# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — King v. Herbert J. Thomas Memorial Hospital Ass'n

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1352%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 1098

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
FIL ED

No. 28139 4 Jun og 199

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

January Term, 1999

KERMIE M. KING,

Petitioner.

Bi Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
itt United States Court of Appeals

} For the Fourth Circuit

i PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

HERBERT J. THOMAS MEMORIAL
HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION,

Respondent.

DAVID S. SKEEN

Counsel of Record

144 7th Avenue

Post Office Box 8520

South Charleston, WY 25303
(304) 744-8125

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

A. As a matter of law is an employee judicially estopped
from pursuing a claim of age discrimination in employment
by virtue of having received Social Security Disability
Benefits sometime after having been discharged from

employment?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW PONDER, Pn) Saw | >
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES _ _ (i) (iv)

foe J Se Sa ate ea RR MEE:
PR oe ane ae
co kat O'S: 0 ESC i eee a Aa ger Same -
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ____ Exes DREW ANe
REASON FOR GRANTING WRIT ____ aS A REO ee.
I, Redress of a claim of age discrimination

committed against an employee of advanced

age Cannot be subject to a per se bar based on

the doctrine of judicial estoppel by virtue of

soley an award of Social Security Disability

Benefits.
88 RASS ATS A rc ea ie ae |

(11)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

A.F.D. Falck, S.P.A. v. L.A. Karay Co. -------- 26
131 F.R.D. 46 (S.D.N.Y., 1990)

August v. Offices Unlimited, Inc., - ---------- 21
981 F. 2d 576 (1st Cir. 1992)

Bates v. Long Island R.R., 997 F. 2d 1028 - - - - - - 27, 28
(2d Cir.) cert. denied, 510 U.S. 992 (1993)

Chrysler Credit Corp. v. Country Chrysler, Inc., - - - 26
936 F. 2d 1509, 1520 n. 10 (10th Cir. 1991)

D'Aprile v. Fleet Services Corp., - ----------- 26
92 F. 3d 1 (1996)

Dockery v. North Shore Medical Ctr., - ------- - 26
900 F. Supp. 1550, 1557-59 (S.D. Fla. 1995)

Kennedy v. Applause, Inc., 90 F. 3d 1477 ----- -- 22
(9th Cir. 1996)

SCN Y URUI, o oka 5 ko os ow oo oe 26
527 F. Supp. 570, 574 (S.D.Wis. 1993)

Lowery v. Stovall, 1996 WL 439236 --------- 18, 19
(4th Cir. Aug. 6, 1996)

McNemar v. The Disney Store, Inc.,---------- 18, 21
91 F. 3d 610 (3rd Cir., 1996)

Mishkin v. Peat, Marwick, Mitchell & Co.. - - - - - - 27

No 80 Civ. 4301, 1988 WL 391648,
#1 (S.D.N.Y., Nov. 7, 1988) (quoting
18 C. Wright, A. Miller, & E. Cooper,
Federal Practice and Procedures §4477
at 783 (1981))

Mohamed v. Marriott International, Inc., - - - - - - - 24,27
94 Civ. 2336 (S. D. NY, 1996)

Overton v. Reilly, 977 F.2d 1190 (1992) ---- - - - 26

Robinson v. Neodata Services, Inc., --------- - 26

94 F. 3d 499 (1996)

(111)

Smith v. Dovenmuehle Mortgage, Inc., - - - - - - - - 26
850 F. Supp. 1138, 1141-43
(N.D. Ill. 1994)

Wells v. North Carolina Board of ----------- 15
Alcoholic Control, 714 F. 2d 340
(4th Cir., 1983), cert. denied,
464 U.S. 1044 (1984)

iapes vo. S969 F. 26 308. 986 6 oe os 12
(9th Cir. 1993) [quoting Morris
v. California, 966 F. 2d 448,
452-53 (9th Cir. 1991)]

Statutes and Rules

Me A ee ee BIA oo 5 2 sn on es Sine ena cen a 2
28 U. S.C. $1254 --.--- 22-2 0s eee eee. 2
Pe Oh sin hos Soe 5
Be lr ae EEE) 1 8 8's ob oe eae wenn 2
42.U.3S. C. $323(G 2A) - - - +--+ eee eee 27
WEA OS os pd eee eee cess: 2
W.V8. Code §5-11+1 = + owen as ewes cece 2

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
January Term, 1999

No.

KERMIE M. KING,
Petitioner,
v.
HERBERT J. THOMAS MEMORIAL
HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION,
Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
For the Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision entered by the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit dated October 30, 1998,
affirming the Summary Judgment granted the Respondent by
the United States District Court for the Southern District of
West Virginia, which Order is appended as Appendix 1.

JURISDICTION

The United States District Court for the Southern
District of West Virginia held that the Court had subject
matter jurisdiction over the plaintiff’s action pursuant to 28
U.S.C. $1441 and 29 U.S.C. §1144(a). The action was
brought under the provisions of the West Virginia Human
Rights Act and alleged damages, including a loss of employee
benefits, consequent to the acts of discrimination committed
against plaintiff. The plaintiff is a resident of the State of
West Virginia. The defendant is a domestic not-for-profit
corporation which has its principal offices and hospital
facility located and situate in the State of West Virginia.

The District Court’s decision granting the defendant
hospital summary judgment was before the Fourth Circuit
Court of Appeals for review pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1291, as
amended. It is from this decision of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit that Petitioner now appeals
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

LAW_INVOLVED

The law involved in this matter is predicated upon
employment discrimination in violation of Title VII of the
Civil Rights Act of 1964 and a denial of her rights in
contravention of 42 U.S.C. $1983 and the Age Discrimination
in Employment Act (ADEA).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a civil action brought pursuant to the West
Virginia Human Rights Act for acts of age discrimination
committed against Petitioner, Kermie Marie King (hereinafter
referred to as "Mrs. King"). The Petitioner was an employee
of Thomas Hospital for twenty-five (25) years until

September 9, 1987 when she was summarily terminated for

allegedly falsifying a time card on August 29, 1987.

Thomas Hospital claimed Mrs. King was seen getting
into her vehicle at 2:26 p.m. in spite of having actually
signed out on her time card as leaving work at 2:30 p.m.
The hospital contended that this infraction of falsifying a time
card demanded immediate termination of Mrs. King’s
employment pursuant to the hospital’s personnel policy at that
time.

Mrs. King contended that the hospital gave this
pretextual reason for her termination in order to rid itself of
an older employee who had begun to encounter the expected
physical problems associated with aging and who was
approaching retirement age. Mrs. King further contended that
the hospital’s policy and procedures allowed employees a
“grace period" of five to seven minutes in arrival or departure
from work and that termination was not the Only action
possible for the hospital to have taken. Mrs. King further
contended that the hsopital unlawfully discriminated against
her on the basis of her age in contravention of the West
Virginia Human Rights Act, $§5-11-1 et seq of the West
Virginia Code.

On March 9, 1995, Mrs. King filed her Original
Complaint in the Circuit Court of Kanawha County, West
Virginia. On April 5, 1995, Thomas Hospital served a Notice
of Removal based upon an assertion that the allegation of loss
of employee benefits and interference in the subject
employee’s benefits made this cause of action colorable and
thus, totally under the control and auspices of the Employee
Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA) and, therefore,

removable to a federal jurisdiction.
On August 22, 1996, the United States Court for the

Southern District of West Virginia entered a Memorandum
Order granting in part and denying in part Thomas Hospital’s
Motion For Summary Judgment. The Court denied Thomas’
motion insofar as the same pertained to Count I, age

discrimination, and denied the motion without prejudice to
allow further development of the sole issue of judicial
estoppel as a per se bar to the claim of age discrimination.
The Court granted the hospital’s motion for summary
judgment in reference to Count II, wrongful discharge, Count
III, intentional infliction of emotional distress, and Count IV,
a Claim for violation of ERISA.

On August 23, 1996, Thomas Hospital filed a second
Motion For Summary Judgment. On December 12, 1996, the
Court entered its Memorandum Order and Judgment Order
granting Thomas Hospital’s Motion for Summary Judgment
on Count I, Age Discrimination, based on the Petitioner being
judicially estopped by an application for, and an award of,
Social Security Disability Benefits.

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

Kermie Marie King was an employee at Herbert J.
Thomas Memorial Hospital for twenty-five (25) years. On
September 9, 1987, the plaintiff in this case was terminated
for alleged falsification of her time card which occurred on
August 29, 1987. The hospital asserted that two employees,
Dee Bartoe and Darlene Kestner, saw Mr. King enter her
vehicle in the parking lot at 2:26 p.m. on August 29, 1987,
after signing out on her time card as having left work at the
normal time of 2:30 p.m. This four (4) minute discrepancy
was contended by the employer to be a serious act of

4
4
—_earaaa

dishonesty and a violation of the personnel policy of the
hospital which always requires the immediate termination of
any offending employee.

The Petitioner on the other hand was unaware of such
rigid and severe enforcement of the subject hospital policy
and had on a few other occasions during her tenure with the
hospital signed out five minutes or less before her actual
quitting time without any repercussions or reprimand. Mrs.
King contended that there existed a five to seven minute
“grace period” regarding signing in or out and, further, was
aware of other employees who routinely were permitted
various degrees of latitude in signing in or out on the time
card, even beyond the few minutes difference at issue in the
instant case.

Mrs. King submitted in opposition to defendant’s
Motion For Summary Judgment evidence of the disparate
treatment of older employees in the form of an affidavit and
a sworn statement by two employees, Harry Roberts, a co-
worker, and Reba Wagner, a supervisor with thirty-five years
of service with Thomas Hospital, who attested to the
discriminatory treatment meted out to older employees who
were approaching age 55 and older.

It was discovered after filing the subject litigation that
six months prior to the incident leading to Ms. King’s
termination, the hospital, for some unknown reason, had
computed her early retirement pension rate. This calculation
of retirement benefits clearly included a comparison of the
amount of an early retirement pension in contrast to full
retirement benefits on the normal retirement date. The
calculation shows that an early retirement amount would

reduce a pension amount by more than one-half of its value.

Mrs. King did not request this computation.
Moreover, said computation was done shortly after the
director of personnel, Donna Arbogast, was made aware that
this particular employee needed an accommodation of her
work routine to allow her to sit and get off of her feet for
short periods of time rather than stand for her entire 8-hour
work shift.

Ms. Arbogast memorialized in a letter to Mrs. King’s
doctor that any such work accommodation allowing Mrs.
King to take breaks and not continually stand, was not
possible at the hospital in question. Ms. Arbogast was at the
time of Mrs. King’s termination the hospital’s personnel
director who countermanded the plaintiff's immediate
supervisors and mandated termination instead of the written
reprimand or warning as initially recommended and
undertaken by Margaret Eagloski, an eight year employee,
who was Mrs. King’s supervision. Mr. Eagloski likewise was
unaware of the mandatory termination policy despite being in
a management position as acting director of the dietary
department.

Based upon the aforementioned evidence as well as
other evidence offered by the Petitioner in support of her
allegations of age discrimination, the district court denied the
hospital’s motion for summary judgment without prejudice as
to Count I in her Complaint for Age Discrimination. The
Court proceeded on August 22, 1996, to require further
development of only the hospital’s argument that Mrs. King
was judicially estopped from pursuing this claim of age
discrimination based upon an award of Social Security
Disability Benefits fifteen (15) months after being fired,
which award was backdated to approximately the time of her

ene sialic rare oe eerie

termination from her employment. The hospital argued that
this award of disability benefits completely destroyed the
claim for age discrimination and barred it from being brought
to trial on the basis of judicial estoppel.

On December 12, 1996, the district court entered an
order ruling that Mrs. King was judicially estopped from
pursuing her claim for age discrimination and dismissed the
one remaining count in favor of the defendant hospital.

REASON FOR GRANTING WRIT
I. Redress of a claim of age discrimination

committed against an employee of advanced

age Cannot be subject to a per se bar based on

the doctrine of judicial estoppel by virtue of

soley an award of Social Security Disability

Benefits.

The District Court erroneously granted summary
judgment as a matter of law to the defendant hospital,
Thomas Memorial, by wrongly applying the doctrine of
judicial estoppel in this matter.

The Petitioner submits that the extension and
application of the legal principle of judicial estoppel, which
has been successfully utilized to bar handicapped plaintiffs
from pursuing claims for handicap discrimination based on
applications for Social Security Disability Benefits, is
inappropriate to the circumstances in this case. It is both
legally unsound and an inequitable miscarriage of justice
when applied to an older employee who was involuntarily
terminated because of age discrimination, and is unable to
secure other employment in a competitive labor market
because of multiple contributing factors, including not only

her age and physically handicapping limitations, but also an

employment record reflecting that she was terminated because
of alleged dishonesty.

The application of judicial estoppel to thwart this
older employee from proceeding to a trial on the merits of
her claim for age discrimination cannot be factually or legally
supported, primarily as the Petitioner was working without
significant complaint by this employer regarding her actual
job performance when fired by the employer/defendant.
Further, she attempted to find suitable employment for which
she was qualified for months following her termination and
only applied for benefits upon being unsuccessful in obtaining
other employment. It was Mrs. King’s intention to continue
her employment until normal retirement age even with her
physical impairments and “but for" the discriminatory acts of
the defendant would have done so.

Being “unable to work” for the purposes of eligibility
for Social Security Disability Benefits does not exclude the
reality of an individual still being able to perform the
essential functions of a particular position, both with or
without reasonable accommodation. It is legally unsound and
inequitable to apply judicial estoppel to dismiss an action for
age discrimination based on the naked award of such benefits.

The Social Security Act statutorily allows for a
combination of vocational-medical criteria to formulate the
basis for an award of disability benefits and this can not
establish prima facie evidence of an inability to perform
previous job functions, especially when a handicapped elderly
person has the desire to, and is motivated to, continue to
work.

At the time of her termination by the hospital, this
Petitioner was an older employee who was 58 years of age,

OO

and was performing her job satisfactorily for the hospital.
Mrs. King asserted that she was terminated by Thomas
Hospital for the sole reason that she was an elderly employee
who did have a handicapping condition. Mrs. King was no
longer going to be able to perform her job duties without
minor accommodations.

Mrs. King neither applied for disability retirement nor
any other disability benefits when terminated by Thomas
Hospital, nor did this hospital even consider retirement under
a disability pension pursuant to any provisions of their
employee benefits plan when terminating this employee.
Additionally, as is evidenced by the unsolicited computation
of her pension benefits, the Petitioner would have drawn a
substantially higher pension had she retired at her normal
retirement age.

Therefore, it is not in the interests of either justice or
fairness to dismiss all consideration of the material issues
between these parties pertaining to the alleged acts of age
discrimination predicated solely on an after-acquired award
for disability benefits sought months after fruitless efforts to
acquire another job, with her Social Security Disability
Insurance benefits, sometimes hereinafter referred to as
"SSDI" benefits, being granted over 15 months after the
complained of actions by this hospital against this employee.

On August 23, 1996, Thomas Hospital again renewed
a motion for summary judgment based upon an argument that

judicial estoppel barred Mrs. King’s claim for age
discrimination which had already survived a previous motion
for summary judgment by the hospital based on the argument
that no material issues existed between the parties.

Thomas Hospital’s pleading to judicially estop this
cause of action was based solely upon an award of Social
Security Disability Benefits which was granted more than a
year and three months after the hospital terminated Mrs.
King’s employment.

During the 15 months between being fired and being
awarded her SSDI benefits, there was clear evidence
submitted to the Court of Mrs. King’s attempts to secure
reemployment. There was further evidence submitted
showing that during said 15 month period the Petitioner had
been awarded unemployment benefits by the State of West
Virginia based upon her being both willing and able to work
and during which she was actively seeking reemployment.
Unemployment benefits cannot be awarded in West Virginia
to any individual who will not agree to seek reemployment or
accept employment if offered. This evidence was not
rebutted by Thomas Hospital.

This is a case of age discrimination which must not be
obscured and confused by any defense argument which cites
precedent which focuses on claims of disability discrimination
and the ADA and which entails very defined, but significantly
different legal issues. To involuntarily terminate an older
employee because she is of an advanced age is unlawful, and
cannot be diminished or legally justified by an after-the-fact
award of any disability benefits, particularly awarded more
than a full year after such illegal conduct occurred, which
conduct rendered the employee unemployed and quite
possibly unemployable by virtue of the nature of the
termination.

No equitable application of judicial estoppel would
factually support such a ruling in a case as is presently before

10

einai ial

this Court. Mrs. King’s age combined with a physical
impairment, together with an employment record that showed
that she was terminated involuntarily due to her alleged
dishonesty with her previous employer, significantly
interfered with successful reemployment, which in no way is
dispositive of her ability or inability to maintain and perform
her past employment.

The seeking of employment at an advanced age for
almost a full year after being fired makes the issues at hand
completely separate and totally unlike any ADA claims as
based upon a defendant’s failure to accommodate a handicap
which directly leads to a cessation of a plaintiff's
employment. Allegations that an employer did not
accommodate a handicap, thus leading to discharge, are not
the issues upon which this case was built. This case is about
wrongfully discharging an employee on a Clearly pretextual
reason to rid the defendant hospital at a bargain basement
monetary rate of the liabilities and economic responsibilities
owed to an older employee approaching full retirement, an act
which saved this hospital a significant amount of money
because of the dramatically reduced pension Mrs. King
receives, as well as the loss of the other benefits to which she
would have been entitled had she worked until her normal
retirement age.

The failure of this hospital to allow this older
employee to occasionally sit down on regularly scheduled
breaks, instead of standing throughout the full eight hours of
her work day, was evidence of the Respondent’s clear
intentions to create an intolerable work environment for this
loyal and long time employee who was known by the
Respondent to be experiencing the effects of arthritic legs and

11

feet. It was always an issue of age discrimination and
intentional harassment to hasten this employee to end her
employment before the normal retirement date.

The purpose of the doctrine of judicial estoppel is to
protect the integrity of the judicial process. Accordingly, the
doctrine of judicial estoppel is an equitable doctrine invoked
by a court at its discretion. Yanez v. U. S., 989 F. 2d 323,
326 (9th Cir. 1993) [quoting Morris v. California, 966 F. 2d
448, 452-53 (9th Cir. 1991)]. Its purpose is clearly not the
expeditious demise of meritorious age discrimination claims

by virtue of a naked defense such as the plaintiff simply
having received some type of disability benefits after the fact
must stand as a per se bar to her claim of unlawful
discrimination.

Kermie Marie King did not resign her job nor did she
seek disability benefits until long after she found herself
unemployable and without any reasonable means to secure
new employment after being fired from her job by this
Respondent. This does not, by any reasonable application of
judicial estoppel, prove a prima facie case that Mrs. King was
unwilling or unable to continue with her former employment
at Thomas Hospital at the time of her discharge over a year
earlier, nor that she was unable to perform the essential
functions of that job, it only shows that there came a point
after Mrs. King was fired that she elected to apply for
disability after unsuccessful efforts to acquire another job.

At no time did Petitioner apply for disability benefits
through the Respondent, nor seek any other disability benefits
after she was discharged. Mrs. King was terminated for
alleged fraudulent conduct, conduct which Mrs. King
contends had been tolerated and, in fact, openly permitted

1?

—

other younger employees. The facts surrounding this
discharge were not remotely dependent on issues of any
inability to perform the job at issue or an unwillingness to
continue working because of any physical problem or
condition. In fact, Mrs. King had a friend call the personnel
office the day after being fired to see when she could return
to work. She did not even understand the serious action
taken against her.

The Respondent has misused, abused, and widened the
recent defenses utilized in ADA cases and other handicap
discrimination cases to encompass and thwart this cause of
action pertaining to age discrimination. Petitioner in this
matter was not terminated by the employer because she was
not satisfactorily performing her job at Thomas Hospital.
Both of Mrs. King’s supervisors, Donna Arbogast and
Darlene Kestner, testified in their respective depositions that
Mrs. King was a valued employee with no significant
problems regarding her job performance. Petitioner in this
action has brought suit against her former employer for
terminating her upon a bogus, pretextual reason to rid itself
of an older employee. This termination occurred at a time
when reemployment would have been difficult even without
the added obstacle of being fired for "gross misconduct"
involving her honesty.

In this matter Mrs. King neither quit her job nor
voluntarily thrust herself back into the competitive labor
market in the face of her advanced age, limited education,
narrow manual labor skills, and arthritis, all to her undeniable
disadvantage and detriment in possibly being able to secure
another job. The Respondent unlawfully forced that upon

her.

Now, this employer has secured legal absolution of its
acts by argument that when Mrs. King was faced with months
of unemployability for approximately a year after being fired,
the Petitioner’s right to any relief for the wrongs done to her
by the employer were totally lost upon her mere application
for, and subsequent award of, Social Security Disability
Benefits. This application for benefits followed almost a year
of Mrs. King unsuccessfully seeking reemployment. This
unemployability was the direct result of the very
circumstances set into motion by this hospital and the claim
for benefits was decided upon grounds that do not prove that
Mrs. King could not perform her job at Thomas Hospital or
even stated that she was unable to perform that job.

"But for" the discrimination committed against this
older employee, Mrs. King would not have needed the
employment which she sought, but was unable to secure. The
Respondent offered absolutely no evidence to contradict this
fact. Whatever may have occurred for over a year following
termination cannot legally excuse this employer’s wrongful
and unlawful act in September, 1987, nor should it now
fortuitously be utilized to form a legal foundation upon which
to build a successful defense related to judicial estoppel to
defeat a meritorious claim of age discrimination.

In this instance, not only the Petitioner’s physical
condition was considered to determine her eligibility for SSDI
benefits, but also her education, lack of other marketable
skills and, most importantly, her age, al! were utilized to
establish the statutory basis for an award of disability as
defined by the Social Security Act. This fact can not cancel
out the hospital’s discriminatory actions nor stand as any
proof that this Petitioner has sworn to inconsistent positions

14

ear ct a cece omaad

es

to gain some unfair advantage. The Petitioner’s
circumstances stand as evidence of the egregious harm done
to her by virtue of an unlawful termination of her
employment, which employment she was successfully
maintaining despite all of the aforementioned conditions.

In Wells _v. North Carolina Board of Alcoholic
Control, 714 F. 2d 340 (4th Cir., 1983), cert. denied, 464
U.S. 1044 (1984), the Appellate Court held that it would not
limit the award of damages to a plaintiff who subsequently

suffered a back injury, sought light duty from an employer,
was refused, and quit. The Court held that "but for” the
employer’s discriminatory behavior the plaintiff would not
have quit his employment and suffered monetary damages.
“But for" the discriminatory acts of this Respondent, in
unlawfully terminating Mrs. King’s employment, Petitioner
would not have been out seeking employment that she could
not find.

The employer sought legal vindication for its wrongful
conduct of illegally discriminating against an older employee,
resulting in her inability to continue to support herself. It
sought this legal absolution through fortuitous judicial
estoppel argument borne of Petitioner’s after-acquired award
of SSDI benefits to ameliorate the very damages arising out
of and directly resulting from the Respondent’s own actions
the year before. The very nature of this termination on
grounds of gross dishonesty constituted a serious barrier to
any individual’s securing other employment, placing a serious
indelible black mark upon her which would be hard to
Overcome for even a younger and more desirable prospective
employee.

An application for disability benefits in this case in no

way proves that this plaintiff stated she could not perform
any work in September, 1987, nor was there any underlying
cause for this termination in September, 1987, based upon
any allegations of deficient work performance or inability to
perform in Thomas’ dietary department. In fact, for almost a
full year, Mrs. King actively sought reemployment, received
unemployment benefits based upon her capability and
availability for work, and never by word, deed or action
indicated that she could not work. Whatever statements were
made by Mrs. King after a year of unemployment and
inability to secure a new job can not contradict, diminish, or
legally excuse this employer for unlawfully discharging Mrs.
King the year before and causing the very harm inflicted
upon her by the repeatedly documented false allegations that
she was dishonest and had been fired for "gross misconduct"
which ultimately contributed to the need to apply for
disability benefits.

This is neither similar to any precedent as was
previously cited by Thomas Hospital in its memorandum in
support of summary judgment, nor is it equitable in the eyes
of any fair interpretation of the anti-discrimination laws. The
circumstances in this case are far removed from the defenses
being utilized by defendants to defeat ADA causes of action
wherein a plaintiff seeks damages for loss of a particular job
that he could not, or chose not to, perform at the very time of
the termination of that job. Mrs. King had no such option of
working or not working and, in truth and fact, was
performing her job satisfactorily when fired based upon a
pretext of gross misconduct.

The fact that Mrs. King could not overcome the
adverse circumstances created by being discharged for

16

dishonesty, her advanced age, limited work experience,
limited job skills, and physical problems after a year of
seeking employment, should not be permitted to be the legal
foundation for dismissal of this action on behalf of the
hospital who caused such hardship and losses which
ultimately forced Mrs. King to apply for benefits. Such a
ruling, wherein age is a central material issue and also a
determining factor in possible eligibility for benefits,
eviscerates the legal core of the majority of age
discrimination actions and reduces them to a point of being
ineffectual and legally meaningless.

Employers could simply illegally terminate older
employees and then await the economic realities and hardship
of being fired at a time close to retirement, which are
inevitably created by forcing the older employee back into the
labor market at such time, to require that employee to apply
for particular benefits, such as employer sponsored disability
benefits or SSDI benefits. In essence, the very damages
created by the employer’s wrongful acts and the hardship
they create would serve to free the employer from any
liability for such unlawfully conduct. The cost and penalties
for employment discrimination against the older employee
would simply be passed along to some other source besides
the employer at fault by simply waiting for the possible
application for certain benefits and related financial relief.

In the majority of the precedents wherein a defendant
has invoked judicial estoppel to bar actions for handicap
discrimination, the plaintiffs at issue, either before or
immediately upon cessation of their job, sought total and
permanent disability benefits of one kind or another. These
plaintiffs, each and every one, either by action, application,

17

Or sworn statement clearly avowed the inability to perform
any work at the very same time that they were litigating the
employer’s failure to accommodate their handicaps so that
they could presumably work. Many courts have invoked
judicial estoppel to bar such causes of actions brought under
ADA because of what these courts deem to be these
inconsistent positions as taken by plaintiffs.

Regardless of the validity of such argument or the
equity in such court rulings, it is absolute that each case must
be carefully decided upon a thorough review of the particular
circumstances and facts intrinsic to each specific case.
“Application of the doctrine of judicial estoppel always is
factually driven." McNemar v. The Disney Store, Inc., 91 F.
3d 610 (3rd Cir., 1996).

It is, therefore, incumbent in adjudicating any matter

potentially invoking judicial estoppel to bar a cause of action
to carefully examine very closely every relevant fact and
circumstance surrounding and underlying the subject action
to determine if, in fact, an inconsistent position has been
taken by the plaintiff to deliberately thwart the purposes of
justice and equity in that particular matter. It has been
consistently followed by each court that careful consideration
be given each individual case.

As cited in Lowery v. Stovall, 1996 WL 439236 (4th
Cir. Aug. 6, 1996), "[J]udicial estoppel is properly defined as

a bar against the alteration of a factual assertion that is
inconsistent with a position swom to and benefitted from in
an earlier proceeding.” Mark J. Plumer, Note, Judicial
Estoppel: The Refurbishing of a Judicial Shield, 55 Geo.
Wash. L. Rev. 409, 435 (1987).

In Lowery certain necessary elements that must be

18

3

met before applying judicial estoppel were set forth by the
Appellate Court. These elements are as follows:

1) The party sought to be estopped must be
seeking to adopt a position that is inconsistent with a stance
regarding a factual matter taken in a previous litigation.

2) The prior inconsistent position must have been
relied upon and accepted by the court.

3) Finally, the party sought to be estopped must
have intentionally misled the court to gain unfair advantage.
This precludes the application of judicial estoppel in any
matter where it is determined by the Court that a party’s prior
position was based on mere inadvertence or mistake.
Petitioner submits that there is no evidence supportive
of any inconsistent stance taken by her in this matter
remotely justifying a bar to her cause of action for age
discrimination, nor can any deliberate intent to mislead or
gain unfair advantage be attached to this plaintiff as
contemplated by Lowery, supra. Petitioner’s award of Social
Security Disability Benefits fifteen (15) months after being
fired is evidence of the Petitioner’s year of unemployability
due to her age, limited work skills, education, and
| incapability due to arthritic feet and legs, and an employment
| record that reflects that she was terminated for gross
| misconduct involving her being dishonest. The application
for disability benefits occurred many months after being fired
and seeking reemployment. It is evidence of the harm done
the plaintiff, and does not stand as any inconsistency in the
positions she has taken in any forum.

Mrs. King, actively sought employment and was
herself both clearly willing and available for work by virtue
of the acceptance and receipt of unemployment benefits. By

19

neither her actions nor her statements at the time of
discharge, or for any substantial time thereafter, did she ever
take the position that she could not perform the essential
functions of her job. Almost a year following discharge by
this hospital, and finding herself still without employment and
income at that late date, Mrs. King did seek disability
benefits upon advice of her sister. Petitioner testified to this
in her deposition of April 24, 1996.

Moreover and legally most importantly, this after-
acquired benefit is not awarded on disability alone, but is
statutorily determined on physical impairment in light of such
vocational/medical criteria as age, work skills, and reasonable
employability in the local competitive labor market. It would
be impossible to sever the affect of an individual’s age upon
compensability under Social Security, particularly ir this case,
and to deny that age adversely diminished the ability to
acquire and sustain gainful work activity as defined by Social
Security.

The Social Security Act has long recognized this basic
reality which the district court dismissed and overlooked in
this matter to grant its dismissal of this action. The
Petitioner’s arthritic limbs did not, in and of themselves,
determine this award of SSDI benefits, but rather the totality
of the vocational/medical criteria determined the award. This
in no way relegates the likelihood of her continued successful
employment at her previous job inconsistent to Mrs. King’s
position in obtaining SSDI benefits over a year later.

The Respondent presented not one scintilla of
evidence to show that Mrs. King was not satisfactorily
performing her job at Thomas Hospital at the time the
defendant fired her. Upon the record, it is abundantly clear

20

8 ag

a ae

eee La FR PE Ne rea * FF

from Respondent’s own disclosures that Mrs. King was
receiving satisfactory evaluations all the way up to and
including the time of her termination.

Mrs. King certainly never uttered one statement upon
discharge that she could not work. In fact, upon being

terminated as previously cited, she requested a friend call the

personnel office to see when she might return to work, not
comprehending that she had been fired. This has been placed
in evidence by virtue of the testimony of plaintiff’s friend at
the Unemployment Hearing.

In McNemar_v. Disney Stores, supra, plaintiff
McNemar, immediately upon his dismissal, applied for and
received New Jersey state disability benefits, Social Security

disability benefits, and an exemption from repayment of a
student loan because of a stated inability to maintain gainful
employment. More importantly, plaintiff McNemar and his
doctors, under penalty of perjury, swore that McNemar had
been totally and permanently disabled for at least five weeks
before he was discharged by Disney.

This case was a cause of action brought under ADA
by a young man who alleged, under oath, he was totally
unable to work even before he was discharged. This case is
as dissimilar from the instant matter as legally and factually
possible and in no way parallels the case at hand.

In August v. Offices Unlimited, Inc., 981 F. 2d 576
(Ist Cir. 1992), the plaintiff was a salesman who suffered
from severe clinical depression. As a result of his severe

depression, he asked for and received a six week leave of
absence from his job. August requested and received another
two weeks sick leave to more fully recuperate.

After eight weeks of paid sick leave, August requested

21

to return to work on only a parttime basis. His employer
refused this request and suggested he apply for company
disability benefits if he could not return to work full-time.
The plaintiff August before his scheduled return to work did
apply for a claim under the company’s disability plan. He
asserted in the application for this benefit that he was totally
and continuously disabled at the precise same time he was
presumably seeking to return to work. By his own admission
before even attempting a return to work, August asserted he
could not maintain any employment. In August, the court
held "the record [was] fatally bereft of indication that August
possessed the ability to perform his job." Id. at 581.

This is completely dissimilar to the instant action
wherein plaintiff King sought employment, was willing and
able to work after discharge, and only received “after
acquired” benefits following an inability to acquire
employment, which "but for" the actions of the defendant at
hand would not have been necessary.

In Kennedy v. Applause, Inc., 90 F. 3d 1477 (9th Cir.
1996), plaintiff was diagnosed as suffering from chronic

fatigue syndrome. While on medical leave for this disabling
condition, Kennedy and her physician submitted evidence to
support that she was unconditionally unable to perform any
work whatsoever in order to obtain for Kennedy state
disability benefits and Social Security benefits.

Kennedy and her doctor offered sworn statements that
she was totally unable to perform any work before she was
even discharged from her employment. With both Kennedy
and her physician attesting to Kennedy’s complete inability
to perform any job before she was even fired, the Court
found her later statements in her civil suit that she was fully

99

ee

capable of performing her former job inconsistent and
irreconcilable with the facts surrounding her application for
disability benefits while still employed.

The employer in the instant case cannot in any fair or
reasonable manner present even a scintilla of evidence which
Supports Mrs. King was not satisfactorily performing her job
and arriving faithfully each day at work at the precise time
she was terminated. Thomas Hospital neither offered
disability benefits nor was asked by Mrs. King to provide
disability benefits at the time of discharge. More to the
point, Respondent cannot rationally ask any Court to simply
ignore and disregard the months that Mrs. King sought
employment in the local labor market before applying for
disability benefits, which unemployment was rooted in being
fired by this employer at an advanced age with known
physical limitations.

“But for" the employer’s unlawful actions, Kermie
Marie King could have continued in her employment with the
hospital for a number of years, possibly even until full
retirement age. Given the circumstances and issues material
to this discharge, the SSDI benefits awarded a year or more
after the employer’s wrongful conduct cannot stand as
remotely having reasonable affect or bearing upon the facts
of this case to unfairly alter or color this claim of
discriminatory acts.

Thomas Hospital not only fired this employee
illegally, but clearly at a time in her life when reemployment
would be difficult even under the best of circumstances. The
award of disability benefits fifteen months after the firing of
this woman and based upon the permissible vocational-

medical criteria contained in the Social Security Act, can not

equitably dispense with the illegal actions committed by this
blameworthy employer nor stand as inconsistent with any
assertion made by Mrs. King.

At the time of her termination, Mrs. King was
approaching sixty years of age, had limited work skills, was
absolutely functioning in full-time employment despite
arthritic legs, but after being fired, was inextricably marked
by the employer with a work history marred by accusations
of gross dishonesty and misconduct. This certainly did not
insure reemployment. Thomas Hospital argued this
undeniable harm and damage which is totally its sole
responsibility, both legally and morally, be simply washed
clean and disposed of because the Social Security Act
recognized all of these vocational-medical conditions as
disabling to a sixty year old employee who following
discharge could not acquire substantial gainful work activity
in her local community.

The Social Security benefits applied for and awarded
to Mrs. King were earned solely by her. The benefits were
after acquired benefits arising from and made necessary by
the tortious acts of the employer the year before in firing an
almost sixty year old woman with no skills and having
physical limitations related to aging. Petitioner submits that
Thomas Hospital should not now be rewarded for its actions
by virtue of the very fruits of the harm and damage it caused.

In Mohamed _v. Marriott International, Inc., 94 Civ.

2336 (S. D. NY, 1996), a very thorough and relevant opinion

was issued discussing the issues and clear distinctions
between the ADA standards and Social Security standards for
determining disability. This has significance in consideration
of the instant matter. In Mohamed, the Court emphasized

24

5
q
a
:

that "disability" for the purposes of receiving Social Security
benefits are based on different legal standards, different
forums and levels of formality, different goals, and very
different definitions of “disability”. It was clear from such
discussions by this Court that "unable to work" has very
broad and far-reaching meanings pursuant to Social Security
guidelines and purposes, even to the extent of holding an
individual unable to work for purposes of providing benefits
while the individual is actually working. For this reason, the
Court held that statements on an application for benefits
would not bar an ADA claim or be dispositive of the material
issues intrinsic to claims of discrimination by an employer.

Instead, that Court clearly held that "[I]t would be
inappropriate to invoke the . . . doctrine of judicial estoppel
tO erect a per se bar to ADA protection for individuals who
have also applied for and/or received SSDI benefits".
Petitioner states it is no less inappropriate to erect such a per
se bar to the legul protections for older workers under ADEA
Or state anti-discrimination laws. It is factually possible for
an older employee to be able to function at a particular job
but upon termination, become unemployable and pursuant to
the definition of "disability" eligible for Social Security
disability benefits.

Additionally, EEOC has issued a Guidance as of
February 12, 1997. This Guidance has Clearly established
that a plaintiff can proceed with a cause of action under ADA
even though he or she has applied for disability benefits,
including Social Security Disability Benefits. EEOC states
that an employee can be both "qualified" under ADA and
“totally disabled" for purposes of Social Security, workers’
compensation or disability insurance because of the clearly

25

varying definitions utilized by each. Further, the EEOC holds
that, in general, the effect of any disability application is a
factual issue requiring consideration by a jury and rendering
summary judgment inappropriate.

Courts have rejected judicial estoppel as a bar to
causes of action for handicap discrimination under either
ADA or the Rehabilitation Act when the plaintiff has sought
disability benefits. Overton v. Reilly, 977 F.2d 1190 (7th
Cir., 1992); Kupferschmidt v. Runyon, 527 F. Supp. 570, 574
(S.D. Wis. 1993); Smith v. Dovenmuehle Mortgage. Inc., 850
F. Supp. 1138, 1141-43 (N.D. Ill. 1994); Robinson _v.
Neodata Services, Inc., 94 F. 3d 499 (8th Cir., 1996); and,
D'Aprile v. Fleet Services Corp., 92 F. 3d 1 (1st Cir., 1996).
In D’Aprile, the court held as follows, "{S]ince D’ Aprile

never claimed to have been totally disabled during the time
she requested her accommodation, and demonstrated her
ability to work with the accommodation she requested” her
claims are totally consistent and cannot be barred by
application of judicial estoppel.

Judicial estoppel has only been applied with extreme
caution by courts and has been openly criticized by some.
See e.g., Chrysler Credit Corp. v. Country Chrysler. Inc., 936
F. 2d 1509, 1520 n. 10 (10th Cir. 1991); A.F.D. Falck, $.P.A.
v. E.A. Karay Co., 131 F.R.D. 46 (S.D.N.Y., 1990); and
Dockery _v. North Shore Medical Ctr., 900 F. Supp. 1550,
1557-59 (S.D. Fla. 1995).

[It has further been clearly held by courts that there

may exist legitimate reasons for a plaintiff to take what may
appear to be inconsistent positions in different proceedings
that certainly do not prove the intent of that plaintiff to play
fast and loose with either proceeding.

26

“As with other principles of fairness, care must be
taken that this approach not lead to undue moralizing that
may Overlook reasonable grounds for Changing positions on
the basis of new information. Mishkin vy. Peat, Marwick.
Mitchell & Co., No 80 Civ. 4301, 1988 WL 391648, #1
(S.D.N.Y., Nov. 7, 1988) (quoting 18 C. Wright, A. Miller,
& E. Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedures §4477 at 783
(1981)).

It is also noted that courts have taken cognizance of

the potential conflict existing between the underlying
principle of judicial estoppel and the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure regarding pleading. Circumspection in the use of
judicial estoppel is warranted because of a concem for
oftending the liberal spirit of the federal pleading rules.
Mohamed, supra. Judicial estoppel is in tension with the
alternative pleading provisions of Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure, Rule 8(e)(2). Bates v. Long Island R.R., 997 F,
2d 1028 (2d Cir.) cert. denied, 510 U.S. 992 (1993),

CONCLUSION

Under the Social Security Act, an individual may be
deemed totally disabled pursuant to various criteria or such
criteria in combination with one another which does not
necessarily establish absolute prima facie evidence of an
inability to perform the essential functions of a previous job
or the intent of a plaintiff to alter facts to gain some
undeserved advantage in litigation. Under 42 U.S.C.
$423(d)(2)(A), consideration of age, education and work
experience, as well as availability of work in the national

economy or in a particular region, is equally determinant of

27

eligibility for benefits. This can not, by any legal or
equitable measure, form the foundation for a per se bar to a
claim of discrimination for any plaintiff who is required to
apply for and receives Social Security Disability Benefits,
particularly following a year of unemployability after being
wrongly discharged and by such discharge, having been
falsely branded a dishonest employee who committed an
egregious act of gross misconduct.

In this matter, the Petitioner was almost sixty years
old with limited education, no transferable work skills, and
had arthritis of the legs and feet which affected her functional
capacities to walk quickly or stand continuously. Despite
these limitations, plaintiff satisfactorily maintained her job
with Thomas Hospital. The hospital discharged her in the
face of such conditions.

It is neither inconsistent nor unreasonable for such a
plaintiff to seek disability benefits to support herself in light
of her permanent physical impairment and the continuing
inability to find gainful employment following an involuntary
discharge. This does not prove that plaintiff was unable to
perform the essential functions of her previous job,
particularly as she was satisfactorily performing her job duties
when she was fired. No issue was raised by the employer or
the employee at the time of discharge, or at any reasonable
time thereafter, that the plaintiff was not performing all of the
essential functions of her job, despite having the arthritic
condition while employed.

It was held in Bates, supra, that judicial estoppel
serves two objectives, which are as follows: (1) preserving
the sanctity of the oath by requiring consistency in sworn

positions, and (2) protecting judicial integrity by avoiding

28

inconsistent results in two proceedings.

In this matter, Mrs. King alleged her employer
discharged her on the pretextual reason of dishonest conduct
which constituted gross misconduct, when in fact, the
employer intentionally ended her employment solely because
she was advanced in age. Approximately one year after
being discharged, plaintiff remained unemployed and
consequently applied for Social Security Disability Benefits
at age sixty with diagnosed arthritis of her legs and feet. The
award of benefits was backdated to the approximate last date
on which plaintiff worked. These claims are not mutually
exclusive and do not reach any remote level of proof that
Mrs. King either falsely swore to inconsistent positions or
that she intentionally misled any Court to unjustly create an
advantage in either one of these two independent forums.

Certainly, the severely preclusive legal effect of this
doctrine demands a stronger foundation in fact and some
assurance that its application followed, and is a direct product
of, a fair judgment on the merits of the issues and some
presentation of relevant evidence, and is not merely an empty
per se bar technically invoked by a defendant to deny justice
tO a wronged plaintiff.

Kermie Marie King was tossing salads, carrying food
trays, and performing her assigned tasks in the dietary
department at Thomas Hospital on the very day she was
Openly discharged for alleged dishonest conduct and
humiliated by being led out of the hospital in which she had
faithfully worked for twenty-five years. She had bee
performing these job functions despite her arthritic legs and
feet. In fact, this hospital allowed Mrs. King to complete her
entire work shift before telling her at the very end of the

29

work day that she was fired and must clean out her locker.

Mrs. King was degraded and defamed by an allegation
by Thomas Hospital. At age sixty, she found herself
suffering from arthritis, unemployable for months following
her termination, and consequently applied for Social Security
Disability Insurance Benefits because she could not yet
qualify for Social Security Old Age benefits. In applying for
these disability benefits months after being fired, Mrs. King
could neither diminish nor enhance any of the material issues
relevant to the actions taken by her employer. The central
issues of age discrimination and wrongful discharge for a
pretextual reason were central to this case and should have
remained unaffected by an award of SSDI benefits. No fact
was altered and no truth shaded by Mrs. King’s application
for the same to survive having been fired.

Judicial integrity is not threatened by the award of the
SSDI benefits in this case but rather is more than directly
attacked by the dismissal of this action by the district court
in the face of all of the compelling evidentiary facts
necessitating that this matter be brought to trial.

Respectfully submitted by:

DAVID S. SKEEN

Counsel of Record

144 7th Avenue

Post Office Box 8520

South Charleston, WV 25303
(304) 744-8125

Dated: January 28, 1999

aera
fee yt
PSs)

SS

a Oe

Ce AAS ss RM

eres.

a eee saieeeeeeaeereemeeee neue
a ae ES ee gin SSE ER gl a ae ne Ce

AE NS

APPENDIX

OPE Re PORN Ee i a a a a a Pa Re ns egg ie eat ke Reet ee
{ah ’ — _ a os Se ny OA

PUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

qen

KERMIE M. KING,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

vi

HERBERT J. THoMAS MEMORIAL ' No. 97-1075

HospiraL, a non-profit West
Virginia corporation,
Defendant-Appellee.

J

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of West Virginia, at Charleston.
John T. Copenhaver, Jr., District Judge.
(CA-95-252-2)

Argued: March 2, 1998
Decided: October 30, 1998
Before ERVIN and NIEMEYER. Circuit Judges, and

BROADWATER, United States District Judge for the
Northern District of West Virginia, sitting by designation.

Affirmed by published opinion. Judge Niemeyer wrote the opinion,
in which Judge Ervin and Judge Broadwater joined.

COUNSEL

ARGUED: David Stephen Skeen, South Charleston, West Virginia,
for Appellant. Charles MacKinley Surber, Jr.. JACKSON & KELLY,
Charleston, West Virginia, for Appellee.

eee

2 Kinc v. Herserr J. THOMAS MEmorIAL HospPitac

OPINION

NIEMEYER, Circuit J udge:

Kermie M. King’s long-time employment as a dietary aide at the
Herbert J. Thomas Memorial Hospital in South Charleston, West Vir-
ginia, was terminated on April 9, 1987, because she falsified her time
card. Following her termination, King filed this action, claiming,
among other things, that Thomas Memorial Hospital discriminated
against her by reason of her age in violation of the West Virginia
Human Rights Act. That Act requires King to establish that at the
time of the defendant’s allegedly discriminatory action, she was "able
and competent to perform the services required" of her employment.
W. Va. Code § 5-11-9(1). -

In addition to filing this action, King applied for and was awarded
disability benefits by the Social Security Administration, retroactive

her discharge, the district court granted summary judgment for
Thomas Memorial Hospital on the grounds that King was judicially
estopped from asserting that she was "able and competent” to perform
her previous job, as required by West Virginia law.

Because we agree with the district court that King should be judi-
cially estopped from maintaining that she was "able and competent”
to perform her previous job and because, in addition, we conclude
that she has failed to present sufficient evidence to show that she
would not have been terminated "but for" her age, we affirm.

I

King’s employment as a dietary aide at Thomas Memorial Hospital
required her to assist in such food production tasks as tossing salads
and delivering food trays to patients. Before her discharge on Septem-
ber 9, 1987, she had worked in this Capacity for 25 years.

King’s employment at the hospital was regulated by published pol-
icies and an employee handbook. The six-page "Policy for Recording

KinGc v. HerBerT J. THoMAS MEMoRIAL HosprraL 3

Time Worked and Instructions for Time Card Recording" included
the following instruction, printed in all capitals and underlined:
"RECORD THE ACTUAL TIME WHEN COMMENCING WORK
AND THE ACTUAL TIME WHEN CONCLUDING WORK.
(FALSIFICATION OF TIME CARD WILL RESULT IN TERMI-
NATION)." Similarly, the employee handbook listed 30 offenses for
which disciplinary action was specified, including “falsification of
time card,” for which the specified sanction for the first offense was
discharge. King acknowledged that she had been aware of these poli-
cies before August 1987.

On August 28, 1987, King’s immediate supervisor observed King
leaving work at 2:20 p.m. and, a few minutes later, getting into her
husband’s car and exiting the hospital grounds. On her time card,
King had signed out as of 2:30 p.m. King’s supervisor and her depart-
ment head subsequently counseled King, who acknowledged leaving
early, and issued her a written warning. The warning noted that
King’s job responsibilities included "deliver{ing) all late trays up to
2:30 p.m." and that the department had "received several complaints
about late trays not being delivered at this time." The warning further
notified King that any additional occurrences would result in her sus-
pension and would require her to check in with her supervisor before
Signing out each day.

On review of this written warning, the hospital’s director of per-
sonnel questioned King about the incident. During the course of this
interview, King acknowledged that she had left early on August 28,
as well as on several other occasions. She also acknowledged that in
each case she had falsified her time card. While King admitted that
she knew of the hospital’s time card policy and the mandated sanction
for falsifying entries, she explained, "I felt others had done the same
thing and that is why I did it." The director of personnel changed the
sanction on the incident form to “discharge,” as required by hospital
policy, and then terminated King’s employment.

On November 3, 1987, King filed an age discrimination claim with
the West Virginia Human Rights Commission, alleging, "I was dis-
criminated against because of my Age, 58, in that . . . [dJue to a
reduction in Patient Census, the [hospital] reportedly plans to reduce
the workforce by deleting certain positions." The Human Rights

4 KinG v. Hersert J. THomas MemMoriAL Hospirat

Commission investigated the charge, and on April 5, 1988, issued a
finding of no probable cause to believe that Thomas Memorial Hospi-
tal had engaged in unlawful discrimination.

After her discharge, King also applied for Social Security disability
benefits based on her physical condition which had manifested itself
almost a year earlier. During the yeai before her discharge, King’s
doctor had written to Thomas Memoria’ Hospital on King’s behalf,
urging that the hospital provide King with a job where she was not
required to spend eight hours a day on her feet because she was mani-
festing early symptoms of “talonavicular osteoarthritis." The hospital
responded that it did not have any positions open at that time “that
would limit the number of hours on her feet" but that jobs would be
posted as they opened. In deposition testimony given in this case,
King explained that she made her application for disability benefits
because she had become "physically unable there at the hospital" or,
as she corrected her statement, "Well, I guess it was after I was dis-
charged from the hospital. . . . I guess it was about in ’87, because
my legs was giving me problems."

While the record does not contain King’s application for Social
Security disability benefits, the Social Security Administration
awarded disability benefits to her in December 1988, determining that
she had been disabled as of September 2, 1987, a week before the ter-
mination of her hospital employment. In its notice of award, the
Social Security Administration explained that "(t]he decisions we
made on your claim are based on information you gave us” and that
these decisions were made by "doctors and other trained personnel."
It also advised King that her health might improve and that therefore
her case would be reevaluated in three years. King continues to
receive Social Security disability benefits, as well as a pension for
early retirement from Thomas Memorial Hospital.

After the West Virginia Human Rights Commission provided King
with a right to sue notice, she filed this action in a West Virginia state
court, and the hospital removed the case to federal court. In her
amended complaint, King alleged (1) age-based employment discrim-
ination in violation of the West Virginia Human Rights Act, (2)
breach of contract, (3) intentional infliction of emotional distress, and
(4) interference with retirement benefits in violation of the federal

Kinc v. HERBERT J. THoMAS MEMORIAL HosprraL 5

Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA). The district
court dismissed the last three counts because they were barred by the
Statute of limitations. On the age discrimination claim, the court
applied judicial estoppel to bar King’s assertion of a necessary ele-
ment of her claim. The court concluded that King’s "representa-
tion{s]" to the Social Security Administration concerning her disabled
condition estopped her from maintaining her age discrimination
claim, a claim which required her to prove that she was "able and
competent to perform the services required" of her employment. W.
Va. Code § 5-11-9(1). While King’s application for Social Security
benefits was not before the court, the court noted that in order to
establish her Social Security claim, King had to represent that she had
"a severe impairment that made her unable to do her previous work
as of September 2, 1987." Moreover, the award itself indicates that it
was based on information and medical evidence submitted by King.
The court reasoned that King could not make the showing under the
West Virginia Human Rights Act that she was "able and competent
to perform the services required” and at the same time present a claim
for disability benefits that she was “unable to perform her previous
work,” and noted, "(T]he circumstances of this case strongly suggest
| that plaintiff is merely ‘blowing hot and cold as the occasion
| demands.’”

| This appeal followed, challenging only the district court’s entry of
summary judgment against King on her West Virginia age discrimi-
nation claim.

Ul

To establish a claim for unlawful age discrimination under West
Virginia law, a claimant must demonstrate, among other matters, that
she "is able and competent to perform the services required” of her
employment with or without accommodation. W. Va. Code § 5-11-
9(1); see also Morris Memorial Convalescent Nursing Home, Inc. v.
West Virginia Human Rights Comm'n, 431 S.E.2d 353, 357-58 (W.
Va. 1993). This requirement is consistent with the West Virginia
Human Right Act’s preference for injunctive relief and reinstatement.
See W. Va. Code § 5-11-13(c). In this case, the district court deter-
mined that King was judicially estopped from satisfying the "able and
competent to perform" requirement because she took the inconsistent

—— Ee

6 Kinc v. Hersert J. THomas MEMORIAL Hosprrac

position before the Social Security Administration that she was dis-
abled and could not perform her previous job. The court inferred,
based on the Social Security Administration’s decision, that “plaintiff
not only made the representation that she had a severe impairment
that made her unable to do her previous work as of September 2,
1987, but that she also submitted medical evidence in support of that
representation.”

Challenging that ruling on appeal, King contends that the district
court erred because it failed to recognize that a Social Security dis-
ability finding reflected not her inability to perform her job as a
dietary aide, but rather her “unemployability due to her age, limited
work skills, education, and incapability due to arthritic feet and legs."
She argues that there is nothing factually or legally inconsistent about
her asserting both that she was able to meet the requirements of her
job at the time of her termination, as required under the West Virginia
Human Rights Act, and also that she became disabled one week prior
to her termination for purposes of receiving Social Security disability
benefits.

Before addressing whether King in fact took inconsistent positions
before the Social Security Administration and in her state discrimina-
tion claim in this case, we should review the applicable principles of
judicial estoppel, upon which the district court relied.

Judicial estoppel, an equitable doctrine that prevents a party who
has sucessfully taken a position in one proceeding from taking the
Opposite position in a subsequent proceeding, is recognized to protect
the integrity of the judicial system. See Lowery v. Stovall, 92 F.3d
219, 223 (4th Cir. 1996) ("‘The purpose of the doctrine is . . . to pro-
tect the essential integrity of the judicial process’" (quoting John S.
Clark Co. v. Faggert & Frieden, P.C., 65 F.3d 26, 28-29 (4th Cir.
1995)); McNemar v. Disney Store, Inc., 91 F.3d 610, 616 (3d Cir.
1996) ("The doctrine . . . serves a consistently clear and undisputed
jurisprudential purpose: to protect the integrity of the courts");
DeGuiseppe v. Village of Bellwood, 68 F.3d 187, 191-92 (7th Cir.
1995) ("[C]ourts are under no compulsion to heed the shifting theo-
ries of ‘chameleonic litigants’"). Acting on the assumption that there
is only one truth about a given set of circumstances, the courts apply
judicial estoppel to prevent a party from benefiting itself by maintain-

Kinc v. HERBERT J. THOMAS MEmoRIAL HosprraL 7

ing mutually inconsistent positions regarding a particular situation. As
we have previously observed, the doctrine is invoked to prevent a
party from "playing fast and loose with the courts," from “blowing hot
and cold as the occasion demands," or from attempting "to mislead
the [courts] to gain unfair advantage." Lowery, 92 F.3d at 223, 225
(citations omitted). As an equitable doctrine, judicial estoppel is
invoked in the discretion of the district court and with the recognition
that each application must be decided upon its own specific facts and
circumstances. See, e.g., McNemar, 91 F.3d at 617.

We have recognized the necessity of establishing at least three ele-
ments to apply the doctrine: (1) The party to be estopped must be
asserting a position that is factually incompatible with a position
taken in a prior judicial or administrative proceeding; (2) the prior
inconsistent position must have been accepted by the tribunal; and (3)
the party to be estopped must have taken inconsistent positions inten-
tionally for the purpose of gaining unfair advantage. See Lowery, 92
F.3d at 224; John S. Clark Co. v. Faggert & Frieden, P.C., 65 F.3d
26, 29 (4th Cir. 1995); Allen v. Zurich Ins. Co., 667 F.2d 1162, 1166-
67 (4th Cir. 1982). But judicial estoppel will not be applied where the
party’s inconsistent positions resulted from inadvertence or mistake.
See Lowery, 92 F.3d at 224; Clark Co., 65 F.3d at 29.

In this case, West Virginia law requires King to establish as part
of her age discrimination case that she was "able and competent” to
perform the services required of her employment as a dietary aide at
Thomas Memorial Hospital. The question presented, therefore, is
whether she was properly estopped from establishing that element by
reason of the position she took before the Social Security Administra-
tion in making a claim for disability benefits.

The record reveals that during the year before her discharge from
the hospital, King was suffering from early stages of osteoarthritis,
making it difficult for her to stand for long periods of time, as was
necessary in performing her work as a dietary aide. The hospital
advised her that it could not accommodate her claimed need to spend
less time on her feet, but it suggested she could apply for a suitable
position when one became available. Following her discharge in Sep-
tember 1987, King filed a claim with the Social Security Administra-
tion for disability benefits based on this disability, and the Social

8 Kinc v. Hersert J. THomas MemoriAL Hosprrac

Security Administration awarded her benefits based on the informa-
tion King provided, effective one week before her discharge.

The Social Security Administration’ s finding of disability necessar-
ily meant that it had found, based on information supplied by King,
that King was unable "to engage in any substantial gainful activity by
reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impair-
ment." 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A). More specifically, the Social Secur-
ity Act directs that "[a]n individual shall be determined to be under
a disability only if [her] physical or mental impairment or impair-
ments are of such severity that [she] is not only unable to do [her]
previous work but cannot, considering [her] age, education, and work
experience, engage in any other kind of substantial gainful work
which exists in the national economy." 42 U.S.C. 423(d)(2)(A)
(emphasis added). The burden of proof lies with the claimant, who
“shall not be considered to be under a disability unless [she] furnishes
such medical and other evidence of the existence thereof as the Com-
missioner of Social Security may require. . . . Objective medical evi-
dence of pain or other symptoms established by medically acceptable
clinical or laboratory techniques . . . must be considered in reaching
a conclusion as to whether the individual is under a disability." 42
U.S.C. § 423(d)(5)(A).

King makes the argument that a Social Security Administration
finding of disability could be based on a more general finding of
unemployability due to her age, limited work skills, education, and
incapacity due to her arthritic feet and legs. The age, skills, and edu-
cation factors, however, relate only to whether King could engage in
"any other kind of substantial gainful work which exists in the
national economy." To award King disability benefits, the Social
Security Administration would necessarily have had to conclude first
that King was “unable to do [her] previous work," either because of
a physical or a mental impairment.

Moreover, in this case, there is no mystery about the basis of
King’s disability. She explained in deposition the position she took
before the Social Security Administration, testifying that she was dis-
abled because of arthritis in her legs at the time of her discharge. She
Stated repeatedly that she was not "physically able to work,” that "I
really become physically unable there at the hospital,” and that she

Kinc v. HERBERT J. THoMAS MEMORIAL HospPITrAL 9

became "unable to work from a physical standpoint . . . after I was
discharged from the hospital." In addition, even though the Social
Security Administration’s award to King provided for a review of her
condition after three years, at the time of her deposition eight years
after her discharge from the hospital, King was still receiving disabil-
ity benefits.

The pertinent facts may thus be summarized: (1) King has taken
the position before the Social Security Administration that she was
physically unable to do her previous job as a dietary aide; (2) she
claimed that she became so disabled around the time of her discharge
in September 1987; (3) the Social Security Administration necessarily
determined that she was "unable to do her previous work" at Thomas
Memorial Hospital; (4) based on her representations, she benefited
herself by obtaining from the Social Security Administration an
award of disability benefits; and (5) she continues to assert under oath
that she was disabled and she continues to receive disability benefits,
which indicate that her position was deliberately and not inadvertently
taken. Upon these facts, we agree with the district court that King is
judicially estopped from asserting, as required for her West Virginia
age discrimination claim, that she was “able and competent” to per-
form her previous work at the hospital at the time of her discharge.
See W. Va. Code § 5-11-9(1). To allow King to obtain benefits from
two sources based on two incompatible positions, simply because the
positions aid her claims for remuneration, would reduce truth to a
mere financial convenience and would undermine the integrity of the
judicial process. In the factual circumstances of this case, we con-
clude that the district court was well within its discretion in applying
judicial estoppel to preclude King from asserting a necessary element
of her West Virginia age discrimination case.

Il

In addition to the requirement that King demonstrate that she was
"able and competent" to work at her employment to prove an age dis-
crimination case under West Virginia law, she must establish that "but
for" her age (58), she would not have been fired. See Conaway v.
Eastern Associated Coal Corp., 358 S.E.2d 423, 429 (W. Va. 1986).
To satisfy this requirement, and thereby shift the burden of production
to the hospital, she would have to "show some evidence which would

10 Kinc v. HERBERT J. THomas MemoriAL Hosprrac

sufficiently link the employer’s decision and the plaintiff's status as
a member of a protected class so as to give rise to an inference that
the employment decision was based on an illegal discriminatory crite-
rion." Id. at 429-30 (footnote omitted); see also Barefoot v. Sundale
Nursing Home, 457 S.E.2d 152, 161 (W. Va. 1995) (explaining that
"but for" test is "merely a threshold inquiry, requiring only that a
plaintiff show an inference of discrimination").

The only evidence on this issue that King offered was a paper in
longhand from her personnel file on which calculations were made in
March 1987 showing that the amount of her pension at her early
retirement date of May 1, 1987, was less than half of the pension that
she would receive at her normal retirement date on May 1, 1994. King
states that she did not request that information and that it was pre-
pared without her knowledge. The inference she seeks to draw from
the existence of these calculations is that the hospital discharged her
six months later because it wanted to reduce its future pension liabili-
ties.

We fail to appreciate how these calculations, made in March 1987,
are linked through any evidence to the decision to fire King in Sep-
tember 1987. But even if this evidence shifted the burden to the hos-
pital to produce a valid, nondiscriminatory reason for terminating
King, see Conaway, 358 S.E.2d at 430, the hospital presented evi-
dence that it discharged King for falsifying her time card on August
27, 1987, a fact that King admitted and which required, as a matter
of preestablished policy, that she be discharged. When confronted
with this evidence, King had to meet the ultimate burden of proving
that the reason given by the hospital was "merely a pretext for dis-
criminatory motive." Conaway, 358 S.E.2d at 430 (footnote omitted).

King argues that the affidavit of a former co-worker, which she
offered in opposition to summary judgment, established that it was
hospital policy to allow employees a "grace period” of five to seven
minutes at the start and finish of each workday and that therefore
there must have been some other reason for her discharge. This affi-
davit reported that the former employee had observed food production
employees sign out and leave work five to ten minutes earlier than the
scheduled quitting time, and stated that this grace period was pro-
vided as part of a “long standing formal and later informal hospital

KinG v. HERBERT J. THoMAS MEMORIAL HosPITAL 11

and dietary department policy." This affidavit, however, does not
indicate that Thomas Memorial Hospital tolerated the falsification of
time records. On the contrary, the evidence showed that the falsifica-
tion of time records was a serious violation, requiring dismissal of the
falsifying employee. Moreover, the hospital presented uncontradicted
testimony that at least 15 other employees who had falsified their time
records were discharged from their employment at the hospital, and
only one of these other discharged employees was 40 years of age or
older.

In short, we conclude that no reasonable jury could find that King’s
termination was the result of unlawful age-based discrimination on
the part of the hospital.

For the reasons given herein, the judgment of the district court is
hereby affirmed.

AFFIRMED

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1352%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
