# Opposition Brief — Shell Oil Co. v. Nelson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1154%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 510 U.S. 863

## Text

| Supreme Court, U.S.

riLe D

AUG 13 1993
No. 93-64 OFFICE OF THE GLLRK
In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1993

SHELL OIL COMPANY,

Petitioner,
Vv.

EDWARD L. NELSON, et a/.,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Court of Appeal for the State of California
Second Appellate District, Division One

OPPOSITION TO PETITION

**G. Dana Hobart

Hobart & Heeringa

Donald Caffray

4676 Admiralty Way, Suite 801
Marina del Rey, California 90292
(310) 306-0063

Attorneys for Respondents
Charlotte Nelson, et. al.

**Counsel of Record
August 15, 1993

er —— alent wee

BEST AVAILABLE COPY:

MV.

Lorraine Mitchell Legal Briefs
732 E WASHINGTON BOULEVARD

LOS ANGELES CALIFORNIA 9002) -3068
(213) 747-5631 ® FAX (213) 747-5843

CONTENTS REPRODUCED FROM FURNISHED PRETYPED COPY

a

AVAILABLE COPY) =

me BEST

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Respondents respectfully submit that
there are no questions presented for
review in Shell Oil Company’s Petition
for Writ of Certiorari which have not

been fully decided and settled by this
Court’s rulings in Pacific Mutual Life

nsura Co. Vv. slip, 499 U.S. 1, 111

S.Ct. 1032, 113 L.ed.2d 1 (1991) and TxXO

oduction Corp. ‘ ce Resources,

61 U.S.L.W. 4766 (U.S. June 22, 1993).*

* The decision concerning which
petitioner herein seeks the intervention
of this Court is an unpublished opinion
which, under California law, denotes an
opinion that does not incorporate any
new, significant or conflicting legal
principles. (See California Rules of
Court, Rule 976(b)). It is therefore
deemed to have no precedential value and
cannot be cited as precedent for any
issue or subject discussed in the
decision. (California Rules of Court,
Rule 977 (a) )

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The Petitioner, Shell Oil Company,
is a Delaware corporation with its
principal place of business in Houston,
Texas.

The Respondents are Charlotte Louise
Nelson, Sharlee Lou (Nelson) Welsh, and
Mary Jo (Nelson) Settles, as trustees of
the Nelson Trust.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED. .. + s«+s+-e se sei
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ...... ii
INTRODUCTORY STATEMENT ..... . 1

A. THE FACTS ..-.+ ++ «© « e 5

B. THE HISTORY OF THIS
ei ys Re ne a ee ee 413

C. REASONS WHY THE PETITION
SHOULD BE DENIED ee a ae ee 23

I SHELL’S FIRST CONSTITUTIONAL
CLAIM HAS NO MERIT, SINCE
THE TRIAL COURT UTILIZED THE
PRECISE CRITERIA APPROVED IN
HASLIP AND CONFIRMED IN TXO
AND THE STANDARD OF APPELLATE
REVIEW WAS WELL WITHIN THIS
COURT’S GUIDELINES ...... . 23

1. The trial court’s detailed
statement of decision demon-
strates that the court
applied the precise criteria
approved by this Court in
Haslip and ratified in TXO. 24

iii

II

IIl

IV

2.

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

a) Shell’s petition does
not show that the court’s
findings deviated in any
way from the principles of

Haslip and TXO ..... 29

Shell’s claims concerning
the California standard of
review are without merit . 31

SHELL’S SECOND CONSTITUTIONAL
QUESTION IS WITHOUT MERIT AND

IS BASED ON SELF-SERVING
CHARACTERIZATIONS WHICH IN

TURN RELY ON FACTUAL

ALTERATION .. -. © « «© « «© « 39

SHELL’S THIRD POINT IS WITHOUT
MERIT: THIS COURT HAS TWICE HELD
THAT ATTORNEYS’ FEES ARE
CONSTITUTIONALLY PROPER TO
CONSIDER IN ASSESSING PUNITIVE
DAMAGES . . « «© « «© « «© « « « 48

THIS COURT’S RETRANSFER ORDER

IN THE AMERICAN NATIONAL BANK
CASE DOES NOT SUPPORT A

RETRANSFER OF NELSON ... .- 50

CONCLUS I ON ad * * * ad * dl ad ad 5 6

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

,

54 Cal. 3d 105
284 Cal. Rptr. 318
S23 Po. 26 32346 «+ se eee vvwe eo eo BH

(Sth Cir. 1991) 934 Fed.2d 1377... 27

Gourley v. State Farm Mut.

Auto. Ins. Co.,
$014133 (Court of Appeal
Opinion unpublished) .. .. 21, 36, 37

’ : | on

Bank and Trust Co.,

844 S.W. 2d 408 (Ky. 1992) ... 4, 50
51, 52, 53, 54, 55

Hasson v. Ford Motor Co.,

32 Cal.3d 388

185 Cal.Rptr. 654

we ete ay ee |

12 Adv. Cal. App. 4th 330
10 Cal. Rptr. 2d 76 Pe 0 eo wee SOs oF

12 Ady. Cal. App. 4th 244
6 Cal. Rote. 26 333 . « « « « 23, 36, 37

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

CASES
Pacific Mutual Life

499 U.S. 1
111 S.Ct. 1032
543 6.08.38 1 1004). sw ss SS 3
1. 21, 23, 24, 2%. 2
a) oe or a a)
44, 45, 47, 48, 52, 53

TXO Production Corp. v.
Alliance Resources Corp.

P , No. 92-479
61 U.S.L.W. 4766

(U.S. June 22, 1993) .. i, 2-5, 20-24
28-31, 36-38, 47-49, 52, 53

‘

Willis v don,

20 Cal. 3d 629

143 Cal. Rptr. 723

ore wee Fee baere) « « s 2 6 6 eo 0 te OO

Wollersheim v.

Church of Scientology,
10 Adv. Cal. App. 4th 370
© Cisse Bees ae S32 «+ + « «= » B21, 36, 37

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Cal. Civil Code §§ 1695.7é8,
1812.217-218 and 2924h (9g) ....

Cal. Civil Code § 3294 ..... 4&4,

Cal. Penal Code §§ 532 and 182(4)
California Rules of Court

ee ee eers 6 ee et ee eh te hl
mee Beetle Gee eee ee +e ew
eee erro. «se © «6 ee 6 ee

vii

¢

Deena

No. 93-84

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1993

SHELL OIL COMPANY,

Petitioner,
Vv.

EDWARD L. NELSON, ef a/.,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Court of Appeal for the State of California
Second Appellate District, Division One

OPPOSITION TO PETITION

INTRODUCTORY STATEMENT
It is clear that the three so-called
federal constitutional questions Shell
Oil Company ("Shell") purports to raise
were completely resolved by this Court in

its two recent decisions on the

subject.['] TXO Production Corp. vv.
Alliance Resources Corp., _U.S.___, no.
92-479, established the constitutionality
of substantial punitive damages under the
Federal Constitution where (as in TxXO,

and much more so here) the defendant

e To support its claims in light

of these decisions, Shell has resorted to
patent distortions and omissions of
relevant facts supporting the trial
court’s conclusions, including:

"The court cannot overstate its
assessment of Shell’s cold, ruthless plan
to profit off the life savings of an
elderly couple." (Appendix C to Shell’s
petition, p. 33a)

The trial court also found that
"Shell’s conduct is at the outer limits
of intolerable business practice." (Id.,
p. 31a)

pursued a "malicious and fraudulent"
course of conduct, "part of a larger
pattern of fraud, trickery and deceit."
(TXO plurality opinion, p. 17. See also

id., pp. 14-16.)

Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v

Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 111 S.Ct. 1032, 113
L.Ed.2d 1 (1991) confirmed that the due
process clause of the United States
Constitution permits substantial punitive
damages when utilized to “advance the
State’s interest in minimizing fraud"
(111 S.Ct. at 1041) and that a sub-
stantial punitive damage award is
constitutional when it is based on a
defendant’s failure to prevent its agent
from committing fraud. (Id., pp. 1040-
1041) Shell’s conduct at bar is far more
egregious as it not only knew of and

authorized the Nelson fraud, its

instruction manual tutored such fraud as
a standard procedure for doing business.
(See also TXO, concurring opinion of
JUSTICE KENNEDY, pp. 3-4, noting that TXO
was "not a case of negligence, strict

liability or respondeat superior," but a

case of intentional "’fraud, trickery and
deceit’" and "’unsavory and malicious
practices.’")

Shell’s petition brings to mind Yogi
Berra’s celebrated apothegm, "It’s deja
vu all over again." TXO’s corpus has
scarcely cooled, but its message has not
deterred Shell from raising punitive
damage challenges plainly laid to rest by
TXO and Haslip.

Shell’s apparent objective in filing
its petition while the TXO opinion is

still warm is not to secure consideration

by this Court. Rather, Shell urges yet

another round of review by the California
courts. [7] Shell asks for an order
remanding this case "for reconsideration
in light of TXO." (Shell’s petition at
pp. 16, 20, 26) Shell relies on this
Court’s order remanding H.C. Hanson v.

American National Bank and Trust Co., 844

S.W. 2d 408 (Ky. 1992). (Petition, pp.

7, 8, 14, 15, 16) Shell does not mention

. The current unpublished aw
of the Court of Appeal (Nelson III) is
annexed to Shell’s petition at pp. 2a-
24a. In addition, the California Courts
of Appeal have issued two other opinions,
filed May 24, 1989 and October 21, 1991,
referred to in the current opinion as

Nelson _I and Nelson II respectively.
(Nelson III, Shell’s petition, pp. 3a,
7a)

For this Court to have a more
complete picture of the proceedings in
this case, respondents annex the two
earlier opinions hereto as appendices,
pp. 1A-91A of the annexed appendices.

Citations to "Pet. App." refer to
the pertinent pages of Shell’s appendix.
Citations to "Rspts.’ App." refer to the
appendices we have annexed and include

Nelson I and Nelson II.

4

the other cases pending at the time TXO
was decided where this Court denied
certiorari.

As shown below, no justification
whatever exists for further proceedings

in Nelson v. Shell which has’7 been

critically analyzed three times by the
California Courts of Appeal and twice
presented by Shell to the California
Supreme Court. This litigation should
now be laid to rest.
A. THE FACTS

The facts are detailed in the most
recent opinion of the Court of Appeal,
annexed to Shell’s petition. (Pet. App.,

pp. 2a-24a) [*] Briefly stated, these

. Contrary to Shell’s statement
(Petition, p. ii), Edward L. Nelson is
not a party to this proceeding, having
died 14 years ago, in mid-1979. (Opinion
of the Court of Appeal, Pet. App., p.7a.)
The respondents are Charlotte Nelson, the
widow of Edward Nelson, and the Nelsons’

5

lara am

facts establish that a corner lot which
had been owned by members of the Nelson
family since 1942 was scheduled for
condemnation by Caltrans, an agency of
the State of California. (Opinion, Pet.
App., pp. 3a, 5a) Shell had leased the
property for use as a service station
Since 1950. (Id., p. 3a) Shell and
Lewis, its real estate representative,
learned in 1975 of the prospective
condemnation, but the Nelsons (who lived
in Leisure World, in another county) did
not. (Id., pp. 3a-5a) [*)}

Lewis knew that under California law

a lessee with a favorable lease could

two daughters, Sharlee Lou Welsh and Mary
Jo Settles, trustees of the Nelson Trust.

(Nelson I, Rspts.’ App. p. 3A, NM. 2-)

* Shell implies the Nelsons knew of

the prospective condemnation. (Pet., p.3)
This is contrary to the findings (Pet.
App., p.32a) and illustrates Shell’s
revisionist presentation.

6

Claim a share of the condemnation
proceeds which would otherwise go to the
property owner. (Pet. App., pp. 5a-6a)
Although Shell had 10 years remaining on
its lease, Lewis tried and failed in 1976
to extend the lease by 15 additional
years. (Id., p. 4a) Then, in 1978, when
Mr. Nelson was in failing health, Shell
"pressured" Mr. Nelson to give it the
options it wanted. (Respts.’ App., p.
82A) Taking advantage of the circumstance
that the Nelsons owed Shell $5,625, Lewis
told Mr. Nelson he had two choices:
either repay,the debt or agree to three
five-year options to extend Shell’s
current lease to the year 2001, on terms
advantageous to Shell. (Id., pp. 4a, 5a)
At the time, Mr. Nelson, almost 80 years

of age, had been having serious health

problems and in fact died within a year.

(Id., pp. 4a, 7a) [*)

To further motivate Mr. Nelson to
grant Shell the desired options, Lewis
falsely told him that Shell looked
forward to many years of business there,

and had long-range plans for the station.

He also solicitously affirmed to Mr.

Nelson that the monthly rental check

would be comforting to Mrs. Nelson and

offered her financial security should

anything happen to Mr. Nelson. (Opinion,

Pet. App., p. 5a) These representations

were made even though Lewis knew the
subject property was scheduled for
condemnation and Shell had no long-term

plans. (Id., pp. 5a-6a)

* With no support in the record,

Shell represents that this ill, 80-year
old man could be perceived as "relatively
sophisticated." (Pet., p. 10.)

8

Thus, Shell’s factual revision which
asserts that the finding of fraud was
based only on Shell’s concealment of the
impending condemnation (Petition, p. 3)
is materially misleading. The findings
of fraud are based on the express
misrepresentations to Mr. Nelson that
Shell had long term plans for the
property and that he was providing his
wife with long term financial security.
Shell’s real objective was to obtain the
options to drastically reduce the assets
of this elderly couple by placing itself
in position to claim $620,000 of the
$975,000 condemnation proceeds which
otherwise would go to the Nelsons alone.
(Opinion, Pet. App., pp. 7a, 8a)

In making these false represen-

tations, Shell’s real estate represen-

tative (Lewis) acted upon "’the

offensively manipulative advice printed

in Shell’s base lease manual’” (Pet.

App-, p- 7a, quoting from Nelson II.)

"Base Lease Manual” is the title of a

raini nd Banual which Shell’s
real estate representatives were
instructed to follow in their real estate
dealings. (Id., p. 6a) The manual
instructed Shell’s real estate

representatives, including Lewis, in the
use of manipulative tips and techniques
to defraud and mislead property owners in
California and elsewhere. Some instruc-
tions were directed Squarely at cheating
the elderly. For example:

"(W)hen Shell wants to secure a
long term lease from ‘an owner
who is middle-aged or slightly
beyond,’ the representative
should tell the owner that ‘a
long lease gives...security of
income for...old age, -.-f.}*
4 2 {the manual } suggests
reminding an owner that, ‘After
a man dies, his family is

10

always better off if it has a
steady income....It is very
difficult to plan an estate on
a short-term lease. Widows and
children need the protection
afforded by the experience and
ability of 2 successful
business man. That protection
can be extended by an owner
through the use of [aj] long-
term lease.’" (Opinion at p

6a, quoting from Nelson I.)

Lewis’ misrepresentations that the
lease options would afford Mrs. Nelson
financial security were a direct
application of the foregoing technique.

Other examples of the manual’s
teaching of fraudulent techniques
included "suggestions on how to minimize
a lease feature by hurrying along,
joking, or grouping together and
dismissing as unimportant the desired
feature" sought by the property owner.
(Pet. App., p. 6a) Another technique
taught by the manual is that of "placing

the owner in a ‘defensive position’ and

11

in a ‘frustrated position’" when nego-
tiating leases. (Ibid.) Lewis employed
this ploy by his oppressive use of the
Nelsons’ debt to Shell. (Pet. App., p.4a;
Respts.’ App., p- 10A)

In March 1983, five years after
Shell fraudulently obtained the options,
Charlotte Nelson (by then a Widow) was
first advised by Caltrans that the
property was to be condemned for con-
struction of the Century Freeway. In
November 1984 she learned Shell was
Claiming two-thirds of the condemnation
award. According to Shell’s expert, the
value of the three five-year options was
$620,000, based on his opinion that the

fair rental value of the property was

$7,900 per month, almost $7,000 per month

more than the rental provided by the

options. (Opinion, Pet. App., p. 7a)

12

B. THE HISTORY OF THIS LITIGATION

This litigation commenced on June
18, 1985, when Caltrans filed a complaint
in eminent domain against the Nelsons and
Shell. (Pet. App., pp. 3a, 8a) Caltrans
included Shell in the litigation because
Shell continued to assert its claim to
two-thirds of the condemnation award,
based on the _ fraudulently procured
options. (Pet. App., pp. 7a, 8a) The
Nelsons filed a cross-complaint against
Shell seeking rescission of the options
and damages for fraud. (Id., p. 8a)

The case was first tried in 1987.
(Pet. App., p. 8a) The fraud cause of
action was tried to a jury, which
returned special verdicts, finding Shell
had committed fraud. (Pet. App., p. 8a)
The rescission cause of action was tried

to the court which also made a finding of

13

fraud, granted the Nelsons rescission and
assessed $1,900,000 in punitive damages,
less certain minor deductions. (Id.)
The trial court also granted Nelson’s
post-trial motion for a new jury trial on
the issue of damages on their fraud cause
of action. (Id., pp. 8a-9a) Shell
appealed the judgment of rescission and
the judgment on the jury verdict. (Pet.,

p. 4; Pet. App., p. 9a) [°]

6 Shell now relies on the jury’s

verdict as demonstrating that there were
fact-finders who would view its sordid
transaction as less loathsome. (E.g.,
petition at p. 10.) However, the trial
court’s grant of a new trial established
that the jury award was flawed. Although
Shell now embraces that award, Shell
appealed the judgment on the jury
verdict. (Petition, p. 4) The Court of
Appeal in Nelson I determined that the
Nelsons had elected the remedy of
rescission (Rspts.’ App., p. 24A); hence,
the jury’s determination has long ceased
to be of any relevance.

Upon retrial, after the first round
of appeals, Shell waived its right to a
second jury trial. (Rspts.’ App., p. 83A)

14

Shell attacked the punitive damage
awards on several grounds following the
first trial, but it did not claim that
the awards violated the United States or
California Constitutions. (See Opinion
ih Nelson I, Rspts.’ App., pp. 1A-42A,
discussing the issues raised by Shell.)

On May 24, 1989 the California Court
of Appeal filed its first opinion; it
reversed the award of punitive damages on
the rescission cause of action on the
ground that "no evidence of actual
damages had been’ presented in the
rescission trial." (Rspts.’ App., p. 834A)
However, the Court of Appeal affirmed
that part of the trial court’s decision
which found that Shell had committed
fraud and that the Nelsons were entitled

to rescission. (Pet. App., p. 9a)

15

The case returned to the trial
court, which granted respondents’ motion
for a new trial on the issue of damages
on the rescission cause of action. (Id. )

At the second trial the Nelsons
established that they had. sustained
various items of compensatory damages.
(Id.) Additional evidence also estab-

lished that Shell _ had taken no _ steps

whatever to discontinue the use of its

Base Lease Manual during the three years
between trials. (Pet. App., pp. 11la-12a)

The trial court found from this evidence

that during the three year interim "Shell
was continuing to utilize the *‘manipu-
lative techniques advanced in the
manual.’" (Pet. App., p. 12a) The trial
court assessed punitive damages of
$6,295,000, based on its conclusion that

Shell’s continued use of the manual after

16

the first trial and appeal established
the need for a far greater deterrent than
the original $1,900,000 punitive damage
award, which demonstrably had had no
deterrent effect on Shell. (Id.)

Shell again appealed. The Court of
Appeal again reversed portions of the
judgment. The Court held that certain
items of compensatory damages were
improperly awarded and reduced the award
of compensatory damages accordingly.
(Pet. App., pp. 9a-lla, 19a)

The Court also reexamined the
factual basis for the trial court’s award
of punitive damages. The Court held that
the evidence supported the trial court’s
original award of $1,900,000 punitive
damages on the rescission cause of
action, but the facts did not support the

full amount of the trial court’s increase

17

in punitive damages. (Rspts’ App., pp.
80A-87A) The Court reasoned that the
evidence in the second trial was
insufficient to establish that Shell was
continuing to utilize the fraudulent
techniques advanced in the base lease
manual. (Id., pp. 86A-87A)

The Court therefore held that the
trial court abused its discretion in
increasing the punitive damage award to
$6,295,000. (Id.) The Court held that
no further retrials would be required,
directing the trial court to redetermine
the issue of punitive damages consistent
with the views expressed in its opinion.
(Id., ». 90A)

The Court also addressed Shell’s
challenge to the constitutionality of
punitive damages and Shell’s assertion

that "the absence of objective standards

18

deprives it of due process." (Nelson II,
Rspts.’ App., p. 89A) The Court of
Appeal held that this argument had been
considered and rejected by the United
States Supreme Court in Haslip, supra,
and by the California Supreme Court in
Hasson v. Ford Motor Co., 32 Cal.3d 388,
402, note 2, 185 Cal.Rptr. 654, 650 P.2d
1171 (1982) (Rspts.’ App., p. 89A)

Shell petitioned the California
Supreme Court for review in November
1991. The California Supreme Court denied.
review without dissent. (Id., p. 92A)

Shell did not petition the United
States Supreme Court after denial of
review by the California Supreme Court.

After remand, the trial court
reconsidered the evidence as directed by
the Court of Appeal, and then reduced the

compensatory damages to $268,891 and

19

+ Ate elon

reduced the punitive damages to

$4,600,000. (Pet. App., p. 10a) The

trial court issued a detailed Statement

of Decision explaining its rationale for

the punitive damage award. (See Point

CI1, infra; Pet. App., pp. 28a-33a)

Shell appealed to the California
Court of Appeal again, contending, among
other things, that the punitive damage
award violated rights protected by the
United States and California Consti-
tutions. The Court of Appeal rejected
Shell’s contentions and affirmed the
judgment. (See Point CI2, infra.)

Shell petitioned tthe California
Supreme Court in April 1993. (Pet. App.,
Pp. 37a-62a) The petition relied on the
happenstance that the TXO case was
pending before this Court and that the

California Supreme Court had granted

20

review in four cases to address punitive
damages issues raised by Haslip, (supra),
and by this Court’s decision in the then-
impending TXO case. (Pet. App., pp. 42a-
43a) The pending cases relied on by
Shell were Gourley v. State Farm Mut.
Auto. Ins. Co., S014133 (Court of Appeal
Opinion unpublished); MGW, Inc. vv.
Fredericks Dev. Corp., 12 Adv. Cal. App.
4th 244, 6 Cal. Rptr. 2d 333; Wollersheim

v. Church of Scientology, 10 Adv. Cal.
App. 4th 370, 6 Cal. Rptr. 2d 532; and

Hilgedick v. Koehring Fin. Corp., 12 Adv.

Cal. App. 4th 330, 10 Cal. Rptr. 2d

76) (Pet. App., p. 42a)

In its most recent petition to the
California Supreme Court Shell requested
that the Court "hold this case so that it
can be remanded for reconsideration after

decision" in these four cases which Shell

21

incorrectly assumed would "be heard on
the merits." (Pet. App., p. 43a) The
California Supreme Court rejected Shell’s
requests and denied review of Shell’s
petition without dissent on May 26, 1993.
TXO was then decided, (Pet. App., p. 1a)
and soon thereafter the California court
dismissed the four petitions for review
as having been "“improvidently granted."
[7] (California Rules of Court, Rule

29.4(c))

g The Court’s order was issued on

July 15, 1993. (California Supreme Court
minutes, July 15, 1993.)

22

C. REASONS WHY THE PETITION
SHOULD BE DENIED

I

SHELL’S FIRST CONSTITUTIONAL
CLAIM HAS NO MERIT, SINCE THE
TRIAL COURT UTILIZED THE
PRECISE CRITERIA APPROVED IN
HASLIP AND CONFIRMED IN TXO AND
THE STANDARD OF APPELLATE
REVIEW WAS WELL WITHIN THIS
COURT’S GUIDELINES

The basis for Shell’s’' shifting
constitutional claims has been its
expectation that this Court’s’ then-

impending decision in TXO, supra, would

somehow support further protraction of
this litigation. As it developed, how-
ever, there is nothing in TxXO that
supports Shell’s position. Nor does TXO
change, in any manner benefiting Shell,
the law set forth in Haslip; and the
California appellate courts have already
twice rejected Shell’s claims that the

principles of Haslip affect the judgment

23

rendered herein. (Section B, supra.)

1. The trial court’s detailed
statement of decision
demonstrates that the court
applied the precise criteria
approved by this Court in
Haslip and ratified in Txo

Shell’s first claim in its Poixt I
is that California’s punitive damage
system violated procedural due process
"by virtue of its subjective, vague
criteria for assessing punitive damages."
(Shell’s Point I, pet., p. 9)

The vacant nature of this claim is
demonstrated by the fact that the trial
court issued a detailed statement of
decision that set forth and applied
criteria indistinguishable from those
approved by this Court in Haslip.

For example, the first group of
criteria discussed in Haslip is "whether

there is a_- reasonable relationship

24

| — rae

between the punitive damages award and
the harm likely to result from the
defendant’s conduct as well as the harm
that actually has occurred." (111 S.Ct.
at p. 1045, item a)

The trial court found that the "harm
likely to result from the defendant’s
conduct" included: (1) the exposure of
numerous persons to Shell’s fraudulent
"leasing and condemnation practices"
pursuant to "the program outlined" 1.
Shell’s Base Lease Manual (Pet. App., pp.
31la-32a) and, (2) cheating an elderly
couple out of the bulk of the value of
property they had owned since 1942.
(Id., pp. 32a, 33a)

Other criteria discussed in Haslip
refer to "the degree of reprehensibility
of the defendant’s conduct, the duration

of that conduct, the defendant’s aware-

25

we deen) ‘

Metin a

ness, any concealment, ana tre existence
and frequency of similar past conduct."
(Item b at p. 1045)

The trial court’s Statement of
Decision demonstrates that the court
found Shell’s conduct reprehensible in
the extreme, since the court said that it
"cannot overstate" its "assessment of
Shell’s cold, ruthless plan" (Pet. App.,
p. 33a) and that Shell’s conduct "is at
the outer limits of intolerable business
practice." (Id., p. 31a) The Statement
also refers to "the vulnerability of the
victims coupled with their advanced age."
(Id., p. 33a) The court noted that when
Shell obtained the lease options Mr.
Nelson was ill and 80 years of age and

Shell was "fully aware of the Nelson’s

need for retirement security and that the

deal Nelson was induced to accept woulda

26

undermine that security. The conduct

should not be condoned in society."
(Id., p. 33a) (Emphasis added.)

Other Haslip criteria refer to "the
profitability to the defendant of the
wrongful conduct and the desirability of
removing that profit and of having the
defendant also sustain a loss." (111
S.Ct. at p. 1045, item c) The court’s
Statement explicitly discusses’ these
elements. (See Pet. App., p. 33a)

These, and other findings it seems
unnecessary to detail, clearly establish

that the award in this case satisfies the

factors set forth in Haslip. (See also
Section II, infra.)
In Eichenseer v. Reserve Life Ins.

Co. (5th Cir. 1991) 934 Fed.2d 1377,
1385, where the Court of Appeals found

that the Haslip requirements were

27

satisfied, the Court pointed out that the
case was tried by a judge who "must
explain the conditions that require a
particular award of punitive damages...
and must justify the amount of punitive
damages imposed against the defendant."
The TXO decision did not alter these
principles. Rather, this Court reaffirmed
that a substantial award of punitive
damages is warranted where, as the trial
court herein found, the defendant pursued
a "malicious and fraudulent" course of
action, "part of a larger pattern of
fraud, trickery and deceit." (TXO,
plurality opinion, p. 17. See also Id.,

pp. 14-16)

28

a) Shell’s petition does not
show that the court’s
findings deviated in any
way from the principles

of Haslip and TxoO

In contrast to the foregoing which
demonstrates the trial court’s exacting
adherence to the Haslip and Txo
principles, Shell’s petition does not
raise any issue from TXO that would merit
this Court’s intervention. In Point I of
its petition, Shell relies on the argu-
ment that the jury herein arrived at a
different result than the trial court.
(Pet., p. 10) As discussed above, the
trial court found that the jury’s verdict
was tainted and set it aside. Neither
party sought its reinstatement on the
first appeal and on retrial Shell waived
its right to a jury. (Note 6, supra)
Thus, the jury verdict has been detached
from this case since the first opinion of

29

Sac eS Ee Bh ley ip es an ie OP ELI tet Ait Det ahah Sa ie ALO INP CA h P aH

nai ne ets

Dh ha iy es Sa POM B26 eI N ELLE SD iE APIO SOE AE,

ete dn, erect

the Court of Appeal, filed in May 1989.
(Section B, supra, note 6)

Moreover, Shell has not cited any
case to support its implied contention
that in a civil action the United States
Constitution requires that one trier of
fact arrive at the same result as
another. (Petition, pp. 16-20)

Employing linguistic legerdemain to
claim the ratio here is 750-1, Shell
argues that the ratio of punitive to
compensatory damages is disproportionate.
(POt., BP. 11) Independently, however,
TXO makes it clear that the ratio is not
controlling where the conduct is
malicious, fraudulent, and part of the
defendant’s business methods. (TXO,
plurality opinion, pp. 14-17) Of course,
the actual ratio here is 17-1. (Pet.

App., p. 19a)

30

The desultory nature of Shell’s
constitutional challenges is demonstrated
by its assertion that financial condition
ought not be considered (Pet., pp. 11,
20), despite TXO’s reaffirmance of the
Haslip holding that "the financial
position" of the defendant is properly
considered in assessing punitive damages.
(Plurality opinion, p. 19)

2. Shell’s claims concerning the

California standard of review are
without merit

The other claim in Shell’s Point I
is that it was denied due process because
of California’s "deferential" standard of
appellate review of punitive damage
awards. (See Petition, Point I, p. 9)
This claim is ironic. The history of
this case (Section B, supra) demonstrates
that Shell received meticulous appellate
review in three appellate proceedings.

> |

Than eh OR AB la Dadtes Phan BE Gor Me Oe Pics ihe ies.

pe AA BE aN Nee pen NEI MS ota

On Shell’s first appeal, in Nelson
i, the California Court of Appeal
reversed the trial court’s punitive
damage award on the rescission cause of
action. (Nelson I, Rspts’ App., p. 39A)
The Court of Appeal’s rationale was that
Nelson had presented no evidence of
actual damages which, under California
law, are required to support an award of
punitive damages. (Id., pp. 36A-39A)
Thus, in Nelson I the Court shielded
Shell from the punitive damage award on
the rescission cause of action.

On remand, the trial court took
evidence of damages on the rescission
cause of action and awarded compensatory
damages, as well as punitive damages.
(Section B, supra) When Shell appealed,
the California Court of Appeal in Nelson

iI not only struck various items of

32

compensatory damages from the judgment,
but also reversit the punitive damage
award as excessive, based on a factual
redetermination favorable to hell,
stating that the evidence was insuf-
ficient to conclude that Shell was in
fact continuing to utilize the manipu-
lative techniques advanced in the Base
Lease Manual. (Pet. App., 12a)

The Court could have reasonably
concluded that Shell’s continued use of
the techniques set forth in the Base
Lease Manual was inferable from its
complete failure to take any official
action following the first trial to halt
such use. The general use of inferences
and circumstantial evidence is very broad
under California law. (See, e.g., Willis
v. Gordon, 20 Cal. 3d 629, 143 Cal. Rptr.

723, 574 P.2d 794 (1978), evincing

33

inci ia ate ae

California’s liberal use of inferences in
an action for compensatory damages. )
Nelson II illustrates that the Court of
Appeal will take a more restrictive
approach to the use of inferences in
punitive damage cases.

In the present opinion, the Cali-
fornia Court of Appeal defined the
standard of review as follows:

"An award of punitive
damages may be upheld on appeal

only where supported by the

evidence and must be reversed

where it is unsupported and

appears to have been the result
of passion and prejudice."

(Nelson III Opinion, Pet., p.

17a) (Emphasis added.)

Utilizing this standard, the Court
of Appeal scrutinized the trial court’s
findings and held that they supported the
punitive damage award, based upon Cali-

fornia criteria (which are, as detailed

above, substantially the same as those

34

approved by this Court in Haslip).

Shell relies on statements by the
California Supreme Court in Adams _v.
Murakami, 54 Cal. 3d 105, 284 Cal. Rptr.
318, 813 P. 2d 1348, questioning whether
California’s system of appellate review
was consistent with Haslip. (Pet., p.
13) The Court of Appeal addressed that
claim in part III of its opinion (Pet.
App., pp. 22a-24a) and concluded that
"California’s review of punitive damage
awards is not violative of the
constitutional guarantees of due
process." (Id, p. 24a)

The subsequent unanimous denial of
Shell’s petition for review by the
California Supreme Court demonstrates
that Court saw no error in the Court of
Appeal’s conclusions regarding compliance

with Haslip. Had the California Supreme

35

nila REN CTR A He ale AR te puma IEG Oa Dede:

de

Court not agreed, it would have granted
review in the light of Haslip and the
pending TXO, as it did in the four

punitive damage cases cited above

(Section B, supra), Gourley, MGW, inc. ,
W sheim, and Hilgedick.

The California Supreme Court’s
denial of review also confirms that it
saw no potential transgression of the
federal constitution, notwithstanding
that TXO was pending before this Court.
Since this Court did not accept the
defense position in !Txo, it is even
clearer that the California Supreme Court
would not find any potential federal
constitutional issue in Nelson v. Shell.

In its petition to the California
Supreme Court, Shell asserted that "The

first issue raised here is identical to

that which will be decided in these four

36

cases. . . [i.e., Gourley, MGW, Inc.,
Wollersheim, and Hilgedick.]" (Emphasis

added. ) (Pet. App., p. 43a) That
"identical" issue is a virtual mirror
image of Shell’s first "Question
Presented" before this Court. Since the
California Supreme Court has now
dismissed reviews of those four cases
following the TXO decision, there is no
reason at all to remand Nelson for a

review of the "identical" issue already

decided by that Court in conformity with
TXO and Haslip.

Nothing in TXO alters the Haslip
criteria already twice reviewed by the
California courts regarding Nelson v
Shell. TXO rejected the defendant’s plea
for a "heightened scrutiny" review
(plurality opinion at p. 11) and con-

Cluded that a jury award which was upheld

37

at ta eal eee ot

i
‘

:
:
“a
-
=
3

by the trial judge and unanimously
affirmed on appeal "is entitled to a
strong presumption of validity [and] ...
there are persuasive reasons for
suggesting that the presumption should be
irrebuttable che or virtually = so"
assuming that fair procedures were
followed. (Plurality opinion, p. 12)

In TXO this Court also noted that
the West Virginia appellate opinion "was
unanimous and gave careful attention to

the relevant precedents, including our >

decision in Haslip..." (Plurality
opinion, p. 20) Nelson ciearly meets

that test since Haslip was twice
considered by two different California
Courts of Appeal which, independently,
unanimously found no Haslip violation,
and the California Supreme Court twice

denied review of Shell’s_ petitions

38

without dissent. (Pet. App., p. 1a;
Rspts.’ App., p. 92A)

It is respectfully submitted that
Shell’s First Question is captious and
does not merit further attention or delay
by a retransfer to California Courts
which have already resolved all of the
issues arguably involved.

II

SHELL’S SECOND CONSTITUTIONAL

QUESTION IS WITHOUT MERIT AND

Is BASED ON SELF-SERVING

CHARACTERIZATIONS WHICH IN TURN
RELY ON FACTUAL ALTERATION

Shell’s second constitutional propo-
sition is that it was denied "substantive
due process" because the punitive damage
award was "fundamentally unfair."-(Pet.,
Point II, p. 16) Shell asserts that the
increase at the retrial was based on

"essentially the same factual record."

39

PT rare ee Pee gree

(Shell’s Question Presented, No. 20)
While this and every retrial of
necessity involves "essentially" the same
facts as the first trial, Shell slides
past the significant additional evidence
adduced at the retrial: Nelson proved
that the initial award of punitive
damages had not motivated Shell to
rescind or withdraw use of its infamous
Base Lease Manual. Over three years
later, at the September 1990 retrial
(Rspts.’ App., p. 47A), Nelson subpoenaed
each and all documents Shell had created
in the three year interval between trial
number one and trial number two which
evidenced any modification or withdrawal
of the manual, or any part thereof.
(Pet. App., p. 8a) No documents were
produced and Shell’s counsel eventually

stipulated that no such documents

40

existed. (Ibid.)

On appeal Shell argued that the
increased award could not be justified
based on “use of the base lease manual
subsequent to 1987..." (Rspts.’ App., p.
84A) The Court of Appeal found that the
"contention is without merit cee
{because, in California] evidence of the
defendant’s continuing bad acts is
relevant to the issue of malice."
(Rspts.’ App., pp. 84A-85A)

The fact that during the three-year
interim between trials Shell had done
nothing to rescind or modify the vicious,
fraud-inducing Base Lease Manual was
Significant to the trial court: "Some
effort following the first trial to
withdraw or recall the base lease manuals
would be reasonably expected if the first

punitive damage award was seen as

41

anything beyond a mere nuisance." (Pet.

App., p. 30a) After describing a few of
the fraudulent techniques Shell taught
its personnel to employ (Id.), the trial
court continued: "By not rescinding such
methods promptly and clearly Shell has at
a minimum left the continued use of these
manuals up to the individual choice of
field personnel, many of whom were
trained to follow these techniques. It
is obvious that the first assessment of
punitive damages has been insignificant
considering that one [objective] ... is
to deter future conduct of a similar
nature...The sum of $4,600,000...is the
minimal amount that will deter future
conduct and fairly and justly punish

outrageous and fraudulent conduct."

(Id., p. 31a)

42

The essence of Shell’s Point II is
that the United States Constitution
prohibits California from punishing it
for failing to take steps to halt the
fraudulent practices advocated in the
Base Lease Manual. (Pet., pp. 16-20)

Shell’s argument is’ particularly
hollow considering this Court’s holding
in Haslip, supra, that there was no
constitutional impediment to a
substantial award of punitive damages
(see 111 S.Ct. at p. 1037, note 2) based
on defendant’s failure to prevent its
agent from committing a fraud. (See 111
S.Ct. at pp. 1040-1041)

This Court said:

"Alabama’s common-law rule

is that a corporation is liable

for both compensatory and

punitive damages for fraud of

its employee effected within

the scope of his employment.

We cannot say that this does

not rationally advance the

43

State’s interest in minimizing
fraud. Alabama long has
applied this rule in the
insurance context, for it has
determined that an insurer is
more likely to prevent an
agent’s fraud if given
sufficient financial incentive

to do so. [Citation]

"Imposing exemplary
damages on the corporation when
its agent commits intentional
fraud creates a strong incen-
tive for vigilance by those in

. ition t uard substan-

tially against the evil to be
prevented.’ [Citation}]" (111
S.Ct. at p. 1041) (Emphasis
added. )

California law is less expansive
than the Alabama law construed in Haslip
Since it does not permit holding a
corporation responsible in punitive
damages for acts of its agent, absent
proof of authorization, ratification and
the like. (See California Civ. c. Section
3294 (b) ) However, the two States are

equally interested in "minimizing fraud,"

44

precisely the point the trial court made
when it stated, "It is obvious that the
first assessment of punitive damages has
been insignificant considering that one
of the purposes of punitive damages is to
deter future conduct of a= similar
nature." (Pet. App., p. 31a) In Nelson,
unlike Haslip, we are not dealing with
renegade agents overstepping their
authority. Here, Shell created the
fraudulent techniques and urged that they
be followed.

Yet, despite the punitive damage
assessment, despite having its’ foul
instruction manual exposed for all to
see, and despite knowing the distressful
effect its use wrought on an elderly
family, Shell acted with callous indif-
ference to the property owners with whom

it deals, the public, its employees and

45

the judicial system. It did absolutely
nothing to rescind or modify the manual
or otherwise officially act to prevent
the continuance of those business
practices (Pet. App., p. 17a) which were
found by the trial court to be "at the
outer limits of intolerable business
practice." (Pet. App., p. 31a)

The need to send Shell a meaningful
message in light of this action, and its
Subsequent inaction, was apparent to the
trial court:

"Shell gave virtually nothing for

the lease extensions, bore no risk,

and stood to take $600,000 from the

Nelsons. If merely one effort

creates such a gain the enticement

of profitability would be too
tempting to resist. The potential
for enormous profit must be dampened
by meaningful penalty if caught."

(Pet. App., p. 33a)

The California Court of Appeal
agreed that the increase was appropriate

and even necessary to _ finally "get

46

{[Shell’s}) attention" to the need to put
an end to its fraudulent techniques of
doing business in California. (Pet. App.,
pp. 18a-19a) Shell had been using the
techniques of the Base Lease Manual since
1960. (Respts. App., p.30A)

In TXO, this Court reaffirmed that
in calculating punitive damages the trier
of fact could consider the "magnitude of
the potential harm that defendant’s
conduct would have caused to its intended
victim if the wrongful plan had suc-
ceeded, as well as the possible harm to
other victims that might have resulted if
similar future behavior were not
deterred." (Plurality Opinion, pp. 15-16)
(Emphasis in original.)

It is respectfully submitted that
both TXO and Haslip demonstrate that the

California Supreme Court and Appellate

47

Court were correct in finding that

nothing in Shell’s second "Question

Presented" merits further delay in
implementation of the California
judgment.

Iit

SHELL’S THIRD POINT IS WITHOUT
MERIT: THIS COURT HAS TWICE
HELD THAT ATTORNEYS’ FEES ARE
CONSTITUTIONALLY PROPER TO
CONSIDER IN ASSESSING FUNITIVE
DAMAGES

Shell’s effort to create a federal
due process issue out of a "ratio"
argument that assails consideration of
attorney fees (Pet., p. 25) has been
rejected in Haslip and TxXO. In Haslip,
supra, this Court held that one of the
factors that the trier of fact could
properly consider in determining the
amount of punitive damages to award was
"all the costs of litigation." (111 S.Ct.

48

at p. 1045) Similarly, in TXO, supra,
the compensatory damages consisted of the
costs of defending against defendant’s
declaratory judgment action, which is no
different than the situation at bar.

While Shell’s ratio argument depre-
cates the significance of Nelson’s
attorneys’ fee expenditure of $268,000 to
prevent a theft of $650,000 (Pet., p.
22), this Court realistically recognized
that the expense of litigation is as real
a financial loss to a victim of fraud as
any other type of monetary damage.

Shell also fails to mention that the
trial court reviewed the attorney fees
incurred by Nelson and made an express
finding that they were necessary and
reasonably incurred. (See Rspts.’ App.,
p. 69A, note 10 and text) In various

types of cases, such as Nelson,

49

attorneys’ fees are appropriately
considered "as compensatory damages."
(Rspts.’ App., p. 69A) Thus, the Court
of Appeal appropriately depicted the
ratio here to be 17-1. (Pet. App., p.
19a) Shell does not assert that a 17-1
ratio violates due process of law.
IV
THIS COURT’S RETRANSFER ORDER

IN THE AMERICAN NATIONAL BANK

CASE DOES NOT SUPPORT A
RETRANSFER OF NELSON

In a last-ditch effort to create the

appearance of a justiciable issue, Shell

attaches to H.C. Hanson vv, American

National Bank and Trust Co., supra, 844

S.W.2d 408, with limpet-like tenacity.

(See Shell’s petition at pp. 7, 8, 14,

15, 16, and 26) Because this Court
vacated and remanded American National

Bank (61 U.S.L.W. 3669), Shell purports

50

to discern much in common with it.
However, American National Bank provides
no justification to further extend this
litigation marathon. [(*}

Shell asserts that American National
Bank is germane here because, Shell
Claims, this Court’s retransfer order is
addressed to the standard of review.
(Petition, pp. 7-8, 14-15) We have
demonstrated above that the California

standard of review, as applied in Nelson

* Respondent Charlotte Nelson was

born December 3, 1907, and is 85 years of
age. (Declaration of Charlotte Nelson,
dated October 15, 1992, in support of her
Motion for Preference in the California
Court of Appeal.)

Even though Mrs. Nelson’s Motion for
Preference was granted, 16 months have
elapsed since the judgment was entered on
March 31, 1992.

The order which Shelli seeks would
result in yet another round of appellate
litigation. This case would be retrans-
ferred to the California Court of Appeal.
After the decision of that Court, Shell
could again petition the California
Supreme Court and then this Court.

|

by the California appellate courts, fully
complies with Haslip and TxO. (Point CE?
supra) Furthermore, Kentucky has a
"first blush rule" to determine if a
punitive assessment was the product of
passion and prejudice. (American National
Bank, supra, 844 S.W.2d at 416) Cali-
fornia’s standard of review is more
stringent. (Nelson III Opinion, Pet.,
p.17a)

Shell next claims that California’s
criteria for awarding punitive damages
are less specific than the criteria
"which this Court apparently viewed as
potentially insufficient in merican

a ank." (Petition, p. 15) We
have demonstrated above that the trial

court painstakingly applied the criteria

approved by Haslip. (Point CI 1, supra)

52

Shell then states that Kentucky does
not consider a defendant’s wealth.
(Petition, - pp. 15) This Court has,
however, made it clear that considering a
defendant’s wealth does not present a
constitutional issue. (TXO, supra,
plurality opinion at p. 17, note 28;
Haslip, supra, 111 S.Ct. at p. 1045) (%]

Additionally, Shell fails to mention
that American National Bank differs from
the case at bar in several other
significant respects:

The petitioner in American
National Bank claimed that the punitive

damages award was equal to one-half of

' Indeed, consider the financial
havoc which could be wreaked if a defend-
ant’s net worth were not an jndicium of
consideration thus increasing the likeli-
hood that triers of fact would assess
punitive damages grossly disproportionate
to a defendant’s worth (as apparently

happened in American National Bank).
53

its net worth and hence would destroy it.
(American National Bank petition at pp.
21, 25-27.) (See footnote 9, supra.) No

such claim has been made by Shell. (See

Nelson III, Pet. App., p. 18a, note 2.)
Ze American National Bank involves

a judgment following a jury trial where
the bank claimed that the jury was not
instructed properly, thus prejudicing the
bank. Nelson involves a court decision.

Be In the case at bar, there was
no disagreement in the appellate courts.
In American National Bank, on the other
hand, the Kentucky appellate courts did
disagree on the issue of whether the
punitive damage award was excessive, the
Court of Appeals reversing the trial
court and the Supreme Court in turn

reversing the Court of Appeals.

54

4. American National Bank has not

involved the repeated reviews accorded
defendant in the case at bar.

5. American National Bank involves
a national bank, which uniquely presents
federal issues of peeteatinn the
depositors and the like. The case at bar
involves only California’s repeatedly
expressed interest in minimizing
fraudulent business' practices. (See,
e.g., Cal. Penal Code Sections 532 and
182(4), providing for imprisonment for
fraud; Cal. Civil Code sections 1695.7,
1695.8, 1812.217, 1812.218 and 2924h (9g),
providing for imprisonment or punitive
damages for fraud; Cal. Civil Code
Section 3294, providing for punitive

damages for fraud.)

55

CONCLUSION

If Shell had shown similar interest
in protecting the Nelsons’ legal rights
in 1978, it would not now be seeking
relief from this Court.

Shell advocated fraud in its Base
Lease Manual for some 27 years before it
was publicly exposed by Nelson. It is
time that the last chapter of this
malevolent manual is finally written.

Shell’s petition should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,
G. Dana Hobart

Hobart & Heeringa
Donald Caffray

Attorneys for Respondents
Charlotte Nelson, et. al.

56

APPENDICES

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT
DIVISION FOUR
B030269

(Super. Ct. No. C 552457)

SHELL OIL COMPANY,
Cross-Defendant and Appellant,
Vv.

EDWARD L. NELSON, CHARLOTTE LOUISE
NELSON, SHARLEE LOU (NELSON) WELSH
and MARY JO (NELSON) SETTLES,

Cross Complainants and Respondents.

(Filed May 24, 1989}

1A

APPEAL from a judgment of the
Superior Court of Los Angeles County.
Arthur Baldonado, Judge. Affirmed in
part and Reversed in part.

Keltner & Schreiber, Inc., Gregory
C. Horn, and Edwin cC. Schreiber for
Cross-Defendant and Appellant.

Hobart & Herringa, and G. Dana
Hobart, Donald B. Caffray, and Leonard
Sacks for Cross-Complainants and
Respondents.

Cross-defendant/appellant Shell Oil
Company (Shell) appeals from the judg-

ments “ entered upon (1) special jury

1 The record on appeal reveals that
the court erroneously entered two
separate judgments, neither of which
makes reference to or incorporates the
other. As there can only be one
judgment, we have joined these judgments,
creating one which offers two alternative
remedies. As discussed, infra, Nelson
has now abandoned one of these remedies.

2A

verdicts, finding Shell liable for
concealment or suppression of a material
fact and intentional misrepresentation of
a material fact, awarding $154,150
compensatory damages and $235,600
punitive damages and valuing Shell’s
leasehold estate at $235,600; and (2) a
court verdict, rescinding three five-year
options to renew Shell’s lease with
cross-complainants/respondents Edward L.
Nelson, et al. (Nelson)?/ and awarding
$1.9 million punitive damages, less $5625
(rental overpayment by Shell to Nelson)
and $7000 (value of Shell’s leasehold for

the time prior to that in which the

? Cross-complainants and respondents
are Charlotte Louise Nelson, widow of
Edward L. Nelson, who died in June, 1979;
and Sharlee Lou Welsh and Mary Jo
Settles, children of Edward and Charlotte
Nelson. All are trustees of the Nelson
Trust, which owned the property in
question.

3A

option took effect).
UNDERLYING FACTS?/

Since 1942, a member of the Nelson
family has owned the real _ property
located at 5548 West Imperial Highway,
the leasing of which has given rise to
this appeal. Shell first leased this
property from the parents of cross-
complainant Edward Nelson in 1950 for
operation as a Shell service station.
Upon the property passing to Edward
Nelson, Shell entered into a lease with
Edward and Charlotte Nelson on March 16,
1960. The terms of this lease terminated
upon completion of the reconstruction and

modernization of the service station.

3 Consistent with long-established
rules on appeal, these facts are related
in the light most favorable to the

judgment. (Walling v. Kimball (1941) 17
Cal.2d 364, 373.)

4A

SAAN ie TA lactic, ks Dike

A second 15-year lease followed. It
began on May 1, 1961 and ended May 31,
1976, and included a ten year option,
commencing in 1976. Shell paid $1135 in

rent, $328.40 of which was repayment of

the reconstruction loan by Nelson to

Shell and $806.66 of which was actual
rent to Nelson. Were Shell to exercise
the ten-year option, the monthly rent, as
of 1976, would be $910. The lease
included no provision allowing for a rent
adjustment to respond to inflation and,
among other things, included a 90-day
termination clause in Shell’s favor; a
requirement that Nelson pay the property
taxes up to $2400 per year; a requirement
that Nelson pay for fire insurance; and
the aforementioned 10-year option to be

exercised 45 days before expiration of

the lease.

5A

In March, 1975, Dale A. Lewis
(Lewis), a Shell real estate
representative, was contacted by the
California Department of Transportation
‘Caltrans) about construction of highway
-05, now known as the Century Freeway.‘/
Because of its plans to widen Sepulveda
Boulevard and to construct the Century
freeway, Caltrans purchased a parcel of
real property located on Imperial Highway
end Sepulveda, upon which Shell had a
service station. Shell received $11,500
for the fixtures which remained on that

property.

The Century Freeway became an
active Caltrans project in 1958 or 1959.
Construction of the freeway was enjoined
in 1972 by the Federal Court, in the case
of Keith v. Volpe (C.D.Cal. 1972) 352 F.
Supp. 1324, which ordered California to
reconsider the project. This injunction
remained in effect until October, 1979,
wnen it was lifted by a consent decree.

6A

BRS OE RD et lh A eS Heda: De

From December, 1975, through March,
1976, Lewis engaged in an unsuccessful
attempt to negotiate three five-year
options to the Nelson lease, due to
expire on May 31, 1976. At this time,
Lewis offered Nelson a $6000 bonus for
these lease extensions. Nelson rejected
this offer and countered with a proposal
that Shell pay all property taxes and
that the rent for any additional option
years be based on the appraised value of
the property at the time the options were
exercised. Upon Lewis’ recommendation,
Shell abandoned these negotiations for
the time being.

In April, 1976, Shell exercised the
ten-year option to renew the Nelson
lease, and, as provided in the lease, the
monthly rental payments were to be

decreased to $910. The remainder of the

7A

lease terms remained the same.

In June, 1976, Shell failed to
reduce the monthly rent and continued
paying $1135 to Nelson. Shell continued
to overpay Nelson $225 every month for
over two years, resulting in overpayments
totalling $5,625. Lewis was informed
about Shell’s overpayment by telephone on
May 30, 1978 and by follow-up interoffice
memorandum, dated May 31, 1978.

Lewis immediately telephoned Nelson
to explain there had been an error in the
rental payments and advise him of the
overpayment. Nelson stated that it would
be a hardship for him to repay the
$5,625. Lewis met with Nelson at the
Nelson apartment in Leisure World during
the first week of June, 1978. Mr.
Nelson, Mrs. Nelson, and Lewis were the

only parties present during this

8A

Seen BE

Nhat 9 oe tka Codae lite eter te,

Ce Den hind Ch Sea WA Rte

meeting.°/

After Mrs. Nelson greeted Lewis at
the door, they chatted about Mr. Nelson’s
failing health. Mr. Nelson had been to
the emergency room once that week and to
his doctor’s office. Hospital records
revealed that on June 2, 1978, Mr. Nelson
had suffered "dizziness and chest pain."
Mr. Nelson’s physician’s records
indicated that between May 24 and June
22, Mr. Nelson had lost approximately 11
pounds. The week Lewis met with the
Nelsons, Mr. Nelson had _ been having
trouble with his heart and losing weight

rapidly. On June 8, 1978, Mr. Nelson

. According to Lewis, a fourth

person, identified as the Nelson
attorney, was also present; however, this
assertion was not reflected in Lewis’
notes about the meeting.

9A

argument, Nelson informs us that he now
elects the remedy of rescission and,
consequently, will not pursue a new trial
on the issue of damages as to the remedy
which was tried to the jury. That being
the case, Shell’s contentions of error as
to the jury verdicts have become moot.
We focus this opinion on_ Shell’s
assertions of error as to the court’s
action granting recision of the three
five-year options.

Shell contends that the judgment
granting rescission was erroneous because
(1) substantial evidence is lacking to
support the finding of fraud or undue
influence because (a) the Statute of
Limitations bars this remedy, and (b) the
Summary Order found that Mrs. Nelson had
sufficient capacity to execute’ the

agreement; (2) the court allowed

24A

admission of the Base Lease Manual
without the proper foundation having been
laid; (3) the court abused its discretion
when it denied Shell’s motion for
mistrial, based upon Nelson’s reference
to settlement negotiations in
contravention of the court’s order; and
(4) the court’s punitive damages award
was improper because (a) the options were
totally executory at the time of the
taking, consequently, there were no
actual damages suffered by the Nelsons,
(b) even if the court had jurisdiction to
award punitive damages, it cannot award
an amount different from that designated
by the jury, and (c) there was. no
evidence of ratification of the alleged
fraudulent act by an officer, director or

managing agent of Shell.

25A

i. Substantial Evidence.

(a) Statute of Limitations. Shell
argues that the court based ite decision
to rescind on fraud and undue influence.
Citing Code of Civil Procedure section
337, subdivision 3, Shell asserts that a
cause of action for rescission based upon
undue influence is barred by the Statute
of Limitations which it pleaded as an
affirmative defense.'°/ Contending that
the last act of undue influence could

have occurred no later than the signing

of the option agreement (June 8, 1978),

10 Code of Civil Procedure section
337, subdivision 3 sets forth a four-year
limitation period. In pertinent part, it
provides: "(Where an action is brought
to rescind a contract in writing,]} [t]he
time begins to run from the date upon
which the facts that entitle the
aggrieved party to rescind occurred.
Where the ground for rescission is fraud
or mistake, the time does not begin to
run until the discovery by the aggrieved
party of the facts constituting the fraud
or mistake."

26A

Shell avers that Nelson was required to
file his action for rescission by June 8,
1982. Shell continues that even if it
were to accept the fact that Mr. Nelson
was incompetent at the time of the
Signing, he died on June 10, 1979, and
Mrs. Nelson or the remaining family
members were required to file an action
for rescission by June 10, 1983.

This argument fails because Shell
completely ignores the fact that the
court’s decision was not based on undue
influence alone but on fraud as well.
The evidence presented at trial and
summarized above and in the court’s order
(Appendix i BB) Clearly provides’ the
requisite substantial evidence to support
a finding that Shell engaged in fraud

when it pressured the Nelsons to sign the

option agreement. (Crawford v. Southern

27A

Pacific Co. (1935) 3 Cal.2d 427, 429.)

(b) Mrs. Nelson’s competency.
Shell contends that since the Summary
order! found that Mrs. Nelson had
sufficient capacity to execute’ the
option, her signature alone is sufficient
to validate the option even if Mr. Nelson
lacked capacity. This assertion is
meritless because it is irrelevant. As
noted above, the rescission was grounded
on Shell’s fraudulent actions. The
extent of Mrs. Nelson’s capacity is of
little, if any, consequence to the
finding of fraud on the part of Shell.

2. The Base Lease Manual. Shell
asserts that the court allowed admission
of the Base Lease Manual without the
proper foundation having been laid, i.e.
evidence that this manual set forth the

habit or custom of Shell. Shell contends

28A

that without such a showing, this manual
was irrelevant. In addition, Shell
argues that its witnesses denied using
them.

Shell disregards the testimony of
Ted J. Moriarity and Robert S. Drager.
Mr. Moriarity was a Shell employee for 25
years, approximately 14 of which as a
real estate representative. He testified
that he was instructed to follow the
guidelines set forth in the Base Lease
Manual when negotiating service station
leases and that this was one of the
manuals used by real estate
representatives.

Mr. Drager, at the time of trial,
was Shell’s district Real Estate
Representative. His deposition testi-
mony, which was read at trial to impeach

his trial testimony, revealed that he was

29A

provided a copy of the Base Lease Manual
at his training seminar; was told that it
was to be used as a guideline for his
work as a real estate representative;
and, in fact, did use the Base Lease
Manual as a guideline when he _ was
involved in the negotiation of service
station leases.

The Base Lease Manual is relevant to
a number of issues. Since it had been
used in substantially the same form since
1960, it established that many years ago
Shell instituted the methods outlined
therein to secure leases advantageous to
it. The Base Lease Manual instructions
establish Shell’s authorization = and
ratification of the practices promoted in
the Manual.

3. Motion for Mistrial. Shell’s

motion for mistrial was prompted by a

30A

question posed by Nelson’s counsel to Mr.
Drager, Shell’s District Real Repre-
sentative. It followed a series of
questions about $5446 the State had paid
to Shell for Shell’s personal property,
remaining on the Nelson property. The
question was: "Mr. Drager, Shell had
been pressing a claim to the Nelsons by
communication that they [sic] thought
that their [sic] improvements were worth
$44,000. They [sic] ended up settling
for or taking from the State $5400.
(Par.] Did you, at all times know that,
when you were pressing the $44,000
figure, that it wasn’t what you
considered to be the true value of the
property?" Before Mr. Drager could

respond, Shell objected, citing Evidence

31A

Code section 1152.!!/

The court declared a recess and, out
of the presence of the jury, heard argu-
ment about whether Shell’s acceptance of
the $5446 was the result of a negotiated
settlement. Unable to determine whether
the pertinent stipulation was a settle-
ment, the court precluded the testimony
on the ground that it was irrelevant
because the stipulation to accept $5446
occurred in June, 1986, which was eight
years subsequent to the alleged mis-

conduct which was the subject of this

1! In pertinent part, Evidence Code
section 1152 provides: "(a) Evidence that
a person has, in compromise or from
humanitarian motives, furnished or
offered or promised to furnish money or
any other thing, act, or service to
another who has sustained or will sustain
or claims that he or she has sustained or
will sustain loss or damage, as well as
any conduct or statements made _ in
negotiation thereof, is inadmissible to
prove his or her liability for the loss
or damage or any part of it."

32A

trial. When the jury returned, the court
instructed it as_ follows: "You are
instructed to disregard [the following}.
{[Par.] ... there was some mention in Mr.
Drager’s testimony about some $5000 of
various personal property items and an
agreement that was entered into in front
of another judge much earlier in this
case, and to the extent that any of that
sounded like a settlement of any issue in
this case, you’re to disregard it.
(Par.] And we’re not going to go into
that agreement or issue again because
it’s not before us and it is not to
affect your deliberations in this case on
any issue."

Whether or not to grant a motion for
mistrial is within the discretion of the
trial court, and its determination will

not be disturbed on appeal unless the

33A

court has manifestly abused its

discretion. (Richardson v. Employers

Liab. Assur. Corp. (1972) 25 Cal.App.3d

232, 244, disapproved on other grounds in

Gruenberg v. Aetna Ins. Co. (1973) 9

Cal.App.3d 566.)

The gist of Shell’s objection is
that this one question, standing alone,
painted Shell in the image of a greedy
bully. We cannot agree. Without
repeating all the evidence previously
summarized, we find that the jury heard
other substantial evidence which painted
that picture much more effectively. This
other evidence coupled with the court’s
admonition to the jury to disregard
counsel’s query about the stipulation
lead us to conclude that the court did
not abuse its discretion when it denied

Shell’s motion for mistrial.

34A

4. The Punitive Damages. As noted

above, the court awarded Nelson
$1,900,000 (less approximately $12,060)
in punitive damages. Shell asserts that
this award must be reversed because Civil
Code section 3294 precludes an award of
exemplary or punitive damages in a suit
based upon a contract cause of action.!?/
In any event, citing Esparza v. Specht
(1976) 55 Cal.App.3d 1, Shell argues that
since there were no actual damages
awarded or suffered, the punitive damages
award must fall.

Shell’s first theory is unpersuasive

2 In pertinent part, Civil Code
Section 3294 provides: "(a) In an action
for breach of an obligation not arising
from contract, where it is proven by
clear and convincing evidence that the
defendant has been guilty of oppression,
fraud, or malice, the plaintiff, in
addition to the actual damages, may
recover damages for the sake of example
and by way of punishing the defendant."

35A

because it has long been recognized that
an action for rescission based upon a
fraudulent inducement to enter into an
agreement does not arise from oiabrect.
and allowance of exemplary damages is,
therefore, proper. (Mahon v. Berg (1968)
267 Cal.App.2d 588, 589-90.)

Shell’s second theory requires a
more complete discussion. Shell asserts
that Nelson suffered no actual damages
because the options were completely
executory in nature; the time had not
arrived, nor would it ever given the
State condemnation, for Shell to exercise
these options. Nelson counters that for
all practical purposes, Shell exercised
these options when it grounded its claim
for the lion’s share of the condemnation
award upon its right, pursuant to these

fraudulently obtained options, to lease

36A

the Nelson property until 2001. However,
Nelson’s counter argument Sidesteps
Shell’s assertion that Nelson suffered no
actual damages.

We recognize that under certain
circumstances punitive damages may be
awarded without a_e verdict expressly
providing recovery of compensatory
damages. These cases, however, have
involved situations where (1) actual
damages are presumed as a matter of law,
e.g., defamation per se (Clark v. McClurg
(1932) 215 Cal. 279); or (2) the evidence
establishes an actionable wrong committed
by defendant and resulting damages. (See
e.g., Wayte v. Rollins ternationa nc.

(1985) 169 Cal.App.3d 1; Commercial

Cotton Co. v. United j nia ank

(1985) 163 Cal.App.3d 511; Werschkull v.

United California Bank (1978) 85

37A

Cal.App.3d 981; Weiss v. Blumencranc

(1976) 61 Cal.App.3d 536.)¥/ The facts
of the case at the bench do not place it
in either category. Despite the
dissenting opinion’s discussion as to how
the Nelsons would have suffered actual
damages had certain contingencies
occurred, in fact these contingencies did
not materialize, and no actual damages
were suffered.

The options have been rescinded, and
Nelson is now entitled to the full amount
paid by the State for the property in
question. "It is well settled in
California that punitive damages cannot

be awarded unless actual damages are

3 We further note that the latter
category of cases involves a_ special
relationship. In the instant case, a
fact found not to be in substantial
controversy was that Shell did not stand
in any fiduciary relationship to the
Nelsons. (Footnote 9, supra.)

38A

rn

suffered (Mother Cobb’s Chicken T., Inc.

Vv. Fox [1937] 10 Cal.2d 203, 206)."
(Esparza v. Specht, supra, 55 Cal.App.3d
at p. 6.)

Having so determined, we need not
discuss Shell’s remaining arguments
challenging the validity of the punitive
damages award.

DISPOSITION

The judgment of rescission is
affirmed to the extent that rescission
was granted but reversed to the extent
that punitive damages were awarded.

Each party to bear its own costs.

NOT FOR PUBLICATION IN THE OFFICIAL

EPO
GOERTZEN, J.
I concur:

GEORGE, J.

39A

| i alo

McCLOSKY, J., Concurring and Dissenting.

I concur in that part of the opinion
affirming the judgment of rescission but
I dissent from that part of it reversing
the award of punitive damages.

The majority bases its reversal of
the punitive damages award on the
supposed lack of actual damages. It does
correctly point out that "[ijt is well
settled in California that punitive

damages cannot be awarded unless actual

damages are suffered (Mother Cobb’s
Chicken T., Inc. v. Fox [1937] 10 Cal.2d

203, 206)." (Esparza v. Specht, supra,
55 Cal.App.id at p. 6.)

"If actual damages are alleged and
proved, [however,] a separate award of
compensatory damages is not a necessary
foundation for an award of punitive

damages." (6 Witkin, Summary of Cal. Law

40A

(9th ed. 1988) Torts, Sect. 1371, Pp.
837.) In this case at bench, it is true
that no award was made for the actual
damages on which the punitive damages
were based, but it is clear beyond doubt,
as was proven at trial, that the Nelsons
suffered actual damages by Shell’s
Claiming in the condemnation its supposed
right to $620,000 of the condemnation
award because the 1978 extension exacted
from the Nelsons entitled it to two-
thirds of the condemnation award. Had
Shell been successful in that claim this
would have had the effect of lowering the
part of trial award to which the Nelsons
were entitled. In fact, at trial,
Shell’s expert witness testified that the
value of Shell’s leasehold interest was
$620,000, based upon his professional

opinion that the fair rental value of the

41A

Nelsons’ property was $7,900 per month, a
sum almost $7,000 per month higher than
the rent called for by the options. This
low rent 15-year extension, it should be
remembered, was exacted from the Nelsons
on penalty of their having to immediately
repay Shell the $5,625 overpayment if the
Nelsons did not agree to the low rent
extension. This $5,625 was an amount of
money the Nelsons did not have and would
have had to borrow, thus reducing their
net income had they not agreed. This was
yet another actual damage suffered by the
Nelsons at a time ten and one-half years
before the expiration date of the lease

and continuing for some time thereafter.

McCLOSKY, Acting P. J.

42A

eo

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION FOUR
B055153

(Super. Ct. No. C 552457)

EDWARD L. NELSON,
Cross-Complainant and Respondent,
Vv.

SHELL OIL COMPANY,

Cross-Defendant and Appellant.

[Filed October 21, 1991]

43A

APPEAL from a judgment of the
Superior Court of Los Angeles County,
Arthur Baldonado, Judge. Modified and
Affirmed in part. Reversed in part,
Affirmed in part, and Remanded.

Schreiber & Horn, Gregory C. Horn,
Edwin C. Schreiber and Mark Schreiber for
Cross-Defendant and Appellant.

Hobart & Herringa, Kent Heeringa,
Donald B. Caffray and G. Dana Hobart for

Cross-Complainant and Respondent.

44A

Cross-defendants/appellants Shell
Oil Company, etc., et al., (collectively
as Shell) appeal from the judgment
awarding cross-complainants/respondents
Edward L. Nelson, Ote.,; et Gis,
(collectively as the Nelson Trust)
$352,242 in actual damages and $6.295
million in punitive damages.

For the reasons discussed below, we
reverse and remand the judgment in part
and modify and affirm in part.

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On May 24, 1989, we affirmed a
judgment against Shell, which judgment
granted rescission, based upon fraud, of
three five-year options to lease property
Owned by the Nelson Trust. In that
earlier appeal, however, we also reversed
the approximately $1.9 million punitive

damages award, finding that it was not

45A

sustainable as no actual damages, as to
the rescission, had been proven or
awarded.”

The parties returned to superior
court, where, upon motion by the Nelson
Trust, the court granted a new trial on
"the Rescission Cause of Action as to
compensatory damages and punitive
damages." Shell petitioned this court

for a writ of mandate/prohibition, asking

Fr In brief, the evidence supported

the court’s finding that Shell, via its
real estate representatives who acted
upon the offensively manipulative advice
printed in Shell’s base lease manual, had
fraudulently acquired the three five-year
options on the Nelson Trust property,
knowing that Caltrans’ Century Freeway
project would require eminent domain
acquisition of this’. property. This
occurred when the late Edward Nelson was
80 years old and in severe ill health.
When Caltrans filed its eminent domain
action, Shell claimed the lion’s share of
the award, and the Nelson Trust cross-
complained seeking, among other things,
the rescission of the three five-year
options.

46A

us to reverse the new trial order. We
denied the petition "for absence of facts
showing entitlement to extraordinary
relief." Shell then filed a notice of
appeal, challenging the court’s order
granting a new trial. We dismissed the
appeal as being from a nonappealable
order.

The trial commenced on September 25,
1990. The case was tried to Judge
Baldonado, sitting without a jury, both
sides having agreed that the retrial
applied only to the equitable "side of
the case." Before the taking of evidence,
the parties argued several motions.
Shell moved to dismiss, asserting that
our earlier opinion was dispositive of
all the issues. The court denied Shell’s
motion. The Nelson Trust moved to amend

its cross-complaint to add a cause of

47A

action for slander of title/quiet title.
The Nelson Trust also movea the court to
take judicial notice of the transcript of
the original trial. Shell objected to
both motions. The court reserved ruling
on the Nelson Trust’s motions, in part,
to allow Shell time to file written
opposition to the motion to amend.

On this appeal, Shell contends that
the trial court erred in awarding general
and punitive damages to the Nelson Trust
at the conclusion of the new trial.

The Nelson Trust Case.’/

Robert Drager, current Shell real
estate manager and Shell real estate
representative during the previous trial,

was called as an adverse witness. (Evid.

2 We set forth the facts with more
particularity than usual to facilitate
discussion of Shell’s assertion that
there is no admissible evidence to
support the damage awards at issue.

48A

Code, Sect. 776.) He testified that he
had not prepared nor did he know of any
document prepared by Shell which modified
or discussed the base lease manual since
1987.°/ On cross-examination, Mr. Drager
stated that he had not seen a base lease
manual since 1987; his duties included
training younger people in the real
estate department and that he had not
directed any trainee to the base lease
manual; as far as he knew, no copies of
the base lease manual were available in
the Shell real estate office.

Keith Settles, spouse of Nelson
Trust trustee Mary Jo Nelson Settles,
testified that he acted as an "unpaid

informal advisor" to the Nelson Trust and

. Shell objected to this line of
questioning, arguing that it was irrele-
vant because conduct subsequent to the
previous trial had nothing to do with the
rescission of the lease extensions.

49A

had participated in the Nelson Trust
income tax return preparation since 1987.
He keeps the records on the Nelson Trust
real estate transactions, prepares
mortgage payments and the homeowners’
association checks for his’ wife’s
signature and makes rent deposits. In
December 1986, when $345,000 of the
eminent domain funds were released to the
Nelson Trust, he was involved _§ in
investment strategy decisions made by the
Nelson Trust. At that time, the Nelson
Trust purchased three condominium units
and invested about $242,000 in a
California tax-free municipal bond
account (the Nuveen account). In May
1990, when the Nelson Trust received an
additional $169,688 from the _ state,
$165,000 was invested in the Nuveen

account and about $4,000 was deposited in

50A

the checking account for the condominium
properties. He opined that had the
$624,553 (hereinafter referred to as
$624,000), released by the state in
November of 1986 and placed in a blocked
account, ‘/ been received by the Nelson
Trust, it would have been used to
purchase more real property and to invest
in tax-free municipal bonds or money
market funds in order to preclude greater
income tax liability. He stated that the
condominium properties were purchased
because income generated by these
properties was less than their expenses
plus depreciation, resulting in no tax

liability.

“ By stipulation of the parties,
the state released $624,553.78, repre-
senting the condemnation proceeds in
dispute, to the Nelson Trust and Shell
jointly to be deposited in an interest-
bearing account to be selected by the
Nelson Trust and Shell.

51A

On cross-examination, Mr. Settles
testified that he had never been a
trustee of the Nelson Trust; the Nelson
Trust did not pay federal or state taxes
on income generated by the Nuveen
account; without considering property
taxes, maintenance’ costs, and other
expenses, the condominium units’ negative
cash flow totalled about $500 per month;
and although his memory was "hazy," he
believed the Nelson Trust trustees had
consented to the $624,000 being placed in
the blocked account.

Mary Jo Settles testified that she
was a trustee of the Nelson Trust; Keith
Settles’ testimony about his advisory
role to the Nelson Trust was correct; and
the investments Keith Settles described

were accurate.

52A

Darlene Huber has been ae tax
preparer since 1971 and prepared the tax
returns for the Nelson Trust. She is
very familiar with the Nelson Trust’s
investments in real estate and tax-free
bonds; the Nelson Trust paid no taxes in
1987, 1988, and 1989 because the income
was offset either by depreciation or
negative cash flow. She opined that had
the Nelson Trust received $624,000 in
1986 for investment in 1987, the same
investment strategy would have been
followed, and the Nelson Trust would have
incurred no tax liability for 1987, 1988,
1989, and the first quarter of 1990.°/
On cross-examination, Ms. Huber testified
that her zero-tax-liability projection

depended upon the type of real property

* Shell’s objection to this opinion
as speculation was overruled.

53A

acquired, how much was paid for it, and
the amount of rents it generated. She
admitted she did not know what the Nelson
Trust would have bought or what rents it
would have received because it was "all
speculation." Ms. Huber further testified
that if the Nelson Trust condominium
units were sold at a profit, capital
gains taxes would be owed; the money
placed in the Nelson Nuveen account could
be deposited and withdrawn at will; she
knew of no reason why the $624,000 placed
in the blocked account was not invested
in the Nuveen account. On redirect, Ms.
Huber reiterated her opinion that had the
Nelson Trust received $624,000 at the end
of 1986 and invested it 50/50 in
condominiums (with the same negative cash
flow as the other Nelson Trust

condominiums) and in the Nuveen account,

54A

it would have had no tax liability for
1987, 1988, 1989, and the first quarter
of 1990.°/

Lastly, G. Dana Hobart, counsel for
the Nelson Trust, testified that the
Nelson Trust had paid a combined total of
$281,208 in attorney fees to his firm for
defense in the condemnation action and
for prosecution of the fraud/rescission
suit. He also testified that the Nelson
Trust had paid $61,341 #1=“iin costs,
excluding costs of the previous appeal.’/

Mr. Hobart further testified that $4,050

ai Shell’s objection to this
question as calling for speculation was
overruled.

"4 Shell objected to introduction
of this evidence, asserting that attorney
fees were not recoverable in an action
based on contract and that costs were a
matter subject to a post-trial
proceeding, not part of damages. This
objection was overruled without prejudice
to renewing.

55A

in attorney fees was paid to an attorney
specializing in condemnation.

As to the interest earned by the
blocked account, Mr. Hobart testified
that $400,000 had been invested in
treasury bills and $224,000 in a short-
term certificate of deposit, and $20,869
interest had been earned. He asserted
that the Nelson Trust suffered a $6,210
loss in earned interest, which
represented the difference between the
interest actually earned and the "state
mandated 7 percent rate of interest under
the California Constitution. "*/

Asserting that had the $624,000 in
the blocked account been available to the
Nelson Trust and invested so as to

preclude tax liability, Mr. Hobart

* Upon objection by Shell, the court

labeled this testimony argument.

56A

testified that for 1990, 1989, and 1988,
the Nelson Trust suffered a loss totaling
$9,132.42 in federal income taxes, $1,054
in state income taxes, and $175 in tax
preparation fees.

Mr. Hobart offered into evidence
Shell’s 1989 annual statement; the
October 10, 1986, court minute order
ordering release of approximately
$624,000 by the state; and a copy of the
lease between Shell and the Nelson Trust
recorded on June 22, 1978. He stated
that his firm had expended in excess of
2,500 hours on this case and had received
partial payment pursuant to their
contingent fee agreement.

As to the investment of the blocked
account funds, Mr. Hobart testified that
$400,000 was invested in a treasury bill

account with Merrill Lynch, and $224,000

57A

was placed in a certificate of deposit
account with Los Angeles’ Bank; the
account was under the joint control of
the two firms representing Shell and the
Nelson Trust. He testified that the
agreement allowing dispersal of the
$624,000 was “coerced and was tantamount
to an imposed stipulation" because
without it, the state would have held the
money until resolution of the litigation
between the Nelson Trust and Shell. He
opined that if the Nelson Trust had been
able to place these funds in a long-term
municipal bond account or a long-term
investment, the interest would have been
higher than that earned.

On cross-examination, Mr. Hobart
testified that he selected the
institutions in which the money was

deposited; he never asked anyone at

58A

Shell’s attorney’s office if the funds
could be placed in a tax-free municipal
fund; the motivation for agreeing to the
release stipulation was to have the funds
accessible; in early 1986, the Nelson
Trust had applied to withdraw the balance
of the condemnation proceeds, and Shell
and the state objected; consequently, the
only way to get any part of the $624,000
was to accept the stipulation.
se.

Gregory Horn, counsel for Shell,
testified that around November 1986, he
entered into an agreement with Mr. Hobart
regarding the use of the _ soon-to-be-
released $624,000 condemnation proceeds;
he told Mr. Hobart the funds could be
placed in accounts which Mr. Hobart
"deemed fit" and that he only wanted to

be kept informed and have the right to

59A

Sign on the accounts; he had 0no
recollection of discussing investment of
the funds with Mr. Hobart prior to the
funds’ placement in the two accounts; he
received copies of letters indicating
where the money had been deposited after
the fact of the deposit and never
objected to any investment decision.

On cross-examination, Mr. Horn
testified that when he learned that
$400,000 had been placed in a three-month
treasury bill account, he did not
consider telephoning Mr. Hobart’ to
request that the funds be placed in a
higher interest-bearing account’ upon
termination of the three months; he had
"ultimate faith" in Mr. Hobart’s ability
to choose the financial institution.

The Court’s Rulings.

On October 5, 1990, the parties

60A

returned to court to argue their
respective positions on the reserved
motions. The reserved motions included
Shell’s motion to exclude evidence of
acts subsequent to the securing of the
lease extensions; the Nelson Trust’s
request for judicial notice of certain
testimony in the prior trial, the trial
court’s earlier opinion, and the court of
appeal opinion; the Nelson Trust’s motion
to amend the cross-complaint; Shell’s
motion to strike all exhibits; and
Shell’s motion for a directed verdict.
The last motion was summarily denied.
After extensive argument, the court took
the remaining matters under submission.
On October 11, 1990, the court filed
its statement of decision, a copy of
which is attached to this opinion as an

appendix.

61A

Shell’s subsequent motion for new
trial was denied.

On October 26, 1990, judgment was
entered. This timely appeal followed.

DISCUSSION

Shell asserts that the court erred
when it granted a new trial on the issue
of damages; when it awarded actual
damages; when it granted the Nelson
Trust’s motion to take judicial notice;
and when it granted the Nelson Trust’s
motion to amend its cross-complaint.
Shell also challenges the punitive damage
award. We shall address each contention
of error in the order raised.

(1) The New Trial. As noted above,
when we affirmed the earlier judgment of
rescission we "reversed to the extent
that punitive damages were awarded."

Each party seized upon this language to

62A

argue its respective position.
Generally, an unqualified reversal
without directions remands the case for
further trial. (Stromer v. Browning
(1968) 268 Cal.App.2d 513, 518-519.)
"The fact that the rule ... is a general
rule implies that is has limitations.
One limitation is that a case is to be
set at large for retrial only when that
is the intent of the appellate court.
Judgment reversed at the end of an
opinion is, of course, strong indication
of such intent." (McCoy v. Hearst Corp.
(1991) 227 Cal.App.3d 1657, 1662, quoting
Stromer, supra, internal quotation marks
omitted. ) In our earlier opinion, we
ordered that the judgment was "reversed
to the extent that punitive damages were
awarded." Of course, only we are in a

position to state unequivocally what we

63A

intended by that language. We do so now.
We intended to authorize a new trial on
the issue of damages. Given the history
of this case and the fact that the jury
hearing the legal cause of action found
and awarded actual damages, we concluded
that equitable considerations mandated
that the Nelson Trust be given the
opportunity to present evidence of
compensatory damages related to the
rescission cause of action. The general
rule calling for a retrial applies.
(Erlin v. iona ire Ins. Co.
(1936) 7 Cal.2d 547.)

In Erlin, supra, the Supreme Court
noted that in its first opinion (Erlin v.

National Union Fire Ins. Co. (1933) 217

Cal. 374), it had held that "there [was]
no evidence in the record sufficient to

support" plaintiff’s allegations, and

64A

Ee

that therefore, "on the merits, the
plaintiff [was] not entitled to recover."

(Erlin v. National Union Fire Ins. Co.,

supra, ai7.60 Gall. at p. 377.) In
authorizing a retrial, the Supreme Court
explained, in Erlin II: "The statement
by this court in its opinion upon the
former appeal that ’on the merits the
plaintiff is not entitled to recover’
could only refer to evidence then before
the court. The reversal of the judgment
was unqualified, that is to say, without
direction to the trial court. Such a
reversal remands the case for a new trial
and places the parties in the same

position as if the case had never been
tried. (Citations.]" (Erlin v. National
Union Fire Ins. Co., supra, 7 Cal.2d at

pp. 548-549.)

65A

This case is indistinguishable from
the situation presented in Erlin II. We
intended to authorize a new trial on the
issue of damages. Therefore, the trial
court did not err when it granted the new

trial as to compensatory and punitive

damages.
(2) a mages. Shell
challenges either the legal or

evidentiary sufficiency of each of the
items of compensatory damages awarded.
There is merit in some, but not all, of
Shell’s assertions.

Preliminarily, we note that when a
contract (hare, a lease extension) is
rescinded because of fraud, the defrauded
party is entitled not only to the
consideration with which he or she has

parted, but also may be reimbursed for

"any other special damage to which he [or

66A

she) has been subjected" by the other’s
fraud. (Runyan v. Pacific Air Industries,
inc. (1970) 2 Cal.3d 304, 315, emphasis
in original.) The fundamental principle
underlying full compensatory awards in
rescission suits is that "’in such
actions the court should do complete
equity between the parties’ and to that
end ‘may grant any monetary relief
necessary’ to do so. [(Citation.}] It is
the purpose of rescission ‘to restore
both parties to their former position as
far as possible.’ (Citations.])" (Id.,
at p. 316.)

a. d ees. In an action
for rescission based upon fraud, a
plaintiff is entitled, among. other
things, to compensation for consequential
damages, including attorney’s_ fees,

(Kass v. Weber (1968) 261 Cal.App.2d 417,

67A

423.) Clearly, were it not for Shell’s
fraudulent acquisition of the lease
extensions and its’~ related action
claiming a large percentage of the
eminent domain proceeds, the Nelson Trust
would not have been required to defend
against the Shell claim and would not
have incurred the related attorney’s
fees.

In addition, as found by the court,
some of the attorney’s fees paid by the
Nelson Trust were incurred because it was
required to litigate with the State to
ensure that the State would not release
funds to Shell. The court heard evidence
and took judicial notice of court
documents which indicated that Shell had
petitioned the State to release $479,000

of the $624,000 eminent domain funds

68A

remaining to be disbursed.’/ The court
rightly concluded that but for Shell’s
fraud, the Nelson Trust’s litigation with
the State would have ended on October 10,
1986. (Appendix, p. 6.) Under the "tort
of another" theory, the Nelson Trust was
entitled to recover these attorney’s fees
as compensatory damages.!°/ (Glass v.
Gulf Oi] Corp. (1970) 12 Cal.App.3d 412,
437-438.)

b. Costs. The court awarded
$60,000 in costs of litigation as item of
damages, finding this expenditure was
necessary and reasonable. (Appendix, p.

7.) Shell correctly contends inclusion

, This occurred prior to the
stipulation between the parties which
allowed for the dispersal of $624,000 to
both the Nelson Trust and Shell.

™ The court ruled that this
assessment of reasonable attorney fees
did not allow any additional contingent
fee factor. (Appendix, p. 7.)

69A

of these costs in a compensatory damages
award is erroneous.
The cases cited by respondent, to

wit, Prentice v. Nort er. Tit uar.

Corp. (1963) 59 Cal.2d 618, 620, Kass v.
Weber, supra, 261 Cal.App. 2d at page 423
and Appel v. Burman (1984) 159 Cal.App.3d
1209, 1216, speak to the recoverability
of attorney’s fees as an item of damages;
they do not provide that costs are
Similarly recoverable.

As there was no fiduciary relation-
ship between the Nelson Trust’ and
Shell,'/ Civil Code section 3343 sets
forth the damages recoverable in this
action. (Brown v. Critchfield (1980) 100
Cal.App.3d 858, 871.) This section does

not include costs of iitigation as part

1! This fact was found to be without
substantial controversy prior to the
initial trial in this matter.

7O0OA

of recoverable damages.

c. Loss of Use. The court awarded
the Nelson Trust the difference between
the interest paid on the funds in the
blocked account and interest at seven
percent, citing California Constitution,
article 20, section 22. (Appendix, p.
18.) This article and section of our
Constitution, however, deal with liquor
control. The cases cited to the court
below and to us quote language in the
California Constitution, since 1976,
found at article 15, section 1.'/ These
cases continue their viability and relate

now to article 15, section 1.

- In pertinent part, article 15,
section 1 of the California Constitution
provides: "The rate of interest upon the
loan or forbearance of any money, goods,
or things in action, or on accounts after
demand, shall be 7 percent per annum...."

71A

The court properly awarded the
Nelson Trust the difference between the
interest paid on the $624,000 in the
blocked account and seven percent.
(McConnell v. acifi u j Ss.
Co. (1962) 205 Cal.App.2d 469, 481; Civ.
Code, Sect. 3343, subd. (a) (2).)

Shell objects, arguing that the
Nelson Trust should be estopped from
asserting it suffered damages when the
funds were placed in the blocked account
because it voluntarily agreed to the
stipulation releasing these funds. In
its Statement of Decision, the court
specifically found that the Nelson
Trust’s claim for these damages was not
inconsistent with its entering into the
stipulation. Whether the Nelson Trust
voluntarily entered into the stipulation

is a question of fact within the purview

72A

of the trier of fact. The evidence
presented, summarized supra, supports the
court’s conclusion that the Nelson Trust
was required to enter into the
stipulation to acquire access to the
funds and to remove the State as a party
to the litigation, as well as the
inferred finding that the Nelson Trust
did not voluntarily enter into the
Stipulation. (Appendix, p. 6-7.)

da. income Taxes and Penalties.

The court awarded a total of $10,060 in
income taxes paid by the blocked account,
a $126 tax penalty, and a $175 tax
preparation § fee. (Appendix, p. 9-10.)
Shell asserts that the amount
representing the income taxes paid and
the penalty assessment was awarded in

error. We agree.

73A

The pertinent evidence adduced at
trial was offered by Ms. Huber, the
income tax preparer for the Nelson Trust,
and Mr. Settles, the unofficial adviser
to the Nelson Trust. Ms. Huber testified
that in her opinion the Nelson Trust
would not have paid any taxes during
1987, 1988, 1989, and the first quarter
of 1990 if the $624,000 had been released
to it and not placed in ae blocked
account. This opinion was based on
speculation. Evidence that is purely
speculative in nature is insufficient to
support an award of damages.

Mr. Settles’ opinion regarding the
type of investments that would have been
made by the Nelson Trust was equally
speculative in nature.

As the evidence presented by Ms.

Huber and Mr. Settles was based on

74A

|

speculation, it is insufficient to
Support the award of $10,186 for income
taxes paid and the tax penalty.
(Frustuck v. City of Fairfax (1963) 212
Cal.App.2d 345, 367-368.)

(3) udicial tice. The Nelson
Trust requested that the court take
judicial notice of certain documents and
testimony admitted in the prior fraud and
rescission trial. Shell objects to the
granting of the Nelson Trust’s request to
take judicial notice because the items
judicially noticed are hearsay.

Certainly, no hearsay exception was
available to allow the introduction of
transcripts of prior testimony. Nor
could the trial court take "judicial
notice" of such testimony. Without the
consent of both parties, the trial court

cannot, on a retrial base its

75A

determinations on testimony introduced at
an earlier proceeding. (Hall v. Superior
Court (1955) 45 Cal.2d 377, 381; Tulare
Dist. v. Lindsay-Strathmore Dist. (1935)
3 Cal.2d 489, 579.)

However, any error in taking
"judicial notice" of prior testimony was
harmless. Both the jury and the trial

court had expressly found that Shell was

guilty of fraudulent conduct, and both
had awarded punitive damages to the
Nelson Trust. Although punitive damages
were reversed on appeal, that reversal
was based solely on the lack of evidence
of general damages to support the award.
The underlying finding of - Shell’s
despicability was manifest in the record.
The fact of fraud is res judicata, and
there was no need to introduce evidence

of it at the second trial.

76A

As to the five documents relating to
the parties’ respective applications for
withdrawal of the disputed eminent domain
funds, judicial notice of these documents
to support the fact that these
applications had been made was proper.
(Evid. Code, §§ 452, subd. (d) and 454.)

Those findings of fact, the res
judicata effect of the first appellate
decision and the evidence properly
admitted at the second trial, Support the
award of general damages.

(4) Quiet Title Amendment. At the
beginning of the trial, the Nelson Trust
moved to amend its second amended cross-
complaint to conform to proof to include
an action to quiet title. After taking
the matter under submission, the court
ultimately granted the motion, finding

that Shell had had ample notice and that

77A

all the issues related to rescission,
cloud on title and quiet title were fully
litigated in the first trial. (Appendix,
p. 3.) Shell avers that the court abused
its discretion, because the Nelson Trust
presented no excuse for making a motion
to amend after five years and an entire
trial had taken place. -:

We need not decide whether the court
abused its discretion when it permitted
this amendment, because any prejudice
suffered by Shell was harmless. The
primary reason Shell objects to the
amendment is that it believes the only
ground upon which to sustain inclusion of
attorney fees in compensatory damages is
through a quiet title action. As we have
determined that the attorney’s fees award

was proper absent the quiet title action,

any error committed was harmless.

78A

(5) Punitive Damages. Lastly, ona

variety of grounds Shell challenges the
propriety of the court’s award of
punitive damages. Given our earlier
conclusions, we need only address the
following assertions by Shell: that the
court was bound by the amount of the
jury’s award of punitive damages
($235,000) and that the increase to $1.95
million was erroneous; that in later
increasing its award from $1.9 million to
$6.295 million, the court was punishing
Shell for taking a successful appeal;
that the second increase in punitive
damages was based on improperly admitted
evidence; that Shell did not ratify the
fraudulent conduct upon which’ the
rescission was based; and that the award
of punitive damages is unconstitutional

without application of objective

79A

standards.

a. The court was not bound by the
jury’s award of punitive damages, because
the jury’s actions became moot when the
Nelson Trust elected the remedy of
rescission. At the hearing on the issue
of punitive damages after the first
trial, the Nelsons cited numerous cases
to the trial court for the proposition
that punitive damages could properly be
awarded in a rescission action, and both
sides argued at length concerning whether
the evidence of fraud did or did not
support a punitive damage award. Shell’s
only objection on the issue of punitive
damages was that no general damages
existed in the rescission action to
support then.

Thereafter, the trial court awarded

punitive damages in the sum of $1.9

80A

million, less $5,625 in rental
Overpayment and less $7,000 representing
the value of Shell’s leasehold estate,
for a net award of $1,887,375.

Appellant’s contention that this
award was erroneous, first raised in the
prior appeal, is asserted again in this
appeal. We did not address this issue in
the prior appeal; we concluded that
punitive damages could not be sustained,
since no general damages had been proven
in the first trial, and the matter was
remanded. We now address this argument
for the first time.

Punitive damages may properly be
awarded in an equity action where the
right to rescind a contract is based on
fraud. "The law is clear that punitive
damages are authorized in a case of fraud

inducing entry into a contract, as this

81A

is." (Campbell v. McClure (i986) 182

Cal.App.3d 806, 808, fn. 1; see also Horn

v. Guaranty Chevrolet Motors (1969) 270

Cal.App.2d 477, 484.)

Both the trial judge and the jury
found that Shell had perpetrated a fraud
on the Nelsons. At the conclusion of the
court trial with respect to the right to
rescind, the trial court made substantial
factual findings on this issue, including
the fact that Shell pressured Mr. Nelson
to extend the lease agreements; that
Nelson resisted until he became ill; that
when Nelson was suffering from advanced
heart disease and_ senility, Shell
threatened to collect some $5,600 in
overpaid rent if the contract were not
signed; and that Shell kept from the
Nelsons the status of the Century Freeway

condemnation action.

82A

In our prior decision, we affirmed
the finding of fraud and the Nelson’s
right to rescind the contract. The
matter was remanded solely because no
evidence of actual damages had been
presented in the rescission trial. At
the retrial, evidence was introduced, as
set out supra, establishing that general
damages were in fact suffered by the
Nelson Trust.

The Nelson Trust presented evidence
of the most recent annual financial
statement of Shell, offered as proof of
its financial condition. (Adams v.
Murakami (1991) 54 Cal.3d 105, 111.)

Once general damages were
established at the conclusion of the
second trial, both sides having waived
jury on the punitive damages issue, the

trial court could have, but did not re-

83A

ale

impose the $1,887,375 punitive damage
award. This figure was not excessive as
a matter of law. It was supported by the
evidence and bears a reasonable
relationship to general damages.

b. The same is not true, however,
with respect to the increase in punitive
damages which the trial court imposed at
the conclusion of the retrial. With
respect to this issue, Shell raises two
contentions.

Shell contends that the court erred
when it ‘based its increased award of
punitive damages on evidence admitted,
over objection, regarding use of the base
lease manual subsequent to 1987, the year
of the earlier trial. This contention is
without merit. As in any civil trial
based on tortious conduct, evidence of

the defendant’s continuing bad acts is

~ 84A

relevant to the issue of malice.
(Hilliard v. A.H.Robins Co. (1983) 148
Cal.App.3d 374, 400-401.)

Shell further argues that even if
properly admitted, this evidence is
insufficient to support the increased
award. The following evidence on the
continuing use of the base lease manual
by Shell was presented:

Prior to the retrial, the Nelson
Trust had subpoenaed from Shell “any and
all writings or documents wherein Shell
either modified, withdrew, repudiated or
otherwise prevented or discouraged the
continued use of its base lease manual or
any part thereof (since July 1987)." No
documents were produced in response to
that subpoena, and counsel for Shell

stipulated that no such documents exist.

85A

Mr. Drager, Shell’s real estate
manager testified that, since 1987, he
had not prepared any communication
discussing or modifying the use of the
manual, nor had he seen such a document.
He also testified that since 1987 he had
not directed anyone to use the manual and
was not aware if one was available in his
office.

With the exception of the foregoing,
the only occurrence between the first and
second trials was the passage of time.
There is no justification for the
increase in the punitive award from the
approximately $1.9 million, which was
reasonably justified by the state of the
record, to the much greater $6.295
million award, which was not.

The trial court interpreted the

evidence in the second trial as estab-

86A

lishing that Shell was continuing to
utilize the "manipulative techniques
advanced in the manual." However, this
conclusion is simply not supported by the
evidence. It is equally reasonable to
conclude on the basis of what was
testified to that Shell no longer uses
the manual or the procedures it espouses.
The Nelson Trust did not meet its burden
on this issue. We conclude that the
court abused its discretion in assessing
punitive damages of $6.295 million.

c. Shell asserts that there was no
evidence that it ratified the fraudulent
conduct which induced the Nelsons to
agree to the three five-year extensions.
We rejected this argument when it was
raised in Shell’s earlier appeal, where
we affirmed the judgment of rescission

based upon fraud. After summarizing the

87A

evidence presented regarding the base
lease manual, we concluded that the
instructions contained therein "establish
Shell’s authorization and ratification of
the practices promoted in the Manual."
Moreover, we note that when a master
or principal asserts that punitive
damages cannot be imposed upon it for the
acts of its agents, "the critical inquiry
is the degree of discretion the employees
possess in making decisions that will
ultimately determine corporate policy."
(Egan v. Mutual of Omaha Ins. Co. (1979)
24 Cal.3d 809, 822-823.) In the instant
situation, no one disputes that Mr. Lewis
was authorized to enter into the contract
for the three five-year extensions with
the Nelsons, thereby binding Shell to its
terms. We conclude, therefore, that he

did possess sufficient discretion for the

88A

law to impute his actions to Shell.
(Ibid. )

d. Constitutionality. Shell
challenges the constitutionality of the
punitive damages award, asserting that
the absence of objective standards
deprives it of due _ process. This
argument has been considered and rejected
by both the United States and our Supreme
Court. (See ific u ife
insurance Co. v. Haslip (1991) __—saU«S.«

[113 L.Ed.2d 1]; Hasson v. Ford
Motor Co. (1982) 32 Cal.3d 388, 402, fn.
2.)
DISPOSITION

The judgment awarding damages is
modified to strike the following items of
general damages: $60,000 costs of
litigation, $10,060 income taxes, and

$126 Internal Revenue Tax penalty; as

89A

modified, the award of general damages is
affirmed.

We also strike as excessive the
judgment awarding $6.295 million in
punitive damages. It appearing that all
of the evidence necessary to a
determination of the issue of punitive
damages is before the court, we see no
necessity for a further trial. It only
remains for the trial court to arrive at
an amount of punitive damages supported
by the evidence. The matter is remanded
for the trial court to assess and award
punitive damages consistent with the
views expressed in this opinion. Each
side is to bear its own costs. on

appeal.

90A

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED

Cooper, J. **kxxx

We concur:

WOODS (Arleigh), P. J.

EPSTEIN, J.

*kkkkkASSigned by the Chairperson of the
Judicial Council.

91A

turned 80 years old.°/

Mr. Nelson and Lewis met at the
dinette table, and Mrs. Nelson was never
more than six feet away, in the kitchen
or living room. Mr. Nelson had discussed
Shell’s overpayment with Mrs. Nelson
after Lewis’ call, and Mrs. Nelson was
very interested in their discussion.
Mrs. Nelson heard Lewis explain to Mr.
Nelson that he had two choices--either
pay back the $5,625 overpayment or agree
to an additional 15 year lease on the lot
in exchange for Shell forgiving the
indebtedness. Mr. Nelson proposed that a
"cost of living" rental increase be
included in the lease. Lewis unequiv-
ocally rejected this idea. Lewis stated

that Shell was very happy with the

6 Mr. Nelson died approximately one
year later.

10A

station location, looked forward to many
years of business there, and had long-
range plans for it. He also reminded Mr.
Nelson that the monthly rental check
would be comforting to Mrs. Nelson and
offer financial security for her should
anything happen to hin.

The meeting lasted between thirty
minutes to an hour. Mrs. Nelson felt
Lewis created an atmosphere of urgency
during this meeting. No mention was made
of the Century Freeway or possible
condemnation of the property by

Caltrans.’/ Mrs. Nelson had. no

. Lewis testified that he was
ignorant concerning the progress of the
Century Freeway, and his knowledge of the
freeway was no greater than that of the
average person reading the newspapers and
watching television. He also testified,
however, that he knew that the freeway
was not being abandoned, that Caltrans
was preparing an environmental impact
report at great expense to comply with
the Court order, that three cities which

11A

information at that time about any
possible effect the Century Freeway might
have on the property. By the time Lewis
left, Mr. Nelson had agreed to the three
five-year options to extend the lease to
2001. All other lease terms remained the
same.

On June 8, 1978, approximately 10.5
years before the lease expiration date,
both the Nelsons signed the "Agreement
Amending Lease." The agreement was a
one-page document which provided that the
monthly rent in 2001 would be $1200 and

incorporated by reference the terms of

originally had objected to the freeway
route had withdrawn their objections, and
that the freeway was still a possibility
as of June 1978. Moreover, during the
period while the injunction was in
effect, Lewis had handled a transaction
for Shell which conveyed to him knowledge
that the State was still interested in
proceeding with the freeway, and was
buying property in the corridor from
owners who would voluntarily sell.

12A

the 1960 lease. It was executed by Shell
on June 20, 1978. Mrs. Nelson signed the
agreement because she trusted her
husband’s judgment and realized that in
order to repay the $5625 they would have
had to borrow or sell stock, thereby
reducing their income. From the time the
Nelsons received the first call from
Lewis to the time they signed the
agreement, three days had elapsed.

In 1978, Lewis knew that the State
compensated the owners of property it
condemned and that a lessee who had a
right into the future beyond the period
of condemnation was entitled to make a
Claim for a certain percentage of the
Overall state payment for the property.
He was also aware that options counted in
determining the length of the lease, and

that the lower the rent the more Shell’s

13A

claim in condemnation was worth.

Several training and policy manuals
were available to Shell real estate
representatives. One such manual was the
Shell Base Lease Manual. During their
training seminar, real estate
representatives were instructed to follow
the procedures outlined in the Base Lease
Manual.*/ It offered tips on how to
approach certain issues and to persuade

owners to accept various lease provisions

' During his trial testimony,
Robert S. Drager, Shell’s District Real
Estate Representative at the time of
trial, testified that he had not been
given the Base Lease Manual during his
training seminar nor did he recall being
instructed to use it. His deposition
testimony, however was to the contrary.
He further testified he had never been
trained to extend a lease in order to
obtain a greater portion of a
condemnation award; and he, personally,
would disclose the possibility of state
condemnation during negotiations with a
property owner if he were aware that it
might occur.

14A

favorable to Shell, including purchase
options, lease amendments, and extension
options. Shell also printed a
Condemnation Manual, which instructed the
real estate representatives to keep
abreast of developments upon discovering
that a condemnation might occur.

Among the tips described in the Base
Lease Manual, were suggestions on how to
minimize a lease feature by hurrying
along, joking, or grouping together and
dismissing as unimportant the desired
feature; on how to convince an owner to
pay his or her own property taxes; on how
to effectuate inclusion of the "use the
premises for any lawful purpose" phrase.
The Manual emphasizes the importance of
timing in renewal negotiations; the
advantages of placing the owner in a

"defensive position" and ina "frustrated

15A

position"; and directs the real estate
representatives to “be familiar with all
instructions relating to condemnations."
It further suggests that when Shell wants
to secure a long term lease from "an
owner who is middle-aged or slightly
beyond," the representative should tell
the owner that "a long lease gives ...
security of income for ... old age, ..."
It suggests reminding an owner that,
"After a man dies, his family is always
better off if it has a steady income....
It is very difficult to plan an estate on
a short-term lease. Widows and children
need the protection afforded by the
experience and ability of a successful
business man. That protection can be
extended by an owner through the use of
long-term lease."

As of June, 1978, the date when

16A

Lewis obtained the lease extension from
the Nelsons, all governmental bodies and
officials responsible for implementing
the freeway had indicated their approval
of the project. As of that time, Cal-
trans was publicly expressing optimism
that the freeway would proceed and was so
advising any member of the public that
inquired. The United States Department
of Transportation was taking the same
position in response to inquiries from
the public.

In October, 1979, the federal court
dissolved its injunction stopping con-
struction of the Century Freeway. Lewis
did not inform Mrs. Nelson that his
representation that Shell looked forward
to pumping gas for many years into the
future was mistaken; nor did he inform

her that his representations that the

17A

extensions would give her financial
security was mistaken.

Mrs. Nelson first learned of the
condemnation when she received a letter,
dated March 14, 1983, from Caltrans. She
learned that Shell was making a claim on
the condemnation proceeds on November 19,
1984.

On February 1, 1985, Shell claimed
that the 1978 extensions entitled it to
two-thirds of the condemnation award. At
trial, Shell’s expert witness testified
that the value of Shell’s leasehold
interest was $620,000, based upon his
professed opinion that the fair rental
value of the Nelson property was $7900
per month, almost $7000 per month more

than the rent called for by the options.

18A

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On June 18, 1985, Caltrans filed a
complaint in eminent domain against the
Nelsons and Shell, alleging that the
subject property was necessary for
highway construction. On September 4,
1985, Nelson filed a _ cross-complaint
against Shell. The remedies sought were
(1) rescission of the three five-year
options negotiated in 1978; and (2)
damages for fraud, constructive fraud,
and intentional infliction of emotional
distress.

On October aes 1986, an
Interlocutory Judgment of Condemnation
was filed. Under its terms, the State
agreed to pay the sum of $975,000 to
Shell and Nelson, jointly, representing
the total value of their combined

interests in the property. The

19A

apportionment of that sum between the
parties was left to be resolved at trial.
Shell presented a claim for $620,000.

Prior to trial various matters were
determined by the Court to be without
substantial controversy. (Code Civ.
Proc., Sect. 437c.)°/

Prior to commencement of trial,
Shell filed a Motion in Limine, seeking
to exclude mention of various matters
during trial. Among the motions which
were granted was an order that Nelson not

make, “Any reference to any settiement

9 Pertinent to this appeal is the
following fact found to be without
substantial controversy: "9. That at
all times material to this litigation,
the only relationship that ' existed
between Shell-Lewis on the one hand, and
the Nelsons on the other, was that of
lessor and lessee of a piece of real
property and improvements thereon. That
at no time did Shell-Lewis, or either of
them, stand in any fiduciary relationship
to the Nelsons."

20A

negotiations between any of the parties
in this’ action, including without
limitation, any reference to any offer of
settlement and response thereto.... ”
Also granted was an order that Nelson not
make “Any reference to any fact which
either directly or indirectly contradicts
those facts which have been found by the
Court to be without substantial
controversy.... "

Trial commenced on June 5, 1987.
The causes of action for fraud,
constructive fraud and intentional
infliction of emotional distress were
tried to the jury. On July 21, 1987, the
jury returned its special verdicts. In
summary, the jury found that Shell had
Suppressed a material fact but without
intent to defraud Nelson; that Shell

intentionally made a false representation

21A

as to past or existing material fact;
that Shell made the representation with
an intent to defraud Nelson, and Nelson,
unaware of the _ falsity, acted in
justifiable reliance upon the truth of
the representation; and that Nelson was
damaged as a result of this reliance upon
the truth of the representation in the
amount of $154,150. The jury awarded
Nelson $235,600 in punitive damages and
valued Shell’s leasehold interest at
$235,600.

On September 18, 1987, the trial
court granted Nelson a new trial on the
issues of compensatory and punitive
damages on the fraud cause of action.

On the rescission cause of action,
the trial court granted Nelson rescission
and awarded punitive damages of

$1,900,000, deducting $5625 (rent

22A

overpayments) and $7000 (value of Shell’s
leasehold interest in the remainder of
the original lease). The court’s order
granting the partial new trial and
rescinding the options and its Nunc pro
Tunc order correcting it are attached to
this opinion as Appendix A.

On July 27, 1987, judgment on the
jury’s special verdicts was filed as was
the judgment on the court’s verdict. In
the latter, the court reserved juris-
diction to award damages and further
apportion the condemnation proceeds. At
the trial court level, Nelson did not
elect a remedy.

ISSUES ON APPEAL

Shell has raised numerous issues on
appeal, attacking the validity of the
jury verdicts and the court verdict. In

the Nelson’s responding brief and at oral

23A

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_1154%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
