# Reply Brief — United States v. Anderson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1528%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 1159

## Text

supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

MAY 10 1999

No. 98-1583

Jn the Supreme Court of the Unite States

;

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
v.

JAMES S. ANDERSON

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

°
,
a #
‘
-
.
¥ ¥
»
a .
fe
a
.
e
s
a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Minnesota v. Carter, 1198. Ct. 469 (1998)... 4-5, 6,7
New York v. Class, 475 U.S. 106 (1986) ......cccccsccssssceceseeees 4
Rakas v. Illinois, 489 U.S. 128 (1978) .......cccccscsscesseceeseeses 4
United States v. Britt, 508 F.2d 1052 (5th Cir.),

cert. denied, 423 U.S. 826 (1975) ......c.ccccccsssesssessersscesesessecess 1
United States v. Chuang, 897 F.2d 646 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 498 U.S. 824 (1990) .......cccccccscossssssseccsssessesseee 2
United States v. Mohney, 949 F.2d 1397 (6th Cir.

1991), cert. denied, 504 U.S. 910 (1992) ......ccccsccsccccseeseseeee 2

Constitution:

RFit SIGNNs SRMIGING BY sicsaiabicsinnencsiiibeatiasiadsssdbediasanbin L23,4:7

Miscellaneous:

5 Wayne R. LaFave, Search and Seizure (3d ed.
RTO. scesiinlasteaiidipathchuistiaionditeceeblapsinsagedtoccebiiccabaccek cd patica tii as 2

(I)

————————~-S-S-——~*™

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 98-1583
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
Vv.

JAMES S. ANDERSON

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

Respondent argues that the court of appeals’ de-
cision—which allows him to claim the protection of the
Fourth Amendment in a vacant and unused office at his
employer’s place of business, even though the office was
not respondent’s work space and he had no prior con-
nection to it—is correct, factbound, and consistent with
the decisions of other courts of appeals and this Court.
None of those contentions is correct, and this Court’s
review is warranted.

1. The analysis of the decision below departs from a
long line of court of appeals decisions, beginning with
United States v. Britt, 508 F.2d 1052, 1056 (5th Cir.),
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 825 (1975), holding that an em-
ployee may claim a reasonable expectation of privacy

(1)

aan BS Ae ines eae re eg

2

only in those workplace areas with which he has a
sufficient “business nexus,” 7.e., generally speaking, the
employee’s own work areas. See Pet. 9-10 (citing, inter
alia, United States v. Chuang, 897 F.2d 646, 649 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 824 (1990); and United
States v. Mohney, 949 F.2d 1397, 1404 (6th Cir. 1991),
cert. denied, 504 U.S. 910 (1992)). Respondent does not
dispute the existence or validity of that line of author-
ity. Nor does he disagree with Professor LaFave’s
observation that, “[i]Jn the absence of some other basis
for showing [a reasonable expectation of privacy, such
as a property interest in the area searched], it still
seems necessary to establish that the place searched
was rather directly connected with the defendant’s
employment responsibilities and activities.” 5 Wayne
R. LaFave, Search and Seizure § 11.3(d), at 164-165 (8d
ed. 1996).

Respondent likewise cites no decision of any court
permitting an employee to claim the protection of the
Fourth Amendment in a part of his employer’s place
of business that is wholly divorced from the employee’s
own work area and work responsibilities. See Pet. App.
20a-21a (Kelly, J., dissenting) (“It is telling that the
court cites no case involving a workplace where stand-
ing was found in the absence of such a nexus.”).
Instead, respondent asserts that the business nexus
cases from the other courts of appeals are distinguish-
able, since none is “similar to the particularized factual
locus framing the issues in this case.” Br. in Opp. 7.
But respondent nowhere describes those factual
differences, or explains how they make a difference in
the legal test to be applied. Nor does respondent
explain how the business nexus cases from the other
circuits can be reconciled with the result the court of
appeals reached here—that an employee or officer can

3

claim the protection of the Fourth Amendment in an
empty and otherwise unused office with which he had
no prior connection (much less a business nexus) simply
because he happened to be sitting there, attempting to
view child pornography from his own videotapes, when
an FBI agent entered. Pet. 12; Pet. App. 13a-14a.

2. For similar reasons, respondent’s attempt to dis-
miss the court of appeals’ decision as “fact-bound” (Br.
in Opp. 10; see id. at 5) is without merit. Respondent is
correct that a defendant’s capacity to claim the pro-
tection of the Fourth Amendment in a particular area
must be decided by reference to “all of the relevant
circumstances,” and that those circumstances may vary
from case to case. Br. in Opp. 9. See also id. at 8, 9 n.24.
But it is a function of the law to identify the circum-
stances that courts should consider relevant. Here, the
factors the court of appeals relied upon were irrelevant.

For example, rather than focus on respondent’s re-
lationship to the location searched, the court of appeals
relied primarily on respondent’s relationship to the
items in his possession (7.e., the videotapes from which
he was attempting to view child pornography). See
Pet. 12-15; Pet. App. 10a-13a, 15a; Pet. App. 22a-23a
(Kelly, J., dissenting). But, as we explained before (Pet.
13-15), the fact that respondent possessed and owned
the videotapes does nothing to enhance the significance
of his connection to the otherwise vacant and unused
room in which he was found. Respondent, for his part,
acknowledges that the court of appeals relied on his
ownership and possession of the videotapes as a basis
for permitting him to challenge the FBI’s entry into the
room. Br. in Opp. 9. But he offers no reason why his
ownership or possession of the videotapes should be
relevant.

4

Respondent also declines to defend the other factor
cited by the court of appeals—respondent’s efforts to
maintain his privacy by blocking the windows and
closing the door. See Pet. 16; Pet. App. 13a-14a.
“(E |fforts to restrict access to an area,” this Court has
held, “do not generate a reasonable expectation of
privacy where none would otherwise exist.” Pet. 16
(quoting New York v. Class, 475 U.S. 106, 114 (1986));
see also Pet. App. 24a (Kelly, J., dissenting) (“The steps
[respondent] took to ensure privacy [are] not enough
[to establish a reasonable expectation of privacy], no
matter how earnestly the steps were taken.”); Pet. 16-
17 (noting that, although the defendants in Minnesota
v. Carter, 119 S. Ct. 469 (1998), made efforts to pre-
serve their privacy by lowering the blinds, that conduct
played no part in the Court’s analysis of their capacity
to claim the protection of the Fourth Amendment).

Respondent does claim that the court of appeals
properly relied on the fact that he was present in the
room when the FBI agent entered. Br. in Opp. 9. This
Court, however, has long held that mere presence
during the search—the fact that the defendant was
“legitimately on premises”—is by itself insufficient.
Rakas v. Illinois, 489 U.S. 128, 141-143 (1978). Respon-
dent, moreover, concedes that his authority to enter
and use that room was conditioned on “need,” and
limited to “purposes which [he] felt as an officer of
the company were appropriate.” Br. in Opp. 3, 12.
Respondent, however, nowhere explains how the desire
to view child pornography could be a permissible
“need” for that vacant and unused office; nor does he
explain how entry and use for that purpose could be
“appropriate” within corporate policy.

3. Respondent’s attempt to reconcile the court of
appeals’ analysis with this Court’s decision in Min-

5

nesota v. Carter, 119 S. Ct. 469 (1998), see Br. in Opp.
11-12, similarly fails. Compare Pet. 17-19. Respondent
does not dispute that, in Carter, this Court accorded no
legal significance to any of the factors the court of
appeals found dispositive here, even though each of
them was present there as well. See Pet. 17." Indeed,
respondent concedes that, rather than examining the
defendant’s relationship to his possessions, his efforts
to preserve privacy, or his mere presence, as the court
of appeals did here, the Court in Carter instead
“assess[ed] whether the defendants * * * could claim
Fourth Amendment protections” by “focusing on the
significance of the connection between the defendants
and the location searched.” Br. in Opp. 7 n.17 (empha-
sis added).

Analysis of respondent’s connection to the location
searched in this case—the vacant and otherwise unused
office in which respondent was attempting to view child
pornography—shows that connection to be even more
attenuated than the connection the Court held to be
insufficient in Carter. Whereas the defendants in
Carter had been in the apartment for hours at the time
of the alleged search, 119 S. Ct. at 471, 473, respondent
had been in the room (a room with which he had no
prior connection) only a matter of minutes, Pet. App.
27a. Whereas the defendants in Carter had the
leaseholder’s permission to package narcotics there, 119

Just as respondent owned the videotapes at issue here, the
defendants in Carter owned the drugs at issue there; just as
respondent had the videotapes in his possession here, the de-
fendants in Carter had the drugs in their possession there; just as
respondent made efforts to prevent himself from being observed,
so too did the defendants in Carter; and just as respondent was
present during the search here, so too were the defendants in
Carter present during the alleged search there. Pet. 17.

6

S. Ct. at 471-472, respondent’s presence in the empty
office had no authorized business purpose. And, unlike
the apartment in which the Carter defendants were ob-
served, the office in which respondent was discovered
had a purely commercial function and in no sense
functioned as a home. Surely if the Carter defendants’
connection to the apartment where they had been
packaging narcotics for two-and-one-half hours was too
insubstantial to give rise to a reasonable expectation of
privacy, then respondent’s minutes-long connection to
the empty and vacant office where he was attempting
to view child pornography—a connection perilously
close to mere presence—must be insufficient as well.

Declaring that “(t]he distinction between Respondent
and the defendants in Carter is obvious,” respondent
argues that he had a sufficient connection to room 222
because it was “clearly within the confines of the cor-
porate offices within which Respondent worked on a
daily basis.” Br. in Opp. 12. But even the court of
appeals refused to conclude that respondent’s privacy
expectation in an empty and unused room was rea-
sonable simply because it was within his employer’s
corporate building and he was an officer of the com-
pany. Pet. App. 8a. Nor is it possible to reconcile such
an argument with the law of other circuits. See Pet. 9-
10 (cases holding that employees must show not only
that the location searched was within their place of
employment, but also that they had a substantial
business connection to it); pp. 1-2, supra (same).

4. Finally, respondent argues that this case does not
warrant this Court’s review because the evidence of
respondent’s guilt is more than sufficient even with-
out the evidence that was suppressed. See Br. in Opp.
14 (“Petitioner will be able to present to the jury the
numerous child pornography files and materials ob-

7

tained from Respondent’s home in addition to Re-
spondent’s admission to his wife.”). But the court of
appeals’ decision warrants plenary review, or a remand
for further consideration in light of Minnesota v.
Carter, supra (see Pet. 20), not merely because of its
impact in this one case. Rather, it warrants review
because it parts company with the mode of analysis
employed by this Court and other courts of appeals;
because it introduces unnecessary uncertainty into this
area of law; and because it improperly expands Fourth
Amendment protections in the workplace, potentially to
any employee who enters a room at his employer’s
place of business, possessions in hand, and closes the
door behind him. See Pet. App. 22a (Kelly, J., dis-
senting).
* * a * *

For the foregoing reasons, and those set forth in the
petition, the petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General

MAY 1999

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1528%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
