# Opposition Brief — Davis v. Georgia, 129 S. Ct. 397 (2008) (No. 08-66)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1121%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

FILED
No. 08-66
aia AUG] 4 2008
ICE OF THE CLERK |
Iu The SUPREME COURT, U.S. __’

Supreme Court of the United States

4

TROY ANTHONY DAVIS,

Petitioner,
V.

STATE OF GEORGIA,
Respondent.

7

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Georgia

¢

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION ON
BEHALF OF RESPONDENT

¢

THURBERT E. BAKER
Attorney General

MARY BETH WESTMORELAND
Deputy Attorney General

SUSAN V. BOLEYN

Senior Assistant Attorney Gencral
Counsel of Record

40 Capitol Square

Atlanta, Georgia 30334-1300
(404) 656-3397

Facsimile (404) 651-6459

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225 6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

CAPITAL CASE
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1.

Whe. rer the Georgia Supreme Court’s fact-
specific application of long-standing state law re-
quirements governing extraordinary motions for new
trial, presents no issue warranting this Court’s exer-
cise of its certiorari jurisdiction?

2.

Whether the record demonstrates that this case
is not the proper vehicle for reviewing Petitioner’s
Eighth Amendment “innocence” claim which has been
repeatedly litigated in state and federal habeas
proceedings?

3.

Whether Petitioner’s unfounded and newly-
crafted assertion that Petitioner has a “liberty inter-
est” in obtaining a hearing in a state court extraordi-
nary motion for new trial proceeding was not raised
in the lower courts, did not serve as the basis for the
Georgia Supreme Court’s decision and does not
warrant the grant of certiorari in the context of the
specific facts of Petitioner’s case?

ul

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .................c eee cece eee i
pe 88 ge tl ps |. yy. sere il
ge OF Ge Soe e 8 dt Vv

DENIAL OF SPECIFIC “FACTS” SET OUT IN
i icavictwigahsesesocienerenvystesvorses scenes

STATEMENT OF THE CASE...................0sscceeeees

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

(f)

(g)

(h)

(1)

Trial Proceedings in the Superior Court
of Chatham County (1989-1991). .............

Motion for New Trial Proceedings in the
aeial Court (1901-1992) ...............-.sesseseeese

Consolidated Direct Appeal to the Geor-
gia Supreme Court (1992-1993) ................

State Habeas Corpus Proceedings (1994-
ite serial. decent sali chesedasconiwesisteeues

Appeal to the Georgia Supreme Court
from the Denial of State Habeas Corpus
NE © vnc cevenscesnssnstenctvenccesances

Federal Habeas Corpus’ Proceedings
ca wash ssvsaveeesnenpniuedeossienss

Appeal to the Eleventh Circuit Court of
PORES (B00 4- BONG) ono esscvcrcscsescesecesessceeee

Petition for -Certiorari from Eleventh
Circuit Decision Affirming Denial of Fed-
eral Habeas Relief (2C07)..........................

Extraordinary Motion for New Trial Pro-
ceedings in the Trial Court and Appeal to
the Georgia Supreme Court (July 2007) .....

10

13

14

17

17

18

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS..................cceeeeeeee
REASONS FOR NOT GRANTING THE WRIT ....

I.

II.

ITT.

THE GEORGIA SUPREME COURT'S
FACT-SPECIFIC APPLICATION OF
LONG-STANDING STATE LAW REQUIRE-
MENTS GOVERNING EXTRAORDINARY
MOTIONS FOR NEW TRIAL PRESENTS
NO ISSUE WARRANTING’- THIS
COURT'S EXERCISE OF ITS CERTIO-
PRELTAE FOI CRIES isis 02 sevessneecnss condecsiiees

PETITIONER’S CASE IS AN INAPPRO-
PRIATE VEHICLE FOR DETERMINING
AN EIGHTH AMENDMENT “INNO-
CENCE” CLAIM WHICH HAS BEEN
REPEATEDLY LITIGATED DURING
PETITIONER’S STATE AND FEDERAL
HABEAS CORPUS PROCEEDINGS ........

PETITIONER'S NEWLY-CRAFTED EF-
FORT TO ELEVATE AN EXTRA-
ORDINARY MOTION FOR NEW TRIAL
PROCEEDING TO A PROCEEDING
CREATING A LIBERTY INTEREST
“REQUIRING” A HEARING, PRESENTS
NO LEGITIMATE BASIS FOR THIS
COURT'S EXERCISE OF ITS CERTIO-
PRPRREE GAS MAIER EEUIIN cass cecesesovsssisssccconesess

ee a add ta tatdaknend Ween vetvaiinkeonddueseseurereuens

29

29

35

lV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
FEDERAL CASES
Davis v. Georgia, 510 U.S. 950 (1993) ......... ibeeiibecwens 10
Davis v. Terry, 465 F.3d 1249 (11th Cir. 2006) .......... 17
Davie v. Torry, 127 SCC. FOIG (207 ).....00..ccecccssesessseese 18
Davis v. Turpin, 534 U.S. 842 (2001)... eee 14
Heckler v. Campbell, 461 U.S. 458 (1983) ........0........ 38
Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117 (1945) ............ 29, 34, 35
Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307 (1979)... 10
Kentucky v. Stincer, 482 U.S. 730 (1987)................... 38
Rice v. Sioux City Cemetery, 349 U.S. 70 (1955) ....... 39
Texas v. Mead, 465 U.S. 1041 (1984) ...............2... 35, 37

United States v. Johnson, 268 U.S. 220 (1925).....35, 37

STATE CASES

Crawford v. State, 278 Ga. 95 (2004)................ cece eee 36
Davis v. State, 263 Ga. & (1993) .....,,.....0......s.seceeee- 9,10
Davis v. State, 282 Ga. 368 (2007) ...................esecccceee 20
Davis v. State, 283 Ga. 438 (2008) ..................... passim
Dautis v. Thomas, 266 Ga. 835 (1996) .....................05. ll

Davis v. Turpin, 273 Ga. 244 (2000) ......... eee 14

1

DENIAL OF SPECIFIC “FACTS”
SET OUT IN PETITION

Respondent denies Petitioner’s factual assertion
that he is “an innocent man,” (Petition, p. 7), as well
as Petitioner’s assertion that he has presented “sub-
stantial new admissible evidence of innocence.”
(Petition, p. 3).

The evidence in the record does not support
Petitioner’s factual assertion that the Supreme Court
of Georgia “barred relevant recantation evidence,”
(Petition, p. 24), nor does- the record support Peti-
tioner’s assertion that the trial court and the Georgia
Supreme Court “exacerbated the risk of an erroneous
execution.” (Petition, p. 24). Respondent denies Peti-
tioner’s assertion that the State’s case was “made up
almost entirely of this type of questionable evidence.”
(Petition, p. 29).

Respondent also disputes Petitioner’s characteri-
zation of various newly-obtained post-trial declara-
tions as constituting “recantations of eyewitness
testimony,” since the Georgia Supreme Court cor-
rectly noted with reference to several of these post-
trial declarations that the statement “fails to show
that Davis was not in fact the perpetrator and fails to
show that the witness’s testimony was the ‘purest
fabrication.” Davis v. State, 283 Ga. 438, 442 (2008).

¢

2

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION ON
BEHALF OF RESPONDENT

PART ONE
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

(a) Trial Proceedings in the Superior Court of
Chatham County (1989-1991)

Petitioner, Troy Anthony Davis, was indicted in
Chatham County, Georgia on November 15, 1989, for
the murder of Officer Mark Allen MacPhail, obstruc-
tion (against Officer Mark Allen MacPhail), two
counts of aggravated assault and possession of a
firearm during the commission of a felony.

During Petitioner’s trial, held on August 19-30,
1991, Petitioner was represented by Robert Falligant
and Robert Barker. During his opening statement,
defense counsel Barker argued, “You’re going to hear
a story that is going to be unbelievable. You are going
to see a cast of characters that you will never have
seen before, and they are unbelievable, and I mean
that in two senses. They are just not worthy of belief.”
(T. 682.)

Petitioner testified in his own behalf at trial.’
Petitioner admitted that he was at the scene of the
shooting, but claimed he did not see who shot Office

' T. 679-683. (References to the transcript of Petitioner’s
trial will be designated by T., followed by the appropriate page
number.)

’ T. 1415-1459.

3

MacPhail because he was running away from the
shooting and never looked back to see who did the
shooting. (T. 1424; 1435). Petitioner specifically
testified, “I heard the shot, but I didn’t exactly see the
shooting.” (T. 1435).

During the trial, jailhouse informant Kevin
McQueen testified that Petitioner admitted to him
that he shot Officer MacPhail. (T. 1232). Petitioner
testified that he did not know McQueen, never made
a statement to McQueen and was never in the same
cell with McQueen (T. 1459), and did not play basket-
ball with McQueen. (T. 1431-1434). Petitioner Davis
specifically denied ever telling McQueen that he
killed the cop. (T. 1434).

Petitioner also testified that he did not shoot
Michael Cooper at the party in Cloverdale, occurring
the day before Officer MacPhail’s murder. In fact,
Petitioner claimed that he did not know Michael
Cooper and saw him for the first time in the court-
room. (T. 1435).

Defense counse! for Petitioner presented the
following five witnesses during the guilt-innocence
phase of Petitioner’s trial: Joseph Washington (T.
1339); Shelley Sams (T. 1352); Tonya P. Johnson (T.
1357); Jeffrey Sams (T. 1372-1373); and Virginia
Roberts Davis (T. 1385).

During his trial, just as during his extraordinary
motion for new trial, Petitioner claimed that Syl-
vester “Red” Coles was the murderer of Officer
MacPhail. However, Red Coles also testified during

4

Petitioner’s trial and was extensively cross-examined
by defense counsel.’ (T. 899-974). During his trial
testimony, Red Coles did not implicate Petitioner in
the shooting of Officer MacPhail, but merely stated
that he and Petitioner were together when the shoot-
ing occurred. (T. 938-942). Red Coles testified that he
never saw Petitioner fire any shot that night and that
he did not know who shot Officer MacPhail. (T. 942).

During defense counsel’s guilt phase closing
argument,’ counsel attempted to discredit the eye-
witness testimony identifying Petitioner as the
shooter, by arguing the following:

The first evidence and information they ever
had in this case came from the mouth of the
witness that the State put on the stand, and
that was Sylvester Red Coles, the same indi-
vidual who admitted having a gun, the same
individual that numerous witnesses identi-
fied as having a gun that night, the same in-
dividual who admitted that he ran, he
changed shirts, tried to conceal his identity,
the same individual who admitted he ran to
a lawyer and turned himself in at four
o'clock, but not to surrender for a crime, but
to give the police the name of the person that
they should be looking for.

* The cross-examination of Red Coles appears on pages 919-
951 of the guilt phase transcript.

* Defense counsel's closing argument appears on pages
1506-1550 of the trial transcript.

5

And he gave them the name of Troy Anthony
Davis, and from that point on, the entire fo-
cus of this investigation was not in deciding
and finding the truth of this case as to who
actually committed these crimes that the De-
fendant is now on trial for, but it was to find
evidence to convict the Defendant of these
crimes.

You see, at that point, the police knew, after
talking to Sylvester Coles, that he, D.D.
Collins, and the Defendant were on the lot
that night. And yet what did the police do?
They bought Mr. Coles’ story hook, line, and
sinker. They never considered Mr. Coles to be
a suspect. They never considered Mr. Coilins
to be a suspect. What they considered them
to be was witnesses.

They never questioned for one minutes (sic)
the truth of what Sylvester Coles had to tell
them. And then began this investigation.
And they went out into this community, and
they rounded up witnesses everywhere they
could find them, and they paraded them in
here, and Mr. Lawton talks about the over-
whelming evidence in this case. We were
overwhelmed by the number of witnesses in
this case. But what about the quality, the
credibility of those witnesses?

You, the jurors in this case are the sole
judges of the credibility of those wit-
nesses.... Seven witnesses put on that
stand by the State of Georgia recanted, con-
tradicted, or changed their testimony....

“Pa
wen

6

Many of those witnesses who came into this
courtroom and changed their testimony and
said, the first thing out of their mouth was,
I’m not going to lie now.

(T. 1507-1509) (emphasis supplied).

Defense counsel also argued that there were
“striking similarities in facial features” between
Petitioner and Red Coles. (T. 1511). Later, defense
counsel specifically argued that Red Coles, not Peti-
tioner, had the motive, means and opportunity to
commit the murder. (T. 1518-1519).

As to the jailhouse informant, Kevin McQueen,
defense counsel argued, “Look at his record and see if
you can attach any credibility to the story that he
told” and “let’s look at the story he told.” (T. 1535-
1536). Defense counsel again challenged McQueen’s
credibility by arguing, “I don’t know why they even
put a man like Kevin McQueen on the stand. The
outrageous story that he concocted doesn’t even begin
to mesh, or it’s not even similar to the incidents that
occurred that night.” (T. 1537).

Finally, defense counsel argued, “This case is
replete with reasonable doubt, and I submit to you
that in your quest for the truth, what this case is all
about, as you sift through this evidence and you
review your notes about the consistencies, the prior
inconsistent statements, the outright lies, the fabrica-
tions of the State’s witnesses, if you reach the conclu-
sion that the State has not carried its burden beyond
a reasonable doubt, then as the Court will charge

7

you, you'll be bound to acquit the Defendant.” (T.
1549-1550).

On August 28, 1991, Petitioner was found guilty
of one count of malice murder, one count of obstruc-
tion of a law enforcement officer, two counts of aggra-
vated assault and one count of possession of firearm
during the commission of a felony.

Petitioner Davis also testified during the sen-
tencing phase of his trial (Sentencing phase tran-
script, pp. 52-67), asking the jury to spare his life, by
continuing to assert his “innocence” by telling the
jury that “at the present time you've found me guilty
of some offenses that I did not even commit.” (T. 65).

Defense counsel continued to argue lingering
doubt as to Petitioner’s guilt during his sentencing
phase closing argument. (Sentencing phase tran-
script, p. 80). Following the penalty phase, Petitioner
was sentenced to death for the murder of Officer
MacPhail on August 30, 1991.

(b) Motion for New Trial Proceedings in the
Trial Court (1991-1992)

On September 12, 1991, the trial court appointed
Petitioner’s trial attorneys to represent Petitioner on
appeal and appointed another attorney, Mr. C. Jack-
son Burch, to represent Petitioner specifically as to
raising any claims of ineffective assistance of counsel.

On October 1, 1991, Petitioner’s original trial
attorneys, Falligant and Barker, filed a motion for

8

new trial on Petitioner’s behalf, raising three
grounds.’ On February 14, 1992, Mr. Falligant and
Mr. Barker filed an amended motion for new trial,
raising 26 grounds, all alleging trial court error.* The
hearing on this motion was held on February 18,
1992.

Immediately following this hearing, Mr. Burch
filed an “Amendment to Motion for New Trial as to
Ineffective Assistance of Trial Counsel,” raising 16
different grounds of ineffective assistance of trial
counsel.’ On February 28, 1992, the trial attormeys
added an additional ground to their amended motion
for new trial. On March 16, 1992, the trial court
denied all portions of the motion for new trial, as
amended.

(c) Consolidated Direct Appeal to the Georgia
Supreme Court (1992-1993)

On appeal, the Ge rgia Supreme Court consoli-
dated Petitioner’s two appeals before the Court. See

* In his original motion for new trial, Petitioner alleged the
following:

(1) verdict is contrary to the evidence without evi-
dence to support it;

(2) verdict is decidedly and strongly against the
weight of the evidence; and

(3) verdict is contrary to law under the principals of
justice and equity. (Record on Direct Appeal, 2729).

* Record on Direct Appeal, 2745-2749.
" Record on Direct Appeal, 2752-2782.

9

Davis v. State, 263 Ga. 5 (1993). Petitioner’s convic-
tions and death sentence were unanimously affirmed

by the Georgia Supreme Court in the consolidated
appeal in Davis v. State, 263 Ga. 5 (1993).

In its decision, the Georgia Supreme Court
summarized the facts presented at Petitioner’s trial
as follows:

At midnight, on August 18, 1989, the victim,
a police officer, reported for work as a secu-
rity guard at the Greyhound Bus Station in
Savannah, adjacent to a fast food restaurant.
As the restaurant was closing, a fight broke
out in which Davis struck a man with a pis-
tol. The victim, wearing his police uniform —
including badge, shoulder patches, gun belt,
.38 revolver, and night stick — ran to the
scene of the disturbance. Davis fled. When
the victim ordered him to halt, Davis turned
around and shot the victim. The victim fell to
the ground. Davis, smiling, walked up to the
stricken officer and shot him several more
times. The officer’s gun was still in his hol-
ster.

The victim wore a bullet-proof vest, but the
vest did not cover his sides and the fatal bul-
let entered the left side of his chest and
penetrated his left lung and aorta, and came
to rest at the hack of his chest cavity. The of-
ficer was also shot in the left cheek and the
right leg.

The next afternoon, Davis told a friend that
he had been involved in an argument at the

eon ele

10

restaurant the previous evening and struck
someone with a gun. He told the friend that
when a police officer ran up, Davis shot him
and that he went to the officer and “finished
the job” because he knew the officer got a
good look at his face when he shot him the
first time.

After his arrest, Davis told a cellmate a simi-
lar story.

Davis v. State, 263 Ga. 5, 6 (1993).

The Georgia Supreme Court also specifically
found that the evidence presented at trial was suffi-
cient to support the verdict under the Jackson v.
Virginia standard, by holding that, “The evidence
supports the conviction on all counts. Jackson uv.
Virginia, 443 U.S. 307 (99 S. Ct. 2781, 61 L. Ed. 2d
560) (1979).” Davis v. State, 263 Ga. 5, 7 (1993).

Petitioner’s petition for a writ of certiorari was
denied by this Court in Davis v. Georgia, 510 U.S. 950
(1993).

(d) State Habeas Corpus Proceedings (1994-
1997)

On March 15, 1994, the Georgia Appellate Prac-
tice and Educational Resource Center, Inc. filed a
habeas corpus petition on behalf of Petitioner. On
August 28, 1995, counsel for Petitioner filed a notice
of withdrawal of named counsel and motion to con-
tinue, which motions were denied on October 19,
1995. Petitioner filed a petition for immediate review

11

of the order denying continuance in the Georgia Su-
preme Court. After granting the petition for immediate
review, the Court concluded that the habeas corpus
court abused its discretion in denying Petitioner a
continuance. Davis v. Thomas, 266 Ga. 835 (1996).

Petitioner filed a 79-page amendment to his state
habeas corpus petition, raising 15 claims for relief, on
November 6, 1996. During the state habeas corpus
evidentiary hearing held on December 16, 1996, all
four of Petitioner’s trial attorneys testified and Peti-
tioner presented 33 affidavits. Petitioner did not
present any live testimony from the affiants whose
affidavits were offered at the state habeas hearing
and whose affidavits were also presented during the
extraordinary motion for new trial.

During the state habeas corpus hearing, Peti-
tioner’s lead trial attorney, Robert Falligant, testified
that the real issue at trial was:

whether or not he [Davis], in fact, was the
person who committed the crimes. And, quite
frankly, based on the information that we
had and the evidence I had, it appeared it
was a very good likelihood that Sylvester
Coles, also known as Red, was the one who
actually killed Officer MacPhail and shot,
well not so much shot Michael Cooper, but
the main issue in my case was the death of
Office MacPhail, and basically that is the
emphasis we put on the investigation and
what we were looking for.

(State habeas corpus transcript, volume 1, pp. 125-126).

12

The state habeas corpus court denied Petitioner
relief on September 9, 1997. In denying Petitioner
relief, the state habeas corpus court found the follow-
ing:

from a review of the record that many pieces
of evidence supporting a finding that Coles
was the shooter or highlighting inconsisten-
cies in the testimony of witnesses who identi-
fied Davis as the shooter were indeed
presented to the jury during Davis’ trial. (cite
omitted) The jury, in its rightful role as
finder of fact during the trial, was responsi-
ble for evaluating the credibility of the wit-
nesses and determining whether the state
proved beyond a reasonable doubt that Davis
shot and killed Officer MacPhail. This
court, although acting now as the finder
of fact in this habeas proceeding, can-
not supplant the role of the jury and
find based on its own review of the re-
cord that the jury should have con-
cluded that the state did not carry its
burden at Davis’ trial. The core purpose of
the writ of habeas corpus would not be
served by such a presumptuous usurpation of
the jury’s deliberative process. This court is
limited to evaluating whether Davis’ rights
were properly protected in the context of his
jury tmal.

(State Habeas Corpus Order of 9/5/97, p. 41) (empha-
sis supplied).

13

The state habeas corpus court denied relief by
finding that all of Petitioner’s claims had been proce-
durally barred except for his ineffectiveness claim as
to the motion for new trial and appellate stages.

(State habeas corpus court order denying relief,
p. 43).

(e) Appeal to the Georgia Supreme Court from
the Denial of State Habeas Corpus Relief
(1997-2000)

Petitioner appealed to the Supreme Court of
Georgia from the denial of state habeas corpus relief.
In Claim VII of his application for a certificate of
probable cause to appeal, Petitioner alleged, inter
alia, that the trial evidence showed that Red Coles
was the shooter. (Application, pp. 88-101).

On February 24, 2000, the Georgia Supreme
Court granted Petitioner’s application for certificate
of probable cause to appeal from the denial of state
habeas corpus relief and asked the parties to address
four specific questions: (1) whether execution by
electrocution constituted cruel and unusual punish-
ment under our Federal and State Constitutions; (2)
whether imposition of the death penalty in this case
was disproportionate to the penalty imposed in other
similar cases in Georgia; (3) whether Petitioner’s
appellate counsel operated under a conflict of inter-
est; and (4) whether Petitioner’s absence during
critical stages of his trial violated his rights under
our Federal and State Constitutions.

14

The Georgia Supreme Court affirmed the denial
of state habeas corpus relief on November 13, 2009, in
Davis v. Turpin, 273 Ga. 244 (2000), and denied
Petitioner’s motion for reconsideration on December
15, 2000.

On May 14, 2001, Petitioner filed a petition for a
writ of certiorari in this Court which was denied on
October 1, 2001 in Davis v. Turpin, 534 U.S. 842
(2001).

(f) Federal Habeas Corpus Proceedings (2001-
2004)

Petitioner filed his application for federal habeas
corpus relief in the United States District Court for
the Southern District of Georgia, Savannah Division,
on December 14, 2001.

Petitioner’s motion for an evidentiary hearing
which requested, in part, that Petitioner be allowed
to present evidence of alleged recantations of trial
witnesses, was denied on March 10, 2003. In denying
Petitioner’s motion for an evidentiary hearing, the
federal habeas corpus court extensively reviewed
each affidavit proffered during the state habeas
corpus proceedings and where applicable, compared
the affiant’s testimony to any testimony which was

* See Respondent’s Appendix 1 to this brief which is Re-
spondent’s Chart Listing Exhibits Offered By Petitioner During
the Extraordinary Motion for New Trial.

15

given during Petitioner’s trial, as well as determining
whether the affiant had previously provided an
affidavit. (Federal Habeas Court Order of 3/10/03,

denying evidentiary hearing, pp. 5-22).”

In reviewing Petitioner’s evidentiary hearing
request, the federal habeas court scrutinized these
affidavits, both to determine if they could have been
submitted during state habeas corpus proceedings
(Federal Habeas Court Order of 3/10/03, denying
evidentiary hearing, p. 40) and also, to determine if
the presentation of these affidavits would undermine
the court’s confidence in the outcome of the proceed-
ing.” (Federal Habeas Court Order of 3/10/03, ueny-
ing evidentiary hearing, pp. 40-41).

The federal habeas court expressly stated that it
would consider all of the affidavits and material
admitted during state habeas corpus proceedings, but
would not permit Petitioner to re-offer these affida-
vits during a federal evidentiary hearing. (Federal

° As the federal habeas court noted, with the exception of
attorney testimony, all of the “actual innocence” testimony
offered by Petitioner during state habeas corpus proceedings,
was in affidavit form. (Federal Habeas Court Order of 3/10/03,
denying evidentiary hearing, p. 39).

’° In fact, the federal habeas corpus specifically examined
each affidavit offered by Petitioner. (Federal Habeas Court
Order of 3/10/03, denying evidentiary hearing, pp. 5-22).

16

Habeas Court Order of 3/10/03, denying evidentiary
hearing, p. 41)."

The federal habeas court reviewed the trial
testimony, including Petitioner’s testimony, the
evidence presented during state habeas corpus pro-
ceedings and found that even after Petitioner had
been given a full opportunity to present any evidence
in support of his “actual innocence” claim he had
failed to establish that he was “factually innocent.”
(Federal Habeas Court Order of 3/10/03, denying
evidentiary hearing, pp. 5-22; 37-41.)

The record is clear that the federal habeas court
examined the post-trial affidavits relied upon by
Petitioner and the federal habeas court held that,
“the Court finds that because the submitted affidavits
are insufficient to raise doubts as to the constitution-
ality of the result at trial, there is no danger of a
miscarriage of justice in declining to consider the
claim.” (Federal Habeas Court Order of 5/13/04,
denying relief, p. 25).

The federal habeas corpus court denied Peti-
tioner habeas corpus relief on May 13, 2004, and
denied Petitioner’s motion to amend the judgment on
June 3, 2004.

' This is the same decision reached by the trial court in
considering these affidavits when proffered as “support” for
Petitioner’s extraordinary motion for new trial. (See, 7/13/07
Order Denying Extraordinary Motion for New Trial, pp. 6-7;
Petitioner’s Appendix pp. 26a-27a.)

17

(g) Appeal to the Eleventh Circuit Court of
Appeals (2004-2006)

Although the district court denied Petitioner’s
application for a cer ificate of appealability, the
Eleventh Circuit granted Petitioner’s application on
September 15, 2004.

The Eleventh Circuit began its examination of
Petitioner’s appeal from the denial of federal habeas
corpus relief by noting that, “in this case, Davis does
not make a substantive claim of actual innocence.”
Davis v. Terry, 465 F.3d 1249, 1251 (11th Cir. 2006).
The Eleventh Cixcuit proceeded to find that Peti-
tioner “concedes” that all of his claims for relief are
procedurally defaulted and that the federal habeas
court actually considered the “merits” of Petitioner’s
constitutional claims, but nevertheless, “rejected
them as a matter of law.” Davis v. Terry, 465 F.3d
1249, 1252 (11th Cir. 2006).

The Eleventh Circuit ultimately concluded that,
“we cannot say that the district court erred in conclud-
ing that Davis has not borne his burden to establish a
viable claim that his trial was constitutionally unfair.”
Davis v. Terry, 465 F.3d 1249, 1256 (11th Cir. 2006).

(h) Petition for Certiorari from Eleventh Cir-
cuit Decision Affirming Denial of Federal
Habeas Relief (2007)

Petitioner’s petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on April 11, 2007. The question presented in that
petition reads as follows:

18

No court has examined Petitioner Troy Davis’
compelling new evidence to determine if he is
innocent. The Court of Appeals for the Elev-
enth Circuit affirmed the district court’s re-
fusal to examine Petitioner’s evidence of
innocence. If believed, the post-trial affida-
vits of numerous witnesses show that consti-
tutional violations led to the conviction of an
innocent man. In violation of this Court’s
precedent, no court has assessed the credibil-
ity of Mr. Davis’ new evidence that underlies
both his innocence and constitutional claims.

The question presented is:

Can a habeas court avoid its role as a fact
finder in substantial innocence cases by
skipping the innocence ‘gateway’ inquiry and
ruling on a petitioner’s constitutional claims
when the innocence and constitutional issues
arise out of the same facts?

This petition for certiorari was denied on June
25, 2007 in Davis v. Terry, 127 S.Ct. 3010 (2007).

(i) Extraordinary Motion for New Trial Pro-
ceedings in the Trial Court and Appeal to
the Georgia Supreme Court (July 2007)

On July 9, 2007, eight days before his scheduled
execution timeframe, Petitioner filed an Extraordinary
Motion for New Trial in the Superior Court of Chatham
County, Georgia. In his extraordinary motion, Peti-
tioner alleged that “this is a case of mistaken identity”

19

and that “Red Coles — not Davis — murdered Officer
MacPhail.” (Extraordinary motion for new trial, pp. 1-2.)

Relying solely on state law (Petitioner’s 2la-27a),
the trial court denied Petitioner’s extraordinary
motion without a hearing on July 13, 2007. However,
although no evidentiary hearing was conducted, the
trial court having recognized “the attendant gravity”
of the motion, “thoroughly and carefully” reviewed
each of the affidavits offered by Petitioner as alleged
support for his motion. (Petitioner’s Appendix 21la-
22a). In denying this extraordinary motion, the trial
court aptly observed that “the majority of affidavits
submitted by Defendant were sworn over five years
ago and a few affidavits were sworn over ten years
ago.” (Petitioner’s Appendix 23a, footnote 2.)

On July 17, 2007, Petitioner filed a Notice of
Appeal from the denial of this extraordinary motion
for new trial and an application for discretionary
appeal on July 16, 2007 and a motion for stay of
execution in the Georgia Supreme Court. In this
application, Petitioner did not raise any liberty
interest, but merely stated that “the application will
specifically address why the lower court’s denial of
the extraordinary motion for new trial was errone-
ous.” (Application, p. 3). While that application was
pending, the Georgia Board of Pardons and Paroles
granted a temporary stay of execution and scheduled
a clemency hearing.

On August 3, 2007, the Georgia Supreme Court
dismissed Petitioner’s motion for a stay of execution

20

as moot and granted Petitioner’s application for a
discretionary appeal. Davis v. State, 282 Ga. 368
(2007). The State Board of Pardons and Paroles
rescinded its stay of execution and suspended its
clemency consideration, pending the Georgia Su-
preme Court’s consideration of Petitioner’s discre-
tionary appeal.

On March 17, 2008, the Georgia Supreme Court
concluded that the trial court did not abuse its discre-
tion in denying Petitioner’s extraordinary motion for
new trial without a hearing. Davis v. State, 283 Ga.
438 (2008). The Georgia Supreme Court reviewed the
evidence presented at trial and found that, “at trial,
Davis’s defense centered on the theory that Coles was
the murderer. Both Davis and Coles testified, each
claiming their innocence. The evidence at trial
authorized the jury to conclude beyond a rea-
sonable doubt that Davis was the man who
struck Larry Young and shot Officer MacPhail.”
Davis v. State, 283 Ga. 438, 440 (2008) (emphasis
supplied).

The Georgia Supreme Court extensively reviewed
each category of “affidavit testimony” on which Peti-
tioner’s extraordinary motion relied, including “re-
cantations by trial witnesses”; “statements recounting
alleged admissions of guilty by Coles”; “statements
that Coles disposed of a handgun following the mur-
der” and “alleged eyewitness accounts.” Davis uv.
State, 283 Ga. 438, 441-447 (2008).

21

In reviewing Petitioner’s extraordinary motion,
in light of the trial evidence, the evidence presented
at the extraordinary motion for new trial and control-
ling state legal principles, the Georgia Supreme
Court expressly noted, “particularly in this death
penalty case where a man might soon be executed, we
have endeavored to look beyond bare legal principles
that might otherwise be controlling to the core ques-
tion of whether a jury presented with Davis’s alleg-
edly-new testimony would probably find him not
guilty or give him a sentence other than death.” Davis
v. State, 283 Ga. 438, 447 (2008).

The Georgia Supreme Court held that, “Upon our
careful review of Davis’s extraordinary motion for
new trial and the trial record, we find that Davis
failed to present such facts in his motion and, there-
fore, that the trial court did not abuse its discretion in
denying that motion without a hearing.” Davis v.
State, 283 Ga. 438, 448 (2008).

The Georgia Supreme Court held as fc’:.ws, in
rejecting the alleged basis for Petitioner’s petition for
certiorari: “Davis argued in the trial court that to
apply Georgia’s procedures for extraordinary motions
for new trial in a manner that allows for his execu-
tion would be unconstitutional. See Herrera v. Collins,
506 U. S. 390 (113-S. Ct. 853, 122 LE2d 203) (1993).
We hold that Georgia law, as described and applied
above, is not unconstitutional.” Davis v. State, 283
Ga. 438, 448 (2008).

22

Petitioner filed a motion for reconsideration
which was denied on April 14, 2008. The Georgia
Supreme Court also withdrew its prior opinion issues
on March 17, 2008 and issued a substitute opinion, as
well as allowing additional time for Petitioner to file a
motion for reconsideration of the substitute opinion.

The instant petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on July 14, 2008, from the order of the Georgia
Supreme Court affirming the dismissal, without a
hearing, of Petitioner’s extraordinary motion for néW
trial, filed shortly before his execution window was
scheduled to begin.

*

PART TWO
STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

At approximately 1:00 a.m. on Saturday, August
19, 1989, Savannah Police Officer David Owens
responded to a call of “an officer down” at the Grey-
hound bus station on Oglethorpe Avenue. (T. 759).”
Officer Owens found the victim, Mark MacPhail, a
27-year-old Savannah police officer, lying face down
in the parking lot of the Burger King restaurant next
to the bus station. (T. 759). Officer MacPhail’s mouth

’ The names of those witnesses who testified both at the
trial and by way of affidavit at the extraordinary motion for new
trial, appear in bold type and their affidavit in Petitioner’s
appendix to his extraordinary motion for new trial, is referenced
in a footnote.

23

was filled with blood and bits of his teeth were on the
sidewalk. As he began administering CPR to the
victim, Officer Owens noticed that the victim’s fire-
arm was still snapped into his holster. (T. 761).

Larry Young, who was present at the scene, told
police that between midnight and 1:00 a.m. he had
walked from the Burger King parking lot, which was
frequented by transients and homeiess individuals, to
the convenience store down the block to purchase
beer. (T. 797-798). Sylvester “Red” Coles saw Young
leave the pool hall next door and began following
Young demanding a beer. (T. 798). Coles continued to
harass Mr. Young all the way back to the Burger
King. (T. 799). When Young arrived at the parking lot,
Harriet Murray” and two unidentified men were
sitting on a low wall by the restaurant. Petitioner,
Troy Anthony Davis, and Daryl Collins, who had
taken a shortcut to the parking lot, came out from
behind the bank and surrounded Mr. Young. (T. 799).
Mr. Coles, who was facing Mr. Young, told him not to
walk away “cause you don’t know me, I'll shoot you,”
and began digging in his pants. (T. 845). The two men
seated on the wall fled, and Ms. Murray ran to the
back door of the Burger King, which was locked. (T.
799). Petitioner, who was behind Young and to his
right, blindsided him, striking him on the side of the

" As noted by the Georgia Supreme Court, Ms. Murray’s
affidavit was not notarized and therefore, the Court disregarded
her unsworn statement. See Davis v. State, 283 Ga. 438, 443
(2008)

24

face with a snub-nosed pistol, inflicting a severe head
injury which formed the basis of Count III of the
indictment. Mr. Young began to bleed profusely, and
he stumbled to a van parked in front of the Burger
King drive-in window, asking the occupants for help.
(T. 803). When the driver did not respond, Petitioner
went to the drive-in window, but the manager shut it
in his face. (T. 803, 915).

In response to the parking lot disturbance, Offi-
cer MacPhail, who was working as a security guard at
the restaurant, walked rapidly from behind the bus
station, with his nightstick in his hand and ordered
the three men to halt. (T. 849). Mr. Collins and Peti-
tioner fled, and Officer MacPhail ran past Sylvester
Coles in pursuit of Petitioner. (T. 851). Petitioner
looked over his shoulder, and when the officer was
five to six feet away, he shot him. Officer MacPhail
fell to the ground, and Petitioner walked towards him
and shot him again while he was on the ground. (T.
850). One eyewitness testified that Petitioner was
smiling at the time. (T. 851). The victim died of gun-
shot wounds before help arrived.

Thirty minutes after the killing, Red Coles ap-
peared at his sister’s house a few blocks from the bus
station and asked his sister for another shirt. (T. 915).
Shortly thereafter, Petitioner appeared and asked Mr.
Coles for the yellow t-shirt Coles had been wearing.
After he changed his shirt, Petitioner left. (T. 915).
Petitioner fled to Atlanta the following day and
surrendered to authorities on August 23, 1989.

25

Police learned that on the night prior to the
killing, Petitioner had attended a party on Cloverdale
Drive in a subdivision near Savannah. (T. 1115-1116).
During the party, Petitioner, annoyed that some girls
ignored him, told several of his friends something
about “burning them.” (T. 1264). Petitioner then
walked around saying, “I feel like doing something,
anything.” (T. 1264). When Michael Cooper” and
his friends were leaving the party, Petitioner was
standing out front. (T. 1120). Michael Cooper was in
the front passenger seat, and as the car pulled away,
several of the men in the car leaned out the window,
shouting and throwing things. (T. 1120, 1186). Peti-
tioner shot at the car from a couple of hundred feet
away and the bullet shattered the back windshield
and lodged in Michael Cooper’s right jaw. (T. 1186).
Cooper was treated at the hospital and released and
Cooper’s injury formed the basis for Count IV of
Petitioner’s indictment. The shooting incident took
place approximately one hour before Officer MacPhail
was shot.

Shortly after Michael Cooper was: shot, Eric
Ellison and D.D. Collins picked up Petitioner in
Cloverdale and took him to Brown’s pool hall in
Savannah. Red Coles, wearing a yellow t-shirt, was
already at the pool hall.

ia

Petitioner’s Appendix 26 to his extraordinary motion for
new trial.

26

An autopsy revealed that Officer MacPhail was
shot twice. One bullet entered the corner of his
cheekbone on the left side and exited the back of his
neck; the bullet blew away bits of his teeth, and his
lip was impaled on his teeth. (T. 782-784). The second
bullet passed through the armhole of MacPhail’s
bullet-proof vest, and entered his chest on the left
side. (T. 784). This bullet pierced the lung and the
aorta, and lodged in the opposite side between the
third and fourth vertebrae, at the back of the chest
cavity near the spinal column. (T. 784-787). The cause
of the victim’s death was a loss of blood from a gun-
shot wound to the left side of his chest. (T. 789). The
pathologist further noted that there were scrapes and
lacerations on the victim’s arms and legs, and an
apparent injury to his right thigh, which could have
been grazed by a bullet. (T. 788-789).

ob A ballistics expert testified that the bullet that
wounded Michael Cooper could have been fired from a
.38 special revolver or a .357 magnum. (T. 1291). The
bullet from MacPhail’s body was of the same type and
was possibly fired from the same weapon as used in
the Cooper shooting. (T. 1292). Four .38 caliber spe-
cial casings recovered at Cloverdale where Michael
Cooper was wounded, were fired from the same gun
as casings found at the scene of Officer MacPhail’s
murder. (T. 1292).

27

At trial, Kevin McQueen,” who was incarcer-
ated at the Chatham City jail with Petitioner, testi-
fied that Petitioner told him there had been a party
in Cloverdale on the night prior to the victim’s mur-
der; Petitioner had argued with some boys and there
was an exchange of gunfire. (T. 1230-1231). Petitioner
told McQueen he did some of the shooting. (T. 1231).
After the party, Petitioner went to a girlfriend’s house
and intended to eat breakfast at Burger King. Peti-
tioner stated that he was with a friend and they ran
into a guy who “owed money to buy dope.” (T. 1231).
There was a fight, Officer MacPhail appeared, and
Petitioner shot him in the face. As Officer MacPhail
attempted to get up, Petitioner shot him again,
because he was afraid MacPhail had seen him that
night at Cloverdale. (T. 1232). Petitioner also told
McQueen that he was on his way out of town to
Atlanta. (T. 1232).

Jeffrey Sapp” testified that Petitioner told him
he did the shooting at Burger King, but that it was
self-defense. (T. 1249-1252). Mr. Sapp noted that
Petitioner’s strect name was “RAH,” standing for
“Rough As Hell.” (T. 1257).

Numerous eyewitnesses identified Petitioner as
the perpetrator of the murder, including Harriet

'’ Petitioner's Appendix 13 to his extraordinary motion for
new trial.

'* Petitioner’s Appendix 14 to his extraordinary motion for
new tral

28

Murray, Dorothy Ferrell,“ Daryl a/k/a D.D.
Collins,” Antoine Williams,” Steven Sanders”
and Larry Young.”

Petitioner testified at trial and admitted that he
was present at the scene of the shooting on the night
in question, but denied that he was involved in the
shooting of Cooper or the victim or the assault on
Lerry Young.

' Petitioner’s Appendix 3 to his extraordinary motion for
new trial.

'* Petitioner’s Appendix 18 to his extraordinary motion for
new trial.

'* Petitioner’s Appendix 16 to his extraordinary motion for

new trial.

* Petitioner’s Appendix 20 to his extraordinary motion for
new trial.

* Petitioner’s Appendix 21 to his extraordinary motion for
new trial.

™ Petitioner's Appendix 17 to his extraordinary motion for
new trial

29

PART THREE
REASONS FOR NOT GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE GEORGIA SUPREME COURT'S FACT-
SPECIFIC APPLICATION OF LONG-
STANDING STATE LAW REQUIREMENTS
GOVERNING EXTRAORDINARY MOTIONS
FOR NEW TRIAL PRESENTS NO ISSUE
WARRANTING THIS COURT’S EXERCISE
OF ITS CERTIORARI JURISDICTION.

Petitioner seeks this Court’s certiorari review of
the Georgia Supreme Court’s decision applying well-
established state court precedent in affirming the
denial of Petitioner’s extraordinary motion for new
trial.” The clear existence of a state Jaw basis for the
holding of the Georgia Supreme Court in Petitioner’s
appeal from the denial of his extraordinary motion for
new trial, establishes that this decision rests on an
adequate and independent state law ground, author-
izing the denial of this petition for a writ of certiorari
under this Court’s longstanding precedent. See Herb
v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117, 125 (1945) (“This Court
from the time of its foundation has adhered to the
principle that it will not review judgments of state
courts that rest on adequate and independent state
grounds. ”).

* “In light of the following discussion, we conclude that the
trial court did not abuse its discretion in denying Davis's
extraordinary motion for new trial without first conducting a
hearing, and, accordingly, we affirm.” Davis v. State, 283 Ga.
438, 439 (2008).

30

Petitioner’s effort to obtain certiorari review by
attempting to obfuscate the true nature of the Geor-
gia Supreme Court’s decision is necessitated by the
fact that it is clear on the face of the Georgia Su-
preme Court’s opinion that this opinion was solely
rooted in that Court’s interpretation and application
of state case law governing extraordinary motions for
new trial.” The unmistakable state court basis for the
Georgia Supreme Court’s opinion is demonstrated by
the initial discussion of the legal standard to be
utilized by that Court in reviewing Petitioner’s ap-
peal from the denial of his extraordinary motion for
new trial. The Georgia Supreme Court stated the
following:

Because the statutes authorizing extraordi-
nary motions for new trials are silent as to
procedural details, “the procedural require-
ments for such motions are the product of
case law.” Dick v. State, 248 Ga. 898, 899 (2)
(287 SE2d 11) (1982). We have held that a
new trial may be granted based on newly-
discovered evidence only where the defen-
dant shows each of the following:

“ The fact that Petitioner’s appeal from the denial of his
extraordinary motion for new trial was raised and decided under
state law is further demonstrated by Petitioner’s citation in his
petition to various decisions of Georgia Supreme Court as
alleged authority for the need for conducting an evidentiary
hearing on extraordinary motions. See, Petition for Certiorari,
n.18.

31

(1) that the evidence has come to
his knowledge since the trial; (2)
that it was not owing to the want of
due diligence that he did not acquire
it sooner; (3) that it is so material
that it would probably produce a dif-
ferent verdict; (4) that it is not cu-
mulative only; (5) that the affidavit
of the witness himself should be
procured or its absence accounted
for; and (6) that a new trial will not
be granted if the only effect of the
evidence will be to impeach the
credit of a witness.

Timberlake v. State, 246 Ga. 488, 491 (1) (271
SE2d 792) (1980). (Citations and punctuation
omitted.) “Failure to show one requirement is
sufficient to deny a motion for a new trial.”
(Emphasis supplied.) Id. Extraordinary mo-
tions for new trial are “not favored,” and “a
stricter rule is applied to an _ extraordi-
nary motion for a new trial based on the
ground of newly available evidence than to
an ordinary motion on that ground.” (Cita-
tion and punctuation omitted.) Crowe ov.
State, 265 Ga. 582, 590-591 (15) (458 SE2d
799) (1995). A trial court’s ruling on such a
motion “will not be reversed unless it af-
firmatively appears that the court abused its
discretion. [Cit.]” (Citation and punctuation
omitted.) Young v. State, 269 Ga. 490, 491-
492 (2) (500 SE2d 583) (1998). For the rea-
sons set forth below, we conclude that
the trial court did not abuse its discre-
tion in denying Davis’s extraordinary

32

motion for new trial without first con-
ducting a hearing, particularly in light
of the requirement under Timberlake
that newly-discovered evidence be so
material that it probably would result
in a different verdict, Timberlake, 246
Ga. at 491 (1), and in light of the duty of
a defendant to present in the affidavits
supporting his or her extraordinary mo-
tion for new trial “facts sufficient to au-
thorize that the motion be granted.”
(Emphasis in original.) Dick, 248 Ga. at
899 (2).

Davis v. State, 283 Ga. 438, 440 (2008) (emphasis
added).”

Therefore, the clearly identifiable basis for the
Georgia Supreme Court opinion was its interpretation
and application of Georgia caselaw governing extraor-
dinary motions for new trial. The state caselaw basis

*” The record is also clear that the trial court’s review of
Petitioner’s extraordinary motion for new trial and its uitimate
denial of that motion without a hearing, was based solely on
state law and the trial court did not review any “federal ques-
tion” now being posed by Petitioner. The trial court began its
analysis of Petitioner’s extraordinary motion by stating, “Al-
though O.C.G.A. § 5-5-41(b) authorizes Defendant to make such
a Motion, the Court recognizes that in general, the Georgia
Courts do not favor extraordinary motions for new trial. Dick v.
State, 248 Ga. 898, 899 (1982) ... Defendant bears a heavy
burden in bringing such a motion.” (Petitioner’s Appendix,
p. 22a). “Moreover, an extraordinary motion for new trial that
fails to show ‘any merit’ may be denied a requested hearing.
Dick, 248 Ga. At 899.” (Petitioner’s Appendix, p. 23a).

33

for the Georgia Supreme Court’s decision and the fact
that the decision is case-specific is made even more
plain by the language of footnote two of the Georgia
Supreme Court’s opinion, in which the Court stated
the following:

We must point out that, contrary to the dis-
sent’s implication otherwise, this opinion
does not hold and nowhere states that recan-
tations and confessions must be categorically
excluded and never considered in cases such
as this. Nor do we hold that a trial court has
no right to hold a hearing to consider the evi-
dence with which it has been presented. We
simply hold that, in dealing with the evi-
dence and in its decision not to hold a hear-
ing, the trial court did not abuse _ the
discretion with which it is empowered by law
under the facts of this case.

Davis v. State, 283 Ga. 438, 439 (2008).

Therefore, contrary to Petitioner’s assertions, the
Georgia Supreme Court did not establish any cate-
gorical rules about the consideration of alleged recan-
tations during extraordinary motion for new trial
proceedings, nor about whether a hearing would
never be necessary to consider such an extraordinary
motion. A review of the decision shows that the Geor-
gia Supreme Court merely determined, applying state
law, that no evidentiary hearing was required to
consider Petitioner’s proffered affidavits, as well as
determining that the proffered affidavits did not

34

present facts which would warrant the granting of
the extraordinary motion.

Petitioner has not substantiated his assertion
that his “due process” claim was raised in the courts
below,” but even assuming arguendo that any alleged
federal claim was presented to the state courts, it is
apparent that the resolution of any alleged federal
question was not the basis for the state court deci-
sion.

The granting of certiorari in this case is clearly
unwarranted, as the record demonstrates that Peti-
tioner is merely seeking to have this Court “correct a
state court judgment.” As this Court explained in
Herb v. Pitcairn, “Our only power over state judg-
ments is to correct them to the extent that they
incorrectly adjudge federal rights. And our power is to
correct wrong judgments, not to revise opinions. We
are not permitted to render an advisory opinion, and
if the same judgment would be rendered by the state
court after we corrected its views of federal laws, our

** In Petitioner’s application for appeal filed in the Georgia
Supreme Court, Petitioner merely alleged that, “the lower court
never evaluated the merits of this evidence, but instead errone-
ously relied upon a general prohibition that ‘la] post-tnal
declaration by a State witness that his former testimony is false
is not cause for a new trial.’” (Application, p. 4, citing trial court
order at page 3). Even though the application made passing
reference to the Sixth, Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments
(Application, p. 7), Petitioner alleged on appeal that he had “met
all requirements for an extraordinary motion for new trial.”
(Application, p. 30).

35

review could amount to nothing more than an advi-
sory opinion.” Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117, 125-126
(1945). To review this decision of the Georgia Su-
preme Court based on state law grounds, would
result in the issuance of a mere advisory opinion by
this Court and therefore, certiorari should be denied.

The Georgia Supreme Court’s interpretation and
application of state court decisions governing ex-
traordinary motions for new trial, in the context of
the particular facts of Petitioner’s case” and the
lengthy procedural history of Petitioner’s post-
conviction challenges, constitutes an adequate and
independent state ground which warrants the denial
of this petition for a writ of certiorari. See Herb uv.
Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117 (1945).

II. PETITIONER’S CASE IS AN INAPPRO-
PRIATE VEHICLE FOR DETERMINING
AN EIGHTH AMENDMENT “INNOCENCE”
CLAIM WHICH HAS BEEN REPEATEDLY
LITIGATED DURING PETITIONER’S STATE
AND FEDERAL HABEAS CORPUS PRO-
CEEDINGS.

Petitioner has failed to substantiate his assertion
that his case “presents an ideal vehicle” to litigate his

* This Court has repeatedly emphasized that it does not
grant certiorari to “review specific facts.” See United States v.
Johnson, 268 U.S. 220, 227 (1925) and Texas v. Mead, 465 U.S.
1041 (1984).

36

Eighth Amendment “innocence” claim.” Petitioner
has previously litigated his Eighth Amendment
“innocence” claim using numerous legal “vehicles.”

The procedural history of Petitioner’s case au-
thorizes the denial of certiorari, as it belies Peti-
tioner’s assertion that “no court has ever examined
Petitioner’s new evidence to determine if he is inno-
cent.” Respondent’s Appendix 1 (Respondent’s Chart
Listing Exhibits Offered By Petitioner During Ex-
traordinary Motion for New Trial), visibly demon-
strates that the majority of Petitioner’s affidavits
have previously been presented and reviewed in state
and federal habeas proceedings. It is clear from
examining the procedural history, that Petitioner’s
current challenge to the eyewitness testimony given
during his trial is merelv the latest of Petitioner’s
repeated challenges to this trial testimony. Petitioner
has availed himself of numerous opportunities to
challenge the eyewitness testimony identifying him

* Petitioner mentions cases in which post-conviction DNA
evidence is offered to attempt to establish the “innocence” of a
petitioner, but DNA evidence plays no role in Petitioner’s case
and Petitioner’s reference to these cases is irrelevant to this case
which primarily involves alleged “recantations” of the trial
testimony of certain witnesses. In fact, Georgia has enacted a
separate and distinct statutory post-conviction DNA statute
which was not at issue in the instant case. See Crawford uv.
State, 278 Ga. 95, 96 (2004), holding that, “The newly-adopted
DNA testing statute requires a trial court to conduct a hearing
only if a defendant’s motion ‘complies with the requirements of
paragraphs (3) and (4)’ of the statute. O.CGA. $ 5-5-4]
(c)(6)(A).”

37

as the shooter. In fact, as shown by the content of
defense counsel’s closing argument at trial, Petitioner
made such a challenge the centerpiece of his trial
defense.

The instant petition for certiorari is not an
appropriate vehicle in which to review Petitioner’s
latest challenge to the eyewitness testimony pre-
sented at his trial, which has been reviewed on nu-
merous occasions by state and federal courts, as this
Court does not grant certiorari to “review specific
facts.” See United States v. Johnson, 268 U.S. 220,
227 (1925) and Texas v. Mead, 465 U.S. 1041 (1984).

This Court should deny this petition for certiorari
as this case is not a proper vehicle for a relitigation of
Petitioner’s Eighth Amendment “innocence” claim.

Tif. PETITIONER’S NEWLY-CRAFTED EFFORT
TO ELEVATE AN EXTRAORDINARY MO-
TION FOR NEW TRIAL PROCEEDING TO
A PROCEEDING CREATING A LIBERTY
INTEREST “REQUIRING” A HEARING,
PRESENTS NO LEGITIMATE BASIS FOR
THIS COURT’S EXERCISE OF ITS CER-
TIORARI JURISDICTION.

Petitioner alleges that this Court should grant
certiorari “to consider if the State-created liberty
interest in a new trial ... invokes the protections of
procedural due process when a defendant in a capital
case presents substantial new admissible evidence of
innocence.” (Petition, p. 3). This contention is based

38

on several unproven premises, namely, Petitioner’s
unfounded assertion that there exists a “State created
liberty interest in a new trial,” that he has presented
“substantial new admissible evidence of innocence” so
as to implicate Eighth Amendment concerns and that
this newly-crafted “liberty interest” claim was raised
and considered as a federal question in the Court
below.

Petitioner has availed himself of due process
protections throughout his state and federal habeas
corpus proceedings, and appears to “create” the
“liberty interest” theory, to avoid the roadblocks
which he would have to surmount to file successive
state and federal petitions in an attempt to relitigate
his “Eighth Amendment innocence claim.”

As already noted, Petitioner’s assertion in the
Georgia Supreme Court was that the trial court
should have granted him a hearing under state law
governing extraordinary motions for new trial, not
that state procedures had created a liberty interest
that implicated due process concerns. Therefore, this
Court should decline to review a federal law “liberty
interest” claim not raised and considered in the court
below. This Court has stated in such cases as Kentucky
v. Stincer, 482 U.S. 730, 747 (1987), citing Heckler v.
Campbell, 461 U.S. 458, 468-469, n.12 (1983), that it
will not consider grounds which were not presented to
court below, except “in exceptional cases.” The state
court’s interpretation of state case law does not
constitute such an exceptional case.

39

Additionally, assuming arguendo that Peti-
tioner’s “liberty interest” claim is viable in this proce-
dural context, the Georgia Supreme Court made clear
that it was not reaching any ultimate due process
questions in this case, nor making “categorical”
pronouncements about recanted testimony or the
necessity for conducting hearings, but was merely
holding that, in this case, “dealing with the evidence
and in its decision not to hold a hearing, the trial
court did not abuse its discretion with which it is
empowered under the facts of this case.” Davis v.
State, 283 Ga. 438, 439 n.2 (2008). Therefore, because
the Georgia Supreme Court did not reach or apply
broad federal due process principles, but rather
merely applied state law to the facts of Petitioner’s
case, certiorari should be denied.

The fact that the relief sought by Petitioner in
this petition for certiorari also demonstrates that
there is no federal question in this case warranting
this Court’s review. Petitioner merely seeks a remand
for an evidentiary hearing under state law principles,
rather than seeking to have Georgia’s extraordinary
motion for new trial procedure declared unconstitu-
tional. Therefore, Petitioner’s “liberty interest” con-
tention is merely “academic” in the context of this
case and does not warrant the grant of certiorari. See
Rice v. Sioux City Cemetery, 349 U.S. 70, 74 (1955)
(“The legal problem must be “beyond the academic or
the episodic.”).

40

CONCLUSION

WHEREFORE, for all the above and foregoing
reasons, Respondent prays that this Court decline to
exercise its certiorari jurisdiction and deny the in-
stant petition for a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

TTHURBERT BAKER 033887
Attorney General

MARY BETH WESTMORELAND 750150
Deputy Attorney General

SUSAN V. BOLEYN 065850
Senior Assistant Attorney General
40 Capitol Square, S.W.

Atlanta, Georgia 30334-1300

(404) 656-3397

RESPONDENT’S APPENDIX 1

RESPONDENT’S CHART LISTING EXHIBITS
OFFERED BY PETITIONER DURING
EXTRAORDINARY MOTION FOR NEW TRIAL

APPENDIX INDIVIDUAL DATE GIVEN |STATEMENT OR AFFIDAVIT
| FIRST PRESENTED IN
\ppendix A {Isaiah Middleton (juror) dated July 3, 2007 —_ J extraordinary motion for new tri. (2007)
\ppendix | {Gary Hargrove dated Aug 17,2001 | federal habeas corpus court (2003)
\ppendix 2 {Joseph Washington dated Dec 5, 1996 federal habeas corpus court (2003)
ppendix 3 | Harriet Murray dated Oct 10,2002 | federal habeas corpus court (2003)
ippendix 5 |Anthony Hargrove dated Aug 8, 2001 federal habeas corpus court (2003) »
pendix 6] Shirley Riley dated Aug 18,2001 | federal habeas corpus court (2003) |
ippendix 7 |Darold Taylor dated Aug 20, 2001 | federal habeas corpus court (2003) es
\ppendix 8 {Tonya Johnson dated Dec 6, 1996 federal habeas corpus court (2003)
eendix 9 |Anita Dunham Saddler dated July 10, 2002 | federal habeas corpus court (2003)
pendix 10 | April Hester Hutchinson dated July 9,2002 | federal habeas corpus court (2003)
\ppendix 11 | Peggy Grant dated July 11, 2002 [federal habeas corpus court (2003)
pendix 12 | Daniel Kinsman dated Oct 17,2002 | federal habeas corpus court (2003)
osndix 13 | Kevin McQueen dated Dec 5, 1996 state habeas corpus court (1996)
SD sinudix 14 | Jeffrey Sapp dated Feb 9, 2003 federal habeas corpus court (2003)
Bendix 15 | Monty Holmes dated Aug 17, 2001 [federal habeas corpus court (2003)
fepondix 16 | D.D. Collins dated July 11,2002 {federal habeas corpus court (2003)
Bendix 17 | Larry Young dated Oct 11, 2002 | federal habeas corpus court (2003)
Reendix 18 |Dorothy Ferrell dated Nov 29, 2000 | federal habeas corpus court (2003)
lppendix 20 | Antoine Williams ie dated Oct 12,2002 | federal habeas corpus court (2003)
Senendix 21 | Stephen Lloyd Sanders given Aug 18, 1989 [| federal habeas corpus court (2003)
Roendix 22 | April Hester dated Nov 30, 1995 | state habeas corpus court (1996)
ondix 23 | Abdus Karim dated Oct 8, 2002 federal habeas corpus court (2003)
Roni 24 | Robert Grizzard dated Merch 23, 2003 [federal habeas corpus court (2003)
given August 19, 1989
Reondix 25 | Benjamin Gordon dated Feb 10, 2003 — | federal habeas corpus court (2003)
Seendix 26 | Michael Cooper dated Feb 10, 2003 | federal habeas corpus court (2003)
dix 27 | April Hester dated Aug 19, 1989 | federal habeas corpus court (2003)
SR ondix 28 | Joseph Blige dated Dec 1, 1995 state habeas corpus court (1996)
Rcendix 29 | Lamar Brown dated Nov 2, 1995 state habeas corpus court (1996)
CS endix 30 | Jeffrey Neuschatz dated July 6, 2007 extraordinary motion for new trial (2007)
Bendix 31 | Kelly Fite dated April 18, 2003 [federal habeus corpus court (2003) 7
Reondix 32 | Curtis Wilson uror) dated July 6, 2007 extraordinary motion for new trial (2007)
SR sendix 33 [Cynthia Quarterman (juror) jdated July 12,2007 |extraordinary motion for new trial (2007)
Reendix 34 [Brenda Forrest (juror! dated July 18, 2007 [extraordinary motion for new trial (2007)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_1121%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
