# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Stove v. Philadelphia School District

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1317%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 531 U.S. 1012

## Text

Supreme Court, U.8

FILED
00 4
No. 0 @ 4 SEP 27 2000
: Se os
IN THE

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

CATHERINE STOVE,
Petitioner(s),
V.

PHILADELPHIA SCHOOL DISTRICT,
Respondent,

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court of Appeals
For The Third Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CATHERINE STOVE
Counsel of Record
CATHERINE STOVE - PROSE

7632 B WiLLiAMs Way
ELKINS Park, PA 19027
(215) 576-0652

aS

Ome

le eed

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Did Magistrate Honorable Judge M. Faith Angell
abuse her discretion, commenting on my pending civil
case, according to 10p Chapter 6, at my pretrial, January
6, 1999, at District Court, 601 Market Street,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania?

ii
LIST OF PARTIES

This action was filed by Catherine Stove, Pro se,
against the Philadelphia School District, which is a
public agency.

ee ee a

- Fe ee RL ne Eek wt ene Brie ne. Ete Dae eae

Mae ee TAS AB ET GUE ay NEAT ns il UN A Dain

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED ....sssssssesssssssenssneenssnsene i

NITIES sssssdsctaslsansantnassasilacashnsessasbtganantensesvscans ii

I TE IO cc csnnsincsenccosusesdscnnnscsssasensonane iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.........csssscssssccssscssssesssssssssses v

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI .......sscessssee. 1

ee 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-

RP IED sseccssssacesnsoucsennoseessanssscncsenensessancces 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ......ccsscsssscssesscsssecsssssscsses 2
AT r

B. Procedural Background ......c...ccsssscsssesssssseessssssee 3

1. District Court Proceedings...........ccssssssssseesseee 3

2. The Third Circuit Decision...........cccssssessssseesssees 4

REASONS THE COURT SHOULD GRANT STOVE’S
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI ..eeseesscsssses-. 5

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

A. I, Catherine Stove, Pro se, sanctioned such a
departure by a lower court, requests this
court call for an exercise of the court's
supervisory power, and my Question
Presented. I feel should be question of
PUI BU cence ssisencnnsninniacenininntinensiinssiioe

B. The Third Circuit - saying on behalf of The
School District of Philadelphia - that there
was no abuse in their discretion, 10p Chapter
©, secmsamssininernnnennain soncvinnnepannnsisasisisansinanieniaveen

C. The Third Circuit had permission with
authority to abuse their discretion, and that
errors of law are present, conflicts with the
Eleventh Circuit decision .........ssscsssssseessseesees

Cia Ie Wcsiverinssiscsntnetbitintnnesebiaininiicnhicsbotishiiiniaeiainds 16

de eR EY oe wee ee ee od

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

Cases

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792
SUPT isha nithtinbabaieiina aa

Gray v. York Newspapers, Inc., 957 F.2d 1070,1083
CN ETN Saison ala

Harley v. McCoach, 928 F Supp. 533, 539 (E.D. Pa
SPD sinswissasecttcincsivetbianbaiibtasiattliiatiisiiminhendi adie

Spence v. Maryland Casualty Co., 995 F.2d, 1147
Pe i sinsecsttaastiisiecciietaicinge aie a

Clowes v. Allegheny Valley Hospital, 991 F. 2d, 1159
iste Reisen Coe a

Bullock v. Children’s Hosp. (1996) ....cssssssssssssssseessseseccssss.

Hudson v. National Academy of Sciences, 816 F. Supp
FER TEPER ORI) 1ONG ccseosesissintiiicinsaniicuiiaies ec.

STATUTES

Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as
amended, which prohibits discrimination.

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

STATUTES - continued

The Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs
(OFCCP) insures that companies that do business with
the Government promote affirmative action and equal
employment opportunity on behalf of minorities.

CONSTITUTIONS

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act, 1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000 e-
2(a) states that it shall be an unlawful employment
practice for an employer (1) to fail or refuse to hire or to
discharge any individual or otherwise to discriminate
against any individual with respect to his compensation
terms, conditions, or privileges of employment because
of such individual’s race.

1
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Catherine Stove, Pro se respectfully
requests this Court to issue a writ of certiorari to review
the opinion of The United States Court of Appeals for
the Third Circuit, which affirmed, the final order,
judgment, in the School District of Philadelphia’s favor.

a
vv

OPINIONS BELOW

The Third Circuit Opinion herein is published in the
United States Volume 30, page 100 (Third Circuit) 2000.
Opinions of the District Court, 7-22-99, and, Judgment
and Order; opinion from Third Circuit Court of
Appeals, 7-18-2000.

e

JURISDICTION

On July 18, 20000 the Third Circuit issued its opinion
invokes the jurisdiction of this Court Pursuant to 28
U.S.C. 1254.

*

2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42
U.S.C. 2000 e-2 may also apply because this petition
questions the decisions the 11 circuit have made.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Factual Background

The School District of Philadelphia is a public facility.
I Catherine Stove Pro se was employed by the School
District of Philadelphia from 9-3-86 until 3-26-98. I was
approved by PSER on 2-5-98 for retirement disability
because I was harassed, discriminated against, and
unequally treated by two supervisors.

3
B. Procedural Background

1. District Court Proceedings

On June 1, 1998, I Catherine Stove Pro se filed suit
against The School District of Philadelphia for unequal
treatment in employment. I sought all costs including
punitive damages.

4

On July 22, 1999, the District Court entered an
amended order in favor of the School District of
Philadelphia. On July 18, 2000 The Third Circuit Court
ordered judgment in favor of The School District of
Philadelphia.

5

REASONS THE COURT SHOULD GRANT
CATHERINE STOVE, PRO SE PETITION FORA
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

A. Third Circuit could be in conflict with other court
appeals involving abusing its discretion.

6

B. The Third Circuit agreed with the School District of
Philadelphia that I, Catherine Stove Pro se, did not
suffer an adverse employment, did not have a
constructive discharge, never advised the School
District that if changes were not made I would leave,
never asked for a transfer, never filed a grievance,
and never was suggested to retire, never was
threatened with a discharge. Why then was I
approved for a PSER retirement disability check by
the School District of Philadelphia on February 5,
1998?

7

The Third Circuit may lack jurisdiction, considering
all false, incorrect, errors. The Third Circuit decision
could have been erroneous according to 10p Chapter 6,
and also District Court may have abused their
discretion.

8

Has the District Court and Third Circuit violated the
Federal law?

Z 9

Should I, Catherine Stove Pro se, being a law-abiding

citizen, have been able to keep the confidence in the
justice system?

10

If there is not a law as yet in 11 Circuit concerning
Question 1 then maybe this court will create a law so
that issue won’t insult any other Pro se litigant.

=, ee eee ee

11

I hope that I will be equally treated in this court
because of the fact that the School District of
Philadelphia is a local, public agency.

12

Magistrate Honorable Judge M. Faith Angell made a
false statement in a document concerning my
deposition dated 2-5-99.

SPREE SE AEA NAC RD pe a aie GF eS WPAN thee eal ENR ol,

a ae

13

Third Circuit Court may have left open a question
concerning the Supreme Court powers.

14

Can it be an Equal Protection Claus to help
discrimination?

15

Have my civil rights been violated by the School
District of Philadelphia, District Court and also the
Third Circuit?

16

Shouldn’t every employee be treated equally by his
or her employer?

17

Catherine Stove

SS# 201-36-8634
Custodial Assistant
Fitzsimons School #411

Ms. Stove,

Today, while I was in a meeting with my supervisor, Mr.
Copies, I received a phone call from the nurse. She stated
that her room wasn’t cleaned and it hadn’t been touched in a
long time. She also told me that she often has to disinfect
her office. Frankly she is tired of her office being dirty.

Mr. Copes and I went up to the nurse’s office and you
could tell it wasn’t cleaned. Then we walked to your station
and found dust on top of lockers, paper on the hallway floor,
water fountain not cleaned, stairways dusty, and the main
office dirty.

I had to stop Ms. Massey (custodial assistant) from
cleaning her gym to clean up the nurse’s office. I cannot
keep pulling people from their work to cover yours. - This
school is under-staffed and by not doing your job it is
beginning to drain our custodial department. I feel we have
to have a meeting or hearing to resolve this problem,
because we can’t be headed in this direction much longer.

s/
Frank Malandra
* Building Engineer

GRIEVANCE FORM:
Local 1201 International Brotherhood of Fireman and Oilers

~ Date Submitted: 1/31/97

Name of Grievant: __Catherine Stove _
Position: Custodial Assistant

School or Department: FMS
Principal /Supervisor: Mr. Copes

SECTION FOR GRIEVANT: BRIEFLY STATE THE
PROBLEM INDICATING PROVISIONS OF AGREEMENT,
POLICY OR PRACTICE INVOLVED.

October 1996, I started work at Fitsimons. I come to work
every day, and do my job. Mr. Copies, started harassing
me, in January 1997 about my work. k Due to people being
out, I had to do their job, and my job, and did not get any
assistance from the Building Engineer. I feel that it’s
unfair for me to be held accountable for the buildings
condition.

WHEN DID GRIEVANT HAVE ORAL DISCUSSION WITH
PRINCIPAL OR SUPERVISOR? .

WHAT REMEDY IS SOUGHT?

To be transferred from District 4 and to have Bill Copes to
stop harassing me.

|
DATE GRIEVANT’S SIGNATURE

SECTION FOR PRINCIPAL OR SUPERVISOR

li

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

CATHERINE STOVE ; CIVIL ACTION
v.
PHILADELPHIA SCHOOL :
DISTRICT : NO. 98-2607
ORDER

AND NOW, this 8th day of January 1999, after holding
a Rule 16 initial pretrial conference in the above-captioned
matter, it is hereby ORDERED that:

1. By January 18, 1999, the parties shall exchange self-
executing disclosures. In order to meet this requirement,
Plaintiff must give to Counsel for the School District: (1) a
copy of all pieces of paper which she believes are important
to her claims and (2) a list of persons, with their names and
addresses (if known to Plaintiff), who have knowledge of
what happened to her while she was working for the School

2. After the parties have exchanged documents and lists
of witnesses, the School District intends to ask Plaintiff to
testify under oath, in a recorded deposition, about what she
believes happened to her which led her to file this lawsuit.
The School District will arrange to have the deposition
recorded. It will be held in my courtroom, Courtroom 3-H,
3rd Floor, U.S. Courthouse, 601 Market St., Philadelphia, PA

ili

19106. Plaintiff and Counsel for the School District are to
agree upon the date and time.

3.After the Plaintiff's deposition has been completed, I
will speak to the parties about the next step in this lawsuit.
It is my understanding that the School District intends to
seek a ruling on whether Plaintiff meets the legal
requirements to continue this action.

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

CATHERINE STOVE ; CIVIL ACTION

Plaintiff,

v.
SCHOOL DISTRICT OF PHILA.

Defendant.

ORDER

AND NOW on this 22d day of July, 1999, upon
consideration of the motion of defendant School District of
Philadelphia for summary judgment (Document No. 17) and
the response of the plaintiff Catherine Stove thereto
(Document No. 18), and the supporting memoranda,
pleadings, discovery exhibits, and affidavits submitted by
the parties, having found that there is no genuine issue of
material fact, and that the defendant is entitled to judgment
as a matter of law, and for the reasons set for in the
foregoing memoranda, it is hereby ordered that the motion
of the School District of Philadelphia is GRANTED, and
judgment is entered in favor of the defendant against the
plaintiff.

This is a final Order.

s/

LOWELL A. REED, JR., S.J.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT
No. 99-1639
CATHERINE STOVE,
Appellant

Vv.

PHILADELPHIA SCHOOL DISTRICT

On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civ. No. 98-02607)

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING
BEFORE ORIGINAL PANEL

BEFORE: GREENBERG, NYGAARD, and BARRY,
Circuit Judges

The petition for panel rehearing filed by appellant Catherine
Stove in the above entitled case having been submitted to
the judges who participate din the decision of this court, and
no judge who concurred in the decision having asked for
rehearing, the petition for rehearing isdenied. _

BY THE COURT:
s/

DATED: July 18, 2000

vi

U. S. COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT
NO. 99-1639

CATHERINE STOVE,
Appellant,
Vv

PHILADELPHIA SCHOOL DISTRICT

On Appeal From the United States District Court
For the Easters District of Pennsylvania
(D.C. Civ. No. 98-cv-02607)

District Judge: Honorable Lowell A. Reed, Jr.

Submitted Under Third Circuit LAR 34.1(a) .
May 26, 2000

Before: GREENEBERG, NYGAARD, AND BARRY, CIRCUIT
TUDGES

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record from the
United States District Court for the Eastern District of -
Pennsylvania. On consideration whereof, it is now here :

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED by this Court that the
judgment of the District Court entered on July 22, 1999 be,
and the same is, hereby affirmed.

Costs taxed against the appellant. All of the above in
accordance with the opinion of this Court.

ATTEST:
s/
Acting Clerk

DATED: May 26, 2000

Vil

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 99-1639

CATHERINE STOVE
Appellant

Vv.

PHILADELPHIA SCHOOL DISTRICT

On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civ. No. 98-02607)

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING
BEFORE ORIGINAL PANEL

BEFORE: GREENBERG, NYGAARD, and BARRY,
Circuit Jud

The petition for panel rehearing filed by appellant Catherine
Stove in the above entitled case having been submitted to
the judges who participated in the decision of this court, and
no-judge who concurred in the decision having asked for
rehearing, the petition for rehearing is denied.

BY THE COURT:

s/

Vill

employer suggested that she resign or retire, that she was
demoted or had her pay reduced, or that she was transferred
to a less desirable position or had her responsibilities altered
in any way. See Clowes, 991 F.2d at 1161. Furthermore, like
the plaintiff in Clowes, Stove never requested a transfer to
another position, never advised the School District that she
would have to leave if changes were not made, and never
filed a grievance. Id. Moreover, like the plaintiff in Clowes,
Stove Relies too heavily on the impact that the events in
question had on her. As the Court of Appeals in Clowes
noted, the law does not permit the subjective perceptions of
the plaintiff-employee to govern a claim of constructive
discharge. See id. at 1161-1162. Here, as in Clowes, the fact
that Stove suffered depression and anxiety is not sufficient
to establish a claim of constructive discharge. The plaintiff,
therefore, cannot establish that she was constructively
discharged. Thus, Stove fails to establish that she suffered
an adverse employment action as a result of the alleged
discriminatory treatment by Copes.

C. JOB PERFORMANCE

Stove fails to establish that she performed her job
satisfactorily. She does not deny that the condition of her
work station failed to meet building standards. Nor does
she offer any evidence to the contrary. In addition, Stove
admitted that she had difficulty arriving at work on time,
and there were times when she left work without having
fulfilled her responsibilities (Stove Dep. at 25, 31).
Moreover, when confronted about her job performance,
Stove began screaming and tore up the disciplinary memo
given to her by Malandra. (Stove Dep. at 39-40). Thus,
Stove cannot- establish that she performed her job
satisfactorily.

ix

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT
21400 United States Courthouse
Philadelphia, PA 19106-1790

July 26, 2000

Mr. Michael E. Kunz

Eastern District of Pennsylvania
US. District Court

2609 U.S. Courthouse

601 Market Street

Philadelphia, PA 19106

RE: Docket No. 99-1639
Stove vs. Phila Sch Dist
D. C. CIV. No. 98-cv-02607

Dear Mr. Kunz: “

Enclosed is a certified copy of the judgment in the above-
entitled case(s), together with copy of the opinion. The
certified judgment is issued in lieu of a formal mandate and
is to be treated in all respects as a mandate.

(x) We return herewith the certified record in the case(s).

() We release herewith the certified list in lieu of the record.

Kindly acknowledge receipt for same on the enclosed copy
of this letter.

Counsel are advised of the issuance of the mandate by copy
of this letter. A copy of the certified judgment is also
enclosed showing costs taxed, if any.

Very truly yours,

MARCIA M. WALDRON

Acting Clerk

s/Debra L. Ruh

By: DebraL.Ruh
Case Manager

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC
SCHOOL EMPLOYES’ RETIREMENT SYSTEM

February 5, 1998

Catherine E. Stove S.S.# 201-36-8634
2415 N. Natrona St.
Philadelphia, PA 19132-3328

Dear Ms. Stove:

Your disability benefit was approved for one year by the
Public School Employes’ Retirement System (PSERS)
medical examiners. An “application to Re-apply for
Renewal of Disability Retirement” will be sent to you
approximately three months prior to your renewal date to be
completed by your physician and returned to PSERS at the
above address.

You may not be employed in a public school either in or .
outside of Pennsylvania while receiving a disability benefit
from PSERS. You may be employed elsewhere, but earnings
limitations do apply until you reach age 62.

At the end of each year, you will receive an “Annual
Earnings of a Disability Annuitant” form. On this form you
will be required to report earned income (wages received)
for the calendar year. Income from disability benefits, social
security benefits, worker's compensation investment
income, or dividends are not defined as “earned income”
and are not to be listed on this form. When you reach age
62, the earnings form will no longer be required.

If you have any questions or need further assistance,
please contact the Member Service Center at (717) 787-8540.

Sincerely,

s/

Eleanor D. Klein
Appeal and Disability Center

Xl

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
PUBLIC SCHOOL EMPLOYES RETIREMENT SYSTEM
BOX 125
HARRISBURG, PA 17108

FEB 12, 1998

CATHERINE E STOVE SS 201-36-8634
2415 N NATRONA ST
PHILADELPHIA PA 19132-3328

RETIREMENT

YOUR APPLICATION FOR RETIREMENT HAS BEEN
RECEIVED IN OUR OFFICE.

IN APPROXIMATELY 45 DAYS WE WILL REQUEST A
CHECK FOR YOU WHICH WILL COVER YOUR INITIAL
RETIREMENT PAYMENT. AT THAT TIME YOU WILL
ALSO BE ADDED TO THE PAYROLL AND WILL RECEIVE
A LETTER EXPLAINING YOUR RETIREMENT BENEFITS.

IF WE CAN BE OF FURTHER ASSISTANCE, PLEASE
CONTACT US AT AREA CODE 717-787-8540.

CENTRAL PROCESSING CENTER

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
PUBLIC SCHOOL EMPLOYES’ RETIREMENT SYSTEM

MARCH 30, 1998
CATHERINE E. STOVE SS NO 201-36-8634
7632 B. Williams Way RET TYPE DISABILITY

Elkins Park, PA 19027
ESTIMATED BENEFIT

Your retirement has been calculated based on your option
selection and the latest salaries and service on file in PSERS.

Monthly Option -MAXIMUM

Beginning 05/29/1998, your estimated monthly benefit will
be $602.98 ($630.68 less $27.70 tax deduction).

In 7 to 10 business days a payment of $ 663.27 (outlined
below) will be sent to you.

+$ 693.74 INITIAL MONTHLY PAYMENT (3/28/1998)
- 30.47 TAX DEDUCTED FROM INITIAL MONTHLY
PAYMENT

$663.27 NET CHECK

44 EREEE EEE EEE EE EEA AEE E EERE EERE EEE EEE EERE EEE EE EEE EEE

IMPORTANT........ IF YOU RECEIVED AN ESTIMATE
FROM YOUR PSERS REPRESENTATIVE, YOUR SALARIES
AND SERVICE WERE PROJECTED AND THE ABOVE
AMOUNTS MAY DIFFER FROM THE ESTIMATE.

YOUR RETIREMENT WILL BE RECOMPUTED WITH THE
FINAL REPORTS INDICATING ALL SALARIES AND
SERVICE ARE RECEIVED IN PSERS.

PPPeereeeerrrrrrrr rT TC Cr rl CTI LT tt to ia tatetletetateteleieteteleteteieieieiniaieill

Xill

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
PUBLIC SCHOOL EMPLOYES’ RETIREMENT SYSTEM

June 1, 1999

Catherine E. Stove
7632B Williams Way
Elkins Park, PA 19027-1013

S.S.# 201-36-8634
Dear Ms. Stove:

Enclosed is an “Application to Re-Apply for Renewal of
Disability Retirement” to be completed by your physician
and returned to the Public- School Employes’ Retirement
System (PSERS) by the first day of September 1999.

If the completed renewal application is not received by this
date, your disability benefit will be suspended until] the
current medical data is received in this office and a
determination is made by the PSERS medical examiners
regarding the continuation of your benefit.

If you have any questions, please contact the Member
Service Center by calling toll-free 1-888-773-7748 (1-888-
PSERS4U); Harrisburg local callers, please use 787-8540. If
you prefer, you may reach PSERS by FAX at 717-722-3860.
For your convenience, the Member Service Center is staffed
each business day from 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Disability Section

Enclosure

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1317%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
