# Amicus Curiae Brief — Yarnell v. Cuffley

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1806%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 903

## Text

a OUPIGHR GUUN, Vo ff |
No. 00-289 FILED

SEP of 2000

In The
Supreme Court of the United States,

¢

J.T. YARNELL, in His Official Capacity as , Chief Engineer
of the Misso, oe of Transportation, et al.,

Petitioners,

MICHAEL CUFFLEY and the
KNIGHTS OF THE KU KLUX KLAN,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit
o

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE VIRGINIA, ARKANSAS,
CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA,
IDAHO, INDIANA, IOWA, KANSAS, KENTUCKY,
LOUISIANA, MAINE, MARYLAND, MINNESOTA,
MISSISSIPPI, MONTANA, NEVADA, NEW YORK,
OHIO, OKLAHOMA, OREGON, PENNSYLVANIA,
RHODE ISLAND, SOUTH CAROLINA, TENNESSEE,
VERMONT, WASHINGTON, WEST VIRGINIA,
AND WYOMING IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS
¢

Mark L. EARLEy
Attorney General of Virginia

Wiiuram H. Hurp
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record

AsHLeEY L. Tay.Lor, JR.
Deputy Attorney General

ALISON P. LANDRY
VALERIE L. Myers
Assistant Attorneys General

900 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219
(804) 786-2436

[Additional Counsel Listed On Inside Cover]

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800)
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342.9891

Mark Pryor
Attorney General
of Arkansas
323 Center Street
Suite 200
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

Bill Lockyer

Attorney General

State of California

1300 I Street, Suite 125

Sacramento, California
94244-2550

Ken Salazar
Attorney General
of Colorado
1525 Sherman Street
Denver, Colorado 80203

Robert R. Rigsby
Corporation Counsel
District of Columbia
441 4th St. N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20001

Alan G. Lance
Attorney General
of Idaho
P. O. Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0010

Karen M. Freeman-Wilson
Attorney General

of Indiana
219 State House
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Thomas J. Miller
Attorney General
of Iowa
Hoover State Office
Building
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

Carla J. Stovall
Attorney General
of Kansas $
120 S.W. 10th Avenue
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1597

Albert B. Chandler, III
Attorney General —

of Kentucky
The State Capitol
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Richard P. Ieyoub

Attorney General

- of Louisiana

One American Place

P. O. Box 94005

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
70804-9005

Andrew Ketterer
Attorney General
of Maine
Six State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0006

J. Joseph Curran, Jr.
Attorney General

of Maryland
200 St. Paul Place
Baltimore, Maryland 21202

Mike Hatch
Attorney General
of Minnesota
75 Constitution Avenue
St. Paul, Minnesota
55155-1002

Mike Moore
Attorney General
of Mississippi
P. O. Box 220
Jackson, Mississippi 39205

Joseph P. Mazurek

Attorney General
of Montana

P. O. Box 201401

215 N. Sanders

Helena, Montana
59620-1401

Frankie Sue Del Papa
Attorney General

of Nevada
1263 S. Stewart Street
Carson City, Nevada 89712

Eliot Spitzer
Attorney General
of New York
The Capitol
Albany, New York 12224

Betty D. Montgomery
Attorney General
of Ohio
30 E. Broad Street,
17th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215

W. A. Drew Edmondson

Attorney General
of Oklahoma

2300 N. Lincoln Boulevard,
Suite 112

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
73105-4894

Hardy Meyers
Attorney General

of Oregon
1162 Court Street, N.E.
Salem, Oregon 97310

D. Michael Fisher
Attorney General
of Pennsylvania
Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
17120

Sheldon Whitehouse
Attorney General
of Rhode Island
150 South Main Street
Providence, Rhode Island
02903

Charlie Condon
Attorney General
of South Carolina
P. O. Box 11549
Columbia, South Carolina
29211

Paul G. Summers
Attorney General and
Reporter of Tennessee
425 Fifth Avenue North
Nashville, Tennessee 67243

William H. Sorrell
Attorney General
of Vermont
109 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont
05609-1001

Christine O. Gregoire
Attorney General
of Washington
1125 Washington Street
P. O. Box 40100
Olympia, Washington
98504-0100

Darrell V. McGraw, Jr.
Attorney General
of West Virginia
State Capitol
Charleston, West Virginia
25305

Gay Woodhouse
Attorney General
of Wyoming
123 Capitol Building
Cheyenne, Wyoming
82002

ER Porm

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
pro ee iy 8 yy .. rrr ii
INTERESIS OF AMICI CURIAE..........000.ss000: 1
Es CE IEEE oon ccccnnccnccsencecenes 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... +
Summary (SUA See hn aRehe es yunesene’s Settee eens 4
THE HIGHWAY SIGNS AT ISSUE ARE THE SPEECH
8 ET eee reer er re eT ee Te eee 5

A State Has A Right To Control Its Own Speech... 5
Adopt-A-Highway Signs Are The Speech Of The

ee ea wake kn éuwee eae 7
THE KLAN MAY BE DENIED A SIGN UNDER PICK-

Ne Nee ek cds Obes eekes 10
ee re daa kw bab eas xs Caw 14

li

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases - Page
Capitol Square Review and Advisory Bd. v. Pinnette,

See Sis COO CRE WA a cdc ce hwy na renadeuascn ieee. 2
Marshall v. Bramer, 110 F.R.D. 232 (W.D. Ky. 1985),

afd, G26 F.2d SS (Gtr Cik. TSG) «2. oe vecccanssvcs. 2
McIntyre v. Ohio Elections Comm'n, 514 U.S. 334

(RIPE s 0a 0s 0 bk baa bas conan es Sheen ee ba eaaseaes 9
McMullen v. Carson, 754 F.2d 936 (11th Cir. 1985)..... 2

Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. Public Utilities Comm'n,
GIS Tis, bes aah S eo weve wlaertccuscakeevieeerus 9

Perry Educ. Ass‘n v. Perry Local Educators Ass'n, 460
ke 2) PEPE Tree eer ee ee 7

Pickering v. Board of Educ., 391 U.S. 563 (1968)... passim

Rosenberger v. Rector & Visitors of the Univ. of Va.,

Fae Gla EK CONE hoo dv cau eangeaeeedecwese cians 4, 6
Rast o. Suitigan, SUD US. 179 CRSS1). oc cccciccciaceses 6
Texas v. Knights of the Ku Klux Klan, 58 F.3d 1075

Gee GR BOS oa. ees asukanienerepeinwcvugecesd 11
United States v. National Treasury Employees Union,

DE MA GE CRP Sao es obA ca cebneusnackwanees passim
United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367 (1968)......... 14
Waters v. Churchill, 511 U.S. 661 (1994)........... 11, 12

Wooley v. Maynard, 430 U.S. 705 (1977)............... 6

lil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS Page

Mo. Cope Rac., tit. 7, § 10-14.030(1)......cccccccceess 8

Mo. Cope Rec., tit. 7, § 10-14.030(2)(A).............. 11

OTHER

Bill Dedman, Klan Gets Wish, But Fight Over Project
Continues, New York Times, Dec. 4, 1999 ........ 8, 12

Klan Kept Out of State Road Program, WASHINGTON
oe PPT eee ey rer re eee 13

Southern Poverty Law Center, Intelligence Project:
Hate Incidents 1999 (visited
oe OO eee Tree eter ree 3

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE VIRGINIA, ARKANSAS,
CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA,
IDAHO, INDIANA, IOWA, KANSAS, KENTUCKY,
LOUISIANA, MAINE, MARYLAND, MINNESOTA,
MISSISSIPPI, MONTANA, NEVADA, NEW YORK,
OHIO, OKLAHOMA, OREGON, PENNSYLVANIA,
RHODE ISLAND, SOUTH CAROLINA, TENNESSEE,
VERMONT, WASHINGTON, WEST VIRGINIA,
AND WYOMING IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE

The Amici are among the States that share the deep
concern felt by Missouri at the prospect of being forced to
honor the Ku Klux Klan on signs posted by the State
along public highways. Each of the Amici operates an
adopt-a-highway program similar to the one operated by
Missouri.! Each seeks to promote civic responsibility—and
save taxpayer dollars—by recruiting, training and coor-
dinating volunteers to assist in performing an essential
governmental function: keeping the roadsides free of
trash. Each has chosen to erect signs recognizing the
volunteers recruited to perform this task. None have
dedicated those signs to the speech of those volunteers.
Even less have the States dedicated their signs to the
speech of organizations that come to the program unbid-
den and unapproved. Yet, all the States may be deemed to
have done so if courts in their own jurisdictions follow
the decision of the Eighth Circuit.

The Amici are persuaded that the court of appeals has
erred and that the Constitution does not require the signs

1 Vermont is an exception. It does not operate an adopt-
a-highway program, but supports the rights of the States, as
described in this brief.

the Klan demands. The issue is of such importance to the
Amici that they urge the Court to take it up now, rather
than leave it to be fought over State-by-State and court-
by-court. Protracted litigation on a matter of such
obvious sensitivity carries with it the danger of unneces-
sary societal dissension and loss of public confidence in
our institutions of government. For these reasons, the
Amici respectfully urge the Court to grant the petition for
certiorari and to reverse the decision of the court of
appeals.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

There is no need to repeat here the facts of this
particular case. They are presented by the petition for
writ of certiorari filed by the State of Missouri. The Amici
do, however, wish to underscore those broader societal
facts that continue to cause concern about the Ku Klux
Klan, and that make urgent the need to resolve the issues
presented by this appeal. “There is little doubt that the
Klan’s main objective is to establish a racist white govern-
ment in the United States.” Capitol Square Review and
Advisory Bd. v. Pinnette, 515 U.S. 753, 770 (1995) (Thomas,
J., concurring). “There is uncontradicted evidence that
violent racism has become the Klan’s hallmark and has
not subsided to any appreciable extent since the Klan’s
founding shortly after the Civil War.” McMullen v. Carson,
754 F2d 936, 938 (11th Cir. 1985). Accord, Marshall v.
Bramer, 110 F.R.D. 232, 235 (W.D. Ky. 1985) (taking judi-
cial notice of numerous “cases in which the Ku Klux Klan
is identified as a violence-prone group with a history of
harassing, intimidating and injuring blacks and members

of other minority groups”), aff'd, 828 F.2d 355 (6th Cir.
1987).

As shown by records maintained by the Southern
Poverty Law Center, violence, vandalism and intimida-
tion continue to be perpetrated by Klansmen, or in the
Klan’s name. Recent examples include incidents last year
in California, Florida, Maryland, Tennessee and Virginia
in which the property of black Americans-including one
church-was defaced with the mark, “KKK.” Cross burn-
ings were perpetrated in many regions of the country,
and a Pennsylvania Klansman was convicted in Virginia
for burning a cross with intent to intimidate. Arson,
death threats, rape and attempted murder were also
traced to Klansmen in several states. See Southern Pov-
erty Law Center, Intelligence Project: Hate Incidents 1999
(visited Sept. 18, 2000).

Against this background, States now face the pros-
pect of being forced to validate the Klan through the
erection of highway signs announcing its presence as a
partner of government. The Amici view such signs as
interfering with the right of States to control their own
speech, making them implicit apologists for a group
opposed to the fundamental principles on which our
governments are founded. Even if such signs are viewed
as the speech of the Klan, they are nevertheless likely to
disrupt the efficiency of government, including the effi-
ciency of the very program that adopt-a-highway signs
are intended to promote. Either way, the facts not only
support the States in denying signs to the Klan, but
underscore the importance of the Court’s hearing this
appeal.

e

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Summary

Whose speech is it? This is the fundamental issue in
this case. Yet it is an issue which the court of appeals cast
aside as irrelevant. The district court also erred; it took
up the issue but decided it incorrectly. The speech at
issue is found on signs posted by a State in its right-of-
way and recognizes organizations that do the State’s
work. The signs are not the speech of the organizations
they recognize. They are the speech of the State, be it
Missouri or any of the other forty-seven States that oper-
ate similar adopt-a-highway programs. As this Court has
repeatedly recognized, government has the right to con-
trol its own speech. See, e.g., Rosenberger v. Rector & Visi-
tors of Univ. of Va., 515 U.S. 819 (1995). The First
Amendment is not implicated. The Court should hear this
case in order to vindicate and further clarify the right of
States to engage in speech.

Moreover, even if such a highway sign were the
speech of the organization it names, the State should still
be free to prevent the Ku Klux Klan from participating in
the adopt-a-highway program and/or from announcing
itself on the signs that ordinarily accompany such partici-
pation. As this Court has recognized, government as
employer may impose restraints on the job-related speech
of its employees that it could not impose on the public at
large. Such restraints are not subject to strict scrutiny but
are judged by the balancing test described by this Court
in Pickering v. Board of Educ., 391 U.S. 563 (1968) and
United States v. National Treasury Employees Union, 513 U.S.

454 (1995) (“NTEU”). When volunteers undertake to per-
form an essential governmental function under govern-
mental supervision-such as cleaning trash from the
roadside-they subject themselves to the same restraints
as could be imposed by government on the employees
whose tasks they assume. The restraint on speech
imposed here by Missouri satisfies the balancing test of
Pickering/NTEU. The Court should hear this case in order
to vindicate and clarify the right of States to use volun-
teers without surrendering the authority necessary to
manage public business efficiently and effectively.

.

THE HIGHWAY SIGNS AT ISSUE ARE THE
SPEECH OF THE STATE.

A State Has A Right To Control Its Own Speech.

The First Amendment protects citizens against gov-
ernmental interference with their freedom of speech. It is
a cherished freedom and one that the courts guard zeal-
ously, and rightly so. Yet, in its zeal, the court of appeals
has minimized the fact that government can also engage in
speech. When it does, the content of that message does
not implicate free speech guarantees of the First Amend-
ment.

Government speech is commonplace. Sometimes, the
purpose of the speech is to advance a governmental goal
or policy, such as discouraging teenage drinking, promot-
ing tourism or encouraging use of seatbelts. At other
times, the purpose is simply to commemorate some per-
son, place, or event that figures in the public life of the
state or nation. When a governor issues a proclamation

recognizing Consumer Protection Week or Agriculture
Week in his State, it is government speech. When a State
legislature erects a monument to the State’s war dead, it
is government speech. When the U.S. Postal Service
issues commemorative stamps to “Celebrate the Cen-
tury,” it is government speech. When New Hampshire
emblazons its license plates with the slogan, “Live Free or
Die,” it is “the State’s ideological message” that is dis-
played. Wooley v. Maynard, 430 U.S. 705, 715 (1977)
(emphasis added).

“[W]hen the State is the speaker, it may make con-
tent-based choices.” Rosenberger v. Rector & Visitors of the
Univ. of Va., 515 U.S. 819, 833 (1995). The First Amend-
ment “permit[s] the government to regulate the content
of what is or is not expressed when it is the speaker or
when it enlists private entities to convey its own mes-
sage.” Id. When government speaks, individuals and
groups are free to disagree with what is said, or the way
it is said. And, they cannot be made to serve as couriers
of the government’s message. See Wooley, 430 U.S. at 717.
They also have a right to change the government’s mes-
sage, if they can, through the democratic process. Yet,
they have no right to use a lawsuit to compel the govern-
ment to change its message or to adopt a message it
abhors. The First Amendment confers no such license.
See, Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173 (1991) (rejecting chal-
lenge to government regulation limiting expenditure of
public funds to family planning message favoring child-
birth over abortion). Thus, a State does not violate the
First Amendment by controlling its own speech. As the
discussion that follows will show, the erection of a high-
way sign honoring a volunteer organization that has
removed litter from the roadside is the speech of the

State, and is not subject to compulsion under the First
Amendment.

Adopt-A-Highway Signs Are The Speech Of The State.

When a State posts an adopt-a-highway sign honor-
ing an organization that has removed roadside litter -
such as the sign sought here by the Klan - the sign
contains the speech of the State, not the speech of the
organization. This is shown by the following six points:

First, the signs are purchased by the State, posted by
the State in the State right-of-way and remain the prop-
erty of the State. Ownership is key because “[t]he State,
no less than a private owner of property, has power to
preserve the property under its control for the use to
which it is lawfully dedicated.” Perry Educ. Ass’n v. Perry
Local Educators Ass'n, 460 U.S. 37, 46 (1983) (quotation
marks and citations omitted). Thus, as the owner of the
signs, the State has authority to decide whether they will
be designed to convey the messages of private citizens, or
its Own message.

Second, maintaining the highways is a function per-
formed from time out of mind by government as one of
its essential duties. Keeping the roadsides clean is part of
that function. Whether government performs that func-
tion by hiring and supervising employees, or by recruit-
ing and coordinating volunteers, makes no difference. It
remains a job for government. Missouri—and most States—
now carry out that job, in part, through adopt-a-highway
programs. The signs at issue here are part of that pro-
gram, and hence are part of an essential government
function.

Third, a State could conceivably compensate the
organizations that pick up litter by giving them a little
roadside billboard for whatever message they want to
post. Were it so, such billboards would not likely be
government speech. But that is not what the States do,
and it is certainly not what Missouri has done. Missouri
does not simply give billboard space to organizations that
pick up litter. Instead, Missouri has maintained control
over what will be posted on its signs, thus preserving the
messages as its own. This control is shown, for example,
by Missouri’s decision that its program is “not intended
as a means of providing a public forum for the partici-
pants to use in promoting name recognition or political
causes.” Mo. Cope Rec., tit. 7, § 10-14.030(1). The fact that
these regulations were not adopted until after this contro-
versy began is of little consequence. They merely state
formally what was already understood.

Fourth, if the Klan were to prevail in this case, the
sign that Missouri would be required to post, using its
typical sign format, would have the appearance of other
informational signs posted by Missouri on its highways.
It would say the following:

ADOPT-A-HWY
MI. LITTER CONTROL

KNIGHTS OF THE KU KLUX KLAN
REALM OF MISSOURI
See Bill Dedman, Klan Gets Wish, But Fight Over Project
Continues, New York Times, Dec. 4, 1999, at A10
(photograph of sign posted by Missouri in response to
court order). By its appearance, terms and manner of

erection, such a sign would cast the Missouri Adopt-
A-Highway Program as the speaker.

Fifth, even if such a sign were regarded as merely
giving information, it is a principle of First Amendment
jurisprudence that an individual cannot generally be
compelled to speak, even to convey facts he does not
wish to express. See generally, Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v.
Public Utilities Comm'n, 475 U.S. 1, 11 (1986) (“[A]ll
speech inherently involves choices of what to say and
what to leave unsaid. .. . ”); McIntyre v. Ohio Elections
Comm'n, 514 U.S. 334 (1995) (upholding right of speakers
to make decisions about omissions or additions to content
of their own publications). The First Amendment is gen-
erally viewed as protecting citizens from the government
and not the other way around. Yet, surely free speech
principles do not impose upon the people of a State in
their collective capacity a compulsion to speak from
which they would be insulated as individuals.

Finally, such a sign conveys more than information,
or even thanks. It advertises and promotes the State’s
adopt-a-highway program, a message that belongs to the
State. It also implies a message of acceptance, a message
that the State regards the Klan as a valuable member of
society just like the Rotary Club or the Jaycees who have
adopted the next stretch of highway down the road.? No

2 Such a message of acceptance is different from—and more
fundamental than-—a message of endorsement. A State might
allow, for example, the Young Republicans to adopt one stretch
of highway and the Young Democrats the next, and post signs
recognizing each group without endorsing the views of either
one. But, by posting such signs, the State would nevertheless

10

State views the Klan that way. Yet, it is precisely this
message of official validation that the Klan seeks from
Missouri, and it is for this reason, too, that the speech at
issue is the speech of the State. The Court should grant
certiorari so as to ensure that neither Missouri nor the
other States are compelled to use their speech to legiti-
mize the Klan.

+

THE KLAN MAY BE DENIED A SIGN UNDER
PICKERING AND NTEU.

The Supreme Court has repeatedly recognized that
government “may impose restraints on the job-related
speech of public employees that would be plainly uncon-
stitutional if applied to the public at large.” United States
v. National Treasury Employees Union, 513 U.S. 454, 465
(1995) (“NTEU”). To determine whether a restriction on
citizen speech is justified, the Court balances “the inter-
ests of the [employees], as . . . citizen[s], in commenting
upon matters of public concern and the interest of the
[government], as an employer, in promoting the effi-
ciency of the public services.” Pickering v. Board of Educ.,
391 U.S. 563, 568 (1968). Based on the facts present here-
and that would likely be present in other cases involving
the Klan-the principles of Pickering and NTEU afford
Missouri and other States broad discretion to deny adopt-
a-highway signs to the Klan.

The job of maintaining the highways in general—and
the task of litter removal in particular—are essential

send the message that it views both groups as contributing
members of society and within the pale of legitimacy.

11

government functions. This is so not only because the
government has ownership or other control over the
highways, but also because the task of litter removal is
one for which the free market offers no incentives. States
often perform this function through employees; however,
recent years have seen the growth of adopt-a-highway
programs in which private organizations volunteer to
perform this task under the supervision of the State.

Litter removal employees are subject to the additional
restraints that governments may impose upon the job-
related speech of those it hires. So, too, volunteers who
perform this same function may be similarly restrained.
Accordingly, Missouri acted constitutionally when it
retained the right to reject an application if “in its opin-
ion, granting the request would jeopardize the program,
be counterproductive to its purpose or have undesirable
results such as increased litter, vandalism or sign theft.”
Mo. Cope Rec., tit. 7, § 10-14.030(2)(A).

“(S]urely a public employer may, consistently with
the First Amendment, prohibit its employees from being
‘rude to customers’... .” Waters v. Churchill, 511 U.S. 661,
673 (1994). Yet it is much more disruptive to have govern-
ment employees—or volunteers—engage in speech that
reveals them to be not simply boors, but racists with a
well-established reputation for violence. Thus, if
employees hired by the government were to wear Klan
garb or hoist a Klan sign while removing trash from the
roadside, there is little doubt that the State could prohibit
such job-related speech under Pickering and NTEU. The
same is true when the Klan seeks to engage in similar
expression while picking up litter as volunteers in a
government program. See, Texas v. Knights of the Ku Klux

12

Klan, 58 F.3d 1075, 1079 (Sth Cir. 1995) (“presence of Klan
members on the highway in Klan attire picking up trash
at the entrance to the project would invite strife”).
What the Klan here seeks—a permanent sign announcing
its presence—may be similarly restricted if a State reason-
ably concludes that the posting of such a sign is likely to
disrupt the efficient delivery of government services.

This Court “ha[s] given substantial weight to govern-
ment employers’ reasonable predictions of disruption,
even when the speech involved is on a matter of public
concern.” Waters, 511 U.S. at 673. It is not difficult to see
how such disruption would occur here. For example,
Klan signs are likely to become targets for litter hurled at
them by passers-by wishing to vent their distaste for the
Klan. See Bill Dedman, Klan Gets Wish, But Fight Over
Project Continues, New York Times, Dec. 4, 1999, at A10
(“State police officials say they fear that motorists would
go out of their way to litter on the Klan’s mile of I-55.”).
Other forms of vandalism and theft are also likely to
occur, as this case shows. See id. (describing unauthorized
removal of two Klan highway signs in Missouri). More-
over, the presence of the Klan on roadside cleanup forays
might well incite hostile action by other citizens, thereby
resulting in breach of the peace, hazardous driving condi-
tions and/or diversion of law enforcement resources to
prevent or respond to such incidents.? Participation by

3 This is not to say that groups with views repugnant to the
majority may be excluded from use of the streets as a traditional
public forum for parades or other demonstrations. But, such
right is always subject to reasonable time, place and manner
regulations; and parade permits are not at issue here. The
restraints that government may impose as an employer do not
evaporate when the job takes place on the public streets.

13

the Klan could also diminish the incentive of other
groups to participate and could lead ‘governments to
conclude that, on balance, the program is not worth pur-
suing. See Klan Kept Out of State Road Program, WaAsHING-
TON Post, Apr. 3, 1999, at B3 (describing decision of
Maryland’s Anne Arundel County to discontinue its
adopt-a-highway program because of the Klan).

Against these very real concerns about the efficiency
of public services must be weighed whatever interests the
Klan may have in commenting on matters of public con-
cern. See Pickering, 391 U.S. at 568. What message would
the Klan convey by a sign that starkly announces its
presence but says little more? Is the message that even an
avowedly racist group can be environmentally sensitive?
Such organizational self-promotion is not a matter of
public concern. Or is the message that the Klan is in town
and that racial minorities had best beware? Such a mes-
sage of intimidation may be a matter of public alarm, but
it falls outside the legitimate public discourse that Picker-
ing seeks to protect when it uses the phrase, “matters of
public concern.”

Even if the message conveyed by the work-related
highway sign were a “matter of public concern,” the -
denial of such a sign to the Klan would still leave open
ample alternative channels of communication. The Klan
could still deliver its message through all other lawful
means of communication, including any billboards it
might rent or lawfully post as a private group. The bal-
ancing test defined by Pickering and NTEU weighs in
favor of the State and against the Klan. Thus, even if the

14

Klan were entitled to participate in picking up litter (an
entitlement the Amici dispute‘), it still would have no
entitlement under the First Amendment to a State-pur-
chased sign announcing its presence. The Court should
hear this case in order to affirm the right of States to
apply to the job-related speech of volunteers the same
restrictions allowed with respect to the speech of
employees.

CONCLUSION

This case is not about the protections afforded by the
First Amendment to those who hold unpopular views.
This case is about the right of the people—acting through
their elected representatives-to engage in their own
speech as a body politic. And it is about the right of the
people to have a government whose essential operations
are not unduly disrupted by the work-related speech of
those whom it has recruited to carry out those operations.

4 The Amici take issue with the Eighth Circuit’s conclusion
that picking up litter is a form of speech. See Pet. App. 4a-5a, n.3.
To the extent that any speech element may be involved, it is at
most expressive conduct governed by the less demanding test
described by this Court in United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367
(1968). Of course, as a practical matter, recognizing the State’s
right to deny the Klan a sign is likely to blunt the Klan’s
enthusiasm for assisting government efforts to maintain public

highways.

ee

15

For the foregoing reasons, the Amici respectfully urge the
Court to grant the writ of certiorari sought by Missouri.

September 22, 2000
Respectfully submitted,

Commonwealth of Virginia,
Mark L. EARLEY
Attorney General of Virginia

WituamM H. Hurp
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record

AsHLeY L. TaAyYLor, JR.
Deputy Attorney General

A.tison P. LANDRY

VALERIE L. Myers

Assistant Attorneys General
900 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219
(804) 786-2436

Additional Counsel Listed
On Inside Cover

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1806%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
