# Appendix — William v. Immigration & Naturalization Service

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1421%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendix
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 919

## Text

Hany E. William, Petitioner,
V.
IMMIGRATION AND
NATURALIZATION SERVICE,
Respondent.
No. 99-60422,
United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit.
July 17, 2000.

Bruce A. Coane, Ajay Kumar Choudhary
(argued), Coane & Associates, Houston, TX, for
Petitioner.

Matthew R. Hall (argued), Terri Jane Scadron,
U.S. Dept. of Justice, Immigration Litigation, Civ. Div.,
Janet Reno, Atty. Gen., Robert L. Bombaugh, Director,
Office of Immigration and Naturalization, Houston, TX,
Lynne Underdown, Immigration and Naturalization
Service, District Directors Office, Attn: Joe A. Aguilar,
New Orleans, LA, for Respondent.

Petition for Review of an Order of the Board of
Immigration Appeals.

Before DAVIS, SMITH and DENNIS, Circuit
Judges.

JERRY E. SMITH, Circuit Judge:

Hany William petitions for review of an order of
the Board of Immigration Appeals (“BIA”) dismissing,

as untimely, his motion to reopen deportation
proceedings. Concluding that the interpretation by the
Immigration and Naturalization Service (“INS”) of its
regulation is not unreasonable, we deny the petition for
review and affirm the order of the BIA.

I.

William, an Egyptian citizen, entered the United
States on a student visa in 1992. In 1994, he was
issued an order to show cause why he should not be
deported for failing to maintain the conditions of his
non-immigrant status. At the administrative hearing, he
conceded his deportability but requested asylum.

An immigration judge denied his application for
relief and ordered deportation. The Board of
Immigration Appeals (“BIA”) affirmed, dismissing
William's direct appeal on September 24, 1997.

William filed a motion to reconsider on
October 22, 1997, requesting withholding of
deportation based on his change in marital status and
his wife’s eligibility for citizenship. The BIA construed
his request as both a motion to reconsider its dismissal
of his appeal and a motion to reopen to allow him to
apply for adjustment of status based on the new fact of

AMAR OO MOL

his marriage to a lawful permanent resident.’ The BIA
denied the motion on April 30, 1998.

William filed a motion to reopen on July 28,
1998, attaching his marriage certificate and noting that
his wife had completed the naturalization interview and
tests and would be sworn in as a citizen in a few
weeks. He requested permission to adjust his status
once his wife was sworn in.

William submitted that his motion to reopen was
timely because it was filed within ninety days of the
denial of his motion to reconsider. The BIA disagreed,
dismissing his motion to reopen as untimely and
concluding that it should have been filed within ninety
days of the dismissal of his direct appeal.

i.

INS regulations governing motions to reopen
provide, in pertinent part, that “a party may file only one
motion to reopen. . . and that motion must be filed no
later than 90 days after the date on which the final

' This ruling motivated the INS’s argument that because the

current motion was William's second motion to reopen, he was
foreclosed from making that motion under 8 C.F.R. §
3.2(c)(2)’s requirement that he could file only one motion to
reopen. But because the BIA did not address this argument
in its decision, and because the INS does not reassert that
argument on appeal, we do not consider it.

administrative decision was rendered in the proceeding
sought to be reopened.” 8 C.F.R. § 3.2(c)(2).
William's petition for review presents an issue of first
impression: whether the decision in William's original
appeal to the BIA, as distinguished from the
subsequent denial of his motion to reconsider, was “the
final administrative decision . . . in the proceeding to be
reopened.” If the dismissal of his original appeal
qualifies, then his motion to reopen was untimely. But
if the denial of his motion to reconsider is the final
decision under § 3.2(c)(2), the motion to reopen was
timely.

William argues that under Stone v. INS, 514
U.S. 386, 115 S.Ct. 1537, 131 L.Ed.2d 465 (1995), the
denial of a motion to reconsider is a final order of
deportation and that the denial of a motion to
reconsider is a final administrative decision from which
the ninety-day clock should start running. Thus, he
concludes that the BIA’s construction of the regulation
is inconsistent with its plain meaning and therefore is
not entitled to deference.

The INS responds by also citing Stone, in which
the Court decided whether the filing of a motion to
reconsider or reopen tolls the timie during which judicial
review of the underlying deportation order may be
sought. The Court held that an order of deportation is
final, that a denial of a motion to reconsider is a second

ie RO a Se oe BS ’

final order, and the time limits for seeking judicial
review of a final order apply separately to each final
order. See id. at 395, 115 S.Ct. 1537.

Thus, the INS argues that under Stone, both the
denial of the motion to reconsider and the dismissal of
the appeal of the deportation order should be
considered “final administrative decisions” for purposes
of § 3.2(c)(2). The INS reasons further that because
William’s motion to reopen should relate to “the
proceeding to be reopened,” it is the underlying
deportation decision, and not the denial of the motion
to reconsider, that is being challenged. This is so
because William seeks to introduce new evidence that
he contends will affect his deportation — i.e., that his
wife is going to become a citizen.

This evidence could not be introduced in a
proceeding for a motion to reconsider, the INS notes,
because that type of motion challenges only the legal
analysis employed by the immigration judge. The
deportation proceeding is the proper forum for this new
evidence, because there the immigration judge can
take into account any additional factors supporting
discretionary relief from deportation. That is to say,
because an alien who seeks to introduce new evidence
can reopen only a proceeding that once was open for
the receipt of evidence, the motion to reopen must look
back to an evidentiary proceeding rather than to the

denial of reconsideration.

William tries to refute this construction by
arguing that he seeks to reopen all deportation
“proceedings” related to his case, which therefore
would include both the original deportation decision
and the denial of his motion to reconsider. Although
this is not an implausible reading of the statute, the
better interpretation is that the language of § 3.2(c)(2)
is not so broad and, instead, refers only to a single
“proceeding” that a party may seek to reopen, and,
again, the government reasonably argues that the
denial of a motion to reconsider cannot be “reopened”
where it was never open to the type of new evidence
William seeks to introduce.

Thus, while the regulation’s use of “final
administrative decision” is facially unambiguous, it
invites, in the context of the next phrase, “rendered in
the proceeding sought to be reopened,” at least two
reasonable interpretations. Therefore, the provision is,
at most, ambiguous as to the question presented in
this appeal, so we defer to the INS's reasonable
interpretation of its own regulation. See Ghassan v.
INS, 972 F.2d 631, 637 (Sth Cir.1992).

William avers that we should not defer, because
the INS’s interpretation is plainly unreasonable. This is
so, he asserts, because “final” can only mean the “last”

se aE a le A OS le ig Niche tc AE ADE SANs PA Aa elaine

a a ee ee

BNE Leng ttl Lh awe

administrative decision in his case.

Although William's construction is not
unreasonable, neither is the INS’s, because “final
administrative decision” refers to “the proceeding
sought to be reopened.” It is possible that, as William
suggests, this phrase refers to the broader deportation
process, but we cannot say that the INS’s
determination that the phrase refers to the particular
stage of the process sought to be reopened is “plainly
erroneous or inconsistent with the regulation.” Thomas
Jefferson Univ. v. Shalala, 512 U.S. 504, 512, 114
S.Ct. 2381, 129 L.Ed.2d 405 (1994).

Accordingly, the petition for review is DENIED,
and the order of the BIA is AFFIRMED.

U.S. Department of Justice
Executive Office for Immigration Review

Decision of the Board of Immigration Appeals
Falls Church, Virginia 22041

File: A73 122 128 - Houston Date: May 21, 1999

In re: HANY E. WILLIAM
IN DEPORTATION PROCEEDINGS
MOTION

ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENT:
Hanna Z. Hanna, Esquire

ON BEHALF OF SERVICE: Donald W. Cassidy
Deputy District
Counsel

ORDER:

PER CURIAM. The motion to reopen has been
filed out of time and will be denied. Our prior order in
these proceedings was entered on September 24,
1997. Pursuant to 8 C.F.R. § 3.2(c)(2) with certain
exceptions not pertinent here, a motion to reopen in
any case previously the subject of a final decision by
the Board must be filed not later than 90 days after the
date of that decision, or on or before September 30,
1996, whichever is later. See 61 Fed. Reg. 18,900
(1996). In the instant case, a motion to reopen would
have been due on or before December 23, 1997. The

record reflects, however, that the Board did not receive
the motion until July 28, 1998. The motion to reopen
was therefore filed out of time. Accordingly, the motion
to reopen is denied.

Lauren R. Mathon
FOR THE BOARD

U.S. Department of Justice

Decision of the Board of Immigration Appeals
Executive Office for Immigration Review
Falls Church, Virginia 22041

File: A73 122 128 - Houston Date: April
30, 1998

In re: HANY E. WILLIAM

IN DEPORTATION PROCEEDINGS

MOTION

ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENT:
Hanna Z. Hanna, Esquire

401 Broadway, Suite 804

New York, New York 10013

ON BEHALF OF SERVICE:
Benjamin D. Somera
Assistant District Counsel

CHARGE:

Order: Sec. 241(a)(1)(C)(i), I&N Act [8 U.S.C. §
1251(a)(1)(C)(i)] - Nonimmigrant - failed to comply
with conditions of status __

APPLICATION: Reconsideration: reopening

ORDER:
PER CURIAM. The motion to reconsider is

10

denied. The motion to reopen is also denied.

On September 24, 1997, this Board dismissea
the respondent's appeal from the Immigration Judge's
July 27, 1995, decision denying his application for
asylum and withholding of deportation under sections
208 and 242(h) of the Immigration and Naturalization
Act, 8 U.S.C. §§ 1158, 1253(h), and ordering him
deported from the United States to Egypt. By motion
filed October 22, 1997, the respondent has asked the
Board to reconsider its decision in the matter in light of
an unpublished decision finding a well-founded fear of
persecution in the case of a Coptic Christian from
Egypt. In support of his motion, the respondent has
proffered new evidence to bolster his argument that, as
a Coptic Christian, he too has a well-founded fear of
persecution. The Immigration and Naturalization
Service opposes the motion.

As the Service points out in its statement of
opposition, an unpublished decision is without
precedential value. Matter of Arthur, 20 |&N Dec. 475,
479 (BIA 1992); Matter of Medrano, 20 |&N Dec. 216,
220 (BIA 1990, 1991). Moreover, we note that in the
unpublished decision relied upon by the respondent,
the alien was not found eligible for asylum because of
a “pattern or practice of persecution” of Coptic
Christians in Egypt. 8 C.F.R. § 208. 13(b)(2)(i) (1997).
Rather, the alien established that he was particularly at

11

risk of persecution because of his involvement with
religious and church activities. See, e.g., Kotasz v.
INS, 31 F.3d 847, 853 (9th Cir. 1994) (holding that in
non-pattern or practice cases, the risk faced by an
individual because of membership in a disfavored
group can rise to the level required for establishing a
well-founded fear of persecution as a result of the
individual's activities in support of the group). Thus, the
case finding asylum eligibility is distinguishable from
that of the respondent before us, who has presented
no specific evidence of a “particularized threat of
persecution” on account of his Coptic Christian religion
or any of the other grounds protected under the Acct. /d.
We therefore decline to reconsider our dismissal of the
respondent's appeal in this case. See Matter of Cema,
20 I&N Dec. 399 (BIA 1991), affd, Cera v. INS, 979
F.2d 212 (11th Cir. 1992); 8 C.F.R. § 3.2(b)(1) (1997).

The respondent alternatively seeks to reopen
proceedings to allow him an opportunity to apply for
adjustment of status based on his marriage to a lawful
permanent resident.' Contrary to his assertions,
though, the respondent has failed to establish prima

1 The respondent appears to characterize such an
opportunity as “withholding of deportation.” However, to
qualify for withholding of deportation under section 243(h) of
the Act, he must establish a clear probability of persecution
on account of a protected ground, which he has failed to do.

12

facie eligibility for adjustment of status. For instance,
although he indicates that his wife has filed for
naturalization, he has failed to show that an immigrant
visa is “immediately available” to him. Section 245(a) of
the Act, 8 U.S.C. § 1255(a). In any event, despite the
Service’s opposition to his motion, the respondent has
failed to submit an adjustment application (Form 1-
485). See Matter of Yewondwosen, Interim Decision
3327 (BIA 1997); 8 C.F.R. § 3.2(c)(1) (1997).
Accordingly, we also deny the respondent's request for
reopening.

Fred W. Vacca
FOR THE BOARD

U.S. Department of Justice

Decision of the Board of Immigration Appeals
Executive Office for Immigration Review
Falls Church, Virginia 22041

File: A73 122 128 - Houston Date: SEP 24,
1997

In re: HANY E. WILLIAM

IN DEPORTATION PROCEEDINGS

APPEAL

ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENT:

Janet B. Beck, Esquire

Judith G. Cooper, P.C. aa
3040 Post Oak Boulevard, Suite 1450
Houston, Texas 77056-6511

ON BEHALF OF SERVICE:
Benjamin D. Somera
Assistant District Counsei

CHARGE:

Order: Sec. 241(a)(1)(C)(i), l&N Act [8
U.S.C. § 1251(a)(1)(C)(i)] -Nonimmigrant - failed to
comply with conditions of status

APPLICATION: Asylum; withholding of deportation;
voluntary departure; remand

14

In a decision dated July 27, 1995, the
Immigration Judge found the respondent deportable as
charged, denied his application for asylum and
withholding of deportation under sections 208 and
243(h) of the immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C.
§§ 1158, 1253(h), and ordered him deported from the
United States to Egypt. The respondent has appealed.
The appeal will be dismissed. The request for oral
argument is denied. See 8 C.F.R. § 3.1(e).

The respondent is a 24-year-old Coptic Christian
from Egypt who claims that the Egyptian government
suspects him of being an israeli spy. On appeal, he
argues through counsel that he was deprived of a fair
hearing before the Immigration Judge. More
specifically, he maintains that the Immigration Judge
refused to allow him to present evidence on his own
behalf, denied him his right to counsel, and erroneously
admitted into evidence the Immigration and
Naturalization Service’s notice of intent to deny his
prior asylum application. He also contends that the
Service trial attorney was inappropriately permitted to
advise and question him regarding the relief of
voluntary departure. With his appeal, he has proffered
new evidence.

Having reviewed the record, we find no merit to

the appeal. The respondent's fair hearing claim
essentially turns on the issue of whether he was truly

15

denied his right to counsel. The record reflects that the

manner in which the hearing was held was largely

related to the fact that the respondent was

unrepresented. As the respondent was unrepresented,

he had no advocate to present evidence on his behalf
or to conduct his direct examination once the issue of
his deportability was settled.’ We note in this regard

that notwithstanding counsel's arguments on appeal,

the record includes no evidence whatsoever that the

respondent himself ever proffered any evidence,

including witnesses, at the hearing.

However, the record further reflects that on April
26, 1995, the respondent was advised of his right to
counsel at his own expense and provided with a list of

' The respondent does not appear to contest his
deportability as a nonimmigrant who failed to maintain or
comply with the conditions of his nonimmigrant status.
Rather, his arguments focus on his applications for relief
from deportation, for which he alone bears the burden of
proof. E.g. Matter of S-M-J-, Interim Decision 3303 (BIA
1997); Matter of Dass, 20 1&N Dec. 120 (BIA 1989); Matter
of Seda, 17 |&N Dec. 550, 554 (BIA 1980); 8 C.F.R. §§
208.13(a). 208.16(b); 242.17(e). 244.1. While both the
Immigration Judge and the Service have a role to place in
producing an adequate record for the adjudication of an
asylum claim, their obligations in this respect do not shift the
burden of proof. See Matter of S-M-J-, supra at 11 n.3.

16

available free legal services programs in his area in
accordance with the regulations at 8 C.F.R. § 242.16(a)
(Tr. at 2-3). See sections 242(b)(2) and 292 of the Act,
8 U.S.C. §§ 1252(b)(2), 1362. This is not even disputed
on appeal. Nevertheless, the respondent argues that
the Immigration Judge failed to adequately inquire
whether he wished to retain counsel or to determine
whether his waiver of this right was effective. We
consider this argument specious. The respondent was
offered a continuance to obtain counsel, but indicated
that he wished to proceed on his own and represent
himself (Tr. at 3). Moreover, at the reconvened hearing
on the merits of the respondent's applications for relief
from deportation, the respondent again appeared
without counsel despite having been advised by the
Immigration Judge at the conclusion of his prior hearing
that he could still obtain counsel if he so desired. As
the reconvened hearing was held on July 27, 19985, it is
apparent the respondent had ample opportunity to
secure counsel and, for whatever reason, simply failed
to do so. Therefore, we are fully satisfied that the
respondent's waiver of his right to counsel was
knowingly, intelligently, and competently made, and
thus, the Immigration Judge was under no obligation to
make a further inquiry in this regard. See Coboume v.
INS, 779 F.2d 1564 (11th Cir. 1986); Matter of
Gutierrez, 16 |&N Dec. 226 (BIA 1977).

In the absence of counsel for the respondent,

17

his examination was left primarily to the Service trial
attorney. Unlike the respondent, the Service trial
attorney also introduced documentation into evidence,
including an affidavit by the respondent which counsel
relies upon in restating the facts of the respondent's
asylum claim on appeal even though it is inconsistent
with his testimony. Indeed, the documentation
apparently was introduced for the sole purpose of
impeaching the respondent's testimony. This case is
therefore distinguishable from Olabanji v. INS, 973
F.2d 1232 (5th Cir. 1992), where the Service sought to
rely on hearsay evidence from an alien’s spouse and a
forensic document analyst to prove the alien’s
deportability for marriage fraud. As such, we find no
basis for concluding that the notice of intent to deny at
issue On appeal was inadmissible. See Ca/deron-
Ontiveros v. INS, 809 F.2d 1050 (5th Cir. 1986); Matter
of Gnijalva, 19 |&N Dec. 713 (BIA 1988); Matter of
Barcenas, 19 1&N Dec. 609 (BIA 1988); 8 C.F.R. §
242.15(c). We point out, however, that there is no
indication that the Immigration Judge relied on the
notice in denying the respondent's claim. We also find
no evidence that the Service trial attorney misadvised
the respondent as to voluntary departure, particularly
as it was explained to him on the record that a grant of
that form of relief would not necessarily mean that he
would return to Egypt (Tr. at 48).

In any event, we note that in deportation

18

proceedings, “an alien has not been given a fair
hearing only if he has been prejudiced by some
deficiency so as to deprive him of due process.” Matter
of D-, 20 |&N Dec. 827, 831 (BIA 1994); see, e.g.,
Prichard-Ciriza v. INS, 978 F.2d 219 (5th Cir. 1992);
Calderon-Ontiveros v. INS, supra; Matter of Santos, 19
I&N Dec. 105 (BIA 1984). In this case, counsel for the
respondent argues at length that the proceedings were
defective, but she fails to demonstrate how the
respondent's case would have been affected had the
hearing been conducted differently. We emphasize in
this regard that while evidence has been proffered on
appeal, there has been no showing that such evidence
could not have been presented before the Immigration
Judge. We therefore find no basis for a remand of the
record. See Matter of Coelho, 20 1&N Dec. 464 (BIA
1992): see also Matter of Fedorenko, 19 |&N Dec. 57,
74 (BIA 1984) (“The Board is an appellate body whose
function is to review, not to create, a record.”).

As for the merits of the respondent's asylum
claim, we note that “[pJersecution is an extreme
concept, which ordinarily does not include
‘{d]iscrimination on the basis of race or religion, as
morally reprehensible as it may be.” Fisher v. INS, 79
F.3d 955, 961 (9th Cir. 1996) (quoting Ghalv v. INS, 58
F.3d 1425, 1431 (9th Cir. 1995); see also Fatin v. INS,
12 F.3d 1233, 1240 (3d Cir. 1993) (“[T]he concept of
persecution does not encompass all treatment that our

19

society regards as unfair, unjust, or even unlawful or
unconstitutional."); Balazoski v. INS, 932 F.2d 638 (7th
Cir. 1991) (finding that “persecution” means more than
harassment); Matter of Pierre, 15 |&N Dec. 461, 463
(BIA 1975) (“Not every unlawful act of individual
harassment will amount to persecution” within the
meaning of the Act.). The respondent before us
admitted that he has never been arrested, detained, or
physically abused by the Egyptian authorities (Tr. at
31). He vaguely indicated that he has been mistreated
or fears mistreatment by Islamists, but the background
evidence of record indicates that “[s]ecurity forces
arrest terrorists who perpetrate violence against Copts,
though as in this country, the government does not
always prevent terroristic attacks (Exh. 8).

Thus, we are not persuaded that the
government condones religiously-motivated violence or
that it is unable or unwilling to protect its Coptic
Christian minority. See Ghalv v. INS, 58 F.3d 1424,
1431 (9th Cir. 1995); Yacoub v. INS, 999 F.2d 1296,
1297 (8th Cir. 1993); Elnager v. INS, 930 F.2d 784,
789 (9th Cir. 1991); cf. Singh v. INS, 94 F.3d 1353 (9th
Cir. 1996) (finding an Indo-Fijian eligible for asylum
where he faced persistent death threats and assaults
despite having repotied each and every threat and
assault to the police and identifying his assailants by
name); Abdel-Masieh v. INS, 73 F.3d 579 (5th Cir.
1996) (holding that the Board erred in denying asylum

20

to a Christian Sudanese who brought forward evidence
that the current military government had consistently
promoted an agenda for imposing Islamic laws on all
Sudanese citizens and that those efforts by the
government had markedly increased religious
intolerance and discrimination throughout the country).
Moreover, while he claims that he has been
investigated for espionage, his own testimony indicates
that this is because of his frequent trips to Israel to visit
his father, who works for Egyptian Airlines, rather than
his actual or imputed political opinion.” In short, we find
insufficient evidence to support the contention that the
respondent has been persecuted or has a well-founded
fear of persecution on account of one of the grounds
protected under the Act. See INS v. Elias-Zacarias, 502
U.S. 478 (BIA 1992); INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480

2 For instance, in contrast to his affidavit, the respondent
testified that he was interrogated when he would “come
back to Egypt” (Tr. at 22), indicating that he was only
subject to routine questioning at the border upon his returns
from Israel. Indeed, while the Egyptian government certainly
has a right to investigate its citizens for espionage, see
Matter of R-O-. 20 |&N Dec. 455 (BIA 1992), we doubt that
the respondent was ever even seriously suspected of being
a spy, because his passport apparently was never revoked
(Tr. at 32). See Urokov v. INS, 55 F.3d 222 (7th Cir. 1995);
Rodriguez-Rivera v. INS, 848 F.2d 998, 1006 (9th Cir.
1988).

21

U.S. 421 (1987); Matter of S-P-, Interim Decision 3287
(BIA 1996); Matter of R-O-, 20 I&N Dec. 455 (BIA
1992). It follows that he has not satisfied the clear
probability standard of eligibility required for withholding
of deportation. See INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, supra;
INS v. Stevic, 467 U.S. 407 (1984); Matter of
Mogharrabi, 19 |\&N Dec. 439 (BIA 1987).

The respondent failed to qualify himself for
voluntary departure. The regulations at 8 C.F.R. §
244.1 require that an alien establish that he “is willing
and has the immediate means with which to depart
promptly from the United States.” The respondent,
however, testified that he is unwilling to depart and that
he does not have “the funds” (Tr. at 49).

Accordingly, the appeal will be dismissed.

ORDER: The appeal is dismissed.

Mary Maguire Dunne
FOR THE BOARD

22

RE RE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1421%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
