# Opposition Brief — Blanchard v. Williams, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1956%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 519 U.S. 1115

## Text

> | Supreme Court, U.S,

C4. FILED
YAN 14 1997
No. 96-948
CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1996
+
CHARLES R. BLANCHARD, SR. and

WEST LOUISIANA CRAWFISH PRODUCERS
ASSOCIATION, INC.,

Petitioners,

WILLIAMS, INC. and ATCHAFALAYA
CRAWFISH CONSERVATION ASSOCIATION,

Respondents.
¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit

.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
¢

NEWMAN TROWBRIDGE, JR. Patrick G. TRAcy, JR.

Biccs, TROWBRIDGE, SUPPLE 600 Jefferson St., Suite 910
AND CREMALDI Post Office Box 54001
Post Office Drawer 565 Lafayette, Louisiana 70505
Franklin, Louisiana 70538 Telephone: (318) 266-2340

Telephone: (313) 828-5480 Attorney for Respondent,
Attorney for Respondent, Williams, Inc.

Atchafalaya Crawfish
Conservation Association

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

LIST OF PARTIES

Atchafalaya Crawfish Conservation Association

Williams, Inc.

ii
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Williams Land Company, L.L.C. and 44 Production
Company, L.L.C are affiliates of Williams, Inc.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

i EN oc sca ca does kbs #0 es hvsea sey es veo
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT ..........
EE ee ED fs a bie Sodas S diaper eerevscveses
EE A RRP REMRMIREREEE so sc esc ose cvecteccvecsuess
ey salt ee y |e ee >. Pa

a coed eabuwdceen

ee ceeusdbocebicceves
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT.............
ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES.................

1.

THERE IS NO RIGHT UNDER FEDERAL LAW
TO CRAWFISH ON PRIVATELY OWNED
SWAMPLAND ACCESSIBLE BY BOAT FROM
NAVIGABLE WATERS. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
DECISION IN THIS REGARD IS CONSISTENT
WITH A LONG HISTORY OF JURISPRU-
DENCE FROM THIS COURT.................

NO INDIVIDUAL FEDERAL RIGHTS ARISE
UNDER THE “PUBLIC TRUST” OR “EQUAL
FOOTING” DOCTRINE. MOREOVER, THAT
DOCTRINE HAS NO APPLICATION TO VIR-
TUALLY ALL OF THE PROPERTY IN DIS-
PUTE IN THIS LITIGATION WHICH WAS
ACQUIRED BY THE STATE OF LOUISIANA,
NOT BY RIGHT OF INHERENT SOVER-
EIGNTY UPON ADMISSION TO STATEHOOD,
BUT BY GRANTS FROM THE UNITED STATES
GOVERNMENT AS SWAMP AND OVER-
FLOWED LANDS OR LANDS OTHERWISE
ABOVE THE LIMITS OF HIGH WATER, AND
LATER CONVEYED BY LOUISIANA INTO
PUR WENEEE TPTURUONUEUEE «900 csrccnereceescncsas

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

A. No Individual Federal Rights Arise Under the
Public Trust or Equal Footing Doctrine... ..

B. The Vast Areas of Swamp and Overflowed
Lands In Which the Crawfishermen Claim
Public Use Rights in This Proceeding Are
Unaffected by the Public Trust Doctrine ..

3. THE ACT OF ADMISSION OF LOUISIANA

IV.

INTO THE UNION RECOGNIZED MERELY
THE RIGHT OF FREE PASSAGE UPON THE
MISSISSIPPI RIVER AND OTHER IMPOR-
TANT NAVIGABLE STREAMS AND WATER-
WAYS WHICH BECAME STATE-OWNED BY
RIGHT OF SOVEREIGNTY IN 1812 AND
ESTABLISHED NO FEDERAL RIGHT OR
INTEREST IN SUCH WATERWAYS SAVE
THAT SURRENDERED TO THE UNITED
STATES GOVERNMENT UNDER THE CON-
PELE MERE ccc cccesobsaeseusbawe eae 4 cHaeeenes

THERE IS NO FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL
RIGHT TO FISH ON PRIVATELY OWNED
SUBAQUEOUS LAND, EVEN IF NAVIGABLE-
IN-FACT TO COMMERCIAL CRAWFISHER-
DRG 04 bade a be abenkes da Ce vavedievesdedenstes

THE RIGHT TO CRAWFISH IS A PROPERTY
RIGHT INCIDENT TO THE OWNERSHIP OF
THE LAND AND DOES NOT FOLLOW FROM
ANY PUBLIC RIGHT OF PASSAGE ON
WATERS, EVEN IF NAVIGABLE, WHICH MAY
FLOW OVER PRIVATELY OWNED LAND....

Ae 6 eo hn 6 os ceed nds cncbieeeneKekas

16

17

20

23

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
JURISPRUDENCE
Amigo Enterprises, Inc. v. Gonzales, 581 So.2d 1082
CA Ba SS, BOGE 4 ice xaos Ch ecakinebiaxteens 26
Appleby v. City of New York, 271 U.S. 364, 46 S. Ct.
Fe See ocd cukaanenapeebe Gaba ber heee ee bera kes 15

Barney v. Keokuk, 94 U.S. 324, 24 L.Ed. 224 (1877) .... 15
Boykin & Lang v. Shaffer, 13 La. Ann. 129 (1858)..... 20
Brown v. Rougon, 552 So.2d 1052 (La. App. 1st Cir.

SOR 0b 6 SCRE Van tes BEa dah On oR ae to Ae Rae 26
Burns v. Crescent City Rod & Gun Club, 41 So. 249

ls ME < cable chew caw da dawanakhdats theaaeares 19
California v. Sierra Club, 101 S. Ct. 1775 (1981)....... 20
Cardwell v. American Bridge Company, 113 U.S. 205,

a ee NS RES hak uses evap eden chev nde vaneuuras 19
Chauvin v. Louisiana Oyster Commission, 121 La. 10,

Te Ts Be BONNE F565 Oe chic cee civ ecdekebesveees 17
Collins v. Gerhardt, 211 N.W. 115 (Mich. 1926)....... 25

Dardar v. Lafourche Realty Company, Inc., No.
85-1015 (E.D. La. 1991), affirmed in part,
vacated in part and remanded 985 F.2d 824 (5th

Sb RPO Kissy us cducy aewbnvecictrendeianas 19, 26, 29
Douglas v. Seacoast Products, Inc., 431 U.S. 265, 97

S Ct 1760, S2 LB. 2d SOR (1977)... eee cece. 21
Edmiston v. Wood, 566 So.2d 673 (La. App. 2d Cir.

SUP eis Uae h ee Wa aOR eae aRes wend Svat e oh O55 27

Escanaba Company v. Chicago, 107 U.S. 678, 2 S. Ct.
A a ere ene eee ner ree ee 19

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Gibson v. United States, 166 U.S. 269, 17 S. Ct. 578,

a ees Se RD cu 6 dks heen cde oak eke oe ean 20
Hampton v. Vicksburg, S & P.R., Co., 119 U.S. 280, 7

ee ee ee PELs, 6: 4 5 Rawle « vce cb oea eee pee 19
Hardin v. Jordan, 140 U.S. 371, 11 S. Ct. 808, 35

Ce Mt NE Ds nn 4 as bib 4 Oo eee eat Eee 8, 23
Hoffman Homes, Inc. v. Administrator, U.S. E.P.A.,

Oe Cee Ee Fe CO Se asi ccs Kennet uxewatuseees 22
Illinois Central R. Co. v. Illinois, 146 U.S. 387, 13 S.

sR eg _: 5 SIRES Sirgen Pun pa Gpar ng Brive «Mes nCmip To ee 15
Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 100 S.

Ce. 383, 62 L.Ba2a S32 CIG7G) oo ccncecvess 13, 21, 29
Loving v. Alexander, 745 F.2d 861 (4th Cir. 1984) ..... 21
Manchester v. Massachusetts, 139 U.S. 240, 11 S. Ct.

es ae La. A AMPED co's hawk eee Ree Narn ile ee We 21
Martin v. Waddel, 41 U.S. 367, 10 L.Ed. 97 (1842)..... 7
McCready v. Virginia, 94 U.S. 391, 24 L.Ed. 248

Lo: SE Pere Perrys eer oe er 21
McDade v. Bossier Levee Board, 109 La. 625, 33 So.

IE 6c) nd tekueee cusnieedeweukaadeeredes 16
McGilvra v. Ross, 215 U.S. 70, 30 S. Ct. 27, 54 L.Ed.

Rs So ak eda hind Chbwdkkae be eae wees cnek nes 14

Moore v. Hampton Roads Sanitation, 557 F.2d 1030
(4th Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1012, 98 S.
oe Be eit ee rey er veel yay 21

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Ne-Bo-Shone Association v. Hogarth, 7 F. Supp. 885

Cae ME EE 0K hala een en baVe tis an Reh earded oes 24
New Orleans Steamship Association v. Plaquemines

Port Harbor & Terminal District, 874 F.2d 1019

Se ee. REG FE cine aNidesededsnaddubeeecdweneas 19
Oregon ex rel. State Land Board v. Corvallis Sand and

Gravel Co., 429 U.S. 363, 97 S. Ct. 582, 50 L.Ed.2d

DP SEOTEE scapkaeras sh and banees We kpanaesecehcns 14
People For Open Waters, Inc. v. Estate of Gray, 643

$0.20 415 (La. App. 3rd Cir. 1994)................ 26
Phillips Petroleum Company v. Mississippi, 484

U.S. 469, 108 S. Ct. 791, 98 L.Ed.2d 877

SEED 5s Cad bsAks Rac edek ne seein waa 10, 15, 24, 26, 28
Pollard’s Lessee v. Hagen, 44 US. 212, 11 L.Ed. 565

SRE Snaces Vin en kncne dss dkchantees ia bie been oes 14, 18
Port of Seattle v. Oregon & W.R. Co., 255 U.S. 56, 41

pe 8 + rye Tr re te rere ore Ee 9
Shively v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. 1, 14S. Ct. 458, 38 L.Ed.

Ra: RR reer cere er pen oe 8, 14, 19
Smith v. Maryland, 18 How. 71, 15 L.Ed. 269 (1855) 21, 23
State v. Barras, 615 So.2d 285 (La. 1993)....... 4, 18, 27

State v. Danzy, 527 So.2d 68 (La. App. 3rd Cir.
Sed bi dees dobus 04040 0s wax seebasy WeecesssVabees

State v. Richardson, 140 La. 329, 72 So. 984 (1916) . .3, 26

State v. Sweet Lake Land and Oil Co., 164 La. 240,
ee OM g-carotene cree

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
United States v. Appalachian Electric Power Co., 311
U.S. -377, GF 5. SR. SOR CIPS) on nc aviccewssee seeves 21
United States v. Cress, 243 U.S. 316, 37 S. Ct. 380
rs ee te tere ee eee TE er eee. rete 14
Vaughn v. Vermilion Corporation, 444 U.S. 206, 100
S. Ct. 999, 62 L.Ed.2d 365 (1979)........... 12, 13, 29
Warner v. Clarke, 232 So.2d 99 (La. App. 2d Cir.
og ETE See rr EPC TOTS Te eC rT eee etsy pepe ee 26
Weber v. Commissioners, 18 Wall. 57 (1873)........ Te
Zabel v. Tabb, 430 F.2d 199 (5th Cir. 1970) ........... 22
STATUTES
Se Sis Sts hed o's £0 ek ceeea cr RELs wip enbeoe esate 17
go 2 5 ade ||) peer rmnrere re rere sy TF 22
SE rey tee Beeps ear Pere en es ee 22
SS WA. GOs OE OO. soo 05 ie cneks Keen aned ose vebrane 16
Act of February 20, 1811, 2 Stat. 642................ 17
Act of March 2, 1849, C. 87, 9 Stat. 352.........000> 16
Act of September 28, 1850, C. 84, 9 Stat. 519........ 16
EM, Fe Se Oe RC a eek ecince cicavicvackwheeueceants 16
Silks TAS Te OE A est o0s hon caeenbeeeneens neeskinnee 16
Li. BEE Bee TE BPA sche spvcadrnass otacckastesaonse 16
Os FE FE Oe Fake hi woven Opie vgdncess cee eewenses 16

ka. © oeee Cee eee See ck vn ok es oteee dear akikie 27

ix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

La. Civil Code Article 456............. er
SA, Bedc EE MEE» Gr Lei oc 4a 6 $005 as bheerss es hee
ee 6 5 pep remeron arr rr here tree
Ne Seer es Pr er ree PCr ere
a. PR. SO FOE Mikes once in daccepecccapnene

OTHER AUTHORITIES

“The Right to Take Fish and Game in Navigable, Non-
Tidal Waters,” 27 Harvard Law Review 750
CN cid La tebe sania Shenae eh laa eke bes i a¥6

A.N. Yiannopoulos, La. Civil Law Treatise, Vol. 2,
Property, §§56-61, 85 (3rd Ed., 1991)...........

Hargrave, “The Public Trust Doctrine: A Plea for
Precision,” 53 La. Law Rev. 1535 (1993).........

Louisiana State Law Institute’s Advisory Legal Opin-
ion Relative to Non-Navigable Waterbottoms, 53
ee Dee REOUEEE 6 6 vind c cede eo Save bees edes

Madden, Federal and State Lands in Louisiana (1973) ....

Opinion of the Attorney General of the State of Louisi-
Tree CTE ETO C ETRE ET Eee

Submerged Lands Act, House Report No. 215 to
accompany H.R. 4198, Appendix I, 83d Cong.,
1st Sess. (1953), reprinted in 1953 United States
Code Congressional and Administrative News
oP ee Sere errr rT errs Tie eee reer ee

1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Introduction

Respondents Williams, Inc. (“Williams”) and
Atchafalaya Crawfish Conservation Association
(“ACCA”), sometimes hereinafter referred to collectively
as the “Landowners,” jointly file this brief in opposition
to the petition for review filed by Charles R. Blanchard,
Sr. (“Blanchard”) and West Louisiana Crawfish Producers
Association, Inc. (“Producers”), sometimes hereinafter
collectively referred to as the “Crawfishermen.”

The Crawfishermen instituted this proceeding seek-
ing a declaratory judgment {.xing the extent and nature
of their rights to commercially crawfish on privately-
owned swamplands comprising in excess of 95,000 acres
situated within the Atchafalaya Basin of Louisiana. The
Crawfishermen also claimed that the Landowners’ acts of
posting, patrolling and threatening trespass actions in
these contested areas were illegal and sought to enjoin
the Landowners from interfering with the alleged public
rights to crawfish in these areas.

Asserting federal question jurisdiction of the matter,
the Crawfishermen claim that there are federally pro-
tected fishery rights in these areas and that they are
protected under the Civil Rights Act from posting and
threatening enforcement of state criminal trespass laws
which may operate to preclude them from their alleged
public right to use and enjoy these lands for their craw-
fishing activities. The Crawfishermen further alleged
pendent jurisdiction of state property law claims to craw-
fish in the contested areas.

Williams is an owner of lands within the Atchafalaya
Basin, some of which are leased to others for commercial
crawfishing. ACCA is a corporation which has as its
principal business the conduct of commercial crawfishing
operations on lands leased from others, including Wil-
liams. The Landowners deny that lands they own or lease

are subject to any public right of access or use for com-
mercial crawfishing purposes. The Landowners filed a
motion for summary judgment. Finding no basis in fed-
eral law for the rights claimed by the Crawfishermen, the
United States District Court for the Western District of
Louisiana issued a memorandum ruling and final judg-
ment in favor of the positions asserted by the Land-
owners, granting the motion for summary judgment and
dismissing the Crawfishermen’s claims, without preju-
dice to their right to pursue their state law claims in the
state courts of Louisiana. 7

On appeal by the Crawfishermen asserting the same
federal rights claimed on this petition for review, the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
affirmed the District Court judgment, finding no revers-
ible error. The Fifth Circuit did not designate its opinion
for publication, implicitly recognizing that the case was
decided on the basis of well-settled principles of law and
concerned no legal issues of significant public interest.
See 5th Cir. R. 47.5.

Statement of Facts

Contrary to the suggestions contained in the Craw-
fishermen’s petition to this Court, the area in controversy
is not a large navigable waterway fished by these Craw-
fishermen or their ancestors since time immemorial. The
area in controversy is swampland situated entirely within
the Atchafalaya Basin Floodway (the “Floodway”). The
Floodway is a vast area more than 130 miles long which
contains a network of channels, lakes and forested
swamps. There are interstate highways which cross the
Floodway and state roads which exit the interstate and
provide access to trailer parks and campsite develop-
ments which exist throughout the Floodway. Guide
levees now artificially define the area directly affected by
the Floodway’s major water course, the Atchafalaya River.

The area in controversy corsists of about 95,000 acres
of privately owned land located in the lower regions of

eS ARATE

3

the Floodway. The Crawfishermen claim no ownership
interest in these lands. The majority of these lands were
originally acquired by the State of Louisiana from the
United States as swamp and overflowed lands pursuant
to the Swamp Land Grants of 1849 and 1850, prior to
transfer by the State into private ownership.

Moreover, the area claimed by the Landowners and
over which dominion is being exercised does not extend
below the level of ordinary low water.! Not only are the
activities of the Crawfishermen occurring within the for-
ested privately owned portions of the Floodway, those
activities require the actual use of the privately owned
bottom and/or privately owned timber resources. The
activities for which the Crawfishermen seek federal pro-
tection are neither traditional fishing activities nor acts of
navigation. Rather, those activities, which require the
placement of traps on the bottom of the swamp for weeks
at a time and further require the anchoring of the trap to
a tree or stake embedded in the soil, constitute impedi-
ments to navigation.

Throughout this proceeding, the Crawfishermen
have attempted to mask their claims as an effort to recog-
nize a public right to navigate on and use waterways.
Their claims, however, have nothing to do with rights of

1 The area between ordinary low water and ordinary high
water on rivers and streams is defined in Louisiana law as the
“bank.” La. C.C. art. 456. The bank along the riparian
swampland, pursuant to Louisiana law, is privately owned.
Ibid.; see also State v. Richardson, 140 La. 329, 72 So. 984 at
990-991 (1916). The pleadings in this litigation and the
Statement of Material Undisputed Facts filed in connection with
the motion for summary judgment confirm that the activities of
the Crawfishermen occur above ordinary low water.

4

navigation on waterways; rather, they seek a public right
to access and use private swampland, to tie boats and |
nets to trees growing on those lands and to otherwise |
conduct commercial crawfishing operations thereon.? |

In 1990, ACCA embarked on a legitimate business
venture of leasing private property for the purpose of
engaging in commercial crawfishing activities. Many
crawfishermen participated in its leasing/permit pro- |
gram. In order to protect its property rights and those of |
its permittees, ACCA, through its representatives,
brought trespass complaints under Louisiana state law
against crawfishermen placing traps on these private
lands without permission who refused after several
requests to obtain permits or cease crawfishing on the
private swamplands. In both lower courts, these peti-
tioners advanced a groundless civil rights complaint
founded on a naked claim that the District Attorney of
Iberia Parish “presumptively” agreed to prosecute indi-
viduals pursuant to ACCA’s enforcement of its leasing
program and carried out that concerted plan to their
detriment.> That claim was properly dismissed by the
courts below and has been abandoned by the Crawfisher-
men in this petition for review.

2 Thus, contrary to the question for review posed by the
Crawfishermen in their petition to this Court, the real issue in
this case, as recognized by the District Court, is whether federal
law permits the public at large to conduct commercial
crawfishing activities on privately-owned waterbottoms
accessible from navigable waters.

3 In fact, only one prosecution has been pursued by the
District Attorney’s office on complaint of a Williams, Inc. lessee
on lands in controversy in this proceeding outside the ACCA
area, which prosecution was affirmed as legally proper in the state
courts of Louisiana. See State v. Barras, 615 So. 2d 285 (La. 1993).
Five arrests made on complaint of ACCA in the area in
controversy have not been prosecuted beyond bill of
information to date.

5

Finally, it should be noted that behind this effort to
convert private property rights of the Landowners into free
public domain are the Crawfishermen’s objections to permit
fees, seasonal limitations on crawfishing use and the imposi-
tion of statutorily-required mesh size restrictions on the craw-
fishing activities allowed on these private swamplands by
the Landowners in order to conserve and manage the craw-
fish resource. Since the inception of this litigation, the State
of Louisiana through its Department of Wildlife and Fish-
eries has imposed similar limitations upon publicly owned
swamplands within the Sherbourne Wildlife Management
Area of the Floodway in Iberville Parish north of the acreage
in dispute in this proceeding. Emergency regulations
adopted May 4, 1995 include provisions which close certain
tracts of recently forested land to crawfishing, set a crawfish
season on the remainder of the property, require a crawfish
permit and set a fee therefor and restrict use of motor boats
on some of the property (which often occasion damage to the
levees and small trees requiring expensive repair). See La.
Admin. Code 76: VII.177, reprinted at Volume 21 Louisiana
Register No. 5. These regulations were deeined necessary
due to the negative impact on wildlife and timber resources
from unregulated commercial and recreational crawfishing
on the public property. These regulations further demon-
strate that, as properly recognized by the courts below,
crawfishing is an inherently land-based activity which not
only requires use of waterbottoms but often occasions dam-
age to private land resources.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit in this matter affirms a United States
District Court finding that no federal law confers a public
right to crawfish on privately-owned swampland acces-
sible from navigable water, a property law question dic-
tated by state law and properly resolved in the state
courts of Louisiana. That decision creates no conflict with

6

any other United States Circuit Court of Appeals’ deci-
sion or with any relevant decision of this Court. It
involves no conflicting principles of federal law, the set-
tlement of which is of importance to the public.

In their effort to create a’ federal right where none
exists, the Crawfishermen invoke ancient principles of
English law and the Magna Charta, attempt to impress
property law principles of other states upon Louisiana
under the guise of federal common law and to transform
statehood acts intended to assure that navigable water-
ways remain free highways of transportation among the
citizens of the states into a federal right in the public to
create commerce from the private property of others. At
the same time, they ignore modern pronouncements of
the United States Supreme Court and of the Congress of
the United S‘ates, of the Louisiana Supreme Court and of
the Legislature of the State of Louisiana which recognize
that crawfishing rights on privately owned swamplands
are matters of state property law.

As indicated by the argument which follows and by
the disposition of this case by the Fifth Circuit below,
there is no compelling reason for this Honorable Court to
review this case on writ of certiorari inasmuch as the
decision of the lower courts comports with settled federal
law, specific Congressional legislation and over a century
of Supreme Court pronouncements.

7

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES

1. THERE iS NO RIGHT UNDER FEDERAL LAW TO
CRAWFISH ON PRIVATELY OWNED SWAMPLAND
ACCESSIBLE BY BOAT FROM NAVIGABLE
WATERS. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT DECISION IN THIS
REGARD IS CONSISTENT WITH A LONG HISTORY
OF JURISPRUDENCE FROM THIS COURT.

The Crawfishermen argue that questionable princi-
ples of English common law‘ have become federal com-
mon law impressing upon Louisiana’s civil law of
property a federal right to crawfish on privately owned
lands beneath navigable waters. A long line of jurispru-
dence from this Court and specific Congressional legisla-
tion clearly reject such a notion.

In Martin v. Waddel, 41 U.S. 367, 10 L.Ed. 97 (1842),
cited by the Crawfishermen, the Court had this to say:
We do not propose to meddle with the point
which was very much discussed at bar, as to the
power of the King, since Magna Charta, to grant
to a subject a portion of the soil covered by the
navigable waters of the kingdom, so as to give
him an immediate and exclusive right of fishery,
either for shell-fish or floating fish, within the
limits of his grant. The question is not free from
doubt, and the authorities referred to in the
English books cannot, perhaps, be altogether
reconciled. ... And we the more willingly for-
bear to express an opinion on this subject,
because it has ceased to be a matter of much
interest in the United States. For when the revolu-
tion took place, the people of each state became them-
selves sovereign; and in that character hold the
absolute right to all their navigable waters, and the
soils under them, for their own common use, subject

* Note Justice Thompson’s dissent in Martin v. Waddel, 41
U.S. 367 at 418-434.

8

only to the rights since surrendered by the constitu-
tion to the general government. A grant made by
their authority must, therefore, manifestly be tried
and determined by different principles from those
which apply to the grants of the British Crown, when
the title is held by a single individual, in trust for
the whole nation. See 41 U.S. 367 at 410-411
(emphasis added).

In Hardin v. Jordan, 140 U.S. 371, 11 S. Ct. 808, 35
L.Ed. 428 (1891), the Court observed, with respect to title
to and use of state sovereignty lands:

Such title being in the state, the lands are subject

to state regulation and control, under the condi-

tion, however, of not interfering with the regula-

tions which may be made by Congress with

regard to public navigation and commerce. The

state may even dispose of the usufruct of such lands,

as is frequently done by leasing the oyster beds in

them, and granting fisheries in particular

localities;. . . . Sometimes large areas so

reclaimed are occupied by cities, and are put to

other public or private uses, state control and

ownership therein being supreme, subject only to the

paramount authority of Congress in making regula-

tions of commerce and in subjecting the lands to

the necessities and uses of commerce... . but it

depends on the law of each state to what waters and

to what extent this prerogative of the state over the

lands under water shall be exercised. See 140 U.S.

381, 382 (emphasis added).

In Shively v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. 1, 14 S. Ct. 548, 38 L.Ed.
331 (1894), the Court clarified the nature of the so-called
“public trust” or “equal footing” title by which the fed-
eral government held territory like that of Louisiana prior
to its admission to statehood, observing that:

The new states admitted into the Union since

the adoption of the Constitution have the same

rights as the original states in the tide waters,

9

and in the lands under them, within their
respective jurisdictions. The title and rights of
riparian or littoral proprietors in the soil below high
water mark, therefore, are governed by the laws of
the several states, subject to the rights granted to the
United States by the Constitution.

The United States, while they hold the country
as a territory, having all the powers both of
national and of municipal government, may
grant, for appropriate purposes, titles or rights
in the soil below high water mark of tidewaters.
But they have never done so by general laws,
and, unless in some case of international duty or
public exigency, have acted upon the policy, as
most in accordance with the interest of the peo-
ple and with the object for which the territories
were acquired, of leaving the administration and
disposition of the sovereign rights in navigable
waters, aiid in the soil under them, to the control of
the states, respectively, when organized and admit-
ted into the Union. See 152 U.S. 1, 57-59
(emphasis added).

In Port of Seattle v. Oregon & W.R. Co., 255 U.S. 56, 41
S. Ct. 237 (1921), Justice Brandeis, speaking for a unani-
mous Court, stated:

The right of the United States in the navigable
waters within the several states is limited to the
control thereof for purposes of navigation... .
The character of the state’s ownership in the
land and in the waters is the full proprietary
right. The state, being the absolute owner of the
tidelands and of the waters over them, is free in
conveying tidelands either to grant with them rights
in the adjoining water area or to completely withhold
all such rights. Whether a conveyance made by the
state of land abutting upon navigable water does
confer upon the grantee any right or interest in those
waters or in the land under the same is a matter

10

wholly of local law. Shively v. Bowlby, 152 U.S. 1,

14 S. Ct. 548, 38 L.Ed. 331. Upon such questions

the provisions of the Constitution and statutes of the

state and the decisions of its highest court are

accepted by us as conclusive. 255 U.S. 56 at 63

(emphasis added).

Finally, in its most recent pronouncement on the subject,
this Court, after a lengthy review of the history of law in this
area, stated in Phillips Petroleam Company v. Mississippi, 484
U.S. 469, 108 S. Ct. 791, 98 L.Ed.2d 877 (1988), that:

. . . But it has been long established that the

individual States have the authority to define

the limits of the lands held in public trust and to

recognize private rights in such lands as they

see fit. [citing Shively v. Bowlby]. Some of the

original States, for example, did recognize more

private interests in tidelands than did others of

the 13 - more private interests than were recog-

nized at common law, or in the dictates of our

public trust cases.

... Many coastal States, as a matter of state law,

granted all or a portion of their tidelands to

adjacent upland property owners long ago. Our
decision today does nothing to change owner-
ship rights in States which previously relin-
quished a public trust claim to tidelands such as
those at issue here. See 484 U.S. 475-476, 483.

Consistent with this long history of Supreme Court
pronouncements, the Congress of the United States in
1953 confirmed the ownership and dominion of the States
to the lands beneath navigable waters within their respec-
tive boundaries and of the fisheries resources therein,
declaring in the Submerged Lands Act that:

“Title to and ownership of the lands beneath navi-

gable waters within the boundaries of the respec-

tive States, and the natural resources within such

lands and waters, and the right and power to manage,

administer, lease, develop, and use the said lands and

11

natural resources all in accordance with applicable State
law be, and they are hereby, subject to the provi-
sions hereof, recognized, confirmed, established,
invested in and assigned to the respective States or
the persons who were on June 5, 1950 entitled thereto
under the law of the respective States in which the land
is located, and the respective grantees, lessees or
successors in interest thereof;” See 43 U.S.C.
§1311(a).
“Natural resources” is defined at Section 1301(e) to
include fish, shrimp, oysters, crabs, lobsters and other
marine animal life. The legislative history of the Sub-
merged Lands Act contains the following observations
with respect to the Congressional intent:

The earliest assertions by the States of proprietary
rights in their submerged lands arose in connection
with the regulation of fishing. Except in a few
instances, where international treaties were
involved, State control of fishing in navigable
waters, within the State’s boundaries, has been
exclusive. The principal basis for this right to con-
trol fishing rests upon the proprietary rights of the
State to the waters and the soil thereunder.
* * *

The repeated assertions by our highest Court for
a period of more than a century of the doctrine
of State ownership of all navigable waters,
whether inland or rot, and the universal belief
that such was the settled law, have for all practi-
cal purposes established a principle which the
committee believes should as a matter of policy
be recognized and confirmed by Congress as a

rule of property law.

State control of fishing, especially for sedentary fish,
such as shrimp, oysters, clams, crabs, lobsters, etc.,
has been based upon the State’s ownership of the

12

soil.> Regulations by many States are based upon
the statutory declaration of the state’s owner-
ship of the waters and the fish in them.
(emphasis added)

* *

The uses to which these lands are put are essen-
tially local in character, and are of primary con-
cern to the people of the particular locality. Any
conflict of interests arising from the use of the
submerged lands should be and can best be
solved by local authorities. See Submerged Lands

Act, House Report No. 215 to accompany H.R.

4198, Appendix I, 83d Cong., Ist Sess. (1953),

reprinted in 1953 United States Code Congres-

sional and Administrative News 1385 at

1426-1437.

The suggestion by the Crawfishermen of a conflict
with the decision of this Court in Vaughn v. Vermilion
Corp., 100 S. Ct. 399 (1979), is wholly without merit. The
Vaughn decision is inapposite as a matter of fact and law.
It involved an alleged right of public access to private
navigable canals for travel and fishing. On the questions
certified for review, this Court held that (1) although
channels built on private property with private funds
ultimatly join with other navigable waterways, no general
right of use in the public arises by reason of the authority over
navigation conferred upon Congress by the Commerce Clause
of the Constitution and (2) if, however, the construction

5 La. R.S. 9:1101 declares Louisiana’s ownership of
navigable waters and the beds thereof not under the direct
ownership of any person on August 12, 1910, and its right to the
possession of same, subject only to the paramount right of the
United States to control navigation on such waters. See,
generally, 53 Louisiana Law Review 35 at 43-77. Note also that
La. R.S. 41:1701 recognizes the public fishery interests of the
State in, and its management authority over, state-owned
navigable waterbottoms.

cng ——

13

of the artificial waterways destroyed the navigability of
the surrounding natural waterways, they could become
substituted therefor and subject to public use under the
limitations and guidelines established by the Court's
decision in Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 100
S. Ct. 383, 62 L.Ed.2d 332.

In this litigation, the Crawfishermen admit in their
complaint that none of the waterbottoms at issue are
private canals which destroyed former navigable water-
ways and that crawfishing and other commercial fishing
is not done to any significant extent in canals. Moreover,
the use of the private waterbottoms was not at issue in
Vaughn.

There is no federal statutory or common law right to
crawfish on private property beneath navigable waters
within the State of Louisiana. On the contrary, the juris-
prudence of this Court and federal statutes confirm that
these are matters of individual state law and policy.

2. NO INDIVIDUAL FEDERAL RIGHTS ARISE UNDER
THE “PUBLIC TRUST” OR “EQUAL FOOTING”
DOCTRINE. MOREOVER, THAT DOCTRINE HAS
NO APPLICATION TO VIRTUALLY ALL OF THE
PROPERTY IN DISPUTE IN THIS LITIGATION
WHICH WAS ACQUIRED BY THE STATE OF LOUI-
SIANA, NOT BY RIGHT OF INHERENT SOVER-
EIGNTY UPON ADMISSION TO STATEHOOD, BUT
BY GRANTS FROM THE UNITED STATES GOVERN-
MENT AS SWAMP AND OVERFLOWED LANDS OR
LANDS OTHERWISE ABOVE THE LIMITS OF HIGH
WATER, AND LATER CONVEYED BY LOUISIANA
INTO PRIVATE OWNERSHIP.

A. No Individual Federal Rights Arise Under the
Public Trust or Equal Footing Doctrine

As previously noted, each state obtained ownership
of and dominion over lands covered by tide waters and
navigable waterbottoms within its limits at the time of

14

sovereignty, with the consequent right to use or dispose
of any portion thereof subject to the right of Congress to
control their navigation so far as may be necessary for the
regulation of commerce with foreign nations and among
the states. Upon statehood, the federal trust title was
relinquished. See also Pollard’s Lessee v. Hagen, 44 U.S.
212, 11 L.Ed. 565 (1845); Weber v. Commissioners, 18 Wall.
57 (1873); McGilvra v. Ross, 215 U.S. 70, 30 S. Ct. 27, 54
L.Ed. 95 (1909); United States v. Cress, 243 U.S. 316, 37
S. Ct. 380 (1917). A century ago, this Court, in examining
the disposition of public use and ownership rights made
by the respective States in waterbottoms acquired by
right of inherent sovereignty, observed “that there is no
universal and uniform law upon the subject, but that each
state has dealt with the lands under the tide waters
within its borders according to its own views of justice
and policy, reserving its own control over such lands, or
granting rights therein to individuals or corporations,
whether owners of the adjoining upland or not, as it
considered for the best interest of the public.” See Shively,
supra, 157 U.S. 1, at 26, 14 S. Ct. 548 at 557.

In Oregon ex rel. State Land Board v. Corvallis Sand and
Gravel Co., 429 U.S. 363, 97 S. Ct. 582, 50 L.Ed.2d 550
(1977), this Court rejected the application of federal com-
mon law to determine ownership rights in waterbottoms
acquired by the State of Arizona upon its admission to
the Union, observing that once the equal footing doctrine
vested title in the States, upon their admission to the
Union, in the lands underlying navigable waters within
their boundaries, the force of the doctrine was spent.
Citing Pollard’s Lessee v. Hagen, the Court affirmed the
absolute title of the states to the beds of navigable waters,
“which neither a provision in the Act admitting the State
to the Union nor a grant from Congress to a third party
was capable of defeating.” Citing Shively v. Bowlby, the
Court affirmed that the title and rights of riparian propri-
etors in the soil below the high water mark is governed
by the laws of the several states, subject only to the rights

15

granted to the United States by the Constitution, under
which Congress by virtue of its commerce power pos-
sesses a navigational servitude with respect to navigable
waters for the purpose of regulating and improving navi-
gation. The Court also affirmed that riparian rights in the
banks and shores of waterways are governed not by
federal law but rather by the laws of the several States,
citing with approval its observation in Barney v. Keokuk,
94 U.S. 324, 24 L.Ed. 224 (1877), that if the States choose
to resign to the riparian proprietor rights which properly
belong to them in their sovereign capacity, it is not for
others to raise objections.

In Appleby v. City of New York, 271 U.S. 364, 46 S. Ct.
569 (1926), the Court expressly recognized that the power
of a state to part with property under navigable waters to
private persons, free from subsequent regulatory control
of the water over the land and the land itself, is a state
question to be determined from the law of the state at the
time the deeds to the property were executed. Comment-
ing specifically with regard to the Court’s earlier decision
in Illinois Central R. Co. v. Illinois, 146 U.S. 387, 13 S. Ct.
110 (1892), the Court affirmed that the public trust doc-
trine does not impose any limitation upon the power of a
state to dispose of public trust property as an incident
and part of its sovereignty, whether the disposition be in
full ownership or subject to public easement, provided
the disposition is reasonable and can fairly be said to be
for the public benefit or without substantial impairment
of the public interest in the lands and the waters remain-
ing. See 271 U.S. 364 at 393-395, 46 S. Ct. 569 at 578.

In its recent re-examination of the public trust doc-
trine in Phillips Petroleum v. Mississippi, supra, the Court
reaffirmed its long-established rule that the individual
States have the authority to define the limits of lands held
in public trust and to recognize private rights in such
lands as they see fit. There is accordingly no federal right
which may be claimed by these Crawfishermen under a

16

federal public trust doctrine to fish in the areas in dis-
pute, those rights being dictated by state law and policy.

B. The Vast Areas of Swamp and Overflowed
Lands In Which the Crawfishermen Claim Pub-
lic Use Rights in This Proceeding Are
Unaffected by the Public Trust Doctrine

Moreover, the vast areas of swamp and overflowed
lands within the high water areas claimed by these plain-
tiffs were not acquired by the State of Louisiana by right
of inherent sovereignty under the equal footing or public
trust doctrine. Many of these lands passed directly into
private ownership after Louisiana statehood by grant from
the United States as public lands above the limits of high
water. Most were transferred by the United States to the
State of Louisiana after its admission to the ends of
private reclamation and development under the federal
swamp land grants of 1849 and 1850.6 The very purpose
of these grants was to aid the State of Louisiana, through
the revenues to be generated by the sale and subsequent taxa-
tion of such lands, in constructing the necessary levees and
drains to protect the valuable agricultural lands, planta-
tions and settlements along the Mississippi River and its
major distributaries from annual floods and to reclaim
the swamp and overflowed lands within the State. See |
Act of March 2, 1849, C. 87, 9 Stat. 352 and Act of }
September 28, 1850, C. 84, 9 Stat. 519; see 43 U.S.C. §981
et seq.; see also La. Acts 74 of 1892, 18 of 1894, 160 of 1900 |
and 205 of 1910; and Madden, Federal and State Lands in
Louisiana (1973) at pages 291-296. The Crawfishermen do
not and cannot challenge the disposition of these lands by |
the State of Louisiana as public lands above the limits of

6 In McDade v. Bossier Levee Board, 109 La. 625, 33 So. 628
(La. 1902), the Louisiana Supreme Court affirmed that even
permanently overflowed swamps, or so-called shallow lakes,
were included within the federal swamp land grants.

17

high water which were susceptible to private ownership.
See Chauvin v. Louisiana Oyster Commission, 121 La. 10, 46
So. 38 (La. 1908); State v. Sweet Lake Land and Oil Co., 164
La. 240, 113 So. 833 (La. 1927) and State v. Danzy, 527
So.2d 68 (La. App. 3rd Cir. 1988), writ denied.

3. THE ACT OF ADMISSION OF LOUISIANA INTO
THE UNION RECOGNIZED MERELY THE RIGHT
OF FREE PASSAGE UPON THE MISSISSIPPI
RIVER AND OTHER IMPORTANT NAVIGABLE
STREAMS AND WATERWAYS \WHICH BECAME
STATE-OWNED BY RIGHT OF SOVEREIGNTY IN
1812 AND ESTABLISHED NO FEDERAL RIGHT
OR INTEREST IN SUCH WATERWAYS SAVE THAT
SURRENDERED TO THE UNITED STATES GOV-
ERNMENT UNDER THE CONSTITUTION.

The Crawfishermen argue that under the Act of
Admission of 1812, they have a federally conferred civil
right to crawfish on the Landowners’ property.” The Act
for the admission of Louisiana into the Union included
the provision “that the river Mississippi, and the naviga-
ble rivers and waters leading into the same, and into the
Gulf of Mexico, shall be common highways, and forever
free, as well to the inhabitants of the said state as to the
inhabitants of other states in the territories of the United
States, without any tax, duty, impost or toll therefor,
imposed by the said state.” Act of February 20, 1811; see 2
Stat. 642; see also 33 U.S.C. §10.

From the simple, unambiguous language of the Act,
it is clear that the enjoyment of navigable waters leading

7 Faced with the absence of any express or otherwise
reasonable suggestion of fishing rights within the language of
this statute, the Complaint by these Crawfishermen inferred
that this Act created a federal navigational servitude which protects
public fishery rights, although they later disclaimed any
dependency of fishing rights on navigational uses.

18

to the Mississippi River and the Gulf of Mexico as “com-
mon highways” contemplates nothing more than the
enjoyment of the water for purposes of navigation — of
passing and repassing, as a public highway, like a public
highway on land. It is not the use of the waterbodies for
any public purpose but for purposes of navigation and such
other uses as are incident to the enjoyment of the water
body as a public highway. That enjoyment creates no
rights or benefit in the public to the soil of the navigable
stream, which remains subject to any lawful private or
public control or use as does not impede or interfere with
the use of the water body as a public highway. Crawfish-
ing, as manifested in the deposition testimony of peti-
tioner Blanchard and acknowledgments of his counsel, is
an activity which peculiarly takes place on the bed or soil
of the waterbottom and requires the anchoring of a trap
to a tree, stake or other potential obstruction to the use of
the waters as a public highway in navigation. Thus,
waterbottom areas susceptible to crawfishing are inher-
ently insusceptible to use as public highways within the
intent of the Act of Admission.

A similar provision to Louisiana’s Act is found in the
compact entered into between the United States and Ala-
bama as a condition of its admission into the Union. That
compact was interpreted by this Court in Pollard’s Lessee
v. Hagen, supra, as creating no federal power or right, but
as merely evidencing the regulatory authority over com-
merce given to the United States under the Constitution.
The Court affirmed the exclusive right of sovereignty in
the States to dispose of or otherwise regulate use and
enjoyment of the shores and soils under navigable waters
within their respective jurisdictions, subject only to the
power conferred upon Congress under the Commerce

8 See the stipulation by the Crawfishermen noted at page 16
of the Memorandum Ruling of the District Court in this
proceeding, appended to the writ petition herein. Note also
State v. Barras, 615 So.2d 285 at 287.

EE Se OR ee ee TE

19

Clause of the United States Constitution. Thus, as a mat-
ter of federal law, the Act of Admission confers no greater
right in those navigable waters within the State of Louisi-
ana to which it applies, than exists under the Commerce
Clause authority which, as addressed below, creates no
individual federal rights in the Crawfishermen to fish in
the contested areas.

Shively, supra, and Burns v. Crescent City Rod & Gun
Club, 41 So. 249 (La. 1906), cited by the Crawfishermen as
recognizing a public trust fishery right implemented
under authority of the Act of Admission, are inapposite.
Shively’s references to the various acts establishing terri-
torial government or admitting states into the Union
reflect merely the design to preserve navigable water-
ways as public or common highways. Burns makes no
mention of public trust fishing rights (since none exist)
and cites the Act of Admission only in passing without
any holding thereon. More importantly, Burns ties the
right to fish upon a determination of whether the water-
bodies were navigable and state-owned (i.e., “it is because
navigable rivers afford a way of communicating that the
legislature has placed them in the public domain”), as to
which only one of the waterbodies at issue in that case
qualified.

New Orleans Steamship Association v. Plaquemines Port
Harbor & Terminal District, 874 F.2d 1019 (5th Cir. 1989) is
similarly inapposite, the authorities relied upon in that
decision clearly indicating that the Act’s proscription of
duties, imposts or tolls relates solely to the privilege of
navigating through the waters to insure a highway equally
open to all. See Hampton v. Vicksburg, S & P.R., Co., 119
U.S. 280, 285, 7 S. Ct. 206, 208 (1885); Cardwell v. American
Bridge Company, 113 U.S. 205, 5 S. Ct. 423 (1885); Escanaba
Company v. Chicago, 107 U.S. 678, 2 S. Ct. 185 (1883).9

9 Furthermore, Dardar v. Lafourche Realty, supra,
determined that the Act of Admission does not apply to all

20

4. THERE IS NO FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL
RIGHT TO FISH ON PRIVATELY OWNED SUB-
AQUEOUS LAND, EVEN IF NAVIGABLE-IN-FACT
TO COMMERCIAL CRAWFISHERMEN.

It is settled law that the ownership of, and dominion
and sovereignty over, navigable waterbottoms within the
limits of the states belong exclusively to the respective
States in which they are found, including the right to
recognize private rights in such lands as each state sees
fit, subject only to the paramount right of Congress to
control their navigation so far as may be necessary for the
regulation of commerce among the states and with for-
eign nations. See authorities previously cited herein.
Clause 3 of Section 8 of Article 1 of the Constitution
recognizes that Congress shall have the power to regulate
commerce with foreign nations and among the several
states. Congress possesses by virtue of its commerce
power a navigational servitude with respect to navigable
waters for the purpose of regulating and improving navi-
gation.!° See Gibson v. United States, 166 "J.S. 269, 17 S. Ct.
578, 41 L.Ed. 996 (1897). The exercise of the Commerce
Clause authority of Congress is, in turn, subject to the
prohibition of the Fifth Amendment of the United States

waterways leading to the Gulf of Mexico, but only to waterways
which were navigable in fact at the time of its enactment in 1812.
The statute was also never intended to apply to waterways only
capable of an imperfect navigation in times of floods and very
high water. See Boykin & Lang v. Shaffer, 13 La. Ann. 129, 130-131
(1858).

10 The removal of any obstruction to navigable waters of
the United States lies within the authority delegated by
Congress to the United States Army Corps of Engineers.
California v. Sierra Club, 101 S. Ct. 1775 (1981), affirmed that the
Congressional prohibition against obstruction of navigable
waters of the United States under Section 10 of the Rivers and
Harbors Act of 1899 does not confer a private right of action to
contest such obstructions.

Ee EN ee eT emo

21

Constitution against the taking of private property for
public use without compensation. See Kaiser Aetna v.
United States, 444 U.S. 164, 100 S. Ct. 383, 62 L.Ed.2d 332
(1979).

Precedents of the United States Supreme Court also
recognize that while the title of each State in the beds of
navigable and tide waters within its jurisdiction is subject
to a paramount right of navigation granted to the United
States for the regulation of foreign and interstate com-
merce, federal Commerce Clause authority does not pre-
empt the substantial proprietary interest of a state in the
control of fisheries and other natural resources within its
boundaries, except to preclude state restrictions which
discriminate in favor of its own citizens and against those
of other states or which violate a federal statute or treaty
on the subject. See Smith v. Maryland, 59 U.S. 71, 15 L. Ed.
269 (1855); McCready v. Virginia, 94 U.S. 391, 24 L.Ed. 248
(1877) [regarding the authority of Virginia to regulate
oyster cultivation in its tidal rivers: “[T]here is here no
question of transportation or exchange of commodities,
but only of cultivation and production. Commerce has
nothing to do with land while producing, but only with
the product after it has become the subject of trade.”];
Manchester v. Massachusetts, 139 U.S. 240, 11 S. Ct. 559, 35
L.Ed. 159 (1891); Douglas v. Seacoast Products, Inc., 431 U.S.
265, 97 S. Ct. 1740, 52 L.Ed.2d 304 (1977); note also Moore
v. Hampton Roads Sanitation, 557 F.2d 1030 (4th Cir. 1976),
cert. denied [harvesting of oysters from leases issued by
Virginia is a purely local activity subject to Virginia state
law, as recognized by Congress in the Submerged Lands
Act] and Loving v. Alexander, 745 F.2d 861 (4th Cir. 1984)
[the federal navigational servitude under the Commerce
Clause does not include public fishing rights, a matter
governed by state law].

While United States v. Appalachian Electric Power Co.,
311 U.S. 377, 61 S. Ct. 548 (1940) indicates that the Com-
merce Clause power of the United States over navigable
waters is not limited to control for navigation and can

22

include such interests as flood protection, watershed
development and the production of power, the express
reservation of these rights in the Submerged Lands Act
[see 43 U.S.C. §1311(d)], coupled with the express con-
firmation of the authority of the States over shell-fish
cultivation and harvesting in the same Act [43 U.S.C.
§1311(a)], leaves beyond question the conclusion that no
individual federal fishing rights under the Commerce
Clause or other provision of the United States Constitu-
tion were contemplated to exist either in 1953 or today.
Thus, Section 1314 of the Act declares that the United
States retains all its navigational servitude and rights in
and powers of regulation and control of said lands and
navigable waters for the constitutional purposes of com-
merce, navigation, national defense and international
affairs, all of which shall be paramount to, but shall not be
deemed to include, proprietary rights of ownership, or the
rights of management, administration, leasing, use, and devel-
opment of the lands and natural resources which are speci-
fically recognized, confirmed and vested in and assigned
to the respective States and others by Section 1311.

Zabel v. Tabb, 430 F.2d 199 (5th Cir. 1970), cited by the
Crawfishermen to suggest a Commerce Clause public
fishing right, is not only distinguishable on its facts (no
fishing interest at issue or considered by the Court) but
its conclusion that the Commerce Clause authority
extends to regulating use of private submerged riparian
property for conservation purposes (i.e., to protect wildlife)
because “the destruction of fish and wildlife in our
estuarine waters does have a substantial, and in some
areas a devastating, effect on interstate commerce” has
been properly criticized as perfunctory dicta made with-
out any analysis and accordingly should be given no
weight. See Hoffman Homes, Inc. v. Administrator, U.S.
E.P.A., 961 F.2d 1310 at 1321 n. 8 (7th Cir. 1992). Moreover,
the Commerce Clause application suggested by the Craw-
fishermen would completely emasculate the express pro-
visions of the Submerged Lands Act.

ee |

23

Neither the Commerce Clause nor the 14th Amend-
ment"! of the United States Constitution confers any right
upon an individual citizen to fish on privately owned
subaqueous land within the boundaries of the State of
Louisiana. Neither Louisiana’s property law nor the use
and protection by these Landowners of their private
property rights violates any federal law or treaty or dis-
criminates against citizens of another state or otherwise
impairs any federal interest in interstate commerce. In
fact, federal law (including Supreme Court jurispru-
dence) specifically sanctions the private property rights
and interests of these Landowners under Louisiana state
law.

5. THE RIGHT TO CRAWFISH IS A PROPERTY
RIGHT INCIDENT TO THE OWNERSHIP OF THE
LAND AND DOES NOT FOLLOW FROM ANY
PUBLIC RIGHT OF PASSAGE ON WATERS, EVEN
IF NAVIGABLE, WHICH MAY FLOW OVER PRI-
VATELY OWNED LAND.

The Crawfishermen’s naked claim that public trust
fishing rights are a protected use of navigable waters
independent of land ownership is contradicted by the very
authorities which they cite in support of their alleged
rights. Smith v. Maryland notes that, among the possible
state interests, “public trust lands may be used for fishing
for both shell-fish [and] floating fish” and observes that
“the soil [below the low water mark] is held by the state
for the enjoyment of certain public rights, among which is
the common liberty of taking fish.” See also Hardin ».

11 The Slaughterhouse Cases, 16 Wall.36, 83 U.S.36 (1873),
lend no support to the rights claimed by the Crawfishermen.
The dicta cited by the Crawfishermen bears neither the meaning
(i.e., “use” = “fish”) nor weight (i.e., established a constitutional
right to fish) ascribed by them to that decision.

24

Jordan and particularly Phillips v. Mississippi, cited to rec-
ognize a state’s public trust interest in lands beneath tidal
waters for uses not related to navigability such as fishing,
bathing, swimming, recreation and mineral development.

Even the 1934 Michigan property law decision cited
by the Crawfishermen to support the independent nature
of the right to fish from the right of navigation [Ne-Bo-
Shone Association v. Hogarth, 7 F. Supp. 885 at 889-890]
supports that observation by reference to a 1914 Harvard
Law Review article entitled “The Right To Take Fish and
Game in Navigable Non-Tidal Waters,” which affirms
that the right to fish in navigable waters is properly an
incident of the land ownership:

“While no one can obtain absolute property in
fish and game except by reduction to posses-
sion, and therefore their ownership while
uncaptured does not go with the realty; the right
to take creatures ferae naturae, transiently upon
land, is recognized as a valuable property right
incident to its ownership. So in ancient times,
the right to fish in the sea was the exclusive
prerogative of the King and lord of the soil; but
either by Magna Charta, or by the gradual
encroachment upon royal prerogative as the
representative character became recognized, the
King’s right to the sea came io be regarded as
held in trust for the public, and the right to fish
became free and common to all. This right
though arising independently of the public own-
ership of the soil, thus chanced here to be co-
extensive with the right of navigation. In
English non-tidal streams, however, the exclu-
sive right of fishery is in the riparian proprietor
of the soil. Inasmuch as these inland waters are
subject to a public easement of navigation, it is
clear that the right to hunt and fish has no connec-
tion with the right of navigation, but is an incident
of the land.

25

* * *

Not only is there no historical connection
between the right to hunt and fish and the right
of passage, but there is no basis on reason or
analogy for the connection. Although other ser-
vitudes in the nature of easements may be
annexed by custom or prescription to an ease-
ment of passage, the right to take fish and game
cannot be thus annexed because it is not an
easement but a profit a’ prendre, which the public
cannot acquire by customary or prescriptive
user. Aside from annexed incidents, a public
right of passage upon land includes only those
rights reasonably necessary for the enjoyment of
the easement. According one who uses a public
way as a vantage ground for observing the
training of horses in adjoining fields, . . . or
shooting his game, becomes a trespasser upon
the servient tenement. And one in the pretended
exercise of an easement of navigation over pri-
vately owned subaqueous land, who takes ice
from the surface or gravel from the bed of the
stream is likewise clearly a trespasser. The argu-
ment that as fish and game have no owner,
anyone has a right to take them wherever he has
a right to be, is thus answerable in that the taker
has no right on the highway for that purpose.
On these grounds the majority of the courts
have reached a result opposite to that of the
principal case.” See 27 Harvard Law Review,
Page 750-752 (emphasis added).12

12 Some states, like Michigan, pursued a different policy.
Note Collins v. Gerhardt, cited by the Crawfishermen, in which
the Michigan Supreme Court decided “that the common law
doctrine, viz., that the right of fishing in navigable waters
follows ownership of the soil, does not prevail in this state.” The
concurring opinion in that case also indicated that, even under

26

In Louisiana, the right to hunt and fish has always
been regarded as a property right incident to the owner-
ship of the land. As recently affirmed by the Louisiana
State Law Institute and by the Louisiana Legislature in
light of the Phillips pronouncements, navigability — not
fisheries use — has been the hallmark of Louisiana’s pub-
lic trust interest in its sovereignty lands since statehood,
public rights to hunt and fish being limited to public
lands, including navigable waterbottoms which have
remained under ownership by the State of Louisiana.’
Furthermore, the idea that public navigation and fishery
rights arises from the public nature of “running water”
has been considered and rejected in the state courts of
Louisiana and by the Fifth Circuit. See Brown v. Rougon,
552 So.2d 1052 (La. App. Ist Cir. 1989), writ denied (recog-
nizing that although subject to public use, the water
running naturally in a private canal does not give the
public the right to navigate and fish in the canal); Amigo
Enterprises, Inc. v. Gonzales, 581 So.2d 1082 (La. App. 4th
Cir. 1991); Dardar v. Lafourche Realty Co., Inc., No. 85-1015
(E.D. La. 1991), affirmed in part, vacated in part and
remanded, 985 F.2d 824 at 834 (5th Cir. 1993); People For
Open Waters, Inc. v. Estate of Gray, 643 So.2d 415 (La. App.
3rd Cir. 1994). Louisiana courts have also consistently
recognized that the public at large enjoys no right of
access for fishing on private land simply because that
land becomes flooded by a navigable stream. See State v.
Richardson, 72 So. 984 (La. 1916); Warner v. Clarke, 232

Michigan law, no public trust fishing rights affect swamplands
acquired under the Swamp Lands Acts which are overflowed so
as to be covered by navigable waters. Note also the Collins
dissent. See 211 N. W. 115 at 118, 123-128.

13 See the Louisiana State Law Institute’s Advisory Legal
Opinion Relative to Non-Navigable Waterbottoms, 53 La. Law
Rev. 35 at 66-67 (1992); La. R.S. 9:1115.1; Hargrave, “The Public
Trust Doctrine: A Plea for Precision”, 53 La. Law Rev. 1535
(1993).

27

So.2d 99 (La. App. 2d Cir. 1970), writ denied; Edmiston v.
Wood, 566 So.2d 673 (La. App. 2d Cir. 1990); see also La.
Civil Code Article 3413; official comment (b) to La. Civil
Code Article 456, as revised in 1978; Louisiana Attorney
General Opinion No. 88-649; A.N. Yiannopoulos, La. Civil
Law Treatise, Vol. 2, Property, §§56-61,85 (3rd Ed., 1991).

State v. Barras, 615 So.2d 285 (La. 1993), considered
the validity of trespass charges brought against two mem-
bers of Producers for actively conducting commercial
crawfish harvesting on lands within the presently contested
area of the Atchafalaya Basin without permit and after
being orally forbidden to remain on such lands. The lands
involved were flooded swamp lands, inundated by
waters of the Atchafalaya River and its distributaries for
up to six months of each year with depths of water in the
crawfishing areas ranging from 6" to 6', the same charac-
teristics alleged by the Crawfishermen over the other lands in
controversy in this proceeding. The crawfishermen claimed
that the lands were public lands subject to public use. The
Louisiana Supreme Court affirmed the trespass convic-
tions, properly recognizing that the area in question was
backwater swamp land within the Atchafalaya River’s
floodplain which did not, by its mere susceptibility to
crawfish activity and navigation during flood conditions,
become public navigable waters or render the private
property subject to public use.

The shallow depth of legal analysis and historical
perspective by these Crawfishermen is perhaps best
exemplified in their attack on the Louisiana Supreme
Court’s Barras decision, referring to the Court’s protec-
tion of the private nature of “flooded swampland” as
“semantic legerdemain.” The very fact that the United
States government in 1849 and 1850 authorized the grant
to Louisiana of all swamp and all overflowed lands
within its borders for private sale to aid the State in
constructing the necessary levees and drains to reclaim
such lands indicates quite clearly that neither the federal
nor state sovereigns ever considered flooded swampland

28

to be inalienable sovereignty lands affected by any notion
of public trust right or interest and that both sovereigns
fully intended all rights inherent in the private ownership
of such lands to pass to the purchasers thereof.

The Submerged Lands Act expressly recognizes that
the use of submerged lands beneath navigable waters of
the United States for crawfishing was vested either in the
State of Louisiana or the private individuals in ownership
of the lands or the right to fish thereon as of the effective
date of that legislation, negating any notion of a para-
mount federal statutory, common law or constitutional
right or interest in that activity. This Court emphatically
stated in Phillips that post-statehood public trust uses of
sovereignty lands and waters are matters of state law and
policy subject to the constitutional powers reserved to the
federal government. Both specific Congressional legisla-
tion and long-standing pronouncements of this Court
affirm the propriety of the Fifth Circuit and the District
Court in dismissing this complaint as a matter of federal
law.

“CONCLUSION

The Crawfishermen are not concerned with any
obstruction of their navigation in the major navigable
bayous and streams which make up the Atchafalaya
River system and its distributaries in this portion of the
Floodway, as no such obstruction exists nor can any be
shown by them.!4 They admit that their activities take
place outside the beds of these bayous and streams. In
essence, these Crawfishermen are asking the federal
courts to declare vast areas of privately owned swamp-
land to be subject to public crawfishing use as a matter of
federal law in derogation of the aforestated principles of
Louisiana law and of the titles and ownership rights

14 See page 15 of the Memorandum Ruling of the District
Court in this proceeding, appended to the writ petition herein.

29

lawfully transferred by the State of Louisiana and/or the
United States government long ago to private parties.

Moreover, these Crawfishermen do not seek access to
the many thousands of acres of overflowed swamp
involved in this litigation for purposes of navigation as
public highways in interstate commerce.!5 Only capable
in part of an imperfect navigation for crawfishing uses
when flooded at periods of high water, these tree-choked
swamps are wholly insusceptible of use in navigation in
interstate commerce in their ordinary condition. They
have long been recognized as private property and were
sold by the State of Louisiana and federal government as
such. Accordingly, any attempt to recognize a general
public right of access and use for crawfishing under the
Commerce Clause of the United States Constitution
would run afoul of the Fifth Amendment and amount to a
taking of private property without compensation. See
Kaiser Aetna, supra; Vaughn, supra; Dardar v. Lafourche
Realty, supra. As recognized in Kaiser Aetna, the “right to
exclude” is universally held to be a fundamental element
of the right of private property, falling clearly within the
category of interests that the government cannot take
without compensation.

The issue of a public right to fish on privately-owned
submerged land is not new. It has been raised, studied
and addressed in numerous state and federal forums by
legislators, legal practitioners, legal scholars and the

15 The Landowners will contest whether these overflowed
swamp lands are navigable in fact so as to be navigable in law
should trial on the merits become necessary. For purposes of
this motion only, the Landowners do not raise the fact issue of
navigability, since even allowing the assumption that the
overflowed swamp were navigable in fact to these
Crawfishermen, federal law does not recognize a crawfishing
right in the public on these submerged privately owned lands.

30

courts, all of which have reached the same conclusion -
that the District Court and the Fifth Circuit were unde-
niably correct in finding no basis in federal law for the
rights claimed by these Crawfishermen and dismissing
the action for consideration by the state courts of Louisi-
ana based upon state law and policy applicable to this
property issue, should the Crawfishermen choose to
advance their state law claims to these crawfishing rights.

The decision of the Fifth Circuit in this matter is
grounded in well-settled principles of law which the Fifth
Circuit has properly recognized concern no issues of sig-
nificant public interest. For that reason, and for all of the
foregoing reasons, certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Patrick G. Tracy, Jr. — 12888
600 Jefferson Street, Suite 910
Post Office Box 54001
Lafayette, Louisiana 70505-4001
Telephone: (318) 266-2340

Attorney for Williams, Inc.

NEWMAN TROWBRIDGE, JR. — 12930
Biccs, TROWBRIDGE, SUPPLE

AND CREMALDI
Post Office Drawer 565
Franklin, Louisiana 70538
Telephone: (318) 828-5480

Attorney for Atchafalaya
Crawfish Conservation Association

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1956%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
