# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Turner v. Frey

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1211%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 1019

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

#81207 Jan 271999

— EU WHE CLERK

No.

-)

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1998

PATRICIA A. TURNER, - - - -_ Petitioner,
versus
RICHARD A. FREY,JR.,EtAl, - - Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

THEODORE H. AMSHOFTF, JR.
Counsel of Record for Petitioner

PAUL P. CLEMENS

AMSHOFF & AMSHOFF, P.S.C.
Ninth Floor
200 West Broadway
Louisville, Kentucky 40202
Phone: (502) 540-0060

Counsel for Petitioner

January 27, 1999

WESTERFIELD-BONTE CO., 619 W. KENTUCKY-P.O. BOX 3251, LOUISVILLE, KY

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Does the evidence present disputed issues of material

fact?

nN

. Has the Plaintiff alleged physical abuse?

wd

Did the trial court improperly assign the burden of

proof?

eS

Can a single incident or occurrence show a custom o1

practice?

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1998

No.

Patricia A. Turner, Petitioner
Vv.
Richard A. Frey, Jr., et al., Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SIXTH CIRCUIT

To the Honorable, the Chief Justice and Associate
Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States:

Patricia A. Turner, the Petitioner, prays that a Writ of
Certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit entered in the above-

entitled case on October 29, 1998.

OPINION BELOW

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit (Appendix B) was entered on October 29,

1998.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court is invoked under
28 U.S.C. § 1254. The judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit was entered on October 29, 1998.
(See Appendix B) The Order denying Plaintiff's motion for
reconsideration was entered on June 3, 1997. (See Appendix C)
The Memorandum Opinion and Order was entered February 27,
1997. (See Appendix D)

PARTIES

Patricia A. Turner, Administratrix of the Estate of Stanley R.
Shepherd, Plaintiff.
Richard A. Frey, Jr.; Donald Copple; Derek Browning; Ezell
Smith; Harold Adams; Michael Durham; Dale Cornatzer:
Metropolitan Department of Corrections; Darryl T. Owens;
Chris Gorman; Irvin G. Maze; David L. Armstrong, Jr.;
Jefferson County Fiscal Court; and Doe Defendants,

Respondents

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented for Review .............seeee0. i
CREE OW co ccccccccsesccucvescoccesaeveees il
SOUND cv cv ccccvcscvcvesedeccevieeeneoeen ili
FONE ocd deecscctawncestucsivesectiecaceeeens iii
TERS SE CORO oc cvcvccasevevesvensisnevesee iv
Fee EGE ck cccccckvescrccccncvensveressces vi
TOE GE SNS cc ev ccccevenecieceevestessvenes ix
BORED 6 ced cecdacneacveevatoreetésunnvsn x
Tolle oF Giier AGUOVIES ..n ccccccceccnecevwmawen xi
PTT TTT ee 1
Statornent CT Ue COGS 2c cc eadecinvscevnacbdasase ss 1
Reasons for Granting the Writ ...............220-:. 3
I. Plaintiff Has Alleged Physical Abuse .... 3
II. There Are Disputed Issues of
EEE wes cvedevcsvesuveneces 5
[il. The Court Improperly Assigned
Fie DarGen 6 Frees .... cc cccccccces 16

IV. A Single Incident Can Show A

Puectics oF Casbah ccc ccccccccececes 21

CE si cine ban ce vas abe ee 29

PE Pee ee TT Se rere ery la
Vv

TABLE OF CASES

Ancata v. Prison Health Services, Inc.,
tw &. oii: oo: A, | erry 23

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,
S77 US, Di, We ves ee oe caved eee eear eee 5

Anderson v. Atlanta, 778 F. 2d 678 (11th Cir. 1985) ... 23

Barber v. City of Salem, 953 F. 2d 232, 235

(GRC. Ge 6s 6 ooo eae tees eee 10
Boretti v. Wiscomb, 930 F. 2d 1150 (6th Cir. 1991). ..... 6
Campbell v. U0.5., 365 U.S. GS CISGA) . ss see ce eaves 19
Crull v. GEM Ins. Co., 58 F.3d 1386 (9th Cir. 1995). .... 5
Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976) ...... 9, 10, 11, 13
Farmer v. Brenhan, 114 S. Ct. 1970 (1994) ....... 12, 28
Gant v. Aliquippa Borough,

612 F. Sem. 1199 COD. Pe. ORS) 2 6s oo ss Se eae 24
Garcia v. Salt Lake County,

768 7. 26 303 (IGG CH. THOSE 6 ee eee 24
Graves v. U.S., 190 U.S. TIS CIGRS) ... . . 0. eee 20
Greenleaf v. Birth, 31 U.S. 292 (1832). .............. 20
Hays v. Jefferson County, Kentucky,

668 F. 2d 869, 874 (6th Cir. 1982). ................. 14

Herrera v. Valentine, 653 F. 2d 1220 (8th Cir. 1981) ... 23

Hill v. Marinelli, 555 F. Supp. 413 (N.D. Ill. 1982)... .. 23
Hudson v. McMillan, 112 §. Ct. 995 (1992)... 0.0000... 8
Kibbe v. City of Springfield, 777 F.2d 806............ 24
Larez v. City of Los Angeles,

Pee. ae Oe, BPO 65a ce eens Bee eee 25
Leite v. City of Providence,

S63 ©. Sap. Fas GP. GL. WFR) joo ee bec asee. 27
McKinney v. Compton, 888 F. Supp. 75

Se ee re ee ae 10
Monell v. New York Department of Social Services,

os Bi ee ee ere er ee 13
Newman v. Zinn, 164 F.2d 558 (3d Cir. 1947). ......... 4
Roberts v. City of Troy,

773 F. 2d 720, 723 (6th Cir. 1985) ................. 10
Runkle v. Burnham, 153 U.S. 216 (1894) ............ 20
Rymer v. Davis, 775 F. 2d 756 (6th Cir. 1985) ........ 24
Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232 (1974) ........0..... 3

Selma, Rome and Dalton Railroad Co.,
Fe el ES bk ee res ne ee eee 19

Vii

Strauss v. Chicago, 760 F. 2d 765 (7th Cir. 1985) ...... 22
Taylor v. Stenet, 532 F. 2d 462 (Sth Cir. 1976). ....---- 10

United States v. Denver and Rio Grande Railroad Co.,
566 £56 GREUND 56s ares rece renee 19

United States v. New York, New Haven and Hartford Railroad
Co. 395 US. OS) jw ceed rer 19

vill

TABLE OF STATUTES

MUtC CMO. cic ee ii
BESCLWE.. fae 4, 13, 14, 20, 27
a : SD REDE ET Ti mer oc 8 5. 14

TABLE OF RULES

r
+>

TABLE OF OTHER AUTHORITIES

| J. Cook asid J. Sobieski, supra at 92.05 [B][7]
*-, Sa , 3 ) 24, 25

Wright, Miller & Kane, Fed. Prac. & Proc
§ 2722 at n.5 (1983) 4

31A C.J.S. Evidence §127 at n. 27, §129 at nn
49-54 (1996) 18

XI

ts

STATUTES INVOLVED
Rule 56(c).
42 U.S.C. § 1983.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises out of a Complaint filed by the
Petitioner, Patricia A. Turner as Administratrix of the Estate of
Stanley R. Shepherd, in the United States District Court for the
Western District of Kentucky, Louisville Division, on August

15, 1991, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, seeking monetary

damages for the wrongful death of the decedent.

On September 4, 1991 and September 5, 199].
Respondents filed their Answer. On December 4, 1996.
Respondents filed a Motion for Summary Judgment. The Court
granted Respondents’ Motion for Summary Judgment by a
Memorandum Opinion and Order dated F ebruary 27, 1997: see,
Appendix D.

Petitioner filed a timely appeal with the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, which denied the appeal

by Order dated October 29, 1998; see, Appendix B. This
Petition followed.

Sianley Shepherd was arrested on August 17, 1990 at
4:45 p.m. by the Louisville Police and charged with the theft of
merchandise valued at $2.10. Because he was unable to post
bond, Shepherd was incarcerated overnight at the Jefferson
County Jail.

For reasons which are not entirely clear, jail personnel
"four-pointed" Shepherd; i.e., handcuffed Shepherd to his bunk
in a supine position (on his back). At some point during the
night, he developed a nosebleed. The reasons for Shepherd's
nosebleed were never satisfactorily resolved. Respondents
claimed that Shepherd had been "picking his nose." Petitioner
alleged, based on the available evidence, that jail guards had
caused the nosebleed by striking Shepherd in the face.

When jail guards came to take Shepherd to jail the
following morning, they found him dead, having apparently

choked to death on his own blood and vomitus.

ianelies eet

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I. PLAINTIFF HAS ALLEGED PHYSICAL ABUSE.
The trial Judge, Honorable John Dixon summarily
dismissed Plaintiffs allegations of physical abuse in a single
footnote. Judge Dixon declined to consider the allegations of
physical abuse because, in his view, the Complaint did not

adequately allege this theory of recovery. The Sixth Circuit

summarily dismissed this argument with the comment that it was
"irrelevant." Opinion at 8-9.

Judge Dixon and the Sixth Circuit are mistaken for three
reasons. First, the Plaintiff has reasonably alleged physical
abuse. Plaintiff alleged in J 15 of her Complaint:

The actions of the Defendants resulted in the

unnecessary and wanton infliction of pain upon

Stanley Shepherd prior to his death.

In testing the sufficiency of a complaint, the complaint
must be liberally construed in favor of the pleader, and with

every intendment in his favor. Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232 Pa

(1974). Under this liberal standard, the foregoing language may

reasonably be construed as alleging the physical abuse of the
decedent.

Second, assuming arguendo that Plaintiff failed to
sufficiently allege physical abuse, she should have been granted
leave to amend her pleading, to conform to the proof. Rule
15(a), F.R.C.P. (leave to amend shall be freely given when
justice so requires). A plaintiff is not bound by the theory of his
pleading; he may offer his proof and conform his pleadings to
the proof offered when presentation of the merits of his action
will be subserved thereby. Newman v. Zinn, 164 F.2d 558 (3d
Cir. 1947); Wright, Miller & Kane, Fed. Prac. & Proc. § 2722
at n.5 (1983).

Third, the court should not have limited the Plaintiff to
the theories of recovery set out in her Complaint.

The pleadings need only identify the basis of the court's
jurisdiction, demand for judgment for the relief sought and
contain "a short and plain statement of the claim showing that

the pleader is entitled to relief." Rule 8, F.R.C.P.

The pleadings need not identify any particular legal
theory under which recovery is sought. Crull v. GEM Ins. Co.,
58 F.3d 1386, 1391 (9th Cir. 1995).

A similar rule must govern the case at bar. The evidence
in the instant case clearly raises disputed issues of material fact.
Plaintiff should not lose her cause of action merely because her
attomeys failed to set out one theory of recovery with sufficient
particularity.

II. THERE ARE DISPUTED ISSUES OF MATERIAL
FACT.

Summary judgment was not warranted in the instant case
because there were many disputed issues of material fact.
Summary judgment is only appropriate when the pleadings,
depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file,
together with affidavits, show that there is no genuine issue as
to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to
judgment as a matter of law. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

477 U.S. 242, 246 (1986).

The Sixth Circuit opined that Plaintiff has "fail[ed] to
present facts which would give mise to the ‘deliberate
indifference’ required of prison officials. Opinion at 5S.
Respectfully, Petitioner insists that the Sixth Circuit is mistaken.
ASSAULT AND BATTERY

In the case at bar, a rational trier of fact obviously could
have found for the plaintiff. A jury could reasonably have
concluded that Stanley Shepherd was assaulted and battered.
The bruises on Shepherd's nose were noted by the coroner four
hours after death. Similarly, a paramedic at 8:49 a.m. on the
morning of death observed these bruises, and immediately
concluded that they had been caused by some direct trauma.
The Chief Medical Examiner in Jefferson County, Dr. L. C.
McCloud, stated that the probable etiology of the bruise was a
blow to the nose. To overcome a summary judgment motion
only requires that there be a reasonable possibility that the
wound was caused by a blow. See, Boretti v. Wiscomb, 930 F.

2d 1150 (6th Cir. 1991).

Ee

The credibility of witnesses is extremely important in
resolving contested issues of fact. In the instant case, a number
of witnesses claimed that the decedent's nose bleed had been
caused by Shepherd's picking his nose (see Norine Ahart, etc.).
Other witnesses, however, claimed that Shepherd's injuries had
resulted from a fall (see Harold Adams). A trier of fact could
reasonably have concluded that the explanation of "picking the
nose" was a post hoc attempt to conceal what had actually
occurred; the witnesses’ credibility, therefore, was extremely
important.

FAILURE TO MONITOR

A reasonable jury might also have concluded that
Shepherd was not properly monitored and that he had in fact
been effectively ignored in his extremis, as evidenced by the
dried vomitus found in his hair by the EMS technician. A jury
might reasonably have concluded that the Defendants had been

clearly indifferent to Shepherd.

POSITION OF THE BODY

In deposing Dr. L.C. McCloud, Respondent's counsel
established that some of the physical evidence indicated
_ Shepherd had been four pointed face-first. Whether Shepherd
was placed face-up or face-down could well have been
determinative, under the deliberate indifference standard of the
Eighth Amendment. Face-down would not have created the
substantial risk that was created by four-pointing in the supine
position. Although several witnesses indicated that Shepherd
was four pointed on his back, this critical discrepancy was
never satisfactorily explained.
CRUEL AND UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT

It is well settled that the unnecessary and wanton
infliction of pain constitutes cruel and unusual punishment and
is forbidden by the Eighth Amendment. Hudson v. McMillan,
112 S. Ct. 995, 998 (1992). The core inquiry is whether force
was applied in a good-faith effort to maintain or restore

discipline, or maliciously or sadistically to cause harm. /d. at

999.

Much of the factual evidence indicates an assault and
battery. This includes both the physical evidence and the
testimony of medical experts. Dr. McCloud stated that
Shepherd probably did receive trauma to his nose, and that his
injuries were medically consistent with a blow to the face.
Paramedic Schiess agreed with this assessment. Whether such
a blow was actually inflicted by the Defendants is a disputed
issue of material fact.

DELIBERATE INDIFFERENCE

In Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976), this Court
held that certain "elementary principles" establish the
“government's obligation to provide medical care for those
whom it is punishing by incarceration." The Eighth
Amendment's proscription of cruel and unusual punishment
prohibits prison authorities from displaying deliberate
indifference to serious medical needs, because such indifference

constitutes the unnecessary and wanton infliction of pain.

9

McKinney v. Compton, 888 F. Supp. 75 (W.D. Tenn. 1995). A
pretrial detainee may not enjoy the protections of the Eighth
Amendment, Barber v. City of Salem, 953 F. 2d 232, 235 (6th
Cir. 1992), but the Due Process clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment affords them protections analogous to the Eighth
Amendment nghts of prisoners. Roberts v. City of Troy, 773 F.
2d 720, 723 (6th Cir. 1985). Although Shepherd was a pretrial
detainee and thus was not being punished, Jefferson County still
had the same obligations; in fact, it may have had even greater
obligations to a pretrial detainee; see, Zaylor v. Stenet, 532 F.
2d 462 (Sth Cir. 1976).

A person who is in confinement obviously must rely
upon the authorities to treat his medical needs. As this Court
noted, "if the authorities fail to do so, those needs will not be
met." Estelle. The Estelle court concluded that deliberate
indifference to serious medical needs constitutes the
“unnecessary and wanton infliction of pain." It added:

[t]his is true whether the indifference is manifested by

10

prison doctors in their response to the prisoner's needs
or by prison guards in intentionally denying or
delaying access to medical care.
Id. at 104.
The Sixth Circuit held that:
"there is no reason to think that the
guards were indifferent to the serious
medical needs of the prisoner as
required by Estelle v. Gamble."
Opinion at 6-7. Again, the Sixth Circuit has misread
the holding on which it relies.
A claim is properly stated when a prisoner alleges acts
Or omissions sufficiently harmful to evidence deliberate
indifference to serious medical needs. /d. In the instant case, a
jury could have reasonably concluded that finding a prisoner in
an unexplained pool of blood, with his nose packed, and four
pointed in a supine position, indicated deliberate indifference to
serious medical needs, if the Defendants were aware of the

danger. The evidence in this case clearly shows that all of the

prison officers involved were well aware of the danger.

1]

Furthermore, there was ample evidence that Stanley Shepherd

had attempted to obtain assistance, and that his cries for help
were ignored by both the guards and the medical staff. A
number of inmates who were interviewed as part of the Corpse
Investigation stated that they had heard Stanley Shepherd
rattling his chains for a long period of time.

A reasonable jury could have concluded that the
defendants ought to have realized that this was a desperate plea
for help. Ifa risk is so obvious that a reasonable man would be
bound to realize it, jurors may infer that the defendants did, in
fact, realize the danger. Farmer v. Brenhan, 114 S. Ct. 1970,
1981 (1994). An official is deliberately indifferent when he
knows of an excessive risk to a detainee's health or safety and
disregards it. Jd Moreover, qualified immunity does not allow
officers to ignore such health needs. A reasonable jail guard
should clearly realize the danger of chaining a prisoner who is
bleeding from the nose, on his back. A reasonable jail guard

should also realize the danger of ignoring a prisoner's plea for

12

help, especially when the jail has an obligation to provide the
inmate with medical care. See Estelle.
THE FOUR POINT POLICY
42 U.S.C.A. §1983 imposes liability on any person who
deprives another of his federally protected rights. Jefferson
County and its jailer, Richard Frey, Jr., are liable if the execution
of a county policy or custom - whether promulgated by its law-
makers or by those whose edicts or acts may fairly be said to
represent official policy - inflicts an injury that deprives another
of his federally protected rights. Monell v. New York
Department of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658 (1978).
Jefferson County and Frey have adopted a policy and
custom concerning the four pointing of prisoners. The policy,
numbered Policy 10.20, states that:
[t]he officer must exercise good judgment in
handcuffing and restraining prisoners. When and by
what means an inmate should be restrained is left to
the officer since he is in the best position to judge
what measures are necessary to control the inmate.

The officer can be held for gross negligence if he/she
fails to exercise good judgment....Handcuffing and

13

restraining are specialized and technical skills that are
best acquired through practical application and
experience.
While Policy 10.20 concerns the application of restraint
generally, Standard Operating Procedure §300.57 concerns four
point restraints in particular. It states:
3. The inmate will be placed on the bunk
in a prone position on his stomach, with his head
toward the foot of the bunk.

These policies are obviously drafted in a gross and
reckless manner, since injury to a patient bleeding nasally is
readily foreseeable. The officers should have been aware of the
extreme danger in four pointing a profusely bleeding prisoner;
however, the county should have foreseen and averted this
problem. When a county implements or executes a policy or
custom which it either knows or should have known violates the
constitutional nghts of citizens, the county is liable under §1983,
and its action is akin to gross negligence. Hays v. Jefferson

County, Kentucky, 668 F. 2d 869, 874 (6th Cir. 1982).

The Sixth Circuit summarily dismissed this argument

14

with the terse comment that medical personnel had requested
that Shepherd be four-pointed. This assertion completely
ignores the dispositive fact that jail guards should not have four-
pointed Shepherd on his back.
CONCEALMENT OF EVIDENCE

If Shepherd were, in fact, clothed at 6:48 a.m. (as the
County has alleged), his clothes had obviously been removed
before the paramedics arrived. A jury could reasonably have
concluded his clothes were removed to conceal the quantity of
blood released. If the jail guards found that Shepherd's gown
were completely blood-soaked, and still refused to help him, this
would certainly be strong evidence of their indifference.
Shepherd could not have removed the gown himself, because
Nurse Swindler testified that at 8:45 a.m. she saw Shepherd
with both his hands and feet cuffed and that he was completely
nude. These factual questions should have been resolved by a
jury.

Nurse Swindler provided further evidence that indicates

15

the removal and concealment of substantial blood from the
person of Shepherd. She testified that at 8:45 a.m. Shepherd
was "clean all over" and that he had no blood at all on his body.
Not more than ten minutes later, however, Deborah Schiess saw
something completely different: she saw bloody vomitus on
Shepherd's neck and in his hair, along with dried blood on both
his right and ieft anterior shoulders. The credibility of these
witnesses was an essential question in resolving this case.

il. THE COURT IMPROPERLY ASSIGNED THE
BURDEN OF PROOF.

Judge Dixon evidently agreed that there are still disputed
issues of material fact. He believed, however, that the Plaintiff
still could not prevail, for two reasons: (1) because Plaintiff had
not met her burden of proof, and (2) because Plaintiff had only
alleged a single incident of misconduct. Judge Dixon is
mistaken both counts.

First, Plaintiff contended that the County had

implemented an unconstitutional policy and that it had failed to

16

a

adequately train its corrections officers. The Court below
improperly assigned the burden of proof on these issues to the
Plaintiff. Judge Dixon stated:

Further, defendants (sic) have demonstrated a lack of
evidence to support plaintiffs contention that
defendant Frey failed to properly set policy and failed
to supervise or train the corrections officers and
medical personnel... The burden passed to plaintiff to
establish the existence of a disputed fact essential to
these issues. However, plaintiff failed to demonstrate
the existence of a disputed fact on these issues.

Opinion at 20-21.

Respectfully, Plaintiff insists that such is simply not the

law, and that the trial Court misconceived the law on this point.
As this Court will note, Judge Dixon required the Plaintiff to
prove the existence of a negative, namely, that the County did
not adequately train and supervise its corrections employees.
Moreover, the evidence on this point was necessarily within the
sole control of the Defendants, and not available to the Plaintiff
Under such circumstances, the burden of proof shifts to the

party having control of all the evidence.

17

pe

As the treatise Corpus Juris Secundum explains this rule:

The party whose contention requires proof of a
negative fact generally has the burden of evidence to
prove that fact, except as the rule may be modified by
the fact... that the evidence as to such issue is
peculiarly within the adverse party's knowledge or
control...

Ordinarily, a party does not have the burden of
establishing facts peculiarly within the knowledge of
his adversary.

In the administration of justice, it is desirable that the
burden of proof and the burden of producing evidence
be placed on the party best able to sustain it, and there
is authority for the view that the burden of proof and
the burden of evidence as to an issue rests on the party
having the greater means of knowledge. A narrower
formulation is that where the evidence as to an issue is
peculiarly within the knowledge and control of a party,
the burden of proof or the burden of evidence as to
such issue rests on him.

It is very generally held that, where the party who has
not the general burden of proof possesses positive and
complete knowledge concerning the existence of facts
which the party having that burden is called on to
negative, or has peculiar knowledge or control of
evidence as to such matters, the burden rests on him to
produce the evidence, the negative averment being
taken as true unless disproved by the party having
such knowledge or control.

31A C.J.S. Evidence §127 at n. 27, §129 at nn. 49-54 (1996).

18

ee

As authority on this point, the treatise authors cited
(among others) Campbell v. U.S., 365 U.S. 85 (1961)(per
Brennan, J), in which this Court stated:

...the ordinary rule, based on the considerations of
fairness, does not place the burden upon a litigant of
establishing facts peculiarly within the knowledge of
his adversary.

Campbell, 365 U.S. at 96.

In support of this assertion, Justice Brennan cited his
earlier holding United States v. New York, New Haven and
Hartford Railroad Co., 355 U.S. 253 (1957):

Such information is peculiarly within the knowledge of
the Plaintiff. The ordinary rule, based on
considerations of fairness, does not place the burden

upon a litigant of establishing facts peculiarly within
the knowledge of his adversary.

U.S. v. N.Y., N.H. and H.R. Co., 355 U.S. at 256 n. 5.

In support of this statement, Justice Brennan cited the
Court's earlier holding United States v. Denver and Rio Grande
Railroad Co., 191 U.S. 84 (1903) and Selma, Rome and Dalton

Railroad Co., 139 U.S. 560 (1887).

19

Other cases so holding include Runkle v. Burnham, 153
U.S. 216, 228 (1894); Graves v. U.S., 150 U.S. 118, 123-25
(1893); Greenleaf v. Birth, 31 U.S. 292, 312 (per Story, J.),
315(Marshall, C.J., dissenting) (1832).

Applying this rule to the case at bar, it is obvious that the
Plaintiff, in order to establish her case, must prove a negative
fact, namely, that Jefferson County did not properly train and
supervise its corrections employees. It is equally clear that the
evidence needed to prove or disprove this contention lies wholly
within the control of the Defendants.

Requiring the Plaintiff to prove the negative - that the
County failed to properly train and supervise - casts upon her an
impossible burden. The County, on the other hand, could
readily have come forward with proof that the converse was
true - if such proof, in fact, existed. In cases such as this,
assigning the burden of proof to the plaintiff is tantamount to a
rule that the municipality shall always prevail in §1983 actions.

Such was surely not the Congressional intent.

20

aS

Under the foregoing rule, therefore, the burden of proof
shifts to the County, which has the means of proof within its
sole possession. Judge Dixon, however, did not so apply the
law. He held, rather, that the burden of proof lay with the
Plaintiff. Since she did not prove her negative averment
(because her adversary controlled the sole means of doing so),
Judge Dixon granted summary judgment against her.

The Sixth Circuit, for its part, completely ignored this
issue, although it was properly presented in Petitioner's Brief.
Such was reversible error, and this Court must so hold.

IV. ASINGLE INCIDENT CAN SHOW A PRACTICE
OR CUSTOM.

Furthermore, Judge Dixon erroneously held that a single
incident is not sufficient to establish a municipal policy or
custom. Opinion, at 23. for its part, the Sixth Circuit dismissed
this argument with the offhand comment that "it would be a
stretch to believe that there was a policy or custom of deliberate

indifference." In so holding, that court ignored a large body of

21

evidence to the contrary.

In its opinion, the trial court relied primarily on Strauss
v. Chicago, 760 F. 2d 765 (7th Cir. 1985). Strauss is readily
distinguishable, since that case arose on facts vastly different
from those of the instant action.

As this Court will note, Strauss had alleged only that a
police officer had struck him in the face. This is vastly different
from chaining an obviously sick prisoner down, and allowing
him to choke to death on his own blood and vomitus.
Moreover, the Strauss court itself stated that if a single act is
"sufficiently egregious," then that injury alone will show an

established custom or policy. Strauss, 760 F. Supp. at 769.

It is difficult to imagine conduct more egregious than
that alleged in the instant Complaint. In our enlightened age
which has proscribed torture, death is the ultimate sanction
which may be imposed. Even then, the state may not execute a
prisoner by rendering him powerless and allowing him to slowly

choke to death on his own blood and vomitus. Yet this is the

nN
nN

———

penalty which Jefferson County inflicted on Stanley Shepherd
for the alleged tieft of $2.10 worth of merchandise, a crime of
which he stood unconvicted.

Other courts have required much less to establish gross
negligence. The New York court inferred gross negligence
from the fact that Ruperto was not provided with food and
water, or a mattress, for two and a half days. Hodge, supra,
739 F. Supp. at 879. These deprivations, while uncomfortable,
were far less than fatal. Plaintiff reiterates, if the County's
treatment of Stanley Shepherd was not sufficiently egregious to
constitute neglect and indifference, it appears extremely doubtful
that any police misconduct could ever rise to that level.

Moreover, other courts have uniformly held that a single
incident of withholding medical treatment establishes a policy or
custom. Anderson v. Atlanta, 778 F. 2d 678 (11th Cir. 1985);
Herrera v. Valentine, 653 F. 2d 1220 (8th Cir. 1981); Hill v.

Marinelli, 555 F. Supp. 413 (N.D. Ill. 1982); Ancata v. Prison

Health Services, Inc., 769 F. 2d 700 (11th Cir. 1985) (county

23

SS

liable for inadequate medical treatment provided to prisoner by
private contractor); Gant v. Aliquippa Borough, 612 F. Supp.
1139 (W.D. Pa. 1985); Rymer v. Davis, 775 F. 2d 756 (6th Cir.
1985) (construing Kentucky law); Garcia v. Salt Lake County,
768 F. 2d 303 (10th Cir. 1985).

Extensive research has not disclosed a single reported
case in which the death of a prisoner due to inadequate medical

treatment failed to satisfy the requirement of deliberate

indifference and thus to impose municipal liability for an isolated
incident.

One of the circumstances in which sufficient additional
evidence has been found to impose municipal liability is when
the single incident involves a number of municipal employees. _
This tends to show, of course, that all of the employees involved
so understood the municipal policy or custom. Kibbe v. City of
Springfield, 777 F. 2d at 806; 1 J. Cook and J. Sobieski, Civil
Rights Actions, §2.05[B][{7] at n. 176 (1996).

Another circumstance from which such additional

24

m |

evidence may be found is where there are no reprimands, no
discharges, no admissions of error. Such post-incident
indifference is highly significant.
If (an) episode of such dangerous recklessness
obtained so little attention and action by the City
policymaker, the jury was entitled to conclude that it
was accepted as the way things are done and have
been done in the City of Borger. If prior policy had
been violated, we would expect to see a different
reaction. If what the officers did and failed to do...
was not acceptable to the police chief, changes would
have been made.
This reaction to so gross an abuse (of the Plaintiff's
rights) says more about the existing disposition of the
City's policymaker than would a dozen (similar)
incidents...
Grandstaff, 767 F. 2d at 171; see Bordanero, supra, 871 F. 2d
at 1166-67; Larez v. City of Los Angeles, 946 F. 2d 630 (9th
Cir. 1991); Foley, Hegarty, supra; 1 J. Cook and J. Sobieski,
supra at 92.05 [B][7] n. 177.
Applying these rules to the case at bar, it is clear that the
instant action falls squarely within their coverage. Plaintiff has

alleged, not "a single isolated incident," but a series of incidents

25

extending over at least fourteen hours, which culminated in the
wrongful death of Stanley Shepherd. Those incidents involved
a number of corrections personnel, including Officer Ezell
Smith, Officer Zeke Cannon, Sgt. Donald Copple, Officer Derek
Browning, Officer Mike Durham, Officer Harold Adams, Sgt.
Ed Johnson and Officer Cornatzer. The fact that all of these
officers followed identical procedures over the space of fourteen
hours tends to show that there was, in fact, a municipal policy
or custom which was well-recognized by all of these corrections
officers.

Moreover, there have been no "reprimands, discharges,
or admissions of error." Indeed, the Defendants with one voice
continue to insist that they have done nothing wrong. Opinion
at 9-11 Judge Dixon stated that there was no evidence that
the County and Director Frey "either condoned, encouraged or
knowingly acquiesced in" the conduct of their employees.
Respectfully, Plaintiff insists that the evidence of such knowing

acquiescence is both clear and plentiful. The County's post-

26

event callousness speaks volumes, and "says far more about the
existing disposition of the County's policymakers than would a
dozen similar incidents."

Judge Dixon held that "a single isolated incident," no
matter how egregious, cannot form he basis of municipal
liability; indeed, it does not even entitle the Plaintiff to a jury
trial. Respectfully, Plaintiff inquires, where then is the
threshold? How many prisoners must die unconvicted for the
supposed theft of $2.10?

Will the County be liable for the second death? The
fifth? The tenth? Surely this cannot be the correct rule. "The
City's citizens do not have to endure a ‘pattern’ of police
misconduct before they can sue the City under §1983." Leite v.
City of Providence, 463 F. Supp. 585, 590 (D. R.L. 1978).

The County is fairly considered to have actual or
imputed knowledge of the almost inevitable consequences of its
corrections policies. Granted, that officers Copple, Browning,

Durham, Adams, Cornatzer and Smith were not trained medical

27

personnel, and that they should not ordinarily second guess the
medical staff. Still it did not require medical training for these
officers to realize that a prisoner lying on his back, helpless,
vomiting and bleeding profusely from the nose, would probably
choke to death.

Respondents have argued, and the Sixth Circuit
implicitly held, that only the medical staff caused Stanley
Shepherd's death. Petitioner replies that it was corrections
personnel - these Respondents - and not the medical staff, who
chained Stanley Shepherd to his bunk and cleaned the floor with
a towel while he strangled on his own blood.

That Stanley Shepherd would choke to death under
these circumstances was reasonably foreseeable; indeed, it was
readily predictable. A person is presumed to have reasonably
intended the logical consequences of his actions. Ifa risk is so
obvious that a reasonable man would be bound to realize it, the
court must infer that the Defendant did, in fact, realize it.

Farmer v. Brenhan, 114 S. Ct. 1970, 1981 (1994).

28

Common humanity dictates that the Respondents ought
to be held accountable for causing the death of Stanley R.

Shepherd; and Petitioner urges this Court to so hold.

CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons this Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

THEODORE H. AMSHOFF,
Counsel of Record for Pesnoncr TDS
PAUL P. CLEMENS

AMSHOFF & AMSHOFF, P.S.C.

200 West Broadway, Ninth Floor
Louisville, Kentucky 40202

(502) 540-0060

Counsel for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1211%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
