# Amicus Curiae Brief — Duncan v. Walker

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1654%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 533 U.S. 167

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
(4) FILED
JAW § 200 a.
No. 00-121 8 200!
: CLERK
IN THE eee

Supreme Court of the United States

GEORGE DUNCAN, Petitioner,
v.

SHERMAN WALKER, Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF MASSACHUSETTS,
ALABAMA, DELAWARE, HAWAII, IOWA, MARYLAND,
MISSISSIPPI, MISSOURI, MONTANA, NEBRASKA,
NEVADA, OHIO, PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH DAKOTA,
TENNESSEE, UTAH, VIRGINIA, WASHINGTON, AND
WEST VIRGINIA IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER

THOMAS F. REILLY
Attorney General of Massachusetts

CATHERINE E. SULLIVAN*
Assistant Attorney General

* Counsel of Record
WILLIAM J. MEADE
Assistant Attorney General
One Ashburton Place
Boston, Massachusetts, 02108
(617) 727-2200

Counsel for Amici States

BILL PRYOR
Attorney General
State of Alabama

M. JANE BRADY
Attorney General
State of Delaware

EARL ¢ IZAI
Attorney General
State of Hawaii

THOMAS J. MILLER
Attorney General
State of Iowa

J. JOSEPH CURRAN, Jr.
Attorney General
State of Maryland

MICHAEL C. MOORE
Attorney General
State of Mississippi

JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON
Attorney General
State of Missouri

MIKE McGRATH
Attorney General
State of Montana

DON STENBERG
Attorney General
State of Nebraska

FRANKIE SUE DEL PAPA
Attorney General
State of Nevada

BETTY D. MONTGOMERY
Attorney General
State of Ohio

D. MICHAEL FISHER
Attorney General
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

MARK BARNETT
Attorney General
State of South Dakota

PAUL G. SUMMERS
Attorney General and Reporter
State of Tennessee

MARK L. SHURTLEFF
Attorney General
State of Utah

MARK L. EARLEY
Attorney General
Commonwealth of Virginia

CHRISTINE O. GREGOIRE
Attorney General
State of Washington

DARREL V. McGRAW, Jr.
Attorney General
State of West Virginia

Question Presented

Whether a prior federal habeas corpus
petition is an "application for State post-
conviction or other collateral review" within the
meaning of 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2), which
provides that the one-year statute of limitations
for federal habeas corpus petitions set forth in the
Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of
1996 (AEDPA) is tolled during the pendency of
such an application.

Table of Contents

Page
Bee OE BIE oo 0 60 hw i nekknx60ksskscbsteesn iv
Statement of Amici Interest ...........ccccccccccccces 1
DOTY GE APUNUNEE oc oon sccececadgeveeatisnncanes 3
RUE oo cocecdnesenvecsdésceecGecewisesasnntsue a
I. | BYITS PLAIN TERMS, § 2244(d)(2) REFERS
ONLY TO APPLICATIONS FOR STATE
ok Se rr ere pn Cen en 6
Il. CONSTRUING § 2244(d)(2) AS LIMITED TO
STATE PROCEEDINGS IS CONSISTENT
WITH THE STATUTE AS A WHOLE ......... 11
II. LIMITING TOLLING TO TIMES WHEN
STATE PROCEEDINGS ARE PENDING
FURTHERS THE GOALS OF AEDPA, AS
SHOWN BY THE STATUTE ITSELF AS
WELL AS ITS LEGISLATIVE HISTORY ..... 13

IV. THE EXISTENCE OF A WIDE VARIETY
OF COLLATERAL STATE PROCEEDINGS
GIVES MEANING TO CONGRESS’S
PHRASE "STATE POST-CONVICTION OR
OTHER COLLATERAL REVIEW" .......... 17

il

Table of Contents, continued

V. IF THE COURT REACHES THE ISSUE, IT
SHOULD HOLD THAT AEDPA’S STATUTE
OF LIMITATIONS IS NOT SUBJECT TO
EQUITABLE TOLLING ...........---ee0ee- 21

VI. SIMILARLY, IF THE COURT REACHES
THE ISSUE, IT SHOULD HOLD THAT
FEDERAL HABEAS PETITIONS MAY NOT
BE STAYED PENDING EXHAUSTION IN
STATE COURT ........cccccccccccccccccees 25

CE i cvbt eae ee bncecnasebeseetataassneed 27

iil

Table of Authorities

Page
Cases
Averett, petitioner, |
404 Mass. 28, 533 N.E.2d 1023 (1989) .......... 19
Babcock v. Duncan, |
1997 WL 724450 (N.D.Cal. 1997) .............4.. 9
Barrett v. Yearwood,
63 F.Supp.2d 1245 (E.D.Cal. 1999) .............. 9
Brogan v. United States,
S22 UD, Fae Ca es tack eaebvcatsaneasavnses 13
Burnett v. New York Cent. R.R. Co.,
380 U.S. 474 CAGES) occ ccccccccccsevccscnccecs 23
Calderon v. United States District Court,
144 F.3d 618 (9th Cir. 1998) ....... cece eee eeee 26
Calderon v. United States District Court (Beeler),
128 F.3d 1283 (9th Cir. 1997), cert. denied,
522 U.S. 1061 (199G) oc ccccccccsccccsccccccees 24
Calderon v. United States District Court (Kelly),
163 F.3d 530 (9th Cir. 1998), cert. denied,
119 SCC. 1STT GAGS) oscccscvscsccesececovess 24
Carmichael v. White,
163 F.3d 1044 (8th Cir. 1998) .............. 25, 26
Coates v. Byrd,
211 F.3d 1225 (11th Cir. 2000) ................. 8

iV

Table of Authorities, continued

z Page

Cases
Custis v. United States,

eS rer rrr ees 14
Davis v. Cambra,

1998 WL 738003 (N.D.Cal. 1998) ............66- 9
Davis v. Johnson,

158 F.3d 806, (Sth Cir. 1998), cert. denied,

Re ges DPC LEOOED ca cebnsccwesbdccetececens 24
Dickerson v. Latessa,

872 F.2d 1116 (1st Cir. 1969) ..cccccccccccccves 19
Duncan v. Henry,

St SE REEDED Soc ccccdecectccveesececess 15
Ex parte Royall,

Se EE CUED cb cdcccccccnecoeevecesecece 10
Felker v. Turpin,

OE CROP voccbsccusseccvecscesecess 22
Fisher v. Johnson,

Be ae FAW Cen Gls ESF) oc cvcccccceccccsone 22

Table of Authorities, continued

Page

Cases
Giles v. United States,

6 F.Supp.2d 648 (E.D. Mich. 1998), aff'd,

2000 WL 1720730 (Nov. 8, 2000) .............. 22
Grooms v. Johnson,

ee ae Ge Cee Cts BIG ED sc ceccvecesncesveces 8
Hardin v. Straub,

et Bee ee LOD 6 os Was kceb ud oho dnko Rene see 10
Harris v. Hutchinson,

BP Toe FOO CGN CA. BRO) veresccccvocderece 24
Harrison v. Galaza,

1999 WL, SGSP4 (N.D.Cal, 1999) .ccccccccsccccecs 9
Irwin v. Department of Veterans Affairs,

ee ee re 21
Jimenez v. Rice,

222 F.3d 1210 (9th Cir. 2000) ......... 8, 10,12, 15
Jones v. Morton,

Se ae Be CRO Gs SIGE? ce ce vcctnceseeeces 15
Kethley v. Berge,

14 F.Supp.2d 1077 (E.D. Wis. 1998) ............. 9
Lindh v. Murphy,

ee eee er eee re 12

vi

Table of Authorities, continued
Cases

Martin v. Hadix,

OUTER, TABOO ni dc vis vs csdecctccas

McCarthy v. Bronson,

500 U.S. 136 (1991) ..... cc cccccecececes

Miller v. Marr,
141 F.3d 976 (10th Cir.), cert. denied,

CR ois cr cv pu cnavetiavus

Miller v. New Jersey State Dept. of Corrections,

145 F.3d 616 (3d Cir. 1998) .......0eeeees

Moore v. United States,

173 F.3d 1131 (8th Cir. 1999) .........46-

Ott v. Johnson,
192 F.3d 510 (5th Cir. 1999), cert. denied,

120 S.Ct. 1834 (2000) ......- cece eeeeees

Pennsylvania v. Finley,

481 U.S. 551 (1987) ...... cece cece eee cees

Phoenix v. Matesanz,

189 F.3d 23 (1st Cir. 1999) .........02008-

Ratzlaf v. United States,

EE SI isin sc cn sens knccavas

Vii

Table of Authorities, continued

Page

Cases
Rhine v. Boone,

182 F.3d 1153 (10th Cir. 1999), cert. denied,

ep Re Pree ee 8
Rose v. Lundy,

455 U.S. SED CUGER) occ cccccves 3, 4, 5, 14, 15, 25, 26
Rupert v. Johnson,

83 F.Supp.2d 801 (W.D. Texas 1998) ............ 8
Russello v. United States,

GEG UA BO GPSS) 6 6 6a che ccdcccecs (easseseoocns 12
Sandvik v. United States,

ETT F.36 1269 (21th Cir. 1999) .ncccccccccesece 24
Smith v. McGinnis,

208 F.3d 13 (2d Cir. 2000), cert. denied,

bie Fo B® fy POPPeTeTTTT TTT TTT eee 24
Sperling v. White,

30 F.Supp.2d 1246

CEB Gi. SOOO cc cncccnccccececes 7, 8, 13, 15, 22
Sterling v. Scott,

57 F.3d 451 (5th Cir. 1995), cert. denied,

SAS Wdk, FE CASED cca ibneadecsivescosantanse 26

Vill

Table of Authorities, continued

Page

Cases
Stewart, petitoner,

411 Mass. 566, 583 N.E.2d 854 (1992) .......... 19
Taliani v. Chrans,

Be eee Cree Cale EOOOP ccc ccidectecsccess 24
United Savings Ass’n v. Timbers of Inwood Forest

Associates, Ltd.,

Ge Ss ee GD 6 56 8 on0c0nus0006eescscceae 13
United States v. Addonizio,

442 U.S. 178 (1979) . 0... ccc cece cece ecee cee 14
United States v. Beggerly,

524 Sis BO CAPPED ccc cccccccscens 21, 22, 23, 24, 25
United States v. Brockamp,

Dae Gis SOE COED o ccc cceeseccadsius 21, 23, 24, 25
United States v. Cicero,

Be ee Be Cs Gals BONED 66 hak ccccsavseess 24
United States v. Locke,

Pe MEE 64-0 caudbeceuenecuunsseceus 21
United States v. Marcello,

212 F.3d 1005 (7th Cir. 2000), cert. denied,

Se ee ED 08.64 008 GN Geass ekaewcveces 24

ix

Table of Authorities, continued

Page

Cases
United States v. Reccko,

Re ate AP CREE Gs RUPEE 6 once vanerseceserces 23
United States v. Wells,

Dae Rie EE CAO ED inc cciecesdéoneseteses eens 24
Victor v. Hopkins,

90 F.3d 276 (8th Cir. 1996), cert. denied,

SEP Ges REDS CROP ED 6 0's 0d ewenens WaEe cc ccwwned 26
Vincze v. Hickman,

1999 WL 68330 (E.D.Cal. 1999) ................ 9
Walker v. Artuz, -

BUS F396 S57 (46 Cop. BOGE) on cccccccsccecces 5, 17
Williams v. Taylor,

ERO CAE BGS GRE hc cecscasecnssenns 10, 18, 22
Wilwording v. Swenson,

ge | ee ee ee ee err er 10
Statutes, Regulations, and Court Rules
Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act
CARITAS GE SIGS ck cwe en cueees cacvescicacteseans passim
ROS Be UL, BTR so oc vdha tonic stadsbeciceeesaes 16

es

&

PA

4

*
“

|

Table of Authorities, continued

Page

Statutes, Regulations, and Court Rules
Title 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d) ...... cece cece eeeees passim
Tithe 26 U.S.C. § 2254 0. sccccccccscccccscvcvece 11, 16
Title 28 U.S.C. § Z2SS ....cccccsccvcccccccsccccvcees 22
Title 28 U.S.C. § 2261(e) .....cccccccccccccccccccees 12
Title 28 U.S.C. § 2264(a)(3) .... 2. cece cece eee eee eeees 12
Re’ 5) rrrerrrrrrrri rere T err rere 24
Rule 4, Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the

United States District Courts (2000) ............ 16
Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 278, § 33E ........cceeeeeeeeees 19
Other Authorities
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-518, reprinted in

1996 U.S.C.C.A.N. 944 ....ccccccccccccecs 13,22
141 Cong. Rec. §7803-01 (June 7, 1995) ........-...48- 17
141 Cong. Rec. §7825-26 (June 7, 1995) ...........+-- 17

Xl

Table of Authorities, continued

Page

Other Authorities
Fallon, Meltzer, Shapiro, Hart & Wechsler,

The Federal Courts and the Federal

POG, COU. TSFF) oo ccccccticncccscuseccees 9
James S. Liebman & Randy Hertz, Federal Habeas

Corpus Practice and Procedure

COR GS SI, BOE on 0h ccb ne 6c cack ca civecnsns 9
Lawrence Yackle, A Primer on the New Habeas

Corpus Statute, 44 Buffalo L. Rev 381 (1996) ..... 9
Lawrence Yackle, Post-Conviction Remedies

Bae Cawee Ge OE, BOOee 8os dew cscs cuccencwcns 18

Xl

No. 00-121

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

GEORGE DUNCAN, Petitioner,
v.

SHERMAN WALKER, Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF MASSACHUSETTS,
DELAWARE, HAWAII, [OWA, MARYLAND, MISSISSIPPI,
MISSOURI, NEBRASKA, NEVADA, OHIO,
PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, UTAH,
VIRGINIA, WASHINGTON, AND WEST VIRGINIA IN
SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER

Statement of Amici Interest

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts, together with the
other amici states, join the State of New York in urging the Court
to reverse the judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit and hold that, under 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2), the statute
of limitations for federal habeas corpus petitions filed by state
prisoners is not tolled during the pendency of a prior federal
habeas corpus petition.

The central reason that the Court should reject the lower
court’s interpretation of the toHing provision of the Antiterrorism
and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996 (AEDPA), which

provides that the one-year statute of limitations is suspended
during the pendency of a "properly-filed application for State
post-conviction or other collateral review," is simply that the
words of the statute do not provide for tolling during prior federal
habeas review. It stretches both grammar and logic to pluck the
words "other collateral" from the phrase "State post-conviction or
other collateral review," declare that they are not modified by the
word "State," and conclude that Congress therefore must have
intended silently to refer to federal collateral review. The words
of the statute demonstrate that Congress provided for tolling only
during the pendency of state review proceedings, which, unlike
prior federal proceedings, advance the case towards finality by
exhausting state court remedies and serve the further purpose of
comity by affording state courts the first opportunity to consider
prisoners’ federal claims. :

The amici states have an interest in an interpretation of the
tolling provision that does not promote the filing of unexhausted
federal habeas corpus petitions. The statutory scheme under
AEDPA encourages prisoners promptly to begin the exhaustion
process in state court, and it provides an incentive for speedy state
court filing by allowing tolling of the statute of limitations during
the time that a properly-filed state proceeding is pending. To read
into the statute a similar provision for tolling during prior federal
habeas corpus petitions would provide an incentive for prisoners
to do exactly the opposite: file first in federal court, regardless of
whether their claims have been exhausted, and delay state court
filing until receiving a ruling from the federal court. The
incentive for prompt state court filing would be removed, and the
prisoner could simply mark time in federal court, knowing that,
if the court found his claims unexhausted, he still would be able
to commence a state court exhaustion process. Such a scheme
promotes unnecessary federal habeas corpus litigation, requires
expenditure of state resources to defend duplicative habeas
petitions, prolongs the exhaustion process, and conflicts with the

ed

Court’s teaching in Rose v. Lundy, 455 U.S. 509, 520 (1982),
requiring prisoners to evaluate their claims for exhaustion before
bringing them to federal court.

Summary of Argument

I. The plain words of 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2), as amended
by AEDPA, the tolling provision of AEDPA’s statute of
limitations, refer only to applications for “State” collateral review.
Not only does the phrase "application for State post-conviction or
other collateral review" contain no reference to federal habeas
corpus petitions, but the positioning of the words "post-conviction
or other collateral" between the adjective "State" and the noun it
modifies, "review," makes this the only natural reading of the
phrase. The reasoning of the court of appeals, that a silent
reference to "federal" collateral review must be read into the
section because the phrase "other collateral" review otherwise
would be meaningless, is based on the incorrect assumption that
Congress could not have used broad language to ensure that the
great variety of state collateral proceedings were included in the
tolling provision. Moreover, the lower court’s reading is
inconsistent with the entire section, adopting a one-year statute of
limitations subject only to limited tolling during proceedings that
promote exhaustion and advance the case towards finality. By
broadening the circumstances in which tolling is permitted, the
lower court’s interpretation would foster delay and piecemeal
litigation, a result contrary to the statutory scheme.

II. Reading § 2244(d)(2) in accordance with its plain
meaning to apply only to state proceedings is also consistent with
the statute as a whole. The amendments enacted by AEDPA,
including the one-year statute of limitations, restrictions on
second or successive petitions, and a standard of review that gives
greater deference to state-court decisions, reflect the goals of
streamlining and accelerating the habeas review process, while

recognizing interests of comity. To toll the statute of limitations
during state review proceedings furthers these goals, as it
encourages petitioners to begin the state court exhaustion process
promptly and hastens the final resolution of the case. On the
other hand, to read into the statute a tolling provision for federal
review proceedings would have the opposite result: it would
encourage petitioners to delay commencement of the state
exhaustion process and instead to file unexhausted petitions in
federal court. In addition, Congress explicitly used the word
"Federal" on several occasions in AEDPA to refer to federal
proceedings, indicating that it is unlikely Congress would have
intended a silent reference to federal habeas corpus in this
instance.

III. The purposes of AEDPA, as shown by the statute
itself as well as by its legislative history, strongly support reliance
on the plain meaning of § 2244(d)(2). There can be no question
that a central goal of the statute, as amended by AEDPA, is to
expedite federal habeas corpus review. The delay and piecemeal
litigation that would be encouraged by allowing tolling for prior
federal habeas corpus petitions is entirely contrary to this
statutory purpose. Moreover, to encourage filing of unexhausted
claims in federal court contravenes the holding of Rose v. Lundy,
455 U.S. 509, 520 (1982), which advises petitioners not to bring
claims to federal court until they are sure they have complied with
the exhaustion requirement.

IV. The existence of a wide variety of state review
proceedings gives meaning to Congress’s phrase, "State post-
conviction or other collateral review." Thus, the lower court’s
assumption that Congress could not have intended these words to
refer only to State proceedings is erroneous. The terminology
given to state post-conviction proceedings varies from state to
state, and some are expressly labeled "post-conviction review"
petitions. The older forms of review, including habeas corpus

and coram nobis, may not be considered to fall into this category
based on their nomenclature. And certainly, collateral
proceedings reviewing non-criminal forms of detention, such as
civil commitments, could not be termed "post-conviction."

V. If the Court reaches the issue, it should hold that
equitable tolling does not apply to AEDPA’s statute of
limitations. Because the statute provides explicitly for tolling
during State review proceedings, and where it also includes
equitable considerations in defining the events that trigger the
commencement of the statute of limitations, it is plain that
Congress did not intend to permit additional factors, not among
those specified in the statute, to toll the limitations period.

VI. If the Court reaches the issue, it also should hold that
a district court may not stay a federal habeas corpus petition while
the petitioner returns to court to exhaust his claims. Such a
procedure is contrary to the holding of Rose v. Lundy, 455 U.S.
509, 522 (1982) that unexhausted petitions must be dismissed and
that mixed petitions may be dismissed or amended to exclude the
unexhausted claims. To allow federal petitions to be stayed or
held in abeyance during the exhaustion process would encourage
piecemeal litigation and would contravene AEDPA’s statute of
limitations.

Argument

In its decision below, the court of appeals interpreted the
tolling provision of the statute of limitations in the federal habeas
corpus statute, 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2), which tolls the one-year
statute of limitations imposed by the Antiterrorism and Effective
Death Penalty Act of 1996 (AEDPA) during the pendency of an
“application for State post-conviction or other collateral review,”
as applying not only to state post-conviction proceedings, but also
to prior federal habeas corpus proceedings. Walker v. Artuz, 208

F.3d 357, 359-61 (2d Cir. 2000). The court concluded that the
words “other collateral” would be meaningless unless they were
interpreted to mean “federal collateral.” Jd. at 360.

The lower court’s decision contravenes the plain words of
§2244(d)(2), it is inconsistent with the statute as a whole and with
its goals, and it ignores the wide variety of state collateral
proceedings that Congress ensured would be encompassed within
the tolling provision by its choice of broad, alternative
descriptions.

I. BY ITS PLAIN TERMS, § 2244(d)(2) REFERS
ONLY TO APPLICATIONS FOR STATE
REVIEW.

There can be no question that the plain words of 28 U.S.C.
§ 2244(d)(2), as amended by AEDPA, refer only to applications
for “State” collateral review. AEDPA’s statute of limitations
provides:

(1) A 1-year period of limitation shall apply to an
application for a writ of habeas corpus by a person in
custody pursuant to the judgment of a State court. The
limitation period shall run from the latest of —

(A) the date on which the judgment
became final by the conclusion of direct review or
the expiration of the time for seeking such review;

(B) the date on which the impediment to
filing an application created by State action in
violation of the Constitution or laws of the United
States is removed, if the applicant was prevented
from filing by such State action;

oes

(C) the date on which the constitutional
right asserted was initially recognized by the
Supreme Court, if the right has been newly
recognized by the Supreme Court and made
retroactively applicable to cases on collateral
review; or

(D) the date on which the factual predicate
of the claim or claims presented could have been
discovered through the exercise of due diligence.

(2) The time during which a properly filed
application for State post-conviction or other collateral
review with respect to the pertinent judgment or claim is
pending shall not be counted toward any period of
limitation under this subsection.

28 U.S.C. § 2244(d) (emphasis added).

The plain language of 28 U.S.C. §2244(d)(2) cannot be
read to support the court of appeals’-decision. See United States
v. Wells, 519 U.S. 482, 490 (1997) (natural reading is the first
criterion in the interpretive hierarchy). “[S]tatutory language
must always be read in its proper context. In ascertaining the
plain meaning of a statute, the court must look to the particular
statutory language at issue, as well as the language and design of
the statute as a whole.” McCarthy v. Bronson, 500 U.S. 136, 139
(1991) (citations omitted), quoted in Sperling v. White, 30
F.Supp.2d 1246, 1250 (C.D.Cal. 1998).

Here, there is simply nothing in the plain words of the
phrase, “application for State post-conviction or other collateral
review,” that naturally may be read to refer to federal collateral
relief. The syllogism that the court of appeals used to reach this
conclusion is strained at best: because there is no meaningful

difference between state “post-conviction” and state “collateral”
remedies, the lower court posited, it must be assumed that
Congress intended the phrase “other collateral” to be a silent
reference to “federal collateral” review. Walker, 208 F.3d at 359-
61. Not only was the lower court’s premise erroneous, as
described below,’ but the court’s analysis ignored the plain words
of the phrase and their natural import. Where the words “post-
conviction or other collateral” appear together, sandwiched
between the adjective “State” and the noun that the whole phrase
modifies, “review,” the plain and natural reading of this phrase is
that it refers to state review only.

Such a conclusion is consistent with the interpretation
given the statute by the United States Courts of Appeals for the
Third, Fifth and Ninth Circuits, each of which has held that the
limitations period of 28 U.S.C. §2244(d)(1) is not tolled during
the pendency ofa petitioner’s prior federal habeas corpus petition.
See Jones v. Morton, 195 F.3d 153, 158-159 (3d Cir. 1999);
Grooms v. Johnson, 208 F.3d 488, 489 (Sth Cir. 1999); Jiminez
v. Rice, 222 F.3d 1210, 1213-14 (9th Cir. 2000). This
interpretation is also consistent with opinions of the United States
Courts of Appeals for the Fifth, Tenth and Eleventh Circuits,
which have concluded that petitions for certiorari to the Supreme
Court do not constitute “other collateral review,” as they are not
petitions for “State” review, see Ott v. Johnson, 192 F.3d 510,
513 (Sth Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 120 S.Ct. 1834 (2000); Rhine v.
Boone, 182 F.3d 1153, 1156 (10th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 120
S.Ct. 808 (2000), Coates v. Byrd, 211 F.3d 1225, 1227 (11th Cir.
2000); and with the opinions of most district courts that have
addressed the issue.” The authors of these decisions all conclude

—

'See argument IV below.

See, e.g., Rupert v. Johnson, 83 F.Supp.2d 801, 804 (W.D.Tex 1998)
(for purposes of tolling under §2244(d)(2), federal habeas petition does not
constitute “other collateral relief’); Sperling v. White, 30 F.Supp.2d 1246,

8

that the plain and natural reading of § 2244(d)(2) is that the word
“State” modifies the entire phrase following it, including both
“post-conviction” and “other collateral” review.’

A natural reading of the phrase need not ignore its logical
import in the context of the entire section, which enacted a one-
year time limitation, subject only to limited exceptions and
tolling. No one disputes that Congress intended to -- and did --

1253 (C.D.Cal. 1998) (§2244(d)(2) “plainly does not toll limitations during the
pendency of federal habeas petitions”); Kethley v. Berge, 14 F.Supp.2d 1077,
1079 (E.D.Wis. 1998) (no tolling under §2244(d)(2) for time that unexhausted
claims in federal habeas petition were pending in District Court); Harrison v.

Galaza, 1999 WL 58594, at *2 (N.D.Cal. 1999) (“t]he running of the
limitation period is not tolled, as petitioner contends, for the time period,
during which a properly filed application for post-conviction or other collateral
review is pending in federal court”); Vincze v. Hickman, 1999 WL 68330, at
*1 (E.D.Cal. 1999) (“the court concludes that the statutory tolling provision
set forth in Section 2244(d)(2) does not toll the period during the pendency of
petitioner's first federal habeas petition”); Davis v. Cambra, 1998 WL 738003,

at *2 (N.D. Cal. 1998) (“[t)he time during which a properly filed application
for post-conviction or other collateral review is pending in federal court does
not toll the running of the one-year statute of limitations”); Babcock v.
Duncan, 1997 WL 724450, at *2 (N.D.Cal. 1997) (“{n]o court has found that
the running of the limitations period also is tolled . . . for the time period
during which a properly filed [habeas corpus petition] is pending in federal
court”). But see Barrett v. Yearwood, 63 F.Supp.2d 1245, 1250
(E.D.Cal.1999) (the “plain meaning” of §2244(d)(2) “is that the statute of
limitations is tolled during the pendency of any properly filed federal habeas
corpus petition”).

*That this is the natural reading of § 2244(d)(2) is further confirmed
by the agreement of the authors of a treatise "written from the procedural
perspective of prisoners," that "federal habeas corpus proceedings do not
themselves toll AEDPA’s statute of limitations." See 1 James S. Liebman &
Randy Hertz, Federal Habeas Corpus Practice and Procedure § 1.1 at 2;
§ 5.1b at 229-30 n.57 (3d ed. 1998 & Supp. 1999) (emphasis omitted); accord
Fallon, Meltzer, Shapiro, Hart & Wechsler, The Federal Courts and the
Federal System (Supp. 1999) 162; Lawrence Yackle, A Primer on the New
Habeas Corpus Statute, 44 Buffalo L. Rev 381, 387 (1996).

- 9

toll the statute of limitations during the pendency of a properly-
filed state application for collateral review. It would be surprising
if even the respondent did not agree that this Congressional intent
extended to the full panoply of state court vehicles for attacking
the judgment of conviction or other confinement, whatever the
local terminology for such relief. Stopping the clock for a broad
range of state court remedies makes sense in light of the
longstanding interests, recognized by habeas corpus jurisprudence
and legislation, in comity and exhaustion of state court remedies.
See, e.g., Ex parte Royall, 117 U.S. 241 (1886); Wilwording v.
Swenson, 404 U.S. 249, 250 (1971). Thus, the natural import of
the words themselves, referring to any and all such state court
remedies, is also logical in the context of the entirety of
§ 2244(d), imposing a one-year statute of limitations, subject to
only limited exceptions and tolling. On the other hand, to read
the words “other collateral” as a silent reference to “federal
collateral” review is to broaden the circumstances in which tolling
is permitted, and makes no sense in the context of the section
itself, since “[a]pplying §2244(d)(2) to a federal petition does
nothing to further Congress’s intent to promote exhaustion of
state relief.” Jiminez v. Rice, 222 F.3d at 1214. Moreover, such
a re-writing of the statute would foster delays in federal habeas
corpus cases, a result plainly contrary to the overall statutory
scheme and the purpose of the statute of limitations to accelerate
the habeas corpus process. See Hardin v. Straub, 490 U.S. 536,
539 (1989).

Finally, a “cardinal principle of statutory construction
... [iS] to give effect, if possible, to every clause and word of the
statute.” Williams v. Taylor, 120 S.Ct. 1495, 1519 (2000).
“Judges should hesitate . . . to treat statutory terms [as surplusage]
in any setting.” Ratzlaf v. United States, 510 U.S. 135, 140
(1994), quoted in Jiminez v. Rice, 222 F.3d at 1212-14. The
lower court’s interpretation of § 2244(d)(2) would do just that:
it would render the word “State” superfluous. And if, contrary

10

to the amici states’ argument, the word “collateral” were viewed
as wholly synonymous with, and merely repetitive of, the phrase
“post-conviction,” the words “other collateral” would also be
superfluous. The lower court’s analysis is simply contrary to the
plain language of the statute.

Il. CONSTRUING § 2244(d)(2) AS LIMITED TO
STATE PROCEEDINGS IS CONSISTENT
WITH THE STATUTE AS A WHOLE.

While it is not necessary to look beyond the plain words
of 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2) to glean its meaning, reading the
section to apply only to state proceedings is also consistent with
the overall statutory scheme enacted under AEDPA.

The statute itself imposes several means to streamline and
speed up federal habeas corpus review, including not only the
statute of limitations contained in § 2244(d), but also limitations
on second or successive petitions and a standard of review
designed to give greater deference to state courts’ legal
conclusions and factual findings. 28 U.S.C. §§ 2244(b), 2254(d)-
(e). Tolling the statute of limitations during exhaustion
proceedings in state court, which serve the interests of comity as
well as causing the case to progress towards finality, is wholly
consistent with this statutory scheme, as it encourages prisoners
promptly to begin the exhaustion process and puts the case "on
track" to a final conclusion. To read into the statute a tolling
provision for prior federal habeas corpus petitions, however,
makes no sense at all in light of the statutory scheme. Such a
provision would encourage prisoners to delay commencement of
the state exhaustion process by filing unexhausted claims in
federal court and encourage -- rather than discourage -- multiple,
piecemeal collateral attacks on state convicitons and sentences via
federal habeas corpus actions. Requiring the states to defend
duplicative and unnecessary habeas petitions, where in general

11

the only result is to send the prisoner to state court to exhaust his
claims, contravenes the statutory scheme to encourage prompt
state filings and advance the case towards finality.

Reference to other sections of AEDPA, moreover, makes
it particularly evident that Congress’s omission of any reference
to "federal" proceedings in § 2244(d)(2) was intentional. On
numerous occasions, Congress made explicit reference to
"federal" proceedings. See 28 U.S.C. § 2254(I), referring to
ineffective assistance of counsel “during Federal or State
collateral post-conviction proceedings”; § 2261(e), referring to
ineffective assistance of counsel in capital cases “during State or
Federal post-conviction proceedings” and to appointment of
counsel “at any phase of State or Federal post-conviction
proceedings”; § 2264(a)(3), referring to facts that could not have
been discovered “in time to present the claim for State or Federal
post-conviction review.” That, in the tolling provision of
§ 2244(d)(2), Congress included a reference to “State” review,
but made no reference at all to “federal” proceedings, indicates
that it did not intend silently to include tolling for federal
collateral proceedings. |

This conclusion is supported by the canon of statutory
construction, expressio unius est exclusio alterius. That is,
“(w]here Congress includes particular language in one section of
a statute but omits it in another section of the same Act, it is
generally presumed that Congress acts intentionally and purposely
in the disparate inclusion or exclusion.” Russello v. United
States, 464 U.S. 16, 23 (1983); see Jiminez v. Rice, 222 F.3d at
1213-14; cf. Lindh v. Murphy, 521 U.S. 320, 330 (1997) (because
Congress specifically provided that the AEDPA applies to
pending capital cases, but failed to address the AEDPA’s
application to pending non-capital cases, the negative implication
of Congress’s failure was that Congress did not intend that the
AEDPA apply to pending non-capital cases). Thus, even if the

12

word “State” in this context were deemed ambiguous, the
inclusion of the word “Federal” elsewhere to refer to federal
proceedings clarifies that the use of “State” alone indeed was
intended to denote only state proceedings. See generally United
Savings Ass'n v. Timbers of Inwood Forest Associates, Ltd., 484
U.S. 365, 371 (1988). It may be inferred from the many explicit
references to “Federal” proceedings in other sections of AEDPA
that Congress would “have used language more obviously
targeted” to include federal proceedings had it so intended. See
Martin v. Hadix, 527 U.S. 343, 354 (1999). —

Similarly, “[u]nder the principle ejusdem generis, when a
general term follows a specific one, the general term should be
understood as a reference to subjects akin to the one with specific
enumeration.” Brogan v. United States, 522 U.S. 398, 403 n.2
(1998) (citations omitted), quoted in Sperling v. White, 30
F.Supp.2d at 1253 & n.9. Applying this principle, the phrase, “a
properly filed application for State post-conviction or other
collateral review,” limits the definition of the general words
“other collateral review” by the more specific words “State
post-conviction” review. Thus, the words “other collateral
review,” read in the context of the sentence as a whole, naturally
denote other state collateral review proceedings and should not be
read to refer to an entirely new class of non-state or federal
proceedings.

Ill. LIMITING TOLLING TO TIMES WHEN
STATE PROCEEDINGS ARE PENDING
FURTHERS THE GOALS OF AEDPA, AS
SHOWN BY THE STATUTE ITSELF AS
WELL AS ITS LEGISLATIVE HISTORY.

Both the provisions of AEDPA itself and its legislative

history reveal a purpose to expedite federal habeas corpus review.
See H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-518, at 11 (1996), reprinted in 1996

‘ 13

U.S.C.C.A.N. 944 (AEDPA amendments intended to “curb the
abuse of the statutory writ of habeas corpus, and to address the
acute problems of unnecessary delay and abuse in capital cases,”
as well as to require exhaustion of state remedies and deference
to state court decisions that meet the new standard); H.Rep. No.
104-23 at 29 (one purpose of AEDPA’s habeas corpus reform was
to “curb the lengthy delays in filing that now often occur in
federal habeas corpus litigation). Moreover, the need to bring
cases to finality without unnecessary delay is not limited to
capital cases. Victims of crime and their families, witnesses, and
the community have a need for finality and closure in criminal
cases in general. Cf Custis v. United States, 511 U.S. 485, 497
(1994) (““Inroads on the concept of finality tend to undermine
confidence in the integrity of our procedures’ and inevitably delay
and impair the orderly administration of justice.”) (quoting United
States v. Addonizio, 442 U.S. 178, 184 n.11 (1979)).

To adopt the plain meaning of § 2244(d)(2) is wholly
consistent with AEDPA’s purpose promptly to bring cases to
finality. To limit tolling to state collateral proceedings serves the
purposes of finality by stopping the habeas clock only for review
proceedings that advance the case towards a final conclusion.
Nothing in AEDPA suggests that Congress intended to delay the
final resolution of a case by encouraging petitioners to go
automatically or repeatedly to federal court, without first
exhausting state court remedies. Yet this would be the result if
tolling were permitted for prior federal habeas corpus petitions.
Contrary to the holding of Rose v. Lundy, 455 U.S. 509, 520
(1982), in which the Court directed petitioners to “be sure [they]
have taken each [claim] to state court” before bringing it to
federal court, id. at 520, providing for tolling during prior federal
habeas petitions would encourage petitioners to make federal
court their first stop. There would be no need for a petitioner to
evaluate his or her claims for exhaustion prior to filing in federal
court, since the clock would stop as soon as the petition was filed,

14

apes ee Nema
ant

exhausted or not. From the petitioner’s point of view, it would be
foolish not to bring unexhausted claims to federal court first, in
the hope that the defect would go unnoticed and with the
assurance that, in any event, nothing would be lost. Moreover, if
the petitioner wished to buy additional time prior to filing in state
court, he could simply file a series of unexhausted petitions in
federal court, tolling the statute indefinitely. See Jones v. Morton,
195 F.3d at 159; Sperling v. White, 30 F.Supp.2d at 1251.

Such a scenario is wholly contrary to the interests of
finality and expedition of federal habeas corpus review.
Litigation of unexhausted petitions adds another step in the
process of collateral review that delays, rather than expedites, the
progress of the case towards finality. Defense of unexhausted
petitions also requires the expenditure of state resources. In states
such as Massachusetts, where the local district attorneys handle
all state court appeals and post-conviction motions filed in state
court, the attorney general must request the file from the local
district attorney, often requiring retrieval from a storage facility,
and then review it for the first time. When the petitioner has
failed to present his claims to the state courts, not only have the
State courts been deprived of the first opportunity to rule on the
issue, but the local prosecutor has not reviewed the claim, and
coordination of effort is required between the state and local
prosecutors in order to ensure that all relevant facts and
considerations are marshaled. It is far preferable, as Congress
evidently recognized, to create a strong incentive for petitioners
to go immediately to state court to exhaust their claims, where the
local authorities and courts most familiar with the matter may
consider it in the first instance. See Duncan v. Henry, 513 U.S.
364, 365-366 (1995); Rose v. Lundy, 455 U.S. 509, 518 (1982);
Jiminez v. Rice, 222 F.3d at 1214. When this has occurred, the
process of federal habeas review of the state court decision,
within the one-year limitations period, is not only more efficient,
but it is informed by the earlier state court review process. Most

15

importantly, where petitioners go directly to state court, the time
during which the unexhausted petition would otherwise have been
pending in federal court -- a proceeding that does nothing to
promote finality and simply delays the state exhaustion process --
is not lost.

While it is true that AEDPA permits a federal district
court to deny the petition on the merits, rather than dismiss for
failure to exhaust, 28 U.S.C. § 2254(b)(2), such a process should
not be frequently used because it deprives state courts of the first
opportunity to pass on the claim and because commencing the
review process in federal court bypasses the informed judgment
of the state courts most familiar with the case. In light of the
principles of comity, it appears that this section was intended to
conform § 2254 to existing rules providing for summary denial of
those cases in which the claim is plainly meritless on its face. See
28 U.S.C. § 2243; Rule 4, Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases
in the United States District Courts (2000). The existence of this
option in no way suggests that filing of unexhausted claims
speeds up the federal review process or that Congress intended to
encourage all petitioners to commence their exhaustion process
in federal, rather than state, court.

In addition to the House Report setting forth the general
goals of AEDPA, there is some evidence from remarks and
testimony during Congress’s consideration of AEDPA that the
tolling provision was intended to apply to state proceedings only.
One such reference is particularly clear: in testimony before the
House of Representatives Judiciary Committee, Daniel E.
Lungren, then-Attorney General of California, proposed the very
scheme that Congress adopted: “one suggested modification to
improve [the statute of limitations] would be to begin the clock
from the finality of judgment on direct appeal with perhaps a
tolling period for state collateral review.” Revised Crime Bill:
Before the House Committee on the Judiciary Subcommittee on

16

7 cere DLR

Crime, 104th Cong., (January 19, 1995) (emphasis added). That
Congress was aware of the varied nature of state collateral
proceedings is also evident from remarks of Sen. Spector during
the Senate debate: “(h]Jabeas corpus proceedings arising from
Federal convictions are handled slightly differently than those
arising out of State convictions, because in State proceedings,
after the highest State court affirms the death penalty on direct
review, there may then be additional State-court review called
collateral review on State habeas corpus before review on
Federal habeas corpus.” 141 Cong. Rec. § 7803-01 (June 7,
1995) (emphasis added); see also 141 Cong. Rec. § 7803-01, §
7825-26 (Sen. Orrin Hatch, June 7, 1995) (appearing to describe
a State petition for clemency as a form of collateral review, but
distinct from judicial post-conviction review). In contrast to the
references to state collateral proceedings, amici states are unaware
of any indication in the legislative history that suggests Congress
was considering tolling the limitations period during pare
collateral proceedings.

IV. THE EXISTENCE OF A WIDE VARIETY
OF COLLATERAL STATE PROCEEDINGS
GIVES MEANING TO CONGRESS’S
PHRASE "STATE POST-CONVICTION OR
OTHER COLLATERAL REVIEW."

Perhaps the greatest shortcoming of the court of appeals’
reasoning was its assumption that there can be no meaningful
distinction between the phrases “post-conviction . . . review” and
“collateral review.” See Walker v. Artuz, 208 F.3d at 360
("Because ‘post-conviction review’ is a broad term that seems
to encompass all review a prisoner seeks after conviction, we
can see no reason why Congress should have believed that there
were ‘other’ forms of ‘collateral review’ that did not come
within the scope of ‘post-conviction review.’"). It was this
assumption that caused the lower court to reject the most natural

17

and plain reading of § 2244(d)(2) and, in effect, re-write it to
comprise "federal" collateral review. The existence of a wide
variety of collateral state proceedings, not all of which may be
considered or uniformly described as "post-conviction,"
lrowever, makes it entirely reasonable for Congress to have used
this broad terminology to ensure that all state collateral
remedies, whatever their local terminology, and whether or not
they followed a "conviction," were encompassed within
AEDPA’s tolling provision.

The phrase “post-conviction . . . review” has no
application to state review of non-criminal forms of custody, such
as civil commitments, and in some states it is a statutory term
that, without the clarifying phrase “or other collateral review,”
could have led to confusion about Congress’s intention to include
all collateral remedies, regardless of their nomenclature. On the
other hand, referring first to “post-conviction” remedies made it
clear that the commonly-used statutory forms of relief designated
“post-conviction” were included in the tolling provision, as well
as the collateral remedies that employed older terminology, such
as habeas corpus. See Lawrence Yackle, Post-Conviction
Remedies §13 (1981 & Supp. 2000) (describing remedies
expressly termed “post-conviction” and others employing
different terminology such as habeas corpus); Williams v. Taylor,
120 S.Ct. at 1501 (state habeas corpus referred to as “state
collateral relief); Pennsylvania v. Finley, 481 U.S. 551, 556, 557,
559 (1987) (statutory remedy under Pennsylvania Post Conviction
Hearing Act referred to as “post conviction review”).

Congress’s choice of the broad phrase “other collateral
review” obviated any need to catalog the numerous and varied
state court remedies. For example, in Massachusetts a prisoner
may bring a state civil habeas corpus petition -- a collateral
procedure as mentioned by Senator Specter -- to obtain his release
from “a lawfully imposed sentence [that] has expired,” or when

18

NAP Bie AO

his claim is based on “grounds distinct from the issues at the
indictment, trial, conviction, or sentencing stage.” Stewart,
petitioner, 411 Mass. 566, 568, 583 N.E.2d 854, 856 (1992)
(quoting Averett, petitioner, 404 Mass. 28, 30-31, 533 N.E.2d
1023, 1024 (1989)). A properly filed state habeas petition would
constitute “other collateral review.” Still another Massachusetts
example of “other collateral review” would be the “gatekeeper”
procedure under Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 278, § 33E, utilized to seek
an appeal from the denial of a motion for new trial in a first
degree murder case. See Phoenix v. Matesanz, 189 F.3d 23, 26
(1st Cir. 1999); Dickerson v. Latessa, 872 F.2d 1116, 1117-1118
(ist Cir. 1989). In both instances, the means to further state
review is actually filed as a separate action collateral to the
underlying criminal case and separate from the “State post-
conviction” remedy of a motion for new trial.

The lower court’s reasoning also fails to recognize the
historical context applicable to collateral attacks on state
convictions and sentences in state courts. In 1955 a Uniform Act
dealing with state court collateral attacks by state prisoners
against their sentences and convictions was endorsed by the
National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform Laws in that
organization's ongoing effort to standardize state practice among
the States. A limited number of states adopted this Act, but in
1966 the Uniform Act was significantly revised to take into
account a broad range of pronouncements of the Supreme Court.
Again, a number of states adopted the new act. In Case y
Nebraska, 381 U.S. 336, 337 (1965) (Clark, J., concurring) and
id. at 340 (Brennan, J., concurring), two justices expressed their
opinions that due process required a post-conviction remedy.
This in turn led many states to adopt the Uniform Postconviction
Procedure Act. See generally Donald E. Wilkes, State Post-
Conviction Remedies and Relief 67-117 (1 996).

19

While the enactment of the Uniform Postconviction
Procedure Act by various states was intended to regularize
collateral proceedings attacking a conviction or sentence, and thus
provide a safe harbor from federal habeas attack on the procedural
mechanism employed by any given state, the Act is clear that it
was in no way intended to usurp the primary role to be accorded
the trial and direct appeal process. See, e.g., lowa Code §§ 822.2
and 822.8. Prior to enactment of this new statute-based form of
collateral action known as "postconviction relief," there simply
was no comprehensive system in many states for a defendant to
collaterally attack a criminal conviction by claiming that a
conviction was obtained or a sentence was imposed in violation
of constitutional rights. See, e.g., State v. Mulqueen, 188 N.W.2d
360, 362 (lowa 1971) ("prior to enactment of [Chapter 822],
postconviction relief in Iowa was confined to a judicially
expanded concept of habeas corpus").

A post-conviction relief action, or "PCR" as it is
commonly known in many states, is essentially a special name for
a hybridized form of statute-based collateral attack on a
conviction or sentence filed by a state prisoner in a state trial
court after a direct appeal. A statute-based PCR incorporates key
elements of two common law perogative writs -- habeas corpus
(you have the body) actions and coram nobis (before us)
proceedings -- in an attempt to codify collateral attacks on state
court convictions and sentences. In a traditional habeas corpus
action, one court was asked to overturn the conduct or jurisdiction
of the convicting court. Coram nobis, by contrast, was more akin
to a motion to reconsider, with the original trial court re-
examining its conduct or the facts.

Because not all states have enacted some variation of the
Uniform Postconviction Procedure Act, it makes perfect sense
that Congress, in recognition of the wide variance in collateral
actions made available to habeas petitioners among the various

20

states, would be careful to acknowledge the diversity inherent in
our federal system.

V. IF THE COURT REACHES THE ISSUE, IT
SHOULD HOLD THAT AEDPA’S STATUTE
OF LIMITATIONS IS NOT SUBJECT TO
EQUITABLE TOLLING.

Where Congress expressly provided in AEDPA for tolling
of the statute of limitations under specified circumstances, and
where it included further equitable provisions delaying the
commencement of the limitations period, its inclusion of these
express provisions make it plain that Congress did not intend
equitable tolling to apply to AEDPA’s statute of limitations.

As this Court has recently stated, “[e]quitable tolling is
not permissible where it is inconsistent with the text of the
relevant statute.” United States v. Beggerly, 524 U.S. 38, 48
(1998). Although Congress is presumed to be aware of the
general application of equitable tolling principles to statutory
filing deadlines, id. at 679; United States v. Locke, 471 U.S. 84,
94 n.10 (1985)), and for this reason there is “a ‘rebuttable
presumption’ that equitable tolling applies to a given statute,” id.
at 679 (quoting /rwin v. Dep't of Veterans Affairs, 498 U.S. 89,
95 (1990)), that presumption is overcome where there is “good
reason to believe that Congress did not want the equitable tolling
doctrine to apply.” Jd. at 679 (quoting United States v. .
Brockamp, 519 U.S. 347, 350 (1997) (emphasis in original)).
This is the case here.

In enacting this new statute of limitations under AEDPA,
Congress explicitly delineated both the events that trigger the
running of the statute, 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(1), and the
circumstances under which the Statute may be tolled, 28 U.S.C.
§ 2244(d)(2). Moreover, both the statute itself and its legislative

21

history reveal that a central purpose of the AEDPA amendments
was to encourage the timely disposition of Federal habeas corpus
petitions. See Fisher v. Johnson, 174 F.3d 710, 713 & n.10 (Sth
Cir. 1999) (statute of limitations reflects legislative purpose to
curb abuse of the writ and “speed up the habeas process”);
Sperling v. White, 30 F.Supp.2d 1246, 1251, 1253 (C.D.Cal.
1998) (noting remarks by sponsor Sen. Orrin Hatch to the effect
that “Act’s purpose was to set strict time limits in habeas cases,
reduce delay, and ensure finality”); cf Felker v. Turpin, 518 U.S.
651, 664 (1996) (restrictions on successive petitions restrict abuse
of writ); Williams v. Taylor, 120 S.Ct. 1479, 1523 (2000) (new
standard of review under AEDPA “places a new constraint on the
power of a federal habeas court to grant a state prisoner’s
application for a writ of habeas corpus with respect to claims
adjudicated on the merits in state court”).

The same purposes are made clear in the House of
Representatives Conference Report. See H.R. Conf. Rep. No.
104-518, at 11 (1996), reprinted in 1996 U.S.C.C.A.N. 944
(noting AEDPA amendments intended to “curb the abuse of the .
statutory writ of habeas corpus, and to address the acute problems
of unnecessary delay and abuse in capital cases,” as well as to
require exhaustion of state remedies and deference to state court
decisions meeting new standard).

That AEDPA specifically delineates the limited
circumstances in which the one-year limitations period may be
tolled, as well as providing in detail for the events that trigger the
running of the statute, provides more than “good reason to
believe” Congress did not intend that other, equitable
considerations would toll the running of the statute. See Giles v.
United States, 6 F.Supp.2d 648, 650 (E.D.Mich. 1998) (“the
detail of § 2255 . . . indicates that Congress did not intend to
permit courts to read other unmentioned and open-ended
equitable exceptions into the statute), aff'd, 2000 WL 1720730

(Nov. 8, 2000); United States v. Beggerly, 524 U.S. 38, 48 (1998)
(equitable tolling inconsistent with text of Quiet Title Act, which
already allowed for equitable tolling until plaintiff knew or
should have known of action); United States v. Brockamp, 519
U.S. 347, 350-53 (1997) (highly detailed and technical statute of
limitations for tax refund claim “cannot easily be read as
containing implicit exceptions”); cf United States v. Reccko, 151
F.3d 29, 34 (1st Cir. 1998) (applying maxim expressio unius est
exclusio alterius in concluding that the commission did not intend
exception in sentencing guidelines to be expanded beyond its
terms).

This conclusion is strengthened by AEDPA’s core
purposes to narrow the habeas remedy and ensure that habeas
corpus petitions reach finality without excessive delay. These
purposes are in sharp contrast with those described in Burnett v.
New York Cent. R.R. Co., 380 U.S. 424, 426-36 (1965)
(interpreting Congressional intent to protect plaintiffs by allowing
tolling under Federal Employers’ Liability Act during pendency
of suit incorrectly filed in state, rather than Federal court). Here,
in contrast, the unequivocal legislative history indicating an intent
to shorten and restrict the time period for habeas relief, together
with the detailed provisions of § 2244(d) making no reference to
tolling based on equitable considerations, demonstrate that
Congress did not want the equitable tolling doctrine to apply. The
need for finality on the part of the public, victims of crime, and
their families in the face of extremely long delays in the court
system adds “special importance” to the narrow interpretation of
the statute of limitations under AEDPA. See Beggerly, 524 U.S.
at 48 (equitable tolling inappropriate where it “would throw a
cloud of uncertainty” over the rights of landowners).

Although at least eight circuit courts of appeal have

addressed this issue and concluded that equitable tolling applies
to AEDPA’s statute of limitations, the reasoning of those cases is

rs

unpersuasive. In general, the cases address the issue not as one
of statutory interpretation or Congressional intent in accord with
the Supreme Court’s analysis in Beggerly and Brockamp, but as
a narrow question of jurisdiction. Rather than considering
whether Congress intended that equitable tolling apply, the cases
simply ask whether the limitations provision is a statute of
limitations or, instead, provides a jurisdictional bar. Reaching the
obvious conclusion that no jurisdictional bar is imposed, the cases
then declare that equitable tolling applies, in most cases without
further addressing Congressional intent. See Smith v. McGinnis,
208 F.3d 13, 17-18 (2d Cir. 2000) (relying on jurisdiction),
cert. denied, 121 S.Ct. 104 (2000); Miller v. New Jersey State
Dept. of Corrections, 145 F.3d 616, 617-19 (3d Cir. 1998)
(jurisdiction); Harris v. Hutchinson, 209 F.3d 325, 328-30 (4th
Cir. 2000) (addressing both jurisdiction and _ statutory
interpretation); Davis v. Johnson, 158 F.3d 806, 810 (Sth Cir.
1998) (jurisdiction), cert. denied, 119 S.Ct. 1474 (1999); United
States v. Marcello, 212 F.3d 1005, 1010 (7th Cir. 2000) (adopting
equitable tolling under § 2255, but citing Zaliani v. Chrans, 189
F.3d 597, 598 (7th Cir. 1999), in which the court raised the
question of whether “room remains for importing the judge-made
doctrine of equitable tolling” in light of AEDPA’s express tolling
provisions), cert. denied, 121 S.Ct. 188 (2000); Calderon v.
United States Dist. Court (Beeler), 128 F.3d 1283, 1288 (9th Cir.
1997) (discussing jurisdiction and legislative history), cert.
denied, 522 U.S. 1061, 1099 (1998), overruled on other grounds
by Calderon v. United States Dist. Court (Kelly), 163 F.3d 530,
540 (9th Cir. 1998); Miller v. Marr, 141 F.3d 976, 978 (10th Cir.)
(adopting reasoning of Calderon), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 891
(1998); Sandvik v. United States, 177 F.3d 1269, 1271-72 (11th
Cir. 1999) (discussing jurisdiction and legislative history in
context of §2255); cf Moore v. United States, 173 F.3d 1131,
1134 (8th Cir. 1999) (citing with approval cases adopting
equitable tolling based on jurisdiction argument; holding that Fed.
R. Civ. P. 6(a) applies to calculation of the starting date of the

24

running of the statute); United States v. Cicero, 214 F.3d 199,
202-203 (D.C. Cir. 2000) (noting majority and minority views on
tolling; question not reached as petitioner not entitled to tolling in
any event).

Jurisdiction, however, is the wrong question. While it is
perfectly true that a jurisdictional bar (as is created by, for
instance, missing the deadline for filing a notice of appeal)
precludes a court from enlarging the time limit in question, a
jurisdictional bar is by no means the only basis for precluding
enlargement of a statutory time limit. Even assuming, arguendo,
that AEDPA’s statute of limitations does not impose a
Jurisdictional bar, adopting a judicially-created doctrine of
equitable tolling may nevertheless be foreclosed, as here, by
traditional principles of statutory construction and legislative
intent. See Beggerly, 524 U.S. at 48; Brockamp, 519 U.S. at 350.

For all these reasons, if the Court reaches the issue in this
case, it should hold that Congress did not intend equitable tolling
to be applied to AEDPA’s statute of limitations.

VI. SIMILARLY, IF THE COURT REACHES
THE ISSUE, IT SHOULD HOLD THAT
FEDERAL HABEAS PETITIONS MAY NOT.
BE STAYED PENDING EXHAUSTION IN
STATE COURT.

If the Court reaches the issue of a potential stay of federal
habeas corpus proceedings while a petitioner returns to state court
to exhaust his claims, the Court should hold that such a Stay is not
permissible under AEDPA.

The exhaustion doctrine of Rose v. Lundy, 455 U.S. 509,

522 (1982),does not permit the district court to retain jurisdiction
over a federal habeas corpus petition while the prisoner returns to

25

state court to exhaust his claims. See Carmichael v. White, 163
F.3d 1044, 1045 (8th Cir. 1998) (district court has no authority to
hold mixed petition in abeyance pending exhaustion); Victor v.
Hopkins, 90 F.3d 276, 282 (8th Cir. 1996) (same), cert. denied,
519 U.S. 1153 (1997); Sterling v. Scott, 57 F.3d 451, 454 (Sth
Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 715 (1996). But see Calderon
v. United States District Court, 144 F.3d 618, 620 (9th Cir. 1998)
(district court did not err in holding petition in abeyance). Only
the existence of "truly exceptional circumstances" can justify an
exception to this rule. Carmichael, 163 F.3d at 1045. To hold
otherwise would eviscerate the holding of Rose v. Lundy, 455
U.S. at 522, and create an administrative nightmare,
impermissibly allowing the petitioner "to use the federal district
court as a jurisdictional parking lot." See Sterling v. Scott, 57
F.3d 451, 454 (Sth Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 715 (1996).
Such a result would undermine AEDPA’s statute of limitations
and encourage the filing of unexhausted federal habeas corpus
petitions.

26

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the amici states respectfully
urge the Court to reverse the lower-court decision.

January 8, 2001

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS F. REILLY
Attorney General of Massachusetts

CATHERINE E. SULLIVAN*
Assistant Attorney General

WILLIAM J. MEADE

Assistant Attorney General
One Ashburton Place

Boston, Massachusetts 02108
(617) 727-2200

* Counsel of Record

27

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1654%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
