the proposition
that “the judgment on the jury verdict was
‘procedurally in abeyance’ when the appeal is
lodged and that it is premature to consider the
appeal of the judgment on the set aside verdict
at the same time as consideration of the JNOV.”

* Junot, p. 4-5, 818 So.2d at 156-57 (emphasis added). See
also Strain v. Indiana Lumberman’'s Mut. Ins. Co., 2000-2720
(La. App. 1 Cir. 2/20/02), 818 So.2d 144; and Delco v. Stafford,
2001-0018 (La. App. 1 Cir. 2/20/02), 813 So.2d 458, writ denied,
2002-1125 (La. 6/14/02), 818 So.2d 779.

App. 49

Under the clear holding of Junot, Hayes, and Kaiser/
AXA were precluded from appealing the correctness
of the jury verdict while the JNOV was on appeal.
Upon the reversal of the JNOV and upon the entry of
judgment incorporating the jury verdict by the trial
court, Hayes and Kaiser/AXA obtained the right to
move for a new trial and/or appeal the jury verdict.

Louisiana Law does not Mandate an Ap-
peal of a Vacated Judgment

Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure article 2082
provides that an appeal is the exercise of the right of
a party to have a judgment of a trial court revised,
modified, set aside, or reversed by an appellate court.
La. Code Civ. Pro. art. 2082 (2008). The 2006 appeal
was filed to appeal the reinstated jury verdict, as it
had never been subject to being revised, modified, set
aside, or reversed by an appellate court until after the
JNOV was reversed and the jury verdict was rein-
stated. Judgments adopting the jury’s verdict were
presented and signed in February, 2002. Timely
motions for new trial and for JNOV were filed there-
after. Both the motions for new trial and for JNOV
were granted, which vacated the jury verdict (as per
Junot). After the JNOV and the new trial motions
were granted, there was no judgment on the jury
verdict available to appeal. The JNOV and the new
trial ruling were in favor of Hayes and Kaiser/AXA.
There was no appeal of the jury verdict, because there
was no judgment on the jury verdict to appeal.

App. 50

Contrary to T&B'’s assertion that the Fifth Cir-
cuit already considered all aspects of an appeal of this
case, Hayes and Kaiser/AXA never had an opportu-
nity to raise the errors committed by the court below
at trial, such as improper jury venire, improper jury
selection, improper evidentiary rulings, violation by
T&B of evidentiary rulings, mischaracterization of
testimony by counsel, obtaining opinion testimony
from lay witnesses, denial of mistrial motions, im- —
proper jury instructions, and/or any other trial errors
that helped justify de novo review and/or create the
manifest error that occurred at trial. The analysis
regarding these legal errors is different from the
analysis required in supporting the affirmance of the
JNOV and/or new trial. Without the opportunity to
address the merits of the jury verdict, no final judg-
ment on the “merits” of the case exists.

An appeal from the jury’s verdict’s not a subse-
quent action. Hayes and Kaiser/AXA have not filed a
new lawsuit. They have been appealing and challeng-
ing the original jury verdict against them. The Fifth
Circuit’s reversal of the JNOV completed the appeal
of the JNOV, but no judgment was entered by the
trial or the appellate court incorporating the jury
verdict, and making the jury verdict the verdict of the
court. The Supreme Court did not render a judgment
on the merits, -it refused to review the Fifth Circuit
decision reversing the JNOV.

App. 51 ed

Assignment of Error No. 2
New Trial

There are no specific provisions in Louisiana law
that prohibit a trial court from granting a second new
trial. Carlone v. Carlone, 444 So. 2d 1274, 1276 (La.
App. 4 Cir. 1984). The trigger for filing a motion for
new trial is the entry of judgment. La. Code Civ. Pro.
art. 1974 (2008). The Lowisiana Supreme Court has
held that a judgment granting or denying a new trial
is an interlocutory judgment. State ex rel Land v.
Martin, 207 La. 410, 21 So. 2d 481, 482 (La. 1945). A
final judgment determines the merits in whole or in
part; an interlocutory judgment does not determine
the merits, but only preliminary matters in the
course of the action. La. Code Civ. Pro. art. 1841
(2007). Therefore, no interlocutory judgment can be a
final judgment on the merits sufficient to invoke
res judicata. Jd. The two concepts are opposite. Res
judicata does not apply to new trial orders. Res
judicata requires a final judgment, and the commen-
tary that accompanies La. R.S. § 13:4231 requires
that the final judgment be rendered on the merits.
La. R.S. § 13:4231 cmt. (d) (2007). This Court has
held that the doctrine of res judicata is triggered only
by a final judgment on the merits. Tolis, 95-1529, p. 2, .
660 So. 2d at 1206, citing La. Code of Civ. Pro. art.
1841.

The Code of Civil Procedure:-allows for the filing
of a motion for new trial within seven business days
of the entry of a new judgment. La. Code Civ. Pro. art.

App. 52

1974 (2008). The court signed a new judgment and
used T&B’s new form of judgment, at T&B’s request,
on September 4, 2007.” A motion for new trial was
timely filed on September 5, 2007. The motion for
new trial was set for hearing, was heard, and the
opinion granting it fulfilled every requirement of the
Supreme Court ruling in Horton.“ The trial judge was
absolutely clear that he did not believe that the jury
did substantial justice herein, and that the jury
verdict should not be the judgment of the courts of
Louisiana. He had the right under the Code of Civil
Procedure, Horton and Carlone, to grant a new trial
from T&B’s new judgment. His reasons are lengthy
and more than adequately fulfill the requirements for
a discretionary new trial as set out by this court in
Horton.

There is no adequate justification for reversing
the granting of a new trial herein.

CONCLUSION

The Fifth Circuit has erred in its application of
res judicata to the case at bar. Its error conflicts with
Louisiana’s legislative intent as evidenced by our
Codes and Statutes, and conflicts with prior expres-
sions of the law by this Honorable Court and other
circuits, \and prior Fifth Circuit jurisprudence from

* Exhibit F.
* Appendix 1.

App. 53

other cases and from this case. Manifest injustice will
be done if the Fifth Circuit decision is allowed to
stand, which would deny applicants any right to
appeal the adverse jury verdict herein.

_ Applicants respectfully request this Honorable
Court to grant writs, to reverse and/or vacate the
Fifth Circuit Judgment that reversed the trial court’s
grant of new trial, and to reinstate the trial court
judgment that granted a new trial, as per Horton v.
Mayeaux.

In the alternative, applicants request this Hon-
orable Court to reverse and/or vacate the Fifth Cir-
cuit’s judgment and to reinstate the trial court
judgment of September 4, 2007, that incorporated the
adverse jury verdict, and to reinstate plaintiffs’ right
to appeal the September 4, 2007 judgment.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Walter Dumas by CHD
WALTER DUMAS,
La Bar No. 5163
Dumas & Associates Law
Corporation
The Lawyer’s Complex
1261 Government Street
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
70821-1366
Telephone: (225) 383-4701
Facsimile: (225) 383-4719
Attorney for Terrance Hayes

and

/s/

/s/

App. 54

Thomas G. Wilkinson by CHD

THOMAS G. WILKINSON,
La. Bar No. 2184

MICHAEL P. CIACCIO,
La. Bar No. 21428

320 Huey P. Long Ave.
retna, Louisiana 70053
elephone: (504) 364-1892

csimile: (504) 366-1519

DIDRIKSEN LAW FIRM
Caleb H. Didriksen

CALEB H. DIDRIKSEN,
La. Bar No. 1334
DIANE R. COSENZA
La. Bar No. 4416
RICHARD J. GARVEY, JR.,
La. Bar No. 20822
LOYD J. BOUGEOIS, JR..,
La. Bar No. 29771
AMANDA K. WINGFIELD,
La. Bar No. 30800
3114 Canal Street
New Orleans, Louisiana
70119
Telephone: (504) 586-1600
Facsimile: (504) 822-3119

Attorneys for:
AXA GLOBAL RISKS (U.K.),

ALLIANZ INSURANCE COMPANY,
CERTAIN UNDERWRITERS AT LLOYD’S

LONDON,

COMPAGNIE TRANSCONTINENTALE

DE REASSURANCE,

App. 55

HOUSTON CASUALTY COMPANY,
LEXINGTON INSURANCE COMPANY,
MUNICH REINSURANCE COMPANY,
NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE
COMPANY,
QATAR INSURANCE COMPANY,
Q.B.E. INTERNATIONAL INSURANCE, LTD.,
SOREMA INSURANCE COMPANY,
SWISS REINSURANCE COMPANY,
WINTERTHUR INTERNATIONAL
INSURANCE COMPANY,
ZURICH REINSURANCE COMPANY
in their own names and in the name
Kaiser Alumina & Themical Corporation

Verification
STATE OF LOUISIANA
PARISH OF ORLEANS

BEFORE ME, the undersigned Notary, person-
ally came and appeared:

CALEB H. DIDRIKSEN

who, after being duly sworn, did depose and state:

That he is counsel for the plaintiff-applicant
herein, that he has read the foregoing Application for
Writs of Certiorari or Review, or Alternatively, Super-
visory or Remedial Writs; that the allegations con-
tained therein are true and correct to the best of his
knowledge, information and belief; and that a copy of
the Application (with Appendices) has been served by
placing same in the United States mail, facsimile, or

App. 56

other electronic means this 28th day of February,
2008:

Division D Clerk of Court

23rd Judicial District Louisiana Fifth Circuit
Court Court of Appeals

St. James Parish 101 Derbigny Street
Courthouse Gretna, Louisiana 70053

5800 LA 44

Convent, Louisiana 70723

Counsel for Thomas and Betts:

Louis C. LaCour, Jr., Robert E. Winn, Esquire
Esquire Sharon Cormack Mize,
Raymond P. Ward, Esquire Esquire
ADAMS & REESE SESSIONS, FISHMAN &
4500 One Shell Square NATHAN, LLP
New Orleans, LA 70139 201 St. Charles Ave.,
Ernest P. Gieger, Jr., 35th Floor
Esquire New Orleans, LA
70170-3500

Andrew A. Braun, Esquire
GIEGER, LABORDE &
LAPEROUSE, LLC
4800 One Shell Square
New Orleans, LA 70139

/s/ Caleb H. Didriksen
Caleb H. Didriksen

Subscribed and sworn before me, Notary, this
28th day of February, 2008.

/s/ Loyd J. Bourgeois, Jr.
Loyd J. Bourgeois, Jr.

App. 57

La. Bar. No. 29771
My commission is issued for life.

[SEAL] LOYD J. BOURGEOIS, JR.
Notary Public
State of Louisiana
Notary ID # 84815/La. Bar
No. 29771
St. Charles Parish

[Attachments Omitted In Printing]

App. 58

SUPREME COURT OF LOUISIANA
Docket No. 2008 CC 481

IN RE: GRAMERCY PLANT
EXPLOSION AT KAISER

On application for Supervisory Writ of Certiorari
or Review from the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal
for the State of Louisiana
Docket No. 07-C-893

On Application for Supervisory Writ of Certiorari
or Review from the 23rd Judicial District Court,
Parish of St. James State of Louisiana
Honorable Pegram J. Mire, Jr., Judge, Presiding
Docket No. 25,975

Motion for Rehearing
Filed on Behalf of Respondents/Appellants
Terrance Hayes, Kaiser Alumina & Chemical
Corporation/AXA Global Risks, et al.

Counsel for Kaiser/AXA: Counsel for

Thomas G. Wilkinson Terrance Hays .
La. Bar No. 2184 Walter Dumas,

Michael P. Ciaccio La Bar No. 5163
La. Bar No. 21428 Dumas & Associates

320 Huey P. Long Ave. Law Corp.

Gretna, Louisiana 70053 The Lawyer’s Complex

Telephone: (504) 364-1892 1261 Government Street

Facsimile: (504) 366-1519 Baton Rouge, Louisiana
70821

App. 59

Caleb H. Didriksen,
La. Bar No. 1334
Diane R. Cosenza,
La. Bar No. 4419
Richard J. Garvey, Jr.,
La. Bar No. 20822
Loyd J. Bourgeois, Jr.,
La. Bar No. 29771
Amanda K. Wingfield,
La. Bar No. 30800
DIDRIKSEN LAW FIRM
3114 Canal Street
New Orleans, Louisiana 70119
Tele: (504) 586-1600
FaX: (504) 822-3119

Counsel for Appellants, Terrance Hayes,
AXA Global Risks (U.K.) et al, suing on their
own behalf and in the name Kaiser Alumina

& Chemical Corporation

Civil Case
Motion for Rehearing
Index
So cs nanusenuesiesouescensivenevense 1
i es coapedusueedevoresndeeedous 5
List of all Parties and Counsel..................ccccccccscccseesees 6

EE EES ae Oe Ok a ee eR OE &

App. 60

Table of Authorities

Cases

McKane v. Durston, 153 U.S. 684 (1894)..................... 2
Griffin v. Illinois, 351 U.S. 12, 18 (1956)..................... 2
Darouse et al. v. Andrew Mamon, dr., 201

Be. Ba Bem CEM. Aww. 1 Civ. TBGT) ii. icc ciceccccevecsevscccesss 2
Succession of Damico, 161 La. 725 (La. 1925)............. 2

Statutes

Louisiana Constitution. Art. VII, §§ 10 and 29........... 2
Bs Rate TNE. BPUEE ebtetbiaiichincanpandcchlctucia\evdsseiwensseeonsnies 2

Table of Exhibits
Exhibits

Exhibit A: Judgment of Louisiana Supreme Court,
signed May 2, 2008 (denial of Applicants’
writ)

Exhibit B: Ruling of the Louisiana Fifth Circuit
Court of Appeal in No. 07-C-893 (dis-
missal of Applicants’ appeal due to lack
of trial court judgment adopting the
original jury verdict)

Exhibit C: Ruling of the Louisiana Fifth, Circuit
Court of Appeal in No. 07-C-893 (revers-
ing trial court’s grant of a new trial and
dismissing Kaiser/AXA and Hayes’ ap-
peal)

App. 61

SUPREME COURT OF LOUISIANA
Docket No. 2008 CC 481

IN RE: GRAMERCY PLANT
EXPLOSION AT KAISER

On application for Supervisory Writ of Certiorari
or Review from the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal

for the State of Louisiana
Docket No. 07-C-893

On Application for Supervisory Writ of Certiorari
or Review from the 23rd Judicial District Court,
Parish of St. James State of Louisiana
Honorable Pegram J. Mire, Jr., Judge, Presiding
Docket No. 25,975

MOTION FOR REHEARING
MAY IT PLEASE THE COURT:

Applicants Terrance Hayes and Kaiser/AXA,
through undersigned counsel, request that this
Honorable Court reconsider its decision rendered
May 2, 2008, which effectively denied the Applicants’
due process right to appellate review of the jury’s
verdict in this matter, which was vacated by the trial
court’s judgment notwithstanding the verdict (JNOV)
and reinstated upon reversal of the trial court’s
JNOV by the Louisiana Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal.

Applicants acknowledge that this Court’s Rule
IX, Section 6 prevents the use of rehearing when this
Court has merely granted or denied an application for

App. 62

writ of certiorari. However, in light of the violation of
the Applicants’ Due Process and Equal Protection
rights afforded by both the United States Constitu-
tion and the Louisiana Constitution, this case war-
rants the extraordinary remedy of reconsideration by
this Honorable Court. Chief Justice Calogero voiced
his concerns regarding this issue in his reasons for
granting Applicants’ writ, stating “[njo appellate
court has yet examined the merits of the jury ver-
dict,” and that he would grant writ in this matter “to
permit further proceedings, including an appeal
therefrom.” Chief Justice Calogero also noted that
this Court did not address whether an appeal from
the merits would lie from a reinstated jury verdict in
Vasalle v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., which is sufficient to
grant writ in this matter in order to resolve ambigu-
ity.

While the United States Supreme Court has long
held that a “right” to appeal is not found in the
United States Constitution, the Court has held that
where a state provides a process of appellate review,
the procedures must comply with the constitutional
dictates of Due Process and Equal Protection. See
McKane v. Durston, 153 U.S. 684 (1894), Griffin v.
Illinois, 351 U.S. 12, 18 (1956). The right of appeal is
constitutionally guaranteed by the Louisiana Consti-
tution. Art. VII, §§ 10 and 29; Succession of Damico,
109 So. 402 (La. 1925). Louisiana provides its process
of appellate review in La. C.C.P. art. 2082:

App. 63

Art. 2082. Definition of Appeal

Appeal is the exercise of the right of a party
to have a judgment of a trial court revised,
modified, set aside, or reversed by an appel-
late court.

An appeal as such is the exercise of the constitutional
right enjoyed by a litigant to have an adverse judg-
ment of a trial court revised, modified, reversed or set
aside by an appellate court. La. C.C.P. 2082. Darouse
et al. v. Andrew Mamon, Jr., 201 So. 2d 362 (La. App.
1 Cir. 1967).

To dismiss an appeal is to refuse to entertain
it. An appellate court may refuse to entertain
an appeal (1) when it has no appellate juris-
diction therein; (2) when the appeal was not
taken or perfected in time; (3) when the
judgment below has been confessed or con-
sented to; (4) when said judgment has been
acquiesced in by voluntary execution thereof;
(5) when the terms upon which the appeal
has been granted have not been complied
with; (6) when there is no appeal for want of
an order granting an appeal; and (7) when
the judgment, if definitive, has not been
made executory by the signing thereof. La.
Code Prac. art. 546; La. Code Prac. art. 567;
La. Code Prac. art. 574; La. Code Prac. art.
587; and La. Code Prac. art. 593. But other-
wise, in civil cases, an appeal lies of right
from all final judgments, and also from such
interlocutory judgments as may cause ir-
reparable injury, La. Code Prac. art. 565, La.
Code Prac. art. 566, La. Code Prac. art. 575,

App. 64

La. Code Prac. art. 578, La. Code Prac. art.
580, except in cases tried before a district
court, in the country parishes, involving
$ 100 or less, La. Const. art. VII, §§ 29, 48
(1921).

Succession of Damico, 161 La. 725 (La. 1925). As
Justice Calogaro wrote in his dissent, the Fifth Cir-
cuit and this Court have now effectively violated
Applicants’ right to appeal an adverse verdict. Appli-
cants have never had the right to have the adverse
jury verdict reviewed by an appellate court, as is
their constitutional right in Louisiana. On January
16, 2007, the Louisiana Fifth Circuit adjudged that
Applicants did have a right to appeal, and that the
appeal was premature because there was no trial
court judgment adopting the jury verdict, as the prior
judgment adopting the jury verdict had been vacated
by the grant of a JNOV. The recent Fifth Circuit
judgment dismisses the appeal without this ever
being heard, along with the second new trial, in
violation of Applicants’ constitutional rights of Due
Process and Equal Protection. This Court’s failure to
remedy the constitutional violations created by the
Louisiana Fifth Circuit is a floodgate, which invites
further dismissals of appeais in violation of both the
United States and Louisiana’s constitutions. This is
the first case Applicants have located in which a
party who timely took all reasonable steps to invoke
their right of appeal has been denied any review by
an appellate court of that adverse jury verdict. The
trial court who swore in the jury and who presided
over the trial believed this jury verdict to be so flawed
that he granted a JNOV and granted new trials not

App. 65

once, but twice. This flawed jury verdict has never
been appealed, and without the assistance of this
Court or of the United States Supreme Court, these
litigants will be denied their constitutional mght “to
have a judgment of a trial court revised, modified, set
aside, or reversed by an appellate court.” Justice
Calogaro [sic] recognized the impact of these deci-
sions on this $500 million dollar case. Applicants
respectfully request a rehearing and another review
and protection by this court of their constitutionally
guaranteed right of appeal.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Walter Dumas by CHD
WALTER DUMAS, La Bar No. 5163
Dumas & Associates Law Corporation
The Lawyer’s Complex
1261 Government Street
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-1366
Telephone: (225) 383-4701
Facsimile: (225) 383-4719

Attorney for Terrance Hayes

and

/s/ T.G. Wilkinson by CHD
THOMAS G. WILKINSON,
La. Bar No. 2184

MICHAEL P. CIACCIO,
La. Bar No. 21428

320 Huey P. Long Ave.

Gretna, Louisiana 70053

Telephone: (504) 364-1892

Facsimile: (504) 366-1519

App. 66

DIDRIKSEN LAW FIRM

/s/ Caleb H. Didriksen

CALEB H. DIDRIKSEN,
La. Bar No. 1334

DIANE R. COSENZA,
La. Bar No. 4416

RICHARD J. GARVEY, JR.,
La. Bar No. 20822

LOYD J. BOUGEOIS, JR.,
La. Bar No. 29771

AMANDA K. WINGFIELD,
La. Bar No. 30800
3114 Canal Street
New Orleans, Louisiana 70119
Telephone: (504) 586-1600
Facsimile: (504) 822-3119

Attorneys for:
AXA GLOBAL RISKS (U.K.),
ALLIANZ INSURANCE COMPANY,
CERTAIN UNDERWRITERS
AT LLOYD’S, LONDON,
COMPAGNIE TRANSCONTINENTALE
DE REASSURANCE,
HOUSTON CASUALTY COMPANY,
LEXINGTON INSURANCE COMPANY,
MUNICH REINSURANCE COMPANY,
NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE
COMPANY,
QATAR INSURANCE COMPANY,
Q.B.E. INTERNATIONAL INSURANCE,
LTD.,
SOREMA INSURANCE COMPANY,
SWISS REINSURANCE COMPANY,

App. 67

WINTERTHUR INTERNATIONAL

. INSURANCE COMPANY,

ZURICH REINSURANCE COMPANY
in their own names and in the name
Kaiser Alumina & Chemical Corporation

Certificate of Service

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a copy of the foregoing
pleading has been forwarded to all counsel of record
addressed as follows by placing same in the United
States mail, facsimile, or other electronic means this

16th day of February May, 2008:

Division D

23rd Judicial District Court for the Parish of St. James
St. James Parish Courthouse

5800 LA 44
Convent, Louisiana 70723

Clerk for the Louisiana Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals
101 Derbigny Street
Gretna, Louisiana 70053

Louis C. LaCour, Jr., Esquire
Raymond P. Ward, Esquire
ADAMS & REESE

4500 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

Ernest P. Gieger, Jr., Esquire

Andrew A. Braun, Esquire

GIEGER, LABORDE & LAPEROUSE, LLC
4800 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

App. 68

Robert E. Winn, Esquire

Sharon Cormack Mize, Esquire
SESSIONS, FISHMAN & NATHAN, LLP
201 St. Charles Ave., 35th Floor

New Orleans, LA 70170-3500

/s/ Caleb H. Didriksen
DIDRIKSEN LAW FIRM

List of all parties and counsel

For Applicants:

DUMAS & ASSOCIATES LAW CORPORATION
Walter Dumas, La Bar No. 5163

The Lawyer’s Complex

1261 Government Street

P.O. Box Office 1366

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-1366

Telephone: (225) 383-4701

Facsimile: (225) 383-4719

Counsel for Terrance Hayes

and

Thomas G. Wilkinson, La. Bar No. 2184
Michael P. Ciaccio, La. Bar No. 21428
320 Huey P. Long Ave.

Gretna, Louisiana 70053

Telephone: (504) 364-1892

Facsimile: (504) 366-1519

App. 69

DIDRIKSEN LAW FIRM

Caleb H. Didriksen, La. Bar No. 1334
Diane R. Cosenza, La. Bar No. 4416
Richard J. Garvey, Jr., La. Bar No. 20822
Loyd J. Bourgeios, La. Bar No. 29771
Amanda K. Wingfield, La. Bar No. 30800
3114 Canal Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70119
Telephone: (504) 586-1600

Facsimile: (504) 822-3119

Counsel for:
AXA GLOBAL RISKS (U.K.),
ALLIANZ INSURANCE COMPANY,
CERTAIN UNDERWRITERS AT LLOYD’S, LONDON,
COMPAGNIE TRANSCONTINENTALE
DE REASSURANCE,
HOUSTON CASUALTY COMPANY,
LEXINGTON INSURANCE COMPANY,
MUNICH REINSURANCE COMPANY,
NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY,
QATAR INSURANCE COMPANY,
Q.B.E. INTERNATIONAL INSURANCE, LTD.,
SOREMA INSURANCE COMPANY,
SWISS REINSURANCE COMPANY,
WINTERTHUR INTERNATIONAL
INSURANCE COMPANY,
ZURICH REINSURANCE COMPANY
in their own names and in the name
Kaiser Alumina & Chemical Corporation

App. 70

For Respondents:

ADAMS & REESE

Louis C. LaCour, Jr., Esquire
Raymond P. Ward, Esquire
4500 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

GIEGER, LABORDE & LAPEROUSE, LLC
Ernest P. Gieger, Jr., Esquire

Andrew A. Braun, Esquire

4800 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

SESSIONS, FISHMAN & NATHAN, LLP
Robert E. Winn, Esquire

Sharon Cormack Mize, Esquire

201 St. Charles Ave., 35th Floor

New Orleans, LA 70170-3500

Counsel for Thomas & Betts

STATE OF LOUISIANA
PARISH OF ORLEANS

Verification

BEFORE ME, the undersigned notary, did come and
appear:

Caleb H. Didriksen

who, after being duly sworn, did depose and say that
he is counsel for a plaintiff-applicant herein, that he
has read this motion for rehearing and that the
allegations contained therein are true and correct to
the best of his knowledge, information and belief; and

App. 71

that a copy of this motion for rehearing and its at-
tachments has been forwarded to all counsel of record
addressed as follows by placing same in the United
States mail, facsimile, or other electronic means this
16th day of May, 2008:
Division D
23rd Judicial District Court for the

Parish of St. James
St. James Parish Courthouse

5800 LA 44
Convent, Louisiana 70723

Clerk for the Louisiana Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals
101 Derbigny Street
Gretna, Louisiana 70053

Louis C. LaCour, Jr., Esquire
Raymond P. Ward, Esquire
ADAMS & REESE

4500 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

Ernest P. Gieger, Jr., Esquire

Andrew A. Braun, Esquire

GIEGER, LABORDE & LAPEROUSE, LLC
4800 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

Robert E. Winn, Esquire

Sharon Cormack Mize, Esquire
SESSIONS, FISHMAN & NATHAN, LLP
201 St. Charles Ave., 35th Floor

New Orleans, LA 70170-3500

/s/ Caleb Didriksen
DIDRIKSEN LAW FIRM

Caleb H. Didriksen

App. 72

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 16th day of
May, 2008

/s/ Amanda K. Wingfield
NOTARY PUBLIC
Amanda K. Wingfield
Bar No. 38000

My commission is for life

[Attachments Omitted In Printing]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1184%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
