# Opposition Brief — Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. CF&I Fabricators of Utah, Inc., 119 S. Ct. 2020 (1999) (No. 98-1440)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1396%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999

## Text

EBRD }
APR 30 1,

No. 98-1440 — aoe
. Died F RK
eee

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1998

RADAR STEN RR MGI

PENSION BENEFIT GUARANTY CORP.,

Petitioner,
v.

REORGANIZED CF&!I FABRICATORS OF UTAH, INC., et ai.

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENTS
REORGANIZED CF&I FABRICATORS
OF UTAH, INC., et al.

STEVEN J. MCCARDELI FRANK CUMMINGS

LeBoeur, LAMB, GREENE Counsel of Record

& MacRae, L.L.P LeEBoeuFr, LAMB, GREENE
1000 Kearns Building & MacRae, L.L.P.
136 South Main Street 1875 Connecticut Ave., N.W.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101 Washington, D.C. 20009-5728
(801) 320-6700 (202) 986-8000

WESTON L. HARRIS

STEVEN T. WATERMAN

Ray, QUINNEY & NEBEKER
79 South Main Street, #700
P.O. Box 45385
Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0385
(801) 532-1500

Attorneys for Respondents
Reorganized CF&I Fabricators of Utah, Inc., et al.

1
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Whether the courts below correctly ruled that the
bankruptcy claims of the Pension Benefit Guaranty
Corporation (“PBGC”) are pre-petition claims in
bankruptcy, and therefore are not entitled to administrative
priority in bankruptcy under 11 U.S.C. § 503(b) because
the consideration for such claims was the pre-petition labor
of the pension plan participants, and thus administrative
priority does not apply.

I]. Whether the courts below correctly ruled that in
determining the amount of claims for future pension benefits
“as of the date of the filing of the petition,” under 11 U.S.C.
§ 502(b), they are not required to accept PBGC’s present-
value calculation, using different present-value assumptions
developed for use solely under ERISA, without regard to
bankruptcy law.

li

RULE 14.1(b) STATEMENT OF PARTIES
TO THE PROCEEDING

The petition accurately lists the parties to the
proceeding, with the following correction:

On November 7, 1990, the petition date of the
underlying bankruptcy cases, CF&I Steel Corporation was
publicly held and owned all of the stock of its nine
subsidiaries: CF&I Fabricators of Utah, Inc., Colorado
& Utah Land Company, Kansas Metals Company,
Albuquerque Metals Company, Pueblo Metals Company,
Denver Metals Company, Pueblo Railroad Service
Company, CF&I Fabricators of Colorado, Inc., and
Colorado and Wyoming Railway Company. These entities
were the “Debtors” in the proceedings below.

On March 3, 1993, the effective date of the confirmed
Chapter 11 plan in these cases, all stockholder interests were
canceled, including the interests of CF&I Steel Corporation
as sole stockholder of the other debtors. On and after March
3, 1993, the Debtors have been referred to as the
“Reorganized Debtors.” The Reorganized Debtors are now
ten separate corporate shells without shareholders, elected
officers, or directors. Each Reorganized Debtor is managed
by Scott C. King, a representative of creditors under
governance provisions approved by the Bankruptcy Court.
Under the asset purchase agreement approved with the
Chapter 11 plan, some of the names of the Reorganized
Debtors were changed. The Reorganized Debtors’ current
names are: Reorganized CF&I Fabricators of Utah, Inc.,
Colorado & Utah Land Company, Kansas Metals Company,
Albuquerque Metals Company, Reorganized Pueblo Metals
Company, Denver Metals Company, Reorganized Pueblo

lil

Railroad Service Company, Reorganized CF&I Fabricators
of Colorado, Inc., Reorganized CF&I Steel Corporation,
and The Reorganized Colorado & Wyoming Railway
Company.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Copmtns PROEOS goss 88 ee
Rule 14.1(b) Statement of Parties to the Proceeding
Fae Or CE i ES he
TRON OF CRS ARNON ak ik vss Kee oe
Bamee GE ANOOIIOOE 516s Feikis Hhiw tes tess
Utes THOT ING 5 oo srs eae eae reNe edo
EMBO COT ENO SOO sa ooo bo eas Hens

A. Reorganized Debtors’ Statement Of The
CM re eh es haa eine eek ee eae

B. Identification, Under Rule 15.2, Of PBGC’s
Mis-Statements Of The Case ............

Reasons for Denying the Writ .................

I. There Is No Compelling Reason To Grant
The Writ: The Tenth Circuit’s Decision
Presents No Constitutional Conflict, No
Conflict With Any Decision Of This Court,
No Conflict Among The Circuits, No Dissent
Below, And Is Consistent With The
Decisions In Other Circuits .............

Vi

Vv

Contents
Page
Il. The PBGC Regulations At Issue Here Have
Been Superseded, And Re-Superseded And
Present Only An Obsolete Context For

Consideration Of The Valuation Issue
lark gidktad Shcsasds Gace sae gee es aha aed cea 2 12

III. The Remaining Issues In This Case Lack The
Context Necessary To Evaluate The Impact
On The “Agency’s Ability To Carry Out Its
NON sos 49 ae ee Fee eed es bn 13

IV. The Tenth Circuit Correctly Denied
Administrative Priovity 2... 6 ccc eae c ess 1S

A. Claims for Unfunded Pension Liabilities
or for Contributions to Fund Such
Pension Benefits are Prepetition Debts
Because the Pensions Were Earned by
Prepetition Service oo... ces es ces 15

B. Reading Co. v. Brown Does Not Require
UPTO OU or oe ee 18

V. The Tenth Circuit Correctly Approved The
Bankruptcy Court’s Market Valuation
Method As Required By 11 U.S.C. § 502(b),
Rather Than PBGC’s Regulatory Discount
ME Ae Saka ee web koa eh oe eee 19

CE RE. Sees a Sete eee tip ese 24

vi

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Alabama Surface Mining Comm'n v. N.P. Mining
Co. (In re N.P. Mining Co.), 963 F.2d 1449 (11th
Cir. 1992} i. cies area eee tree.

Batterton v. Francis, 432 U.S. 416 (1977) .......

Belfance v. PBGC (In re CSC Industries, Inc.), No.
95-4103 (Bankr. N.D. Ohio Dec. 3, 1997), appeal
docketed, No. 4:99CV00041 (N.D. Ohio, Jan 8,
1999) oi lee eee eee es

Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense
Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984) ...........

Coldwell Banker & Co. v. Godwin Bevers Co. (In re
Godwin Bevers Co.), 575 F.2d 805 (10th Cir.
LOTR) ee ees eas ws

Cramer v. Mammoth Mart, Inc. (In re Mammoth
Mart, Inc.), 536 F.2d 950 (1st Cir. 1976) ......

Cumberland Farms Inc. v. Florida Dep't of Envtl.
Protection, 116 F.3d 16 (1st Cir. 1997) .......

Gallivan v. Springfield Post Road Corp., 110 F.3d
S48 (lat Cor, SR io oe eee ce eee ee

Hughes Aircraft Co. v. Jacobson, 119 §. Ct. 755
(1999)

e¢ 0.6 44.6 © Oe. ees Ee Ee FSS S.. oO SE & 6 eee Se ee. ©

Page

—

a

1]

__—-_

16

ne

Cited Authorities

Page
In re Finley, Kumble, Wagner, Heine, Underberg,
Manley, Myerson & Casey, 160 B.R. 882 (Bankr.
NN orcs ye sa Peng b a be ge oo 17
In re Great N.E. Lumber & Millwork Corp., 64 B.R.
S20 (renar. B.D. Pa. 1986). ..6 0. 6 ek kk oc ac 17
In re Johns-Manville Corp., 57 B.R. 680 (Bankr.
SA ae” TORRID Saar ei gay aaa tae 17
In re Kent Plastics Corp., 183 B.R. 841 (Bankr. S.D.
er ay a aes ne ye 9
Lancaster v. Tennessee (In re Wall Tube & Metal
Prods. Co.), 831 F.2d 118 (6th Cir. 1987) ..... 18
LTV Corp. v. PBGC (In re Chateaugay Corp.), 115
B.R. 760 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1990) ......... We 4 ¥.
LTV Corp. v. PBGC (In re Chateaugay Corp.), 130
B.R. 690 (S.D.N.Y. 1991),126 B.R. 165 (Bankr.
S.D.N.Y. 1991), vacated by consent order, 17
Empl. Ben. Cas. (BNA) 1102 (S.D.N.Y. 1993)
Pea G a a thie We A koa EN Bee Sob oko Ok WG 11,17, 18
PBGC v. LTV Corp., 875 F.2d 1008 (2d Cir. 1989),
rev d on other grounds, 496 U.S. 633 (1990)

PBGC v. Skeen (In re Bayly Corp.), 163 F.3d 1205
LR es. TENS a eign eicnines © peek Manes cane was l

tJ

Cited Authorities

Page
PBGC v. Sunarhauserman, Inc. (In re
Sunarhauserman, inc.), 126 F.3d 811 (6th Cir.
Peer 3 Cialiwhiens <5 kata s Gee eS Ses 11, 16
PBGC v. Sunarhauserman, Inc. (in re
Sunarhauserman, Inc.), 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS
37157. (ote Cir. bet, By SOF et he a 5 eels 1]
Reading Co. v. Brown, 391 U.S. 471 (1968) ...... 18, 19
Spunt v. Charlesbank Laundry, Inc. (in re
Charlesbank Laundry, Inc.), 755 F.2d 200 (lst
CAE EPR svn s Vi bs Nee Wk CP eee Re 18
Trustees of Amalgamated Ins. Fund v. McFarlin’s,
[RD.; TP Pee Oe a he APO ins RAR AS 16
United States v. LTV Corp., (In re Chateauguay
Corp.), 944 F.2d 997 (2d Cir. 1991) .......... 18
Yorke v. NLRB, 709 F.2d 1138 (7th Cir. 1983) .... 18
Statutes:
BRED. 2 ee Bp” Ma emperor og 2
RUB. G OAS ie’ MAME Ie ome eta mee a eae Ape.
UR Us ee ee hor ee ee ees |

LE Tees SURED kip ow aes 1, &, 53, 19; 20, 21, 23

29 |

29 |

Bo Os

S.C.

U.S.C.

}w.C.

Bk os

EOS Be

fF &

3 es te

POR 06

J...

b.C.

| eas

S.C

S.C,

S.C,

Cited Authorities

Page
OS PAE a es wee kee ee eek ae eee
BEDS Cac kek oes CREDO ORS OER l
DR id SS oe vie REND CER ee ee eee
So SERS ic ae Raa oS ee A a 3
ie Eee ee Pe ee ee err ee aes l
FE ei 5 Poe ois ook Cs eee 4,15
AREF is oe rary ee
Di RES Meee Sareea ey Wlat enn Poles 3
PREM oe PERCE EES ee ER LESS
AS ROR 6 sae eRe Se 3
BPRS 10s sic haere aie eee.
i EE LPUNIOND cs eds Bee COR A On 21
DEE 5 ooo bi oe VEO Rasa ei tera we.
Se C555 chk whee ae en week ene l
DOSE ks ch ae OA eek one ator ees |

Cited Authorities

Page
BP Rita hrs BAUME 6s va hk eee heen 23
29 Bil. BOR os oc ee Ve es 14
Pie bE ee Te) 2 | er rae ried eA ery ae 3
Ee UAcs FSIS ORD 2668 bh ee 8 ke een 14
EP A BONE ha RENE ta 14
29 U.S.C. § 1342(a) ERISA § 4042(a) .......... 3
Fi BLE Sok Eh} Senne peta eae mee me OGLE r RL, l
Rules:
WO SA BO ics pcan eG ee ee 10
Be Ak: Bec SOUR Sse keke ee Oe ee es 1]
USA, BiG es icc nee ea oe Far ees one 5
Other Authorities:
DO EE, OE. DOME LSID avin ko 6 ta ote LER 7, 10, 12
OS FOG. Te. PRE Cl StO Es is veka iow ties 12
Ee Nee Re WEE ge RE eo RSS cee 7

WCE Me. oe 7

xi
Cited Authorities

eb SME Ge. Raa ST ERAT ce Ree ere
SUE COOKERS AG eas

Giddens, “Attempting to Protect Employee
Retirement Income Within Bankruptcy
Reorganization: PBGC Efforts to Obtain Priority
Status,” 1993 Ann. Rev. Banking L. 397 (1993)

"i 2s Se ee et oe Tere By my ee Re OD eT a a Oe ee se A on om Oe A OY ee

SE Fes SLZG; Poet WOMB AE POG) 5 os fie S eee ees
HLR. Conf. Rep. No. 99-453 (1985) .........28:-

Pub. L. No. 93-406, § 4041(a), 88 Stat. 829 (1974)

i ve oe me ee ae a te We os ke oe Oe ee oe oe Oe oe ee Oe oe tS ee a oe oe ee eA ee ee

Pub. L. No. 99-272, 100 Stat. 82 (1986) .........
Pub. L. No. 100-203, 101 Stat. 1330 (1987) ......

S. 1730, 99th Cong. § 996, at 578-79 (as reported,
LIRR 2... Sn as a hw bec ee eho es

Dennis R. Dow and Mark Moedritzer, ERJSA-
Related Claims in Bankruptcy, 3 J. BANKR. L. &
PRR Pc LAPP oie eee ad oncom eeneen

X11

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Page
Appendix A — Relevant Statutes .......... ee la
Appendix B Excerpts From PBGC 1998 Annual
PES KV CEN MR RRR ow aiEe os l3a
a ead C 58 Federal Register 50812

(SOPUIIOE FB, SFIS) 6s 5 ies be ee os 18a

l

Respondents Reorganized CF &I Fabricators of Utah, Inc.,
Colorado & Utah Land Company, Kansas Metals Company,
Albuquerque Metals Company, Reorganized Pueblo Metals
Company, Denver Metals Company, Reorganized Pueblo
Railroad Service Company, Reorganized CF&I Fabricators of
Colorado, Inc., Reorganized CF&I Steel Corporation, and The
Reorganized Colorado & Wyoming Railway Company (the
“Reorganized Debtors”) respectfully request the Court to deny
the petition (“Petition”) of the Pension Benefit Guaranty
Corporation (“PBGC”’) for certiorari to review a judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit in
this case. The opinion below is reported at 150 F.3d 1293.
The order denying PBGC’s petition for rehearing is unreported
but appears in Pet. App. 98a-99a.!

STATUTES INVOLVED

The statutes involved are 11 U.S.C. §§ 502, 503, 507,
1113, 1114, 1123, and 29 U.S.C. §§ 1082, 1144, 1301, 1362.

1. This brief will use the following abbreviations in its citation
of documents: “Pet.” = Petition for a Writ of Certiorari; “Pet. App.” =
Appendix to Petition for a Writ of Certiorari; “Resp. App.” = Appendix
to Respondents Reorganized CF&I Fabricators of Utah, Inc., ef al.,
Brief in Opposition.

2. Citations to the United States Code are to the 1994 Edition,
except that, if an earlier edition contained a different provision
applicable in this case, the earlier edition’s provision will be identified.
Citations to the Code of Federal Regulations are to the 1998 Edition
of Title XL, except that, if an earlier edition contained a different
provision pertinent to this case, the earlier edition’s provision will be
identified.

2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Reorganized Debtors’ Statement of the Case

The Reorganized Debtors are ten bankrupt corporations
liquidating their assets for the benefit of creditors under a
confirmed bankruptcy plan of reorganization (the “Plan of
Reorganization’’) pursuant to Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy
Code, 11 U.S.C. §§ 101 et seg. PBGC is one of the largest
unsecured creditors. Under the Plan of Reorganization,
proceeds of the liquidation have been and will be distributed
to creditors under the direction of a representative of creditors
appointed by the Bankruptcy Court. Because the Reorganized
Debtors are deeply insolvent, general unsecured creditors, who
suffered hundreds of millions of dollars in actual pecuniary
losses, will receive less than ten percent of their claims.
Stockholders interests were abolished, and shareholders will
receive nothing.

The Reorganized Debtors’ predecessors, CF&I Steel
Corporation (“CF&I”) and its former subsidiaries (collectively,
the “Debtors”), operated a steel plant and related businesses.
CF&I sponsored two qualified pension plans for the Debtors’
employees and retirees (the “Pension Plans”) and was required
by ERISA to meet minimum funding standards. Because of
large losses in its steel business and a general decline in the
steel industry, CF&I did not have sufficient revenues to pay
its 1989 minimum funding payment of approximately $12.4
million which came due on September 15, 1990, resulting in
the Debtors filing petitions under Chapter 1 1 of the Bankruptcy
Code on November 7, 1990 (the “Petition Date’’). Before and
after the Petition Date, CF&I asked PBGC to terminate the
larger of the Pension Plans (the “Master Plan”). PBGC denied
CF&I’s request until March 19, 1992, when PBGC terminated
the Master Plan.

3

Only PBGC has power unilaterally to terminate pension
plans. 29 U.S.C. § 1342(a) (ERISA § 4042(a)). Under 29
U.S.C. § 1341(a)(3) (ERISA § 4041(a)(3)), the Debtors could
not unilaterally terminate the Master Plan because the
Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. § 1113(f)) prohibited the Debtors
from any unilateral termination or alteration of its collective
bargaining agreement with the United Steelworkers of America
AFL-CIO-CLC (“USWA”), which required maintenance of
the Pension Plans.

Because funding payments for retirees’ pensions earned
before the Petition Date are prepetition debts, the Debtors by
law could not pay them after filing bankruptcy, 11 U.S.C.
§ 362, except under a confirmed plan of reorganization. PBGC
v. LTV Corp., 875 F.2d 1008, 1019 (2d Cir. 1989), rev'd on
other grounds, 496 U.S. 633 (1990). Therefore, after the
Petition Date, the Debtors could not correct the 1989 funding
deficiencies or make any further prepetition pension funding
payments except under a confirmed plan of reorganization.
Debtors continued to pay prepetition retiree health benefits
after the Petition Date required by the Bankruptcy Code.
11 U.S.C. § 1114(e). PBGC incorrectly implies that Debtors
did something wrong by obeying these requirements of
bankruptcy law. Pet. 6-7.

PBGC filed two substantially identical claims against each
of the Debtors as to the terminated Master Plan. First, PBGC
claimed $64,874,511 for alleged unpaid contributions to the
Master Plan (“Minimum Contribution Claims”) on many
theories of priority, all but one of which, administrative priority
under 11 U.S.C. § 503(b)(1)(A), PBGC has abandoned.
Second, PBGC asserted a priority claim of $263,200,000 for
an alleged insufficiency in assets of the Master Plan to pay
pensions (“Unfunded Benefits Claim’). Pet. App. 4a, 82a.

4

PBGC now asserts no priority for its Unfunded Benefits Claim
after it was denied below but asserts a general unsecured claim.
Pet. App. 4a-5a, 48a-49a.

PBGC was granted an administrative claim for the
postpetition “normal cost” component of its pension claims
(that portion attributable to postpetition services of employees).
Pet. App. 12a n.5. PBGC was also granted a prepetition priority
claim under 11 U.S.C. § 507(a)(4) (limited unsecured
prepetition claims for contributions to employee benefit plans)
for a portion of its claim that is not in dispute here. PBGC’s
allowed administrative and priority claims (approximately $2
million) were paid in full, pursuant to the confirmed Chapter
11 plan. Under the Plan of Reorganization PBGC received a
valuable partnership interest in the new owner of the steel plant
and will receive other distributions on par with other unsecured
creditors.

PBGC scoldingly asserts that “‘as a result of Respondents’
failure to fund their Pension Plan and the agency’s obligation
to pay guaranteed benefits, PBGC sustained a loss of nearly a
quarter billion dollars.” Pet. 3.

What really occurred, however, is this: (i) as a result of
Debtors’ inability (not “failure’’) to have enough cash to
contribute to the Master Plan, the Debtors filed for relief under
Chapter 11; (i1) as a result of the Chapter 11 filing, Debtors
could not contribute to the Master Plan; (iii) as a result of the
inability (not “failure’’) of Debtors to fund the Master Plan,
PBGC after a long delay terminated the Master Plan; and (iv)
as aresult of PBGC’s statutory mission (not Debtors’ “failure”’),
PBGC has paid guaranteed pension benefits in accordance with
law. That is PBGC’s statutory duty. Before PBGC may validly
claim “losses,” PBGC must deduct its premium, investment,

5

and other income, including PBGC’s recoveries in this case,
the same as any insurer would do.

PBGC operates on private, not government, funds —
premiums from plan sponsors and assets from terminated plans.
PBGC Br. 6. Guaranteed pension benefits are not paid from
collection of taxes or out of general federal revenues. Pet. 4.

Among the remaining creditors is a trust to provide
medical benefits to the retirees of the defunct companies, and
the PBGC. Priority payments, or increased payments, to the
PBGC will reduce, therefore, the amounts to be received by
the other creditors, including the same retirees who are
recipients of guaranteed and non-guaranteed pension benefits
from the PBGC, whom that agency is statutorily empowered
to protect. In that sense, PBGC is in a conflict with the members
of its own protected class.

B. Identification, Under Rule 15.2, of PBGC’s Mis-
Statements of the Case

In some respects, PBGC’s “Statement of the Case” (Pet.
2) is less than accurate and far from fair. > PBGC’s Statement

3. PBGC’s opening assertion that “PBGC sustained a loss of
nearly a quarter billion dollars” seeks to expand the magnitude of the
agency’s stake in the issues presented here far beyond the adjudicated
reality. PBGC’s failure to sustain its bloated original set of claims
was the result of losing issues for which it has not sought further review.
PBGC had asserted a claim for a “lien” arising upon termination of
the CF&I pension plan, and the courts below denied that claim because
the automatic stay nullified the purported lien. Pet. App. 48a-49a,
94a-95a. PBGC’s Statement of the Case continues to describe a “lien”
for delinquent contributions (Pet. 4), although the courts below barred
that lien claim because the date of its purported occurrence — 60
days after the amount of the delinquency exceeded $1 million — was
postpetition and therefore barred by the automatic stay, 11 U.S.C.
§ 362. Pet. App. Sa-9a, 44a-46a, 95a.

6

of the Case includes a lengthy outside-the-record description
of how the agency’s plan termination insurance program is
operated (Pet. 3-6), including selected references to portions
of one statute (ERISA, the Employee Retirement Income
Security Act of 1974), without reference to the Bankruptcy
Code, the primary statute governing this case.

The notion that PBGC has “sustained a loss of nearly a
quarter billion dollars” (Pet. 3) ignores the fact that PBGC,
like every insurer, is in the business of paying insured benefits,
and that the insurer’s payment of benefits does not cause a
“loss” in the long run if the benefits are offset by premium and
other income in the long run. In fact, PBGC’s latest annual
report, issued only last month, shows a very handsome net
income of $1.531 billion in its single-employer insurance
program, and total return on investments of 14.4%, with
investment income exceeding actuarial charges.* PBGC’s
Statement of the Case also seeks to balance its financial
exposure in this case against a stipulated limitation on PBGC’s
recovery from the “Appeal Funds” set aside in CF&I confirmed
plan of reorganization (Pet. 7). That limitation, however, is
not evidence that only PBGC has a stake in the outcome here.
On the contrary, the “Appeal Funds” were stipulated as part
of the negotiated plan of reorganization (Pet. App. 4a) precisely
because PBGC’s legal position — a position for which PBGC
seeks to establish a precedent here —- would have given the
PBGC the right to overwhelm the claims of all other unsecured
creditors.

In its “Statement of the Case,” PBGC insists that Congress
expressly gave the agency the right to set its own discount rate
(Pet. 5-6) for both ERISA and bankruptcy cases (Pet. 14). The
statement is incorrect on the law; but right or wrong, the

4. PBGC 1998 Ann. Rep. 23, Resp. App. 15a-17a.

ae "eee

7

particulars of this case are peculiarly inappropriate for current
review. The previous agency regulations relied upon by the
PBGC (and lodged with the Court by them) have been
superseded and re-superseded. Only a year after their issuance
PBGC modified them for the express reason that the interest
rate used in those old regulations and relied upon by PBGC at
that time was out-of-line with annuity market rates. 58 Ved.
Reg. 50,812 (1993) (to be codified at 29 C.F.R. pts. 2619 and
2676) (discussed under Point II, infra).

PBGC states that rulings below are an “inducement for
solvent companies to enter bankruptcy.” (Pet. 15). The
argument is simply at odds with the factual evidence in the
case, including the facts that

CF&I met its funding obligations until a decline in
economic conditions of the American steel industry
left it unable to make minimum funding
contributions of approximately $14 million. This
state of affairs led CF&I into filing a Petition for
Relief under chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code.

(Pet. App. 3a). The adjudicated facts of this case are controlling
here, and among those facts is the finding that CF&I was nota
solvent company when it filed Chapter 11, and was in
bankruptcy precisely because it was financially unable (not
unwilling) to make further contributions to its pension plan.

On the discount rate issue, PBGC asserts that the court of
appeals’ decision “means that the agency’s regulation no longer
serves as a uniform benchmark ofa plan’s benefit liabilities in
all circumstances.” (Pet. 16). The notion that PBGC’s wish
for a “uniform benchmark” should override the bankruptcy
court’s statutory duty to treat all unsecured creditors equally
by applying a uniform discount rate for creditors of a particular
debtor is an apples-and-oranges distortion, injecting a non-

)

germane agency bookkeeping concern into the statutory duty
of a bankruptcy court under 11 U.S.C. § 502(b) to “determine
the amount of such claim . . . as of the date of the filing of the
petition” — that is, to provide equal treatment among creditors
of a specific debtor.*

The PBGC clearly knows how to lobby for its objectives
legislatively, having legislatively enhanced its position in 1986
and 1987.° Indeed, PBGC has tried to accomplish an
advancement of its priorities in bankruptcy legislatively, but

5. Pet. App. 22a. To illustrate, assume Creditor A is entitled to a
future stream of payments of $1 million per year for ten years, and
Creditor B is entitled to $10 million on the petition date. If Creditor
A’s claim were discounted using an artificially low discount rate,
Creditor A would receive a substantial amount of unmatured interest.
Assuming a market discount rate of 12.3% and that the rate sought by
Creditor A were 6.5%, the net present value (“NPV”) of Creditor A’s
ten-year payment stream would be as follows:

NPV @ 12.3% rate = $5,581,507 NPV @ 6.5% rate =
$7,188,830

If the net present value amount using the 12.3% market rate
($5,581,507) were invested in the market and earned 12.3% interest,
the future value of that present value amount would be $10,000,000.
If the net present value amount using the 6.5% rate ($7,188,830) earned
the market rate of 12.3% interest, the future value of this present value
amount would be $12,879,730. By the end of ten years, Creditor A
would have received nearly $2.9 million in investment earnings in
addition to its ten $1 million payments. Distributions to Creditors A
and B would not be equal due to the deflated rate used to value Creditor
A’s claim. To treat both creditors equitably, Creditor A’s claim must
be discounted to present value using a discount rate which reflects the
future earning power of Creditor A’s claims distribution.

6. Single-Employer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1986, Title
XI of the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1986,
(Cont'd)

9

failed.’ PBGC’s unsuccessful quest for legislation granting the
priorities it asks this Court to create for it is noted in Giddens,
“Attempting to Protect Employee Retirement Income Within
Bankruptcy Reorganization: PBGC Efforts to Obtain Priority
Status,” 1993 Ann. Rev. Banking L. 397, 423-24 (1993);
Dennis R. Dow and Mark Moedritzer, ER/SA-Related Claims
in Bankruptcy, 3 J. BANKR. L. & Prac. 76, 94 (1993); and Jn re
Kent Plastics Corp., 183 B.R. 841, 845-46 (Bankr. S.D. Ind.
1995).

PBGC’s purported purpose in urging its unrealistic
discount rate (“uniform benchmark’’) obscures, moreover, the
agency’s real purpose in setting that rate. This admitted purpose
is to act as a deterrent to an employer who might be tempted
to voluntarily foist pension liabilities upon the agency, even
though the employer could well afford to fund them. That
“institutional goal” was a factual finding of the district court,
based on admissions of the PBGC,* but it is not the purpose or
provision of the Bankruptcy Code.

(Cont'd)

Pub. L. No. 99-272, 100 Stat. 82 (1986); Pension Protection Act of
1987, included in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987,
Pub. L. No. 100-203, 101 Stat. 1330 (1987). Despite PBGC efforts,
neither bill advanced PBGC’s claims in bankruptcy.

7. See S. 1730, 99th Cong. § 996, at 578-79 (as reported, October
2, 1985), which would have amended ERISA Title IV to give PBGC
a tax priority for a “lien” under Title IV and provided that “[t]he lien
and perfection of the lien shall be treated as fixing a statutory lien that
is not avoidable under section 545 of title 11, United States Code.”
After this and other priority language of S. 1730 was incorporated in
the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act, the final
language of that bill (H.R. 3128, 99th Cong. (1986)) gave no such
priority. See H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 99-453, at 576 (1985).

8. Pet. App. 36a: “PBGC’s own institutional goal of making plan
terminations less attractive than the purchase of close-out annuities.”

10
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

There are no compelling reasons to grant certiorari, and
there are strong reasons not to do so. This bankruptcy case
involves no constitutional question, no conflict with this
Court’s decisions, no conflict among the circuits, no dissenting
opinion below, and not even a single judge wishing to hear
reconsideration en banc. The Tenth Circuit ruling is consistent
with those in other circuits. The particular PBGC valuation
methodology which the PBGC seeks tc inject into valuation
proceedings of the bankruptcy court is in fact a methodology
which the PBGC has already abandoned because of its
acknowledged “disparity between the PBGC’s low interest
rates and familiar private sector rates.”’ 58 Fed. Reg. 50,812
(September 28, 1993). And the Tenth Circuit’s rulings rejecting
administrative priority and insisting on use of the court’s own
present-value claims evaluation are plainly consistent with the
provisions of the Bankruptcy Code governing Chapter 11
proceedings.

I.

THERE IS NO COMPELLING REASON TO GRANT
THE WRIT: THE TENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION
PRESENTS NO CONSTITUTIONAL CONFLICT, NO
CONFLICT WITH ANY DECISION OF THIS COURT,
NO CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS, NO
DISSENT BELOW, AND IS CONSISTENT WITH THE
DECISIONS IN OTHER CIRCUITS

While PBGC argues that there are important issues raised
in this bankruptcy case, this is not an appropriate case in which
to address them, and there are no “compelling reasons”
warranting the grant of certiorari. Sup. Ct. R. 10.

1]

The petition cites no conflict among the courts of appeals
(Sup. Ct. R. 10(a)). PBGC’S Petition acknowledges the
consistent rulings in three cases that have considered the
discount rate issue. Pet. 14 n.10.° Likewise, on the claim of
PBGC’s administrative priority in bankruptcy, the petition
claims no conflict in circuits, and acknowledges consistent
rulings in the circuits that have considered the question. (Pet.
27). -

There was not even a dissent in the Court of Appeals for
the Tenth Circuit, and on motion for reconsideration not a
single judge of the Court of Appeals supported reconsideration
en banc. Indeed, the only time the PBGC ever persuaded even
a dissenting judge on either of these issues was in PBGC v.
Sunarhauserman, Inc. (In re Sunarhauserman, Inc.), 126 F.3d
811, 822 (6th Cir. 1997) (dissenting opinion), but on a motion
for reconsideration in that case, once again not a single other
judge of that Court of Appeals supported reconsideration en
banc. PBGC v. Sunarhauserman, Inc. (In re Sunarhauserman,
Inc.), 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 37157 (6th Cir. Dec. 8, 1997).
And PBGC did not petition for certiorari in that case.

9. Citing LTV Corp. v. PBGC (In re Chateaugay Corp.), 130
B.R. 690, 695-96 (S.D.N.Y. 1991), and 126 B.R. 165 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y.
1991), vacated by consent order, 17 Empl. Ben. Cas. (BNA) 1102
(S.D.N.Y. 1993); Belfance v. PBGC (In re CSC Industries, Inc.), No.
95-4103 (Bankr. N.D. Ohio Dec. 3, 1997), appeal docketed, No.
4:99CV00041 (N.D. Ohio, Jan 8, 1999).

12
Il.

THE PBGC REGULATIONS AT ISSUE HERE HAVE

BEEN SUPERSEDED, AND RE-SUPERSEDED AND

PRESENT ONLY AN OBSOLETE CONTEXT FOR
CONSIDERATION OF THE VALUATION ISSUE

The obsolete regulatory context in which this case arises
makes it particularly inappropriate for further review by
certiorari. The 1992 version of PBGC’s valuation regulation,
which PBGC lodged with the Court, was supplanted a year
later. While PBGC insists that the 1993 amended regulation
was “without change to its basic approach” (Pet. 6 n.5), in fact
the preamble to the 1993 regulations conceded that a reason
for the change was the prior regulation’s “disparity between
the PBGC’s low interest rates and familiar private sector rates.”
58 Fed. Reg. 50,812 (September 28, 1993), Resp. App. 20a.'°
The 1993 superseding regulation claims to adhere to PBGC’s
stated commitment to “accurately reflect private sector group
annuity prices” (Id. 20a) (emphasis added), but concedes that
it in fact involved a “disparity between PBGC’s low interest
rates and familiar private sector rates.” (Jd.). Doubtless PBGC
has an adequate explanation to support its notion that “for most
plans, this amendment will not significantly affect the
valuations produced” (Resp. App. 18a), and in any event the
private sector insurance rates urged by PBGC are not market
rates of interest at all, in the bankruptcy sense. Be that as it
may, the context in which the interest rate issue is presented
by PBGC’s petition in this case is simply the wrong context
for certiorari. The specific regulation which the PBGC asks
this Court to impose upon a bankruptcy court’s market

10. The 1993 regulation was re-superseded, in turn, by the current
regulation, which was promulgated in 1996. 29 C.F.R. § 4044.52, 61
Fed. Reg. 34002 (1996).

valuation under 11 U.S.C. § 502(b), is not merely obsolete, it
was admittedly wrong. It presents, therefore, the wrong context
in which to test the currently-effective PBGC valuation
regulation. This context does not invoke a “compelling reason”
for the grant of certiorari.

iil.

THE REMAINING ISSUES IN THIS CASE LACK THE
CONTEXT NECESSARY TO EVALUATE THE
IMPACT ON THE “AGENCY’S ABILITY TO
CARRY OUT ITS MISSION”

PBGC argues that its petition should now be granted
because “immediate review of these issues is important to the
agency’s ability to carry out its mission.” Pet. 19. PBGC carries
out its mission, however, by filing a much wider array of claims
in each bankruptcy. That is what PBGC did in this case. PBGC
litigated all those claims in the Bankruptcy Court and District
Court. It dropped some of them in the Court of Appeals
(although the major issue it dropped was in fact tenaciously
argued at the same time in another case),'' and it has dropped
more issues in its petition here. Pet. 10 n.7. Thus, the case
presented here does not give the Court an adequate or accurate
picture of the PBGC’s ongoing litigation posture in seeking
“to carry out its mission.”

PBGC insists that “the ‘world of bankruptcy’ — to which
the court of appeals ostensibly limited its holding — is the
main world in which the PBGC insurance fund operates.” Petit.
14. That argument is both immaterial and wrong. The statute,
of course, was designed in 1974 and originally provided that a

11. PBGC v. Skeen (In re Bayly Corp.), 163 F.3d 1205 (10th
Cir. 1998).

ee ee er ener

14

plan termination required no bankruptcy, nor even economic
distress. Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,
Pub. L. No. 93-406, § 4041(a), 88 Stat. 829, 1020 (1974). While
later amendments injected, and current law includes, voluntary
termination requirements of economic “distress,” ERISA
§ 4041, 29 U.S.C. § 1341, not all of those requirements include
proceedings in Bankruptcy. ERISA § 4041(c)(2)(B)(ii1),
29 U.S.C. § 1341(c)(2)(B)(i1).

Even more to the point, this case does not involve a
voluntary plan termination. On the contrary, this was an
involuntary plan termination, initiated by the PBGC under
ERISA § 4042, 29 U.S.C. § 1342. Involuntary terminations
may be initiated at any time the PBGC believes that its financial
exposure would “increase unreasonably.” Indeed, PBGC’s
legal strategy is the use of its “early warning system,” in which
PBGC learns of an impending corporate transaction (spin-off,
sale of assets, etc.), and induces the economically healthy plan
sponsor to make an extra contribution to the sponsor’s pension
plan by threatening the sponsor with an involuntary plan
termination under ERISA § 4042, leading to a lien for the full
amount of unfunded liabilities — outside of any bankruptcy
and therefore immune from any stay or other restriction of the
Bankruptcy Code. The 1998 Annual Report of PBGC, under
the heading “Loss Prevention,” describes this system as being
“PBGC’s principal performance measure for its strategic goal
of protecting existing defined benefit plans and their
participants .. ."” PBGC 1998 Ann. Rep. 14, Resp. App. 14a.
Clearly, the PBGC’s non-bankruptcy enforcement rights are
not only alive and well, but also the central component of
PBGC’s overall corporate strategy.

15

IV.

THE TENTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY DENIED
ADMINISTRATIVE PRIORITY

The Tenth Circuit’s refusal to grant administrative priority
was for unfunded benefit liabilities of the Master Plan correct.

A. Claims for Unfunded Pension Liabilities or for
Contributions to Fund Such Pension Benefits are
Prepetition Debts Because the Pensions Were Earned
by Prepetition Service

All of PBGC’s remaining claims arise from pension
benefits earned under the Master Plan by work performed
before CF&I filed its bankruptcy petition.

PBGC’s allowed postpetition administrative claim, for
minor amounts of pension benefits earned by postpetition labor,
has already been paid in full pursuant to the confirmed Chapter
11 plan of reorganization.

PBGC also claimed and was granted a prepetition priority
claim under 11 U.S.C. § 507(a)(4) (limited unsecured
prepetition claims for contributions to employee benefit plans)
for a portion of its claim that is not in dispute here. That claim
was paid pursuant to the confirmed plan of reorganization.
That claim, however, clearly demonstrates that the Bankruptcy
Code itself treats pensions, and pension funding obligations,
as prepetition debts if the work that earned the pensions was
done prepetition. Section 507(a)(4) of the Bankruptcy Code
grants this priority to “unsecured claims for contributions to
an employee benefit plan . . . arising from services rendered
within 180 days before the date of the filing of the petition. . . .”
The Bankruptcy Code’s specific treatment of plan benefits as

16

“arising from services rendered . . . before the date of the filing
of the petition” is definitive of the prepetition character of the
funding claim.

PBGC’s remaining claims are not attributable to
postpetition services of the Debtors’ employees. Their character
as prepetition claims is based on undisputed facts found by
the lower courts. Pet. App. 89a-91a.

When PBGC chose to terminate unilaterally the Master
Plan and become the successor trustee, it succeeded to the
Master Plan’s prepetition claims against the Debtors. The mere
postpetition change of the trustee of the Master Plan from CF&]
to PBGC (or the postpetition transfer of the Master Plan’s
prepetition claims to PBGC) does not convert prepetition
claims into post-petition claims any more than does a
postpetition change in management of a creditor or the
postpetition assignment of a prepetition claim.

The great weight of authority holds that liabilities are not
“incurred” postpetition simply because they become due post-
petition. PBGC v. Sunarhauserman, Inc. (in re
Sunarhauserman, Inc.), 126 F.3d 811, 816-819 (6th Cir. 1997)
(rejecting PBGC’s attempts to obtain postpetition status for
prepetition claims); 7rustees of Amalgamated Ins. Fund v.
McFarlin’s, Inc., 789 F.2d 98, 101 (2d Cir. 1986); Coldwell
Banker & Co. v. Godwin Bevers Co. (In re Godwin Bevers
Co.), 575 F.2d 805, 807 (10th Cir. 1978) (prepetition
commission agreement did not give rise to administrative claim
under Bankruptcy Act when property was sold postpetition);
Cramer v. Mammoth Mart, Inc. (In re Mammoth Mart, Inc.),
536 F.2d 950, 954 (1st Cir. 1976) (“a claimant who fully
performs under a contract prior to the filing of the petition
will not be entitled to first priority even though his services

17

may have resulted in a direct benefit to the bankrupt estate
after the filing”); Gallivan v. Springfield Post Road Corp.,
110 F.3d 848 (1st Cir. 1997) (same result under Bankruptcy
Code, applying Mammoth Mart analysis); In re Great N.E.
Lumber & Millwork Corp., 64 B.R. 426 (Bankr. E.D. Pa. 1986);
In re Johns-Manville Corp., 57 B.R. 680, 690 (Bankr. $.D.N.Y.
1986) (appropriate focus for determining when a claim arises
is “the time when the acts giving rise to the alleged liability
were performed”).

As Judge Lifland correctly analyzed this issue in the
landmark LTV cases:

The PBGC’s night to payment upon termination
was, on the petition date, a classic prepetition
contingent claim. The postpetition termination of
the pension plans did not transform the PBGC’s
contingent pre-petition claims into post-petition
claims.

LTV Corp. v. PBGC (In re Chateaugay Corp.), 115 B.R. 760,
775 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1990),’? reiterated in Jn re Finley,
Kumble, Wagner, Heine, Underberg, Manley, Myerson &
Casey, 160 B.R. 882 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1993). The district court
in LTV Corp. v. PBGC (In re Chateaugay Corp.), 130 B.R.

12. On June 7, 1993, some of the LTV decisions were vacated
by consent of the parties, including L7V Corp. v. PBGC (In re
Chateaugay Corp.), 115 B.R. 760 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1990), LTV Corp.
v. PBGC (In re Chateaugay Corp.), 126 B.R. 165 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y.
1991), and LTV Corp. v. PBGC (In re Chateaugay Corp.), 130 B.R.
690 (S.D.N.Y. 1991). Vacatur does not deprive these decisions of
their persuasive value and this Court is free to adopt their highly
persuasive reasoning. See Jn re Finley, Kumble, Wagner, Heine,
Underberg, Manley, Myerson & Casey, 160 B.R. 882, 898 (Bankr.
S.D.N.Y. 1993).

18

690, 697 (S.D.N.Y. 1991), agreed: “PBGC’s claims are pre-
petition contingent claims because the labor giving rise to the
pension obligations was performed pre-petition.”

In treating PBGC’s claims as prepetition claims, the Tenth
Circuit was squarely in line with the foregoing well established
precedent.

B. Reading Co. v. Brown Does Not Require a Different
Result

The keystone of PBGC’s argument for first priority is the
Petition’s reliance on Reading Co. v. Brown, 391 U.S. 471
(1968). Pet. 26. Reading, however, involved a debt that was
incurred postpetition. As the Petition itself recites, “the Court
granted administrative priority to a postpetition tort claim”
because the claimant’s “property was damaged by a fire
through the negligence of the receiver.” In each of the later
cases following Reading, cited by PBGC (Pet. 26-27),'? the
debtor’s conduct which gave rise to the claim occurred

13. Cumberland Farms Inc. v. Florida Dep't of Envtl. Protection,
116 F.3d 16, 20-21 (1st Cir. 1997) (postpetition operation of
underground storage tanks without satisfying financial responsibility
requirements); Alabama Surface Mining Comm'n v. N.P. Mining Co.
(In re N.P. Mining Co.), 963 F.2d 1449, 1453-58 (11th Cir. 1992)
(postpetition environmental violations); United States v. LTV Corp.,
(In re Chateauguay Corp.), 944 F.2d 997, 1009-10 (2d Cir. 1991)
(response costs of postpetition maintenance of hazardous waste sites);
Lancaster v. Tennessee (In re Wall Tube & Metal Prods. Co.), 831
F.2d 118, 123-24 (6th Cir. 1987) (response costs as to hazardous wastes
still on Debtor’s land postpetition); Spunt v. Charlesbank Laundry,
Inc. (In re Charlesbank Laundry, Inc.), 755 F.2d 200, 203 (1st Cir.
1985) (postpetition continuation of nuisance); Yorke v. NLRB, 709
F.2d 1138, 1143 (7th Cir. 1983) (back pay order against Trustee in
bankruptcy who violated NLRA postpetition).

19

postpetition. In CF&I’s case, the pension debt was incurred
by the prepetition labor of CF&I’s employees. Reading and
its progeny are not in point.

PBGC is even farther off the mark when the petition (Pet.
28) argues that “[t]he employer’s statutory obligation to pay
contributions to the plan is entirely separate from the plan’s
obligation to participants,” citing Hughes Aircraft Co. v.
Jacobson, 119 S. Ct. 755, 762 (1999). The Court’s Hughes
ruling had nothing to do with bankruptcy, and had nothing to
do with the question whether the obligation to fund was a
postpetition or prepetition debt. Hughes, a fiduciary duty case
under ERISA title I, simply held that the use of excess,
overfunding, assets to benefit other participants did not violate
ERISA’s fiduciary standards.

if

THE TENTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY APPROVED

THE BANKRUPTCY COURT’S MARKET

VALUATION METHOD AS REQUIRED BY 11 U.S.C.

§ 502(b), RATHER THAN PBGC’S REGULATORY
DISCOUNT RATE

The Tenth Circuit correctly upheld the bankruptcy court’s
decision on the discount rate applicable to bringing future
pension payment obligations to present value.

The issue presented by the Petition is whether PBGC’s
original Unfunded Benefits Claim used the proper valuation
method in bankruptcy. The parties do not dispute PBGC’s
calculation of the aggregate future value of its Unfunded
Benefits Claim. The dispute lies in the methodology by which
the present value of PBGC’s claim should be determined.

20

The courts below properly ruled that PBGC’s Unfunded
Benefits Claim should be reduced to present value using a
market-based discount rate of 12.3%, which fairly reflects the
expected rate of return a prudent investor may achieve on the
investment of a sum of money set aside as of the Petition Date
to satisfy future benefit payments, and “is the only rate in
evidence compatible with the Bankruptcy Code.” Pet. App.
23a.

PBGC, on the other hand, asserts based on ERISA that it
has the unilateral prerogative to establish the discount rate for
its own claim and to impose that rate upon the bankruptcy
court, to the detriment of other unsecured creditors. PBGC
contends that its claim should be discounted utilizing a single-
creditor-specific discount rate of 6.5% embodied in its own
regulation, Pet. App. 21a. That is a rate PBGC devised to suit
its own administrative convenience and to promote PBGC’s
own “institutional goal of making plan termination less
attractive,” Pet. App. 22a. Applying the ERISA discount factor
to value PBGC’s bankruptcy claim, however, would undermine
the fundamental bankruptcy principle of equality of distribution
among similarly situated creditors. 11 U.S.C. § 502(b)(2).

The courts below properly recognized the applicability of
the fundamental bankruptcy principle of equality of treatment
between similarly situated creditors to bankruptcy claims
allowance. Pet. App. 13a-14a. Adherence to the principle of
equal treatment is more essential where the claim to be valued
is a claim for a future stream of payments. The Bankruptcy
Code mandates that claims for future payments be discounted
to present value. 11 U.S.C. § 502(b) (“the court ... shall
determine the amount of such claim in lawful currency of the
United States as of the date of the filing of the petition . . .”).
The regulatory interest rate assumption proffered by the PBGC

i i- — —" = - — ” = 7” a Ne ee a ee a es ek ee fe

21

applies to the present-valuing of future benefits under a
different statute (ERISA), in a different context, and for a
different purpose (to discourage plan terminations)."*

As the L7V bankruptcy court recognized, “based on its
charter, the PBGC is clearly motivated to enhance its claims
... as much as possible.” LTV Corp. v. PBGC (In re
Chateaugay Corp.), 115 B.R. 760, 771 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y.
1990). Under the Bankruptcy Code, the court, not the creditor,
is charged with the responsibility to determine the present value
of a claim for a future stream of payments. /d. at 765-71.
Allowing PBGC to dictate an artificially low discount rate
would enable PBGC to inflate the value of its own claim.
Creditors, however, are not granted that privilege. PBGC’s
discount factor is fundamentally inconsistent with 11 U.S.C.
§§ 502(b), 502(b)(2), 1123(a)(4) and the equitable bankruptcy
principles inherent in those statutory provisions.

PBGC’s position rests entirely upon its unsupportable
contention that the Bankruptcy Code must be subordinated to
PBGC’s non-bankruptcy regulation. PBGC attempts to justify
its untenable position by arguing that its regulation is entitled
to absolute deference as “legislative rules,” and that the non-
bankruptcy law embodied in its regulation is the only law to
be applied in determining the validity and amount of its
Unfunded Benefits Claim. Pet. 21-22. PBGC relies heavily
on its analysis of Batterton v. Francis, 432 U.S. 416 (1977),
Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council,
Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984), and related cases. PBGC tries to
show that its valuation regulation carries the force of law and
thereby prevails over inconsistent provisions of the Bankruptcy
Code.

14. 29 C.F.R. § 2619.1 at 666 (7-1-92 Edition) (from Material
Lodged in Support of Petition for Certiorari, at 1).

22

PBGC’s reliance on Batterton and Chevron is misplaced.
Moreover, even assuming arguendo that PBGC’s 1992
regulation has the force and effect of law, its status as a
legislative rule does not justify subordination of the Bankruptcy
Code.

In Batterton and Chevron, the Supreme Court addressed
the degree of deference to be accorded an administrative agency
in the context of reviewing the agency’s construction of the
statute it administers. Batterton, 432 U.S. at 424; Chevron,
467 U.S. at 842. In that context, the Court ruled that where
Congress has expressly authorized the agency to elucidate a
specific provision of the statute by regulation, the agency’s
construction is to be given “controlling weight” unless it is
arbitrary, capricious, or manifestly contrary to law. Chevron,
467 US. at 844 (citing Batterton, 432 U.S. at 425). In reaching
its decision, the Court recognized that an agency’s construction
of the statute it administers is an area in which it has special
expertise, and because of that expertise, the agency is entitled
to substantial deference.

The Court’s rulings in Batterton and Chevron do not apply
in the instant case, and the Court of Appeals correctly saw it
that way. Pet. App. 14a-15a. This case does not present an
issue concerning an administrative agency’s construction of
the statute which it administers.'* PBGC administers ERISA,
not the Bankruptcy Code. The Reorganized Debtors do not
challenge the discount factor set forth in the 1992 PBGC

15. Valuation of PBGC’s claims requires the Bankruptcy Court
to “reconcil[e] conflicting policies” between ERISA and the
Bankruptcy Code, a task which PBGC is not at all authorized, or
equipped, to perform. LTV Corp. v. PBGC (In re Chateaugay Corp.),
115 B.R. 760, 768-71 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1990); cf Chevron, 467 U.S.
at 844.

23

regulation as an improper construction of ERISA. The issue
in this case is whether PBGC’s discount factor should be
applied, outside of ERISA, to value a claim in bankruptcy at
present value.

Any delegation of legislative authority arguably expressed
in 29 U.S.C. § 1301(a)(18) (ERISA § 4001(a)(18)) does not
extend to the valuation of claims in bankruptcy. Section
1301(a)(18) defines the amount of unfunded benefit liabilities
“for purposes of this title [ERISA]” only. Nothing in
§ 1301(a)(18), or any other provision of ERISA, expresses any
congressional intent to authorize PBGC to determine the
present value of unfunded future benefit liabilities for purposes
of the Bankruptcy Code. Rather, Congress expressly delegated
exclusive responsibility for valuation of all claims in
bankruptcy, whatever their source, to the Bankruptcy Court in
§ 502(b).

24
CONCLUSION
The Court should deny the petition.

Respectfully submitted,

FRANK CUMMINGS

Counsel of Record

LeBoeur, LAMB, GREENE

& MacRag, L.L.P.

1875 Connecticut Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20009-5728
(202) 986-8000

STEVEN J. MCCARDELL
LEBoeuF, LAMB, GREENE
& MacRae, L.L.P

1000 Kearns Building
136 South Main Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
(801) 320-6700

WESTON L. Harris

STEVEN T. WATERMAN

Ray, QUINNEY & NEBEKER

79 South Main Street, #700
P.O. Box 45385

Sait Lake City, UT 84145-0385
(801) 532-1500

Attorneys for Respondents
Reorganized CF &I Fabricators
of Utah, Inc., et al.

APPENDIX

See Los ta ae 8 Aa SR oo end ik eed Pe Ae it act a ee he ae Le

Cain ei ee ani eal ioe

la

APPENDIX A — RELEVANT STATUTES
11 U.S.C. § 1113
Sec. 1113. Rejection of collective bargaining agreements

(a) The debtor in possession, or the trustee if one has been
appointed under the provisions of this chapter, other than a
trustee in a case covered by subchapter IV of this chapter
and by title I of the Railway Labor Act, may assume or reject
a collective bargaining agreement only in accordance with
the provisions of this section.

(b)

(1) Subsequent to filing a petition and prior to
filing an application seeking rejection of a
collective bargaining agreement, the debtor in
possession or trustee (hereinafter in this section

“trustee” shall include a debtor in possession),
shall —

(A) make a proposal to the authorized
representative of the employees covered
by such agreement, based on the most
complete and reliable information
available at the time of such proposal,
which provides for those necessary
modifications in the employees benefits
and protections that are necessary to
permit the reorganization of the debtor
and assures that all creditors, the debtor
and all of the affected parties are treated
fairly and equitably; and

2a
Appendix A

(B) provide, subject to subsection
(d)(3), the representative of the
employees with such relevant
information as is necessary to evaluate
the proposal.

(2) During the period beginning on the date of the
making of a proposal provided for in paragraph
(1) and ending on the date of the hearing provided
for in subsection (d)(1), the trustee shall meet,
at reasonable times, with the authorized
representative to confer in good faith in attempting
to reach mutually satisfactory modifications of
such agreement.

(c) The court shall approve an application for rejection of
a collective bargaining agreement only if the court finds
that —

(1) the trustee has, prior to the hearing, made a
proposal that fulfills the requirements of
subsection (b)(1);

(2) the authorized representative of the employees
has refused to accept such proposal without good
cause; and

(3) the balance of the equities clearly favors
rejection of such agreement.

ae hy ne PS

A OB POP IA IE

(d)

3a

Appendix A

(1) Upon the filing of an application for rejection
the court shall schedule a hearing to be held not
later than fourteen days after the date of the filing
of such application. All interested parties may
appear and be heard at such hearing. Adequate
notice shall be provided to such parties at least
ten days before the date of such hearing. The court
may extend the time for the commencement of
such hearing for a period not exceeding seven days
where the circumstances of the case, and the
interests of justice require such extension, or for
additional periods of time to which the trustee and
representative agree.

(2) The court shall rule on such application for
rejection within thirty days after the date of the
commencement of the hearing. In the interests of
justice, the court may extend such time for ruling
for such additional period as the trustee and the
employees’ representative may agree to. If the
court does not rule on such application within
thirty days after the date of the commencement of
the hearing, or within such additional time as the
trustee and the employees’ representative may
agree to, the trustee may terminate or alter any
provisions of the collective bargaining agreement
pending the ruling of the court on such application.

(3) The court may enter such protective orders,
consistent with the need of the authorized

4a
Appendix A

representative of the employee-to evaluate the
trustee’s proposal and the application for rejection,
as may be necessary to prevent disclosure of
information provided to such representative where
such disclosure could compromise the position of
the debtor with respect to its competitors in the
industry in which it is engaged.

(e) If during a period when the collective bargaining
agreement continues in effect, and if essential to the
continuation of the debtor’s business, or in order to avoid
irreparable damage to the estate, the court, after notice and a
hearing, may authorize the trustee to implement interim
changes in the terms, conditions, wages, benefits, or work
rules provided by a collective bargaining agreement. Any
hearing under this paragraph shall be scheduled in accordance
with the needs of the trustee. The implementation of such
interim changes shall not render the application for rejection
moot.

(f) No provision of this title shall be construed to permit a
trustee to unilaterally terminate or alter any provisions of a
collective bargaining agreement prior to compliance with the
provisions of this section.

11 U.S.C. § 1114

Sec. 1114. Payment of insurance benefits to retired
employees

(a) For purposes of this section, the term “retiree benefits”
means payments to any entity or person for the purpose of

! 5a
| Appendix A

providing or reimbursing payments for retired employees and
their spouses and dependents, for medical, surgical, or
hospital care benefits, or benefits in the event of sickness,
accident, disability, or death under any plan, fund, or program
(through the purchase of insurance or otherwise) maintained
or established in whole or in part by the debtor prior to filing
a petition commencing a case under this title.

(b)

(1) For purposes of this section, the term
“authorized representative” means the authorized
representative designated pursuant to subsection
(c) for persons receiving any retiree benefits
covered by a collective bargaining agreement or
subsection (d) in the case of persons receiving
retiree benefits not covered by such an agreement.

(2) Committees of retired employees appointed
by the court pursuant to this section shall have the
same rights, powers, and duties as committees
appointed under sections //02 and 1103 of this
title for the purpose of carrying out the purposes
of sections ///4 and 1129(a)(13) and, as permitted
by the court, shall have the power to enforce the
rights of persons under this title as they relate to
retiree benefits.

(c)

(1) A labor organization shall be, for purposes of
this section, the authorized representative of those

6a
Appendix A

persons receiving any retiree benefits covered by
any collective bargaining agreement to which that
labor organization is signatory, unless (A) such
labor organization elects not to serve as the
authorized representative of such persons, or (B)
the court, upon a motion by any party in interest,
after notice and hearing, determines that different
representation of such persons is appropriate.

(2) In cases where the labor organization referred
to in paragraph (1) elects not to serve as the
authorized representative of those persons
receiving any retiree benefits covered by any
collective bargaining agreement to which that
labor organization is signatory, or in cases where
the court, pursuant to paragraph (1) finds different
representation of such persons appropriate, the
court, upon a motion by any party in interest, and
after notice and a hearing, shall appoint a
committee of retired employees if the debtor seeks
to modify or not pay the retiree benefits or if the
court otherwise determines that it is appropriate,
from among such persons, to serve as the
authorized representative of such persons under
this section.

(d) The court, upon a motion by any party in interest, and
after notice and a hearing, shall appoint a committee of retired
employees if the debtor seeks to modify or not pay the retiree
benefits or if the court otherwise determines that it is
appropriate, to serve as the authorized representative, under
this section, of those persons receiving any retiree benefits
not covered by a collective bargaining agreement.

(e)

Ta

Appendix A

(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this
title, the debtor in possession, or the trustee if one
has been appointed under the provisions of this
chapter (hereinafter in this section “trustee” shall
include a debtor in possession), shall timely pay
and shall not modify any retiree benefits, except
that —

(A) the court, on motion of the trustee
or authorized representative, and after
notice and a hearing, may order
modification of such payments, pursuant
to the provisions of subsections (g) and
(h) of this section, or

(B) the trustee and the authorized
representative of the recipients of those
benefits may agree to modification of
such payments, after which such benefits
as modified shall continue to be paid by
the trustee.

(2) Any payment for retiree benefits required to
be made before a plan confirmed under section
1129 of this title is effective has the status of an
allowed administrative expense as provided in
section 503 of this title.

8a

Appendix A
(f)

(1) Subsequent to filing a petition and prior to
filing an application seeking modification of the
retiree benefits, the trustee shall —

(A) make a proposal to the authorized
representative of the retirees, based
on the most complete and reliable
information available at the time of such
proposal, which provides for those
necessary modifications in the retiree
benefits that are necessary to permit the
reorganization of the debtor and assures
that all creditors, the debtor and all of
the affected parties are treated fairly and
equitably; and

(B) provide, subject to subsection
(k)(3), the representative of the retirees
with such relevant information as is
necessary to evaluate the proposal.

(2) During the period beginning on the date of the
making of a proposal provided for in paragraph
(1), and ending on the date of the hearing provided
for in subsection (k)(1), the trustee shall meet,
at reasonable times, with the authorized
representative to confer in good faith in attempting
to reach mutually satisfactory modifications of
such retiree benefits.

9a

Appendix A

(g) The court shall enter an order providing for modification
in the payment of retiree benefits if the court finds that —

(1) the trustee has, prior to the hearing, made a
proposal that fulfills the requirements of
subsection (f);

(2) the authorized representative of the retirees
has refused to accept such proposal without good |
cause; and

(3) such modification is necessary to permit the
reorganization of the debtor and assures that all
creditors, the debtor, and all of the affected parties
are treated fairly and equitably, and is Clearly
favored by the balance of the equities; except that
in no case shall the court enter an order providing
for such modification which provides for a
modification to a level lower than that proposed
by the trustee in the proposal found by the court
to have complied with the requirements of this
subsection and subsection (f): Provided, however,
That at any time after an order is entered providing
for modification in the payment of retiree benefits,
or at any time after an agreement modifying such
benefits is made between the trustee and the
authorized representative of the recipients of such
benefits, the authorized representative may apply
to the court for an order increasing those benefits
which order shall be granted if the increase in
retiree benefits sought is consistent with the
standard set forth in paragraph (3): Provided

10a
Appendix A

further, That neither the trustee nor the authorized
representative is precluded from making more than
one motion for a modification order governed by
this subsection.

(h)

(1) Prior to a court issuing a final order under
subsection (g) of this section, if essential to the
continuation of the debtor’s business, or in order
to avoid irreparable damage to the estate, the court,
after notice and a hearing, may authorize the
trustee to implement interim modifications in
retiree benefits.

(2) Any hearing under this subsection shall be
scheduled in accordance with the needs of the
trustee.

(3) The implementation of such interim changes
does not render the motion for modification moot.

(i) No retiree benefits paid between the filing of the petition
and the time a plan confirmed under section //29 of this title
becomes effective shall be deducted or offset from the
amounts allowed as claims for any benefits which remain
unpaid, or from the amounts to be paid under the plan with
respect to such claims for unpaid benefits, whether such
claims for unpaid benefits are based upon or arise from a
right to future unpaid benefits or from any benefits not paid
as a result of modifications allowed pursuant to this section.

(j) No claim for retiree benefits shall be limited by section
502(b)(7) of this title.

(k)

lla

Appendix A

(1) Upon the filing of an application for modifying
retiree benefits, the court shall schedule a hearing
to be held not later than fourteen days after the
date of the filing of such application. All interested
parties may appear and be heard at such hearing.
Adequate notice shall be provided to such parties
at least ten days before the date of such hearing.
The court may extend the time for the
commencement of such hearing for a period not
exceeding seven days where the circumstances of
the case, and the interests of justice require such
extension, or for additional periods of time to
which the trustee and the authorized representative
agree.

(2) The court shall rule on such application for
modification within ninety days after the date of
the commencement of the hearing. In the interests
of justice, the court may extend such time for
ruling for such additional period as the trustee and
the authorized representative may agree to. If the
court does not rule on such application within
ninety days after the date of the commencement
of the hearing, or within such additional time as
the trustee and the authorized representative may
agree to, the trustee may implement the proposed
modifications pending the ruling of the court on
such application.

(3) The court may enter such protective orders,
consistent with the need of the authorized

12a
Appendix A

representative of the retirees to evaluate the
trustee’s proposal and the application for
modification, as may be necessary to prevent
disclosure of information provided to such
representative where such disclosure could
compromise the position of the debtor with respect
to its competitors in the industry in which it is
engaged.

(1) This section shall not apply to any retiree, or the spouse
or dependents of such retiree, if such retiree’s gross income
for the twelve months preceding the filing of the bankruptcy
petition equals or exceeds $250,000, unless such retiree can
demonstrate to the satisfaction of the court that he is unable
to obtain health, medical, life, and disability coverage for
himself, his spouse, and his dependents who would otherwise
be covered by the employer’s insurance plan, comparable to
the coverage provided by the employer on the day before the
filing of a petition under this title.

* * * *

13a

APPENDIX B — EXCERPTS FROM
PBGC 1998 ANNUAL REPORT

Bersteny Desettt tat arante 4 ee
bse be Gone eet! Reet

ne

14a

Appendix B

* oe *

[Excerpt from page 14]
Loss PREVENTION

Under its Early Warning Program, PBGC continued to
monitor more than 500 companies with pension plans
underfunded by at least $5 million in order to identify
transactions that could jeopardize pensions and to arrange
suitable protections for those pensions and the pension
insurance program. During 1998, PBGC negotiators reached
agreements valued at nearly $1.1 billion with 35 companies,
including Pepsico, Fruit of the Loom, Sunbeam, Pillowtex,
and Inland Steel Company. These agreements provided
contributions, security, and other protections for the pensions
of about 257,000 workers and retirees. Loss prevention is
PBGC’s principal performance measure for its strategic goal
of protecting existing defined benefit plans and their
participants; with regard to these agreements. PBGC is able
to report a loss prevention rate of 100 percent for 1998.

* * *x

15a
Appendix B

[Excerpts from page 23]
Financial Statements

MANAGEMENT?’S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF
FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF
OPERATIONS

GENERAL

The following discussion and analysis provide information
that management believes is relevant to an assessment and
understanding of the Corporation’s financial condition and
results of operations. The discussion should be read in
conjunction with the financial statements and notes thereto.

PBGC’s operating results are subject to significant
fluctuation from year to year depending on the frequency and
severity of losses from terminating pension plans, general
economic conditions, and other factors such as changes in
law. Consequently, certain traditional financial ratios and
measurements are not meaningful and therefore, not
presented.

COMBINED RESULTS

For 1998, PBGC’s combined underwriting and financial
activities resulted in a net gain of $1.653 billion on gross
income of $3.250 billion. The single-employer and
multiemployer programs reported a net income of $1.53]
billion and $122 million respectively. By law, these two
programs are separate.

16a
Appendix B

SINGLE-EMPLOYER PROGRAM

Results of Activities and Trends: The net income in 1998
was $1.531 billion compared to net income of $2.612 billion
in 1997. The $1.081 billion decrease was primarily
attributable to the decrease in investment income.

Underwriting Activity: The gain of $462 million in 1998
was down from a gain of $897 million in 1997. This $435
million decrease was primarily due to (1) a decrease in
premium income, (2) the one-time actuarial credit taken in
1997 as a result of the change in the method of calculating
expenses incurred in determining and paying a participant’s
benefits, to more closely match the agency’s annual
claims-related expenses, and (3) an increase in losses from
probable terminations.

Underwriting income decreased from $1.086 billion in
1997 to $976 million in 1998. The $110 million decrease
relates primarily to the decrease in variable-rate premium
payments.

The Corporation’s losses from completed and probable
plan terminations increased from $489 million in 1997 to
$584 million in 1998. Although there were no major plan
terminations in 1998, losses are unpredictable.

Operating costs remained level at $143 million.

Financial Activity: Investment income exceeded
actuarial charges in 1998, resulting in a $1.069 billion gain
versus a $1.715 billion gain in 1997. The total return on

17a

Appendix B

investments was 14.4% in 1998, compared to 21.9% in 1997.
Fixed-income investments experienced higher returns in 1998
than in 1997 while equity investment returns were lower.
PBGC, in accordance with generally accepted accounting
principles, marks its assets and liabilities to market.

Actuarial charges primarily resulted from the aging of
the present value of future benefits and from changes in
interest rates. In 1998, the select interest rate assumption
decreased from 6.2% at September 30, 1997, to 5.7% at
September 30, 1998, while the ultimate rate increased from
5.5% to 5.75%. The passage of time and change in the interest
rates resulted in an actuarial charge of $1.034 billion in 1998,
compared to an actuarial charge of $960 million in 1997.

cad * a *

18a

APPENDIX C — 58 FEDERAL REGISTER 50812
(SEPTEMBER 28, 1993)

PENSION BENEFIT GUARANTY CORPORATION
29 CFR Parts 2619 and 2676
RIN 1212-AA61

Valuation of Plan Benefits in Single-Employer Plans;
Valuation of Plan Benefits and Plan Assets Following
Mass Withdrawal

AGENCY: Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation.
ACTION: Final rule.

SUMMARY: The Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation
(“PBGC”) is amending its regulation governing valuation of
plan benefits in terminated single-employer plans that are
trusteed by the PBGC. The amendment revises the
regulation’s mortality assumptions to reflect recent acturial
practice, (2) to uncouple the regulation’s administrative
expense (“loading”) assumptions from its interest
assumptions, and (3) to clarify the valuation of annuity
benefits by prescribing a new interest rate structure that bases
valuations on the length of time between the valuation date
and the presumed date of each payment. Although the
amendment continues the regulation’s historical approach of
assigning values to annuity benefits that are in line with
private sector group annuity prices, and the PBGC anticipates
that, for most plans, this amendment will not significantly
affect the valuations produced, the new assumptions and
structure will greatly enhance public understanding of the

19a
Appendix C

PBGC’s valuations. In addition, the PBGC is adopting unisex
mortality assumptions when it is calculating de minimis lump
sums (i.e., those of $3,500 or less) to be paid to a participant;
the PBGC is otherwise reserving the lump sum issue and
therefore will otherwise continue to use its existing mortality
assumptions and interest rate structure in the valuation of
lump sum benefits.
“

At the same time, the PBGC is amending its regulation
governing valuation of annuity benefits in multiemployer
plans following mass withdrawal, so as to adopt the same
mortality, loading, and interest assumptions as does the
modified single-employer regulation. This change will result
in simplification of calculations under the multiemployer
regulation as well as greater consistency of annuity valuations
between the two programs.

EFFECTIVE DATE: November 1, 1993.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Peter H.
Gould, Senior Counsel, Office of the General Counsel, at the
above address or at (202) 778-8850 ((202) 778-8859 for TTY
and TDD). These are not toll-free numbers.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:
Background

On January 19, 1993, the Pension Benefit Guaranty
Corporation (“PBGC”) issued a notice of proposed
rulemaking (58 FR 5128) that would alter the structure and
assumptions used in its valuation of annuity benefits. The

—

20a
Appendix C

proposed rule would revise the PBGC’s methods of valuing
annuity benefits by adopting (1) a new table of mortality
assumptions to reflect recent actuarial practice, (2) an
administrative expense (“loading”) assumption to replace the
previous adjustment in the interest assumption that simulated
this charge, and (3) a new structure of interest assumptions
that is based on the period of time between the valuation date
of a benefit and the presumed date of each payment of the
benefit. The PBGC proposed these changes because, although
the PBGC’s existing assumptions and structure accurately
reflect private sector group annuity prices, the disparity
between the PBGC’s low interest rates and familiar private
sector rates had resulted in public confusion. The new annuity
valuation structure and assumptions would make the annuity
valuation process clearer to the public, and would more
clearly conform to the current practices of the private
insurance industry in pricing of group annuity benefits. The
proposed rule would also adopt unisex mortality assumptions
for lump sum valuations; this change would conform the
PBGC’s practice to that of private sector pension plans.
Finally, the proposed rule would apply to valuations under
terminated multiemployer plans under 29 CFR part 2676 as
well as under terminated single-employer plans under 29 CFR
part 2619.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1396%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
