# Reply Brief — Patuxent Institution Board of Review v. Hancock

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_0961%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 510 U.S. 905

## Text

No.

In THE

_ Supreme Court of the Anited States
OcTOBER TERM, 1993

PATUXENT INSTITUTION BOARD OF REVIEW,

Petitioner,
Vv. Pte
CLARENCE J. HANCOCK, as

‘ On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the |
: Court of Appeals of Maryland =

cot clad gt
aah pad
re

TABLE OF CONTENTS

i Ms ee eee ee ee 1

THIS CASE PRESENTS THE
SUBSTANTIAL QUESTION OF
WHETHER A LIBERTY INTEREST IN
PAROLE RELEASE CAN EVER BE
CREATED SOLELY BY THE ACTS OF
ree as ee re l

THIS CASE PRESENTS THE
SIGNIFICANT ISSUE OF FIRST
IMPRESSION OF WHAT NOTICE IS
REQUIRED WHEN REVOKING THE
PAROLE OF A PRISONER IN A
MENTAL HEALTH FACILITY ....... 7

ae et eee rey Tees eee ee TT 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979) ...... 8
Biser v. Town of Bel Air,

991 F.2d 100 (4th Cir. 1993) .......... 4
Board of Pardons v. Allen,

482 U.S. SOP ET) oc ke cee eewwen 3
Byrant v. State, 848 F.2d 492

te | rere rr re” 4
Connecticut Board of Pardons v.

Dumschat, 452 U.S. 458 (1981) ....... 3,4
Greenholtz v. Inmates of the Nebraska

Penal and Correctional Complex,

Ok MT. ee eer 3
Hewitt v. Helms, 459 U.S. 460 (1983) ...:.... 3
Ingrassia v. Purkett, 985 F.2d 987,

ee a Se. 6a ek pate ee ae ee 4
Inmates of Orient Correctional

Institute v. Ohio State Adult

Parole Authority, 929 F.2d

ane Ge ee ee se ss 2 4 ae 4
Jago v. Van Curen,

Tee Ss SS EPO) os s 4k wR 2,3,4,5

Johnson v. Pennsylvania Board of
Probation and Parole, 532 A.2d

oe Er 4
aon | Dept. of Corrections v.
ompson, 490 U.S. 454 (1989) ....... 3
Morrissey v. Brewer,
Ee 5,6,7
Olim v. Wakinekona,
ee 3
Winters v. Solem, 444 N.W.2d 722,
ak ke hee es ew 4
Wolff v. McDonnell,
I EDD fo tt tc ce 3
S Provisi
Maryland Annotated Code, Art. 31B
Te sak ga sw © 4 6 Ws 4 8% 8
ee sr gk gg a Se kk bw a. 8

No. 92-1933

October Term, 1992

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

PATUXENT INSTITUTION BOARD OF REVIEW,

Petitioner,
v.

CLARENCE J. HANCOCK,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Court of Appeals of Maryland

REPLY TO BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

REPLY ARGUMENT

i. THIS CASE PRESENTS THE
SUBSTANTIAL QUESTION OF
WHETHER A LIBERTY INTEREST
IN PAROLE RELEASE CAN EVER BE
CREATED SOLELY BY THE ACTS

OF STATE OFFICIALS.
Respondent’s Brief in Opposition ("Br.") confirms

that the decision of the Court of Appeals of Maryland is

in conflict with Jago v. Van Curen, 454 U.S. 14 (1981),

because respondent does not dispute that the actions of
State officials form the sole basis of the lower court’s
holding that respondent has a constitutionally-protected
liberty interest in parole. The State’s actions in this case
are indistinguishable from the conduct that this Court in
Jago held did not give rise to a liberty interest. Review
is warranted to decide whether conduct alone can ever
establish such a constitutional right and whether this
Court’s per curiam decision in Jago requires reversing
the Court of Appeals’ holding that the State’s actions
here “created . . . a liberty interest in parole release."
(App. at 58a.)

In asserting that “[uJnder the Patuxent statute, Mr.
Hancock’s Order of Parole created a protected liberty
interest in retaining parole," Br. at 5-6 (citation
omitted), respondent begs the first issue that petitioner
asks this Court to review because the Court of Appeals

2

engaged in no analysis of that statute. Despite this
Court’s repeated emphasis that pertinent State law must
be scrutinized in determining whether a prisoner has a
liberty interest entitled to due process protection, see
Kentucky Dept. of Corrections v, Thompson, 490 U.S.
454 (1989); Board of Pardons v, Allen, 482 U.S. 369
(1987); Olim_v. Wakinekona, 461 U.S. 238 (1983);
Hewitt v. Helms, 459 U.S. 460 (1983); Jago v. Van
Curen, 454 U.S. 14; Connecticut Board of Pardons v,
Dumschat, 452 U.S. 458 (1981); Greenholtz v. Inmates
of the Nebraska Penal and Correctional Complex, 442
U.S. 1 (1979); Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539
(1974), the Court of Appeals conducted no analysis of
"the language of the relevant statutes and regulations."
Kentucky Dept. of Corrections v, Thompson, 490 U.S.
at 461.

The lower court instead confined its constitutional

inquiry to the actions of State officials in granting

3

respondent parole. Jago and the decisions of other
courts make clear that those actions, by themselves, do
not create a liberty interest. See Bryant v. State, 848
F.2d 492 (4th Cir. 1988); Ingrassia v. Purkett, 985 F.2d
987, 988 (8th Cir. 1993); Inmates of Orient Correctional
Institute v, Ohio State Adult Parole Authority, 929 F.2d
233, 235-238 (6th Cir. 1991); Winters v. Solem, 444
N.W.2d 722 (S.D. 1989). See also Johnson v.
Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, 532 A.2d
50, 52 (Pa.Cmwilth. 1987).

Neither that State conduct, nor the Court of Appeals’
determination that petitioner was estopped from asserting
respondent was ineligible for parole, provides any basis
for the court’s holding that respondent had a

constitutional entitlement in parole release. See

Connecticut Board of Pardons vy. Dumschat, 452 U.S. at

465. See also Biser v, Town of Bel Air, 991 F.2d 100,
104 (4th Cir. 1993) ("A subsequent order by a court of

4

equity estopping a municipality from relying on its legal
right does not represent a legitimate claim of
entitlement.").

Respondent asserts that Jago is _ factually
distinguishable from this case and that Morrissey v.
Brewer, 408 U.S. 471 (1972), "governs the process due
Mr. Hancock." Br. at 5. But Morrissey addressed a
parolee’s interest "in his continued liberty" and involved
the very different scenario where "[t]he parolee hafd]
been released from prison... ." 408 U.S. at 482
(emphases added). Respondent does not dispute that
simultaneously with being served with an Order of
Parole, the Patuxent Institution Board of Review served
him with a parole revocation warrant (App. 14a-15a),
with the result that, as one of the courts below explicitly
found, he was "never on parole" because his parole was
"revoked before he was released. . . ." (App. at 108a,
llla.) See also (App. at 131a) (circuit court opinion)

5

(stating that respondent “has not been on parole
physically").

Moreover, the Court of Appeals found no need to
even rely on Morrissey, finding instead that the State’s
decision to parole respondent “may not, without

complying with due process, be rescinded based on new

information discovered before physical release has

actually occurred." (App. at 6la) (emphasis added).
Thus, the court found that respondent had a liberty

interest in parole not because he physically had been
released from incarceration as was the parolee in
Morrissey, but solely because the State provided him
with an Order of Parole. This Court should review this
case and decide whether such a constitutional right can

arise out of that State conduct.

ll. THIS CASE PRESENTS THE
SIGNIFICANT ISSUE OF FIRST
IMPRESSION OF WHAT NOTICE IS
REQUIRED WHEN REVOKING THE
PAROLE OF A PRISONER IN A

MENTAL HEALTH FACILITY, _

Review is also warranted because the constitutional
standard that the Court of Appeals applied seriously
impairs the State’s authority to revoke the parole of an
inmate who no longer responds favorably to mental
health treatment and who is deemed to pose a threat to
the safety of the community. The Court of Appeals held
the State may not constitutionally revoke the parole of
such an inmate in the absence of criminal behavior or
"the institutional equivalent of criminal conduct" (App.
at 68a-69a), unless the inmate is explicitly notified in
advance of the precise circumstances that could lead to
the loss of liberty. This issue has not been addressed
by this Court either in Morrissey or any other case, and

yet is one that affects the use of parole as a therapeutic

technique by all governmental institutions that treat
mentally ill inmates.
Respondent concedes that the notice component of
~~ the due process clause requires only that “individuals be
given fair warning of those acts that may lead to a loss
of liberty." Br. at 13 (citation omitted). Respondent
received at least as much notice as that which is
constitutionally due in an involuntary civil commitment
proceeding, where an individual may lose his or her
liberty indefinitely as long as that person is mentally ill
and poses a danger to himself and others. See
Addington v, Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979). Indeed, the
governing statute explicitly warned respondent that early
parole required that he remain an "eligible person" who
is “likely to respond favorably to the programs and
services provided at Patuxent" and whose release “will

not impose an unreasonable risk on society." Md. Ann.

Code Art. 31B, §§ 11(b)(2), 1(g) (1957, 1990 Repl.

8

Vol.).

Furthermore, the statute governing his tenure at
Patuxent was not the only source of fair warning; in its
decision revoking his parole, Patuxent noted that it
issued “numerous directives regarding his conduct,"
cautioned him a number of times regarding the need to
satisfactorily participate in treatment, and provided him -
with "[t]reatment plans detailing specific areas of
concern." (App. at 118a.) This Court should resolve
the question of whether due process requires more of the
State in order to revoke the paroie of a mentally ill

inmate.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_0961%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
