# Reply Brief — International Business Machines Corp. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1325%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 531 U.S. 1183

## Text

No. 00-482 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS MACHINES CORP.,
Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Federal Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

SUSAN G. BRADEN

Counsel of Record
WILLIAM D. OUTMAN, Il
KEVIN M. O’BRIEN
TERESA A. GLEASON
MICHAEL E. MURPHY
Baker & McKenzie

815 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 452-7075

Counsel for Petitioner

Balmar Legal Publishing Services, Washington, DC (202) 682-9829

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES....... ii
REPLY ARGUMENT. aaiicoiaidaaes

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES: Page
American Nat’l Bank & Trust Co. of Chicago v. Haroco,
Bae, SS Chas Be CF) ersceereensescecnntntaeeemelibcaninaanstsaainan 7
Christianson v. Colt Indus. Operating Corp., 486 U.S.
BE CONE sk inh ss cssasigiicine tacddateedangniaseencatmaidanhpebiemebmmeamadaiaaaas 2

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of
Glendale v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304

CROC CP sssicssrsnsnisierarisisibicbe eatisieiseitiseaniahbaaniisaasaaanaua ania 7
Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Norberg, 492 U.S. 33 (1989)............ 7
International Business Machines Corp. v. United States,

— BRA Sb SGT COG. Cie, FID) accscnsinecesssnsincscritaysnsnsis passim
Library of Congress v. Shaw, 478 U.S. 310 (1986)....... passim
Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003

CRIED sinaicsioscsninienisticcnutervoiaiicanisassndahieneaadcialidiaaaliimumnan tai 7
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. 137 (1803)...........::cccessseeeseeeeees 7
Mazer v. Stein, 347 U.S. 201 (1954).............csccccsssssescsseseceeenes 7
McGoldrick v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique,

309 U.S. 430 (1940)........ & ssaisasenndbeseieicanlilaiibaabiaaidalamaadia taka 7
Smyth v. United States, 302 U.S. 329 (1937)..........cesceeeeeeeeeees 6
Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465 (1976) .sssesessssssssesssssssssseeeneses 7
United States v. Louisiana, 446 U.S. 253 (1980).................... 6
United States v. United States Shoe Corp., 523 U.S. 360

CRIED innsnnsvieviedcibiespnmickianesieganieljoeiisiiiianiaiemeesenaninialien passim
STATUTORY PROVISIONS:

USC 0 401-O a passim

BO USL. F PISA seiisinsomsvinecinaniain scshccbcaslinagaagtcalnaaiia 3

eB Lincecca, te mt ERE a CTE 3
en get eg, | OE NERE Sie REET passim
CONGRESSIONAL REPORTS:

Annual Report To Congress On The | Status Of The
Harbor Maintenance Trust Fund For Fiscal Year 1998

(Dec. 1999) (Selected Portions) .0.........-ccccccsssssssoseececeeeee. 3,4
OTHER AUTHORITIES:
Charles Alan Wright, Law of Federal Courts (5* ed.
ee innconnuidaesksincesvtbadanchdsssuactacoepecteiee Ms tek keg coca 4,5

Charles Alan Wright, Arthur R. Miller & Edwin A.
Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure (1981) and
i i 2

Restatement (Second) of Judgments (1982)..0.........cccccccccoceeess 5
eee Sn 5

No. 00-482

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS MACHINES CORP.,
Petitioner,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Federal Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

The Government responds to the statutory component of
the first question presented,’ by arguing that petitioner is not
entitled to receive interest under 28 U.S.C. § 2411 because
that statute does not “directly and unambiguously provide for
an award of interest for customs assessments.” Brief In
Opposition (“Br. In Opp.”) at 5. This Court, however,
directly, unambiguously, and unanimously determined in
United States v. United States Shoe Corp., 523 U.S. 360
(1998) that the Harbor Maintenance Tax, 26 U.S.C. §§ 4461-
4462 (““HMT’”), was not a “customs assessment,” but a “tax

The first question presented has three components: Whether the
court of appeals misconstrued 26 U.S.C. § 4462(f)(3) in light of the
decision in United States v. United States Shoe Corp., 523 U.S. 360
(1998), the preclusive effect of the final judgment entered thereunder, and
the “constitutional requirements” exception to the “no-interest” rule noted
in Library of Congress v. Shaw, 478 U.S. 310 (1986).

as ynmn npn engees 4?

2

on exports in operation as well as nomenclature ... despite
the label Congress has put on it[.]” Jd. at 367 (emphasis
added). And, that tax was held to be unconstitutional. Jd. at
370. Since 28 U.S.C. § 2411 requires that federal courts
award interest on fax refunds and complies with the
restrictions of 26 U.S.C. § 4462(f)(3), the United States Court
of International Trade (“CIT’’) entered an order implementing
this Court’s decision in United States Shoe Corp. by awarding
petitioner both a refund of the monies paid under the HMT on
exports and interest on those payments. App. 35a.

By failing to accord deference to this Court’s prior ruling
that the HMT on exports was a tax, the United States Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit (“Federal Circuit”) ignored
long established rules “developed to maintain consistency and
avoid reconsideration of matters once decided during the
course of a single continuing lawsuit.” Charles Alan Wright,
Arthur R. Miller & Edwin A. Cooper, Federal Practice and
Procedure § 4478 (1981); Christianson v. Colt Indus.
Operating Corp., 486 U.S. 800, 815 (1988) (citations omitted)
(The law-of-the-case doctrine is a “rule of law, that [a]
decision should continue to govern the same issues in
subsequent stages in the same case.” This rule of practice

* As a matter of law, the instant case is a continuation of the same
action previously before this Court in United States Shoe Corp. After this
Court issued its March 31, 1998 decision, the CIT was advised that the
plaintiff in United States Shoe Corp. was not in a position to litigate its
claim for the payment of interest on the HMT export refunds required as a
result of the Court’s decision in United States Shoe Corp. The CIT then
entered a judgment on June 17, 1998 with the consent of all parties,
wherein the record and all prior orders in United States Shoe Corp. were
“deemed filed” in International Business Machines Corp. v. United States.
App. 35a. This judgment also awarded petitioner a refund of the HMT
paid on exports together with interest pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2411.

The Government correctly notes that the CIT also entered a similar
judgment on June 26, 1998 in United States Shoe Corp. (Supp. App. 58a),
from which the Government filed a notice of appeal in the Federal Circuit
on August 7, 1998. Br. In. Opp. at 3, note 1. United States Shoe, however,
filed a motion in the Federal Circuit to stay any further briefing until the

3

promotes the finality and efficiency of the judicial process by
‘protecting against the agitation of settled issues.’”’).

_ The Court’s decision in United States Shoe Corp. settled
that the HMT is a tax and because that tax is a tax on exports,
it is unconstitutional, which necessarily required the CIT to
remedy the constitutional harm imposed making petitioner
whole by refunding the monies paid pursuant to the HMT on
exports and interest earned on those monies. A federal court
has no discretion under 28 U.S.C. § 2411 concerning the
award of interest. (“{I]nterest shall be allowed.”) App. 43a.
(emphasis added). Moreover, since 28 U.S.C. § 2411 is
outside the scope of Subtitle F and does not in any respect
regulate “the administration and enforcement of internal
revenue taxes” the CIT’s award of interest under 28 U.S.C. §

proceedings in the instant case were concluded, which was granted. Supp.
App. 61a. For the convenience of the Court, both of these orders are
reprinted in a supplemental appendix following the text of this brief.

Petitioner assumes that the Government raised the technical pendency
of its appeal in United States Shoe Corp. to suggest that docket has vitality
in the Federal Circuit. The principles of finality and repose that should
have been raised to bar the Government from appealing the CIT’s 1995
judgment and preclude the Federal Circuit from asserting jurisdiction over
the Government’s appeal of the CIT’s award of interest will bar the
Government if it attempts to continue to pursue that appeal.

* The Government does not dispute that over 7,000 taxpayers will be
affected by the disposition of this case where millions of dollars are at
stake because the Government violated the Constitution and seeks to
benefit financially from its offense. Presumably those taxpapyers are to
take solace in being advised that “The money placed in the [HMT] Fund,
and interest earned on those monies, may be withdrawn only by
appropriation for specified purposes.” Brief In Opp. at 7 note 3 citing 26
U.S.C. § 9505(b), (c). 26 U.S.C. § 9505(b), however, speaks only to
“amounts equivalent to the taxes received” not interest earned thereunder
and 26 U.S.C. § 9505(c) speaks only to “amounts available . . . for making
expenditures.” Therefore, no apparent appropriations constraints are
contained in 26 U.S.C. § 9505(b), and under 26 U.S.C. § 9505(c), it is far
from clear that interest earned on monies paid into the HMT Fund have
been “withdrawn only by appropriations for specified purposes,” since the
most recent Annual Report to Congress on the Status of the HMT Fund
States: “the . . . (interest actually collected) is available for transfer from

Pr ee

4

2411 did not contravene 26 U.S.C. § 4462(f)(3) as the Federal
Circuit erroneously held.

The Government also argues that the Court should not
grant a writ regarding the jurisdictional component of the first
question presented. The Government contends that petitioner
is barred from asserting the preclusive effect of the CIT’s
December 4, 1995 final judgment because petitioner did not
raise this issue in the most recent Federal Circuit proceedings.
Br. In. Opp. at 7-9. Petitioner does not deny that it did not
raise this issue. Nor does petitioner deny that all parties
stipulated in the CIT that the instant action should be
designated as a “test case” to allow the Government the
opportunity to appeal the CIT’s award of interest under 28
U.S.C. § 2411. Pet. 35a.

As a matter of law, however, the preclusive effect of a
final judgment is a threshold question concerning the
jurisdiction of a federal court, which may not be governed by
stipulation of the parties nor waived by a court. See Charles
Alan Wright, Law of Federal Courts, 28 (5" ed. 1994) (“[{T]he
parties cannot confer on a federal court jurisdiction that has
not been vested in the court by the Constitution and Congress.
The parties cannot waive lack of jurisdiction. ... The court,
whether trial or appellate, is obligated to notice want of
jurisdiction on its own motion, and it may well happen that
the party who has invoked the jurisdiction of the federal court
will challenge the jurisdiction . . . at a late stage of the
proceedings after it has lost on the merits.”) (citations
omitted) (emphasis added). To be sure, petitioner has raised
this issue belatedly, but it has appropriately requested that the
Court grant certiorari to permit briefing on this determinative

the fund and is reported by the Treasury Department to the Office of
Management and Budget.” App. 55a (parenthetical in original).

App. 55a, is also the correct appendix reference for the last paragraph
of page 13 of the Petition, rather than 60a, which was a typographical
error.

* Supra note 1.

5

issue. See Sup. Ct. R. 10(a) (certiorari may be granted where
a “United States court of appeals has decided an important
federal question in a way that . . . has so far departed from the
accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings . . . as to
call for an exercise of this Court’s supervisory powers.”).

It is well established that the preclusive effect of a final
judgment includes all claims that were, or could have been,
raised by an appellant. See Charles Alan Wright, Law of
Federal Courts, 562 (5" ed. 1994) (citing Restatement
(Second) of Judgments §§ 22-26 (1982)) (“claim preclusion . . .
requires all grounds upon which a single claim is based to be
asserted and included in one action, on pain of being barred
from separate suit.’”) (emphasis added). Therefore, petitioner
suggests that the Court grant the petition either to remand this
issue for briefing and consideration by the Federal Circuit or
to consider the merits. If the requisite elements of res
judicata are met, the Court has no alternative but to vacate the
decision in International Business Machines Corp. v. United
States, 201 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2000).

The Government’s opposition to the constitutional
component of the first question and the second’ and third
questions’ presented by the petition arise because the Federal
Circuit justified embarking on a de novo review of the HMT
by invoking the doctrine of sovereign immunity, revisited by
the Court in Library of Congress v. Shaw, 478 U.S. 310
(1986). See International Business Machines Corp., 201 F.3d

b]

The second question presented by the petition is: Whether in
holding the Harbor Maintenance Tax on exports unconstitutional in United
States v. United States Shoe Corp., 523 U.S. 360 (1998), the Court
recognized that a taking of private property also occurred for which “just
compensation” is required by the Fifth Amendment.

6

The third question presented by the petition is: Whether the
Government’s retention of interest earned on monies collected under the
unconstitutional Harbor Maintenance Tax on exports is a taking of private
Property for which “just compensation” is required by the Fifth
Amendment.

CC

6

at 1372. (“{[W]e are bound by the [“no-interest”] rule [of
Shaw] that the United States is liable for interest only if
Congress has waived sovereign immunity by expressly
consenting to an award of interest.”). Because the Federal
Circuit determined that the doctrine of sovereign immunity
precludes the award of interest on HMT refunds, petitioner’s
Takings Clause claim is now ripe for adjudication. That
doctrine, however, is not applicable where the Takings Clause
has been violated:

Apart from constitutional requirements, in the
absence of specific provision by contract or statute,
or “express consent . . . by Congress,” interest does
not run on a claim against the United States. United
States v. Louisiana, 446 U.S. 253, 264-265 (1980),
quoting Smyth v. United States, 302 U.S. 329, 353
(1937).

Shaw, 478 U.S. at 317 (emphasis added).

Contrary to the Government’s claim, petitioner-appellee
was not compelled to assert constitutional claims defensively
to support the judgment of the CIT. In fact, there was no
reason for petitioner-appellee to raise prematurely
constitutional questions that the CIT had not yet adjudicated.
App. 35a. Indeed, until the Federal Circuit embraced the
doctrine of sovereign immunity to bar the award of interest it
would have been improper for the CIT to consider these
constitutional questions. Moreover, the Federal Circuit's
reliance on Shaw to bar the payment of interest under the
doctrine of sovereign immunity before petitioner's Takings
Clause claim was adjudicated is erroneous as a matter of law
and an abuse of discretion. The Federal Circuit was aware,
not only from the pleadings in the CIT, but from the i
Government’s brief (Br. In Opp. at 3) and rehearing briefs of
petitioner and amici that petitioner’s Takings Clause claim
was still pending at the CIT. Nevertheless, the Federal Circuit
continued to maintain that Shaw allows the Government -to
retain interest earned on monies secured by violating the
United States Constitution. Petitioner is aware of no authority

- —
* =.

7

that condones such greviously offensive conduct. Marbury v.
Madison, 5 U.S. 137, 165 (1803) (stating whether a
sovereign’s action is immune “must always depend on the
nature of that act.”’).

Therefore, it is not surprising that not even one of the
cases cited by the Government precludes this Court’s plenary
review of constitutional questions raised and preserved in the
trial court and for which certiorari properly has been
requested.’ On other occasions, where the Court has been
presented with a record where a constitutional claim was
raised and preserved at trial, as is the case here, either it has
granted the petition for a writ of certiorari and resolved the
question, particularly where the law is unsettled, see, e.g.,
Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003,
1012 n. 3 (1992) citing First English Evangelical Lutheran
Church of Glendale v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304,
312-313 (1987) (certiorari granted where Takings Clause
claims were at issue), or remanded to the lower courts for
further consideration of the constitutional question, without
prejudice to further review by the Court. See, eg.,
McGoldrick, 309 U.S. at 435 (“Upon the remand . . . courts
will be free to decide any Federal question remaining

7

Every case cited by the Government stands only for the principle
that new issues may not be raised beyond the scope of the questions
granted by a petition for certiorari. See Br. In Opp. at 9-10 citing
Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Norberg, 492 U.S. 33, 38-39 (1989) (having
granted certiorari the Court declined to address argument “respondent
failed to raise . . . because the question it poses has not been adequately
brief and argued”); Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465, 481 n.15 (1976)
(declining to address “issue of the substantive scope of the writ [when it]
was not presented in the petition for certiorari”); McGoldrick v.
Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 309 U.S. 430, 434-35 (1940)
(record did not disclose whether respondents’ arguments were presented);
American Nat'l Bank & Trust Co. of Chicago v. Haroco, Inc., 473 U.S.
606, 608-607 (1985) (having granted certiorari the Court declined to
address a new question not presented in the petition); Mazer v. Stein, 347
U.S. 201, 206 n.5 (1954) (“We do not reach for constitutional questions
not raised by the parties. ... The fact that the issue was mentioned in
argument does not bring the question properly before us.”’).

8

undecided here which, in conformity with their own
procedure, may be raised for decision there, and the remand
will be without prejudice to the further presentation of any
such question to this Court.”) (emphasis added).

Accordingly, the Court should grant the petition to
consider all three of the questions presented. Regarding the
first question presented, if the Court agrees that the
jurisdictional issue raised concerning the preclusive effect of
the CIT’s 1995 final judgment requires adjudication, it may
remand that issue to the Federal Circuit or reach the merits
and reverse summarily or vacate that court’s decision. In the
alternative, if the Court grants the petition and determines that
its ruling in United States Shoe Corp. that the HMT on
exports is a tax necessarily requires the payment of interest
under 28 U.S.C. § 2411, then the Court should reverse the
decision of the Federal Circuit. On the other hand, if the
Court grants the petition and decides that the Federal Circuit’s
statutory interpretation was correct, then petitioner’s Takings
Clause claim is ripe for adjudication, either by this Court or
the CIT, before it can be determined whether or not the
doctrine of sovereign immunity applies.

If the Court decides to consider and adjudicate the
second question concerning petitioner’s Takings Clause
claim, no further lower court proceedings will be required.
The Government’s sole objection to this question is that it was
not presented first to the Federal Circuit. Br. In Opp. at 7.
Since this question asks the Court to clarify whether its
decision in United States Shoe Corp., 523 U.S. at 369 also
determined that the Takings Clause was violated, it properly
is addressed to this Court so that it may clarify the scope of a
prior judgment.

Finally, if the Court decides to remand initial
consideration of petitioner’s Takings Clause claim to the CIT,
the third question asks the Court to further clarify how the
analysis of a per se taking and a regulatory taking should be
conducted, so that additional appellate litigation about the
appropriate standard of review is not required.

9

The Court should grant the petition for a writ of
certiorari to consider the merits of ail three questions
presented.

Respectfully submitted,

SUSAN G. BRADEN

Counsel of Record
WILLIAM D. OUTMAN, Ii
KEVIN M. O’BRIEN
TERESA A. GLEASON
MICHAEL E. MURPHY
Baker & McKenzie
815 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 452-7075

Counsel for Petitioner

Dated: December 15, 2000
Washington, D.C.

58a

UNITED STATES COURT OF INTERNATIONAL
TRADE

JANE A. RESTANI, JUDGE

UNITED STATES SHOE CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,
v.
THE UNITED STATES,
Defendant.
JUDGMENT

Upon consideration of Plaintiff's Motion for an Order
Settling Interest and Costs, defendant’s response thereto, and
all other proceedings had herein; and

WHEREAS, a three-judge panel of this Court entered a
judgment for plaintiff on December 4, 1995, declaring the
Harbor Maintenance Tax as imposed upon merchandise
exported from the United States to be unconstitutional,
enjoining the United States Customs Service from the
assessment and collection of the Harbor Maintenance Tax in
connection with merchandise exported from the United States,
and awarding plaintiff a money judgment in the amount of
$8,281.87, together with interest and costs as provided by
law; and

WHEREAS this Court determined in Slip Op. 96-32
(February 7, 1996) that plaintiff is entitled to interest on the
money judgment awarded in this case, pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 2411; and

WHEREAS at the time the Court issued Slip Op. 96-32,
the Government already had noticed an appeal of this case on
February 1, 1996, and Slip Op. 96-32 specifically notes that

59a

“notice of appeal has been filed and the court lacks
jurisdiction to alter the judgment;” and

WHEREAS the December 4, 1995 judgment of the
Court in this case was affirmed by the United States Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit on June 3, 1997, in United
States Shoe Corp. v. United States, 114 F.3d 1564 (Fed. Cir.
1997); and

WHEREAS the decision of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit in United States Shoe Corp. v.
United States was affirmed by the Supreme Court of the
United States on March 31, 1998, in United States v. United
States Shoe Corp., 140 L. Ed. 2d 453, 118 S. Ct. 1290 (1988),
which decision is now final; and

WHEREAS the stay of execution of the money judgment
awarded to plaintiff and the effect of the declaratory and
injunctive relief, ordered by the Court on December 4, 1995,
by its terms automatically dissolved upon “the conclusion of
any appellate proceedings”; and

WHEREAS defendant expressly reserves any right
remaining to appeal the award of interest or any costs in this
case;

WHEREAS, the court has previously determined that
costs shall be awarded as provided by law, the court has

discretion to award costs, and plaintiff pursued diligently this
test case of minor principal value; it is hereby

(1) ORDERED that further briefing is not required and
Slip Op. 96-32 is hereby readopted as the opinion of the court
on the issue of interest.

(2) ORDERED that defendant pay plaintiff the
principal amount owing of $8,281.87 within 60 days hereof;

(3) ORDERED that defendant pay plaintiff $403.63 in
costs within 60 days hereof;

(4) ORDERED that defendant pay plaintiff interest on
the aforementioned $8,821.87 principal, calculated under 28

60a

U.S.C. § 2411, and that the payment obligation is stayed until
30 days after the time for appeal expires or appellate
proceedings are complete.

\

/s/
Jane A. Restani
JUDGE

Dated: New York, New York
This 26th day of June, 1998.

6la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FEDERAL CIRCUIT

98-1574

UNITED STATES SHOE CORPORATION
Plaintiff-Appellee,

V.

UNITED STATES,
Defendant-Appellant.

98-1590

INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS MACHINES CORP.,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

UNITED STATES,
Defendant-Appellant.

- ON MOTION

Before BRYSON, Circuit Judge.

RDER

United States Shoe Corporation moves to stay the
briefing schedule in appeal no. 98-1574 “until 30 days after
the conclusion of all appellate proceedings in International
Business Machines Corp. v. United States, Appeal No.
98-1590 before this Court and any higher Court.” US Shoe
states that the United States does not oppose.

62a

US Shoe states that the Court of International Trade
chose the IBM case as the “test case” to resolve the
government’s liability for interest on refunds of Harbor
Maintenance Tax payments. US Shoe states that the Court of
International Trade also entered judgment, including interest,
in its case following the Supreme Court’s decision in United
States v. United States Shoe Corp., 118 S.Ct. 1290 (1998).

Upon consideration thereof,

IT IS ORDERED THAT:

(1) US Shoe’s motion is granted in part; appeal no. 98-
1574 is stayed, pending this court’s final disposition of appeal
no. 98-1590. Within 21 days of the final disposition of appeal
no. 98-1590, the United States shall provide the court with its
views concerning how appeal no. 98-1574 should proceed.

US Shoe may also notify the court of its views during that
time.

(2) Copies of this order shall be transmitted to the
merits panel assigned to hear appeal no. 98-1590.

December 1, 1998 /s/

William C. Bryson
Circuit Judge

cc: Harvey A. Isaacs, Esq.
Lara Levinson, Esq.
William D. Outman, II, Esq.

NOTE: Pursuant to Fed. Cir. R. 47.6, this order is not citable
as precedent. It is a public order.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1325%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
