# Amicus Curiae Brief — County of El Paso, Texas v. Napolitano (No. 08-751)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_0877%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

"} (% wo. 08-751 TAN, 12,2009

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

COUNTY OF EL PASO, ET AL.,
Petitioners,

V.

MICHAEL CHERTOFF, SECRETARY,
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY, AND
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States District Court for the
Western District of Texas

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
THE CITY OF EAGLE PASS, TEXAS, AND
OTHER CITIES AND OTHER AFFECTED
PERSONS ALONG THE TEXAS-MEXICO
BORDER IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

KENNETH J. PFAEHLER MICHAEL H. BARR
SHEJAL V. DESAI Counsel of Record
Of Counsel SONNENSCHEIN NATH &
SONNENSCHEIN NATH & ROSENTHAL LLP
ROSENTHAL LLP 1221 Avenue of the Americas
1301 K Street, N.W. New York, New York 10020
Suite 600, East Tower (212) 768-6788

Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 408-6468

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
pyt Rot oe. 8 igh). Snr ii
IIE serteeacicctcieateepderseecis vesraiencionsenbeneciss
INTEREST OF THE AMICT ..................:.0ccceeeeees
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .....................:0eeeee
RE estat Uolischinecehtee stasis cg Dac aadeninteneacaies 10

I. SECTION 102(c) OF ITIRIRA PRESENTS
A UNIQUELY BROAD DELEGATION
WITHOUT JUDICIAL REVIEW ............... 10

Il. A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD
ISSUE TO CONSIDER WHETHER A
FEDERAL EXECUTIVE BRANCH
AGENCY CAN NULLIFY STATE
LAWS ON ITS OWN AUTHORITY .......... 14

Ill A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD
ISSUE TO CONSIDER WHETHER
BROAD DELEGATIONS TO _ UN-
ELECTED MEMBERS OF _ THE
EXECUTIVE BRANCH REQUIRE
THE AVAILABILITY OF JUDICIAL

SRS eeanbesanains 18
Se I ois snvesvavedouseenseunncvaens ALOE 24
APPENDIX A—List of Amict ..........cccccocccccccccccces la

APPENDIX B—Congressional Research Service
Memorandum, Section 102 of H.R. 418,
Waiver of Laws Necessary for Improvement
of Barriers at Borders, Feb. 9, 2005................ 2a

i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page(s)

Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner,

SS Ss ee 19
Alden v. Maine,

ee 14
Amalgamated Meat Cutters v. Connally,

go/ ©. Sump. 737 (D.D.C. 1971)................ 19, 22
Clinton v. City of New York,

I Ee 0 os sscrcacescessnsesessesevescees 11
CSX Transp., Inc. v. Easterwood,

eS.) 16
Department of Interior v. South Dakota,

Ee ae 22

Ethyl Corp. v. Environmental Protection
Agency, 541 F.2d 1 (D.C. Cir. 1976),
cert. denied,
ES EE RI inicrrencncscsspevesernsvesoesene 20

Fidelity Federal Savings and Loans Ass’n
v. del Cuesta,

RT, BEE © NOI. nnceccaececrsesesevesesesevuesecs 16
Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc.

v. Paul,

OE eS) sae 15
Gregory v. Ashcroft,

Te ME 6 I eine cc ccicncenvesconsecsccceceoenc 7,14
Hines v. Davidowitz,

Be I NE BE Oi eaccrescsiccscencncesccsucesesserss 15

INS v. Chadha,
Be Bie Ee AB i esinecsccceconsrnivessevenesecess 9,18

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Mistretta v. United States,

aR OE |) 9,18
Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc.,

so Be Be 22: | ees 16
Printz v. United States,

Ce 0 i ee BE nr voter cecsnnensecsetvencanxees 14
Shalala v. Illinois Council on Long Term

Care, dmc... S20 US: 1 CASED). inc .ccccccsvenss. 19
Skinner v. Mid-America Pipeline Co.,

BER Re ks 2. re ne 9,10, 18

South Dakota v. Department of Interior,
69 F.3d 878 (8th Cir. 1995), vacated,

ee ee OE oie cn cavessacvccuconapsevancesnens 22
Tafflin v. Levitt,

Me yr, Ge CR a ve cinscsevececaccesessescscescnns 14
Touby v. United States,

Fe HU 6 IE vi ecnsnsnscensececedcuncesncsavvsasses 9,18

United States v. Bozarov,
974 F.2d 1037 (9th Cir. 1992),
cert. denied, 507 U.S. 917 (1993).............. 23

United States v. Hammoud,
381 F.3d 316 (4th Cir. 2004) (en banc),
vacated on other grounds, 543 U.S. 1097

| EEE e rae ce eee OEE aay ae sa aeD 23
United States v. Nourse,
9 Vet. 8, 9 L. Ed. 31 (18385) ....................... 19

United States v. Widdowson,
916 F.2d 587 (10th Cir. 1990), vacated,
SOUP OF, St 0 IB irocccchasiaccssntousavcevvchentceck 22

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Yakus v. United States,
Hah, Me oan vorvcidechenncesersdanenessnes

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer,

Ey 2.) Enna 18
CONSTITUTION, STATUTES, RULES
AND REGULATIONS
U.S. Const. amend. X ....... Pa tc chabenanidsicadies 14
Administrative Procedures Act,
ee io darcaetabeeansercedecakexencsinases 13
{llegal [mmigration Reform and Immi-
grant Responsibility Act of 1996,
Pub. L. No. 104-208, Stat. 3009, 3009-
554, (codified as amended at 8 U.S.C.
fT aE EEE RO Sn ai NOTED 2
I acca ssa cocaaeaeneads passim
PN BEC T BD ae doscccrevevicececinseescceves 7, 10, 20
Section 102(c)(2)(A) .....................0.--26 8, 18, 21
em Ll bb) ae 8
Federal Grant and Cooperative Agreement
Act of 1977, 31 U.S.C. § 6303-05 .............. 12
Federal Land Policy and Management Act,
43 U.S.C. § 1701 et. seg.............. ee oe 12
Rivers and Harbors Act of 1899, Mar. 3,
1899, ch. 425, 30 Stat. 1121...................... 12
OTHER AUTHORITY
Christopher Sherman, One Hidalgo County
Community Won’t Escape Border Fence,
Assoc. Press, Mar. 21, 2008...................... 5

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)

Congressional Research Service Memoran-
dum, Section 102 of H.R. 418, Waiver
of Laws Necessary for Improvement of
Barriers at Borders, Feb. 9, 2005............. 12

Federalist No. 39 (James Madison)
(Clinton Rossiter ed., 1961)................0..... 14

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 08-751

COUNTY OF EL PASO, ET AL.,
Petitioners,
¥.
MICHAEL CHERTOFF, SECRETARY
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY, AND
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States District Court for the
Western District of Texas

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
THE CITY OF EAGLE PASS, TEXAS, AND
OTHER CITIES AND OTHER AFFECTED
PERSONS ALONG THE TEXAS-MEXICO
BORDER IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

STATEMENT

The City of Eagle Pass, Texas, and the other cities
and entities along the Texas-Mexico border listed
herein, respectfully submit this amicus brief in
support of the petition for a writ of certiorari.’

‘No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part
and no counsel or pa’ ty made a monetary contribution intended
to fund the preparation or submission of this brief. No person
other than counsel for amici curiae made a monetary contribu-

2
INTEREST OF THE AMICI

Amici are cities, and other affected persons along
the Texas-Mexico border who have been injured by
waivers of state and local laws by the Secretary of the
U.S. Department of Homeland Security, which are
purportedly made prrsuant to Section 102 of the
Illegal Immigration hteform and Immigrant Respon-
sibility Act of 1996, 8 U.S.C. § 1103 note (“ITRIRA”).
The amici share the view that these waivers of state
and local laws by an unelected federal official raise
profound, unanswered questions about the elimina-
tion of any judicial review (except on constitutional
questions) of an executive agency’s delegated, wholly
discretionary power to waive any statutes, including
state and local statutes, that the official sees fit in
order to accomplish a given goal. The Homeland
Security Secretary’s exercises of his waiver power to
date have been especially troubling because he has
purported to waive “in their entirety” all “state, or
other laws, regulations and legal requirements of,
deriving from, or related to the subject of” thirty-
seven different federal laws, without specifying which
state and local laws he is waiving, for how long, in
which geographic area, and with respect to which
parties. The Secretary also has unilaterally ex-
panded the scope of section 102(c)’s waivers from
those needed “to ensure the expeditions construction
of barriers and roads” authorized by section 102 of
the IIRIRA to those needed to ensure the “upkeep of
fences, roads, supporting elements, drainage, erosion
control, safety features, surveillance, communication,
and detection equipment of all types, radar and radio

tion to its preparation. The parties have filed letters consenting
to the filing of this brief with the Clerk of this Court.

3

towers, and lighting” in the Project Areas. (Pet’r’s
App. 4a, 15a) (emphasis added).

Each of the amici and their citizens are directly
affected or potentially will be affected by the
Secretary’s waivers. The anici submit that the
Secretary has impermissibly encroached on the most
fundamental aspect of the sovereignty of our govern-
ments and the sovereignty of the State of Texas: the
power to govern by our own duly enacted laws. In
their scope, vagueness, apparent permanence (waiver
of laws necessary to “upkeep,” not just construct, the
fence) and judicial unreviewability, the waivers
issued by the Secretary of Homeland Security have
dramatically inhibited the power of the governmental
amici, and the State of Texas, to prescribe and
enforce reasonable regulations necessary to preserve
the public order, health, and safety.

The Secretary’s waivers jeopardize the ability of
the governmental amici to carry out their statutory
duties to interpret and enforce Texas, county and
municipal laws, regulations and ordinances. The
waivers of all unnamed “state, or other laws, regula-
tions and legal requirements . . . deriving from, or
related to the subject of” the thirty-seven identified
federal statutes waived leaves the amici and their
citizens uncertain about the state of the law in their
jurisdictions. The waivers call into question the
continuing validity of numerous state statutes, county
orders, judicial decrees and government contracts
that might be construed as “deriving from, or related
to the subject of” the enumerated federal statutes,
including among others: the Texas Local Government
Code, Antiquities Code, Natural Resources Code,
Health and Safety Code, Agriculture Code, Parks and
Wildlife Code, Penal Code, and Water Code and

4

Auxiiary Laws; county orders related to health and
safety, waste disposal, and the environment; provi-
sions of the municipal codes related to water and
sewage, storm water management, air pollution, and
noise control; city and county contracts, including
contracts with the water improvement districts and
others, for the delivery of water to the amici and
their citizens; certain judicial decrees adjudicating
water rights; contracts between water improvement
districts and the United States authorizing the
districts to divert water from the Rio Grande River;
and city grant agreements with the State of Texas,
which require the cities to certify to compliance with
federal laws, including several of those waived, as a
condition of receiving grant money.

The Secretary’s exercise of his waiver authority
thus interferes with the police powers of the govern-
mental amici by rendering it impossible for the
governmental amici to know which laws to enforce
and which are waived, or to know against whom (if
anyone) the laws may be enforced. It directly hinders
the ability of the governmental amici to protect the
health, safety and general welfare of their people by
trampling the basic laws and regulations that have
been enacted for those purposes.

Moreover, the Secretary’s waivers have blockaded
or will blockade the municipalities and counties’
abilities to protect the health, safety and welfare of
their citizenry in a quite concrete way as well. The
“border” barriers are being constructed north of the
Rio Grande River flood plain, sometimes as much as
a mile inland. Property, businesses and houses in
U.S. territory, but now on the south (Mexican) side of
the wall, are being stranded from their governments.
Entire neighborhoods will be on the south side of the

5

wall. See Christopher Sherman, One Hidalgo County
Community Won’t Escape Border Fence, Assoc. Press,
Mar. 21, 2008. The Secretary’s border barriers, then,
will be an actual physical barrier prohibiting the
governmental amici to fulfill their sovereign man-
dates to protect their citizens from crime, fire and
other hazards. These barriers that isolate houses,
businesses and communities will impede or prevent
the governmental amici from rescuing or assisting
their citizens in times of natural disaster (such as the
flooding of the Rio Grande River). The Secretary’s
unbridled exercise of his wavier powers literally
imperils the safety and welfare of many of the citi-
zens of the governmental amict.

The waivers not only impair the amici’s ability to
serve their citizens and fulfill essential governance
functions, but impose financial costs on the amici as-
sociated with implementing the Secretary’s waivers.
The waivers further imperil the citizens of the amici
by interfering with the water improvement districts’
access to and ability to maintain their canals, poten-
tially damaging the facilities and infrastructure on
which the districts rely to deliver water, potentially
generating debris that could clog the districts’ flood
control infrastructure, circumventing the districts’
permitting processes for use of district property, and
interfering with the districts’ standards for bridge
construction, road maintenance and dust pollution,
among other things - all of which threaten the supply
of clean water to the citizens of amici. All of the
effects listed above will impose significant financial
costs on the amici that will, in turn, inevitably be
passed through to the citizens of amict.

A list of the amici appears as Appendix A, repro-
duced at la.

6
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

To our knowledge, neither this Court, nor any fed-
eral court of appeals, has ever been asked to review a
delegation of power to a single, unelected federal
executive officer to effectively nullify or, at a mini-
mum, suspend state and local statutory requirements
that is this far reaching. Certainly no appellate court
has ever upheld such a broad delegation of legislative
power to the executive branch in the absence of
judicial review. While the Constitution gives Con-
gress the authority to regulate matters directly and
to preempt contrary state regulation, the Constitu-
tion does not give federa! officials the power to
“waive” state laws of their choosing. Amici are aware
of no appellate decision upholding such a waiver
power. Amici also are aware of no instance in which
an appellate court has construed authority to “waive”
laws to mean that Congress intended to “preempt”
state regulation or legal! requirements.

The Court should grant the writ of certiorari to
address whether such a delegation can be made
without judicial review, and whether such a delega-
tion can ever be made to “waive” attributes of state
sovereignty, including the local police powers of the
State of Texas, the City of Eagle Pass, and ..2 other
cities and local governments of Texas and the border
states. These powers were reserved by the Tenth
Amendment to the states. The power to preempt
state laws and regulations delegated to Congress in
the Constitution does not encompass the power of an
unelected cabinet officer to rule by fiat in the border
regions of this nation. The unrestricted grant of
power to an unelected official to waive any law on the
books he deems “necessary” for his purposes, includ-
ing not only substantive laws but also procedural

7

statutes, raises the specter of arbitrary power and
the loss of liberty. “Just as the separation and inde-
pendence of the coordinate branches of the Federal
Government serve to prevent the accumulation of ex-
cessive power in any one branch, a healthy balance of
power between the States and the Federal Govern-
ment will reduce the risk of tyranny and abuse from
either front.” Gregory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452, 458
(1991).

Section 102 of the IIRIRA presents this Court with
the must sweeping and starkest possible context to
address this question, because Congress could
scarcely have made a broader delegation than this
one. Section 102(c)(1) of the IIRIRA grants the Sec-
retary of Homeland Security, “[nlotwithstanding any
other provision of law,” the “authority to waive all le-
gal requirements such Secretary, in such Secretary’s
sole discretion, determines necessary to ensure expe-
ditious construction of the barriers and roads under
this section.” Pursuant to this authority, the Secre-
tary already has issued five waivers nullifying thirty-
seven federal statutes and all state and locai laws,
rules, regulations and legal requirements “deriving
froin, or related to the subject matter of,” those
specified federal statutes along much of the border
with Mexico. The Secretary has not defined for local
officials which particular laws are no longer in force.
Nor has he explained whether they are waived in
whole or just in part. Nor has he identified the
geographical boundaries (inland from the border) of
the waiver, the duration of the waiver, or even
against whom these waivers apply.

The Secretary has asserted that these sweeping
waivers are “necessary.” But contrary to what
normally would occur in the context of reviewable

8

agency action, he has offered no reasons why.
Perhaps even more troubling, the Secretary has sua
sponte expanded his waiver powers beyond those
provided by Congress. Section 102(c) grants the
Homeland Security Secretary “the authority to waive
all legal requirements such Secretary, in such
Secretary's sole discretion, determines necessary to
ensure expeditious construction of the barriers and
roads under this section.” (emphasis added). The
Secretary’s waivers, by contrast, waive laws not only
concerning the construction of the barriers, but also
with respect to the “upkeep of fences, roads, sup-
porting elements, drainage, erosion controls, safety
features, surveillance, communications, and detection
equipment of all types, radar and radio towers, and
lighting” in the Project Areas. (Pet’r’s App. 4a, 15a.)
The Secretary may believe that his waivers are
permanent.

Neither the scope of the waivers, nor the Secre-
tary’s expansion of his statutory authority by admin-
istrative fiat, nor the actual “necessity” of the waiv-
ers, nor the possibly permanent nullification of state
laws, can be reviewed by the courts except on
constitutional grounds. IIRIRA § 102(c)(2)(A).” Indeed,
because of the statute’s sixty-day statute of limita-
tions (as explained in greater detail below), this case
presents the last chance for any court to ensure that
the Secretary’s April 3, 2008 waivers conform to the
Constitution. Absent review by the Court, every city
and county along the border, and their citizens,
businesses and water districts, will be subjected to
the Secretary’s interpretation of the scope of his dele-

* The statute also precludes any right of appeal to the Courts
of Appeal following a determination of a constitutional question.

ITRIRA § 102(¢e)(2)(C).

9

gated authority. He will be the sole arbiter of which
laws he has waived, whether the waived laws are
partially or totally inoperative, whether the hundreds
of state and local laws implicated by his ambiguous
waiver have been preempted and to what extent, how
long the waivers shall remain in effect, and whose
compliance with the laws are waived. This un-
checked power over the communities of Texas (and
the rest of the border states) contravenes basic
principles of federalism and decimates the “residual
and inviolable sovereignty” of the states that the
Framers envisioned and that has been part of our
Constitutional framework since the founding.

The absence of judicial review of the Secretary’s
waiver power is at the heart of the problems posed by
the statute. Assurance of judicial review has been
crucial to this Court’s review of constitutional chal-
lenges to Congressional delegations of power and
preemption of state iaws and regulations. In particu-
lar, the availability of judicial review underlies this
Court’s “intelligible principle” jurisprudence. See,
e.g., Touby v. United States, 500 U.S. 160, 168-69
(1991); Skinner v. Mid-Am. Pipeline Co., 490 U.S.
212, 218 (1989); Mistretta v. United States, 488 U.S.
361, 379 (1989); INS v. Chadha, 462 U.S. 919, 953
n.16 (1983); Yakus v. United States, 321 U.S. 414, 426
(1944).

However, this Court has never directly addressed
the question of whether, in the case of an exception-
ally broad delegation, satisfaction of the “intelligible
principle” test requires the availability of judicial re-
view. Put another way, can the “longstanding princi-
ple” that Congress may delegate powers to the execu-
tive branch “so long as Congress provides an admin-
istrative agency with standards guiding its actions

10

such that a Court could ‘ascertain whether the will of
Congress has been obeyed . . .” be satisfied if the
“court” is entirely removed from the principle’s opera-
tion? See Skinner, 490 U.S. at 218 (emphasis added).
This Court has never directly answered this question,
which is of critical importance to ensuring that
Congress’s delegation of authority to executive branch
agencies is done in a manner consistent with separa-
tion of powers. The amici respectfully submit that
this, too, renders a grant of certiorari important and
necessary.
ARGUMENT

I. SECTION 102(c) OF ITRIRA PRESENTS
A UNIQUELY BROAD DELEGATION
WITHOUT JUDICIAL REVIEW

Whether a federal executive branch kgency can
freely and without judicial review waive any state
law that it, in its unfettered discretion, deems “neces-
sary” to its purposes, and whether the non-delegation
principle requires judicial review for especially broad
grants of policymaking authority, are questions pre-
sented here in the context of an unprecedently
sweeping delegation of authority by Congress to the
Homeland Security Secretary. Section 102(c) of the
IIRIRA provides:

(c)(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of
law, the Secretary of Homeland Security shall
have the authority to waive all legal require-
ments such Secretary, in such Secretary’s sole
discretion, determines necessary to ensure expe-
ditious construction of the barriers and roads
under this section. Any such decision by the Sec-
retary shall be effective upon being published in
the Federal Register.

IIRIRA § 102(c)(1).

11

This sweeping delegation of authority is unprece-
dented. Certainly, a number of federal laws have
authorized an agency official to waive legal require-
ments in particular circumstances, but such delega-
tions typically involve directions to the executive to
waive particular provisions of particular federal laws
(most commonly, only provisions of the same law
containing the waiver authority), and such waivers
usually are subject to judicial review. Crucially, in
every instance we know of where the executive
branch has been authorized by Congress to waive a
law, the laws that are permitted to be waived are
federal laws. We know of no instance in which a
federal official has been given the right to simply
“waive” state and local laws “necessary” in his view to
achieve his purposes.

Moreover, prior delegations to an executive agency
of the power to waive laws usually, if not always,
have involved the waiver of laws within the purview
of that agency’s expertise and specialized knowledge,
and therefore differ from “the delegation at issue here
in that agencies often develop subsidiary rules under
the statute,” thus diminishing “the risk that the
agency will use the breadth of a grant of authority as
a cloak for unreasonable or unfair implementation.”
Clinton v. City of New York, 524 U.S. 417, 489 (1998)
(Breyer, J., dissenting) (citing 1 K. Davis, Adminis-
trative Law § 3:15, pp. 207-208 (2d ed. 1978)).

Here the delegation, while limited by Congress as
to purpose, is unlimited as to application. The Secre-
tary of Homeland Security, upon a mere pronounce-
ment that he finds waiver “necessary,” can waive any
law promulgated by any authority in effect anywhere
in the nation. As far as we can determine, Congress
has never delegated to a federal agency anything ap-

12

proaching such an omnibus waiver authority. As an
independent study by the Congressional Research
Service concluded:

After a review of federal law . . . we were unable
to locate a waiver provision identical to that of
§ 102 of H.R. 418—17.e., a provision that contains
‘notwithstanding language,’ provides a secretary
of an executive agency the authority to waive all
laws such secretary determines necessary, and
directs the secretary to waive such laws. Much
more common, it appears, are waiver provisions
that (1) exempt an action from other require-
ments contained in the Act that authorizes the
action, (2) specifically delineate the laws to be
waived, or (3) waive a grouping of similar laws.

Congressional Research Service Memorandum, Sec-
tion 102 of H.R. 418, Waiver of Laws Necessary for
Improvement of Barriers at Borders, Feb. 9, 2005, at
5a-6a, reproduced at Appendix B.

The Secretary’s exercise of the Section 102(c)
waiver delegation has been even more unfettered in
practice than it is in authorization. The Secretary’s
two April 3, 2008, waivers, covering almost 500 miles
of territory along the Mexican border from California
to Texas, waive “all federal, state, or other laws,
regulations and legal requirements of, deriving from,
or related to the subject of” thirty-seven laws,
including among other things environmental laws,
historic preservation acts, the Rivers and Harbors
Act, the Federal Land Policy and Management Act,
the Federal Grant and Cooperative Agreement Act of
1977, acts protecting the exercise of religious

13

freedom, and the entirety of the Administrative
Procedures Act.”

Secretary Chertoffs state law waivers are poten-
tially even broader, because the Secretary did not
identify which state or local laws he is waiving. Nor
did he specify when the waivers will end. Amici do
not even know if they will end, as Congress in-
structed, upon completion of the construction of the
roads and barriers, because the April 3, 2008 waivers
metastasized Congress’s delegation to waive when
“necessary ... to ensure the expeditious construction
of the barriers and roads” into a waiver for the pur-
pose of, among other things, the “upkeep of fences,
roads, supporting elements, drainage, erosion con-
trols, safety features, surveillance, communications,
and detection equipment of all types, radar and radio
towers, and lighting” in the Project Areas. (Pet’r’s
App. 4a, 15a.) Nor has the Secretary provided an ex-
planation of why he finds it “necessary” to waive all
provisions of 37 federal statutes and all provisions of
every state and local law, ordinance, rule, regulation
or requirement relating to them. (/d.)

The sweeping delegation without judicial review to
the Homeland Security Secretary in Section 102(c) of
the ITRIRA and his exercise of that delegated
authority to bulldoze wide swathes of unidentified
state and local law not only to construct barriers and
roads, but to “upkeep” many other things, raises vital
questions that this Court should address about
whether Congress (or the Secretary) have over-
reached into the sovereign domain of the states and

* The laws that the Secretary has identified that he is waiving
are identified in the waivers, which are included in the
Appendix to the Petition. (Pet’r’s App. 4a - 5a, 15a - 17a.)

14

whether there has been an unconstitutional delega-
tion of power which, in the utter absence of judicial
review, violates the separation of powers doctrine.

Il. A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD ISSUE
TO CONSIDER WPETHER A FEDERAL
EXECUTIVE BRANCH AGENCY CAN
NULLIFY STATE LAWS ON ITS OWN
AUTHORITY

Under the Supremacy Clause, federal officials have
no inherent authority to waive state laws. On the
contrary: it “is incontestable that the Constitution
established a system of dual sovereignty.” Printz v.
United States, 521 U.S. 898, 918 (1997) (citing Greg-
ory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452, 457 (1991)); Tafflin v.
Levitt, 493 U.S. 455, 458 (1990). The states “retain a
residuary and inviolable sovereignty.” Alden ov.
Maine, 527 U.S. 706, 714-15 (1999) (quoting The Fed-
eralist No. 39, p. 245 (C. Rossiter ed. 1961) (J. Madi-
son)). Residual state sovereignty is expressly pro-
tected by the Tenth Amendment of the Constitution.
“The powers not delegated to the United States by
the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the states,
are reserved to the states respectively, or to the peo-
ple.” U.S. Const. amend. X. The Constitution also
contemplates, as Madison expressed it, that the “local
or municipal authorities form distinct and independ-
ent portions of the supremacy, no more subject,
within their respective spheres, to the general au-
thority than the general authority is subject to them,
within its own sphere.” The Federalist No. 39, at 245,
quoted in Printz, 521 U.S. at 920-21.

The district court below offered several justifica-
tions for upholding the Secretary’s assertion of power

15

to preempt state and local laws. None pass constitu-
tional muster.

One justification presented by the district court
was that Section 102(c) is itself an express preemp-
tion clause. This claim is untenable. Section 102(c)
authorizes the Secretary to “waive” laws that might,
in his judgment, impede the expeditious construction
of the border fence. While federal officials are occa-
sionally given authority to waive federal laws that
they are charged with administering, federal officials
have no authority to “waive” state laws. State laws
can be preempted only when they conflict with or
frustrate federal laws, or when Congress clearly
intends that state laws be displaced, but preemption
is not waiver.

The district court concluded that the Homeland Se-
curity Secretary’s exercise of his waiver power re-
flects nothing more than an application of the princi-
ple that state laws that conflict with federal law are
necessarily preempted. The court reasoned that
“even if the Waiver Legislation does not contain ex-
plicit preemptive language,” state law is still “conflict
preempt[ed]” by the Secretary's waivers. (Pet’r’s App.
40a.) While agency action can preempt state law
without an express grant of preemptive authority
where a court determines that “compliance with both
federal and state regulations is a physical impossi-
bility” (Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v.
Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 142-43 (1963)), or when a court
finds that state law “stands as an obstacle to the
accomplishment and execution of the full purposes
and objectives of Congress” (Hines v. Davidowitiz,
312 U.S. 52, 67 (1941)), the determination must
nonetheless be left to a court—not to unreviewable
administrative fiat. By contrast, here the Secretary

16

himself has made the decision to preempt all state
and local laws “of, deriving from, or related to the
subject of” each of thirty-seven federal statutes that
he had waived. This far exceeds anything previously
recognized as conflict preemption. Moreover, prece-
dent teaches that the Secretary’s articulated basis for
preemption is inadequate. “I'o prevail on the claim
that the regulations have pre-emptive effect, [the
Secretary] must establish more than that they touch
upon ‘or relate to’ that subject matter.” CSX Transp.,
Inc. v. Easterwood, 507 U.S. 658, 664 (1993) (citing
Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 564 U.S. 374,
383-384 (1992)).

There is a more fundamental flaw with the district
court’s conflict preemption argument. Even if the
district court correctly applied the conflict preemp-
tion framework applicable here, “question[s] remain[]
whether the [Secretary] acted within [his] statutory
authority in issuing the pre-emptive” regulation and
whether or not there actually is a conflict. Fidelity
Fed. Sav. and Loans Ass’n v. de la Cuesta, 458 U.S.
141, 159 & n. 14 (1982). After all, the Secretary has
not enumerated which state and local laws are
displaced; nor does he explain why all laws “of, de-
riving from, or related to the subject of” his mandate
under the IIRIRA are actually conflicting with execu-
tion of that mandate. Without judicial review, the
district court’s assertion that the “Secretary, pursu-
ant to the Supremacy Clause, has only waived state
and local laws which interfere with Congress’s pur-
pose to construct the border barrier” (Pet’r’s App.
40a) cannot be verified, because the Secretary has not
identified which state and local laws he has waived.
Moreover, the district court’s assurance also is
betrayed by the actual language of the waivers,
which provide that the Secretary is waiving state and

Mu

local laws that he considers necessary for the
“upkeep” of things that are not barriers and roads.
Nor can the district court’s assurance be tested by
anybody in any forum, and thus it cannot be enforced.

The district court also offers the hollow consolation
that after “carefully reviewing the Waiver Legisla-
tion, the Court concludes the Secretary’s waivers do
not affect the validity of the state and locai laws.”
(Pet’r’s App. 41a.) “Rather, the waivers merely
suspend the effects of the state and local laws. The
state and local law remain operative to the extent
they have not been preempted by the Waiver
Legislation according to its own terms, U.e., those
laws that do not interfere with the expeditious con-
struction of the border fence.” (/d.) Again, however,
the district court’s assurance is betrayed by the terms
of the waivers. The “suspension” of laws is of indefi-
nite duration, and may be permanent with respect to
“upkeep.” How, thus, do laws remain “valid” when
they are indefinitely, and perhaps permanently, un-
enforceable? How can it even be determined to what
extent the laws remain operative when the waivers
are expressly not limited to the construction of the
border fence? How can any of the district court’s as-
sumptions be tested when there is no forum for re-
view of the Secretary’s decisions? After all, the dis-
trict court’s decision, coupled with Section 102(c)’s
sixty-day statute of limitations, makes the Secretary
the sole arbiter of preemption decisions. The stat-
ute’s preclusion of judicial review, once this narrow
window has closed, guarantees that any dispute over
which laws fall within the vague bounds of the Secre-
tary’s declarations of preemption will be resolved by
agency fiat. This Court should grant review to con-
firm that these questions are ink2rently judicial, and
that no agency is entitled to confer upon itself a lim-

18

itless and unreviewable power to vaive state and lo-
cal laws as it chooses.

Ill. A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD IS-
SUE TO CONSIDER WHETHER BROAD
DELEGATIONS TQ UNELECTED MEM-
BERS OF THE EXECUTIVE BRANCH
REQUIRE THE AVAILABILITY OF JUDI-
CIAL REVIEW

Section 102(c) of the IIRIRA forbids judicial chal-
lenges to Secretary Chertoffs waiver determinations
and the exercise of his waiver power. Only constitu-
tional challenges may be made.

The Court has consistently highlighted the avail-
ability of judicial review of administrative action as
an essential predicate to upholding broad delegations
of congressional power under the “intelligible prin-
ciple” requirement. See, e.g., Touby v. United States,
500 U.S. 160, 168-69 (1991); Skinner v. Mid-Am.
Pipeline Co., 490 U.S. 212, 218 (1989); Mistretta v.
United States, 488 U.S. 361, 379 (1989); INS v.
Chadha, 462 U.S. 919, 953 n.16 (1983); Yakus uv.
United States, 321 U.S. 414, 436 (1944).

The availability of judicial review ensures execu-
tive compliance with congressional will, and thereby
ensures that the executive branch is limited to en-
forcing the law, rather than making it. JNS uv.
Chadha, 462 U.S. 919, 953 n.16 (1983); Youngstown
Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579, 585 (1952).
“[Jjudicial review perfects a delegated-lawmaking
scheme by assuring that the exercise of such power
remains within statutory bounds.” Touby, 500 U.S.
at 170 (Marshall, J., concurring) (citing Skinner, 490
U.S. at 218-19).

19

In the modern era of broad delegations to adminis-
trative agencies, judiciai review assures. the
continuing validity of Chief Justice Marshall’s
observation:

It would excite some surprise if, in a government
of laws and of principle, furnished with a de-
partment whose appropriate duty it is to decide
questions of right, not only between individuals,
but between the government and individuals; a
ministerial officer might, at his discretion, issue
this powerful process . . . leaving to [the claim-
ant] no remedy, no appeal to the laws of his
country, if he should believe the claim to be un-
just. But this anomaly does not exist; this impu-
tation cannot be cast on the legislature of the
United States. .

United States v. Nourse, 9 Pet. 8, 28-29, 9 L. Ed. 31
(1835).

Therefore, “foJur constitutional structure contem-
plates judicial review as a check on administrative
action that is in disregard of legislative mandates.”
Shalala v.. Illinois Council on Long Term Care, Inc.,
529 U.S. 1, 44 (1999) (Thomas, J., dissenting). This
insight underlies the well-established presumption of
the reviewability of agency action. Abbott Labs. v.
Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 140 (1967). “Concepts of
control and accountability define the constitutional
requirement.” Amalgamated Meat Cutters v. Connally,
337 F. Supp. 737, 746 (D.D.C. 1971) (three judge
panel) (Leventhal, J.).

The waiver orders at issue illustrate the impor-
tance of this protection. The Secretary purported to
interpret the statutory language defining “construc-
tion” to include, among other things, “upkeep of
fences, roads, supporting elements, drainage, erosion

20

controls, safety features, surveillance, communica-
tion, and detection equipment of all types, radar and
radio towers, and lighting.” (Pet’r’s App. 4a, 15a.)
(emphasis added). This interpretation is seemingly
at odds with the statute’s plain command that the
Secretary exercise his waiver authority only where
“necessary to ensure expeditious construction”—not
“upkeep”—of the border fence. IIRIRA § 102(c)(1)
(emphasis added). Given Section 102(c)’s preclusion
of judicial review for all but constitutional] questions,
however, there is no way the amici or other aggrieved
parties can challenge the Secretary’s expansive in-
terpretation of his own power. The combination of a
broad delegation and the preclusion of review thus
permits the Secretary to extend the waivers’ duration
indefinitely or even permanently.

The uncertainty surrounding the duration of the
waivers is not the only ambiguity in the Secretary’s
orders. It is unclear precisely which local laws have
been waived. It is also unclear whether the Secretary
was exempting only himself from compliance with
our laws or the laws of Texas, or whether he was
declaring al! persons and governmental entities
exempt from these legal requirements. Likewise, it is
unclear how wide an area of land is covered by the
orders.

“Congress has been willing to delegate its legisla-
tive powers broadly and the courts have upheld such
delegation because there is court review to assure
that the agency exercises the delegated power within
statutory limits.” Ethyl Corp. v. HPA, 541 F.2d 1, 68
(D.C. Cir. 1976) (en banc) (Leventhal, J., concurring)
(footnote omitted), cert. denied, 426 U.S. 941 (1976).
An excessively broad waiver provision that does not
require the Secretary to provide reasons, and whose

21

invocation is not subject to judicial review, obfuscates
any assessment of what the congressional will is, or
whether it is being followed. Indeed, selective waiver
actions by the Secretary may allow the agency to make
law in a way that bypasses Article I procedures.

Under the terms of the statute, the only authority
with the power to resolve non-Constitutional issues is
the Secretary himself. Neither amici nor any other
government body or private citizen will have any
recourse to any court if the Secretary fails to resolve
on ambiguity or a dispute, or does so in a way an
aggrieved party regards as unlawful, or issues
further waivers expansively construing the scope of
this waiver authority. It is left to the Secretary alone
to determine the scope of his powers vis-a-vis those of
the amici and state and local governments, without
any judicial check.

The potential impairment of governmental and
private rights by the Secretary’s orders is further
compounded by Section 102(c)’s inordinately short
statute of limitations. While the statute permits the
district courts to hear “claim[s] * * * alleging a viola-
tion of the Constitution,” such actions must be filed
within sixty days of the date of the Secretary’s watver
order—not sixty days from the infliction of any harm
(even of constitutional stature) caused thereby.
IIRIRA § 102(c\(2)(A). Absent judicial review, the
Secretary’s waiver of all state and local laws “of,
deriving from, or related to the subject of” the federal
statutes he has waived confers upon him the other-
wise judicial function of determining whether and
when state laws have been displaced by his actions
once the sixty days have run. (Pet’r’s App. 4a, 15a.)
Moreover, the Secretary’s actions may affect private,
as well as public, rights, such as valuable water

22

rights currently held by municipal water authorities,
or the rights of the private individuals and firms that
purchase water from these authorities. The time
even to constitutionally challenge these infringe-
ments of rights may have run even before the
Secretary identifies which rights he has decided to
infringe.

As described above, prior authority from this Court
suggests the importance of judicial review as a
predicate to the resolution of non-delegation claims.
There has arisen, however, uncertainty and a split
among the lower courts as to whether judicial review
is required, an uncertainty that underlies the district
court’s reasoning on this point.

In Department of Interior v. South Dakota, 519 U.S.
919 (1996), this Court vacated and remanded without
need for argument a judgment of the Eighth Circuit,
after the Solicitor General had effectively conceded
that the agency’s action was judicially reviewable.
The decision below is at odds with this decision of the
Bighth Circuit, a decision of the Tenth Circuit, and a
prominent three-judge district court decision from
the District of Columbia, all of which state that a
permissible intelligible principle for the exercise of
delegated power must be susceptible of analysis by a
court. See South Dakota v. Dep’t of Interior, 69 F.3d
878 (8th Cir. 1995), vacated, 519 U.S. 919 (1996);
United States v. Widdowson, 916 F.2d 587 (10th Cir.
1990), vacated, 502 U.S. 801 (1991); Amalgamated
Meat Cutters, 337 F. Supp. at 746.

However, the dissenting opinion in South Dakota v.
Dep’t of Interior appears to raise doubts about the
necessity of judicial review to a valid delegation of
legislative power. 519 U.S. at 921-22 (Scalia, J.,
dissenting). This uncertainty is reflected in decisions

23

from the Fourth and Ninth Circuits. United States v.
Hammoud, 381 F.3d 316, 331 (4th Cir. 2004) (en
banc) (“it is not clear whether the nondelegation
doctrine requires any form of judicial review”),
vacated on other grounds, 543 U.S. 1097 (2005);
United States v. Bozarov, 974 F.2d 1037, 1041-45 (9th
Cir. 1992) (reversing district court’s decision that the
Export Administration Act violated the non-
delegation doctrine because of the lack of a provision
for judicial review), cert. denied, 507 U.S. 917 (1993).

This case presents the question in the starkest pos-
sible way. Section 102(c) of the ITRIRA presents the
Court with a nearly unprecedented delegation of au-
thority to waive any “legal requirements” in the na-
tion. That authority is unchecked by any judicial re-
view of whether the administrative agency is making
those waivers in compliance with congressional will
and in a reasoned fashion. The Secretary has em-
ployed this discretion aggressively, without substan-
tive explanation, and to the direct detriment of the
amici and their citizens. The characteristics of the
challenged statute and its implementation make it an
ideal vehicle to resolve the question of whether the
grant of such broad waiver power to an unelected of-
ficial, without judicial review of his use of that power,
is constitutional.

24
CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the Court should grant the peti-
tion for writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

KENNETH J. PFAEHLER MICHAEL H. BARR
SHEJAL V. DESAI Counsel of Record
Of Counsel SONNENSCHEIN NATH &
SONNENSCHEIN NATH & ROSENTHAL LLP
ROSENTHAL LLP 1221 Avenue of the Americas
1301 K Street, N.W. New York, New York 10020
Suite 600, East Tower (212) 768-6788

Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 408-6468
Counsel for Amici Curiae The City of

Eagle Pass, Texas, and Other Cities and Other Affected
Persons Along the Texas-Mexico Border

APPENDIX

la
APPENDIX A

List of Amici

The following amici join in this brief:

City of Eagle Pass, Texas by resolution of the
City Council.

Cameron County, Texas Commissioner John

Wood.

City of Brownsville, Texas by authorization of
Mayor Patricio M. Ahumada, Jr.

City of McAllen, Texas by action and authori-
zation of the City Commission.

Chairman of the Texas Border Coalition and
Mayor of Eagle Pass, Texas Chad Foster.

2a
APPENDIX B

[LOGO]

Congressional Research Service

Memorandum February 9, 2005

SUBJECT: See. 102 of H.R. 418, Waiver of
Laws Necessary for Improvement
of Barriers at Borders

FROM: Stephen R. Vina and Todd B. Tatelman
Legislative Attorneys
American Law Division

Section 102 of H.R. 418, the REAL ID Act, cap-
tioned “Waiver of Laws Necessary for Improvement
of Barriers at Borders,” provides the Secretary of
Homeland Security with authority to waive all laws
he deems necessary for the expeditious construction
of the barriers authorized to be constructed by § 102
of the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigration
Responsibility Act of 1996 (IIRIRA) (P.L. 104-208,
Div. C, codified at 8 U.S.C. § 1103 note) and bars
judicial review of such waiver decisions. This memo-
randum discusses the waiver provision in gencral;
the extent to which Congress has passed laws that
provide waivers comparable to §102 of H.R. 418; and
the judicial review provisions. For background infor-
mation on the border fence and § 102 of ITRIRA
please refer to CRS Report RS 22026, Border Secu-
rity: Fences Along the U.S. International Border.

3a
H.R. 418, $102

Section 102 of H.R. 418 would amend § 102(c) of
IIRIRA to read as follows:

(c) Waiver—

(1) IN GENERAL—Notwithstanding any other
provision of law, the Secretary of Homeland
Security shall have the authority to waive, and
shall waive, all laws such Secretary, in such
Secretary’s sole discretion, determines neces-
sary to ensure expeditious construction of the
barriers and roads under this section.

(2) NO JUDICIAL REVIEW—Notwithstand-
ing any other provision of law (statutory
or non-statutory), no court shail have juris-
diction—

(A) to hear any cause or claim arising from
any action undertaken, or any decision made,
by the Secretary of Homeland Security pur-
suant to paragraph (1); or

(B) to order compensatory, declaratory, in-
junctive, equitable, or any other relief for
damage alleged to arise from any such action
or decision.

Waiver Provisions

If enacted, the new § 102 would provide the Secre-
tary of Homeland Security with not only the author-
ity to waive all laws he determines necessary to
ensure the expeditious construction of the barriers
and roads under § 102 of IIRIRA, but the requirement
that the Secretary do so. This provision could provide
the Secretary with broader waiver authority than
what is currently in § 102(c) of IIRIRA. This author-
ity would apparently include laws other than the

4a

Endangered Species Act and the National Environ-
mental Policy Act, but may not include a waiver of
protections established in the Constitution.’ All laws
waived, however, must be determined by the Sec-
retary to be necessary to ensure expeditious construc-
tion of the barriers and roads. The waiver authority
provided by this amendment would also seem to
apply to all the barriers that may be constructed
under the authority of § 102 of IIRIRA—i.e., both to
barriers constructed in the vicinity of the border to
deter illegal crossing in areas of high illegal entry”
and to the barrier that is to be constructed near the
San Diego area.

Congress commonly waives preexisting laws, though
the process necessary to complete the waiver and the
number of laws waived vary considerably from pro-
vision to provision. Even more common is the use of
the phrase, “notwithstanding any other provision of
law.” While the use of a broad “notwithstanding any

‘See discussion infra. During debate of a similar exemption
provision for the border fence in the 108th Congress, supporters
argued that labor and other non-environmental laws would not
be considered as included in the phrase “any other laws.” 151
Cong. Rec. H8899-H8901 (debate of amendment to H.R. 10). It is
also not clear if state laws would be included in this waiver
provision.

*There does not appear to be any statutory or regulatory
definition for “high illegal entry.” Note however, that over the
last seven years 97% of all illegal alien apprehensions were
made along the Southwest border. See CRS Report RL32562,
Border Security: The Role of the U.S. Border Patrol. Such a high
percentage could be noted by those who might contend that the
authority in § 102(a) of IIRIRA is more applicable, at least for
now, to our Southwest borders; ultimately, however, it is the
Secretary of DHS who determines places of “high illegal entry”
under the section.

5a

other provision of law” rarely settles the interpretive
question, such directives seem facially preclusive,
and some courts have determined that “notwith-
standing” language may serve to explicitly preempt
the application of other laws.* Other courts, however,
have held that such provisions are generally not
dispositive in determining the preemptive effect of a
statute.*

After a review of federal law, primarily through
electronic database searches and consultations with
various CRS experts, we were unable to locate a
waiver provision identical to that of §102 of H.R.
418—i.e., a provision that contains “notwithstand-
ing language,” provides a secretary of an executive
agency the authority to waive all laws such secretary
determines necessary, and directs the secretary to
waive such laws.” Much more common, it appears,
are waiver provisions that (1) exempt an action from
other requirements contained in the Act that
authorizes the action, (2) specifically delineate the
laws to be waived, or (3) waive a grouping of similar

° See e.g., Puerto Rico v. M/V Emily S., 132 F.3d 818 (1st Cir.
1997). In instances where “notwithstanding” language has been
deemed controlling, courts sometimes buttress such decisions
with an analysis of the underlying directives or legislative his-
tory of a statute. See e.g., Illinois Nat'l Guard v. Federal Labor
Relations Authority, 854 F.2d 1396, 1402 (D.C. Cir. 1998).

* See e.g., E.P. Paup v. Director, OWCP, 999 F.2d 1341, 1348
(9th Cir. 1993); Oregon Natural Resources Council v. Thomas,
92 F.3d 792, 796 (9th Cir. 1996).

°Our search did not include a review of annual appropria-
tions language, which may include similar waiver provisions. It
should be noted however, that as a general proposition, appro-
priations language is limited to the year of the appropriation,
which may limit the application of any waiver.

6a

laws. The most analogous provisions that we located
appear to be, at least on their face, the following:°

e 43 U.S.C. § 1652(c): Allows the Secretary of the
Interior and other Federal officers and agen-
cies the authority to waive any procedural re-
quirements of law or regulation which they
deem desirable for authorizations that are nec-
essary for or related to the construction, opera-
tion, and maintenance of the Trans-Alaska oil
pipeline system (e.g., rights-of-way, permits,
and leases).’

e 25 U.S.C. §3406: Allows the Secretaries of the
Interior, Labor, Health and Human Services,
and Education, notwithstanding any other law,
to waive any statutory requirement, regula-
tion, policy, or procedure promulgated by their
agency that is identified by a tribal govern-
ment as necessary to implement a submitted
tribal plan under the Indian Employment,
Training and Related Services Demonstration
Act of 1992, as amended.

e 20 U.S.C. §7426: Provides almost identical
waiver language to that of 25 U.S.C. §3406,
but for plans submitted by tribal governments

° Similarly, we found some provisions that exempt certain
transactions or entities from all laws. See e.g., 49 U.S.C. §11321
(“A rail carrier, corporation, or person participating in that
approved or exempted transaction is exempt from the antitrust
laws and from all other law, including State and municipal law,
as necessary to let that rail carrier, corporation, or person carry
out the transaction, hold, maintain, and operate property, and
exercise control or franchises acquired through the _ trans-
action.”).

"It is unclear how broadly a procedural requirement of law
has been or could be interpreted.

7a

for the integration of education and related
services provided to Indian students.

There are also many other provisions that arguably
grant broad waiver authority similar to that of § 102,
but contain qualifications or reporting requirements
that seem to limit their breadth.” Some of these
waiver provisions grant the President or the head of
an Executive agency the authority to waive a law\s] if
deemed necessary in the national interest or in the
interest of national defense. We cite here, some exam-
ples of this type of waiver authority:"

¢ 43 U.S.C. §2008: Allows the President to waive
provisions of federal law he deems necessary
in the national interest to facilitate the construc-
tion or operation of crude oil transportation
systems or the Long Beach-Midland project.
The President must submit his waiver to Con-
gress, and Congress must pass a joint resolu-
tion before the President can take such actions
under the waivers.

¢ 15 U.S.C. 2621: Allows the Administrator of
the EPA to waive compliance with the Toxic
Substances Control Act upon a request and
determination by the President that the re-
quested waiver is necessary in the interest of
national defense.

"Examples of waiver authority with a congressional notifica-
tion element include: 15 U.S.C. §719f; 22 U.S.C. §2378:; 22
U.S.C. §2371; and 41 U.S.C. §413. Other examples of broad yet
somewhat more limited waiver authority include: 10 U.S.C.
$433; 22 U.S.C. §3861; 25 U.S.C. §1680h; 48 U.S.C. §1469d; and
50 U.S.C. §198.

* Other waiver authority in the national interest include: 10
U.S.C. § 1107(a); 22 U.S.C. §2375(d); 29 U.S.C. §793; 42 U.S.C.
§6212(b); 42 U.S.C. §6393(a)(2); 50 U.S.C. §2426(e).

8a

e 10 U.S.C. §433: Allows the Secretary of De-
fense, in connection with a “commercial activ-
ity,” to waive federal laws pertaining to the
“management and adininistration of Federal
agencies,” if compliance would create an unac-
ceptable risk to an authorized intelligence
activity. This provision further requires that
the waiver be in writing and specifically de-
scribes the types of activities that pertain to
the “management and administration of fed-
eral agencies,” though it does not specify the
actual laws.

As mentioned above and as the examples we have set
forth arguably demonstrate, the breadth of waiver
authority granted by § 102 of H.R. 418 does not
appear to be common in the federal !aw searched.

Judiciai Review Provisions

By including the language “no court,” §102(c)(2) of
H.R. 418 appears to preclude judicial review of a
Secretary's decision to waive provisions of law by
both federal and state courts. It is generally accepted
that Article Ill of the United States Constitution
grants Congress the authority to regulate the juris-
diction, procedures, and remedies available in fed-
eral courts." However, what remains uncertain is
whether Congress’s authority, pursuant to Article III,
extends to the jurisdiction, procedures, and remedies
of state courts. In addition, it remains uncertain to
what extent Congress has Article [II] authority to
prevent courts, state or federal, from addressing and

Article III of the Constitution provides that “[tjhe judicial
Power of the United States, shall be vested in one supreme
Court, and in such infenor Courts as the Congress may from
time to time ordain and establish.” U.S. CONST. Article LIT.

9a

remedying issues arising under the United States
Constitution.

With respect to Congress’s ability to control the
jurisdiction of state courts, the Supreme Court has
ruled that subject to a congressional provision to the
contrary, state courts have concurrent jurisdiction
over all the classes of cases and controversies enu-
merated in Article III, except for suits between
States, suits in which either the United States or a
foreign state is a party, and those considered within
the traditional jurisdiction of admiralty law." Thus,
it appears possible to argue that Congress has a
plenary power to allocate jurisdiction between the
state and federal courts. In other words, if, for exam-
ple, Congress can make jurisdiction over an area
of law exclusively federal,” thereby depriving state
courts of any ability to hear the claim, it appears that
Congress may also be able to remove a cause of action

" See 28 U.S.C. §§ 1251, 1331 et seg. (2004). In fact, the
presumption is that state courts enjoy concurrent jurisdiction,
and Congress must explicitly or implicitly confine jurisdiction to
the federal courts to oust the state courts. See Gulf Offshore Co.
v. Mobil Oil Corp., 453 U.S. 473, 477-84 (1981); see also Tafflin
v. Levitt, 493 U.S. 455 (1990); Yellow Freight System, Inc. v.
Donnelly, 494 U.S. 820 (1990). For example, Justice Scalia has
argued that, insomuch as state courts have jurisdiction gener-
ally because federal law is law for them, Congress can provide
exclusive federal jurisdiction only by explicit and affirmative
statement in the text of the statute, but as can be seen that is
not now the rule. See Ta/fflin v. Levitt, 493 U.S. 455, 469 (1990).

“ Perhaps the best example of an area of law that Congress
has made exclusively federal is immigration. Federal Courts,
however, also appear to have exclusive jurisdiction over the
federal antitrust laws, despite the fact that Congress has never
spoken either expressly or implicitly. See General Investment
Co. v. Lake Shore & Michigan Southern R.R. Co., 260 U.S. 261,
287 (1922).

10a

from state courts without concurrently granting juris-
diction to the federal courts.

State courts, however, are often considered to be
independent and autonomous from the federal court
system. This independent status has led some schovl-
ars to argue that because the Constitution appears
to reserve to the states the authority to control the
jurisdiction of their own courts, Congress’s “only
means of allocating jurisdiction is through control of
the federal court’s jurisdiction.” The argument that
state courts are autonomous can be derived, in part,
from the Supreme Court’s doctrine with respect to its
ability to review decisions from state courts. While
the Court has the authority to review a decision of a
state’s highest court, it has repeatedly held that it
will not do so if the decision rests upon adequate and
independent state grounds.“ This rule is arguably
designed to protect a state’s interest in developing
and applying its own laws. Thus, it would appear
that an argument can be made that Congress does
not possess the authority to regulate the jurisdiction
of state courts directly. It may be the case, however,
that Congress’s ability to control the jurisdiction of
the federal courts indirectly affects and alters the

Joan Steinman, Reverse Removal, 78 IOWA L. REV. 1029,
1080 (1992) (citing Tafflin v. Levitt, 493 U.S. 455, 458-59 (1990);
Gulf Oil Offshore Co. v. Mobil Oil Corp., 453 U.S. 473, 477-78
(1981); Henry M. Hart Jr., The Relations Between State and
Federal Law, 54 COLUM. L. REV. 489, 508 (1954)).

'* See Colman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722, 729 (1991) (stating
that the Court will not review a state court decision “if the
decision of the court rests on a state law ground that is inde-
pendent of the federal question and adequate to support judg-
ment”).

lla

jurisdiction of the state courts, which would appear to
preserve their autonomous status.”

Turning to Congress’s ability to remove jurisdiction
with respect to claims arising under the Constitution,
it appears that Supreme Court precedent requires
that at least some forum be provided for the redress
of constitutional rights.” While it appears that the
Supreme Court has not directly addressed whether
there needs to be a judicial forum to vindicate all
constitutional rights, it appears that the Court has
taken to noting constitutional reservations about
legislative denials of jurisdiction for judicial review of
constitutional issues, as well as construction of stat-
utes that purport to limit the Court’s jurisdiction."’ At
least one justice, however, has indicated that there
have been particular cases, such as political question
cases, wnere all constitutional review is in effect
precluded.”

It should be noted, however, that a court may interpret this
provision to be preclusive, which would appear to avoid any
constitutional issues.

'° See Ex Parte McCardle, 74 U.S. (7 Wall.) 506 (1869). For a
much more complete discussion of this issue, see CRS Report
RL31271, Limiting Court Jurisdiction Over Federai! Constitu-
tional Issues: “Court-Stripping,” by Kenneth R. Thomas, Jan.
24, 2005.

" See Johnson v. Robinson, 415 U.S. 361, 366-67 (1974): see
also Weniberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749, 762 (1975); Bowen v.
Michigan Academy of Family Physicians, 476 U.S. 664, 681 n.
12 (1988); Webster v. Doe, 486 U.S. 592, 603 (1988); McNary v.
Haitian Refugee Center, Inc., 498 U.S. 479, 498 (1991); Felker v
Turpin, 518 U.S. 651, 660-61 (1996); INS v. St. Cyr, 533 US.
289, 298, 314 (2001).

See Webster v. Doe, 486 U.S. 592, 612-13 (1988) (Scalia, J.,
dissenting) (“Even apart from the strict text of the Constitution,
we have found some constitutional claims to be beyond judicial

12a

Nevertheless, the Court has generally found a
requirement that effective judicial remedies be pre-
sent. For example, in cases involving particular
rights, such as the availability of effective remedies
for Fifth Amendment takings, the Court has held
that “the compensation remedy is required by the
Constitution.”” In addition, lower federal courts appear
to have held that, in most cases, some forum must be
provided for the vindication of constitutional rights.”
Cases such as these would seem to provide a basis for
the Court to find that parties seeking to vindicate
other particular rights must have a judicial forum for
such challenges; therefore, the Court may construe
the provisions of H.R. 418 in a manner that preserves
this right.

review because they involve “political questions.” . . . In sum, it
is simply untenable that there must be a judicial remedy for
every constitutional violaticn. Members of Congress and the
supervising officers of the Executive Branch take the same oath
to uphold the Constitution that we do, and sometimes they are
left to perform that oath unreviewed, as we always are.”).

° See First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale
v. Los Angeles County, 482 U.S. 304, 316 (1987) (citing Kirby
Forest Industries, Inc. v. United States, 467 U.S. 1, 5 (1984);
United States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256, 267 (1946); Seaboard Air
Line R. Co. v. United States, 261 U.S. 299, 304-306 (1923);
Monongahela Navigation v. United States, 148 U.S. 312, 327
(1893)).

*® See Battaglia v. General Motors Corp., 169 F.2d 254, 257
(2d. Cir. 1948) (stating that “while Congress has the undoubted
power to give, withhold, or restrict the jurisdiction of courts
other than the Supreme Court, it must not exercise that power
as to deprive any person of life, liberty, or property without due
process or just compensation ... .”). In addition, other judicial
decisions point to the doctrine of sovereign immunity and the
ability of the government to limit the remedies available to
plaintiffs. See Bartlett v. Bowen, 816 F.2d 695, 719-720 (1987)
(Bork, J., dissenting).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_0877%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
