# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Gunter v. United States (No. 08-104)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1154%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

4 Court, U.8.

FILED

08-104 MAY 19 2008

Gere as Oe Pris CL ESAS
In The Wiieaas: <. Sumer, Chey tc

Supreme Court of the Anited States

CORNELL P. GUNTER,

Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
7 Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

T. Scott JONES
Counsel of Record

318 N. Gay STREET

SUITE 210

KNOXVILLE, TN 37917

(865) 546-2141

Attorney for Petitioner

July 11, 2008

Becker Gallagher - Cincinnati, OH - Washington, D.C. - 800.890.5001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether the Sixth Circuit erred by failing to hold
that

a.

b.

The search warrant was based upon allegations
of an unrelhable confidential information and

The search warrant did not show a sufficient
nexus between the alleged criminal activity and
the residence of Mr. Gunter to establish
probable cause.

il
TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CITATIONS OF THE OFFICIAL AND
UNOFFICIAL REPORTS OF THE OPINIONS
AND ORDERS ENTERED IN THE CASE BY
THE COURTS

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION BY THE UNITED
STATES SUPREME COURT

RELATIVE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION,
TREATISES, STATUTUES, AND
ORDINANCES AND REGULATIONS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITY TO SUPPORT
GRANTING A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CONCLUSION
APPENDIX

Appendix A: Order and Memorandum of the
United States District Court of the Eastern
District of Tennessee denying Defendant/
Appellant Cornell P. Gunter’s Motion to
Supress, August 14, 2006

11

Appendix B: United States Court of Appeals for
the Sixth Circuit’s Order affirming the finding
of the trial court in its denial of the
Defenant/Appellant Cornell P. Gunter’s Motin
to Supress Search Warrant, dated February 20,

iv
TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

CASE LAW

United States v. Angulo-Lopez,
791 F.2d 1394 (9th Cir. 1986)

United States v. Carpenter,
360 F.3d 591 (6th Cir. 2004)

United States v. Frazier,

423 F. 3d 526 (6th Cir. 2005)

United States v. Hargus,
128 F.3d 1358 (10th Cir. 1997)

United States v. Hython,
443 F.3d 480 (6th Cir. 2006)

United States v. Laughton,
409 F.3d 744 (6th Cir. 2005)

United States v. Leon,
468 U.S. 897,
104 S.Ct. 3405 (1984)

United States v. Nolan,
1999 F.3d 1180 (10th Cir. 1999)

United States v. Rowland,
145 F.3d 1194 (10th Cir. 1998)

United States v. Thomas,

989 F.2d 1252 (D.C. 1993)

Vv

United States v. Williams,
974 F.2d 480 (4th Cir. 1992)

STATUTES AND RULES
18 U.S.C. § 924 (c)1)(B)G)
21 U.S.C. § 841 (a)(1)

21 U.S.C. § 841 (b)(1)(B)

Sup. Ct. R. 10

Fed. R. Crim. Proc. 11(a)(2)
Fed. R. Crim. Proc. 11(e)(1)(c)
OTHER AUTHORITIES

U.S. Const. Fourth Amend

1

CITATIONS OF THE OFFICIAL AND
UNOFFICIAL REPORTS OF THE OPINIONS
AND ORDERS ENTERED IN THE CASE BY
THE COURTS

Appendix A

1. Order of the United States District Court of the
Eastern District of Tennessee denying
Defendant/Appellant Cornell P. Gunter’s Motion to
Suppress, August 14, 2006.

2. United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Circuit’s Order affirming the finding of the trial court
in its denial of the Defendant/Appellant Cornell P.

Gunter’s Motion to Suppress Search Warrant, dated
February 20, 2008.

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION BY THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

On August 14, 2006, the Honorable Curtis L.
Collier affirmed the magistrate’s denial of
defendant/appellant Cornell P. Gunter’s written
Motion to Suppress. The defendant subsequently
entered a conditional plea under Fed. R. Crim Proc
11(a)(2) and 11(e)(1)(c) and received a sentence not to
exceed 240 months, reserving the right to appeal the
specific issues preserved in his initial Motion to
Suppress. The Defendant remains incarcerated
through his appeal process.

On February 20, 2008, the United States Sixth
Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed the ruling of the
trial court.

2

Pursuant to Rule 10 of the Rules of the Supreme
Court, jurisdiction exists to review on a writ of
certiorari when the United States Court of Appeals
has entered a decision in conflict with the decision of
another United States Court of appeals on an
important matter. Further there is jurisdiction
pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 10 when the United
States Court of Appeals has so far departed from the
accepted and usual course of judiciai proceedings, or
has sanctioned such a departure by lower court, so as
to allow the United States Supreme Court to exercise
their supervisory power. The Defendant/Appellant
contends that in this instance that the affirmation by
the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Circuit is in conflict with other United States Court of
Appeals decisions and is in conflict with decisions

issued within the United States Court of Appeals for
the Sixth Circuit.

Defendant/Appellant contends that this is a
sufficient statutory basis to confer jurisdiction upon
this Court to allow the Writ.

RELATIVE CONSITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,
TREATISES, STATUTES AND ORDINANCES
AND REGULATIONS

U.S.C.A. Const. Amend 4: The right of the people to
be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects
against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not
be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon
probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and
particularly describing the place to be searched, and
the persons or things to be seized.

3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On September 28, 2005, Special Agent Bryan
Freeman (hereinafter “SA Freeman”) of the Tennessee
Bureau of Investigation appeared before McMinn
County Criminal Court Judge Bebb to apply for a
search warrant of the Defendant’s residence at 1484
County Road, Niota, Tennessee.

As a basis for the search warrant, the application
and affidavit of SA Freeman outlined his experience in
drug crimes, and his general knowledge that “drug
dealers” have weapons and drugs in their homes. SA
Freeman outlined a Septcmber 2005 conversation with
a confidential informant (hereinafter “CI”) who stated
he knew Cornell P. Gunter and could purchase cocaine

from him. On September 22, 2005, SA Freeman and
other agents met with the CI and overhead a phone
conversation the CI made to the Defendant where
arrangements were made for the CI to purchase
cocaine. The CI was outfitted with a non-recording
transmittal device and money to follow through with
the purchase. The CI then drove to Harper Johnson
Road in Athens, Tennessee, where the agents listened
while approximately two ounces of cocaine was sold to
the CI by the Defendant.

On September 27, 2005, SA Freeman and other
agents again listened to a phone call between the CI
and the Defendant. The CI was outfitted with another
non-recording transmittal device and money to
purchase drugs. SA Freeman followed the CI to
Athens, Tennessee. Observations by Task Force
Agents (TFA) Mike Hall and Sam McNeeley of 1484
County Road, 250, Niota, Tennessee, were ongoing in

4

the same tire period. At the Niota residence a black
male (later identified to be Mr. Gunter by an unknown
party) was observed entering the driveway in a dark
colored Cadillac. The automobile “remained at the
residence for two to three minutes and then exited the
premises.”'. The Cadillac driven by the Defendant was
then followed to a house on Harper Johnson Road in
Athens.’ Subsequent surveillance of another location
on Harper Johnson Road in Athens yielded a meeting
between the CI and the Defendant. The agents
listened to the meeting where Mr. Gunter distributed
approximately two ounces of cocaine to the CI.

Based on the information within the affidavit, the
search warrant was signed and executed upon Mr.
Gunter’s house. The warrant ultimately yielded
cocaine, a firearm, and money.

On December 13, 2005, an indictment was returned
from the grand jury in the Eastern District of
Tennessee charging Mr. Gunter with the principle
offenses of possession with intent to distribute more
than five grams of cocaine and possession of a short-
barreled shotgun in furtherance of a drug trafficking
crime, under 21 U.S.C. 841(a)(1) and (b)(1)(B) and 18
U.S.C. 924 (¢)(1)(B)(i).

‘The application and affidavit give no indication that any person

" . (. e P
ever exited the vchicle or entered the residence in Niota

* The application and affidavit give no indication that any person
ever exited the vehicle or entered the residence on Harper
Johnson Road in Athens

5

On March 27, 2006, the initial Motion to Suppress
was filed on behalf of Mr. Gunter in the United States
District Court for the Eastern District of Tennessee
alleging the confidential informant against him was
not a reliable source and that the search warrant
against his house was not based on proper probable
cause. The Motion to Suppress was denied by the
magistrate on April 18, 2006. A timely objection to the
magistrate’s Report and Recommendation was filed on
May 2, 2006. On August 14, 2006, the trial judge
issued a Memorandum and Order adopting the
magistrate’s Report and Recommendation.

Mr. Gunter entered a guilty plea which reserved
his ability to appeal the specific issues raised in his
Motion to Suppress on September 29, 2006. He was
then sentenced on February 22, 2007, with sentences
of 120 months on counts 3 and 4 to be served
consecutively, for a total effective commitment to the
Bureau of Prisons for 240 months.

On February 20, 2008, the United States Sixth
Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed the ruling of the
trial court. The Sixth Circuit found that the
confidential informant in this instance was deemed

reliable through his ability to conduct controlled buys
with the Defendant. The Sixth Circuit further found
that a nexus between Mr. Gunter’s drug dealing and
his residence was established through the information
of SA Freeman in the search warrant application
attesting to his experience in investigating drug crimes
and the well-known fact that drug dealers are
reasonably known to keep drugs in their residence.
Minding probable cause on the search warrant, the
Sixth Circuit did not approach the issue of good faith.

6

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITY TO SUPPORT
GRANTING A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Pursuant to Rules of the Supreme Court, Rule 10 it
is provided that:

The following, although neither controlling nor
fully measuring the Court’s discretion, indicate
the character of the reasons the court considers:

(a) a United States court of appeals has entered
a decision in conflict with the decision of
another United States court of appeals on the
same important matter; has decided an
important federal question in a way that
conflicts with a decision by a state court of last
resort; or has so far departed from the accepted

and usual course of judicial proceedings, or
sanctioned such a departure by a lower court, as
to call for an exercise of this Court’s supervisory

power;

It is the defendant’s contention that this Petition
for Writ of Certiorari should be allowed on the
following basis: (1) that both the District Court and the
Circuit Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in
determining that a sufficient nexus exists between the
items to be searched for and the place to be searched
is in conflict not only with another United States Court
of Appeals, but that there are conflicting decisions
concerning this point within the United States Court
of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, including United
States v. Frazier, 423 F.3d 526 (6" Cir. 2005) and
United States v. Hython, 443 F.3d 480 (6 Cir. 2006).
Frazier and Hython take up the issue that in viewing

7

a search warrant upon a motion to suppress for lack of
probable cause, the Court must look to the four corners
of the warrant itself and no further to determine
whether or not a sufficient nexus existed between the
items to be searched for and the place to be searched.

In Frazier, a separate panel of the Sixth Circuit
addressed a drug case in which the case agent sought
six different search warrants, one of which was for the
defendant’s home. See Frazier at 530. The magistrate
instructed the officer to include in the affidavits
information that two of the buys by the confidential!
informant had been recorded. See Id. at 530. For
reasons not explained, the agent made changes to five
of the warrant applications, but not to the one for
defendant's home. See Id. at 530. In reviewing the
affidavit as submitted, the court found that it was
insufficient to establish probable cause. See Id. at 532-
33. However, the panel held that the search was saved
by the good-faith exception of United States v. Leen.
See Frazier at 534. While noting that United States v.
Laughton held that “the good faith exception to the
exclusionary rule does not permit consideration of
information known to a police officer, but not included
in the affidavit, in determining whether an objectively
reasonable officer would have relied on the warrant”,
the panel decided that “we interpret the holding in
Laughton as limited to answering the question that
this court, sitting en banc, explicitly left open in
Carpenter” (where the Court determined there must
be a nexus between criminal activity and the item
sought in search). See Frazier at 534-35, citing
United States v. Laughton, 409 F.3d 744, 751-52 (6""
Cir. 2005) and United States v. Carpenter, 360 F.3d
591, 594 (6" Cir. 2004). In other words, because this

8

case did not involve information that wasn’t presented
to the magistrate, the rule did not apply. The reason
for the exception is the panel’s perception that the
agent’s failure here didn’t amount to anything more
than “a scrivener’s error”. See Frazier at 535.

In justifying its decision, the panel noted,

“[Wle are unable to envision any scenario in
which a rule excluding from the Leon analysis
information known to the officer and revealed to
the magistrate would deter police misconduct. ...
Because a judge’s initial probable cause
determination is limited to the four corners of
the affidavit, (citation omitted) an officer has no
incentive to exclude from the _ affidavit
information that supports a finding of probable
cause only to reveal this information to the
magistrate by parole.”

See Frazier at 535.

This explanation betrays a naivete about the
realities of the search warrant process and challenges
thereto. The concern is not so much about whether the
officer will supplement the facts with oral information
at the time he applies for the warrant, but whether he
will lie about what information he knew and/or
conveyed to the magistrate when he is later challenged
in a suppression hearing. This would be the reason
that a written application is required in the first place
— so that one would know later exactly what (and no
more!) was presented to the magistrate. To allow
parole evidence to supplement the written application
throws the process open to widespread abuse. And, as

9

the Laughton panel noted, to allow into evidence proof
of what was in this officer’s mind, but not reduced to
writing, is inconsistent with the Leon “reasonable
officer” test, which is based on the four corners of the
affidavit. (citations omitted)

Mr. Gunter alleges that Frazier has little
application outside of the unusual and unique factual
circumstances on which it is based. The fact that it
involved a “scrivener’s error” and that the information
was included in the other five warrants will rarely, if
ever, be repeated. In Mr. Gunter’s case, there is
nothing in the record showing probable cause
information was omitted from the search warrant
affidavit. His case is distinguishable from Frazier by
the fact that the Magistrate is not allowed to jump to
conclusions through the reading of the warrant.
Specifically, the only tie between Mr. Gunter’s
residence and any alleged controlled buys is the
notation within the search warrant that Mr. Gunter’s
car stopped shortly in the driveway before he was
recorded in a drug deal at another location. One
cannot, and may not, read into the warrant that Mr.
Gunter exited his vehicle to obtain drugs. The warrant
simply does not say that, and makes no connection or
any other reference between drug dealing and Mr.
Gunter’s house. The Sixth Circuit made this very
assumption as shown on page 8 of its ruling:

This visit provided a neutral magistrate with a
substantial basis to conclude that’ the
Defendant may have stopped at his residence to
pick up some of his merchandise before meeting
his customer at another location. This evidence,
combined with the affiant’s statements that he

10

has. significant experience in_ narcotics
investigations, is sufficient to establish a nexus
between Defendant’s illegal activities and his
residence.

The Sixth Circuit’s ruling in Frazier should not be
taken as an open invitation to supplement search
warrant applications with inferences or even oral
evidence that bolsters an otherwise weak affidavit,
especially where that information was not even told to
the issuing magistrate at the time of the application
for the warrant. This would seem to be confirmed by
the Sixth Circuit’s decision in United States v. Hython,
443 F.3d 480 (6th Cir. 2006). In that case the district
court found the search warrant deficient as being
stale, but further found that the Leon good faith
exception applied and denied the motion to suppress.
The Court of Appeals held that despite the occurrence
of a single controlled buy at the residence, the lack of
recent information to measure whether or not the
residence was a fixed drug distribution point rendered
the warrant insufficient. It went on to hold that in
determining good-faith reliance by the officer, a court
can only consider the information in the four corners
of the document. The limited exception in Frazier did
not apply here to the inference that a recent controlled
buy indicates that more drugs will be found in the
location as there was no proof in the record that the
magistrate knew or was told when the controlled buy
took place.

The Sixth Circuit has no clear, static rule for when
probable cause is determined only through the four
corners of the warrant, as in Hython, or when the
Magistrate may use oral supplementation (or

11

inferences. as in Mr. Gunter’s case) to determine
probable cause as the Court found appropriate in
Frazier.

How strongly must a person’s residence be tied to
criminal activity to validate probable cause for a
search warrant? At least three of our sister circuits
have held in cases involving drug traffickers that
“observations of illegal activity outside of the home can
provide probable cause for the issuance of a search
warrant.” See United States v. Thomas, 989 F. 2d

States v. Williams, 974 R 2d 480, 481-82 (4th Cir.
1992)(per curiam) (upholding magistrate judge’s
determination of probable cause even though affidavit
did not contain any facts indicating drugs were located
at drug dealer’s residence); United States v. Angulo-
Lopez, 791 F. 2d 1394, 1399 (9th Cir. 1986)(despite
affidavit’s lack of direct evidence, probable cause
existed to search defendant’s residence based on
reasonable inference that suspected drug dealer would
keep incriminating evidence at his residence).

At the other end of the spectrum, the Tenth Circuit
has held differently from the law of their sister
circuits. The Tenth Circuit has upheld that there
must be a sufficient nexus between the place to be
searched and the items to be seized. See United States
v. Hargus, 128 F. 3d 1358, 1362 (10th Cir. 1997). The
Tenth Circuit has provided that the issuing magistrate
judge “may draw reasonable inferences from the
material provided in the warrant application.” See
United States v. Rowland, 145 F. 3d 1194, 1205 (10th
Cir. 1998). However, the Tenth Circuit in contrast to
other Circuit Courts of Appeals has not ever held that

12

“the mere observation of repetitive illegal drug activity
outside a suspect’s residence by itself is sufficient to
establish probable cause for a search of the suspect’s
residence.” See United States v. Nolan, 1999 F.3d
1180, 1183 (10 Cir. 1999). Further, the Tenth Circuit
in Rowland, at 1204 emphasized that “probable cause
to search a person’s residence does not arise based
solely upon probable cause that the person is guilty of
a crime. Instead there must be additional evidence
linking the person’s home to the suspected criminal
activity.”

More important to supporting the contention that
the Court should allow the writ in this instance is the
statement of the Court in Nolan, at 1184 as follows:

Given the state of the law in our circuit and the
differences of opinion it elicits, this panel
chooses not to decide in this instance whether
the affidavit in support of the search warrant
was sufficient to sustain the magistrate judge’s
finding that incriminating evidence would likely
be found inside Defendant Nolan’s residence.
Instead, we exercise our discretion to decide this
case under the good-faith exception to the
exclusionary rule established in United States
v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897, 1045S. Ct. 3405, 82 L. Ed.
2d 677 (1984), and leave for another day the
probable cause inquiry. (emphasis added)

In addition to his argument that the Sixth Circuit
lacks a clear line defining the parameters of inquiry in
a four-corners search warrant analysis for probable
cause, the language in Nolan makes it clear that there
is a split in the circuits in determining the probable

13

cause inquiry. The Gunter opinion, when compared
with other Sixth Circuit decisions, Tenth Circuit
Decisions and other sister courts proves that there is
conflict between the circuit courts concerning when
there is a sufficient nexus existing between the items
to be seized and the place to be searched. This is
sufficient to allow the Writ of Certiorari in this matter
pursuant to Rule 10 of the Rules of the Supreme
Court.

~ CONCLUSION

WHEREFORE, defendant Cornell P. Gunter
respectfully requests based upon the arguments
alleged herein that his Petition for Writ of Certiorari
be allowed.

Respectfully submitted,

T. SCOTT JONES, TN#014628
318 N. Gay St, Ste 210
Knoxville, TN 37902

(865) 546-2141

(865) 546-5777 facsimile

With the assistance of:

CORNELL P. GUNTER

41408-074

Federal Correction Institution — Manchester
PO Box 4000

Manchester, KY 40962

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1154%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
