# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — LeBlanc v. Salem, 121 S. Ct. 385 (2000) (No. 00-371)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1534%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2000

## Text

Supreme Court of the GQnited States

GARY R. LEBLANC,
Petitioner,
v.

RICHARD P. SALEM,
Respondent.
ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

GARY R. LEBLANC
Counsel of Record
20 Cross Street
Gardner, Massachusetts 01440
(978) 630-3300

Pro Se Petitioner

Dated: September 5, 2000

BATEMAN & SLADE, INC. BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS

QUESTION PRESENTED

I. Whether U.S. Bankruptcy Court’s, Queenan,
J., allowance of Trustee’s Motion to Abandon Right
of Revocation of Contingent Settlement was an
abuse of discretion, when creditor raised issue of
fraud in the settlement and trustee conducted no
investigation into creditor’s allegations and pre-
sented no evidence of a fair and reasonable settle-
ment, and the Court placed burden of proving fraud
on creditor, in direct conflict with other federal ju-
risdictions.

li

PARTIES

The parties to the proceedings below were the pe-
titioner, Gary R. LeBlanc, acting pro se, and the re-
spondent Richard P. Salem, acting pro se.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTION PRESHAN IED cecscscrccvcscscccscccscssscsvscscse i
TEA COP AU TERRE E ERD ccccsnscccscsnsveccscansossense iv
PUMPER RIEE canasucahdncbesacssssessctecsasscsvuaccensasesestovenscsies li
PP RUMGIETED MEURAP ON cascccescnsssarccacvcthsccsvesconcaccsossans 1
PENN TEIED Anvaasdscasbensionsccececunsvsabsoccccniactessece 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................sececseeseees 2
PPIAPMEET Ecc csyssccetesrecenscncsenseseses anbsanackhastonssaions 9
INE GnsvndsdAnsnennstnnnddcnneuasanassacnsscaaceneces 11

PIU, scbavandaccvecdsnnissonanesenccsns follows page 12

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES:

In re Chicago Art Glass, Inc.,
155 B.R. 180 (Bkrtcy. N.D.I11.1993) .

In re Melenyzer,
140 B.R. 143 (Bkrtcy.W.D.Tex. 1992)

In re Morse Tool, Inc.,
140 B.R. 143 (Bkrtcy.D.Mass. 1992)

In re Worcester Quality Foods, Inc.,
152 B.R. 494 Bkrtcy.D.Mass.1993) .

Kowal v. Malkemus,
965 F.2d 1136 (1st Cir.1992) ..........

STATUTES AND RULES:
United States Code

1 UO OOM oe
28 U.S.C. §§ 158(d) & 1334 wc...

Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure

Pe Fe skccccccnabbincccalniseeetecccksis

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The petitioner, Gary R. LeBlanc, respectfully
prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the
judgment and opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the First Circuit, entered in the above-
entitled proceeding on June 5, 2000.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of the Appeals for the
First Circuit is published at and re-
printed in the Appendix hereto (“App. A”) at page
App. la. By order entered June 5, 2000, The First
Circuit denied LeBlanc’s petition for rehearing. A
copy of the order denying rehearing is reprinted in
the Appendix at page App. 14a. The Memorandum
decision of the United States District Court for the
District of Massachusetts, dismissing the appeal is
reprinted in the Appendix hereto at page App. 16a.

JURISDICTION

Invoking federal jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1334, and 28 U.S.C. § 158(d), the petitioner
brought this suit in the United States District Court
for the District of Massachusetts. On June 25,
1999, after remand, the United States District
Court entered judgment granting summary judg-
ment to the Respondent.

On May 16, 2000, the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the First Circuit affirmed the decision of
the United States District Court entering judgment
in favor of the respondent.

2

On June 5, 2000, the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the First Circuit denied Petitioner’s Peti-
tion for Panel Rehearing.

STATEMENT OF CASE

In October 1990, the Petitioner, Attorney Gary R.
LeBlanc won a judgment in the Supreme Judicial
Court of Massachusetts against Alfred Lizotte in ex-
cess of $450,000.00, on behalf of his client, Mail-
man Steam Carpet Cleaning, Corp. The judgment
was secured by a real estate attachment on a parcel
of land and buildings owned by Lizotte and upon
which he controlled a small corporation entitled Al’s
Service Station, Inc. Said corporation was severely
in debt to creditors. All of the debt was accumu-
lated after the judgment secured by LeBlanc in
1990.

An appeal ensued and in 1993, the judgment was
affirmed by the Supreme Judicial Court of Massa-
chusetts. Pending the appeal, LeBlanc’s client,
Mailman, slid into bankruptcy and the Lizotte
judgment became the principle asset of the bank-
ruptcy estate.

On September 18, 1995, the trustee appointed in

Bankruptcy notified the Court and creditors of his .

intention to compromise the Lizotte judgment, now

in excess of $500,000.00, down to $100,000.00. -

LeBlanc, as a creditor, objected.

On October 19, 1995, the Bankruptcy Court
conducted a hearing on the proposed settlement in
which the trustee introduced an appraisal, which
valued the business and real estate to have a total

3

fair market value of $350,000.00. LeBlanc argued
the appraisal included assets of the corporation
that were partially and or fully leveraged, yet, the
trustee assigned a $75,000.00 value to them. Also,
the sale of the business was added to the appraisal
and was valued at $75,000.00. Subsequently, the
corporation, which was severely in debt, went bank-
rupt and was sold, therefore, excluding these al-
leged assets. All that remained, as assets of the
corporation, was “garage machinery” with an ap-
praised auction value of only $22,000.00. The real
estate had an assigned value of $175,000.00.

LeBlanc asserted the property and buildings and
pumps thereon had a fair market value far in ex-
cess of $500,000.00. However, LeBlanc was unable
to present a written appraisal as Lizotte refused to
allow LeBlanc’s appraiser or. the property.

At the conclusion of the hearing, the Court or-
dered the approved compromised settlement, sub-
ject to the following condition:

If the gas station is sold within
two years the trustee may move for
revocation of this approval. Depending
on the facts of the sale the Court will
then either confirm or revoke its ap-
proval.

Approximately seven months later, Lizotte sold
the real estate and alleged business assets for
$560,000.00. Lizotte maintained the increase of
over $350,000.00, above the value of the real estate

4
was all business assets, but provided no disclosure
of these alleged assets.

LeBlanc immediately alleged the sale of unidenti-
fied business assets was a sham and that Lizotte
was fraudulently diverting these assets from
Lizotte’s creditors, specifically the contingent set-
tlement.

LeBlanc demanded trustee provide a complete
accounting of the assets of the sale and full disclo-
sure to rule out fraud. When the trustee refused to
investigate LeBlanc’s allegations, LeBlanc moved to
compel the trustee to seek revocation of the contin-
gent settlement. Said motion was continued gener-
ally and the Court approved very limited discovery
by LeBlanc. LeBlanc’s request to conduct a Rule
2004 examination of the buyer, Peterborough Oil,
was denied over LeBlanc’s objection. “

The Court severely limited LeBlanc’s discovery of
the alleged fraud to Alfred Lizotte and Gulf Oil, a
creditor of Lizotte. The 2004 examinations were
further limited to the terms of the sale. Lizotte
postponed the discovery for alleged medical rea-
sons, then upon examination, claimed amnesia and
could not recall any assets allegedly sold to the
buyer, Peterborough Oil.

No examination was ever conducted of Gulf Oil,
as they were not a party to the sale and could add
no information regarding the “terms of the sale”.

Therefore, without an accounting of the assets al-
legedly sold, by Lizotte, LeBlanc turned to the trus-
tee to perform his duty to investigate the sale. The
trustee refused to investigate the sale and instead
moved the Court to abandon his right to seek revo-

5

cation of the settlement. LeBlanc objected to the
abandonment.

On April 15, 1998, the Court held a hearing on
the abandonment in which LeBlanc presented the
results of his severely restricted discovery as fol-
lows:

(1) The Purchase and Sales Agree-
ment explicitly stated that the
buyer, Peterborough Oil, was
purchasing the “real estate

only”.

(2) The Purchase and Sales Agree-
ment also stated “all other as-
sets remain with seller’.

(3) The Purchase and Sales Agree-
ment listed a sales price for the
real estate of $200,000.00,
which was in line with the trus-
tee appraisal of $175,000.00.
Yet, the actual deed listed the
sales price of the real estate at
$300,000.00.

(4) Both Lizotte and his attorney
failed and/or refused to inform
the Court or the trustee of the
$100,000.00 gain in the sale of
the real estate, either prior to or,
subsequent to the sale, despite
the language of the prior contin-
gent settlement order.

(S)

(6)

(7)

(8)

6

Lizotte applied the additional
$100,000.00 of real estate
funds, not to the settlement, but
to the debts of the corporation,
which debts were acquired over
three years subsequent to the
real estate attachment and judg-
ment.

Lizotte claimed the Purchase and
Sales Agreement required him to
pay his corporate debt with the
proceeds of the sale including
the sale of the real estate, de-
spite the clearly superior judg-
ment and attachment.

The Purchase and Sales Agree-

ment required Lizotte to pay the
corporate debt from the sale
proceeds, yet, the corporation
was never sold to the buyer,
Peterborough Oil. Therefore, the
buyer had no legitimate interest
in the debts of the corporation,
as none of the debts were appur-
tenant to the land and the cor-
poration remained with the
seller, Lizotte.

In the Purchase and Sales
Agreement, Lizotte was allegedly
selling over $350,000.00 worth
of business/corporate assets to
the buyer, Peterborough Oil.
Yet, neither one single asset is

7

listed in the Purchase and Sales
Agreement, nor have these al-
leged assets ever been accounted
for, or even described in any
document.

(9) Upon examination of the seller,
Lizotte, by LeBlanc, Lizotte could
not recall one single asset sold
to Peterborough Oil. Lizotte al-
leged that he was on oxygen,
which caused complete amnesia
as to the facts of the sale.

(10) LeBlanc moved the Court to al-
low an examination of the buyer,
Peterborough Oil, as to the as-
sets allegedly sold by Lizotte.
Said motion was denied over
LeBlanc’s objection.

(11) Subsequent to the sale, Lizotte
reopened his business, with his
business assets, less than three
miles from his original location.

(12) Subsequent to the sale, Peter-
borough Oil completely remod-
eled the real estate with none of
Lizotte’s corporate assets, but
rather their own “Mr. Mikes”
franchise.

(13) Over a year prior to the sale,
Peterborough Oil orally repre-
sented to LeBlanc’s private in-
vestigator that the real estate

8

alone had a value of between
$500,000.00 to $700,000.00
(without any of Lizotte’s corpo-
rate assets. The final purchase
price was $560,000.00

(14) Subsequent io the sale, Peter-
borough Oil represented orally to
LeBlanc that the contract for the
sale was set up by Lizotte and
his attorney, because “That’s the
way they wanted it. We don’t
care, so long as we got the land”.

(15) According to the Purchase and
Sales Agreement, sixty thousand
dollars of the sales proceeds
were paid directly to Alfred
Lizotte, personally, and were
therefore subject to the contin-
gent settlement. Yet, trustee
never tried to recoup even these
assets for the estate.

These are just some of the arguments raised by
LeBlanc at the April 15, 1998 hearing. Despite this
overwhelming evidence, the Court approved the
abandonment and LeBlanc appealed the ruling;
first to the United States District Court and then to
the First Circuit Court of Appeals, who both upheld
the ruling from the First Circuit’s denial of
LeBlanc’s Petition for rehearing. He now applies for
Writ of Certiorari.

9
ARGUMENT

In the case at hand, the First Circuit held, in
part, quoting Kowal v. Malkemus (In re Thompson),
965 F.2d 1136, 1145 (1st Cir. 1992), “that a Chap-
ter 7 Trustee is required to reach an informed judg-
ment, after diligent investigation, as to whether it
would be prudent to eliminate the inherent risks,
delays and expenses of prolonged litigation in an
uncertain cause. Balancing the trustce’s obligation
to obtain...the maximum return for the creditors(on
whose behalf he toils).” Jd. at page 6, line 4. The
court goes on to state “LeBlanc mounts a claim of
fraud — a claim that, after earnest investigation, he
cannot substantiate. In order to probe the claim
more thoroughly, the trustee would have to deplete
the estate’s (already slim) assets in exploring what
might well prove to be a dry hole...” (Id. at page 6,
lines 15-20).

These statements could not be further from the
truth. They are totally erroneous factual findings
and a misapplication of a properly stated rule of
law.

To the contrary, LeBlanc presented overwhelming
indicia of fraud. Although LeBlanc is an attorney,
in this case he was acting solely as a creditor, rais-
ing an issue of Lizotte’s fraudulent real estate
transaction.

The Court erroneously puts the burden on
LeBlanc, a creditor, to investigate and substantiate
the fraud. Clearly this duty lies with the trustee
who did absolutely nothing to investigate LeBlanc’s
allegations. Therefore, how could he possibly have

10

reached an “informed judgment after diligent inves-
tigation.

On page 7 of the First Circuit’s opinion, the
Court states in relevant part, “Nor was Salem’s
(trustee) position rubber stamped. The Bankruptcy
Court conducted no fewer than four hearings to
scrutinize the Appellant’s claims...” This is also a
gross misstatement of the facts. Although the
Court conducted hearings, not once did the Bank-
ruptcy Court, or any other Court order the trustee
to investigate LeBlanc’s allegations of fraud. Not
once did any of these Court’s question what assets
were allegedly sold to Peterborough Oil. Not once
did the Court order full and complete disclosure.
The First Circuit quotes Judge Harrington of the
United States District Court that appellant had,
“neither introduced any contrary expert testimony
nor proffered any hard evidence, that Lizotte ma-
nipulated the valuation of the real estate (page 8).

To the contrary, Lizotte’s own expert appraisal of
the real estate valued the property at -$20,000.00.
the Purchase and Sales Agreement stated
$200,000.00 and the actual deed and secret sale
was for $300,000.00.

The circumstantial evidence of fraud presented
by LeBlanc is so overwhelming, it is a slap in the
face of justice to determine the trustee need not in-
vestigate further.

The First Circuit’s ruling is in direct conflict with
other jurisdictions, such as In re Chicago Art Glass,
Inc., 155 B.R. 180 (Bkrtcy N.D.Ill. 1993), which held
that although a trustee does not “have an obligation
to investigate every matter brought to his/her at-
tention, the trustee is statutorily required to look

11

into [allegations] of the concealment of assets,
fraudulent conduct, or any other wrong doing, by
the debtors or other third parties. Id. at 188. See
also In re Melenyzer, 140 BR. 143, 155
(Bkrtcy.W.d.Tex. 1992).

Further, in the case of In re Morse Tool, Inc., 148
B.R. 97 (Bkrtcy.D.Mass. 1992), citing the Uniform
Fraudulent Conveyance Act, 11 U.S.C. § 548, and
its counterpart, the Massachusetts Uniform
Fraudulent Conveyance Act, Massachusetts Gen-
eral Laws, Chapter 109A, Section 13, there must be
at least a reasonable equivalence, between the pur-
chase price and the value of the property received,
for there to be fair consideration for the transfer of
assets. Therefore, the “...focus is on ascertaining
whether the price paid was fair and reasonable or,
on the other hand, was so high as to have been, a
gift or give away; it also asks whether in fairness
and good faith to creditors, consideration paid can
be deemed reasonable’. Supra. See also In re
Worcester Quality Foods, 152 B.R. 494 (Bkrtcy.
D.Mass. 1993).

CONCLUSION

In failing to present any accounting of the assets
sold of the sale, the trustee breached his statutory
duty, as herein stated, to investigate the conceal-
ment of assets, fraudulent conduct or any other
wrongdoing by Lizotte. To blindly recommend
abandonment was wanton negligence by the Trus-
tee. For the Court to accept his uninformed opinion
without any investigation, in violation of its own

12

contingent settlement, is not diligent investigation
and is clearly an abuse of discretion. How little ef-
fort would have been required to shake a potentially
fruitful bush.

Instead, the Court accepted the trustee’s recom-
mendation in a vacuum, with no facts to support its
conclusion. The Court erroneously put the burden
on creditor LeBlanc to produce concrete evidence of
fraud beyond a reasonable doubt, rather than com-
pel the trustee to investigate and produce an ac-
counting to determine if the sale was “fair and rea-
sonable”.

For the compelling reasons set forth above, the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be allowed.

WHEREFORE, based upon the foregoing, the Pe-
titioner, Gary R. LeBlanc, respectfully moves this
Honorable Court to allow his Writ of Certiorari and
reverse the decision of the U.S. Court of Appeals for
the First Circuit and rule accordingly.

Respectfully submitted,
Gary R. LeBlanc,
Pro Se Counsel of Record,

Gary R. LeBlanc

20 Cross Street

Gardner, Massachusetts 01440
(978) 630-3300

BBO #543081

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS
APPENDIX A
Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the
OIE GUIRIIG Scsleccncudscticeiseiie ce ab oe la
APPENDIX B
The First Circuit Denial of the Petition for
SUSIE sincsixisnnsionieinpinedcesaleasuadancnee l4a
APPENDIX C
The Memorandum decision of the United
States District Court for the District

of Massachusetts, dismissing the
OIG estiknintiissisvictiateissangslinas choad 16a

iia

[This page is intentionally left blank. ]

APPENDIX A

United States Court of Appeals
For the First Circuit

No. 99-1865

IN RE MAILMAN STEAM CARPET
CLEANING CORP.,
Debtor.

GARY R. LEBLANC,
Appellant,
v.

RICHARD P. SALEM, TRUSTEE, ETC.,

Appellee.

APPEAL FROM THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
[Hon. Edward F. Harrington,

U.S. District Judge]

2a

Before
Selya, Circuit Judge,

Bownes, Senior Circuit Judge,
and Boudin, Circuit Judge.

Gary R. LeBlanc, pro se ipso, for appellant.

Richard P. Salem, pro se ipso, for appellee.
May 16, 2000

SELYA, Circuit Judge. This appeal requires us
to revisit the final resting place of Mailman Steam
Carpet Cleaning Corp. (the debtor). An earlier opin-
ion of this court adumbrates the relevant back-
ground, see LeBlanc v. Salem (In re Mailman Steam
Carpet Cleaning Corp.), 196 F.3d 1, 2-4 (1st Cir.
1999) (Mailman I), and an abbreviated version, bor-
rowing heavily from the original, suffices here.!

In October 1990, the debtor, represented by At-
torney Gary R. LeBlanc, won a verdict in excess of
$450,000 against Alfred C. Lizotte in an environ-
mental suit. An appeal ensued. Betimes, the debtor
attached a parcel of commercial real estate (upon
which Al’s Service Station, a corporation controlled

1 We previously warned that the record in this case “lacks
crucial documents” and requires us to use approximate num-
bers throughout. Mailman I, 196 F.3d at 2. That warning still
applies.

iti ci

3a

by Lizotte, operated a Gulf station) in an effort to
secure the judgment.

Before collecting any sums from Lizotte, the
debtor slid into bankruptcy. See 11 U.S.C. §§ 701-
766 (1994 & Supp. 1999). The Lizotte judgment
thus became a principal asset of the bankruptcy es-

September 18, 1995, the trustee in bankruptcy,
Richard P, Salem, notified the court and creditors of
his intention to compromise the judgment for
$100,000. LeBlanc, qua creditor, objected.

The bankruptcy court held a hearing during
which Salem introduced an appraisal that esti-
mated the fair market value of the property, includ-
ing the fixtures and equipment associated with Al’s
Service Station (the Corporation), at $390,000, and
then assigned $175,000 of this total to the “[ljand,
buildings and installations” owned personally by
Lizotte (and, thus, subject to the attachment). The
appraiser also pointed out that the real estate was
encumbered by a prior first mortgage that secured
nearly $100,000 in debt. LeBlanc asserted that the
real estate was worth much more than the estimate
but offered no concrete evidentiary support for a
different valuation. No other creditor objected to the
anticipated settlement.

In the end, the bankruptcy court approved the
Proposal, subject to the following condition:

If the gas station is sold within two
years from [October 19, 1995], the

4a

trustee may move for revocation of this
approval. Depending on the facts of the
sale, the court will then either confirm
or revoke its approval.

The court denied LeBlanc’s subsequent motion to
alter or amend and ordered Salem to deliver an exe-
cuted discharge of the lien, to be held in escrow
pending payment of $100,000 to the bankruptcy
estate.

Approximately seven months later, Lizotte and
the Corporation sold the real property and the
business assets of the Corporation for an aggregate
price of $560,000. Lizotte maintained that the
business assets represented most of the value;
thus, he proposed to satisfy the first mortgage, re-
mit $100,000 to Salem to complete the settlement,
and pay the remaining net proceeds to the Corpora-
tion’s creditors (the largest of which apparently was
Gulf Oil or its distributor, New England Petroleum).
Contending that this allocation was a sham and
would fraudulently divert $360,000 from Lizotte’s
creditors (including the debtor), LeBlanc moved to
compel Salem to seek revocation of the order condi-
tionally approving the settlement. The bankruptcy
court granted LeBlanc permission under Fed. R.
Bankr. P. 2004 to examine Lizotte, Gulf, and the
Corporation, limited, however, to information con-
cerning the terms of the sale and to whom the pro-
ceeds had gone.?

2 The court subsequently denied LeBlanc permission to ex-
amine the buyer, Peterborough Oil Co. LeBlanc gripes about

5a

The permitted discovery moved at a snail’s pace.
Finally, the depositions concluded and Salem
sought leave to abandon the reserved right to seek
revocation of the settlement. LeBlanc -- and
LeBlanc alone -- opposed abandonment. At a hear-
ing held on April 15, 1998, LeBlanc recounted his
version of the pertinent facts and the conclusions
that he had drawn from his investigation. See
Mailman I, 196 F.3d at 3-4 (describing LeBlanc’s
contentions). Apparently unimpressed, the bank-
ruptcy court overruled his objection and authorized
Salem to surrender the right to seek revocation.

LeBlanc appealed both this order and a collateral
order dealing with the allowance of his claim.3 After
some skirmishing -- including a remand for further
findings -- the district court upheld both determina-
tions. See In re Mailman Steam Carpet Cleaning,
Civ. No. 99-40083-EFH (D. Mass. June 25, 1999)
(Mailman II). LeBlanc then prosecuted this appeal.
In it, he presses two assignments of error.

this ruling in passing, but has neither assigned error to it nor
made any suitably developed argumentation in regard to it.

3 Striking on a different front, LeBlanc simultaneously filed
an adversary proceeding against Salem, in which he alleged
negligence and breach of fiduciary duty stemming from Sa-
lem’s failure to seek revocation of the settlement. The bank-
ruptcy court rejected this initiative, granting summary judg-
ment in Salem’s favor. The district court affirmed, and so did
we. See Mailman I, 196 F.3d at 4-9. \

6a
The Abandonment Order

The appellant first solicits our intervention in re-
spect to the order approving abandonment of the
right to seek revocation of the settlement. As the
appellant acknowledges, the standard of review is
abuse of discretion. See Prebor v. Collins (In_re I
Don’t Trust), 143 F.3d 1, 3 (lst Cir. 1998). The
abuse of discretion rubric is not hard and fast. See
1 Steven Alan Childress & Martha S. Davis, Federal
Standards of Review § 4.21, at 4-131 to -139 (3d ed.
1999). Here, we apply it against the background
understanding that “[c]lompromises are favored in
bankruptcy.” Hicks, Muse & Co. v. Brandt (In_re
Healthco Int'l, Inc.), 136 F.3d 45, 50 n.5 (1st Cir.
1998) (quoting 9 Collier on Bankruptcy J 9019.01,
at 9019-2 (15th ed. 1995)).

A chapter 7 trustee is entrusted to marshal an
estate’s assets and liabilities, and proceed in set-
tling its accounts on whatever grounds he, in his
informed discretion, believes will net the maximum
return for the creditors (on whose behalf he toils).
When augmentation of an asset involves protracted
investigation or potentially costly litigation, with no
guarantee as to the outcome, the trustee must
tread cautiously -- and an inquiring court must ac-
cord him wide latitude should he conclude that the
game is not worth the candle. See, e.g., id. at 50-52.
After all, “a chapter 7 trustee is required to reach
an informed judgment, after diligent investigation,
as to whether it would be prudent to eliminate the
inherent risks, delays and expense of prolonged liti-
gation in an uncertain cause.” Kowal v. Malkemus

| ere

7a

(In re Thompson), 965 F.2d 1136, 1145 (1st Cir.
1992).

These principles are dispositive here. LeBlanc
mounts a claim of fraud -- a claim that, after ear-
nest investigation, he cannot substantiate. In order
to probe the claim more thoroughly, the trustee
would have to deplete the estate’s (already slim) as-
sets in exploring what might well prove to be a dry
hole. Given the known facts, a decision to go no fur-
ther seems easily defensible.

Lizotte is now in bankruptcy, with no visible as-
Sets apart from the real estate which is at issue in
this proceeding. The sale to Peterborough Oil re-
portedly was contingent on the payment of roughly
$200,000 to Gulf Oil /New England Petroleum, and
a further payment of $60,000 for a covenant not to
compete. The mortgage -- a priority lien -- had a
balance of nearly $100,000. Backing these sums
out of the sales price left only $200,000 on the table
-- some of which obviously would have to be de-
voted to closing costs, taxes, attorneys’ fees, and
~ the like. Under those circumstances, accepting a
$100,000 settlement rather than either frustrating
the sale (by attempting to block the $200,000 pay-
ment) or prolonging the squabble about how to allo-
cate the sales price between real property and busi-
ness assets does not appear unreasonable. Trustees
must take care not to throw good money after bad,
and, on this somewhat Opaque record, Salem’s in-
clination to embrace the settlement is a choice
which appears deserving of some deference.

8a

Nor was Salem’s position rubber-stamped. The
bankruptcy court conducted no fewer than four
hearings to scrutinize the appellant’s claims. Upon
considering all the available evidence, the court
elected, as its discretion fully allowed, to accept the
trustee’s recommendation. The situation thus is
reminiscent of In re Thompson, in which we wrote:

[T]he baseline for appellants’ opposi-
tion to the proposed settlement rests in
their readiness to second-guess the in-
formed judgment of the chapter 7 trus-
tee, as well as the discretionary deter-
mination of the bankruptcy court, that
continued litigation would not result in
a net benefit to the chapter 7 estate.
... The important policy favoring effi-
cient bankruptcy administration nor-
mally will warrant judicial recognition
that the chapter 7 trustee, .. . rather
than ... an individual creditor, is the
more appropriate arbiter of the “best
interests” of the chapter 7 estate.

965 F.2d at 1145 (citations omitted).

The district court also reviewed the facts. In an
abundance of caution, it remanded for further find-
ings and ultimately affirmed the decision of the
bankruptcy court. See Mailman il, slip op. at 3. The
court stated that “the record simply does not reflect
that the land owned by Lizotte and secured by the
real estate attachment was valued at more than the
$200,000 [originally] estimated by the independent
real estate appraiser.” Id. It then noted that the ap-

9a

pellant had neither introduced any contrary expert
testimony nor proffered any hard evidence “that
Lizotte [had] manipulated the valuation of his real
estate.” Id. Consequently, the district court con-
cluded that the bankruptcy court had not abused
its discretion. See id.

We appreciate that, notwithstanding the district
court’s imprimatur, we must independently review
the bankruptcy court’s determination. See Palmacci
v. Umpierrez, 121 F.3d 781, 785 (1st Cir. 1997).
But that review should not occur in a vacuum. In
this instance, the decision whether to seek revoca-
tion of the settlement has been poked, prodded, and
probed at some length. For present purposes, the
acid test of the bankruptcy court’s decision is not
whether pressing onward might have produced
more funds for the estate but, rather, whether ac-
cepting the settlement (and thereby forgoing the
risks inherent in intransigence) fell within the uni-
verse of reasonable alternatives. The ascertained
facts, as revealed by the record, convince us that
the bankruptcy court did not exceed the wide
boundaries of its discretion in determining that a
bird in the hand was worth more than continued
shaking of a potentially barren bush.

The Claim Allowance

We turn next to LeBlanc’s second assignment of
error. The facts are these. The debtor Originally re-
tained LeBlanc to handle the environmental suit
pursuant to a written retainer agreement, dated
June 20, 1988, that specified a one-third contin-

10a

gent fee based on the “verdict, jury award or settle-
ment.” LeBlanc succeeded in obtaining a verdict
against Lizotte in mid-1990. With an appeal in
prospect, he prepared a neoteric fee agreement that
provided, in substance, that he would handle the
appeal and receive an aggregate fee equal to the
greater of 43% of any recovery or his overall time
charges (based on specifiea billing rates). The
debtor signed this agreement in November 1990.

When the debtor later filed for bankruptcy and
LeBlanc served a proof of claim based on the No-
vember 1990 fee agreement, the agreement proved
as much necrotic as neoteric; the bankruptcy court
struck it down as violative of Rule 3:05(5)(e) of the
Rules of the Supreme Judicial Court of Massachu-
setts (which at the time provided, in pertinent part,

. that a contingent fee shall not “exceed stated
maximum percentages of the amount collected”).*
The court did not disallow LeBlanc’s claim entirely,
however, but allowed it to the extent of one-third of
the amount of the litigation proceeds ultimately col-
lected. The district court affirmed these twin deter-
minations, holding (1) that the bankruptcy court
did not err in finding the November 1990 fee
agreement unenforceable, and (2) that the bank-
ruptcy court’s allowance of the claim in an amount
equal to one-third of the actual recovery was “rea-

* In the District of Massachusetts, both the federal district
court and the bankruptcy court have incorporated the Su-
preme Judicial Court's ethical standards into their own rules.
See D. Mass. R. 83.6(4)(B); Bankr. Mass. R. 9020-3. At the
times relevant hereto, that incorporation embraced former
S.J.C. R. 3:05 (since stricken).

er

lla

sonable and do[es] not constitute an abuse of dis-
cretion.” Mailman II, slip op. at 4.

Like the district court, we review de novo the
bankruptcy court’s rulings of law and test its find-
ings of fact for clear error. See BayBank-Middlesex
v. Raylar Distributors, Inc., 69 F.3d 1200, 1202 (1st
Cir. 1995). We think it is significant here that the
claim under review is essentially a claim for an at-
torney’s fee. The bankruptcy court’s role is preemi-
nent in determining the reasonableness of fees
claimed in bankruptcy proceedings, and the court’s
determinations in that wise are reviewed with great
deference. See In re I Don’t Trust, 143 F.3d at 3; In
re Martin, 817 F.2d 175, 182 (1st Cir. 1987); Rome
v. Braunstein (In re Chestnut Hill Mortgage Corp.),
158 B.R. 547, 549 (D. Mass. 1993), aff'd, 19 F.3d
54 (1st Cir. 1994). With these tenets in mind, we
consider the particulars of the appellant’s claim.

We most assuredly cannot fault the bankruptcy
court for refusing to honor the November 1990 fee
agreement. By leaving open the possibility of fees in
excess of the stated percentage, that agreement
plainly ran afoul of the then-applicable ethical
canon, S.J.C. R. 3:05(5)(e). The court therefore had
the right -- and, arguably, the duty -- to refuse to
enforce it. See Berman v. Linnane, 424 Mass. 867,
871-72 & n.7 (1997).

This brings us to the reasonableness of the al-
lowance. Since the November 1990 fee agreement
had purported to supplant, not merely supplement,
the original fee agreement, the bankruptcy court
determined that it would consider not only the

12a

original agreement, but also equitable doctrines. In
the end, it approved LeBlanc’s claim to the extent of
one-third of the amounts actually realized on the
judgment against Lizotte. We glean from the record
that the court thought this sum reasonable in rela-
tion to the services rendered and to the result
achieved and believed that such an award would
prevent unjust enrichment of the bankruptcy es-
tate. Indeed, the court expressly found that “one-
third of the recovery, plus expenses” constituted a
“typical compensation arrangement for matters
such as this” and was “[flair” in the circumstances
of this case.

In our view, the allowance of the claim passes the
test of reasonableness with flying colors. Because
we do not wish to belabor the obvious, we add only
a brief comment.

Having found that the November 1990 fee agree-
ment violated ethical precepts, the bankruptcy
court likely could have denied LeBlanc compensa-
tion altogether. See, e.g., Rome, 19 F.3d at 58; cf.
Culebras Enters. Corp. v. Rivera-Rios, 846 F.2d 94,
97 (lst Cir. 1988) (stating, in a non-bankruptcy
context, that “[djenial of attorneys’ fees may be a
proper sanction for violation of an ethical canon”).
The fact that the court elected to take less draco-
nian measures does not mean that it could attach
no significance to the violation -- and this is so even
though it seems to have regarded the ethical short-
fall as resulting from a good-faith blunder. In all
events, assessing the reasonableness of claims for
counsel fees is a matter “in which the court of first
instance enjoys particularly great leeway,” In re I

iceman

15 140 2

13a

Don’t Trust, 143 F.3d at 3, and there is no sign that

the bankruptcy court’s allowance of LeBlanc’s claim
in a sum less than he had hoped outstripped that
leeway.

The proof of the pudding is in the tasting. The es-
sence of LeBlanc’s engagement by the debtor cen-
tered around the notion that his compensation
would be commensurate to the monies realized by
the client. The bankruptcy court’s resolution of
LeBlanc’s claim was faithful to this central concept;
it found that LeBlanc’s work had produced a recov-
ery and that he was entitled to compensation pro-
portionate to the size of that recovery. So viewed,
LeBlanc’s complaint reduces to a quarrel over the
percentage that the court deemed appropriate. That
ends the matter. Whether or not a higher percent-
age might have been sustainable, it cannot seri-
ously be argued that the court’s decision to approve

~ the claim based on a conventional percentage (33%)

constituted an abuse of discretion.

We need go no further. At long last, the lower
courts appear to have laid this tangled and conten-
tious matter to rest. We discern no error in their
administration of these last rites.

Affirmed.

l4a

APPENDIX B

United States Court of Appeals
For the First Circuit

No. 99-1865
IN RE MAILMAN STEAM CARPET
CLEANING CORP.,
Debtor

GARY R. LEBLANC,
Appellant,

V.

RICHARD P. SALEM, TRUSTEE, ETC..,
Appellee.

BEFORE
SELYA, CIRCUIT JUDGE,
BOWNES, SENIOR CIRCUIT JUDGE
AND BOUDIN, CIRCUIT JUDGE.
ORDER OF COURT
Entered: June 5, 2000

Upon consideration of petition for panel re-
hearing from judgment of May 16, 2000,

ammenities

15a
It is ordered that said petition be, and the same
hereby is, denied.
By the Court

Phoebe D. Morse, Clerk

By: JANICE M. O’NEIL
Chief Deputy Clerk

[cc: Messrs. LeBlanc and Salem]

16a
APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

No. 99-40083-EFH

IN RE: MAILMAN STEAM CARPET CLEANING,
Debtor

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

June 25, 1999
HARRINGTON, D.J.

This matter is before the Court on appeal from
the United States Bankruptcy Court. The Appellant
Attorney Gary LeBlanc, here representing himself,
represented Mailman Steam Carpet Cleaning, Inc.,
In a lawsuit against Alfred Lizotte In which Mailman
obtained a judgment against Lizotte In excess of
$400,000, secured by a real estate attachment of
certain commercial property owned by Lizotte.
Later, Mailman went into bankruptcy; the sole sig-
nificant asset in the bankruptcy estate was the
judgment against Lizotte.

Basec on an appraisal valuing the land securing
the judgment at approximately $200,000 and per-
ceived problems In the collectability of the judg-
ment, the Trustee In the bankruptcy proceeding,
Appellee Richard Salem, recommended that the
claim against Lizotte be settled for $100,000. The
Bankruptcy Court allowed the settlement, over Ap-

17a

pellant LeBlanc’s objections, but provided that, if
the property was sold within two years, the Trustee
could move to revoke the settlement. At the hearing
on LeBlanc’s motion to revoke, the Bankruptcy
Court clarified that it would allow a revocation if
there was evidence that established that “the set-
tlement agreement had been negotiated by Mr.
Lizotte fraudulently; that is, Mr. Lizotte did not dis-
close...that he had a buyer willing to purchase the
real estate...for significantly more than the
$100,000 settlement.”

When, in six months, a third party paid
$560,000 for the property, the business assets of
the gas station on the property, and a covenant by
Lizotte not to compete, LeBlanc alleged fraud on the
part of Lizotte and requested that the Court revoke
the’ settlement. The Bankruptcy Court held a hear-
ing on the motion but, finding insufficient evidence
to sustain LeBlanc’s allegations, refused, in its dis-
cretion, to revoke the settlement and instead al-
lowed the Trustee’s motion to \abandon the claim.
LeBlanc has appealed that decision and, accord-
ingly, the first issue before this Court is whether
the Bankruptcy Court’s refusal to revoke the set-
tlement, in light of LeBlanc’s allegations of fraud,
constituted an abuse of discretion.

The second issue before this Court concerns the
Bankruptcy Court’s award of attorney’s fees to
LeBlanc. In the underlying suit against Lizotte,
LeBlanc and Mailman had a one-third contingency
fee agreement. When LeBlanc later agreed to de-
fend the judgment on appeal, LeBlanc and Mailman
executed a subsequent contingency fee agreement,

18a

providing that LeBlanc would be entitled to the
greater of 43 percent of the amount ultimately col-
lected or compensation based on his hourly rate.
The Bankruptcy Court struck down this subse-
quent agreement as violative of then-applicable
Rule 3:05(5) of the Supreme Judicial Court. The
Court allowed LeBlanc, however, a claim for attor-
ney’s fees In the amount of one-third the amount
ultimately collected, pursuant to the original
agreement between the parties, plus some ex-
penses. LeBlanc appealed this decision as well and,
accordingly, the second issue before this Court is
whether the Bankruptcy Court award of attorney’s
fees to LeBlanc constituted an abuse of discretion.

After hearing oral argument and reviewing the
record before it, including the Bankruptcy Court’s
decisions with respect to each of these two issue,
the Court finds no abuse of discretion by the Bank-
ruptcy Court with respect to either matter.

With respect to the first issue, the record simply
does not reflect that the land owned by Lizotte and
secured by the real estate attachment was valued at
more than the $200,000 estimated by the inde-
pendent real estate appraiser. LeBlanc did not in-
troduce any expert testimony regarding the real es-
tate’s valuation either at the original proceeding
before the Bankruptcy Court nor later after remand
to it from this Court. Moreover, there is no evi-
dence that Lizotte manipulated the valuation of his
real estate nor any evidence that he had any poten-
tial buyer at the time he entered into his settlement
with Mailman’s Estate. Accordingly, this Court
cannot say that the Bankruptcy Court’s refusal to

19a

revoke that settlement constituted an abuse of dis-
cretion.

Similarly, with respect to the second issue, the
Court holds that the Bankruptcy Court did not err
in refusing to enforce the subsequent contingency
fee agreement. Moreover, the Court finds that the
attorney’s fees and expenses awarded by the Bank-
ruptcy Court, amounting to $44,950.61 of the
$147,000 ultimately collected for Mailman, are rea-
sonable and do not constitute an abuse of discre- -
tion by the Bankruptcy Court.

Accordingly, this appeal is dismissed.

SO ORDERED.

/s/EDWARD F. HARRINGTON
United States District Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1534%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
