# Opposition Brief — Grand Canyon Trust v. Federal Aviation Administration

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1374%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 1158

## Text

t
A

eA,

Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited States

GRAND CANYON TRUST, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE
FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION
IN OPPOSITION

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record

LOIS J. SCHIFFER
Assistant Attorney General

RONALD M. SPRITZER
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20580-0001
(202) 514-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Federal Aviation Administration
unlawfully withheld or unreasonably delayed action
required by the Act of August 18, 1987, Pub. L. No. 100-
91, § 3, 101 Stat. 676 (codified at 16 U.S.C. la-1 note),
when it promulgated a regulation that does not fully
achieve until 2008 the statutory objective of
substantially restoring the natural quiet in the Grand
Canyon National Park.

a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CRC, RRB oscseesicesisinosincesotnnsocesinencscetinnaneneentoncavevecovosnsconsseanvenesesee 1
UIT oo 6a ci alas rea cqenesebssinnpieiidianmmpnennsamaiabanabephiiienniaaiins 1
IIIs an setacensesbbehaieibosduhiaeliniueiicioenpniaeaiabuapseumndisiinahensosehinen 2
BEI, sicnesesercunpivemnevisemepiesirviavatnenaracnniencmiseseestansesuaeayeieteenees 8
SI sierra ta bs dea ha dbanabnalicesucnaimoeckeeinnseiunrvinermnonds 17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Action on Smoking & Health v. Department of

Labor, 100 F.3d 991 (D.C. Cir. 1996) .......r.s.cssssccsesscssserees 15
Community Nutrition Inst. v. Young, 773 F.2d

1356 (D.C. Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1123

CRITE itil shsdinseikeasisibhineeabsblecatensbciecllinientsinrstikueptinnionmentovenmensneenees 13
Forest Guardians v. Babbitt, 164 F.3d 1261 (1998),

amended on denial of reh’g, No. 97-2370, 1999

WL 286274 (10th Cir. Apr. 22, 1999) ........ccccsrcsccsessssensoresees 11, 12
MCI Telecomms. Corp. v. FCC, 627 F.2d

I I i esanseanebsanionans 13
Oil, Chem. & Atomic Workers Int’l Union v.

Zegeer, 768 F.2d 1480 (D.C. Cir. 1985) .......ccscceseserersserereees 15
Telecommunications Research & Action Ctr. v.

BOC, TED FB TO DAG. Car, GGG) cccesccccesescesccvenscecssesecvecs 13, 15
United Steelworkers of Am., In re, 783 F.2d 1117

I cs nil hpealabbadaovenevanimennensets 15
Washington Legal Found. v. Alexander,

Se SE EE CEI A: 4.0, SUUPIED cocnteewiinncistsvsansneensennosoommnienvieines 13

Statutes and rule:

Act of Aug. 18, 1987, Pub. L. No. 100-91, 101 Stat.
674 (16 U.S.C. la-1 note):

§ 3, 101 Stat. 676 (16 U.S.C. la-1 note) .........ccssseeseeeeees 2,9

OR aa as an amsensionebnnsednannieen 3

i a aeidndaganebtonnenense 3

US i sn dectepthiensitinabedoennnpnsiinemneeie 3, 4
(III)

IV

Statutes and rule—Continued: Page

Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. 551 et seq.:

OF Es UNA? isovintenscicinsinesinsnani steliliienssitiabhauiepaiingibidiiahiniiin 13

© CELER AA. COO cissscinitesonenseernncninisiiituionasibinmniammnnniaaiiiine 12

Fees, FULD shioncarsceeusesinnipsiansisleieitieionbanabindebiasia 8, 11, 12, 13, 14
Endangered Species Act of 1973, 16 U.S.C. 1531

CI seis sche sis vebinndaictescsncescasiviaceshadaphahuinilinaiaebaeitaigiiisuaatolsieies 12
National Environmental Policy Act of 1969,

Ge SEs Ge OE OG, actinic ciccnaisaraerccarndacthastctescinpiaigies 6
National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, 16 U.S.C.

PPA TG, scviaiaistvieicssmnviarnitanetianighacanacngalintiiansiiinindabeieainie 6
Pe CE TiS) | cnirersnsesisinnancciztiacaiaisipatiamminmagmonepiatien 16

Miscellaneous:

GE FOG TO TG CEG) sssscnssnsiecmninsitiessetniiidanintbachensinanapebins 4,9
SD FG. BORG, FFG CEM E) wiscrsnessosseinninpuiticisianainheuuseiinapsieiiia 4
61 Fed. Reg. (1996):

0D, CEPA ane RE: . creveiteninscasnsncebiachinniretaivainnveaneinmnmeninaiaviiaios
62 Fed. Reg. (1997):

5h, GR IPGE sccenesinhnsertssasishsinsinontaseplenevagnsshadinaniismmbanmnstnbianiaianeno
GB Fa, Bam, SE GER CIGD icccccescsnsstitasnnvscieriarianinesniniiinatlioblaiiees

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 98-1417

GRAND CANYON TRUST, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE
FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION
IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-40a)
is reported at 154 F.3d 455.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
September 4, 1998. A petition for rehearing was denied
on November 4, 1998 (Pet. App. 41a). On January 22,
1999, Chief Justice Rehnquist extended the time for
filing a petition for a writ of certiorari to and including
March 4, 1999, and the petition was filed on that date.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. 1254(1).

2

STATEMENT

This case involves a Federal Aviation Administration
(FAA) regulation implementing legislation to study and
limit air traffic over the Grand Canyon National Park
(Park). Act of Aug. 18, 1987 (Overflights Act or Act),
Pub. L. No. 100-91, § 3, 101 Stat. 676 (codified at 16
U.S.C. la-1 note). 61 Fed. Reg. 69,302 (1996) (Final
Rule or Rule); see also 62 Fed. Reg. 8862, 66,248 (1997)
(delaying effective date for portions of the Rule). The
Final Rule, which regulates air-tour operations over the
Park in order to substantially restore natural quiet in
the Park, includes a curfew, the designation of flight-
free zones, a limit on the number of aircraft, and report-
ing requirements. The Rule is “part of an overall
strategy to further reduce the impact of aircraft noise
on the park environment and to assist the National
Park Service [NPS] in achieving its statutory mandate
* * * to provide for the substantial restoration of
natural quiet and experience in Grand Canyon National
Park.” 61 Fed. Reg. at 69,302. The FAA is also en-
gaged in finalizing new air-tour routes and further
rulemaking to require the use of quiet aircraft technol-
ogy for air tours over the Park.

The court of appeals denied petitions for review of
the FAA’s Final Rule filed by seven environmental
organizations, which are now the petitioners before this
Court, as well as by air-tour operators, local govern-
ment entities, and an Indian Tribe whose reservation is
adjacent to the Park. Petitioner environmental organi-
zations seek this Court’s review of the decision of the
court of appeals that the FAA reasonably interpreted
the Act and complied with applicable procedural re-
quirements, and that judicial intervention to speed up
the ongoing administrative process is not warranted.

ie ererrenenrreeaeenac manic iiciiliiniaibiaieiaianilhe

3

1. In August 1987, Congress enacted the Overflights
Act. Section 3(b)(1) of the Act required the Secretary
of the Interior to submit, within 30 days, recommenda-
tions to the FAA “regarding actions necessary for the
protection of resources in the Grand Canyon from
adverse impacts associated with aircraft overflights.”
101 Stat. 676 (codified at 16 U.S.C. la-1 note). The Act
required that the recommendations provide for “sub-
stantial restoration of the natural quiet and experience
of the park,” as well as “protection of public health and
safety from adverse effects associated with aircraft
overflight.” Ibid. The Act further required the FAA,
within 90 days, and after notice and comment, to “issue
a final plan for the management of air traffic in the air
space above the Grand Canyon.” § 3(b)(2), 101 Stat. 676
(codified at 16 U.S.C. la-1 note). The FAA was
required to implement the Secretary’s recommenda-
tions without change unless the FAA determined that
implementing the recommendations “would adversely
affect aviation safety.” § 3(b)(2), 101 Stat. 677 (codified
at 16 U.S.C. la-1 note). Finally, the Act required that,
within two years after the effective date of the plan
required under Section 3(b)(2), the Secretary submit a
report to Congress assessing the success of the initial
efforts to attain substantial restoration of natural quiet
and to discuss possible revisions to those efforts.
§ 3(b)(3), 101 Stat. 677 (codified at 16 U.S.C. la-1 note).

2. Within months after passage of the Overflights
Act, the Secretary transmitted to the FAA a series of
recommendations designed to provide for substantial
restoration of the natural quiet in the Park, as required
by the Act. 61 Fed. Reg. at 69,302. After reviewing the
recommendations, the FAA, on June 2, 1988, issued
revised procedures for operation of aircraft in the air-
space above the Park. Special Federal Aviation

4

Regulation (SFAR) No. 50-2, 53 Fed. Reg. 20,264
(1988). SFAR 50-2 established minimum altitudes, four
flight-free zones, and special routes for air-tour opera-
tors. SFAR 50-2 was to expire within four years, but
the FAA later extended its operation. Pet. App. 4a-5a
& n.1.

On September 12, 1994, the Secretary submitted to
Congress the report (NPS Report or Report) required
by Section 3(b)(3) of the Overflights Act. Pet. App. 5a |
& n.38. The Report included a definition of “substantial
restoration of the natural quiet”—“that 50% or more of
the park achieve ‘natural quiet’ (i.e., no aircraft audible)
for 75-100 percent of the day.” Jd. at 6a (quoting NPS
Report 182). Using that definition, the Report re-
viewed the effectiveness of SFAR 50-2 and offered a
new set of recommendations for further regulatory
action. The Report suggested modification of the exist-
ing air-tour route structure, expansion of flight-free
zones, phased implementation of quieter aircraft
technology, and imposition of a curfew on air-tour
overflights. Jd. at 6a-7a (citing NPS Report 199-200).

In anticipation of the NPS Report, the FAA, in con-
junction with the Secretary, issued an advance notice of
proposed rulemaking seeking comment on potential
measures for reduction of aircraft noise in the Park. 59
Fed. Reg. 12,740 (1994). In July 1996, the FAA issued a
notice of proposed rulemaking (NPRM) for revisions to
SFAR 50-2. 61 Fed. Reg. at 40,120. The FAA received
more than 14,000 comments. Jd. at 69,305.

3. On December 31, 1996, the FAA issued the Final
Rule. The Rule expands the area covered by flight
limitations; caps the number of aircraft at the number
operating in 1996; requires tour operators to submit
three reports every year on their flights; imposes a
curfew under which air tours may not operate between

ee

5

6 p.m. and 8 a.m. from May through September and
between 5 p.m. and 9 a.m. from October through April;
establishes new minimum altitudes for flights in various
areas of the park; and creates new flight-free zones. 61
Fed. Reg. at 69,330-69,332; Pet. App. 8a-9a.

The FAA determined that adoption of the Rule
would nearly achieve substantial restoration of the
natural quiet in the Park by 1997. The FAA also
proposed two additional actions—to establish new, and
to modify existing, flight routes and to require tour
operators to use quieter aircraft. The FAA estimated
that, if the quiet technology rule was adopted, 57.4% of
the Park would experience natural quiet for at least
75% of each day by the year 2008. Pet. App. 6a, 8a, 9a.’

Based on initial surveys of air-tour operators as well
as operation specifications, the FAA had determined
that the Rule would permit approximately 136 aircraft
to operate within the area covered by flight restric-
tions. Pet. App. lla. After the Final Rule was issued,
however, the FAA obtained additional data showing
that it had underestimated the number of eligible air-
craft. Jbid. The FAA therefore reevaluated the
environmental analyses completed for the Final Rule
and published its results in a notice of clarification and
request for comments. 62 Fed. Reg. at 58,898. The
FAA determined that, although the new information
changed the environmental analyses, the changes did
not warrant modification of the Final Rule. Jbid.
Although the greater number of eligible aircraft would

1 The FAA subsequently withdrew the notice of availability of
proposed routes that it issued simultaneously with the Final Rule.
63 Fed. Reg. 67,545 (1998). The FAA, in consultation with NPS, is
considering alternatives to that proposal, ibid., and anticipates
issuing a new notice of availability in the near future.

6

cause the Final Rule to be less effective in achieving the
substantial restoration of natural quiet over time, the
Final Rule still represented progress toward that end,
and the FAA concluded that the quiet-technology rule-
making and the finalization of the air-tour routes, when
completed, would result in attainment of the statutory
goal. Id. at 58,900, 58,905.

4. a. Four petitions for review of the Final Rule
were filed in the court of appeals. Pet. App. la-2a.
Three of the petitions essentially argued that the Rule
does “too much, too soon.” Jd. at 2a.” By contrast, in
the fourth petition for review, seven environmental
organizations,’ which are now the petitioners before
this Court, contended that the Final Rule does “too
little, too late.” Jbid. Petitioners argued that the
Rule’s definition of “substantial restoration of the
natural quiet” is not sufficiently stringent and that “a

2 The petitioners included (1) a group of air-tour operators
who argued that the Final Rule is more stringent than Congress
intended; (2) the Clark County Department of Aviation and the
Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority, which focused on
the possible elimination of a specific route as a result of the
expansion of the flight-free zones; and (3) the Hualapai Tribe,
which raised several procedural issues and also claimed that the
FAA had violated its trust responsibility to the Tribe by failing to
follow the requirements of the National Environmental Policy Act
of 1969, 42 U.S.C. 4321 et seq., and the National Historic Preserva-
tion Act of 1966, 16 U.S.C. 470 et seg. The Tribe’s reservation is
adjacent to the Park, and it feared that the forced relocation of air-
tour routes would cause more flights to pass over its land. See Pet.
ii; Pet. App. la-2a, 12a, 25a, 28a.

3 The organizations are the Grand Canyon Trust, the National
Parks and Conservation Association, the Sierra Club, the Wilder-
ness Society, the Friends of Grand Canyon, Grand Canyon River
Guides, Inc., and the Northern Arizona Audubon Society. See Pet.
ii.

7

rule that will not achieve substantial restoration until
the year 2008 is inconsistent with the statutory goal.”
Id, at 30a.

b. The court of appeals denied the petitions for re-
view. With regard to petitioners’ contentions, the court
upheld as reasonable the Final Rule’s interpretation of
“substantial restoration of the natural quiet” to mean
that at least 50% of the Park experience natural quiet
during at least 75% of the day, rejecting both the
argument of industry organizations that the definition
required too much quiet and petitioners’ ciaim that it
required too little. Pet. App. 16a-17a, 30a-34a. The
court of appeals also rejected petitioners’ claim that the
Final Rule will achieve substantial restoration of the
natural quiet “too late,” and their related request that
the court require the FAA to issue, within 60 days,
regulations that will immediately achieve substantial
restoration of the natural quiet in the Park; direct that
the regulations establish flight-free zones ensuring that
at least 50% of the Park is noise-free; and retain juris-
diction over the case to ensure compliance. Jd. at 35a-
39a.

In rejecting the latter claim and petitioners’ request
that the court order the FAA to take various measures,
the court of appeals noted that several agency actions
had been completed after the statutory deadlines for
those actions had passed. Pet. App. 36a-37a. And the
court stated that “[petitioners’] frustration with the
agencies’ slow and faltering pace is understandable.”
Id. at 36a. The court rejected, however, petitioners’
argument that Congress intended that the natural quiet
be fully restored in the Park within 120 days after
passage of the Act. Jd. at 37a. The court held that all
Congress ordered within 120 days was the development
of a plan, not full achievement of the statutory

8

objective. The fact that Congress required the Secre-
tary of the Interior to submit a progress report two
years after the Act’s effective date showed that
Congress understood the agencies’ initial efforts might
not be fully successful. bid. The court also rejected
petitioners’ contention that agency action had been
unreasonably delayed, given the complexity of the
issues and the fact that the FAA had proposed
additional actions to achieve the statutory objective.
Thus, the court concluded, it was neither contrary to
the Act nor inherently unreasonable for the FAA to
promulgate a rule that did not contemplate full achieve-
ment of the statutory objective until ten years after the
rule was issued. /d. at 37a-39a.

ARGUMENT

This Court’s review of the decision of the court of
appeals is not warranted. The decision of the court of
appeals is correct. It does not conflict with the decision
of any other court of appeals or with any decision of this
Court, and the issue presented arises under unique
statutory provisions.

1. The court of appeals correctly rejected peti-
tioners’ contention (Pet. 12-19) that the FAA and the
Department of the Interior have “unlawfully withheld
or unreasonably delayed” (5 U.S.C. 706(1)) action
required by the Overflights Act. As the court of
appeals explained, although the Act “manifest|s] a con-
gressional concern with expeditious agency action,” it
does not set a deadline for achievement of the goal of
substantial restoration of the natural quiet in the Park.
Pet. App. 36a-37a. And the agencies have not acted
unreasonably because of the time it has taken to
promulgate the rule that petitioners challenge here, or
because the agencies’ actions may not fully achieve the

9

Act’s goal of substantial restoration of the natural quiet
until the year 2008. See id. at 37a-39a.

a. Section 3 of the Act set deadlines for the promul-
gation of an initial plan to achieve that goal and

submission of the NPS Report evaluating the success of
the plan, see 101 Stat. 676 (codified at 16 U.S.C. la-1

note), but it set no deadline for achieving the goal itself.
“Indeed, the provision for a report, which was to dis-
cuss whether the plan had succeeded and suggest
revisions, makes clear Congress contemplated that the
agencies’ first plan might not succeed and might have to
be revised—as the agencies have done in the regulatory
plan at issue here.” Pet. App. 37a.

The agencies were somewhat tardy in meeting the
statutory deadlines, but petitioners never sought to
compel the actions subject to the deadlines, and those
actions were completed more than four years ago.
There is accordingly no issue in this case concerning
whether, or under what circumstances, a court might
have compelled the FAA to take those specific actions.
Instead, petitioners challenge FAA’s new, more strin-
gent approach, embodied in the Final Rule, which the
FAA promulgated in response to the NPS Report. The
Overflights Act did not expressly require the FAA to
issue that new rule, and certainly did not require it to
do so by any fixed date.

b. Although the issue is now essentially moot, we
note that the FAA did not take unreasonably long to
promulgate the Final Rule. Petitioners erroneously
contend (Pet. 14) that the FAA “procrastinated for
more than a decade in passing regulations designed to
fulfill [the Act’s] mandate.” On the contrary, the FAA
promulgated SFAR 50-2 in June 1988, less than a year
after Congress passed the Overflights Act. See 53 Fed.
Reg. at 20,264. As the court of appeals explained, that

10

regulation “went part of the way toward restoration.”
Pet. App. 37a. “As Congress directed, the government
then evaluated progress under that regulation” (zbid.),
and that evaluation revealed that aircraft noise would
be greater than desired despite SFAR 50-2. In re-
sponse, the FAA proposed and promulgated the Final
Rule, and it proposed two additional actions that will
provide for further aircraft noise reduction by estab-
lishing new aircraft routes and requiring the intro-
duction of quiet aircraft technology.

Nothing in that course of action was unreasonable.
Tellingly, petitioners never challenged SFAR 50-2 as
failing to achieve the Act’s goal, never sought to compel
the NPS to issue its report evaluating the success of
that regulation, and never sought to compel the FAA to
amend SFAR 50-2 in response to the NPS Report.
Indeed, “this is the first time any party has challenged
the agency’s delay in court.” Pet. App. 37a.

c. Finally, it was reasonable for the agencies to pro-
vide for final achievement of the substantial restoration
of the natural quiet in ten years from the promulgation
of the Final Rule. As the court of appeals explained,
the issues involved are complex, and achieving the
statutory goal will require a multitude of agency
actions. Pet. App. 38a. Deciding upon new air-tour
routes, for example, requires the FAA to take into
account air safety concerns, as well as the interests of
persons such as members of the Hualapai Tribe who
live near the Park and may be affected if overflights are
rerouted to areas outside its boundaries. [bid. The
process of establishing the flight-free zones must also
take into account the adverse consequences that would
ensue if they “do no more than shift the flights and
their noise from the Park to the Hualapai Reservation.”
Id. at 35a. Moreover, the quiet aircraft technology rule-

ee

11

making also requires a careful balancing of the desire
for reduced aircraft noise with aircraft safety and other
concerns.

While the additional actions are being completed, the
Final Rule will provide a significant reduction in noise
levels. Because of the curfew, there are no air-tour
flights over the Park during evening, night-time, and
early morning hours. Pet. App. 8a. During the day, as
well, natural quiet has been restored in much of the
Park. The FAA concluced that the Final Rule will
substantially restore natural quiet in 41.7% of the Park
in 1997, even after considering the FAA’s revised esti-
mate of the number of aircraft operating in the Park.
Id. at 1la. The area of the Park in which natural quiet
has been substantially restored is expected to decrease
to 34.2% in 2008, if aircraft operations continue to
increase as expected. However, the reduced effec-
tiveness of the Final Rule over time will be offset by
the benefits from the quiet aircraft technology regula-
tions and the new air-tour route structure. Jbid.

Given the ongoing agency process, congressional
oversight of that process, the complexity of the regula-
tory issues, and the need to examine the safety impacts
of any regulation of aircraft while in the air, the court of
appeals correctly rejected petitioners’ claim of agency
action unlawfully withheld or unreasonably delayed.

2. Petitioners quote (Pet. 12-13) the Tenth Circuit’s
decision in Forest Guardians v. Babbitt, 164 F.3d 1261
(1998), amended on denial of reh’g, No. 97-2370, 1999
WL 236274 (Apr. 22, 1999), for the proposition that,
because 5 U.S.C. 706(1) uses the word “shall,” “Con-
gress has stated unequivocally that courts must compel
agency action unlawfully withheld or unreasonably
delayed.” 164 F.3d at 1268-1269. Forest Guardians,
however, involved a situation quite different from the

12

one here. In that case, the Secretary of the Interior
listed a species of fish as endangered under the Endan-
gered Species Act of 1973, 16 U.S.C. 1531 et seq., but
failed to meet the statutory deadline for designating
critical habitat for the species because Congress had
imposed a moratorium on such designations and then
greatly limited the availability of appropriated funds to
the Fish and Wildlife Service for determining which
species should be listed and what their critical habitats
should be. 164 F.3d at 1268. Despite those appropria-
tions restrictions, a panel of the Tenth Circuit con-
cluded that Section 706(1) required the district court
to issue an order directing the Secretary to comply with
what the panel deemed to be an abiding nondiscretion-
ary statutory duty. 164 F.3d at 1270.

Here, in contrast, the court of appeals correctly con-
cluded that the Overflights Act sets no express dead-
line for the substantial restoration of the natural quiet
and that the timetable contemplated by the FAA is not
unreasonable. Because the court found that the FAA
did not violate the Overflights Act, it did not address
the issue in Forest Guardians—whether Section 706(1)
requires a court to issue an injunction compelling com-
pliance when an agency has been found to have violated
a nondiscretionary statutory duty. Indeed, in Forest
Guardians, the court recognized that, when an Act of
Congress contains no precise deadline but instead re-
quires an agency to act within an expeditious, prompt,
or reasonable time, Section 706 “leaves in the courts
the discretion to decide whether agency delay is
unreasonable.” 164 F.3d at 1272. The court of appeals
properly exercised that discretion in this case when it
concluded that the FAA has not unreasonably delayed
agency action here.

13

Petitioners also claim (Pet. 15) that the courts of
appeals have not permitted delays in agency action of
the length that the court of appeais allowed here. Of
course, deciding a claim of unreasonable delay requires
detailed consideration of the circumstances of the rule-
making at issue, not just a comparison of the alleged
delay with time periods that have been Fuca g or
disapproved in other cases. See Telecommunications
Research & Action Ctr. v. FCC, 750 F.2d 70, 80 (D.C.
Cir. 1984) (TRAC) (listing: factors to consider in decid-
ing unreasonable delay claim). But petitioners’ argu-
ment suffers from an even more fundamental flaw: it
rests upon an inapt comparison between this case, in
which petitioners’ fundamental complaint is that an
agency has taken action but that action allegedly does
not fully achieve the statutory goal with sufficient
speed, with cases in which the gravamen of the
complaint is the failure of an agency even to issue a rule
or take any other action. E.g., Washington Legal
Found. v. Alexander, 984 F.2d 483, 488 (D.C. Cir. 1993)
(alleged unreasonable delay in issuing a new policy or
regulation in final form); Community Nutrition Inst. v.
Young, 773 F.2d 1356, 1361 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (alleged
unreasonable delay in holding a hearing), cert. denied,
475 U.S. 1123 (1986); MCI Telecomms. Corp. v. FCC,
627 F.2d 322, 340 (D.C. Cir. 1980) (alleged delay in
deciding whether to accept or reject tariff revis
ions). Section 706(1) speaks only to the latter situa-
tion, by authorizing courts to compel “agency
action”—generally meaning an agency rule, order, or
license determination, see 5 U.S.C. 551(13)—that has
been unlawfully withheld or unreasonably delayed.
Section 706(1) does not speak to the content of a rule
once it is issued.

14

Here, petitioners’ claim was not that the agencies had
failed to act, see Pet. 16 (“No one accused the [FAA] of
‘doing nothing.’”), but that the Final Rule and the other
actions that the FAA proposed will not require sub-
stantial restoration of the natural quiet in the Park as
quickly as the Act allegedly demands, see ibid.; Pet.
App. 35a. But, as we have said, taking administrative
action is one thing, completely remedying the problem
at which a statute is directed quite another.

None of the court of appeals cases that petitioners
cite (Pet. 15) as inconsistent with the decision of the
court of appeals involved the construction of a statute
to determine whether an agency rule was unreasonable
in specifying the time by which the statutory objective
must be fully achieved. In any event, decisions con-
struing statutes other than the Overflights Act could,
at most, be minimally relevant to the question whether
the court of appeals correctly construed that Act in this
ease. Thus, although petitioners’ cases suggest that
relief may be appropriate under Section 706(1) if an
agency fails to promulgate any rule long after the
deadline by which Congress directed it to act has
passed, those cases do not establish any time period by
which agencies must ensure that all the substantive
goals of the statutes they enforce have been attained.
Determining when a statutory objective must be ac-
complished requires consideration of the terms of the
specific statute at issue, not Section 706(1). Here, the
court of appeals correctly concluded that the FAA’s
timetable for achieving substantial restoration of the
natural quiet in the Park, as required by the Over-
flights Act, was reasonable under that Act.

3. Finally, petitioners’ contention (Pet. 19-20) that
the legal question decided by the court of appeals is of
national importance is unpersuasive. Petitioners first

15

argue that the case has special importance because it
comes from the court of appeals for the District of
Columbia Circuit. Petitioners contend (Pet. 19) that
other courts, which look to the D.C. Circuit for guidance
on questions of administrative law, will be led astray by
the decision, which petitioners assert is an “unpre-
cedented departure from |the] APA[‘s] mandate” that a
court compel agency action unreasonably delayed (Pet.
16) and from past D.C. Circuit precedent (Pet. 13-14).
As we have explained albove, however, the court of
appeals did not hold that it has discretion to decline to
compel agency action unreasonably delayed; rather it
held that the FAA and Department of the Interior have
not delayed unreasonably. See pp. 11-12, supra. That
holding did not depart from past precedent but applied
the precedent that petitioners accuse the court of
ignoring. Compare Pet. App. 36a n.21 (citing TRAC,
750 F.2d at 80) with Pet. 13-14 (citing same). Thus,
there is no danger that other courts of appeals will be
led astray by the decision.*

Petitioners finally argue (Pet. 19-20) that the case
warrants this Court’s review because it involves air-

4 The court of appeals’ decision to “t{ake] the government at
its word” (Pet. 12, 17, 19) that it will proceed expeditiously with
the two proposed rulemakings is also fully consistent with pre-
cedent. See Action on Smoking & Health v. Department of Labor,
100 F.3d 991, 994-995 (D.C. Cir. 1996); In re United Steelworkers of
Am., 783 F.2d 1117, 1119-1120 (D.C. Cir. 1986) (Steelworkers); Oil,
Chem. & Atomic Workers Int’l Union v. Zegeer, 768 F.2d 1480,
1488 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (Atomic Workers); TRAC, 750 F.2d at 80.
The court of appeals invited petitioners to ask the court for an
order compelling agency 2ction if the FAA takes an unreasonably
long time to complete those rulemakings. That approach, which
avoids placing the court as overseer of day-to-day agency action, is
also consistent with precedent. See Steelworkers, 783 F.2d at 1120;
Atomic Workers, 768 F.2d at 1488.

16

craft noise in the Grand Canyon National Park, “one of
our Nation’s most treasured sites.” But petitioners do
not contend that any delay in fully achieving the goal
of the Overflights Act poses a danger to the Grand
Canyon itself, and they exaggerate in claiming that the
experience of the Park is “jeopardized by the near-con-
stant noise of thousands of aircraft” (Pet. 20).° In any
event, the fact that the case involves the Grand Canyon
fails to establish that the court of appeals “has decided
an important question of federal law that has not been,
but should be, settled by this Court.” Sup. Ct. R. 10(c)
(emphasis added).

5 Petitioners’ characterization of the effect of aircraft noise in
the Park ignores several important aspects of the Final Rule.
First, because of the curfew, there are no air-tour flights over the
Park during evening, night-time, and early morning hours. Pet.
App. 8a. During the day, natural quiet has been restored in much
of the Park—for example, 41.7% in 1997. Jd. at lla. Although
short of the Act’s ultimate goal, that is a significant improvement
over conditions in 1994, when only 34% of the Park experienced
natural quiet. Jd. at 6a. Moreover, the fact that an area of the
Park does not yet meet the natural quiet standard hardly means
that visitors in that area are likely to be disturbed by noise from
aircraft. The natural quiet standard is very demanding: an aircraft
is considered audible if it causes a three decibel increase in the
ambient noise level, the smallest change perceptible to the human
ear. Ibid. The fact that natural quiet has not been restored in an
area means that the area is expected to experience audible aircraft
noise for more than 25% of the daylight hours, not that such noise
is likely to disturb visitors’ experience of the Park. According to
data summarized in the NPS Report, only about 5% of Park
visitors reported being annoyed by aircraft noise, id. at 15a, and
those data were collected before the reduction in noise effected by
the Final Rule.

17

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General

LOIS J. SCHIFFER
Assistant Attorney General

RONALD M. SPRITZER
Attorney

MAY 1999

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1374%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
