# Opposition Brief — Patuxent Institution Board of Review v. Hancock

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_0961%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 510 U.S. 905

## Text

>

— ———— LO _ I iin ~ e e - - ee

No. 92-1933

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

PATUXENT INSTITUTION BOARD OF REVIEW,
Petitioner
Vv.
CLARENCE J. HANCOCK,

Respondent

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF APPEALS OF MARYLAND

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Joseph B. Tetrault

Emily M. Rody

Stuart R. Cohen*

Legal Aid Bureau, Inc.

500 E. Lexington Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
(410) 539-5340

Attorneys for Respondent

*Counsel of record

QUESTION PRESENTED

Petitioner has conceded and the Court of Appeals of Maryland
has found that Clarence J. Hancock was paroled by the Patuxent
Institution Board of Review on August 8, 1990. Immediately upon
paroling Mr. Hancock, Patuxent began the process of revoking his
parole based on events that occurred long before the grant of
parole. The Board of Review revoked Mr. Hancock’s parole based
on a claim that he had "failed to comply with the instructions and
directives of his therapist [and] he has thwarted the purpose and
mission of the [Patuxent] Institution." This case thus presents
the following question:

Can Maryland lawfully revoke Mr. Hancock’s parole without
prior notice to him prohibiting the conduct which was the basis for

the alleged violation?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED . . «© «© «© © «© «© «© © © © «© «@ oe © © © © oo ok
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES . . «© © © © © © © © © © © © © © © © © he ohhh
STATEMENT OF THE CASE. . «© « «© «© © © © © © © © © © © © © © © oo ol

REASONS WHY THE
PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

Neither The Decision

Below Nor The Record

Raises The First Question

Presented In The Petition

As Mr. Hancock Was Paroled,

Not Merely Promised

wt) es a a a

The Second Question Presented
In The Petition Does Not
Warrant Review By This Court
Because It Is Beyond Dispute
That A Parolee Is Entitled To
Notice Of The Conditions Of
Parole Prior To Revocation
For Allegedly Violating A

Derenm Geeeeeme 464 «see th eth hh hl hl hUc hc ll. SU
CienGs «6 6 64 466 & 6s % 610 © oe 6 6S Ulu hlUhhlUr he? eh hUhlC Um
APPENDIX. « © «© © © © © © © © © © © © © © © © © © 0 el wl ew ABEs l

aiiea

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Arciniega v. Freeman, 404 U.S. 4 (1971) .~. . «© «© «© «© «© © «© «© © ell

Benboe v. State, 738 P.2d 356 (Alaska App. 1987) .... . 212,13

Bovie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964). ...... .8,13

Bryant v. State, 848 F.2d 492 (4th Cir. 1988). . . .« « « « « «6,7

Connally v. General Construction Co.,
269 UsBe 385 (1926) 7 . *. . * 7 o . . . 7 . . . 7 . . . + i Pe

Douglas _v. Buder, 412 U.S. 430 (1973) .~ « « « « « « « «© « « 08,11

Forsyth v. City of Hammond, 166 U.S. 506 (1897) ....... .15

Gluckstern v. Sutton, 319 Md. 634, 574 A.2d 898,
cert. denied sub nom. Henneberry v. Sutton,
498 UeBO< 950 (1990) . . . . . 7 . o 7 . . . o o + . o eo * en

Grayson vy. Harris, 267 U.S. 352 (1925) . . «© «© © e © © © © @ © of

Patuxent v. Hancock,
329 Md. 556, 620 A.2d 917 (1993). . « « « «© «© © © © o© © opassin

Houston Oil Co. v. Goodrich, 245 U.S. 440 (1918) . ...... 4

Ingrassia v. Purkett, 985 F.2d 987 (8th Cir. 1993) ...... .7

Inmates of Orient Correctional Institute v. Ohio State
Adult Parole Authority, 929 F.2d 233 (6th Cir. 1991)... . .7

yvago Ve Van Curen, 454 0.8. 14 (1981). o . e e * = ° . - o4,5,6,8

Johnson v. Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole,
110 Pa. Comma. 42, 532 A.@d@ 50 (1987) . «ce «eee eevee §

Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451 (1939) . . . «. «© «© « « « 214

Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471 (1972) . . . 2... ©5,7,9

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co.,
339 see 306 (1950). .* . * . . o 7. . — . . ~ . * * * o ° 14

Murray v. Swenson,

is a eS ee ae ee

Southern Power Co. v. North Carolina Public Service Co.,
263 0.8. 508 (i926) . «= e ee eeveseeeeee ee @

State v. Mace, 154 Vt. 430, 578 A.2d 104 (1990)... .

Swan v. State, 200 Md. 420, 90 A.2d 690 (1952) ... .

Winters v. Solem, 444 N.W.2d 722 (S.D. 1989). .... .

United States v. Dane, 570 F.2d 840 (9th Cir. 1977),
cert. denied, 436 U.S. 959 (1978) . . « « « « «

United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220 (1925) ... .

United States v. Williams, U.S. P
aia &. CO. i733 (i992) ». «© «© 2 2

STATUTES
Md. Ann. Code, Art. 31B (1957, 1990 Repl. Vol.).

Md. Ann. Code, Art. 41, §4-501 et seq.
(1957, 1990 Repl. Vol. & 1992 Cum. Supp.)

RULE

Supreme Court Rule 15.

TREATISE

Cohen, Neil P. & Gobert, James J.,
The Law of Probation and Parole,
(1983 & 1992 Cum. Supp.)

» 4p @

-4,5,6,7

-1l

No. 92-1933

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

PATUXENT INSTITUTION BOARD OF REVIEW,
Petitioner
Vv.
CLARENCE J. HANCOCK,

Respondent

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF APPEALS OF MARYLAND

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondent Clarence J. Hancock, by his attorneys and pursuant
to Supreme Court Rule 15, respectfully requests that this Court
deny the Petition for Writ of Certiorari which seeks to review the
judgment of the Court of Appeals of Maryland. The opinion below,

Patuxent v. Hancock, is reported at 329 Md. 556, 620 A.2d 917.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Clarence J. Hancock was convicted of murder and other offenses
by the Circuit Court for Prince George’s County, Maryland. He was
sentenced in 1976 to a term of life imprisonment followed by a

consecutive determinate term of years. Id. at 562, 620 A.2d at

920. There is no dispute that he has been a model prisoner. Since

his incarceration he has neither broken any law nor been charged
with violating any prison disciplinary rule. Id. at 589, 620 A.2d
at 933. He was admitted to the Patuxent Institution in 1977 and
his progress in rehabilitation resulted in work-release status,
school-release, and both accompanied and unaccompanied leaves. Id.
at 562-63, 620 A.2d at 920. He attended college, worked as a copy
machine repairer, and remarried. Petitioner here, the Patuxent
Institution Board of Review, voted to recommend Mr. Hancock for
parole in 1987, but the Governor of Maryland denied the request.
Id., 620 A.2d at 920-21.

On July 24, 1990, the Circuit Court for Baltimore City,
Maryland, granted Mr. Hancock’s petition for a writ of habeas
corpus and ordered his release on parole, Petition for Writ of
Certiorari, Appendix ({"App.") at 129a-134a, unless "[Mr. Hancock]
has committed a new offense or if he has violated a major
disciplinary rule of the [Patuxent] Institution." Id. at 132a.
The basis for the Circuit Court’s decision was the opinion of the

Court of Appeals of Maryland in Gluckstern v. Sutton, 319 Md. 634,

574 A.2d 898, cert. denied sub nom. Henneberry v. Sutton, 498 U.S.

950 (1990).

No appeal was taken from the Circuit Court for Baltimore
City’s ruling. Rather, the Board of Review paroled Mr. Hancock.
As soon as Mr. Hancock had signed the Order of Parole, App. at
122a-124a, Patuxent Institution served him with a parole revocation

warrant and notice of a preliminary hearing. Patuxent immediately

found probable cause to believe that Mr. Hancock had violated the

terms and conditions of parole. 329 Md. at 567, 620 A.2d at 922.
Patuxent kept Mr. Hancock in prison pending a formal parole
revocation hearing. The Board officially revoked Mr. Hancock’s
parole, stating as its rationale “that Mr. Hancock has failed to
comply with the instructions and directives of his therapist [and]
he has thwarted the purpose and mission of the [Patuxent] Insti-
tution." App. at 120a. The terms and conditions listed in Mr.
Hancock’s parole order, id. at 123a-128a, did not require Mr.
Hancock to attend therapy.

Mr. Hancock appealed the parole revocation decision to the
Circuit Court for Howard County, Maryland, which affirmed the Board
of Review. Id. at 113a-115a. The Court of Special Appeals of
Maryland, however, reversed the Circuit Court for Howard County.
Id. at 97a. The Court of Appeals of Maryland granted certiorari
and affirmed the decision of the intermediate appellate court with
some modification. The Court of Appeals found that due process had
been denied Mr. Hancock by revoking parole based on noncriminal
behavior without first putting Mr. Hancock on notice that such
behavior would in fact be a parole violation. 329 Md. at 582, 620
A.2d at 930. The Court of Appeals stated: "So far as this record
reveals, the respondent was first notified of the conditions of his
parole at the same time that he was informed that he violated one
of them." Id. at 589, 620 A.2d at 933. The Court of Appeals also
found, h«se. on state law, that the Board of Review was estopped

from asserting that Mr. Hancock was now ineligible for parole by

its failure to appeal the decision of the Circuit Court for

Baltimore City. Id. at 587-88, 591, 620 A.2d at 932-33, 934-35.
While three judges dissented, they did so on state law grounds.
Id. at 592-99, 620 A.2d at 935-38.

Chief Justice Rehnquist, sitting as Circuit Judge for the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, denied the
Board’s application for a stay of the mandate of the Court of

Appeals of Maryland. App. at la.

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

l. Neither the decision below nor the record raises the first
question presented in the Petition as Mr. Hancock was paroled, not
merely promised parole in the future.

The first question presented by Patuxent raises an alleged

conflict between the decision below and Jago v. Van Curen, 454 U.S.

14 (1981). The question presumes, however, that Mr. Hancock was
never accorded the rights and privileges of a parolee because he
was not immediately released from prison. The Court of Appeals of
Maryland has found the facts to be otherwise. Mr. Hancock’s parole
was effective August 8, 1990. 329 Md. at 565, 586, 620 A.2d at
921, 932. Indeed, Petitioner has previously admitted that it
paroled Mr. Hancock. Id. at 591, 620 A.2d at 934. The United
States Supreme Court does not exercise jurisdiction simply to

review state court findings of fact. See Grayson v. Harris, 267

U.S. 352, 358 (1925). See also Southern Power Co. v. North

Carolina Public Service Co., 263 U.S. 508, 509 (1924); Houston Oil

Co. v. Goodrich, 245 U.S. 440, 441 (1918). Since it is conceded by
the Board of Review and confirmed by the Court of Appeals that Mr.

Hancock was paroled pursuant to Md. Ann. Code, Art. 31B, on August

8, 1990, Jago is inapposite and Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471

(1972), governs the process due Mr. Hancock.

In Jago, the prisoner was notified by the Ohio Adult Parole
Authority that he would be granted parole “on or after" a future
date. 454 U.S. at 14. Prior to release, the Authority determined
that the prisoner had lied on his parole application. Id. at 15.
The question before this Court wes whether the Authority's decision
to rescind its previous promise to grant parole required the due
process protections of a parole revocation proceeding. Under Ohio
law, the Authority’s right to rescind a parole order before its
effective date was well settled. Id. at 22-23 (Blackmun, J.,
concurring in the result). This Court found that due process
protections do not extend to “mutually explicit understandings"
xetween prisoners and prison officials. Id. at 18-19.

The contrast between Jago and the decision below cannot be
more clear. The Board of Review did not grant parole effective at
a later date but instead paroled Mr. Hancock effective August 8,
1990, the day he received and signed the Order of Parole. Under
Maryland law, parole is effected once the parolee signs the Order
of Parole acknowledging the terms and conditions of release. 329
Md. at 575, 620 A.2d at 926. See also Murray v. Swenson, 196 Md.
222, 229, 76 A.2d 150, 153 (1950) (prisoner may accept or reject
conditions of parole). Unlike in Jago, Mr. Hancock committed no
fraud to obtain parole. 329 Md. at 581, 620 A.2d at 929. Under

the Patuxent statute, Md. Ann. Code, Art. 31B (1957, 1990 Repl.

Vol.), Mr. Hancock’s Order of Parole created a protected liberty

interest in retaining parole which could not be abrogated by
Patuxent without due process of law. What occurred below under
Maryland law was a parole revocation hearing, plain and simple. It
was a parole revocation hearing without the constitutionally
required notice to the parolee of the terms and conditions of
parole. The Board’s actions following the grant of parole on
August 8, 1990, were not the administrative rescission of a
decision to recommend parole at a future date as in Jago, but
rather a violation of Mr. Hancock’s right to be apprised of the
conditions of his existing parole so that he could maintain his
liberty.

Nor is the decision below in conflict with the other opinions
cited by Petitioner.

The Board’s citation of Bryant v. State, 848 F.2d 492 (4th

Cir. 1988), for the contention that the Patuxent Institution
statute creates no protected liberty interest in retaining parole
status, Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 24, is disingenuous. It
was the predecessor of the Maryland Parole Commission statute, Md.
Ann. Code, Art. 41, §4-501 et seg. (1957, 1990 Repl. Vol. & 1992
Cum. Supp.), not the Patuxent Institution statute, Art. 31B, that
was the subject of interpretation by the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. This is evidenced by the opinion
of tne United States District Court for the District of Maryland,
a copy of which is appended hereto. That decision, the subject of
the appeal in Bryant, clearly involves the Parole Commission

statute, not the Patuxent Institution statute. See Apx. at 7-8.

The Board of Review is well aware that the Maryland Parole
Commission is separate and distinct from the Patuxent Institution
Board of Review under Maryland law. Mr. Hancock’s parole was
granted pursuant to Art. 31B, §l11l, not Art. 41, §4-506. The
paroling authorities are completely independent of each other.
Furthermore, Bryant concerns the expectancy of parole, not an
actual parole and the constitutional protections surrounding parole
revocation required by Morrissey, supra.

Petitioner fares no better with the other authorities cited in
support of its allegation of a conflict between the decision below
and the decisions of other courts, as those opinions do not address
the claims of a parolee such as Mr. Hancock, who is entitled to the

protections required by Morrissey, supra.

In Ingrassia v. Purkett, 985 F.2d 987 (8th Cir. 1993), the

prisoner’s wife was allegedly advised by the chairperson of the
Missouri Board of Pardon and Parole that the Board "intended to
parole Ingrassia in May of 1983, upon his continued good conduct
and participation in. . . training." Id. at 988. The Eighth
Circuit found that neither these statements nor the prisoner’s
participation in training ripened the mere expectancy of parole

into a constitutionally protected liberty interest. Id.

In Inmates of Orient Correctional Institute v. Ohio State

Adult Parole Authority, 929 F.2d 233 (6th Cir. 1991), prisoners who

received “on or after” parole dates subject to the approval of an
acceptable out-of-prison placement plan, id. at 234, challenged the

rescission of their “on or after" dates after placement became

difficult. Relying on Jago, supra, the Sixth Circuit found that

Ohio law created no protected liberty interest in the expectancy of
parole.

In Winters v. Solem, 444 N.W.2d 722 (S.D. 1989), the

unexecuted grant of parole was expressly made conditional on a

subsequent event. In Johnson v. Pennsylvania Board of Probation

and Parole, 110 Pa. Commw. 42, 532 A.2d 50 (1987), the prisoner

never attained the status of a parolee under Pennsylvania law.

To summarize, because Mr. Hancock was paroled pursuant to

Maryland law, the decision below is not in conflict with the
decisions of this Court, the federal courts of appeal, or decisions
of other state courts, and the first question presented in the
Petition is not properly before the Court.
2. The second question presented in the Petition does not warrant
review by this Court because it is beyond dispute that a parolee is
entitled to notice of the conditions of parole prior to revocation
for allegedly violating a parole condition.

Comceding, as it must, that Mr. Hancock had a protected
liberty interest in retaining his parole status created by Maryland
law, the Board of Review claims authority to revoke parole without
informing the parolee of what he or she must do to comply with the
terms and conditions of parole. Petition for Writ of Certiorari at

25-32. Petitioner asserts that this Court has never decided this

issue. Id. at 25, 27. But see Douglas v. Buder, 412 U.S. 430, 432

(1973) (per curiam) (due process requires that probationer receive
fair warning that certain types of conduct may lead to revocation)

(relying upon Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964)).

The holding of the Court of Appeals of Maryland is consistent
with precedent and unexceptionable:

Because the conduct on the basis of
which the revocation was premised
was not criminal -- the petitioner
has conceded that the respondent has
not violated any state or federal
law or municipal ordinance -- and
did not constitute an institutional
infraction, i.e., it was not the
institutional equivalent of criminal
conduct, we hold that the
respondent’s parole was improperly
revoked, he not’ having’ been
notified, in advance, of the
condition allegedly violated. Both
common sense and due process demands
this result.

329 Md. at 589, 620 A.2d at 933.

The Court of Appeals found the following facts in support of
its holding:

[T]he respondent’s parole agreement
did not contain any condition that
he attend therapy, nor was the
respondent made aware that his
progress or, more accurately, Dr.
Farrell’s perception of his
progress, in therapy was an actual
condition of parole which, if vio-

lated, would result in loss of
liberty.

Id. at 589-90, 620 A.2d at 933-34.

As stated in Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471, 482 (1972),
“[t]he parolee has relied on at least an implicit promise that
parole will be revoked only if he fails to live up to the parole
conditions." This Court’s statement clearly means that the parolee

is entitled to know the parole conditions prior to any attempt at

revocation for noncriminal conduct, which is all the decision below
holds.

The Board of Review asserts that this Court should grant
certiorari to determine whether “the Constitution is so rigid that
in order to revoke the parole of an individual who currently
presents a risk to society, prison officials must have anticipated
and imposed specific parole conditions for all conduct that
manifests this dangerousness." Petition for Writ of Certiorari at
31-32. Again, the factual premise upon which Petitioner attempts
to construct this purported dilemma is lacking in the record. No
fact-finder, neither the Board of Review nor the Maryland courts,
has ever found that Mr. Hancock was a "danger" or "risk" to

society. See, e.g., App. at ll6a-12la (no finding by Board of

danger to society). There is no objective and concrete evidence of
conduct on the part of Mr. Hancock since the beginning of his
incarceration that could possibly be construed as either a parole
violation or as manifesting a menace to himself or others. Mr.
Hancock received accompanied leaves to the community in 1984. 329
Md. at 562, 620 A.2d at 920. In 1985, he progressed to work-
release and school-release status. Id. at 562-63, 620 A.2d at 920.
In 1986, Mr. Hancock received permission to leave the prison
without being accompanied by prison authorities. Id. at 563, 620
A.2d at 920. In its letter to the Governor of Maryland of February
5, 1988, recommending Mr. Hancock for parole, Patuxent stated that
Mr. Hancock was not a danger to society. Mr. Hancock is in fact

now working and contributing to his community. Without evidence of

= 10 -

a parole violation or any fact-finding of dangerousness, Patuxent’s
attempt at parole revocation cannot stand. See Douglas v. Buder,
supra, 412 U.S. at 432 (finding of probation violation so devoid of
evidentiary support as to be invalid under Due Process Clause);
Arciniega v. Freeman, 404 U.S. 4 (1971) (per curiam) (no satis-
factory evidence of parole violation in record).

"As a matter of both constitutional law and common sense,
probationers and parolees can reasonably be expected to follow only
those probation conditions of which they are aware." Cohen, Neil
P. & Gobert, James J., The Law of Probation and Parole, §5.04, at
193 (1983 & 1992 Cum. Supp.) (citing United States v. Dane, 570
F.2d 840 (9th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 436 U.S. 959 (1978)).
Patuxent’s reliance upon this treatise to support its contention
that lower courts need guidance in the area of the law encompassed
by the second question presented, Petition for Writ of Certiorari
at 27, is misleading. The authors of the treatise, at the section
cited in the Petition, are discussing ambiguous or vague conditions
of parole or probation, not the constitutionally required notice of
those conditions which must be given to the parolee or probationer.
While the Court of Special Appeals of Maryland, in an alternative
holding, found the condition allegedly violated by Mr. Hancock
“vague, uncertain, and indefinite,” App. at 109a, the Court of
Appeals oI Maryland expressly declined to reach this issue because
it held that no notice of the condition was given to Mr. Hancock.
See 329 Md. at 590 n.18, 620 A.2d at 934. Because the Court of

Appeals of Maryland expressly declined to pass upon the vagueness

-lle-

of the parole condition allegedly violated, that issue is not now
before the Court. If the question was not passed upon below,

certiorari should not be granted on the issue. See United States

v. Williams, U.S. , , 112 S. Ct. 1735, 1738 (1992).

Contrary to the Board’s assertion, the lower courts are in no need
of guidance on the issue of whether a parolee should be informed in
advance of what he or she must do to stay on parole.

Nor is there any conflict between the decision below and those
of other courts on the issue raised by the second question in the

Petition. Patuxent cites Benboe v. State, 738 P.2d 356 (Alaska

App. 1987), and State v. Mace, 154 Vt. 430, 578 A.2d 104 (1990), as

conflicting authorities on this point. Petition for Writ of
Certiorari at 28. These decisions, however, neither conflict with
each other nor with the decision below. In Mace, the defendant’s
probation agreement, which the defendant signed prior to the
occurrence of the conduct giving rise to the citation for probation
violation, explicitly required that he “attend, participate, and
complete" a specified therapeutic regimen. 154 vt. at 432, 578
A.2d at 105. The terms and conditions of Mr. Hancock’s parole,
App. at 123a-128a, contain no requirement that he attend therapy.
In Mace, the basis for the violation occurred after the defendant
had been apprised of the condition allegedly violated. 154 Vt. at
432, 578 A.2d at 105. In the instant case, the facts as found by
the Maryland courts are otherwise. Mr. Hancock was not “notified,
in advance, of the condition allegedly violated." 329 Md. at 589,

620 A.2d at 933. In Benboe, the condition allegedly violated was

- 12 «

found not to be an actual condition of probation. 738 P.2d at 360.
In the alternative, the court found that the defendant had not
violated the condition. Id. at 362. In short, Benboe is not in
conflict with Mace, and Mace is not in conflict with the decision
below.

The Board of Review asserts that “[t]jhe facts surrounding
respondent’s incarceration and parole in this case demonstrate that
he was on fair notice that his failure to fully participate in
therapy could lead to the revocation of his parole." Petition for
Writ of Certiorari at 28-29. The Maryland courts, however, have
found the facts to be otherwise. See 329 Md. at 589, 620 A.2d at
933 ("So far as this record reveals, the respondent was first
notified of the conditions of his parole at the same time he was
informed that he violated one of them."). This Court does not
grant certiorari "to review evidence and discuss specific facts."

United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220, 227 (1925).

"It is an essential component of due process that individuals
be given fair warning of those acts that may lead to a loss of

liberty." United States v. Dane, 570 F.2d 840, 843 (9th Cir.

1977), cert. denied, 436 U.S. 959 (1978) (citing Bouie v. City of

Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964); Connally v. General Construction

Co., 269 U.S. 385 (1926)). "“[W]here the proscribed acts are not
criminal, due process mandates that the petitioner cannot be
subjected to a forfeiture of his liberty for those acts unless he
is given prior fair warning.” Dane, 570 F.2d at 844. That is the

holding of the Court of Appeals of Maryland. This holding is

- 13 <

unremarkable. It is based primarily on a construction of Maryland
law and arises out of a singular set of circumstances whereby the
Board of Review paroled Mr. Hancock pursuant to an order of the
Circuit Court for Baltimore City rather than appealing that court’s
decision. The Board is now attempting to “excuse its own
omission," 329 Md. at 585, 620 A.2d at 931, to follow Maryland’s
rules of appellate practice.
Maryland has long followed this principle:

A parolee is not expected or
required at once to achieve
perfection. If his conduct is that
of the ordinary well-behaved person,
with no more lapses than all people
have, with no serious offenses
charged against him, and with no
indication that he intends in the
future to pursue the course which
led to his original conviction, the
courts and probation officers should
not seek for unusual and irrelevant
grounds upon which to deprive him of
his freedom.

Swan v. State, 200 Md. 420, 430, 90 A.2d 690, 695 (1952). When the

Patuxent Institution Board of Review departed from this principle,
its actions were reversed by the Maryland courts.

The holding of the Court of Appeals of Maryland is plainly
correct. "All are entitled to be informed of what the State

commands or forbids." Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451, 453

(1939). “[{W]jhen notice is a person’s due, process which is a mere

gesture is not due process." Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank &

Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 315 (1950).

As the factual scenario that gave rise to the decision below

is highly unlikely to recur in Maryland or elsewhere, and as there

- 14 <-

is no conflict with decisions of the federal courts or state courts
of last resort, there is no need for the exercise of this Court’s
discretionary jurisdiction. See Forsyth v. City of H ond, 166
U.S. 506, 514-15 (1897).
CONCLUSION
For these reasons, Respondent prays that this Court deny the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari and grant to the Respondent such

other and further relief as the nature of his cause may require.

an PSV ae '

Joseph B. Tetrault

-

VELL Ll oty,

Stuart R. Cohen*

Attorneys for Respondent
Legal Aid Bureau, Inc.

500 East Lexington Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21202

Telephone: (410) 539-5340

*Counsel of Record

» 1§ -

APPENDIX

A copy of the opinion of the United States District Court for

the District of Maryland in Bryant v. State of Maryland, Civil No.

M-86-2568 (Oct. 3, 1986) (unreported), is appended to the
Respondent’s Brief in Opposition to demonstrate that’ the

Petitioner’s reliance upon Bryant v. State, 848 F.2d 492 (4th Cir.

1988), to argue that a conflict exists between the decision below
and a decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit, Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 24, is misleading.
Both the District Court and the Fourth Circuit construed the
Maryland Parole Commission statute, not the Patuxent Institution
statute. Respondent was paroled pursuant to the Patuxent
Institution statute, Md. Ann. Code, Art. 31B (1957, 1990 Repl.

Vol.).

- Apx. 1 =

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

BILLIE AUSTIN BRYANT :
Vv. : CIVIL ACTION NO. M-86-2568
STATE OF MARYLAND :
MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Billie Austin Bryant, petitioner, acting pro ge, seeks
federal habeas corpus relief in relation to his imprisonment
as a result of his conviction of bank robbery in the Circuit
Court for Prince George's County on April 14, 1969 for which
he received a 20-year sentence. Petitioner asserts four
grounds for review: 1) the indictment upon which he was
convicted was amended the day of trial; 2) he was denied
an appeal from an unfavorable decision in a post-conviction
proceeding and was denied a request for an attorney to perfect
such appeal; 3) he was denied counsel and an evidentiary
hearing in a second post-conviction proceeding after which
he was denied an appeal or counsel to perfect such appeal;
and 4) he was denied a parole hearing on his Maryland sentence.

It appearing that the petitioner has exhausted his

state remedies the court will examine whether petitioner's

claims merit issuing service.

I. The Amended Indictment

Petitioner alleges that his due process rights under
the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments were violated when the
prosecutor was allowed to amend the indictment on the day
of trial to change the name of the person robbed in the
bank from Jack Hay, the manager, to Betty Mosely, the clerk,
and to change the dollar amount involved from $3,500 to
$1,000 (Transcript of Proceedings, Attached to Complaint,
at 3-6).

The sufficiency of an indictment is generally not subject
to challenge in habeas corpus proceedings unless a defect
in the indictment would strip the trial court of jurisdiction.
Woolsey v. Best, 299 U.S. 1 (1936). An indictment misleading
the defendant as to the charge, however, might be grounds
for habeas corpus relief. Snead v. Smyth, 273 F.2d 838,
840-41 (4th Cir. 1959); see also Hayes v, Peyton, 364 F.2d
303 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 981 (1966). An indictment
is sufficient if it contains elements of the offense charged,
fairly informs the defendant of the charge against which
he must defend, and enables him to plead judgment as a bar
to future prosecutions for the same offense. Hamling v. United

States, 418 U.S. 87, 117-18 (1974); United States yv, Previti,
644 F.2d 318 (4th Cir. 1981). The Fourth Circuit has likewise

held that a superseding indictment on the eve of trial did not

deprive the defendant of a fair trial where defendant was given

fair notice of the charge. Wnited States v. Diamond, 561
F.2d 557 (4th Cir. 1977). ws

In the transcript submitted by petitioner, it appears
that his attorney admitted that he had been told a month
before trial that Betty Mosely was the person robbed. If
there was any error in allowing the amendment, which the
court believes there was not, it was not of the type which
would strip the trial court of its jurisdiction to hear
the case nor of sufficient gravity to deny due process to
the petitioner.

Ground I of the Petition will be dismissed,

II. Right to Counsel for Appeal of a Post-Conviction Hearing

Petitioner alleges that he was denied effective assistance
of counsel in violation of the Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments
when he was not appointed an attorney to perfect appeals
to the Court of Special Appeals after two post-conviction
hearings.

Based upon due process and equal protection rights,
convicted indigents are entitled to be represented by counsel
on their first appeal. Ross vy. Moffitt, 417 U.S. 600, 611
(1974); Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353, 357 (1963).

This right does not extend to the process of seeking
additional, discretionary appeals. Rogs, 417 U.S. at 615.
Once, through the assistance of counsel, a record is established

on the appeal as of right, sufficient record is available

— APX. 4 ean

for the higher court to review and consider whether or not
to hear the discretionary appeal. [qd.

Md. Ann. Code art. 27, § 645A states, in pertinent

part:

"(a) Right to institute proceeding to set aside

- Any person convicted of
a crime and either incarcerated under sentence
of death or imprisonment or on parole or probation,
including any person confined or on parole or
probation as a result of a proceeding before the
District Court who claims that the sentence or
judgment was imposed in violation of the Constitution
of the United States or the Constitution or laws
of this State, or that the court was without juris-
diction to impose the sentence, or that the sentence
exceeds the maximum authorized by law, or that
the sentence is otherwise subject to collateral
attack upon any ground of alleged error which
would otherwise be available under a writ of habeas
corpus, writ of coram nobis, or other common-law
Or statutory remedy, may institute a proceeding
under this subtitle in the circuit court for the
county or the Criminal Court of Baltimore to set
aside or correct the sentence, provided the alleged
error has not been previousiy and finally litigated
Or waived in the proceedings resulting in the
conviction, or in any other proceeding that the
petitioner has taken to secure relief from his
conviction.

The statute establishes a right to appeal certain issues
not waived or previously and finally litigated to the circuit
court in the appropriate jurisdiction. Assuming, arguendo,
that the issues involved in petitioner's two post-conviction
hearings were not previously and finally litigated, the
proceedings in the circuit court would constitute petitioner's
"first appeal of right." Under Ross _v. Moffitt, petitioner
is not entitled to assistance of an attorney to perfect

a discretionary appeal therefrom. 417 U.S. 615.

APX. 5

Ground II of the petition will be dismissed.

Petitioner claims that he was not appointed counsel
at his second post-conviction proceeding. The record submitted,
however, indicates otherwise. The Qpinion and Order of
Court labeled Group Exhibit "B" states: "The State's Attorney
withdrew his motion, and counsel then proceeded to argue
the merits of the petition.” (Group Exhibit B at 1). Also,
copies were sent by the court to the Office of the Public
Defender. (Ig. at 4).

An evidentiary hearing is required on a first petition
under Maryland's Uniform Post Conviction Procedure Act,
but not on a subsequent petition. Rule 4-406(a), Md. Rules
of Procedure. The issue decided in petitioner's second
post-conviction proceeding was "does the setting aside of
a sentence which a consecutive sentence is to succeed have
the effect of causing the consecutive sentence to run from
the date of its imposition?" (Group Exhibit B at 2). There
was no need to present factual evidence. Moreover, the
Opinion reflects that there was a hearing, during which
counsel argued the merits of the petition. Petitioner could
have put on any evidence at that time.

Ground III of the petition will be dismissed.

IV. Parole Letter

Petitioner claims he was denied due process and equal

protection by the failure of the Attorney General to respond

to his letter requesting a parole hearing.

Petitioner did not raise this issue in either a post-
conviction proceeding or in a complaint to the Inmate Grievance
Commission. However, claims not directly or indirectly
challenging the validity of the conviction are not cognizable
under Maryland post-conviction proceedings. Knox v. Director.
Patuxent Institution, 1 Md. App. 678, 680 (1967). Claims
such as petitioner's would be governed by the Inmate Grievance
Commission, except that petitioner is not a "person confined
to an institution within the Division of Correction, or
otherwise in the custody of the Commission of Correction,
or confined to the Patuxent Institution." Md. Ann. Code
art. 41, § 204F(d). It would seem, therefore, that petitioner
has no state remedy to exhaust.

Mere existence of a parole system does not give an
inmate sufficient parole expectation to require the state
to accord him a level of due process protection similar
to that for parole revocation proceedings. Greenholtz v. Inmates
of Nebraska Penal and Correctional Complex, 442 U.S. 1, 8-10
(1979); Wetzel v. Edwards, 635 F.2d 283 (4th Cir. 1980).

The extent, if any, of a prisoner's legitimate expectation
of parole depends on the structure of the state statute.

Greenholtz, 442 U.S. at 11-12. In Greenholtz, the Supreme
Court accepted the argument that a Nebraska statute, which
provided that the parole board "shall" order the prisoner's

APX. 7

release unless certain conditions are established, provided
some expectation of parole release. [d. at 12. The Maryland
statute has no such provision. The matters to be considered
at a parole hearing in Maryland are as follows:
"Each hearing examiner and Commission member
determining if an inmate is suitable for release
on parole shall consider:
(1) The circumstances surrounding the crime;
(2) The physical, mental, and moral qualification
of the inmate eligible for parole;
(3) The progress of the inmate during his con-
finement;
(4) Whether or not there is reasonable probability
that the inmate, if released on parole, will remain
at liberty without violating the law; and

(5) Whether or not release on parole of the
inmate is compatible with the welfare of society."

Md. Ann. Code art. 41, § 112 (1976).

Section 112 does not contain language comparable to
the mandatory language of the Nebraska statute sufficient
to give an inmate a legitimate expectation of release.
Therefore, petitioner has no right to be afforded due process
protection.

Petitioner has stated no facts in Ground IV to support
any equal protection argument either. Ground IV, therefore,
will be dismissed.

Accordingly, it is this 2 es day of October, 1986,
by the United States District Court for the District of
Maryland, ORDERED:

1) That leave to proceed jp forma pauperis is

hereby GRANTED.

2) That petitioner's complaint is hereby DISMISSED,
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1915(d), as frivolous.

3) That the Clerk mail a copy of this Memorandum
and Order to the petitioner, Billie Austin Bryant, #93746-131,
P. O. Box 1000, Marion, Illinois 62959, and to the United

States Attorney for the District of Maryland.

-
\ f
;

Viner 02 | ~

ane ) James R. MiNér, Jr. |
/ nited States District Judge \

Certificate of Service

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on this (otf aay of August, 1993, three
copies of the foregoing Respondent’s Brief in Opposition were
mailed, postage prepaid, to Andrew H. Baida and Carmen M. Shepard,
Assistant Attorneys General and counsel for Petitioner, 200 St.

Paul Place, 20th Floor, Baltimore, aca 21202.

TI ff

aad hz

Stuart R. Cohen

dam/8779

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386019_0961%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
