# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Isaacson v. Dow Chemical Co. (No. 08-460)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_0740%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2009

## Text

\ D | : () Supreme Court U.S.
Oo.

QO8- 460 00T 6 - 2008

In The OFFICE OF THE CLERK
Supreme Court of the United States

JOE ISAACSON,
PHYLLIS LISA ISAACSON, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

DOW CHEMICAL COMPANY,
MONSANTO COMPANY, ET AL.,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Second Circuit

*

PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI

S

MARK R. CUKER GERSON H. SMOGER
MICHAEL J. QUIRK Counsel of Record
WILLIAMS CUKER BEREZOFSKY SMOGER & ASSOCIATES, P.C.
1617 J.F.K. Blvd., Ste. 800 3175 Monterey Blvd., Ste. 3
Philadelphia, PA 19103 Oakland, CA 94602

(215) 557-0099 (510) 531-4529

Counsel for Petitioners

(Additional Petitioners’ Counsel Listed On Inside Cover)

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

ADDITIONAL COUNSEL

DOUGLAS R. KEMP JAMES BOANERGES
WILSON, ELSER, MOSKOWITZ, LEUDERS & BOANERGES, P.C.
EDELMAN & DICKLER, LLP 9432 Old Katy Road

677 Broadway Houston, TX 77055

Albany, NY 12207 (713) 464-3383

(518) 449-8893 Counsel for Petitioner

Counsel for Petitioner Charles T. Anderson and
J. Michael Twinam Vickey S. Garncarz

DAVID E. CITERRY

CHERRY & JORDAN, LLP

P.O. Box 21027

Waco, TX 76703

(254) 776-4040

Counsel for Petitioners Sherman Clinton Stearns and
Dortha Monyene Stearns

JOAN H. HARROP

GOMEIN & HARROP

220 West Main Street, Suite 300

Morris, IL 60450-0708

(815) 942-0071

Counsel for Petitioner Vickey S. Garncarz

MARK I. BRONSON

NEWMAN BRONSON & WALLIS

2300 West Port Plaza Drive

St. Louis, MO 63146

(314) 878-8200

Counsel for Petitioners Robert S. Bauer, Sandra J. Bauer,
Sheryl A. Walker, Eric C. Walker, Stephen J. Walker,
William Hamilton, and Esther M. Hamilton

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a private corporation that was perform-
ing under a federal government contract but is sued
for actions neither addressed in the contract nor
otherwise directed or controlled by the government
may nevertheless remove a state court civil action to
federal court under 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1) based on
the mere fact that it is a government contractor.

il
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioners (with circuit court docket numbers):

Joe Isaacson (05-CV-1820)

Phyllis Lisa Isaacson (05-CV-1820)

J. Michael Twinam (05-CV-1509)
Robert S. Bauer (05-CV-1693)

Sandra J. Bauer (05-CV-1693)

Sheryl A. Walker (05-CV-1694)

Eric C. Walker (05-CV-1694)

Stephen J. Walker (05-CV-1694)
William Hamilton (05-CV-1694)
Esther M. Hamilton (05-CV-1694)
Sherman Clinton Stearns (05-CV-1695)
Dortha Monyene Stearns (05-CV-1695)
Charles T. Anderson (05-CV-1698)
Vickey S. Garncarz (05-CV-2450)

Respondents:

Dow Chemical Company

Monsanto Company

Hercules Incorporated

Occidental Chemical Corporation
Ultramar Diamond Shamrock Corporation
Chemical Land Holdings, Inc.

T-H Agriculture and Nutrition Company, Inc.
Thompson Hayward Chemical Company
Harcros Chemicals, Inc.

Uniroyal, Inc.

C.D.U. Holdings, Inc.

Uniroyal Chemical Company

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
URE ny eSB gt sy 4 § ee i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ........................ ii
TAAL: CFP AUST on cncnccsoccercccssossvcacnsecncsss Vv
I on 5 acs dese ow.cuasedce nuenoovesaweniveerrenss 1
ree NN sscicsneviecesetevisansecnacssanvednesmavecens 2
I IE avira asetc tae lacs 2
STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED................ 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASKB..................ccsscesseeeees 3
A. The Underlying Case Against Respon-
i scant cee sone cease cies vaadens eee 3
B. The District Court and the Issue of Re-
as ascetic oceans iden ean eae
C. The Decision of the Court of Appeals..........
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION..... 13
I. THE SECOND CIRCUITS DECISION
DIVIDES THE FEDERAL COURTS ON
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES PERTAINING TO
THE PROPER APPLICATION OF THE
FEDERAL OFFICER REMOVAL STAT-
SME catccvss nee Uae laiiaceae iin anedaa 16
Il. THE SECOND CIRCUITS EXPANSION
OF § 1442(a)(1) TO COVER ALL PRIVATE
CONDUCT DONE IN CONNECTION
WITH GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS IS
LEGALLY ERRONEOUG ..................cccceeeeees 21

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

A. The Second Circuit Broadened the
Removal Statute’s “Acting Under” Pro-
vision Beyond Recognition .................... 21

B. The Second Circuit's Determination
That There Need Not Be Any Underly-
ing Analysis as to Whether a Contrac-
tor Acted “Under Color of Office” is
Contrary to Every Decision of This
6, RRC ARTE eRe eae NaC 24

Ill. THE SECOND CIRCUITS DECISION
RAISES JURISDICTIONAL ISSUES OF
EXCEPTIONAL IMPORTANCE.......00000... 27

RII isctaichahiscsSacndesiicocpacitalietantaalaliimseadninniicaenie 32

APPENDIX A: Opinion of the U.S. Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, decided Feb-
I Se IE ivensknsennacscamiadaune denne la

APPENDIX B: Memorandum and Order of
the U.S. District Court for the Eastern Dis-
trict of New York denying plaintiffs’ motion
to remand, decided February 9, 2004................... 23a

APPENDIX C: Order of the U.S. Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit denying peti-
tion for rehearing and request for rehearing

en banc, filed May 6, O06 ...........0.cccseeessepscceonsesens 43a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Akin v. Big Three Industries, Inc., 851 F. Supp.
EE NE BOI Ions vcassehccssusdvcpnsexaxabnvardouctennnccences 19
American Manuf.’s Mutual Ins. Co. v. Sulli-
es Be Le | ee 15, 26
Arness v. Boeing North American, Inc., 997
B. See. TIS CU... Cal. TSBG) sc svesssccecssecscoscee 18, 19
Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991 (1982)................... 15
City of Greenwood v. Peacock, 384 U.S. 808
TI acer teniscsoias ss chug Ganiceasiiiasuy dousatealeiieeaeiaecseeian oe 27
City of Indianapolis v. Chase Nat'l Bank, 314
I in sesii cl chess sun ungesren seinen RAGAN) 29
Dow Chem. Co. v. Stephenson, 539 U.S. 111
EERE Ree ene nee on ee aE ea 7
Federated Dep't Stores, Inc. v. Moitie, 452 U.S.
hah sv scandy acne eben vepbenvancenwaccsiay et 30
Feidt v. Owens Corning Fiberglas Corp., 153
Fe ee rte CI iidssSaccsscannecseransvesercsensancesssens 17
Freiberg v. Swinerton & Walberg Prop. Serv’s,
Inc., 245 F. Supp. 2d 1144 (D. Colo. 2002).....19, 20, 21
Fung v. Abex Corp., 816 F. Supp. 569 (N.D. Cal.
SERRE Ce Ree CEES FREE OR ee ea ne RoE OE 19
Gallagher v. Neil Young Freedom Concert, 49
ee BG CR Ge, FIND sn vcenssveivcevceseensnccreceessavncss 26

Good v. Armstrong World Industries, Inc., 914
SM, BAe (UBF. FR, FI) vo neces cecescconccerecstssvsasss 19

vl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Green v. A.W. Chesterton Co., 366 F. Supp. 2d
ee ts SE iiesiersecexemeinieneniscienenaduns 18
Gulf Offshore Co. v. Mobil Oil Corp., 453 U.S.
I scracepcacinetantuisais eu erence cunasertiiaesaiins 17
Hercules Inc. v. United States, 24 F.3d 188
ne BIN Re vcksroavisesescrsieincesseventeruisieiaaelanies 5
In re “Agent Orange” Product Liability Litige-
tion, 517 F.3d 76 (2d Cir. 2008).........ccc0sseseesees passim
In re Blackwater Security Consulting, LLC, 460
WPA EE CREE GE. OE vn evan vctvstancacsinnecascdyansitenansicts 28
Kennedy v. Health Options, Inc., 329 F. Supp. 2d
SEO Cae Fs ici iivestiiceontoneicens 17, 28
Krangel v. Crown, 791 F. Supp. 1436 (S.D. Cal.
BE chin es ecerccctes apiansiecdpaetisdiee assy eee ae oaes 20

Maxus Energy Corp. v. United States, 898.
F. Supp. 399 (N.D. Tex. 1995), aff’d, 95 F.3d

Se ee ls inhi osd es pieeitericeas eos 5
Mesa v. California, 489 U.S. 121

2, SEEN PROT = PST NOP 14, 20, 25, 31, 32
Miller v. Diamond Shamrock Co., 275 F.3d 414

rt ira cieeterecednprvremeneeneewesteaperee 22, 23
Murphy Brothers, Inc. v. Michetti Pipe String-

img, Fic., GAG UD. FOR (TID) oscvcsiisevessasesssescivenssnces 17
Powerex Corp. v. Reliant Energy Services, Inc.,

ee Oe ee Re I oad race wees wisencosiencusiicaes 17

Rendell-Baker vu. Kohn, 457 U.S. 830 (1982) ............. 26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Roche v. American Red Cross, 680 F. Supp. 449
CED, BEE TODD oxcenivcitsincsvitcectodgiansaeccausa eee 20
Ryan v. Dow Chem. Co., 781 F.Supp. 934
$225 & @ | EpOeueemter Er a passim
Shamrock Oil & Gas Corp. v. Sheets, 313 U.S.
BO CIEE) sieescseeisccreicisinuncens eee 30
Stephenson v. Dow Chem. Co., 273 F.3d 249 (2d
CAA BIE D ovcvcsesenrsencessseaxscrieensioceceenn aaa ee 7
Stephenson v. Dow Chem. Co., 346 F.3d 19 (2d
CBR ID snesiissssaxssovisciesgintieninanree nea 7
Sutton v. Providence St. Joseph Med. Ctr., 192
FS BIG (OC Car: LOD) mvicnecciceroncoee 26
Syngenta Crop Protection, Inc. v. Henson, 537
SF hs ee CREB visciinaccescuncedenvneseeiceneeceuaiies tana Pe
Tancredi v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 316 F.3d
POS Cie Sie. ID a-csicivsies ccs vsncaiteccendeneeacieeeennageeeee 26
Watson v. Philip Morris Companies, Inc., 127
BD. CR, IE Ce oF vntkicnscssineitaeeeeeenennen 22, 20, 24
Willingham v. Morgan, 395 U.S. 402 (1969)........ 13, 31

Winters v. Diamond Shamrock Chem. Co., 149
Fo Gai CORT Cir, TRG) vans cecsceccceseccecsvcces ues 18, 23. ZS

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
CONSTITUTIONS, STATUTES, AND RULES
Neen aa wae shavenereveesdeeonineoneesinent’ 2
ee Oe cc anseecectecsesvenes ea oe Sa passim
Nee eisai: scdaaegiubsesentensencedevieecerenties 27
EM OEE ccccnnivsecsevesevese sclied viha bibuehiicsid nauistaeasidiplnbael 17
iis hn iis sedan dese qusbucrereienneestnees 6
cae sc ccacnsesnesecuikevesonedeuseetnsveveises 15, 26

MISCELLANEOUS

Friendly, The Historic Basis of Diversity Juris-
Meee, GL CARTY. Ls. OV, 4ES.. cc scccccsccvccscccsccscesccesess 29

Gibbs, Forum Shopping Through Federal
Agent Removal Jurisdiction and CAFA, 86-
FEB. Mich. B.J. 20 (Feb. 2007) ...........0ssccsvsscsseeesens 30

Miller, An Empirical Study of Forum Choices
in Removal Cases Under Diversity and Fed-
eral Question Jurisdiction, 41 Am. U. L. Rev.
ess erncuevensavelgensnsventesees 29

Note, The Boyle Festers: How Lax Causal
Nexus Requirements and the “Federal Con-

tractor Defense” Are Leading to a Disruption
of Comity Under the Federal Officer Removal _
Statute, 46 Emory L.J. 1629 (1997)............0... ce. 31

Rehnquist, Seen in a Glass Darkly: The Future
of the Federal Courts, 1993 Wis. L. Rev. 1 ............. 28

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page

Webster’s New International Dictionary (2d ed.
PIPTITE scisssésvesuansnorsgiaveneineseaeiveemebenedsmmmeaianiiade ida 22

Wilkinson, The Drawbacks ef Growth in the
Federal Judiciary, 43 Emory L.J. 1147 (Fall
ED cxecnechevcncissciteumasdedinaticeu ae eerie 28

INTRODUCTION

This case presents an important question con-
cerning the allocation of state and federal! judicial
authority that has divided the lower federal courts.
The court of appeals heid that any time a defendant
is sued for violations of state law that occurred while
the defendant was performing under a contract with
the federal government, regardless of whether the
conduct forming the basis for suit was addressed in
the contract or otherwise directed or controlled by the
government, the defendant may remove the case to
federal court under the federal officer removal stat-
ute, 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1), as a “person acting under”
a federal officer being sued for acts done “under color
of such office.” This extraordinarily broad holding,
permitting virtually every government contractor to
have its cases litigated in federal court, conflicts with
numerous decisions of other federal courts holding
that this and other statutes covering conduct done
“under color” of government office only apply where
the government actually directed the precise conduct
that is the basis for the suit. The Court should grant
the petition to resolve this split over whether every
government contractor is entitled to federal court
jurisdiction simply because it was performing a
government contract.

NO

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (App., infra,
la-22a) is reported at 517 F.3d 129 (2d Cir. 2008). The
order denying rehearing is unreported and repro-
duced at App. 43a-44a. The opinion and order of the
district court (App., infra, 23a-42a) denying petition-
ers’ motion for remand is reported at 304 F. Supp. 2d
442 (E.D.N.Y. 2004). A related opinion on the merits
of Petitioners’ claims was handed down by the Court
of Appeals on the same day as its decision below, and
is reported at 517 F.3d 76 (2d Cir. 2008).

@ canmnesenenpeesmenee

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was en-
tered on February 22, 2008. Petitioners filed a timely
petition for rehearing with a request for rehearing en
banc, which the court of appeals denied o. May 8,
2008. On July 28, 2008. Justice Ginsburg extended
the time for filing a petition for a writ of certiorari
until October 6, 2008. This Court has jurisdiction
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

S

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

The federal officer removal statute, 28 U.S.C.
§ 1442(a), provides in relevant part:

(a) A civil action or criminal prosecution
commenced in a State court against any of

3

the following may be removed by them to the
district court of the United States for the
district and division embracing the place
wherein it is pending:

(1) The United States or any
agency thereof or any officer (or any
person acting under that officer) of
the United States or of any agency
thereof, sued in an official or indi-
vidual capacity for any act under
color of such office or on account of
any right, title or authority claimed
under any Act of Congress for the
apprehension or punishment of
criminals or the collection of the
revenue.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. The Underlying Case Against Respondents

Petitioner Joe Isaacson enlisted in the Air Force
and served in Vietnam from September 1968 to
September 1969. During his tour of duty, Isaacson
served as a crewman at one of the airfields that
supported Operation Ranch Hand, the name for the
campaign in which airplanes took off to spray mix-
tures of chemical herbicides, including those contain-
ing the “Agent Orange” contaminant dioxin. In 1996,
when he was working as a junior high school assis-
tant principal, Isaacson was diagnosed with non-
Hodgkin’s lymphoma, a rare cancer recognized to be

4

caused by exposure to dioxin. After his diagnosis,
Isaacson filed a lawsuit against Respondents, the
manufacturers of Agent Orange, in state court in New
Jersey, alleging that his exposure to the chemical
products they manufactured caused his cancer.'

Isaacson’s case itself arises out of the govern-
ment’s purchase of various herbicides for use in
Vietnam — primarily “Agent Purple,” an equal blend
of 2,4-Dichlorophenoxyacetic acid (“2,4-D”) and various
esters of 2,4,5-Tricholorophenoxyacetic acid (“2,4,5-T”),
and “Agent Orange,” an equal blend of 2,4-D and one
2,4,5-T ester (hereinafter collectively referred to as
“Agent Orange.”). The 2,4,5-T in each of these Agents
was contaminated by an extremely toxic, unwanted

' Even though the cases brought by the different Petitioners
herein were never consolidated before the district court, the
Second Circuit issued one opinion regarding removal directed to
all the cases that were before it. In this decision it only dis-
cussed the /saacson Petitioners directly. The other district court
cases that were included within the Second Circuit’s decision
were: Twinam v. Dow Chemical Co. (05-CV-1509): Bauer v. Dow
Chemical Co. (05-CV-1693); Walker v. Dow Chemical Co. (05-CV-
1694); Stearns v. Dow Chemical Co., (05-CV-1695); Anderson v.
Dow Chemical Co. (05-CV-1698); and Garncarz v. Dow Chemical
Co. (05-CV-2450). These Petitioners or their spouses or the
parent of Petitioners listed herein likewise served in Vietnam,
were exposed to Agent Orange, and were diagnosed in or after
1995 with cancer and/or other illnesses caused by exposure to
dioxin. This Petition is jointly brought on behalf of all Petition-
ers referenced by case number in the court of appeals’ decision.
See App. la. However, it will specifically highlight the case of the
Isaacson Petitioners just as the Second Circuit did.

5

byproduct, dioxin (2,3,7,8-Tetrachlorodibenzo-para-
dioxin or TCDD).

Certain relevant facts regarding Isaacson’s claim
are uncontested: 1) during the manufacture of 2,4,5-T,
increasing amounts of dioxin were produced in direct
relationship to the amount of heat used during the
manufacturing process; see In re “Agent Orange”
Product Liability Litigation, 517 F.3d 76, 83-84 (2d
Cir. 2008), AB47-56, AS22, 25;° 2) Respondents knew
at the time they were manufacturing 2,4,5-T that
dioxin was a byproduct of its manufacture and that it
could cause harm to humans exposed to it, see In re
“Agent Orange,” 517 F.3d at 84; 3) Respondents had
unfettered control over their often proprietary manu-
facturing processes; Id. at 83, AB47-56;' 4) no con-
tract specified or even mentioned the existence of
dioxin in the product being delivered to the U.S.

* Petitioners’ Appendix herein is designated “App. __a.” The
following are references made to the record before the Second
Circuit: the related Bauer [05-CV-1693] opening and reply briefs
are designated “AB” and “RB,” respectively; the Isaacson [05-CV-
1820] opening and reply briefs are designated “AI” and “RI”; the
related Stephenson [(05-CV-1760] opening and reply briefs are
designated “AS” and “RS”; Petitioners’/Appellants’ Court of
Appeals’ Appendix is designated “AA.”

° See also Hercules Inc. v. United States, 24 F.3d 188, 197
(Fed. Cir. 1994) (“Put another way, nothing the government did
or failed to do had any impact upon Hercules’ and Thompson’s
production of Agent Orange.”); Maxus Energy Corp. v. United
States, 898 F. Supp. 399, 402 (N.D. Tex. 1995) (“Diamond was
responsible for controlling product quality.”), aff’d, 95 F.3d 1148
(5th Cir. 1996).

6

government, AS40, AB33-34; 5) unlike Respondents,
the United States government officials involved in the
procurement process were not aware of the existence
of dioxin in the final product they had contracted for,
AS40, AB34-36; and 6) unlike Respondents, the
United States government did not possess the equip-
ment necessary to test for dioxin contamination of
2,4,5-T. RS28, AA6454-4.° Finally, it is this dioxin that
Petitioners claim caused the injuries of which they
now complain.

B. The District Court and the Issue of Remand

Respondents removed the action to the United
States District Court for the District of New Jersey,
which accepted the removal based on the All Writs
Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1651. See App. 26a-28a (district court
opinion below, recounting procedural history of case).

The case was then consolidated as part of Multi-
district Litigation No. 381, In re “Agent Orange”
Product Liability Litigation, and transferred to the
Eastern District of New York. The district court
(Weinstein, J.) granted Respondents’ motion to dis-
miss the claims of Isaacson and another Plaintiff
(“Stephenson”) as barred by a nationwide class action
settlement approved almost two decades earlier, even

* By contrast, Respondents regularly tested their products
for the level of dioxin contamination. See, e.g., RB37-38, AA6837-
6838. The government itself did not know that such a test could
be performed until 1970. AA6454-4.

~]

though Isaacson was uninjured at the time of the
settlement and all settlement funds had been ex-
pended by the time of his diagnosis.

On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit affirmed the assertion of
jurisdiction over Isaacson’s claims based on the All
Writs Act, while holding that their actions were not
barred and thus could proceed. See Stephenson v. Dow
Chem. Co., 273 F.3d 249, 256-61 (2d Cir. 2001).

This Court granted Respondents’ petition for a
writ of certiorari and affirmed by an equally divided
Court the Second Circuit’s judgment reversing the
dismissal of Stephenson’s claims, while vacating the
Second Circuit’s judgment as to Isaacson’s claims.
Dow Chem. Co. v. Stephenson, 539 U.S. 111 (2003).
The Court remanded Isaacson’s case for reconsidera-
tion in hght of Syngenta Crop Protection, Inc. v.
Henson, 537 U.S. 28 (2002), which held that the All
Writs Act does not create federal question jurisdic-
tion.

On remand, the Second Circuit vacated the
district court’s dismissal order as to Isaacson on
grounds that jurisdiction did not he under the All
Writs Act and remanded the case for consideration of
alternative grounds for federal jurisdiction. Stephen-
son v. Dow Chem. Co., 346 F.3d 19 (2d Cir. 2003).
The alternative ground advanced to the district
court was whether removal could still be maintained

8

under the federal officer removal statute, 28 U.S.C.
§ 1442(a)(1).

The district court had previously considered this
issue in another “Agent Orange” case and decided
that the facts did not warrant removal under 28
U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1). See Ryan v. Dow Chemical Co.,
781 F. Supp. 934 (£.D.N.Y. 1992). In Ryan, the dis-
trict court had granted remand, holding that the
defendants “are being sued for formulating and
producing a product all of whose components were
developed without direct government control and all
of whose methods of manufacture were determined by
the defendants.” Jd. at 950. Ryan further found that
the government had “bought the chemical compo-
nents for Agent Orange and other defoliants as exist-
ing products privately developed and used them in
mixtures which were derived from the defendants’
standard recipes.” Jd. Accordingly, Ryan concluded
that “(t]he government sought only to buy ready-to-
order herbicides, not to cause, control, or prevent the
production of the unwanted byproduct, dioxin, which
is the alleged cause of plaintiffs’ injuries.” Jd.

However, when addressing Isaacson’s remand
motion, the same district court, reviewing the same
factual record, held that federal jurisdiction was
properly asserted under the federal officer removal
statute. See App. 23a-42a. In its decision below, the
district court held, as it had in Ryan, that the Respon-
dent corporations were “persons” under § 1442(a)(1).
App. 3la-32a. But the district court reversed its Ryan
ruling that the government contractor defense alone

9

did not satisfy the statute’s implied requirement that
a colorable federal law defense be asserted. App. 40a.
More significantly, the district court reversed its
earlier understanding of the facts and held that
Respondents showed that they were “acting under
color of federal office,” because “the government
designed, controlled and supervised the production of
Agent Orange.” App. 36a. This finding was necessary
because the district court interpreted the law as
requiring a “causal nexus between the defendant’s
action under federal office and plaintiff’s state law
claims,” App. 32a, and held that this is satisfied
“when there is evidence of intimate government
involvement in the design decisions causally related
to the alleged tort.” App. 34a.

On March 2, 2005, the district court ruled that
all other Petitioners herein had also been properly
removed.

C. The Decision of the Court of Appeals

After the district court granted summary judg-
ment for Respondents based on their assertion of the
government contractor defense, Petitioners appealed
the district court’s removal decision to the Second
Circuit, which affirmed the district court’s finding of
jurisdiction. App. la-22a. However, rather than
simply follow the district court’s rulings, the Second
Circuit went a long way toward rejecting the district
court’s factual underpinning. It held the same as the
district court only by significantly broadening the

10

removal statute’s coverage to create federal jurisdic-
tion over virtually any conduct committed by a gov-
ernment contractor during the performance of the
government contract. See App. 14a-18a.°

In particular, with respect to the removal stat-
ute’s principal provisions limiting its coverage to
persons “acting under” a federal officer and being
sued for an act done “under color of such office,” the
Second Circuit’s analysis markedly contrasted with
that of the district court. This is because the Second
Circuit, in its simultaneously but separately-issued
summary judgment opinion, Jn re “Agent Orange,”
supra, 517 F.3d 76, expressly rejected the district
court’s conclusion that “the government designed,
controlled and supervised the production of Agent
Orange,” finding instead that:

The defendants do not contest that the
government’s contractual specifications for
Agent Orange are silent regarding the
method of manufacturing or that the gov-
ernment harbored no preference, expressed
or otherwise, regarding how the herbicides
were to be produced.... Indeed, they admit
that they were under no federal contractual

° The court of appeals did, however, embrace the district
court’s rationales in holding that Respondents were “persons”
covered by the removal statute, App. lla-l4a, and that the
federal government contractor defense standing on its own
satisfied the requirement that a colorable federal law defense be
asserted. App. 19a-22a.

ll

duty to produce Agent Orange using any
particular manufacturing process or with any
particular reference to the toxicity levels.

Id. at 93.

Having thus separately rejected the factual basis
for the district court’s jurisdictional ruling, the Second
Circuit proceeded in its removal opinion to interpret the
removal statute’s “acting under” and “acts under color”
requirements far more broadly than has any other
court. First, with regard to whether Respondents were
acting under a federal government officer, the Second
Circuit found that this requirement is to be “interpreted
broadly, and the statute as a whole must be liberally
construed.” App. 14a. Based on this broad and liberal
construction, the Second Circuit held that, “through
their contracts with the Government to produce Agent
Orange, [it was enough that] the chemical companies
assisted and helped carry out the duties or tasks
of officers at the Department of Defense,” so that
Respondents “thus had the special relationship with
the Government required by the ‘acting under’
prong.” App. 16a (citation omitted) (emphasis added).

In addressing the removal statute’s requirement
of acts done “under color of” federal office, the court
of appeals likewise found that “(t]he hurdle erected
by this requirement is quite low,” and that, to show
causation under this prong, “Defendants must only
establish that the act that is the subject of Plaintiffs’
attack (here, the production of the byproduct dioxin)
occurred while Defendants were performing their

12

official duties.” App. 16a-17a. Alternatively, the
Second Circuit held that it would be sufficient to base
its determination upon a removing government
contractor’s own “theory of the case,” i.e. that “the
Government knew that Agent Orange contained
dioxin, and the Government controlled the method of
formulation.” App. 17a (emphasis added). Yet, the
“theory” that the government controlled production
was exactly what the panel itself had expressly
rejected in its summary judgment opinion as not
being supported by any evidence. Jn re “Agent Or-
ange,” 517 F.3d at 93.

In affirming the district court, the Second Circuit
substantially broadened the federal officer removal
statute to cover every conceivable government pro-
curement contractor sued for conduct that occurred
while it was performing the contract. Without consid-
ering whether the government directed or even knew
of the conduct at issue, the court of appeals held that
there is federal jurisdiction for all government con-
tractors so long as the acts complained of either occur
while they are performing the contract or the contrac-
tor merely theorizes that the acts were done under
government direction.

13

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This Court has held that, to remove a case under
28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1), the removing party must: 1) be
an eligible “person” under the statute; 2) raise a
colorable federal defense; 3) assert that the acts
complained of were undertaken while “acting under
an officer” of the United States government; and 4)
establish that the suit is “for an act under color of
[federal] office,” by demonstrating a “‘causal con-
nection’ between the charged conduct and
asserted official authority.” Willingham v. Mor-
gan, 395 U.S. 402, 409 (1969) (emphasis added).
However, the court of appeals’ expansive interpreta-
tion renders this four-part analysis moot as to govern-
ment contractors. Indeed, it grants removal rights to
federal contractors that are broader than those recog-
nized for federal employees whose removal claims this
Court has scrupulously evaluated and limited.

First, the Second Circuit held that corporations
that contract with the government are always “per-
sons,” and thus proper removing parties. App. lla-
14a. Second, under the Second Circuit’s analysis,
government contractors meet the colorable defense
requirement by definition. App. 19a-22a. Third, the
court of appeals held that the “special relationship”
required pursuant to the “acting under” provision is
met by the mere fact that the defendant entered into
a government contract. App. 14a-16a. Finally, the
Second Circuit rendered moot the question of whether
the act performed was done “under color of [federal]
office” by holding that contractors satisfy this by

14

showing that the act occurred at any time in the
course of performing the government contract or by
conjuring up a “theory” that the act was undertaken
at the government’s direction, App. 16a-18a, a “the-
ory” that the court accepts at face value even if it is
blatantly wrong. In short, according to the Second
Circuit, any suit filed against a government contrac-
tor for any acts undertaken during the contract’s
performance is removable under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1442(a)(1).

This holding radically expands the existing
division among federal courts over how much gov-
ernment control is needed for a private actor to be
deemed to be “acting under” a government officer and
to be sued for acts done “under color of” such office.
The approach taken by the Second Circuit conflicts
with the courts of nearly every other circuit regarding
what is necessary in order to determine when a
private actor is acting “under color” of government
office when performing the acts complained of in a
lawsuit.

In sharp contrast to the decision below, numerous
federal courts have held in granting motions to re-
mand that state-law claims against federal contrac-
tors fall within the removal statute only if they are
targeted at conduct that the government specifically
directed. These decisions are consistent with this
Court’s ruling in Mesa v. California, 489 U.S. 121
(1989), that removal under this statute is unavailable
even to federal officers if they could not assert a basis

in federal law for their on-the-job conduct that state

15

authorities were prosecuting. These decisions also are
more consistent with rulings by this Court and vari-
ous circuit courts addressing private action under
civil rights statutes covering acts done “under color
of” state law, see, e.g., 42 U.S.C. § 1983, and holding
that such statutes require focus on “‘the specific
conduct of which the plaintiff complains.’” American
Manuf.’s Mutual Ins. Co. v. Sullivan, 526 U.S. 40, 51
(1999) (quoting Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991, 1004
(1982)).

Nothing demonstrates the confusion among
federal courts more than the extreme variability in
addressing the removal issue shown by the courts
below first in Ryan, supra, and then in the two deci-
sions in this case. Each of these decisions articulates
entirely different standards regarding how much, if
any, government control is required to bring a private
contractor’s conduct violating state law within the
ambit of the federal officer removal statute. In Ryan
v. Dow Chemical Co., 781 F.Supp. 934 (E.D.N-Y.
1992), the district court held that:

removal by a ‘person acting under’ a federal
officer must be predicated upon a showing
that the acts that form the basis for the state
civil or criminal suit were performed pursu-
ant to an officer’s direct orders or to
comprehensive and detailed regula-
tions.... [A] person or corporation estab-
lishing only that the relevant acts occurred
under the general auspices of a federal office
or officer is not entitled to section 1442(a)(1)
removal.

16

Id. at 947 (emphasis added). In its decision below, by
contrast, the same district court held that removal
instead required just “a substantial degree of direct
and detailed federal control.” App. 32a. When Peti-
tioners appealed this ruling, the Second Circuit went
further by finding that all that was necessary was for
“the chemical companies [to have] assisted and
helped carry out the duties or tasks of officers at the
Department of Defense,” in order for Respondents to
have “the ‘special relationship’ with the Government
required by the ‘acting under’ prong.” App. 16a (cita-
tion omitted).

As explained below, this Court’s review is essen-
tial to bring clarity to this important jurisdictional
provision meant to maintain a proper division be-
tween state and federal judicial authority as it ap-
plies to the multitude of claims that are asserted
against private companies performing under ll
manner of contracts with the federal government.

I. THE SECOND CIRCUIT’S DECISICN DI-
VIDES THE FEDERAL COURTS ON SIG-
NIFICANT ISSUES PERTAINING TO THE
PROPER APPLICATION OF THE FED-
ERAL OFFICER REMOVAL STATUTE.

The Second Circuit’s expansive interpretation of
28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1), allowing government contrac-
tors to invoke federal jurisdiction for virtually every
state-law claim, directly conflicts with significant

federal case law requiring, depending upon the court,

17

direct and detailed control of the government contrac-
tor’s activities and/or a direct connection between
the state-law claims being brought and the federal
authority. Much of this contrary authority is in federal
district court opinions, because orders granting remand
are not appealable under 28 U.S.C. § 1447(c). See Feidt
v. Owens Corning Fiberglas Corp., 153 F.3d 124, 127 (3d
Cir. 1998) (dismissing appeal of remand order rejecting
§ 1442(a)(1) removal by government contractor that
manufactured asbestos-insulated turbines for Navy
aircraft carrier); cf. Powerex Corp. v. Reliant Energy
Services, Inc., 127 S. Ct. 2411, 2416 (2007) (holding
that § 1447(c) bars review of remands for lack of
jurisdiction). In light of this prohibition, this Court has
recognized splits of authority involving district courts
over questions of removal and subject matter jurisdic-
tion as warranting certiorari review. See, e.g., Murphy
Brothers, Inc. v. Michetti Pipe Stringing, Inc., 526 U.S.
344, 349 and n.2 (1999); Gulf Offshore Co. v. Mobil Oil
Corp., 453 U.S. 473, 477 and n.3 (1981).

This is such a case because the conflict between
the Second Circuit’s decision below and a wealth of
district court authority applying § 1442(a)(1) is
clearly defined. The Second Circuit held that a gov-
ernment contractor is deemed to be “acting under” a
federal officer by virtue of mere participation in the
contract alone, App. 16a, and that any action taken
while performing the contract is deemed “under color”

of federal office. App. 17a. By contrast, this expansive
interpretation of the statute was rejected by a district
court in the Eleventh Circuit. See Kennedy v. Health

18

Options, Inc., 329 F. Supp. 2d 1314, 13818 (S.D. Fla.
2004) (“The contractual relationship between inter-
mediaries and the Health Care Financing Admini-
stration does not in itself constitute the direct and
detailed control that is required to assert federal
jurisdiction.”).

Moreover, a number of district courts have re-
manded cases involving government contractors
based upon a review of whether the removing con-
tractor was required or directed by federal authority
to perform the specific conduct challenged in the
state-law claim. In Green v. A.W. Chesterton Co., 366
F. Supp. 2d 149 (D. Me. 2005), for example, the court
remanded claims by a surviving spouse of a shipyard
worker against the manufacturer of asbestos-
insulated turbines on Navy ships. In rejecting the
defendant’s § 1442(a)(1) removal arguments, Green
held that the statute’s “acting under” provision re-
quired evidence that “the US Navy specified the
incorporation of asbestos into the defendant’s product
to which the decedent was exposed so that there is a
‘causal nexus between the federal officer’s directions
and the plaintiff’s claims.’” Jd. at 155 (quoting Win-
ters v. Diamond Shamrock Chem. Co., 149 F.3d 387,
398 (5th Cir. 1998)).

Similarly, in Arness v. Boeing North American,
Inc., 997 F. Supp. 1268 (C.D. Cal. 1998), involving
claims by persons exposed to trichloroethylene manu-
factured for use on an Air Force base and disposed
therefrom, the court rejected the private defendants’
removal arguments for claims of negligent disposal

19

because defendants failed to allege that disposal
activity was undertaken at the government’s behest.
The court held that “the critical question under the
federal officer removal statute is to what extent
defendants acted under federal direction at the time
they engaged in the conduct now being sued upon.”
Id. at 1275-76 (citation omitted). In Good v. Arm-
strong World Industries, Inc., 914 F. Supp. 1125 (E.D.
Pa. 1996), where a Navy yard worker was exposed to
asbestos in turbine generators, the court likewise
rejected federal officer removal because neither the
removal notice nor the supporting affidavit “estab-
lishe[d] that a federal officer required the use of
asbestos in the design and manufacture of the turbine
generators.” Jd. at 1130.°

Other courts have looked more specifically at a
contractor’s state-law duties. In Freiberg v. Swinerton
& Walberg Property Serv’s, Inc., 245 F. Supp. 2d 1144
(D. Colo. 2002), the court remanded claims by a
nuclear weapons production facility worker against an
on-site contractor whose work exposed the plaintiff to
asbestos. In rejecting the contractor’s arguments for

®* See also Akin v. Big Three Industries, Inc., 851 F. Supp.
819, 823 (E.D. Tex. 1994) (“Finally, GE must establish a nexus
between the acts it performed at the direction of the Secretary of
the Air Force and the present claims for relief.”); Fung v. Abex
Corp., 816 F.Supp. 569, 572 (N.D. Cal. 1992) (“Defendant
General Dynamics must next show that it was ‘acting under’ an
officer of the United States by establishing a nexus between the
actions of the federal officers and the actions for which the
defendant is being sued.”).

20

removal under § 1442(a)(1), Freiberg held that the
contractor failed to satisfy the statute’s causal nexus
requirement because it could not demonstrate that
“the state action ‘has arisen out of the acts done by’
the defendant ‘under color of federal authority and in
enforcement of federal law,’” and could not “‘exclude
the possibility that’ the state action ‘was based on
acts or conduct of his not justified by his federal
duty.’” Jd. at 1155 (quoting Mesa, 489 U.S. at 1381-32).
Similarly, based on state-law failure to warn claims
by the surviving spouse of steel mill worker exposed
to asbestos installed pursuant to a World War II era
defense plant contract, the court rejected federal
officer removal because of the defendant’s failure to
show “that the government authority it operated
under directly interfered with its ability to fulfill its
state law obligation to warn its employees of safety
hazards.”

ae

In sum, the Second Circuit’s decision amplifies
the fact that there is considerable division and
confusion among federal courts over the federal
officer removal statute’s application to claims
against government contractors.’ In order to bring

" The Second Circuit’s predicate holding that Respondent
corporations are “persons” entitled to removal under the statute,
App. 14a-16a, likewise conflicts with several district court
opinions holding that the statute only applies to natural persons
and not corporate entities. See, e.g., Krangel v. Crown, 791
F.Supp. 1436, 1442 (S.D. Cal. 1992); Roche v. American Red
Cross, 680 F. Supp. 449, 455 (D. Mass. 1988). Additionally, the
Second Circuit’s holding that Respondents’ assertion of the

(Continued on following page)

21

consistency and clarity to this important area of
jurisdictional law, the Court should grant certiorari.

II. THE SECOND CIRCUIT’S EXPANSION OF
§ 1442(a)(1) TO COVER ALL PRIVATE
CONDUCT DONE IN CONNECTION WITH
GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS IS LEGALLY
ERRONEOUS.

Beyond its incompatibility with other federal
court decisions, the ruling below should be reviewed
because it is manifestly incorrect. Specifically, the
Second Circuit’s expansive reading of the federal
officer removal statute’s “acting under” and particu-
larly its “under color” of federal office provisions
conflicts with this Court’s decisions applying this
statute and identically worded provisions of federal
law.

A. The Second Circuit Broadened the Re-
moval Statute’s “Acting Under” Provi-
sion Beyond Recognition.

First, as discussed, the Second Circuit held that
Respondents satisfied the statute’s “acting under” a

government contractor defense satisfies the statute’s requirement of
a colorable federal defense, App. 19a-22a, is in tension with federal
court authority questioning this proposition. See, e.g., Freiberg, 245
F. Supp. 2d at 1151 n.d (D. Colo. 2002) (questioning “whether the
government contractor ‘defense’ asserted by [defendant] is the type of
federal interest or immunity for which § 1442(a\1) was intended to
provide an exclusively federal forum”).

22

federal officer requirement simply by virtue of the
fact that they contracted with the government to
provide a product used by the military. App. 16a. In
Watson v. Philip Morris Companies, Inc., 127 S. Ct.
2301 (2007), this Court addressed the same provision
in both holding that a private defendant’s conduct in
complying with federal regulations does not consti-
tute “acting under” a federal officer, and that this is
so “even if the regulation is highly detailed and even
if the private firm’s activities are highly supervised
and monitored.” Jd. at 2308. This Court found instead
that the “acting under” requirement refers to a rela-
tionship that “typically involves ‘subjection, guidance,
or control.’” Id. at 2307 (quoting Webster’s New
International Dictionary 2765 (2d ed. 1953)).

To be sure, Watson discussed the Fifth Circuit’s
ruling in Winters, supra, which had granted removal
by defendants that contracted to manufacture Agent
Orange. Watson stated with regard to the Agent

* Significantly, and unlike in Winters, the panel’s review of
the substantial record below revealed that the alleged “regula-
tion, monitoring or supervision” never existed. Moreover, in its
separate opinion on summary judgment, the panel below limited
Winters and the Fifth Circuit’s companion decision of Miller v.
Diamond Shamrock Co., 275 F.3d 414 (5th Cir. 2001), as follows:

The Fifth Circuit relying in large part on our Agent
Orange I determination concluded the same. See
Miller, 275 F.3d at 421. But we are required to review
the factual! record anew as it is presented to us, not as
it was presented to a different panel twenty years ago.
And we note, as we did in Agent Orange I, that
we were in 1987 without the benefit of briefing
(Continued on following page)

23

Orange manufacturers in Winters that they were
“helping the government to produce an item it needs,”
and that, “at least arguably, Dow performed a job
that, in the absence of a contract with a private firm,
the Government itself would have had to perform.”
127 S. Ct. at 2307 (emphasis added). However, after
recognizing this arguable distinction, Watson con-
cluded that it “need net further examine here (a case
where private contracting is not at issue) whether
and when particular circumstances may enable
private contractors to invoke the statute.” /d.

However, the Second Circuit’s own factual analy-
sis makes it clear that the court erred in relying on
Watson’s dicta regarding “Agent Orange” contractors.
See App. 15a. Instead, it should have followed Wat-
son’s actual holding that § 1442(a)(1) requires a
relationship involving “subjection, guidance, or con-
trol.” 127 S. Ct. at 2307. The absence of such subjec-
tion, guidance, or control of Respondents’ activities
(t.e. their defective manufacturing processes resulting
in the production of large amounts of the toxic dioxin
contaminant) is made clear by the Second Circuit’s

by the parties on this subject. Agent Orange I Opt-
Out Op., 818 F.2d [187, 190 (2d Cir. 1987)].

In re “Agent Orange,” 517 F.3d at 98 n.19 (emphasis added). In
fact, at the time Winters and Miller were being decided, all “Jn re
Agent Orange” documents were being stored at the National
Archives and were relatively inaccessible. For this or other
reasons, in response to Respondents’ extensive submissions,
plaintiffs’ counsel offered no evidence in Winters and just a
single affidavit by Admiral Elmo Russell Zumwalt, Jr. in Miller.

24

own finding in its simultaneously issued summary
judgment opinion:

The defendants do not contest that the
government’s contractual specifications for
Agent Orange are silent regarding the
method of manufacturing or that the gov-
ernment harbored no preference, expressed
or otherwise, regarding how the herbicides
were to be produced.... Indeed, they admit
that they were under no federal contractual
duty to produce Agent Orange using any par-
ticular manufacturing process or with any
particular reference to the toxicity levels.

In re “Agent Orange,” 517 F.3d at 93. As a result, the
Second Circuit did not and could not hold that Respon-
dents were under government control or compulsion to
produce Agent Orange with the extremely toxic dioxin
additive that is the basis of Petitioners’ state-law
claims. Absent such government control, the Second
Circuit’s “acting under” determination is contrary to
this Court’s articulated requirements in Watson, and
thus merits review and reversal by this Court.

B. The Second Circuit’s Determination
That There Need Not Be Any Underly-
ing Analysis as to Whether a Contrac-
tor Acted “Under Color of Office” is
Contrary to Every Decision of This
Court.

The Second Circuit’s even more expansive inter-

pretation of the removal statute’s requirement of acts

25

done “under color” of federal authority is contrary to
this Court’s ruling in Mesa, supra, denying removal of
a state’s prosecution of federal officers for acts they
committed on duty. In Mesa, the Court addressed
homicide and reckless driving prosecutions brought
by the State of California against two United States
Postal Service Workers for acts they committed while
performing their Postal Service duties. 489 U.S. at
123-24. Although the parties agreed that these fed-
eral employees were “persons acting under” an “offi-
cer of the United States,” they disputed whether the
employees were being prosecuted for “act[s] under
color of such office.” Jd. at 125. In unanimously an-
swering this latter question in the negative, the
Court held that the fact that these federal officer
defendants were being prosecuted for acts committed
while on duty was insufficient to show that they were
acting under color of federal office. Jd. at 135. In light
of Mesa’s holding that federal officers themselves
cannot remove state-law claims based solely on the
fact that they address conduct committed while on
duty, the Second Circuit clearly erred in holding
below that private contractors can do just that by
removing claims based on the mere fact that they
were performing under a government contract with
no reference whatsoever to federal authorization of
the specific conduct being prosecuted. See App. 17a
(“[Elven if plaintiffs were to prove that the dioxin
contamination occurred because of an act not specifi-
cally contemplated by the government contract, it is
enough that the contracts gave rise to the contamina-
tton.”) (emphasis added).

26

Furthermore, the Second Circuit’s expansive
interpretation of the removal statute’s provision
covering acts done “under color” of federal office
conflicts with decisions by this Court and various
circuit courts alike holding that identical language in
federal civil mghts statutes requires focus on “the
specific conduct of which the plaintiff complains.”
American Manufacturers, 526 U.S. at 51 (addressing
42 U.S.C. § 1983) (citation omitted); see also Tancredi
v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 316 F.3d 308, 312 (2d
Cir. 2003) (quoting American Manufacturers); Sutton
v. Providence St. Joseph Med. Ctr., 192 F.3d 826, 836
(9th Cir. 1999) (“Instead, contemporary decisions
stress the necessity of a close nexus between the state
and the challenged conduct rather than application of
a mechanistic formula.”) (emphasis in original) (cita-
tion omitted); Gallagher v. Neil Young Freedom
Concert, 49 F.3d 1442, 1452 (10th Cir. 1995) (same).

Under the identical language of § 1983, this
Court has held that “lalcts of ... private contractors
do not become acts of the government by reason of
their significant or even total engagement in perform-
ing public contracts.” Rendell-Baker v. Kohn, 457 U.S.
830, 841 (1982) (emphasis added). The decision below
flies in the face of this authority by holding that
§ 1442(a)(1)’s identical “under color” provision re-
quires that defendants “only establish that the act
that is the subject of Plaintiffs’ attack (here, the
production of the byproduct dioxin) occurred while
Defendants were performing their official duties.”
App. 16a.

bo
~J

Also in accord with the fact that the statute
requires focus on the specific conduct being sued upon
in the state action is this Court’s interpretation of the
identical “under color” language found in the civil
rights removal statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1443(2), pertain-
ing to persons engaged in law enforcement. City of
Greenwood v. Peacock, 384 U.S. 808, 824 (1966)
(“((W]je hold that the second subsection of § 1443
confers a privilege of removal only upon federal
officers or agents and those authorized to act with cr
for them in affirmatively executing duties under
any federal law providing for equal civil rights.”)
(emphasis added).

Since the Second Circuit’s expansive application
of § 1442(a)(1)’s “under color” provision cannot be
squared with this Court’s consistent requirement that
the specific action must have been performed subject
to federal officer direction or centrol, certiorari should
be granted to reverse this clear error of law in con-
cluding that the acts giving rise to removal include
those done without any federal authorization or
knowledge whatsoever.

Iil, THE SECOND CIRCUIT'S DECISION
RAISES JURISDICTIONAL ISSUES OF
EXCEPTIONAL IMPORTANCE.

Finally, certiorari should be granted because,
based upon the Second Circuit’s exceptionally broad
removal policy, a significant infusion of cases involv-
ing government contractors has the potential to

28

overwhelm already over-burdened federal courts.
There is no question that the number of contracts
entered into by the government has mushroomed in
recent years. The 2007 defense budget alone allocated
over $84 billion for contract procurement.” As this
contracting has expanded, the number of suits
brought against government contractors will inevita-
bly keep pace.” Under the ruling below, virtually all
of these cases will be removable to federal court.

There is widespread agreement that the federal
judiciary is already stretched to the limit.'’ With such
burgeoning dockets, it is rather easy to forget that the
entire federal Article III judiciary has roughly half
the judges of the state of California and that federal

* See www.defenselink.mil/comptroller/defbudget/fy2007/fy
2007_pl.pdf at 4.

'° See, e.g., In re Blackwater Security Consulting, LLC, 460
F.3d 576 (4th Cir. 2006) (denying appeal of order remanding
survivor wrongful death and fraud claims against defense
subcontractor for misrepresenting terms of and _ providing
inadequate security provisions for support services performed in
Iraq); see also Kennedy v. Health Options, supra, 329 F. Supp. 2d
at 1314 (remanding state law damages claim against private
Medicare insurer for injurnes resulting from denial of medical
care).

‘' See, e.g., Wilkinson, The Drawbacks of Growth in the
Federal Judiciary, 43 Emory L.J. 1147 (Fall 1994); Rehnquist,
Seen in a Glass Darkly: The Future of the Federal Courts, 1993
Wis. L. Rev. 1, 4, 7-9 (overburdening the federal courts will
result in a “decline in the high quality of justice the nation has
long expected of the federal courts,” and a key to avoiding that
result is to limit “inefficient allocations of jurisdiction”).

29

courts are necessarily courts of limited jurisdiction —
both

Constitutionally and practicably. The decision below,
however, threatens these limitations by construing
the federal officer removal statute as broadly as
possible. By contrast, this Court has cautioned in
analogous circumstances that the federal diversity
jurisdiction statute should be strictly construed to
“relievie] the federal courts of the overwhelming
burden of ‘business that intrinsicaliy belongs to the
state courts.’” City of Indianapolis v. Chase Nat'l
Bank, 314 U.S. 68, 76 (1941) (quoting Friendly,
The Historic Basis of Diversity Jurisdiction, 41 Harv.
L. Rev. 483, 510).

Furthermore, routing injured parties, including
our soldiers and veterans, to often distant federal
courts exacts an unreasonable price on people who
often have limited resources. Distance from the
courthouse alone can limit participation in the judi-
cial process. And this is only one of the reasons prose-
cuting cases in federal courts is generally viewed as
more expensive than litigation in state court.” This
factor, and the location of their counsel in major cities
where federal courts are almost always located,
provide an advantage to large corporate defendants

' See also Miller, An Empirical Study of Forum Choices in
Removal Cases Under Diversity and Federal Question Jurisdic-
tion, 41 Am. U. L. Rev. 369, 404 (1992) (finding that both
plaintiff and defense attorneys agree that “federal court litiga-
tion is more expensive to undertake” than state court litigation).

30

and is no doubt one reason these defendants routinely
press for a federal forum.”

Moreover, our system of federalism embodies the
principle that state, not federal, courts should be the
principal arbiters of state law. State courts have long
been the primary guardians of these state-law rights,
and federal law consistently has been construed to
respect the vital role played by state courts. See, e.g.,
Federated Dep't Stores, Inc. v. Moitie, 452 U.S. 394,
407 (1981) (Brennan, J., dissenting) (“state courts
remain the preferred forum for interpretation and
enforcement of state law”); Shamrock Oil & Gas
Corp. v. Sheets, 313 U.S. 100, 108 (1941) (“[T]he
policy of the successive acts of Congress regulating
the jurisdiction of federal courts is one calling for the
strict construction of such legislation.”).

As one commentator has explained:

To offer a private corporation acting on its
own initiative the ability to remove a case
brought against it in state court to a federal
forum, simply because that corporation is be-
ing paid by the federal government to pro-
vide a product, is to infringe upon a state’s
sovereignty by thwarting its ability to adju-
dicate disputes in its own judicial system. A
state has an important interest in resolving
cases filed in its courts. ... The only interest
significant enough to be protected by federal

'* See Gibbs, Forum Shopping Through Federal Agent Re
moval Jurisdiction and CAFA, 86-FEB Mich. B.J. 20 (Feb. 2007).

31

officer removal is the interest in enforcement
of federal law in support of a supreme na-
tional government."

To be sure, this Court has consistently held that
giving federal courts the right te resolve federal
officers’ official defenses in response to state-law
prosecutions prevents those prosecutions from un-
fairly hindering the federal government in performing
its job. But it is the threat that state prosecution may
impede the federal government’s operations that has
undergirded the federal officer removal statute. See,
e.g., Mesa, 489 U.S. at 187 (“Congress’ enactment of
federal officer removal statutes since 1815 served ‘te
provide a federal forum for cases where federal offi-
cials must raise defenses arising from their official
duties.’”) (quoting Willingham, 395 U.S. at 405).
However, when the federal government does not
control the charged acts, as it did not here, and those
same acts are subject to state prosecution when the
identical products are contracted for by anyone other
than the government, then arrogating jurisdiction to
federal court serves no purpose.

The only policy argument advanced by the
courts below for federal jurisdiction is one that
should be unavailing. Both the district court and the
court of appeals below voiced their concerns about

‘’ Note, The Boyle Festers: How Lax Causal Nexus Require-
ments and the “Federal Contractor Defense” Are Leading to a
Disruption of Comity Under the Federal Officer Removal Statute,
46 Emory L.J. 1629, 1657 (1997) (footnotes omitted).

32

the capacity of state courts to handle litigation. See
App. 4la (district court); 9a-10a (circuit court). In
other words, they distrust the state court system and
view expansive removal jurisdiction as a way to
protect corporate defendants from the vagaries of
state prosecution. But this Court has already dis-
missed such arguments: “We have ... not found the
need to adopt a theory of ‘protective jurisdiction’ to
support Art. III ‘arising under’ jurisdiction . .. and we
do not see any need for doing so here.” Mesa, 489 U.S.
at 137. Indeed, such a policy is antithetical to our
federal system.

¢

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

GERSON H. !5MOGER

Counsel oy Record

SMOGER & ASSOCIATES, P.C.
3175 Monterey Blvd., Suite 3
Oakland, CA 94602

(510) 531-4529

MARK R. CUKER

MICHAEL J. QUIRK

WILLIAMS CUKER BEREZOFSKY
1617 J.F.K. Blvd., Suite 800
Philadelphia, PA 19103
(215) 557-0099

Counsel for Petitioners
October 6, 2008

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

August Term, 2006

(Argued: June 18,2007 Decided: February 22, 2008)
Docket Nos. 05-1820-cv; 05-1509-cev; 05-1693-cv; 05-
1694-cv; 05-1695-cv; 05-1698-cv; 05-2450-cv

Joe Isaacson and Phyllis Lisa Isaacson,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,
—_—V.—

Dow Chemical Co., Monsanto Co., Hercules, Inc.,
Occidental Chemical Corp., Ultramar Diamond
Shamrock Corporation, Maxus Energy Corp., Chemical
Land Holdings, Ine , T-H Agriculture and Nutrition
Co., Thompson Hayward Chemical Co., Harcros
Chemicals, Inc., Uniroyal, Inc., C.D.U. Holding Inc.
and Uniroyal Chemical Company,

Defendants-Appellees.

J. Michael Twinam,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

—V. ——

Dow Chemical Company, Monsanto Co., American
Home Preducts, Inc., Hercules Incorporated, Occidental
Chemical Corporation, Ultramar Diamond, Chemical
Land Holdings, Inc., Maxus Energy Corp., Harcros
Chemicals, Inc., Shamrock Corp., Thompson Hayward

2a

Chemical Co., T-H Agriculture, Uniroyal Chemical Co.
and Valero Marketing Corporation,

Defendants-Appellees.

Robert S. Bauer and Sandra J. Bauer,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,
—_—Vi—

Dow Chemical Company, Monsanto Company, Phar-
macia Corp., formerly known as Monsanto Co., Solutia,
Inc., Hercules, Inc., Thompson Hayward Chemical Co.,
T-H Agriculture & Nutrition Co., Occidental Chemical

Corporation, Occidental Petroleum Corporation, Uni-

royal, Inc., C.D.U. Holding, Inc., Uniroyal Chemical
Company, Harcros Chemicals, Inc., Ultramar Diamond

Shamrock Corporation, Maxus Enegy Corp., Tierra
Solutions, Inc. and Chemical Land Holdings, Inc.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Sheryl A. Walker, E.C.W., A minor, by his Mother and
Next Friend on behalf of Sheryl A. Walker, Stephen J.
Walker, William Hamilton and Esther M. Hamilton,
His wife, Individually and on Behalf of All Others
Similarly Situated,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
—_vV.—

Dow Chemical Company, Monsanto Company, Phar-
macia Corp., Solutia, Inc., Hercules, Inc., Thompson
Hayward Chemical Co., T-H Agriculture & Nutrition
Co., Occidental Petroleum Corporation, Occidental
Chemical Corp., Uniroyal, Inc., C.D.U. Holding, Inc.,
Uniroyal Chemical Company, Harcros Chemicals, Inc.
Ultramar Diamond Shamrock Corporation, Maxus

-

3a

Energy Corp., Tierra Solutions, Inc., Chemical Land
Holdings, Inc., and Valero Energy Corporation, doing
business as Valero Marketing and Supply Company,

Defendants-Appellees.
Does 1-100,
Defendants.

Sherman Clinton Stearns and Dortha Monyene
Stearns,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
_—_—V—

Dow Chemical Company, Hercules Inc., Occidental
Chemical Corp., Thompson Hayward Chemical Co.,
Elementis Chemicals, Inc., T.H. Agriculture and Nutri-
tion Company, Inc., Maxus Energy Corp., El Paso Gas
Transmission Company, Valero Energy Corporation,
doing busines as Valero Marketing and Supply Com-
pany and Uniroyal Chemical Company,

Defendants-Appellees.

Charles T. Anderson,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
—vV.—

Dow Chemical Company, Monsanto Company,
Occidental Chemical Corporation, Hercules, Inc.
and Valero Energy Corporation, doing business as
Valero Marketing and Supply Company,

Defendants-Appellees,

Pfizer, Inc., Solutia, Inc., E.I. Dupont de Demours &
Co., Elementis Chemicals, Inc., Roche Holdings, Ltd.,

4a

Harcros Chemicals, Inc., Crompton Corporation,
Repsol-YPF, ConocoPhillips Company, Wyeth, Inc.,
Velsicol Chemical Corporation,

Defendants.

Vickey S. Garncarz,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
—_V—

Dow Chemical Company, Uniroyal Chemical Corp.,
and Occidental Chemical Corporation,

Defendants-Appellees.

BEFORE:
MINER, SACK, HALL, Circuit Judges:

This is one of two opinions addressing appeals
from a judgment of the United Staets District Court
for the Eastern District of New York (Weinstein, J.)
dismissing this multidistrict litigation. This opinion
concerns the March 2005 order of the district court
denying plaintiffs’ motions to remand seven actions to
state court. Because we agree that the district court
has jurisdiction over these actions under the federal
officer removal statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1), the
order of the district court is AFFIRMED.

GERSON H. SMOGER, Smoger & Associates,
Oakland, California, MARK R. CUKER, Williams
Cuker Berezofsky, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania,
for Plaintiffs-Appellants Joe Isaacson and Phyllis
Lisa Isaacson.

5a

CHRISTOPHER E. BUCKEY, Shanley, Sweeney,
Reilly & Allen, P.C., Albany, New York, for Plaintziff-
Appellant J. Michael Twinam.

J. MARK ENGLEHART, Beasley, Allen, Crow,
Methvin, Portis & Miles, P.C., Montgomery, Ala-
bama, for Plaintiffs-Appellants Robert S. Bauer
and Sandra J. Bauer.

MARK I. BRONSON, Newman, Bronson & Wal-
lis, St. Louis, Missouri, for Plaintiffs-Appellants
Sheryl A. Walker, et al.

DAVID E. CHERRY, Campbell, Cherry, Harrison,
Davis & Dove, P.C., Waco, Texas, for Plaintiffs-
Appellants Sherman Clinton Stearns and Dortha
Monyene Stearns.

JAMES BOANERGES, Cooper, Sprague, Jackson
& Boanerges, P.C., Houston, Texas, for Plaintiffs-
Appellants Charles T: Anderson and Vickey S.

Garncarz.

JOAN N. HARROP, Gomien & Harrop, Morris, Il-
linois, WILLIAM F. FITZPATRICK, Fitzpatrick &
Fitzpatrick, Chicago, Illinois, for Plaintiff-
Appellant Vickey S. Garncarz.

ANDREW L. FREY, CHARLES A. ROTHFELD,
Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw LLP (Lauren R.
Goldman, Christopher J. Houpt, on the brief),
New York, New York, for Defendants-Appellees.

SCOTT L. NELSON, BRIAN WOLFMAN, Public
Citizen Litigation Group, Washington, District of
Columbia, for Amicus Curiae Public Citizen, Inc.

6a

WILLIAM A. ROSSBACH, TIMOTHY M.
BECHTOLD, Rossbach Hart Bechtold, P.C., Mis-
soula, Montana, P.B. ONDERDONK, JR., Indi-
anapolis, Indiana, (Anne Bloom, Sacramento,
California, on the brief), for Amici Curiae Veter-
ans and Military Service Organizations.

HALL, Circuit Judge:

We are asked to determine whether the federal
officer removal statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1), allows
defendant chemical companies (“Defendants”), who
contracted with the Government to produce Agent
Orange for military use in the Vietnam War, to re-
move to federal court actions filed in state court
alleging violations of state law in connection with
that production. Those plaintiffs who contest federal
jurisdiction claim that Defendants do not qualify as
“persons” who were “acting under” a federal officer
performing acts “under color of federal office” when
they committed the challenged acts. We disagree.
Defendants have demonstrated that they are “per-
sons” within the meaning of the statute; that they
were “acting under” a federal officer; that there is a
causal connection between the formulation, manufac-
turing, packaging, and delivery of Agent Orange and
the state prosecutions; and that they have raised a
colorable federal defense to the state suits. Moreover,
removal in these cases fulfills the federal officer
removal statute’s purpose of protecting persons who,
through contractual relationships with the Govern-
ment, perform jobs that the Government otherwise
would have performed. See Watson v. Philip Morris

7a

Cos., Inc., 127 S.Ct. 2301, 2308 (2007). We therefore
affirm the orders of the district court denying the
plaintiffs’ motions to remand.

BACKGROUND

Our decision today on the applicability of the
federal officer removal statute affects only seven of
the sixteen appeals in the present litigation. The
plaintiffs in these seven appeals (“Plaintiffs”) filed
actions in state courts in Illinois, Missouri, New
Jersey, New York, and Texas in which they alleged
violations of state law, and they asserted that re-
moval would be improper because diversity of citizen-
ship was not complete. See Isaacson Compl. (filed in
New Jersey); Twinam Compl. (filed in New York);
Bauer Compl. (filed in Missouri); Walker Compl. (filed
in Missouri); Stearns Compl. (filed in Texas); Ander-
son Transfer Order (from complaint filed in Texas);
Garncarz Compl. (filed in Illinois). Defendants re-
moved all of the cases to the federal district courts in
their respective states. After Defendants had removed
the cases, the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litiga-
tion transferred the cases to the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Eastern District of New York.

The district court first dismissed all of the cases
because it found that they were impermissibly at-
tempting to attack collaterally a 1984 class action
settlement of claims stemming from harms suffered
by veterans as a result of their exposure to Agent
Orange. On appeal, this Court, following the Supreme

8a

Court’s decisions in Amchem Prods., Inc. v. Windsor,
521 U.S. 591 (1997), and Ortiz v. Fibreboard Corp.,
527 U.S. 815 (1999), vacated the dismissal and re-
manded because Plaintiffs were not bound by the
settlement. See Stephenson v. Dow Chem. Co., 273
F.3d 249, 259-61 (2d Cir. 2001). This Court also held
that the district court had subject matter jurisdiction
over the claims under the All Writs Act because,
although the settlement funds were depleted, the
state actions would require interpretation of the
scope of the settlement and could disturb the judg-
ment. See id. at 256.

The Supreme Court affirmed the judgment
vacating the order of dismissal, but it vacated this
Court’s judgment to the extent that that judgment
had affirmed the assertion of removal jurisdiction
under the All Writs Act. See Dow Chem. Co. v. Ste-
phenson, 589 U.S. 111 (2003). The Supreme Court
further directed this Court to reconsider the question
of federal jurisdiction over the claims in light of
Syngenta Crop Protection, Inc. v. Henson, 537 U.S. 28
(2002). See Dow Chem. Co., 539 U.S. at 112. On
remand, we found it “clear in light of Syngenta that
federal jurisdiction with respect to the Isaacson’s
claims cannot be grounded on the All Writs Act.”
Stephenson v. Dow Chem. Co., 346 F.3d 19, 21 (2d Cir.
2003). We therefore remanded the case to the district
court for further analysis of the jurisdictional ques-
tion.

Once back in the district court, Defendants
moved for summary judgment, and Plaintiffs moved

9a

to remand the actions to state court. The district
court granted Defendants’ motion for summary
judgment, see In re Agent Orange Prod. Liab. Litig.
(Agent Orange I), 304 F.Supp. 2d 404 (E.D.N-Y.
2004), and in a separate memorandum and order, it
denied the Isaacson plaintiffs’ motion to remand,
because it found that jurisdiction was proper pursu-
ant to the federal officer removal statute, see /n re
Agent Orange Prod. Liab. Litig. (Agent Orange ID,
304 F. Supp. 2d 442 (E.D.N.Y. 2004). In March 2005,
the district court denied the remaining motions to
remand.

In its jurisdictional ruling, the district court
found that Defendants had satisfied the requirements
for invoking the federal officer removal statute be-
cause: (1) they were “persons” within the meaning of
the statute; (2) they were “acting under color of a
federal office,” because the Government specified the
formulation of Agent Orange, was aware that it
contained dioxin, knew about the “dioxin ‘problem,’”
and controlled the method of warning; and (3) the
government contractor defense was a colorable fed-
eral law defense. See Agent Orange II, 304 F. Supp. 2d
at 449-51. The court further noted the policy consid-
erations supporting removal: (1) the scattering of
Agent Orange claims throughout the state courts
would have a chilling effect on manufacturers’ accep-
tance of government contracts; (2) the vagaries of
state tort law would deter military procurement; and
(3) state courts may circumvent Boyle v. United
Technologies Corp., 487 U.S. 500 (1988), the Supreme

10a

Court’s preeminent decision on the government
contractor defense, if they are unsympathetic to
defendants. Agent Orange II, 304 F. Supp. 2d at 451.
The court observed that its present decision was
contrary to its prior decision in Ryan v. Dow Chemicai
Co., 781 F. Supp. 934 (E.D.N.Y. 1992), where it had
held, in virtually identical circumstances and with
roughly the same defendants, that the federal officer
removal statute did not apply. See Agent Orange II,
304 F. Supp. 2d at 445. The court explained its rever-
sal of course by noting that Ryan was “no longer
persuasive” and that Ryan’s holding had been called
into question by the Fifth Circuit in Winters v. Dia-
mond Shamrock Chemical Co., 149 F.3d 387, 392 (5th
Cir. 1998). See Agent Orange Il, 304 F. Supp. 2d at
445.

Plaintiffs appeal the district court’s memoran-
dum and order finding removal jurisdiction over their
state law claims and the district court’s later order
denying all motions to remand.

DISCUSSION

We review de novo the district court’s denial of
the motions to remand. See Whitaker v. Am. Telecast-
ing, Inc., 261 F.3d 196, 201 (2d Cir. 2001). The federal
officer removal statute provides that a case may be
removed from state to federal court when the case is

brought against “(t]he United States or any agency
thereof or any officer (or any person acting under that
officer) of the United States or of any agency thereof,

lla

sued in an official or individual capacity for any act
under color of such office.” 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1). In
this case, because they are not federal officers them-
selves, Defendants must satisfy a three-pronged test
to determine whether they may effect removal. First,
they must show that they are “person(s]” within the
meaning of the statute who “act[ed] under [a federal]
officer.” Jd. Second, they must show that they per-
formed the actions for which they are being sued
“under color of [federal] office.” Jd. Third, they must
raise a colorable federal defense. Jefferson County v.
Acker, 527 U.S. 423, 431 (1991). We consider each of
these requirements in turn.

I. Corporate Persons and the “Acting Un-
der” Requirement

To satisfy the first requirement, Defendants must
show that they were “person[s] acting under” “color
of” a federal officer. As an initial matter, we address
whether Defendants are “persons.”

A. Corporate Persons Under the Federal
Officer Removal Statute

Section 1442 extends removal power to the
United States, its agencies, federal officers, and
persons acting under federal officers. Although Plain-
tiffs argued in their briefs that the defendant chemi-
cal companies do not fall under § 1442 because they are
not natural persons, another panel of this Court de-

cided, after briefs were due in this case, that corporate

12a

persons qualify as “persons” under § 1442. In re
Methyl Tertiary Butyl Esther (““MTBE”) Prods. Liab.
Litig., 488 F.3d 112, 124 (2d Cir. 2007). Although
MTBE thus forecloses any argument that corpora-
tions are not “persons” under the federal officer
removal statute, because that case did not detail its
reasoning on this issue, we take this opportunity to
explain that result.

By statute, we presume that the term “person”
includes corporations “unless the context indicates
otherwise.” 1 U.S.C. § 1. The context in which the
term “person” is used in § 1442 gives no indication
that corporations are excluded. In fact, § 1442 also
lists other non-natural entities, such as the United
States and its agencies, which suggests that inter-
preting “person” to include corporations is consistent
with the statutory scheme. The presumption is not
irrebuttable, and it can be overcome where the legis-
lative history of the statute under consideration
shows that “the normal rule of construction set forth
in 1 U.S.C. § 1 would run contrary to the statutory
intent.” Toy Mfrs. of Am., Inc. v. Consumer Prod.
Safety Comm'n, 630 F.2d 70, 74 (2d Cir. 1980). As a
federal district court in California observed in
Krangel v. Crown, 791 F.Supp. 1436 (S.D. Cal. 1992),
the legislative history of § 1442 reflects only “the
absence of express congressional intent to expand the
protection of the federal officer removal provision

beyond all federal officers to include non-natural
entities.” /d. at 1442. The Krangel Court found that

the term “person” did not include corporate persons

l3a

based on this absence. As noted above, however, 1
U.S.C. § 1 establishes a baseline presumption that
the term “person” includes corporate persons; the
legislative history of § 1442 is relevant only to the
extent it reflects a contrary statutory intent. Because
the legislative history is devoid of evidence suggest-
ing that Congress intended § 1442 not apply to corpo-
rate persons, the ordinary presumption established in
1 U.S.C. § 1 controls.

The 1996 amendment of § 1442 to include agen-
cies does not change the result. Prior to its amend-
ment in 1996, the statute allowed removal in cases
against “[alny officer of the United States or any
agency thereof, or person acting under him, for any
act under color of such office.” 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1)
(1948). As written, the pre-1996 version was unclear
on whether it applied only to actions against officers
or if it also applied to actions against the United
States and its agencies. The amendment clarified
that it applied to “[t]he United States,” “any agency
thereof,” “any officer ... of the United States,” “any
officer ... of any agency,” and “any person acting
under [any such] officer.” Jd. Whether or not the term

“person” included corporations was, and remains, an
entirely separate issue from whether or not the
statute applied to both agencies and agency officers.
The 1996 modification with respect to the latter,
therefore, cannot be interpreted as reflecting any
preexisting understandings with respect tc the for-
mer.

l4a

Based on these considerations, we agree with the
panel in MTBE that the term “person” includes
corporate persons. We also note that in so holding,
our Circuit is in agreement with the Fifth Circuit, see
Winters, 149 F.3d at 398, and several district courts,
see Good v. Armstrong World Indus., Inc., 914
F. Supp. 1125, 1127-28 (E.D. Pa. 1996); Pack v. AC &
S, Inc., 838 F. Supp. 1099, 1102-03 (D. Md. 1993);
Fung v. Abex Corp., 816 F. Supp. 569, 572 (N.D. Cal.
1992).

B. The “Acting Under” Requirement

Defendants must show that they were “acting
under” a federal officer. The words “acting under” are
to be interpreted broadly, and the statute as a whole
must be liberally construed. See Watson, 127 S.Ct. at
2304-05; Willingham v. Morgan, 395 U.S. 402, 407
(1969) (“Th[e] policy [of providing the protection of a
federal forum to federal officers] should not be frustrated
by a narrow, grudging interpretation of § 1442(a)(1).”).

In Watson, 127 S.Ct. 2301, the Supreme Court
expanded on what kind of relationship between the
federal officer and the private actor is needed to
satisfy the “acting under” requirement. There, the
Court considered whether the Philip Morris Compa-
nies were “acting under” a federal officer or agency
when they tested and advertised their cigarettes in
compliance with the Federal Trade Commission’s de-
tailed regulations. /d. The Court held that they did not
qualify as “acting under” a federal officer, reasoning

15a

that the “help or assistance necessary to bring a
private person within the scope of the [federal officer
removal] statute does not include simply complying
with the law.” Jd. at 2307. Instead, an entity “act{s)
under” a federal officer when it “assist[s], or ...
helpi[s] carry out, the duties or tasks of the federal
superior.” Jd. In other words, there must exist a
“special relationship” between the two. Id. at 2310.
For example, close supervision of the private entity
by the Government would constitute such a special
relationship:

(T]he private contractor in such cases is
helping the Government to produce an item
that it needs. The assistance that private
contractors provide federal officers goes be-
yond simple compliance with the law and
helps officers fulfill other basic governmental
tasks. In the context of [Winters, 149 F.3d
387], for example, Dow Chemical fulfilled the
terms of a contractual agreement by provid-
ing the Government with a product that it
used to help conduct a war. Moreover, at
least arguably, Dow performed a job that, in
the absence of a contract with a private firm,
the Government itself would have had to per-
form.

Id. at 2308.

Similarly, in this case, Defendants contracted
with the Government to provide a product that the

Government was using during war — a product that, in
the absence of Defendants, the Government would have
had to produce itself. Unlike the tobacco companies in

16a

Watson, Defendants received delegated authority;
they were not simply regulated by federal law.
Through their contracts with the Government to
produce Agent Orange, the chemical companies
“assist[ed]” and “help[ed] carry out{ ] the duties or
tasks of” officers at the Department of Defense. See
id. at 2307. Defendants thus had the “special rela-
tionship” with the Government required by the
“acting under” prong.

II. “Under Color of” Federal Office

The second prong requires Defendants to show
that the acts complained of — that is, producing dioxin
through the manufacturing of Agent Orange — were
taken “under color of [federal] office.” 28 U.S.C.
§ 1442(a)(1). Over time, this second prong has come to
be known as the causation requirement. See Mary-
land v. Soper (No. 1), 270 U.S. 9, 33 (1926). To satisfy
this requirement as applied to a federal officer, “[iJt
must appear that the prosecution of him for whatever
offense has arisen out of the acts done by him under
color of federal authority and in enforcement of
federal law, and he must by direct averment exclude
the possibility that it was based on acts or conduct of
his, not justified by his federal duty.” Jd. at 33. The
hurdle erected by this requirement is quite low, as
“(t]he statute does not require that the prosecution
must be for the very acts which the officer admits to
have been done by him under federal authority.” Id.
Rather, “[{iJt is enough that his acts or his presence at
the place in performance of his official duty constitute

17a

the basis, though mistaken or false, of the state
prosecution.” Jd. Translated to non-governmental
corporate defendants, such entities must demonstrate
that the acts for which they are being sued — here, the
production of dioxin in Agent Orange — occurred
because of what they were asked to do by the Gov-
ernment. We credit Defendants’ theory of the case
when determining whether a causal connection
exists. Jefferson County v. Acker, 527 U.S. 423, 432
(1999).

We agree with the district court that the “acting
under” prong is satisfied here. To show causation,
Defendants must only establish that the act that is
the subject of Plaintiffs’ attack (here, the production
of the byproduct dioxin) occurred while Defendants
were performing their official duties. See Willingham,
395 U.S. at 409; see also Soper, 270 U.S. at 33. Defen-
dants have made the required showing. According to
their theory of the case, the Government knew that
Agent Orange contained dioxin, and the Government
controlled the method of formulation. The action that
Plaintiffs challenge, the production of dioxin, natu-
rally would have occurred during the performance of
these government-specified duties. And even if Plain-
tiffs were to prove that the dioxin contamination
occurred because of an act not specifically contem-
plated by the government contract, it is enough that
the contracts gave rise to the contamination. Indeed,
whether the challenged act was outside the scope of
Defendants’ official duties, or whether it was specifi-
cally directed by the federal Government, is one for

18a

the federal — not state — courts to answer. See Wil-
lingham, 395 U.S. at 409.

Plaintiffs’ arguments to the contrary are unper-
suasive. They first claim that Agent Orange was an
off-the-shelf product and, therefore, could not have
been manufactured under color of federal office. As
we point out in our companion opinion, however,
commercially available products did not contain the
Agent Orange herbicides in a concentration as high
as that found in Agent Orange. See In re “Agent
Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., __ F.3d ___ (2008). Plain-
tiffs’ off-the-shelf argument thus fails.

Plaintiffs also suggest that the production of
Agent Orange was not under color of federal office
because Defendants voluntarily bid for the govern-
ment contracts under which they produced Agent
Orange. We find no authority for the suggestion that
a voluntary relationship somehow voids the applica-
tion of the removal statute. To require the relation-
ship to have been not only “special” but also coerced
makes little sense in light of the statute’s purpose,
and it is particularly strange when applied to natural
persons who are acting under a federal officer — all of
whom, we would trust, are doing so voluntarily.

In light of the broad interpretation that we must
afford the requirement that there be a causal connec-
tion between Defendants’ federal duties and the
conduct for which they are being sued, Defendants
have satisfied the “acting under” prong of the statute.

19a

III. Colorable Federal Defense

Finally, Defendants must raise a colorable fed-
eral defense. Jefferson County, 527 U.S. at 431; Mesa
v. California, 489 U.S. 121, 132-34 (1989). The dis-
trict court found that Defendants had raised a color-
able government contractor defense. Agent Orange II,
304 F.Supp.2d at 450. As described more fully in our
companion opinion, the government contractor de-
fense protects a government contractor from liability
under state tort law when the Government approved
the product’s general design, the product conformed
to that design, and the contractor warned the Gov-
ernment of the risks of the product. See In re “Agent
Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., __ F.3d ____ (2008).

Courts have imposed few limitations on what
qualifies as a colorable federal defense. At its core,
the defense prong requires that the defendant raise a
claim that is “defensive” and “based in federal law.”
Mesa, 489 U.S. at 129-30. More specifically, such
defense must “aris([e] out of [the party’s] official
duties.” Arizona v. Manypenny, 451 U.S. 232, 241
(1981). Given that the removal statute more generally
is “not ‘narrow’ or ‘limited’” and that one of its pur-
poses is “to have such defenses litigated in the federal
courts,” the federal defense requirement is satisfied
in “all cases where federal officers can raise a color-
able defense arising out of their duty to enforce
federal law.” Willingham, 395 U.S. at 406-07. To be
“colorable,” the defense need not be “clearly sustain-
able,” as the purpose of the statute is to secure that

20a

the validity of the defense will be tried in federal
court. Jd. at 407.

The government contractor defense, which is a
creature of federal common law and serves to protect
the interests of the Government rather than the
‘contractor defendant, see In re “Agent Orange” Prod.
Liab, Litig., _.. F.3d __ (2008), is “defensive” and
“federal,” Mesa, 489 U.S. at 129-30. Moreover, as
asserted by Defendants in this case, the defense
clearly “ar[ose] out of [Defendants’] duty” pursuant to
their contractual relationship with the Federal Gov-
ernment. Willingham, 395 U.S. at 407; see also Ma-
nypenny, 451 U.S. at 241. And as found by the district
court, Defendants’ assertions satisfy the particular
requirements of the defense. Agent Orange II, 304
F. Supp. 2d at 450.

Plaintiffs object, however, based on an argument
that (1) only “official immunity defenses” qualify as
“colorable federal defenses,” and (2) the government
contractor defense is not an “official immunity de-
fense” and, therefore, cannot satisfy the federal
defense requirement. Contrary to Plaintiffs’ claims,
we find no support for the proposition that only
“official immunity defenses” satisfy the “colorable
federal defense” requirement. Although Willingham
states that “one of the most important reasons for
removal is to have the validity of the defense of
official immunity tried in a federal court,” 395 U.S. at
407, the Court proffers official immunity as only one
reason for removal; it does not limit removal to situa-
tions that involve official immunity. Furthermore, in

2la

Mesa, the Supreme Court confirms that in Cleveland,
Columbus & Cincinnati. R.R. v. McClung, 119 U.S.
454 (1886), the defendant, a federal customs collector
being sued for violation of his federal duty, satisfied
the colorable federal defense requirement, not by
asserting official immunity, but by defending on the
basis that federal law did not impose any such duty.
Mesa, 489 U.S. at 129-30. Compliance with federal
law, therefore, provides a colorable federal defense
under some circumstances, but it is not coterminous
with an immunity defense.

Because we find that a defense need not be an
immunity defense to qualify as a colorable federal
defense under the removal statute, we need not
decide here whether the government contractor
defense is an immunity defense — an issue on which
courts have disagreed. Compare Murray v. Northrop
Grumman Info. Techs., Inc., 444 F.3d 169, 175 (2d Cir.
2006) (citing Boyle as analogous to the holding that a
private contractor administering a congressional job
training program for Irish nationals was entitled to
official immunity from state tort liability), Densberger
vu. United Tech. Corp., 297 F.3d 66, 75 (2d Cir. 2002)
(noting that Boyle “extended the immunity afforded
to the federal government’s discretionary functions
under the Federal Tort Claims Act to government
contractors”), and Kerstetter v. Pac. Scientific Co., 210
F.3d 431, 435 (5th Cir. 2000) (“Government contractor
immunity is derived from the government’s immunity
from suit where the performance of a discretionary
function is at issue.”), with United States ex rel. Ali v.

22a

Daniel, Mann, Johnson & Mendenhall, 355 F.3d 1140,
1147 (9th Cir. 2004) (“[T]he government contractor
defense does not confer sovereign immunity on con-
tractors.”), and In re Joint E. & S. Dist. N.Y. Asbestos
Litig. (Grispo v. Eagle-Picher Indus., Inc.), 897 F.2d
626, 631 (2d Cir. 1990) (noting that Boyle did not
grant military contractors “blanket immunity,” but
rather “hinge[d] the military contractor defense upon the
military contractor’s having followed a government-
approved requirement contrary to a state tort law duty”).

+ * *

The district court properly found that it had
jurisdiction over the present actions under the federal
officer removal statute. Defendants are “persons”
within the meaning of the statute who are entitled to
stand in the shoes of a federal officer because of the
“special relationship” they shared with the Govern-
ment. The production of dioxin occurred “under color
of [federal] office” because it occurred while Defen-
dants were performing their “official” duty, pursuant
to government contract, of manufacturing Agent
Orange. Finally, Defendants have adequately raised
the government contractor defense, which qualifies as
a colorable federal defense.

CONCLUSION

The order of the District Court denying Defen-
dants’ motions to remand is AFFIRMED.

23a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

i Aides tinneienenneeeiddowcone ».4
In re :
“AGENT ORANGE” > MDL No. 381
PRODUCT LIABILITY.
LITIGATION .
2 a ee a ee ee ».4
JOE ISAACSON and ; MEMORANDUM &

PHILLIS LISAISAACSON, : ORDER (REMOVAL)
—_ 98-CV-6383 (JBW)
Plaintiffs,
-against-

DOW CHEMICAL
COMPANY, et al.,

Defendants.

(Filed Feb. 12, 2004)

APPEARANCES:
For Plaintiffs Joe Isaacson; and Phillis Lisa Isaacson:

Williams, Cuker, Berezofsky

51 Haddonfield Road

Suite 160

Cherry Hill, NJ 08002-4804

By: Mark R. Kuker; Dan Bencivenga

Smoger & Associates

3175 Monterey Boulevard
Oakland, California 94602
By: Gerson Smoger

24a

For Defendant Hercules, Inc.:

Kelley Drye & Warren LLP

101 Park Avenue

New York, NY 10178

By: William A. Krohley; William C. Heck

For Defendant The Dow Chemical Company:

Rivkin Radler & Kremer

EAB Plaza

Uniondale, NY 11556

By: Steven Brock; James V. Aiosa

Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
666 Fifth Avenue

New York, New York 10103

By: James Lamont Stengel

For Defendant Occidental Chemical Corporation:

Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP
100 Maiden Lane

New York, NY 10038

By: Michael M. Gordon

For Defendant Monsanto Company:

Seyfarth Shaw LLP

1270 Avenue of the Americas

New York, NY 10022

By: John C. Sabetta; Andrew T. Hahn, Sr.

Latham & Watkins

One Newark Center
Newark, NJ 07101-3174
By: James E. Tyrrell

25a

For Defendant Omniroyal, Inc.:

Myron Kalish
50 East 79th Street
New York, NY 10021

For Defendants T.H. Agriculture & Nutrition Co.:

Clark, Gagliardi & Miller
99 Court Street

White Plains, NY 10601
By: Lawrence T. D’Aloise

Jack B. Weinstein, Senior United States District Judge:

Table of Contents
I. Introduction
Il. Facts
Ill. Law
A. General Rule
B. Elements of Section 1442(a)(1)
1. Definition of Person
2. Acting Under Color of Office

3. Colorable Claim to a Federal Law
Defense

IV. Application of Law to Facts

V. Policy Considerations Supporting Re-
moval

VI. Conclusion

26a

I. Introduction

Plaintiff, Joe Isaacson, is a Vietnam veteran. He
claims injuries from exposure to Agent Orange during
his service in Vietnam from 1968 to 1969. Defendants
manufactured and sold Agent Orange to the United
States for use by the military as a defoliant in Viet-
nam. This case has been remanded to determine
whether there is federal jurisdiction. See Stephenson
v. Dow Chemical Co., 346 F.3d 19 (2d Cir. 2003).

Originally filed in New Jersey state court, the
complaint alleged claims under state law only. Defen-
dants removed the case to federal court, asserting a
variety of jurisdictional grounds: 28 U.S.C. §§ 1651
(All Writs Act), 1442 (acting under federal officer),
1332 (diversity), and 1331 (federal question). The
District Court for the District of New Jersey approved
removai based on the All Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1651.
The case was then transferred to this court by the
Multidistrict Panel. MDL 381. The Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit approved removal solely on the
basis of the All Writs Act. Stephenson v. Dow Chemi-
cal Co., 273 F.3d 249 (2d Cir. 2001).

The Supreme Court remanded in light of its
holding in Syngenta Crop Protection, Inc. v. Henson,
537 U.S. 28 (2002), indicating that the All Writs Act
alone would not support removal. Dow Chemical Co.
v. Stephenson, 123 S. Ct. 2161 (2003) (per curiam). On
remand from the Supreme Court, the Second Circuit

determined that jurisdiction could not be grounded in
the All Writs Act and remanded the case to this court

27a

to determine if there is an alternate ground support-
ing federal jurisdiction. Stephenson v. Dow Chemical
Co., 346 F.383d 19 (2d Cir. 2003).

Pending is plaintiff’s motion to remand the case
to state court on the ground that there is no basis for
federal jurisdiction. Defendants contend that the case
is removable.

It would not be removable on diversity grounds
since diversity of parties is lacking. Nor would it be
removable on the ground that plaintiffs have stated a
federal cause of action since the Court of Appeals by a
split decision disagreed with this court that federal
substantive law was the predicate for Agent Orange
claims. See In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig.,
635 F.2d 987 (2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S.
1128 (1981). The only other basis is the federal officer
removal statute. 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1).

For reasons indicated below, the motion to re-
mand is denied. Federal jurisdiction is properly
asserted under the federal officer removal statute. A
prior decision of this court reached a contrary conclu-
sion in an Agent Orange case. See Ryan v. Down
Chemical Co., 781 F. Supp. 934 (E.D.N.Y. 1992). The
Ryan decision is no longer persuasive. As the Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit pointed out in rejecting
Ryan’s conclusion, this court recognized its decision
on the point as “close” and “uncertain.” Winters v.
Diamond Shamrock Chemical Co., 149 F.3d 387, 392
(5th Cir. 1998). Ryan was “not legally capable of
appellate review.” Jd. Winters, a persuasive appellate

28a

decision, on facts almost identical to those in Ryan
held the federal officer removal statute applicable to
the defendants in the instant case. Jd. at 401; see also
Miller v. Dow Chemical Co., 275 F.3d 414, 417 (5th
Cir. 2001) (same).

II. Facts

The facts supporting removal of the case on the
basis of the federal officer removal statute are set
forth in extensive contractual and other documents.
See In re “Agent Orange” Products Liability Litiga-
tion, Judgment and Order of Dismissal, __ F. Supp.
2d ___ (E.D.N.Y. Feb. 9, 2004) (“Judgment in Agent
Orange III”). Judgment in Agent Orange IIT contains

a description of the relevant facts. It is deemed incor-
porated in this memorandum and order.

Ill. Law
A. General Rule

The federal officer removal! statute allows execu-
tive branch officials and persons acting under them to
remove to a federal court civil and criminal actions
brought against them in a state court for their official
acts. The relevant portion of Section 1442(a)(1) of
Title 28 of the Untied States Code reads:

(a) A civil action or criminal prosecution
commenced in a State court against any of
the following may be removed by them to the
district court of the United States for the

29a

district and division embracing the place
wherein it is pending:

(1) The United States or any agency
thereo or any officer (or any person acting
under that officer) of the United States or of
any agency thereof, sued in an official or in-
dividual capacity for any act under color of
such office. ...

The statute has its origins in Congress’s response
to the New England states’ opposition to the War of
1812. Willingham v. Morgan, 395 U.S. 402, 405
(1969). Its reach was extended through the years,
taking its current form in the enactment of the Judi-
cial Code of 1948. Mesa v. California, 489 U.S. 121,
126 (1989).

Section 1442(a)({1) is designed to prevent state
courts from interfering with the implementation of
federal law. It does so by allowing those whose activi-
ties on behalf of the federal government may be
inhibited by state court actions to remove the cases to
a presumably less biased federal forum. If one defen-
dant may remove under section 1442, then the entire
case is removed to federal court even if some defen-
dants could not have removed the case under the
statute. See, e.g., Falls Riverway Realty v. City of
Niagra Falls, 754 F.2d 49, 52 (2d Cir. 1985) (noting
that one government defendant removed the “entire
case”); 3 Moore’s Federal Practice 7 1442.2. Subject
matter jurisdiction is conferred over properly re-
moved actions. Niagra Mohawk Power Corp. v. Bank-
ers Trust Co., 791 F.3d 242, 244 (2d Cir. 1986).

30a

In general, lawsuits may be removed from state
court to federal court only if a federal district court
would have had original jurisdiction over the suit —
the “well pleaded complaint rule.” Caterpillar, Inc. v.
Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 392 (1987). The federal officer
removal statute expands the scope of federal jurisdic-
tion; an action may be properly removed if it satisfies
three elements. See, e.g., Mesa, 489 U.S. at 136 (“The
removal statute itself merely serves to overcome the
‘well-pleaded complaint’ rule which would otherwise
preclude removal even if a federal defense were
alleged.”).

First, a defendant must demonstrate that it is a
“person” within the meaning of the statute. Second,
the defendant must establish that the suit is “for any
act under color of [federal] office,” i.e., there is a
“causal connection between the charged conduct and
asserted official authority.” Willingham, 395 U.S. at
409 (citations omitted). Causation exists if the predi-
cate acts of the state suit were undertaken while a
person was acting as or under a federal officer, and
the acts were under color of the relevant federal
office. Ryan, 781 F. Supp. at 939. Third, defendants
must raise a colorable claim to a federal law defense.
Mesa, 489 U.S. at 131-38.

Defendants claim to have been persons “acting
under” federal officers within the meaning of section
1442(a)(1) when they manufactured and delivered to
the Department of Defense for use in war the herbi-
cides that plaintiff alleges injured him. The primary
question in the instant case is whether defendants’

3la

conduct allegediy giving rise to plaintiffs’ state law
claims constituted acts under a federal officer within
the meaning of section 1442(a)(1).

B. Elements of Section 1442(a)(1)
1. Definition of Person

“(U]nless the context indicates otherwise ... the
words ‘person’ and ‘whoever’ include corporations,
companies, ..., and joint stock companies, as well as
individuals... .” 1 U.S.C. § 1. The Supreme Court has
not ruled on whether corporations can be considered
persons under the federal officer removal statute. In
its most recent explication of the meaning of “person,”
the Court held that a federal agency was not a person
under the statute. Int? Primate Protection League v.
Adm’r of Tulane Educ. Fund, 500 U.S. 72 (1991).
Responding to the International Primate decision,
Congress amended the statute to allow for removal by
federal agencies. Federal Courts improvement Act of
1996, Pub. L. 104-317, 110 Stat. 3847, 3850; see also
Nebraska ex. rel Dept. of Soc. Servs. v. Bentson, 146
F.3d 676, 678 (9th Cir. 1998); Dalrymple v. Grand
River Dam Auth., 145 F.3d 1180, 1184 n.6 (10th Cir.
1998) (deeming the amendment a legislative reversal
of International Primate).

Congress’s amendment of the statute to empha-
sizes its broad scope supports the conclusion that
“person” encompasses more than mere individuals.
Protection of federal government operations in today’s
organizational climate where so much of our economy

32a

and government outsourcing depends upon corpora-
tions requires this result. Under section 1442(a)(1) a
“person” includes a corporation. See Winters v. Dia-
mond Shamrock Chemical Co., 149 F.3d 387 (5th Cir.
1998); Thompson v. Comm. Ins. Co., 1999 U.S. Dist.
LEXIS 21725 (S.D. Ohio 1999); Arness v. Boeing N.
Am., Inc., 997 F. Supp. 1268, 1272 (C.D. Cal. 1998);
Ruffin v. Armco Steel Corp., 959 F. Supp. 770, 773
(S.D. Tex. 1997); Good v. Armstrong World Indus., 914
F.Supp. 1125, 1127-1128 (E.D. Pa. 1996); Fung uv.
Abex Corp., 816 F. Supp. 569, 572 (N.D. Cal. 1992);
Akin v. Big Three Indus., Inc., 851 F. Supp. 819, 822-
23 (E.D. Tex. 1994); Ryan, 781 F. Supp. at 946-47.

2. Acting Under Color of Federal Office

The “color of office” requirement should not be
frustrated by a “narrow” construction. Courts inter-
pret the rule broadly to achieve the protective pur-
pose of the statute. Willingham, 395 U.S. at 407. This
element requires a causal nexus between the defen-
dant’s actions under federal office and plaintiff’s
state court claims. Jd. at 409; Winters, 149 F.3d at
398. A substantial degree of direct and detailed
federal control over the defendant’s work is required.
Winters, 149 F.3d at 398; Arness, 997 F. Supp. at
1273.

Cases applying section 1442(a)(1) involving
defense contractors support the defense’s contentions
in the present litigation. In Winters, for example,
plaintiffs sued Agent Orange manufacturers under

33a

almost identical facts. See Judgment in Agent Orange
III. Defendants sought removal. The court deter-
mined that it was sufficient that the government
specified “the composition of Agent Orange so as to
supply the causal nexus between the federal officer’s
directions and the plaintiff’s claims.” Winters, 149
F.3d at 398. Central to the court’s holding was a
finding identical to that in the instant case — “that
the government maintained strict control over the

development and subsequent production of Agent
Orange.” Id. at 399.

The Fifth Circuit approved removal based on the
federal officer statute in a subsequent Agent Orange
case. Miller v. Dow Chemical Co., 275 F.3d 414, 417
(5th Cir. 2001). By contrast — unlike the case at bar —
federal control was almost nonexistent in Arness uv,
Boeing North American. The plaintiffs had sued
Boeing based on Boeing’s disposal of a toxic substance
used to “flush rocket engine hardware.” 997 F. Supp.
at 1273. Government specifications required Boeing
to clean the engines with a toxic substance, but did
not specify how Boeing was to dispose of the cleanser.
The court found that a federal officer did not direct or
control Boeing’s disposal of the toxin, and, thus, there
was no connection between the plaintiff’s claims and

Boeing’s actions at the direction of a federal officer.
Id. at 1275.

Akin v. Big Three Indus., Inc., illustrates a prop-
erly removable case. 851 F.Supp. 819 (E.D. Tex.
1994), removal aff’d by Akin v. Ashland Chemical
Co., 156 F.3d 1030 (10th Cir. 1998). A corporate

34a

manufacturer of jet engines was involved in a toxic
tort case arising out of chemical exposure at an Air
Force base. The defendants produced the jet engines
in accordance with government specification. Repair-
ing the engines involved a grinding process, which
necessarily gave rise to the emission of objectionable
chemicals. The court held that the “acting under”
requirement is satisfies when “a government contrac-
tor builds a product pursuant to Air Force specifica-
tions and is later sued because compliance with those
specifications allegedly causes person injuries. Id. at
823-24. Likewise, in Crocker v. Borden, the claim was
based on exposure to asbestos while the plaintiffs
were shipyard employees. 852 F. Supp. 1322 (E.D. La.
1994). Defendants utilized asbestos as insulation in
marine turbines. The marine turbines were manufac-
tured pursuant to government specifications for the
Navy. The court held that this government control
established the necessary “causal nexus.” /d. at 1327.
See also, e.g., Reed v. Fina Oil & Chemical Co., 995
F. Supp. 705 (E.D. Tex. 1998) (government dictated
processes through which the victim initially came
into contact with chemicals allegedly causing disease;
government controlled specifications of chemicals);
Pack v. AC and S, Inc., 838 F. Supp. 1099 (D. Md.
1993) (government had extensive control over manu-
facture of turbines, even specifying type of asbestos
cloth).

The “causal nexus” is also satisfied when there is
evidence of intimate government involvement in the
design decisions causally related to the alleged tort.

35a

As stated in Arness, defendants must show that the
government directed the actions on which the plain-
tiffs based their claims. 997 F.Supp. at 1275. By
contrast, in Good v. Armstrong World Industries, Inc.,
plaintiffs sued for injuries related to asbestos expo-
sure. 914 F. Supp. 1125 (E.D. Pa. 1996). The court
found that the Navy was involved in the design and
manufacture of the turbines, but that it did not
specify the use of asbestos. Acting under the general
direction of the Navy “is not the same as acting under
the direct and detailed control of a federal officer.” Id.
at 1129. But cf. Crocker v. Borden, 852 F. Supp. 1322
(1994) (opposite holding under similar facts). Simi-
larly, in Anderson v. Avondale Indus., Inc., defen-
dant’s attempt at removal was defeated by an
inability to prove “intimate government oversight or
involvement in the design or production of [a lagging
adhesive].” 1994 U.S. Dis. LEXIS 17598, *10 (E.D.
La. 1994).

3. Colorable Claim to a Federal Law Defense

Removal “must be predicated on the allegation of
a colorable federal defense.” Mesa, 489 U.S. at 129. In
deciding whether a defendant has such a defense,
courts reject a “narrow, grudging interpretation;” they
do not require that the defense is likely to be success-
ful on the merits. Jefferson County v. Acker, 527 U.S.
423, 431 (1999) (citation omitted).

36a

Support of removal may be predicated on the
federal government contractor defense. See, e.g. Judg-
ment in Agent Orange III; Winters, 149 F.3d at 401;
Miller, 275 F.3d at 418; Guillory v. Ree’s Contract
Serv., Inc., 872 F. Supp. 344, 346 (S.D. Miss. 1994)
(denying remova] on other grounds); Crocker, 852
F. Supp. at 1327; Akin, 851 F. Supp. at 823; AC & S,
Inc., 838 F. Supp. at 1103; Fung v. Abex Corp., 816
F. Supp. 569, 573 (N.D. Cal. 1992). But see Freiberg v.
Swinerton & Walberg Prop. Servs., 245 F. Supp. 2d
1144, 1151 n.5 (D. Colo. 2002) (questioning “whether
the government contractor ‘defense’ asserted by
Swinerton here is the type of federal interest or
immunity for which § 1442(a)(1) was intended to
provide an exclusively federal forum”).

IV. Application of Law to Facts

Defendants corporations are persons’ under
Section 1442(a)(1).

The government designed, controlled, and super-
vised the production of Agent Orange as a product
vital to the prosecution of the war in Vietnam. See
Judgment in Agent Orange III. Formal military speci-
fications and requirements for Agent Orange were
prepared and promulgated by the government. After
the testing of many different herbicides, the military
concluded that a mixture of the butyl esters of 2,4-D
and 2,4,5-T was most effective for military defoliation
purposes. Federal officers determined through govern-
ment specifications that the “formulation” for Agent

37a

Orange would be a 50/50 mix of the n-butyl] esters of
2,4-D and 2,4,5-T. The government determined that
“extremely high dose rates” of these undiluted herbi-
cides were required for effective military use.

Commencing in 1961, defendants produced and
delivered Agent Orange to the United States pursu-
ant to numerous contracts entered into with the
Defense General Supply Center, the Defense Fuel
Supply Center, the United States Army or the United
States Air Force. The contracts set forth or incorpo-
rated by reference detailed specifications for the
herbicide. Those specifications were promulgated by
the government. A government directive issued
pursuant to Section 101 of the Defense Production
Act of 1950 commandeered the United States indus-
try’s entire capacity to manufacture 2,4,5-T, ordering
defendants to accelerate the delivery of Agent Or-
ange. See, e.g., Hercules, Inc. v. United States, 516
U.S. 417, 419 (1996) (“The military prescribed the
formula and detailed specifications for manufacture.”)
The government also strictly and precisely defined
the markings that were to be placed on drums of
Agent Orange supplied by defendants, prohibiting the
placement of warnings.

The government was aware of the dioxin in Agent
Orange. It knew more about its dangers than defen-
dants. The herbicidal properties of 2,4-D and 2,4,5-T
were explored in research conducted by the United
States military during World War II. In the 1950s,
scientists at the Army Chemical Corps Warfare
Laboratories located at Edgewood Arsenal, Maryland

38a

learned of dioxin as a toxic by-product in the manu-
facture of 2,4,5-T. The President's Science Advisory
Committee (“PSAC”), an organization within the
White House, was briefed by the military on the
Vietnam defoliation program in 1963 and recognized
dioxin as an element in Agent Orange.

As the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
concluded in Winters and Miller, the Agent Orange
supplied to the government was not a ready-to-order,
preexisting or off-the-shelf chemical mixture. The
court noted in Winters:

Although the defendants had produced 2,4-D
and 2,4,5-T for commercial use before gov
ernment involvement, their commercial for-
mulations were never composed of a mixture
of 100% pure 2,4-D/2,4,5-T, which the gov-
ernment required for the most part (98% for
2,4-D and 99% for 2,4,5-T) in its contracts
with the defendants. Instead, the defendants
had always included a substantial percent-
age of inert ingredients to dilute the two ac-
tive ingredients and _ required further
dilution before commercial application. In
contrast, the government's specifications for
Agent Orange included use of the two active
chemicals in unprecedented quantities for

the specific purpose of stripping certain ar-
eas of Vietnam of their vegetation. To quickly
achieve this goal, the government dictated
that Agent Orange contain only the active

39a

ingredients 2,4-D and 2,4,5-T and it applied
the product in Vietnam without dilution.

Winters. 149 F.3d at 399: see also Miller, 275 F.3d at
419

This case is distinguishable from Arness v. Boe
ing North American. As already noted, in Arness,
defendants were sued based on the effect of their
method of disposal of a toxic by-product. 997 F. Supp.
At 1273. The government had not specified the man-
ner in which the toxic by-product would be disposed
of. Here, the government ordered specifications that
differed from defendants’ commercial applications. In
addition, the method of warning and application was
completely in the government’s hands.

The government’s full knowledge of the dioxin
“problem” inherent in the production of Agent Orange
is evidence that the federal officials maintained
control over the acts on which the litigation is based
See Miller, 275 F.3d 418; Winters, 149 F.3d at 400. See
also, e.g., Akin v. Big Three Indus., Inc., 851 F. Supp.
918 (E.D. Tex. 1994): Pack v. AC and S, Inc., 838
F. Supp. 1099 (D. Md. 1993); Fung v. Abex Corp., 816
F. Supp. 569 (N.D. Cal. 1992); Judgment in Agent
Orange Il,

The final element of removal under Section
1442(a)(1) is whether defendants have established a
“colorable federal [law] defense.” Mesa v. Califronia,
489 U.S. 121, 129 (1989). Although the Supreme
Court has stated that “one of the most important

reasons for removal is to have the validity of the

40a

defense of official immunity tried in a federal court,”
Willingham, 395 U.S. at 407, the Court did not limit
the scope of federal law defenses in removal cases to
immunities. The government contractor defense is a
colorable federal law defense in much the same way
self-defense is a colorable state law defense to civil
assault charges. In an assault case, the defendant
may claim: “He made me do it;” here a defendant may
properly assert, ““The Government made me do it.’”
In re Joint Eastern and Southern Dist. New York
Asbestos Litigation (Grispo v. Eagle-Picher Indsus
tries, Inc.), 897 F.2d 626, 632 (2d Cir. 1990).

An element of the government contractor defense
is that the contractor must inform the government of
any dangerous consequences known to it but not to
the government. This requirement is satisfied in the
present case. See Judgment Agent Orange III; see
also, e.g., Winters, 149 F.3d at 401.

The defendants have satisfied all elements for
removal to federal court based on section 1442(a)(1) of
Title 28 of the United States Code. As “persons”
acting under a federal officer, in the Agent Orange
litigation, defendants were proxies for the govern-

ment

V Policy Considerations Supporting Removal

The military contractor defense is based upon
substantive policy considerations as well as prag-
matic procedural factors in controlling litigation. The
government contractor defense provides substantive

4la

protection for the armed forces and its suppliers.
See Boyle v. Untied Technologies Corp., 487 U.S. 500,
512 (1988). Section 1442(a)(1) provides procedural
protection. Failure to apply the federal officer re-
moval statute would allow into the back door of state
litigation what the government contractor defense
barred at the front door.

If cases such as those in the present wave of
Agent Orange claims were scattered throughout state
courts manufacturers would have to seriously con-
sider whether they would serve as procurement
agents to the federal government. Since the advent of
Agent Orange litigation in 1979, mass tort law has
become more hazardous for defendants. While on
balance state tort law does more good than harm, its
vagaries and hazards would provide a significant
deterrent to necessary military procurement.

Because government contractor cases are
freighted with factual findings, Boyle, while laying
down a substantive rule, may be readily circum-
vented by state courts unsympathetic to the defen-
dants. Central to “Congress’ concern [was] local
hostility to federal authority.” Mesa, 489 U.S. at 140
(BRENNAN, J., concurring). “Congress has decided
that federal officers, and indeed, the Federai Gov-
ernment itself, require the protection of a federal
forum. This policy should not be frustrated by a
narrow, grudging interpretation of § 1442(a)(1).”
Willingham, 395 U.S. at 407. While there are theo-
retical protections in the Supreme Court’s power to
directly review a state court’s decision prejudicial to

42a

the federal government and its contractors, very few
cases can be reviewed by this route. Cf. Kermit Roo-
sevelt III, Light from Dead Stars: The Procedural
Adequate and Independent State Ground Reconsid-
ered, 103 Colum. L. Rev. 1888, 1918 (2003) (noting
that in habeas corpus cases that “the task of error-
correction, once the province of the Supreme Court on
direct review, has been farmed out to the district
courts.”).

VI. Conclusion

Plaintiffs’ motion to remand is denied. No costs or
disbursements.

SO ORDERED.

/s/ Jack B. Weinstein
Jack B. Weinstein

Dated February 9, 2004
Brooklyn, New York

43a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
DANIEL PATRICK MOYNIHAN
UNITED STATES COURTHOUSE
500 PEARL STREET
NEW YORK 10007

[CATHERINE O’HAGAN WOLFE,
CLERK Letterhead]

/

At a stated term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the Daniel
Patrick Moynihan United States Courthouse, 500
Pear] Street, in the City of New York, on the 7th day
of May two thousand eight.

Nos. 05-1820-cv, 05-1509-cv, 05-1693-cv, 05-1694-cv,
05-1695-cv, 05-1698-cev, 05-2450-cv.

Appellants having filed a petition for panel
rehearing, or, in the alternative, for rehearing en
banc, and the panel that determined the appeal
having considered the request for panel rehearing,
and the active members of the Court having consid-
ered the request for rehearing en banc,

44a

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the petition is
denied.

For the Court:
Catherine O'Hagan Wolfe, Clerk

By:
Frank Perez, Deputy Clerk

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386020_0740%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
