# Opposition Brief — Fletcher v. Pennsylvania

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1780%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 531 U.S. 1035

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

NO. 00-258

NOV 22000

IN THE | | )
SUPREME COURT OF THE U D-STATES

ANTHONY FLETCHER,

Petitioner
V.

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,

Respondent

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

1421 Arch Street
Philadelphia, PA 19102
(215) 686-5700

RONALD EISENBERG
Deputy District Attorney
(Counsel of Record)
ANTHONY V. POMERANZ
Assistant District Attorney
CATHERINE MARSHALL
Chief, Appeals Unit
ARNOLD H. GORDON
First Asst. District Attorney
LYNNE ABRAHAM
District Attorney

\

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

l. Was petitioner's claim that the trial court
unconstitutionally restricted his testimony at the penalty hear-
ing presented to or passed on by the court below?

(Not raised or considered in the court below.)

ya Where the trial court did not prevent petitioner
from testifying that the murder was not drug related, was
petitioner denied his right to testify?

(Not raised or considered in the court below.)

x Was petitioner's claim that the trial court vio-
lated the confrontation clause-by admitting Ronald Williams’
Statement presented to or passed on by the court below.)

(Not raised or considered in the court below.)

4. Where Ronald Williams' statement was
admissible under two hearsay exceptions, did the court err in
admitting the statement?

(Not raised or considered in the court below.)

>. Was petitioner's claim that the prosecutor
unconstitutionally argued for a capital sentence presented to

or passed on by the court below?

(Not raised or considered in the court below.)

6. Where the prosecutor did not criticize peti-
tioner for failing to present his version of the offense; prop-
erly challenged the credibility of petitioner's testimony; and

did not improperly seek a capital sentence based on venge-
ance, were those remarks constitutionally impermissible?

(Not raised or considered in the court below.)

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented

Table of Contents

Table of Authorities

Opinion Below

Jurisdiction

Counter-Statement of the Case

Reasons for Denying the Writ

I. Petitioner's claim that the court
erroneously restricted his testi-
mony at the penalty hearing is

waived; it also fails to present
a meritorious federal question.

II. Petitioner's claim that the trial
court improperly admitted an
alleged hearsay statement is
waived; it also fails to present
a meritorious federal question.

Ill. _ Petitioner's claim that the prose-
cutor committed misconduct in
his penalty hearing closing
argument is waived; it also fails

5-10

10-19

iV

to present a meritorious federal
question. - 20-25

Conclusion 26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Federal Cases

Adams v. Robertson, 520 U.S. 83, 117 S. Ct.
1028 (1997)

Barber v. Scully, 731 F.2d 1073 (2d Cir.
1984)

Barker v. Morris, 761 F.2d 1396 (9th Cir.
1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1063
(1986)

Board of Dirs. of Rotary Int'l v. Rotary Club
of Duarte, 481 U.S. 537 (1987)

California v. Brown, 479 U.S. 538 (1987)

California v. Green, 380 U.S. 149 (1970)
Crane v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 682 (1986)

Crawford v. United States, 212 U.S. 202
(1909)

Doyle v. Ohio, 426 U.S. 610 (1976)

Drake v. Kemp, 762 F.2d 1449 (11th Cir.
1985), cert. denied, 478 U.S. 1020
(1986)

Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74 (1970)

23

25

vi

Duvall v. Reynolds, 139 F.3d 768 (10th Cir.),
cert. denied, 525 U.S. 933 (1998)

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976)

Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958)

Howard v. Moore, 131 F.3d 399 (4th Cir.
1997)

Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213 (1983)

Lilly v. Virginia, 527 U.S. 116 (1999)

Moore v. Reynolds, 153 F.3d 1086 (10th Cir.
1998), cert. denied, 526 U.S. 1025 (1999)

Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980)

Portuondo v. Agard, 120 S. Ct. 1119 (U.S.
2000)

Rock v. Arkansas, 483 U.S. 44 (1987)

Shepard v. United States, 290 U.S. 96 (1933)

United States v. Barone, 114 F.3d 1284 (lst
Cir.), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 1021 (1997)

United States v. Brennan, 994 F.2d 918 (ist

Cir. 1993)

PAGE

25
25

12

24

11,20,21

12,15,16

17

14

24

14

24

Vii

United States v. Cabrera, 201 F.3d 1243 (9th
Cir. 2000) |

United States v. Chappell, 698 F.2d 308 (7th
Cir.), cert. denied, 461 U.S. 931 (1983)

United States v. Gignac, 119 F.3d 67 (1st
Cir.), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 975 (1997)

United States v. Matthews, 20 F.3d 538 (2d

Cir. 1994)

United States v. McManaman, 653 F.2d.458
(10th Cir. 1981)

United States v. Ortiz, 422 U.S. 891 (1975)

United States v. Sasso, 59 F.3d 341 (2nd Cir.
1995)

United States v. Shukri, 207 F.3d 412 (7th
Cir. 2000)

United States v. Vretta, 790 F.2d 651 (7th
Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 851 (1986)

United States v. Williams, 504 U.S. 36 (1992)

PAGE

24

15

6,19,20

14,15,16

15

11,20,21

14,15,16

14

17

11,20,21

Vili

State Cases

Commonwealth v. Chandler, 554 Pa. 401, 721
A.2d 1040 (1998)

Commonwealth v. Collins, 550 Pa. 46, 703
A.2d 418, cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1015
(1998)

Commonwealth v. Fletcher, 561 Pa. 266, 750
A.2d 261 (2000)

Commonwealth v. Goldblum, 498 Pa. 455,
447 A.2d 234 (1982)

Commonwealth v. Puksar, 559 Pa. 358, 740
A.2d 219 (1999), cert. denied (U.S. 10/2/00)

Federal Statutes

28 U.S.C. § 1257(a)

State Statutes

42 Pa.C.S.A. § 9711 (d) (7)

PAGE

18

19
4,8,
11,20

18

18

ix

3,4

1X

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania is
reproduced at petitioner's Appendix A and is also reported at
561 Pa. 266, 750 A.2d 261 (2000).

JURISDICTION

This Court has jurisdiction to consider the petition
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner shot a man to death on a street corner for
his failure to pay drug-trafficking proceeds. A Pennsylvania
jury convicted petitioner of murder of the first degree and
possessing an instrument of crime (Biils Nos. 6001, 6003,
March Term, 1992). The jury sentenced petitioner to death.
It found that in committing the offense petitioner knowingly
created a grave risk of death to another person in addition to
the victim of the murder; and that petitioner committed the
murder to promote his drug activities.’ Petitioner seeks
certiorari.

Petitioner was a drug dealer in Southwest Philadel-
phia in March, 1992. At the beginning of that month, he con-
signed a package of crack cocaine to Vaughn Christopher, the
victim, to sell. Christopher either smoked the crack himself
or spent the money from the sale of the drugs; he failed to
pay petitioner the proceeds. Sometime after midnight on
March 2, 1992, Christopher was standing on a sidewalk in
the 2000 block of South 60th Street talking to Ronald "Skeet"
Williams and Natalie "Ne Ne" Grant. Petitioner approached
the group and asked Christopher for the proceeds of the crack
sale (N.T. 1/20/93, 22, 31; 1/21/93, 10-11; 1/22/93, 6-9;
2/1/93, 27-31, 57).

Before Christopher could respond, petitioner drew a
silver .380 caliber semi-automatic pistol from beneath his
jacket and fired a shot at Christopher's feet while Christopher
stood next to Williams and Grant. Christopher began to flee;
petitioner pursued. Petitioner aimed at Christopher and fired
two more shots. One bullet struck the victim in the right
flank and perforated his right kidney, liver and chest wall.

The jurors found two mitigating circumstances.

The second bullet passed through the victim's right thigh.
Christopher fell against a parked car. He called out to Wil-
liams for help; Williams declined to intervene (N.T. 1/19/93,
116; 1/20/93, 4; 1/21/93, 10-13, 57; 1/25/93, 90-94; 1/26/93,
12-15; 2/1/93, 25, 32-33).

Christopher careened down the street, turned the cor-
ner and stumbled down the 5900 block of Greenway Street,
where he collapsed against a fence. Several minutes later,
the police found him there, unconscious. Emergency person-
nel were summoned and rushed him to the hospital, where he
was pronounced dead (N.T. 1/19/93, 63-69; 1/21/93, 11).

Petitioner left the murder scene, changed his clothes,
and returned. Upon encountering Williams and Grant, he
told them, "You all better tell that boy he better not tell who
shot him." He then left the scene. Six days later, petitioner
encountered Grant on a street corner. Referring to the mur-
der, he said that he had been told that Grant was planning to
"snitch" on him. Grant denied that she had spoken to the
police. Petitioner told her that "Skeet" had told him he
should kill her. Grant promised petitioner that she would not
tell the police what she knew about the murder (N.T. 1/22/93,
13-17).

Several days later, petitioner came to Grant's home.
Instead of threatening her again, he gave her money. A few
days later, however, Grant heard that petitioner's friends were
looking for her and that there was a planned "hit" on her,
which she understood to mean a plan to murder her (N.T.
1/22/93, 17, 117; 1/25/93, 15).

After receiving information from witnesses to the
murder, the police arrested petitioner. Petitioner waived his
Miranda rights and gave a statement. He declared that he had

an altercation with the victim on the night of the murder.
Petitioner, a former professional boxer, claimed that he
punched the victim in the face in retaliation for the victim's
robbery of him several days earlier. According to petitioner,
the victim then drew a handgun, and petitioner grabbed him.
During the struggle, the victim allegedly shot himself with
his own gun (N.T. 1/25/93, 65-80).’

Petitioner was tried by a Pennsylvania jury sitting
before the Honorable Robert A. Latrone. On January 29,
1993, the jury found petitioner guilty of murder of the first
degree and possessing an instrument of crime. At the penalty
hearing, the Commonwealth established the aggravating cir-
cumstances that in committing the offense petitioner know-
ingly created a grave risk of death to another person in
addition to the victim of the offense;’ and that petitioner
committed the murder to promote his drug activities.* Peti-
tioner sought to prove mitigation with evidence of his charac-
ter and the circumstances of his offense;’ and that he was
under the influence of extreme mental or emotional

: Petitioner attempts to minimize the evidence of the drug-

related nature of the murder (Petition at 3). However, as he notes
in the Statement of the Case, further evidence that petitioner killed
the victim for using petitioner's crack instead of selling it is pro-
vided by the fact that the victim had recently-ingested cocaine in
his system at the time of his death (Petition at 2).

4 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 9711 (d) (7).
’ 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 9711 (d) (14).

5 _ 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 9711 (e) (8).

disturbance.° The jury found two aggravating and two miti-
gating circumstances. On February 5, 1993, the jury unani-
mously found that the aggravating circumstances outweighed
the mitigating circumstances, and returned a verdict of death.
Post-verdict motions were filed. New counsel was appointed
and filed supplemental post-verdict motions. On December
26, 1995, after 2 hearing, the judge denied petitioner's post-
verdict motions. On February 21, 1996, the judge formally
reimposed petitioner's death sentence and imposed a concur-
rent two and one half to five year sentence for possessing an
instrument of crime.

On appeal to the Pennsylvania Supreme Court, peti-
tioner raised twenty-seven claims of error, including asser-
tions that he was deprived of his right under Pennsylvania
law to demonstrate that the murder was not drug related; that
trial counsel was ineffective, under Pennsylvania law, for
failing to object to the cross-examination of Ronald Williams
with an alleged hearsay statement; and that trial counsel was
ineffective, under Pennsylvania law, for failing to object to
the prosecutor's assertion at the penalty hearing that the mur-
der was drug related.

On March 24, 2000, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court
affirmed petitioner's judgments of sentence. Commonwealth
v. Fletcher, 561 Pa. 266, 750 A.2d 261 (2000). Petitioner
filed an Application for Reargument, which was denied on
May 15, 2000.

In this Court, petitioner claims, for the first time, that
he was deprived of constitutional rights when he wz. alleg-
edly prevented from testifying that the murder was not drug-
related. Additionally, he changes his previous claim -- that

. 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 9711 (e) (2).

EE Ne a ee NES NN ee SR See ee

counsel was ineffective for failing to object to the examina-
tion of Ronald Williams with his alleged hearsay statement --
and instead argues that the Pennsylvania Supreme Court
erred in approving the use of the statement. Finally, peti-
tioner transforms another prior claim -- that trial counsel was
ineffective for failing to object to the prosecutor's assertion at
the penalty hearing that the murder was drug related -- into a
claim that the prosecutor committed misconduct by com-
menting on petitioner's failure to explain the circumstances of
the murder when he testified at the sentencing hearing; by
allegedly commenting on petitioner's right to silence when he
argued that petitioner's testimony was not really remorseful;
and by urging the jury not to decide the penalty merely by
exercising mercy on petitioner. Despite petitioner's attempt
to invoke this Court's jurisdiction by re-fashioning his claims,
no such claims were properly raised or preserved below, and
none presents significant issues. Accordingly, review should
be denied.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. PETITIONER'S CLAIM THAT THE COURT
ERRONEOUSLY RESTRICTED HIS TESTI-
MONY AT THE PENALTY HEARING IS
WAIVED; IT ALSO FAILS TO PRESENT A
MERITORIOUS FEDERAL QUESTION.

Petitioner shot and killed Vaughn Christopher. He
was convicted of murder of the first degree. Petitioner
declined to testify at trial. At the penalty hearing, petitioner
and his witnesses provided extensive testimony in support of
mitigation, and denied that he had any involvement with
drugs. The only limitation placed on his testimony was that
he could not deny committing the murder altogether. Peti-
tioner made no objection to this proper limitation. Instead,

he repeatedly denied any involvement with drugs, but under-
standably chose not to present the specific testimony that he
now claims was excluded: that is, testimony that he really
did murder the victim in cold blood, but that he did not do it
because of drugs. Accordingly, because he did not object to
the only limitation actually imposed by the trial judge, he
may not have review of his claim. See United States v. Gig-
nac, 119 F.3d 67, 69-70 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 975
(1997) (defendant's failure to object at trial to evidentiary rul-
ing precludes appellate review).’ -

In any case, the claim does not present a meritorious
federal question. The trial court did not improperly limit
petitioner's testimony, and did not prevent him from conced-
ing first degree murder while offering an alternative motive,
as an examination of the record demonstrates.

At the outset of the penalty hearing, counsel advanced
a series of motions that petitioner had asked him to make.*

; Petitioner makes no attempt to excuse his waiver of his

claim; he simply asserts that the court erred, as if he had objected
at the time. In reality, there was no objection at trial because the
trial court never imposed the limitation petitioner now raises as
error. See infra.

. These included, inter alia, an objection to the court's
refusal to give a voluntary manslaughter instruction; a motion to
reduce petitioner's conviction to murder of the third degree; a
motion to preclude the prosecution from presenting evidence to
support the aggravating circumstance involving endangering oth-
ers in the course of the murder; a motion for a mistrial based on
the introduction of Ronald Williams’ statement; a motion to pre-
clude the prosecution from proving the aggravating circumstance
of a drug-related killing; and a motion for the appointment of new
counsel (N.T. 2/1/93, 3-6).

Counsel then informed the court that he had told petitioner
that he believed the court would not allow him to testify con-
cerning "the facts" of the killing:

I have advised [petitioner] that
preliminarily ... if [petitioner]
testified in this matter about
the facts of the case in terms of
what happened, that the court
would prohibit that
testimony...

N.T. 2/i/93, 7. The court, however, corrected counsel's
assertion, indicating that it would only preclude testimony
that was offered to exculpate defendant for the crimes of
which he was convicted:

The defendant trying to testify
at the penalty stage in exculpa-
tion of his criminal culpability
as to the charge for which he
stands trial is an inappropriate
area of inquiry and inadmissi-
ble evidence...

**e KK HK

He has the right to take the wit-
ness box in his own behalf, but
he cannot testify to exculpate
himself from the verdict of

guilt.

N.T. 2/1/93, 7-9.’ Petitioner then presented a penalty
defense, including his own testimony. He chose not to pre-
sent extensive testimony concerning the circumstances of the
murder. He did, however, deny any involvement with drugs.
He also specifically asserted both that he had turned down an
offer from some Jamaican men to serve as a bouncer at a
drug house and that he had never sold drugs (N.T. 2/2/93,
138-40, 145). Additionally, the jury knew from the admis-
sion at trial of petitioner's statement (which was incorporated
into the record of the penalty hearing), that petitioner claimed
that the murder arose from a prior robbery during a craps
game and not from circumstances relating to drugs (N.T.
1/25/93, 76-80; 2/2/93, 20)."°

Significantly, the only portion of the transcript peti-
tioner cites to support his assertion that the trial court pre-
vented him from testifying that the killing was not drug
related is a colloquy between defense counsel and petitioner
during which the court does not speak at all. During that

: Counsel then stated that he had advised petitioner that, if
petitioner "were to suggest or testify that he was not a person
engaged in drug-related activity, that on rebuttal, the Common-
wealth would be permitted to introduce into evidence [petitioner's]
prior conviction for drugs" (N.T. 2/1/93, 9).

4 Petitioner reads the Pennsylvania Supreme Court's opinion
to support his assertion that he was prevented from testifying that
the murder was not drug-related (Petition at 12). He is mistaken.
The Pennsylvania Supreme Court noted that petitioner's claim was
that he was prevented from testifying that the shooting was not
drug-related. However, the Court properly held that the trial court
only prevented petitioner from testifying that he was not guilty of
the murder. Nowhere did the Pennsylvania Supreme Court hold
that petitioner was prevented from testifying that the shooting was
not drug-related. Commonwealth v. Fletcher, 750 A.2d 261, 277.

colloquy -- in which counsel sought to persuade petitioner
not to testify -- counsel mischaracterizes the nature of the
court's ruling, portraying it as more limiting than it was (N.T.
2/2/93, 105-06). This is hardly support for the proposition
that the court denied petitioner his right to testify. Moreover,
the decision to focus petitioner's testimony on favorable ele-
ments of his character, and not to concede that he had in fact
committed a cold-blooded murder but had done so over of a
robbery during a craps game and not drugs, was well-chosen.
It is unimaginable -- regardless of petitioner's argument that
he could have defeated an aggravating circumstance with tes-
timony that the murder was over gambling and not drugs --
that a jury would have been more sympathetic as a result of
such testimony, and very likely both that the jury would have
retumed a capital sentence and that petitioner would now be
challenging counsel's decision to have him concede commit-
ting the murder but disputing his motive."

Petitioner's cases are factually distinguishable from
this case. The transcript here shows that the trial court did
not improperly restrict his penalty testimony. Thus, Rock v.
Arkansas, 483 U.S. 44 (1987) (finding unconstitutional
Arkansas' categorical prohibition of hypnotically-refreshed
testimony); Crawford v. United States, 212 U.S. 202 (1909)
(non-constitutional decision holding that an accused may tes-
tify at a trial about his motive in taking an action); and Crane

“ Petitioner makes a related meritless assertion that the
prosecutor was improperly permitted to "relitigate" petitioner's
drug-related motive by presenting evidence at the penalty hearing
of his involvement with drugs (Petition at 13). Because the prose-
cutor was seeking the application of the aggravating circumstance
pertaining to a drug-related killing, evidence of petitioner's con-
nection with drugs was relevant and admissible at the penalty
hearing. Petitioner was free to address the issue as well.

10

v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 682 (1986) (that a confession has been
found voluntary by a judge prior to trial does not preclude a
trial challenge of the reliability of the confession; it is the
jury's role to determine witness credibility), do not avail him.
Petitioner was entitled to testify to the applicability of aggra-
vating and mitigating circumstances, including the circum-
stances of the offense. The court did not prevent him from
doing so; he was free to admit the murder but claim it arose
from a non-drug motivation. He in fact did present evidence
that he was not involved in drug-selling, and the jury had
before it his statement that the killing arose out of a gambling
dispute. That petitioner chose not to do more is in no way
akin to a ruling that prevented him from doing so.

Il. PETITIONER'S CLAIM THAT THE TRIAL
COURT IMPROPERLY ADMITTED AN
ALLEGED HEARSAY STATEMENT IS
WAIVED; IT ALSO FAILS TO PRESENT A
MERITORIOUS FEDERAL QUESTION.

Petitioner asserts that the Pennsylvania Supreme
Court violated the confrontation clause by approving the
admission of the victim's statement to Ronald Williams that
he had smoked some drugs he was supposed to sell for peti-
tioner (Petition at 13-20).'? This claim is unreviewable for
multiple reasons. First, petitioner raised no such claim of
court error below; instead he claimed only that trial counsel
was ineffective for failing to object to the cross-examination
of Williams with the victim's alleged hearsay statement,
thereby explicitly conceding his failure to object to the intro-
duction of the statement at trial. The Pennsylvania Supreme

2 The victim had actually told Williams "that he had f__ed
up a package of dope that belonged to [petitioner]. He smok{ed]
up all the crack in the package[.]”

11

Court reviewed and rejected petitioner's claim as a claim of
ineffective assistance of counsel. Commonwealth v.
Fletcher, 750 A.2d at 275-76. Petitioner's claim that the
Statement's admission constitutes court error is therefore
raised for the first time in this Court and is, therefore,
unreviewable. United States v. Williams, 504 U.S. 36
(1992); Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213 (1983); United States
v. Ortiz, 422 U.S. 891 (1975).

Moreover, even in the guise of his ineffective
assistance claim, petitioner did not assert a violation of the
confrontation clause below; his claim addressed only
Pennsylvania law.'* For this reason as well, petitioner's claim
is improperly presented to this Court and unreviewable.
United States v. Williams, supra; Illinois v. Gates, supra:
United States v. Ortiz, supra."

= In his brief to the Pennsylvania Supreme Court, referring
to the trial testimony of Ronald Williams at N.T. 1/29/93, 36-44,
petitioner claimed that his "trial counsel was ineffective in failing
to object to hearsay testimony...describing a motive for the shoot-
ing" (emphasis supplied). In his argument, petitioner related that a
statement introduced on cross-examination indicated that the vic-
tim had "received from [defendant] a package of drugs but failed
to account for the proceeds thereof." Petitioner complained that
"Such testimony was clearly hearsay, but defense counsel did not
object thereto.” Petitioner's ineffectiveness claim did not mention
any constitutional theory of denial of confrontation rights. The
sole and very specific basis of the ineffectiveness claim was trial
counsel's failure to object to “hearsay testimony." This invoked
the state law of evidence, not the confrontation theory to which
petitioner now turns in hindsight. Petitioner's brief did not even
mention the word "confrontation."

vi Petitioner's assertion, in a post-appeal petition for
(Continued)

12

That petitioner raised an unsuccessful ineffectiveness
claim based on a hearsay theory on appeal does not entitle
him to raise, on petition to this Court, an entirely new claim
(based in significant part on Lilly v. Virginia, 527 U.S. 116
(1999), handed down years after the supposed ineffectiveness
took place) based on a confrontation theory. As explained by
this Court in California v. Green, 380 U.S. 149 (1970), a
hearsay theory is not a confrontation theory:

While it may be readily con-
ceded that hearsay rules and the
Confrontation Clause are gen-
erally designed to protect simi-
lar values, it is quite a different

(Continued)

reargument, of a Confrontation Clause violation does not preserve
the claim. This Court has repeatedly refused to consider ¢’ims
that are raised for the first time in a petition for rehearing when
the state court has summarily denied the petition, as here. Adams
v. Robertson, 520 U.S. 83, 117 S.Ct. 1028, 1031 n.3 (1997); Board
of Dirs. of Rotary Int'l v. Rotary Club of Duarte, 481 U.S. 537,
550 (1987); Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235, 244 n.4 (1958).
The Pennsylvania Supreme Court did not address the reargument's
newly-asserted federal claims. Petitioner may not have review of
them in this Court.

Petitioner cannot revive his waived claim by asserting
that the Pennsylvania Supreme Court implicitly considered his
claim in its review to determine whether the capital sentence was
the result of "passion, prejudice, or any other arbitrary factor"
(Petition at 8 n.3). The Court considered the claim petitioner
raised. There is absolutely no reason to believe it considered and
silently rejected a federal claim petitioner did not assert, while
simultaneously ignoring the fact that it arose as an ineffectiveness
claim.

13

thing to suggest that the over-
lap is complete and that the
Confrontation Clause is noth-
ing more or less than a codifi-
cation of the rules of hearsay
and their exceptions as they ex-
isted historically at common
law. Our decisions have never
established such a congruence;
indeed, we have more than
once found a violation of con-
frontation values even though
the statements in issue were ad-
mitted under an arguably rec-
ognized hearsay exception ...
the converse is equally true:
merely because evidence is ad-
mitted in violation of a long-
established hearsay rule does
not lead to the automatic con-
clusion that confrontation
rights have been denied.

380 U.S. at 155-56; Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74, 81-82
(1970).

Petitioner's claim, even had it been preserved, would
not present a meritorious question. The confrontation clause
was not offended by the admission of the victim's statement
to Williams about messing up the drugs under either of two
established exceptions to the hearsay rule, admissions against
interest and state of mind.

The confrontation clause permits the admission of
hearsay statements against a defendant, despite his inability

14

to confront the declarant at trial, where the declarant is
unavailable and the statement bears adequate indicia of reli-
ability. Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 66 (1980). Where a
declarant makes a statement inculpating both himself and
another, with no attempt to limit his own exposure to crimi-
nal liability, his statement will be regarded as a firmly-rooted
exception for confrontation clause purposes. United States v.
Barone, 114 F.3d 1284, 1302 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 522
U.S. 1021 (1997). As the Second Circuit has repeatedly held,
a statement incriminating the declarant and another person
possesses adequate reliability if it is made to an ally, rather
than a law enforcement officer, and the circumstances sur-
rounding the inculpation of the other person provide no rea-
son to suspect that that portion is less reliable than the part
that incriminates the declarant. Such reliability is present
where the statement is volunteered by the declarant to a
friend, with no coercive pressures from or attempt to curry
favor with authorities; no reason to expect that his admission
will ever be disclosed to authorities; and no attempt to shift
blame or minimize his own culpability. United States v.
Sasso, 59 F.3d 341, 349 (2nd Cir. 1995), citing United States
v. Matthews, 20 F.3d 538, 546 (2d Cir. 1994)."*

The circumstances justifying the admission of a state-
ment against interest as a firmly-rooted hearsay exception are
present in the declarant's statement to Ronald Williams.
Ronald Williams was friendly with petitioner, whom he
knew as "Ant Man." The declarant's confiding to Williams
that he had messed up a package of crack belonging to peti-
tioner was clearly not made under the desire to curry favor
with authorities or with the expectation that Williams,

1S

The same analysis applies under Federal Rule of Evidence

804(b)(3). United States v. Shukri, 207 F.3d 412, 417 (7th Cir.
2000).

15

petitioner's friend, would disclose it to the authorities. Peti-
tioner was not on trial for drug possession and the declarant
had nothing to gain from implicating him. The statement
was assuredly not made with the knowledge that petitioner
would subsequently murder the declarant. Moreover, the
declarant's statement made no attempt to shift blame or
minimize his responsibility for drug activity; he admitted
possession and use of the crack (N.T. 1/20/93, 22-23;
1/21/93, 10-11). He had no reason to inculpate himself in a
crime if the statement were not true. The deciarant
undoubtedly had personal knowledge of the truth of the
matter he spoke about, he volunteered the statement and there
is no reason to suspect he was not telling the truth. Thus, the
self-incriminating nature of the statement, and the
circumstances under which it was made, enable it to pass
confrontation clause muster as an admission against interest,
both as a firmly-rooted exception and because the statement
contains sufficient indicia of reliability. United States v.
Sasso, supra (declarant's statement to girlfriend implicating
self and defendant admissible under firmly rooted hearsay
exception as admission against interest); United States v.
Matthews, supra (same); United States v. McManaman, 653
F.2d 458, 461 (10th Cir. 1981) (emphasizing importance of
declarant's personal knowledge of events); Barker v. Morris,
761 F.2d 1396, 1402 (9th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S.
1063 (1986) (emphasizing importance of voluntary nature of
statement); United States v. Chappell, 698 F.2d 308, 313 (7th
Cir.), cert. denied, 461 U.S. 931 (1983) (emphasizing
importance of declarant's lack of motivation to lie).'®

—

= In his discussion of the state of mind exception, addressed

infra, petitioner cites Lilly v. Virginia, 527 U.S. 116 (1999), for
the proposition that declarations against interest are not firmly-

rooted exceptions to the rule against the admission of hearsay

(Continued)

16

In addition, the declarant was obviously reporting his
own state of mind. His statement expressed his concern and
apprehension that petitioner had reason-to be angry with him,
because he had "smoked up" drugs he had obtained from

(Continued)

(Petition at 16-17). Petitioner's reliance is misplaced. First, the
portion of the Lilly opinion on which petitioner relied is a plural-
ity opinion and has no precedential value. Second, Lilly was
decided long after petitioner's trial and could not have been antici-
pated. Third, the Lilly plurality discussion does not declare that
all declarations against interest are not firmly-rooted hearsay
exceptions. Instead, it divides declarations against penal interest
into three types: (1) voluntary admissions against the declarant;
(2) as exculpatory evidence offered by a defendant who claims
that the declarant committed, or was involved in, the offense; and
(3) as evidence of the guilt of an alleged accomplice of the declar-
ant. The plurality declares the first type of statement to be a
firmly-rooted exception; that the second type, traditionally offered
by the accused, does not implicate the confrontation clause; and
that the third type - accomplices’ confessions that inculpate a
criminal defendant - is not a firmly rooted exception.

The victim's statement to petitioner's friend is most akin to
a statement of the first type. It was not a confession to police, it
did not attempt to minimize the victim's responsibility for the drug
offense, and it did not attempt to exculpate petitioner. In implicat-
ing himself in a drug offense, the victim could not possibly have
known that his words would later imr*icate defendant in a murder
in which he would be the victim. Moreover, the courts that have
analyzed the specific factual situation presented by the victim's
statement here -- an admission of declarant's and someone else's
criminal wrongdoing to a friend, with no attempt to diminish the
declarant's own responsibility and no expectation that the admis-
sion will be conveyed to the police -- have found that the state-
ment constitutes a firmly-rooted hearsay exception. United States

v. Sasso, supra; United States v. Matthews, supra.

17

petitioner. This qualified the statement under a second,
equally sound hearsay exception, the state of mind exception
to the hearsay rule; his mental state suggested a motive for
petitioner to have killed him. See, e.g., Moore v. Reynolds,
153 F.3d 1086, 1107 (10th Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 526 U.S.
1025 (1999) (victim's statement that he feared appellant
admissible in appellant's trial for his murder under the state
of mind exception to the hearsay rule; and opining that state
of mind is a firmly rooted hearsay exception); Barber v.
Scully, 731 F.2d 1073 (2d Cir. 1984) (victim's statement that
she feared appellant was admissible evidence of her state of
mind on charge of larceny of car by appellant because it
tended to show whether she would have given him
permission to use her car). See also United States v. Vretta,
790 F.2d 651, 660 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 851
(1986) (confrontation clause not offended by admission of
victim's reports that the appeilant had been threatening him in
appellant's prosecution for the victim's murder).

Moreover, even if the court had erred in admitting
evidence of the victim's statement to Williams, no relief
would be due. As already explained, petitioner's conviction
was not the product of the victim's statement that he had
messed up a package of drugs for petitioner, but of the
testimony of an eyewitness that petitioner walked up to the
victim, confronted him and shot him repeatedly."’

“i Petitioner asserts that Shepard v. United States, 290 U.S.
96 (1933), defeats the admission of the victim's statement. In
Shepard, a doctor was convicted of poisoning his wife on the basis
of her statement, made to a nurse just before her death, "Dr.
Shepard has poisoned me." The Shepard decision makes no men-
tion of the confrontation clause, for the simple reason that the
confrontation clause was not in issue. The Shepard court held, as
a matter of the law of evidence, that the statement, "Dr. Shepard

(Continued)

18

Indeed, the testimony in question here not only failed
to offend the confrontation clause, the same result would
apply even under Pennsylvania law. The declarant's state-
ment was admissible as both an admission against penal
interest, Commonwealth v. Goldblum, 498 Pa. 455, 447 A.2d
234 (1982) (declarant's statement that he had conspired with
appellant to commit arson at appellant's trial for murdering
declarant admissible as admission against penal interest), and
under the state of mind exception, Commonwealth v. Puksar,
559 Pa. 358, 368 n.6, 740 A.2d 219, 225 n.6 (1999), cert.
denied, (U.S. 10/2/00) (victim's statement that he did not
trust appellant and that the victim and appellant were
involved in a dispute admissible evidence of state of mind);
Commonwealth v. Chandler, 554 Pa. 401, 411, 721 A.2d
1040, 1045 (1998) (murder victim's statement to her mother
regarding breakdown in relationship with accused admissible

(Continued)

has murdered me" was not admissible under the state of mind
exception, where it was erroneously offered as a dying declara-
tion, and referred to "a past act, and, more than that, to an act by
some one not the speaker." 290 U.S. at 105.

Further, Shepard is factually apposite to this case. Here,
the declarant referred only to his own actions, not past actions of
the defendant. He referred to his own actions, moreover, only to
explain his own contemporaneous state of mind, and in so doing
incriminated himself in a drug crime. The statement here was not
merely admissible, it was unusually reliable.

Petitioner's citation to Shepard for the additional proposi-
tion that the jury's having heard the victim's "voice beyond the
grave" added to the alleged prejudice (Petition at 19), is mis-
placed. Unlike the voice in Shepard, the victim was not heard
posthumously to accuse petitioner of murdering him, but to admit
to drug-dealing with a friend.

19

as state of mind); Commonwealth v. Collins, 550 Pa. 46,
58-60, 703 A.2d 418, 424-25, cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1015
(1998) (victim's statement that appellant had shot her in the
past and would shoot her in the head if she messed up a drug
package admissible as state of mind).

Finally, in addition to the confrontation clause claim,
petitioner also throws in a one-paragraph argument that the
trial judge's jury charge was improper because he allegedly
opined that the testimony concerning the drug deal estab-
lished motive (Petition at 20). Petitioner failed to object to -
the court's instruction at trial, thereby waiving any possible

claim. United States v. Gignac, supra.

Additionally, the court thoroughly and repeatedly
instructed the jurors that they were the finders of fact, not-
withstanding any comments by the court or the attorneys.
The court further instructed the jury to disregard any state-
ment of the court that did not accurately reflect its own recol-
lection (N.T. 1/19/93, 34; 1/29/93, 28, 30-38). Finally, after
summarizing the prosecution's evidence of motive, the court
emphasized that: |

[Y Jou [the jurors] make your
own determination... It is
entirely up to you to determine
what weight, if any, should be
given to the evidence concern-
ing motive in this case.

N.T. 1/29/93, 57-59). Accordingly, there is no merit to peti-
tioner's claim.

20

Ill. PETITIONER'S CLAIM THAT THE PROSECU-
TOR COMMITTED MISCONDUCT IN HIS
PENALTY HEARING CLOSING ARGUMENT
IS WAIVED; IT ALSO FAILS TO PRESENT A
MERITORIOUS FEDERAL QUESTION.

Petitioner claims that the prosecutor committed mis-
conduct of constitutional proportion during his comments at
the penalty hearing (Petition at 20-25). Petitioner's claims
are unreviewable. Petitioner raised no objection at trial to the
remarks he now assails on multiple grounds. Accordingly,
petitioner may not have review of his claims that the prosecu-
tor violated the constitution. United States v. Gignac, supra.
Indeed, petitioner claimed in his state court appeal that trial
counsel was ineffective for failing to object to the prosecu-
tor’s remarks, thereby explicitly conceding his failure to
object to them at trial. The Pennsylvania Supreme Court
reviewed and rejected petitioner's claim as a claim of ineffec-
tive assistance of counsel. Commonwealth v. Fletcher, 750
A.2d at 280. Petitioner's present claim that the remarks were
reversible error in themselves is therefore raised for the first
time in this Court and, therefore, unreviewable. United
States v. Williams, supra; Illinois v. Gates, supra; United
States v. Ortiz, supra.

The claims are unreviewable for an additional reason:
petitioner's ineffective assistance challenge regarding the
remarks was different than his present argument about them.
Petitioner claimed below that trial counsel was ineffective
because the prosecutor's remarks about petitioner's drug
motive were irrelevant and prejudicial, and therefore
improper as a matter of Pennsylvania law. Commonwealth v.
Fletcher, 750 A.2d at 280. Now petitioner is claiming that
the prosecutor violated the federal constitution by comment-
ing that petitioner failed to explain the circumstances of the

21

crime; that petitioner lacked remorse; and that the jury should
exercise vengeance toward petitioner. Thus, even putting
aside petitioner's abandonment of the ineffective assistance
theory that was the only claim preserved below, petitioner's
present constitutional attacks on the prosecutor would still be
new, and are therefore unreviewable. United States v. Wil-
liams, supra; Illinois v. Gates, supra; United States v. Ortiz

supra.

Even if reviewable, petitioner's claims would not pre-
sent a meritorious federal question. Petitioner first asserts
that the prosecutor improperly commented on his failure to
explain the circumstances of the offense, particularly in light
of the trial court's alleged ruling prohibiting him from dis-
cussing those circumstances. That is not what happened. At
the outset of his penalty hearing testimony, petitioner stated
that he wanted to pay his respects to the victim's family. He
returned to that subject at the conclusion of his direct testi-
mony, and explained that he felt "hurt" at the victim's death,
and later declared, "I feel sorry for the family. I know they
wish he was here and I wish personally he was here. [ swear
to God, I wish he was here." Petitioner also denied that he
had any involvement with drugs, denied selling drugs and
asserted that he had declined an offer to serve as a bouncer at
a drug house (N.T. 2/2/93, 115, 128, 138-39, 145).

In that context, it is clear that the prosecutor's remarks
did not:criticize petitioner for failing to explain the circum-
stances of the murder or for exercising his constitutional right
to silence, and did not constitute an appeal to vengeance.
Rather, the prosecutor criticized the testimony petitioner did
offer on those matters as being insincere:

When [petitioner] took the
stand yesterday and had people

22

testify on his behalf, if there
was a real reason for his activi-
ties in dealing drugs and there
was a real sense of honesty and
true remorse about his killing
of [the victim] because of drug
involvement, he would have
told you; he would have admit-
ted it like a man and he would
have, at that time, asked you
for mercy. But, that has never
happened in this case, so, I
submit to you, the time for
mercy is long since past.

N.T. 2/3/93, 7.'°

As previously addressed in response to petitioner's
first claim, the court did not prohibit petitioner from offering
his version of the offense; the court merely held that he could
not attempt to exculpate himself by denying the murder alto-
gether. Additionally, the prosecutor's remarks went not to
petitioner's failure to explain the circumstances relating to the
murder, but rather to the credibility of the explanation he did
offer, namely his assertion that he was not involved with
drugs. Accordingly, the prosecutor's remarks were proper.

The prosecutor concluded by stating:

I'm not here to beg you to do anything or try to
influence you to do anything. I submit to you, if
you follow the law, you will do what's right for all
involved here.

N.T. 2/3/93, 15.

23

Petitioner cites Doyle v. Ohio, 426 U.S. 610 (1976),
for the proposition that a prosecutor cannot prevent a defen-
dant from testifying as to the facts of a case and then criticize
him for not testifying. In that case, the defendant's rights
were found to have been violated where he exercised his
Miranda right to remain silent, then testified at trial that he
had been "framed," and the prosecutor impeached his trial
testimony by asking him why he had not mentioned being
"framed" upon his arrest. Here, the prosecutor did not pre-
vent petitioner from testifying that the murder was not drug-
related. Moreover, his attack was on the testimony petitioner
offered at the penalty hearing. He did not criticize peti-
tioner's failure to give that testimony at an earlier stage.

Nor did the prosecutor's remark implicate petitioner's
right to silence for failing to express remorse. The prosecu-
tor's criticism was directed at the nature of the remorse to
which petitioner testified, and properly anticipated peti-
tioner’s argument for mercy. Defense counsel's closing argu-
ment, in which he explained that the reason petitioner
testified was to express his remorse, precludes the possibility
that the jury would have misinterpreted the prosecutor's re-
marks as a reference to silence based on an alleged failure to
express remorse:

[M]y first question to [peti-
tioner] was "Tell me about
your boxing career," and the
thing that he wanted to say and
the thing that he wanted to tell
you and the thing that he
wanted to tell the victim's fam-
ily was that he was sorry and
was remorseful for what he
did.... So, I submit to you that

24

when [the prosecutor] stands
up and says to you, you learned
a whole lot more [about peti-
tioner's prior crimes], you
learned about that because
[petitioner] wanted to place
before you his remorse for
what he did.

*e EEX *

[Petitioner] wanted to express
his remorse to the victim's fam-
ily. Remorse, in and of itself, I
believe, is in this situation a
mitigating circumstance.

N.T. 2/3/93, 19, 30. A prosecutor may attack the sincerity of
the account of events a defendant provides without thereby
implicating his right to silence. Howard v. Moore, 131 F.3d
399 (4th Cir. 1997) (prosecutor's remark that defendant had
not shown remorse was proper comment on the evidence pre-
sented and fair response to defense counsel's argument that
defendant was indeed remorseful). See Portuondo v. Agard,
120 S.Ct. 1119, 1125 (U.S. 2000) (when a defendant takes
the stand, his credibility may be impeached and his testimony
assailed like that of any witness); United States v. Cabrera,
201 F.3d 1243, 1250 (9th Cir. 2000) (same); United States v.
Brennan, 994 F.2d 918, 926 (1st Cir. 1993) (same). As
explained, the prosecutor criticized the expressions of
remorse petitioner offered; he did not chastise him for failing
to offer any remorse.

Next, petitioner asserts that the prosecutor's assertion
that the time for mercy had passed violated due process. The

25

authority he cites does not support his argument. California
v. Brown, 479 U.S. 538 (1987), holds that an instruction that
the jury must not be swayed by "mere sentiment, conjecture,
sympathy, passion, prejudice, public opinion or public feel-
ing" does not violate the Eighth Amendment. Nor does the
non-precedential plurality opinion in Gregg v. Georgia, 428
U.S. 153 (1976), state that due process is violated by an argu-
ment such as the prosecutor made here. Finally, Drake v.
Kemp, 762 F.2d 1449, 1458 (11th Cir. 1985), cert. denied,
478 U.S. 1020 (1986), is wholly distinguishable from this
case. There, the prosecutor was found to have invoked
vengeance where he read a quote from a century-old state
supreme court case stating in part that "the false humanity
that starts and shudders when the axe of justice is ready to
strike is a dangerous element for the peace of society.... We
have had too much of this mercy."

The prosecutor's argument in this case is readily dis-
tinguishable from that condemned in Drake. The prosecutor
did not invoke the authority of prior supreme court decisions;
his argument was not graphic; he did not argue that mercy
was never appropriate; he simply argued that the jury should
not apply mercy to petitioner.'? Cf. Duvall v. Reynolds, 139
F.3d 768, 795 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 933 (1998)
(due process not violated even where prosecutor stated that
the court had spent four days guaranteeing defendant's right
to instructions on mitigation, fairness and mercy and that
defendant was treated "much more fairly, and with much
more mercy than he showed [the victim]...."). Accordingly,
petitioner is not entitled to the grant of certiorari.

19

Moreover, Drake was not a constitutional decision.

PLM Y pes ecw

FONE IT RI Se NTN

Aa ene Seat

STI
Bak eats of

NT as

RS
a re tee’

Ts ene
OMS EES ag porte Fy TN

—
vere’

26

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania respectfully requests that this Court deny the
petition for a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

RONALD EISENBERG
Deputy District Attorney
(Counsel of Record)
ANTHONY V. POMERANZ
Assistant District Attorney
CATHERINE MARSHALL
Chief, Appeals Unit
ARNOLD H. GORDON
First Assistant District Attorney
LYNNE ABRAHAM
District Attorney

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1780%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
