# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Heilbrunn v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1184%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 1147

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

' gana z? Jan 19199

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1998

PAUL B. HEILBRUNN,
Petitioner,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari
To the United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit

PETER GOLDBERGER
Counsel of Record
PAMELA A. WILK
LAW OFFICES OF ALAN ELLIS
50 Rittenhouse Place
Ardmore, PA 19003

(610) 658-2255
Attorneys for Petitioner

JANUARY 1999

A PIERRE S35 ye

QUESTION PRESENTED

Where neither party has appealed, does the Double
Jeopardy Clause protect a defendant against entry of a
criminal forfeiture a year after imposition of the
judgment containing the other aspects of his federal drug
sentence, including imprisonment and special
assessments?

}
LIST OF ALL PARTIES
The caption of the case in this Court contains the
names of all parties (Paul B. Heilbrunn and the United
States).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ........-..scssesseseeeseeneeeeeseseees i
LIST OF ALL PARTIES. ........--:ccsscsssssssserssescesesesrencesnees il
INDEX TO APPENDIX .......--:-:cccsessssesesseeseenseeneeeenees iV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..........2-:cccceeesseeessteersereees iv
PETITION
OPINIONS BELOW. ............ccsccccsssscsssssceesereeesseeensneeesensees 1
I so. ccsssanccniventaacnsecnsenssvonoonoverccenessconasenseee l
STATUTE, RULE and CONSTITUTIONAL
PROVISION INVOLVED ..............:::0::eeeeeereeeeeeteees 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
a. Procedural History .............-:cccsscsesseeeseeterseeeeees 4
bh. Statement Of Facts .........ccccccccccrssrecessssssererrsereoeeess 7
c. Statement of Lower Court Jurisdiction .............. 7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents an important and

unresolved aspect of Double Jeopardy juris-

prudence: what constitutes a "separate

proceeding" such that a court may not add

even a statutorily-authorized additional form

of punishment after the original sentencing

has been reduced to a final judgment. .................... 9
EE BIG eichsicevvcccccesisconsasacnevsccsencnoneseqenennesstoteness 20

INDEX TO APPENDIX
A. Order of the Court of Appeals denying certificate of

appealability :
B. Entry of District Court denying § 2255 motion
C. Entry of District Court denying motion for limited
reconsideration
D. Entry of District Court denying certificate of

appealabilty

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880 (1983) ............-.-e+-++ 18
Berman v. United States, 302 U.S. 211 (1937) ............. 15
Bozza v. United States, 330 U.S. 160 (1947) ................ 15
In re Bradley, 318 U.S. 50 (1943) ..........ccsceceerseeeeeneenees 15
Bullington v. Missouri, 451 U.S. 43U (1981) ................. 19
Burks v. United States, 437 U.S. 1 (1978) ............... 18, 19
Hudson v. United States, 522 U.S. 93 (1997) .......... 12, 19

Jones v. Thomas, 491 U.S. 376 (1989) ................0... 14, 16

Ex parte Lange, 85 U.S. (18 Wall.) 163 (1874) . 14, 17, 19
Libretti v. United States, 516 U.S. 29 (1995) .......... 14, 17
Menna v. New York, 423 U.S. 61 (1975) (per curiam) 17
Missouri v. Hunter, 459 U.S. 359 (1983) ..0.......ceeseeeeees 12

Monge v. California, 524 U.S. --, 118 S.Ct. 2246,
BE Ea CIID cicicietintisnicorsscctensnncitznes 18, 19

Montana Dept. of Revenue v. Kurth Ranch,
ie 8 RRR Sener 12

Pennsylvania v. Goldhammer,
474 U.S. 28 (1985) (per curiam) ..................000000. 16

United States v. Broce, 488 U.S. 563 (1989) ..........0..... 17
United States v. DiFrancesco, 449 U.S. 117 (1980) ..... 16

-jv-

RAE aaa POR Mele aad inte

Whalen v. United States, 445 U.S. 684 (1980) ............. 12
Witte v. United States, 515 U.S. 389 (1995) ............ 11, 19

CONSTITUTION, STATUTES AND RULES:
U.S. Const., amend. V (Double Jeopardy Clause) passim

U.S. Const., amend. V (Due Process Clause) ................ 6
SE I. Ie eich sihkctiiarsievetsenspnctctisihoaniancsiinitanenens 8
Oe AE ikea tnenicinccnientcvibiraansichives 15, 17
Fe et Esch distisns enc caciipesiensssinnsvncbeniniishdieaaipaian 14
Ee MEAD: sissarntiictircasinessenssicsiasvivusvencasteaonsanstobalen 2
ee iricieeitrrithctanciveissiemiacosinnicgeansteedioitunnsioben 8
ee IE Diidaiadiiecsintonssittinnesrtsitnnnminas 8
ee I si ickiictsniksisin sapicatinauittbinegciascanronsenic 18
Fe A IEEE Sesihieri.ccictnntinciinsnsnnsienicivionaiaic 6, 7, 8, 18, 20
POET AEs SER ELI ss sercovincrsnceneniccsihiosacneniaienens 8
A, CE sctiinicccinnsetinninaniitoncnatanivasiinisesguricnbidoolinessie 17
Ne I siciccisecncasnsbsiiiinasobsiciensnisesicesisieivaldibeaigetns 7
Ee 5 TD cscs heitetsiiesenitnivindystixtcveiiritioopaites 7,8
Fed. R.Crim.P. 32(6)(2) (1972 FOV.) ........0000ss0ceossscesssersees 5
Fed.R.Crim.P. 32(d)(2) (1996 rev.) ..........ccscssesssosesceees id
Fed.R.Crim.P. 35 (former vers.) ..........ccrssosssessssseseessesers 9
PO AION, Be I BY cissacissisicsssisccretincdecossstinnscetienen 8
SAK. Restle 15-1, EDD, TBS (IGT 100.) cciccinscssncssessnseresses 2
he SIE BRI ba ticenshc Sev sarittapomnntn shectictenietincdcbnanbeesieiors 7
MISCELLANEOUS:

Adv. Comm. Note, Fed.R.Crim.P. 32 (1996) ............... 14

Pa
pe

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

S CIRCUIT

PAUL B. HEILBRUNN respectfully petitions
this Court for a writ of certiorari to review the final
Order of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit denying a certificate of appealability,
which was filed and entered on August 21, 1998.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Order of the Court of Appeals (per
Cummings & Evans, JJ.), denying a certificate of appeal-
ability, is attached as Appendix A. This order is not
published. The district court’s unpublished "Entry" (a
memorandum opinion) and Judgment denying the
motion to vacate conviction and sentence under 28
U.S.C. § 2255 are attached as Appendix B. The district
court’s Order denying Mr. Heilbrunn’s motion for limited
reconsideration of the Entry denying his § 2255 motion is
attached as Appendix C. The district court Entry denying
a certificate of appealability is Appendix D.

JURISDICTION

The final Order of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit denying a certificate of
appealability was filed and entered on August 21, 1998.
Appendix A. On November 5, 1998, under No. A-375,
Justice Stevens granted petitioner's application for an
extension of time to file this petition to and including
January 18, 1999. This petition is timely filed on January
19, 1999, because January 18, 1999, is a federal legal

holiday (Birthday of Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr.).
Rules 13.1, 13.3, 13.5, 30.1 (1997 rev.). Petitioner
invokes this Court’s jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1). See Hohn v. United States, 524 U.S. --, 118
S.Ct. 1969, 141 L.Ed.2d 242 (1998).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION, FEDERAL
STATUTE, AND RULE INVOLVED
The Controlled Substances Act provides, in
pertinent part:
(a) Property subject to criminal forfeiture
xe *
The court, in imposing sentence on such
person, shall order, in addition to any other
sentence imposed pursuant to this
subchapter or subchapter II of this chapter,
that the person forfeit to the United States
all property described in this subsection. ...
21 U.S.C. § 853.

In 1991, at the time of petitioner’s sentencing, Rule
32 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure provided,
in pertinent part, as applied to offenses committed prior
to November 1, 1987:
(b) Judgment.

*~“* * *

(2) Criminal Forfeiture. When a
verdict contains a finding of property
subject to a criminal forfeiture, the
judgment of criminal forfeiture shall
authorize the Attorney General to seize

the interest or property subject to forfei-
ture, fixing such terms and conditions as
the court shall deem proper.

In 1996, Fed.R.Crim.P. 32 was clarified to read:

(d) Judgment.

****

as
”
3
3
3
+
4
a
4
#
3
s

(2) Criminal Forfeiture. If a verdict
contains a finding that property is subject
to a criminal forfeiture, or if a defendant
enters a guilty plea subjecting property to
such forfeiture, the court may enter a
preliminary order .... At sentencing, a final
order of forfeiture shall be made part of
the sentence and included in the judgment.
The court may include in the final order
such conditions as may be reasonably
necessary to preserve the value of the

property pending any appeal.
d Fed.R.Crim.P. 32.

The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the
United States provides, in pertinent part:
... hor shall any person be subject for the
: same offence to be twice put in jeopardy of
i life or limb; ....
:
i

oe

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This petition presents an issue that arose from
petitioner's guilty plea, sentencing and subsequent
criminal forfeiture based upon federal marijuana
distribution-related offenses.

a. Procedural History

The petitioner, Paul B. Heilbrunn, was charged on
November 20, 1987, by a special grand jury in the
Southern District of Indiana, in 26 counts of a 53-count
indictment naming 33 co-defendants. The indictment
alleged various marijuana distribution-related offenses.
Count | charged conspiracy, between a date prior to
September 1975 and “up to and including the date of this
indictment," which was November 20, 1987, to possess
with intent to distribute and to distribute marijuana, in
violation of 21 U.S.C. §§ 841(a)(1) and 846. Count 2
charged conspiracy from before September 1975, until at
least November 1985, to import marijuana, in violation of
21 U.S.C. §§ 952 and 963. Count 11 charged Continuing
Criminal Enterprise (CCE), in violation of id. § 848, and
contained the indictment’s only allegation of forfeiture,
pursuant to id. § 853. Counts 3 and 4 charged possession
with intent to distribute marijuana, in violation of id.
§ 841(a)(1), while Counts 15, 17, 18, 19, 23, 25, 26, 29, 32,
and 33 charged violations of the Travel Act, 18 U.S.C.
§ 1952.!

' Although petitioner Heilbrunn was charged in some of the
remaining counts 34 through 53, under the international-law
"rule of specialty," codified in the treaty under which his
extradition was secured, he was not subject to trial or penalty
on these counts, as his extradition was not sought or granted
on those charges.

os .

Petitioner pleaded guilty to six counts including
the CCE on April 16, 1991, pursuant to a written plea
agreement. In the plea agreement, the government
promised, inter alia, that "[c]onditioned upon such full
disclosure [of his assets], the United States of America
agrees not to seek the seizure/forfeiture of any of Paul B.
Heilbrunn’s assets, pursuant to Title 21, United States
Code, Sections 853 and 881, other than those specifically
delineated in a document entitled Final Plea Addendum
Concerning Forfeitures, which will be presented to the
Court at the time of sentencing and is to be considered a
part of this Final Plea Agreement." Final Plea Agmt. %8,
at 7-8.

Petitioner was sentenced on July 2, 1991, under
the law existing prior to the enactment of the Sentencing
Reform Act (SRA) and federal sentencing guidelines, to
serve a nonparolable sentence of 24 years for CCE on
Count 11, concurrent with sentences aggregating 28
years’ imprisonment (parolable after one third [i.e., 9
years, 4 months], pursuant to former 18 U.S.C. § 4205S(a))
on Counts 3, 4, 17, 23 and 32. No final addendum
respecting forfeitures was presented by the government
at the time of sentencing, however. The prosecutor
explained only that this deviation from the plea agree-
ment was due "in part" to the death of the father of a
government agent who would have been involved with
the forfeiture. The prosecutor asked the district court to
delay entry of the final judgment until the forfeiture
addendum could be added, pursuant to Fed.R.Crim.P.
32(b)(2). Defense counsel remained silent.

? Section 881 of title 21, referred to in the agreement along
with the criminal forfeiture statute, is the federal drug law
provision for civil, in rem forfeitures.

«5.

=

Entry of Judgment was delayed for approximately
three weeks; however, the government did not file the
promised Addendum within that period. On July 24,
1991, judgment was entered without the forfeiture
addendum’s having been finalized. In fact, the forfeiture
agreement was not submitted until ten months after
sentencing (on May 7, 1992), and the final Order of
forfeiture was not entered until two months after that, on
July 2, 1992, exactly one year after imposition of
sentence.’ No amended judgment containing the forfei-
ture penalty was ever filed.

No direct appeal was taken.* On April 21, 1997,
Mr. Heilbrunn filed a motion under 28 U.S.C. § 2255 to
vacate his conviction and sentence. The motion alleged,
inter alia, that the postponed criminal forfeiture violated
his rights under the Due Process and and Double
Jeopardy Clauses.°

On December 31, 1997, the district court denied
the defendant's motion to vacate his conviction and
sentence pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2255, in a five-page

Pe ee ee 3

‘The delay after sentencing apparently was due first to the
unavailability of a government-selected polygrapher, and
subsequently to time occupied in polygraph examinations of
Paul Heilbrunn. The plea agreement, however, did not |
condition the government's agreement to present the final
forfeiture agreement at the time of sentencing on the ;
completion of polygraphy.

* Nor had petitioner Heilbrunn been notified by the court at
sentencing of his right to appeal. Cf, Peguero v. United States, :
No. 97-9217 (U.S., pending argument).

‘The Due Process aspect of petitioner's forteiture-related
claim is not being pursued in this Court.

‘dhe

Entry and Judgment. Appx. B. In denying § 2255 relief
on petitioner's forfeiture-related claim, the district court
did not specifically and separately address the claim's two
different constitutional aspects, but rather ruled that
"though separated in time, the forfeiture was part of the
same proceeding and was merely one aspect in which the
plea agreement was fulfilled." Appx. B6 (Entry 9 8, at 4).
Petitioner’s Motion for Limited Reconsideration
pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 59(e), pointing out that in fact
no "amended judgment of conviction" reflecting the
forfeiture was ever filed, was denied by district court
Order entered January 22, 1998. Appx. C.

On March 23, 1998, defendant Heilbrunn filed a
timely notice of appeal. The district court denied a
certificate of appealability on May 5, 1998, Appx. D, and
a two-judge panel of the Court of Appeals denied a
certificate of appealability on August 21, 1998. Appx. A.

Petitioner has been incarcerated since May 24,
1989, and is now serving his sentence.

b. Statement of Facts

Between 1975 and late 1987, petitioner Paul Heil-
brunn was one of the principals in a large scale marijuana
distribution enterprise which was based in part in Indian-
apolis, Indiana, and had facets in certain southern states
and in Michigan. The primary function of the Indiana-
polis portion was organizing the transportation of mari-
juana from the place of importation to warehouses in
Indiana and Michigan.

c. Statement of Lower Court Jurisdiction Under

Rule 14.1(g) (ii)

The district court's jurisdiction was properly
invoked in this case under 28 U.S.C. § 2255, in that the
petitioner at the time of filing was (and is) in custody

pursuant to the judgment of a United States court, and
filed a motion to vacate his conviction or sentence on the
basis that they were imposed in violation of the Constitu-
tion and laws of the United States. Jurisdiction over the
underlying criminal case rested upon 18 U.S.C. § 3231.

The jurisdiction of the court below rested upon 28
U.S.C. §§ 1291 and 2253(a) and was timely invoked by
Notice of Appeal filed on March 23, 1998, from the
district court’s final judgment entered December 31,
1997, denying and dismissing with prejudice his motion
under 28 U.S.C. § 2255, and from the Order dated
January 21 and entered January 22, 1998, denying peti-
tioner’s timely motion for limited reconsideration of the
December 31, 1997, Judgment.® The notice of appeal
was timely because it was filed within 60 days after entry
of the order disposing of the timely motion for reconsid-
eration. See Fed.R.App.P. 4(a)(1), (4)(c); Fed.R.Gov.
§2255 Proc. 11.

° The motion for reconsideration was timely because it was
filed on January 15, 1998, within 10 days, excluding weekends
and legal holidays, of the entry of the Judgment denying
petitioner's § 2255 motion. Fed.R.Civ.P. 6(a), 59(e).

-8-

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents an important and unresolved aspect
of Double Jeopardy jurisprudence: what constitutes a
"separate proceeding" such that a court may not add
even a Statutorily-authorized additional form of
punishment after the original sentencing has been
reduced to a final judgment.

Petitioner Paul Heilbrunn’s written plea agree-
ment with the government expressly ensured that no
property would be forfeited unless so ordered at the time
of sentencing. Yet the forfeiture agreement was not even
submitted to the district judge until ten months after
sentencing, by which time the judgment had long since
become final, neither party having appealed. The Final
Order of Forfeiture was not entered until a full year after
imposition of sentence, did not occur in the defendant’s
presence, and was not made part of the judgment.’

” Paragraph 8 of the district court’s Entry (Appx. B), which
rejects movant’s claim that his forfeiture violated the Double
Jeopardy Clause, contains a factual error which may have
influenced the court's determination of the issue. The
paragraph states that an amended judgment of conviction was
entered when the forfeiture of Mr. Heilbrunn’s assets was
finalized. Appx. B6 (Entry 98, at 4). This is incorrect.

There was an amended judgment filed on May 3, 1994,
reflecting changes to petitioner’s post-confinement
supervision term and special assessments sought by him and
granted by the district court in proceedings under former
Fed.R.Crim.P. 35. But this much later amended judgment,
like the original judgment, did not contain any reference toa
forfeiture penalty. No amended judgment containing the
forfeiture was ever filed.

-9-

Because this case presents the important and unresolved
issue of what constitutes a "separate proceeding,” such
that a person will be deemed to have been sentenced
"twice" for the same offense under this Court’s Double
Jeopardy jurisprudence even though all forms of punish-
ment imposed are legislatively authorized, certiorari
should be granted.

Contrary to the district court’s opinion, Appx. B,
upheld by the court of appeals, Appx. A, the subsequent
criminal forfeiture constituted a "separate proceeding"
for double jeopardy purposes. The district court ruled:

8. The plea agreement entered into

between Heilbrunn and the United States

contemplated the forfeiture of certain of

Heilbrunn’s assets. The particulars of this

forfeiture were not established and acted

on by the court until several months after

the sentencing. At that time, however, an

amended judgment of conviction was

entered. Heilbrunn’s argument that the

post-sentencing forfeiture violated the

constitutional prohibition against double

(cont’d)

It appears that the district court’s determination of
Petitioner’s Double Jeopardy claim was affected by this
misapprehension of fact. Mr. Heilbrunn sought
reconsideration of this claim by the district court on this basis;
however, reconsideration was denied. Even if there had been
an amended judgment filed at the time of the belated
finalization of the forfeiture, however, a whole year after the
initial judgment and commitment, this would not have avoided
the Double Jeopardy violation. The court would have been
without authority or jurisdiction to so amend the judgment at
that time.

-10-

jeopardy is without merit because, though

separated in time, the forfeiture was part of

the same proceeding and was merely one

aspect in which the plea agreement was

fulfilled. Heilbrunn knew without doubt

that the forfeiture would be finalized, and

nothing more than that occurred.
Appx. B6. The court of appeals, like the district court,
refused a certificate of appealability. Appx. A, D.

Under this Court’s precedent as well as applicable
statutes and rules, the criminal proceeding had ended
when judgment was entered. Because the criminal forfei-
ture against petitioner Heilbrunn was not only imposed
in a separate proceeding but also was contrary to his
legitimate expectation of finality in his sentence, it
violated his rights under the Double Jeopardy Clause,
and should have been vacated when challenged on
collateral attack.

The Fifth Amendment provides that no one may
"be subject for the same offence to be twice put in
jeopardy of life or limb." As the Court has long held, the
Double Jeopardy Clause affords various forms of protec-
tion against the government's placing a person at risk of
punishment more than once for the same offense. Thus,
the Clause protects not only against further prosecution
for the same offense after acquittal or conviction, but
also directly against multiple punishments for the same
offense if not imposed at one time. Witte v. United
States, 515 U.S. 389, 132 L.Ed.2d 351, 361 (1995) (and
cases cited). The imposition of multiple forms of punish-
ment for the same offense in a single proceeding does not
offend the Double Jeopardy Clause if the total punish-
ment did not exceed that authorized by the legislature.

sii

Missouri v. Hunter, 459 U.S. 359, 367-68 (1983); Whalen

v. United States, 445 U.S. 684, 691-92 (1980).

As stated most recently in the Chief Justice’s
majority opinion in Hudson v. United States, 522 U.S. 93,
139 L.Ed.2d 450 (1997): "The Clause protects only
against the imposition of multiple criminal punishments
for the same offense, ... and then only when such occurs
in successive proceedings ....". 139 L.Ed.2d at 458-59. In
the face of direct challenge from Justices Scalia and
Thomas, the Court has thus strongly and repeatedly reaf-
firmed the traditional view, that the district court is
prohibited under the Double Jeopardy Clause from
increasing a defendant’s sentence in a separate
proceeding even if there has been no second prosecu-
tion.* All the Members of this Court seem to agree,
however, that when the defendant has a reasonable
expectation that his sentence as originally imposed has
become final, the Double Jeopardy Clause protects
against any adverse change in the sentence.

Thus has been carried forward to this day the
insight of the Court 125 years ago that:

If there is anything settled in the juris-
prudence of England and America, it is

that no man can be twice lawfully punished

for the same offence. [T]here has never

been any doubt of [this rule’s] entire and

complete protection of the party when a

second punishment is proposed in the same

® See Hudson, 139 L.Ed.2d at 463 (dissenting opinion); Witte,
132 L.Ed.2d at 368-69 (Scalia & Thomas, JJ., dissenting); |
Montana Dept. of Revenue v. Kurth Ranch, 511 U.S. 767, 802-
03 (1994) (Scalia & Thomas, JJ., dissenting).

2%.

Bi a a I

court, on the same facts, for the same

Statutory offence.
“*s* * *&

... The protection against the action of the
same court in inflicting punishment twice
must surely be as necessary, and as clearly
within the maxim, as protection from
chances or danger of a second punishment
on a second trial.

*“* *& *

For of what avail is the constitutional
protection against more than one trial if
there can be any number of sentences
pronounced on the same verdict? Why is it
that, having once been tried and found
guilty, he can never be tried again for that
offense? Manifestly it is not the danger or
jeopardy of being a second time found
guilty. It is the punishment that would
legally follow the second conviction which
is the real danger guarded against by the
Constitution. But if, after judgment has
been rendered on the conviction, and the
sentence of that judgment executed on the
criminal, he can be again sentenced on that
conviction to another and different punish-
ment, or to endure the same punishment a
second time, is the constitutional restric-
tion of any value? Is not its intent and its
spirit in such a case as much violated as if a
new trial has been had, and on a second
conviction a second punishment inflicted?

£3.

The argument seems to us irresistible,

and we do not doubt that the Constitution

was designed as much to prevent the

criminal from being twice punished for the

same offence as from being twice tried for

it.

Ex parte Lange, 85 U.S. (18 Wall.) 163, 168, 169, 173 ©
(1874). While the broadest language of Lange was
limited somewhat by Jones v. Thomas, 491 U.S. 376, 385-
86 (1989), its fundamental principles remain sound, and
lie at the root of this Court’s double jeopardy jurispru-
dence, as applied to sentencing.

Under the applicable statute, 21 U.S.C. § 853, the
court may only order a criminal forfeiture "in imposing
sentence ...."” See Libretti v. United States, 516 U.S. 29,
38-39 (1995) ("Forfeiture is an element of the sentence
imposed following conviction ....") (emphasis deleted).
Any criminal forfeiture is part of the judgment of
sentence and is to be imposed at the time of sentencing.
See Fed.R.Crim.P. 32(d)(2) (1996 rev.) ("At sentencing,
a final order of forfeiture shall be made part of the
sentence and included in the judgment").!° When

” See Statute and Rule Involved, above.

'0 At the time of petitioner’s sentencing, in July 1991, the Rule
read differently, see Statute and Rule Involved, above, but the
1996 Advisory Committee Note makes clear that the revised
language was, in this respect, intended only to clarify existing
practice as it had stood since 1972: "A provision for including
a verdict of criminal forfeiture as part of the sentence was
added in 1972 .... Since then, the rule has been interpreted to
mean that any forfeiture order is a part of the judgment of
conviction and cannot be entered before sentencing."

-14-

judgment was entered in petitioner’s case, and the
government's time to appeal expired 30 days later, see 18
U.S.C. § 3731, this criminal proceeding ended. Berman
v. United States, 302 U.S. 211 (1937).

Thus, the entry of petitioner Heilbrunn’s criminal
forfeiture, which did not occur at sentencing but rather
an entire year afterward, and was not included in the
Judgment but in a separate order, was by all legal and
objective tests a "separate proceeding" for Double
Jeopardy purposes.'! Moreover, at that time, he had
embarked upon service of his prison sentence and was
not called back for imposition of the forfeiture in his
presence. See In re Bradley, 318 U.S. 50 (1943)
(defendant, held in criminal contempt of the court of
appeals, was illegally sentenced to both fine and
imprisonment, when he paid fine two days after
commencing confinement, court attempted to rescind
fine order, remit payment, and enforce imprisonment;
violation found).'* Petitioner's sentence was not
rendered illegal by the absence of a criminal forfeiture
component. Compare Bozza v. United States, 330 U.S.
160, 166-67 (1947) (no Double Jeopardy violation when

'' The concurring opinion in Hudson appears to equate a
second, separate proceeding, for these purposes, with a
“successive prosecution." 139 L.Ed.2d at 463. The majority
does not make this equation, which is plainly inconsistent with
Ex parte Lange, supra, and In re Bradley, infra.

'? In Bradley, while defending the district court’s attempted
change in the defendant's sentence, the Solicitor General
nevertheless confessed in this Court that the change could not
be made outside the presence of the defendant. See 318 U.S.
at 53 (Stone, ChJ., dissenting).

-15-

sentence was corrected in defendant’s presence, within
hours of its imposition, before defendant had been trans-
ported from Marshal’s custody to prison, by adding
minimum mandatory $100 fine). For all these reasons,
the subsequent addition to his sentence violated the
Double Jeopardy Clause.

As the four-Justice dissent explained in Jones v.
Thomas, and not doubted by the majority:

It is clear from [United States v. DiFran-

cesco, 449 U.S. 117 (1980),] and [Pennsyl-

vania v. Goldhammer, 474 U.S. 28 (1985)

(per curiam),] that when a sentence is

increased in a second proceeding ‘the

application of the double jeopardy clause

... turns on the extent and legitimacy of a

defendant’s expectation of finality in that

sentence. If a defendant has a legitimate
expectation of finality, then an increase in

that sentence is prohibited ....’

491 U.S. at 394 (Scalia, J., dissenting) (ellipses original;
internal citation omitted). The Court has thus viewed a
resentencing on remand, after the government’s
statutorily-authorized sentencing appeal (as in DiFran-
cesco) or after the defendant’s (as in Goldhammer), as a
"second proceeding," even though the appeal had lawfully
prevented the judgment of sentence from becoming final,
so that the defendant had no "legitimate expectation of
finality."

That the sentence alteration occurred in the same
case cannot, for these purposes, suffice to make it part of
the same "proceeding." A fortiori here, where the
judgment had become final, and the entry of the forfei-
ture order a year after sentencing violated every applic-

ah

Sn tS aid be.

able statute and rule, the sentence increase surely
occurred in a separate, second, and successive
"proceeding" within the meaning of this doctrine, thus
unconstitutionally placing petitioner "in jeopardy" of
punishment a second time for the same offense.

Sentencing went forward in this case without the
promised forfeiture agreement, and no forfeiture was
made part of the judgment at sentencing, nor even by the
time the judgment was formally entered three weeks
thereafter. The judgment became final 30 days later
upon the expiration of the government's time to appeal.
See 18 U.S.C. § 3731; Fed.R.App.P. 4(b). No later than
that point, petitioner Heilbrunn was legitimately entitled
to the expectation, based upon his plea agreement and
the fact of entry of judgment, that his sentence would
never contain a criminal forfeiture penalty. !*

'3 Petitioner did not waive this claim by his counsel's silence
when the prosecutor asked the district court to await
submission of the forfeiture addendum before entering the
judgment (to which the court did not respond), even though
the sentencing hearing went forward without the addendum’s
being ready, contrary to the literal provisions of the plea
agreement. Any implied consent expired three weeks later
when judgment was entered. Double jeopardy protection is
not waived even by a voluntary and counseled guilty plea,
where the violation, as here, is plain on the face of the record
and needs no factual development. United States v. Broce,
488 U.S. 563 (1989), explaining Menna v. New York, 423 USS.
61 (1975) (per curiam). Nor would the defendant's consent,
cither express or implied, render legal what would otherwise
be an illegal or even unconstitutional sentence. See Libretti,
133 L.Ed.2d at 293-94 (Stevens, J., dissenting). Moreover, this
kind of violation has long been recognized as cognizable in a

habeas corpus proceeding. See, e.g., Ex parte Lange, supra.

«$7.

Even if petitioner Heilbrunn was not definitively
entitled to relief from the added punishment of forfeiture
for the reasons just discussed, a reasonable jurist,
studying the law of double jeopardy as developed in this
Court, could at least have thought he was. There was
thus a "substantial constitutional question" present in his
case that required issuance of a certificate of appeala-
bility under 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c). Certiorari should also
be granted to confirm that the substantive standard for
issuance of a certificate of appealability to a § 2255 peti-
tioner is no higher than that articulated by this Court in
Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880, 893 & n.4 (1983), for
certificates of probable cause in habeas corpus cases
under prior law: whether the case presents an issue that
is at least "debatable among jurists of reason," that "a
court could resolve the issues {in a different manner]; or
that the questions are ‘adequate to deserve encourage-
ment to proceed further.” (internal citations omitted). !

There is another reason why certiorari should be
granted. In Monge v. California, 524 U.S. --, 118 S.Ct.
2246, 141 L.Ed.2d 615 (1998), this Court held that the
Double Jeopardy Clause does not bar an appellate court
from giving the prosecution a second opportunity, outside
the capital sentencing context, to prove a sentencing
enhancement that the trial court wrongly held was shown
by sufficient evidence at the original sentencing. The
Court thus held that the Double Jeopardy principle
established in Burks v. United States, 437 U.S. 1 (1978) --
that the prosecution must not be allowed a second

'4 Alternatively, the Court might consider a grant of certiorari
coupled with a summary reversal and remand on this COA

point.

-18-

chance to establish an offense if an appellate court finds
there was insufficient evidence at the first trial to prove
one or more of the elements -- has no application to
noncapital sentencing. Compare Bullington v. Missouri,
451 U.S. 430 (1981) (Burks principle does prevent second
attempt to establish aggravators necessary to impose
capital punishment).

Although the Burks principle is not the only way
in which the protections of the Double Jeopardy Clause
are implemented, the majority in Monge asserted broadly
that "the Double Jeopardy Clause [does not] exten[d] to
noncapital sentencing proceedings." 141 L.Ed.2d at 621.
This assertion cannot have been intended to be taken
literally. The instant case presents an illustration of a
double jeopardy principle that does apply to noncapital
sentencing, as this Court has long held, in a line of cases
extending from Lange to Hudson, but not mentioned in
Monge.!° Certiorari should therefore be granted to
clarify and limit the overbroad language of Monge, and
to prevent confusion and misunderstanding among prac-
titioners and lower courts.

For all these reasons, this Court should issue a
writ of certiorari to review the final Order of the court of
appeals denying a certificate of appealability from the
district court’s determination that the criminal forfeiture
in this case was part of the same proceeding as the
underlying criminal case, and therefore did not violate
the Double Jeopardy Clause.

\S The majority opinion in Monge was authored by Justice
O’Connor, who also wrote the Court’s 1995 opinion in Witte,
which clearly reaffirmed the Lange principle.

-19-

CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, petitioner PAUL B.
HEILBRUNN prays that this Court grant his petition for
a writ of certiorari to review the final Order of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
denying a certificate of appealability to appeal the denial
of relief under 28 U.S.C. § 2255S.

Respectfully submitted,
LAW OFFICES OF ALAN ELLIS

By: PETER GOLDBERGER
Counsel of Record
PAMELA A. WILK
50 Rittenhouse Place
Ardmore, PA 19003-2276

(610) 658-2255

Attorneys for Petitioner

January 18, 1999.

-20-

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Seventh Circuit ml
Chicago, Illinois 60604

August 21,1998
Submitted: August 19,1998

Before
Hon. WALTER J. CUMMINGS, Circuit Judge
Hon. TERENCE T. EVANS, Circuit Judge
PAUL B. HEILBRUNN, ] Appeal from the United

Petitioner-Appellant, ] States District Court for
] the Southern District of

No. 98-2310 v. ] Indiana.
] No.
UNITED STATES OF ] IP 97-617-C-M/S
AMERICA, |
Respondent-Appellee. | Larry J. McKinney,
] Judge.

Petitioner filed a motion to vacate, correct, or set
aside a sentence pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2255. The
district court denied the motion and dismissed the action
with prejudice, and subsequently denied petitioner’s
application for a certificate of appealability. See Fed. R.
App. P. 22(b); Cir. R. 22.1.

This court has reviewed the final order of the district
court from which petitioner appeals, and the record on
appeal. We find no substantial showing of the denial of a
constitutional right. 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c)(2). Accordingly,
the application for a certificate of appealability is
DENIED.

-Appx. A2-

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

INDIANAPOLIS DIVISION
UNITED STATES )
OF AMERICA, ) No.
vs. ) IP97-617-C-M/S

) IP87-105-CR-01-M/S
PAUL HEILBRUNN, __)
)
)

Defendant.

ENTRY DENYING MOTION TO VACATE OR
SET ASIDE CONVICTION AND DIRECTING
ENTRY OF JUDGMENT

This cause is before the court on the defendant's
motion pursuant to his 28 U.S.C. § 2255, on the United
States’ response, on the defendant’s reply and on the
expanded record.

The court, having read and examined such pleadings
and record, and being duly advised, now finds that the
defendant’s motion must be denied and this action
dismissed. This conclusion rests on the following facts
and circumstances.

1. Defendant Heilbrunn was charged with drug and
related offenses, including engaging in a continuing
criminal enterprise, in an indictment returned in this

District on November 20, 1987. Heilbrunn engaged the
services of attorney J. Richard Kiefer ("Kiefer") to
represent him in the matter. The charges against Heil-
brunn were resolved through the submission and accept-
ance of a written plea agreement. Heilbrunn pled guilty
to two counts of possession of marijuana with intent to
distribute, three counts of interstate travel in aid of rack-
eteering and one count of engaging in a continuing
criminal enterprise. Heilbrunn was sentenced in accord
with the plea agreement and the remaining charges
against him in this District and a charge against him in
the Northern District of Indiana were dismissed. No
direct appeal from this disposition was taken.

2. Heilbrunn now brings the present action, pursuant
to 28 U.S.C. § 2255, arguing that (a) he was denied the
effective assistance of counsel, (b) the United States
engaged in bad-faith plea bargaining, (c) the criminal
forfeiture which resulted from the guilty plea violated the
plea agreement and was a violation of the constitutional
prohibition against double jeopardy, (d) there was a
violation of Rule 11(c)(1) of the Federal Rules of
Criminal Procedure, and (e) the grand jury indictment in
his case was defective.

3. Habeas corpus relief under 28 U.S.C. § 2255 is
limited to an error of law that is jurisdictional, constitu-
tional, or constitutes a fundamental defect which inher-
ently results in a complete miscarriage of justice. Borre v.

United States, 940 F.2d 215, 217 (7th Cir. 1991 ).

4. Heilbrunn was the organizer and leader of a large-
scale marijuana importation enterprise. Certain facets of

-Appx. B2-

Heilbrunn’s offenses were described in United States v.
Auerbach, 913 F.2d 407 (7th Cir. 1990), which was an
appeal involving two of Heilbrunn’s co-defendants.

5. The overarching principle which is applicable to the
challenge in this case is the requirement of due process
which requires that, to be valid, a guilty plea must be
both "voluntary" and "intelligent." Boykin v. Alabama,
395 U.S. 238, 242 (1969). See also Parke v. Raley, 113 S.
Ct. 517, 523 (1992); North Carolina v. Alford, 400 U.S. 25,
31 (1970) ("The standard was and remains whether the
plea represents a voluntary and intelligent choice among
the alternative courses of action open to defendant").

6. Heilbrunn makes the ubiquitous claim that he was
denied the effective assistance of counsel.

a. A criminal defendant has a right to effective
assistance of counsel in deciding whether to accept
or reject a proposed plea agreement. Johnson v.
Duckworth, 793 F.2d 898, 900-02 (7th Cir.), cert.
denied, 479 U.S. 937, 107 S. Ct. 416 (1986). The
standard adopted in Strickland v. Washington, 466
U.S. 668, 687, 104 S.Ct. 2052, 2064 (1984), is
equally applicable to guilty pleas. Hill v. Lockhart,
474 U.S. 52, 58-59, 106 S. Ct. 366, 370 (1985).

b. In order to show ineffective assistance of
counsel, Heilbrunn must establish that Kiefer
committed errors so serious that his performance
fell below an objective standard of reasonableness,
and that Kiefer’s deficient performance prejudiced
Heilbrunn by causing an unreliable result at trial,

-Appx. B3-

or a fundamentally unfair proceeding. Lockhart v.
Fretwell, 113 S. Ct. 838, 844 (1993), citing Strick-
land, 466 U.S. at 687. A defendant’s failure to
satisfy either prong is fatal to his claim. Ebbole v.
United States, 8 F.3d 530, 534 (7th Cir. 1993), cert.
denied, 510 U.S. 1182, 114 S. Ct. 1229 (1994).

c. In the guilty plea context, as recently explained
by Harvey v. McCaughtry, 11 F.3d 591 (7th Cir.
1993), the first part of the Strickland test (deficient
performance) remains the same. "A person who
attempts to satisfy the second, or prejudice,’ prong
of the test, however, ’must show that there is a
reasonable probability that, but for counsel’s errors,
he would not have pleaded guilty and would have
insisted on going to trial.” Harvey, 11 F.3d at 693,
quoting Hill v. Lockhart, 474 U.S. at 59.

d. Although Heilbrunn offers various specifications
in support of his ineffective assistance of counsel
claim, none warrant relief. Kiefer’s representation
of Heilbrunn was vigorous, informed and singularly
effective in light of Heilbrunn’s serious--and even
likely--exposure to a life sentence. Heilbrunn’s
arguments concerning Kiefer’s lack of investigation
or preparation are based on isolated and self-
serving circumstances which do not suggest that
Heilbrunn was deprived of a viable defense, nor of
a more advantageous sentencing structure, nor in
any way of the fundamentally fair proceedings to
which he was entitled.

e. It has been explained in Holman v. Gilmore, 126
F.3d 876, 882 (7th Cir. 1997), that:

-Appx. B4-

:
7
;

[t]he question posed by Strickland [is]
whether, taking all of the proceedings
into account, counsel made "the adver-
Sarial testing process work in the
particular case." [Strickland,] 466 U.S.
at 690. Counsel must contest the pros-
ecution’s case and advance a good
defense; if that role has been fulfilled,
a writ of habeas corpus should not
issue. See Burris v. Parke, 116 F.3d 256
(7th Cir. 1997).

Kiefer’s representation of Heilbrunn more than
Satisfied this standard.

7. Heilbrunn’s second claim is that the United
States did not bargain with him in good faith. This claim
concerns the sentence which the United States
"demanded" of Heilbrunn in relation to the sentence
which one of Heilbrunn’s co-defendant’s had received
and what modification would be sought or agreed to by
the United States. This claim lacks any discernible foun-
dation in due process, for all that occurred was that Heil-
brunn and the United States negotiated a sentencing
structure. This was mutually agreed to by the parties.
What Heilbrunn now takes umbrage at is the United
States’ reasoning process in holding that Heilbrunn
receive a certain minimum executed term in his case.
That process involved classic considerations by
prosecutors--it did not involve any impermissible consid-
eration or actual coercion--and hence the scrutiny which
Heilbrunn seeks now to bring to that process fails to illu-
minate any violation of his rights.

-Appx. B5-

8. The plea agreement entered into between Heil-
brunn and the United States contemplated the forfeiture
of certain of Heilbrunn’s assets. The particulars of this
forfeiture were not established and acted on by the court
until several months after the sentencing. At that time,
however, an amended judgment of conviction was :
entered. Heilbrunn’s argument that the post-sentencing
forfeiture violated the constitutional prohibition against
double jeopardy is without merit because, though sepa-
rated in time, the forfeiture was part of the same
proceeding and was merely one aspect in which the plea
agreement was fulfilled. Heilbrunn knew without doubt
that the forfeiture would be finalized, and nothing more
than that occurred.

9. Heilbrunn next contends that he was misadvised
or incompletely advised concerning the sentence he could
have received. The court does not find there to be
substantial basis for this claim, but the alleged error in
any event does not suggest the type of fundamental error
for which § 2255 is reserved.

10. Heilbrunn’s claim that the special grand jury
responsible for his indictment was not properly
constituted has been refuted by the United States, and
Heilbrunn does not contend otherwise.

11. On the basis of the foregoing, therefore, the
defendant's motion for relief pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 2255 must be denied. Although Heilbrunn seeks an
evidentiary hearing on his claims, "[a] district judge need
not grant an evidentiary hearing in all § 2255 cases. Such

-Appx. B6-

a hearing is not required if such a hearing is not required
if [sic] ‘the record standing alone conclusively demon-
strates that a petitioner is entitled to no relief." Daniels
v. United States, 54 F.3d 290, 293 (7th Cir. 1995) (quoting
Humphrey v. United States, 896 F.2d 1066, 1070 (7th Cir.),
cert. denied, 498 U.S. 938 (1990)). That is the case here.
Judgment consistent with this Entry shall now issue. The
costs of this action are assessed against the defendant.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

s/Larry McKinney

LARRY J. McKINNEY, Judge
United States District Court
Date: 12/31/97

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA
INDIANAPOLIS DIVISION

UNITED STATES )
OF AMERICA, ) No.
vs. ) IP97-617-C-M/S

) IP 87-105-CR-01-M/S
PAUL HEILBRUNN, )

—— Se

Defendant.

-Appx. B7-

JUDGMENT
The court, having this day made its Entry,

IT Is NOW THEREFORE ADJUDGED AND
DECREED that the defendant take nothing by his motion
for r2lief pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2255, and this cause of
action is DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE.

The costs of this action are assessed against the
defendant.

s/Larry McKinney
LARRY J. McKINNEY, Judge
United States District Court

Date: 12/31/97

Copies to:

Alan Ellis
50 Rittenhouse Place
Ardmore, PA 19003-2276

Tim Morrison

Office of the United States Attorney
United States Courthouse - 5th Floor
46 East Ohio Street

Indianapolis, IN 46204

-Appx. B8-

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

INDIANAPOLIS DIVISION
UNITED STATES )
OF AMERICA, )
Plaintiff, )
) CAUSE NO.
V. ) IP 97-0617-C
) CAUSE NO.

PAUL B. HEILBRUNN, )_ IP 87-105-CR-01

)
Defendant. )

ORDER

This cause comes before the Court on defendant's
MOTION FOR LIMITED RECONSIDERATION OF
ENTRY DENYING MOTION TO VACATE
CONVICTION AND SENTENCE.

And the Court, having examined said pleading and
being fully advised in the premises, now OVERRULES
said Motion.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 21st day of January, 1998.

s/Larry J. McKinney

LARRY J. McKINNEY, JUDGE
United States District Court
Southern District of Indiana

Distribution to:

Timothy M. Morrison, Assistant United States Attorney
OFFICE OF THE UNITED STATES ATTORNEY
Fifth Floor, United States Courthouse

46 East Ohio Street

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

-Appx. C2-

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA
INDIANAPOLIS DIVISION

UNITED STATES )
OF AMERICA, ) No.
vs. ) IP97-617-C-M/S

) IP 87-10S-CR-01-M/S
PAUL HEILBRUNN, __)
)
)

Defendant.
ENTRY

The defendant’s request for the issuance of a
certificate of appealability is denied. The reason for this
is the court finding that there is no sound basis on which
to conclude that the defendant will be able to make a
substantial showing of the denial of a constitutional right
in connection with his appeal. 28 U.S.C. § 2253.

IT IS SO ORDERED.
s/Larry McKinney

LARRY J. McKINNEY, Judge
United States District Court

Date: 5/5/98

Copies to:

Alan Ellis
50 Rittenhouse Place
Ardmore, PA 19003-2276

Tim Morrison

Office of the United States Attorney
United States Courthouse - 5th Floor
46 East Ohio Street

Indianapolis, IN 46204

-Appx. D2-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1184%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
