# Amicus Curiae Brief — Poliner v. Texas Health Health Systems Systems (No. 08-543)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_0770%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

Supreme Coun, US

4 ) NOV 24 2008

No. 08-543 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

LAWRENCE R. POLINER, M.D., and
LAWRENCE R. POLINER, M.D., P.A.,

Petitioners,

TEXAS HEALTH SYSTEM, doing business as
PRESBYTERIAN HOSPITAL OF DALLAS, TEXAS, a Texas
non-profit corporation, and JAMES KNOCHEL, M.D.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE ASSOCIATION OF
AMERICAN PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS, INC.
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

ANDREW L. SCHLAFLY
939 OLD CHESTER ROAD
FAR HILLS, NJ 07931
(908) 719-8608

Counsel for Amicus

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D. C. 20002

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The Healthcare Quality Improvement Act of
1986, §402 et seg., 42 U.S.C. §§ 11101 et seg.
(2000) (‘“HCQIA”) establishes limited immunity
from money damages for professional review ac
tions taken (1) in the reasonable belief that the
action was in furtherance of quality health care,
(2) after a reasonable effort to obtain the facts of
the matter, (3) after adequate notice and hearing
procedures are afforded to the physician involved
or after such other procedures as are fair to the
physician under the circumstances, and (4) in the
reasonable belief that the action was warranted
by the facts known after such reasonable effort to
obtain facts and after meeting the requirements
of paragraph (3). A professional review action is
presumed to have met these standards unless re-
butted by a preponderance of the evidence. 42
U.S.C. § 11112(a) (2002).

The questions presented are:

1. Can a court exclude all evidence of subjective
motives (an entire category of evidence) when it
considers whether a defendant possessed a “rea-
sonable belief’ as required for HCQIA immunity
under subsection (1) and (4), when such exclusion
effectively:

a) Usurps the fact-finding role of the jury?

b) Renders state peer review immunity
statutes meaningless?

il

c) Transforms the qualified immunity in-
tended by Congress into absolute immuni-
ty?

2. What are the categories of evidence that can
be considered in a court’s determination of
whether plaintiff's evidence is sufficient to rebut
the statutory presumption?

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pages
QUESTIONS PRESENTED. ..........00..cccccccescessosscesevseees i
Te Sa Ct iikas ee viesris heart imcmeirnnre ill
TAGs COP PAT TR re vnnesncconecccoesececssesvccssevooensee Vv
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAL..........:...000cccscsesees: 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ......000..ceccccccccsseccesesseeses 2
FE itech evtineediceecsacrebd eae 5

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT'S RELIANCE ON ITS OWN
(UNTRAINED) VIEW OF UNREPRESENTATIVE
MEDICAL CASES, WHICH WERE PROVEN TO
BE THE PRODUCT OF BAD FAITH, IS
PRECISELY WHAT HCQIA PROHIBITS................065 7

II. HCQIA’S REQUIREMENT OF A “REASONABLE
BELIEF” IN FURTHERING QUALITY HEALTH
CARE DOES NOT REQUIRE EXCLUSION OF ALL
EVIDENCE OF TAD FATT, ...050.0-.nccvesseosecsesevescseves- 12

A. The Plain Meaning of HCQIA Requires
Subjective Belief as a Condition of
TN oo ican ae 13

B. HCQIA's Legislative History Does Not
Support Excluding and _ Ignoring
Subjective Belief in Connection with
SRR nO RE TO RMN PCR 14

C. "Reasonable Belief" Must Include a
Subjective Element to Avoid
Constitutional Difficulties .........00..0000.0.... 17

iV
II]LEXTENDING IMMUNITY TO IMPROPER
MOTIVES IN PEER REVIEW IS HAVING A

CATASTROPHIC EFFECT ON THE PUBLIC
I 9 ass Fae A) Oot Oe es ee, 18

CA PIC EATEN» cessneseseeiessvinnes er me IES iene ntys 20

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Pages

Cases
Austin v. McNamara, 979 F.2d 728 (9th Cir.
IE fe atsicbnccescmeiastdadancnmaaras passim

Bate Refrigerating Co. v. Sulzberger, 157

2 ESR Receieretounrnr 9 ten mtnteeee ame 7
Bender v. Suburban Hosp., Inc., 758 A.2d

1090 (Md. Ct. Spec. App. 2000), cert. de-

nied, 362 Md. 34, 762 A.2d 968 (2000)........... 17
Bryan v. James E. Holmes Reg. Med. Ctr., 33

F.3d 1318 (11t» Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 514

CS. eee a ee 14
Edward J. DeBartolo Corp. v. Florida Gulf

Coast Building & Construction Trades

Council, 485 U.S. 568 (1988) ou... 18
INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421 (1987)...12
Packard Motor Car Co. v. NLRB, 330 U.S. 485

RAR Ee NONE A CNT PSION 12
Poliner v. Texas Health Sys., 537 F.3d 368

Pe Rs BI sinecpicssstcacnncccssuncaeetcnan ieee passim
Public Citizen v. United States Dep’t of Jus-

tice, 491 U.S. 440 (1989) ...0.... eee eee 17-18
Singh v. Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Mass.,

Inc., 308 F.3d 25 (1st Cir. 2002) ..............ee. 14
Stenberg v. Carhart, 530 U.S. 914 (2000)............ 2

Sugarbaker v. SSM Health Care, 190 F.3d
905 (8th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 528 U.S.

eR nO a aN leaner sere ter oescw TI HENNE: 14
Unexcelled Chemical Corp. v. United States,
ee Te oo iccrhirntcdabiioennee 12

United States v. Sullivan, 332 U.S. 689
RD vane ec iG een 12

vi
Statute and Legislative History
42 U.S.C. § 11112(a)(1) (HCQIA) ............... passim

1986 Code Cong. & Admin. News 6392-98 ........ 15
H.R. Rep. No. 903, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. 10....... 15

Articles and Treatise

Roland Chalifoux, Jr., M.D., “So What Is a
Sham Peer Review?’, 7 Medscape General

Medicine (No. 4) 47 (2005) .....ecccccecceessceseeeeees 19
Jeff Chu, “Doctors Who Hurt Doctors,” Time
EE | Sa a ee ee 19

Lawrence Huntoon, M.D., Ph.D., “Sham Peer
Review: The Unjust Objective Test,” 12
Journal of American Physicians and
Surgeons 100 (Winter 2004) .............ccccceeeseeees 19

John F. Manning, “What Divides Textualists
from Purposivists?,” 106 Colum. L. Rev. 70
a a eneean LSM et methane VG NIPa cera 14

John Minarcik, M.D., “Sham Peer Review: a Pa-
thology Report,” 9 Journal of American Physi-

cians and Surgeons 121 (Winter 2004) .......... 19
Caleb Nelson, “What Is Textualism?,” 91 Va. L.
Ek aT eR SIT 14

William Parmley, “Clinical Peer Review or Com-
petitive Hatchet Job,” 36 Journal of the Amerr-
can College of Cardiology 2347 (2000) ........... 19

Anthony W. Rodgers, “Comment: Procedural Pro-
tections During Medical Peer Review: A Rein-
terpretation of the Health Care Quality Im-
provement Act of 1986,” 111 Penn St. L. Rev.
DGTP BE ons sie cssseisvsnssassdesacacnceiansesieree 16

Norman Singer, Sutherland’s Statutes and Sta-
tutory Construction 45.11 (5th ed. 1992)....... 18

Vil

William Summers, “Sham Peer Review: A Psy-
chiatrist’s Experience and Analysis,” 10 Jour-
nal of American Physicians and Surgeons 125
I I iicticiiiantenecnmnretsiscetdicniiees 19

David Townsend, “Hospital Peer Review Is a
Kangaroo Court,” Medical Economics 133 (Feb.
I ciiiisissaaascacldsichaiedkncascnmiinariaiie aiaiuanadh ec asils wibes 19

Steve Twedt, “The Cost of Courage: How the
Tables Turn on Doctors,” Pittsburgh Post-

Gazette Al (Oct. 26, 2003) ...........cecceeceeeeee cence 18
Gail Weiss, “Is Peer Review Worth Saving?’,
Medical Economics (Feb. 18, 2005) ............... 18

John Zicconi, “Due Process or Professional Assas-
sination?”, Unique Opportunities (March/April

i eticicinciveessalcsciaede eae eae 18-19

Internet
http://www.memag.com/memag/article/articleDet

ail.jsp?id=147405 (viewed 11/20/08) .............. 18

http://www.post-
gazette.com/pg/03299/234499.stm (viewed

Si ohana eee 18
http://www.jpands.org/vol9no4/minarcik.pdf
CU FTI seincicisisses orccvnseviccoratemnacons 19
http://www.jpands.org/voll0no4/summers.pdf
CREE FINE sxnisniseeimccbinaitaitadad slerccacinens 19
http://www.jpands.org/vol12no4/huntoon.pdf
Ro Se isso cktcdesrcrinadeccn 19

http://www.uoworks.com/pdfs/feats/PEERREVIE
W.pdf (viewed 11/20/08) ....:............cccceseceesseree 19

No. 08-543

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

LAWRENCE R. POLINER, M.D., and
LAWRENCE R. POLINER, M.D., P.A..,

Petitioners,

TEXAS HEALTH SYSTEM, doing business as
PRESBYTERIAN HOSPITAL OF DALLAS, TEXAS, a Texas
non-profit corporation, and JAMES KNOCHEL, M.D.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAP

The Association of American Physicians and
Surgeons, Inc. (“‘AAPS”), founded in 1943, is a non-
profit, national group of thousands of physicians.

' This brief is filed with the written consent of all parties, with
timely notice provided in compliance with Rule 37.2(a) of the
Supreme Court of the United States. Pursuant to its Rule 37.6,
counsel for amicus curiae authored this brief in whole, and no
counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, nor
did any person or entity, other than amicus, its members, or its
counsel make a monetary contribution to the preparation or
submission of this brief.

2

AAPS has members who have suffered from bad faith
peer review by hospitals, also known as “sham peer
review, as retaliation for practicing innovative medi-
cine or standing up for patients. In many cases the
sham peer reviews are initiated because a talented
physician posed a competitive threat to colleagues
who are influential at the hospital.

AAPS is dedicated to defending the practice of
private and ethical medicine so that physicians may
best serve their patients without interference by
third parties. AAPS has filed amucus curiae briefs in
numerous cases before the United States Supreme
Court and federal Courts of Appeals, and its submis-
sions have been cited in opinions. Submissions by
AAPS have been cited by Justices on this Court. See,
e.g., District of Columbia v. Heller, 128 8. Ct. 2783,
2860 (2008) (Breyer, Stevens, Souter and Ginsburg,
JJ., dissenting); Stenberg v. Carhart, 530 U.S. 914,
933 (2000).

The issues presented in this case are of national
importance, affecting virtually every hospital in the
nation, every physician at those hospitals, and every
one of their patients. Amucus has a direct and vital
interest in these issues presented based on the harm-
ful effect on the practice of medicine and the quality
of patient care that results from judicially created —
and statutorily unjustified — immunity for bad faith
peer review.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The decision below is the latest — and most sweep-
ing — of lower court rulings that increasingly misin-
terpret the federal statute governing hospital peer
review known as The Healthcare Quality Improve:

3

ment Act of 1986, §402 et seg., 42 U.S.C. §§ 11101 et
seq. (2000) (“HCQIA”). These decisions, and particu-
larly the Fifth Circuit opinion below, substitute their
(untrained) medical judgment and write the “reason-
able belief’ requirement of HCQIA out of the statute
entirely. Review by this Court is essential to restore
the plain meaning of “reasonable belief” to the federal
otatute.

The Fifth Circuit below opined at length about its
own medical view of five cases handled by cardiolo-
gist Petitioner Lawrence Poliner, M.D., in reliance on
the bad faith selection and presentation of these cas-
es. In fact, there was nothing improper about Peti-
tioner’s care in any of these five cases, and the mi-
scharacterization of medical cases is precisely what
HCQIA prohibits. Respondents themselves had no
genuine concern about these cases, as confirmed by
the findings of the trial court based on exhaustive
testimony. HCQIA requires a genuine concern or
“reasonable belief’ before smearing a physician, in
order to prevent precisely the miscarriage of justice
that occurred here. Dr. Poliner was absolved by the
hospital of anything improper in these cases, and
HCQIA precludes trumping up spurious charges to
gain a competitive advantage. This Petition starkly
illustrates the growing misapplication of HCQIA, and
presents the best opportunity for this Court to correct
it.

The Fifth Circuit ruled that evidence of malice
and bad faith should be excluded from legal chal-
lenges to peer review, while simultaneously relying
on the five medical cases selected and presented
through malice and bad faith. Obviously cases se-
lected and analyzed through bad faith are not credi-
ble evidence of the skills of a physician. It is illogical

4

to exclude overwhelming evidence of bad faith and
then insist on drawing conclusions from the product
of that same bad faith. HCQIA expressly prohibits
this unjustified approach, yet that is what the Fifth
Circuit opinion and Respondents use as a legal stan-
dard.

In fact, evidence of malice and bad faith is a cen-
tral element of the standard set by HCQIA, and im-
munity properly attaches to a peer review committee
only if it acts in a “reasonable belief’ of furthering
quality patient care. See HCQIA, 42 U.S.C. §
11112(a)(1). The phrase “reasonable belief’ in the
statute could not be clearer. The “belief’ in improv-
ing health care must exist - as opposed to bad faith -
and it must be “reasonable”. Immunity exists only if
there is (i) a belief that patient care is being improved
and (ii) such belief is reasonable. Immunity must not
attach if either element is lacking. This statutory
immunity is more than adequate for revoking the
privileges of negligent physicians, and federal law
does not support the wrongful destruction of a physi-
cian’s career under the guise of peer review.

The precedent below, in giving hospitals nation-
wide a blank check to engage in malicious conduct, is
untenable. The casualty is our nation’s medical sys-
tem and its ability to protect life, foster innovation,
and benefit from competition. Physicians cannot in-
novate or speak out for patient care when it could
cost them their career at the hands of a judicially pro-
tected bad faith peer review. Numerous articles, law-
suits and injustices including the case at bar are
compelling illustrations of how hospitals exploit their
immunity for sham peer review to intimidate or elim-
inate good physicians.

5

In this case the trial court found overwhelming
evidence of bad faith in pressing a half-dozen cases
against Petitioner, and the Fifth Circuit found no ba-
sis for overruling that central factual] finding. In-
stead, the appellate decision simply excluded it and
treated the cases as though they had been selected
and analyzed in good faith:

That Poliner had over 20 years of experience and
an apparently clean record before these cases only
serves to heighten the concern: why was this ex:
perienced physician now having these problems?
Poliner v. Texas Health Sys., 537 F.3d 368, 379 (5th
Cir. 2008). But, as established by the trial court,
there were no genuine “problems” or “concern”, and
the parading of these cases was a charade lacking in
medical significance. HCQIA expressly forbids treat:
ing a bad faith peer review as though it were done in
good faith, and then immunizing the harm done by it.

A grant of this Petition for Certiorari is essential
to correct this error in statutory interpretation, which
continues to spread at the expense of the integrity
and quality of medical care.

ARGUMENT

An error in statutory interpretation in a split de-
cision over a decade ago by the Ninth Circuit has
gone uncorrected and spread for more than 15 years,
causing expansive use of an incorrect judicial stan:
dard of absolute immunity for bad faith peer review
by hospitals. Physicians who defend life, advance in-
novation, or stand up for patients, are intimidated,
threatened, and often destroyed by self-serving
wrongdoing by administrators, competitors, and ad:
versaries. This is an epidemic of intimidating our

6

finest and most ethical physicians, and restraining
much-needed advances in medical care.

The root of this epidemic is a 2-1 decision by the
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit that down-
played the essential “belief” aspect of the “subjective
belief’ requirement. Austin v. McNamara, 979 F.2d
728 (9th Cir. 1992). There was no petition for certi-
orarl pursued to reverse that decision, and it has
since been reflexively repeated and expanded by low-
er courts. In this case the Fifth Circuit amplified this
error by overturning a jury verdict where there was
proven wrongdoing by defendants, and then entering
judgment for the defendants without even granting a
new trial. The result, if left unreviewed by this
Court, is that hospitals will expect to receive immuni-
ty for wrongful, anti-competitive, and retaliatory peer
reviews.

This precedent is catastrophic for medical care na-
tionwide. Physicians are deterred from speaking out
against hospital officials and competitors connected
with the hospital. “Sham peer review” has become a
powerful deterrent to improving quality of care. The
interpretation that HCQIA immunity extends to im-
proper motives is as harmful as it 1s legally unjusti-
fied. The courts below have converted the “reasona-
ble belief’ required by the statute into an “unreason-
able rationalization that might be believed by others
later.” Legal immunity is thereby uscd to encourage
improper motives and bad faith.

As the first Justice Harlan wrote for a unanimous
Supreme Court over a century ago, where the statu-
tory “language used is so plain and unambiguous,” “a
refusal to recognize its natural, obvious meaning
would be justly regarded as indicating a purpose to
change the law by judicial action based upon some

7

supposed policy of Congress.” Bate Refrigerating Co.
v. Sulzberger, 157 U.S. 1, 36-37 (1895). Here the
statutory language of HCQIA in requiring a “reason-
able belief’ is “so plain and unambiguous” as to re-
quire adherence to its textual meaning. Where, as
here, the terms of the statute are clear, such terms
should not be altered based on speculation about leg-
islative intent.

4 THE FIFTH CIRCUIT'S RELIANCE ON ITS OWN
(UNTRAINED) VIEW OF UNREPRESENTATIVE
MEDICAL CASES, WHICH WERE PROVEN TO BE
THE PRODUCT OF BAD FAITH, IS PRECISELY
WHAT HCQIA PROHIBITS.

The five cases at the heart of the Fifth Circuit’s
decision below are medically insignificant and the
proven result of bad faith in their selection, analysis
and presentation. Their contrived nature is typical of
bad faith peer reviews. Every cardiologist in the na-
tion has inevitable complications in patients; every
busy professional has less than a 100% success rate,
particularly when failures of associates are included.
HCQIA expressly forbids attaching immunity to a
bad faith review, which inherently distorts the selec:
tion, analysis and presentation of a professional’s
work. The finest physician in the world could see his
reputation and his career ruined if a bad faith re-
viewer were permitted with impunity to pick non-
representative cases and present them in a malicious
and distorted manner. Such “evidence” is thoroughly
corrupted, and federal law denies immunity to those
who attempt it. HCQIA does not condone the re-
peated smearing of a good physician ~ smearing that
will likely continue with Respondents’ filing with this

8

Court — based on cases of exaggerated significance
that were selected in bad faith, as found by the jury
below. (App. 132a-134a).

Yet AAPS has seen the same malicious tactic re-
peated again and again, and undoubtedly Respon-
dents will use it here: rely on a few exaggerated and
distorted cases not representative of the physician’s
practice, where fault lay elsewhere, and through bad
faith smear the targeted physician. HCQIA prohibits
this with its express requirement of a “reasonable be-
lief’ in furtherance of quality health care, as dis-
cussed in Point II below.

The five cases underlying the decision below illu-
strate how bad faith should never be protected with
immunity. 537 F.3d at 370-71. These cases were fri-
volous at best, and were not selected and presented in
an objective or good faith manner. A look at each
case illustrates the contrivance.

The first case cited below (Patient 36) was a fail-
ure in the hospital's own cquipment that prevented a
perfect initial diagnosis, and the deceitful peer review
shifted blame unjustifiably to Petitioner. The Fifth
Circuit below had no justification for relying on its
own (untrained) medical opinion about it as the basis
for its decision. Without citation or basis in the
record, the appellate court below blamed Petitioner
for making a “diagnostic mistake.” Jd. at 370. Had
this case been presented in good faith, the role of the
faulty hospital equipment in causing this harmless
error would have been clear. (App. 193a-194a, which
cites to the record.) Regardless, Petitioner’s care of
the patient in this case was entirely proper, and the
decision below does not state otherwise. Jd. at 370-
71. Giving such prominence to a case in which the

9

care was entirely appropriate illustrates the inherent
problem with relying on cases submitted in bad faith.

The four other cases trumpeted by Respondents,
and at the foundation of the decision below, are even
less significant. Patient 10 developed a mere rash
after a procedure. The bad faith peer reviewers, and
the appellate court, ascribed significance to this rash.
Id. at 371 & n.7. In fact, the patient had exercised
her right to refuse pre-treatment so as to prevent the
rash. Petitioner did nothing wrong. The appellate
court recognized this, and realized that the jury
found bad faith by the reviewers in selecting and pre’
senting these cases, App. 132a-134a, yet included the
bad faith allegations as a basis for its judgment in fa-
vor of the hospital defendants. This is precisely what
HCQIA prohibits by requiring proof of a “reasonable
belief” in furtherance of quality care as a condition of
ruling in favor of the peer reviewers.

Just as no statistician would take seriously a non-°
representative data sample, no court should apply
HCQIA to cases that are the product of proven bad
faith. Bad faith can easily mislead a court into think-
ing it is viewing something medically significant,
when in fact it is nonsensical. The occurrence of a
rash in a patient after a lite-saving procedure per-
formed by a cardiologist is not something to justify
destroying his reputation, particularly when he had
no fault for it.

The other patients’ cases are likewise medically
insignificant, yet the appellate court attached signi-
ficance to them due to being misled by the bad faith
behind the peer review. Patient 3 concerned Peti-
tioner’s reuse of a sheath site, a routine medical prac:
tice that was entirely justified. (App. 192a, which
cites to the record.) No harm resulted to the patient,

10

who was discharged in good condition, though this is
omitted from the decision below. /d. at 371 & n.5. A
common tactic in sham peer review is to present cas-
es in which, unrealized by other reviewers and courts,
the patient actually did perfectly well and there was
no harm or risk of harm. The bad faith criticism is
nothing more than biased speculation that is even
disproven by the evidence.

Most sham peer reviews look for a patient who
died and include that case, because its significance
can be easily exaggerated to a layman. Virtually all
cardiologists have patients who die, just as virtually
all good trial lawyers have lost some cases. Patient
18 fit the bill here. She was 88 years old and went
into cardiogenic shock before Petitioner's catheteriza-
tion. A hospital committee performed its customary
review and found that Petitioner’s care was entirely
appropriate, yet this was trumped up later for the
bad faith peer review and repeated by the decision
below. /d. at 371 & n.8; App. 189a-190a (which cites
to the record).

Patient 9 was an elderly, hypertensive patient
who had a stroke after Petitioner's procedure. No
fault could be found with Petitioner’s operation and,
as recognized by the decision below, there was noth-
ing Petitioner could have done to prevent the stroke;
any mistakes were made by the nursing staff, not Pe-
titioner. /d. at 371 & n.6.

Courts should not be misled by the distortions and
omissions inherent in bad faith peer review, and this
Court should clarify that HCQIA does not support the
judiciary passing medical judgment on cases that are
selected, analyzed, and presented in bad faith-—or
basically accepting the judgment asserted by the
sham peer review without review or question. Res-

1]

pondents should not continue here to distort these
cases, which were plainly selected and presented for
the purpose of smearing Petitioner rather than ad-
vancing quality health care as mandated by HCQIA.
Analyzing medical cases presented in bad faith is a
fool’s errand, and rubber stamping the corrupt prior
review is worse. The proof of bad faith by the trial
court below precludes the case-by-case inquiry at the
core of Respondents’ arguments and the appellate de-
cision.

This Court should grant review here to end the
judicial second-guessing of medical cases that are
presented in bad faith as though they are significant,
when in fact they are not. A harmless rash, an un-
preventable death, inadequate hospital diagnostic
equipment, and nursing staff errors should not be the
basis for sweeping judgments in favor of the perpe-
trators of sham peer reviews against innovative and
productive physicians. It thwarts the progress of
medicine and contravenes the text of HCQIA to allow
such bad faith to make a mockery of good medical
practice.

In sum, the five cases at the heart of the decision
below were plainly contrived: most consisted of pa-
tients who performed well, and included inevitable
complications (like a rash) that were no fault of the
targeted physician. Two of the cases, the elderly
death and the supposedly incorrect diagnosis about
an artery, are typical of sham peer review in inflam-
ing a stronger reaction by a reviewer (including a
court) than is warranted. Completely missing from
these cases is any evidence that they were represent:
ative of the physician's overall practice. They were
not. Yet these cases will undoubtedly be paraded by
Respondents again before this Court in the hope of

12

eliciting a layman’s reaction, which is what a proper
application of HCQIA would prevent.

Il. HCQIA’sS REQUIREMENT OF A “REASONABLE
BELIEF” IN FURTHERING QUALITY HEALTH
CARE DOES NOT REQUIRE EXCLUSION OF ALL
EVIDENCE OF BAD FAITH.

The terms of HCQIA are clear: a reasonable “be-
lief that the peer review advances the quality of
medicine is required before immunity can apply. 42
U.S.C. § 11112(a)(1) (emphasis added). This clear
text of a statute trumps any speculation about legis-
lative intent. “Judges interpret laws rather than re-
construct legislators’ intentions. Where the language
of those laws is clear, we are not free to replace it
with an unenacted legislative intent.” JNS v. Cardo-
za*Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421, 452-53 (1987) (Scalia, J.,
concurring). See also Unexcelled Chemical Corp. v.
United States, 345 U.S. 59, 64 (1953) (opinion of
Douglas, J.); United States v. Sullivan, 332 U.S. 689,
693 (1948) (opinion of Black, J.); Packard Motor Car
Co. v. NLRB, 330 U.S. 485, 492 (1947) (opinion of
Jackson, J.) (“We are invited to make a lengthy ex:
amination of views expressed in Congress while this
and later legislation was pending .... There is, how-
ever, no ambiguity in this Act to be clarified by resort
to legislative history, either of the Act itself or of sub-
sequent legislative proposals ....”).

As demonstrated below, it was a reversible error
for the court below to exclude an entire category of
evidence about “belief’ from this case. See 537 F.3d
at 379-80.

13

A. The Plain Meaning of HCQIA Requires
Subjective Belief as a Condition of Immun-
ity.

The statutory term “reasonable belief’ is not the
same as “reasonable basis” or “improper belief but a
proper result.” Rather, the term “reasonable belief”
must mean, first and foremost, a “belief? underlying
the action. There is no justification for courts to look
beyond this plain meaning and probe legislative his-
tory to alter it. After all, there is no legislative histo-
ry for all the hundreds of Congressmen, many dozens
of Senators, and President Ronald Reagan as to what
they intended in enacting or signing this legislation.
They would have probably pointed to the text itself,
as courts should do.

Yet courts, most notably the lower court here and
Austin v. McNamara, supra, failed to apply the text
of “reasonable belief.” The lower court incorrectly
held that “bad faith is immaterial.” Jd. at 380 (quot-
ing, inter alia, Austin). These precedents, grounded
in the initial error of Austin, have read the “belief”
aspect of the phrase entirely out of the law, and re-
placed it with a purely objective test to the exclusion
of all evidence of the motivating belief. As fully de-
scribed in the Petition, the jury found malicious in-
tent and pervasive wrongdoing, App. 132a-134a, and
the appellate court's own review of the medical
records hardly justifies its statement that there were
“legitimate concerns.” Jd. at 384. The concerns were
not legitimate, and HCQIA does not provide immuni-
ty for illegitimate peer review.

Judge Pregerson was correct in dissenting from
the Austin decision when he declared, “Evidence of
motive and intent is relevant to show whether the de-
fendants possessed a reasonable belief that [an ad-

14

verse professional review action] was warranted by
the facts known.” 979 F.2d at 741 n.3 (Pregerson, J.,
dissenting). But other circuits, relying on the Austin
majority, repeated its error. See, e.g., Bryan v. James
E. Holmes Reg. Med. Ctr., 33 F.3d 1318, 1335 (11th
Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1019 (1995) (“The
test is an objective one, so bad faith is immaterial.”);
see also Singh v. Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Mass.,
Inc., 308 F.3d 25, 32 (18t Cir. 2002) (collecting cases);
Sugarbaker v. SSM Health Care, 190 F.3d 905, 914
(8th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 528 U.S. 1137 (2000) (“In
the HCQIA immunity context, the circuits that have
considered the issue all agree that the subjective bias
or bad faith motives of the peer reviewers is irrele-
vant.”). The decision below extends these erroneous
precedents even further by overturning a jury finding
of wrongdoing.

The Petition presents a manifest injustice result-
ing from allowing speculation about legislative intent
to trump the statutory text itself. The Petition
should be granted to enforce the text of HCQIA as it
was written. See generally John F. Manning, “What
Divides Textualists from Purposivists?,” 106 Colum.
L. Rev. 70 (2006); Caleb Nelson, “What Is Textual:
ism?,” 91 Va. L. Rev. 347, 349 (2005).

B. HCQIA’s Legislative History Does Not Support
Excluding and Ignoring Subjective Belief in
Connection with Immunity.

The court below relied on precedents based on a
misreading of the legislative history that began in
Austin v. McNamara, where the split Ninth Circuit
decision misconstrued the House Committee’s desire
for a “more objective” test as meaning an “only objec:

15

tive” test. “Our sister circuits have roundly rejected
the argument that such subjective motivations over-
come HCQIA immunity, as do we.” Poliner, 537 F.3d
at 379-80 (citing Austin). But the Fifth Circuit’s ex-
clusion of an entire category of evidence concerning
intent and bad faith, no matter how egregious, rests
on an erroneous interpretation of statutory history
set forth in Austin:
Initially, the [House! Committee considered a
‘good faith’ standard for professional review ac-
tions. In response to concerns that ‘good faith’
might be misinterpreted as requiring only a test of
the subjective state of mind of the physicians con-
ducting the professional review action, the Com-
mittee changed to a more objective ‘reasonable be-
lief standard. The Committee intends that this
test will be satisfied if the reviewers, with the in-
formation available to them at the time of the pro-
fessional review action, would reasonably have
concluded that their actions would restrict incom-
petent behavior or would protect patients.

979 F.2d at 734 (citing H.R. Rep. No. 903, 99th Cong.,
2d Sess. 10, reprinted in 1986 Code Cong. & Admin.
News 6392-93, emphasis altered). The Austin court
failed to recognize that the Committee was merely
rejecting an “only subjective” test, rather than elimi-
nating any and all inquiries into subjective belief; the
Austin court thereby created an incorrect “only objec:
tive” test that is increasingly exploited by sham peer
review.

There is no need to consult the legislative history
here, because the statutory text itself is clear. More-
over, the above legislative history does not support
ignoring the subjective belief underlying the peer re-
view. One commentator spotted the obvious flaw in

16

the judicial elimination of a subjective test based on

the legislative history:
The legislative history of the HCQIA does not
support this interpretation of the Act. Congress
initially considered a good faith test; however, it
was concerned that such a test would be “misin-
terpreted by courts as requiring only a test of the
subjective state of mind” of the peer review com-
mittee members. Therefore, Congress adopted the
“more objective ‘reasonable belief standard.”

Anthony W. Rodgers, “Comment: Procedural Protec:
tions During Medical Peer Review: A Reinterpreta-
tion of the Health Care Quality Improvement Act of
1986,” 111 Penn St. L. Rev. 1047, 1056 (Spring 2007)
(citations omitted). The Austin Court overlooked how
Congress intended that HCQIA encourage “good faith
professional review activities of health care entities.”

The reliance on legislative intent also omits what
is strikingly absent from the legislative history: any
indication that Congress sought to tilt the playing
field in favor of unrestrained and unaccountable
abuse of power by hospitals in eliminating innova:
tive, competitive or outspoken physicians. Nothing in
the legislative history even remotely supports the
view that HCQIA could be applied to protect sham
peer review, and it was reversible error for the Fifth
Circuit to allow such use. Yet that is what has oc:
curred by excluding all evidence of bad faith from
judicial review of peer review actions.

Ignoring subjective belief is plainly contrary ta.the
stated goal of the HCQIA: to advance the quality of
medical care. Legitimate peer review is to improve
patient care, not to advance improper motives of self:
interest at a hospital. HCQIA requires “reasonable

17

belief,” and any “objective test” based on that stan-
_ dard must still require a legitimate belief. The appel-
late decision itself references the term “concern”
nearly two dozen times, implying the necessity of a
legitimate concern to justify hospital action. See, e.z.,
537 F.3d at 384 (citing “legitimate concerns” despite
the finding of bad faith). But the jury found a lack of
a legitimate concern, and the appellate court ex-
tended immunity to cover all bad faith in peer review.
(App. 132a-134a.) This contravenes HCQIA.

C. “Reasonable Belief’ Must Include a Subjective
Element to Avoid Constitutional Difficulties.

In the absence of a subjective test, immunity has
been applied to protect even discriminatory conduct
during peer reviews. For example, a Maryland Court
relied on Austin to hold that sexual discrimination by
peer reviewers “which would be considered illegal in
the context of employment [is] irrelevant when chal-
lenging a medical peer review process.” Sender v.
Suburban Hosp., Inc., 758 A.2d 1090, 1100 (Md. Ct.
Spec. App. 2000), cert. denied, 362 Md. 34, 762 A.2d
968 (2000). But a statutory grant of immunity to pro-
tect a discriminatory purpose would raise grave con-
stitutional difficulties, and such interpretation of
HCQIA to immunize discrimination should be
avoided.

“It has long been an axiom of statutory interpreta:
tion that ‘where an otherwise acceptable construction
of a statute would raise serious constitutional prob-
lems, the Court will construe the statute to avoid
such problems unless such construction is plainly
contrary to the intent of Congress.” Public Citizen v.
United States Dep't of Justice, 491 U.S. 440, 466

18

(1989) (citing Edward J. DeBartolo Corp. v. Florida
Gulf Coast Building & Construction Trades Council,
485 U.S. 568, 575 (1988)). Sutherland’s Statutes and
Statutory Construction recites that a “court should
construe legislative enactments to avoid constitution:
al difficulties if possible” and that “when possible,
statutory provisions should be construed in such a
way as to avoid unconstitutionality.” Norman Singer,
Sutherland’s Statutes and Statutory Construction
45.11, 48-49 n.4 & n.7 (5th ed. 1992).

Construing HCQIA to immunize bad faith, and
even discriminatory intent, triggers constitutional
issues of due process and equal protection. Such an
interpretation should be rejected under the doctrine
of constitutional avoidance.

II]. EXTENDING IMMUNITY TO IMPROPER MOTIVES
IN PEER REVIEW IS HAVING A CATASTROPHIC
EFFECT ON THE PUBLIC INTEREST.

The judicially created federal immunity for bad
faith in peer review has unleashed a national epidem-
ic of sham peer review, at the expense of the public
interest. See, e.g., Gail Weiss, “Is Peer Review Worth
Saving?’, Medical Economics (Feb. 18, 2005); Steve
Twedt, “The Cost of Courage: How the Tables Turn
on Doctors,” Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Al (Oct. 26,
2003);3 John Zicconi, “Due Process or Professional
Assassination?”, Unique Opportunities (March/April

http://www.memag.com/memag/article/articleDetail.jsp?id=1474
05 (viewed 11/20/08).
*http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/03299/234499.stm (viewed
11/20/08).

19

2001);4 David Townsend, “Hospital Peer Review Is a
Kangaroo Court,” Medical Economics 133 (Feb. 7,
2000). Patients and the public suffer. the most from
the removal of competent and skilled physicians from
the market, or their being deterred from competing.

For years the catastrophic nature of sham peer
review has been recounted in medical journals. See,
e.g., William Summers, “Sham Peer Review: A Psy:
chiatrist’s Experience and Analysis,” 10 Journal of
American Physicians and Surgeons 125 (Winter
2005);5 Roland Chalifoux, Jr., M.D., “So What Is a
Sham Peer Review?”, 7 Medscape General Medicine
(No. 4) 47 (2005); John Minarcik, M.D., “Sham Peer
Review: a Pathology Report,” 9 Journal of American
Physicians and Surgeons 121 (Winter 2004); Law:
rence Huntoon, M.D., Ph.D., “Sham Peer Review: The
Unjust Objective Test,” 12 Journal of American Phy-
sicians and Surgeons 100 (Winter 2004);?7 William
Parmley, “Clinical Peer Review or Competitive Hat-
chet Job,” 36 Journal of the American College of Car-
diology 2347 (2000).

Hospitals‘ and their favorite physicians are moti-
vated by money just like everyone else, and if they
enjoy immunity to eliminate competitors who im-
pinge on their income, then they will do precisely
that. See, e.g., Jeff Chu, “Doctors Who Hurt Doctors,”
Time 52 (Aug. 15, 2005) (“Thle] system is too open to
manipulation and needs reform, says the 4,000-
member American Association [sic] of Physicians and

: http://www.uoworks.com/pdfs/feats/PEERREVIEW.pdf (viewed
11/20/08).

“http://www .jpands.org/vol10no4/summers.pdf (viewed 11/20/08).
* http://www.jpands.org/vol9no4/minarcik.pdf (viewed 11/20/08).

’ http://www.jpands.org/voll2no4/huntoon.pdf (viewed 11/20/08).

20

Surgeons.”). Patients and the public interest suffer
most when physicians are deterred by sham peer re-
view from advancing quality medical care.

If a physician were truly a danger to patients,
then the state medical board would restrict or revoke
his medical license. Patients would abandon such a
physician, just as shoppers will not continue buying
bad products. Or if a hospital wants to rid itself of a
negligent physician, then it may do so regardless of
whether it has special immunity under federal law.
But immunity for wrongful acts is misplaced.

Judicial construction of HCQIA to grant immunity
to hospitals for bad faith peer review has caused an

epidemic of abuse, now greatly magnified by the deci-
sion below.

CONCLUSION

This Court should grant the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

ANDREW L. SCHLAFLY
939 OLD CHESTER ROAD
FAR HILLS, NJ 07931
(908) 719-8608

Counsel for Amicus

Dated: November 21, 2008

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_0770%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
