# Opposition Brief — Citizens for the Appropriate Placement of Telecommunications Facilities v. Federal Communications Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1587%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 531 U.S. 1070

## Text

Pe) (2, \ LW! He
DIO & | DEC R = 2000
Nos. 00-393, 00-407, 00-417 and 00-427

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

CITIZENS FOR THE APPROPRIATE PLACEMENT OF
TELECOMMUNICATIONS FACILITIES, ET. AL.,
PETITIONERS

Vv. ,
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, ET AL.

DAVID FICHTENBERG, PETITIONER
Vv.
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, ET AL.

MICHAEL WORSHAM, PETITIONER
VU.
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, ET AL.

CELLULAR PHONE TASKFORCE, PETITIONER
Vv.
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, ET AL.

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

SETH P. WAXMAN

Solicitor General
CHRISTOPHER J. WRIGHT Counsel of Record
General Counsel Department of Justice
DANIEL M. ARMSTRONG Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
Associate General Counsel (202) 514-2217
JOEL MARCUS
Counsel

Federal Communications
Commission
Washington, D.C. 20554

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether 47 U.S.C. 332(c)(7)(B)(iv) (Supp. IV
1998), which preempts state and local zoning authorities
from regulating the “environmental effects” of personal
wireless telecommunications facilities, includes pre-
emption of state and local regulation of the human
health effects of such facilities.

2. Whether the preemptive effect of 47 U.S.C.
332(c)(7)(B)(iv) (Supp. IV 1998) violates the Tenth
Amendment.

3. Whether the court of appeals correctly found that
the Federal Communications Commission was not
required to prepare an Environmental Impact State-
ment pursuant to the National Environmental Policy
Act of 1969, 42 U.S.C. 4321 et seqg., when it promulgated
rules implementing the provisions of that Act.

4. Whether Congress’s delegation of authority to the
FCC to promulgate rules governing the environmental
effects of radiofrequency radiation violated the “non-
delegation” doctrine.

5. Whether the court of appeals correctly found that
the FCC was not required to solicit the comments
of other agencies on record material newly submitted
to the FCC during a reconsideration of its initial
order promulgating rules governing the environmental
effects of radiofrequency radiation.

6. Whether the court of appeals correctly held that
the FCC’s rules governing the environmental effects
of radiofrequency radiation did not violate the Rehabili-
tation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. 794.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

dia enchashinseinninieinnesintnnanighsndaneantebn
TEENIE ST EO RT OO
SEE TSS LAE Ae a
IE aisles laadabestdisbidlensabacstaiensnieivevsenmentiniaaniasssesneeteroecemnecteers
ic cannticinlnbctemunasniensadecnianie

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Aegerter v. City of Delafield, 174 F.3d 886 (7th

ESTEE ELSES a ree ee
Alden v. Maine, 527 U.S. 706 (1999) .......cccccccscssssscsssesseeees
American Truckin Ass’ns, Inc. v. EPA, 175 F.3d

1027 (D.C. Cir. 1999), cert. granted, 120 S. Ct. 2003

Re a rile MEO schatisintcdenencisncsossenetsnasenncesscnunincnowmneascereseesonce
Andrus v. Sierra Club, 442 U.S. 347 (1979) ........ccccccceseeees
AT&T Wireless PCS, Inc. v. City Council of Va.

Beach, 155 F.3d 423 (4th Cir. 1988) ..........scscsccssesececeeserees
AT&T Wireless PCS, Inc. v. Winston-Salem Zoning

Bd. of Adjusiment, 172 F.3d 307 (4th Cir. 1999) .............
Bay Area Addiction Research & Treatment, Inc. v.

City of Antioch, 179 F.3d 725 (9th Cir. 1999) ............00
Bender v. Williamsport Area Sch. Dist., 475 US.

SI TTIE scsshnctnstheseesshdinndinetinvesobeenseniiasttinigemensdncinitiicanonesemactedons
California Ass’n of the Physically Handicapped, Inc.

v. FCC, 840 F.2d 88 (D.C. Cir. 1988) ...........ccscsssscssecesseees
Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense

Counctl, Iné., 467 US. 887 (1984) ...0ccccccccserecscscescesesscescesere
Community Television of S. Cal. v. Gottfried, 459

EEE LASER eS a a
Environmental Defense Fund v. EPA, 489 F.2d

ST MITE: SPITE: Asdsssatctsseisnchaiienoscuninnsndahssesdsininninensesnente

(IIT)

Page

25

25

IV

Cases-——Continued: Page
FCC v. Pottsville Broad. Co., 309 U.S. 184 (1940) o..... ?0
Freeman v. Burlington Broadcasters, Inc., 204

Fae Ek Ce ey SE ilies cicenebasaccbtaactationahabbbocatisaniah 12
Grillespie vo Coty of Indianapolis, 18d F.8d 693 (7th

fF, FERRER ANE D any Pee ete EEL LENE 13
Heartwood, Ine. v. United States Forest Service,

Be Eve Le | PR ernie ee eee 18
Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining & Reclamation

Oe 6 SE 43 Ek SD bcietenei weet 15
JW. Hampton, Jr., Co. v. United States, 276

SE dita eee, 19

Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555

f: | een eeeeaiagein eniinleaapeeseetsagelanngeniaaaasmainantipnagints 13
Maurer v. Hamilton, 309 U.S. 598 (1940) woo ‘ 11
Mistretta v. United States, 488 U.S. 361 (1989) oo... 19
National Broad. Co. v. United States, 319 U.S. 190

EL RUMUED ‘tcnsevasinutabins fticUnienmectanhaaclabaiil ceandabianaeascmnilislihduadiedeiaiiahisasionioi 20
New York v. United States, 505 U.S. 144 (1992) .......... 14
Petersburg Cellular Partnership v. Board of

Supervisors, 205 F.3d 688 (4th Cir. 2000) oes 15, 16
Primeco Personal Communications v. Village of

Fox Fox, 35 F. Supp.2d 648 (N.D. Tl. 1999) oe 12
Printz v. United States, 521 U.S. 898 (1997) wee 13, 14
Schlesinger v. Reservists Comm. To Stop the War,

OO Tres SI icsettsencdctcictaatetiactnnhbniiienaaine 16
Sprint Spectrum, LP. v. Willoth, 176 F.3d 630

GR Sa. DO e ehiniiensscesscrurscainenicnlnsalierivasiviiciberenerenbscsinaidimnbelin 14
Festa V. Katt, 380 U.S, 386 (19467) ......cccccsccrsrscscsvesesserseasees 15
Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975) ........cccccccccccccscsscscscees 13

Wisconsin v. Weinberger, 745 F.2d 412 (7th Cir.

198-4) 23

CERES EEE R NENT E ERE E SEES EES EO EEE DEES EEE SEES EEE ESTEE EE SEEE ESSE ESE ES HESS EE EOES

V

Constitution, statutes, regulations and rule: Page
hs CE, BBE, Ze ssesiciinisserstcsnnnivinraciietanednbeaibionn 9, 12, 15, 16
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C.

EIS OE DIM... cnsceccesiivaihcmnnisiiensuaiietepeesicaiinaivesitepeinphnahiaashntaniaiiints i)

Communications Act of 1934, 47 U.S.C. 151 et seq.:
47 U.S.C. 151 (1994 & Supp. TV 1998) ...........cecsssseeees 21
GF RR, BI acertndccitodicisstiahcsdinitndieieilnrbiasneaiaaa een 20
GE REGRAA, BOOED cniccsiemnictntinenntiinnlabibdeiaeieals 21
BE Sie: SUD sitininsenncieniciniiinnisiininnnenieigaiealidaiiaaeiinasts 20
GF REA. Spee. sccicsesvsisneninasteaainieneisniniepiiiitsilinsiaidlcedincaaa 20
47 U.S.C. 303(f) (1994 & Supp. [V 1998) oe eseseees 20
SE CITRATE D wesishicesdinceintctiiaciinecintetentijadlliageita naa 20
GE CAE AS. DE csnsciciccctsawcsictnisiiatitsitatainlaepiscnisitapainiieinaeiiaaa 20
47 U.S.C. 309G)(3)(D) (Supp. TV 1998) 0. ecceeeseseee 21
SF TRA, Tae wisecsiniivieteiiesisitellapinnisiantieiuilscehdiehaiitintsadacsiaaads 24
47 U.S.C. 332(c)(7) (Supp. TV 1998) .......csseseceseceeeees 6
47 U.S.C. 332(c)(7)(A) (Supp. TV 1998) 00... eeseseseseeeees 8, 14
47 U.S.C. 332(¢)(7)(B)(ii) (Supp. TV 1998) ......... eee 6
47 U.S.C. 332(c)(7)(B)(iii) (Supp. TV 1998) ........ eee 6, 16
47 U.S.C. 332(c)(7)(B)(iv) (Supp. I'V 1998) ............. 6, 8, 10,
12, 14, 16
National Environmental Policy Act of 1969,

GB ETE LS, GER TE I, inehicenitieieiecciissnabinipnceanitiatininioapimnitianti 2

SD A, Gee Wirhicecshinniinicicteebiibieninneciicnniicissiin 2
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. 701 et seq.:

29 U.S.C. 794 (1994 & Supp. [V 1998) 0... eeeseeeeeees 7, 24
Telecommunications Act of 1996, Pub. L. No.

RG, Fa ea Se ceniiriicisesncceitileiesinesiliheactintaiealianaihiaenicts 6
a ec TU -ileesaiciaticiniceinaitcntaichmnatdieetaobntiiidaide 9
A Tr GIR, TUN catisciscticitsinsstiniieeciettesipaitinnacinabiabaiain 6

BRA, ER a TO eairisssnisesetinstincitactiintvitito 6, 10, 19
40 C.F.R.:
IE: eae sesaianicschienissasaerienncabisiensilitiiiiieantipinapaishtcenlacdaiuih 18
SIND TPIT IIE sntntabirsntinnsinichcltntiiadeperthensintcctaee a ce 5
Dt”, RR ree eee A ne 3

VI

Regulations and rule—Continued: Page
I OI scien dolcincenensesncilacaioniabiaa ial 2
I tle 2
I TIITII hciucssscacalehiaipclisebeleaaciainedbignioesindseeniesiaesiiid 2

47 C.F.R.:
SSE, RN aT ROC SAY BOR eT ET 5
ICE sa incialiacarheeilaniioneeiabaaiailies 7
RN I IEINOUED -snicsccicsinssestnnneniiintoncsinntsinelanbnanicncioeniiin 7, 25
Re ie NG OI. SII ED scctrecassssecnigmasenisececapioaninumesbinneemanninnana 23
Miscellaneous:
Biological Effects of Radiofrequency Radiation, 100
ee ME IEE TIED tnicicscteecousicantioosisicunsshioonibuichieninsslieatsdiielaens 3,4
Guidelines for Evaluating the Environmental
Effects of Radiofrequency Radiation, Notice of
Proposed Rulemaking, 8 F.C.C.R. 2849 (1998) .......s00 4,11
Guidelines for Evaluating the Environmental
Effects of Radiofrequency Radiation, Report and
Cm, BEF ASAT. FETED CIID wceccstrrasscsineianininnseemnsencionte 5, 22
Guidelines for Evaluating the Environmental Effects
of Radiofrequency Radiation, Second Memo-
orandum Opinion and Order, 12 F.C.C.R. 13,494
SU TNT siladiciadasctocceensiniietahiipsdialeseabbiaaiitdalneianumadadiiinels 5, 21,22, 23, 24
H.R. Rep. No. 204, 104th Cong., Ist Sess. (1995) ............00 6, 11
Letter from Richard M. Smith, Chief, OET, to
Arthur Firstenberg, President, Cellular Phone Task- 7
il cata
Letter from Robert Brenner, Acting Deputy
Assistant Administrator for Air and Radiation to
Dale Hatfield, Chief, FCC Office of Engineering
and Technology (Apr. 30, 1999) ..............scsscssscssscssscssseseeeees 23-24
National Council on Radiation Protection and
Measurements, Biological Effects and Exposure
Criteria for Radiofrequency Electromagnetic
Fields, NCRP Report No. 86 (1986) ..........sssssssssesssesenees 3

VII

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page

Office of Engineering and Technology, FCC,
Questions and Answers About Biological Effects
and Potential Hazards of Radiofrequency Electro-
magnetic Fields, OET Bulletin 56 (4th ed. 1999) ...:...0.0.. 3

Jn the Supreme Court of the United States

No. 00-393

CITIZENS FOR THE APPROPRIATE PLACEMENT OF
TELECOMMUNICATIONS FACILITIES, ET AL.,
PETITIONERS

Vv.
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, ET AL.

No. 00-407
DAVID FICHTENBERG, PETITIONER
v.
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, ET AL.

No. 00-417
MICHAEL WORSHAM, PETITIONER

Vv.
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, ET AL.

No. 00-427
CELLULAR PHONE TASKFORCE, PETITIONER
Vv.
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, ET AL.

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

(1)

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. Al-
A22') is reported at 205 F.3d 82.
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
February 18, 2000. Petitions for rehearing were denied
on June 6, 2000 (Pet. App. A23-A25) and June 15, 2000
(Pet. App. A26-A27). The petition for a writ of certio-
rari in No. 00-393 was filed on September 8, 2000. The
petitions in Nos. 00-407, 00-417 and 00-427 were filed on
September 13, 2000. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. The National Environmental Policy Act of 1969,
42 U.S.C. 4821 et seg. (NEPA), requires that in con-
nection with “major Federal actions significantly affect-
ing the quality of the human environment,” federal
agencies prepare an “environmental impact” statement
(EIS) that assesses the environmenta! effects of a pro-
posed project. 42 U.S.C. 4332(2)(C). Not all activities,
however, are “major” actions requiring such an analy-
sis. Under rules established by the Council on En. ron-
mental Quality (CEQ), the agency that administers
NEPA, some projects require only an “environmental
assessment” (EA), which may be followed by a “finding
of no significant impact” (FONSI). 40 C.F.R. 1508.9,
1508.13. Other actions may be “categorically excluded”
from environmental analysis. 40 C.F.R. 1508.4. Deter-
mining which level of environmental scrutiny to apply
to specific categories of activities is largely left to the

! Citations to “Pet. App.” refer to the appendix to the petition
in No. 00-393.

ne

3

individual agencies. An agency must, however, define
three “classes of action”: those that “normally do re-
quire environmental impact statements,” those that
“normally do not require” any environmental evalua-
tion, and those that “normally require environmental .
assessments but not necessarily environmental impact
statements.” 40 C.F.R. 1507.3(b)(2).

2. a. All types of wireless communications, including
television, radio, cellular telephones, pagers, and similar
devices, work by sending and receiving electromagnetic
signals. The energy fields generated by the trans-
mitters of radio signals, referred to as radiofrequency
or RF radiation, can affect the environment. Speci-
fically, high levels of RF energy can cause the heating
of human tissue, known as a “thermal” effect.? In 1985,
the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) imple-
mented, pursuant to NEPA and directives issued by
the CEQ, rules that specified the emission levels above
which human exposure to RF energy caused by FCC-
licensed transmitters would require environmental
analysis under NEPA. Biological Effects of Radio-
frequency Radiation, 100 F.C.C. 2d 548 (1985).

The exposure limits were based on RF safety stan-
dards that had been adopted in 1982 by the American

2 Microwave ovens work by virtue of the thermal effect of
extremely high levels of RF energy. See Office of Engineering and
Technology, FCC, Questions and Answers About Biological
Effects and Potential Hazards of Radiofrequency Electromagnetic
Fields, OET Bulletin 56, at 6 (4th ed. 1999). The FCC exposure
limit for the general public is one-fiftieth of the point at which RF
energy begins to cause any unhealthful thermal effect. See
National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements,
Biological Effects and Exposure Criteria for Radiofrequency
Electromagnetic Fields, NCRP Report No. 86, at 279-283 (1986)
(reprinted at C.A. App. 305-307).

4

National Standards Institute (ANSI), a recognized
standard-setting organization. 100 F.C.C. 2d at 551.
ANSI established recommended levels of “maximum
permissible exposure” or “MPE” for various radio fre-
quencies, since various frequencies cause a thermal
effect at different rates. Transmitting facilities that
would not lead to human exposure above the limits
were considered to have no adverse effect and required
no environmental evaluation; preparation of an EA or
an EIS was required for transmitters that could cause
human exposure above the limits. /d. at 561.

In 1992, ANSI issued new RF exposure standards.
At about the same time, other organizations such as
the congressionally chartered National Council on
Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP) also
issued RF protection standards. The following year,
the FCC began a rulemaking proceeding to determine
whether it should adopt one of the new standards to
replace the 1982 ANSI standards. Guidelines for
Evaluating the Environmental Effects of Radio-
Frequency Radiation, Notice of Proposed Rule Making,
8 F.C.C.R. 2849 (1993) (RF Notice).

In the course of the rulemaking proceeding, the Com-
mission received more than one hundred comments
representing a broad range of interests. The Com-
mission’s staff also consulted with and/or received
comments from a number of federal agencies that are
responsible for the environment, human health and
worker safety: the Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA), the Occupational Safety and Health Admini-
stration (OSHA), the Food and Drug Administration
(FDA), and the National Institute for Occupational
Safety and Health (NIOSH). Guidelines for
Evaluating the Environmental Effects of Radio-
frequency Radiation, Report and Order, 11 F.C.C.R.

5

15,128, 15,129-15,131 (1996) (RF Order). When it made
its ultimate decision, the FCC gave particular
deference to the views of those agencies, which are
“expert agencies with respect to determining
appropriate levels of safe exposure to RF energy.” Jd.
at 15,135. In accordance with the suggestions of the
federal environmental and health agencies, the
Commission ultimately adopted new guidelines based
primarily on the RF exposure limits suggested by the
NCRP. /bid.

Under the new RF safety rules, as under the old
ones, licensees generally must determine whether their
transmitters will cause human exposure above the
MPE limits. If so, an EA, and possibly an EIS, must be
prepared and the Commission will then determine
whether to allow transmission to occur.*® No further
environmental analysis is required for transmitters that
will not lead to exposures greater than the limits. 47
C.F.R. 1.1807(b). Certain RF transmitters that operate
at low power levels or in inaccessible locations and are
thus extremely unlikely to cause exposure above
the limits are categorically excluded from having to
perform the initial assessment of RF exposure. 47
C.F.R. 1.1807(b); see also 40 C.F.R. 1507.3(b) (allow-
ing agencies to create categorical exclusions). On
petitions for reconsideration, the Commission reaf-
firmed the fundamentals of its initial decision. Guide-
lines for Evaluating the Environmental Effects of
Radiofrequency Radiation, Second Memorandum
Opinion and Order, 12 F.C.C.R. 13,494 (1997) (RF
Reconsideration Order).

3 As a practical matter, the FCC’s experience is that licensees
almost always ensure that their facilities will not cause excess
exposure, and environmental analysis is rarely conducted.

6

b. Shortly before the Commission issued the RF
Order, the Telecommunications Act of 1996, Pub. L. No.
104-104, 110 Stat. 56, became law. Section 704(a) of that
Act, entitled “National Wireless Telecommunications
Siting Policy,” added a new provision to the Communi-
cations Act of 1934, 47 U.S.C. 332(e)(7)(B)(iv),’ which
provides in pertinent part that “[nJo State or local
government * * * may regulate the placement,
construction, and modification of personal wireless
service facilities on the basis of the environmental
effects of radio frequency emissions to the extent that
such facilities comply with the Commission’s regula-
tions concerning such emissions.” Jbid. In Section
704(b) of the Telecommunications Act Congress also
directed that “[w]ithin 180 days * * * the Commission
shall complete action in [the RF radiation rulemaking]
to prescribe and make effective rules regarding the
environmental effects of radio frequency emissions.”

The House Commerce Committee, which drafted the
preemption provision, explained that the reason for the
prohibition was that “siting and zoning decisions by
non-federal units of government, have created an
inconsistent and, at times, conflicting patchwork of
requirements which will inhibit the deployment of”
advanced telecommunications services. H.R. Rep. No.
204, 104th Cong., Ist Sess. 94-95 (1995). The Committee
explained that “local zoning decisions, while responsive

* All citations in this brief to 47 U.S.C. 332(c)(7) refer to Supp.
IV 1998.

® Congress also directed, in a provision not challenged by peti-
tioners in this Court, that state and local zoning authorities act
within a “reasonable period of time” after the filing of a request to
build a communications tower and that denials of such requests “be
in writing and supported by substantial evidence contained in a
written record.” 47 U.S.C. 332(c)(7)(B)(ii) and (iii).

a

7

to local concern about the potential effects of radio
frequency emission levels, are at times not supported
by scientific and medical evidence.” Jbid. In the RF
Order, the Commission implemented the preemption
provisions by adding Section 1.1307(e) to its rules, the
language of which tracks the statute. 47 C.F.R.
1.1307(e).

c. In February 1997, the Cellular Telephone Task-
force submitted to the Commission a “complaint” claim-
ing that the RF rules discriminate against persons who
are hypersensitive to electromagnetic fields and there-
by violate the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. 794
(1994 & Supp. IV 1998). The Chief of the Office of
Engineering and Technology, acting under delegated
authority, ultimately dismissed the complaint because it
addressed the activities of FCC licensees, not those of
the agency itself. Letter from Richard M. Smith, Chief,
OKT, to Arthur Firstenberg, President, Cellular Phone
Taskforce (Feb. 2, 1998) (C.A. App. 6119-6121). The
FCC’s rules implementing the Rehabilitation Act ex-
pressly do not apply to the “programs or activities of
entities that are licensed or certified by the Com-
mission.” 47 C.F.R. 1.1830(b)(6).

3. a. The court of appeals affirmed the the Com-
mission’s orders. Pet. App. Al-A22. The court rejected
the claim that the Commission had failed to take into
account whether RF energy had deleterious non-
thermal effects, finding that there was “room for
disagreement * * * among experts in the field”
regarding whether such effects existed and that “the
FCC was justified in continuing to rely on the ANSI
and NCRP standards.” /d. at Al0. The court held that
the FCC had committed no error by not supplying the
EPA and other agencies with publicly available studies
that had been submitted to the FCC during the recon-

8

sideration proceeding. The FCC “could reasonably
expect those agencies to keep abreast of scientific
developments” and to “monitor all relevant scientific
input” into the FCC’s decision. bid.

The court rejected the claim that the FCC had vio-
lated NEPA because it did not prepare an EIS in con-
nection with the rules. “|WJhere an agency is engaged
primarily in an examination of environmental questions,
where substantive and procedural standards ensure full
and adequate consideration of environmental issues,
then formal compliance with NEPA is not necessary,
but functional compliance is sufficient.” Pet. App. A17
(quoting Environmental Defense Fund v. EPA, 489
F.2d 1247, 1257 (D.C. Cir. 1973)). The court found that
the FCC’s orders “functionally satisflied] the CEQ’s
requirements for an EA anda FONSI.” Pet. App. A17-
Al8.

The Court upheld the Commission’s finding that,
although 47 U.S.C. 332(c)(7)(B)(iv) precluded state and
local governments from regulating the “placement, con-
struction, and modification” of personal wireless service
facilities “on the basis of the environmental effects of
radio frequency emissions,” that provision applied also
to the operation of such facilities. The court noted that
under Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources De-
fense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984), deference must
be accorded to the FCC’s interpretation of the statute.
Pet. App. A20. The court also noted that the savings
provision of subsection (A) of the same statute provided
only that the FCC may not “limit or affect the authority
of a State or local government” over “the placement,
construction, and modification of personal wireless
service facilities.” 47 U.S.C. 332(c)(7)(A). Since
“{slubsection (A) does not * * * preserve [state and
local governments’ ] authority to regulate such facilities’

a

9

operations * * * the absence of the word ‘operation’
from the subsequent limitation on their authority under
subsection (B)(iv) does not grant such power.” Pet.
App. A20.

The court rejected the claim that the preemption
provision violates the Tenth Amendment. “The statute
does not commandeer local authorities to administer a
federal program,” the court found, because “State and
local governments are not required to approve or
prohibit anything. The only onus placed on state and
local governments * * * is that they may not regulate
personal wireless service facilities that conform to the
FCC Guidelines on the basis of environmental effects of
RF radiation.” Pet. App. A21. Straightforward pre-
emption of that sort, the court found, does not violate
the Tenth Amendment.

b. In its initial opinion, the court dismissed claims
raised under the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans
with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. 1201 et seq.
(ADA). Similar claims made before the agency had
been resolved by the staff rather than the Commission
itself, the court found, and therefore had not been the
subject of a final, appealable agency order. Pet. App.
A6. Pursuant to a petition for rehearing, the panel
decided to address the merits of the claims notwith-
standing their lack of finality. The ADA claim failed,
the court found, because the relevant part of the ADA
does not apply to the federal government. /d. at A25.
The claim under the Rehabilitation Act lacks merit
because that Act applies only to “the discriminatory
denial of the benefits of a [federal] ‘program or activ-
ity,’” and the construction of RF transmitters is not a
program or activity of the FCC. Ibid.

10

ARGUMENT

Four parties, Citizens for the Appropriate Placement
of Telecommunications Facilities (CAPTF), Cellular
Phone Taskforce (CPT), Michael C. Worsham (Wor-
sham) and David Fichtenberg (Fichtenberg), petition
for a writ of certiorari. None of the petitions raises any
issue that warrants this Court’s review.

1. Petitioners Worsham and Fichtenberg claim that
the Second Circuit has impermissibly interpreted 47
U.S.C, 3382(¢)(7)(B)(iv). That statute preempts state
and local zoning authorities from regulating the “en-
vironmental effects” of personal wireless service facili-
ties as leng as the transmitter complies with the FCC’s
RF exposure standards. Petitioners contend (Worsham
Pet. 10-14; Fichtenberg Pet. 32-35) that the court of
appeals erroneously interpreted the term “environ-
mental effects” to mean “human health effects.” That
claim is incorrect.

At the outset, the court below did not address the
issue. The court stated in passing (Pet. App. A5) in the
background section of its opinion that the preemption
provision included human health considerations, but the
court did not consider the question in its legal dis-
cussion and did not provide any analysis of it. For that
reason alone, this case is unsuited for further review.

Moreover, the court of appeals’ apparent under-
standing of the statute was correct and not in conflict
with any decision of this Court or another court of
appeals. When it enacted Section 332(c)(7)(B)(iv),
Congress was clearly concerned with the biological
effects of RF energy fields. The statute preempts only
“to the extent that such facilities comply with the
Commission’s regulations concerning [RF] emissions.”
A tandem provision, Section 704(b) of the Telecom-

1]

munications Act, gave the FCC 180 days to “complete
action in ET Docket 93-62 to prescribe and make
effective rules regarding the environmental effects of
radio frequency emissions.” Both the rulemaking pro-
ceeding and the FCC regulations to which Congress
| referred concerned almost exclusively the biological
F effects of RF energy. The original 1982 ANSI exposure
standards that the FCC adopted in 1985 were based on
the absorption of RF energy by the human body and
the thermal effects in the human body of various levels
of RF exposure. The 1992 ANSI standard, which the
Commission proposed to adopt in ET Docket 93-62, see
RF Notice, supra, likewise had to do entirely with
human biological effects of RF fields. The statutory
preemption of state and local consideration of environ-
mental effects of RF to the degree that a transmitter
complied with the FCC’s rules thus necessarily was
intended to include state and local consideration of
biological effects.°
Petitioners mistakenly rely on a general presumption
that ambiguous statutes should not be interpreted
to preempt state law concerning health and safety.
Worsham Pet. 9; Fichtenberg Pet. 33-34. That pre-
sumption does not apply where, as here, Congress’s
intent to preempt local consideration of biological
effects is “clearly indicated by those considerations :
which are persuasive of the statutory purpose.”
| Maurer v. Hamilton, 309 U.S. 598, 614 (1940). That

& The House Report discussing Section 704 of the Telecom-
munications Act further confirms that conclusion. The Report
expressed Congress’s concern that state and local authorities had
interfered with the nationwide deployment of wireless communi-
cations systems for reasons that were “at times not supported by
scientific and medical evidence.” H.R. Rep. No. 204, supra, at 95
(emphasis added).

12

standard is amply satisfied by the statutory and admini-
strative context of Section 332(¢c)(7)(B)(iv) as well as its
legislative history. That Congress may have distin-
guished health effects from environmental effects
(Worsham Pet. 13-14) in other statutes addressing
different problems is of no moment in the face of Con-
gress’s evident intent here.

As petitioner Worsham notes, “(t}wo federal courts
have essentially agreed with the Court of Appeals in
the instant case.” Pet. 12 (citing AT&T Wireless PCS,
Inc. v. City Council of Va. Beach, 155 F.3d 428, 431 n.6
(4th Cir. 1988), and Primeco Personal Communications
v. Village of Fox Lake, 35 F. Supp. 2d 6438, 645 (N.D. Il.
1999)). Petitioner Worsham asserts (Pet. 10), however,
that the decision of the court of appeals “is arguably
inconsistent with” the decision of the Second Circuit in
Freeman v. Burlington Broadcasters, Inc., 204 F.3d
311, cert. denied, 121 S. Ct. 276 (2000). The cited
passage from Freeman states that the term “environ-
mental effects” is not defined in the statute and that it
“focus[es] on degradation of the natural environment,
effects on historical landmarks, and the biological
effects of RF radiation.” Id. at 325 (emphasis added).
Accordingly, Freeman is entirely consistent with the
Second Circuit’s holding in this case that the term
“environmental effects” includes human health con-
siderations. In any event, further review would not be
warranted to resolve an intra-circuit discrepancy.

2. Petitioners CAPTF and Fichtenberg contend
(CAPTF Pet. 14-21; Fichtenberg Pet. 35-38) that the
preemptive effect of 47 U.S.C. 332(c)(7)(B)(iv) violates
the Tenth Amendment. They claim that Congress
has impermissibly commandeered the government
apparatus of the states. The court of appeals correctly

13

rejected that claim, and its decision does not conflict
with that of any other court of appeals or of this Court.’

Congress commandeers the legislative process of
States “by directly compelling them to enact and en-
force a federal regulatory program.” New York v.
United States, 505 U.S. 144, 161 (1992). In New York,
the Court struck down Congress’s requirement that the
States either regulate radioactive waste under federal
guidelines or take title to and dispose of the waste
themselves. Jd. at 174-175. Having no choice other
than one of the two courses set forth by Congress, the
States were thus pressed involuntarily into “the service
of federal regulatory purposes.” Jd. at 175. Likewise,
in Printz v. United States, 521 U.S. 898 (1997), the
Court invalidated a federal statute that required local
law enforcement officials to conduct background checks

7 There is a question whether petitioners have standing to pre-
sent their claim. It is our position that individuals not acting in
their official capacity generally lack standing to raise a Tenth
Amendment claim, since they cannot establish that any personal
injury would be redressed by a favorable decision, and the rights
they advance in the litigation are rights of third parties. See
Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555, 560-561 (1992); Warth
v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975); but ef. Gillespie v. City of
Indianapolis, 185 F.3d 693, 700-703 (7th Cir. 1999) (discussing
authorities and finding standing to raise Tenth Amendment claim),
cert. denied, 120 S. Ct. 934 (2000). In the court of appeals, some
individuals identified as state or local government officials were

petitioners before this Court, although it is not clear whether they
are acting in their official capacities and whether they are
asserting in this litigation rights they hold by virtue of their official
capacities. In addition, individual members of a collective
governmental body ordinarily do not have standing to assert the
rights of the body as a whole. See Bender v. Williamsport Area
Sch. Dist., 475 U.S. 534 (1986).

14

of gun purchasers. That requirement, the Court held,
“compel[led] the States to enact or administer a federal
regulatory program.” /d. at 933 (quoting New York v.
United States, 505 U.S. at 188).

Section 332(c)(7)(B)(iv) does not commandeer the
processes of state and local zoning authorities because
it does not compel those bodies to do anything at all.
Rather, the statute simply limits the factors state and
local zoning authorities may consider in the exercise of
their ordinary zoning functions. Those authorities may
not deny a permit “on the basis of the environmental
effects of radio frequency emissions to the extent that
such facilities comply with the Commission’s regu-
lations concerning such emissions.” 47 U.S.C.
332(c)(7)(B)(iv). They are permitted to grant or deny
permits on any other basis. Indeed, Congress expressly
provided that with the exception of RF and a few other
matters not before the Court, “nothing * * * shall
limit or affect the authority of a State or local govern-
ment or instrumentality thereof over decisions regard-
ing the placement, construction, and modification of
personal wireless service facilities.” 47 U.S.C.
332(¢)(7)(A). That proviso leaves intact all other tradi-
tional bases for land use decisions, such as aesthetics
or neighborhood character, or other local zoning laws.
Local authorities throughout the country have success-
fully rejected tower siting proposals on such grounds.
See, e.g., Sprint Spectrum, L.P. v. Willoth, 176 F.3d 630
(2d Cir. 1999); Aegerter v. City of Delafield, 174 F.3d
886 (7th Cir. 1999); AT&T Wireless PCS, Inc. v.
Winston-Salem Zoning Bd. of Adjustment, 172 F.3d
307 (4th Cir. 1999); AT&T v. City Council of Va. Beach,
supra.

This case thus falls squarely within the principle that
federal law may “displace state regulation” even though

15

this serves to “curtail or prohibit the States’ preroga-
tives to make legislative choices respecting subjects the
States may consider important.” Hodel v. Virginia
Surface Mining & Reclamation Ass’n, 452 U.S. 264, 290
(1981). Indeed, this Court “long ago rejected the
suggestion that Congress invades areas reserved to the
States by the Tenth Amendment simply because it
exercises its authority under the Commerce Clause in a
manner that displaces the States’ exercise of their
police powers.” Jd. at 291; see also Testa v. Katt, 330
U.S. 386 (1947). The court below thus properly held
(Pet. App. A21) that “State and local governments
are not required to approve or prohibit anything”
and correctly rejected petitioners’ Tenth Amendment
claims.

Petitioner CAPTF contends (Pet. 16) that the de-
cision below conflicts with the decision of the Fourth
Circuit in Petersburg Cellular Partnership v. Board of
Supervisors, 205 F.3d 688 (2000) (per curiam). In that
case, the Fourth Circuit upheld a county’s decision to
permit a communications tower to be built, but there
was no agreement on a single rationale. Only a single
judge, Judge Niemeyer, would have upheld the county’s
decision on the ground that certain federal limitations
on the county’s decision violated the Tenth Amend-
ment. See id. at 691; id. at 696-705 (opinion of
Niemeyer, J.).” Accordingly, the Fourth Circuit did not
take a position regarding the Tenth Amendment issue

8 The other judge voting to uphold the county’s decision based
his determination on the ground that the county’s decision did not
violate any provision of the Telecommunications Act. 205 F.3d at
706-710 (opinion of Widener, J.). The third judge dissented from
the court’s disposition, on the ground that the county’s decision did
violate a provision of the Act and that that provision did not violate
the Tenth Amendment. /d. at 710-720 (opinion of King, J.).

16

in that case, and the Fourth Circuit’s decision in that
case therefore does not conflict with the decision of the
Feed Civeait here?

Also without merit is the claim of CAPTF (Pet. 21)
that the decision below conflicts with Alden v. Maine,
527 U.S. 706 (1999), because, in petitioner’s view (Pet.
22), the federal government has allegedly “defaulted on
its obligation to protect public health,” and it therefore
“may not simultaneously prevent the States from taking
action to do so.” The proposition on which petitioner
relies—that federal courts must analyze whether a
federal law adequately protects the public health before
permitting it to preempt state law—has nothing to do
with the Court’s decision in Alden, which addressed
Congress’s power to authorize lawsuits against a State
in its own courts under federal law."® In any event, the
court below correctly found that the FCC’s RF ex-
posure standards, which were formulated by expert
scientific groups that reviewed exhaustive studies and
were supported by every federal health and safety

* In any event, even the position urged by Judge Niemeyer in
his concurring opinion in Petersburg Cellular does not conflict with
the decision of the court below in this case. Judge Niemeyer’s
opinion expressed his belief that 47 U.S.C. 332(¢)(7)(B)(iii), which
requires a state or local decision regarding the placement of cellu-
lar towers to be “in writing and supported by substantial evidence
contained in a written record,” 47 U.S.C. 332(c)(7)(B)(iii), violates
the Tenth Amendment. He appears to have accepted that the pro-
vision at issue here—47 U.S.C. 332(c)(7)(B)(iv)—is constitutional.
205 F.3d at 703-704.

0 Insofar as petitioner's real claim has to do with Congress's
spending priorities, see CAPTF Pet. 24-28, petitioner has no
standing to air generalized grievances about those priorities. See
Schlesinger v. Reservists Comm. To Stop the War, 418 U.S. 208
(1974).

17

agency, provide adequate protection to the public. Pet.
App. AQ.

3. The court of appeals found that the FCC was not
required to prepare an environmental impact statement
because the rulemaking process, which extensively
considered the environmental effects of RF energy,
amounted to “functional compliance” with NEPA; the
rulemaking was, the court held, equivalent to an EA
and a FONSI. Pet. App. Al7-A18. Petitioner Cellular
Phone Taskforce contends (Pet. 9-12) that the decision
conflicts with decisions of other courts holding that the
functional compliance test may lawfully be applied only
to actions of the EPA and not to the actions of other
federal agencies.

Petitioner’s claim is incorrect. No federal regulation,
statute, or other source of law prohibits the application
of the functional compliance test to agencies other than
EPA. The cases cited by petitioner either declined to
apply the test to a particular agency or stated in dictum
that the test applied only to EPA. None of them held
that the test could not be applied in any circumstances
to any other agency. There is thus no conflict.

As a matter of policy, the Executive Branch believes
that the functional compliance test should not be ap-
plied to agencies other than EPA, and the government
therefore does not ordinarily argue that environmental
analyses conducted by agencies other than EPA func-
tionally comply with NEPA. Because that policy has
not been expressed in any formal manner, such as
regulation or other publication, the Second Circuit did
not commit legal error when it found that the FCC had
functionally complied with NEPA. Moreover, in light
of the extensive scientific analysis performed by the
standard-setting organizations that crafted the FCC’s
guidelines (as well as the commentary received by the

18

FCC from pertinent federal agencies, including EPA),
the finding below that the FCC had functionally com-
plied with NEPA was supported by the record.
Further review of the court of appeals’ application in
this case of the “functional compliance” test is accord-
ingly not warranted.

In any event, the Second Circuit’s judgment was
correct for a reason other than the one on which it
relied. The court’s reasoning on this point implicitly
assumes that some kind of environmental analysis was
required. We argued before the court of appeals,
however, that an agency’s promulgation of rules that
themselves implement NEPA and determine when an
EIS is required, is not subject to the preparation of an
EIS. The Seventh Circuit adopted that position in
Heartwood, Inc. v. United States Forest Service, 230
F.3d 947 (2000).

As CEQ has interpreted and implemented NEPA,
each federal agency specifies which of its actions will
be subject to environmental analysis. 40 C.F.R.1507.3.
Under the CEQ’s approach, which is “entitled to sub-
stantial deference,” Andrus v. Sierra Club, 442 U.S.
347, 358 (1979), an agency’s regulations to determine
when to prepare an EJS are not themselves subject to
the EIS requirement. Rather, such rules are “more like
an implementing procedure than a federal action of the
type contemplated in 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C),” and the
categories specified by the rules “are not proposed
actions, [but] categories of actions for which an EA or
EIS has been deemed unnecessary.” Heartwood, 230
F.3d at 953. The rules do not “authoriz[e] any activity
or commi(t] any resources to a project that might im-
pact the environment.” /d. at 954. Accordingly, rules
such as the FCC’s rules in this case implementing

19

NEPA are not subject to the requirement that what
might be termed a “meta-EIS” must be prepared.

4. Petitioners Worsham, Cellular Phone Taskforce
and Fichtenberg contend that Congress impermissibly
delegated to the FCC the authority to promulgate the
RF exposure rules. Worsham Pet. 14-16; CPT Pet. 18-
22; Fichtenberg Pet. 31-32. They claim that Congress
articulated no “intelligible principle” to guide the FCC’s
determination of the issue. The court below did not
address that issue, and on that ground further review is
therefore not warranted.

In any event, the FCC’s authority to promulgate the
RF regulations does not violate the Constitution. Con-
gress may delegate its legislative functions to agencies
“under broad general directives.” Mistretta v. United
States, 488 U.S. 361, 372 (1989). In delegating its
authority, Congress must only “lay down * * * an
intelligible principle to which the [agency] is directed to
conform” in order for the delegation to be consti-
tutional. /bid. (quoting J.W. Hampton, Jr., & Co. v.
United States, 276 U.S. 394, 406 (1928)).

Petitioners claim that the only congressional delega-
tion of authority to the FCC to craft the RF rules is
contained in Section 704(b) of the Telecommunications
Act, which states that “[w]Jithin 180 days after the
enactment of this Act, the Commission shall complete
action in ET Docket 93-62 to prescribe and make
effective rules regarding the environmental effects of
radio frequency emissions.” That delegation, they
assert, provides constitutionally insufficient guidance.

Petitioners’ argument rests on a fundamentally mis-
taken premise. Section 704 was not the source of the
FCC’s authority to act in this case, but is instead simply
a congressional requirement that the FCC timely re-
solve an ongoing rulemaking. Indeed, the FCC first

20

implemented RF rules in 1985, and it began the rule-
making under review three years before the passage of
the Telecommunications Act. The agency thus acted
under its broad authority to regulate communications
conveyed by the Communications Act of 1934.

The FCC issues licenses to use the electromagnetic
spectrum pursuant to 47 U.S.C. 307(a), which accords
the agency authority to grant licenses “if public con-
venience, interest, or necessity will be served thereby.”
Accord 47 U.S.C. 309(a). The public interest standard
continues to be the touchstone of FCC regulation. In
connection with its licensing function, Congress has
granted the FCC the power to “[mJake such rules and
regulations and prescribe such restrictions and condi-
tions, not inconsistent with law, as may be necessary to
carry out the provisions” of the Communications Act.
47 U.S.C. 303(r); accord 47 U.S.C. 154(i); 47 U.S.C.
303(f) (1994 & Supp. IV 1998). The Commission also has
direct authority to “determine the power which each
station shall use,” 47 U.S.C. 303(c) and to “[rJegulate
the kind of apparatus to be used with respect to its
external effects,” 47 U.S.C. 303(e). This Court long ago
held Congress’s expansive delegation of authority to
the agency to be constitutional. National Broad. Co. v.
United States, 319 U.S. 190, 225-226 (1943). The Court
ruled that the “public interest” standard was “as con-
crete as the complicated factors for judgment in such a
field of delegated authority permit.” Jd. at 216 (quoting
FCC vy. Pottsville Broad. Co., 309 U.S. 134, 188 (1940)).
Those cases foreclose petitioners’ delegation argu-
ment.”

1! Petitioners CPT and Worsham appear to claim (CPT Pet. 20-
21; Worsham Pet. 16) that the decision below conflicts with Ameri-
can Trucking Ass’ns, Inc. v. EPA, 175 F.3d 1027 (D.C. Cir. 1999),

21

Petitioner Worsham further asserts (Pet. 14-15) that
it violated the delegation doctrine to give the FCC
authority to establish standards in a health and safety
field in which the agency acknowledged it lacked
expertise. That argument is mistaken.

The RF exposure rules govern the activities of
entities that are licensed and heavily regulated by the
FCC. Congress has charged the FCC with “mak[ing]
available * * * a rapid, efficient, Nation-wide, and
world-wide wire and radio communications service,” 47
U.S.C. 151 (1994 & Supp. IV 1998), has declared it “the
policy of the United States to encourage the provision
of new technologies and services to the public,” 47
U.S.C. 157(a), and has established procedures to ensure
the “efficient and intensive use of the electromagnetic
spectrum,” 47 U.S.C. 309G)(3)(D) (Supp. IV 1998).
There is a trade-off between those goals and public
exposure to RF energy: all risk from RF energy could
be eliminated by prohibiting wireless communications
technologies. Congress has entrusted to the FCC the
process of striking the appropriate balance, a subject
squarely within the agency’s expertise.

To be sure, the Commission stated that it “does not
have the expertise to make independent judgments on
such alleged health effects as ‘electrosensitivity’ or
other reported effects on human health. This is the
responsibility of the federal health and safety agencies.”

cert. granted, 120 S. Ct. 2003 (No. 99-1257) and 120 S. Ct. 2193 (No.
99-1426). Those cases involve a substantially different regulatory
scheme than does this case, and the resolution of those cases is
unlikely to affect the settled analysis of the Communications Act
delegation of authority to the FCC, as directly upheld by this
Court in cases such as Naiional wr Co. and Pottsville
Broadcasting Co.

22

RF Reconsideration Order, 12 F.C.C.R. at 18,588. As

‘ the agency acknowledged when it first implemented
REF exposure rules, it lacks expertise to “develop our
own radiation exposure guidelines,” but “does have the
expertise and authority to recognize technically sound
standards promulgated by reputable and competent
organizations such as ANSI.” 100 F.C.C. 2d at 551.
Moreover, the FCC consulted extensively with EPA,
KDA, OSHA and other federal health and safety
agencies, all of which concurred in the final standard.
RF Order, 11 F.C.C.R. at 15,129-15,131; RF’ Recon-
sideration Order, 12 F.C.C.R. at 13,5388. EPA in
particular had been working on its own set of RF
exposure rules and it had extensive familiarity with the
scientific and medical literature. Pet. App. Al0. In
short, the RF regulations culminated from a multi-dis-
ciplinary, multi-agency effort in which the FCC took
the lead. There was no constitutional infirmity in that
process.

5. Petitioner Cellular Phone Taskforce claims (Pet.
12-15) that the court below erred in finding that the
FCC did not violate the Administrative Procedure Act.
CPT argues that during the reconsideration proceeding
the FCC was required to solicit the comments of the
health and safety agencies on new record material con-
cerning “non-thermal” effects. The court of appeals
properly rejected that claim of error.

By the time of its first order, the FCC had already
consulted extensively with all of the federal health and
safety agencies; the discussions included possible non-
thermal effects of RF energy. See Pet. App. A7-A16.
Moreover, ANSI and NCRP had reviewed extensive
scientific literature on non-thermal effects and found
such phenomena not to be supported by the evidence.
Id. at A9. As the FCC found, no further consultation

23

was needed: “we have considered carefully well over
150 sets of comments filed in this proceeding and have
already consulted extensively with all of the relevant
health and safety agencies.” RF Reconsideration
Order, 12 F.C.C.R. at 13,506. As found in an analogous
context, “[i]t is not enough that the [new] information
may be worthy of further inquiry or may be considered
important research. [The question is] whether or not
the new information presents a seriously different
picture” than that originally envisioned. Wisconsin v.
Weinberger, 745 F.2d 412, 420 (7th Cir. 1984). The court
of appeals correctly concluded that “it was reasonable
for the FCC to continue to rely on the ANSI and NCRP
standards absent new evidence indicating that the
fundamental scientific understanding underlying the
ANSI and NCRP standards was no longer valid.” Pet.
App. A9-A10."

2 Petitioner CPT claims (Pet. 15) that it was arbitrary for the
FCC to have “eschewed serious health-agency evaluation * * *
while simultaneously disclaiming its own expertise.” The court
below found that the FCC “could reasonably expect [the health
and safety] agencies to keep abreast of scientific developments”
and “expect the agency with primacy in evaluating environmental
impacts to monitor all relevant scientific input into the FCC’s
reconsideration.” Pet. App. Al0. Petitioner does not challenge
that finding. Indeed, in a letter which we provided to the court of
appeals pursuant to Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 28(j),
EPA recently informed the agency that “(t]he information base on
non-thermal effects has not changed significantly since the EPA’s
original comments in 1993 and 1996. * * * The majority of
currently available studies suggests * * * that there are no
significant non-thermal human health hazards. It therefore
continues to be EPA’s view that the FCC exposure guidelines
adequately protect the public from all scientifically established
harms that may result from RF energy fields generated by FCC
licensees.” Letter from Robert Brenner, Acting Deputy Assistant

24

Petitioner Fichtenberg raises the additional admini-
strative law claim that the FCC without explanation
switched from an earlier RF exposure standard that
required exposure to be “as low as reasonably achiev-
able” (ALARA) to the current standards. Fichtenberg
Pet. 28-31. Contrary to petitioner’s assertion (Pet. 28),
ALARA was never the standard; rather petitioner
urged that the agency make it the standard.’ The FCC
explained that a very low standard would not strike a
proper “balance between the need to protect the public
and workers from exposure to potentially harmful RF
electromagnetic fields and the requirement that
industry be allowed to provide telecommunications
services to the public in the most efficient and practical
manner possible.” RF Reconsideration Order, 12
F.C.C.R. at 13,496. The court below affirmed that
finding (Pet. App. All-A12), and there is no cause to
question that conclusion.

6. Finally, petitioner CPT’s claim (Pet. 23-25) that
the court of appeals improperly rejected its claim under
the Rehabilitation Act lacks merit. The argument is
that the decision below conflicts with decisions of other
courts of appeals that local zoning is a “program or
activity” of the relevant governmental unit.

The Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. 794 (1994
& Supp. IV 1998), bars discrimination against or denial
of benefits to an “otherwise qualified individual with
a disability” on the basis of the handicap “under any

Administrator for Air and Radiation to Dale Hatfield, Chief, FCC
Office of Engineering and Technology (Apr. 30, 1999).

'S The requirement of 47 U.S.C. 324 that transmitters “use the
minimum amount of power necessary to carry out the com-
munication desired” pertains to interference between stations, not
potential health effects of RF fields, which were unknown in 1934
when Section 324 was enacted.

25

program or activity conducted by any Executive
agency.” Petitioner claizned below that the pro-
liferation of transmitters was causing discrimination
against persons especially sensitive to RF fields. The
court of appeals held that “CPT does not allege that
electrically sensitive people are being denied the
benefit of, or are subject to discrimination under, any
‘program or activity’ of the FCC,” and it dismissed the
charge. Pet. App. A25.

That holding was correct. The FCC’s regulations
implementing the Rehabilitation Act expressly state
that the rules do not apply to the “programs or activi-
ties of entities that are licensed or certified by the
Commission.” 47 C.F.R. 1.1830(b)(6). Both this Court
and the D.C. Circuit have affirmed that approach. Com-
munity Television of S. Cal. v. Gottfried, 459 U.S. 498
(1983); California Ass’n of the Physically Handi-
capped, Inc. v. FCC, 840 F.2d 88 (D.C. Cir. 1988).

That reasoning defeats petitioner’s contention that
the Second Circuit’s judgment conflicts with the de-
cision of the Ninth Circuit in Bay Area Addiction
Research & Treatment, Inc. v. City of Antioch, 179 F.3d
725 (1999). That case applied the Rehabilitation Act to
the zoning activities of a governmental unit. The FCC
does not engage in zoning activities, and Congress’s
preemption of certain aspects of local zoning decisions
does not render the FCC a zoning administrator. There
is no conflict between the decision under review and
that of the Ninth Circuit."

'4 Petitioner CPT also raises (Pet. 24-25) a number of procedural
complaints about the FCC’s alleged failure properly to address
petitioner’s Rehabilitation Act claims. Those complaints are effec-
tively moot in light of the Second Circuit's decision on rehearing to
address petitioner’s arguments on the merits and its ruling on

26

CONCLUSION
The petitions for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
CHRISTOPHER J. WRIGHT
General Counsel
DANIEL M. ARMSTRONG
Associate General Counsel
JOEL MARCUS
Counsel
Federal Communications
Commission

DECEMBER 2000

the merits that the FCC’s orders in this case did not violate the
Rehabilitation Act. See Pet. App. A25.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1587%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
