# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Fernandes v. Rockaway Township Town Council

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1158%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 510 U.S. 863

## Text

NO.

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM 1993

NELSON A. FERNANDES _ PETITIONER

Ve

ROCKAWAY TOWNSHIP
TOWN COUNCIL & RESPONDENT
TOWNSHIP ENGINEER

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

NELSON A. FERNANDES
9 FOX RUN

DENVILLE, N.J. 07834
(UNASSISTED PRO-SE)

THE QUESTIONS FOR REVIEW

1. Was the petitioner denied due process in the primary

sense by the erroneous application of the statute of

limitations, among other errors.

2. Did the EPA violate federal statutes and regulations by
imposing a grant condition that bars owners of lots with

wetlands from connecting to the federally funded plant.

3. Did the RVRSA and Rockaway Township violate 42

U.S.C. 2000d and state laws by accepting a grant condition
that denies owners of lots with ESA's a connection to a

sewer system funded with federal funds and assessments.

4. Does an ordinance or valid federal restriction meet the

criteria of being "restricted pursuant to law" in N.J.S.A.
40A:12-13 to prevent the sale of a lot.

5. Can the Supreme Court review the violation of federal
law and regulations based on public documents in order to
provide guidance for the state courts, though the matter may

require a remand for a trial of the factual issues.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

THE QUESTIONS FOR REVIEW i
GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS 2
AND STATUTES INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
CASE PRESENTED TO THE COURT

1 APPELLATE COURT RULED 11
ON THE FEDERAL ISSUE
2 THE EPA & RECIPIENTS OF GRANTS 17

ARE REQUIRED BY REGULATION AND
STATUTE NOT TO DENY ANY PERSON
THE BENEFITS OF A PROGRAM

3 ROCKAWAY TOWNSHIP VIOLATED 21
ITS GRANT OF POLICE POWER AND
POWER TO CONTRACT

4 THE APPELLATE COURT ERRED BY 25
SUBJECTING STATE LAW ISSUES TO
THE NOTICE PROVISIONS OF TORT
CLAIMS ACT

5 JUDGE RUSSELL DID NOT DISMISS 29
THE CIVIL RIGHTS VIOLATION FOR
FAILURE TO FILE WITHIN THE TWO
YEAR LIMITATIONS PERIOD

6 JUDGE RUSSELL'S FINDING OF 31
BELATED DISCOVERY MUST APPLY
TO ALL LIMITATIONS ISSUES

7 ROCKAWAY TOWNSHIP'S VIOLATION 3°
OF THE COVENANT AND N.J.S.A. 46:4-6

ll

TABLE OF CONTENTS

8 THE APPELLATE COURT FAILS TO
SEE THE FRAUD WHICH VITIATES AN
"AS IS" CONTRACT

9 TOWNSHIP ATTORNEY ACTED AS AN
ADVOCATE - WITNESS AND RISKS A
FRAUD UPON THE COURT

10 AN ISSUE OF FACT WAS DECIDED AT
THE SUMMARY JUDGMENT HEARING

11 THE COURT DISMISSED STATE LAW
ISSUES AFTER RECOGNIZING A
MATERIAL ISSUE OF FACT EXISTED

12 RESPONDENT'S ACTIONS AMOUNTS
TO A TAKING

CONCLUSION
COURT ORDERS

FEDERAL & STATE STATUTES (DETAIL)

iil

45

51

59
61

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASE: PAGE NO.
AMG Associates v. Tp. of Springfield,

65 N.J. 101, 112 (1974) ww 58
Atlantic City Hospital v. Finkle,

110 N.J. Super. 435, 265 A.2d 8...........26, 27
Baker v. Aetna Life Insurance Co.,

264 N.Y. 150, 190 N.E. 327 ................ 37, 40

Berger v. United States,
295 U.S. 78, 88, 55 S.Ct. 629, 633........ 49
Board of School Commissioners v. Hahn,

246 Ala. 662, 22 So. 2d 91.(S.C.1945).37, 40
Burd v. New Jersey Tel. Co., supra.,

PO TRE. Hk BP iiitavdilidiaawtnaiasantiin 32
Campbell v. Holt, 115 U.S. 620, 6 S.Ct.

BF BF het Wed CERI icine cceticicteness 12
Chicago, RB. & Q. R.R. Co. v. State,

47 Neb. 549, 66 N.W. 624, 630........... 57
City of Scotsbluff v. Winters Creek

Comal (20., SB WG D5 S vcsiccsssvecessaneis 56
City of St. Louis v. Praprotnik., 485 U.S.

LUZ, FOS S.CUSTS (19GB) wevceiciessnscsnsssss 14
Clark v. Riverhead Savings Bank,

PRGE 1. 0 aes Ae I ieee 4]
Coppage v. Kansas, 236 U.S. 1, 19........... 18
Crispin v. Volkswagenwerk,

ASG... FS WS. FIG CEPOL vvccesvessdeccicnnvses 49
Erwin M. Jennings Co. v. DiGenova,

107 Conn. 491, 499, 141 A. 866........... 45,47

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASE: PAGE NO.
Ex parte Virginia, 100 U.S. 339
ea iP cacnciiaieidlenatbiaiillniipiatninigrnectan sensed 44,55

Ferreira v. City of Asbury Park,
237 N.J. Super. 142, (A.D.1989)....... 13

Fossume v. Requa, 113 N.E. 330............ 4]
French v. U.S. Fidelity & Guaranty Co.,
D.C., 88 F.Supp. 714 (195...............064. 37

General Mill Supply Co. v. SCA

Services, Inc., 697 F2d. 704, 716 (1982)...47
Grogran v. DeSapio, 11 N.J. 308 (1953)..14
Hackett v. McGuire,

445 F.2d. 442 (3d. Cir. 1971).............. 18
Helms v. Hewitt, 655 F.2d 487,

J ERS te, | SEERRRRERNO ea He eERenRAE 13
Hicks v. Weaver, 302 F.Supp. 619

RS, See 23
Hill v. Middletown Bd. of Ed.,

183 N.J. Super. 36 (A.D.1982) ............ 27, 48
Holman v. Hilton, 542 F.Supp. 913,

affirmed 712 F.2d. 854..................00008 12
In re Public Service Electric and Gas Co.,

Poe PR. Sey |) ene 22

Johnson v. Cyklop Strapping Corp.,
220 N.J.Super.250, 263-265 (AD1987).....33
Jones v. Preferred Accidental Ins. Co, 226
Wis. 423, 275 NW 897 (S.C.1037)....37, 40
King v. Hilton, 525 F.Supp. 1192.......... 20

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASE: PAGE NO.
Mc Laughlin v. Fowler, Cal.1880,

14 S.Ct. 1192,154 U.S. 663, 26 L.Ed.176.....1
Mount Pleasant v. Beckwith,

Ey WR diankictisknanabacheaisioabiuibindiice 22
Naseef v. Cord, Inc., 90 N.J.Super. 135,
142, (A.D.1966), affirm....................0. 14, 41

Nectow v. Cambridge, 277 U.S. 183,

48 S.Ct. 447, 72 L.Ed. 842 (1928)........58
New England Foundation Co. v. Elliot A.

Watrous, Inc., 27 N.E. 2d.756, 759....... 44
New Jersey D.E.P. v. Ventron Corp.,

94 N.J. 473, 468 A.2d 150 (1983)........ 43
No. Counties Hydro-Electric Co. v.

United States, 70 F.Supp. 900.............. 57
Old Falls, Inc. v. Johnson,

88 N.J. Super. 441, 450 (A.D.1965).....36
Packard-Dallas, Inc. v. Carle,

Tex.Civ.App., 163 S.W.2d 735, 737....44
Palma v. Powers,

295 F.Supp. 924 (1969)...............sec0e8 33, 34
Peabody v. United States, 231 U.S. 530,
2 tg Mee B32 Ok.) 57

Pennsylvannia Greyhound Lines, Inc. v.
Rosenthal, 14 N.J.372, 384.(1954)......12
Pryor v. City of Buffalo, 197 N.Y. 123,

IE: TIM Uasiccshanuskusicastiinsinheentcinsieensiannd 4]
Ramsouer v. Midland Valley R. Co.,
RPE MINI BPE Mecciinahacsaisanscsasacscupsnsassen 41, 52, 53

Redner v. City of New York, 278
N.Y.S.2d 51, 54, 53 Misc.2d 148.......41

v1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASE: PAGE NO.
Reid v. City of New York, 736
F.Supp. 21 (E.D.N.Y. 1990).............. 26

Rowe v. Fauver, 533 F.Supp. 1239......... 12, 13
Sandler v. Lawn-A-Mat Chem & Equip.

Corp., 141 N.J.Super. 437 (A.D. 1976).15, 39
Schwartz v. Wenger, 267 Minn. 40, 43-44

124, N.W. 2d 489, 492 .............00000000. 45
Skowysz v. City of Ventnor,

110 N.J. Super. 340, 265 A.2d. 554...21
Summer v. Teaneck, 53 N.J.548 (1969)..23
Super Tire Eng. Co. v. McCorkle,

C.A.N.J. 1977, 550 F.2d 903, cer, .....16
Tessler & Sons, Inc. v. Sonitrol Sec.

Systems, 203 N.J.Super. 477.............. 42
Trafficante v. Metropolitan Life Insurance
i A ele Be i neiatetsstceanecenese 18

U.S. v. Champlin Ref. Co, 341 U.S. 290,
297, 71 S.Ct. 715, 95 L.Ed. 949, 955 (1951).14
U.S. Ex Rel. Triano v. Superior Ct. of N.J.,

Fe FI. LOGE CED. icssnssisrnesdnscnessoss 46
United States v. Pranth, 764 F.2d 548

IE Biot semiamnecanieadacasesinninstnceedasinasses 48
United States v. Shimer,

367 U.S. 374, 381-382 (1961).............. 11,20

Verbeem v. U.S. D.C. Mich.1957,
154 F.Supp. 431, affirmed 78 S.Ct....... 17
Vitek v. Jones, 445 U.S. 480, 489,

100 S.CLLZS4, 1261, © 1. Eé......i....... 13
Wagner v. Mayor and Municipal Council
of City of Newark, 24 N.J.467............. 21

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASE: PAGE NO.
Weintraub v. Krobatsch, 64 N.J. 445....... 42
Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261,

105 S.Ct. 1938, 85 L.Ed.2D 254......... 26, 30
Winsett v. McGinnes, 617 F.2d 996, 1005

CRUE WU Minctleuntssonconstscodcscnksnapes 12
Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539, 557-558,

oP ey, Re. oe | ene 12
Worchester v. Street Railway Co.,

FFG UD. FIM, Fag CO cccceveneedinencnes 13, 18, 42
Young v. Pierce, 544 F.Supp. 1010 ...... 18
14 th. Amendment.....................222. 12, 15, 18, 23, 44
yp BERS ti yy | ree l
A rie I ta cistcecenecnaccesensmanneguces 1, 9, 14, 26, 30, 55
ee ss Miia hs snccacasnnnedvaxeeccads 3, 4, 17, 19, 20, 22, 23
4 a) Ds Sane 3, 19, 20, 22, 56
40 CFR CH. I (7-1-88) 6.302 (a) .... 3
ey YO) 17, 20

40 CFR Ch. I (7-1-85 )35.925-13...17, 18
40 CFR CH. I (7-1-88) Sub. F.(e) 3, 19, 20

Oe Tdi We ivttsastescrnsacéiaeenens 42

Bee 4 yh ener 6, 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, 23,
26, 37, 36, 40, 42, 50

Pahl hs SP Mensersscnsnscsniesscvevevincet 4, 23

Paes MO Rasincshandsnecwinsntccnenbtiets 0

ee ao | eee 6

PRR. SPN, SP vissineriashccssncatounn 26

PE SR eas secannsssacmececenunraan 32

ae: PW tascaiceiacepedsneeaecsacaneat 45

CORRE, SED Rensens cacashicosesncesaiiicenee 4, 21, 35, 55

Corbin on Contracts, section 551.35, 37

Vill

REFERENCE TO OFFICIAL OPINIONS

Supreme Court Order on Reconsideration 5/13/93...61

Supreme Court Order 5/13/93 ......ccccccccccccecceccecceceeee. 62
Appellate Court Opinion 1/22/93 ..00..0.ccccceccccceccecceeee. 63
Judge Russell's Order on Reconsideration
Lo 2 SUR ey ae 67
Judge Russell's Order 1/3/92...0......cccccccccsscesceccesseccecceeees 72
Judge Harper's Order on Reconsideration 7/10/91......... 74
No Original Order was filed by Judge Harper............... 75
Judge Harper's Oral Multiple Findings..................... 25
MINE MU NUON cosa scaserccoareductaccosaskvonssnserereossines 47, 51
Findings on Engineer's Misstatement....................... 53
Judge Russell on Statute of Limitations..................... 29, 32
ne iscsi cacoersassnpueniouns 29, 46
Proposed Complaint limitations.......0..0.0..0.cccccccccscee- 30
See Oh RIEU CIO on scnecensnsercocsosscseosiseeoanseessoves 52

Appellate Court Opinion & Analysis

Dismissal of State Created federal right.................. 1]
PONUIN OE ROIREIIIIND oa c.n.cncensecenvencnsnscosesssconsoceee: 26
Acceptance of Terms & Conditions. .....0........00.0000.. 39

1X

GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION

The Supreme Court of New Jersey denied a motion for
reconsideration filed on MAY 13, 1993.
The Supreme Court of New Jersey denied a petition
for Certification filed on MARCH 17, 1993.

The Appellate Court of New Jersey filed their affirmation
of the lower court judgment on JAN. 22, 1993, which
affirmation includes their opinion on the matter. The case
was not to be published.

This Court's jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1257(3).

The lower court erroneously dismissed a 42 U.S.C.
§1983 civil rights complaint for failure to file a timely

complaint, giving this Court jurisdiction in accordance with

Mc Laughlin v. Fowler, Cal.1880, 14 S.Ct. 1192,154 US.
663, 26 L.ed. 176. The lower court also dismissed state law
issues by applying an incorrect statute of limitations as a
result of the civil rights action. The Appellate Court found
there was no violation of N.J.S.A. 40A:12-13, which

prejudices the petitioner upon remand.

PAGE 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND
STATUTES INVOLVED

PAGE

FIFTH AMENDMENT ..cc.cccocccovscccccscccsecssccssees 77
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT...............c0000 77
ee ics itainentiecttennininneneninnimannaniannnnnnn 78
Ce Ue Ge niece 79
40 CFR CH. I (7-1-88) Subpart F..................... 80
40 CFR CH. I (7-1-88) §6.302............ccccccssseesees 81
40 CFR Ch. I (7-1-85 Edition) § 35.925-13 (e) 82
OCIS SGT BE encentecsscnsennnernszesnenesesensses 82
Assist. I.D. No. C340389-04 amend. no. 1

CAD sceriiccicnsnnnssniancsnniinnimnennneninetnncentmnanncmannnens 83

Sd ieesecaessiiichinaenlnsiannniaininatiennenhinnsantntissnanninetinnn 84
ae Sct © Fe Diisteentenetensneetntnncessopnesentnsnnencrnent 84
heidi, SOATEST S. G (O) secererevevsesveevessecseneceees 85
A ici ieverreerernenreci 86
ls SE ietneeecennermimninnenninenenenncenevetenens 86
Peatictbalta, OTE i DP ansnennnneyseneneesenennecsnnntnncssnntenencosees 87
§54-100. ROCKAWAY'S LAND USE ORD..88
REO Bssenrseesnesecsnecenetinennsnecensnnennentensesnentenennenss 88

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The RVRSA (Rockaway Valley Regional Sewer
Authority), a quasi-public sewer authority composed of
municipal members including the respondent, Rockaway
Township, applied to the EPA for a grant to build a sewage
treatment plant. The EPA agreed to provide the grant if the
RVRSA would deny connection to the owners of vacant lots
with ESA's (Environmentally Sensitive Areas) in the form
of wetlands and floodplains for a period of fifty years. The
RVRSA agreed to this condition in Assistance I.D. #
C340389-04 amend. no. 1.

40 CFR CH. I (7-1-88) §6.302 (a) requires that the EPA
comply with Executive Order 11990 for the protection of
wetlands. Executive Order 11990 as signed by Jimmy
Carter requires "each agency, to the extent permitted by
law, shall avoid undertaking or providing assistance for new
construction located in wetlands." The EPA exceeded these
limitations by imposing a grant condition that violates 40

CFR CH. I (7-1-88) Subpart F (e) Civil Rights Act. "You

must wi ti 2. Title VI of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964. (42 USC, 2000d), and related

nondiscrimination laws and Executive Order 11246. "These

PAGE 3

2000D." The RVRSA and respondent agreed to violate this
federal statute by accepting the grant condition.

The EPA required the RVRSA hold a public meeting to
notify the affected owners of the loss of this vested property
right that would prevent the development of their land. The
municipal members of the RVRSA, more specifically
Rockaway Township, attended this meeting and
subsequently instituted land use ordinance §54-100 L.
which denies connection to the owners of lots affected by
ESA's. This ordinance violates 42 U.S.C, 2000d, as well as
N.J.S.A, 40:48-2, which states "Any municipality may
make, amend, repeal and enforce such other ordinances,
regulations, rules and by-laws not contrary to the laws of
this state or of the United States."' Their action is also
contrary to state case law which prohibits municipalities
from dealing with issues that requires uniform statewide
treatment. The municipal denial was based on maps and a
list of affected lots generated for the public hearing. During
this hearing they informed the affected owners of the loss of
a vested property interest, which prevents development and
represents a practical . . confiscation.

[he procedure followed after the plant opened began
with the Township's denying the right to connect to the

sewer lateral without mention of the land use ordinance

PAGE 4

passed in support of the grant condition. The procedure to

appeal that denial required a resolution from the Township
approving the construction before the RVRSA would review
the application. Initially, the Township refused _ this
resolution, which resulted in a year and a half of effort
before they would grant it. When approved, the resolution
was forwarded to the RVRSA, who approved and forwarded
the application to the NJDEP (New Jersey Department of
Environmental Protection). They openly stated that their
policy was to reject these applications. They then forwarded
the application to the EPA, who also stated that it was their
policy to reject the application. Consequently, this appeal
procedure was a sham that provided the appearance of an
appeal mechanism. It layered one public agency on another,
exhausting the applicant from further pursuing his rights
after being rejected on so many levels. The appearance of
being supported on every official level concealed the EPA's
violation of federal statute and regulation. Anyone reaching
the EPA was met by a number of attorneys, which precludes
the thought of their having violated federal statute and
regulations. Of the 320 lots affected by the EPA grant
Condition within the scope of the RVRSA, it appears none

have challenged this arbitrary contractual condition.

PAGE 5

is |

Rockaway Township profits from this situation by
denying access to the sewer and when the lot reverts to them
for nonpayment of taxes, they conceal the existence of the
EPA Grant Condition and their land use ordinance in order
to sell affected lots at public auction with a starting bid.
They continue to profit by taxing an otherwise useless lot.
This may lead to reselling these lots to others by those
Originally injured, which further increases the circle of
injury, as a result of the municipality's initial conduct.
Rockaway also sells tax sale certificates on affected lots to
profit from that avenue after an owner gives up. The statute
that authorizes the sale of lots no longer needed for public
use by the municipality, N.J.S.A. 40A:12-13, has a
prohibition against selling lots that are "dedicated or

restricted pursuant to law" and that "Such restrictions or

The petitioner purchased a lot owned by Rockaway
Township as the result of being the successful bidder at a
public auction. This lot was affected by the Grant Condition.
He also purchased the adjacent lot, which required
purchasing a tax sale certificate. This lot was likewise
affected, providing grounds for a refund based on N,J.S.A.
54:5-43. Rockaway Township also misrepresented both lots

as being able to connect to the sewer system. Rockaway

PAGE 6

Township subsequently approved the subdivision of these

adjoining lots though contrary to statute due to the grant
condition. Shortly afterwards, they refused to provide
building permits as a result of the grant condition. It should
be noted that Rockaway Township provided successful
bidders with a covenant in the resolution and deed as part of
the contract. That covenant says they had done nothing to
affect the lot sold, by force of statute N.J.S.A, 46:4-6. Their
approval of the EPA grant condition and passage of a land
use ordinance violates this covenant.

Prior to building the sewage treatment plant, the
municipal members of the RVRSA had a ban against new
construction for many years, unless the lot could support a
septic system. Therefore, lots that could be developed in this
fashion had already done so. Consequently, wetland lots, as
well as those with other logistical problems, needed a sewer
connection to make construction feasible. The EPA grant
condition effectively prevents development by denying
access to the benefit of a federally funded sewer treatment
plant. The EPA knew the result. . . confiscation.

I submit to this Court that the EPA's conduct
represents a new approach to violating constitutional rights.
This is achieved by requiring recipients of grants to deny

owners the right to connect to a federally funded

PAGE 7

eee

improvement, thus preventing development and effectuating
a practical confiscation. The EPA compelled acceptance of
this violative condition by recipients or be refused funding.
Even their administrative agency review is aimed at
reaffirming the denial until the applicant is frustrated into
submission by a costly and time consuming process. It
serves as a design for future forays. I trust the mechanism
used will be of interest to this Court if the issue of violating
the property rights of individuals is not significant in

comparison to other issues presented to this noble tribunal.

PAGE 8

CASE PRESENTED TO THE COURT

The petitioner filed a 42 U.S.C. 1983 civil rights action
against Rockaway Township in the Law Division of the
Superior Court of New Jersey. The complaint included
issues of fraud, breach of contract, warranty and violations
of state statute. The petitioner moved before the court of
first instance for a finding that the defendant had violated
N.J.S.A. 40A:12-13, a state statute, by selling a lot affected
by an EPA grant condition. The petitioner did not present
the court with its civil rights violation, since the statutory
violation appeared very clear and could be disposed on
motion. The respondent moved for a dismissal based on
failure to file a timely tort claim. The court dismissed the
state law issues on the grounds that petitioner failed to file a
timely tort claim and on findings that there was no fraud.
The court also disregarded the engineer's misstatement of a
material fact. Ever since Judge Harper rendered that finding,
the petitioner has been subjected to further findings couched
on that initial decision.

The court's oral findings are presented in applicable
arguments to establish a proper context for review.
Argument I presents an overview of the petitioner's

Original case and the Appellate dismissal, which has since

PAGE 9

been expanded to include another violation of federal law as
a result of the Appellate Court findings.

Arguments 2 & 3 review the additional violation of
federal and state law.

Arguments 4 - 11 deals with the errors of the court
below and the Appellate Court.

Argument 12 outlines the confiscation of rights that
violates the 14 th. Amendment amounting to a "taking" and
the result of that violation became the basis for the
resolution for public sale.

Not being an attorney, the petitioner has wrestled with
the approach to presenting these issues, starting with a
complex initial violation and followed by a number of errors
that have denied the petitioner a trial and resulted in
uncovering one more violation that started this scenario. |
pray the approach taken is clear, concise and presents the

issues in a manner acceptable for this Court's consideration.

PAGE 10

ARGUMENT 1
APPELLATE COURT RULED ON THE

FEDERAL ISSUE

The Appellate Court considered this case dismissed for
failing to file a timely tort claim and for filing a civil rights

action beyond the statute of limitations, but also held:

"While there may be reasons to suggest that a
municipality should generally advise prospective

purchasers of a known sewer ban relating to property
to be sold at public auction, this is a matter for
legislative policy, and we are referred to no authority

in statute or case law so holding. We reject plaintiff's
argument that N.J.S.A, 40A:12-13 barred the sale as

“restricted pursuant to law,"""
The petitioner contends the EPA Grant Condition was a
valid federal restriction in accordance with the following :

"Federal regulations have no less pre-emptive effect
than federal statutes. Where Congress has directed an

administrator to exercise his discretion, his judgments
are subject to judicial review to determine whether he
has exceeded his statutory authority or acted

arbitrarily." United States v. Shimer, 367 U.S. 374,
381-382 (1961).

Rockaway Township violated _N.J.S.A. 40A:12-13, the
statute that authorizes public sale but prohibits the sale of
lots "restricted pursuant to law", by selling a lot with a

valid preemptive federal restriction. This statute creates a

PAGE 1]

property interest subject to protection by the 14th.

Amendment based on the following :

"Liberty and property interests protected under
Fourteenth Amendment may be created by state law;
i
; sand f
fadenal ‘tutional I ‘th lef
procedural preferences expressed by state legislature
or state courts, U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 14." See,
Holman vy. Hilton, 542 F.Supp. 913, affirmed 712 F.2d.

854. Rowe y. Fauver, 533 F.Supp. 1239; Wolff v.
McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539, 557-558, 94 S.Ct 2963,

2975, 41 L.Ed.2d 935 (1974); Winsett v. McGinnes, 617
F.2d 996, 1005 (3rd.Cir. 1980).

N.J.S.A., 40A:12-13 creates a "vested right", and the
Fourteenth Amendment secures it against invasion. Thus, to
sell lots diminished by legislative action which amounts to a
taking offends the 14 th. Amendment and this statute.
Pennsylvannia Greyhound Lines, Inc. v. Rosenthal, 14 N.J.
at 384 (1954) defined vested rights as follows:

"the concept it expresses is that of a present fixed
interest which in right reason and natural justice
Should be protected against arbitrary state action-an
innately just and imperative right that an enlightened
free society, sensitive to inherent and irrefragable
individual rights, cannot deny. Such seems to be the

principle of Campbell v. Holt, 115 U.S. 620, 6 S.Ct.
209, 29 L.Ed. 483 (1885). ”

Rowe v. Fauver, supra., also held that the test of a state

created liberty is whether the state law creates "justifiable

PAGE 12

em |

expectation" that "the liberty will not be infringed except
upon the occurrence of specified events". Helms v. Hewitt,
655 F.2d 487, 493 (3d.Cir.1981); see also Vitek v. Jones,
445 U.S. 480, 489, 100 S.Ct.1254, 1261, 63 L.Ed.2d 552
(1980). That expectation is established by prohibiting
government from selling lots "restricted pursuant to

law". Rowe v. Fauver, supra., further concluded:

"Guidance in construing the state law may be
obtained not only from the plain language of the
statute but also from authoritative interpretations by
state court."

, 237 N.J. Super. 142,

(App.Div.1989) provides that guidance with the following:

"the municipality may sell any such property, "other
than... real property otherwise dedicated or restricted
pursuant to law." In this context, we conclude that the
phrase "real property otherwise dedicated or restricted
pursuant to law" in N.J.S.A. 40A:12-13 means real
property otherwise dedicated or restricted pursuant to
a statute, not by deed language."

The following federal holding expresses the same view
as the preceding finding and the statute:

"Property which is held by these corporations upon
conditions or terms in a grant and for a special use,
may not be diverted by the legislature." Worchester vy.

Street Railway Co., 196 U.S. at 551, 1904

The courts are then bound to interpret the statutory wording

PAGE 13

of “restricted pursuant law", which is found to mean

"restricted pursuant to statute" in accordance with:

"to be given the generally accepted meaning unless

the contrary intent is clear." Grogran y. DeSapio, ||

N.J. 308 (1953); U.S. v. Champlin Ref Co., 341 U.S.
290, 297, 71 S.Ct. 715, 95 L.Ed. 949, 955 (1951).

The federal restriction clearly meets the criteria in
N.J.S.A. 40A:12-13, so the respondent's violation requires

the contract be rescinded based on the following::

"If it clearly appears that a contract has as its direct
object and purpose a violation of the Federal and state

constitution. Federal or state statutes, some ordinance

of a city or town, or some rule of the common law
courts will not lend their aid to its enforcement."

Zeitz v. Foley, 264 S.W. 2d 267 (Ky.Ct.App.1954);

cited in Naseef v. Cord, Inc. 90 N.J. Super.135, 142
(A.D.1966)

The Supreme Court in the case of City of St. Louis v.
Praprotnik, 485 U.S. 112, 108 S.Ct. 915 (1988) concluded
that municipalities may be sued directly if a government
body is alleged to have caused a constitutional tort through
policy statement, ordinance, regulation or decision officially

adopted and promulgated by that body's officers. The

Council's passage of a resolution to sell a lot they knew to
be affected by a federal restriction which amounts to a
violation of a state statute represents a § 1983 violation.

Furthermore, the sale of a lot so diminished in rights that it

PAGE 14

is offensive to the 14 th. Amendment also violates the state

statute. And upon selling the lot, Rockaway Township
violated the petitioner's rights.

The Appellate Court's finding disregards the federal
authority to impose the restriction, on one hand, and fails to
recognize the right to be free of that restriction on the other.
In an effort to establish the EPA's statutory authority to
impose the Grant Condition, the petitioner has discovered
that the EPA violated its authority, while the RVRSA and
the respondent violated another federal _ statute.
Consequently, the respondent's violation of the petitioner's
civil rights remains unchanged, except that it begins with yet
another violation of constitutional law. That violation is
reviewed in the next two arguments.

The Appellate Court affirmed the lower court dismissal,
then made further findings contrary to the following:

"Such a base for decisions effectively bars an
excursion by this appellate tribunal into the realm of
independent fact findings." Sandler v. Lawn-A-Mat
Chem & Eguip. Corp., 141 N.J.Super. 437 (A.D. 1976).
The court below and the Appellate Court failed to
realize that the sale of the lot represented the culmination of
Rockaway's violation, which started with the passage of the

resolution containing wording to impose the federal

PAGE 15

restriction on a buyer. The courts view this condition as

binding, when in actuality it is evidence of their fraud.

The Appellate Court's erroneous finding that the
petitioner failed to file a timely complaint and that the
respondent did not violate N.J.S.A. 40A:12-13, which

creates federal property interest, provides the Supreme Court

with jurisdiction based on Super Tire Eng. Co. v. McCorkle,
C.A.N.J. 1977, 550 F.2d 903, certiorari denied 98 S.Ct. 106,
434 U.S. 827, 54 L.Ed.2d 86, rehearing denied 98 S.Ct. 753,
434 U.S. 1025, 54 L.Ed.2d 773.

PAGE 16

ARGUMENT 2
THE EPA & RECIPIENTS OF GRANTS
ARE REQUIRED BY REGULATION AND
STATUTE NOT TO DENY ANY PERSON
THE BENEFITS OF A PROGRAM

The EPA and recipients of grants are subject to 40
CFR, dated 7/1/85, which contains the same provision as in
the current regulation, § 30.600 (e) Civil Rights Act which
requires compliance with 42 U.S.C 2000d by preventing
th lusion r fi icipati
denying them the benefits of, or discriminating against
them on the basis of race, color, or national origin under any
program or activity involving Federal financial assistance.
The EPA required that the respondent violate this
regulation and statute based on authority derived from 40
CFR Ch. I (7-1-85 Edition) § 35.925-13, a regulation that
is repugnant to 42 U.S.C. 2000d based on the following
finding::
"The meaning of a statute, clear and unambiguous on
its face, may not be varied by administrative
decisions." Verbeem vy. U.S. D.C. Mich.1957, 154

F.Supp. 431, affirmed 78 S.Ct. 1006, 356 U.S. 676, 2
L.Ed. 1072.

it would appear that the sewer hookup restriction in §
35.925-13 was targeted for the lands owned by the signers
of the agreement, not the public, which would be in keeping
with the following Supreme Court holding:

"Property which is held by these corporations upon
conditions or terms in a grant and for a special use,
may not be diverted by the legislature." Worchester vy.

Street Railv way Co., 196 U.S. at 551, 1904

Otherwise,

“ny its owne ight, contrary to the following holding:

"The benefits of the affirmative duty placed on federal
funding agencies, created by _§ 2000d, inure to all

persons whose rights to equal treatment are enhanced
by the positive efforts of the government." Young vy.
Pierce, 544 F.Supp. 1010 (1982)
The following holding makes it clear that everyone is
entitled to the benefits of such a program:

"The Supreme Court has declared that the Civil
Rights Acts evince a congressional intention to define
standing as wed as is permitted by Article ITT of the
Constitution. ' r v r

Insurance Co., 409 U.S. 205, 93 S.Ct. 364, 34 L.Ed.2d.

415 (1972). See also Hackett v. McGuire, 445 F.2d. 442
(3d. Cir. 1971).

The EPA Grant Condition further transgresses the
following holding from Coppage v. Kansas, 236 U.S. 1, 19:

"the Fourteenth Amendment debars the States from
striking down personal liberty or property rights, or
materially restricting their normal exercise, excepting

so far as may be incidentally necessary for the

accomplishment of some other and paramount object,

PAGE 18

and one that concerns the public welfare._The mere
sees r Mihergy i ‘oh ;
. M ”f 4 WwW. ”

a_legitimate object of the police power; for such

restriction is the very thing that is inhibited by the
Amendment." (Emphasis Added)

Executive Order 11990 calls for the preservation of
wetlands from new construction. By listing the lots that
meet this criteria and prohibiting their connection to a sewer,
it fulfills its mandate specifically, not incidentally. It also
denies the owner a right protected by statute as the object of
the police power. It effectively confiscates private property
by taking "vested" rights.. The principle of estoppel is
appropriate here, since municipalities throughout this state
require that homes connected to a septic system be
connected to a central sewer system when made available.
Taking the reverse position is merely a justification for
taking private property.

The RVRSA violated federal law and regulations by
accepting the grant condition, which is contrary to 42
U.S.C, 2000d. and 40 CFR CH. I (7-1-88) Subpart F.
Furthermore, the RVRSA's members established land use
ordinances in support of a condition that violates state law.

The federal violation is supported by the following:

"Liberty interests entitled to protection under
Fourteenth Amendment may be _ created by

administrative regulations. U.S.C.A. Const.Amend.

14." See, King v. Hilton, 525 F.Supp. 1192.

"Federal regulations have no less pre-emptive effect
than federal statutes. Where Congress has directed an
administrator to exercise his discretion, his judgments
are subject to judicial review to determine whether he
has exceeded his statutory authority or acted

arbitrarily." United States v. Shimer, 367 U.S. 374,
381-382 (1961).

The grant condition imposed by the EPA (Assistance
I.D. No. C340389-04 amendment no. 1) contravenes 40
CFR § 30.600 (e), 40 CFR CH. I (7-1-88) Subpart F.,
Executive Order 11990, and 42 U.S.C 2000d by denying

the owner of a lot affected by the grant condition access to

the sewer treatment plant built with federal funds and local
tax_assessments. The EPA, RVRSA and its member
communitys' agreement to violate this federal statute is
clearly contained in the above referenced amendment.

Therefore, Rockaway's initial violation begins here.

PAGE 20

ARGUMENT 3
ROCKAWAY TOWNSHIP VIOLATED ITS

GRANT OF POLICE POWER AND POWER
TO CONTRACT

Rockaway Township passed §54-100 L, a land use
ordinance which prohibits connection of wetland lots to the
sewer treatment plant. It did so in support of a contractual
condition which contravenes a federal statute. Rockaway's

legislative act was required by the following holding:

"A municipality cannot act as an individual does: it
must proceed in conformity with statute or, in_the
absence of statute, with the common law, by
ordinance, or resolution or by motion: this is
especially true with respect to real estate." Skowysz vy.

City of Ventnor, 110 N.J. Super. 340, 265 A.2d. 554
(1970).

However, the passage of this ordinance, as well as their
approval of the grant condition as a member of the RVRSA.,
not to mention the RVRSA's acceptance of the grant
condition, was beyond their power to contract and their

police powers based on the following holdings:

"The grant of police power "relates to matters of local
concern which may be determined to be necessary
and proper for the good and welfare of local
inhabitants, and not to those matters involving state
policy or in the realm of affairs of general public

interest and applicability."" Wagner vy. Mayor and
PAGE 21 |

Municipal Council of City of Newark, 24 N.J. 467, 478
(1957).

"Hence the municipality may not legislate upon an
aspect of a subject "inherently in need of uniform

treatment." In-r ji rvi ri in
35 N.J. 358, 371 (1961).
The case of Mount Pleasant v. Beckwith, 100 U.S. 514,

held that where no constitutional restriction is imposed, the
corporate existence and powers of counties, cities and towns
are subject to the legislated control of the State creating
them. The N.J. courts have restricted municipal power to
exclude the passage of ordinances on matters of general
public interest.

Executive Order 11990 as signed by Jimmy Carter on
5/24/77, provides in part, Section 2. (a):

"each agency, to the extent permitted by law, shall

avoid undertaking or providing assistance for new
construction located in wetlands."

This order makes wetlands a national issue for the EPA,
which precludes Rockaway Township from dealing with a
subject in need of uniform treatment. Furthermore, the
passage of the ordinance denies the affected owners a
federal right protected by 42 U.S.C, 2000d. Therefore, the
violation of this statute also violates N.J.S.A,. 40:48-2:

"Any municipality may make, amend, repeal and
enforce such other ordinances, regulations, rules and

PAGE 22

ie

by-laws not contrary to the laws of this state or of the
U t { St t ”

Consequently, this ordinance should be repealed in

accordance with the following holding:

"Hence an ordinance will fall if it permits what a
statute expressly forbids or forbids what a statute
expressly authorizes." Summer v. Teaneck, 53 N.J. 548
(1969)

This ordinance further violates section (a) of N.J.S.A.

40A:12-13, by violating the 14 th. Amendment:
"Such restrictions or conditions shall be related to a
law blic pur, E
40 CFR Ch. I § 35.925-13 has resulted in the RVRSA
and its member communities violating their grant of power
and the rights of its citizens as protected by 42 U.S.C. §
2000d. Thus the EPA violated the following holding:

"HUD sanctioned the violation of plaintiff's rights
and was an active participant since it could have
halted the discrimination at any step of the program.
Consequently, it's own discriminatory conduct. .. .
is violative of 42 U.S.C. § 2000d." Hicks v. Weaver,
302 F.Supp. 619 (E.D.La.1969)

PAGE 23

ARGUMENT 4
THE APPELLATE COURT ERRED BY

SUBJECTING STATE LAW ISSUES TO
THE NOTICE PROVISIONS OF TORT
CLAIMS ACT

To begin with, Judge Harper dismissed the state law
issues for failure to file a timely tort claim, as evinced by his
oral findings at the motion hearing of April 5, 1991:

"Because I'm really troubled as to how you should be
able to litigate this now after not following the tort

claims procedure. I'm not talking now at this point on

1983 claims, but I'm talking about basically the other
claims in the case that you have against the town."
(T17-20)

"You're asserting a tort claim as I see it and, and it's

a claim very frankly that I think is, is barred, it's time

barred, because you didn't give the requisite notice
within the ninety day period. That notice came about

Sive years after the sale," (T27-10)

"as far as anything that has to do with fraud, he's he's

time barred." (T30,6-8)

"I think as a matter of law you're time barred an yway.
Because of the nature of what you have. I think this,
this transaction is something that is not subject to
being a matter of suit unless you give the requisite
notice and you haven't." (128, 17-22)

The Appellate Court affirmed Judge Harper's view with

the following from their opinion:

PAGE 25

"While plaintiff argues that "[t]he issue before the
court is a breach of contract not a tort claim," and
cites cases for the proposition" that contract issues are
not subject to the Tort Claims Act," . . . . .Tothe
extent plaintiff relies on the tort claims because of the
personal injury aspect of the federal claims, see

Wilson y. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 105 S.Ct. 1938, 85
L.Ed.2D 254 (1985), no timely notice was given as

required by statute. See N.J.S.A. 59:8-8, -9".

The Appellate Court held that breach of contract is not
a tort, but applied the notice provision, since it was a §1983
civil rights action. By so doing, they contravene the holding
of Reid v. City of New York, 736 F.Supp. 21 (E.D.N.Y.
1990), which also involved a §1983 action but held that
pendent state claims are subject tu the applicable state, not
federal, limitations period.

The Appellate Court cites Wilson v. Garcia, supra.,
which did not deal with pendent state claims and borrows
the "most analogous" state statute of limitations. The case of
Atlantic City Hospital v. Finkle, 110 N.J. Super. 435, 265
A.2d 853 (Co.1970) held that whether the six year statute on
contracts or the two year statute on personal injury actions
governs depends on nature of injury, not theory of recovi:ry.

N.J.S.A, 40A:12-13, the statute that authorizes the sale
of land, is violated by selling a lot that is “restricted
pursuant to law." Consequently, the statutory restriction

injures the land before this prohibition can prevent the sale,

PAGE 26

and by proving such a restriction the sale of the lot could be
stopped before it injures a buyer. If violated, it represents a
state claim subject to a six year limitations period, while the
passage of the resolution to knowingly sell such a lot
constitutes a civil rights violation upon sale.

A. breach of warranty in this case can only result from
an injury to the land by the grantor, which also brings it
under the six year limitations period in accordance with

2, Supra.

As to the issue of fraud, the case of Hil] v. Middletown

Bd. of Ed., 183 N.J. Super. 36 (A.D.1982) held :

"Hence, even if there is no substantial compliance
with the notice provisions of the Tort Claims Act, a
public entity will be estopped from asserting this
defense "where the interests of justice, morality and
common fairness dictate that course.""

It will be shown that the Appellate Court disregards case
findings that show the respondent's concealment of the grant

condition amounts to a fraud.

PAGE 27

ARGUMENT 5
JUDGE RUSSELL DID NOT DISMISS THE

CIVIL RIGHTS VIOLATION FOR
FAILURE TO FILE WITHIN THE TWO
YEAR LIMITATIONS PERIOD

Judge Russell made the following finding at the
conclusion of oral argument at the October 25, 1991 motion
hearing on the Township's motion that the petitioner had

filed beyond the two year statute of limitations:

"The statute of limitations argument I can't address
here first so if it had been dispositive of the matter, I
would have addressed it first and then we would have
to go after that, but he maintains he didn't have this
knowledge until 1989 so that might not dispose of
things, okay?

So we can't look at it that way as being the threshold

question so we move to the situation whether the sale is
Such that you have a actionable claim. This is an as-is
sale, marketable title. As far as I can see from the
papers before me, it's a marketable title. The effect of

the EPA sewer ban connection did not make it an
unmarketable title." (177-9)

Judge Russell found the petitioner made late discovery
of a cause of action and recognized a material issue of fact

existed for trial when she said:

"But he didn't know, he thought it came on after he
got the property."

PAGE 29

Consequently, her dismissal of the civil rights claim
based on "as is", a state law issue, is not an appropriate
basis for dismissing a federal claim. The Appellate Court
failed to see this and subsequently erred by stating that there

was a dismissal based on the statute of limitations:

"The trial court concluded that plaintiff's federal civil
rights claim pursuant to 42 U.S.C.A. § 1983 was
barred by New Jersey's two year statute of limitations."

The Appellate Court may have been confused by Judge

Russell's opinion on reconsideration, which refers to an

amended complaint, not the one originally ruled on. The
following excerpts are clear on this point:
"(3) plaintiff seeks leave to file an Amended
Complaint"

"Moreover, even if plaintiff had stated a claim, from the

facts as stated in the proposed Amended Complaint, all

actions of which plaintiff complains occurred more
than two years prior to the proposed Amended

Complaint. Pursuant to Wilson vy. Garcia, 105 S.Ct.
1938 (1985)"

The Appellate Court error and failure to catch Judge
Russell's inappropriate dismissal required reversal and

remand by the Supreme Court of N.J.

PAGE 30

|

ARGUMENT 6
JUDGE RUSSELL'S FINDING OF

BELATED DISCOVERY MUST APPLY TO
ALL LIMITATIONS ISSUES

The petitioner was unaware that the Grant Condition
went into effect in 1984, a year before the public auction.
Beside concealing this fact, the Township also
misrepresented the sewer lateral next to the property as the
way to service both lots. Furthermore, the township engineer
told the petitioner on December 2, 1986 that the Grant
Condition went into effect recently, as evinced by the
petitioner's affidavit. Township minutes show a councilman
telling the petitioner in 1988 that the grant condition came
after his purchase. The respondent has even admitted to
concealing the grant condition. Lastly, a title search failed to
uncover the grant condition. These facts were presented to
Judge Russell in response to the respondent's motion to
dismiss for failing to file a timely civil rights claim. They
ended with the following from the transcript:

"* it was in November of '89 when the Township
issued the stop work order.

The Court: up to this point, you still don't
know about the EPA situation?
Mr. Fernandez: No, when they issued the stop

work order, I do not know, It was after the issuance of
the stop work order which resulted in my checking

PAGE 31

into everything and it was then three factors that I had
to pull together in order to ascertain what the Town
had done. (167-24)

The following finding by Judge Russell at that motion
hearing shows that the court accepted the late November

discovery of a cause of action (T77, 9-17):

"The statute of limitations argument I can't address
here first so if it had been dispositive of the matter, I
would have addressed it first and then we would have
to go after that, but he maintains he didn't have this
knowledge until 1989 so that might not dispose of
things, okay?"

This finding accepts the date of belated discovery of a

cause of action in accordance with the following holding:

"The rule therefore functions to modify the
conventional statutory period but only to the extent of
postponing the accrual of a cause of action until the
plaintiff "learns, or reasonably should learn, the
existence of that state of facts which may equate in
law with a cause of action." Burd v w Jers

Co., supra., 76 N.J. at 291.

There can only be one date of late discovery for a cause
of action from which the limitations period begins to run.
Consequently, Judge Russell's finding displaces Judge
Harper's earlier finding in accordance with Rule 4:42-2
which states in part:

"any order or form of decision which adjudicates
Sewer than all the claims as to all the parties shall not
terminate the action as to any of the claims, and it

PAGE 32

Shall be subject to revision at any time before the entry
of final judgment in the sound discretion of the court
in the interests of justice."

The case of Johnson v. Cyklop Strapping Corp., 220
N.J.Super.250, 263-265 (App.Div.1987) held interlocutory
orders are committed to the sound discretion of the court.
There was an adequate factual basis in the summary
judgment record of that case to support a finding that should
have prevented partial summary judgment. In the matter,
sub judice, the petitioner presented triable issues of material

fact that were timely presented upon discovery.
Palma v. Powers, 295 F.Supp. 924 (1969) held:

"As noted earlier, issue preclusion generally applies
only to those matters actually raised and adjudicated in
an antecedent suit."

This federal finding shows Judge Harper's ruling was
still subject to change when Judge Russell made a finding
that altered it. It's also consistent with the previous
Appellate finding and court rules. Consequently, the
Supreme Court should have been compelled to reverse and

remand in accordance with the following finding:

"A judgment entered by a court with jurisdiction of

the subject matter and the parties is considered valid,

even though erroneous or obtained by fraud. Until set
aside in the court which rendered it or by a reviewing

court exercising appellate jurisdiction, it is binding on

the parties and their privies in all of the nation's

PAGE 33

tribunals, federal or state." Palma vy. Powers, 295
F.Supp. 924 (1969)

Judge Russell accepted late discovery as being in the
latter part of Nov. of 1989 and the Tort Claim notice, if
pertinent, was served on February 12, 1990, within ninety
days. The petitioner's complaint was filed in December of
1990 and an amended complaint was filed on March 11,
1991, prior to the respondent's answer, all of which is well
under two years. Even the amended complaint submitted to
Judge Russell months before was timely on October 25,
1991, the date of the motion hearing. Therefore, there
should have been no question as to the timeliness of the

petitioner's claim and his right to a trial.

PAGE 34

ARGUMENT 7
ROCKAWAY TOWNSHIP'S VIOLATION
OF THE COVENANT AND N.JS.A. 46:4-6

By passing municipal land use ordinance §54-100 L,
Rockaway Township violated federal and state statutes, as
outlined in earlier arguments. This legislative act, as well as
their approval of the grant condition, violated the covenant

in their resolution for public auction, which reads as follows:

"f) All conveyances shall be by bargain and sale deed

with covenants against grantor's act. No affidavit of
title will be provided."

The covenant, as it appears in the deed given to the

petitioner, reads as follows:

"Promises by Grantor. The Grantor promises that the
Grantor has done no act to encumber the property.
This promise is called a "covenant as to grantor's

acts" (N.J.S.A. 46:4-6). This promise means that the
Grantor has not allowed anyone to obtain any legal
rights which affect the property (such as by making a
mortgage or allowing a judgment to be entered against
the Grantor).

Rockaway's promise as the Grantor carries the force of
N.J.S.A, 46:4-6, which reads as follows:

"A covenant by the grantor in a deed "that he has
done nothing to encumber the said lands", shall have
the same effect as if he covenanted that he had not
done or executed, or knowingly suffered to be done or

PAGE 35

executed, any act, deed or thing whereby the lands and
premises conveyed, or intended so to be or any part

thereof, are or will be changed, charged, altered,
fected, defeated bored in tid
otherwise."

There is one finding that addresses the general scope of

covenants, which held:

"A covenant against incumbrances, if broken at all, is
broken the instant the deed is given." Old Falls, Inc. vy.
Johnson, 88 N.J. Super. 441, 450 (App. Div. 1965)

The respondent violates this covenant by passing an
ordinance that was beyond their authority, then by passing a
resolution to further benefit by sale and taxation, despite the
knowledge that they would prevent the development of the
lot as a result of their ordinance and the Grant Condition.

Rockaway Township's resolution for public sale also
contained the following:

"2. That the said sale will be in accordance with
N.JuS.A. 40A:12-13 et seg. and in accordance with the
following terms and conditions:"

The lower court, Appellate and Supreme Courts of N.J.
have failed to meet their obligation by not complying with

the standard of review created by the following holding:

"A specific provision integrated into the contract by
force of a statute, as a matter of public policy, "must
be interpreted and given effect in accordance with the
intention of the legislature, irrespective of how the
contractor's understood it. Exactly the same result is

PAGE 36

reached even though the parties know nothing of the
statute and do not include the provision, and even
though they know of it and expressly agree upon the
exact contrary.” Corbin on Contracts, section 551. See

also Baker vy. Aetna Life Insurance Co., 264 N.Y. 150,
190 N.E. 327 (Ct. App. 1934); Jones vy. Preferred
Accidental Insurance Co., 226 Wis. 423, 275 N.W. 897

(Sup.Ct. 1937); Board of School Commissioners
Hahn, 246 Ala. 662, 22 So. 2d 91 (S. C. 1945).

The respondent's failure to address the petitioner's
allegation of a statutory violation and Judge Harper's failure
to consider the violation falls short of this review
requirement. Considering the motion hearing was not a trial,
the court's findings on the fraud issue were premature and
disregarded the requested tolling of the limitations period

based on the municipal concealment of a material fact.

French v. U.S. Fidelity & Guaranty Co., D.C., 88 F.Supp.
714 (1950)
PAGE 37

ARGUMENT 8
THE APPELLATE COURT FAILS TO SEE

THE FRAUD WHICH VITIATES AN
"AS IS" CONTRACT

The Appellate Court stated the following in their
opinion, which quotes in part from the resolution for sale:

"Particularly given plaintiff's acknowledgment of the
"auction information" indicating that the property
was sold "as is," and acknowledging the "terms and
conditions" of the sale as embodied in the governing
resolution in which the Township expressly made
"[nJo representations of any kind... as to the

condition" of the property, and making the sale

the
Townshi
judgment, R. 2:11-3(e)(1)(A),(E)."

The Appellate Court finds that acceptance of the terms
of sale and "as is" are reasons for not disturbing the
dismissal, though the lower court's dismissal for failing to
timely file prohibits further findings based on the holdings
of Sandler v. Lawn-A-Mat Chem & Equip. Corp., supra.

Further findings only prejudice the petitioner on remand.
By avoiding the violation of the covenant, the court
below and Appellate Court avoided a material issue of fact

which represents a breach of warranty subject to a six year

PAGE 39

limitations period. The court below also avoided the other
statutory violation with the following response to the

petitioner's query on N.J.S.A, 40A:12-13:

"The Court: I'm saying that the manner in which
they sold it appears to be consistent with law."

The use of the word "appears" clearly shows the court
was uncertain. The violation of these statutes represents
material issues of fact in dispute that needed to be tried for a
review in accordance with the following holding:

"A specific provision integrated into the contract by
force of a statute, as a matter of public policy, "must
be interpreted and given effect in accordance with the
intention of the legislature, irrespective of how the
contractor's understood it." Corbin on Contracts,

section 551. See also Baker v. Aetna Life Insurance Co.,
264 N.Y. 150, 190 N.E. 327 (Ct. App. 1934); Jones v.

Preferred Accidental Insurance Co,, 226 Wis. 423, 275
N.W. 897 (Sup.Ct. 1937); Board of School
Commissioners v. Hahn, 246 Ala. 662, 22 So. 2d 91 (S.
C. 1945).

Failing to make this review and faced with allegations of
statutory violations that remained unanswered and a request
for tolling the limitations period based on the council's
deliberate concealment, the court should not have granted
summary judgment and the Appellate Court should not have

made additional findings based on the following:

"On such a motion the court is not authorized to
decide an issue of fact, but is to determine whether the

PAGE 40

pleadings and record before the court creates an issue

of fact to be tried." Ramsouer yv. Midland Valley R. Co.,
44 F.Supp. 523.

By avoiding these issues and making a finding, the court below

and the Appellate Court avoided the following holding:

"A bargain is illegal when its formation is prohibited

by statute," see; Naseef v. Cord, Inc., 90 N.J.Super.
135, 142, (A.D.1966), affirmed 48 N.J. 317 (1966). °

If it was the Appellate Court's contention that an "as is"
sale means accepting the grant condition and the municipal
concealment of these facts, then consider the case of Redner
v. City of New York, 278 N.Y.S.2d 51, 54, 53 Misc.2d 14,8
which defined "as is" to mean reasonable use, wear, tear and
natural deterioration excepted. That case also reviewed the
findings of other cases that do not require a purchaser, even
from a municipality, to purchase property in such a
condition that he may be involved in a lawsuit to remove an
encroachment, even though he had knowledge of its
existence at the time he bid at the auction, unless he

expressly undertook to purchase subject to the easement or

encroachment. Pryor v. City of Buffalo, 197 N.Y. 123, 90
N.E. 423; Fossume v. Regua, 113 N.E. 330; Clark vy.
Riverhead Savings Bank, 1022 N.Y.S. 2d 808.

The Appellate Court knew that the respondent purposely

concealed the grant condition based on their opinion:

PAGE 41

"he cites no authority for the proposition that "the
Township would have a duty to disclose the condition
to every buyer" in essence, that before the sale a
municipality must affirmatively disclose all facts
which can be disclosed by appropriate searches and
inquiries of government agencies."

N.JLS.A. 40A:12-13 goes beyond disclosure; it prohibits
the sale of lots "restricted pursuant to law", as does the

following Supreme Court holding:

"Property which is held by these corporations upon
conditions or terms in a grant and for a special use,
may not be diverted by the legislature." Worchester vy.

Street Railway Co., 196 U.S. at 551, 1904
63 C.J.S. § 968 a. on Municipal Corporations sale of

land requires:

(5 )_ Good faith and freedom from fraud......(6)
Municipal i 7”

However, the Appellate Court relies on the following clause:
[n]Jo representations of any kind . as to the condition".

The Appellate Court had previously held:

"We hold that an exculpatory clause may expressly
excuse or limit liability for negligent contract
performance, but that such a clause does not operate
to bar a claim of willful and wanton misconduct."

Tessler_ & Sons, Inc, v. Sonitrol Sec, Systems, 203

N.J.Super. 477 (A.D.1985).
During Weintraub v. Krobatsch, 64 N.J. at 455, the

Supreme Court reviewed findings from California cases as it

PAGE 42

icc

applies to fraud in real estate sales, then cited and accepted

the following finding:

"not only on the basis of positive misstatements and
misrepresentations of facts allegedly made by Dolman,

but also the alleged suppression and nondisclosure of

facts known to him, and unknown and unobservable
by plaintiffs. 33 Cal.Rptr. at 667"

This finding separates a positive misrepresentation, which
applies to the Township's presenting the sewer lateral as the
means of servicing the lots, from a suppression or
nondisclosure, by concealing the EPA grant condition. This
distinction between positive misrepresentations and

nondisclosure of a known fact is affirmed in the foilowing:

"(T]he elements necessary to prove fraudulent
concealment on the part of a seller in a real estate
action are the concealment or nondisclosure by the
seller of a material fact" ) Jerse bien r
Corp., 94 N.J. 473, 468 A.2d 150 (1983).

The Appellate and Supreme Courts of N.J. avoid their
own findings on several issues related to fraud by accepting
an exculpatory clause, taking a technical view of it, and by
avoiding previous holdings on fraud. They put a municipal
fraud above the law and condone the concealment of a
material fact that affects purchase. The result of such a
review offends substantive due process.

If it is the Appellate Court's contention that "as is"

meant acceptance of these deficiencies despite a fraud, the

PAGE 43

following cases found that fraud will vitiate "As Is" contract.

Packard-Dallas, Inc. v. Carle, Tex.Civ.App., 163 S.W.2d
735, 737; New England Foundation Co, y,. Elliot A.
Watrous, Inc., 27 N.E. 2d. 756, 759, 306 Mass. 177. The

Appellate Court's finding violates the Fourteenth
Amendment and the following well stated finding, which is

still appropriate today:

"We have said the prohibitions of the Fourteenth
Amendment are addressed to the States. They are,
"No State shall make or enforce a law which shall
abridge the privilege or immunities of citizens of the

United States, . . . nor deny to any person within its
jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws." They
have reference to actions of the political body
denominated a State, by whatever instruments or in
whatever modes that action may be taken, A State acts

by its legislative, its executive, or its judicial
authorities. It can act in no other way. The
constitutional provision, therefore, must mean that no
agency of the State, or of the officers or agents by
whom its powers are exerted, shall deny to any person
within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.
Whoever, by virtue of public position under a State
government, deprives another of property, life, or
liberty, without due process of law, or denies or takes
away the equal protection of laws, violates the

constitutional inhibition; and as he acts in the name
and for the State, and is clothed with the State's
power, his act is that of the State. This must be so, or
the constitutional prohibition has no meaning. Then
the State has clothed one of its agents with power to

annul or to evade it." Ex Parte Virginia, 100 U.S. 339,
(1879). (Emphasis Added)

PAGE 44

ARGUMENT 9
TOWNSHIP ATTORNEY ACTED AS AN

ADVOCATE-WITNESS AND RISKS A
FRAUD UPON THE COURT

Mr. Bell, the attorney for the respondent, violated RPC
3.7 by asserting the following as an advocate-witness in his

statement of facts to Judge Harper:

"The Township of Rockaway was prepared to grant
an endorsement of his request when said restriction
oy pera ry , ay
the Municipal Engineer" (emphasis added).

This statement of personal knowledge meets the judicial

expressions upon the subject in Schwartz v. Wenger, 267
Minn. 40, 43-44, 124, N.W. 2d 489, 492 (Sup. Ct. 1963),

and in Erwin M. Jennings Co. v. DiGenova, 107 Conn. 491,
499, 141 A. 866, 869 (Sup.Ct.Err.1968). The court in the

latter case held: (Opinion # 233, 254/Ethics)

"The great weight of authority in this country holds
that the attorney who acts as counsel and witness, in
behalf of his client, in the same cause on a material
matter, not of a merely formal character, and not in
an emergency, but having knowledge that he would be
required to be a witness in ample time to have secured
other counsel and given up his service in the case,
violates a highly important provision of the Code of
Ethics and a rule of professional conduct, but does not

commit a legal error in so testifying, as_a result of

PAGE 45

Mr. Bell created the impression that the Council was
unaware of the grant condition until he brought this fact to
their attention. He then states the contrary in a_ brief to

Judge Russell: (DB319)

"Mr. Fernandes admits, by his own affidavit, that he
knew of the EPA Grant Condition ( and _the

Township's concealment of same and decision to sell
despite it )."

By admitting that the council deliberately concealed the
Grant Condition, he admits his misstatement and the town's
concealment. Had the court not dismissed these issues, he
and the engineer would have testified to a fact that he
subsequently recants. Mr. Bell's actions meet the following

finding, which resulted in a new trial:

"even if the lawyer has no duty to disclose the whole
truth, he does have a duty not to deceive the trier of
fact, an obligation not to hide the real facts behind a
facade." ri y rior C oles
393 F.Supp. 1061 (1975)

Mr. Bell admits the truth to Judge Russell in order to
make it appear the petitioner's case is beyond the statute of
limitations for the federal claims. However, Judge Russell

didn't accept this contention, based on the following finding:

"But he didn't know, he thought it came on after he
got the property."

Mr. Bell's retort confirms the Council's presale knowledge,

PAGE 46

"That doesn't mean we didn't." (T71)
The case of General Mill Supply Co. v. SCA Services,
Inc., 697 F2d. 704, 716 (1982) found motions to be part of
the trial when reviewing an advocate-witness case:

"Under the Fed.R.Civ.P. the ultimate "trial" is
connected as a seamless web to the ascertainment of
issues at pretrial proceedings, and particularly to the
discovery depositions. . . . . The most acute evils
we would foresee from failure to enforce the canon in
this instance would occur in the pretrial period, the
one in which the most time and money is consumed in
civil cases."

This case also concluded that the court should sua sponte
raise ethical problems involving danger to a just, speedy and
inexpensive remedy . . . but the court did not. Mr. Bell
was required by the N.J. code of ethics to withdraw from the
case . . but he did not. The petitioner, being a pro se
litigant unaware of this ethical responsibility, should be
entitled to a trial in conformance with the findings in Erwin
M. Jennings Co. v. DiGenova, supra.

In view of Mr. Bell's admission that the Town Council
deliberately concealed the grant condition, the Appellate
Court should have disregarded Judge Harper's finding:

"as far as anything that has to do with fraud, he's he's
time barred." (1T30,6-8)

PAGE 47

The engineer's involvement in this admitted deception
puts the township's credibility into serious question which

should have resulted in estoppel, in accordance with:

"Hence, even if there is no substantial compliance
with the notice provisions of the Tort Claims Act, a
public entity will be estopped from asserting this
defense "where the interests of justice, morality and
common fairness dictate that course."" Hill vy.

Middletown Bd. of Ed., 183 N.J. Super. 36 (A.D.1982)
United States v. Pranth, 764 F.2d 548 (1985) also found

the advocate-witness rule to be a fundamental tenet:

"The advocate-witness rule prohibits an attorney from

: both : ntl
Same litigation. This venerable rule is a necessary
corollary to the more fundamental tenet of our

adversarial system that juries are to ground their
decisions on facts of a case and not on the credibility
of advocates. Accordingly, adherence to _ this
time-honored rule is more than just an ethical
obligation of individual counsel; enforcement of the
rule is a matter of institutional concern implicating
the basic foundation of our system of justice."

The following Supreme Court finding recognizes the
inherent risk associated with a prosecutor's assertions of
personal knowledge during a trial. Those risks are not
lessened by a municipal attorney's statements of personal
knowledge to a motions judge, especially when he

subsequently admits those statements were false:

PAGE 48

"Nonetheless, the Supreme Court has admonished
that "improper suggestions, insinuations, and,
especially assertions of personal knowledge are apt to
carry much weight against the accused when they
Should properly carry none." Berger y. United States,
295 U.S. 78, 88, 55 S.Ct. 629, 633, 79 L.Ed. 1314
(1935)

I submit to this Court that the failure to respond or act
to the above conduct is a finding. The Court's failure to
refer the matter for further investigation in accordance with

the findings of Crispin v. Volkswagenwerk, A.G., 96 N.J.

366 (1984) appears to condone the attorney's conduct, which
may lead to further abuses of this nature. An investigation

would have eliminated that impression.

PAGE 49

ARGUMENT. 10
AN ISSUE OF FACT WAS DECIDED AT

THE SUMMARY JUDGMENT HEARING

Judge Harper decided as follows though faced with
allegations of concealment, fraud and violations of statute
versus the attorney's statement that the Town Council was

unaware of the Grant Condition:

"I'm comfortable in finding that even if the complaint
weren't time barred, that there's no substance
whatsoever to the fraud count because the Sale went in

accordance with the resolution and even though he

might have been told and he may say he's been led
into a false sense of security about what he was told,
that doesn't rise to the level of a, of a violation of the
terms of sale. It doesn't in my mind rise to the level of
a, of a, of a fraud."
When asked if the respondent violated N.J.S.A.
40A:12-13, the judge's response shows he was uncertain:

"The Court: I'm saying that the manner in which they
sold it appears to be consistent with law."

Since the resolution states the sale conforms to statute,
how can the judge be certain the sale went according to the
resolution without reviewing the statute? Now that it appears
the attorney's statement was aimed at achieving a dismissal,
it shows the judge's decision was hasty and contravenes the

following on summary judgment.

"On such a motion the court is not authorized to
decide an issue of fact, but is to determine whether the

PAGE 51

pleadings and record before the court creates an issue

of fact to be tried." Ramsouer yv. Midland Valley R. Co.,
44 F.Supp. 523 at 526.

Judge Russell decided that the EPA sewer ban did not
make the title unmarketable. This decision of a material fact

not at issue is not sufficient to dismiss a federal claim:

"This is an as-is sale, marketable title. As far as I can
see from the papers before me, it's a marketable title.

make it an unmarketable title."

Consequently, these decisions violated the following:

"proceed with care in order that this procedure be not
perverted to the trial of disputed questions of fact upon

affidavits.” .Ramsouer v. Midland Valley R. Co, supra.
The Appellate Court has also violated this principle by
affirming the dismissals, then by making further findings
based on the summary judgment record. The summary
judgment proceeding is to determine if an issue of fact exists
for trial, not for the presentation of all the facts as though it
were the trial. Therefore, further findings from that record

deny the petitioner substantive due process.

PAGE 52

ARGUMENT 11
THE COURT DISMISSED STATE LAW

ISSUES AFTER RECOGNIZING A
MATERIAL ISSUE OF FACT EXISTED

The following shows that Judge Harper recognized that a
material issue of fact existed that prevented a decision on the
summary judgment motion.

"You're saying that there's some statement in the
Township engineer's certification that is factually
inaccurate, is that correct?

THE PLAINTIFF: Yes. *

*THE COURT: Okay. What I'm going to suggest
is this, that I, I, I, can't hear them or, and determine
anything today based on that.*" (T20-21)

Despite this finding Judge Harper dismissed the state

law issues, which contravenes the following:

“proceed with care in order that this procedure be not
perverted to the trial of disputed questions of fact upon

affidavits." .Ramsouer v. Midland Valley R. Co, 44

F.Supp. 523 at 526.

PAGE 53

ARGUMENT 12
THE RESPONDENT'S ACTIONS

AMOUNTS TO A TAKING

Rockaway's land use ordinance §54-100 L and the EPA
grant condition represents a taking which offends the 14 th.
Amendment. And by deliberately passing a resolution to
knowingly sell a lot that violates the 14 th. Amendment, the
township violates 42 U.S.C, §1983.

The chain of events leading to the Township's violation
begins with the EPA. They directly impose on
municipalities a policing function which is confiscatory in
nature. They do so not by virtue of any authority over
municipalities, but rather by a contractual condition that
requires the RVRSA and its municipal members to take a
benefit protected by a federal statute. By doing so, the EPA
trespassed limitations in the recipient's ability to contract

and police power, which in turn violates the following:

"The prohibitions of the Fourteenth Amendment are
directed to the States, and they are to a degree
restrictions of State power. It is these which Congress
is empowered to enforce, and to enforce against State
action, however put forth, whether that action be
executive, legislative or judicial. Such enforcement is

no invasion of State Sovereignty. " Ex parte Virginia,

100 U.S. 339 (Oct. 1879)

PAGE 55

When faced with a national policy outlined in Executive

Order 11990, the EPA reacted with an interpretation of a
regulation that allows them to restrict sewer hook-up,
though it appears aimed at the properties of the recipient, not
the public. By interpreting it as giving the recipient authority
over private property, the EPA interferes with state judicial
findings that restrict municipal powers in the area and the

prohibition in the 14 th. Amendment. The EPA's action

disregards the following holding from City of Scotsbluff_v.
Winters Creek Canal Co., 53 N.W.2d 543:

"x * * The general rule at least is that while
property may be regulated to a certain extent, if
regulation goes too far it will be recognized as a
taking. * * * We are in danger of forgetting that a
strong public desire to improve the public condition is
not enough to warrant achieving the desire by a
Shorter cut than the constitutional way of paying jor
the change."

The respondent grasped the federal principle and took it
a step further. They not only deny access to the sewer
system, they also sell these lots, upon reversion for
nonpayment of taxes, by concealing the condition in order to
profit from its sale and continued taxation. They then by
ordinance stop the new owner from developing the lots,
which creates a cycle that profits from the continued resale
of such lots. This exercise of power is contrary to state
judicial holdings and the following holding from Chicago,

PAGE 56

B_& QO. RR. Co, vy. State, 47 Neb. 549, 66 N.W. 624, 630,

41 L.R.A. 481, 53 Am.St.Rep. 557:

"It will not, of course, be contended that the power of
the legislature is in that respect absolute, or that it
may at will impose upon property burdens so
unreasonable as to work a practical confiscation.
There is, as all admit, a limit beyond which it cannot
go, and within which it will be confined by the judicial
power of the state."

The EPA Grant Condition imposes a servitude upon lots
with wetlands for a period of fifty years, and the township
ordinance was legislated in support of that Condition, which
cannot be considered incidental. The EPA also denies a right
protected by a federal statute as a means of achievinga . .
confiscation.

In the final analysis, the municipal land use ordinance
and the underlying EPA Grant Condition meet the following

holding which shows their actions represent a taking:

"Before there can be a taking a servitude must have
been imposed upon the land, that is to say, a
subjection of the land for a more or less definite time
to a use inconsistent with the rights of the owner."

No. Counties Hydro-Electric Co, v. United States, 70
F.Supp. 900, Peabody v. United States, 231 U.S. 530,
34 S.CT. 159, 58 L.Ed. 351.

The municipal land use ordinance prevents construction
by denying hookup to lots known to be in the wetlands.
However, the township continues to profit from taxation of

the lots, thereby meeting the following finding on taking:

PAGE 57

"by reason of inability to meet the requirements of the
zone in which it is situate, is practically unusable, yet
remains subject to the burden of taxation." AMG

Associates v. Tp. of Springfield, 65 N.J. at 112 (1974),

Nectow v. Cambridge, 277 U.S. 183, 48 S.Ct. 447, 72
L.Ed. 842 (1928).

The respondent embeds the restriction among other

conditions to disguise its transfer to the buyer, so it would
appear that the buyer accepted this condition, though this
condition prevents the sale according to statute. Their
knowledge of the condition while attempting to foist it upon
the public is proof of their deliberate efforts to sell a lot so

diminished in rights that it represents a taking:

"h) This sale is made subject to such facts as an
accurate survey may disclose, existing tenancies, rights
of persons in possession, zoning ordinance, easements,
existing conditions, covenants and restrictions, codes
and ordinances of the applicable municipalities,
County of Morris, State of New Jersey, and the United

States. of America."

PAGE 58

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons the petitioner, Nelson A.
Fernandes, respectfully requests that a writ of certiorari be
granted so the judgment of the New Jersey Supreme Court
may be reviewed and reversed.

In view of the state court's expressed displeasure with
these issues and the distinct possibility that a remand is
required, the petitioner asks this Court to address whatever
issues it is empowered to hear. The petitioner fears that the
Appellate Court's position on the statutory violation will
result in a repetition, unless this Court is able to provide

clarification on the federal issues.

Respectfully submitted’

Nelson A. Fernandes - Pro se
9 Fox Run

Denville, New Jersey 07834
(201) 627 - 2138

PAGE 59

FILED MAY 13, 1993
SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY
M-1104 September Term 1992

NELSON FERNANDES.
Plaintiff-Movant,
V.
ROCKAWAY TOWNSHIP TOWN COUNCIL, et al.,

Defendants.

This matter having been duly presented to the
Court, it is ORDERED that the motion for
reconsideration is denied.
WITNESS, the Honorable Robert N. Wilentz, Chief
Justice, at Trenton, 11th day of May, 1993.
STEPHEN TOWNSEND
CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT

certification of

true copy

PAGE 6]

FILED MARCH 17, 1993
SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY
C-682 September Term 1992

36,376
NELSON FERNANDES,
Plaintiff-Petitioner,
V.
ROCKAWAY TOWNSHIP TOWN COUNCIL, et al.,

Defendants-Respondents.

To the Appellate Division, Superior Court:

A petition for certification of the judgment in
A-4311-91 having been submitted to this Court, and the
Court having considered the same;

It is ORDERED that the petition for certification is

denied with costs.

WITNESS, the Honorable Robert N. Wilentz, Chief
Justice, at Trenton, 15th day of March, 1993.

STEPHEN TOWNSEND
CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT

certification of true copy

PAGE 62

FILED JAN. 22, 1993
NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE
APPROVAL OF THE COMMITTEE ON OPINIONS

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
APPELLATE DIVISION
A- 4311-91T2

NELSON FERNANDES,
Plaintiff-Appellent,
V.
Rockaway Township Town Council
AND Township Engineer,
Defendant-Respondants.

Argued December 9, 1992 - Decided Jan. 22, 1993
Before Judges Gaulkin and Stern.

On appeal from the Superior Court of New Jersey,
Law Division, Morris County.

Nelson Fernandes, pro se, argued the cause for
appellant.

Joseph Bell argued the cause for respondent's
(Dorsey & Fisher, attorney) John H. Dorsey on
the brief.

PER CURIAM

Plaintiff appeals from a judgment dismissing his
complaint which sought rescission and damages from
defendants following conveyance by the Township of
Rocakaway of a lot purchased by plaintiff at public auction.
Plaintiff planned to build a residence on the property and on

an adjoining lot which he subsequently purchased. His plans

PAGE 63

were frustrated because of a sewer ban imposed by the
United states Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
Plaintiff claims that defendants’ conduct in selling the lot
and thereafter, in the circumstances when the "Township did
conceal the existence of the EPA Grant Condition," the
engineer "covered up this concealment" and the Township
created "a false impression that the lots could be connected
to the sewer" (even after "[p]ercolation test results .
show[ed] these lots violated his federal constitutional and
civil rights and various provisions of state law.

Particularly given plaintiff's acknowledgment of the
"auction information" indicating that the property was sold
"as is," and acknowledging the "terms and conditions" of the
sale as embodied in the governing resolution in which the

Township expressly made "[n]o representations of any kind .

. . aS to the condition" of the property, and making the sale
disturbing the judgment. R. 2:11-3(e)(1)(A),(E).

In light of those provisions, we see no basis for the
breach of contract claims advanced by the plaintiff. While
plaintiff argues that "(t]he issue before the court is a breach

of contract not a tort claim," and cites cases for the

PAGE 64

proposition "that contract issues are not subject to the Tort

Claims Act,"_he cites no authority for the proposition that
: y ie

to every buyer" in essence, that before the sale a

id blic his ; —— i;
and we are referred to no authority in statute or case law so
nidinn. © laintiff hat NJS

40A:12- om ~
To the extent plaintiff relies on the tort claims because of the
personal injury aspect of the federal claims, see Wilson v.
Garcia, 471 ULS. 261, 105 S.Ct. 1938, 85 L.Ed.2D 254
(1985), no timely notice was given as required by statute.

See N.LS.A, 59:8-8, -9.

Wilson v. Garcia, supra; N.J.S.A. 2A:14-2. Plaintiff does not
contest the applicable period but contends that defendant's

waived the statute of limitations because they failed to raise

PAGE 65

the defense in their pleadings. However, the Supreme Court
has recognized that the statute of limitations is not waived
for failure to plead it as an affirmative defense when it is
later raised, as heres. in defendant's motion for summary
judgment. Fees v. Trow, 105 N.J. 330, 335 (1987);
Rappeport v. Flitcroft, 90 N.J. Super. 578, 579-81 (App.
Div. 1966).

We also conclude that any procedural defects noted by
the plaintiff, even if they constituted error, cannot be said to
have affected the result.

Finally, as plaintiff was not a "prevailing party" he was
not entitled to the award of counsel fees or costs. See 42
U.S.C.A. § 1983, 1988; N.J.S.A. 2A:15-59.1. See also R.
4:42-8, -9 (a) (9); N.J.S.A. 22A:2-5.

The Judgment is affirmed.

PAGE 66

FILED MAY 27, 1992

NELSON FERNANDES, : SUPERIOR CT OF N.J.

Plaintiff, LAW DIV.- MORRIS CNTY
V.
Township of Rockaway, a : DOCK. NO. MRS-L-5845-90
Municipal Corp. of the Civil Action
State of New Jersey : ORDER
Defendant.

THIS MATTER having come before the Court on the
Motion of Plaintiff for reconsideration, and the Court having
considered the submissions of both parties,

[tis on this 27 th. day of March, 1992
ORDERED, that reconsideration is denied for the
reasons set forth in the attached opinion.

Karen D. Russell, J.S.C.

PAGE 67

The are four aspects to plaintiff's most recent motion for
reconsideration; namely, (1) plaintiff seeks to vacate the
July 10, 1991 Order entered by Hon. John J. Harper
dismissing Counts 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 of the
plaintiffs Complaint, (2) plaintiff seeks to vacate the
January 2, 1992 Order entered by this Court dismissing
Counts 2 and 6 of plaintiff's Complaint, (3) plaintiff seeks
leave to file an Amended Complaint, and (4) plaintiff
seeks an Order that the matter be tried by a jury, rather than
non-jury as requested by defendant.

The first issue dealt with an Order entered by Judge
Harper, thus the motion papers were forwarded to his
attention. He declined to take any action and returned the
papers to this Court. A review of the file of the County
Clerk indicates that the July 10, 1991 resulted from motions
argued and decided on the record by Judge Harper on April
5, 1991. A dispute ensued over the form of Order to be
entered. Plaintiff moved for reconsideration, which was
argued and denied on the record by Judge Harper on May
31, 1991. The Orders reflecting the decisions of April 5,
1991 and May 31, 1991 were both signed and filed July, 10,
1991 (attached hereto). In response to correspondence from
the plaintiff, Judge Harper wrote August 2, 1991 to reiterate

that he stood by his decision as set forth on the record. The

PAGE 68

aut lia ites, 56ers

motion by plaintiff argued before this Court reconsideration
the decision of Judge Harper, who was at the time
unavailable due to temporary assignment to Essex County.
This Court had no authority to review the decision of Judge
Harper and thus refused to do so. Reconsideration of that
refusal is denied.

As to the second issue, which was argued before and
decided by this Court, the Ferreira decision is applicable,
and the Court agrees with the arguments earlier
advanced by the defendant Township that the EPA

violation occurred upon sale to plaintiff. Plaintiff Fernandez

herein received marketable title, even if it is not fully
utilizable without installation of an above-ground ISDS,
thus no unconstitutional "taking" occurred. Reconsideration
is denied.

As to the third issue, reconsideration of the denial of
leave to file an amended complaint is denied. The proposed
First Count advances a cause of action which was previously
dismissed by Judge Harper. The proposed Second Count
asserts a cause of action premised on 42 U.S.C.A. Section
1983. As Judge Barry ruled in the November 29, 1992 Order
of the District Court dismissing plaintiff's Amended

Complaint, "plaintiff has failed to adequately state a claim

;

PAGE 69

for a violation of his federal constitutional rights." Plaintiff
fails to plead a cause of action under section 1983.
Moreover, even if plaintiff had stated a claim, from the facts
as stated in the proposed Amended Complaint, al! actions of
which plaintiff complains occurred more than two years
prior to the proposed Amended Complaint. Pursuant to
Wilson v. Garcia, 105 S.Ct. 1938 (1985) for claims under
section 1983, the applicable statute of limitations is the New
Jersey two-year limitations for actions for personal injury.
N.J.S.A. 2A:14-2. Thus, if plaintiff were able to state a
claim under Section 1983, that claim would be barred as
beyond the applicable statute of limitations. Inasmuch as
proposed Counts Three through Eight state claims under the
New Jersey Tort Claims Act or 42 U.S.C.A. Section 1983,
plaintiff may not assert them in an amended Complaint.
These claims are all either previously dismissed by Judge
Harper, barred by the notice provisions of the New Jersey
Tort Claims Act, or beyond the two-year statute of
limitations applicable to Section 1983. In addition, the
proposed Fifth and Sixth Counts fail to state a claim in that
they are vague and conclusory. And lastly, Count Eight does
not state a "taking" claim. As Judge Barry ruled, plaintiff
"has certainly not been deprived of all use of his property,

see, Bello v. Walker, 840 F.2d 1124, 1131 (3rd. Cir. 1988),

PAGE 70

and thus, even if articulately stated, this claim would be
dismissed as well." In light of the foregoing, plaintiff's
application for leave to file a proposed Amended Complaint
was denied.

The fourth issue is moot since the July 10, 1991 Order of
Judge Harper in fact granted plaintiff's request that the

matter proceed by trial by jury.

PAGE 7]

FILED JAN. 3, 1992

Dorsey and Bell, P.O. Box 228
Boonton, N.J. 07005
(201) 334-1900

NELSON FERNANDES, : SUPERIOR CT OF N.J.
Plaintiff, LAW DIV.- MORRIS CNTY
V. : DOCKET NO. MRS-L-5845-90
Rockaway Township Town
Council, and Township : Civil Action
Engineer, ORDER
Defendant.

THIS MATTER having come before the Court for a
hearing on April 5, 1991 on the motion of plaintiff
requesting an Order for Partial Summary Judgment as well
as Cross-Motions filed by the defendant and the matter
having been fully submitted and heard and this matter again
being considered by the Court by a motion filed by the
plaintiff for reconsideration on March 31, 1991; and

THIS MATTER having come before this Court for a
hearing on April 25, 1991. on the motion of defendant
requesting an Order for Dismissal for Counts 2 and 6, the
remaining counts of plaintiffs Complaint and the matter
having been fully submitted and heard;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED on this 2 nd. day of January,
1992 as follows:

PAGE 72

1. The defendant's motion requesting the Court to strike

and dismiss the remaining counts of plaintiff's original
counts to wit: Count 2 and 6 is hereby granted.

Karen D. Russell, J.S.C.

PAGE 73

FILED JULY 10, 1991

NELSON FERNANDES, >: SUPERIOR CT OF N.J.

Plaintiff, LAW DIV.- MORRIS CNTY
V. . &? DOCK NO. MRS-L-5845-90
Township of Rockaway, a
Municipal Corp. of the : Civil Action
State of New Jersey ORDER ON
Defendant. : RECONSIDERATION

- THIS MATTER having come before the Court for a
hearing on April 5, 1991 on the Motion of Plaintiff
requesting an Order for Partial Summary Judgment as well
as Cross-Motions
filed by the defendant and the matter having been fully
submitted and heard; and

THIS MATTER again being reconsidered by the court
on a Motion filed by the Plaintiff for reconsideration on May
11, 1991; and

THE COURT having again considered the papers
submitted as well as arguments of counsel and for good
cause
shown;

It is hereby ordered this 10 th. day of July, 1991 as

follows:

PAGE 74

sivaneninalh, WekiaiiSioute adie

1. The Plaintiff's Motion requesting an Order for Partial
Summary Judgment is hereby denied.

2. The Defendant's Cross-Motion requesting the Court
to strike and dismiss Counts 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11 of
Plaintiff's Complaint is hereby granted.

3. The Plaintiff is permitted to litigate Counts 2 and 6
of his Complaint asserting that his United States and New
Jersey Constitutional Rights have been violated pursuant to
42 U.S.C. Subsection 1983.

4. Discovery in this matter is continuing, however,
the discovery conducted pursuant to the initial Federal Court
Action can be used in the New Jersey Superior Court action.
Videotaped depositions may be conducted as part of the
discovery process.

5. The Plaintiff's request for a trial by jury is hereby

granted.

John J. Harper, J.S.C.

PAGE 75

AMENDMENT V OF THE CONSTITUTION:

"No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or
otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or
indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the
land or naval forces, or in the militia, when in actual service
in the time of War or public danger; nor shall any person be
subject for the same offense to be twice put in jeopardy of
life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal case to
be a witness against himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty,
or property, without due process of law; nor shall private
property be taken for public use, without just

compensation."

AMENDMENT XIV OF THE CONSTITUTION

"Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United
States , and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of
the United States and of the State wherein they reside. No
State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the
privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States: nor
shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty or
property, without due process of law; nor deny to any
person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws."

PAGE 77

U.S.C. 2000D. Prohibition against exclusion from
participation in, denial of benefits of, and discrimination
under Federally assisted programs on grounds of race,
color, or national origin.

No person in the United States shall, on the ground of
race, color or national origin, be excluded from participation
in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to
discrimination under any program or activity receiving

Federal financial assistance.

PAGE 78

U.S.C. 42 § 4331 Congressional declaration of national
environmental policy

"(a) The Congress, recognizing the profound impact of
man's activity on the interactions of all components of the
natural environment, particularly the profound influences of
population growth, high-density urbanization, industrial
expansion, resource exploitation, and new and expanding
technological advances and recognizing further the critical
importance of restoring and maintaining environmental
quality to the overall welfare and development of man,
declares that it is the continuing policy of the Federal
Government, in cooperation with State and local
1 of bli sad
organizations, to use all practicable means and measures,
including financial and technical assistance , in a manner
calculated to foster and promote the general welfare , to
create and maintain conditions under which man and nature
can exist in productive harmony, and fulfill the social,
economic, and other requirements of present and future

generations of Americans."

PAGE 79

40 CFR CH. I (7-1-88)
Subpart F - What Other Federal Requirements Must I
Comply With?

You must comply with all applicable Federal Laws.

(e) Civil Rights Act. You must comply with section 602,
Title VI of the Civil Rights / F 1964, (42 U.S.C. 20004),
and related nondiscrimination laws and Executive Order
11246. These authorities prohibit you from excluding

f ‘icipati
benefits of, or discriminating against them on the basis of

race, color, or national origin under any program or activity
involving Federal financial assistance, sec. 40 CFR Parts 7

and 8 for specific requirements.

PAGE 80

40 CFR CH. I (7-1-88)

$6.302 Wetlands, floodplains, important farmlands, coastal
zones, wild and scenic rivers, fish, and wildlife, and
endangered species.

The following procedures shall apply to EPA
administrative actions in programs to which the pertinent
statute or executive order applies.

(a) Wetlands protection, Executive Order 11990,
Protection of Wetlands, requires Federal agencies
conducting certain activities to avoid, to the extent possible,

the adverse impacts associated with the destruction or loss

of wetlands and to avoid support of new construction in
wetlands if a practical alternative exists. EPA's Statement of

Procedures on Floodplain Management and Wetlands
Protection (dated January 5, 1979, incorporated as Appendix
A hereto) requires EPA programs to determine if proposed

action exists. (emphasis added)

PAGE 81

40 CFR Ch. I (7-1-85 Edition)
§ 35.925-13 Sewage Collection System.

(e) The system would not provide capacity for new
habitations or other establishments to be located on
environmentally sensitive land such as wetlands, floodplains
or prime agricultural lands. Appropriate and effective grant
conditions, (e.g. restricting sewer hookup) should be used
where necessary to protect these resources from new

development.

Executive Order 11990 as signed by Jimmy Carter on
5/24/77, which provides in part, Section 2. (a):

"each agency, to the extent permitted by law, shall avoid
undertaking or providing assistance for new construction

located in wetlands unless the head of the agency finds (1)

ep ey ‘cable al ;
1 (2) that 1 pom ‘cabl

. a lands whicl
from such use. In making this finding the head of the agency

may take into account economic, environmental and other

pertinent factors." (emphasis added)

PAGE 82

eae

(The following grant condition imposed by the EPA,
represents a violation of federal statute and regulation
by both the EPA and the RVRSA, as well as, its member
communities that legislated land use ordinances in

support of this grant condition)

Assistance I.D. No. C340389-04 amendment no. 1

(4.b.) " The grantee agrees that for a period of 50 years
from November 29, 1983, no sewer hookup or other
connection to the sewage treatment facilities included in the
scope of this grant will be allowed or permitted so as to
allow the discharge of wastewater from any building,
facility or other construction on any parcel of land, as
delineated on the maps cited in (a) above, that is within any
wetlands or within the 100 year floodplain, which land
parcel as of November 29, 1983 was undeveloped (i.e., upon

which no building, facility or other construction has been

erected or placed) unless approved in writing by the
Regional Administrator." (emphasis added)

PAGE 83

(4.c.) "This condition is intended to benefit any persons or
private organization or government entity which may have
an interest in the avoidance of any future development in the
designated areas. Any such beneficiary (who may otherwise
have standing to seek enforcement and the right to begin
such action in a court of competent jurisdiction) may seek
to enforce compliance with this condition in the courts of the
State of New Jersey against the Grantee or any nonfederal
person, organization, or entity subject to this condition if
notice of intent to seek such enforcement is first given to the
EPA Regional Administrator, the NJDEP, the Grantee and
affected governmental entities and if none of those so
noticed initiates corrective action within ninety days of such

notice."

63 C.J.S. on Municipal Corporations § 968 a.
—— sa Sy ee

| be} ‘al: (5) Good faith and freed

ay er 6) Municipal i; m

PAGE 84

N.JuS.A. 40A:12-13. Sales of real property.

"Any county or municipality may sell any real property,
capital improvement or personal property, or interests
therein, not needed for public use, as set forth in the
resolution or ordinance authorizing the sale, other than

county or municipal lands, real property otherwise
dedicated or restricted pursuant to law, and, except as

otherwise provided by law, all such sales shall be made by

one of the following methods:" (emphasis added)

N.JuS.A. 404:12-13 (a)
"Such restrictions or conditions shall be related to a
lawful public purpose and encourage and promote fair and

competitive bidding "

PAGE 85

N.JuS.A. 40:48-2

"Any municipality may make, amend, repeal and enforce
such other ordinances, regulations, rules and by-laws not
as it may deem necessary and proper for the good
government, order and protection of persons and property,
and for the preservation of the public health, safety and
welfare of the municipality and its inhabitants, and as may
be necessary to carry into effect the powers and duties
conferred and imposed by this subtitle, or by any law."

(emphasis added)

N.JLS.A. 46:4-6
"A covenant by the grantor in a deed "that he has done

nothing to encumber the said lands", shall have the same

estate or otherwise." (emphasis added)

PAGE 86

N.J.S.A. 54:5-43. If sale set aside: tax refund to

purchaser.

If the assessment itself is valid and the tax, assessment or
other municipal charge, or any part thereof, is justly due, no
sale shall be set aside, except on condition that the amount
due shall be paid to the municipality for the use of the holder
of the certificate of sale by the person applying to set it
aside. If the sale shall be set aside, the municipality shall
refund to the purchaser the price paid by him on the sale,
with lawful interest, upon his signing to the municipality the
certificate of sale and all his interest in the tax assessment or
other charges and in the municipal lien therefor, and the
municipality may readvertise and sell if the municipal lien

remains in force.

PAGE 87

$54-1 00. ROCKAWAY'S LAND USE ORDINANCE

"No land : ren

structure may be erected, razed, moved, extended,

enlarged, altered or used for any purpose unless and
iL all cx f thi lied with:"

§54-100 L.

"Wetlands. The connection of any structure, to the
Rocl Valley Besienal 9 \uthorit

) —— - ends j hibited
unless a waiver is granted by said Authority. For the
purpose of administering this provision wetlands are
delineated on a set of municipal tax maps available for
inspection at the office of the Township Engineer. Any lands
designated as wetlands may be counted as part of a tract
acreage for the purpose of computing the maximum density

permitted in the zone in which it is located."

PAGE 88

|

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1158%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
