# Opposition Brief — Luebbers v. White

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1662%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 531 U.S. 917

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

No. 00-130 ~~ Lis :
| 14 2000
IN THE | CLERK ~

ne ees

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

ALLEN LUEBBERS,
Superintendent, Potosi Correctional Center,
Petitioner,

Vv.

LEAMON WHITE,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the x
United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

MOTION TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS

CHARLES W. GORDON, JR.
~ Counsel of Record
The Gordon Law Office
500 Plaza Center Building, 800 W. 47" St.
Kansas City, Missouri 64112
(816) 931-5557

“RONALD E. PARTEE
Fox Partee & Nigro
606 W. 39" Street
Kansas City, Missouri 64111
(816) 531-3500

Attorneys for Respondent

Respondent, Leamon White, by and through his counsel appointed below, respectfully moves

the Court, pursuant to Rule 39 of the United States Supreme Court Rules, for leave to proceed in
forma pauperis. In support of this motion, Mr. White states: ‘

J. Mr. White is an inmate on Missouri’s death row. He 1s indigent.

2. The matter before this Court is a petition for writ of certiorari filed by Petitioner, -
Allen Luebbers, Superintendent of the Potosi Correctional Center, seeking review of a decision of
the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals in Mr. White's favor on appeal of his federal habeas corpus
action.

3, Both the District Court and the Court of Appeals below appointed the undersigned
counsel to represent Mr. White pursuant to the Criminal Justice Act of 1964, 18 U.S.C. § 3006A.

Respectfully submitted,

rdontfy

Charles W. Gordon, Jr., MO Bar #32985
Counsel of Record

The Gordon Law Office

500 Plaza Center Building, 800 W. 47® St.
Kansas City, MO 64112

(816) 931-5557

AND

Vf & -fedlty Colt

Ronald E. Partee, MO Bar #23898
Fox Partee & Nigro

606 W. 39” Street

Kansas City, Missouri 64111

(816) 531-3500

Attorneys for Respondent, Leamon White

No. 00-130

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

ALLEN LUEBBERS,
Superintendent, Potosi Correctional Center,
Petitioner,

Vv.

LEAMON WHITE,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CHARLES W. GORDON, JR.
Counsel of Record
The Gordon Law Office
500 Plaza Center Building, 800 W. 47” St.
Kansas City, Missourn 641 12
(816) 931-5557

RONALD E. PARTEE

Fox Partee & Nigro

606 W. 39 Street

Kansas City, Missouri 64111
(816) 531-3500

Attorneys for Respondent

CAPITAL CASE

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Petitioner misstates the Question Presented in this case. The Question Presented should be

framed as follows:

DID THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY HOLD THAT THE
MISSOURI SUPREME COURT’S TWO ARBITRARY LIMITATIONS ON ITS PREVIOUSLY
ESTABLISHED STATE LAW REMEDY FOR ADDRESSING SITUATIONS WHERE COURT-
APPOINTED COUNSEL ABANDONED POST-CONVICTION MOVANTS DURING POST-
CONVICTION PROCEEDINGS, CREATED AND APPLIED FOR THE FIRST TIME IN
LEAMON WHITE’S CASE, AND USED TO BAR HIS FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL CLAIMS
IN STATE COURT, WERE NEITHER FIRMLY ESTABLISHED, REGULARLY FOLLOWED,
NOR READILY ASCERTAINABLE STATE PROCEDURAL RULES, AND THUS, DID NOT
ACT AS ADEQUATE STATE GROUNDS FOR BARRING MR. WHITE’S CONSTITUTIONAL
CLAIMS IN FEDERAL COURT?

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Se EE EE OIE EEE 6 5 bok vs cece beestareserdbevceebenteeweas i
CONS CLES DACH ADE S ARSON ORR ROR OSE OS NE OW SRE ROMEO il
ee rn. Co Geb heh Sead Ce VSM ee Ae eRe ROE RARE SAA na ede LTR AGES ill
EOS ae ee ar nee ee Peer eas wry Pr 1
I. MR. WHITEIS ACTUALLY INNOCENT; MURDER CONVICTION RESULTED FROM
INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF CORINGEL, 2n neces ccc c cece cee ecevsssvess l
Il. PRESSES cee PRIMER ROO cece acne ntawbsevesccaceeeveses 2
Te re Le PI IE FUDOOIIIND gnc ieee e ta eccenecusnctenes 3
Post-Conviction Counsel Abandoned Mr. White ................. 002020 e eee eeee 3
A Ce eis a hao ik by Ave a ONRER ES © CAA RS ORES 5
Abandonment Remedy Limited for First Time in Mr. White’s Case ................ 6
ARGUMENT: REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ................ 02 cee cececcees 8

I. THE COURT SHOULD DENY THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
BECAUSE THE QUESTION PRESENTED FAILS TO SATISFY THE REQUIREMENTS
a rere errs Serr Te ee ere rs ee er Tre ee 9

II. THE COURT SHOULD DENY THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
BECAUSE THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT PROPERLY APPLIED THE INDEPENDENT AND
ADEQUATE STATE GROUND DOCTRINE TO THE FACTS OF THIS CASE ...10

Ill. THE COURT SHOULD DENY THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
BECAUSE THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IN NO WAY CREATES A RIGHT TO
EFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL IN POST-CONVICTION PROCEEDINGS

EL ahs oie fae se REV SER CAESS LAS VARA EDEEN SESE SRE GANS ROLE RAS RC OR ES 12

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Re PRED ee ee ee eee eT ES Ce TERE Coa ee er re 13
COURT RULES

CR 2 Sen er repr rE erry yer anne Sap eo eS 10
Se SM Oe RE nk uc dae ed Vacca. eakebend eeataeaeeaeenes 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 12
CASES

in Cas 1752 Pe Ce Ga, SOUND. vik oko kac vistas ce bd xe csueeew nn bieeeas 12
a ST ee Ck SERREEOED v6an ke akanwasw sch dpe eeusaveee eeaues 9, 12, 13
Del Vecchio v. Illinois Dep’t of Corrections, 31 F.3d 1363 (7th Cir. 1994) (en banc), cert. denied,
PE RU oo a vn Se aches ce sakbChies hd Ch6k Khe euros ta wahe eee sas 12
ER eg ee a | ee re rn ee eee 9
ee en rr oe eS COOPERS yk ccs cae kk bo bev es been sake cans 9, 10,12
rr re. re nD a eek seb os Reed k seek ae kee kane Re ee ene 9
Luleff v. State, 807 S.W.2d 495 (Mo. 1991) (en banc) ............ 0.2... eee ee eee 5, 6, 11
Nolan v. Armontrout, 973 F.2d 615 (8™ Cir. 1992)... 00... ee ccc cece teen eee 12
Sanders y. State. 807 S.W.2d 493 (Mo. 1991) (en Dame)... 0... weer e ccs e renew scvevss 6, 11
State vy. Dradiey, 811 S.W.26 S79 (MO. 1991) (Om DOME) 2. ow ec ccc ce esses nnercss 6
State v. White, 873 S.W.2d 590 (Mo. 1994) (en banc) ............ 2. eee eee ee eee 4, 5,8
White v. State, 939 S.W.2d 887 (Mo. ds PEERS PE ee eee eee eT Te Pr ES 6, 7

ill

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioner’s statement of the case fails to convey the gross injustice that plagued
Respondent Leamon White throughout the proceedings in state court:

I. MR. WHITE IS ACTUALLY INNOCENT; MURDER CONVICTION RESULTED
FROM INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL

Mr. White is not guilty of the murder of Don Wright.' He is the victim of mistaken identity.
No physical evidence linked him to the murder. This was a case based solely on eyewitness
identification. And while two witnesses identified Mr. White as the assailant known as Suspect
Number Two, both were extremely unreliable.

Both witnesses were under the influence of crack cocaine at the time of the crime. Neither
identified Mr. White close in time to the murder. One did so five months later in a suggestive lineup
only after police showed her a photograph of Mr. White before the lineup, and despite having
admitted that the only suspect that she failed to get a good look at was Suspect Number Two. The
other did not identify Mr. White until over two years later on the eve of trial, after (1) repeatedly
being shown the videotape of the lineup, (ii) never being able to identify Mr. White, and (iii)
identifying someone else in the lineup as Suspect Number Two, only to be told by police that he
identified the wrong man. On the Saturday before trial, one prosecutor met with this witness and
showed him the videotape again. The witness still could not identify Mr. White. The next day both

prosecutors met with the witness and he provided a tentative identification, which he repeated at

trial.

'Mr. White was convicted of first degree murder. Petitioner is wrong when he asserts that
Mr. White was also convicted of three counts of armed criminal action and two counts of first degree
assault. (Petition 4.)

Mr. White’s trial counsel, who subsequently surrendered his law license, failed to conduct
even a rudimentary investigation of this case: he failed to depose, or even interview, the
eyewitnesses, which he was entitled to do under the Missouri Rules of Criminal Procedure. (In light
of the weak identifications, had he conducted depositions, he could have effectively challenged the
witnesses’ credibility on cross-examination during the trial.) He failed to investigate or present a
credible alibi defense, which would have placed Mr. White at home in bed at the time of the crime.
And, most important, he failed to investigate, interview and present witnesses who would have
testified that a Jamaican drug dealer named A.J. Constantine was Suspect Number Two. (The other
men convicted of this murder, Suspect Number One and Suspect Number Three,” both serving prison
sentences for this crime, but neither sentenced to death, have admitted that Mr. Constantine was
Suspect Number Two.)

Mr. White has an extremely convincing case of actual innocence; however, the Court of
Appeals declined to reach that issue because it lifted the procedural bar that was preventing Mr.
White from bringing his claims in federal court on the basis of the independent and adequate state
ground doctrine. (Appendix to Petition 6 n. 4.)

II. POST-CONVICTION ABANDONMENT

The only mechanism available to Mr. White to raise his claims for the ineffective assistance

of his trial counsel was through Missouri’s post-conviction procedure. That procedure was set forth

in Rule 29.15 of the Missouri Rules of Criminal Procedure.

? Suspect One was Roger Buckner. In a separate trial, he was convicted of first degree
murdér and sentenced to life in prison. Suspect Three was Cleveland Ford. He pled guilty to second
degree murder and received a 15-year sentence. Neither testified against Mr. White at trial.

2

The Rule 29.15 Post-Conviction Procedure

At the time of Mr. White’s conviction, the procedure for obtaining post-conviction relief was
to file a motion under Rule 29.15. The Rule 29.15 post-conviction proceeding took place
simultaneous to the direct appeal. A 29.15 movant had 30 days to file a motion to vacate his
sentence. The rule did not provide for appointment of counsel to file the initial motion, and if a
movant was indigent, he would have to do so pro se. In the pro se motion he had to raise all grounds
for relief that he knew of, along with a factual basis in a verified motion. The court was required to
appoint counsel to prepare an amended motion. Appointed counsel had 30 days from the order of
appointment to prepare an amended motion. Counsel could move for one 30-day extension, and
thus, as a practical matter, had 60 days to prepare an amended motion, if one was warranted. The
amended motion had to be verified as well. Rule 29.15(e) required that

[cJounsel shall ascertain whether sufficient facts supporting the

grounds asserted in the motion and whether the movant has included

all grounds known to him. .. . If the motion does not assert sufficient

facts or include all grounds known to the movant, counsel shall file

an amended motion that sufficiently alleges the additional facts and

grounds.
The time and verification requirements of the rule were deemed jurisdictional; the motion court did
not have discretion to excuse them except in one instance — if appointed counsel abandoned the
movant, failing to fulfill the duties set forth in Rule 29.15.

Post-Conviction Counsel Abandoned Mr. White

It is without dispute that Mr. White was abandoned by his post-conviction counsel, an

abandonment so serious that the Missouri Supreme Court requested that “the chief Disciplinary

Counsel investigate and determine whether any ethical considerations or disciplinary rules were

broken.” State v. White, 873 S.W.2d 590, 597 (Mo. 1994) (en banc). (App. 124.) The chronology

of events that led to the Court’s conclusion is as follows:

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

(9)

(10)

(11)

On August 17, 1989, Mr. White files his pro se motion pursuant to Rule 29.15 of the
Missouri Rules of Criminal Procedure, substituting a thumbprint for verification
because a notary was not available (App.114).

On September 25", the motion court appoints the Public Defender’s Office
(App. 114).

The Public Defender hires Larry Pace, a contract defender; he files for an extension
of time (App. 115).

On November 9", 14 days before the date the amended motion is due, the Public
Defender’s Office requires that Mr. Pace withdraw, and assigns the case to Joe
Locascio (App. 115).

Mr. Locascio visits Mr. White on November 14", nine days before the motion is due,
and asks him to sign a blank verification (App. 115, 120).

On November 27", three days after the amended motion is due, Mr. Locascio files
an amended motion, and requests a 30-day extension to file a second-amended
motion; the court grants the extension (App. 115).

On August 1, 1990, the motion court denies relief on White’s claims without a
hearing (App. 116).

Mr. White appeals this decision, along with the direct appeal from his conviction, to
the Supreme Court (App.116).

The Supreme Court remands to determine whether Mr. White had been abandoned
(App. 116).

On August 28, 1992, the motion court determines no abandonment, and that both the
first and second amended motions were filed out of time and are a nullity because the
pro se motion was not verified (App. 116).

Mr. White appeals to the Supreme Court again and it finds the abandonment (App.
124-25).

The Missouri Supreme Court relaxed its rigid verification rule and held that, under the
circumstances, the pro se motion was properly visited, but that both the first and second amended
motions were filed out of time. It then determined that Mr. White was abandoned by (i) the Public
Defender’s Office’s decision " switch counsel, (ii) Mr. Pace’s withdrawal without leave of court,
and (iii) Mr. Locascio’s failure to file a timely amended motion.

Based on the record, we conclude that Mr. White was abandoned by
the decision of the public defender’s office to change defendant’s
counsel fourteen days before the end of the sixty day period for filing
the Rule 29.15 amended motion . . ., by his first appointed counsel’s
withdrawal without leave of court, and by both his first and second
counsel’s failure to file a timely amended motion. We find that no
action or inaction by White contributed to the delayed filing.

An attorney should not withdraw so close to the filing date that the
second counsel has insufficient time to meet all the requirements of

Rule 29.15. By his own admission, defendant’s second counsel did
not have enough time to file a timely amended motion after he
entered his appearance. Moreover, the conduct of the public
defender’s office is at least questionable in removing defendant’s first
appointed counsel fourteen days prior to the filing date, especially

since it was done without leave of the motion court.

State v. White, 873 S.W.2d 590, 597 (Mo. 1994) (en banc) (emphasis added). (App. 124-25.)

Abandonment Remedy
Up until Mr. White’s case came before the Missouri Supreme Court in 1994, abandonment
by counsel (i) excused the failure to comply with the filing requirements of Rule 29.15 and (ii)

entitled the movant to new counsel in order to proceed anew. Luleff v. State, 807 S.W.2d 495 (Mo.

1991) (en banc); Sanders v. State, 807 S.W.2d 493 (Mo. 1991) (en banc); State v. Bradley, 811

S.W.2d 379 (Mo. 1991) (en banc).*

Abandonment Remedy Limited for First Time in Mr. White’s Case

As aremedy for the abandonment, however, the Missouri Supreme Court did not allow Mr.
White to proceed anew with new 29.15 counsel, as he requested, but instead reinstated the first
amended motion, which had been thrown together in just 14 days, and remanded to the Circuit Court
for it to insure that it had ruled on all claims in the first amended motion. This was a hollow gesture.
Or remand, the Circuit Court once again denied relief without a hearing and the Missouri Supreme

Court affirmed on February 25, 1997, White v. State, 939 S.W.2d 887 (Mo. 1997) (App. 132),

finding that Mr. White’s motion was worded improperly in that it did not explain in sufficient detail

the substance of the ineffective assistance of trial counsel claims that he raised.‘

‘For instance, in Bradley, appointed counsel filed a 29.15 motion on the day it was due,
but it was not signed or verified by the movant. Counsel also filed a motion for an extension of time
to file an amended motion. The court granted the extension, but counsel did not file the amended
motion. The Supreme Court declared the original motion that counsel filed a nullity because it was
not signed or verified. It then held that the “teaching of Sanders and Luleff” required that,

Before dismissing the petition, the motion court is obliged to confirm that counsel
complied with Rule 29.15(e) and, if counsel did not comply and such non-
compliance is not attributable to the movant, new counsel should be appointed who
will proceed anew according to the rule ... The procedure described in Luleff and
Sanders must be followed here.

Bradley at 385. (Emphasis added.)

* Because of its holding that the new rules relating to the abandonment remedy were not
independent and adequate state grounds, the Court of Appeals did not reach the issue of whether the
Missouri Supreme Court’s strict wording requirement was an independent and adequate state ground.
(App. 6 n.4.) Although Mr. White’s motion contained names of witnesses, referenced provisions
of the United States Constitution that had been violated, and stated factual detaii about prejudice,
the Missouri Supreme Court focused on his counsel’s specific use of the words “failed to adduce”

6

The Supreme Court justified its decision not to allow Mr. White to start anew on two

grounds. First, it created a new distinction under the abandonment remedy between a movant being
abandoned on the salt of the filing of the motion and a movant being abandoned on content of the
motion. This distinction had never been identified or applied before.

Second, it created a new limitation based on Mr. White’s signing the blank verification. His
lawyer, Mr. Locascio, had had Mr. White sign the required verification to the first amended motion

before the motion was completed, when Mr. Locascio met with Mr. White at the prison for the first

time nine days before the amended motion was due. Mr. Locascio was a notary and verified the

in his description of the ineffective assistance of counsel claims as the basis for denying relief on
procedural grounds:

In every post-conviction case in may be truthfully said that there are
innumerable witnesses whose favorable testimony on a myriad of
issues was not adduced by trial counsel. The subtle wording “counsel
failed to adduce” suggests what the witness might say without
directly stating that they were available and would have testified
favorably to movant, if called. To declare such a pleading to be
sufficient would permit a post-conviction lawyer to sandbag the State
and the motion court with numerous unsubstantiated claims of
deficient performance of trial counsel in failing to “adduce”
testimony from witnesses. ... Meanwhile, the post-conviction
movant and the post-conviction counsel could truthfully say they had
made no misrepresentation of fact to the court, which would subject
them to sanctions. . . or [discipline] pursuant to the Rules of
Professional Conduct.

White, 939 S.W.2d at 896-97 (App. 143-44). Ofcourse, the motion containing this “subtle wording”
was the one that was hurriedly thrown together in the 14 days that existed between counsel taking
over the case and expiration of the filing deadline. Regardless of that, the Court’s rationale borders
on the absurd in its (i) assumption that post-conviction counsel’s choice of language was designed
to mislead the motion court and sandbag the state and (ii) failure to give the language in Mr. White’s
motion its plain meaning and clear implication. It is a chilling example of the obstacles people
sentenced to death in Missouri face in trying to assert valid claims of constitutional error.

7

signature himself at a meeting with Mr. White. Mr. Locascio’s office was in Kansas City, Missouri,
and Mr. White was imprisoned in Potosi, Missouri, on the other side of the state, and with only nine
days to go, knowing that it was impossible to prepare the motion, get it notarized at the prison and
put it back in the mail, this was all Mr. Locascio could think of in order to try to comply with the
rule.’ The Court said that by Mr. White signing the verification in blank, “he was an active
participant in falsely verifying a document that had not yet been written. . ., [and] waived all his
rights to complain about [the motion’s] content.” State v. White, at 595. (App.120.) As a result,
the Court said he waived the remedy for abandonment going to the content of his motion. Had Mr.
White’s lawyer not instructed him to sign the verification, he would have been allowed to proceed

anew.

ARGUMENT:
~ REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Petitioner has wrongly framed the question presented by the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals’
decision in this.case, and this Court should deny the petition. First, the Eighth Circuit’s decision,
which applies the doctrine of independent and adequate state grounds to the unique facts of Mr.
White’s federal habeas case, does not raise an issue that warrants Supreme Court review. Second,
the Eighth Circuit applied the independent and adequate state grounds doctrine correctly. And third,
the Eighth Circuit did nothing that in any way creates a right to effective assistance of post-

conviction counsel.

> The Missouri Bar later reprimanded Mr. Locascio for this notarization.

8

I. THE COURT SHOULD DENY THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
BECAUSE THE QUESTION PRESENTED FAILS TO SATISFY THE
REQUIREMENTS FOR SUPREME COURT REVIEW

The Eighth Circuit’s decision in this case is a straightforward application of this Court’s well
established independent and adequate state ground doctrine, as explained, for example, in Ford v.
eorgia, 498 U.S. 411, 423-4 (1991) and Harris v. Reed, 489 U.S. 255, 262 (1989), to the particular
and unique facts of Mr. White’s case. The Petitioner phrases the question presented in a way that
attempts to portray the Eighth Circuit’s decision as something it is not — a departure from Supreme
Court precedent requiring this Court’s review and correction. However, the real and only question
presented by the Eighth Circuit’s decision is whether it applied the independent and adequate state
ground doctrine properly to the facts of the case.
Petitioner cannot show that the Court of Appeals improperly stated the doctrine of
independent and adequate state grounds. The Court of Appeals explained the doctrine as follows:

Federal review of a habeas petition is barred when a state court
dismisses or rejects a prisoner’s claims on independent and adequate
state grounds unless a petitioner can demonstrate either (1) cause and
prejudice or (2) actual innocence. Coleman vy. Thompson, 501 U.S.
722, 750 (1991). Procedural default on a claim under state law may
constitute an independent and adequate state ground, Harris v. Reed,
489 U.S. 255, 262 (1989), but only if the state procedural rule is
firmly established, regularly followed, and readily ascertainable.
Ford v. Georgia, 498 U.S. 411, 423-4 (1991). The underlying
principle is that “failure to follow state procedures will warrant
withdrawal of a federal remedy only if those procedures provided the
habeas petitioner with a fair opportunity to seek relief in state court.”
Easter v. Endell, 37 F.3d 1343, 1347 (8" Cir. 1994).

(App. 7.)
This is a correct statement of the law on the doctrine of independent and adequate state
grounds’ application to a federal habeas case. Petitioner’s asserted error is simply that the Court

9

of Appeals misapplied the doctrine to the facts and particular procedural rules at issue in the case.
This issue does not warrant the granting of a Petition for Certiorari. Rule 10 of the Rules of the
United States Supreme Court states: “A petition for certiorari is rarely granted when the asserted
error consists of . . . the misapplication of a properly stated rule of law.” Nothing about this case
warrants deviation from the Court’s standard practice.
II. THE COURT SHOULD DENY THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
BECAUSE THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT PROPERLY APPLIED THE INDEPENDENT
AND ADEQUATE STATE GROUND DOCTRINE TO THE FACTS OF THIS CASE
In a precise analysis of the Missoun procedural rules at issue, the Eighth Circuit determined
that, as applied to Mr. White during his state post-conviction proceedings, the new rules were neither
“firmly established nor readily ascertainable” (App. 7), the critical prerequisite for allowing a state

procedural default to act as an independent and adequate ground to bar federal review of

constitutional claims. See Ford v. Georgia, 498 U.S. at 423-24. Asaresult, Mr. White’s procedural

default was excused, and the Court of Appeals remanded to the District Court to review the
constitutional claims Mr. White raised in his Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus.

The Petitioner takes issue with the Court of Appeal’s analysis, but that analysis was correct.
The Court of Appeals examined Missouri’s post-conviction procedure under Rule 29.15. The Rule
had strict timing and verification requirements that, if violated, resulted in the dismissal of a post-
conviction claim. When movant was appointed counsel, it was counsel’s duty to make sure these
requirements were met. “Although there was no right to effective assistance of counsel, Missouri
provided a remedy, as a matter of state law, where appointed counsel ‘abandoned’ his client by
completely failing to perform these statutory duties.” (App. 45.) This remedy was called the
“abandonment” remedy, the concept being that when court-appointed attorneys failed to meet the

10

roo 9!

timing and verification requirements of the rule, they had abandoned their clients. The remedy for
abandonment was appointment of new counsel and the right to proceed anew. See, Luleff v. State,
807 S.W.2d 495 (Mo. 1991) (en banc); Sanders v. State, 807 S.W.2d 493 (Mo. 1991) (en banc).

It is without dispute that the Missouri Supreme Court held that Mr. White was abandoned;
in fact, it found the triple abandonment discussed above. The Missouri Supreme Court, however,
failed to provide a meaningful remedy for this triple abandonment. The Court of Appeals held that
the reason Mr. White did not receive a meaningful remedy is that the Missouri Supreme Court
created two limitations on the abandonment remedy “newly introduced in Mr. White’s own case.”
(App. 7.) One of the new limitations created to deny Mr. White a remedy was a distinction, never
made before, between whether an abandonment went to the timing versus the content of the motion.
(App. 8.) The other new limitation was that Mr. White’s signing of a “blank” verification at his
attorney’s instruction was deemed to be a waiver of the remedy for abandonment. (App. 9.)

The Court of Appeals determined that these new limitations “denied [Mr. White] a fair
opportunity to seek relief in this case because the procedural rule that barred his second amended
petition was neither firmly established nor readily ascertainable.” (App. 7.) The Court stated:

Given the state of the law at the time, Mr. White did not have a fair
opportunity to seek relief in this case. Mr. White was presented with
a very difficult decision when his attorneys abandoned him: to lose
all of his claims in an untimely motion or to sign an improper
verification and hope that the motion would at least be timely. The
new principles announced by the Missouri Supreme Court in his case
were not available to guide him in making that decision. Because
these principles were neither readily ascertainable nor firmly

established, the procedural default that ensued cannot be considered
an adequate state ground to bar federal review.

(App. 10.)

11

The Court of Appeals made the correct determination.°

Ill. THE COURT SHOULD DENY THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
BEC .USE THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IN NO WAY CREATES A
RIGHT TO EFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL IN POST-CONVICTION
PROCEEDINGS
The state’s excited assertions to the contrary, the Eighth Circuit’s decision in no way

implicates Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722 (1991), and has nothing to do with creating any sort

of right to effective assistance of counsel during state post-conviction proceedings. The Eighth

Circuit has firmly and consistently followed this Court’s precedent in rejecting such a right. Burns

v. Gammon, 173 F.3d 1089 (8" Cir. 1999); Nolan v. Armontrout, 973 F.2d 615, 617 (8" Cir. 1992).

Nothing in the Court of Appeals decision indicates in any way that the Court recognized a
right to effective assistance of post-conviction counsel. To the contrary, the Court specifically

recognized that Mr. White had “no right to effective assistance of post-conviction counsel,” but that

° The Petitioner characterizes the Court of Appeals’ decision as a failure to enforce the timing
and verification requirements of Rule 29.15. (Petition 21,24.) The Petitioner, however, has failed
to recognize or has chosen to ignore that this case is not about the application of Rule 29.15 filing
deadlines or verification requirements, but rather, it is about the application of a state court-created
exception to Rule 29.15 called the abandonment remedy. Whether the Petitioner wants to admit it
or not, this abandonment remedy was as much a part of Rule 29.15 as the timing and verification
requirements themselves. And no reason exists for a federal court to consider Rule 29.15's filing
requirements, but ignore the abandonment remedy which created valid exceptions to those
requirements. It was all part and parcel of one state-created post-conviction scheme. When the
Missouri Supreme Court chose not to follow the established scheme, the Court of Appeals was not
barred by the newly created rules. See, Ford v. Georgia, at 423-24 (federal courts need not “apply
a state procedural rule, even though the rule appeared in retrospect to form part of a consistent
pattern of procedures . . .only a firmly established and regularly followed state practice may be
interposed by a State to prevent subsequent review by this Court of a federal constitutional claim’’)
(internal citations and quotation marks omitted); see also, Del Vecchio v. Illinois Dep’t of
Corrections, 31 F.3d 1363, 1381(7th Cir. 1994) (en banc), cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1037 (1995) (state
supreme court’s resolution of claim, although based on state law, was not “adequate” ground because
court had “never [before] faced the question . . . [and its] resolution in Del Vecchio’s case was
novel’).

12

SAV ANY

Missouri had created a post-conviction procedure that had created an abandonment remedy. (App.
4.) It was application of this remedy to Mr. White’s case that was the subject of the independent and
adequate state ground analysis. While the Court of Appeals recognized that Mr. White was
abandoned by post-conviction counsel, it did not address whether such counsel provided effective
assistance.

Significantly, it was not even the Court of Appeals that determined that the abandonment had
occurred. It was the Missouri Supreme Court that found that the abandonment had occurred. This
fact completely removed the Court of Appeals from any assessment of post-conviction counsel’s
conduct. Thus, the Petitioner’s assertion, in its Question Presented for Review, that the Court of
Appeals concluded “that the state law remedy for post-conviction counsels’ noncompliance with a
state rule did not allow adequate representation in the collateral proceeding” (emphasis added) is
simply wrong. The Court of Appeals concluded no such thing. This was not the subject of its
analysis.

The subject of the Court of hiaiade analysis was whether the Missouri Supreme Court failed
to follow previously established rules, or created new rules, in applying the abandonment remedy
to Mr. White’s undisputed abandonment under Missouri law. Necessarily, the Missouri
abandonment remedy only applied when post-conviction counsel did or failed to do something
deemed to be abandonment; however, under neither Missouri law nor the Court of Appeals’ analysis
is abandonment tantamount to ineffective assistance of counsel under the Sixth Amendment.

Petitioner simply fails to recognize this clear distinction, and his attempt to invoke Coleman
v. Thompson is the result of confusion. The Court of Appeals did not hold that Mr. White was
entitled to effective post-conviction counsel.

13

CONCLUSION

No reason exists for the Court to grant the petition for a wnt of certiorari in this case. The

Court of Appeals applied well established Supreme Court precedent on the doctrine of independent

and adequate state grounds in rendering its decision. Petitioner’s attempt to portray the Court of

Appeals’ decision as one holding that a criminal defendant is entitled to effective assistance of post-

conviction counsel has absolutely no basis in law or fact. A full and fair reading of the Court of

Appeals’ decision demonstrates that it created no such right.

Instead, it is a well reasoned

application of the doctrine of independent and adequate state grounds applied to the unique facts of

Mr. White’s case.

Mr. White respectfully requests that Petitioner’s petition for wnt of certiorari be denied.

14

Respectfully Submitted,

Carte. tredvor by

Charles W. Gordon, Jr., MO Bar #32985
Counsel of Record

The Gordon Law Office

500 Plaza Center Building, 800 W. 47" Street
Kansas City, Missouri 64112

(816) 931-5557

AND

Loh ©. Yat C0) 6
Ronald E. Partee, MO Bar #23898

Fox Partee & Nigro

606 W. 39" Street

Kansas City, Missouri 64111

(816) 531-3500

Attorneys for Respondent, Leamon White

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1662%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
